TrustRadius
Workfront is a web-based project-management tool. It is designed for both IT and marketing teams, but can be implemented for any kind of project. Workfront offers all the features standard to project management platforms, as well as resource allocation, automation, and agile workflow.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/nn/0D/S9BCBZNK5NEL.PNGWorkfront is the Workhorse for a Dedicated Project Management TeamI work within a beta-test team for my organization that experiments with several project management tools. We are currently in the midst of implementing Workfront throughout many of the admin areas within the company. While many project management tools specialize in different things, the goal of our company has been to consolidate and streamline our project management options. Therefore, Workfront has become an important tool/project for our company. Workfront is extremely expansive and can be built in order to achieve a wide variety of specific tasks. Moreover, Workfront enables transparency and allows teams to more clearly communicate workflows and responsibilities.,Time management resources are incredibly efficient: One can utilize the platform to give realistic work goals and objectives. Data Management: Workfront enables users to view custom reports, manage projects costs, and much more. Project planning is extremely in depth: One can set and visualize projects in a variety of ways.,Workfront is not the most user-intuitive platform for all. There will need to be significant training periods for end-users. The User Interface can be more confusing when compared to like-options in the market. It is a large and expansive program - therefore, executive updates are somewhat difficult within the platform.,9,Extremely detailed project plans have a positive outlook for ROI. Time management tools enable the most efficient use of work-team time. More accurate reporting has helped our team quantify opportunities and constraints,,Asana, Basecamp, TrelloThe best tool for any dedicated project management teamAs part of the organization’s beta-test team that experiments with different project management tools, Workfront software has proved to be the best project management tool. It is an expansive tool that can be customized with ease to achieve a wide variety of tasks. With Workfront, transparency in projects within the organization has improved, and we've seen the smooth flow of communication when implementing a new project realized.,Time management solution: Time is an important resource in an organization, which has been achieved with this tool. This has made it easier for this organization to achieve its goals and objectives. Data Management: with Workfront, our staff members can view, customize, and manage project reports effectively. Project planning: Workfront allows the project team to have a systematic arrangement of activities. This makes it easier to meet project deadlines with the necessary quality.,Compared to other project management tools, Workfront is not a user-intuitive platform because it requires training periods for the end-users. It has a confusing user interface, which makes it hard for new users to adopt. Being an expansive and a large program, executive updates are somehow difficult with this tool.,10,The accurate reporting capability of Workfront has enabled the project management team to deliver quality work. Detailed project planning through this software has improved the organization's reputation. Time management has enabled the project team to keep our customers satisfied always.,Basecamp and Asana,LiveChat, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), ClickSoftwareWorkfront Modernizes WorkSierra Nevada Brewing Co. is a craft brewery with a large portfolio. Our Workfront use started in the Graphics department to manage incoming graphics requests, and has started to catch on across other departments (such as Legal and Supply Chain) in order to keep each other well-communicated on high-level projects. It eliminates the "off the record" background chatter and consolidates all of the information we need into one centralized place.,Helps organize projects and workflow. Templates save time and error. Seamless communication across the board. Provides accountability.,It is difficult and time-consuming to learn the interface, and is therefore difficult to get people on board. Employees often miss projects because of the complexity of "Workfront Home," so we use Legacy. It would be nice to be on the most up-to-date version of the interface, and I really want to see the New Workfront Experience. However, we have had no info about this launch since LEAP. The DAM is slow and clunky. I have been told that Workfront Library is where Workfront's focus is now driven, but there is concern about whether it has a lot of the same functionality as the DAM. For example, dynamic templates are necessary to what we do for our sales team. It may also be expensive to transition. The overarching concept of Workfront is daunting and hard to sell to other departments.,10,It's reduced the time and guesswork in gathering information about projects.,WrikePower of Workfront by HSiddiquiWe utilize the device to deal with all site advancement ventures (undertakings, assignments, plan, LOE, execution announcing, group the board, and so on). It helps with time logging, Agile burndown, Kanban, worker following, and charging-- practically every part of our business. Likewise, all correspondence for the undertaking lives in a single spot for everybody on the venture, so you don't need to be stressed over dropping or being unaware of present circumstances by means of messages, like previously. Client reception has been gratitude for the extraordinary training camp preparing me as a framework administrator. Workfront gives you a chance to turn into an SME and become more acquainted with the framework effectively, without continually evolving it or giving straightforward changes that don't intrude on your everyday work.,We are utilizing four unique stages in our organization to deal with the admission, arranging, and execution of undertakings (ServiceNow, exceed expectations, Smartsheet and Microsoft Project). Getting down to 1 single stage has been a lifeline for the groups that I am on for my organization. We had the option to prepare our submitter on one framework, fabricated our very own work processes, and afterward convoluted and prepared our PM's on a similar framework. One Pro I adore is that we can make changes and upgrades at the drop of a hat (well, with the preparing of time), versus ServiceNow, where it took us 2-3 minutes to just change a field name Additionally, we appreciate the time and consideration that Workfront has given to my organization. They listen well and issue fathom close with us, not only for us.,I truly like the authoritative components, but building layouts takes a ton of time. However, once they're fabricated, it makes it simple for mass altering and changing over solicitations into undertakings. When it was first actualized, the organization wasn't ready outside of the Marketing division. In the wake of going to Admin Boot Camp, I made a staff preparing system and now client appropriation is a lot higher. I particularly love the inheritance of ventures. You can allude to earlier years for repeating occasions/ventures. The help group is exceptionally decent and proficient. Of late, the group has offered calls in the wake of submitting tickets, which I incredibly value. It makes it much more clear on the two closures. Likewise love that all archives, refreshes, and so on live in one spot and not in many disconnected messages.,8,There are still a lot of constraints, so the number of snaps is as yet equivalent to the heritage form. For instance, on the off chance that they need to allude to an archive in the assignment, they need to click into the errand. Additionally, there's trouble in observing all updates made in the assignment, so on the off chance that you have to answer to a string, you can't do it. We submit upgrade thoughts or tickets to the item group and feel like they, in every case, simply lose all sense of direction in the mix. There are a ton of things that we could utilize, but I surmise different organizations or Workfront don't see the worth, so our thoughts are things to be added to their Product Roadmap or come to advertise. It's not the least expensive available, that is without a doubt. There is to some degree an expectation to learn and adapt for new workers at my organization attempting to gain proficiency with the product since it is SO amazing. There could be better reconciliations, explicitly with Git.,Wrike, Zoho CRM and JIRA Software,BugTracker.net, Azure DevOps (formerly VSTS), Zoho CRMWorkfront from a consulting viewIn my prior consulting job, we used Workfront internally and externally. Externally it was useful loading up a project plan and the dashboard functionality was helpful for conducting status report meetings. The problems we had with it was that it was difficult to hide other clients' dashboards which is a huge security risk. Also adding tasks and the indentation was not very user-friendly.,Loading up a project plan. Custom dashboard. Assigning tasks to users.,Changing due dates in bulk was tedious on a project plan. Folder structuring or accessing a document easily. Creating custom forms was not very intuitive.,7,Status report creation saved a lot of time. Having a lot of things in one place. The huge learning curve that comes with being new to the tool was a negative.,MS SharePointMakes project management less painfulWe use Workfront for all of our Marketing projects, which span a lot of different types of deliverables. It is our main place of record for all project work and status updates. The saying at work is "if its not in Workfront, it doesnt exist." We do this so that there is tracking and accountability for all requests and transparency of the workload of our teams.,Building out templates for repeatable parts of a project Easy to understand visuals of project tasks, due dates and assigned people Easy setup of projects, with everything on one page and no need to jump back and forth to different parts of a project,There is really no native Digital Asset Management in Workfront, I know thats an add-on they sell but it would have been nice to have some basic features Too many emails out of the gate. If you dont go in and customize this, you will get flooded Some helpful visuals are buried in the navigation, like seeing how many hours a person has assigned to them for work,8,It has provided some deeper level stats on the types of projects we are working on We are better at being on time with projects now that we use Workfront since everything is date driven In some cases there has been some unnecessary overhead with projects within Workfront,Basecamp and 10000ft,Google Analytics Premium, Google Data Studio, BasecampWorkfront for Small and Large GroupsWe currently use Workfront (WF) to track our Communications projects from submission, to approvals, to delivery. We are currently in the process of building out a second instance of Workfront for another business area, and will eventually build out a process for our web agile teams. Workfront allows our customers to have insights into their projects, creating transparency and accountability for both the writers, designers, account managers, and customers.,Approval process. Reporting. Project insights.,Allows better customization of the users home page. The ability to review proofs with no comments, as it gets messy when there are many comments. In reporting or views the ability to easily add fields without the use of TextMode.,10,Reduced the re-work of projects. Approvals take a long time, and users are slow to respond to requests for approvals. Workers were resistant at first. It took time to get buy in.,inMotion, ServiceNow, Trello, Basecamp, Wrike and Clarizen,Microsoft 365 Business, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe InDesign, Adobe PhotoshopWorkFront will help keep you in line!We use WorkFront to keep an array of projects on task. WorkFront allows you to have single projects but also portfolios that bring multiple projects together. We have different offices/departments that work on the same project but in different capacities. I was able to see what percentage of the tasks were completed for the other parts. I love that I am able to upload documents and tag people in comments directly within the project. I also love that we could create forms to track attendance numbers, budget information, and logistical details, all in one place. I am able to create templates to make copying an event for future use even easier. WorkFront is able to be customized to fit the dashboard that you want to view, as well as the reports that you want to pull.,Customized reporting. Project versus Portfolio.,I would like the task list to be slightly more user-friendly. When it is time to "work on it," you have to click each one individually. I wish you could bulk select these.,9,We are able to work more efficiently, and it helps to hold our team accountable.,Great for Resource Mangement, Approvals for Creative TeamsWorkfront is used as our project management tool across our creative teams (marketing, design, research). We have user types of all kinds that include project managers, subject matter experts, and upper level management.,Templated projects with resource assignments High level overview of tasks that need to be done and their timelines Project timeline visualizations (Gantt charts) Data exports of time used Easy timesheet submissions and edits Approval workflows that are easy to manage Integration with external tools, like InDesign,The UI of the interface could use a little improvement. It's not hard to learn but there's a soft learning curve. Sometimes the project timelines can get a little buggy and it's hard to diagnose the issue,8,Workfront has been able to automate a lot of our recurring projects to reduce time on creating schedules and assigning resources Workfront automated our review and approval process to reduce the amount of time it takes to push projects to production,JIRA Software,Basecamp, Workplace by Facebook, Qualaroo Insights, Optimal WorkshopA highly flexible and powerful toolWorkfront is a powerful project management tool that was utilized to help develop a number of projects including web development efforts, database updates, and outreach campaigns within a nonprofit organization. It was used by the whole organization and was quite flexible in being usable on different levels of project complexity.,It does a good job of integrating many functions and operations. The reporting tools are excellent although sometimes hard to learn by some employees. They offer excellent customer support.,The product can be a little expensive for some organizations. For new employees the product can be more challenging to learn than other similar products. It can be time consuming to setup the program from scratch.,8,Allows greater flexibility with multiple office locations, saving technical overhead costs. The longer learning curve for new users can be more costly in terms of training time need than with other products. The complexity of the product can be both a blessing and a curse in terms of support needs.,Microsoft Project, Microsoft Office 365, ConceptDraw PROJECT 7 and ProjectManager.com,4Clicks Project Estimator, cloudcoach Project Cloud, SemanticSpace PPM StudioWorkfront evaluationWorkfront is being used across the IT organization for tracking and managing all IT efforts that require more than 80 hours of work. A few additional departments have implemented Workfront with varying success for groups of < 20 users to track business type products. The problem it addresses is that all projects are contained in one central location, with the ability for both IT and business stakeholders and management to be able to easily view project status and progress.,Workfront is easy to configure to send out reports on either an adhoc basis or regularly scheduled. Workfront has features to customize notifications so that when various events are trigged, you can configure emails and alerts to keep both IT and business people informed. Workfront can generate custom charts and graphs to help provide stats on resource usage, product categorization, etc. Ability to customize easily to your companies terminology.,The gantt charts are very hard to work with and modify. The methodology/tools are geared toward a non agile development shop. A one page executive status or summary would be extremely helpful, but does not exist.,6,The visibility of the projects has enabled the business and IT executives to better prioritize potential projects as well as evaluate the success of existing projects. Not really a significant positive and no real negative impact.,Daptiv and PowerSteering,Microsoft Visio, ZenHub, SlackWorkfront is amazing and will reduce time spent on projects.Workfront is being used by our entire agency. It allows for seamless campaign management from conception, to creative, to operations, and even media. We also use it for the timesheet as it allows us to log time against specific jobs, tasks, and issues. We also use it with our client to upload proofs. This makes managing feedback from the client and sending it to our team a breeze.,Task Management. It allows you to set due dates and keep track of how far along that task is complete. Timesheet. This makes it extremely easy to bill the client. They can see a breakdown of who worked on what project and for how long. ProofHQ. Uploading creative is amazing on here. You can even upload animated HTML banners that can be viewed easily without outside programs.,Some custom forms can be a challenge to create. Going to the LEAP conference put on by Workfront helped greatly, but still has some challenges. Updates section. Wish there was a way to upload images or documents on updates without uploading under the documents tab.,10,It has allowed us to reduce the amount of time spent on projects by creating a smooth workflow process and communication. This reduced time has made us able to get projects out earlier, and thus leaving more capacity for other/new projects.,Trello,Adobe Acrobat DCGreat for Keeping Track of Consultant Billable HoursOur organization sells software and services to install that software as well as general consulting services. We use Workfront to manage the implementation projects and consulting projects from a time and materials perspective. Each consultant is assigned to projects and they log their hours day by day into the corresponding projects. Our AR department then bills customers based on the hour logs.,Project management by status and progress tracking. Helps consultants stay on track with their time keeping because AR is constantly reminding them to fill in the time sheets. Can produce reports to submit to customer when they ask for a breakdown of how hours were used.,Creation of tasks, responsibilities, projects can be a little cumbersome from an admin perspective. Time entries need to be constantly saved. If you forget, all your entries are erased. Would be nice to have an "auto-save" feature. "Documents" features are weak. Not sure if it can integrate with share-point and other collaboration tools.,9,Unified the timekeeping needs for our consultants. Aided in centralizing project reporting. Permission management capabilities streamline administration.Project Management at an Advanced LevelWorkfront is used in this organization to facilitate different working projects. It is the main tool of recording and coordinating all the projects in progress and posting updates in regard to timelines. We all trust in the efficiency of this software as far as coordinating project team members are concerned to enable us to meet project deadlines. Through its tracking features, accountability for all requests and transparency of all the tasks has been realized.,With Workfront, its very easy to come up with templates from the previous projects incase they are related Projects can be easily set up with everything on the same page without rushing back and forth for different sections It has been developed in a way that understanding project visuals, assigned people and due dates is easy and straightforward,Workfront does not have a native Digital Asset Management features which should have been integrated to make the software more attractive and improve its usability Some of the very useful visuals of Workfront have been buried in its navigation which makes it hard for new users to use it The software tends to send too many emails which may get ones mail account flooded,10,With Workfront, we have gotten a deeper level statistics about the projects we are working on The quality of our projects has improved due to the systematic approach when undertaking projects Time management has been effective when undertaking projects and that have improved customer satisfaction,Basecamp,Basecamp, Mailchimp, Google AnalyticsEase to adopt and use but needs to focus on improving UI/UXWorkfront is used by our entire marketing department including our Europe, Japan and China locations. We use the ProofHQ and Project Managment systems to manage all aspects of our processes.,Project template management Proofing integrated with projects Ease of adoption Allows different teams to use waterfall, Kanban and Scrum at the same time,The UX/UI needs more attention. There are many buttons programmed into the system that do not mean what they say or are confusing to the user. Workfront is often called "WorkAround" by users because that is what is often offered as a solution for UX/UI issues. For example the "Work On It" button is not reportable and does not actually change the status of the task to "In Progress" as users would expect. Form fields lack a way to label them to identify which group that field is for that is hidden from the end users. Workfronts suggested "WorkAround" is to label the fields with "HQ" or "EU" to identify the owner of the fields these codes actually show to the users i.e. "HQ Date Email Is Due". Once again poor UI/UX.,8,It has brought transparency to the status of our projects (over 175 active at one time) Its centralized communication about projects enabling teams to review comments, documents and updates. It allows us to forecast resource loads during strategic planning,JIRA Software, Smartsheet, Clarizen and Microsoft Project,HubSpot, Salesforce App Cloud, inMotionA Useful Alternative to SharePointCurrently, Workfront is being used across several corporate functions within the enterprise to enhance and better track the project management of various priorities within those functions. The functions currently using it are moving away from using SharePoint to manage projects, create forms, and report and route tasks, due to the capabilities Workfront has to offer over those of SharePoint.,Routing. Workfront's capabilities to route tasks to multiple people far exceeds the capabilities of SharePoint in terms of back-end configuration required and ability to track task status. Form Creation. Workfront forms have a better UX than SharePoint as well as the ability to customize forms based on certain responses. Project Management Tracking & Reporting. The ability to track task and project statuses and send reminders/alerts when parameters are set are very helpful. Additionally, the reporting capabilities are very helpful when tracking multiple projects across multiple functions to deliver to leadership.,General Interface. Looks very similar to SharePoint and it doesn't really grab your attention Form Creation. Some of the fields when creating forms are required to remain, despite not necessarily being required to be filled out.,7,Hard to quantify just yet as we've only been live with the system in my function for, 3 months, however, it seems to have reduced time creating manual reports and decks for leadership and the reports I've seen offer greater insights into tracking statuses and risk potential. Negative might be the upfront cost of each user and the access capabilities of each user aren't the greatest at being able to be customized in terms of data restrictions.,MS SharePoint,MS SharePointSuperb Management Software to Provide Visibility to All of Your ProjectsWe heavily use Workfront as a project management tool for our Biz-Ops department. It's very easy to use, and the reporting allows you to get in-depth on what is the current status is for each product. We use it to proof our projects and manage our resources/workflows. This software has been vital to keeping our biz-ops employees on track.,The reporting is very robust and easy to use. You can literally report on anything you can think of. iT Creates transparency for all of our employees and how they are doing on their projects. Allows you to track activities in real-time.,There can be a steep learning curve, as this software has so much to offer. There's no integration with Gmail. It takes a while to set up the integration and to get all the features set up correctly.,8,It allowed us to streamline projects, leading to higher project output. It helped build team unity with all of our employees. It allows us to easily track projects.,,Wrike, AsanaWorkfront Successes and Ideas for ImprovementWorkfront is being used to manage marketing project requests and execution. It seems to address the problem of needing a collaborative space to execute on marketing deliverables.,Centralize projects in one solution Review and approve digital work,Workfront is great at task management and project timeline planning. It has the capability of having different layouts and views for different users. The reporting capabilities of Workfront are incredible. The system presents data in an easy to understand format.,The overall setup and configuration is more confusing than it should be. Once it is set up, it seems to work well, but setting up the system and ensuring that everything is connected is harder than it should be. The focus on individual projects instead of overall campaigns is a drawback. Requests are linked to individual projects. This makes it hard to link requests to multiple projects that could be part of an overall campaign request. The overall look and feel of the program is becoming a little dated compared to competitor programs.,9,Not sure on the overall ROI of Workfront, but I think it has aided in the transformation of processes to be more organized as a department within a large company. A negative impact would be that not all departments are familiar with the program so it does take time to work with others in different departments. Collaboration within the department seems to be improved with the use of programs like Workfront. Overall efficiency and productivity seems to be improved.,PercolateAlmost a perfect tool!It is currently being used within a couple departments, but we are looking to expand to other ones. It helps us with initiating projects. We get more details on the PRFs for new projects. Its transparency allows a better view of the project and its status. It also allows to see any comments, or approvals where teams can communicate with one another. HQ proof is also useful as all comments are incorporated in one document, so they can be analyzed by the reviewer.,Manage digital work processes Review and approve digital work Govern compliance workflows,Transparency: approve/ reject buttons with comments visible to everyone on the project. Proof HQ. Status updates visible to everyone. Notifications. Flexibility. Allows to adjust settings, views and how projects are run Easy on the eye! User friendly Fast. Hardly any freezing. Implements project management ideas. This allows for better project tracking and managing,Date adjustments. When one task is completed earlier, the dates could adjust from when it was approved taking in the amount of days per task. Notifying the project owner when documents are uploaded Overall cons are small but would make the work easier and initiate a faster response.,10,Increased productivity Made the work Transparent: easier to identify issues Allowed to better manage workflows Allowed to have all approvals Allowed to set form dates,,I havent used,50,4,managing projects transparency approvals,resource management Proof HQ,9,Yes,Product Features Product UsabilityWorkfront -- Good for large businesses, less great for smallWorkfront is being used by our organization to maintain productivity from the perspective of our project managers and our customer service/account people. It keeps our projects on track and ensures that everyone has the ability to view the status of various projects at any given moment. It solves for the miscommunication problem we had prior to implementing Workfront.,Design: We have a lot of visual learners, and the various colors that we can use to show steps/processes surprisingly made a difference in understanding the stage. Accountability: Assigns tasks to individuals so that they are kept accountable for their part of a project. Project Management Ease: Our project managers can make changes on the fly. No more painstaking hours to update a project.,The learning curve is high. It's not the easiest program to use. Price :Things are good, but you are paying for all the extras whether you use them or not. Company: Sometimes it's difficult to work with the Workfront representatives because it feels like they are all sales all the time when they should be listening and helping.,6,Positive: Project statuses are no longer ignored and everyone is not the same page. Positive: Productivity has increased now that people are held accountable.. Negative: Pricing for my particular company may not be worth it. This is like an iPhone, and my company needs the basic Nokia or Razr phones of the early 00s.,monday.com,monday.comWorkfront works for us!Workfront is currently being used as our primary project management software, mainly by our Client Success, Client Operations, and Creative teams for client projects. It allows us to house all client and internal projects under one roof and provides consistency across those projects by allowing us to create and use templates. We will be implementing financial data and tracking in Workfront this year to be able to accurately measure project success.,Templates - allowing us to create and use templates keeps projects and timelines consistent My Work - having a clearly laid out work area detailing what's ready, what's coming up, and what's overdue helps keep our teams on track Reports - being able to pull reports based on almost any data point allows for easy data collection and analysis,Easier standard reporting and built-in executive dashboards would be helpful so you don't have to pretend to know how to edit in text mode Modification of in-app notifications would be helpful,10,We have not been tracking any specific data, mainly using it as a project management software. However, it does easily allow us to see project status and provides accountability for those individuals assigned to tasks within that project. It allows us to streamline our workflow.,Wrike,SlackHeadline! Life Insurance Company's Go-To Market Velocity Skyrockets After Finding Best In Class Collaboration Tool WORKFRONT!We use Workfront as our single source of record for Marketing Initiatives. This includes any and all Sales and Marketing Collateral related to print, digital, web, email, and events. We have partnered with our legal and compliance teams and integrated our workflows to include their review processes. This tool is a great way to promote visibility across an organization. Having one source of record ensures that we don't miss a beat, whether an employee is out on leave or a project is put on hold and brought back to life, we can stop and pick up right where we left off.,Source of record for all work. Great for communication and collaboration. Document Repository.,There are a few gaps in reporting functionality. Some of the views and terminology are confusing. I don't have three bad things to say...,9,Our time to market has increased exponentially. Our resource management is the best it has ever been. Being able to show this IN WORKFRONT to senior management is a plus.,Microsoft Dynamics MarketingGreat software for project managementIn my company, we use Workfront to monitor and control product development projects from start to finish.,Workfront helps to promote transparency in regards to project status. Workfront allows users to improve communication by utilizing the platform to ask questions, concerns while eliminating the use of emails. Workfront keeps centralized and accessible all critical information in regards to a project. i.e. Project risks, issues, budgeting, etc.,Workfront should take into consideration the intuition of individuals. Some commands commonly used are not applicable within the Workfront platform. i.e. ctrl+F to locate words within a project plan. Workfront should consider if it hasn't, the integration of Agile.,10,It has helped to establish a baseline to account benefits. It has provided the data to identify business gaps.,Webex Meetings,Cisco Webex Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series), Agile CRM, OpenText DocumentumOne of the best PM tools although it comes with a costWe're using Workfront with one of our clients. In our case, we manage marketing campaign production within the tool and it involves multiple business areas like creative, copywriting, coding, and operations. Being a project management professional, it is easy to manage work via Workfront and make sure things are getting done on time and to the fullest. The tool allows for easy communication as well as makes it clear who is responsible for what.,Task management: makes it easy to assign tasks and keep all the communication in one place. Schedule and timeline management: it is clear when things should be delivered, what is blocking them, and what the priorities are. Asset management: it is easy to collaborate on creative assets, store them, and share across teams.,Notification management is not flexible enough and sometimes you don't get notified of certain actions. Comments do not support attachments so you have to provide links to digital assets. Certain areas of the interface mimic each other very closely so it is easy to get confused and post/upload something to a wrong page.,8,Although the tool is complex it didn't take more than a few hours to master it. t has a really easy and quick learning curve. Never missed any production deadlines or faced major roadblocks thanks to good task management. It works like a Swiss watch. Minimized the number of emails and kept all the communication organized in one place. Great for communication and paper trails.,Mavenlink, Sciforma, Smartsheet, Easy Projects, Basecamp, ProWorkflow, Podio and CeloxisWorkfront has been a welcome upgrade!We use Workfront to manage our Graphics Team requests for product related materials. It provides easy access, approvals, status, and copies of the final product. It integrates seamlessly with email and provides instant alerts to status changes. Definitely helps keep projects on track for us. The user base for us has been increasing as teams grow.,Real-time updates without reaching out to the person responsible for the task. Helps keep them on track without interruption. Great for uploading and downloading documents for quick review. Helps manage and prioritize large amounts of requests.,Could manage files a little better Easier dashboard Project tracking,9,Allows our team to manage a higher volume of projects. Prevents us from having to go to outside sources. Gives us more accurate delivery dates.,
Unspecified
Workfront
476 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Workfront Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Workfront
476 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 476 vetted Workfront reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 326)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Joshua Melder profile photo
July 12, 2019

Workfront is the Workhorse for a Dedicated Project Management Team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work within a beta-test team for my organization that experiments with several project management tools. We are currently in the midst of implementing Workfront throughout many of the admin areas within the company. While many project management tools specialize in different things, the goal of our company has been to consolidate and streamline our project management options. Therefore, Workfront has become an important tool/project for our company. Workfront is extremely expansive and can be built in order to achieve a wide variety of specific tasks. Moreover, Workfront enables transparency and allows teams to more clearly communicate workflows and responsibilities.
  • Time management resources are incredibly efficient: One can utilize the platform to give realistic work goals and objectives.
  • Data Management: Workfront enables users to view custom reports, manage projects costs, and much more.
  • Project planning is extremely in depth: One can set and visualize projects in a variety of ways.
  • Workfront is not the most user-intuitive platform for all. There will need to be significant training periods for end-users.
  • The User Interface can be more confusing when compared to like-options in the market.
  • It is a large and expansive program - therefore, executive updates are somewhat difficult within the platform.
Workfront seems to be incredibly useful for individuals who manage multiple implementation/project management opportunities. Due to the required upfront training, there can be a lot of development costs associated with transitioning a large user base over to this platform. I view Workfront as a tool that enables a small number of power-users the ability to manage their projects with the utmost detail. I do not see Workfront as a necessary tool for those with only a handful of projects on their plate. This is a project management tool for those who need extremely detailed timelines.
Read Joshua Melder's full review
Faith Mutheu profile photo
August 03, 2019

The best tool for any dedicated project management team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of the organization’s beta-test team that experiments with different project management tools, Workfront software has proved to be the best project management tool. It is an expansive tool that can be customized with ease to achieve a wide variety of tasks. With Workfront, transparency in projects within the organization has improved, and we've seen the smooth flow of communication when implementing a new project realized.
  • Time management solution: Time is an important resource in an organization, which has been achieved with this tool. This has made it easier for this organization to achieve its goals and objectives.
  • Data Management: with Workfront, our staff members can view, customize, and manage project reports effectively.
  • Project planning: Workfront allows the project team to have a systematic arrangement of activities. This makes it easier to meet project deadlines with the necessary quality.
  • Compared to other project management tools, Workfront is not a user-intuitive platform because it requires training periods for the end-users.
  • It has a confusing user interface, which makes it hard for new users to adopt.
  • Being an expansive and a large program, executive updates are somehow difficult with this tool.
There are times when a project has a limited timeline and calls for dedication and struggle to meet the deadlines. It is the rush which is involved in that process that may lead to poor quality projects. However, with Workfront, the project can be rushed to meet the deadlines with the required quality. This is in consideration of the fact that Workfront provides the easiest way to manage time.
Read Faith Mutheu's full review
Jen Aguirre profile photo
July 20, 2019

Workfront Modernizes Work

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. is a craft brewery with a large portfolio. Our Workfront use started in the Graphics department to manage incoming graphics requests, and has started to catch on across other departments (such as Legal and Supply Chain) in order to keep each other well-communicated on high-level projects. It eliminates the "off the record" background chatter and consolidates all of the information we need into one centralized place.
  • Helps organize projects and workflow.
  • Templates save time and error.
  • Seamless communication across the board.
  • Provides accountability.
  • It is difficult and time-consuming to learn the interface, and is therefore difficult to get people on board. Employees often miss projects because of the complexity of "Workfront Home," so we use Legacy. It would be nice to be on the most up-to-date version of the interface, and I really want to see the New Workfront Experience. However, we have had no info about this launch since LEAP.
  • The DAM is slow and clunky. I have been told that Workfront Library is where Workfront's focus is now driven, but there is concern about whether it has a lot of the same functionality as the DAM. For example, dynamic templates are necessary to what we do for our sales team. It may also be expensive to transition.
  • The overarching concept of Workfront is daunting and hard to sell to other departments.
I absolutely want all of my colleagues to be on Workfront, especially those within my organization. I am willing to get as many people on board as possible, because all it does is make my job easier if I'm not tracking down answers and info via email.
Read Jen Aguirre's full review
Hassan Siddiqui profile photo
July 19, 2019

Power of Workfront by HSiddiqui

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize the device to deal with all site advancement ventures (undertakings, assignments, plan, LOE, execution announcing, group the board, and so on). It helps with time logging, Agile burndown, Kanban, worker following, and charging-- practically every part of our business. Likewise, all correspondence for the undertaking lives in a single spot for everybody on the venture, so you don't need to be stressed over dropping or being unaware of present circumstances by means of messages, like previously. Client reception has been gratitude for the extraordinary training camp preparing me as a framework administrator. Workfront gives you a chance to turn into an SME and become more acquainted with the framework effectively, without continually evolving it or giving straightforward changes that don't intrude on your everyday work.
  • We are utilizing four unique stages in our organization to deal with the admission, arranging, and execution of undertakings (ServiceNow, exceed expectations, Smartsheet and Microsoft Project). Getting down to 1 single stage has been a lifeline for the groups that I am on for my organization.
  • We had the option to prepare our submitter on one framework, fabricated our very own work processes, and afterward convoluted and prepared our PM's on a similar framework. One Pro I adore is that we can make changes and upgrades at the drop of a hat (well, with the preparing of time), versus ServiceNow, where it took us 2-3 minutes to just change a field name
  • Additionally, we appreciate the time and consideration that Workfront has given to my organization. They listen well and issue fathom close with us, not only for us.
  • I truly like the authoritative components, but building layouts takes a ton of time. However, once they're fabricated, it makes it simple for mass altering and changing over solicitations into undertakings.
  • When it was first actualized, the organization wasn't ready outside of the Marketing division. In the wake of going to Admin Boot Camp, I made a staff preparing system and now client appropriation is a lot higher. I particularly love the inheritance of ventures.
  • You can allude to earlier years for repeating occasions/ventures. The help group is exceptionally decent and proficient. Of late, the group has offered calls in the wake of submitting tickets, which I incredibly value. It makes it much more clear on the two closures. Likewise love that all archives, refreshes, and so on live in one spot and not in many disconnected messages.
Workfront has the capacity to alter the product to fit inside your business tasks. It is anything but one-size fits all where you need to change your organization's tasks to fit inside its capabilities, like with other PM programming. As for the revealing usefulness, and the capacity to construct custom reports-- once you figure out how to utilize it and become acquainted with the complexities, textmode is AMAZING! It enables you to fabricate custom reports, formats, fields, estimations, and so on, to address the issues of your business. The help group is incredible! Having a devoted help contact with standing week by week 30-minute gatherings has been useful. Furthermore, the "counseling hours" are convenient when there are things that myself or other framework specialists inside my organization can't make sense of, on the grounds that they can utilize their insight and skill to get us what we need.
Read Hassan Siddiqui's full review
Shriya Narula profile photo
July 19, 2019

Workfront from a consulting view

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my prior consulting job, we used Workfront internally and externally. Externally it was useful loading up a project plan and the dashboard functionality was helpful for conducting status report meetings. The problems we had with it was that it was difficult to hide other clients' dashboards which is a huge security risk. Also adding tasks and the indentation was not very user-friendly.
  • Loading up a project plan.
  • Custom dashboard.
  • Assigning tasks to users.
  • Changing due dates in bulk was tedious on a project plan.
  • Folder structuring or accessing a document easily.
  • Creating custom forms was not very intuitive.
Workfront works well if everyone is committed to it and willing to go through the learning curve. It works well for smaller projects and a project which has set due dates for each task. It is well-suited to for having a set of guidelines to clearly differentiate between a task or an action item. I really liked the dashboards that we created using Workfront but it definitely took a lot of learning to figure out how to make those custom forms and set who can see them. Also for the consulting use case, keeping in mind that we have several clients, having different dashboards was also difficult.
Read Shriya Narula's full review
Brian Nizinsky profile photo
July 19, 2019

Makes project management less painful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workfront for all of our Marketing projects, which span a lot of different types of deliverables. It is our main place of record for all project work and status updates. The saying at work is "if its not in Workfront, it doesnt exist." We do this so that there is tracking and accountability for all requests and transparency of the workload of our teams.
  • Building out templates for repeatable parts of a project
  • Easy to understand visuals of project tasks, due dates and assigned people
  • Easy setup of projects, with everything on one page and no need to jump back and forth to different parts of a project
  • There is really no native Digital Asset Management in Workfront, I know thats an add-on they sell but it would have been nice to have some basic features
  • Too many emails out of the gate. If you dont go in and customize this, you will get flooded
  • Some helpful visuals are buried in the navigation, like seeing how many hours a person has assigned to them for work
Workfront is well suited for non-IT project management. It]s built so you don't have to be a Six-Sigma black belt in process management to be able to run a department successfully.

I feel like it is less suited for complex software dev projects or web dev projects. The bug tracking features in it are not sophisticated enough to handle those types of tasks.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review
Stephen Jonas profile photo
July 17, 2019

Workfront for Small and Large Groups

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Workfront (WF) to track our Communications projects from submission, to approvals, to delivery. We are currently in the process of building out a second instance of Workfront for another business area, and will eventually build out a process for our web agile teams. Workfront allows our customers to have insights into their projects, creating transparency and accountability for both the writers, designers, account managers, and customers.
  • Approval process.
  • Reporting.
  • Project insights.
  • Allows better customization of the users home page.
  • The ability to review proofs with no comments, as it gets messy when there are many comments.
  • In reporting or views the ability to easily add fields without the use of TextMode.
For what we do-- project management, tracking, approvals, and reporting-- it's a great fit. Customers love the dashboards and appreciate the dashboards when they realize they provide deeper insights. It provides accountability; when tasks are late, management is automatically notified (it was set up for Admins to notify when a task is 1 day late, and Execs when it's 2 days late).
Read Stephen Jonas's full review
Lisa Carper profile photo
July 17, 2019

WorkFront will help keep you in line!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WorkFront to keep an array of projects on task. WorkFront allows you to have single projects but also portfolios that bring multiple projects together. We have different offices/departments that work on the same project but in different capacities. I was able to see what percentage of the tasks were completed for the other parts. I love that I am able to upload documents and tag people in comments directly within the project. I also love that we could create forms to track attendance numbers, budget information, and logistical details, all in one place. I am able to create templates to make copying an event for future use even easier. WorkFront is able to be customized to fit the dashboard that you want to view, as well as the reports that you want to pull.
  • Customized reporting.
  • Project versus Portfolio.
  • I would like the task list to be slightly more user-friendly. When it is time to "work on it," you have to click each one individually. I wish you could bulk select these.
If you have multiple pieces of a project, WorkFront is a great tool to keep you on task. While some tasks may seem basic and part of a routine, others may slip under the radar if it isn't a common practice. It is great to be able to track the progress of an individual, a team, or just a project.
Read Lisa Carper's full review
Meredith Walter profile photo
July 16, 2019

Great for Resource Mangement, Approvals for Creative Teams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is used as our project management tool across our creative teams (marketing, design, research). We have user types of all kinds that include project managers, subject matter experts, and upper level management.
  • Templated projects with resource assignments
  • High level overview of tasks that need to be done and their timelines
  • Project timeline visualizations (Gantt charts)
  • Data exports of time used
  • Easy timesheet submissions and edits
  • Approval workflows that are easy to manage
  • Integration with external tools, like InDesign
  • The UI of the interface could use a little improvement. It's not hard to learn but there's a soft learning curve.
  • Sometimes the project timelines can get a little buggy and it's hard to diagnose the issue
Workfront is great for larger organizations that have more complex review and approval workflows. It's also great to cross department collaboration on projects. I think it also does a fantastic job with project templates so that recurring projects can be easily added and sent to the appropriate resources.
Read Meredith Walter's full review
Bruce Emmerling profile photo
July 12, 2019

A highly flexible and powerful tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is a powerful project management tool that was utilized to help develop a number of projects including web development efforts, database updates, and outreach campaigns within a nonprofit organization. It was used by the whole organization and was quite flexible in being usable on different levels of project complexity.
  • It does a good job of integrating many functions and operations.
  • The reporting tools are excellent although sometimes hard to learn by some employees.
  • They offer excellent customer support.
  • The product can be a little expensive for some organizations.
  • For new employees the product can be more challenging to learn than other similar products.
  • It can be time consuming to setup the program from scratch.
The product works great with large, expansive projects with many participants. On the other hand, It can be a bit of an overmatch of features for small projects or smaller organizations. Its versatility is one of its greatest strengths and it does really well with software and web development projects. Its collaborative tools make it very usable with organizations with multiple remote offices working together.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
Amy Sternin profile photo
July 11, 2019

Workfront evaluation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is being used across the IT organization for tracking and managing all IT efforts that require more than 80 hours of work. A few additional departments have implemented Workfront with varying success for groups of < 20 users to track business type products. The problem it addresses is that all projects are contained in one central location, with the ability for both IT and business stakeholders and management to be able to easily view project status and progress.
  • Workfront is easy to configure to send out reports on either an adhoc basis or regularly scheduled.
  • Workfront has features to customize notifications so that when various events are trigged, you can configure emails and alerts to keep both IT and business people informed.
  • Workfront can generate custom charts and graphs to help provide stats on resource usage, product categorization, etc.
  • Ability to customize easily to your companies terminology.
  • The gantt charts are very hard to work with and modify.
  • The methodology/tools are geared toward a non agile development shop.
  • A one page executive status or summary would be extremely helpful, but does not exist.
Customers that do not use an agile methodology would find Workfront a decent tool. It is especially helpful for larger IT groups and companies that want to have visibility to projects both for IT staff as well as business users. For a company that wants sophisticated dashboards, Workfront is not very impressive in that area.
Read Amy Sternin's full review
Kyle Carpenter profile photo
July 11, 2019

Workfront is amazing and will reduce time spent on projects.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is being used by our entire agency. It allows for seamless campaign management from conception, to creative, to operations, and even media. We also use it for the timesheet as it allows us to log time against specific jobs, tasks, and issues. We also use it with our client to upload proofs. This makes managing feedback from the client and sending it to our team a breeze.
  • Task Management. It allows you to set due dates and keep track of how far along that task is complete.
  • Timesheet. This makes it extremely easy to bill the client. They can see a breakdown of who worked on what project and for how long.
  • ProofHQ. Uploading creative is amazing on here. You can even upload animated HTML banners that can be viewed easily without outside programs.
  • Some custom forms can be a challenge to create. Going to the LEAP conference put on by Workfront helped greatly, but still has some challenges.
  • Updates section. Wish there was a way to upload images or documents on updates without uploading under the documents tab.
It is extremely helpful for creative and media projects. You can set deadlines, assign employees designated tasks, and view creative all in one application. It is less appropriate if trying to send large communications via updates.
Read Kyle Carpenter's full review
Jerry van Dalen Jr. profile photo
July 11, 2019

Great for Keeping Track of Consultant Billable Hours

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization sells software and services to install that software as well as general consulting services. We use Workfront to manage the implementation projects and consulting projects from a time and materials perspective. Each consultant is assigned to projects and they log their hours day by day into the corresponding projects. Our AR department then bills customers based on the hour logs.
  • Project management by status and progress tracking.
  • Helps consultants stay on track with their time keeping because AR is constantly reminding them to fill in the time sheets.
  • Can produce reports to submit to customer when they ask for a breakdown of how hours were used.
  • Creation of tasks, responsibilities, projects can be a little cumbersome from an admin perspective.
  • Time entries need to be constantly saved. If you forget, all your entries are erased. Would be nice to have an "auto-save" feature.
  • "Documents" features are weak. Not sure if it can integrate with share-point and other collaboration tools.
This tool is best suited for keeping track of time-sensitive projects. It is very useful for the AR group that uses these entries to create invoices. For broader collaboration functions, the tool can be a bit lacking. All in all, it works very well for how our team uses it and we have used it for many years. No signs of switching and no reason to.
Read Jerry van Dalen Jr.'s full review
Alfred Titus profile photo
August 07, 2019

Project Management at an Advanced Level

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is used in this organization to facilitate different working projects. It is the main tool of recording and coordinating all the projects in progress and posting updates in regard to timelines. We all trust in the efficiency of this software as far as coordinating project team members are concerned to enable us to meet project
deadlines. Through its tracking features, accountability for all requests and
transparency of all the tasks has been realized.
  • With Workfront, its very easy to come up with templates from the previous projects incase they are related
  • Projects can be easily set up with everything on the same page without rushing back and forth for different sections
  • It has been developed in a way that understanding project visuals, assigned people and due dates is easy and straightforward
  • Workfront does not have a native Digital Asset Management features which should have been integrated to make the software more attractive and improve its usability
  • Some of the very useful visuals of Workfront have been buried in its navigation which makes it hard for new users to use it
  • The software tends to send too many emails which may get ones mail account flooded
Honestly speaking, Workfront is a well suited project management tool because it has been developed in a way that the user doesn’t have to have a six-sigma black belt in managing projects. However, the software is less suited for complex projects because its bug tracking features are sophisticated to handle such projects.
Read Alfred Titus's full review
Aileen Taylor profile photo
July 12, 2019

Ease to adopt and use but needs to focus on improving UI/UX

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is used by our entire marketing department including our Europe, Japan and China locations. We use the ProofHQ and Project Managment systems to manage all aspects of our processes.
  • Project template management
  • Proofing integrated with projects
  • Ease of adoption
  • Allows different teams to use waterfall, Kanban and Scrum at the same time
  • The UX/UI needs more attention. There are many buttons programmed into the system that do not mean what they say or are confusing to the user.
  • Workfront is often called "WorkAround" by users because that is what is often offered as a solution for UX/UI issues. For example the "Work On It" button is not reportable and does not actually change the status of the task to "In Progress" as users would expect.
  • Form fields lack a way to label them to identify which group that field is for that is hidden from the end users. Workfronts suggested "WorkAround" is to label the fields with "HQ" or "EU" to identify the owner of the fields these codes actually show to the users i.e. "HQ Date Email Is Due". Once again poor UI/UX.
Workfront is good for groups who need integrated proofing and communication system with project management. Workfront is good for groups who what an easy to use interface and who manage many projects at once.

It is not good for groups who just need to manage a limited number of projects.
Read Aileen Taylor's full review
No photo available
July 12, 2019

A Useful Alternative to SharePoint

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Workfront is being used across several corporate functions within the enterprise to enhance and better track the project management of various priorities within those functions. The functions currently using it are moving away from using SharePoint to manage projects, create forms, and report and route tasks, due to the capabilities Workfront has to offer over those of SharePoint.
  • Routing. Workfront's capabilities to route tasks to multiple people far exceeds the capabilities of SharePoint in terms of back-end configuration required and ability to track task status.
  • Form Creation. Workfront forms have a better UX than SharePoint as well as the ability to customize forms based on certain responses.
  • Project Management Tracking & Reporting. The ability to track task and project statuses and send reminders/alerts when parameters are set are very helpful. Additionally, the reporting capabilities are very helpful when tracking multiple projects across multiple functions to deliver to leadership.
  • General Interface. Looks very similar to SharePoint and it doesn't really grab your attention
  • Form Creation. Some of the fields when creating forms are required to remain, despite not necessarily being required to be filled out.
Workfront is well suited for project management, which doesn't come as a surprise since that's the whole point. If you're looking for a program to replace SharePoint as a project management tool, then Workday seems to be a good option. The only major drawback is that Workfront and SharePoint have very similar looking interfaces as far as look and feel goes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 11, 2019

Superb Management Software to Provide Visibility to All of Your Projects

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We heavily use Workfront as a project management tool for our Biz-Ops department. It's very easy to use, and the reporting allows you to get in-depth on what is the current status is for each product. We use it to proof our projects and manage our resources/workflows. This software has been vital to keeping our biz-ops employees on track.
  • The reporting is very robust and easy to use. You can literally report on anything you can think of.
  • iT Creates transparency for all of our employees and how they are doing on their projects.
  • Allows you to track activities in real-time.
  • There can be a steep learning curve, as this software has so much to offer.
  • There's no integration with Gmail.
  • It takes a while to set up the integration and to get all the features set up correctly.
It's well suited for businesses trying to create uniformity for projects, especially medium to large size companies. It works very well for team collaboration and keeping employees on task. It might not be the best software for small businesses or small teams. This software can be expensive, making it not a viable solution for businesses that are on a budget.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2019

Workfront Successes and Ideas for Improvement

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is being used to manage marketing project requests and execution. It seems to address the problem of needing a collaborative space to execute on marketing deliverables.
  • Workfront is great at task management and project timeline planning. It has the capability of having different layouts and views for different users.
  • The reporting capabilities of Workfront are incredible. The system presents data in an easy to understand format.
  • The overall setup and configuration is more confusing than it should be. Once it is set up, it seems to work well, but setting up the system and ensuring that everything is connected is harder than it should be.
  • The focus on individual projects instead of overall campaigns is a drawback. Requests are linked to individual projects. This makes it hard to link requests to multiple projects that could be part of an overall campaign request.
  • The overall look and feel of the program is becoming a little dated compared to competitor programs.
I would certainly recommend Workfront for project management solutions. It is easy to create tasks and manage documents and approvals within the program. However, I think the overall user experience of the system could be improved. It seems to be getting dated and the configuration and management of the program can be very messy and complicated from the back-end.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2019

Almost a perfect tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used within a couple departments, but we are looking to expand to other ones. It helps us with initiating projects. We get more details on the PRFs for new projects. Its transparency allows a better view of the project and its status. It also allows to see any comments, or approvals where teams can communicate with one another. HQ proof is also useful as all comments are incorporated in one document, so they can be analyzed by the reviewer.
  • Transparency: approve/ reject buttons with comments visible to everyone on the project. Proof HQ. Status updates visible to everyone.
  • Notifications.
  • Flexibility. Allows to adjust settings, views and how projects are run
  • Easy on the eye! User friendly
  • Fast. Hardly any freezing.
  • Implements project management ideas. This allows for better project tracking and managing
  • Date adjustments. When one task is completed earlier, the dates could adjust from when it was approved taking in the amount of days per task.
  • Notifying the project owner when documents are uploaded
  • Overall cons are small but would make the work easier and initiate a faster response.
It works great for smaller to medium projects. I am not sure how it would be on more complex projects, but I am sure it could be adjusted.
It works well for projects which have documents to be reviewed. It is great for following the progress of the project. I am sure for a tool to track teams and internal project stakeholders it works well! It manages all the approvals, tracks the work, and allows for communication. I am not sure how WF would behave if there were more stakeholders involved, like procurement and client facing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 23, 2019

Workfront -- Good for large businesses, less great for small

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is being used by our organization to maintain productivity from the perspective of our project managers and our customer service/account people. It keeps our projects on track and ensures that everyone has the ability to view the status of various projects at any given moment. It solves for the miscommunication problem we had prior to implementing Workfront.
  • Design: We have a lot of visual learners, and the various colors that we can use to show steps/processes surprisingly made a difference in understanding the stage.
  • Accountability: Assigns tasks to individuals so that they are kept accountable for their part of a project.
  • Project Management Ease: Our project managers can make changes on the fly. No more painstaking hours to update a project.
  • The learning curve is high. It's not the easiest program to use.
  • Price :Things are good, but you are paying for all the extras whether you use them or not.
  • Company: Sometimes it's difficult to work with the Workfront representatives because it feels like they are all sales all the time when they should be listening and helping.
Workfront is more suited for larger organizations. Smaller organizations may get more bang for their buck using programs that are either free or have a lower price per user. Workfront is more "big league," used for mass communication of projects across a major company. The notifications are good but can become overwhelming at times, regardless of what size company this program is implemented within.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2019

Workfront works for us!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workfront is currently being used as our primary project management software, mainly by our Client Success, Client Operations, and Creative teams for client projects. It allows us to house all client and internal projects under one roof and provides consistency across those projects by allowing us to create and use templates. We will be implementing financial data and tracking in Workfront this year to be able to accurately measure project success.
  • Templates - allowing us to create and use templates keeps projects and timelines consistent
  • My Work - having a clearly laid out work area detailing what's ready, what's coming up, and what's overdue helps keep our teams on track
  • Reports - being able to pull reports based on almost any data point allows for easy data collection and analysis
  • Easier standard reporting and built-in executive dashboards would be helpful so you don't have to pretend to know how to edit in text mode
  • Modification of in-app notifications would be helpful
Workfront is great if you have any type of project management going on in your business. It's especially great for projects that need to be kept within scope. It is not as helpful for projects that don't have timelines (you need to put in dates for everything, adjust when overdue, etc when you're not sure when it will actually get done), but it still helps keep track of tasks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 17, 2019

Headline! Life Insurance Company's Go-To Market Velocity Skyrockets After Finding Best In Class Collaboration Tool WORKFRONT!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workfront as our single source of record for Marketing Initiatives. This includes any and all Sales and Marketing Collateral related to print, digital, web, email, and events. We have partnered with our legal and compliance teams and integrated our workflows to include their review processes. This tool is a great way to promote visibility across an organization. Having one source of record ensures that we don't miss a beat, whether an employee is out on leave or a project is put on hold and brought back to life, we can stop and pick up right where we left off.
  • Source of record for all work.
  • Great for communication and collaboration.
  • Document Repository.
  • There are a few gaps in reporting functionality.
  • Some of the views and terminology are confusing.
  • I don't have three bad things to say...
Workfront is a great tool for communicating, collaborating, and documenting work. We did have to help our users understand that it is not an automation tool. It won't do your job or your taxes, but it could help you find any details you need to help you do either if they are recorded in Workfront.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 11, 2019

Great software for project management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, we use Workfront to monitor and control product development projects from start to finish.
  • Workfront helps to promote transparency in regards to project status.
  • Workfront allows users to improve communication by utilizing the platform to ask questions, concerns while eliminating the use of emails.
  • Workfront keeps centralized and accessible all critical information in regards to a project. i.e. Project risks, issues, budgeting, etc.
  • Workfront should take into consideration the intuition of individuals. Some commands commonly used are not applicable within the Workfront platform. i.e. ctrl+F to locate words within a project plan.
  • Workfront should consider if it hasn't, the integration of Agile.
Workfront is well suited to manage any kind of project, from product development to process improvement. Large and small scale projects.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 11, 2019

One of the best PM tools although it comes with a cost

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Workfront with one of our clients. In our case, we manage marketing campaign production within the tool and it involves multiple business areas like creative, copywriting, coding, and operations. Being a project management professional, it is easy to manage work via Workfront and make sure things are getting done on time and to the fullest. The tool allows for easy communication as well as makes it clear who is responsible for what.
  • Task management: makes it easy to assign tasks and keep all the communication in one place.
  • Schedule and timeline management: it is clear when things should be delivered, what is blocking them, and what the priorities are.
  • Asset management: it is easy to collaborate on creative assets, store them, and share across teams.
  • Notification management is not flexible enough and sometimes you don't get notified of certain actions.
  • Comments do not support attachments so you have to provide links to digital assets.
  • Certain areas of the interface mimic each other very closely so it is easy to get confused and post/upload something to a wrong page.
Workfront is a very good project management tool for one-off or recurring projects like digital production. It allows for easy communication across teams and keeps tasks organized. It is also easy to manage roles and responsibilities as well as identify potential project risks and impact on the timeline. The tool is more of a solid enterprise solution and may not suit small companies mostly due to its cost.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 10, 2019

Workfront has been a welcome upgrade!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workfront to manage our Graphics Team requests for product related materials. It provides easy access, approvals, status, and copies of the final product. It integrates seamlessly with email and provides instant alerts to status changes. Definitely helps keep projects on track for us. The user base for us has been increasing as teams grow.
  • Real-time updates without reaching out to the person responsible for the task. Helps keep them on track without interruption.
  • Great for uploading and downloading documents for quick review.
  • Helps manage and prioritize large amounts of requests.
  • Could manage files a little better
  • Easier dashboard
  • Project tracking
For me, tracking graphics requests is the only task I use it for. It works well, shows me where the project is, with whom, and the project status. I like that it offers a log of interaction between the requester, group manager, responsible party, and others involved. I like that it handles start to finish and keeps all markups, requests, reference materials, and final drafts in the same place.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (275)
9.2
Resource Management (248)
8.5
Gantt Charts (220)
8.1
Scheduling (243)
8.4
Workflow Automation (246)
8.5
Team Collaboration (265)
8.5
Support for Agile Methodology (164)
7.6
Support for Waterfall Methodology (178)
8.3
Document Management (248)
8.2
Email integration (209)
7.3
Mobile Access (213)
7.9
Timesheet Tracking (200)
8.6
Change request and Case Management (187)
8.5
Budget and Expense Management (168)
8.4
Quotes/estimates (68)
7.2
Invoicing (58)
7.6
Project & financial reporting (150)
7.7
Integration with accounting software (48)
8.2

About Workfront

Workfront is a web-based project-management tool developed by Workfront, formerly AtTask, based in Utah. It was designed for both IT and marketing teams, but can be implemented for any kind of project. Workfront offers all the features standard to project management platforms. Editing and updating issues from the project view is styled to work somewhat similarly to a social networking site, bringing team members together in one central location. From the project view screen, issues, documents, and other elements of the project are placed along a tab bar so that they may be addressed with one click directly from the hub.

The platform's Capacity Planner allows a manager to move resources to where they are needed, and has some automation features (e.g. the Set Best Fit option, which attempts to allocate resources optimally within given constraints). Agile project management is supported with features like Gantt charts, an easily viewable and manipulable backlog, and storyboarding. Team members can be managed with the aid of quantitative metrics that show where work would be best allocated.

A free trial is available, after which Workfront comes in four pricing options. The lowest tier is Collaboration for small groups, followed by Work which adds mobile accessibility and time sheets, then Plan which adds additional analytic, planning, and reporting features. Finally, Enterprise Plus offers the highest configurability as well as support and data security.

Workfront Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Has featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Has featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Has featureQuotes/estimates
Has featureInvoicing
Has featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureReports & Dashboards - Build custom reports and dashboards to track, document, analyze, and share your progress
Has featureCalendars - Stay organized and on time with customizable, visual work calendars
Has featureNotifications - Keep everyone in the know of what's happening and what's still required
Has featureRecognition - Motivate team members with real-time feedback and endorsements
Has featureDigital Proofing - Keep work moving forward with proofing and reviews in one place
Has featureDigital Asset Management - Store, manage and distribute final files and completed digital assets in one central location
Has featureCustomization - Configure Workfront to suit your needs, processes, and environment

Workfront Screenshots

Workfront Integrations

Allocadia, Oracle Responsys, WebDAM, Widen Collective, Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, MS SharePoint, SAP, Oracle PeopleSoft, Mediaocian, Clients & Profits, ExactTarget, MS Outlook, Other Custom Integrations Possible with RESTful APIs

Workfront Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Workfront Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Dedicated Customer Success Manager

Workfront Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Several
Supported Languages: Several