TrustRadius
Brightcove Video is a video hosting and publishing solution. The company also provides a cloud media processing product called Zencoder.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/bE/bP/OC75IBR6I44E.JPEGBrightcove for BeginnersBrightcove was used across two departments (Marketing & Video creation). It solved the issue of having a common space for all professional videos to live and avoided possible security breaches from other video hosting sites such as YouTube or Vimeo. Because you could set custom permissions settings on Brightcove, we were able to ensure that the content was secure.,Permissions configuration Tagging & organizing Editing,Hard to navigate user interface No built-in naming conventions,8,More usability on videos = better content = more leads,Youtube and Vimeo,Airtable, QuickBooks Online, MarketoSpotlight on BrightcoveI really enjoyed using Brightcove for our live and prerecorded streaming. The flexibility regard to video uploading from mobile devices meant reporters and staff were able to submit video from the field without having to consult a web producer. Prior to an event our web producers were able to set up multiplaylist players and basically walk away as the system managed uploads. Brightcove saved us a ton of time and allowed us to focus on more important tasks.,Live event streaming Ability to customize players Easy-to-use interface and app. Customer support was always quick and helpful Supported advertisements,Building your own player from scratch or modifying an existing players functionality through code is a pain - stick to prebuilt players, or pay for a custom one Reporting is pretty limited You have to pay for 24/7 support,9,Faster video turnaround time Ability to stream live events ROI with ad support,,10Brightcove is getting brighter...My organization began using Brightcove as our company-wide video cloud solution because our servers were struggling with the bandwidth usage and taking the videos to a third party hosting solution seemed like a great way to off-load the videos. Brightcove was a good solution, as it came with a base set of players as well as provided multiple renditions based on available connection speeds of the clients.,They have a really strong back-end framework for video delivery - They use multiple CDN's around the world to deliver the best quality video quickly. The user interface is simple to understand - While they provide many video tutorials on how to work with the user interface, it is intuitive enough to just jump in and get started on your own. The YouTube sync option has been a great way for us to manage the videos, based on keywords, to help coordinate and organize our channel.,The customization portions of the video players require learning a completely unique language and do not provide a GUI for player design. The players are primarily flash based and require extra HTML code for an HTML5/Mobile ready experience. It takes quite a few CSS workarounds to make the players responsive. Players could benefit from more style options, such as themes, Play Button Overlays, icon customization, option availabilty I have had many issues with the customer support department. They are really good at sending you video links to their knowledge base, but require a bit of escalation to get support beyond that. However, when I found a bug in their JavaScript file, they did get it resolved, it just took about 2 weeks... The metrics/analytics could use a bit more finesse. They used to have a much better system, but about a year ago they updated and the new interface is less informative.,6,Faster website load times thanks to the CDN they have in place. Connection Speed detection has been a nice feature. An external JavaScript file that can cause troubleshooting issues They do still rely heavily on flash and we are trying to move away from it.,8Device agnostic video solutionBrightcove video cloud was used across all the departments in my organization which required a video hosting solution to host videos and customize the video player UI to suit their needs.,Easy to upload, host videos Availability of standard video players for different devices as well as the ability to customize the video players Availability of Brightcove APIs that give very high degree of customization,Steep learning curve for using Brightcove APIs Limited capability available to customize HTML5 videos(for iPad),8,Customer service was good, we had a conference call with technical support team for the technical issues we encountered.,8Brightcove - A bright idea for serving up hot and fresh videos!Brightcove Video Cloud is being used as a video hosting service for the companies television programs that can be found on the company website. It allows an inexpensive way to host and manage TV programs without having to provide our own video servers and the staff to manage them.,Adding and removing videos is a snap. It is very easy to add videos to the service, and schedule the times that they would be live on the website. The quality of the videos and the speed which they were served up was exactly what our company relied on. The best thing about Brightcove was that we didn't have to provide the server space and the technical staff to manage it.,I would like to see a few more player options. A little more flexibility on the scheduling side.,9,Again, there has been a huge cost savings which significantly improved our ROI There has also been less time spent on learning new technologies and training additional staff on maintaining a video server. Less time spent on the previous two points has allowed me to focus on other areas within the department that needed improvement.,9
Unspecified
Brightcove
32 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Brightcove Reviews

Brightcove
32 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 32 vetted Brightcove reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chloe Sayers profile photo
April 27, 2018

User Review: "Brightcove for Beginners"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightcove was used across two departments (Marketing & Video creation). It solved the issue of having a common space for all professional videos to live and avoided possible security breaches from other video hosting sites such as YouTube or Vimeo. Because you could set custom permissions settings on Brightcove, we were able to ensure that the content was secure.
  • Permissions configuration
  • Tagging & organizing
  • Editing
  • Hard to navigate user interface
  • No built-in naming conventions
Brightcove is well suited for large marketing departments with a heavy emphasis on video content, creation, storage, and editing. It's not great for content distribution and if you're looking for a centralized location for all creative assets (images, copy, .PDFs) Brightcove won't cut it. You'll need a larger content management solution for that.
Read Chloe Sayers's full review
Ashley Buley profile photo
December 04, 2014

User Review: "Spotlight on Brightcove"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I really enjoyed using Brightcove for our live and prerecorded streaming. The flexibility regard to video uploading from mobile devices meant reporters and staff were able to submit video from the field without having to consult a web producer. Prior to an event our web producers were able to set up multiplaylist players and basically walk away as the system managed uploads. Brightcove saved us a ton of time and allowed us to focus on more important tasks.
  • Live event streaming
  • Ability to customize players
  • Easy-to-use interface and app.
  • Customer support was always quick and helpful
  • Supported advertisements
  • Building your own player from scratch or modifying an existing players functionality through code is a pain - stick to prebuilt players, or pay for a custom one
  • Reporting is pretty limited
  • You have to pay for 24/7 support
If you are looking for a video solution that will allow your organization to simultaneously stream live events while maintaining a large catalog of on-demand videos Brightcove is perfect. Normal learning curve aside, any web producer with video experience should have no issues working with Brightcove.
Read Ashley Buley's full review
Colby Iannazzo profile photo
April 25, 2014

User Review: "Brightcove is getting brighter..."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization began using Brightcove as our company-wide video cloud solution because our servers were struggling with the bandwidth usage and taking the videos to a third party hosting solution seemed like a great way to off-load the videos. Brightcove was a good solution, as it came with a base set of players as well as provided multiple renditions based on available connection speeds of the clients.
  • They have a really strong back-end framework for video delivery - They use multiple CDN's around the world to deliver the best quality video quickly.
  • The user interface is simple to understand - While they provide many video tutorials on how to work with the user interface, it is intuitive enough to just jump in and get started on your own.
  • The YouTube sync option has been a great way for us to manage the videos, based on keywords, to help coordinate and organize our channel.
  • The customization portions of the video players require learning a completely unique language and do not provide a GUI for player design.
  • The players are primarily flash based and require extra HTML code for an HTML5/Mobile ready experience.
  • It takes quite a few CSS workarounds to make the players responsive.
  • Players could benefit from more style options, such as themes, Play Button Overlays, icon customization, option availabilty
  • I have had many issues with the customer support department. They are really good at sending you video links to their knowledge base, but require a bit of escalation to get support beyond that. However, when I found a bug in their JavaScript file, they did get it resolved, it just took about 2 weeks...
  • The metrics/analytics could use a bit more finesse. They used to have a much better system, but about a year ago they updated and the new interface is less informative.
How stylized do you want you player to be? How much customization do you need to implement? I think Brightcove is a great solution if you are looking for simplicity in your video delivery. For more complicated media solutions, they are working on getting there, they have so much potential. If they could remove the BEML coding reliance and bring the Player GUI into more of a WYSIWYG format, they would sky rocket.

It's definitely a company I will keep my eye on. They have a great start, they just need a bit of polishing.
Read Colby Iannazzo's full review
Shrinivasan Neelamegam profile photo
April 22, 2014

Brightcove Review: "Device agnostic video solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightcove video cloud was used across all the departments in my organization which required a video hosting solution to host videos and customize the video player UI to suit their needs.
  • Easy to upload, host videos
  • Availability of standard video players for different devices as well as the ability to customize the video players
  • Availability of Brightcove APIs that give very high degree of customization
  • Steep learning curve for using Brightcove APIs
  • Limited capability available to customize HTML5 videos(for iPad)
For device agnostic videos, it was a great choice. In a specific situation, we wanted a video solution that would fit in any size of the browser window. But the flash videos were not resizable.
Read Shrinivasan Neelamegam's full review
Grant Benatar profile photo
April 19, 2014

Review: "Brightcove - A bright idea for serving up hot and fresh videos!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightcove Video Cloud is being used as a video hosting service for the companies television programs that can be found on the company website. It allows an inexpensive way to host and manage TV programs without having to provide our own video servers and the staff to manage them.
  • Adding and removing videos is a snap. It is very easy to add videos to the service, and schedule the times that they would be live on the website.
  • The quality of the videos and the speed which they were served up was exactly what our company relied on.
  • The best thing about Brightcove was that we didn't have to provide the server space and the technical staff to manage it.
  • I would like to see a few more player options.
  • A little more flexibility on the scheduling side.
The number one issue for my department was the server space and the staffing that it would have taken to host our own videos. Budgetary restrictions prohibited hiring additional staff for the sole purpose of maintaining a video server. The current staff did not have the expertise to produce the quality and ease of use that Brightcove provided right out of the box, which was a major factor in the purchase of Brighcove's services.
Read Grant Benatar's full review
Scott Gale profile photo
April 15, 2014

Review: "Brightcove Video Delivery Works Well For Graco Inc."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightcove to deliver about 800 product training videos and a few videos for our internal web site. Brightcove delivers globally, including China (You Tube will not). The tool renders multiple versions of a video to deliver to the users device properly. I.E. iPad, phone, computer. The system also delivers the quality of video the users internet speed can handle to avoid the start stop start stop issue some sites have.
  • Render multiple versions for good delivery per user device and speed
  • Allows for playlists. This is VERY important. Think of the playlist as a container you point to and you can swap videos in and out as revs change. But the LINK does not change.
  • We can add subtitles for multilingual delivery because of their relationship with SubPly. The systems work together.
  • Easy user interface.
  • Good analytics.
  • I would like to see subtitle functionality within Brightcove without having to use an outside vendor SubPly. This adds cost, and setting up the initial relationship takes some effort.
  • Would like the videos to be downloadable from Brightcove for use when folks do not have an internet connection.
Long term stability and support from Brightcove has been good. We have had very few outages. Brightcove delivers very well globally. Rendering for multiple devices and internet speeds is all done by Brightcove, we just upload a high quality .mov. Subtitles are possible through a third party and that is inconvenient but works well. I do not get complaints about speed or video quality.
Read Scott Gale's full review
Samantha Brady profile photo
April 18, 2014

Brightcove Review: "Video me"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WJLA uses Video Cloud for all video embed by sales, news and promotion. We use this across the whole organization. We do not typically see many issues, other than load time.
  • Create new playlist
  • Uploading Video
  • Creating new videos
  • Implementing AdTags
  • Creating overlays on playlist vs each video
  • Analytics - demo
We use for all videos, so we arent typically having a selection process.
Read Samantha Brady's full review
No photo available
May 18, 2016

Review: "Brightcove Video Cloud - Art of story telling!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightcove Video Cloud was used to primarily showcase our products and books. We also used videos for authors of books to talk briefly about the book they authored and used it on the eCommerce store. We also had online professional development and used it for educating educators on how to teach. Videos were used as relevant content on the page. Some parts of the website had the Brightcove Video Player customized as per the design of our site.
  • The video player is responsive and works on desktops, mobile devices & tablets.
  • The video administration console is easy to use and maintains a large number of videos. It can also be used to publish videos based on time and date.
  • There are many player templates to choose from and use on a website.
  • The video cloud also lets the user add start and end markers to videos, which makes it easy to play context sensitive video play.
  • The code for customizing the video player can be made easier, I think it still uses BEML code.
  • Easily accessible ready made code will help users like me to implement a cool looking player.
  • I would love to implement Brightcove video cloud on most of the projects that I work on and I see we could use it in so many different ways but pricing is not easily available on the website.
  • Again if I could work with someone to price for small, medium and large businesses that would be great.
The trend now is to use full screen background videos, I hope we could use video cloud to do that but not sure how. I also feel we should use videos where applicable but at the same time it should not be over used.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 09, 2014

Brightcove Review: "Even the folks in Marketing can use this product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are implementing it as part of an overall redesign of our current public website, utilizing Brightcove as our new video library and video platform. The desire was to get away from YouTube videos.

Currently the Marketing department is using it across the various groups including internal communication and our blog. After the site is live we will introduce BrightCove across the organization and start building a more robust library.

What I was most impressed with was the ease of use for the average non-technical user and also the support from Brightcove.
  • Ease of use for the non-technical user
  • Organizational ability is outstanding
  • Implementation was incredibly easy
  • Billing plans were reasonable and made sense.
  • I haven't used it to the extent to see any shortcomings I guess.
Brightcove Video Cloud works great for our blog; is very easy to use for our social media person, and allows for great archiving and retrieval.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2014

User Review: "BrightCove - Overall a Great VCMS!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The read APIs are being used to grab video assets for media processing and meta-data tagging. It's used by our Data Engineering department to easily access video assets and meta data. We are fan of the read APIs, though while good, some of the documentation could be better. We also use the write APIs to write back to Brightcove, which we are slightly less impressed with.
  • Ability to easily output a JSON response for requested video data. This makes it easy to work with Brightcove as partner.
  • The read APIs are very flexible and can the output can be easily customized using cgi args. This provides great customization of the output and sorting and filtering mechanisms to find the videos you're looking for.
  • The ability to add captions to videos is good, especially with the regulations requiring video captioning. DFXP support works great as long as the player is given the exact XML format it is looking for.
  • The write API documentation could be better. Specifically, the portion where they talk about adding captions. There are simpler ways that they have documented.
  • The write API could be better. It's up to the developer to retry on write failures as it's limited to 1 QPS, which I can understand. However, I feel they should have a better way to intelligently manage write requests so the end-user does not have to do this. Either this, or provide some examples where more than 1 write request can be combined into 1 http call. For example, if they provided an example where you wanted to add captions and also add meta data in one call, that would be helpful.
I don't think this applies to our use-case, but I would like to say that the support staff is helpful if the documentation is confusing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 22, 2014

Brightcove Review: "An ideal video platform for business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One department currently uses the Brightcove Video Cloud, IT. Our IT department handles all web site design, development and updates. One huge business issue that Brightcove resolves for us is security. We have a secure site that our customers use and use Brightcove on that site for security reasons. For instance, being able to turn off the "get code" feature if we don’t want videos being shared. Also, we have users on a variety of platforms and browsers. Being able to transcode to multiple streams is invaluable.
  • As far as security, our customers are agents and access a secure agent site for details on their line of business. We also offer product tutorials, training and promotion. All this information is secure. Brightcove provides an ideal solution for embedding videos and players into our secure site.
  • The variety of players and player-related infrastructure Brightcove offers is a huge plus. The choices provide a variety of solutions depending upon our needs. It could be as simple as an embedded video or something more complex such as a tabbed-player. Being able to style and brand the players is just icing on the cake.
  • Being able to easily sort, manage and organize our entire media library is convenient and a real time-saver. No searching through pages and pages of videos to get to the one you want.
  • I find the interface to be a little cumbersome. The more you use it, the easier it is but I would not say it offers the best user experience.
  • We have the Basic subscription because that's all we need. That means there are some features and developer tools that we don't have access to. It would be nice to have access to those features without paying up for the next level. Why are we limited because of the type of plan we have or the number of videos we have?
I definitely would recommend Brightcove depending upon the scenario in which they need to use it. For security purposes, definitely. Also if you want to be able to add branding and styling. It's also well suited for multi-platform video experiences. One concern would be integrating with a CMS. Brightcove is integrated with many CMS solutions but not all, so it may not be well suited for all in that respect. As far as resources required, it is helpful to have someone knowledegable in HTML, CSS, some JavaScript, and possibly a developer if you want to access the developer features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2014

User Review: "BrightCove a Solid Choice"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightcove was being used by a previous company that I worked for, Outside Television, syndicate of the Outside lifestyle magazine. We used it to edit short video clips and add video tags for web searches in order to broaden the reach of our material. It was only being used by the research and development team and did not cause any business related problems.
  • Allows you to easily view and edit video clips
  • Allows you to easily insert video tags and key descriptions and summaries of the content being previewed
  • The accessability of the videos within Brightcove make it very easy for one to go back, locate and edit
  • Quite frankly, I was very impressed with Brightcove during the time I had used it. If I had worked longer with Brightcove maybe I would have come accross more areas for improvement.
It is more well suited for a colleague who will be dealing with the uploading of video content and critiquing such content to get the most possible exposure.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2014

User Review: "Brightcove for non-techies"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We Brightcove Video Cloud within our Marketing/Communications department to highlight our organization's events and industry panels. It allows us to get this time sensitive coverage to our members and followers quickly and easily. The interface within our website is seamless and we are also able to send links to individual video files displayed on a separate page/viewer.
  • Easy interface with fairly intuitive design and applications.
  • Integrates nicely within our website
  • Allows addition of keywords, simple stills selection and break points where ads or links can be inserted (have yet to explore this option)
  • Online support could be more accessible to the layman (non-techy users can get a bit lost in the help resource library)
  • Multiple user logins for the account (with different levels of access) would be useful - we work with many off-site videographers and editors
  • The ability to link to an individual video within a player on our website would be great.
It is great for closed access videos. Less useful if you just want to get your video out there and easily accessible. That said it is very easy to link videos automatically with YouTube.

It has a nice interface and is easy to use. I personally inherited the program rather than doing the research/making the decision to use the product and have been very happy with it so far.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2014

Brightcove Review: "I highly recommend this product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightcove is used by multiple departments in my company for both external and internal videos. External videos are posted to our company website and YouTube channel. Internal videos are for employee use only. Specially I use Brightcove to host internal training videos for my company. We use Brightcove as our platform to ensure that videos cannot be downloaded and shared outside of our organization.
  • Ensuring video cannot be downloaded and shared
  • Host of the video on a well structured, professional looking video player
  • Easy to upload videos and use search to find videos in your database
  • I would like to be able to video my video in the selected player prior to publishing the link
  • I would like to be able to download video files from Brightcove
Brightcove is approproate for situations where you want to share a video by emailing a link or embedding it in a webpage. It is not appropriate for situations where you need to send the native video file.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2014

Brightcove Review: "Easy tool to use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Display video for products or promotional material on the site
  • Videos on Microsites
  • Video on Product detail pages
  • Video in Style Guides and Lookbooks
  • Easier or better documentation on analytics integration.
Larger screens. Can be pixelated sometimes
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Video personalization (1)
7
Video SEO (1)
7
Video access controls (1)
9
User management (1)
9
Video link sharing (1)
9
Internal video (1)
9
External video (1)
9
Player customization (1)
9
Embedded videos (1)
7
Video quality / Bandwidth controls (1)
8
Mobile compatibility (1)
8
Per viewer tracking (1)
8
Per video tracking (1)
8
Video analytics dashboard (1)
8
On-Demand video (1)
8
Video upload & format support (1)
8
Video library / File management (1)
8
Video portal (1)
8

About Brightcove

Brightcove offers cloud solutions for delivering and monetizing video across connected devices.

In addition to the video platform, the vendor offers a premiere partner ecosystem.
Categories:  Video

Brightcove Features

Video Marketing Features
Has featureLead generation
Has featureVideo personalization
Has featureAudience for distribution
Has featureeCommerce
Has featureSupport for advertisements
Has featureVideo SEO
Has featureIntegration to Marketing Automation
Video Platform Integrations Features
Has featureIntegration to Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration to Marketo
Has featureIntegration to HubSpot
Has featureIntegration to Eloqua
Has featureIntegration to LMS
Video Security Features
Has featureVideo access controls
Has featureUser management
Has featureSSO support
Has featurePassword protection
Has featureVideo link sharing
Has featureEmbed restrictions
Has featureInternal video
Has featureExternal video
Video Player Features
Has featurePlayer customization
Has featureEmbedded videos
Has featureVideo quality / Bandwidth controls
Has featureMobile compatibility
Video Analytics Features
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureStreaming quality reports
Has featurePer viewer tracking
Has featurePer video tracking
Has featureVideo analytics dashboard
Video Hosting, Management & Storage Features
Has featureOn-Demand video
Has featureLive streaming
Has featureImpact of streaming on network
Has featureVideo upload & format support
Has featureVideo library / File management
Has featureVideo portal
Has featureVideo downloads
Does not have featureVideo editing
Has featureHigh definition support
Has featureClosed captioning / Transcription
Video Engagement Features
Has featureAudience polling
Has featureAudience Q&A / Live chat
Has featureVideo comments

Brightcove Integrations

Brightcove Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Brightcove Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No