Mattermost Reviews

11 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Angela Goldsmith, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Mattermost An Integral Part of our Communication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mattermost is currently used by our development teams to communicate with each other throughout the day. It allows me as our project manager to quickly communicate support issues, escalate user requests, and clarify information with the team. Team members use it to communicate merge requests, requests for code review, notification of deployments to various environments, etc. We have channels for each team as well as a general non-team channel where team members can communicate about anything else they wish to share. This keeps non-project related information out of the specific channels and gives the team a place for more free-form communication. Mattermost is an integral part of our daily communication. Because of the success of this solution with our development team, we will be rolling it out to replace an antiquated chat solution for the rest of the company across the departments.
  • Allows individual channels for teams, departments, or projects
  • Easy to use
  • Really nothing I would change or add. It works well and doesn't give us any issues.
I have used several different solutions like Mattermost, even while using Mattermost internally but using other well-known solutions to communicate with vendor teams during projects. Mattermost has a small footprint, is easy to use, and makes our communication more accessible. It has a web or desktop client. I prefer the desktop simply because I already have enough tabs open in multiple browsers for my job. Having the desktop app open and ready is easier for my workflow. Other team members use the web version and are equally happy with it. I keep Mattermost open at all times and even use it when I work off-site to keep communication open with the team. I like Mattermost the best of all similar solutions I have used over the last ten years.
We have not had to contact support for Mattermost ever. All that we have needed has been available in the documentation or website. One of our DevOps team members set it up in a couple of hours. The whole team was using Mattermost that same day. No support needed.
Read Angela Goldsmith, PMP's full review
Ryne Fiebig | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Mattermost allows for quick and effective HIPAA-compliant communication.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mattermost is our main source of communication within our company. We use it to communicate within specific groups and disciplines, across the entire company, and for private messages. The most important factor when deciding on implementing Mattermost was it's HIPAA compliance. Within our healthcare company, HIPAA compliance is of the highest importance.
  • HIPAA-compliant messaging.
  • Notification system.
  • Usability.
  • Private messaging.
  • Visual interface could look cleaner.
  • The transition from another messaging software was not easy.
Mattermost is well suited for healthcare companies seeking HIPAA-compliant communication software. It works well within our company of about 600+ employees for easy quick communication within private messaging and group messaging. It may be less appropriate for connectivity to other software such as electronic medical record software. All in all, the software works perfectly within our setting.
Overall Mattermost's communication software works flawlessly. They allow for HIPAA-compliant communication across various forms of messaging. The software helps me communicate with other providers and staff throughout the day to quickly and effectively navigate a clinical setting. Mattermost keeps our team moving and has never given us any problems.
Read Ryne Fiebig's full review
Travis Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

A Great Communication Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Mattermost as a means of communication between our clients and us. This has provided us with a great platform to stay connected with our customers and allows us to stay up-to-date with everyone. It is very comparable to Slack, but more cost effective when opening up your channel to multiple users outside of our organization.
  • Public and private channels
  • Shared across multiple organizations/domains
  • Really wouldn't change much. This software has really fit our needs.
We wanted to have a platform to communicate with clients across the country. We looked at creating a channel in Slack, but the fee to add multiple domains was cost prohibitive. Mattermost is a wonderful solution that allows us to invite anyone from any domain to join our conversation, allowing us to operate efficiently and cost effectively.
Haven't had a lot of need for their service. However, when we have needed something, they have been very helpful and quick to respond.
Read Travis Brown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Mattermost makes a solid free, open-source solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mattermost is used company-wide as a collaboration tool, providing chat and conferencing options
  • Slack-like collaboration
  • A wide variety of plugins
  • Somewhat random selection of features that require a paid version
  • The usefulness of some integrations is questionable
Mattermost is perfect for teams that want to take advantage of what Slack offers without incurring the cost or opening up the security risks of a cloud-based collaboration platform. It is perhaps less than ideal for users who are very non-technical or who want a lot of features in a plug-and-play package.
Direct support is only available for the paid version, but there is a very active community that provides a considerable amount of information.
Read this authenticated review
María Lucía Santagata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2019

Communicate faster and better with your employees!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mattermost is used by the entire company. We used to use Slack before, but it had some limitations that, when the company started to grow, became important. We use Mattermost as a tool for communicating with other areas or within teams. It also provides us some fun, as we use it for non-work-related conversations, planning after-office meetings and sharing national news.
  • It's open-source! So our devs could adequate the tool to our necessities.
  • It works particularly well in every navigator.
  • It also works well in mobile phones, even when you choose not to install the mobile app (this is a BIG plus).
  • Notifications sometimes get lost if you have a lot of channels active.
  • It has a limitation of quantity of private channels that could be improved.
  • The interface is not very stylish.
When a company starts to grow, Mattermost is extremely suitable, as the teams start to lose face-to-face communication. It's also very appropriate in young environments, where written (chat!) communication tends to be the one of preference, over phone calls. Mattermost allows the employees to communicate fast and also to share nonwork-related topics, which is a nice way to welcome new employees. The problem associated with that last point is that sometimes people get distracted from work while chatting offtopic.
Well, every time I need support, it was given by the technicians of the company where I work because they made the custom modifications for using Mattermost here. I never had a problem that requires external help, so my rating is based on the help I needed in these 3 years of use.
Read María Lucía Santagata's full review
Jaideep Tibrewala | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2019

An open-source alternative to Slack that provides you complete flexibility over your team communication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mattermost as our team communication tool, and as a substitute to Slack. It is being used across the organization. We had a business + regulatory requirement where all our conversations with customers had to be on our own servers for audit purposes. While we had not opened up the tool to our customers, we decided to start with a tool which would meet this long term requirement. Mattermost solved this requirement for us while giving us the flexibility to host it on our own servers and have full control over the application.
  • Self hosted with capability to store and search for conversations from day one
  • Capability to create multiple projects with different set of users for each project
  • Capability to seamlessly plug into 3rd party applications just like Slack
  • Self hosting also means self management, and hence requires at least one person with technical know-how to manage the product
  • Major upgrades to the product can be challenging and are required to be done from the backend
  • While Mattermost is open-source and free, hosting Mattermost is not, and that needs to be considered by anyone deploying this application
Mattermost is well suited for startups what want to keep cost low, want to be able to keep their conversations for life, and want more flexibility and control over their web applications.
Read Jaideep Tibrewala's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

A Great On-Premises ChatOps Alternative

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mattermost is being used primarily in the software development community within our organization, although it is open for use for all employees. Using Mattermost has allowed for easier collaboration for those working together on projects, by limiting use of email, sharing knowledge, and getting quicker responses. With Mattermost implemented in our organization, tickets have drastically reduced due to a support person being able to answer questions directly on the platform.
  • Persistent chat capability, being able to search previous conversations.
  • The search function itself, finding conversations, files, people, etc.
  • Intuitive design, users can easily adapt to Mattermost due to its simplicity in design and features.
  • Audio/Video capability, implementation could be better (such as what current competitors have)
  • Customization could be better, with more options, such as theme, layout, and notifications
  • Some users have trouble with distinguishing between Teams and Channels, and are unsure of hierarchy or how to organize.
Software developers are big enthusiasts of a ChatOps software, such as Mattermost, as it allows for direct collaboration without unnecessarily relying on email to get projects done. That goes for any teams that require collaboration. Some scenarios where Mattermost may not work as well would be teams that are in different geographic locations, such as teammates in India. Due to the time difference, collaboration would be harder, and an application like Mattermost may not have that much benefit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2019

A worthy consideration as a self-hosted Slack solution, with some caveats

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Mattermost for a few months as our corporate chat tool to enable cross-regional discussions about work matters.
  • Self-hosted option
  • Many features on-par with Slack, such as public and private rooms
  • Open API supporting integrations with many services
  • UI glitches were frequent occurrences
  • Base pricing is competitive with Slack, but enterprise features come at a hefty price
  • Webhooks are cumbersome to set up compared to Slack
Mattermost may be most useful in a highly-regulated environment where self-hosting a chat solution is essential. But many cloud providers now offer HIPPA/FIPS-compliant chat solutions so it may no longer be necessary to self-host your own chat solution. Recommend doing your own research to be sure you aren't investing prematurely in a self-hosted option.
Usually we were directed to the forum to file enhancement requests for things that were basic features in Slack
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2019

Decent overall solution for security-focused organizations

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several thousand of our users currently use Mattermost to collaborate real-time in channels and in groups or direct messages.
  • Slack compatibility for Webhooks.
  • Emoji reactions.
  • Custom emojis.
  • Security.
  • Mobile performance is abysmal.
  • Desktop app doesn't auto update.
  • Archaic license management/license count optimization.
  • Release stability is unreliable.
Good when you want to own the data and platform. Bad if your users can't accept the cons or if you need automatic server updates or don't have an administrator for the platform.
Support is fairly responsive.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (1)
7
Gantt Charts (1)
6
Scheduling (1)
7
Workflow Automation (2)
5.0
Mobile Access (7)
8.5
Search (7)
7.8
Chat (8)
9.7
Notifications (8)
8.7
Discussions (7)
9.3
Surveys (1)
7
Internal knowledgebase (3)
6.0
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (2)
7.0
Versioning (1)
8
Video files (4)
6.4
Audio files (4)
6.7
Document collaboration (4)
8.6
Access control (6)
7.6
Advanced security features (3)
7.0
Integrates with Google Drive (2)
8.0
Device sync (2)
6.0

About Mattermost

Mattermost from the company of the same name in Palo Alto is a messaging, collaboration and communication platform providing high security and compliance for the businesses that need it.
Categories:  Collaboration

Mattermost Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No