TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/zB/gE/WJ768TJ4DRMM.PNGXero - Inventory Management and InvoicingWe use it primarily for inventory management for goods and services for our clients. It helps us to keep tabs on what we're using and what rates. We are also able to use it to draft invoices to bill to the government and 3rd parties for work we do on their behalf or at their behest. It makes a lot of our billing easier to process and account for.,Inventory Management - It's really easy to add goods/services and catalog them. Invoicing - It provides detailed and customizable invoices for partner's organizations. UI - It's a pretty easy to use software and very intuitive.,Auto-population - while this feature is useable there are always moments where something doesn't auto-populate the way I would expect it to. Administrator controls - It would be nice to allow different users different levels of access. Integration capacity - It would be really nice to integrate with the other inventory software we use. Barcode scanning - we could use the ability to use a bar code scanner to speed up the inventory process.,9,It has helped grow the services we could provide to clients. It has helped streamline our inventory management. It has made re-ordering much simpler.,Imonggo,Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Premiere Pro, ImonggoReconcile easily and on-the-go with Xero - Could save you hours!My COO uses Xero online and has the app on her phone for my business. It is perfect during traveling because you are able to easily keep track of receipts by simply taking a picture and categorizing it right away. Before, it was a challenge to keep track of all receipts and categorizing accounts efficiently and effectively. Another way our department uses it is by creating invoices, quotes, add bills, contacts and uploading files to inbox via the mobile application.,Add Receipts - Huge strength especially while on the go and traveling that you are able to take a picture of the receipt and categorize it right when you make a purchase (business expense). Keeping track of Sales - it's great to see all of the money incoming and outgoing over the months. Reports - easily to export reports for financial, sales, purchases, tax, accounting, fixed assets, and inventory.,Notifications to reconcile transactions during specific timeframes would be extremely helpful. Education and videos on how to use the software more effectively.,10,It gives me peace of mind that our receipts are getting saved digitally as well as filed. The return on time is substantial.... we used to spend hours and hours in Quickbooks and it is a lot easier and faster to file in Xero.,,Infusionsoft, WordPress, Authorize.NetXero - the future of accounting softwareXero is being used in two ways at our organization, as our in-house accounting system and as the accounting software we recommend to clients that hire us for their work.,Xero has a clean user-friendly interface. There are strong integrations with many complimentary applications. The software is constantly being updated. Since Xero was built for the web the application runs extremely smoothly.,The reporting function can certainly be improved. The function is good, but I think it is an area that could be simplified more. Update the support function; they are very responsive but I don't think you can speak to a live person easily.,10,Xero has had a positive impact on our internal accounting process - the user-friendliness has allowed me to train other members of my team to handle accounting policies. Xero has allowed us to increase our service offerings to clients. Xero will give us an opportunity to scale our offerings and increase our capacity.,QuickBooks Online, Accounting by Wave and Kashoo,Freshdesk, Freshsales CRM, Slack, Freshcaller, PieSync, Zapier, AWeber, Mailchimp, G SuiteAffordable, Shockingly Limited By Their Own Development ChoicesWe use Xero to track our financial activity for three companies. The international banking integrations are very helpful for managing companies in Canada and the USA. Due to some basic functionality lacking in the billing tools, we use Freshbooks for invoicing and rely on integration between the platforms to keep billing up to date.,Bank rec is really easy and forgiving when correcting a mistake. Basic financial reports are built in and useful. It's popular enough that there are numerous integration options with other platforms.,No invoicing, late fees - despite years and years and thousands of clients requesting it, Xero has decided not to develop any kind of interest or late fee functionality. Their only solution is to suggest a 3rd party tool that is quite expensive. No bundling/assembly tracking. If you are selling an item or service that requires multiple products or multiple revenue accounts, you're out of luck. Unless you want to manually make adjustments, or pay hundreds of dollars for a 3rd party tool.,4,Xero helped us to save time with tracking what has happened.,Sage 50 Accounting, QuickBooks Pro and QuickBooks OnlineXero Saves TimeRocket Fuel Design uses Xero to manage all our invoicing and payments as well as prepare financials for Inland Revenue and provide us with reports used to budget and forecast.,Bank Reconciliation Reoccuring Invoicing Dashboard Overview,Affordability for Small Business Target Monitoring,9,Xero saves me a lot of time with reoccuring invoicing, meaning I don't have to manually invoice my regular clients each month. I just check the figures are correct and approve to send.,MYOB,AgoraPulse, Teamwork Projects, Facebook for Business, Google Ad Manager, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Acrobat DC, Google Data Studio, Google Drive
Unspecified
Xero
233 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Xero Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Xero
233 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 69 of 233 Xero ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Evan Loeb profile photo
May 02, 2019

Review: "Xero - Inventory Management and Invoicing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero functions as a better clearinghouse for large scale inventory than Imonggo. But it's distinguishing feature is the ability to generate invoices for clients and partners. The ability to easily make invoices really separates it from Imonggo.
Read Evan Loeb's full review
Tamara Thompson profile photo
January 08, 2019

Review: "Reconcile easily and on-the-go with Xero - Could save you hours!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

My tax consultant recommended Xero because we were having a tough time keeping track of receipts while traveling. We initially had Quickbooks but not the desktop version and were very confused with the functionality.

I found with Xero's monthly reconciliations extremely helpful to make sure our money is being allocated in the right areas. It is so much easier now to manage bills & expenses.
Read Tamara Thompson's full review
James E. Heyward CPA profile photo
February 23, 2019

Review: "Xero - the future of accounting software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer Xero over the other options I have tried because it has a cleaner interface, operates faster on the web, has a strong API relationship with other applications and appears to be gaining ground on Quickbooks in the marketplace. QuickBooks Online is probably the most recognized but it seems like they are struggling in converting their market leading desktop software to an equivalent online offering. Intuit's online offering feels like they are stuffing the desktop version into the cloud.
Read James E. Heyward CPA's full review
Ryan Freeman profile photo
January 29, 2019

Xero Review: "Affordable, Shockingly Limited By Their Own Development Choices"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero is more affordable than other solutions, and being cloud-based it's helpful for granting accountant access.

Every other accounting package in existence has late fees and interest options built in.
Read Ryan Freeman's full review
No photo available
May 07, 2019

User Review: "Xero for new business models"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero is very efficient and easy to use for business owners that are not a desk all day, but still want to have knowledge of the business' performance. It allows for multiple users with different permission levels so multiple employees can help to streamline the business. Xero reporting is also very easy to produce and read.
Read this authenticated review
Matt Heerema profile photo
June 26, 2018

Xero Review: "The accounting package everyone should be using."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero hits our "maximum point" on the curves of simplicity, usability, and feature set. In my opinion it is by far the best in class, and the only reason it hasn't taken over Quickbooks entirely is that industry-standard products, no matter how inferior, are difficult to dislodge. Quickbooks needs to go away. Xero is amazing.
Read Matt Heerema's full review
Graham Green profile photo
March 02, 2018

User Review: "Xero - Helped transform our business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero was the easiest to use and most cost effective of all the solutions we evaluated during the procurement process. We spoke to other similar sized businesses and they highly recommended using Xero. We liked the fact it's a cloud based system meaning we can access the system and data remotely. It integrates with our recurring billing platform and our bank.
Read Graham Green's full review
Andre Yeu profile photo
January 09, 2018

Review: "Xero, our first general ledger/accounting app helps me sleep well at night!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We switched off of FreshBooks to Xero. It is somewhat apples to oranges, in that FreshBooks is not a general ledger nor does it claim to be (at least at the time 2 years ago). Our business grew though and having a general ledger with reconcillation features like Xero was important to ensure accuracy in our financial reporting, filing our taxes accurately, and increasing visibility into the p/l of our business.
Read Andre Yeu's full review
Doug Fish profile photo
January 09, 2018

Review: "Looking for a small business accounting solution? Think Xero!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Xero because of the fair price, the ease of use and the extensive documentation and support. I used QuickBooks for many years and I don't dislike it, but I just find Xero to be more intuitive, less cluttered and easier to use.
Read Doug Fish's full review
Ean Murphy profile photo
January 08, 2018

Review: "Xero is what I use for my own company's bookkeeping"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks for Mac is not a viable product. PC desktop makes off-site work difficult (and hosted environments are clunky and slow). QuickBooks Online is improving, but all recent innovations seem directly in response to, and taking a lead from Xero base product. Overall, Xero is a fresher more responsive company with a great product.
Read Ean Murphy's full review
Austin Morrell profile photo
January 15, 2018

Xero Review: "Small company savior?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Unleashed previously to Xero. Unleashed is a fine program, but it is more bulky and less fluid when it comes to making or adjusting an entry. I chose to make the change to xXero after some trusted recommendations and a trial run. Needless to say, I'm still with Xero and couldn't be happier.
Read Austin Morrell's full review
Ronen Amit profile photo
January 09, 2018

Xero Review: "A solid accounting solution for small business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero as a cloud-based solution cannot be compared with the desktop solution, especially when much of our company's business is done online. The more the market moves online, the more desktop solutions will be cumbersome and outdated. Other cloud-based solutions, such as Accounting by Wave and QuickBooks Online, which we have tried in the past, had either a slower interface or lacked some features we required.
Read Ronen Amit's full review
No photo available
February 02, 2018

User Review: "Xero gets it done!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I started with Xero in 2014 and they seemed to be the leader in online small business accounting. They seemed to have already ironed out a lot of issues and made it very easy to get started. And they quickly ramped up and ironed out solutions to problems. Plus they were extemely well priced for the simple accounting needs we had at the time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

Review: "Xero impressed me pretty quickly. It's hands-down better than my 5 year old desktop product."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There was no competition once I had used both products. QuickBooks Online is very clunky in comparison with no real feature benefits. The costs were comparable. Xero is much more pleasant to use day-to-day.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 08, 2018

User Review: "Xero superior to QuickBooks"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Previously exclusively a desktop QuickBooks "shop". Hate the version control issues and need to collect and transfer data files to get source documents. Auto bank downloads clunky and not as intuitive as Xero bank recon features. Few clients use FreshBooks - nice customer invoicing tool, but not a real accounting system. Selected Xero because it's easy to learn, dashboard view is great and bank recon makes accounting efficient and easy.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (30)
7.2
Benefit plan administration (8)
5.9
Direct deposit files (27)
6.7
Salary revision and increment management (20)
6.5
Reimbursement management (25)
6.3
API for custom integration (48)
8.3
Plug-ins (42)
8.4
Single sign-on capability (26)
8.9
Role-based user permissions (51)
8.8
Dashboards (56)
8.4
Standard reports (58)
8.6
Custom reports (53)
8.0
Accounts payable (58)
8.6
Accounts receivable (59)
8.5
Cash management (55)
7.9
Bank reconciliation (60)
8.8
Expense management (58)
7.5
Time tracking (14)
5.5
Fixed asset management (40)
7.2
Multi-currency support (45)
8.0
Multi-division support (36)
7.5
Regulations compliance (27)
7.9
Electronic tax filing (24)
7.7
Self-service portal (36)
7.9
Global Financial Support (13)
7.2
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (13)
8.7
Intercompany Accounting (14)
7.5
Localizations (11)
7.9
Journals and Reconciliations (31)
8.0
Enterprise Accounting (12)
7.2
Configurable Accounting (19)
8.1
Centralized Rules Framework (11)
8.0
Standardized Processes (18)
8.2
Inventory tracking (28)
7.0
Automatic reordering (8)
7.9
Location management (10)
8.1
Manufacturing module (4)
8.0
Pricing (26)
7.9
Order entry (27)
7.8
Credit card processing (26)
7.9
Cost of goods sold (31)
7.6
Order Orchestration (5)
6.8
End-to-end order visibility (7)
7.3
Order exception Resolution (3)
5.5
Branded client dashboards (15)
8.1
Client data roll-up capabilities (17)
7.3
Client data consolidation for benchmarking (13)
7.5
Configurable alerts (13)
6.8
Billing bypass (17)
8.0
Client template cloning (14)
7.5
Single sign-on (20)
7.4
Configurable client onboarding questions (10)
7.4
Cross-client workflow management (12)
8.4
Industry-specific versioning (11)
8.1
Legacy system data migration (22)
6.9

About Xero

Xero is an online accounting software product for small businesses, as well as for personal finance. Xero competes most often with QuickBooks Online. Its features, beyond the ubiquitous general ledger and double-entry bookkeeping support, include invoicing with quotes, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, tax management, and it is mobile-accessible. Third party apps can extend its features further.

The product is sold by subscription (a distribution model commonly known as software as a service or SaaS) requiring the payment of a monthly fee. This charge is proportionate to the number (and type) of company entities managed by the subscriber. The lowest tiered pricing option is the $9 per month Starter pack, which supports unlimited users but a limited number of transactions. The $30 Standard pack breaks open usage limits and adds e-filing and payroll options. The $70 Premium package doubles the number of supported employees on payroll from 5 to 10, and supports multiple currencies.

Xero Integrations

Xero Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Xero Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No