Xero Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
287 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 87)

Jennifer Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Great for small biz & simple reporting needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Used FreshBooks when the business was first starting out because they had a free plan. Quickly needed more features, and switched to QBO.

QBO worked well for many years, but they continually increased their fees and the interface got more and more difficult to use. Also, it had limited support for Mac and their app was always crashing. QBO had great reporting & complex features, but didn't integrate well with time tracking solutions.

We evaluated Zoho Books when searching for a QBO replacement. It also had built-in time tracking & project management, with support for other Zoho-based integrations. But its user management was very cumbersome (new users had to be manually added to every single project on the account if you wanted them to track their time). And there was some overlap between Zoho integrations, which seemed difficult to use.

Ultimately ended up with Xero on a recommendation from a colleague in a similar business. She liked the simplicity and automated solutions, which I also make use of. I liked the automated invoicing & billing solutions, and the integration with my existing time tracking system. The reporting limitations are still a concern, but so far, I have been able to get all the info I need.

Read Jennifer Hess's full review
Fergus Mc Manamon | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Very glitchy, missing vital features and worst customer service imaginable

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used Sage One previously. It was relatively new and needed a lot of improvement. The improvements were very slow coming and we made the decision to leave. Their customer support was infinitely better than Xero's but did leave a bit to be desired too. In general though, they did try and at least, they could be contacted.
Read Fergus Mc Manamon's full review
Lori Feldman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Who Thought Accounting Could Be Fun? (Not Me)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks was my grandmother's bookkeeping software. Nothing was automated and it forced me to know good accounting practices. That's what I pay my accountant for. Xero is intuitive and also limited on what you can do on each screen. If I'm ever confused, I send a support ticket and hear back within 1 day. Or I go to the forum which is very active. I am currently running Zoho Books in parallel to Xero and they stack up pretty evenly. With Zoho Books, I get 24/7 live chat help and they stay online with me till I resolve my issue. With Xero, help is via email. Usually I'm not in a big hurry, so that is fine, but the choice is to work on New Zealand or Indian time. Neither one has a payroll module for my state, and Zoho Books has many more integrations thru its API than Xero does. Depending on what other software changes we make in the near future (around marketing and project management), the integrations will determine which accounting program we'll end up with permanently.
Read Lori Feldman's full review
Holly Snell | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Xero is a great choice for Small Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero has been hands down so much better than Quickbooks. With reporting alone- Xero has exceeded Quickbooks. It is so much easier to logon - not have to back up the program having it all cloud-based. So many more functions and ease of multi-currencies is excellent as well.
Read Holly Snell's full review
Jamie Wilkinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Xero is the Pro’s choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used this product before it was cloud software, so the comparison is harder to make. It was easier to pull off top spender reports from sage. However, reconciliation is so much easier on Xero when you link your accounts. A significant factor for us was that our managing accountant uses and prefers sage and helps us when we need it!
Read Jamie Wilkinson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Use the Fabulous Xero - Cloud Based Accounting Intelligence

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Xero is easier for new businesses that need cloud-based accounting software.
  • Xero has functional integration with other applications that our clients need.
  • Gusto is a great payroll application that is now used by all our clients with their Xero software.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Xero Accounting Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks and Xero have many of the same functions and both will provide a business with the information a basic accounting software would. Xero provides better custom reporting options, and using cash coding it is more efficient for me to reconcile large volumes of transactions. FX converting function is also very good for entities with transactions in multiple transactions.
Read Michael Hanley's full review
Haider Alleg | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Why we use Xero in Switzerland and would never switch back from it

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Interface, price and open platform were our key criteria and Xero smashed the competition on these. It does everything better, but you have to master it and take the time and get some serious professional help to configure it. Yes local solutions like Bexio does a better job being a swiss product but it would take a week to Xero to catch up.
Read Haider Alleg's full review
Alyssa O'Mara | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Xero is the perfect accounting tool for the accounting-phobic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero is a lot easier for the non-accountant. Most of the language is easy to understand and not finance-speak. I can do what I need to do in 1/2 the time. They also have great support, so if I mess something up when I reconcile, they help me sort it out.
Read Alyssa O'Mara's full review
Steven Duran | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Affordable cloud solution for small business accounting needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We really liked Xero because it was incredibly affordable when compared to the other solutions that we evaluated. There are some things that need to be improved but overall it's a really enjoyable online accounting solution. I'm happy with my experience of Xero and I know there are ways that I could use it more effectively moving forward.
Read Steven Duran's full review
James E. Heyward CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Xero - the future of accounting software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer Xero over the other options I have tried because it has a cleaner interface, operates faster on the web, has a strong API relationship with other applications and appears to be gaining ground on Quickbooks in the marketplace. QuickBooks Online is probably the most recognized but it seems like they are struggling in converting their market leading desktop software to an equivalent online offering. Intuit's online offering feels like they are stuffing the desktop version into the cloud.
Read James E. Heyward CPA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

Xero for new business models

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero is very efficient and easy to use for business owners that are not a desk all day, but still want to have knowledge of the business' performance. It allows for multiple users with different permission levels so multiple employees can help to streamline the business. Xero reporting is also very easy to produce and read.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

Xero - Inventory Management and Invoicing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero functions as a better clearinghouse for large scale inventory than Imonggo. But it's distinguishing feature is the ability to generate invoices for clients and partners. The ability to easily make invoices really separates it from Imonggo.
Read this authenticated review
Tamara Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Reconcile easily and on-the-go with Xero - Could save you hours!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

My tax consultant recommended Xero because we were having a tough time keeping track of receipts while traveling. We initially had Quickbooks but not the desktop version and were very confused with the functionality.

I found with Xero's monthly reconciliations extremely helpful to make sure our money is being allocated in the right areas. It is so much easier now to manage bills & expenses.
Read Tamara Thompson's full review
Ryan Freeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

Affordable, Shockingly Limited By Their Own Development Choices

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Xero is more affordable than other solutions, and being cloud-based it's helpful for granting accountant access.

Every other accounting package in existence has late fees and interest options built in.
Read Ryan Freeman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (34)
8.4
Benefit plan administration (10)
6.3
Direct deposit files (30)
7.0
Salary revision and increment management (24)
5.7
Reimbursement management (30)
6.7
API for custom integration (56)
7.2
Plug-ins (53)
7.8
Single sign-on capability (37)
8.4
Role-based user permissions (68)
8.9
Dashboards (75)
8.5
Standard reports (78)
8.6
Custom reports (72)
7.7
Accounts payable (78)
8.9
Accounts receivable (79)
8.8
Cash management (73)
8.2
Bank reconciliation (80)
8.7
Expense management (75)
8.6
Time tracking (19)
6.1
Fixed asset management (53)
8.5
Multi-currency support (51)
8.4
Multi-division support (46)
7.8
Regulations compliance (35)
8.5
Electronic tax filing (32)
7.5
Self-service portal (47)
8.3
Global Financial Support (17)
6.9
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (17)
8.5
Intercompany Accounting (19)
8.1
Localizations (15)
6.9
Journals and Reconciliations (48)
8.8
Enterprise Accounting (17)
7.8
Configurable Accounting (28)
8.6
Centralized Rules Framework (16)
7.4
Standardized Processes (33)
8.1
Inventory tracking (36)
7.1
Automatic reordering (13)
7.1
Location management (15)
7.2
Manufacturing module (9)
5.6
Pricing (35)
7.6
Order entry (35)
8.8
Credit card processing (32)
8.2
Cost of goods sold (38)
8.3
Order Orchestration (10)
8.5
End-to-end order visibility (11)
8.3
Order exception Resolution (7)
8.1

About Xero

Xero is an online accounting software product for small businesses, as well as for personal finance. Xero competes most often with QuickBooks Online. Its features, beyond the ubiquitous general ledger and double-entry bookkeeping support, include invoicing with quotes, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, tax management, and it is mobile-accessible. Third party apps can extend its features further.

The product is sold by subscription (a distribution model commonly known as software as a service or SaaS) requiring the payment of a monthly fee. This charge is proportionate to the number (and type) of company entities managed by the subscriber. The lowest tiered pricing option is the $9 per month Starter pack, which supports unlimited users but a limited number of transactions. The $30 Standard pack breaks open usage limits and adds e-filing and payroll options. The $70 Premium package doubles the number of supported employees on payroll from 5 to 10, and supports multiple currencies.

Xero Integrations

Xero Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Xero Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No