TrustRadius
Bills.com is a an online service for SMBs which provides a central dashboard for managing Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, and cash flow management. It syncs with all major accounting systems like QuickBooks, Sage, Intaact, and NetSuite.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/RT/WW/5MET3LIBL3XO.pngWanna pay bills while sitting by the pool? Bill.com is the answer!Bill.com is used by our entire organization. Our admin staff uses it to pay our own company bills and sync it seamlessly with Quickbooks Online, and our employee's use it to for our clients using the same features. Bill.com allows us to be a 100% paperless and cloud-based accounting firm. Our clients can easily submit bills, review them, approve them, and we can easily pay the bills on time, sync it to Quickbooks Online, and keep all of the financial data organized, which in turn results in real dollars saved in both the client's time and our employee's time. Furthermore, it's not even yours or your client's bank account that's at risk! Bill.com prints all of the checks from their bank account, which means if anyone tries a fraudulent activity, it's only Bill.com's information that's at risk, not yours. It's secure, it's fast, and it integrates. It's awesome!,Bill.com allows anyone who has the dedicated bill.com email address for the company to send bills directly to Bill.com. This means clients, vendors, automated bill reminders - all of those can be emailed directly to bill.com. There's no need for a "special portal" for these to go through - ANYONE can send them there. And, if you have something that you need to add that is on your desktop, great! Just drag and drop, and it's added. It makes getting the bills a very simple process. The approval process for Bill.com is great. You can set one or multiple approvers, you can customize it for just certain vendors need approval, or just amounts over a certain threshold, with a variety of combinations in between. This is really nice for clients who don't want to approve every bill they send you, but maybe they want to double check bills over $5,000. The variety of email preferences you can set up for Bill.com is amazing. You can set it so anytime you receive something new, you get an email. Or maybe every time there's an approved bill - you get an email. Maybe you only want updates once a week, or on certain days of the week - you can do that too! It's whatever you need to see to be the most efficient, Bill.com will notify you by email however you want them to. It's great because nothing slips through the cracks.,Voiding a bill in Bill.com is easy, but unfortunately, the void doesn't sync automatically to Quickbooks Online (unlike bill and bill payments, which do automatically sync). Bill.com is great in always telling you exactly what to do to correct it in your Quickbooks Online software, but it would nice if there weren't extra steps you had to take when this happens. Bill.com only sends the first page of a bill with a check. Typically this isn't a problem, but in some instances, it's necessary for more than 1 page to be sent. It would be nice if Bill.com had a checkbox selection option to print up to a set number of pages (maybe up to 5) for an additional fee. Having the option would be great so I don't have to jump through hoops with other methods to try to get a bill paid, all because I need more than 1 page to go with the check.,10,Prior to bill.com, we received the mail for our clients, cut the checks for their bills, and physically mailed them. It's was tedious for us, and there was no cloud storage for these documents. Now that we have bill.com, we have saved HOURS of time on processing bills. It also allows all of our remote staff to process bills easily. Bill.com has made keeping up with Accounts Payable for our clients so simple. Because it automatically integrates with Quickbooks Online, we don't have to spend time applying payments against bills in the software - Bill.com takes care of all of that for us. This gives our employees time back to focus on serving our clients in other capacities.,Receipt Bank Practice Platform, QuickBooks OnlineBill.com vs. QuickBooks ProWe used Bill.com as our primary tool to bill clients for advertising and any services provided by the company. It acted as the only way to bill customers remotely and get paid quickly.,Detailed invoices. Followup emails for past due invoices. Dashboard for all outstanding and paid invoices.,Better notification of when a bill was paid. Notification if email invoice was not received by customer. Wants too much information to setup an account in the system.,3,Slow to get paid. Was great at generating a fast invoice and bill, but slow to show results in followup. Did help increase consistency among the bills being sent.,QuickBooks Pro,8Optimizing Bill.com in Accounting SystemsMy clients use Bill.com as the system of record for disbursements to vendors and for reimbursement of employee expenses. This solution is being used across each organization and enables multi-level review and approval of payables obligations, central repository for documents from vendors and mobile management and access to vendor, cash flow and remittance information for management review without having to access each firms' accounting system. Bill.com seamlessly integrates with accounting systems --- my clients use QuickBooks, both hosted and online, NetSuite and Xero. Bill.com also integrates with Expensify, so employee expense reports can also go through multiple-level review and payments can be tracked and made electronically.,Seamless integration with major accounting systems and applications and intelligent, built-in workflow. This reduces duplication of work, skipped approval steps and delay in payment processing. Bill.com enables single repository storage for vendor invoice submission, unlimited storage for documents and good reporting capability. This assists with audit and control review. Bill.com provides live chat and call back capability from a knowledgeable customer service team. This is critically important, since accounting system synchronization is a complex matter and occasionally sync errors require some guidance to clear. Bill.com integrates well with 1099 preparation applications, which is critical at year end and saves data entry time when preparing these required forms.,The credit memo processing features in Bill.com could be built-out more fully. Additional report customization would be helpful. Batch-processing transaction capability could be developed.,10,Bill.com increases efficiency in invoice processing, saving hours of time and reducing duplication of efforts. Vendor set up and invoice processing time are reduced. Senior management can use Bill.com as a quick review of cash requirements and vendor activity, as well as provide approvals from anywhere.,,1,10,9,9Bill.Com Saves Labor, Postage and filing space.Currently, I use the product for the music, non-profit, legal and property management firms. It creates a system of checks and balances because of the approval system. Bill.Com saves paper and postage. It's easy to use and easy to train end users the product. Technical support is quite responsive and awesome.,Internal Audit Control Repository of cancelled checks and vendor documents Ability to save paper, postage and labor.,Create a system so you can pick and choose what should be synced or not. Make it easier to input detailed vendor bills.,10,Better Customer Service,10,10,9,10Is Web Based AP in your future?My firm implements accounting software for mid market organizations. Part of that implementation has been Accounts Payable - Vendors, Vouchers, Checks, etc. We are starting to see some of our customers that are taking the entire AP function and moving it to the cloud by using Bill.com, an innovative new cloud solution for moving Accounts Payable to the web. Vouchers are scanned to the Bill.com web site, assigned to a vendor and coded to the chart of accounts. They then route to approvers through the internet with email notification and finally, Bill.com will send an ACH payment or cut a check. Approvals are automated, voucher image library is built, no software or hardware is required and fees are nominal. And Bill.com will perform the same functions for Accounts Receivable - allowing you to create invoices, route them to customers and receive payments. With AP and AR on the same system, cash forecasting is also supported!,Accounts Payable Imaging and Routing - No more file cabinets, not more chasing down invoices lost in mail boxes, no more delay in getting payments approved. No Software or Hardware - since Bill.com is completely cloud based, it is inexpensive to get started and convenient. Fees are Transaction Based - at this time, checks cost $1.49 and ACH payments are $.49 each. Monthly fees are between $50 and $200. Depending on volume, total costs can be much lower than traditional software systems. Eliminates paper checks and file cabinet storage of AP vouchers.,Cloud is a strength and a weakness - some customers prefer a personal on-site training resource. Integration to other systems can be limited - for instance, some AP systems integrate to Fixed Assets for automatic set up of new assets. When integrating back to GL systems, 1099 and other information can be difficult to map. Based on volume, the low per transaction fees can total more than on site software systems. But for low volume firms, cost is very nominal.,8,Increased efficiency in approvals Lower cost of systems and people Faster approvals for invoice payment Convenience and quality of solution.,Microsoft Dynamics GP,Microsoft Dynamics SL,8
Unspecified
Bill.com
67 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Bill.com Reviews

Bill.com
67 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 67 vetted Bill.com reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 26)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Alicia Gates, CPA profile photo
February 22, 2018

Review: "Wanna pay bills while sitting by the pool? Bill.com is the answer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is used by our entire organization. Our admin staff uses it to pay our own company bills and sync it seamlessly with QuickBooks Online, and our employee's use it to for our clients using the same features. Bill.com allows us to be a 100% paperless and cloud-based accounting firm. Our clients can easily submit bills, review them, approve them, and we can easily pay the bills on time, sync it to QuickBooks Online, and keep all of the financial data organized, which in turn results in real dollars saved in both the client's time and our employee's time. Furthermore, it's not even yours or your client's bank account that's at risk! Bill.com prints all of the checks from their bank account, which means if anyone tries a fraudulent activity, it's only Bill.com's information that's at risk, not yours. It's secure, it's fast, and it integrates. It's awesome!
  • Bill.com allows anyone who has the dedicated bill.com email address for the company to send bills directly to Bill.com. This means clients, vendors, automated bill reminders - all of those can be emailed directly to bill.com. There's no need for a "special portal" for these to go through - ANYONE can send them there. And, if you have something that you need to add that is on your desktop, great! Just drag and drop, and it's added. It makes getting the bills a very simple process.
  • The approval process for Bill.com is great. You can set one or multiple approvers, you can customize it for just certain vendors need approval, or just amounts over a certain threshold, with a variety of combinations in between. This is really nice for clients who don't want to approve every bill they send you, but maybe they want to double check bills over $5,000.
  • The variety of email preferences you can set up for Bill.com is amazing. You can set it so anytime you receive something new, you get an email. Or maybe every time there's an approved bill - you get an email. Maybe you only want updates once a week, or on certain days of the week - you can do that too! It's whatever you need to see to be the most efficient, Bill.com will notify you by email however you want them to. It's great because nothing slips through the cracks.
  • Voiding a bill in Bill.com is easy, but unfortunately, the void doesn't sync automatically to QuickBooks Online (unlike bill and bill payments, which do automatically sync). Bill.com is great in always telling you exactly what to do to correct it in your QuickBooks Online software, but it would nice if there weren't extra steps you had to take when this happens.
  • Bill.com only sends the first page of a bill with a check. Typically this isn't a problem, but in some instances, it's necessary for more than 1 page to be sent. It would be nice if Bill.com had a checkbox selection option to print up to a set number of pages (maybe up to 5) for an additional fee. Having the option would be great so I don't have to jump through hoops with other methods to try to get a bill paid, all because I need more than 1 page to go with the check.
For cloud-based firms or paperless firms, Bill.com is necessary. Not only can you easily view, approve, pay, track payments, and sync the information with QuickBooks Online, but you can also see all of the historical data in Bill.com for any vendor, at any time. Once it's in Bill.com, you can throw away that bill!

If you have remote employees or complex approval processes, Bill.com excels at addressing those needs. If on the other hand you have a very small office and everyone is in the same building, and you like hand writing checks and manually entering them into whatever accounting software you use, then Bill.com isn't necessary. Likewise, if you only have a few vendors and you're able to set up them for automatic payment through the vendor websites, you don't need Bill.com.
Read Alicia Gates, CPA's full review
Joshua Duke profile photo
March 16, 2016

User Review: "Bill.com vs. QuickBooks Pro"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Bill.com as our primary tool to bill clients for advertising and any services provided by the company. It acted as the only way to bill customers remotely and get paid quickly.
  • Detailed invoices.
  • Followup emails for past due invoices.
  • Dashboard for all outstanding and paid invoices.
  • Better notification of when a bill was paid.
  • Notification if email invoice was not received by customer.
  • Wants too much information to setup an account in the system.

QuickBooks does everything now we need it to do, but is very hard to learn and operate. However, it does all the things we need it to do.

Bill.com was used as a simple way to send an invoice and get paid, but did not live up to expectations.

Read Joshua Duke's full review
Tina Gregory profile photo
August 30, 2015

Review: "Optimizing Bill.com in Accounting Systems"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My clients use Bill.com as the system of record for disbursements to vendors and for reimbursement of employee expenses. This solution is being used across each organization and enables multi-level review and approval of payables obligations, central repository for documents from vendors and mobile management and access to vendor, cash flow and remittance information for management review without having to access each firms' accounting system. Bill.com seamlessly integrates with accounting systems --- my clients use QuickBooks, both hosted and online, NetSuite and Xero. Bill.com also integrates with Expensify, so employee expense reports can also go through multiple-level review and payments can be tracked and made electronically.
  • Seamless integration with major accounting systems and applications and intelligent, built-in workflow. This reduces duplication of work, skipped approval steps and delay in payment processing.
  • Bill.com enables single repository storage for vendor invoice submission, unlimited storage for documents and good reporting capability. This assists with audit and control review.
  • Bill.com provides live chat and call back capability from a knowledgeable customer service team. This is critically important, since accounting system synchronization is a complex matter and occasionally sync errors require some guidance to clear.
  • Bill.com integrates well with 1099 preparation applications, which is critical at year end and saves data entry time when preparing these required forms.
  • The credit memo processing features in Bill.com could be built-out more fully.
  • Additional report customization would be helpful.
  • Batch-processing transaction capability could be developed.
Bill.com is well-suited to firms of all sizes who are looking for single-portal solutions to invoice approval and processing, with embedded integration to accounting systems. The system enables visibility into vendor activity and liabilities, enables more rapid audit support and provides "review anywhere" work capability. Because vendors are instructed to send invoices to a central repository and built-in workflow routes approvals as designated, efficiency can be significantly improved and fraud prevention processes are supported.
Read Tina Gregory's full review
Laura Chapman profile photo
October 11, 2015

Review: "Bill.Com Saves Labor, Postage and filing space."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I use the product for the music, non-profit, legal and property management firms. It creates a system of checks and balances because of the approval system. Bill.Com saves paper and postage. It's easy to use and easy to train end users the product. Technical support is quite responsive and awesome.
  • Internal Audit Control
  • Repository of cancelled checks and vendor documents
  • Ability to save paper, postage and labor.
  • Create a system so you can pick and choose what should be synced or not.
  • Make it easier to input detailed vendor bills.
Generally, anyone with 15 bills or more should be using this product to create good internal control, save labor, postage and filing space.
Read Laura Chapman's full review
Bill Aiton profile photo
December 19, 2014

Bill.com Review: "Is Web Based AP in your future?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My firm implements accounting software for mid market organizations. Part of that implementation has been Accounts Payable - Vendors, Vouchers, Checks, etc.
We are starting to see some of our customers that are taking the entire AP function and moving it to the cloud by using Bill.com, an innovative new cloud solution for moving Accounts Payable to the web.
Vouchers are scanned to the Bill.com web site, assigned to a vendor and coded to the chart of accounts. They then route to approvers through the internet with email notification and finally, Bill.com will send an ACH payment or cut a check.
Approvals are automated, voucher image library is built, no software or hardware is required and fees are nominal.
And Bill.com will perform the same functions for Accounts Receivable - allowing you to create invoices, route them to customers and receive payments. With AP and AR on the same system, cash forecasting is also supported!

  • Accounts Payable Imaging and Routing - No more file cabinets, not more chasing down invoices lost in mail boxes, no more delay in getting payments approved.
  • No Software or Hardware - since Bill.com is completely cloud based, it is inexpensive to get started and convenient.
  • Fees are Transaction Based - at this time, checks cost $1.49 and ACH payments are $.49 each. Monthly fees are between $50 and $200. Depending on volume, total costs can be much lower than traditional software systems.
  • Eliminates paper checks and file cabinet storage of AP vouchers.
  • Cloud is a strength and a weakness - some customers prefer a personal on-site training resource.
  • Integration to other systems can be limited - for instance, some AP systems integrate to Fixed Assets for automatic set up of new assets.
  • When integrating back to GL systems, 1099 and other information can be difficult to map.
  • Based on volume, the low per transaction fees can total more than on site software systems. But for low volume firms, cost is very nominal.
The biggest issue to resolve is whether the organization is ok with having this data all in the cloud, or whether and on premise solution is more comfortable. Going to the cloud has many benefits - cost, hardware maintenance and acquisition, imaging. In my experience, the larger the firm, the more preference for an on premise or hybrid solution.
At any rate, the innovation represented by Bill.com is dramatic and the cost savings for smaller organizations can be substantial. Bill.com and firms like it are changing the accounting landscape for organizations!
Read Bill Aiton's full review
Cindy B. Halpern-Cohen profile photo
April 06, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Great product to use!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it for a client so that their bookkeeper can import the invoices and I can manage cash flow, data entry etc., to sync with QuickBooks. I am now their accounting department and Bill.com enables remote access and remote control. Also it's nice to be able to link invoices directly.
  • Sync with Quickbooks eliminates double entry.
  • Invoices themselves are linked in system.
  • Can pay from anywhere.
  • The screen is a little hard to navigate since there are many options on how to enter an invoice. I would prefer seeing a menu driven system sort of like QuickBooks that would be easier for my clients.
The client needs to feel comfortable not physically cutting the check and becoming paperless.
Read Cindy B. Halpern-Cohen's full review
Dorothy Boyle profile photo
April 04, 2015

User Review: "Bill.com"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is being used by our whole organization as a tool for our client to pay bills and to issue and receive payment on invoices.
  • It is fairly easy to use and syncs very well with QuickBooks.
  • Customer support is very helpful.
  • It also provides a trail of what your client has paid and when. It helps with avoiding double payments.
  • When information is inadvertently deleted, there is no notification.
  • If there is no name on a check, it can still be issued.
Bill.com is fairly simple to use and seems appropriate for most industries. The document saving feature is very desirable and can save companies a lot of space.
Read Dorothy Boyle's full review
Barvie Koplow profile photo
April 03, 2015

Review: "Bill.com - Accounts payable all in one place"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bill.com to handle our accounts payable function. The whole organization (finance team and partners) uses it to properly review, approve, track status, store, and pay vendor invoices. Bill.com addresses making internal control measures easy to implement and eliminates the need for vendor filing.
  • Approval chains - lightens up the need for manual email follow-up and assures a documented time-stamped record of invoice approval.
  • Syncs with QuickBooks - easy on data entry, user friendly.
  • Customer support - By far, Bill.com has the best support team, staffed with knowledgeable consultants eager to solve any issues. Their chat feature is awesome.
  • Easy to upload images, multiple methods.
  • I'd like to see memorized approval chain templates, not necessarily what was last set for the vendor.
  • Quicker e-payments without having to pay extra money for an "overnight" transaction. Sometimes when processing payments on a Friday - our ePayments do not get scheduled to process/deposit until the following Thursday.
Bill.com may not really be suited for a solo practitioner. Although, I can see the benefit of having all vendor information and payments all in one place, without a hard copy filing system.
Read Barvie Koplow's full review
Janelle Thunhorst profile photo
April 03, 2015

Review: "Bill.com lets you give up check writing."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is being used to help customers pass on information to our team easily and to reduce time in the accounts payable process.
  • Bill.com lets us email bills directly to Bill.com, this feature saves us lots of time because we don't have to sort through tons of e-mails to find our clients accounts payable items.
  • The digital copies it saves are easy to read and find.
  • Easy communication between users and approvers.
  • It would be great if you could [pay] by via credit card in Bill.com.
  • I would like the feature to allow users pay approved bills with limitations.
Do you have high level of A/P? How much time to you spend on A/P?
Read Janelle Thunhorst's full review
Claire Auslen, QuickBooks Expert profile photo
April 06, 2015

"Bill.com review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Bill.com to enter and pay bills for my business.
  • Click and drag to enter bills
  • Cimple paying options
  • Getting rid of things that no longer belong there, for example, invoices I sent in 2013 that were paid to me directly.
  • It's hard to know what my bank balance will be after the bills are paid. Why couldn't the paid bills show up in the bank account date when they will be paid?
Wrike is probably not well suited for interior designers. They write most checks in showrooms. It is well suited for businesses that enter and pay bills monthly from their offices or from their off site bookkeepers' offices.
Read Claire Auslen, QuickBooks Expert's full review
Jennifer Corcoran profile photo
April 04, 2015

User Review: "Bill.com SPS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Each financial operations associate uses Bill.com to support their individual clients. My clients use it for for AP and AR functions.
  • Bill.com makes it easy to upload vendor bills and enter into Bill.com for payment
  • It is easy to find outstanding bills and vendors
  • Easy to find uncleared checks
  • Very easy sync with QuickBooks
  • I wouldn't mind being able to cut and paste details from bills into the bill entry screen.
I am a new user to Bill.com and have only used it with AP and AR.
Read Jennifer Corcoran's full review
Kaydee Peterson profile photo
July 03, 2014

Bill.com Review: "The solution for outsourced A/P!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bill.com for a handful of clients and our own company. This product provides a solution for various client issues such as direct deposit for independent contractors, employee expense reimbursements, the payable approval process, recurring expense payments, and outsourced A/P management.
  • E-Payments/Direct Deposit for independent contractors
  • Sync with accounting software
  • Custom approval processes
  • Notifications
  • Faster turnaround for e-payment/direct deposit delivery
  • Customer service availability (being able to call in)
  • Better discounts for accountants panel/accountant client sign-ups
What industry are you in, where are the members of your team located (one office or all over), what are your AP challenges, what is your current approval process, etc.
Read Kaydee Peterson's full review
Erin Thorp profile photo
June 30, 2014

User Review: "Save time & sanity with Bill.com!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Local Offer Network (LON) had 3 main sectors of business: Catalyst (personalization platform), Dealradar.com (aggregate daily deal website), and VoucherPro (white-label tech platform used by publishers and manufacturers to create their own prepaid offer products). In our accounting department, I used Bill.com as an organizational, calculation, and pay-tool for our VoucherPro clients to assure local area merchants be paid for the daily deals that were sold on our various platforms. Bill.com was a one-stop solution for LON that easily integrated with the platform of our white-label website, systematically tracked bills & payments, and (most importantly) significantly reduced manual labor.
  • Bill.com's tracking of sent checks and instant access to proof of cashed/uncashed checks was a Tremendous help for LON when dealing with merchants who had claimed to never have received payment. I could easily login to the Bill.com system, take a screenshot of the cashed check (complete with signature on the back), and email the merchant the solid proof. This method is obviously MUCH preferred over having to call your bank, get put on hold, and eventually track down proof of a check being cashed that they then can can inconveniently snail-mail you several days later. This is the age of Technology, and Bill.com does it right.
  • Bill.com's customer support team is second to none. They were always very patient, well-trained, and well-informed problem solvers.
  • I truly believe Bill.com's biggest aspiration was for their product to work for US in every way possible. If we came to them with an idea to improve the product for our needs, they always listened, and nearly always provided a viable and timely solution. It's often difficult to have a real voice in the internet/e-commerce industry, so it was very refreshing for me to work with a company who cared so much about our success as a company, and bent over backwards to accommodate our growing needs.
  • It's been roughly 9 months since I've used bill.com, so I unfortunately can't remember any of the functionality issues I had experienced. I don't think any of Bill.com's features were hard to use...and even if they were or a one-off situation came up, the customer support team was so helpful that they would be able to teach you in no time. The only complaint I can think of at the moment is that support was not available late in the evenings or on the weekends, which was frustrating when getting stuck on a problem while burning the midnight oil. But perhaps support hours have expanded since then, I am not sure.
  • One other thing I thought of that Bill.com may or may not have resolved by now, is that when you close a client company, Bill.com provides a CD-rom disc (for purchase) that allows you to access all of the information from that specific client after the Bill.com account has been closed (vendor information, check status, etc). However, being that none of the laptops in our office had disc drives, this company file disc was completely useless to us. It would have been more convenient to have either 1) USB version of the company file, or more preferred option, 2) Have Bill.com convert the online account to a read-only version so that you can still access the client information by logging in from anywhere there is internet access, but just don't have the ability to edit any of the information (which is not needed anyway).
I think Bill.com was very useful and appropriate for the large-volume billing scenario we had a Local Offer Network (LON). As far as smaller-volume businesses, I'm not sure I could see the benefit of using Bill.com in integration with QuickBooks or some other accounting software, in terms of saving time and labor---I do recall getting a lot of sync-errors with QBO, which were a bit time-consuming to fix, but it's highly possible that those issues have been addressed on the Bill.com side by now.

A friend of mine was worried about hiring a new bookkeeper and too much information getting into the wrong hands, so I actually did recommend Bill.com in order for him to gain more control over account access, and not having to worry about over-access due to Bill.com's intuitive control settings---so I do think it can be very appropriate and valuable for that purpose. But I suppose it's ultimately a matter of case-by-case analysis to see if the benefit outweighs the cost/cost-savings for each business.
Read Erin Thorp's full review
Jackie Compton profile photo
June 27, 2014

User Review: "Bill.com streamlines bill payment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I own a small accounting firm and we serve companies in a broad range of industries with revenues typically less than $5million. I especially like bill.com for its ability to streamline payables and assist companies with cash flow management. It is also an effective tool allowing companies to seamlessly collaborate with an outside accounting firm.
  • Bill payment is clearly bill.com's strong suit. Getting bills into bill.com and paid is quite seamless. Scan, submit, code, schedule. done.
  • Integration with Quickbooks is seamless. Clearing errors is typically easy. There is no rekeying information into Quickbooks. It quite literally is integration with the click of a button. I am working on integration with Xero and am finding the integration to require a bit more work.
  • Simplifying the bill payment process. Moving through a batch of invoices to pay in Quickbooks is quite simple, and it is a great paperless data retention tool. Once the image is scanned and coded, you can route it for approval electronically, schedule for payment and then Bill.com issues the payment. If you need to access the bill later, you can find the document easily and even see the front and back of the cancelled check all in one place.
  • While I think the cost of a traditional paper process is higher, I do think Bill.com is a bit pricey. You need to have at least 15-20 checks or more to enter per month to have a cost savings.
  • Integration with Xero requires a third party. Would be better if the connection was direct with Xero.
  • It seems like for debit/credit card transactions there would be an easier/quicker way to get the documents processed in Bill.com so Bill.com can act as a central data storage location. There should be one go to location for all payments issued by a company.
It is not good for clients who don't have any cash because it slows down efficiency, however, because of the visibility to outstanding bills given by bill.com, it does possess the ability to help clients improve cash flow.
Read Jackie Compton's full review
Scott Tarnosky profile photo
June 24, 2014

"Bill.com review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization utilizes the software. We selected the software to digitize the entire A/P process from input through review to final payment.
  • Web based access
  • Easy of use. The software is simple to install and maintain.
  • Flexible. We don't have the ability to link our back end to the software but we are still able inport/export data with ease.
  • Maintaining the G/L codes (syncing them with our accounting package) is cumbersome.
  • The reporting tools are not robust. There a few canned reports. More flexibility would be appreciated.
This product is better for small to mid-sized companies.
Read Scott Tarnosky's full review
No photo available
November 11, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Chill and pay your bill"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a bookkeeping firm, we set up Bill.com for our clients to ease up the process of paying bills and receiving payments. Most of the bookkeepers who have multiple clients work mostly remotely so Bill.com eliminates the process of check runs thus saving multiple trips to the client's office. Moreover, Bill.com stores all the bills providing a convenient database for clients and bookkeepers.
  • The inbox is a convenient way of receiving bills as it extracts attachments from the incoming email converting them to the bills ready to process, it has an option to fax the bill directly to the inbox, and, my personal favorite, convenient drag-and-drop option for easily uploading documents to the inbox.
  • OCR feature is amazing, it converts images to text and this enhances the search option making it easy to find documents by typing something that's in them into the search field.
  • The "Most Recently Used" feature is a very convenient tool to quickly getting back to the previous documents that you have worked on.
  • Bill.com could improve on account selection when entering bills. In other words, if you do not have in mind a specific account, you will most likely have to go through the whole chart of accounts to find the suitable one. The type-in search is a bit too specific as typing in a parent account does not show its sub accounts if their name does not start the same way as the parent account.
For the bookkeepers, who have multiple clients and can not afford the time for check runs, Bill.com is a perfect solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 19, 2015

User Review: "In love with bill.com"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company offers outsourced accounting services. Bill.com is one of the technology solutions in our bundled service package. The main problem it addresses is managing Accounts Payable for our clients. We are no longer shuffling paper; no checks to print, no envelopes to stuff, no stamps to adhere, and no paper to file. It's a dream!
  • As mentioned previously, it's a paperless solution. That alone is a huge selling point!
  • My clients can have multi-level approval processes in place, should that be important to them. (such as department supervisor first, and CEO as the second approver)
  • Vendor payments can be set up ahead of time, so that you will never have another late payment again.
  • Each client has a dedicated fax number and a dedicated email for their bill.com account, making it easy to put A/P processes in place for clients and vendors alike.
  • On the A/R side, invoicing customers and being paid electronically is fantastic! I personally use bill.com to automatically invoice my clients each month; and I'm automatically paid as well.
  • Accounts Receivable is good, but not great. The biggest problem for clients is attempting to manage A/R from the bill.com portal when their staff does not have access to the accounting software. In QB, jobs are added as sub-names to Customers for easy management of multiple projects. In bill.com those jobs are synced (and appear to be) separate Customers, not jobs associated with Customers.
  • I'm not a fan of the reports in bill.com, but I don't personally see that as an issue because I can run reports in the accounting software.
Bill.com is well suited for a business that pays many vendors. It is not well suited for a business that processes 15 or less vendor payments per month; however, using the A/R side to invoice clients and get paid electronically can more than make up for that shortfall.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2015

Review: "Bill.com from sales perspective for a bookkeeping company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is a very important part of how I sell our services at Supporting Strategies. I speak about how it streamlines the bill paying process for our clients (we are bookkeepers).
  • Builds in work flow for bill routing and approval.
  • Eliminates paper check runs.
  • Makes tracking the bills easy.
  • From a sales perspective, there's nothing about Bill.com that I think should change.
  • Your technical folks could answer this question better.
If a company just can't grasp the idea of having us process their payables electronically, it might not be a fit. Sometimes, some companies just want things done the manual way. Also, if there are not enough bills to justify cost of Bill.com (which is rare), it might not be a fit.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2015

Review: "Bill.com - Good product, unprofessional company"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We're a startup business that's growing rapidly. We needed a way to pay our contractors that integrated with QuickBooks. Bill.com seemed to fit the bill (so to speak). We tried it for a month and it worked well for us. However, six days after the trial ended and before our next pay run, I received a terse and unprofessional overdue notice. Three days later I received the same notice simply re-forwarded with no other explanation.

If this is how Bill.com treats potential customers, what is its customer support going to be like? I for one am not signing up to find out.

  • Bill.com provided an efficient way for us to pay our contractors on time.
  • Integrated well with QuickBooks.
  • First impressions matter. I'd rather work with a company that acts professionally even if it means I have to spend time researching alternative products.
Bill.com has a good product, if you can overlook how unprofessional the company is. I would never recommend it because my feeling is you need trust in a company that provides your financial software.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 15, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Fast, Reliable & Paperless Option"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is used across the entire company and is considered the preferred method for A/P and A/R processing. Bill.com streamlines the A/P, A/R process so our clients can focus on their business. It is a benefit to our company because we operate our business remotely and Bill.com allows us to efficiently manage the A/P and A/R functions without needing to be physically in the office.
  • Paperless storage of bills and other important documents, as well as, easy uploading - either directly in Bill.com or e-mail
  • Easy setup of users and specific roles and payment audit trail solves issues with paperless internal controls
  • ACH/ePayments allows payments to be received faster than a typical A/P collection process
  • International ACH payment processing
  • Improve report customization
  • Ability to download and export (Excel) Payables>Pay screen to help with cash flow forecasting
  • Improve detail on sync error status - not enough explanation on sync errors. Once you select the error (i.e. bill) it brings you to the transactions, and even if you don't fix the error it states the error was resolved, BUT the error was not resolved. Very confusing.
Bill.com provides a paperless option for processing A/P and A/R while adhering to internal controls guidelines.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 06, 2015

User Review: "Bill.com Vendor Bills & Payments"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Bill.com for a few different clients I work with. It is used for the majority of all AP transactions for each of my clients. I deal mostly with managing the Bill.com sync to QuickBooks and resolving any resulting errors. Bill.com has made it more efficient and convenient to pay vendors. It is also very helpful given that I (their accounting support) work remotely so we always have easy access to copies of vendor bills, etc.
  • Bill.com makes it very easy to store and retrieve copies of vendor bills electronically making it easy to work remotely and more efficiently for all.
  • Bill.com syncs well with QuickBooks Enterprise avoiding duplicate work.
  • Bill.com makes it very easy for payers to approve and process bill payments; no manual payments to set up via a bank account, no manual checks to print and mail, etc.
  • When transitioning from QuickBooks Enterprise to QuickBooks Online, the conversion process with Bill.com can be very cumbersome and time consuming. We lost a lot of hours in time spent fixing all variances between Bill.com and QuickBooks due to the conversion process.
  • Bill.com is not able to handle three layers of hierarchy in customer accounts when syncing with QuickBooks Online. This was not an issue when we were using QuickBooks Enterprise. There is a manual workaround we can follow but it adds time to the process and is manual which brings the potential for human error.
If using QuickBooks Online, ensure you are only using sub-customers within customer accounts and not projects below the sub-customers. They have submitted a request to try to resolve this issue with the updated version of the sync with QuickBooks online that is currently in process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2015

User Review: "I Heart Bill.com!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is a virtual accounting/bookkeeping business, therefore Bill.com fits into our operational model perfectly. We use this for most of our clients to help manage their accounts payable and accounts receivable, although I personally have not used the accounts receivable module. This addresses such business problems such as not being in a physical office with our clients. It makes it so easy for the client to send the bills to Bill.com themselves, or send them to us and we import them into Bill.com, and also provides visibility to their bills no matter where they are.
  • Having all of the bills and bill payment history available online makes it so much easier for our clients, and ourselves as well. It takes away that need to be in one physical location where the bills are kept, or where there is one computer with the software on it that keeps all of the bills/bill payment information.
  • Importing bills into Bill.com is a breeze - I love the drag and drop feature! Bill.com makes it so easy to get the bills loaded and paid. My clients can also e-mail the bills to Bill.com themselves, or have me do it, and I really like how you can opt to have the e-mail as a page as well, in case you want to attach it to the bill as back-up.
  • Bill.com's chat feature for their support is another fantastic feature. I highly recommend my clients use it if they ever need any help. Bill.com support employees are always friendly, the wait is never very long at all (1-2 minutes is normal), and they are extremely knowledgeable with not only their product, but making sure your books are being affected properly as well.
  • The zoom feature on the bills will zoom in, however the view is still blurry. It would be nice to be able to increase it so I could read it, but not lose visibility.
  • When e-mails that have links, not attachments, for bills are forwarded to Bill.com, the e-mail is turned into a text document. It would be nice to have the link stay there so I could just click on it from Bill.com to see the bill copy, rather than opening from my e-mail, saving the document to my Desktop, and importing it into Bill.com.
The only situation I have run into where Bill.com is less appropriate would be for the clients that only have a couple of recurring bills they pay a month, in which they could just set up auto-payments with their vendors to make the payments. Other than that, I cannot imagine Bill.com not working for anyone. I have one client who processes about 100 bills per week through Bill.com and this has helped us greatly with organizing their payables!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2015

Bill.com Review: "No more wrestling paper, lost checks and payment approvals!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company uses Bill.com to provide outsourced accounts payable services to our bookkeeping clients. Additionally we have found that Bill.com is a cost effective paperless document management tool. For our business it solves the problem of needing to issue paper checks and track down paper receipts. With Bill.com we prepare invoices and bills to be paid, the client approves via Bill.com and an electronic payment or paper check is sent out accordingly.
  • Sending direct deposit payments to vendors. Either the vendor can sign up for a free Bill.com account or enter their direct deposit authorization manually and for a $0.50 fee payments can be made electronically. No more checks lost in the mail.
  • Easily allow for multiple people to approve a bill before payment. This is a great feature for smaller organizations that still need a lot of oversight, such as a non-profit.
  • Bill.com does a great job with document management. Documents can be attached at a transaction level, company/vendor as well as a few other options. They are stored in PDF format and can be easily printed if needed. This eliminates hunting down past years A/P files to double check charges.
  • To use Bill.com for Accounts Receivable means needing to sign up for a merchant account with their preferred provider, PayTrace. While this company may indeed have great rates as they promise, it's a bit aggravating to have a second merchant account in the mix.
  • Duplicate vendor and client entries happen on occasion as a result of syncing between Bill.com and the accounting software. Most of the time merging the contacts is easy, but occasionally a hiccup occurs that requires tech support to untangle.
  • There is no mobile app, but instead a mobile site that works fairly well to access a handful of Bill.com functions.
If your business would like to gain control over processing accounts payable and operate in a paperless environment, Bill.com is a great solution. There are built in users with different permission settings so general data input tasks can be assigned to appropriate staff, while the final approval decision on any invoice can be reserved for those within the firm with the proper authority. Add in that payments can be sent electronically, your firm is now saving on postage, check stock, and valuable space previously taken up by drawers of AP files.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 25, 2014

Bill.com Review: "Great for A/P, but A/R weak. Stellar support."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bill.com for two things:

  • Accounts payable -- across the company we input all invoices into Bill.com (or have them sent to an email address that forwards to our Bill.com inbox). From there our (outsourced) accounting service enters the invoice information, encodes the vendors (or adds them) which is all synced with Quickbooks Online. Then we're able to route the invoices for approval by the appropriate persons within our company, schedule payment, etc.
  • Expense reports -- we have all our employees setup as 'vendors' within Bill.com and have them send expense reports to the same email inbox. This makes routing / approving /paying expense reports very simple (although we do have to explain to people who are also approvers/bill.com users that they'll be both a 'user' and a 'vendor')
As a 10 person company (and I've used it at a ~130 person company), this allows us to dedicate nearly zero time and money to dealing with payables. It's a huge return on a very modest expense.
  • Bill.com is a very inexpensive solution for paperless accounts payable
  • It syncs seamlessly with quickbooks online in both directions (you can add vendors in Bill.com at time of first invoice for instance)
  • Bill.com has good workflow / approval routing capability, which is both simple to use and is extremely helpful for distributed teams like ours.
  • The accounts receivable function was weak (as of late 2011)
  • Onboarding employees as vendors (for direct deposit reimbursement of expenses) can be a bit odd to explain. Bill.com should probably have a special case concept of a "employee vendor" and change the language and terminology in the interface. That said it's possible that we are using it for an unintended use case (expense reimbursement processing) but it works well enough.
  • There are a few nits I'd pick with the interface, such as adding multiple pages from the inbox to a single bill, and I'd like easier quick searching of the payables pipeline (an interactive single-step filter by type-ahead by vendor). None of these are showstoppers though.
Bill.com provides an excellent platform for small (and/or growing) businesses who want a paperless invoice and workflow process that is simple to setup and administer. Our outside accounting firm as begun recommending it to their clients as well after seeing how much time and effort it saves.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2014

Bill.com Review: "Great system!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is being used by our department. We recommend it to our clients to make the AP process more efficient. AP is much quicker to enter and payments are easier to make, especially because it can be done anywhere and at anytime. The system also allows my organization and our clients to be paperless. We advise our vendors to submit their invoices directly to our bill.com email address.
  • Address problems - if you ever have any type of issue with the system, small or large, there is a chat feature. Someone is always available during normal business hours to help you and the problem is resolved very quickly.
  • Break out pages of an invoices - if you send a bulk file with multiple invoices, it is extremely easy to break out and choose which pages you'd wish to include with each invoice.
  • Filing - if you ever receive a tax document, statement, or other misc. document not related to an AP invoice, it can be easily filed. The filings can be vendor or company specific.
  • Payment dates - the system gives you the dates when the vendor will receive their payment.
  • Extremely user friendly.
  • Inventory module - you are unable to receive inventory and convert PO's to invoices. You will need to duplicate efforts because you'll need to enter the invoice into bill.com to be paid but then you will need to enter into your accounting system to properly receive the inventory.
  • Sync errors - the system is very sensitive and sync errors are common. However, the support staff is always available for help and the errors quickly go away.
  • Slow payment processing - payments aren't processed until the next business day and it takes a couple of days for the vendor to receive payment. Emergency payments can't be made out of the system.
Bill.com is not good for you if: 1. You have a lot of inventory because you'll be duplicating the process, 2. Make a lot of same-day payments, 3. Do not like paperless systems.
Bill.com is good for you if: 1. Have a lot of routine vendors, especially if they are always asking for status updates, because Bill.com will send an email when their payment is processed, 2. Manage cash flow, you can see exactly how much will come out of your account on a certain day, 3. Have multiple users that need to view the same info; each person can have their own log in.
Read this authenticated review

About Bill.com

Bill.com is a an online service for small to midsize businesses which provides a central dashboard for managing Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, and cash flow management. It syncs with all major accounting systems like QuickBooks, Sage, Intaact, and NetSuite.

Bill.com offers four pricing options. The $20 per user, per month Essentials package contains payable OR receivable management with unlimited document storage and workflow approval. The $30 dollar Team plan syncs with accounting software (e.g. Quickbooks) and has some analytic features. The $50 Corporate package supports AR & AP and has more robust Workflow options. Finally the tailor-made Enterprise level syncs with other popular software (e.g. Salesforce) and grants API access to Bill.com.

Bill.com Integrations

Bill.com Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Bill.com Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No