TrustRadius
Bills.com is a an online service for SMBs which provides a central dashboard for managing Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, and cash flow management. It syncs with all major accounting systems like QuickBooks, Sage, Intaact, and NetSuite.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/RT/WW/5MET3LIBL3XO.pngAccounts Payable Management made easy!Bill.com is the preferred and primary Accounts Payable management software for both Reconciled as well as all of our customers that we provide accounts payable services for. It is very easy and convenient to use, syncs with most cloud-based accounting systems, and makes Accounts Payable management efficient and simple. As the administrator for my firm as well as for our customers, we can assign both firm access as well as customer access to any team members in our firm and users with our customers. I highly recommend this product.,Easy to set up Great Customer Service Workflow flexibility,Faster payment processing time Easier syncing resolutions with accounting software More intuitive interface,10,Reduce accounts payable work time Increased visibility on vendor payments More defined separation of duties and audit logEasy, Efficient, Integrated. Perfect for small businessesOur school uses Bill.com across our finance department. It provides a system of checks and balances for payment to vendors, as well as an easy form of ACH payments.,Ease of Use: can use the Bill.com app Integration: sync with Quickbooks or other software Affordable for small businesses,Easier ePayment system,10,Efficiency: easier vendor management. Flexibility: option for both ACH payments and physical checks. Integration: reliable transactions synced with our accounting software.,QuickBooks Online,QuickBooks OnlineReliable, electronic employee reimbursementsThe US branches of our company use Bill.com exclusively for electronic employee expense reimbursement payments. This allows US-based employees to receive expense reimbursements directly to their bank accounts through e-payments. It's a fast, easy, and paperless way to send employees payment for their corporate purchases, automatically without contacting the HR department. Wire transfers allow employees to access the funds quickly.,Billing and payments are completely automated, which makes the process very easy and hands-off for users. Setup was very simple. I just created an account and provided my bank details and have never logged in to the platform again. The email notifications letting me know about approved reimbursements are reliable, convenient, and helpful.,Currently, our company uses a different platform to submit expenses, we only use bill.com to receive them. So perhaps this isn't actually a place where bill.com could improve, but the expense submission process may not have been robust enough for our company. The bill.com platform wasn't the most beautiful or pleasing to use, but this is a minor fault. I'd love a way to set up recurring payments (e.g., my phone bill is reimbursed each month).,7,Saves money by streamlining the reimbursement process. All my bank info is already set and I can automatically receive payments once the reimbursements are improved. Reduces HR/finance workload by automatically notifying users of payments -- no need to communicate over email Most convenient way for employees to receive reimbursements (directly to the bank account),Rydoo (formerly Xpenditure),Postmark, Brandfolder, GoToMeeting, Gusto, Toggl, GrooveHQ, ClickUp, WordPress, Microsoft Office 365Bill.com has allowed us to scale up our affiliate program without scaling up the workload.We launched a network of 35+ affiliates that continues to grow. We use Bill.com to pay out these affiliates, but also to pay our other payables. We use Bill.com across the entire organization with the QuickBooks integration. We are a small team, and Bill.com allows us to scale our payables so we don't have to be bogged down cutting checks every month.,Scales along with our network QuickBooks integration Easy for our payables to sign up to get paid,It's not clear how to get to some features I often have to dig a bit to find certain areas of the website When synchronizing from QuickBooks it carries over everything with it, so it's sometimes hard to find what you're looking for,8,We're able to scale up without scaling up the workload. It's easy to keep in sync with Quickbooks, so that saves time. We would have liked to see a way to add more users without getting charged more.Bill.com is a good way to engage invoicing with ContractorsBill.com is a service used by several of the businesses my own small business contracts with. I am one of the end users who can appreciate that Bill.com has one place to show invoices due, how quickly, and methods to follow up on these invoices with my clients. I know they elected to implement Bill.com after outsourcing their accounting department to an off-shore company.,Bill.com allows me to conveniently track money due to my business from a couple of my own clients, it allows me to review transactions afterward for my own bookkeeping. Bill.com sends out messages and reminders when payments are coming in, and allows me to plan for follow-ups and reminders to clients that come due or are late in making payments. Bill.com allows me to send invoices directly to my client to be processed, as simple as taking a picture and uploading it.,There is no channel of communication to the client through the app, I can only take notes on individual invoices, or 'resend' the invoice to the client as a reminder. I've been signed up with Bill.com to collect payment from one vendor, and another had found me on there as well, but I can't easily find a way to use it for more of my own invoicing to other/all clients.,8,Bill.com has allowed me to easily deal with a major transition one of my clients implemented in eliminating the accounting dept internally. The transition from that to Bill.com has maintained the flow of invoicing and payments from me to my client. Another client who uses Bill.com found me on the system and implemented it easily right away.,Accounting by Wave, PayPal HereHuge Time and Money Saver!!Bill.com is being used to replace the need for an AP Department. I have been using the product for a few years now and it is such a time saver. It is used by the Accounting/ Finance Department at my company. I love how when you input a bill on Bill.com, it can be paid directly by Bill.com. It does all of the heavy lifting of cutting and mailing the check to the correct vendor. Because of Bill.com, we have no need to have someone be in charge of paying the bills and cutting the checks. Bill.com does it all. Bill.com is the best substitution to an AP person.,Eliminates the need for an accounts person. The ability to have multiple signers on the checks. Multiple people can be required to approve the check before it can be paid. Access Bill.com anywhere. They even have a good app to use.,A better understanding of the pricing model would be nice. I wish it integrated better with QuickBooks. Bill.com tries to integrate but it struggles to do a good job.,10,No need to hire someone to process the bills. Bill.com does all the heavy lifting. Requires approval from a manager before bills can be paid. Very affordable. Processing bills to pay each week only takes minutes instead of hours.,QuickBooks Online,QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Enterprise SolutionsWanna pay bills while sitting by the pool? Bill.com is the answer!Bill.com is used by our entire organization. Our admin staff uses it to pay our own company bills and sync it seamlessly with Quickbooks Online, and our employee's use it to for our clients using the same features. Bill.com allows us to be a 100% paperless and cloud-based accounting firm. Our clients can easily submit bills, review them, approve them, and we can easily pay the bills on time, sync it to Quickbooks Online, and keep all of the financial data organized, which in turn results in real dollars saved in both the client's time and our employee's time. Furthermore, it's not even yours or your client's bank account that's at risk! Bill.com prints all of the checks from their bank account, which means if anyone tries a fraudulent activity, it's only Bill.com's information that's at risk, not yours. It's secure, it's fast, and it integrates. It's awesome!,Bill.com allows anyone who has the dedicated bill.com email address for the company to send bills directly to Bill.com. This means clients, vendors, automated bill reminders - all of those can be emailed directly to bill.com. There's no need for a "special portal" for these to go through - ANYONE can send them there. And, if you have something that you need to add that is on your desktop, great! Just drag and drop, and it's added. It makes getting the bills a very simple process. The approval process for Bill.com is great. You can set one or multiple approvers, you can customize it for just certain vendors need approval, or just amounts over a certain threshold, with a variety of combinations in between. This is really nice for clients who don't want to approve every bill they send you, but maybe they want to double check bills over $5,000. The variety of email preferences you can set up for Bill.com is amazing. You can set it so anytime you receive something new, you get an email. Or maybe every time there's an approved bill - you get an email. Maybe you only want updates once a week, or on certain days of the week - you can do that too! It's whatever you need to see to be the most efficient, Bill.com will notify you by email however you want them to. It's great because nothing slips through the cracks.,Voiding a bill in Bill.com is easy, but unfortunately, the void doesn't sync automatically to Quickbooks Online (unlike bill and bill payments, which do automatically sync). Bill.com is great in always telling you exactly what to do to correct it in your Quickbooks Online software, but it would nice if there weren't extra steps you had to take when this happens. Bill.com only sends the first page of a bill with a check. Typically this isn't a problem, but in some instances, it's necessary for more than 1 page to be sent. It would be nice if Bill.com had a checkbox selection option to print up to a set number of pages (maybe up to 5) for an additional fee. Having the option would be great so I don't have to jump through hoops with other methods to try to get a bill paid, all because I need more than 1 page to go with the check.,10,Prior to bill.com, we received the mail for our clients, cut the checks for their bills, and physically mailed them. It's was tedious for us, and there was no cloud storage for these documents. Now that we have bill.com, we have saved HOURS of time on processing bills. It also allows all of our remote staff to process bills easily. Bill.com has made keeping up with Accounts Payable for our clients so simple. Because it automatically integrates with Quickbooks Online, we don't have to spend time applying payments against bills in the software - Bill.com takes care of all of that for us. This gives our employees time back to focus on serving our clients in other capacities.,Receipt Bank Practice Platform, QuickBooks OnlineBill.com vs. QuickBooks ProWe used Bill.com as our primary tool to bill clients for advertising and any services provided by the company. It acted as the only way to bill customers remotely and get paid quickly.,Detailed invoices. Followup emails for past due invoices. Dashboard for all outstanding and paid invoices.,Better notification of when a bill was paid. Notification if email invoice was not received by customer. Wants too much information to setup an account in the system.,3,Slow to get paid. Was great at generating a fast invoice and bill, but slow to show results in followup. Did help increase consistency among the bills being sent.,QuickBooks Pro,8Optimizing Bill.com in Accounting SystemsMy clients use Bill.com as the system of record for disbursements to vendors and for reimbursement of employee expenses. This solution is being used across each organization and enables multi-level review and approval of payables obligations, central repository for documents from vendors and mobile management and access to vendor, cash flow and remittance information for management review without having to access each firms' accounting system. Bill.com seamlessly integrates with accounting systems --- my clients use QuickBooks, both hosted and online, NetSuite and Xero. Bill.com also integrates with Expensify, so employee expense reports can also go through multiple-level review and payments can be tracked and made electronically.,Seamless integration with major accounting systems and applications and intelligent, built-in workflow. This reduces duplication of work, skipped approval steps and delay in payment processing. Bill.com enables single repository storage for vendor invoice submission, unlimited storage for documents and good reporting capability. This assists with audit and control review. Bill.com provides live chat and call back capability from a knowledgeable customer service team. This is critically important, since accounting system synchronization is a complex matter and occasionally sync errors require some guidance to clear. Bill.com integrates well with 1099 preparation applications, which is critical at year end and saves data entry time when preparing these required forms.,The credit memo processing features in Bill.com could be built-out more fully. Additional report customization would be helpful. Batch-processing transaction capability could be developed.,10,Bill.com increases efficiency in invoice processing, saving hours of time and reducing duplication of efforts. Vendor set up and invoice processing time are reduced. Senior management can use Bill.com as a quick review of cash requirements and vendor activity, as well as provide approvals from anywhere.,,1,10,9,9Bill.Com Saves Labor, Postage and filing space.Currently, I use the product for the music, non-profit, legal and property management firms. It creates a system of checks and balances because of the approval system. Bill.Com saves paper and postage. It's easy to use and easy to train end users the product. Technical support is quite responsive and awesome.,Internal Audit Control Repository of cancelled checks and vendor documents Ability to save paper, postage and labor.,Create a system so you can pick and choose what should be synced or not. Make it easier to input detailed vendor bills.,10,Better Customer Service,10,10,9,10Is Web Based AP in your future?My firm implements accounting software for mid market organizations. Part of that implementation has been Accounts Payable - Vendors, Vouchers, Checks, etc. We are starting to see some of our customers that are taking the entire AP function and moving it to the cloud by using Bill.com, an innovative new cloud solution for moving Accounts Payable to the web. Vouchers are scanned to the Bill.com web site, assigned to a vendor and coded to the chart of accounts. They then route to approvers through the internet with email notification and finally, Bill.com will send an ACH payment or cut a check. Approvals are automated, voucher image library is built, no software or hardware is required and fees are nominal. And Bill.com will perform the same functions for Accounts Receivable - allowing you to create invoices, route them to customers and receive payments. With AP and AR on the same system, cash forecasting is also supported!,Accounts Payable Imaging and Routing - No more file cabinets, not more chasing down invoices lost in mail boxes, no more delay in getting payments approved. No Software or Hardware - since Bill.com is completely cloud based, it is inexpensive to get started and convenient. Fees are Transaction Based - at this time, checks cost $1.49 and ACH payments are $.49 each. Monthly fees are between $50 and $200. Depending on volume, total costs can be much lower than traditional software systems. Eliminates paper checks and file cabinet storage of AP vouchers.,Cloud is a strength and a weakness - some customers prefer a personal on-site training resource. Integration to other systems can be limited - for instance, some AP systems integrate to Fixed Assets for automatic set up of new assets. When integrating back to GL systems, 1099 and other information can be difficult to map. Based on volume, the low per transaction fees can total more than on site software systems. But for low volume firms, cost is very nominal.,8,Increased efficiency in approvals Lower cost of systems and people Faster approvals for invoice payment Convenience and quality of solution.,Microsoft Dynamics GP,Microsoft Dynamics SL,8Great product to use!!I am using it for a client so that their bookkeeper can import the invoices and I can manage cash flow, data entry etc., to sync with QuickBooks. I am now their accounting department and Bill.com enables remote access and remote control. Also it's nice to be able to link invoices directly.,Sync with Quickbooks eliminates double entry. Invoices themselves are linked in system. Can pay from anywhere.,The screen is a little hard to navigate since there are many options on how to enter an invoice. I would prefer seeing a menu driven system sort of like QuickBooks that would be easier for my clients.,10,Better control over cash flow Oversight is better,Bill.comBill.com is being used by our whole organization as a tool for our client to pay bills and to issue and receive payment on invoices.,It is fairly easy to use and syncs very well with QuickBooks. Customer support is very helpful. It also provides a trail of what your client has paid and when. It helps with avoiding double payments.,When information is inadvertently deleted, there is no notification. If there is no name on a check, it can still be issued.,8,Better customer service Enables us to provide account payable and account receivable functionality remotely. Ease of use,Bill.com - Accounts payable all in one placeWe use Bill.com to handle our accounts payable function. The whole organization (finance team and partners) uses it to properly review, approve, track status, store, and pay vendor invoices. Bill.com addresses making internal control measures easy to implement and eliminates the need for vendor filing.,Approval chains - lightens up the need for manual email follow-up and assures a documented time-stamped record of invoice approval. Syncs with QuickBooks - easy on data entry, user friendly. Customer support - By far, Bill.com has the best support team, staffed with knowledgeable consultants eager to solve any issues. Their chat feature is awesome. Easy to upload images, multiple methods.,I'd like to see memorized approval chain templates, not necessarily what was last set for the vendor. Quicker e-payments without having to pay extra money for an "overnight" transaction. Sometimes when processing payments on a Friday - our ePayments do not get scheduled to process/deposit until the following Thursday.,10,Increased employee efficiency - organized and easy to use, less need to retain "tribal knowledge" with defaulted information auto-filled, less email follow-up to move invoices through approvals. Better vendor relations - they appreciate the ePayment option, real-time status availability of where their invoice is in processing.Bill.com lets you give up check writing.Bill.com is being used to help customers pass on information to our team easily and to reduce time in the accounts payable process.,Bill.com lets us email bills directly to Bill.com, this feature saves us lots of time because we don't have to sort through tons of e-mails to find our clients accounts payable items. The digital copies it saves are easy to read and find. Easy communication between users and approvers.,It would be great if you could [pay] by via credit card in Bill.com. I would like the feature to allow users pay approved bills with limitations.,9,Better customer servcie. My clients like that I am looking out for their time.,Nothing compares to all the featuresBill.com reviewI use Bill.com to enter and pay bills for my business.,Click and drag to enter bills Cimple paying options,Getting rid of things that no longer belong there, for example, invoices I sent in 2013 that were paid to me directly. It's hard to know what my bank balance will be after the bills are paid. Why couldn't the paid bills show up in the bank account date when they will be paid?,9,It makes the bill paying process go faster.,no others,Implemented in-house,No,Trying to get rid of invoice management, and it's still there.,5Bill.com SPSEach financial operations associate uses Bill.com to support their individual clients. My clients use it for for AP and AR functions.,Bill.com makes it easy to upload vendor bills and enter into Bill.com for payment It is easy to find outstanding bills and vendors Easy to find uncleared checks Very easy sync with QuickBooks,I wouldn't mind being able to cut and paste details from bills into the bill entry screen.,8,Easier management of outflow of money Vendor satisfaction when bills are paid electronically,QuickBooksThe solution for outsourced A/P!We use Bill.com for a handful of clients and our own company. This product provides a solution for various client issues such as direct deposit for independent contractors, employee expense reimbursements, the payable approval process, recurring expense payments, and outsourced A/P management.,E-Payments/Direct Deposit for independent contractors Sync with accounting software Custom approval processes Notifications,Faster turnaround for e-payment/direct deposit delivery Customer service availability (being able to call in) Better discounts for accountants panel/accountant client sign-ups,9,Increased A/P processing efficiency New solutions for contractor payments Better cash-flow observation More secure approval processes,10Save time & sanity with Bill.com!Local Offer Network (LON) had 3 main sectors of business: Catalyst (personalization platform), Dealradar.com (aggregate daily deal website), and VoucherPro (white-label tech platform used by publishers and manufacturers to create their own prepaid offer products). In our accounting department, I used Bill.com as an organizational, calculation, and pay-tool for our VoucherPro clients to assure local area merchants be paid for the daily deals that were sold on our various platforms. Bill.com was a one-stop solution for LON that easily integrated with the platform of our white-label website, systematically tracked bills & payments, and (most importantly) significantly reduced manual labor.,Bill.com's tracking of sent checks and instant access to proof of cashed/uncashed checks was a Tremendous help for LON when dealing with merchants who had claimed to never have received payment. I could easily login to the Bill.com system, take a screenshot of the cashed check (complete with signature on the back), and email the merchant the solid proof. This method is obviously MUCH preferred over having to call your bank, get put on hold, and eventually track down proof of a check being cashed that they then can can inconveniently snail-mail you several days later. This is the age of Technology, and Bill.com does it right. Bill.com's customer support team is second to none. They were always very patient, well-trained, and well-informed problem solvers. I truly believe Bill.com's biggest aspiration was for their product to work for US in every way possible. If we came to them with an idea to improve the product for our needs, they always listened, and nearly always provided a viable and timely solution. It's often difficult to have a real voice in the internet/e-commerce industry, so it was very refreshing for me to work with a company who cared so much about our success as a company, and bent over backwards to accommodate our growing needs.,It's been roughly 9 months since I've used bill.com, so I unfortunately can't remember any of the functionality issues I had experienced. I don't think any of Bill.com's features were hard to use...and even if they were or a one-off situation came up, the customer support team was so helpful that they would be able to teach you in no time. The only complaint I can think of at the moment is that support was not available late in the evenings or on the weekends, which was frustrating when getting stuck on a problem while burning the midnight oil. But perhaps support hours have expanded since then, I am not sure. One other thing I thought of that Bill.com may or may not have resolved by now, is that when you close a client company, Bill.com provides a CD-rom disc (for purchase) that allows you to access all of the information from that specific client after the Bill.com account has been closed (vendor information, check status, etc). However, being that none of the laptops in our office had disc drives, this company file disc was completely useless to us. It would have been more convenient to have either 1) USB version of the company file, or more preferred option, 2) Have Bill.com convert the online account to a read-only version so that you can still access the client information by logging in from anywhere there is internet access, but just don't have the ability to edit any of the information (which is not needed anyway).,10,Bill.com Definitely helped us save several hundred dollars per week on manual labor; that was the main benefit. It helped me to quickly access merchant account information in order to resolve check and billing issues much more quickly than using excel or our own platform. Also, as an immeasurable benefit, Bill.com truly saved my sanity---it was able to keep track of things for me (bills, checks, edit logs for all activity, etc), that would have otherwise been impossible for me to remember and track all on my own, and for that, I am very grateful!!,,10Bill.com streamlines bill paymentI own a small accounting firm and we serve companies in a broad range of industries with revenues typically less than $5million. I especially like bill.com for its ability to streamline payables and assist companies with cash flow management. It is also an effective tool allowing companies to seamlessly collaborate with an outside accounting firm.,Bill payment is clearly bill.com's strong suit. Getting bills into bill.com and paid is quite seamless. Scan, submit, code, schedule. done. Integration with Quickbooks is seamless. Clearing errors is typically easy. There is no rekeying information into Quickbooks. It quite literally is integration with the click of a button. I am working on integration with Xero and am finding the integration to require a bit more work. Simplifying the bill payment process. Moving through a batch of invoices to pay in Quickbooks is quite simple, and it is a great paperless data retention tool. Once the image is scanned and coded, you can route it for approval electronically, schedule for payment and then Bill.com issues the payment. If you need to access the bill later, you can find the document easily and even see the front and back of the cancelled check all in one place.,While I think the cost of a traditional paper process is higher, I do think Bill.com is a bit pricey. You need to have at least 15-20 checks or more to enter per month to have a cost savings. Integration with Xero requires a third party. Would be better if the connection was direct with Xero. It seems like for debit/credit card transactions there would be an easier/quicker way to get the documents processed in Bill.com so Bill.com can act as a central data storage location. There should be one go to location for all payments issued by a company.,10,Bill.com allows me to improve service levels while performing monthly accounting in a more streamlined manner. I would not offer bill payment as a service to my client if I couldn't use Bill.com Satisfied users of Bill.com have referred me to new business.,,10,2,2,Bill payments. Document Storage. Customer Invoicing.,Document storage for more than just bills. Collecting customer payments on invoices electronically. (Sending and receiving payment electronically) Setting up recurring bills such as rent to be paid automatically through Bill.com,Invoicing customers,10,No,When I opened a new account with Bill.com I received several calls from customer service to make sure implementation was going well.Bill.com reviewThe whole organization utilizes the software. We selected the software to digitize the entire A/P process from input through review to final payment.,Web based access Easy of use. The software is simple to install and maintain. Flexible. We don't have the ability to link our back end to the software but we are still able inport/export data with ease.,Maintaining the G/L codes (syncing them with our accounting package) is cumbersome. The reporting tools are not robust. There a few canned reports. More flexibility would be appreciated.,9,Drastically reduced A/P processing time We use a ton less paper Increase confidence in the reimbursement processes amongst staff members,,9Chill and pay your billAs a bookkeeping firm, we set up Bill.com for our clients to ease up the process of paying bills and receiving payments. Most of the bookkeepers who have multiple clients work mostly remotely so Bill.com eliminates the process of check runs thus saving multiple trips to the client's office. Moreover, Bill.com stores all the bills providing a convenient database for clients and bookkeepers.,The inbox is a convenient way of receiving bills as it extracts attachments from the incoming email converting them to the bills ready to process, it has an option to fax the bill directly to the inbox, and, my personal favorite, convenient drag-and-drop option for easily uploading documents to the inbox. OCR feature is amazing, it converts images to text and this enhances the search option making it easy to find documents by typing something that's in them into the search field. The "Most Recently Used" feature is a very convenient tool to quickly getting back to the previous documents that you have worked on.,Bill.com could improve on account selection when entering bills. In other words, if you do not have in mind a specific account, you will most likely have to go through the whole chart of accounts to find the suitable one. The type-in search is a bit too specific as typing in a parent account does not show its sub accounts if their name does not start the same way as the parent account.,9,Saved multiple trips to clients' office. Increased eficiancy Saved time and money for filing documents online,,9In love with bill.comMy company offers outsourced accounting services. Bill.com is one of the technology solutions in our bundled service package. The main problem it addresses is managing Accounts Payable for our clients. We are no longer shuffling paper; no checks to print, no envelopes to stuff, no stamps to adhere, and no paper to file. It's a dream!,As mentioned previously, it's a paperless solution. That alone is a huge selling point! My clients can have multi-level approval processes in place, should that be important to them. (such as department supervisor first, and CEO as the second approver) Vendor payments can be set up ahead of time, so that you will never have another late payment again. Each client has a dedicated fax number and a dedicated email for their bill.com account, making it easy to put A/P processes in place for clients and vendors alike. On the A/R side, invoicing customers and being paid electronically is fantastic! I personally use bill.com to automatically invoice my clients each month; and I'm automatically paid as well.,Accounts Receivable is good, but not great. The biggest problem for clients is attempting to manage A/R from the bill.com portal when their staff does not have access to the accounting software. In QB, jobs are added as sub-names to Customers for easy management of multiple projects. In bill.com those jobs are synced (and appear to be) separate Customers, not jobs associated with Customers. I'm not a fan of the reports in bill.com, but I don't personally see that as an issue because I can run reports in the accounting software.,10,Increased efficiency Streamlined processes Easy collaboration,,2,10,Implemented in-house,9,10Bill.com from sales perspective for a bookkeeping companyBill.com is a very important part of how I sell our services at Supporting Strategies. I speak about how it streamlines the bill paying process for our clients (we are bookkeepers).,Builds in work flow for bill routing and approval. Eliminates paper check runs. Makes tracking the bills easy.,From a sales perspective, there's nothing about Bill.com that I think should change. Your technical folks could answer this question better.,9,From sales perspective - major ROI - I sell it on every call Faster lead conversion Definitely increased employee efficiency for our bookkeepers,,60,5,Efficiency for bill pay Integration with QuickBooks Automation on client-side,I get paid my expenses as a sales person. We pay 1099 contractors.,Bringing on more sales people. Paying different vendors.,9,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Third-party Reviews,I didn't affect the buying process.,Don't know,Change management was a minor issue with the implementation,I did not implement.,8,No,9,No,I don't call too often, so "exceptional" support, I cannot say.,QuickBooks integration Getting the notices saying "Bill.com has paid" you, so that you know to look in your bank account,I can't really say any are cumbersome... the functions for which I use it are very easy.,9Bill.com - Good product, unprofessional companyWe're a startup business that's growing rapidly. We needed a way to pay our contractors that integrated with QuickBooks. Bill.com seemed to fit the bill (so to speak). We tried it for a month and it worked well for us. However, six days after the trial ended and before our next pay run, I received a terse and unprofessional overdue notice. Three days later I received the same notice simply re-forwarded with no other explanation. If this is how Bill.com treats potential customers, what is its customer support going to be like? I for one am not signing up to find out.,Bill.com provided an efficient way for us to pay our contractors on time. Integrated well with QuickBooks.,First impressions matter. I'd rather work with a company that acts professionally even if it means I have to spend time researching alternative products.,1,None.,
Unspecified
Bill.com
78 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Bill.com Reviews

Bill.com
78 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 78 vetted Bill.com reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Michael Ly profile photo
May 14, 2019

Bill.com Review: "Accounts Payable Management made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Bill.com is the preferred and primary Accounts Payable management software for both Reconciled as well as all of our customers that we provide accounts payable services for. It is very easy and convenient to use, syncs with most cloud-based accounting systems, and makes Accounts Payable management efficient and simple. As the administrator for my firm as well as for our customers, we can assign both firm access as well as customer access to any team members in our firm and users with our customers. I highly recommend this product.
  • Easy to set up
  • Great Customer Service
  • Workflow flexibility
  • Faster payment processing time
  • Easier syncing resolutions with accounting software
  • More intuitive interface
Bill.com is best suited for small to medium size businesses that need a more robust accounts payable management process. This replaces the AP module in your accounting software with real time syncing, but also replaces the need to use your bank's online bill pay.
Read Michael Ly's full review
Edison Rose profile photo
May 01, 2019

Bill.com: "Easy, Efficient, Integrated. Perfect for small businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses Bill.com across our finance department. It provides a system of checks and balances for payment to vendors, as well as an easy form of ACH payments.
  • Ease of Use: can use the Bill.com app
  • Integration: sync with Quickbooks or other software
  • Affordable for small businesses
  • Easier ePayment system
It is very well suited for our small organization as it provides the level of accountability and documentation that we need. It is very affordable and integrates well with our software and our financial policy. It may not be as useful on the enterprise level.
Read Edison Rose's full review
No photo available
June 12, 2019

Bill.com Review: "Reliable, electronic employee reimbursements"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The US branches of our company use Bill.com exclusively for electronic employee expense reimbursement payments. This allows US-based employees to receive expense reimbursements directly to their bank accounts through e-payments. It's a fast, easy, and paperless way to send employees payment for their corporate purchases, automatically without contacting the HR department. Wire transfers allow employees to access the funds quickly.
  • Billing and payments are completely automated, which makes the process very easy and hands-off for users.
  • Setup was very simple. I just created an account and provided my bank details and have never logged in to the platform again.
  • The email notifications letting me know about approved reimbursements are reliable, convenient, and helpful.
  • Currently, our company uses a different platform to submit expenses, we only use bill.com to receive them. So perhaps this isn't actually a place where bill.com could improve, but the expense submission process may not have been robust enough for our company.
  • The bill.com platform wasn't the most beautiful or pleasing to use, but this is a minor fault.
  • I'd love a way to set up recurring payments (e.g., my phone bill is reimbursed each month).
I'm simply a user who receives reimbursements and can't speak to bill.com's effectiveness for admins, but bill.com seems perfectly fine for this medium-sized company's needs. I'm not sure why our company chose to use bill.com only for reimbursement payments (not submitting and approving the reimbursements) and only for US employees. We switched to bill.com after changing our external tax consultants in the US, so if your external tax consultant uses bill.com, it seems like an appropriate scenario to switch as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com has allowed us to scale up our affiliate program without scaling up the workload."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We launched a network of 35+ affiliates that continues to grow. We use Bill.com to pay out these affiliates, but also to pay our other payables. We use Bill.com across the entire organization with the QuickBooks integration. We are a small team, and Bill.com allows us to scale our payables so we don't have to be bogged down cutting checks every month.
  • Scales along with our network
  • QuickBooks integration
  • Easy for our payables to sign up to get paid
  • It's not clear how to get to some features
  • I often have to dig a bit to find certain areas of the website
  • When synchronizing from QuickBooks it carries over everything with it, so it's sometimes hard to find what you're looking for
Bill.com is well suited for payables. We use it specifically for payables only. It probably does an ok job at receivables, but we were a QuickBooks user first so we haven't looked at using Bill.com for that. Bill.com is also well suited for scaling up your business without scaling up the work load.
Read this authenticated review
Carl Grivakis profile photo
January 04, 2019

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com is a good way to engage invoicing with Contractors"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is a service used by several of the businesses my own small business contracts with. I am one of the end users who can appreciate that Bill.com has one place to show invoices due, how quickly, and methods to follow up on these invoices with my clients. I know they elected to implement Bill.com after outsourcing their accounting department to an off-shore company.
  • Bill.com allows me to conveniently track money due to my business from a couple of my own clients, it allows me to review transactions afterward for my own bookkeeping.
  • Bill.com sends out messages and reminders when payments are coming in, and allows me to plan for follow-ups and reminders to clients that come due or are late in making payments.
  • Bill.com allows me to send invoices directly to my client to be processed, as simple as taking a picture and uploading it.
  • There is no channel of communication to the client through the app, I can only take notes on individual invoices, or 'resend' the invoice to the client as a reminder.
  • I've been signed up with Bill.com to collect payment from one vendor, and another had found me on there as well, but I can't easily find a way to use it for more of my own invoicing to other/all clients.
Very easy and straightforward in its use. I appreciate my clients that do use Bill.com. As an end user, I like the service it provides but have never been contacted/introduced to a sales rep from there for how I might be able to use it with my own clients or service providers.
Read Carl Grivakis's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA profile photo
January 04, 2019

Bill.com Review: "Huge Time and Money Saver!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is being used to replace the need for an AP Department. I have been using the product for a few years now and it is such a time saver. It is used by the Accounting/ Finance Department at my company. I love how when you input a bill on Bill.com, it can be paid directly by Bill.com. It does all of the heavy lifting of cutting and mailing the check to the correct vendor. Because of Bill.com, we have no need to have someone be in charge of paying the bills and cutting the checks. Bill.com does it all. Bill.com is the best substitution to an AP person.
  • Eliminates the need for an accounts person.
  • The ability to have multiple signers on the checks. Multiple people can be required to approve the check before it can be paid.
  • Access Bill.com anywhere. They even have a good app to use.
  • A better understanding of the pricing model would be nice.
  • I wish it integrated better with QuickBooks. Bill.com tries to integrate but it struggles to do a good job.
Bill.com is perfect for the small business that has a small staff and those staff wear many different hats. Bill.com eliminates the need to have someone in charge of cutting checks and paying the bills. Bill.com is super easy to use and the pricing is very inexpensive. As my company has grown, I am glad that we use Bill.com. I have saved many hours because of how easy it is to use. My vendors have no problems with using Bill.com. I also love that Bill.com has the check and balance feature where it is required for the bill to be approved by a manager before the check can be paid. This is a nice level of security.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Alicia Gates, CPA profile photo
February 22, 2018

Bill.com Review: "Wanna pay bills while sitting by the pool? Bill.com is the answer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is used by our entire organization. Our admin staff uses it to pay our own company bills and sync it seamlessly with QuickBooks Online, and our employee's use it to for our clients using the same features. Bill.com allows us to be a 100% paperless and cloud-based accounting firm. Our clients can easily submit bills, review them, approve them, and we can easily pay the bills on time, sync it to QuickBooks Online, and keep all of the financial data organized, which in turn results in real dollars saved in both the client's time and our employee's time. Furthermore, it's not even yours or your client's bank account that's at risk! Bill.com prints all of the checks from their bank account, which means if anyone tries a fraudulent activity, it's only Bill.com's information that's at risk, not yours. It's secure, it's fast, and it integrates. It's awesome!
  • Bill.com allows anyone who has the dedicated bill.com email address for the company to send bills directly to Bill.com. This means clients, vendors, automated bill reminders - all of those can be emailed directly to bill.com. There's no need for a "special portal" for these to go through - ANYONE can send them there. And, if you have something that you need to add that is on your desktop, great! Just drag and drop, and it's added. It makes getting the bills a very simple process.
  • The approval process for Bill.com is great. You can set one or multiple approvers, you can customize it for just certain vendors need approval, or just amounts over a certain threshold, with a variety of combinations in between. This is really nice for clients who don't want to approve every bill they send you, but maybe they want to double check bills over $5,000.
  • The variety of email preferences you can set up for Bill.com is amazing. You can set it so anytime you receive something new, you get an email. Or maybe every time there's an approved bill - you get an email. Maybe you only want updates once a week, or on certain days of the week - you can do that too! It's whatever you need to see to be the most efficient, Bill.com will notify you by email however you want them to. It's great because nothing slips through the cracks.
  • Voiding a bill in Bill.com is easy, but unfortunately, the void doesn't sync automatically to QuickBooks Online (unlike bill and bill payments, which do automatically sync). Bill.com is great in always telling you exactly what to do to correct it in your QuickBooks Online software, but it would nice if there weren't extra steps you had to take when this happens.
  • Bill.com only sends the first page of a bill with a check. Typically this isn't a problem, but in some instances, it's necessary for more than 1 page to be sent. It would be nice if Bill.com had a checkbox selection option to print up to a set number of pages (maybe up to 5) for an additional fee. Having the option would be great so I don't have to jump through hoops with other methods to try to get a bill paid, all because I need more than 1 page to go with the check.
For cloud-based firms or paperless firms, Bill.com is necessary. Not only can you easily view, approve, pay, track payments, and sync the information with QuickBooks Online, but you can also see all of the historical data in Bill.com for any vendor, at any time. Once it's in Bill.com, you can throw away that bill!

If you have remote employees or complex approval processes, Bill.com excels at addressing those needs. If on the other hand you have a very small office and everyone is in the same building, and you like hand writing checks and manually entering them into whatever accounting software you use, then Bill.com isn't necessary. Likewise, if you only have a few vendors and you're able to set up them for automatic payment through the vendor websites, you don't need Bill.com.
Read Alicia Gates, CPA's full review
Joshua Duke profile photo
March 16, 2016

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com vs. QuickBooks Pro"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Bill.com as our primary tool to bill clients for advertising and any services provided by the company. It acted as the only way to bill customers remotely and get paid quickly.
  • Detailed invoices.
  • Followup emails for past due invoices.
  • Dashboard for all outstanding and paid invoices.
  • Better notification of when a bill was paid.
  • Notification if email invoice was not received by customer.
  • Wants too much information to setup an account in the system.

QuickBooks does everything now we need it to do, but is very hard to learn and operate. However, it does all the things we need it to do.

Bill.com was used as a simple way to send an invoice and get paid, but did not live up to expectations.

Read Joshua Duke's full review
Tina Gregory profile photo
August 30, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Optimizing Bill.com in Accounting Systems"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My clients use Bill.com as the system of record for disbursements to vendors and for reimbursement of employee expenses. This solution is being used across each organization and enables multi-level review and approval of payables obligations, central repository for documents from vendors and mobile management and access to vendor, cash flow and remittance information for management review without having to access each firms' accounting system. Bill.com seamlessly integrates with accounting systems --- my clients use QuickBooks, both hosted and online, NetSuite and Xero. Bill.com also integrates with Expensify, so employee expense reports can also go through multiple-level review and payments can be tracked and made electronically.
  • Seamless integration with major accounting systems and applications and intelligent, built-in workflow. This reduces duplication of work, skipped approval steps and delay in payment processing.
  • Bill.com enables single repository storage for vendor invoice submission, unlimited storage for documents and good reporting capability. This assists with audit and control review.
  • Bill.com provides live chat and call back capability from a knowledgeable customer service team. This is critically important, since accounting system synchronization is a complex matter and occasionally sync errors require some guidance to clear.
  • Bill.com integrates well with 1099 preparation applications, which is critical at year end and saves data entry time when preparing these required forms.
  • The credit memo processing features in Bill.com could be built-out more fully.
  • Additional report customization would be helpful.
  • Batch-processing transaction capability could be developed.
Bill.com is well-suited to firms of all sizes who are looking for single-portal solutions to invoice approval and processing, with embedded integration to accounting systems. The system enables visibility into vendor activity and liabilities, enables more rapid audit support and provides "review anywhere" work capability. Because vendors are instructed to send invoices to a central repository and built-in workflow routes approvals as designated, efficiency can be significantly improved and fraud prevention processes are supported.
Read Tina Gregory's full review
Laura Chapman profile photo
October 11, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Bill.Com Saves Labor, Postage and filing space."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I use the product for the music, non-profit, legal and property management firms. It creates a system of checks and balances because of the approval system. Bill.Com saves paper and postage. It's easy to use and easy to train end users the product. Technical support is quite responsive and awesome.
  • Internal Audit Control
  • Repository of cancelled checks and vendor documents
  • Ability to save paper, postage and labor.
  • Create a system so you can pick and choose what should be synced or not.
  • Make it easier to input detailed vendor bills.
Generally, anyone with 15 bills or more should be using this product to create good internal control, save labor, postage and filing space.
Read Laura Chapman's full review
Bill Aiton profile photo
December 19, 2014

Bill.com Review: "Is Web Based AP in your future?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My firm implements accounting software for mid market organizations. Part of that implementation has been Accounts Payable - Vendors, Vouchers, Checks, etc.
We are starting to see some of our customers that are taking the entire AP function and moving it to the cloud by using Bill.com, an innovative new cloud solution for moving Accounts Payable to the web.
Vouchers are scanned to the Bill.com web site, assigned to a vendor and coded to the chart of accounts. They then route to approvers through the internet with email notification and finally, Bill.com will send an ACH payment or cut a check.
Approvals are automated, voucher image library is built, no software or hardware is required and fees are nominal.
And Bill.com will perform the same functions for Accounts Receivable - allowing you to create invoices, route them to customers and receive payments. With AP and AR on the same system, cash forecasting is also supported!

  • Accounts Payable Imaging and Routing - No more file cabinets, not more chasing down invoices lost in mail boxes, no more delay in getting payments approved.
  • No Software or Hardware - since Bill.com is completely cloud based, it is inexpensive to get started and convenient.
  • Fees are Transaction Based - at this time, checks cost $1.49 and ACH payments are $.49 each. Monthly fees are between $50 and $200. Depending on volume, total costs can be much lower than traditional software systems.
  • Eliminates paper checks and file cabinet storage of AP vouchers.
  • Cloud is a strength and a weakness - some customers prefer a personal on-site training resource.
  • Integration to other systems can be limited - for instance, some AP systems integrate to Fixed Assets for automatic set up of new assets.
  • When integrating back to GL systems, 1099 and other information can be difficult to map.
  • Based on volume, the low per transaction fees can total more than on site software systems. But for low volume firms, cost is very nominal.
The biggest issue to resolve is whether the organization is ok with having this data all in the cloud, or whether and on premise solution is more comfortable. Going to the cloud has many benefits - cost, hardware maintenance and acquisition, imaging. In my experience, the larger the firm, the more preference for an on premise or hybrid solution.
At any rate, the innovation represented by Bill.com is dramatic and the cost savings for smaller organizations can be substantial. Bill.com and firms like it are changing the accounting landscape for organizations!
Read Bill Aiton's full review
Cindy B. Halpern-Cohen profile photo
April 06, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Great product to use!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it for a client so that their bookkeeper can import the invoices and I can manage cash flow, data entry etc., to sync with QuickBooks. I am now their accounting department and Bill.com enables remote access and remote control. Also it's nice to be able to link invoices directly.
  • Sync with Quickbooks eliminates double entry.
  • Invoices themselves are linked in system.
  • Can pay from anywhere.
  • The screen is a little hard to navigate since there are many options on how to enter an invoice. I would prefer seeing a menu driven system sort of like QuickBooks that would be easier for my clients.
The client needs to feel comfortable not physically cutting the check and becoming paperless.
Read Cindy B. Halpern-Cohen's full review
Dorothy Boyle profile photo
April 04, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is being used by our whole organization as a tool for our client to pay bills and to issue and receive payment on invoices.
  • It is fairly easy to use and syncs very well with QuickBooks.
  • Customer support is very helpful.
  • It also provides a trail of what your client has paid and when. It helps with avoiding double payments.
  • When information is inadvertently deleted, there is no notification.
  • If there is no name on a check, it can still be issued.
Bill.com is fairly simple to use and seems appropriate for most industries. The document saving feature is very desirable and can save companies a lot of space.
Read Dorothy Boyle's full review
Barvie Koplow profile photo
April 03, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com - Accounts payable all in one place"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bill.com to handle our accounts payable function. The whole organization (finance team and partners) uses it to properly review, approve, track status, store, and pay vendor invoices. Bill.com addresses making internal control measures easy to implement and eliminates the need for vendor filing.
  • Approval chains - lightens up the need for manual email follow-up and assures a documented time-stamped record of invoice approval.
  • Syncs with QuickBooks - easy on data entry, user friendly.
  • Customer support - By far, Bill.com has the best support team, staffed with knowledgeable consultants eager to solve any issues. Their chat feature is awesome.
  • Easy to upload images, multiple methods.
  • I'd like to see memorized approval chain templates, not necessarily what was last set for the vendor.
  • Quicker e-payments without having to pay extra money for an "overnight" transaction. Sometimes when processing payments on a Friday - our ePayments do not get scheduled to process/deposit until the following Thursday.
Bill.com may not really be suited for a solo practitioner. Although, I can see the benefit of having all vendor information and payments all in one place, without a hard copy filing system.
Read Barvie Koplow's full review
Janelle Thunhorst profile photo
April 03, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com lets you give up check writing."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is being used to help customers pass on information to our team easily and to reduce time in the accounts payable process.
  • Bill.com lets us email bills directly to Bill.com, this feature saves us lots of time because we don't have to sort through tons of e-mails to find our clients accounts payable items.
  • The digital copies it saves are easy to read and find.
  • Easy communication between users and approvers.
  • It would be great if you could [pay] by via credit card in Bill.com.
  • I would like the feature to allow users pay approved bills with limitations.
Do you have high level of A/P? How much time to you spend on A/P?
Read Janelle Thunhorst's full review
Claire Auslen, QuickBooks Expert profile photo
April 06, 2015

Bill.com: "Bill.com review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Bill.com to enter and pay bills for my business.
  • Click and drag to enter bills
  • Cimple paying options
  • Getting rid of things that no longer belong there, for example, invoices I sent in 2013 that were paid to me directly.
  • It's hard to know what my bank balance will be after the bills are paid. Why couldn't the paid bills show up in the bank account date when they will be paid?
Wrike is probably not well suited for interior designers. They write most checks in showrooms. It is well suited for businesses that enter and pay bills monthly from their offices or from their off site bookkeepers' offices.
Read Claire Auslen, QuickBooks Expert's full review
Jennifer Corcoran profile photo
April 04, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com SPS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Each financial operations associate uses Bill.com to support their individual clients. My clients use it for for AP and AR functions.
  • Bill.com makes it easy to upload vendor bills and enter into Bill.com for payment
  • It is easy to find outstanding bills and vendors
  • Easy to find uncleared checks
  • Very easy sync with QuickBooks
  • I wouldn't mind being able to cut and paste details from bills into the bill entry screen.
I am a new user to Bill.com and have only used it with AP and AR.
Read Jennifer Corcoran's full review
Kaydee Peterson profile photo
July 03, 2014

Bill.com Review: "The solution for outsourced A/P!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bill.com for a handful of clients and our own company. This product provides a solution for various client issues such as direct deposit for independent contractors, employee expense reimbursements, the payable approval process, recurring expense payments, and outsourced A/P management.
  • E-Payments/Direct Deposit for independent contractors
  • Sync with accounting software
  • Custom approval processes
  • Notifications
  • Faster turnaround for e-payment/direct deposit delivery
  • Customer service availability (being able to call in)
  • Better discounts for accountants panel/accountant client sign-ups
What industry are you in, where are the members of your team located (one office or all over), what are your AP challenges, what is your current approval process, etc.
Read Kaydee Peterson's full review
Erin Thorp profile photo
June 30, 2014

Bill.com Review: "Save time & sanity with Bill.com!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Local Offer Network (LON) had 3 main sectors of business: Catalyst (personalization platform), Dealradar.com (aggregate daily deal website), and VoucherPro (white-label tech platform used by publishers and manufacturers to create their own prepaid offer products). In our accounting department, I used Bill.com as an organizational, calculation, and pay-tool for our VoucherPro clients to assure local area merchants be paid for the daily deals that were sold on our various platforms. Bill.com was a one-stop solution for LON that easily integrated with the platform of our white-label website, systematically tracked bills & payments, and (most importantly) significantly reduced manual labor.
  • Bill.com's tracking of sent checks and instant access to proof of cashed/uncashed checks was a Tremendous help for LON when dealing with merchants who had claimed to never have received payment. I could easily login to the Bill.com system, take a screenshot of the cashed check (complete with signature on the back), and email the merchant the solid proof. This method is obviously MUCH preferred over having to call your bank, get put on hold, and eventually track down proof of a check being cashed that they then can can inconveniently snail-mail you several days later. This is the age of Technology, and Bill.com does it right.
  • Bill.com's customer support team is second to none. They were always very patient, well-trained, and well-informed problem solvers.
  • I truly believe Bill.com's biggest aspiration was for their product to work for US in every way possible. If we came to them with an idea to improve the product for our needs, they always listened, and nearly always provided a viable and timely solution. It's often difficult to have a real voice in the internet/e-commerce industry, so it was very refreshing for me to work with a company who cared so much about our success as a company, and bent over backwards to accommodate our growing needs.
  • It's been roughly 9 months since I've used bill.com, so I unfortunately can't remember any of the functionality issues I had experienced. I don't think any of Bill.com's features were hard to use...and even if they were or a one-off situation came up, the customer support team was so helpful that they would be able to teach you in no time. The only complaint I can think of at the moment is that support was not available late in the evenings or on the weekends, which was frustrating when getting stuck on a problem while burning the midnight oil. But perhaps support hours have expanded since then, I am not sure.
  • One other thing I thought of that Bill.com may or may not have resolved by now, is that when you close a client company, Bill.com provides a CD-rom disc (for purchase) that allows you to access all of the information from that specific client after the Bill.com account has been closed (vendor information, check status, etc). However, being that none of the laptops in our office had disc drives, this company file disc was completely useless to us. It would have been more convenient to have either 1) USB version of the company file, or more preferred option, 2) Have Bill.com convert the online account to a read-only version so that you can still access the client information by logging in from anywhere there is internet access, but just don't have the ability to edit any of the information (which is not needed anyway).
I think Bill.com was very useful and appropriate for the large-volume billing scenario we had a Local Offer Network (LON). As far as smaller-volume businesses, I'm not sure I could see the benefit of using Bill.com in integration with QuickBooks or some other accounting software, in terms of saving time and labor---I do recall getting a lot of sync-errors with QBO, which were a bit time-consuming to fix, but it's highly possible that those issues have been addressed on the Bill.com side by now.

A friend of mine was worried about hiring a new bookkeeper and too much information getting into the wrong hands, so I actually did recommend Bill.com in order for him to gain more control over account access, and not having to worry about over-access due to Bill.com's intuitive control settings---so I do think it can be very appropriate and valuable for that purpose. But I suppose it's ultimately a matter of case-by-case analysis to see if the benefit outweighs the cost/cost-savings for each business.
Read Erin Thorp's full review
Jackie Compton profile photo
June 27, 2014

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com streamlines bill payment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I own a small accounting firm and we serve companies in a broad range of industries with revenues typically less than $5million. I especially like bill.com for its ability to streamline payables and assist companies with cash flow management. It is also an effective tool allowing companies to seamlessly collaborate with an outside accounting firm.
  • Bill payment is clearly bill.com's strong suit. Getting bills into bill.com and paid is quite seamless. Scan, submit, code, schedule. done.
  • Integration with Quickbooks is seamless. Clearing errors is typically easy. There is no rekeying information into Quickbooks. It quite literally is integration with the click of a button. I am working on integration with Xero and am finding the integration to require a bit more work.
  • Simplifying the bill payment process. Moving through a batch of invoices to pay in Quickbooks is quite simple, and it is a great paperless data retention tool. Once the image is scanned and coded, you can route it for approval electronically, schedule for payment and then Bill.com issues the payment. If you need to access the bill later, you can find the document easily and even see the front and back of the cancelled check all in one place.
  • While I think the cost of a traditional paper process is higher, I do think Bill.com is a bit pricey. You need to have at least 15-20 checks or more to enter per month to have a cost savings.
  • Integration with Xero requires a third party. Would be better if the connection was direct with Xero.
  • It seems like for debit/credit card transactions there would be an easier/quicker way to get the documents processed in Bill.com so Bill.com can act as a central data storage location. There should be one go to location for all payments issued by a company.
It is not good for clients who don't have any cash because it slows down efficiency, however, because of the visibility to outstanding bills given by bill.com, it does possess the ability to help clients improve cash flow.
Read Jackie Compton's full review
Scott Tarnosky profile photo
June 24, 2014

Bill.com: "Bill.com review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization utilizes the software. We selected the software to digitize the entire A/P process from input through review to final payment.
  • Web based access
  • Easy of use. The software is simple to install and maintain.
  • Flexible. We don't have the ability to link our back end to the software but we are still able inport/export data with ease.
  • Maintaining the G/L codes (syncing them with our accounting package) is cumbersome.
  • The reporting tools are not robust. There a few canned reports. More flexibility would be appreciated.
This product is better for small to mid-sized companies.
Read Scott Tarnosky's full review
No photo available
November 11, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Chill and pay your bill"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a bookkeeping firm, we set up Bill.com for our clients to ease up the process of paying bills and receiving payments. Most of the bookkeepers who have multiple clients work mostly remotely so Bill.com eliminates the process of check runs thus saving multiple trips to the client's office. Moreover, Bill.com stores all the bills providing a convenient database for clients and bookkeepers.
  • The inbox is a convenient way of receiving bills as it extracts attachments from the incoming email converting them to the bills ready to process, it has an option to fax the bill directly to the inbox, and, my personal favorite, convenient drag-and-drop option for easily uploading documents to the inbox.
  • OCR feature is amazing, it converts images to text and this enhances the search option making it easy to find documents by typing something that's in them into the search field.
  • The "Most Recently Used" feature is a very convenient tool to quickly getting back to the previous documents that you have worked on.
  • Bill.com could improve on account selection when entering bills. In other words, if you do not have in mind a specific account, you will most likely have to go through the whole chart of accounts to find the suitable one. The type-in search is a bit too specific as typing in a parent account does not show its sub accounts if their name does not start the same way as the parent account.
For the bookkeepers, who have multiple clients and can not afford the time for check runs, Bill.com is a perfect solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 19, 2015

Bill.com Review: "In love with bill.com"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company offers outsourced accounting services. Bill.com is one of the technology solutions in our bundled service package. The main problem it addresses is managing Accounts Payable for our clients. We are no longer shuffling paper; no checks to print, no envelopes to stuff, no stamps to adhere, and no paper to file. It's a dream!
  • As mentioned previously, it's a paperless solution. That alone is a huge selling point!
  • My clients can have multi-level approval processes in place, should that be important to them. (such as department supervisor first, and CEO as the second approver)
  • Vendor payments can be set up ahead of time, so that you will never have another late payment again.
  • Each client has a dedicated fax number and a dedicated email for their bill.com account, making it easy to put A/P processes in place for clients and vendors alike.
  • On the A/R side, invoicing customers and being paid electronically is fantastic! I personally use bill.com to automatically invoice my clients each month; and I'm automatically paid as well.
  • Accounts Receivable is good, but not great. The biggest problem for clients is attempting to manage A/R from the bill.com portal when their staff does not have access to the accounting software. In QB, jobs are added as sub-names to Customers for easy management of multiple projects. In bill.com those jobs are synced (and appear to be) separate Customers, not jobs associated with Customers.
  • I'm not a fan of the reports in bill.com, but I don't personally see that as an issue because I can run reports in the accounting software.
Bill.com is well suited for a business that pays many vendors. It is not well suited for a business that processes 15 or less vendor payments per month; however, using the A/R side to invoice clients and get paid electronically can more than make up for that shortfall.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com from sales perspective for a bookkeeping company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bill.com is a very important part of how I sell our services at Supporting Strategies. I speak about how it streamlines the bill paying process for our clients (we are bookkeepers).
  • Builds in work flow for bill routing and approval.
  • Eliminates paper check runs.
  • Makes tracking the bills easy.
  • From a sales perspective, there's nothing about Bill.com that I think should change.
  • Your technical folks could answer this question better.
If a company just can't grasp the idea of having us process their payables electronically, it might not be a fit. Sometimes, some companies just want things done the manual way. Also, if there are not enough bills to justify cost of Bill.com (which is rare), it might not be a fit.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 26, 2015

Bill.com Review: "Bill.com - Good product, unprofessional company"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We're a startup business that's growing rapidly. We needed a way to pay our contractors that integrated with QuickBooks. Bill.com seemed to fit the bill (so to speak). We tried it for a month and it worked well for us. However, six days after the trial ended and before our next pay run, I received a terse and unprofessional overdue notice. Three days later I received the same notice simply re-forwarded with no other explanation.

If this is how Bill.com treats potential customers, what is its customer support going to be like? I for one am not signing up to find out.

  • Bill.com provided an efficient way for us to pay our contractors on time.
  • Integrated well with QuickBooks.
  • First impressions matter. I'd rather work with a company that acts professionally even if it means I have to spend time researching alternative products.
Bill.com has a good product, if you can overlook how unprofessional the company is. I would never recommend it because my feeling is you need trust in a company that provides your financial software.
Read this authenticated review

About Bill.com

Bill.com is a an online service for small to midsize businesses which provides a central dashboard for managing Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, and cash flow management. It syncs with all major accounting systems like QuickBooks, Sage, Intaact, and NetSuite.

Bill.com offers four pricing options. The $20 per user, per month Essentials package contains payable OR receivable management with unlimited document storage and workflow approval. The $30 dollar Team plan syncs with accounting software (e.g. Quickbooks) and has some analytic features. The $50 Corporate package supports AR & AP and has more robust Workflow options. Finally the tailor-made Enterprise level syncs with other popular software (e.g. Salesforce) and grants API access to Bill.com.

Bill.com Integrations

Bill.com Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Bill.com Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No