TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/h3/7a/V2MD34HVX3QS.JPEGPowerful suite of tools that keep getting betterWe use it for chat support, email marketing, marketing automation, and all of our customer relationship needs. It's a wonderful tool for simplifying our tech stack. Right now we only use it for one of our websites, which is an eComm site. It has been an extremely effective tool for improving customer relations and increasing conversions. We are planning to roll it out to several other websites in the near future.,Gist provides endless ways of interacting with customers. I can chat and email with them, track their usage on my site, qualify them, add tags and other profile information, and so much more. There is even an awesome live view that lets me spy on visitors to see how they're using the site. The tools are powerful, easy to use, and constantly getting improvements. It seems like every week there is another update being rolled out that substantially extends the functionality or usability of the features in Gist.,Plan limits can be confusing. For example, there is a monthly charge for support and a monthly charge for "growth," plus there's a separate charge depending on how many contacts and seats you have. Perhaps this is normal in the industry, but it can make it a little challenging to understand the bill every month. The vast amount of features means development will never be as fast as you'd like it to be (even though they release updates all the time). This may not actually be a valid concern, and it certainly isn't unique to Gist (who doesn't have a wishlist they're waiting on their favorite SaaS to get to?), but I do believe the likelihood of being stuck without your desired feature being developed goes up a lot as the product gets bigger and bigger. Email deliverability has been less than perfect in the past, but it has improved drastically in the last year.,10,Thousands of dollars in monthly support and marketing costs have been saved since implementation. Our conversion rate has increased substantially. Our rate of return purchases has also increased.,Mailchimp, Klaviyo, ManyChat and Hotjar,Less than 10,000,B2C,LiveChat, OutgrowGist: a customer engagement powerhouseOur current primary use is the interactive website chat which alerts our team on through the Gist app when someone is on our site and triggered our customized rules. This allows us to engage potential clients quickly which has increased conversions substantially. We are currently building out our knowledge base through Gist and we will be getting back into email campaigns very soon. Gist is used across our organization.,Customer engagement through chat and chat rules which alerts our team with the Gist App. This was extremely simple and quick to get up and running and has already paid for itself. Tracks user engagement with your website and allows us to understand website user behavior. It also logs all chat conversations The email campaign has been useful and easy to setup. It hasn’t been our primary use yet as we are still list building. The credit allocation is a better value for us than mail chimp allowing us to reach more people for less cost. The knowledge base was a nice addition in the last update.,Gist could improve on its customization for pop-ups and front end so that integration into your website is more seamless. The workflows are useful but are a bit of a learning curve, thankfully support is great and happy to help.,8,Our ROI has increased significantly because of Gist's chat and app integration into our website. Contact forms are great but a real-time conversation means you can be more effective in meeting your customer's needs. The additional features in the recent upgrade mean we can use Gist for more. They have always been effective for email campaigns, but the addition of the knowledge base and more effective workflows means we can automate more. This has saved us from buying more software.,Mailchimp, Chatter and ManyChat,Less than 10,000,Both,Salesflare, Slack, Teamwork Projects,7,Yes,I think support since the last large update has been exceptional. There were a few issues surrounding the knowledge base which I would mention in their chat and the response was quick and the backend fix was implemented within 48 hours with all my issues,Website Chat integration/app notifications Setting up engagement rules Tracking web users Email campaigns,Some customization beyond colors Workflows take some understanding,Yes,7All-In-One Marketing Tool I'm Happy WithI'm using this as my email marketing platform, live chat, and scheduling platform. I'm very pleased to have all these products integrated together, along with the ability to add a knowledge base in the future. It's already been helpful to see which prospects have reached out via chat, so I can tag them and send email campaigns to them.,Integrating multiple marketing products (speaks for itself). Live chat is a GREAT alternative to other products. Their new UIX is awesome. Very intuitive and easy to navigate.,No improvements at this time.,10,We haven't measured ROI, but have had more people reach out via chat on the website, so it's expanding our net to catch new customers.,Intercom,Less than 10,000,B2B,CloudApp, pCloud, Google DriveGet Gist for ease of use support tools your customers demand.Easy to install chat widget with many options on colors and icons. Pretty much a great app overall. You never know with newer apps if they are going to be around or if there is a lot of continued development. But the Gist team is always helpful and they keep developing and developing. That says a lot for where they are headed. I see great things and we will continue to use them. Overall, we are really happy with Gist. It suites our needs and has more features then we need. If you're reading this and you are looking for a support widget or a knowledge base with some added email automation with marketing capabilities, Gist is a great option. We use it every day in our SaaS App.,Support Chat Widget and help desk Knowledge Base with SEO capabilities Support app for on the go,Early on they had some issues with email deliverability but that seems to have been fixed As a new app, it had much development to catch up in the space. However, they have done a lot of catching up at this point.,9,Just having a support widget increases trust with your customers.,Intercom,Less than 10,000,B2BGist: all purpose web backend, CRM, growth chatbot solutionI picked Gist because it was a match between a need and an opportunity. As a software company, there is always the temptation to fix everything ourselves. I bought Gist (I guess I was among the very first adopters) to have an all-in-one solution to most problems faced by a company with an online presence. Chat, FAQ, forms, Llst of contacts, mailings, etc. So far, I'm very happy with it. It exceeds my expectations.,The chatbot widget has been active for over a year now. Visitors use it routinely to leave a message, ask a question. It's great to be ahead of trends for so little work on our side. We use the forms from Gist to collect emails and get feedback. Live views, seeing who is visiting your site right now is very promising. My first usage would be to see how people navigate around after a contact.,I wish the chatbot widget could be more customizable. On the flip side, it's easy to setup.,9,The needs are fixed and we are able to stay focused on other aspects of our startup. It's very important at this stage. New features contribute to our education on what is possible.,HubSpot and Intercom,Less than 10,000,B2C,Zoom Video Webinar, WordPressGood choice and Gist has a lot of potential to grow and offer more servicesAs Gist is the all-in-one platform for marketing it does a lot of things for my company. Giving me a few pieces of information and having the possibility to live chat with users and solving my client's problems is a very positive thing for my company for reputation also on the financial side.,Live Chat Scheduling Email Marketing Great Dashboard Knowledge Base,Late reply on support,8,Closer with the client's problem Easy to solve problems when known Easy to classify user emails and send emails from the dashboard,Less than 10,000,B2CA great all in one marketing communication toolWe are using it as an all in one marketing communication package. The advanced email automation (that just got a new function of graphical campaign builder) is very handy. Also, my subscription includes a live chat and a chatbot and both works well with my sites. Also, we are using the knowledge base as an internal knowledge sharing tool. It's a good alternative for other Saas solutions.,The email marketing is for our email communication. The marketing automation tool is very useful for campaigns. The live chat is for lead generation.,It's very complex so it's takes a little time until we can use it in full glory. We experienced a few mail delivery issues but it's already fixed. However, the interface is looks good but sometimes it's hard to find a particular feature.,8,We can build advanced marketing automations and save time and money. The email builder is very basic so we are using an other solution for build them, then import into Gist. It's easy to integrate some other Saas services like invole.me and Convertful into the Gist ecosystem.,ActiveCampaign,Less than 10,000,B2BEverything you need in one placeGreat tool for managing contacts and much more. In-app messaging system with calendar integration for scheduling meetings makes setting up calls a breeze. We can also directly send knowledge base articles from within the messenger. Ability to tag/assign tickets/conversations to other teammates so there's no need to use supplemental tools for task assignments. Tracks user activity and provides real-time data!,In-app messaging to users and to team members. Integration with calendar for scheduling meetings with users. Tagging/assigning tickets/conversations to team members for easier collaboration.,Ability to merge conversations.,10,We have gotten more signups because Gist made it easier to set up a meeting with users when conducting product demos.,Kayako,Less than 10,000,B2B,LeadFuze, SlackAffordable Price for Essential Marketing ToolsMy complete organization uses Gist. It addresses the problem of having an essential tool for communicating with customers—giving them support but also selling to them. All users can be marketed to very integrally with Gist. We capture user data and we can create email marketing campaigns to them and also give them support all in the same tool.,LIve Chat Bot Implementation for Gathering Leads Email Marketing,Integration with Wordpress Integration with Wordpress Membership Site Plugins Better UI for Writing Emails,10,Gist have been very good for my business, we depend on email marketing. No negative impact.,Intercom,Less than 10,000,Both,Typeform, WordPress, StripeComplete Marketing Solution in Early StagesOur main use of Gist is for customer support via the Live Chat functionality on our corporate website. This was the strongest selling point when they released the service and still is the main reason we use it. It also functions as a lightweight CRM and has many lead generation tools.,LiveChat is great, it even supports many languages, which is very handy if you're website visitors are not native English speakers. The CRM module offers basic information about your visitors, which helps in crafting your audience segmentation. It has integrated email campaigns. This wasn't extensively tested by us, but it'll be perfect for a mid-sized audience with just a few thousand subscribers.,Email editor could use some improvements. Would be nice to have a more robust CRM module.,9,Providing our visitors with fast replies is always handy, especially when they're in a need of a product and need information about the stock.,LiveAgent,Less than 10,000,B2C,LiveAgent, WordPressSo close to being the perfect "all-in-one" dashboard for your business. Not there yet.We use Gist all across the organization. In fact, that's how Gist promotes itself, as "your all-in-one" solution. From organizing leads and customers to communicating with new leads and just simply tracking their interest with website actions. That can be it's the biggest strength, but it also influences some of its very very minor flaws or disadvantages.,LiveChat Management. Segmenting Contacts. Knowledge-base.,Journey (Workflow) Builder Flexibility. Custom Field Flexibility (naming conventions). Journey (Workflow) Builder Features.,8,Saved us a ton of time on automatically segmenting leads based on website actions.,Autopilot,Less than 10,000,B2C,AutopilotGist: An All-in-One Marketing SuiteWe used Gist for customer support mainly for answering live chat. We are using different communication channels in our website such as contact form, callback widget and live chat. We found out that live chat is the most effective for our website visitors.,We love how Gist allows you to create a team who will answer website visitors' enquiries. We also like how you can set chatbots that can help outside office working hours. We are also happy that Gist integrates with Zapier and other SaaS platforms to streamline our business processes.,Lead capture forms needs a powerful editor as it is very basic right now, not using it either. Their event tracking is also hard to understand and you need programming skills to implement it. Hope they can provide a detailed examples of use cases for this feature. Hoping that they can integrate with other booking software for their meeting feature as I don't want to use their current sets of integration.,9,More enquiries via livechat more prospects. Ease of customer support, we can provide answers in a few seconds resulting to a happy customer. We saved a lot of money using their set of tools, rather than purchasing different alternatives with hefty pricing.,,Less than 10,000,Both,HelpCrunchAll in one Marketing, Sales and SupportLive chat, ticketing and knowledge base all in one. We use it on the website of the company to communicate with visitors and customers. Convenient chatbot to capture new leads. I really like the update of the product and its new chips: Live View, Message Sneak Peek, AutoCapture and Zoom integration. Many integrations with other services.,Email Marketing Event Tracking Chatbot,Need web hook for standard plan Need UTM parameters tracking Need email constructor,9,Easy to set up and easy to use All-in-one product replaces many other products Creating a knowledge base for customers on the subdomain of the company's website,Intercom and Drift,Less than 10,000,B2B,Google Analytics, Google Drive, PieSyncSmall Needs, Big HelpWe use Gist to provide support to and deliver communication to owners in our community. It eliminates our reliance on email as a support tool, where fowl-ups could me missed and conversations could get crossed. It also allows us to intake support from Facebook Messenger.,Website chat is pretty instantaneous. We can direct users to a resource immediately, or keep the ticket. Gist will deliver communications to the customer's email and their browser. Emails look nice, and you can design your own, if that's your preference. List segmentation is easy with tags. The widgets JavaScript doesn't slow-down page load. You can configure Gist to match your branding.,The email editor renders some of the headings in incorrect proportions. H2 looks bigger than H1. When delivered, emails look fine. One account can have multiple projects, but a single identity persists across all projects. So, you can't use different email domains for each project. You need multiple accounts. That's okay, but the iOS app doesn't support multi-account login. I'd like the ability to design my own chat bot avatar.,8,Customers are happier. They're receiving feedback more promptly. We can tell our story. We can tell our users what we've done for them; prove our value. We have records of agreements made and not for when memory fails.,,Less than 10,000,B2C,G SuiteA great tool for your business and customer management.We have been using Gist for about 2 years now. We use Gist for customer support. It has helped me and our organization to be in constant touch with our website visitors and our customers which was not possible earlier. Now I can answer user queries almost instantly and 24/7 through their web and mobile app.,Gist is a one spot solution for your business. It has all the tools that you would require for managing your business and your users in one place like live chat, email marketing, lead capturing, etc. For this price, you can't get anything comparable to it.,There are no "cons" really of using Gist in particular but there is always a room for improvement in any product. According to me, the overall ease of use/UX can be improved. Some more new features can be added.,8,Gist has been so beneficial for our business. It has allowed us to manage our users and visitors more efficiently. We can now engage with our users more frequently.,Mailchimp,Less than 10,000,B2C,Zapier, WordPressA Powerful Marketing Automation ToolWe use GIST for most of our marketing automation needs and customer interaction. It's also very good for behavioral retargeting and to develop a knowledge base that can be used by customers. The messenger feature is also very powerful, and you can use it to nudge users in the appropriate pages. We really like this tool.,Email automation. Site automation. Bots. Large knowledge-base.,They could implement the visual workflow builder for emails. Improved the email design within the editor. Allow LTD users to use workflows.,9,Helped us to reduce customer requests with the knowledge-base. Better on boarding. Better tracking of the customer behavior.,ActiveCampaign,Less than 10,000,Both,BasecampBetter customer engagementWe use Gist for sales and customer service.,Allows us to be better connected with customers. Gives customers multiple options to contact us. Gist is available on multiple platforms.,When responding via email, we would like our normal email signatures to be detected and removed.,10,We've been able to engage customers better.,Intercom and Drift,Less than 10,000,B2BGist, the all-in-one chat and support solutionGist is being used at the organization as a whole. We are using gist as a one-stop solution to manage all our customer service related needs, planning tasks and communicating internally.,Integrations Live chat is seamless. Knowledge-base. UI,May be integrating video calls :) Ticketing desk. More tools for marketing AI.,10,No more stress. Customer retention is great. Follow up is measurable.,Freshchat, Intercom and Zendesk Chat (formerly Zopim),Less than 10,000,Both,Zendesk Chat (formerly Zopim), Intercom, FreshchatAll-in-one marketing automation that saves time and money while increases sales!We use Gist for many business processes. We use for communicating with clients via chat and email, building chatbots to automate flows and save time, and to schedule meetings with clients as well as educate them via knowledgebases.,Live Chat - customer can easily contact us on the website and continue communication via email. Knowledge-base - helps us teach customers about our services while saving us time by automating the process. Chatbot - automate many processes such as meeting scheduling, learning about customer needs or generating sales.,Chatbot visual flow builder. Emails delivered through the system easily. More customization of how chat bubble and other parts look.,10,Customer service improved by increased positive reviews for the business. We save around 30% of time used before for client communication and support. Increased sales by 9% just by creating a chatbot in Gist that automated sales process.,Intercom, Mailchimp and ActiveCampaign,Less than 10,000,BothGreat Email Marketing ToolI use Gist for marketing automation, chat, and website tracking mostly. It has so many more tools that I could use but haven't yet implemented. Where Gist really shines is that combination of feature rich tools you would find from Intercom and ConvertKit. The system supports my assets, email automations, and funnels for selling coaching services and online courses.,Integration with Wordpress Cross Platform Chat/Bots Email Marketing Knowledge Base,Customer Service/Support Realtime Roadmap Updates/Communication 3rd Party Integrations without Zapier,8,Net Positive Without a Doubt to my objectives top line income Learning Curve as with any product is going to take time to understand,Mautic Marketing Automation and Mailchimp,Less than 10,000,B2C,Zapier, WordPressFantastic support for a growing serviceCurrently, we're only using the bare minimum of what this software can do while we grow our website. We're using it to grow and manage our email list and to send out emails and tag users based on their actions on the site. In the future, we will use the tags to help us better identify user wants on the site and to offer specific users more of what they want to turn them into customers.,Their online support is great, often there are people who are there to help around the clock. The documentation has really improved quite a bit as well as their training videos. 6 months ago it was quite difficult to figure out what the software can do and how to do it, but now it is much easier. I like the notifications they send out of the new things they're adding. They keep adding new things before we can even get the existing things implemented, so I have a lot to look forward to as we grow our site.,It is difficult to know where to get started. This software does so much and it's overwhelming trying to figure out where to start. As a non-developer, I struggle with trying to set up a lot of what the software can do. Their support is great, it's just difficult if you don't have a developer background. The last is really more of a want, I wish that some of the things like webhooks or other visual things like workflows were included in the lower tiers as these both really make their software both a lot easier and much more useful.,10,We're just going live, so I expect to see a positive ROI hopefully by the end of the year. Because I'm not a developer, I've spent a lot of hours digging into this to try to do things without my developer.,Drip from Leadpages,Less than 10,000,B2C,Google Tag Manager, Google AnalyticsGist -- converting users into paying customers.I use Gist as a first contact point with my users. After starting the conversation, I use Gist to define the user's needs by tagging them, and I try to convert free users into paying customers.,Tagging users. Automation. Drip campaign.,Forms. Currently there is a need for a html/css to create and manage them. Email templates are currently very limited.,9,Gist helps to convert free users into paying customers. I estimate that my conversion rate has improved at least 35 to 40 % since I adopted Gist.,Wix,Less than 10,000,B2B,WixGist -- The best marketing Automation tool that every business should be using.Gist is the All-In-One marketing automation software that is being used throughout the company. We love Gist because it helps us be of service to our customers throughout the entire sales funnel. Beginning from the Awareness phase where we can use the chatbot and Lead Form to Qualify and engage with the website visitor, to tracking signed up users and adding tags to send the right marketing communication email.,Gist has a great User Interface and User Experience in using the platform. Tracking user web activity, tagging users according to their online activity. A great team that listens to user feedback and works with customers to drive the company forward. Awesome support team.,Drag and Drop email builder for more visually appealing emails. Maybe a video series on how companies are using Gist -- like the top 5 ways to use Gist.,10,Positive customer retention and engagement.,Less than 10,000,B2CGreat for tackling customer support requestsWe use Gist for everyday support with both our existing clients (through our web app) and with our potential clients (through our website). We tackle anything from tech issues, to lead generation, to answering product questions our users may have in the early stages. We also use it to communicate with users on a regular basis.,Assigning conversations to different team members. Not allowing two team members to type at the same time (avoids double responses). Snoozing conversations to wait for the resolution without forgetting to followup.,Pending indefinitely feature - something they had but removed recently. It's especially useful when the ETA for the resolution is out of your hands.,9,It's helped us improve our ROI.,Intercom,10,000 to 25,000,BothA fantastic team, committed to a product that is already great and getting better every day!We use Gist on our main company website across our organization. Live chat allows us to understand where our customers need help, when they may not have reached out through other methods. Automation allows us to communicate better without a large investment of time. Both of these functions help us to offer better customer support.,Excellent customer service and a team that cares. Very quick implementation of new features. Great looking design and easy to use.,Small bugs to be fixed, but nothing show-stopping. Company is still young so the product isn't as developed as it could be, though definitely still production-ready and speed of development is very rapid. Better handling of enquiry management for email would be fantastic, but I've no doubt this will come.,9,Better understanding of customers needs before purchase. Early days but better customer support leading to more sales. Better communication with customers once they have purchased leads to higher satisfaction.,,Less than 10,000,Both,Capsule CRM, Bitbucket, GitHub
Unspecified
Gist
47 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gist Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gist
47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 47 vetted Gist reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Tristin Roney profile photo
July 28, 2019

Powerful suite of tools that keep getting better

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for chat support, email marketing, marketing automation, and all of our customer relationship needs. It's a wonderful tool for simplifying our tech stack. Right now we only use it for one of our websites, which is an eComm site. It has been an extremely effective tool for improving customer relations and increasing conversions. We are planning to roll it out to several other websites in the near future.
  • Gist provides endless ways of interacting with customers. I can chat and email with them, track their usage on my site, qualify them, add tags and other profile information, and so much more.
  • There is even an awesome live view that lets me spy on visitors to see how they're using the site.
  • The tools are powerful, easy to use, and constantly getting improvements. It seems like every week there is another update being rolled out that substantially extends the functionality or usability of the features in Gist.
  • Plan limits can be confusing. For example, there is a monthly charge for support and a monthly charge for "growth," plus there's a separate charge depending on how many contacts and seats you have. Perhaps this is normal in the industry, but it can make it a little challenging to understand the bill every month.
  • The vast amount of features means development will never be as fast as you'd like it to be (even though they release updates all the time). This may not actually be a valid concern, and it certainly isn't unique to Gist (who doesn't have a wishlist they're waiting on their favorite SaaS to get to?), but I do believe the likelihood of being stuck without your desired feature being developed goes up a lot as the product gets bigger and bigger.
  • Email deliverability has been less than perfect in the past, but it has improved drastically in the last year.
Gist is an excellent tool for teams looking to provide all-in-one customer support and marketing under the same umbrella product. Having everything in the same platform makes integration a breeze and saves hours per week on managing leads and customers. It may not be ideal for a large company that has many diverse needs that would require a bespoke solution.
Read Tristin Roney's full review
Paul Hancock profile photo
July 02, 2019

Gist: a customer engagement powerhouse

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our current primary use is the interactive website chat which alerts our team on through the Gist app when someone is on our site and triggered our customized rules. This allows us to engage potential clients quickly which has increased conversions substantially. We are currently building out our knowledge base through Gist and we will be getting back into email campaigns very soon. Gist is used across our organization.
  • Customer engagement through chat and chat rules which alerts our team with the Gist App. This was extremely simple and quick to get up and running and has already paid for itself.
  • Tracks user engagement with your website and allows us to understand website user behavior. It also logs all chat conversations
  • The email campaign has been useful and easy to setup. It hasn’t been our primary use yet as we are still list building. The credit allocation is a better value for us than mail chimp allowing us to reach more people for less cost.
  • The knowledge base was a nice addition in the last update.
  • Gist could improve on its customization for pop-ups and front end so that integration into your website is more seamless.
  • The workflows are useful but are a bit of a learning curve, thankfully support is great and happy to help.
Gist has helped us to replace 3 separate software services for much less than we were paying before. If you're running a WP website, their plugin makes integration easy and their app means I can assign someone to cover customer engagement around the clock. Our services are very bespoke so engaging with customers quickly and effectively is really important for us. As a smaller business, it is really important to have software that works well and is simple to use, we find Gist meats that criteria for us.
Read Paul Hancock's full review
Christopher Page, MBA profile photo
August 08, 2019

All-In-One Marketing Tool I'm Happy With

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using this as my email marketing platform, live chat, and scheduling platform. I'm very pleased to have all these products integrated together, along with the ability to add a knowledge base in the future. It's already been helpful to see which prospects have reached out via chat, so I can tag them and send email campaigns to them.
  • Integrating multiple marketing products (speaks for itself).
  • Live chat is a GREAT alternative to other products.
  • Their new UIX is awesome. Very intuitive and easy to navigate.
  • No improvements at this time.
Great for small to medium service-based businesses or SaaS companies. I wouldn't recommend for e-commerce companies since there are other platforms better suited for commerce needs. This is a great tool for companies that are looking for multiple marketing products they can integrate together (ex. chat, knowledge base, email marketing platform, and scheduling).
Read Christopher Page, MBA's full review
Karl Schuckert profile photo
August 07, 2019

Get Gist for ease of use support tools your customers demand.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Easy to install chat widget with many options on colors and icons. Pretty much a great app overall. You never know with newer apps if they are going to be around or if there is a lot of continued development. But the Gist team is always helpful and they keep developing and developing. That says a lot for where they are headed. I see great things and we will continue to use them. Overall, we are really happy with Gist. It suites our needs and has more features then we need. If you're reading this and you are looking for a support widget or a knowledge base with some added email automation with marketing capabilities, Gist is a great option. We use it every day in our SaaS App.
  • Support Chat Widget and help desk
  • Knowledge Base with SEO capabilities
  • Support app for on the go
  • Early on they had some issues with email deliverability but that seems to have been fixed
  • As a new app, it had much development to catch up in the space. However, they have done a lot of catching up at this point.
Ecom, SaaS and any online business where you want to host live chat.
Read Karl Schuckert's full review
Bruno Winck profile photo
August 07, 2019

Gist: all purpose web backend, CRM, growth chatbot solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I picked Gist because it was a match between a need and an opportunity. As a software company, there is always the temptation to fix everything ourselves. I bought Gist (I guess I was among the very first adopters) to have an all-in-one solution to most problems faced by a company with an online presence. Chat, FAQ, forms, Llst of contacts, mailings, etc. So far, I'm very happy with it. It exceeds my expectations.
  • The chatbot widget has been active for over a year now. Visitors use it routinely to leave a message, ask a question. It's great to be ahead of trends for so little work on our side.
  • We use the forms from Gist to collect emails and get feedback.
  • Live views, seeing who is visiting your site right now is very promising. My first usage would be to see how people navigate around after a contact.
  • I wish the chatbot widget could be more customizable. On the flip side, it's easy to setup.
I did recommend it several times. I think it's a no-brainer for startups or small businesses with an online presence. This is especially true for WordPress-based sites. They have integration with apps like Zoom which could be interesting for Sales or Consulting. For my case, what interests me is that they have an API. We can have scripts to get the data or add details. Everything else is way more expensive and more complex to setup.
Read Bruno Winck's full review
Argzon Haziraj profile photo
August 07, 2019

Good choice and Gist has a lot of potential to grow and offer more services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As Gist is the all-in-one platform for marketing it does a lot of things for my company. Giving me a few pieces of information and having the possibility to live chat with users and solving my client's problems is a very positive thing for my company for reputation also on the financial side.
  • Live Chat
  • Scheduling
  • Email Marketing
  • Great Dashboard
  • Knowledge Base
  • Late reply on support
As I mentioned before, Gist works very well in live chat and scheduling a meeting. Also, email marketing is very good. Some things I would like to add or change giving more information on the live chat like some articles from Knowledge Base like F.A.Q because users that tend to chat with an agent live are requiring more information about the service or product.
Read Argzon Haziraj's full review
Laszlo Csukas profile photo
August 07, 2019

A great all in one marketing communication tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as an all in one marketing communication package. The advanced email automation (that just got a new function of graphical campaign builder) is very handy. Also, my subscription includes a live chat and a chatbot and both works well with my sites. Also, we are using the knowledge base as an internal knowledge sharing tool. It's a good alternative for other Saas solutions.
  • The email marketing is for our email communication.
  • The marketing automation tool is very useful for campaigns.
  • The live chat is for lead generation.
  • It's very complex so it's takes a little time until we can use it in full glory.
  • We experienced a few mail delivery issues but it's already fixed.
  • However, the interface is looks good but sometimes it's hard to find a particular feature.
It definitely works for email marketing campaigns with automation and emails. These are the basic features and if you are looking for good service, then it's a great tool. If you're only looking for knowledge base software, then this service is a bit overkill.
Read Laszlo Csukas's full review
Andie Suggs profile photo
August 07, 2019

Everything you need in one place

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Great tool for managing contacts and much more. In-app messaging system with calendar integration for scheduling meetings makes setting up calls a breeze. We can also directly send knowledge base articles from within the messenger. Ability to tag/assign tickets/conversations to other teammates so there's no need to use supplemental tools for task assignments. Tracks user activity and provides real-time data!
  • In-app messaging to users and to team members.
  • Integration with calendar for scheduling meetings with users.
  • Tagging/assigning tickets/conversations to team members for easier collaboration.
  • Ability to merge conversations.
The perfect tool to use for customer support and internal communication.
Read Andie Suggs's full review
Jorge Diaz profile photo
August 07, 2019

Affordable Price for Essential Marketing Tools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My complete organization uses Gist. It addresses the problem of having an essential tool for communicating with customers—giving them support but also selling to them. All users can be marketed to very integrally with Gist. We capture user data and we can create email marketing campaigns to them and also give them support all in the same tool.
  • LIve Chat
  • Bot Implementation for Gathering Leads
  • Email Marketing
  • Integration with WordPress
  • Integration with WordPress Membership Site Plugins
  • Better UI for Writing Emails
Gist is well suited for a big range of business types. If you have a service business, e-commerce, software as a service, or membership site/info product business, Gist is very good to manage all your business. support and marketing will be handled at an affordable price. You will be generating sales from Gist, because of their email marketing module. It's not suitable if you are a solo-preneur. Gist shines when you have a team, but even if you use it without a team you can only use the email marketing and bot module.
Read Jorge Diaz's full review
Arpad Szucs profile photo
August 06, 2019

Complete Marketing Solution in Early Stages

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our main use of Gist is for customer support via the Live Chat functionality on our corporate website. This was the strongest selling point when they released the service and still is the main reason we use it. It also functions as a lightweight CRM and has many lead generation tools.
  • LiveChat is great, it even supports many languages, which is very handy if you're website visitors are not native English speakers.
  • The CRM module offers basic information about your visitors, which helps in crafting your audience segmentation.
  • It has integrated email campaigns. This wasn't extensively tested by us, but it'll be perfect for a mid-sized audience with just a few thousand subscribers.
  • Email editor could use some improvements.
  • Would be nice to have a more robust CRM module.
It's a great platform. We have been using Gist for customer support for about a year now. This is the first chat app we tried and works well so far. It has numerous handy features, like email automation, chatbots, live event tracker, knowledgebase, behavioral email marketing, and even drip campaigns, and so on. Gist's feature list is growing very fast, they seem to listen to their customers very well!
Read Arpad Szucs's full review
Aleksandar Novkovski profile photo
August 02, 2019

So close to being the perfect "all-in-one" dashboard for your business. Not there yet.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gist all across the organization. In fact, that's how Gist promotes itself, as "your all-in-one" solution. From organizing leads and customers to communicating with new leads and just simply tracking their interest with website actions. That can be it's the biggest strength, but it also influences some of its very very minor flaws or disadvantages.
  • LiveChat Management.
  • Segmenting Contacts.
  • Knowledge-base.
  • Journey (Workflow) Builder Flexibility.
  • Custom Field Flexibility (naming conventions).
  • Journey (Workflow) Builder Features.
It just depends on the business model and how you do things. I can see some scenarios where Gist will be amazing to someone and make them go "wow, this is everything you need", but also scenarios where they will go "hmm, but this missing feature here makes it unusable or impractical for us".
Read Aleksandar Novkovski's full review
Vinson Lozano profile photo
July 28, 2019

Gist: An All-in-One Marketing Suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Gist for customer support mainly for answering live chat. We are using different communication channels in our website such as contact form, callback widget and live chat. We found out that live chat is the most effective for our website visitors.
  • We love how Gist allows you to create a team who will answer website visitors' enquiries.
  • We also like how you can set chatbots that can help outside office working hours.
  • We are also happy that Gist integrates with Zapier and other SaaS platforms to streamline our business processes.
  • Lead capture forms needs a powerful editor as it is very basic right now, not using it either.
  • Their event tracking is also hard to understand and you need programming skills to implement it. Hope they can provide a detailed examples of use cases for this feature.
  • Hoping that they can integrate with other booking software for their meeting feature as I don't want to use their current sets of integration.
If you are seeing a lot of website traffic but didn't get any inquiries via phone calls or email, then I strongly suggest that you install Gist livechat and from there you can utilize their other marketing features such as email marketing, knowledge-base, etc.
Read Vinson Lozano's full review
Vitali Kosyrau profile photo
July 28, 2019

All in one Marketing, Sales and Support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Live chat, ticketing and knowledge base all in one. We use it on the website of the company to communicate with visitors and customers. Convenient chatbot to capture new leads. I really like the update of the product and its new chips: Live View, Message Sneak Peek, AutoCapture and Zoom integration. Many integrations with other services.
  • Email Marketing
  • Event Tracking
  • Chatbot
  • Need web hook for standard plan
  • Need UTM parameters tracking
  • Need email constructor
This product is perfect for your site to communicate with visitors and customers of your company. Integrated email marketing is a very cool thing that keeps you in touch with your customers. A cool chatbot contributor that makes it easy to qualify new leads. Many integrations with other services.
Read Vitali Kosyrau's full review
Bret Carmichael profile photo
July 28, 2019

Small Needs, Big Help

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gist to provide support to and deliver communication to owners in our community. It eliminates our reliance on email as a support tool, where fowl-ups could me missed and conversations could get crossed. It also allows us to intake support from Facebook Messenger.
  • Website chat is pretty instantaneous. We can direct users to a resource immediately, or keep the ticket. Gist will deliver communications to the customer's email and their browser.
  • Emails look nice, and you can design your own, if that's your preference. List segmentation is easy with tags.
  • The widgets JavaScript doesn't slow-down page load.
  • You can configure Gist to match your branding.
  • The email editor renders some of the headings in incorrect proportions. H2 looks bigger than H1. When delivered, emails look fine.
  • One account can have multiple projects, but a single identity persists across all projects. So, you can't use different email domains for each project. You need multiple accounts. That's okay, but the iOS app doesn't support multi-account login.
  • I'd like the ability to design my own chat bot avatar.
Gist is great for tracking custom support, but if you have complex workflows, it's not for you. It's open, pending, and closed; making is less useful for an enterprise help desk. That's just not the functional intent of the product. It's more of a marketing and communications platform.
Read Bret Carmichael's full review
Mohd Saquib profile photo
July 28, 2019

A great tool for your business and customer management.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Gist for about 2 years now. We use Gist for customer support. It has helped me and our organization to be in constant touch with our website visitors and our customers which was not possible earlier. Now I can answer user queries almost instantly and 24/7 through their web and mobile app.
  • Gist is a one spot solution for your business.
  • It has all the tools that you would require for managing your business and your users in one place like live chat, email marketing, lead capturing, etc.
  • For this price, you can't get anything comparable to it.
  • There are no "cons" really of using Gist in particular but there is always a room for improvement in any product.
  • According to me, the overall ease of use/UX can be improved.
  • Some more new features can be added.
Gist is best suited for lead capturing through triggers and for email marketing through various campaigns and broadcasts, etc. It is also a tremendous tool to be in constant touch with your website users and visitors so you can resolve their queries and doubts instantly and anytime 24/7. It also integrates well with other tools.
Read Mohd Saquib's full review
Leonardo Wolff profile photo
July 27, 2019

A Powerful Marketing Automation Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GIST for most of our marketing automation needs and customer interaction. It's also very good for behavioral retargeting and to develop a knowledge base that can be used by customers. The messenger feature is also very powerful, and you can use it to nudge users in the appropriate pages. We really like this tool.
  • Email automation.
  • Site automation.
  • Bots.
  • Large knowledge-base.
  • They could implement the visual workflow builder for emails.
  • Improved the email design within the editor.
  • Allow LTD users to use workflows.
Pros:

We started to use Gist a couple of years ago when they used to be called ConvertFox. When they started the tool it was possible to notice some hiccups, but the team started to upgrade it, and release a lot of new features. Today, Gist is a super powerful tool, with things like:

Email automation.
Large knowledge base.
Bots.
Site automation.
Powerful automation based on visitor action.
Broadcasts, drip campaigns, behavioral email marketing and way more.

The email deliverability rates now are also pretty high and are our go-to tool for our main website.

Get it, worth every dollar!
Read Leonardo Wolff's full review
Marc Rowen profile photo
July 26, 2019

Better customer engagement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gist for sales and customer service.
  • Allows us to be better connected with customers.
  • Gives customers multiple options to contact us.
  • Gist is available on multiple platforms.
  • When responding via email, we would like our normal email signatures to be detected and removed.
We use it so customers have a choice of how to contact us, so we think it's well suited for any customer-initiated interaction.
Read Marc Rowen's full review
Vibhor Sharma profile photo
July 26, 2019

Gist, the all-in-one chat and support solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gist is being used at the organization as a whole. We are using gist as a one-stop solution to manage all our customer service related needs, planning tasks and communicating internally.
  • Integrations
  • Live chat is seamless.
  • Knowledge-base.
  • UI
  • May be integrating video calls :)
  • Ticketing desk.
  • More tools for marketing AI.
Gist is appropriate for any scenario where live interaction is happening or required. It is not yet suited for a ticket-based help desk environment IMO. If that gets integrated it'll be a supernova of all software tools out there.
Read Vibhor Sharma's full review
Vitaliy Malanchuk profile photo
July 26, 2019

All-in-one marketing automation that saves time and money while increases sales!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gist for many business processes. We use for communicating with clients via chat and email, building chatbots to automate flows and save time, and to schedule meetings with clients as well as educate them via knowledgebases.
  • Live Chat - customer can easily contact us on the website and continue communication via email.
  • Knowledge-base - helps us teach customers about our services while saving us time by automating the process.
  • Chatbot - automate many processes such as meeting scheduling, learning about customer needs or generating sales.
  • Chatbot visual flow builder.
  • Emails delivered through the system easily.
  • More customization of how chat bubble and other parts look.
Customer service for eCommerce or any service business. Live chat is a must-have for any business and Gist helps your business to connect to your customers easily while learning about them and storing information to be used later. Gist is a time saver by providing us an all-in-one solution that saves time and money.
Read Vitaliy Malanchuk's full review
Andrew Beach profile photo
July 25, 2019

Great Email Marketing Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Gist for marketing automation, chat, and website tracking mostly. It has so many more tools that I could use but haven't yet implemented. Where Gist really shines is that combination of feature rich tools you would find from Intercom and ConvertKit. The system supports my assets, email automations, and funnels for selling coaching services and online courses.
  • Integration with WordPress
  • Cross Platform Chat/Bots
  • Email Marketing
  • Knowledge Base
  • Customer Service/Support
  • Realtime Roadmap Updates/Communication
  • 3rd Party Integrations without Zapier
Great for email marketing, knowledge base, customer service/chat, and other tools for individual entrepreneurs running an expertise-based business model.
Read Andrew Beach's full review
Bill Angelos profile photo
July 22, 2019

Fantastic support for a growing service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we're only using the bare minimum of what this software can do while we grow our website. We're using it to grow and manage our email list and to send out emails and tag users based on their actions on the site. In the future, we will use the tags to help us better identify user wants on the site and to offer specific users more of what they want to turn them into customers.
  • Their online support is great, often there are people who are there to help around the clock.
  • The documentation has really improved quite a bit as well as their training videos. 6 months ago it was quite difficult to figure out what the software can do and how to do it, but now it is much easier.
  • I like the notifications they send out of the new things they're adding. They keep adding new things before we can even get the existing things implemented, so I have a lot to look forward to as we grow our site.
  • It is difficult to know where to get started. This software does so much and it's overwhelming trying to figure out where to start.
  • As a non-developer, I struggle with trying to set up a lot of what the software can do. Their support is great, it's just difficult if you don't have a developer background.
  • The last is really more of a want, I wish that some of the things like webhooks or other visual things like workflows were included in the lower tiers as these both really make their software both a lot easier and much more useful.
Gist is great for getting traffic into a newsletter and tagging them with custom tags. I'm really not sure where it would be less appropriate.
Read Bill Angelos's full review
Stefano Messori profile photo
July 16, 2019

Gist -- converting users into paying customers.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Gist as a first contact point with my users. After starting the conversation, I use Gist to define the user's needs by tagging them, and I try to convert free users into paying customers.
  • Tagging users.
  • Automation.
  • Drip campaign.
  • Forms. Currently there is a need for a html/css to create and manage them.
  • Email templates are currently very limited.
Suited to any online business which has developed free content, e.g. lead magnets, and wants to categorize users and convert them into paying customers. Creating free content and not capturing/monitoring the user is not worth the effort.
Read Stefano Messori's full review
Ankit Rana profile photo
July 13, 2019

Gist -- The best marketing Automation tool that every business should be using.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gist is the All-In-One marketing automation software that is being used throughout the company. We love Gist because it helps us be of service to our customers throughout the entire sales funnel. Beginning from the Awareness phase where we can use the chatbot and Lead Form to Qualify and engage with the website visitor, to tracking signed up users and adding tags to send the right marketing communication email.
  • Gist has a great User Interface and User Experience in using the platform.
  • Tracking user web activity, tagging users according to their online activity.
  • A great team that listens to user feedback and works with customers to drive the company forward.
  • Awesome support team.
  • Drag and Drop email builder for more visually appealing emails.
  • Maybe a video series on how companies are using Gist -- like the top 5 ways to use Gist.
Every successful business needs a list of email subscribers and a way to track user interaction. Gist is that platform where you can track your users throughout each touch-point in your website. Moreover, you can send personalized and targeted emails according to the users' activities online. Gist is an All-In-One marketing automation platform that pretty much every smart business today needs to have implemented.
Read Ankit Rana's full review
Anca Pop profile photo
July 09, 2019

Great for tackling customer support requests

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gist for everyday support with both our existing clients (through our web app) and with our potential clients (through our website). We tackle anything from tech issues, to lead generation, to answering product questions our users may have in the early stages. We also use it to communicate with users on a regular basis.
  • Assigning conversations to different team members.
  • Not allowing two team members to type at the same time (avoids double responses).
  • Snoozing conversations to wait for the resolution without forgetting to followup.
  • Pending indefinitely feature - something they had but removed recently. It's especially useful when the ETA for the resolution is out of your hands.
Technical difficulties in app usage, lead generation with website visitors - these are scenarios it's well suited for.

More in-depth issues that require further investigation or input from other teams. - this is a scenario it's less appropriate for.
Read Anca Pop's full review
Mark Tudor profile photo
July 02, 2019

A fantastic team, committed to a product that is already great and getting better every day!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gist on our main company website across our organization. Live chat allows us to understand where our customers need help, when they may not have reached out through other methods. Automation allows us to communicate better without a large investment of time. Both of these functions help us to offer better customer support.
  • Excellent customer service and a team that cares.
  • Very quick implementation of new features.
  • Great looking design and easy to use.
  • Small bugs to be fixed, but nothing show-stopping.
  • Company is still young so the product isn't as developed as it could be, though definitely still production-ready and speed of development is very rapid.
  • Better handling of enquiry management for email would be fantastic, but I've no doubt this will come.
I primarily purchased Gist for live chat, and it does that really well. The chat interface is clear, simple and great looking for the end-user and makes chat management really straightforward for the organization. What was a real bonus for me is the work the team has put in around marketing automation, email, and rules. Being able to schedule emails to be sent based upon user actions is a game-changer (the user does not need to have engaged in live chat and the system for defining these actions is really flexible). It is not quite as polished for acting as an email inquiry management/ticketing system yet, but I think this will come in time.
Read Mark Tudor's full review

About Gist

Gist is a unified marketing, sales, and support platform that helps organizations engage and lead their audience through the entire journey from website visitor to happy customer.

The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution is an affordable product on the market that ties live chat, a help desk, knowledge base, email marketing, marketing automation, opt-in forms, and more into one easy-to-use tool.
Categories:  Email Marketing,  Help Desk,  Live Chat

Gist Features

Has featureLive Chat
Has featureEmail Marketing
Has featureMarketing Automation
Has featureHelp Desk
Has featureKnowledge Base
Has featureMeetings
Has featureChat Bots
Has featureOpt-in Forms
Has featureEvent Tracking

Gist Screenshots

Gist Integrations

Gist Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Gist Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Gist Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English