TrustRadius
Intercom is a contextual messaging system from the company of the same name founded in 2011 and based in San Francisco. Central to Intercom is live engagement with customers who visit your site or use your apps via text, chat, or email, or summarily: contextual messages for customer outreach. Beyond the core capabilities, Intercom also supports triggered emails for engagement or marketing purposes, customer segmentation and analysis, as well as integrations with MailChimp and Salesforce, and further extensibility via APIs and webhooks. Intercom's popularity has expanded rapidly since its inception; the company is backed by The Social + Capital Partnership, Bessemer Venture Partners, and others to the tune of over $30 million in funding. The free package Observe is included in all paid plans and is available indefinitely as a standalone, and supports unlimited tracking of activity and visitor data. Beyond this the pay-per-user styled priced tiers may be tried for free for 14 days, and contain contextual, in-app messaging and triggered messaging for learning about customers and maintaining engagement. This highly configurable platform may be purposed simply to track visitors, or to chat with live visitors and increase customer engagement, and for marketing purposes.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/IM/4V/SDVLX9JS0DOO.PNGIntercom is now part of the foundation for developing amazing customer relationships.Intercom was used at HeyOrca primarily by the Customer Support team, but we would regularly pull Product, Dev, & Sales folks into the platform to provide more context on our customers' problems. Intercom was instrumental in helping us forge relationships with customers and bring to light the issues they were having or the successes they were seeing.,Intercom is fantastic for opening the lines of communication with customers. Intercom makes it easy for cross-functional teams to have visibility into the customers' world and to be a part of the conversation. Intercom is a complete solution for helping Customer Success & Support teams get off the ground.,My only complaint about using Intercom was the inability to effectively organize the outreach features (messaging customers via email & in-app) with a kind of folder structure.,10,Intercom was one of the biggest reasons we were able to develop amazing relationships with our customers, drive NPS, and find champions.,Less than 10,000,B2BInvaluable for new websites but only occasionally needed for established sitesWe installed Intercom on our website to allow our users a low-friction way to get in contact with us if they needed customer support. Living directly on your website, Intercom is much lower friction contact method than expecting your users to open up their email client to send you a message if they have a problem. Both our cofounders had accounts on Intercom to interact with our users.,Learning about UI bugs in our website from customers through the Intercom web chat Learning about confusing language on our sales page from customers through the Intercom web chat Building an effective FAQ page from questions asked by customers in the Intercom web chat,Intercom is common enough that people "tune out" / "ignore" the pop-up and even get slightly annoyed by it Not many customers actually use it, so the ROI on the monthly subscription might not be worthwhile for smaller websites Receiving the Intercom chat messages from customers can be inconvenient,7,We fixed a key UI bug with one of our custom form fields based on customers reporting it in Intercom We wrote our original FAQ page based on questions from users chatting with us in Intercom Eventually we discontinued our Intercom plan when the users chatting with us were mostly time-wasters with bad questions/comments,Drift,Less than 10,000,B2C,Scout, Mailgun, Google Ads (formerly AdWords)Don't Run Your Online Company without ThisIn the past, we've enhanced the revenue of our Saas clients by leveraging Intercom. The great thing about Intercom is that you can use it to track every interaction within a specific Saas platform. For example, if our client was an email marketing company, we can track everything a specific person did inside that email marketing platform. This helped us, and our clients, find the most engaged customers and find out the most important tools they used.,Can track people across multiple sites. One-to-one interactions. Custom outreach campaigns on your site and through email.,Can be difficult to set up if you don't have a developer. The email marketing is trigger based, not campaign based, so you can't use it for all emails.,10,Easily find pitfalls in your software. Keep customers on your site updated in real-time. Interactive with customers via chat and answer their questions/concerns.,10,000 to 25,000,BothPerfect For Small Companies Who Want To Quickly Offer Chat SupportIntercom allows our support team to assist our e-commerce customers through the checkout flow without breaking our company's bank. It's reliable, stable, and easy to implement. We predominantly use Intercom by integrating it onto our Shopify pages. This allows our customers to reach out to us when they're checking out. By offering Intercom's elegant chat solution here we are able to increase sales and answer our customers' most prudent questions.,Intercom's ability to easily and quickly integrate into Shopify or a web page makes the out-of-box experience possible and easy. Their support is attentive and helpful when you have any questions. Their design elements are thoughtful and better than other chat tools. Out of the box, this makes your chat experience appear more professional and thought out.,I wish they offered integration with Zendesk so we could move chats over to email when needed. I'm not holding this against them since Zendesk is one of their competitors. Their out-of-the-box design is great but further customization and personalization of their design elements to match our branding would be helpful.,9,It's allowed us to quickly offer a chat solution and increase checkout conversions on our e-commerce page. Their pricing structure is ideal, where they don't charge by the seat. They instead charge by the number of chats. This is advantageous since it allows multiple members of our team to chat and our price only increases if our chats increase - not staffing.,Zendesk Chat (formerly Zopim),Less than 10,000,B2C,Zendesk, TalkdeskAll in with IntercomWe use Intercom as a chat, support and communication tool. It is heavily used by our Support/Experience team (much more than other departments) but is also used across the entire organization. With a client base of nearly 1,000, we were finding it difficult to keep track of "tickets" that came in through ZenDesk. It was overwhelming and didn't provide the capabilities we needed to provide world-class service. With Intercom, we're now able to have real-time conversations with our clients and address their issues in a much more timely manner.,Easy user interface Adaptable to several business needs Not overly intrusive on websites Easy to manage several users,Targeting messages appropriately We often have several messages compounding on top of each other I'd love if they could notify people who have not marked our announcements/messages/communication as read so that they don't end up having several un-related messages overwhelming them When a thread is continued from a previous questions, I wish it was more obvious that the conversation had already been started with a particular person,9,Higher customer satisfaction Faster response time Better organization Easier to hold team members accountable,Zendesk, Drift and Groove,Less than 10,000,B2C,Google Analytics, Databox, Adobe Photoshop, Canva, Facebook for BusinessIntercom for Customer InsightsWe use Intercom to send mass communications, in-app and via email to our users. It is also used by our Customer Experience department to gather insights on user sessions within our software (i.e number of times they have logged in, which browser is being used to access our software, features being utilized).,Segmenting outbound communication based on things like last log-in or account. Displaying insights for things like last user session within our software, which account an email address is associated with and browser details for how they are accessing our product. We frequently use 'reactions' to poll users on certain features. For example, 'are you enjoying the new XYZ feature' and then give them the option to submit a thumbs up or a thumbs down.,There is no opt-out option for our customers and we get this request from time to time.,8,Intercom saved us time with back and forth between Support and the Customer by allowing us to gain insight into the customer's actions within our product without having to ask. This alleviates some frustrations for clients.,Salesforce Service Cloud, Help Scout and ChurnZero,25,000 to 100,000,B2C,Salesforce Service Cloud, Talkdesk, Help Scout, 15Five, Namely, Asana, JIRA Software, BraintreeReally useful product.Direct connections with consumers. We were too distant before Intercom, but now we are right there waiting for them to interact. The ability to respond when a thought strikes them in priceless.,Everything is now in one place. We love having ubiquitous access to our leads and users across all of our outposts.,The only thing I dislike is that they haven't done much in a while on better segmentation, auto tagging to help you chop up the section that you want to and engage with them/ trigger messages to them based on updating contextual factors.,9,They have a nice low price point for the Lite versions but you need to upgrade to unlock a lot of the valuable resources.,10,000 to 25,000,B2C,HubSpotIntercom - A Chat tool that has scaled to more things, but remains a B2B toolIt is being used primarily by the marketing department for in-app messaging/user segmentation and broadcasts inside our app. Largely the messages sent via Intercom to our users are for retention, funnel improvement or promotional in nature. Occasionally it may be used to make announcements that are sensitive in nature e.g. a security concern.,Intercom is good at segmentation of users on various custom or default conditions (e.g. User country, the status of user with the product etc.) Intercom's chat feature is good. You can start in-app conversations with users. Intercom does a decent job at allowing automation of various messages to different users depending on where they are in the conversion funnel.,Intercom cannot segment users based on complex criteria like weight of user which needs to be quantified apart from a certain event that the user performs. Intercom's user management does not allow too many levels of user access within the company. Some parts of understanding how Intercom's billing works, like how to delete users to reduce usage, is poor.,6,Intercom has allowed us to automate messaging to our users at every step of the funnel. Message engagement is between 3-5%. Intercom's cost escalated to unbelievable heights for very little usage we did because of how our app is configured and how their pricing is. An events-based pricing model rather than QAU (quarterly active users) was very difficult to work with.,CleverTap,250,000 to 1 million,B2C,CleverTap, Firebase, AppsFlyerReal customer connections happen on IntercomIntercom is used across multiple teams in our company for multiple purposes. It runs on our website as a live chat solution for communicating with prospects. It's also integrated with our product to support customers/users and share announcements. Finally, our marketing team uses Intercom to deliver NPS surveys and drive revenue through up-sells/cross-sells.,Intercom’s mission is very focused, and they do it well: facilitate meaningful customer connection. This should be important to every business. Intercom offers quick and helpful customer support. Intercom’s in-app messaging is powerful and unique in the market.,Intercom relies on “and/or” statements to build an audience, but “ands” and “ors” can’t be combined. There are workarounds, but sometimes it feels tedious. As someone in marketing (not engineering), I wish I had more visibility into how contacts entered the Intercom database. This sometimes feels opaque. I wish Intercom had built-in tools for cross-team collaboration—i.e., editorial calendars, etc. We have multiple messages running for multiple teams simultaneously and it can be hard to keep track of everything.,10,Intercom has enabled us to increase our NPS score by surveying clients while they’re actively using the product. Intercom has been at the core of package upgrade campaigns, driving revenue. Intercom’s custom bots are expensive, but they are saving us a lot of time.,Pardot and HubSpot,10,000 to 25,000,B2B,Pardot, Delighted, Google AnalyticsThe best for volume customer service and more.We use two Intercom products: Messages and Inbox. We use Messages to handle all communication with the 50k users and leads of our SaaS. We have onboarding campaigns that fit our different personas, churn reducing campaigns, and upsell campaigns (campaigns are a series of automatically delivered messages). We also use the manual messages to send both emails and in-app messages when our users are active on the site. We use the Inbox product to handle all our customer service. Someone just clicks the little smile in the corner of the screen, writes their support request, and our system of filters and rules directs them to the right person or team.,Second to none for customer service. You can also use bots to manually deliver answers. It can nearly replace email automation software (we don't use any because Intercom does the job). Excellent communication among both co-workers and customers from within the app.,Customer service is often slower than I'd like, though I generally find it helpful. You need to have a developer to do some work with their APIs to get the most out of it. The pricing breakdown means that components all have to be purchased separately.,10,A tremendously positive ROI through email campaigns. An excellent ROI through upsell campaigns. Increased customer retention due to automatic triggers for coupons and other churn-reducing actions.,25,000 to 100,000,Both,Zapier, Dialpad, OmniFocus, Webex Meetings, Dropbox Business, Trello, Wunderlist, Todoist, Slack, G Suite, StripeCommunication resolvedIntercom allows for fast communication to site visitors as well as internal contacts. We use it as a tool to communicate with our current customers as well.,Connects prospects with our team quickly.,I would like to see a function that would target exactly where the prospect or customer wants to connect to. For instance, if they reach our site and send a question I would like to see their comment go straight to the person in charge of that function.,10,I think we have only seen positive interactions with Intercom as far as internal and external communication.,Drift,Less than 10,000,Both,Drift, Outreach, OlonoFeature Rich. A Game Changer. Intercom saves me $75,000 per yearIntercom is a fantastic product used across various aspects of our organization. We use Intercom in a sales capacity to nurture initial visitor traffic and repeat visitor traffic using a combination of automated messaging and lead routing sequences to make sure we stay on top of all opportunities. Furthermore, as visitors return to our site, we are able to use rule based messaging to create impetus for them to convert to enquiry or convert to trial.From a customer success perspective we use intercom to manage all of our support ticket workflow and to make sure clients are supported in real time as they onboard through the product and in the later stages of their life cycle. From a marketing perspective, we enjoy that we can easily message our uses in app or on a number of different platforms to run promotions and to provide education around further use cases for GetAcceptFrom a billing perspective, all customer data is managed within Intercom allowing us to facilitate full lifecycle management of our customers,Ease of use. I previously had no experience with a solution of this nature and it took me all but five minutes to get started and probably half a day to progress to the intermediate level. Now I feel like an experienced user of the product Plethora of capabilities - chat solutions are normally confined to just that - chat. Intercom does so much for our business and the way it connects all the elements makes executing strategies rather intuitive. Personalization. Each rep/agent is able to take on a persona of their own and develop key relationships with clients Re-assignment and triage is extremely easy with us able to transfer cases based on rules or manually within the UX The mobile app is friendly and although it requires some tweaks, makes it amazing to engage with prospects at all times of the day when we are away from the computer We like the new bots feature and have created custom journeys to help steer prospects through a journey if our attendants are not available. In addition, we have heard about using these bots for active users but have not gone there yet Video snippets are immensely valuable in standing out from the crowd!,I think analytics is probably the weakest area of the platform. Being heavily numbers driven - I am not able to produce advanced reports in Intercom and often resort to exporting the data manually. I would stress a big improvement would be to improve the conditional logic within the analytics dashboard. For instance - a user is limited within filters and cannot nominate multiple variables for instance - User tag is "X" OR "Y" - in the current set up this would require two filters not one so adding this advanced logic would be helpful I think the new UI/UX was a step backwards and prefer the old look and feel Can get pricey as your contact volume increases Links to 3rd party CRMs like/Pipedrive/Freshsales so that if opportunities were engaged with sales - this would either show a notification to agents to advise them of the existing relationship or would automatically assign the sales rep to engage in further conversation. I have now seen releases for Salesforce and Hubspot - but i think the feature set here could be expanded a little more Integration with Linkedin API to help personalization of conversation and serve recommendations The standard operator bot needs to help users make it "cooler" - without modification it simply asks for contact details and therefore has a transactional feel with the customer,10,Conversion to trial has increased Net number of customer interactions has increased Consolidation of tech stack has occurred saving $75-100k per year in cost Customer satisfaction is very high based on response time and ease in which help articles can be surfaced,LiveChat, Zopim by Zendesk and Drift,25,000 to 100,000,Both,Apollo, Zoom,No,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation,I wouldn't change it at all! I have quite a good understanding of most of the platforms in the space and I feel Intercom is a great balance of the strengths and weaknesses of all of the other tools.Intercom is great for salesThe two main department users of Intercom for us are sales and marketing. In sales, we use it for chatting with website visitors in real time. We have integrated Intercom with Slack to get alerts and respond in real-time. Marketing has set up welcome messages on our website to welcome visitors and let them know we are here to help in any way.,Chatting with website users. Great for real-time responses. Great for automated website chat boxes and welcoming visitors. Great phone app to reply on the go. Great integration with Slack for alerting and even responding in the Slack channel.,Add some features around outreach, this way we could replace some other tools we use. More advanced searching within the app. Incorporate AI to rate conversations/visitors on their own (or if we can add criteria and have it automated).,10,Intercom has been positive in website reputation with visitors. Having a real live person able to assist is great for us. Intercom's ability to chat with visitors has brought us revenue. Intercom's automation around messaging to welcome visitors has helped us save time.,,10,000 to 25,000,Both,Slack, Apollo, SalesLoft, DocuSign, ZoomInfo, Leadfeeder, Atlassian Confluence, Intricately, HG Focus, Dashlane, LastPass, LinkedIn Sales NavigatorIntercom - the one stop shop for all SaaS and other businessesWe use intercom across our marketing, training and product departments. Marketing uses it on certain webpages to generate interest for special resources or to enables visitors to contact us if they have questions. Training uses intercom to advertise training sessions or to show how to use a particular feature. Product uses intercom to notify users of new releases. Intercom allows us to quickly and easily send messages to our entire user base or to targeted users.,Really easy to integrate with API. Easy to setup messages. Ongoing development and new features. Good level of user roles and teams.,Message goal tracking needs to be enhanced so users can choose goals based on specific actions. E.g. watched video. Billing is based on number of contacts in database. This number keeps growing as more people trial your software so the subscription cost grows rapidly. Needs contact management to delete old contacts.,9,We've seen an increase in number of registrations for webinars by advertising them in-app using intercom. Greater awareness of product releases which has help reduce frustration and promote satisfaction and ultimately stickiness to product. Greater number of leads because visitors to website are more likely to submit a query in a chat box than send a direct email.,Less than 10,000,Both,Xero, QuickBooks Online, MYOB, JIRA Software, Chargify, Atlassian ConfluenceEvery sales team needs IntercomWe use live chat all day, every day with our site visitors. We like how Intercom does not ask for a name and email address up front, so there is very little friction. Very nice looking chat interface as opposed to Zendesk and LiveChat, which look and feel like live chat from the 1990s. It makes us easier to reach.,Automated conversations/bot greetings. Interactive forms (bot questions instead of static forms). Data enrichment (uses FullContact).,Can't turn off auto bot greeting at night, so people get frustrated when the bot greets them after hours and they cannot get a live person. No Pipedrive integration. No Drip integration to pass off attribution or to allow identification/tracking.,8,It has definitely made us more accessible to customers. Web conversions are up. We have made sales as a direct result of live chat.,Drift, LiveChat and Olark,10,000 to 25,000,B2C,Front, Typeform, Drip from LeadpagesCustomer success made easy!Intercom has been a real game changer for us in the way we operate. We have used many tools and platforms before to track user activity on WaveMaker, and they had very limited capabilities. However, with Intercom that has changed because everything can be customized inside the platform and the best thing is you can also interact with users within Intercom. Tracking user activity provides valuable inputs and helps us serve our users better. With the help of Intercom we have changed how we nurture users and have been helping our users better.,Tagging users based on their activity. You can customize a lot of components on Intercom and users can be tagged according to set parameters automatically. Since everything on Intercom is transparent, it is easy to collaborate and help users. We can set reminders and snooze the conversations.,Intercom sometimes becomes a little confusing because there are some parameters which come default with Intercom and you can't remove them. Since Intercom's cost is based on the number of users on the platform, it can become a little expensive. Intercom should really concentrate on building their reports, the reports are very simple and don't give deep insights for evaluation.,10,Customer success team has greatly benefitted from Intercom. A lot of users can now be managed Different people from different teams can be involved in solving customer queries.,Less than 10,000,BothIntercom needs customer ratings customization, and auto-import to CRMMy former company temporarily used Intercom as a live chat tool with prospective customers. It was a lead generation tool to generate sales. Goals, and business problems we wanted it to address: Manage all chats on our website for sales purposes.Automatically import all conversation to our CRM, the most common CRM that exists :)Manage a simple 1-3 CES (Customer Effort Score) with a custom range and editable question to our customers to rate their satisfaction with the chatter who spoke to the customer.Intercom could handle #1 with grace, but could not handle #2 or #3 as of May 2018.,Handle proactive chat (appear on the website for the customer). Handle reactive chat (customer requests a conversation, and agent replied). Easy navigation for Intercom managers/IT support to see the range of options available to them for deploying the tool.,Automatically import all conversations to our CRM, the most common CRM that exists :) Instead, our chat agents had to manually send every chat to our CRM after the conversation ended. This was not practical in a high-volume chat environment where agents would often understandably forget to import chats to our CRM after they were completed. If they missed this step, our customer data from that chat disappeared. Manage a simple 1-3 CES (Customer Effort Score) with a custom range and editable question to our customers to rate their satisfaction with the chatter who spoke to the customer. Expensive external add-ons for Intercom could not meet this need, either. Overall customization. This is an elegant tool only if you are happy with the pre-built settings.,5,We decided to cancel our pilot of Intercom because of our issues with it. We are continuing to use our prior chat provider until Intercom can address our 2 unresolved needs.,SnapEngage,More than 5 million,Both,Salesforce Lightning, Cirrus Insight, SlackIntercom: Revolutionary user communication toolIntercom was used by our organization for 3 primary purposes. One was to facilitate the sales process on our website and keep users engaged. Our sales team used Intercom's automated alerts to reach out to potential customers while they were on our website and help them through the buying decision process. The second primary department using Intercom was our support team. Support executives used the chat feature to help current users navigate through our website with helpful automated suggestions and the support chat feature. Finally our data analytics and marketing team used Intercom to send targeted notifications to different users based on usage statistics and user segmentation which was facilitated by Intercom's powerful technology stack.,User segmentation Ability to send automated targeted notifications Ease of use & setup Flexibility in terms of dispatch times and types of messages that can be sent The enormous number of simple integrations with applications that are possible,The ability to send push notifications (mobile) would be a cool addition that isn't currently available An inbuilt notification center could be built using Intercom's tech stack which isn't currently something that the service offers Intercom's phone integrations (to store calls and phone conversations) need a lot of customization unless you use their own service (JustCall),10,Greater customer engagement More data visibility Better messaging and A/B Testing based on usage insights & statistics,Drift and Freshdesk,Less than 10,000,B2B,Segment, MailChimp, Algolia, Vimeo Pro, Slack, JIRA Service Desk, Google Search ConsoleEasy to Use for Communication!Intercom is being used across our entire organization. It addresses three main problems: speaking with our customers, supporting our customers, and communicating with our leads. It also helps us always be on call for these questions through our mobile app.,Intercom splits their chat really well. The chats are able to be split between internal notes and actual sent messages. Tagging works really well in Intercom. You can tag each user and can also tag users in messages/internal notes so they can directly see messages intended for them. Easy documentation management. You are able to find the help docs you need easily even during a chat message.,They have custom icons which makes it hard to understand which buttons mean what. It can get confusing to the reader that the help docs and the chat messages all have the same icons in the UI. There seems to not be a snooze functionality when you are not on shift and don't want to be receiving messages from intercom. Some messages become notifications (push) and some do not. Maybe it is a bug right now but it is not as consistent as the email notifications are.,9,1 positive impact has been the connection we have had with our customers and being able to easily update them on new things for our software as well as quickly give support answers to them. Another positive impact is that we are able to answer the questions that new website leads might have due to not understanding or wanting further explanations and clarification of terms / prices listed on the site. Yet another impact we've had is the easy to search and find documentation ability on intercom. All documentation is clear and organized as well as standardized across the board.,Less than 10,000,B2B,Leadfeeder, DiscoverOrg, Google AnalyticsIntercom is the best tool for early customer data, and validation.My organization used Intercom to gather customer data, to drive our marketing messaging. We have used it for months, and it has helped us really understand the types of information our eCommerce customers require before making a purchase. For example, we were able to understand that our customers were looking for quantity discounts, so we delivered that. Then we were able to test the messaging of these discounts for clarity and voila! satisfied, scalable customer validation!,Live Chat. Intercom was a great way for our fledgling company to gather important information from our customers across the entire buyer journey. Post-purchase support - We were able to address shipping concerns right on our site. Integrations - We were able to integrate Intercom with so many of our other marketing tools.,The organization of messages on the back-end needs some work. It's hard to segment messages into groups. Intercom doesn't have enough power to offer in-app support (for us) - we transitioned to another tool for this specific element. It's amazing for sales and eCommerce or SaaS sites - But not hardware startups, or for long-term support.,10,We were able to respond to customer needs much more quickly thanks to qualitative data We were able to engage with multiple customers quickly and easily from anywhere Enabled us to hire our first remote employee to handle support needs,Zendesk and Drift,Less than 10,000,Both,Zendesk, Google Drive, MailChimp,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Third-party ReviewsIf you want to get more leads, use Intercom!Intercom is our chat service. Prospects or clients can come to our website and either chat with sales or support through the icon at the bottom of the page. It is a great way to keep in touch and help our current client base. They know that they can chat in with any questions and we can help. As a salesman, the unlimited chat option is a great thing to pitch when selling a new deal. Overall, it has been a big addition to our company and I would recommend it to anyone.,Ease of use. Alerts. Mobile App. Canned responses.,Some of the automated messages don't work as well as I would like. Occasionally a delay with the mobile alerts. Navigating the actual website can be confusing.,10,Great customer service. More demos and deals. More leads.,Zendesk,10,000 to 25,000,Both,Salesforce Lightning, Slack, LinkedIn Sales NavigatorIntercom is a good allround user engagement toolWe're using it for all website and platform user dialogue.,Makes it easier for people to engage with us with the messenger Nice to have customer support, sales and marketing dialogue in one platform Ability to set up behavior based communications for onboarding etc.,Most new features are put in new products that you then have to buy. More transparent (and lower) pricing - it's quite expensive Integration to Pipedrive is missing,7,Very hard to tell as we would have had one of their competitors in place if we didn't use Intercom.,Less than 10,000,B2B3+ years in and still in love!We use Intercom for support primarily, but also to facilitate sales engagement on our marketing site and landing pages. Intercom also provides our Help Center and allows us to send direct mass messages to customers. We love the interface and especially the fact that the company is so dedicated to customer success with constant product improvement and thoughtful resources. Intercom is robust enough to help us meet our customers' needs but also simple for new employees to learn.,Templated answers and ticket management—we use Intercom to manage all of our support, significantly reducing the time our team spends on the phone On-site chat for sales and marketing—it's a simple and intuitive interface that's easy for visitors and customer alike to use Customer success and product development—it's clear that Intercom is committed to growing as a company and that's reflected in the continuous development and actionable content they release,More robust chatbot functionality is needed for hours when our team is offline Reporting! Especially when it comes to message performance. This really needs to be built out The API could use some work,10,Increased customer satisfaction ratings Increased response time Another channel for lead generation,Olark, Zendesk and Freshdesk,Less than 10,000,Both,Todoist, HubSpot, Zoom, Slack, Atlassian Confluence, Evernote, Unbounce, Asana, BoxIntercom is the Customer-Centric Communication Platform for Small TeamsWe use Intercom in a few ways for marketing and customer experience: To communicate with our customers across marketing campaignsNew customer acquisition Segmenting our customer base depending on logic within our backend to target our communication Tag conversations and monitor incoming conversations to determine what their pain points areUtilize a Smart Suggestion feature to provide website and product walkthroughs (such as canceling their account or updating their information) that allows images and text.,Segmenting customers based on your backend API. This is such a critical part of our business for giving the right communication to the right customer. Ease of use/intuitive interface. This is a product that needs minimal instruction and is easy to use. Search functionality. You can search by customer/lead, by conversations, by word - the search is fast and relevant. Easier still if you tag conversations consistently.,Customizable fields for logging conversations with customers like "tickets". This is hard when you want to have a hybrid help desk and customer service team. Example: I'd want to log issues as solved or attribute an issue to a department and make that a required aspect before closing the conversation. Issue follow up. You can use the "snooze" function, but that doesn't help if you want to close the issue and come back to it at a later date. Snoozed conversations are still open, which could affect your metrics if you look at conversations per hour. Intercom icons indicating where it comes from (app or email) are hard to read .,9,Intercom has helped us utilize a waitlist to launch a new market and accelerated growth. We were able to contact all leads from target areas to let them know we were in their area, and then also able to send different messaging to people that were close, but fell outside our criteria. We used Intercom Smart Suggestions to reduce repetitive responses to conversations and increase customer self-service on our website by 25%. Intercom helps us reach 6000 relevant customers weekly, but also tracked our product usage over all customers from our service. We have a super successful cancellation campaign that helps bring customers back to our product and gives us actionable feedback.,Zendesk, LiveChat and Olark,25,000 to 100,000,Both,Slack, Asana, Zendesk,12,4,Customer Communication (Proactive) Reactive issue resolution Customer campaigns and messaging to increase site traffic and product usage,We've migrated system-specific emails in our tool to Intercom using the webhooks with the API Intercom + Zapier + Slack has allows us to review all internal notes/ comments and search for them later!,Integrations with Magento Using leads for the waitlist for our product,10Intercom, Great for High and Medium Touch Customer Support/SuccessWe use Intercom to provide an easy way for clients to engage with our support team. We also use it for targeted communications based on usage and for tracking usage data across our user base. It's also a great way to track previous conversations and reference as needed when recurring issues arise. With the chat component, it's a lot easier to engage with the customer in real-time to answer questions or provide technical assistance.,In-app chat for clients/prospects on your website or in your app. Track usage data and "last engaged" date when they were last in your platform. Store and track historical conversations and issues customers have had,The UI is not as simple or as intuitive as I would like. Identifying all users within a single company and seeing who is engaging well and who isn't is possible, but harder to do than I would expect. Tracking individual tickets or cases isn't really a functionality. You can track conversations, but not tickets. From my experience this has been the case. A report displaying most common words or issues surfaced and by whom would be great to share with my team and leadership.,9,I don't have metrics, but I'm positive clients have loved the quick and easy access to our support team. I'm sure it has impacted our customer satisfaction and adoption. Internal collaboration is significatly easier. If I need help from a colleague, they can take over or simply contribute to a conversation and see previous chats and pick up where I left off. This has helped our support and customer success team be much more effective and professional in keeping our team aligned and rallied around a client. Intercom also provides a Knowledge Base setup that we've used and the updates from what we had before have been very well received by our customers. They've found answers to their questions on their much more frequently than they did before with the improved UI and simplicity.,,Less than 10,000,B2B,Streak, Slack, Google Drive
Unspecified
Intercom
159 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Intercom Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Intercom
159 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 159 vetted Intercom reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jacob Pitcher profile photo
May 21, 2019

Review: "Intercom is now part of the foundation for developing amazing customer relationships."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom was used at HeyOrca primarily by the Customer Support team, but we would regularly pull Product, Dev, & Sales folks into the platform to provide more context on our customers' problems. Intercom was instrumental in helping us forge relationships with customers and bring to light the issues they were having or the successes they were seeing.
  • Intercom is fantastic for opening the lines of communication with customers.
  • Intercom makes it easy for cross-functional teams to have visibility into the customers' world and to be a part of the conversation.
  • Intercom is a complete solution for helping Customer Success & Support teams get off the ground.
  • My only complaint about using Intercom was the inability to effectively organize the outreach features (messaging customers via email & in-app) with a kind of folder structure.
Intercom is great for companies that have close relationships with customers or who want to have close relationships with customers. It's the ultimate tool for being able to communicate with customers in a personalized way, provide them with real-time answers, as well as allow them to help themselves with knowledge base tools and automated messaging.
Read Jacob Pitcher's full review
Ben Gelsey profile photo
July 01, 2019

Intercom Review: "Invaluable for new websites but only occasionally needed for established sites"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed Intercom on our website to allow our users a low-friction way to get in contact with us if they needed customer support. Living directly on your website, Intercom is much lower friction contact method than expecting your users to open up their email client to send you a message if they have a problem. Both our cofounders had accounts on Intercom to interact with our users.
  • Learning about UI bugs in our website from customers through the Intercom web chat
  • Learning about confusing language on our sales page from customers through the Intercom web chat
  • Building an effective FAQ page from questions asked by customers in the Intercom web chat
  • Intercom is common enough that people "tune out" / "ignore" the pop-up and even get slightly annoyed by it
  • Not many customers actually use it, so the ROI on the monthly subscription might not be worthwhile for smaller websites
  • Receiving the Intercom chat messages from customers can be inconvenient
Intercom is best suited for early-stage websites that are still ironing out the kinks in their user interface and sales copy. After that, it is useful for websites that have very complex or custom-tailored services, where customers are almost always expected to have questions before purchasing. On the other hand, if you are a simple ecommerce site selling a standard type of product, then you will probably just have tire kickers messaging you on Intercom which would just waste your time.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
Brandon S profile photo
June 27, 2019

Intercom Review: "Don't Run Your Online Company without This"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the past, we've enhanced the revenue of our Saas clients by leveraging Intercom. The great thing about Intercom is that you can use it to track every interaction within a specific Saas platform. For example, if our client was an email marketing company, we can track everything a specific person did inside that email marketing platform. This helped us, and our clients, find the most engaged customers and find out the most important tools they used.
  • Can track people across multiple sites.
  • One-to-one interactions.
  • Custom outreach campaigns on your site and through email.
  • Can be difficult to set up if you don't have a developer.
  • The email marketing is trigger based, not campaign based, so you can't use it for all emails.
Intercom is amazing at identifying leads, customers, and their needs. You can chat with customers and leads, and provide them real-time information through pop-ups. Intercom is not an email platform, so if you need to send out campaign information, be sure to do so with another email marketing platform.
Read Brandon S's full review
No photo available
June 09, 2019

Intercom Review: "Perfect For Small Companies Who Want To Quickly Offer Chat Support"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom allows our support team to assist our e-commerce customers through the checkout flow without breaking our company's bank. It's reliable, stable, and easy to implement. We predominantly use Intercom by integrating it onto our Shopify pages. This allows our customers to reach out to us when they're checking out. By offering Intercom's elegant chat solution here we are able to increase sales and answer our customers' most prudent questions.
  • Intercom's ability to easily and quickly integrate into Shopify or a web page makes the out-of-box experience possible and easy.
  • Their support is attentive and helpful when you have any questions.
  • Their design elements are thoughtful and better than other chat tools. Out of the box, this makes your chat experience appear more professional and thought out.
  • I wish they offered integration with Zendesk so we could move chats over to email when needed. I'm not holding this against them since Zendesk is one of their competitors.
  • Their out-of-the-box design is great but further customization and personalization of their design elements to match our branding would be helpful.
For a smaller company like ours, Intercom has been great from implementation until now. As we're a small company, the cost was a large factor when choosing a chat provider. Intercom makes it affordable to provide our customers with chat support as we grow. Their support has been great and they've always been there to answer any question that I have. Their customer-facing interface is designed very well and customers compliment us on it all the time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

User Review: "All in with Intercom"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom as a chat, support and communication tool. It is heavily used by our Support/Experience team (much more than other departments) but is also used across the entire organization. With a client base of nearly 1,000, we were finding it difficult to keep track of "tickets" that came in through Zendesk. It was overwhelming and didn't provide the capabilities we needed to provide world-class service. With Intercom, we're now able to have real-time conversations with our clients and address their issues in a much more timely manner.
  • Easy user interface
  • Adaptable to several business needs
  • Not overly intrusive on websites
  • Easy to manage several users
  • Targeting messages appropriately
  • We often have several messages compounding on top of each other
  • I'd love if they could notify people who have not marked our announcements/messages/communication as read so that they don't end up having several un-related messages overwhelming them
  • When a thread is continued from a previous questions, I wish it was more obvious that the conversation had already been started with a particular person
If you need a way to mass communicate with your clients on your technology platform, this is a GREAT tool. Rather than sending a mass e-mail that often gets ignored, you can communicate an announcement, product update, upcoming event etc. when a client logs into the back end of their website. The beauty is they are in the right frame of mind to read this message, and we've found far less people in the dark with what's going on. I also love the ability to personally have a conversation with someone. If they are in need of a quick support fix that takes less than 10 minutes - it's amazing to be able to "instant message" them the answer right then and there rather than have them submit a form that establishes a ticket which gets pushed to the bottom of the priority list. At that point, they're waiting hours (maybe even a day) before they receive an answer that could've taken one minute.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 17, 2019

User Review: "Intercom for Customer Insights"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to send mass communications, in-app and via email to our users. It is also used by our Customer Experience department to gather insights on user sessions within our software (i.e number of times they have logged in, which browser is being used to access our software, features being utilized).
  • Segmenting outbound communication based on things like last log-in or account.
  • Displaying insights for things like last user session within our software, which account an email address is associated with and browser details for how they are accessing our product.
  • We frequently use 'reactions' to poll users on certain features. For example, 'are you enjoying the new XYZ feature' and then give them the option to submit a thumbs up or a thumbs down.
  • There is no opt-out option for our customers and we get this request from time to time.
Intercom is a good tool for customer support teams looking to utilize live chat as a communication channel, for marketing teams looking to send mass, segmented in-app chat messages or emails and for support teams who need quick visibility into their customers and accounts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 26, 2019

Intercom Review: "Really useful product."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Direct connections with consumers. We were too distant before Intercom, but now we are right there waiting for them to interact. The ability to respond when a thought strikes them in priceless.
  • Everything is now in one place.
  • We love having ubiquitous access to our leads and users across all of our outposts.
  • The only thing I dislike is that they haven't done much in a while on better segmentation, auto tagging to help you chop up the section that you want to and engage with them/ trigger messages to them based on updating contextual factors.
As an early stage startup, we were attracted to Intercom due to the low price point and quick and easy integration reviews we had read. We have a very agile development team and process which has helped us to get the most out of the platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2019

Review: "Intercom - A Chat tool that has scaled to more things, but remains a B2B tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used primarily by the marketing department for in-app messaging/user segmentation and broadcasts inside our app. Largely the messages sent via Intercom to our users are for retention, funnel improvement or promotional in nature. Occasionally it may be used to make announcements that are sensitive in nature e.g. a security concern.
  • Intercom is good at segmentation of users on various custom or default conditions (e.g. User country, the status of user with the product etc.)
  • Intercom's chat feature is good. You can start in-app conversations with users.
  • Intercom does a decent job at allowing automation of various messages to different users depending on where they are in the conversion funnel.
  • Intercom cannot segment users based on complex criteria like weight of user which needs to be quantified apart from a certain event that the user performs.
  • Intercom's user management does not allow too many levels of user access within the company.
  • Some parts of understanding how Intercom's billing works, like how to delete users to reduce usage, is poor.
Intercom is good for a B2B SaaS product or cases where the value of each user is very high. However, it is not very suited for consumer companies given its limited analytical ability and high price. Intercom is friendly to use and setup. Campaigns and messaging are easy to manage once you understand the basics of the system. That makes it somewhat easy to train new folks to use it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 08, 2019

Review: "Real customer connections happen on Intercom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used across multiple teams in our company for multiple purposes. It runs on our website as a live chat solution for communicating with prospects. It's also integrated with our product to support customers/users and share announcements. Finally, our marketing team uses Intercom to deliver NPS surveys and drive revenue through up-sells/cross-sells.
  • Intercom’s mission is very focused, and they do it well: facilitate meaningful customer connection. This should be important to every business.
  • Intercom offers quick and helpful customer support.
  • Intercom’s in-app messaging is powerful and unique in the market.
  • Intercom relies on “and/or” statements to build an audience, but “ands” and “ors” can’t be combined. There are workarounds, but sometimes it feels tedious.
  • As someone in marketing (not engineering), I wish I had more visibility into how contacts entered the Intercom database. This sometimes feels opaque.
  • I wish Intercom had built-in tools for cross-team collaboration—i.e., editorial calendars, etc. We have multiple messages running for multiple teams simultaneously and it can be hard to keep track of everything.
Intercom gets us close to our customers in a way that no other tools can. As long as you have the team in place to support live chats, Intercom is invaluable!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 23, 2019

Intercom Review: "The best for volume customer service and more."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use two Intercom products: Messages and Inbox.

We use Messages to handle all communication with the 50k users and leads of our SaaS. We have onboarding campaigns that fit our different personas, churn reducing campaigns, and upsell campaigns (campaigns are a series of automatically delivered messages). We also use the manual messages to send both emails and in-app messages when our users are active on the site.

We use the Inbox product to handle all our customer service. Someone just clicks the little smile in the corner of the screen, writes their support request, and our system of filters and rules directs them to the right person or team.
  • Second to none for customer service. You can also use bots to manually deliver answers.
  • It can nearly replace email automation software (we don't use any because Intercom does the job).
  • Excellent communication among both co-workers and customers from within the app.
  • Customer service is often slower than I'd like, though I generally find it helpful.
  • You need to have a developer to do some work with their APIs to get the most out of it.
  • The pricing breakdown means that components all have to be purchased separately.
Intercom seems to be the industry leader in customer service live-chat and for good reason. It's very, very easy to set up and to interact with both customers and co-workers in the same conversation thread. Customer chats are saved so you can see their entire history every time they open a new request, along with any relevant account information.

Their messages product doesn't quite approach the level of email automation that a dedicated email provider does, but if you don't need an incredibly robust email system, Intercom can [do the job].

That said, because of the necessary development resources it takes for full implementation, Intercom is definitely enterprise-level software. Younger companies and solopreneurs may do better with something less robust and less expensive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 10, 2019

Intercom Review: "Communication resolved"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom allows for fast communication to site visitors as well as internal contacts. We use it as a tool to communicate with our current customers as well.
  • Connects prospects with our team quickly.
  • I would like to see a function that would target exactly where the prospect or customer wants to connect to. For instance, if they reach our site and send a question I would like to see their comment go straight to the person in charge of that function.
When a company needs communication with potential customers and does not want to lose the connections, this tool works great at keeping the communication open.
Read this authenticated review
Dailius Wilson profile photo
October 11, 2018

Review: "Feature Rich. A Game Changer. Intercom saves me $75,000 per year"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is a fantastic product used across various aspects of our organization.

  • We use Intercom in a sales capacity to nurture initial visitor traffic and repeat visitor traffic using a combination of automated messaging and lead routing sequences to make sure we stay on top of all opportunities. Furthermore, as visitors return to our site, we are able to use rule based messaging to create impetus for them to convert to enquiry or convert to trial.
  • From a customer success perspective we use intercom to manage all of our support ticket workflow and to make sure clients are supported in real time as they onboard through the product and in the later stages of their life cycle.
  • From a marketing perspective, we enjoy that we can easily message our uses in app or on a number of different platforms to run promotions and to provide education around further use cases for GetAccept
  • From a billing perspective, all customer data is managed within Intercom allowing us to facilitate full lifecycle management of our customers
  • Ease of use. I previously had no experience with a solution of this nature and it took me all but five minutes to get started and probably half a day to progress to the intermediate level. Now I feel like an experienced user of the product
  • Plethora of capabilities - chat solutions are normally confined to just that - chat. Intercom does so much for our business and the way it connects all the elements makes executing strategies rather intuitive.
  • Personalization. Each rep/agent is able to take on a persona of their own and develop key relationships with clients
  • Re-assignment and triage is extremely easy with us able to transfer cases based on rules or manually within the UX
  • The mobile app is friendly and although it requires some tweaks, makes it amazing to engage with prospects at all times of the day when we are away from the computer
  • We like the new bots feature and have created custom journeys to help steer prospects through a journey if our attendants are not available. In addition, we have heard about using these bots for active users but have not gone there yet
  • Video snippets are immensely valuable in standing out from the crowd!
  • I think analytics is probably the weakest area of the platform. Being heavily numbers driven - I am not able to produce advanced reports in Intercom and often resort to exporting the data manually. I would stress a big improvement would be to improve the conditional logic within the analytics dashboard. For instance - a user is limited within filters and cannot nominate multiple variables for instance - User tag is "X" OR "Y" - in the current set up this would require two filters not one so adding this advanced logic would be helpful
  • I think the new UI/UX was a step backwards and prefer the old look and feel
  • Can get pricey as your contact volume increases
  • Links to 3rd party CRMs like/Pipedrive/Freshsales so that if opportunities were engaged with sales - this would either show a notification to agents to advise them of the existing relationship or would automatically assign the sales rep to engage in further conversation. I have now seen releases for Salesforce and Hubspot - but i think the feature set here could be expanded a little more
  • Integration with Linkedin API to help personalization of conversation and serve recommendations
  • The standard operator bot needs to help users make it "cooler" - without modification it simply asks for contact details and therefore has a transactional feel with the customer
I really think Intercom is a fantastic product and could be used by any organization, regardless of size. Although you may be limited from some advanced capabilities in terms of marketing aesthetics and workflow creation - I really think this should be within the top 3-5 products in a core technology stack.
Read Dailius Wilson's full review
DJ Kline profile photo
January 18, 2019

User Review: "Intercom is great for sales"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The two main department users of Intercom for us are sales and marketing. In sales, we use it for chatting with website visitors in real time. We have integrated Intercom with Slack to get alerts and respond in real-time. Marketing has set up welcome messages on our website to welcome visitors and let them know we are here to help in any way.
  • Chatting with website users. Great for real-time responses.
  • Great for automated website chat boxes and welcoming visitors.
  • Great phone app to reply on the go.
  • Great integration with Slack for alerting and even responding in the Slack channel.
  • Add some features around outreach, this way we could replace some other tools we use.
  • More advanced searching within the app.
  • Incorporate AI to rate conversations/visitors on their own (or if we can add criteria and have it automated).
Speaking from the sales side, Intercom is less appropriate for outreach programs (at this point). Intercom also does not have a conversation or visitor grading segmentation. There is no automatic way to go in and search all the leads that are worth following up with and creating an outreach program for this. To be fair, you can rate - but this is currently manual. With hundreds of chats a day, this is currently not possible to do for us.
Read DJ Kline's full review
Nikhil George profile photo
September 11, 2018

Review: "Intercom - the one stop shop for all SaaS and other businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use intercom across our marketing, training and product departments. Marketing uses it on certain webpages to generate interest for special resources or to enables visitors to contact us if they have questions. Training uses intercom to advertise training sessions or to show how to use a particular feature. Product uses intercom to notify users of new releases. Intercom allows us to quickly and easily send messages to our entire user base or to targeted users.
  • Really easy to integrate with API.
  • Easy to setup messages.
  • Ongoing development and new features.
  • Good level of user roles and teams.
  • Message goal tracking needs to be enhanced so users can choose goals based on specific actions. E.g. watched video.
  • Billing is based on number of contacts in database. This number keeps growing as more people trial your software so the subscription cost grows rapidly. Needs contact management to delete old contacts.
Well suited for all types of SaaS companies who need a way of contacting visitors and users. We saved a lot of development time by utilising Intercom rather than building our own application. Intercom is a great all around tool that can be used across various departments and teams or just one. All of Intercom's modules/add-ons work well together, so it can be the one-stop product of contacting visitors to website, supporting users, and providing learning content.
Read Nikhil George's full review
Tim Berman profile photo
September 10, 2018

User Review: "Every sales team needs Intercom"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use live chat all day, every day with our site visitors. We like how Intercom does not ask for a name and email address up front, so there is very little friction. Very nice looking chat interface as opposed to Zendesk and LiveChat, which look and feel like live chat from the 1990s. It makes us easier to reach.
  • Automated conversations/bot greetings.
  • Interactive forms (bot questions instead of static forms).
  • Data enrichment (uses FullContact).
  • Can't turn off auto bot greeting at night, so people get frustrated when the bot greets them after hours and they cannot get a live person.
  • No Pipedrive integration.
  • No Drip integration to pass off attribution or to allow identification/tracking.
Intercom is great for sales teams. We run it through Front so we can handle omnichannel communication in one place. Its standalone app is great, too. I wish it had a 2-way integration with Front for Leads, but I imagine that is coming down the road.
Read Tim Berman's full review
Sundeep Gopal profile photo
September 05, 2018

Intercom Review: "Customer success made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom has been a real game changer for us in the way we operate. We have used many tools and platforms before to track user activity on WaveMaker, and they had very limited capabilities. However, with Intercom that has changed because everything can be customized inside the platform and the best thing is you can also interact with users within Intercom. Tracking user activity provides valuable inputs and helps us serve our users better. With the help of Intercom we have changed how we nurture users and have been helping our users better.
  • Tagging users based on their activity. You can customize a lot of components on Intercom and users can be tagged according to set parameters automatically.
  • Since everything on Intercom is transparent, it is easy to collaborate and help users.
  • We can set reminders and snooze the conversations.
  • Intercom sometimes becomes a little confusing because there are some parameters which come default with Intercom and you can't remove them.
  • Since Intercom's cost is based on the number of users on the platform, it can become a little expensive.
  • Intercom should really concentrate on building their reports, the reports are very simple and don't give deep insights for evaluation.
Intercom can be used across any organization which has a customer-facing product. Intercom gives great insights and many of them can be customized as well. Even if it gets a little complicated, it is a great tool to have.
Read Sundeep Gopal's full review
No photo available
January 07, 2019

"Intercom needs customer ratings customization, and auto-import to CRM"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My former company temporarily used Intercom as a live chat tool with prospective customers. It was a lead generation tool to generate sales.

Goals, and business problems we wanted it to address:
  1. Manage all chats on our website for sales purposes.
  2. Automatically import all conversation to our CRM, the most common CRM that exists :)
  3. Manage a simple 1-3 CES (Customer Effort Score) with a custom range and editable question to our customers to rate their satisfaction with the chatter who spoke to the customer.
Intercom could handle #1 with grace, but could not handle #2 or #3 as of May 2018.
  • Handle proactive chat (appear on the website for the customer).
  • Handle reactive chat (customer requests a conversation, and agent replied).
  • Easy navigation for Intercom managers/IT support to see the range of options available to them for deploying the tool.
  • Automatically import all conversations to our CRM, the most common CRM that exists :)
  • Instead, our chat agents had to manually send every chat to our CRM after the conversation ended. This was not practical in a high-volume chat environment where agents would often understandably forget to import chats to our CRM after they were completed. If they missed this step, our customer data from that chat disappeared.
  • Manage a simple 1-3 CES (Customer Effort Score) with a custom range and editable question to our customers to rate their satisfaction with the chatter who spoke to the customer. Expensive external add-ons for Intercom could not meet this need, either.
  • Overall customization. This is an elegant tool only if you are happy with the pre-built settings.
Well-suited
  • Quick chat tool implementation in a low-volume chat environment where you do not need customizable settings.
Less appropriate
  • High volume sales or support functions where your agents might forget to import chats to your CRM.
  • Settings where you need customizable CES/NPS/CSAT customer ratings of your agents, especially if you need your scale your questions to align with other cross-functional departments in your company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 27, 2018

Review: "Intercom: Revolutionary user communication tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom was used by our organization for 3 primary purposes. One was to facilitate the sales process on our website and keep users engaged. Our sales team used Intercom's automated alerts to reach out to potential customers while they were on our website and help them through the buying decision process. The second primary department using Intercom was our support team. Support executives used the chat feature to help current users navigate through our website with helpful automated suggestions and the support chat feature. Finally our data analytics and marketing team used Intercom to send targeted notifications to different users based on usage statistics and user segmentation which was facilitated by Intercom's powerful technology stack.
  • User segmentation
  • Ability to send automated targeted notifications
  • Ease of use & setup
  • Flexibility in terms of dispatch times and types of messages that can be sent
  • The enormous number of simple integrations with applications that are possible
  • The ability to send push notifications (mobile) would be a cool addition that isn't currently available
  • An inbuilt notification center could be built using Intercom's tech stack which isn't currently something that the service offers
  • Intercom's phone integrations (to store calls and phone conversations) need a lot of customization unless you use their own service (JustCall)
Intercom is very well suited for all kinds of teams. Its powerful framework can be easily used by novices and experts alike to send automated notifications and messages to users on a website. Once the scripts have been installed on your website, setting up targeted alerts can be done at the click of a few buttons and requires no technical knowledge. You need minimal technical support in order to get the scripts up and running. Intercom is great for sales, support and marketing teams alike and has a very easy learning curve. You can set up a test environment on your website using Intercom's test mode to try out different alerts and notifications as well before trying it on your production environment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

Intercom Review: "Easy to Use for Communication!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used across our entire organization. It addresses three main problems: speaking with our customers, supporting our customers, and communicating with our leads. It also helps us always be on call for these questions through our mobile app.
  • Intercom splits their chat really well. The chats are able to be split between internal notes and actual sent messages.
  • Tagging works really well in Intercom. You can tag each user and can also tag users in messages/internal notes so they can directly see messages intended for them.
  • Easy documentation management. You are able to find the help docs you need easily even during a chat message.
  • They have custom icons which makes it hard to understand which buttons mean what. It can get confusing to the reader that the help docs and the chat messages all have the same icons in the UI.
  • There seems to not be a snooze functionality when you are not on shift and don't want to be receiving messages from intercom.
  • Some messages become notifications (push) and some do not. Maybe it is a bug right now but it is not as consistent as the email notifications are.
It is well suited for SaaS websites and chatting with existing and future customers. It is not suited for complete customization and branding as the word Intercom is still seen even when you have your own documentation hosted there.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 26, 2018

Review: "Intercom is the best tool for early customer data, and validation."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization used Intercom to gather customer data, to drive our marketing messaging. We have used it for months, and it has helped us really understand the types of information our eCommerce customers require before making a purchase. For example, we were able to understand that our customers were looking for quantity discounts, so we delivered that. Then we were able to test the messaging of these discounts for clarity and voila! satisfied, scalable customer validation!
  • Live Chat. Intercom was a great way for our fledgling company to gather important information from our customers across the entire buyer journey.
  • Post-purchase support - We were able to address shipping concerns right on our site.
  • Integrations - We were able to integrate Intercom with so many of our other marketing tools.
  • The organization of messages on the back-end needs some work. It's hard to segment messages into groups.
  • Intercom doesn't have enough power to offer in-app support (for us) - we transitioned to another tool for this specific element.
  • It's amazing for sales and eCommerce or SaaS sites - But not hardware startups, or for long-term support.
Well-suited: ECommerce, SaaS, Sales, Landing Pages, Validation
Less appropriate: Hardware Support, Bug Reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

Review: "If you want to get more leads, use Intercom!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is our chat service. Prospects or clients can come to our website and either chat with sales or support through the icon at the bottom of the page. It is a great way to keep in touch and help our current client base. They know that they can chat in with any questions and we can help. As a salesman, the unlimited chat option is a great thing to pitch when selling a new deal. Overall, it has been a big addition to our company and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Ease of use.
  • Alerts.
  • Mobile App.
  • Canned responses.
  • Some of the automated messages don't work as well as I would like.
  • Occasionally a delay with the mobile alerts.
  • Navigating the actual website can be confusing.
It has worked really well for both our sales team and our support team. It is the easiest way for our prospects to get ask questions, get information and contact sales people. It is so nice to be able to set up demos with people who are interested and already on our website. On the support side, it is great to have current customers chat in. Very quick and easy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Review: "Intercom is a good allround user engagement tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it for all website and platform user dialogue.
  • Makes it easier for people to engage with us with the messenger
  • Nice to have customer support, sales and marketing dialogue in one platform
  • Ability to set up behavior based communications for onboarding etc.
  • Most new features are put in new products that you then have to buy.
  • More transparent (and lower) pricing - it's quite expensive
  • Integration to Pipedrive is missing
It's well suited for companies that don't want to run separate support solutions. It's less appropriate if you already have tools such as Zendesk and HubSpot in place.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Intercom Review: "3+ years in and still in love!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom for support primarily, but also to facilitate sales engagement on our marketing site and landing pages. Intercom also provides our Help Center and allows us to send direct mass messages to customers. We love the interface and especially the fact that the company is so dedicated to customer success with constant product improvement and thoughtful resources. Intercom is robust enough to help us meet our customers' needs but also simple for new employees to learn.
  • Templated answers and ticket management—we use Intercom to manage all of our support, significantly reducing the time our team spends on the phone
  • On-site chat for sales and marketing—it's a simple and intuitive interface that's easy for visitors and customer alike to use
  • Customer success and product development—it's clear that Intercom is committed to growing as a company and that's reflected in the continuous development and actionable content they release
  • More robust chatbot functionality is needed for hours when our team is offline
  • Reporting! Especially when it comes to message performance. This really needs to be built out
  • The API could use some work
Intercom is a game changer. Software should inspire joyful experiences, especially on platforms designed with customer-facing teams in mind, and that's what you get with Intercom. Our customers are awesome, but people can still be people and our teams need to be equipped to answer questions quickly and without error. Intercom gets us there. Intercom is awesome at customer engagement, but acquisition and retention could use some work. I'd like to see more robust chatbot-like functionality to prompt lead generation and targeted messaging based on product utilization. The price level could be a concern for some companies, but even for small companies, I think it's worth every penny.
Read this authenticated review
Ariana Thompson profile photo
February 01, 2018

Review: "Intercom is the Customer-Centric Communication Platform for Small Teams"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom in a few ways for marketing and customer experience:
  1. To communicate with our customers across marketing campaigns
  2. New customer acquisition
  3. Segmenting our customer base depending on logic within our backend to target our communication
  4. Tag conversations and monitor incoming conversations to determine what their pain points are
  5. Utilize a Smart Suggestion feature to provide website and product walkthroughs (such as canceling their account or updating their information) that allows images and text.
  • Segmenting customers based on your backend API. This is such a critical part of our business for giving the right communication to the right customer.
  • Ease of use/intuitive interface. This is a product that needs minimal instruction and is easy to use.
  • Search functionality. You can search by customer/lead, by conversations, by word - the search is fast and relevant. Easier still if you tag conversations consistently.
  • Customizable fields for logging conversations with customers like "tickets". This is hard when you want to have a hybrid help desk and customer service team. Example: I'd want to log issues as solved or attribute an issue to a department and make that a required aspect before closing the conversation.
  • Issue follow up. You can use the "snooze" function, but that doesn't help if you want to close the issue and come back to it at a later date. Snoozed conversations are still open, which could affect your metrics if you look at conversations per hour.
  • Intercom icons indicating where it comes from (app or email) are hard to read .
Intercom is great for a customer service oriented company where you care more about one person handling an issue in real time and completely, than a tiered support team that focuses on bucketing their interactions where the person who gets the initial request isn't the person who will likely handle it and resolve the issue.

I would not recommend intercom for a technical support help desk where ticketing is required for development work, or for a customer service environment where the key decision maker for an issue isn't available for immediate judgement calls. (Example: The customer wants a large dollar amount credit, and the person who is fielding conversations can't do that without authorization.)
Read Ariana Thompson's full review
Corey Calder profile photo
January 31, 2018

Review: "Intercom, Great for High and Medium Touch Customer Support/Success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to provide an easy way for clients to engage with our support team. We also use it for targeted communications based on usage and for tracking usage data across our user base.

It's also a great way to track previous conversations and reference as needed when recurring issues arise. With the chat component, it's a lot easier to engage with the customer in real-time to answer questions or provide technical assistance.
  • In-app chat for clients/prospects on your website or in your app.
  • Track usage data and "last engaged" date when they were last in your platform.
  • Store and track historical conversations and issues customers have had
  • The UI is not as simple or as intuitive as I would like. Identifying all users within a single company and seeing who is engaging well and who isn't is possible, but harder to do than I would expect.
  • Tracking individual tickets or cases isn't really a functionality. You can track conversations, but not tickets. From my experience this has been the case.
  • A report displaying most common words or issues surfaced and by whom would be great to share with my team and leadership.
Intercom is great for high touch interactions with clients. If you want to have a human relationship with each user or account, this is a far superior tool than with a support ticket solution. It provides easy and quick access for any user/client to a human and can engage in a simple and easy environment.

Intercom does not do as well if you have a high volume of clients and want to automate most interactions and not have a human devoted to 1:1 interactions with clients. For large client bases, it may not make sense to have a human dedicated to 1:1 interactions with every client. Intercom best supports this human touch relationship.
Read Corey Calder's full review

About Intercom

Intercom is a contextual messaging system from the company of the same name founded in 2011 and based in San Francisco. Central to Intercom is live engagement with customers who visit your site or use your apps via text, chat, or email, or summarily: contextual messages for customer outreach. Beyond the core capabilities, Intercom also supports triggered emails for engagement or marketing purposes, customer segmentation and analysis, as well as integrations with MailChimp and Salesforce, and further extensibility via APIs and webhooks.

Intercom's popularity has expanded rapidly since its inception; the company is backed by The Social + Capital Partnership, Bessemer Venture Partners, and others to the tune of over $30 million in funding. The free package Observe is included in all paid plans and is available indefinitely as a standalone, and supports unlimited tracking of activity and visitor data. Beyond this the pay-per-user styled priced tiers may be tried for free for 14 days, and contain contextual, in-app messaging and triggered messaging for learning about customers and maintaining engagement. This highly configurable platform may be purposed simply to track visitors, or to chat with live visitors and increase customer engagement, and for marketing purposes.

Intercom Integrations

Intercom Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No