Intercom Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
203 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

Will Goad | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Intercom is built for fast, simple deployment of live Chat and Help Center

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used as a Help Center across all three of our products. In two of our products, it is accessed as a standalone Help Center. In one, it is accessed In-App. Additionally, we use Intercom to manage chat for both sales and customer support on our SaaS product. This tool is also used to house our Tips & Tricks Videos and Release Notes.
  • Chat within SaaS applications.
  • Creation of simple tutorials or articles.
  • Housing of training/customer-facing videos.
  • The ability to track and catalog service tickets by ID/Customer/Etc.
  • Reporting functionality could be stronger, I believe.
  • I believe that the ability to build out asynchronous learning plans.
If your product is simple and intuitive and your service requests can be solved in a quick chat, Intercom is excellent at solving customer success challenges. Additionally, the ability to recommend articles housed in Intercom is very valuable.

The searching is extremely helpful and easy to use.

Creating articles is SOOO easy. I can easily add video, images, text, etc. and publish the article quickly.
Read Will Goad's full review
Thomas Harding | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

Quick and easy support for small teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used across our entire organization to manage customer support issues. It allows us to communicate in real-time with customers to identify, diagnose and resolve issues. We also use Intercom to automate communication on components of our onboarding process.
  • Support.
  • Automation of messages.
  • Integrates well with other tools.
  • Simple set-up.
  • Ticket management for product requests or bugs.
Intercom is well suited to teams that need to get a support solution live in a very short space of time. It took us less than 10 minutes to get it set up and running.

We have however found limitations when trying to manage ongoing issues or for categorizing feature requests - i.e. it does not handle complex ticketing needs particularly well.
Read Thomas Harding's full review
Veronika Baranovska | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Great tool for businesses that want one tool to do it all (or at least most of it)

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom cemented their position in the SaaS world with their chat, and that indeed remains one of the strongest features of the platform. We used to use Intercom across the whole company, but after implementing a different marketing automation tool, Intercom is now only used by our support team for live chat and the marketing team for some notifications.
  • Brilliant live chat functionality.
  • Easy to collaborate with teams when replying to customers (easy assigning in chat).
  • Poor marketing automation functionality and tracking.
  • Too many packages and add-on services since the rebrand (can feel limiting as a legacy user).
If you work in SaaS or e-commerce and want to have a solid live chat on your website, then Intercom is definitely worth checking out. There are plenty of other tools out there, but at the end of the day, you need to choose what's important to your business and go with that.

Intercom is great for startups - it has a lot of the features you'll need to successfully communicate with leads and customers. As for us, we outgrew Intercom and wanted a more robust CRM and marketing automation platform that would also integrate with our SQL database.
Read Veronika Baranovska's full review
Manan Vora | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

The best for your online sales, engagement, and support systems

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom for the following:
  • Talk to website visitors to enable sales.
  • Book Demos and register interest for visitors.
  • Provide an onboarding tour for new sign-up.
  • Send onboarding emails to new sign-up.
  • Provide support via live chat on our software dashboard.
  • Provide a knowledge base/self-service support system via the article.
  • Send marketing emails based on actions/interactions from the user.
  • Track current software usage and map user journeys for our sign-ups.
  • The chat system is very easy to install, isn't too obstructive and provides visitors and users an easy way to interact with us.
  • Their engagement tracking for users and subsequent emails and in-app message sending system is very sophisticated. Our entire onboarding process relies on Intercom.
  • Their pricing is super steep and can get expensive for early stage companies.
It is perfect for any company that relies on websites to make sales and provide support. Their systems are very matured in terms of mapping user interactions, creating automated flows to match company processes and provide easy engagement for users and visitors. Whether you provide products, on-ground/ni-person services, online services, software services or anything similar via a website, Intercom is a great fit for you.
Read Manan Vora's full review
Nikki Steinmetz, aPHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

A Support Tool Hero!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Intercom to support our customers through chat and help guides. We also utilize Intercom to distribute email campaigns to target certain audiences.
  • Targeted Email Campaigns
  • Support Chat
  • Integration with Slack
  • Cleaner View with Support Chat
  • Clearer Explanation of Offerings with Subscription Level
I like Intercom, however, I don't know much about other solutions similar to it, so I'm not sure how likely I would be to recommend it, not knowing what else is out there. I do enjoy that they have an app, it's pretty easy to use but there is somewhat of a learning curve before feeling comfortable with it.
Read Nikki Steinmetz, aPHR's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

Great product for chat like support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Intercom for customer service purposes at 2 of the companies I have worked at. It was used by customer support, product, and sales at the beginning and the end by customer support primarily. It was a good experience overall. We implemented it, so it's embedded on our website, and people can reach out using Intercom to our product team.
  • Easy to implement
  • Good chat option
  • Could have better targeting and reporting
  • Better ability to tag conversations
Intercom is great for chat purposes and in companies where there is a need for fast support. It's excellent for short SLAs because it sets the expectation that the response will be quick. Great way to get the articles and FAQs as well. Overall a well-rounded support system
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Leads at your fingertips

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our sales and marketing team manages intercom 5 days a week. It is accessible to prospective clients, current customers, and anyone else who gets on our website. We direct current customers to our support email and phone or answer any simple questions they have. We also gather and qualify potential leads that come in and ask questions about our product.
  • Automated introductory responses are helpful.
  • The ability to talk internally in a live conversation is helpful.
  • Prevent people to start multiple conversations at once.
Intercom is well suited for any business that is selling a product or providing a service. The ability to talk with a sales rep or support rep online quickly is so important in the world we live in today where everything is available online and people have little patience day-to-day.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

The right platform for SaaS platforms to engage with their users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to communicate with all of our platform users, manage user activation, user engagement, send marketing campaigns to inactive users, answer doubts and work with other funnels. This includes articles and product tours. We also use their bot to automate answering basic doubts, generating leads via the platform and other activities that can be automated with that.
  • Manage users and users activities
  • Create campaigns and automation based on stages
  • Integration with other tools
  • Cluster organization
I think Intercom is a great fit for SaaS companies that have a platform where they need to communicate with their users for anything related to FAQs, issues, marketing campaigns and stuff. We use it manage user activation, user engagement, send marketing campaigns to inactive users, answer doubts and work with other funnels. This includes articles and product tours. We also use their bot to automate answering basic doubts, generating leads via the platform and other activities that can be automated with that.
Read this authenticated review
Brad Crabtree | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Intercom for small teams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used in our Customer Support and Marketing departments to manage customer support through live chat, email marketing campaigns and customer update emails, virtual site tours, and on-page pop-ups.

It acts as our CRM and keeps a record of customer communication history and webpage visits, giving us the ability to identify new users or those at risk of slipping away.

The email tool allows for manual, scheduled or automated emails based on specific event triggers.
  • Live chat.
  • Web visit tracking.
  • Email automation.
  • Email templates and customization.
  • Page pop up customization.
If you need to provide live chat support to your customers, track user visits and create email campaigns, Intercom will manage fine. The email templates and customization is limited, but their strength is in their on-page support functions.

The ability to identify users at risk of slipping away through tracking site visits is useful in that you can trigger re-engagement emails.

Email templates and the ability to customize layout is very limited and is frustrating at times.
Read Brad Crabtree's full review
Alexa Fuhrman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2019

Interested in Intercom!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used for our customer experience team. We use it to speak with customers and to chat on our online site! It's very easy to use and I've never had any trouble dealing with it. This platform allows our team to divide up the work load by seeing who is available. We each have our own log in's under the company account. Overall, it is very customizable as well for what you want for your website.
  • Customizability is there! You can create your own unique chat experience for your website!
  • I think that the chat note taking and attachment options are great!
  • I like being able to see what co-workers have on their plate so I can help out in the best way I can!
  • At times it lags and needs a reboot which can be frustrating in a busy day.
  • I have noticed that sometimes when I log in, it shows someone else's name instead of mine in the Intercom app. I have to reboot usually to fix the issue.
  • I'd like to be able to work simultaneously with 2 brands in one chat interface instead of having to log in to two windows and click back and forth. It would be nice to have "tabs" for brands when using one page.
When customers are on our website and they need help in a jif, Intercom allows me and my coworkers to jump right in and help them. No automated messaging system here! Just live people ready to help out our customers! Our company is an online rental company and our customers often have questions regarding the return of items or the shipment of items. The way we have intercom set up it makes it so quick and easy to link to their account and find out the answer to their question and send them on their way!
Read Alexa Fuhrman's full review
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Invaluable for new websites but only occasionally needed for established sites

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed Intercom on our website to allow our users a low-friction way to get in contact with us if they needed customer support. Living directly on your website, Intercom is much lower friction contact method than expecting your users to open up their email client to send you a message if they have a problem. Both our cofounders had accounts on Intercom to interact with our users.
  • Learning about UI bugs in our website from customers through the Intercom web chat
  • Learning about confusing language on our sales page from customers through the Intercom web chat
  • Building an effective FAQ page from questions asked by customers in the Intercom web chat
  • Intercom is common enough that people "tune out" / "ignore" the pop-up and even get slightly annoyed by it
  • Not many customers actually use it, so the ROI on the monthly subscription might not be worthwhile for smaller websites
  • Receiving the Intercom chat messages from customers can be inconvenient
Intercom is best suited for early-stage websites that are still ironing out the kinks in their user interface and sales copy. After that, it is useful for websites that have very complex or custom-tailored services, where customers are almost always expected to have questions before purchasing. On the other hand, if you are a simple ecommerce site selling a standard type of product, then you will probably just have tire kickers messaging you on Intercom which would just waste your time.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
Brandon S | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

Don't Run Your Online Company without This

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the past, we've enhanced the revenue of our Saas clients by leveraging Intercom. The great thing about Intercom is that you can use it to track every interaction within a specific Saas platform. For example, if our client was an email marketing company, we can track everything a specific person did inside that email marketing platform. This helped us, and our clients, find the most engaged customers and find out the most important tools they used.
  • Can track people across multiple sites.
  • One-to-one interactions.
  • Custom outreach campaigns on your site and through email.
  • Can be difficult to set up if you don't have a developer.
  • The email marketing is trigger based, not campaign based, so you can't use it for all emails.
Intercom is amazing at identifying leads, customers, and their needs. You can chat with customers and leads, and provide them real-time information through pop-ups. Intercom is not an email platform, so if you need to send out campaign information, be sure to do so with another email marketing platform.
Read Brandon S's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Intercom is a great tool and needs just a few improvements to be truly perfect!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to communicate with our partners, which we have thousands of (hotels, airlines, car rentals, activities vendors, and so on). Intercom is a chat integrated on our website so that our clients can contact us and get an immediate response. When it comes to travel, emergencies happen all the time and our partners reach out to us all the time to investigate past/ongoing /or future travel issues of our mutual customers (travelers).
  • Immediate response
  • Great interface
  • User friendly
  • Usage of keyboard shortcuts
  • Doesn't consolidate conversations
  • Filtering is not thought through
  • No possibility to assign priority level
  • No tags
Aside from not being able to consolidate conversations, everything else doesn't seem that much of an issue. I truly like Intercom, they're fast and super easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2019

Perfect For Small Companies Who Want To Quickly Offer Chat Support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom allows our support team to assist our e-commerce customers through the checkout flow without breaking our company's bank. It's reliable, stable, and easy to implement. We predominantly use Intercom by integrating it onto our Shopify pages. This allows our customers to reach out to us when they're checking out. By offering Intercom's elegant chat solution here we are able to increase sales and answer our customers' most prudent questions.
  • Intercom's ability to easily and quickly integrate into Shopify or a web page makes the out-of-box experience possible and easy.
  • Their support is attentive and helpful when you have any questions.
  • Their design elements are thoughtful and better than other chat tools. Out of the box, this makes your chat experience appear more professional and thought out.
  • I wish they offered integration with Zendesk so we could move chats over to email when needed. I'm not holding this against them since Zendesk is one of their competitors.
  • Their out-of-the-box design is great but further customization and personalization of their design elements to match our branding would be helpful.
For a smaller company like ours, Intercom has been great from implementation until now. As we're a small company, the cost was a large factor when choosing a chat provider. Intercom makes it affordable to provide our customers with chat support as we grow. Their support has been great and they've always been there to answer any question that I have. Their customer-facing interface is designed very well and customers compliment us on it all the time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2019

Good for small teams, expensive for large organizations

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used across the whole organization by marketing, sales and support teams. Intercom is helping us to acquire leads, do manual or automated campaigns, and support customers via online live chat.
  • Mass emailing
  • Live chat
  • Campaign builder
  • Segmentation
  • Data manipulation
  • Customer support
  • Pricing
Intercom is well suited for small teams with small number of leads and customers. For volume businesses, Intercom is very expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Jacob Pitcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Intercom is now part of the foundation for developing amazing customer relationships.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom was used at HeyOrca primarily by the Customer Support team, but we would regularly pull Product, Dev, & Sales folks into the platform to provide more context on our customers' problems. Intercom was instrumental in helping us forge relationships with customers and bring to light the issues they were having or the successes they were seeing.
  • Intercom is fantastic for opening the lines of communication with customers.
  • Intercom makes it easy for cross-functional teams to have visibility into the customers' world and to be a part of the conversation.
  • Intercom is a complete solution for helping Customer Success & Support teams get off the ground.
  • My only complaint about using Intercom was the inability to effectively organize the outreach features (messaging customers via email & in-app) with a kind of folder structure.
Intercom is great for companies that have close relationships with customers or who want to have close relationships with customers. It's the ultimate tool for being able to communicate with customers in a personalized way, provide them with real-time answers, as well as allow them to help themselves with knowledge base tools and automated messaging.
Read Jacob Pitcher's full review
DJ Kline | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Intercom is great for sales

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The two main department users of Intercom for us are sales and marketing. In sales, we use it for chatting with website visitors in real time. We have integrated Intercom with Slack to get alerts and respond in real-time. Marketing has set up welcome messages on our website to welcome visitors and let them know we are here to help in any way.
  • Chatting with website users. Great for real-time responses.
  • Great for automated website chat boxes and welcoming visitors.
  • Great phone app to reply on the go.
  • Great integration with Slack for alerting and even responding in the Slack channel.
  • Add some features around outreach, this way we could replace some other tools we use.
  • More advanced searching within the app.
  • Incorporate AI to rate conversations/visitors on their own (or if we can add criteria and have it automated).
Speaking from the sales side, Intercom is less appropriate for outreach programs (at this point). Intercom also does not have a conversation or visitor grading segmentation. There is no automatic way to go in and search all the leads that are worth following up with and creating an outreach program for this. To be fair, you can rate - but this is currently manual. With hundreds of chats a day, this is currently not possible to do for us.
Read DJ Kline's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

All in with Intercom

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom as a chat, support and communication tool. It is heavily used by our Support/Experience team (much more than other departments) but is also used across the entire organization. With a client base of nearly 1,000, we were finding it difficult to keep track of "tickets" that came in through Zendesk. It was overwhelming and didn't provide the capabilities we needed to provide world-class service. With Intercom, we're now able to have real-time conversations with our clients and address their issues in a much more timely manner.
  • Easy user interface
  • Adaptable to several business needs
  • Not overly intrusive on websites
  • Easy to manage several users
  • Targeting messages appropriately
  • We often have several messages compounding on top of each other
  • I'd love if they could notify people who have not marked our announcements/messages/communication as read so that they don't end up having several un-related messages overwhelming them
  • When a thread is continued from a previous questions, I wish it was more obvious that the conversation had already been started with a particular person
If you need a way to mass communicate with your clients on your technology platform, this is a GREAT tool. Rather than sending a mass e-mail that often gets ignored, you can communicate an announcement, product update, upcoming event etc. when a client logs into the back end of their website. The beauty is they are in the right frame of mind to read this message, and we've found far less people in the dark with what's going on. I also love the ability to personally have a conversation with someone. If they are in need of a quick support fix that takes less than 10 minutes - it's amazing to be able to "instant message" them the answer right then and there rather than have them submit a form that establishes a ticket which gets pushed to the bottom of the priority list. At that point, they're waiting hours (maybe even a day) before they receive an answer that could've taken one minute.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Intercom for Customer Insights

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to send mass communications, in-app and via email to our users. It is also used by our Customer Experience department to gather insights on user sessions within our software (i.e number of times they have logged in, which browser is being used to access our software, features being utilized).
  • Segmenting outbound communication based on things like last log-in or account.
  • Displaying insights for things like last user session within our software, which account an email address is associated with and browser details for how they are accessing our product.
  • We frequently use 'reactions' to poll users on certain features. For example, 'are you enjoying the new XYZ feature' and then give them the option to submit a thumbs up or a thumbs down.
  • There is no opt-out option for our customers and we get this request from time to time.
Intercom is a good tool for customer support teams looking to utilize live chat as a communication channel, for marketing teams looking to send mass, segmented in-app chat messages or emails and for support teams who need quick visibility into their customers and accounts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2019

Intercom needs customer ratings customization, and auto-import to CRM

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My former company temporarily used Intercom as a live chat tool with prospective customers. It was a lead generation tool to generate sales.

Goals, and business problems we wanted it to address:
  1. Manage all chats on our website for sales purposes.
  2. Automatically import all conversation to our CRM, the most common CRM that exists :)
  3. Manage a simple 1-3 CES (Customer Effort Score) with a custom range and editable question to our customers to rate their satisfaction with the chatter who spoke to the customer.
Intercom could handle #1 with grace, but could not handle #2 or #3 as of May 2018.
  • Handle proactive chat (appear on the website for the customer).
  • Handle reactive chat (customer requests a conversation, and agent replied).
  • Easy navigation for Intercom managers/IT support to see the range of options available to them for deploying the tool.
  • Automatically import all conversations to our CRM, the most common CRM that exists :)
  • Instead, our chat agents had to manually send every chat to our CRM after the conversation ended. This was not practical in a high-volume chat environment where agents would often understandably forget to import chats to our CRM after they were completed. If they missed this step, our customer data from that chat disappeared.
  • Manage a simple 1-3 CES (Customer Effort Score) with a custom range and editable question to our customers to rate their satisfaction with the chatter who spoke to the customer. Expensive external add-ons for Intercom could not meet this need, either.
  • Overall customization. This is an elegant tool only if you are happy with the pre-built settings.
Well-suited
  • Quick chat tool implementation in a low-volume chat environment where you do not need customizable settings.
Less appropriate
  • High volume sales or support functions where your agents might forget to import chats to your CRM.
  • Settings where you need customizable CES/NPS/CSAT customer ratings of your agents, especially if you need your scale your questions to align with other cross-functional departments in your company.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2019

Really useful product.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Direct connections with consumers. We were too distant before Intercom, but now we are right there waiting for them to interact. The ability to respond when a thought strikes them in priceless.
  • Everything is now in one place.
  • We love having ubiquitous access to our leads and users across all of our outposts.
  • The only thing I dislike is that they haven't done much in a while on better segmentation, auto tagging to help you chop up the section that you want to and engage with them/ trigger messages to them based on updating contextual factors.
As an early stage startup, we were attracted to Intercom due to the low price point and quick and easy integration reviews we had read. We have a very agile development team and process which has helped us to get the most out of the platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Intercom - A Chat tool that has scaled to more things, but remains a B2B tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used primarily by the marketing department for in-app messaging/user segmentation and broadcasts inside our app. Largely the messages sent via Intercom to our users are for retention, funnel improvement or promotional in nature. Occasionally it may be used to make announcements that are sensitive in nature e.g. a security concern.
  • Intercom is good at segmentation of users on various custom or default conditions (e.g. User country, the status of user with the product etc.)
  • Intercom's chat feature is good. You can start in-app conversations with users.
  • Intercom does a decent job at allowing automation of various messages to different users depending on where they are in the conversion funnel.
  • Intercom cannot segment users based on complex criteria like weight of user which needs to be quantified apart from a certain event that the user performs.
  • Intercom's user management does not allow too many levels of user access within the company.
  • Some parts of understanding how Intercom's billing works, like how to delete users to reduce usage, is poor.
Intercom is good for a B2B SaaS product or cases where the value of each user is very high. However, it is not very suited for consumer companies given its limited analytical ability and high price. Intercom is friendly to use and setup. Campaigns and messaging are easy to manage once you understand the basics of the system. That makes it somewhat easy to train new folks to use it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Real customer connections happen on Intercom

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used across multiple teams in our company for multiple purposes. It runs on our website as a live chat solution for communicating with prospects. It's also integrated with our product to support customers/users and share announcements. Finally, our marketing team uses Intercom to deliver NPS surveys and drive revenue through up-sells/cross-sells.
  • Intercom’s mission is very focused, and they do it well: facilitate meaningful customer connection. This should be important to every business.
  • Intercom offers quick and helpful customer support.
  • Intercom’s in-app messaging is powerful and unique in the market.
  • Intercom relies on “and/or” statements to build an audience, but “ands” and “ors” can’t be combined. There are workarounds, but sometimes it feels tedious.
  • As someone in marketing (not engineering), I wish I had more visibility into how contacts entered the Intercom database. This sometimes feels opaque.
  • I wish Intercom had built-in tools for cross-team collaboration—i.e., editorial calendars, etc. We have multiple messages running for multiple teams simultaneously and it can be hard to keep track of everything.
Intercom gets us close to our customers in a way that no other tools can. As long as you have the team in place to support live chats, Intercom is invaluable!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

The best for volume customer service and more.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use two Intercom products: Messages and Inbox.

We use Messages to handle all communication with the 50k users and leads of our SaaS. We have onboarding campaigns that fit our different personas, churn reducing campaigns, and upsell campaigns (campaigns are a series of automatically delivered messages). We also use the manual messages to send both emails and in-app messages when our users are active on the site.

We use the Inbox product to handle all our customer service. Someone just clicks the little smile in the corner of the screen, writes their support request, and our system of filters and rules directs them to the right person or team.
  • Second to none for customer service. You can also use bots to manually deliver answers.
  • It can nearly replace email automation software (we don't use any because Intercom does the job).
  • Excellent communication among both co-workers and customers from within the app.
  • Customer service is often slower than I'd like, though I generally find it helpful.
  • You need to have a developer to do some work with their APIs to get the most out of it.
  • The pricing breakdown means that components all have to be purchased separately.
Intercom seems to be the industry leader in customer service live-chat and for good reason. It's very, very easy to set up and to interact with both customers and co-workers in the same conversation thread. Customer chats are saved so you can see their entire history every time they open a new request, along with any relevant account information.

Their messages product doesn't quite approach the level of email automation that a dedicated email provider does, but if you don't need an incredibly robust email system, Intercom can [do the job].

That said, because of the necessary development resources it takes for full implementation, Intercom is definitely enterprise-level software. Younger companies and solopreneurs may do better with something less robust and less expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2019

Communication resolved

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom allows for fast communication to site visitors as well as internal contacts. We use it as a tool to communicate with our current customers as well.
  • Connects prospects with our team quickly.
  • I would like to see a function that would target exactly where the prospect or customer wants to connect to. For instance, if they reach our site and send a question I would like to see their comment go straight to the person in charge of that function.
When a company needs communication with potential customers and does not want to lose the connections, this tool works great at keeping the communication open.
Read this authenticated review

About Intercom

Intercom is designed to provide modern business messaging at scale, allowing users to build better customer relationships with scalable messaging that provides a more personal experience. Intercom supports:

Lead Generation:
Qualify more leads automatically and close more deals around the clock with chatbots and live chat.

Customer Engagement
Onboard, activate and retain customers with targeted messages and interactive product tours to help them get the most out of a product.

Customer Support:
Provide real-time, personal help at scale with a collaborative inbox, automation, and self-service support.

What sets Intercom apart?

The vendor states Intercom is built to provide everything teams needs to provide personal experiences to every customer—consistently and at scale.
  • Business Messenger: Drive action and resolutions with chat, interactive apps, conversational bots, and product tours.
  • Management tools: Manage multichannel customer interactions at scale with collaborative inboxes, automated workflows, and reporting.
  • Customer data platform: Target, personalize, and contextualize every interaction with behavioral and customer data from across the stack.
  • Apps & integrations: Automate actions in conversations, sync data between tools and connect to an existing tech stack with 100+ pre-built apps and integrations, a flexible API and free developer workspaces.

Intercom Screenshots

Intercom Integrations

https://www.intercom.com/app-store

Intercom Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Intercom Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Intercom Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: Arabic, Bosnian, Brazilian Portuguese, Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, German (Formal), Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latviski, Lithuanian, Mongolian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish and Vietnamese.