Intercom Reviews

240 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 71)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 23, 2021
Nestor Navarro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use it across three departments only. This helps us start the selling process online, helping the customer get information before they have to call in. We gather necessary information via Intercom chat and direct them to the correct department for insurance purposes. It allows us to reach more customers who may not have the availability to call in during work hours.
  • Chat communication between customer and agent
  • Allows us to customize questions to get customer to correct department
  • Integration with Slack
  • Integration with email so that chats don't go unnoticed
  • Price point--they are a bit pricey when it comes to upgrading
  • Work on cursor tracking
  • More filtering options for assigning customers to Slack channels
I would say that Intercom is great for chatting or directing customers through your website. We have a dedicated group that takes care of customers who are looking for quotes through our website. Instead of calling in, they can send us some information via Intercom chat and we respond fairly quickly. Many people don't have the option to call in during work hours, so Intercom provides the platform for us to work with those customers via chat. Of course there are still customers who prefer to talk to someone on the phone. Sometimes a message doesn't come off as clear as when you can talk to someone and communicate via phone. It's easier to establish a relationship with some customers when they can talk to us and feel our urgency to help them. This is something that, personally, I feel chat can't do.
Read Nestor Navarro's full review
April 08, 2021
Jono Child | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used by our demand sales team, supply sales team, customer care and account management. It allows users to find content or get in touch with us via the right means and if that means is live chat it facilitates that in real-time.
  • Live Chat
  • Articles/Help Centre
  • Alerts/Banners to users
  • Flexibility for who to contact and how they respond - different bots
  • Reporting
  • Integration with Salesforce needs a bit of love
  • Being able to use properties of events to get details about the user
It is very well suited for communication with customers, alerting customers to certain features or news and is a good space for customer to find help articles.
Read Jono Child's full review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used by the departments that directly interact with the customers. This acts as a bridge that fills the gap between organisation and the clients. Emails take too much of time to document and then send to wait for a reply. Intercom is a time saving tool which is recommended to be used if you want to save your time and work more efficiently.
  • Quick live chats.
  • Help pages and customer support.
  • Lots of add-ons.
  • Text format when copied from another application should be pasted just like the way it was copied.
  • Definitely not a cheap option.
  • Notification controls.
We can address a large number of customer issues by directly interacting with them. Although there are few restrictions like you cannot take control over the notifications. You cannot specifically set the users who should receive notifications and the ones who shouldn’t. All and all it has been a great experience.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used across our Customer Success department. We use it to handle incoming questions from clients, and to ensure the proper inquiries assign to the correct user.
  • Assigning inquiries
  • Ability to tag other users and make notes
  • Ability to reassign as needed
  • Representing anonymous users better
Intercom is best suited for handling quick CS inquiries and providing context to where that user was on the website before reaching out.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Intercom as a way for our members to contact support and success departments regarding questions and concerns when using our marketing platform. We have enabled various features like live chat, email support, product tours, frequently asked questions, and more. Multiple users are in Intercom throughout the day, monitoring our inboxes, responding to members, creating a positive working environment and positive member experience, and creating various tools to help our members navigate the platform.
  • Email support
  • Product tours
  • Articles
  • Editability
  • Ease of integration
  • More flexible platform
Intercom is perfect for support teams. Any company that needs to provide a seamless user experience can benefit from Intercom. If you want to have simple support via email and chat, this is a good product. It's not perfect, however. It's easy to use, but more advanced users may be frustrated by the lack of editability for certain features.
One of the great features about using Intercom is their support is going to be very similar to the support that you will be using with your customers. The chatbot is identical to your chatbot. So not only is user support easy to use and available, but it's a way to also learn how to use this feature.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
During my time at the company, we used Intercom to handle our support inbox as well as customer lifecycle marketing communication, including onboarding content, engagement content, and more. We used Intercom's outbound communication features to send targeted emails to folks both as one-offs and using the Series function. In addition to funneling support emails into Intercom's inbox, we also utilized the widget within our web app.
  • Customer Support (they usually get back to you relatively quickly)
  • Releasing new features and improvements
  • Customer Cohort Segmenting
  • Slow, bloated experience (though this is improving)
  • Confusing a la carte pricing
  • Slow execution of user-initiated actions (for example, email can be delayed because of a backlog, as can records export)
Intercom is well-suited for mid-to-large sized Customer Experience and Marketing Sales teams that can take full advantage of their wide array of features, and the ability to assign permissions by person or team is robust.

For smaller companies, this product is very expensive compared to the value provided. Lower-cost alternatives that are also easier to use and less bloated (albeit with fewer features) would be recommended for smaller teams.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2020
Will Goad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used as a Help Center across all three of our products. In two of our products, it is accessed as a standalone Help Center. In one, it is accessed In-App. Additionally, we use Intercom to manage chat for both sales and customer support on our SaaS product. This tool is also used to house our Tips & Tricks Videos and Release Notes.
  • Chat within SaaS applications.
  • Creation of simple tutorials or articles.
  • Housing of training/customer-facing videos.
  • The ability to track and catalog service tickets by ID/Customer/Etc.
  • Reporting functionality could be stronger, I believe.
  • I believe that the ability to build out asynchronous learning plans.
If your product is simple and intuitive and your service requests can be solved in a quick chat, Intercom is excellent at solving customer success challenges. Additionally, the ability to recommend articles housed in Intercom is very valuable.

The searching is extremely helpful and easy to use.

Creating articles is SOOO easy. I can easily add video, images, text, etc. and publish the article quickly.
Read Will Goad's full review
March 20, 2020
Thomas Harding | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used across our entire organization to manage customer support issues. It allows us to communicate in real-time with customers to identify, diagnose and resolve issues. We also use Intercom to automate communication on components of our onboarding process.
  • Support.
  • Automation of messages.
  • Integrates well with other tools.
  • Simple set-up.
  • Ticket management for product requests or bugs.
Intercom is well suited to teams that need to get a support solution live in a very short space of time. It took us less than 10 minutes to get it set up and running.

We have however found limitations when trying to manage ongoing issues or for categorizing feature requests - i.e. it does not handle complex ticketing needs particularly well.
Read Thomas Harding's full review
February 18, 2020
Veronika Baranovska | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom cemented their position in the SaaS world with their chat, and that indeed remains one of the strongest features of the platform. We used to use Intercom across the whole company, but after implementing a different marketing automation tool, Intercom is now only used by our support team for live chat and the marketing team for some notifications.
  • Brilliant live chat functionality.
  • Easy to collaborate with teams when replying to customers (easy assigning in chat).
  • Poor marketing automation functionality and tracking.
  • Too many packages and add-on services since the rebrand (can feel limiting as a legacy user).
If you work in SaaS or e-commerce and want to have a solid live chat on your website, then Intercom is definitely worth checking out. There are plenty of other tools out there, but at the end of the day, you need to choose what's important to your business and go with that.

Intercom is great for startups - it has a lot of the features you'll need to successfully communicate with leads and customers. As for us, we outgrew Intercom and wanted a more robust CRM and marketing automation platform that would also integrate with our SQL database.
Read Veronika Baranovska's full review
January 17, 2020
Manan Vora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom for the following:
  • Talk to website visitors to enable sales.
  • Book Demos and register interest for visitors.
  • Provide an onboarding tour for new sign-up.
  • Send onboarding emails to new sign-up.
  • Provide support via live chat on our software dashboard.
  • Provide a knowledge base/self-service support system via the article.
  • Send marketing emails based on actions/interactions from the user.
  • Track current software usage and map user journeys for our sign-ups.
  • The chat system is very easy to install, isn't too obstructive and provides visitors and users an easy way to interact with us.
  • Their engagement tracking for users and subsequent emails and in-app message sending system is very sophisticated. Our entire onboarding process relies on Intercom.
  • Their pricing is super steep and can get expensive for early stage companies.
It is perfect for any company that relies on websites to make sales and provide support. Their systems are very matured in terms of mapping user interactions, creating automated flows to match company processes and provide easy engagement for users and visitors. Whether you provide products, on-ground/ni-person services, online services, software services or anything similar via a website, Intercom is a great fit for you.
Read Manan Vora's full review
March 13, 2020
Nikki Steinmetz, aPHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Intercom to support our customers through chat and help guides. We also utilize Intercom to distribute email campaigns to target certain audiences.
  • Targeted Email Campaigns
  • Support Chat
  • Integration with Slack
  • Cleaner View with Support Chat
  • Clearer Explanation of Offerings with Subscription Level
I like Intercom, however, I don't know much about other solutions similar to it, so I'm not sure how likely I would be to recommend it, not knowing what else is out there. I do enjoy that they have an app, it's pretty easy to use but there is somewhat of a learning curve before feeling comfortable with it.
Read Nikki Steinmetz, aPHR's full review
February 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Intercom for customer service purposes at 2 of the companies I have worked at. It was used by customer support, product, and sales at the beginning and the end by customer support primarily. It was a good experience overall. We implemented it, so it's embedded on our website, and people can reach out using Intercom to our product team.
  • Easy to implement
  • Good chat option
  • Could have better targeting and reporting
  • Better ability to tag conversations
Intercom is great for chat purposes and in companies where there is a need for fast support. It's excellent for short SLAs because it sets the expectation that the response will be quick. Great way to get the articles and FAQs as well. Overall a well-rounded support system
Read this authenticated review
January 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our sales and marketing team manages intercom 5 days a week. It is accessible to prospective clients, current customers, and anyone else who gets on our website. We direct current customers to our support email and phone or answer any simple questions they have. We also gather and qualify potential leads that come in and ask questions about our product.
  • Automated introductory responses are helpful.
  • The ability to talk internally in a live conversation is helpful.
  • Prevent people to start multiple conversations at once.
Intercom is well suited for any business that is selling a product or providing a service. The ability to talk with a sales rep or support rep online quickly is so important in the world we live in today where everything is available online and people have little patience day-to-day.
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to communicate with all of our platform users, manage user activation, user engagement, send marketing campaigns to inactive users, answer doubts and work with other funnels. This includes articles and product tours. We also use their bot to automate answering basic doubts, generating leads via the platform and other activities that can be automated with that.
  • Manage users and users activities
  • Create campaigns and automation based on stages
  • Integration with other tools
  • Cluster organization
I think Intercom is a great fit for SaaS companies that have a platform where they need to communicate with their users for anything related to FAQs, issues, marketing campaigns and stuff. We use it manage user activation, user engagement, send marketing campaigns to inactive users, answer doubts and work with other funnels. This includes articles and product tours. We also use their bot to automate answering basic doubts, generating leads via the platform and other activities that can be automated with that.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2019
Brad Crabtree | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used in our Customer Support and Marketing departments to manage customer support through live chat, email marketing campaigns and customer update emails, virtual site tours, and on-page pop-ups.

It acts as our CRM and keeps a record of customer communication history and webpage visits, giving us the ability to identify new users or those at risk of slipping away.

The email tool allows for manual, scheduled or automated emails based on specific event triggers.
  • Live chat.
  • Web visit tracking.
  • Email automation.
  • Email templates and customization.
  • Page pop up customization.
If you need to provide live chat support to your customers, track user visits and create email campaigns, Intercom will manage fine. The email templates and customization is limited, but their strength is in their on-page support functions.

The ability to identify users at risk of slipping away through tracking site visits is useful in that you can trigger re-engagement emails.

Email templates and the ability to customize layout is very limited and is frustrating at times.
Read Brad Crabtree's full review
May 21, 2019
Jacob Pitcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom was used at HeyOrca primarily by the Customer Support team, but we would regularly pull Product, Dev, & Sales folks into the platform to provide more context on our customers' problems. Intercom was instrumental in helping us forge relationships with customers and bring to light the issues they were having or the successes they were seeing.
  • Intercom is fantastic for opening the lines of communication with customers.
  • Intercom makes it easy for cross-functional teams to have visibility into the customers' world and to be a part of the conversation.
  • Intercom is a complete solution for helping Customer Success & Support teams get off the ground.
  • My only complaint about using Intercom was the inability to effectively organize the outreach features (messaging customers via email & in-app) with a kind of folder structure.
Intercom is great for companies that have close relationships with customers or who want to have close relationships with customers. It's the ultimate tool for being able to communicate with customers in a personalized way, provide them with real-time answers, as well as allow them to help themselves with knowledge base tools and automated messaging.
Read Jacob Pitcher's full review
July 23, 2019
Alexa Fuhrman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used for our customer experience team. We use it to speak with customers and to chat on our online site! It's very easy to use and I've never had any trouble dealing with it. This platform allows our team to divide up the work load by seeing who is available. We each have our own log in's under the company account. Overall, it is very customizable as well for what you want for your website.
  • Customizability is there! You can create your own unique chat experience for your website!
  • I think that the chat note taking and attachment options are great!
  • I like being able to see what co-workers have on their plate so I can help out in the best way I can!
  • At times it lags and needs a reboot which can be frustrating in a busy day.
  • I have noticed that sometimes when I log in, it shows someone else's name instead of mine in the Intercom app. I have to reboot usually to fix the issue.
  • I'd like to be able to work simultaneously with 2 brands in one chat interface instead of having to log in to two windows and click back and forth. It would be nice to have "tabs" for brands when using one page.
When customers are on our website and they need help in a jif, Intercom allows me and my coworkers to jump right in and help them. No automated messaging system here! Just live people ready to help out our customers! Our company is an online rental company and our customers often have questions regarding the return of items or the shipment of items. The way we have intercom set up it makes it so quick and easy to link to their account and find out the answer to their question and send them on their way!
Read Alexa Fuhrman's full review
July 01, 2019
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed Intercom on our website to allow our users a low-friction way to get in contact with us if they needed customer support. Living directly on your website, Intercom is much lower friction contact method than expecting your users to open up their email client to send you a message if they have a problem. Both our cofounders had accounts on Intercom to interact with our users.
  • Learning about UI bugs in our website from customers through the Intercom web chat
  • Learning about confusing language on our sales page from customers through the Intercom web chat
  • Building an effective FAQ page from questions asked by customers in the Intercom web chat
  • Intercom is common enough that people "tune out" / "ignore" the pop-up and even get slightly annoyed by it
  • Not many customers actually use it, so the ROI on the monthly subscription might not be worthwhile for smaller websites
  • Receiving the Intercom chat messages from customers can be inconvenient
Intercom is best suited for early-stage websites that are still ironing out the kinks in their user interface and sales copy. After that, it is useful for websites that have very complex or custom-tailored services, where customers are almost always expected to have questions before purchasing. On the other hand, if you are a simple ecommerce site selling a standard type of product, then you will probably just have tire kickers messaging you on Intercom which would just waste your time.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
June 27, 2019
Brandon S | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the past, we've enhanced the revenue of our Saas clients by leveraging Intercom. The great thing about Intercom is that you can use it to track every interaction within a specific Saas platform. For example, if our client was an email marketing company, we can track everything a specific person did inside that email marketing platform. This helped us, and our clients, find the most engaged customers and find out the most important tools they used.
  • Can track people across multiple sites.
  • One-to-one interactions.
  • Custom outreach campaigns on your site and through email.
  • Can be difficult to set up if you don't have a developer.
  • The email marketing is trigger based, not campaign based, so you can't use it for all emails.
Intercom is amazing at identifying leads, customers, and their needs. You can chat with customers and leads, and provide them real-time information through pop-ups. Intercom is not an email platform, so if you need to send out campaign information, be sure to do so with another email marketing platform.
Read Brandon S's full review
October 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to communicate with our partners, which we have thousands of (hotels, airlines, car rentals, activities vendors, and so on). Intercom is a chat integrated on our website so that our clients can contact us and get an immediate response. When it comes to travel, emergencies happen all the time and our partners reach out to us all the time to investigate past/ongoing /or future travel issues of our mutual customers (travelers).
  • Immediate response
  • Great interface
  • User friendly
  • Usage of keyboard shortcuts
  • Doesn't consolidate conversations
  • Filtering is not thought through
  • No possibility to assign priority level
  • No tags
Aside from not being able to consolidate conversations, everything else doesn't seem that much of an issue. I truly like Intercom, they're fast and super easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
June 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom allows our support team to assist our e-commerce customers through the checkout flow without breaking our company's bank. It's reliable, stable, and easy to implement. We predominantly use Intercom by integrating it onto our Shopify pages. This allows our customers to reach out to us when they're checking out. By offering Intercom's elegant chat solution here we are able to increase sales and answer our customers' most prudent questions.
  • Intercom's ability to easily and quickly integrate into Shopify or a web page makes the out-of-box experience possible and easy.
  • Their support is attentive and helpful when you have any questions.
  • Their design elements are thoughtful and better than other chat tools. Out of the box, this makes your chat experience appear more professional and thought out.
  • I wish they offered integration with Zendesk so we could move chats over to email when needed. I'm not holding this against them since Zendesk is one of their competitors.
  • Their out-of-the-box design is great but further customization and personalization of their design elements to match our branding would be helpful.
For a smaller company like ours, Intercom has been great from implementation until now. As we're a small company, the cost was a large factor when choosing a chat provider. Intercom makes it affordable to provide our customers with chat support as we grow. Their support has been great and they've always been there to answer any question that I have. Their customer-facing interface is designed very well and customers compliment us on it all the time.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to send mass communications, in-app and via email to our users. It is also used by our Customer Experience department to gather insights on user sessions within our software (i.e number of times they have logged in, which browser is being used to access our software, features being utilized).
  • Segmenting outbound communication based on things like last log-in or account.
  • Displaying insights for things like last user session within our software, which account an email address is associated with and browser details for how they are accessing our product.
  • We frequently use 'reactions' to poll users on certain features. For example, 'are you enjoying the new XYZ feature' and then give them the option to submit a thumbs up or a thumbs down.
  • There is no opt-out option for our customers and we get this request from time to time.
Intercom is a good tool for customer support teams looking to utilize live chat as a communication channel, for marketing teams looking to send mass, segmented in-app chat messages or emails and for support teams who need quick visibility into their customers and accounts.
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used across the whole organization by marketing, sales and support teams. Intercom is helping us to acquire leads, do manual or automated campaigns, and support customers via online live chat.
  • Mass emailing
  • Live chat
  • Campaign builder
  • Segmentation
  • Data manipulation
  • Customer support
  • Pricing
Intercom is well suited for small teams with small number of leads and customers. For volume businesses, Intercom is very expensive.
Read this authenticated review
October 11, 2018
Dailius Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is a fantastic product used across various aspects of our organization.

  • We use Intercom in a sales capacity to nurture initial visitor traffic and repeat visitor traffic using a combination of automated messaging and lead routing sequences to make sure we stay on top of all opportunities. Furthermore, as visitors return to our site, we are able to use rule based messaging to create impetus for them to convert to enquiry or convert to trial.
  • From a customer success perspective we use intercom to manage all of our support ticket workflow and to make sure clients are supported in real time as they onboard through the product and in the later stages of their life cycle.
  • From a marketing perspective, we enjoy that we can easily message our uses in app or on a number of different platforms to run promotions and to provide education around further use cases for GetAccept
  • From a billing perspective, all customer data is managed within Intercom allowing us to facilitate full lifecycle management of our customers
  • Ease of use. I previously had no experience with a solution of this nature and it took me all but five minutes to get started and probably half a day to progress to the intermediate level. Now I feel like an experienced user of the product
  • Plethora of capabilities - chat solutions are normally confined to just that - chat. Intercom does so much for our business and the way it connects all the elements makes executing strategies rather intuitive.
  • Personalization. Each rep/agent is able to take on a persona of their own and develop key relationships with clients
  • Re-assignment and triage is extremely easy with us able to transfer cases based on rules or manually within the UX
  • The mobile app is friendly and although it requires some tweaks, makes it amazing to engage with prospects at all times of the day when we are away from the computer
  • We like the new bots feature and have created custom journeys to help steer prospects through a journey if our attendants are not available. In addition, we have heard about using these bots for active users but have not gone there yet
  • Video snippets are immensely valuable in standing out from the crowd!
  • I think analytics is probably the weakest area of the platform. Being heavily numbers driven - I am not able to produce advanced reports in Intercom and often resort to exporting the data manually. I would stress a big improvement would be to improve the conditional logic within the analytics dashboard. For instance - a user is limited within filters and cannot nominate multiple variables for instance - User tag is "X" OR "Y" - in the current set up this would require two filters not one so adding this advanced logic would be helpful
  • I think the new UI/UX was a step backwards and prefer the old look and feel
  • Can get pricey as your contact volume increases
  • Links to 3rd party CRMs like/Pipedrive/Freshsales so that if opportunities were engaged with sales - this would either show a notification to agents to advise them of the existing relationship or would automatically assign the sales rep to engage in further conversation. I have now seen releases for Salesforce and Hubspot - but i think the feature set here could be expanded a little more
  • Integration with Linkedin API to help personalization of conversation and serve recommendations
  • The standard operator bot needs to help users make it "cooler" - without modification it simply asks for contact details and therefore has a transactional feel with the customer
I really think Intercom is a fantastic product and could be used by any organization, regardless of size. Although you may be limited from some advanced capabilities in terms of marketing aesthetics and workflow creation - I really think this should be within the top 3-5 products in a core technology stack.
Read Dailius Wilson's full review
January 18, 2019
DJ Kline | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The two main department users of Intercom for us are sales and marketing. In sales, we use it for chatting with website visitors in real time. We have integrated Intercom with Slack to get alerts and respond in real-time. Marketing has set up welcome messages on our website to welcome visitors and let them know we are here to help in any way.
  • Chatting with website users. Great for real-time responses.
  • Great for automated website chat boxes and welcoming visitors.
  • Great phone app to reply on the go.
  • Great integration with Slack for alerting and even responding in the Slack channel.
  • Add some features around outreach, this way we could replace some other tools we use.
  • More advanced searching within the app.
  • Incorporate AI to rate conversations/visitors on their own (or if we can add criteria and have it automated).
Speaking from the sales side, Intercom is less appropriate for outreach programs (at this point). Intercom also does not have a conversation or visitor grading segmentation. There is no automatic way to go in and search all the leads that are worth following up with and creating an outreach program for this. To be fair, you can rate - but this is currently manual. With hundreds of chats a day, this is currently not possible to do for us.
Read DJ Kline's full review

What is Intercom?

Intercom is a Conversational Relationship Platform (CRP).

Intercom aims to help users build better customer relationships through personalized, messenger-based experiences across the customer journey. The vendor boasts companies like Atlassian, Shopify, and New Relic use Intercom to deliver conversational customer experiences through chat, bots, and personalized messaging.

What sets Intercom apart?
The vendor states Intercom is built to provide everything teams needs to provide personal experiences to every customer—consistently and at scale.
  • Business Messenger: Drive action and resolutions with chat, interactive apps, conversational bots, and product tours.
  • Management tools: Manage multichannel customer interactions at scale with collaborative inboxes, automated workflows, and reporting.
  • Customer data platform: Target, personalize, and contextualize every interaction with behavioral and customer data from across the stack.
  • Apps & integrations: Automate actions in conversations, sync data between tools and connect to an existing tech stack with 100+ pre-built apps and integrations, a flexible API and free developer workspaces.

Intercom Screenshots

Intercom Video

Watch Scale both faster growth and personal connection with the #1 Business Messenger.

Intercom Downloadables

Intercom Integrations

Intercom Competitors

Intercom Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Conversational Marketing$499per month
Conversational Customer Engagement$499per month
Conversational Support$499per month
Start$39per month
Grow$99per month
Product Tours$199per month

Intercom Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Intercom Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: Arabic, Bosnian, Brazilian Portuguese, Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, German (Formal), Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latviski, Lithuanian, Mongolian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish and Vietnamese.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Intercom?

Intercom is a contextual messaging system that supports live engagement with customers via text, chat, or email. It also supports triggered emails, customer segmentation and analysis, as well as integrations with MailChimp and Salesforce, and further extensibility via APIs and webhooks.

What is Intercom's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Intercom?

The most common users of Intercom are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.