TrustRadius
Intercom is a contextual messaging system from the company of the same name founded in 2011 and based in San Francisco. Central to Intercom is live engagement with customers who visit your site or use your apps via text, chat, or email, or summarily: contextual messages for customer outreach. Beyond the core capabilities, Intercom also supports triggered emails for engagement or marketing purposes, customer segmentation and analysis, as well as integrations with MailChimp and Salesforce, and further extensibility via APIs and webhooks. Intercom's popularity has expanded rapidly since its inception; the company is backed by The Social + Capital Partnership, Bessemer Venture Partners, and others to the tune of over $30 million in funding. The free package Observe is included in all paid plans and is available indefinitely as a standalone, and supports unlimited tracking of activity and visitor data. Beyond this the pay-per-user styled priced tiers may be tried for free for 14 days, and contain contextual, in-app messaging and triggered messaging for learning about customers and maintaining engagement. This highly configurable platform may be purposed simply to track visitors, or to chat with live visitors and increase customer engagement, and for marketing purposes.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/IM/4V/SDVLX9JS0DOO.PNGFeature Rich. A Game Changer. Intercom saves me $75,000 per yearIntercom is a fantastic product used across various aspects of our organization. We use Intercom in a sales capacity to nurture initial visitor traffic and repeat visitor traffic using a combination of automated messaging and lead routing sequences to make sure we stay on top of all opportunities. Furthermore, as visitors return to our site, we are able to use rule based messaging to create impetus for them to convert to enquiry or convert to trial.From a customer success perspective we use intercom to manage all of our support ticket workflow and to make sure clients are supported in real time as they onboard through the product and in the later stages of their life cycle. From a marketing perspective, we enjoy that we can easily message our uses in app or on a number of different platforms to run promotions and to provide education around further use cases for GetAcceptFrom a billing perspective, all customer data is managed within Intercom allowing us to facilitate full lifecycle management of our customers,Ease of use. I previously had no experience with a solution of this nature and it took me all but five minutes to get started and probably half a day to progress to the intermediate level. Now I feel like an experienced user of the product Plethora of capabilities - chat solutions are normally confined to just that - chat. Intercom does so much for our business and the way it connects all the elements makes executing strategies rather intuitive. Personalization. Each rep/agent is able to take on a persona of their own and develop key relationships with clients Re-assignment and triage is extremely easy with us able to transfer cases based on rules or manually within the UX The mobile app is friendly and although it requires some tweaks, makes it amazing to engage with prospects at all times of the day when we are away from the computer We like the new bots feature and have created custom journeys to help steer prospects through a journey if our attendants are not available. In addition, we have heard about using these bots for active users but have not gone there yet Video snippets are immensely valuable in standing out from the crowd!,I think analytics is probably the weakest area of the platform. Being heavily numbers driven - I am not able to produce advanced reports in Intercom and often resort to exporting the data manually. I would stress a big improvement would be to improve the conditional logic within the analytics dashboard. For instance - a user is limited within filters and cannot nominate multiple variables for instance - User tag is "X" OR "Y" - in the current set up this would require two filters not one so adding this advanced logic would be helpful I think the new UI/UX was a step backwards and prefer the old look and feel Can get pricey as your contact volume increases Links to 3rd party CRMs like/Pipedrive/Freshsales so that if opportunities were engaged with sales - this would either show a notification to agents to advise them of the existing relationship or would automatically assign the sales rep to engage in further conversation. I have now seen releases for Salesforce and Hubspot - but i think the feature set here could be expanded a little more Integration with Linkedin API to help personalization of conversation and serve recommendations The standard operator bot needs to help users make it "cooler" - without modification it simply asks for contact details and therefore has a transactional feel with the customer,10,Conversion to trial has increased Net number of customer interactions has increased Consolidation of tech stack has occurred saving $75-100k per year in cost Customer satisfaction is very high based on response time and ease in which help articles can be surfaced,LiveChat, Zopim by Zendesk and Drift,25,000 to 100,000,Both,Apollo, Zoom,No,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation,I wouldn't change it at all! I have quite a good understanding of most of the platforms in the space and I feel Intercom is a great balance of the strengths and weaknesses of all of the other tools.Intercom - the one stop shop for all SaaS and other businessesWe use intercom across our marketing, training and product departments. Marketing uses it on certain webpages to generate interest for special resources or to enables visitors to contact us if they have questions. Training uses intercom to advertise training sessions or to show how to use a particular feature. Product uses intercom to notify users of new releases. Intercom allows us to quickly and easily send messages to our entire user base or to targeted users.,Really easy to integrate with API. Easy to setup messages. Ongoing development and new features. Good level of user roles and teams.,Message goal tracking needs to be enhanced so users can choose goals based on specific actions. E.g. watched video. Billing is based on number of contacts in database. This number keeps growing as more people trial your software so the subscription cost grows rapidly. Needs contact management to delete old contacts.,9,We've seen an increase in number of registrations for webinars by advertising them in-app using intercom. Greater awareness of product releases which has help reduce frustration and promote satisfaction and ultimately stickiness to product. Greater number of leads because visitors to website are more likely to submit a query in a chat box than send a direct email.,Less than 10,000,Both,Xero, QuickBooks Online, MYOB, JIRA Software, Chargify, Atlassian ConfluenceEvery sales team needs IntercomWe use live chat all day, every day with our site visitors. We like how Intercom does not ask for a name and email address up front, so there is very little friction. Very nice looking chat interface as opposed to Zendesk and LiveChat, which look and feel like live chat from the 1990s. It makes us easier to reach.,Automated conversations/bot greetings. Interactive forms (bot questions instead of static forms). Data enrichment (uses FullContact).,Can't turn off auto bot greeting at night, so people get frustrated when the bot greets them after hours and they cannot get a live person. No Pipedrive integration. No Drip integration to pass off attribution or to allow identification/tracking.,8,It has definitely made us more accessible to customers. Web conversions are up. We have made sales as a direct result of live chat.,Drift, LiveChat and Olark,10,000 to 25,000,B2C,Front, Typeform, Drip from LeadpagesCustomer success made easy!Intercom has been a real game changer for us in the way we operate. We have used many tools and platforms before to track user activity on WaveMaker, and they had very limited capabilities. However, with Intercom that has changed because everything can be customized inside the platform and the best thing is you can also interact with users within Intercom. Tracking user activity provides valuable inputs and helps us serve our users better. With the help of Intercom we have changed how we nurture users and have been helping our users better.,Tagging users based on their activity. You can customize a lot of components on Intercom and users can be tagged according to set parameters automatically. Since everything on Intercom is transparent, it is easy to collaborate and help users. We can set reminders and snooze the conversations.,Intercom sometimes becomes a little confusing because there are some parameters which come default with Intercom and you can't remove them. Since Intercom's cost is based on the number of users on the platform, it can become a little expensive. Intercom should really concentrate on building their reports, the reports are very simple and don't give deep insights for evaluation.,10,Customer success team has greatly benefitted from Intercom. A lot of users can now be managed Different people from different teams can be involved in solving customer queries.,Less than 10,000,BothEasy to Use for Communication!Intercom is being used across our entire organization. It addresses three main problems: speaking with our customers, supporting our customers, and communicating with our leads. It also helps us always be on call for these questions through our mobile app.,Intercom splits their chat really well. The chats are able to be split between internal notes and actual sent messages. Tagging works really well in Intercom. You can tag each user and can also tag users in messages/internal notes so they can directly see messages intended for them. Easy documentation management. You are able to find the help docs you need easily even during a chat message.,They have custom icons which makes it hard to understand which buttons mean what. It can get confusing to the reader that the help docs and the chat messages all have the same icons in the UI. There seems to not be a snooze functionality when you are not on shift and don't want to be receiving messages from intercom. Some messages become notifications (push) and some do not. Maybe it is a bug right now but it is not as consistent as the email notifications are.,9,1 positive impact has been the connection we have had with our customers and being able to easily update them on new things for our software as well as quickly give support answers to them. Another positive impact is that we are able to answer the questions that new website leads might have due to not understanding or wanting further explanations and clarification of terms / prices listed on the site. Yet another impact we've had is the easy to search and find documentation ability on intercom. All documentation is clear and organized as well as standardized across the board.,Less than 10,000,B2B,Leadfeeder, DiscoverOrg, Google Analytics
Unspecified
Intercom
125 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
TRScore

Intercom Reviews

Intercom
125 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 125 vetted Intercom reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 39)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Dailius Wilson profile photo
October 11, 2018

Review: "Feature Rich. A Game Changer. Intercom saves me $75,000 per year"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is a fantastic product used across various aspects of our organization.

  • We use Intercom in a sales capacity to nurture initial visitor traffic and repeat visitor traffic using a combination of automated messaging and lead routing sequences to make sure we stay on top of all opportunities. Furthermore, as visitors return to our site, we are able to use rule based messaging to create impetus for them to convert to enquiry or convert to trial.
  • From a customer success perspective we use intercom to manage all of our support ticket workflow and to make sure clients are supported in real time as they onboard through the product and in the later stages of their life cycle.
  • From a marketing perspective, we enjoy that we can easily message our uses in app or on a number of different platforms to run promotions and to provide education around further use cases for GetAccept
  • From a billing perspective, all customer data is managed within Intercom allowing us to facilitate full lifecycle management of our customers
  • Ease of use. I previously had no experience with a solution of this nature and it took me all but five minutes to get started and probably half a day to progress to the intermediate level. Now I feel like an experienced user of the product
  • Plethora of capabilities - chat solutions are normally confined to just that - chat. Intercom does so much for our business and the way it connects all the elements makes executing strategies rather intuitive.
  • Personalization. Each rep/agent is able to take on a persona of their own and develop key relationships with clients
  • Re-assignment and triage is extremely easy with us able to transfer cases based on rules or manually within the UX
  • The mobile app is friendly and although it requires some tweaks, makes it amazing to engage with prospects at all times of the day when we are away from the computer
  • We like the new bots feature and have created custom journeys to help steer prospects through a journey if our attendants are not available. In addition, we have heard about using these bots for active users but have not gone there yet
  • Video snippets are immensely valuable in standing out from the crowd!
  • I think analytics is probably the weakest area of the platform. Being heavily numbers driven - I am not able to produce advanced reports in Intercom and often resort to exporting the data manually. I would stress a big improvement would be to improve the conditional logic within the analytics dashboard. For instance - a user is limited within filters and cannot nominate multiple variables for instance - User tag is "X" OR "Y" - in the current set up this would require two filters not one so adding this advanced logic would be helpful
  • I think the new UI/UX was a step backwards and prefer the old look and feel
  • Can get pricey as your contact volume increases
  • Links to 3rd party CRMs like/Pipedrive/Freshsales so that if opportunities were engaged with sales - this would either show a notification to agents to advise them of the existing relationship or would automatically assign the sales rep to engage in further conversation. I have now seen releases for Salesforce and Hubspot - but i think the feature set here could be expanded a little more
  • Integration with Linkedin API to help personalization of conversation and serve recommendations
  • The standard operator bot needs to help users make it "cooler" - without modification it simply asks for contact details and therefore has a transactional feel with the customer
I really think Intercom is a fantastic product and could be used by any organization, regardless of size. Although you may be limited from some advanced capabilities in terms of marketing aesthetics and workflow creation - I really think this should be within the top 3-5 products in a core technology stack.
Read Dailius Wilson's full review
Nikhil George profile photo
September 11, 2018

Review: "Intercom - the one stop shop for all SaaS and other businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use intercom across our marketing, training and product departments. Marketing uses it on certain webpages to generate interest for special resources or to enables visitors to contact us if they have questions. Training uses intercom to advertise training sessions or to show how to use a particular feature. Product uses intercom to notify users of new releases. Intercom allows us to quickly and easily send messages to our entire user base or to targeted users.
  • Really easy to integrate with API.
  • Easy to setup messages.
  • Ongoing development and new features.
  • Good level of user roles and teams.
  • Message goal tracking needs to be enhanced so users can choose goals based on specific actions. E.g. watched video.
  • Billing is based on number of contacts in database. This number keeps growing as more people trial your software so the subscription cost grows rapidly. Needs contact management to delete old contacts.
Well suited for all types of SaaS companies who need a way of contacting visitors and users. We saved a lot of development time by utilising Intercom rather than building our own application. Intercom is a great all around tool that can be used across various departments and teams or just one. All of Intercom's modules/add-ons work well together, so it can be the one-stop product of contacting visitors to website, supporting users, and providing learning content.
Read Nikhil George's full review
Tim Berman profile photo
September 10, 2018

User Review: "Every sales team needs Intercom"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use live chat all day, every day with our site visitors. We like how Intercom does not ask for a name and email address up front, so there is very little friction. Very nice looking chat interface as opposed to Zendesk and LiveChat, which look and feel like live chat from the 1990s. It makes us easier to reach.
  • Automated conversations/bot greetings.
  • Interactive forms (bot questions instead of static forms).
  • Data enrichment (uses FullContact).
  • Can't turn off auto bot greeting at night, so people get frustrated when the bot greets them after hours and they cannot get a live person.
  • No Pipedrive integration.
  • No Drip integration to pass off attribution or to allow identification/tracking.
Intercom is great for sales teams. We run it through Front so we can handle omnichannel communication in one place. Its standalone app is great, too. I wish it had a 2-way integration with Front for Leads, but I imagine that is coming down the road.
Read Tim Berman's full review
Sundeep Gopal profile photo
September 05, 2018

Intercom Review: "Customer success made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom has been a real game changer for us in the way we operate. We have used many tools and platforms before to track user activity on WaveMaker, and they had very limited capabilities. However, with Intercom that has changed because everything can be customized inside the platform and the best thing is you can also interact with users within Intercom. Tracking user activity provides valuable inputs and helps us serve our users better. With the help of Intercom we have changed how we nurture users and have been helping our users better.
  • Tagging users based on their activity. You can customize a lot of components on Intercom and users can be tagged according to set parameters automatically.
  • Since everything on Intercom is transparent, it is easy to collaborate and help users.
  • We can set reminders and snooze the conversations.
  • Intercom sometimes becomes a little confusing because there are some parameters which come default with Intercom and you can't remove them.
  • Since Intercom's cost is based on the number of users on the platform, it can become a little expensive.
  • Intercom should really concentrate on building their reports, the reports are very simple and don't give deep insights for evaluation.
Intercom can be used across any organization which has a customer-facing product. Intercom gives great insights and many of them can be customized as well. Even if it gets a little complicated, it is a great tool to have.
Read Sundeep Gopal's full review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

Intercom Review: "Easy to Use for Communication!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used across our entire organization. It addresses three main problems: speaking with our customers, supporting our customers, and communicating with our leads. It also helps us always be on call for these questions through our mobile app.
  • Intercom splits their chat really well. The chats are able to be split between internal notes and actual sent messages.
  • Tagging works really well in Intercom. You can tag each user and can also tag users in messages/internal notes so they can directly see messages intended for them.
  • Easy documentation management. You are able to find the help docs you need easily even during a chat message.
  • They have custom icons which makes it hard to understand which buttons mean what. It can get confusing to the reader that the help docs and the chat messages all have the same icons in the UI.
  • There seems to not be a snooze functionality when you are not on shift and don't want to be receiving messages from intercom.
  • Some messages become notifications (push) and some do not. Maybe it is a bug right now but it is not as consistent as the email notifications are.
It is well suited for SaaS websites and chatting with existing and future customers. It is not suited for complete customization and branding as the word Intercom is still seen even when you have your own documentation hosted there.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

Review: "If you want to get more leads, use Intercom!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is our chat service. Prospects or clients can come to our website and either chat with sales or support through the icon at the bottom of the page. It is a great way to keep in touch and help our current client base. They know that they can chat in with any questions and we can help. As a salesman, the unlimited chat option is a great thing to pitch when selling a new deal. Overall, it has been a big addition to our company and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Ease of use.
  • Alerts.
  • Mobile App.
  • Canned responses.
  • Some of the automated messages don't work as well as I would like.
  • Occasionally a delay with the mobile alerts.
  • Navigating the actual website can be confusing.
It has worked really well for both our sales team and our support team. It is the easiest way for our prospects to get ask questions, get information and contact sales people. It is so nice to be able to set up demos with people who are interested and already on our website. On the support side, it is great to have current customers chat in. Very quick and easy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Review: "Intercom is a good allround user engagement tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it for all website and platform user dialogue.
  • Makes it easier for people to engage with us with the messenger
  • Nice to have customer support, sales and marketing dialogue in one platform
  • Ability to set up behavior based communications for onboarding etc.
  • Most new features are put in new products that you then have to buy.
  • More transparent (and lower) pricing - it's quite expensive
  • Integration to Pipedrive is missing
It's well suited for companies that don't want to run separate support solutions. It's less appropriate if you already have tools such as Zendesk and HubSpot in place.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Intercom Review: "3+ years in and still in love!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom for support primarily, but also to facilitate sales engagement on our marketing site and landing pages. Intercom also provides our Help Center and allows us to send direct mass messages to customers. We love the interface and especially the fact that the company is so dedicated to customer success with constant product improvement and thoughtful resources. Intercom is robust enough to help us meet our customers' needs but also simple for new employees to learn.
  • Templated answers and ticket management—we use Intercom to manage all of our support, significantly reducing the time our team spends on the phone
  • On-site chat for sales and marketing—it's a simple and intuitive interface that's easy for visitors and customer alike to use
  • Customer success and product development—it's clear that Intercom is committed to growing as a company and that's reflected in the continuous development and actionable content they release
  • More robust chatbot functionality is needed for hours when our team is offline
  • Reporting! Especially when it comes to message performance. This really needs to be built out
  • The API could use some work
Intercom is a game changer. Software should inspire joyful experiences, especially on platforms designed with customer-facing teams in mind, and that's what you get with Intercom. Our customers are awesome, but people can still be people and our teams need to be equipped to answer questions quickly and without error. Intercom gets us there. Intercom is awesome at customer engagement, but acquisition and retention could use some work. I'd like to see more robust chatbot-like functionality to prompt lead generation and targeted messaging based on product utilization. The price level could be a concern for some companies, but even for small companies, I think it's worth every penny.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 21, 2018

User Review: "Intercom is da'Bomb"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our org, but mainly for our customer support and lead generation. We have people both in Sweden and the US using it. We also use it to set up workflows for onboarding new clients and people trialing our product. We get great feedback from our customers about it.
  • You can capture leads that come to your website
  • You can answer peoples' support questions and direct them to your help center
  • I can use their app and answer people from anywhere
  • Kind of cookie cutter workflows, lacks some customization
  • Their email message editor lacks some customization, but not a deal breaker
  • Could have better qualifying parameters when leads come in
It is well suited for capturing leads on your website and answering support questions when people are using your app. I would recommend downloading their mobile app so you can answer people from all over at any time. It is also great to use their HelpCenter feature so you can support your own clients with support material.
Read this authenticated review
Ariana Thompson profile photo
February 01, 2018

Review: "Intercom is the Customer-Centric Communication Platform for Small Teams"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom in a few ways for marketing and customer experience:
  1. To communicate with our customers across marketing campaigns
  2. New customer acquisition
  3. Segmenting our customer base depending on logic within our backend to target our communication
  4. Tag conversations and monitor incoming conversations to determine what their pain points are
  5. Utilize a Smart Suggestion feature to provide website and product walkthroughs (such as canceling their account or updating their information) that allows images and text.
  • Segmenting customers based on your backend API. This is such a critical part of our business for giving the right communication to the right customer.
  • Ease of use/intuitive interface. This is a product that needs minimal instruction and is easy to use.
  • Search functionality. You can search by customer/lead, by conversations, by word - the search is fast and relevant. Easier still if you tag conversations consistently.
  • Customizable fields for logging conversations with customers like "tickets". This is hard when you want to have a hybrid help desk and customer service team. Example: I'd want to log issues as solved or attribute an issue to a department and make that a required aspect before closing the conversation.
  • Issue follow up. You can use the "snooze" function, but that doesn't help if you want to close the issue and come back to it at a later date. Snoozed conversations are still open, which could affect your metrics if you look at conversations per hour.
  • Intercom icons indicating where it comes from (app or email) are hard to read .
Intercom is great for a customer service oriented company where you care more about one person handling an issue in real time and completely, than a tiered support team that focuses on bucketing their interactions where the person who gets the initial request isn't the person who will likely handle it and resolve the issue.

I would not recommend intercom for a technical support help desk where ticketing is required for development work, or for a customer service environment where the key decision maker for an issue isn't available for immediate judgement calls. (Example: The customer wants a large dollar amount credit, and the person who is fielding conversations can't do that without authorization.)
Read Ariana Thompson's full review
Corey Calder profile photo
January 31, 2018

Review: "Intercom, Great for High and Medium Touch Customer Support/Success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to provide an easy way for clients to engage with our support team. We also use it for targeted communications based on usage and for tracking usage data across our user base.

It's also a great way to track previous conversations and reference as needed when recurring issues arise. With the chat component, it's a lot easier to engage with the customer in real-time to answer questions or provide technical assistance.
  • In-app chat for clients/prospects on your website or in your app.
  • Track usage data and "last engaged" date when they were last in your platform.
  • Store and track historical conversations and issues customers have had
  • The UI is not as simple or as intuitive as I would like. Identifying all users within a single company and seeing who is engaging well and who isn't is possible, but harder to do than I would expect.
  • Tracking individual tickets or cases isn't really a functionality. You can track conversations, but not tickets. From my experience this has been the case.
  • A report displaying most common words or issues surfaced and by whom would be great to share with my team and leadership.
Intercom is great for high touch interactions with clients. If you want to have a human relationship with each user or account, this is a far superior tool than with a support ticket solution. It provides easy and quick access for any user/client to a human and can engage in a simple and easy environment.

Intercom does not do as well if you have a high volume of clients and want to automate most interactions and not have a human devoted to 1:1 interactions with clients. For large client bases, it may not make sense to have a human dedicated to 1:1 interactions with every client. Intercom best supports this human touch relationship.
Read Corey Calder's full review
Tolga Özgentürk profile photo
April 03, 2018

Intercom Review: "Effective way to manage high volume customer inquiries through collaboration, allows you to achieve high-satisfaction"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom on daily basis to handle reachout requests by our customers. It is a great tool that allows us to maintain constant inquiries for 30k+ customers who rely upon constant response. Intercom is the way to effectively manage contact with customers on daily basis. It is allows you to have much more responsive communication with your customer base, and it solves the case for forgotten questions and inquiries.
  • Layering of conversations, 1st and 2nd level responders can be set to involve different teams for different cases
  • It allows conversation with colleagues through note, which allows you to collaborate with teammates for a given problem
  • The tagging and snooze system is effective in keeping order
  • It could allow companies to categorize old threads by subject
  • It could add an integration with call tools such as Outreach
  • It could add task option for individual users to keep track of affairs individually
Intercom is an effective method to solve immediate response to customers for day to day inquiries. It's highly effective for managing high volume requests. It allows clients to be happy of the service they receive. Some customers are disturbed by email chats with too many back and forth messages. Intercom is the perfect replacement for prolonged talks.
Read Tolga Özgentürk's full review
Kemal Ertas profile photo
March 29, 2018

Review: "Add meaning to your support with Intercom"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used for customer support, so the CS team and also the sales team. However, it is available to everyone at the company at large so that we can tag engineers in convos to solve issues as necessary. It makes sure that we get to customers as soon as we can with the correct info.
  • Collecting qualification information for leads
  • Educational content and templates to send to leads
  • API is strong
  • I'd like to see the user search get a bit easier, it sometimes can not match users
  • I do not like the snooze function
  • More personalisation for backgrounds etc., would be nice
If you are looking for a way to reach your customers with engagement and also collect data about them Intercom is for you. I am not sure if it would be effective for smaller volumes or smaller customer bases. It should not be used for ticketing but be seen as an engagement platform.
Read Kemal Ertas's full review
Vitalija Golceva profile photo
February 08, 2018

Intercom Review: "Great tool for overall communication with your leads and clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is used across the whole organization - sales, support, and marketing teams. We actively use chat for sales and support questions. All the automatic messages help us with the overall communication with our customers. The marketing team also use Intercom for newsletters.
  • LIve chat - easy to use and extremely helpful for our customers and leads
  • Support - Intercom provides great support. All the times I needed help, it was a pleasure speaking to their support agents.
  • Automatic messages - a great way to save time but keep in touch regularly with the clients.
  • Even though Intercom's support is great and helpful, sometimes it is slow.
  • Campaigns - it needs some more time to fully understand this function. I couldn't set it up without the help of support.
  • Some small bugs that you encounter while using it. Nothing too serious but sometimes annoying.
Intercom is perfect for setting up automated messages and emails for your customer, also great for a live chat. Although we still use Zendesk for ticketing as it has more functionality, insights, and statistics.
Read Vitalija Golceva's full review
Brad Dessington profile photo
February 07, 2018

Review: "Intercom is the heart of user-based communication"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to manage our CRM from lead through to user management. It gives us the ability to automate messaging and interaction based on behaviour on our website and within our app.
  • The user interface is highly intuitive.
  • The system is robust and offers us a seamless, fast way to communicate with our users.
  • The in-app integration gives us insight into our user behaviour.
  • Integration with Stripe allows us to automate our finance and billing communication.
  • A more flexible email template composer would be welcome.
  • The mobile app is fairly basic, more features such as user filtering would be beneficial.
  • More intuitive way to display the messenger within the app - i.e. choose when and where to display the messenger.
Intercom is well suited to those that are running user based apps, where communication with the user at different intervals or events is important to keeping the customer informed and happy. Intercom can also serve as a central hub for your CRM - if you trigger communication based on user behaviour. It's possibly not suited for a pure sales CRM/pipeline use - we've had to integrate an inbound system (Intercom) with an outbound tracking CRM (HubSpot) to have a full view of our sales funnel.
Read Brad Dessington's full review
Michael Ball-Marian profile photo
January 17, 2018

Review: "Intercom - doing it right and making it look easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by my startup team of 6 for our product. We use it as a support and communication app to talk to our user base. We are not really using the public-facing lead management side. Intercom allows us to send targeted messages to our users based on their behaviors and specific needs. For example - if we have an update about our notifications system, we can send that only to users who we know use the notification system.

It also allows us to respond to chat support requests, and follow up in real time or later.

Finally, we use the Intercom educate product, which is a simple documentation system.
  • Excellent for maintaining communication with your trusted users/customers.
  • Great for real-time communication in-app, particularly for support and feedback.
  • Good for creating email campaigns that communicate with your users, based on their interests and actions within your product.
  • They have very good support themselves, and respond quickly to any problem.
  • Their "operator" functionality tries to suggest knowledge base articles that match the user question. This is okay for fairly obvious stuff, but is often wildly off the mark. It is a frustrating experience as an end user.
  • Their automated messaging can easily get really annoying to your customers. This is not a fault of the product - but the product does make it easy to pester customers. Their documentation is really great at teaching you how to communicate with users, so this isn't really a fault.
  • Very small nit, but when building segments of users, you can't specify both AND and OR conditions. This makes it frustratingly hard to build up nuanced segments.
It is great when deployed well (that's on the user, not on Intercom), particularly for supporting SaaS applications with manageably sized user bases. Supporting all your users with real-time chat can be a challenge on a massive scale. The best advice there is make sure that you don't have tons of support problems. If your product is really clean and stable, the support traffic is very manageable. The tools for handling this are great.

It's also perfect for managing user-targeted messaging on how to use your product and get the most out of it.
Read Michael Ball-Marian's full review
idan kadosh profile photo
May 03, 2018

Review: "Using Intercom in SAAS customer success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to support registered users of our app and answering questions about features for site visitors.
  • Customer and lead platform, the messenger prompts your site visitors to enter their information and become a new lead.
  • Customer support, when customers can chat with your team at any time it saves phone time and allows them to solve issues quickly
  • The API is a little lacking in options.
  • Ideally, you would use them to segment and update all client information.
If you want to onboard new clients and upsell features within your app its perfect. For customer/ lead database and user segmentation not as good.
Read idan kadosh's full review
Lakindu Gunasekara profile photo
March 16, 2018

"Intercom User's Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is a good CRM system to use for a business. It gives a unique experience to the users from both sides. Gives the feeling of chatting with a friendly supporter from the other side. Also when integrating Intercom, I find it easy and their customer support is really good.
  • Customer Support
  • Easy integration
  • APIs [need] to be improved
Customer Service
Read Lakindu Gunasekara's full review
Mayowa Adelagbo profile photo
January 03, 2018

Intercom Review: "Puts us in touch with our business performance."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Intercom to connect to and offer support to our customers and client. We also used it as a basic marketing campaign tool sometimes.
  • This software enable us assign, reply, and close conversations across the company's website, social media, and mobile app.
  • Operator Bot: This tool allows us hold conversations with our customers when our support staff are offline.
  • Conversation tagging: This tool allowed me bring my colleagues into conversations with our clients simply by typing their names in the conversation.
  • We had issues where customers had sent us messages on Intercom and we never received these messages.
  • Intercom need be more focused on either being a sales, support or marketing tool; it tends to be everything at same time, thereby making it unable to provide a perfect experience in any of the earlier listed areas.
Intercom is perfect for staying in touch with our clients and customers; guiding them through every stage of our business.
It is also perfect for key metric measurement; allowing us better understand our business' key insight.
Read Mayowa Adelagbo's full review
No photo available
March 06, 2018

Review: "Intercom is great to humanize automated messaging"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom was very useful to chat with our website visitors. My sales team was able to instantly connect with potential buyers and remove potential friction.

We were also using intercom mailing system at some point to on board our clients.
  • Instant chat with website visitors : very useful to connect with potential buyers who wish to remain anonymous
  • Target specific people : you can trigger specific messages based on a user behavior either on your website or towards your product
  • Mailing system had poor targeting rules, it was very difficult to control my overall workflow and make sure people would receive the message I wanted
  • Pricing can be super expensive based on your user base
  • Instant chat with website visitors
  • Lead generation
  • Sales contact
Read this authenticated review
Bethany Chan profile photo
August 01, 2017

Review: "Personalized, Automated Engagement with Intercom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is currently being used by the Saas division of our company within our Customer Success, Sales, Support, and Marketing departments. It's been extremely valuable for keeping track of user activity across multiple software platforms, for identifying and reaching out to leads, and for supporting and engaging current customers. Intercom was quick to implement and very easy to learn, and we were up and running with it almost immediately. Having visibility into our customers and their activity has vastly increased our customer management and improved how we communicate with them.
  • Intercom integrates smoothly with our apps. It's customizable and very minimal so that the appearance isn't particularly intrusive to the rest of our app's layout.
  • Intercom has made it extremely easy to create professional messages that look simple, clean, and modern, but also fun. They support pretty much all the media you'd want to put in a modern message or email (.gifs, embedded videos, photos) and custom HTML/CSS emails if needed.
  • I love that Intercom is constantly innovating and developing upon their platform. They come out with new features regularly that add loads to the experience.
  • The attributes that Intercom provides with each user make it easy to filter and narrow down your audience to the ideal recipients of a message.
  • Intercom could be better at integrating with Salesforce. Ideally we'd love for Intercom to sync communications with Contacts and Accounts, and I currently am not aware of a way to do this smoothly.
  • While Intercom already does a great job of providing insight into individual Engagement message analytics, I'd love to see some valuable advanced reporting and analytics dashboards of our communication and interaction with users, as well as user activity.
  • Intercom provides detailed filtering for attributes, but it would help my team and I if even more advanced filter logic were available, similar to Salesforce's filter logic.
Intercom is extremely well suited for in-app support communication. They provide live chat that supports quick media uploads (.gifs, images, videos, URLs) and it's a non-intrusive way to support users as they navigate your website. The platform is also great at helping you track the usage and activity of users - being able to see who has signed up recently and who has logged in recently has been invaluable for us. We also use Intercom heavily to send out emails based on user interaction with our app, which has helped us automate our engagement with users as well. However, I've found Intercom less appropriate for sending more detailed/customized design email blasts to a certain email list and have used alternative email blast software for that, since it provides more detailed reporting and analytics.
Read Bethany Chan's full review
Jordon Sargent profile photo
September 13, 2017

Intercom Review: "Would Highly recommend"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is a customer messaging platform that enables our team to communicate with leads, qualified prospects, and current customers via in-app messages. This is being used by sales, support, customer success, and other areas of the business. The main departments using it include sales and support. It enables multiple departments to communicate and be on the same page without having to scroll through various email chains.
  • With Intercom, you can set up target, timed messages to your audience(s). When people sign up, drop off, become inactive, etc. you can send tailored messages.
  • Intercom allows for mass emailing without any problems.
  • Intercom is great for being able to collaborate and discuss a problem internally while reviewing the prospect's email.
  • When collaborating between various departments, there have been a couple times that I've accidentally sent what I thought was an internal message to the actual customer. While it was a user error, it's an easy mistake to do. Better distinction of who you're sending messages to would be helpful.
  • Sometimes it gets confusing when you reply to a message directly in Intercom, on mobile device, and via email. It just gets kind of messy because multiple messages come in.
  • The initial training is kind of confusing.
Intercom is ideal for managing a large database of customers, clients, prospects, leads, etc. Here is a scenario in which Intercom is used at my organization on a daily basis: A prospect is going through our website and signs up for a free plan. While using the tool, they have questions so they send a message to us. It comes in Intercom to support. The support rep realizes it's a sales question so they notify me of it right in the app. I can go in and see the whole conversation and pick up where the support rep left off. Very helpful in that regard.
Read Jordon Sargent's full review
Hunter Brennick profile photo
September 12, 2017

User Review: "Intercom: the jack-of-all-trades"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has evolved into the backbone of our Marketing Stack. We use it for automated communication with anon visitor traffic, onboarding & nurture emails with our existing user base, our help documentation (help.landinglion.com) and automated customer support throughout the app IN ADDITION to it being a simple customer support synchronous communication vessel.
  • Anonymous Visitor Traffic
  • Automated Customer Support
  • Onboarding & Nurture Campaigns
  • Their "help" stuff is pretty limited functionally at the moment. We use it more due to convenience and the automated responses you can wire up via chat to link help articles given keywords.
Like I previously said: well suited for anon visitor engagement, user onboarding / nurture, help documentation.
Read Hunter Brennick's full review
Stratford Canning profile photo
August 29, 2017

Review: "Intercom is a must for support and sales alike!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intercom is being used across Customer Success, Customer Support and Sales. Its primary function is as a support for our clients but since we added it to our website we have had a few very strong scoring leads come through. It allows us to quickly and efficiently respond to all queries, support or prospect.
  • It is extremely good at enabling us to quickly and efficiently respond to all incoming queries.
  • It captures all the historical data of the users making it easy to look back at previous engagements with the customer.
  • You are able to easily allocate and copy in other teams and team members. Great for cross team collaboration.
  • The reporting is accurate and very sophisticated.
  • It's a little complicated to get to grips with. There are almost too many features and can be overwhelming.
When a prospect messages in via Intercom we can get notified immediately and pick it up very quickly in real time. This means we pick up prospects when they are most engaged and likely to respond. It's become invaluable in providing a steady stream of inbound leads.

Only issue is when someone messages in from our website and we don't have any details other than the email. We might be wasting our time engaging with what we think might be a lead but it actually is someone who is not a fit.
Read Stratford Canning's full review
No photo available
October 24, 2017

Intercom Review: "A must-have for companies that love their customers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intercom to manage conversations with our customers in real-time and to provide in-app popups that help them get around better. The entire organization uses it. We get more than daily questions from visitors merely browsing our site, who are then often converted to users and customers. It just streamlines the entire process of two-way communication and makes everyone involved seem more human.
  • Customer chat - no lag, lots of options
  • User behavior analysis - We can see all events done by the user and previous chat logs
  • Marketing automation - since our users download a lot of content, we can't "merge" them into one person and therefore have to manually add or exclude email emails from mailing lists.
  • SaaS products
  • Anyone with a complicated product that users are likely to have questions about
  • Any company that wants to be more transparent in communication
Read this authenticated review

About Intercom

Intercom is a contextual messaging system from the company of the same name founded in 2011 and based in San Francisco. Central to Intercom is live engagement with customers who visit your site or use your apps via text, chat, or email, or summarily: contextual messages for customer outreach. Beyond the core capabilities, Intercom also supports triggered emails for engagement or marketing purposes, customer segmentation and analysis, as well as integrations with MailChimp and Salesforce, and further extensibility via APIs and webhooks.

Intercom's popularity has expanded rapidly since its inception; the company is backed by The Social + Capital Partnership, Bessemer Venture Partners, and others to the tune of over $30 million in funding. The free package Observe is included in all paid plans and is available indefinitely as a standalone, and supports unlimited tracking of activity and visitor data. Beyond this the pay-per-user styled priced tiers may be tried for free for 14 days, and contain contextual, in-app messaging and triggered messaging for learning about customers and maintaining engagement. This highly configurable platform may be purposed simply to track visitors, or to chat with live visitors and increase customer engagement, and for marketing purposes.

Intercom Integrations

Intercom Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No