Luminate Reviews

130 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 81)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Luminate Online - essential tool for nonprofit email marketing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Effectively monitor the engagement stats for email campaigns
  • Responsive & mobile-friendly donation and survey forms
  • Run reports on a variety of online metrics
  • Out-of-the-box reports are not robust enough for many national nonprofits' needs
  • Customization is needed for many campaign components; not everything is point-and-click / drag-and-drop for a novice user
  • Auto-notifications are good, but don't always perform as expected
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

It does a lot, if you can afford it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Luminate has what I think is an excellent email marketing component, with analytics and tracking capabilities equal to or better than the product our organization chose to replace it.
  • Event creation is easy, once past the learning curve.
  • Luminate is a comprehensive platform that covers many bases.
  • Luminate is a deep platform, and requires a very skilled administrator conversant with a number of areas: design, coding, finance, etc., in order to give a professional-looking appearance. There are many expensive consultants that provide this service.
  • When we last used Luminate, the "Participant Center," used by event registrants, was pretty clunky.
  • Lack of accessibility was a problem.
Read this authenticated review
Daniella Dowiak | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Luminate Online - worth the investment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • LO is a great one-stop-shop for registration/fundraising events. Allowing users to register and then fundraise using the same tool (i.e. the same login) is a great way to enhance fundraising results. Also having this information be a part of the main database is incredibly helpful for an organization.
  • LO is great for email campaigns - the system allows you to create different groups and queries of your database and then target constituents with messages that are appropriate to them.
  • LO's donation forms are pretty simple to set up and are an easy way to track both online and offline donations.
  • LO's TeamRaiser can be a bit tricky to use. It's a great tool, but to make it look really nice and be user friendly, it needs someone with some coding expertise to set it up.
  • Parts of the LO system are still not mobile responsive (the participant center in particular). I know LO is working on this, but until it's done, this is going to be a frustration for some users.
  • While Blackbaud has really invested in tutorials and help/support areas, LO can still be incredibly overwhelming for an organization that is new to the system and doesn't have the money to pay someone to help set it up, or doesn't have someone on staff who has used it before.
Read Daniella Dowiak's full review
Philip Nawrocki | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Ruminate about Luminate

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The donation forms are easy to set up to start collecting donations instantly.
  • Getting an e-mail out the door is fairly straightforward.
  • The TeamRaiser module is great for fundraising for big events with multiple registration levels and allowing participants to fundraise on your behalf.
  • Constituent management is fairly easy.
  • Reporting needs some work, this is being worked on in their new BETA program.
  • The eCommerce module needs some work. It would be great to have more ability to customize parts of it without having to rewrite the code.
  • The Events module could use some improvements as well.
  • The Personal Fundraising module needs a lot of work. It really cannot work as needed right now. We started using TeamRaiser to handle this, but it could be great.
Read Philip Nawrocki's full review
Lawrence Willim | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Luminate: Great for the correctly sized operation

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Donation form creation is easy and user-friendly. They are also easily organizable within the system.
  • It's great for creating surveys when forms don't necessarily have the flexibility we desire.
  • Content is easily created and uploaded to our website.
  • Email management is limited. Constituents are only able to have a primary email address and a secondary address which is only mailed to when using the CC function. Sending to the correct and preferred email address is difficult to discern and effective use in Luminate requires extensive data cleanup.
  • Reports are not as user-friendly as in other programs. It has occurred multiple times where users are unsure how to get specific fields to pull in reports.
  • TeamRaiser is a challenging addition to Luminate. Campaigns within it require extensive work and management.
Read Lawrence Willim's full review
Nathan B. Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2018

Shining a Light through Luminate

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Clean and fresh look
  • Mobile friendly
  • Great support team when questions arise
  • Copying an event from year to year you have to go into multiple areas to make all the changes - having a more streamlined process would be helpful.
  • It doesn't fully integrate with our database (Raiser's Edge) which is also a Blackbaud product.
Read Nathan B. Smith's full review
Robert Stowe | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2018

Luminate Online - Great for team-based fundraising and email marketing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Online fundraising
  • Email Marketing
  • Integration with other systems (Raiser's Edge, Salesforce, etc)
  • Advocacy module is weak
  • Blackbaud support has struggled for some time
  • Lack of product updates (though we hear they are coming soon)
Read Robert Stowe's full review
Jennifer Mejia, MPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2018

Luminate Online Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Luminate Online is great at keeping forms simple. You are able to make email sign-ups really easy for constituents. They can also manage their email preferences very easily.
  • Segmentation is also a strength. Luminate Online allows organizations to segment their constituents into groups or interests, making it easier to send targeted communications.
  • Raiser's Edge integration is also a big plus. Luminate Online is able to "talk" to Raiser's Edge to ensure that constituent records are up to date with their online giving. Raiser's Edge is also able to send information back to Luminate Online to make sure that any changes that are made in Raisers Edge are reflected on the record in Luminate Online.
  • Luminate Online's Raiser's Edge integration can still use further development. Specifically, allowing donation form comment/notes to be mapped into fields in Raiser's Edge for donors to add any notes regarding such gifts.
Read Jennifer Mejia, MPA's full review
Samuel Gomez Recuero | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

Luminate Online - Your Fundraising Hub

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Team raisers: If your organization has team raisers, Luminate is the one you should be using. The whole arsenal of tools to use arond TeamRaisers is really unmatchable. You can even set the Event Manager Center to grant your event managers to some or all of the management options of the system. You decide the degree of delegation you give to your event managers.
  • Email. Do you need to communicate with your supporters? Email will be your tool of choice, do it with the rich text editor or go old school with the plain editor and add your HTML directly. Do A/B testing to pick your best design and measure message performance. Pick your target and see a detailed report of your target audience before sending the email. Once the email is sent, keep track of the results with the information on the panel and the performance report of your email together with a bounce email report, etc.
  • Need to recruit volunteers? The survey module will help you create your form for them to fill. What the system may not offer you can achieve with its flexibility and the great support for custom Java scripts.
  • Personal events, ticketed events, and the Ecommerce module could use some updating. But they are workable.
  • Multi-locale is sometimes a hit and miss but for the most part works pretty well.
Read Samuel Gomez Recuero's full review
Amy Barker, bCRE | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

Luminate Online-Great tool for email marketing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email marketing
  • Suppression of opt-outs
  • Online giving
  • The support could use some improvement. It is getting much, much better now that they are owned by Blackbaud, but there are still some areas that need work.
  • The integration with Raiser's Edge is fantastic, but has been unstable as of late. This is adding a lot of down time to gift entry, where gifts can not come down through the connector. But the RE/LO integration feature is a huge improvement!
  • Querying and reporting within Luminate is a little clunky.
Read Amy Barker, bCRE's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2018

Luminate Online - The sky's the limit!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Luminate Online is a comprehensive program that lets you manage email lists, sell event tickets, collect survey information and host donation pages all in one.
  • Luminate Online has a direct connector to our Raiser's Edge database, which is a huge help to ensure that our data matches within both systems and saves time with data entry.
  • Luminate Online is very customizable.
  • One issue we came across is that the event module is not very functional for what we need to sell event tickets. There is no way to ask for each registrant's name, and there is no way to send notification emails when someone registers for an event. These are 2 things that are absolutely necessary for us so we are not able to use Luminate Online for our events, and I am disappointed such a robust system is missing such key functionality.
  • Luminate Online can be a bit cumbersome to navigate. I feel you need someone with deep technical and coding skills to truly utilize Luminate Online to its fullest potential.
  • While the connector to the Raiser's Edge database is great, there is still a lot of work to be done to make sure it functions well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

New to Luminate

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracks constituent preferences and interests
  • Many options for form customization
  • Reports on online giving trends
  • Options in the back-end of the system can be overwhelming - too many options in multiple layered lists
  • Organization gifts cannot transfer from Luminate to Raiser's Edge - the connector does not allow this type of gift to flow, so a manual process is required
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Luminate - easy online email marketing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Track email open rates, click through rates, donations associated etc.
  • Peer to peer fundraising tracking and emails.
  • Emailing groups is easy and intuitive - in multiple languages too.
  • A few things in events aren't multi-language by default.
  • Team Raiser out of the box isn't pretty - best to have redesigned skin.
  • US customers tend to get improvements first - but that's typical of anything for us Canadian customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Luminate Online Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Clean, professional looking emails.
  • Wide variety of reports.
  • Personal Fundraising and TeamRaiser functionality for events.
  • Reporting on sustaining gift.
  • General internal user experience for gathering data.
  • eCommerce is clunky.
Read this authenticated review
Katy Sorsher Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2017

Celebrating a Decade with Luminate Online

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Managing email campaigns is something we really appreciate about Luminate. Though people who do this at our organization have technical knowledge, it really is not required with an easy WYSIWYG tool and sending out mass targeted emails is something we do on a regular basis.
  • All our donation forms are hosted in Luminate, and they, too, are easy to manage and set up for various projects. It's also easy to get the needed data and reports in order to analyze our progress.
  • Today most websites are built in open code and provide easy access to clients in case changes are needed in the CSS etc. Luminate somewhat limits this access as not all the files are accessible through the online management areas. This can be improved upon.
  • As far as we know, Luminate Online does not support blogs, and so when we did have a blog, we had to host it outside Luminate.
Read Katy Sorsher Smith's full review
Sydney Graczyk | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2018

Luminate for Marketing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Luminate does a great job of giving detailed information of online donors and sending them automated emails in return for their donation.
  • Luminate also has easy step-by-step guidelines for the email creation.
  • Luminate provides multiple ways to analyze and track data.
  • I would like to be able to customize more of the font and word placement in the email creations.
  • As of now, you can not insert a video into the email, only a photo with a hyperlink to the online video. I would like to be able to embed the video into the actual email.
  • I would like to be able to see the last time that I ran queries for my online donors so that I am not overlapping donors or missing donors because of dates.
Read Sydney Graczyk's full review
Kevin Cawthra, CA, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2018

Luminate great in theory and has potential - but it needs some investment quickly to be cutting edge & user friendly

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • E-commerce. Our stores are easy to navigate, mobile friendly and it is fairly easy to manage products in the stores.
  • Donation pages. We can modify the look and feel of the pages and have different donation campaigns that we can send out.
  • The single sign-on functionality works decently well for us, between LO and our web developer. We use it for our member network/portal.
  • Reporting. It is cumbersome to pull or assemble reports out of LO. It doesn't seem user-friendly and should be updated to more current functionality.
  • Surveys. Survey are ok, but if we want to customize beyond the approx 15 survey question template, we are stuck.
  • Integration with Raiser's Edge. There is limitations on the integration, and this could improve immensely so that clients don't have to do an export/import process as a workaround.
  • API integration. This is complex and has its limits as well. The API integration seems hard to use.
Read Kevin Cawthra, CA, CPA's full review
Sue Landgraf | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

Advocate with Luminate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The system is exceptionally easy to use once you've been trained by the Luminate staff.
  • The ability to allow the constituent to personalize our letter to their legislator is quite important, and also easy for them to do.
  • It is essential that the system automatically sends the action alert letter responses from the constituent to their correct legislator, and it does. There is no need for the constituent to find their legislators' email addresses -- the system does it for them.
  • I would like to see easier access to metrics analyzing the delivery and follow through by respondents to our email action alerts.
Read Sue Landgraf's full review
Tammi Burkhardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2017

Luminate Online Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Dynamic and static group creation. Luminate Online allows for the building, addition and removal of records in groups.
  • Email campaign management.
  • Online donation form creation and management.
  • Constituent profile management, especially related to the capability of deleting erroneous or non-valid records.
  • Creation and modification of customized acknowledgement and receipts.
  • The capability of having organization records that are tied with RE7 records, currently the system does not include an email, MemberId or ConstituentId field.
Read Tammi Burkhardt's full review
Kelly Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

A True Data Minded Individual would love this

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • House Donor Information. Easy report pulling. Queries and lists.
  • I like how everything is housed on one platform. Webpages, emails and donor profiles. User friendly.
  • It works nicely with other blackbaud products such as Raiser's Edge. Easy importing and exporting options.
  • I would say the layout of emails [is an area for improvement]. It isn't awful but I feel it could be upgraded and more user friendly. Making text and picture boxes as well as formatting text can be a bit of a pain.
Read Kelly Norris's full review
Jennifer Grantham | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2017

Loving Luminate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Solid email platform. Fairly easy to use.
  • Great place to manage online donations and monthly giving.
  • Survey function is clunky and needs to be modernized.
  • Calendar function is clunky. Wish you could edit the look and feel of it.
  • TeamRaiser needs to be modernized. The participant center is being used less and less by constituents because it is not that user-friendly. More people are turning to mobile.
Read Jennifer Grantham's full review

About Luminate

Luminate Online aims to help non-profits engage more effectively with supporters and raise more money by enabling integrated campaigns for digital, social and mobile channels.

According to the vendor, Luminate Online helps non-profits:
  • Better understand online supporters
  • Make the right ask at the right time
  • Launch creative fundraising campaigns
Automated campaigns stimulate engagement and action through targeted welcome messages with personalized appeals. Smart online and mobile donation forms dynamically tailor the ask and provide flexible options like recurring, matching and tribute gifts to optimize conversion and maximize giving.

Passions, preferences and giving history trigger additional campaigns building stewardship through more relevant interactions and opportunities to engage. The company also aims to offer top notch support and numerous free resources. All clients receive a personal Customer Success Manager to offer best practices and resources to succeed.

Luminate Features

Has featureDynamic Email Campaigns
Has featureOnline Fundraising with Smart Donation Forms
Has featureDonation Processing
Has featureFundraising Analytics & Reporting
Has featureCalendar Events
Has featureeCommerce Capabiltiies
Has featureEngagement Factors
Has featureLuminate Advocacy
Has featurePeer to Peer Fundraising with Luminate TeamRaiser

Luminate Screenshots

Luminate Integrations

Luminate Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Luminate Online is priced based on the number of email addresses on file, modules used and service plan. Our peer to peer offering, TeamRaiser, has a transactional, shared success pricing model.

Luminate Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Luminate Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Luminate Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Canada, United States, Some European Countries
Supported Languages: English