Heap

Heap

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
Top Rated
Heap

Overview

Recent Reviews

Solid Data Tool

9 out of 10
April 13, 2022
Heap is currently used across my whole organization and has helped us to democratize our data greatly. The tool allows all employees …
Continue reading

Heap saves PMs' days.

8 out of 10
March 21, 2022
We use Heap for tracking user events on our websites. Heap's particularly useful feature is retroactive tracking, which allows PMs and …
Continue reading

Heap has got it all

8 out of 10
March 20, 2022
We use Heap to identify macros in user behavior to inform product decisions. There's a lot of data that is captured but heap lets us …
Continue reading

Heap for Product Analytics

8 out of 10
March 20, 2022
We use Heap as our primary user behavior tracking and analysis tool. Before Heap, we didn't have a very clear picture of how users …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Relationship 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Value 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2022

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Heap, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
Up to 10k sessions/month

Growth

Starting at $3,600 annually

Cloud
Up to 300k sessions/year

Pro

Contact Heap Sales

Cloud
Custom sessions per month and unlimited projects

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://heap.io/pricing?utm_medium=revi…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Heap?

Heap analyzes datasets to illuminate hidden insights within the user’s digital journey, to act with confidence. Heap helps to see and understand every single thing users do, so product and marketing teams know where to make the most impactful improvements to the digital product or website.
  • Improve customer experience: Pinpoint exactly where users are struggling and make improvements to the customer experience, driving an intuitive, enjoyable user experience.
  • Speed time-to-market and optimize the impact of product and business teams: Rather than relying purely on gut instinct, leverage digital engagement data to test hypotheses and answer questions as they arise. With data-driven insights, confidently bring new features & experiences to market.
  • Build increasingly valuable features and experiences: Leverage data to build consensus on engineering investments that can be clearly tied to business outcomes.
Over 8,000 businesses use Heap to drive business impact by delivering better experiences and better products. Customers include companies in B2B SaaS, eCommerce, and Financial Services such as Twilio, Logitech, Snapfish, Eventbrite, Esurance, Northwestern Mutual, and e*Trade.

Heap Features

  • Supported: Autocapture (Codelessly capture every interaction/event in a product or website)
  • Supported: Event Visualizer (Locate, tag and name events with this tool)
  • Supported: Data Engine (Data Dictionary and Governance tools provide control and organization of data)
  • Supported: APIs (Augment data with flexible APIs)
  • Supported: Sources (Import data from other tools)
  • Supported: Reporting and Dashboards (Get insights on activation, retention, conversion, engagement and other key digital/product metrics)
  • Supported: Ad-hoc Analysis (Retention, Conversion, Funnel, Cohort analysis, etc)
  • Supported: Heap Connect (Bring user data with managed ETL into warehouses such as Snowflake, Redshift)
  • Supported: Heap Activate (Drive action base on Heap data via connectors to Appcues, Marketo, Intercom, and Salesforce)

Heap Screenshots

Dashboard in Heap (Use to get Product or User Behavior Insights)Effort Analysis provides the first-ever quantitative measurement of user friction, capturing the difficulty users face when moving through every step of every user flow across the digital experience.Heap Illuminate looks for the most common events between two steps in a funnel and generates a Top Events table that displays how well paths including different events convert to the next step so you can understand how that behavior is helping or hurting conversion.From Top Events you can choose an event and use Path Comparison to fork your funnel and see how the selected behavior impacts conversion downstream.

Heap Videos

Heap Downloadables

Heap Integrations

Heap Competitors

Heap Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)40%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)20%

Heap Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesAmericas, EMEA, APAC
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Heap?

Heap is a web analytics platform captures every user interaction on web iOS with no extra code. The tool allows you to track events and set up funnels to understand user flow and dropoff. It also provides visualization tools to track trends over time.

How much does Heap cost?

Heap starts at $0.

What is Heap's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Heap?

The most common users of Heap are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 143)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is easily segmented our user base. I am using it to track the eCommerce trend to notice the alert that we could prevent or anything that happens beforehand. We could do anything before we could when we foresee there is a downturn trend in the upcoming quarter. Also, we could analyze the user behavior and be able to provide a better service to our customers and users.
  • Segmented users
  • User friendly
  • Easily do tracking based on the element on the website
  • Don't have details analysis tie with our actual online sales
  • Don't have time spend for each users
  • Don't have enough detail analysis like bounce rate and etc
I am a google analytics user before this. I found out that there is quite a lot of thing that google analytics able to track but heaps unable to track. eg: the bounce rate, time spent, eCommerce sales data, etc. But however, the segmentation is quite easy to use in heaps as compared to google analytics.
April 13, 2022

Solid Data Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heap is currently used across my whole organization and has helped us to democratize our data greatly. The tool allows all employees access to performance data and empowers users from various departments to engage in site testing by simplifying the reporting process. We use it for everything from tracking daily health metrics to making large-scale decisions about test performance.
  • Data readability
  • Increasing reporting confidence
  • Including more thorough definitions
  • Documentation on suggested data manipulations across industries
Heap is well suited to be used across Digital, Performance Marketing, and Operations departments in particular. Other less technical-focused employees may have difficulty utilizing it due to the lack of definitions included around terms & lack of walkthrough documentation provided.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Product teams use Heap to define & report on metrics, analyze user trends over time, and audit the customer experience, track website usage, and follow up on A/B tests. PMs and Analysts use Heap closely, but the resulting dashboards and findings are shared with the whole organization. At our company, Heap is most useful for 1) debugging/retracing a customer's path when something went awry, 2) funnel conversion reporting from Landing Page clicks to Checkout, and 3) observing long-term patterns.
  • Preserving web analytics history
  • Visualization, especially for A/B testing
  • Real time data and fast results
  • The Event Visualizer, which they market as one of their best features, does not work with every website.
  • Race conditions - Heap gets confused when multiple events fire around the same time.
  • Server-side and client-side events don't play nice in Heap. When making a funnel, it's best to stick to either server-side OR browser events, but not both.
Heap is suited for a variety of analytical purposes, but it is best for tracking + reporting conversion, retention, and engagement. Its most basic features are easy to use, but its core value can be best unlocked by a proper analyst or front-end engineer. It is not appropriate as a Source of Truth. Browser events by nature are somewhat unreliable, so Heap data should not be used to report out to investors or the public. In other words, it's not a substitute for a proper database.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickly get a sense of how often users use a certain feature or click on a certain area Quickly get a sense of ad-hoc funnels Some of the pathway analysis stuff seems really neat, but I haven't figured out how to use it well. It seems like you need really robust heap tracking for the analysis to work properly.
  • Help me understand the usage of certain areas of my platform
  • Gather extra information via custom events
  • Define events that I want to keep tabs on
  • The event visualizer is very slow and a bit confusing
  • Shared (public) metrics are a mess. I find it difficult to easily determine if an area I'm interested in is tracked
  • When creating an event, it's annoying to have to fill out all the filters when you're tracking something that is similar to an existing event (Perhaps something like event profiles could make it easy to get the event 90% to completion).
  • I don't know of anyone that has evergreen heap reports. Most of our use cases are for ad-hoc experiments or deep dives.
Good Seeing how often users click on a certain area of a page. Understanding where users drop off on a flow Bad Events should probably be organized by location or some other more intuitive organizational structure There seem to be some types of analysis on the analysis section, but I ( a product manager) can't figure out how to use I had no trouble teaching myself Looker, SQL, or data studio, but I have a hard time troubleshooting and learning how to do things on Heap
Alexandria Bruschi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap to view data on our products. Oftentimes, I'll use it to view usage on the product area my team, and I own. I find that most of the product analysts at our organization use it to send out dashboards to our team. However, I really enjoy the product and will try to query the data myself before going to a product analyst.
  • The UI is incredibly clean and easy to use.
  • It's easy to share the dashboard when needed.
  • The querying is also very easy to use and get started on my first time.
  • The navigation and its icons could be improved -- sometimes, I don't know what each category is referring to.
  • There is a lot of functionality in Heap that I didn't know existed until I met with a researcher. I'd love more onboarding and educational resources from Heap.
Heap has been so helpful in allowing all teammates (technical or non-technical) the ability to view data about our products. Using the product has been so easy because all of the data is there to view; it's just a matter of querying it.

I wish I did more of setting up queries myself with the functionality where Heap can create paths of data in the UI that do not exist already. I think that would be super useful but unfortunately just forget how to do it sometimes!
March 21, 2022

Heap saves PMs' days.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap for tracking user events on our websites. Heap's particularly useful feature is retroactive tracking, which allows PMs and Data Scientists to track events that they either forgot or did not think of, instead of having to install new triggers and wait for results which often takes 1 - 2 weeks even if the sample size is 10K+.
  • Retroactive tracking
  • Visualizer
  • Onboarding
  • UX is not as friendly as other tools like FullStory.
Heap is well-suited for detailed funnel analyses. However, it feels a bit "incomplete" in that it doesn't offer (1) user recording, (2) errors [e.g., rage clicks], (3) an easy way to construct funnels.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heap helps feature teams understand consumer behavior and interactions with their products. I can use Heap to get an understanding of our customers' activation funnel, the retention cohorts, and the number of monthly active users. Heap makes it easy to define and customize the definition of 'active' through their events and combo event definitions.

As an enterprise, all feature teams use Heap to track their core and drill down metrics. We can all see these reports, which bring a level of transparency to our organization. The main dashboard is shared across our enterprise and shows all users the critical metrics we swarm around in our business.
  • Event definitions
  • Report creation and sharing
  • Rich templates to get started quickly
  • Live view to see events in action
  • No-Code solution to define events in your app (Event Visualizer)
  • Sending Rich Reports (recurring daily, weekly, or monthly)
  • Integrations to Share Reports (e.g. no Slack integration)
  • No mobile apps to view reports
Heap is great for front-end tracking. You can send all sorts of data over to Heap for full-stack tracking, but it seems better suited for front-end analysis. Depending on what sort of data you send, you can pivot, filter, or group by various cohorts.

Once you create a report, there is no real option for the end-consumer to interact with it as you see in Tableau (configure filters, etc.). It seems less appropriate for use cases where you stand up a single report and ask others to self serve to their specific views.
Jesse Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap for both marketing websites and product analytics. we can create events and customize those events to be specific to our customers in the app, and then do some basic analysis of our marketing website as well through building custom reports. The ease of implementation was a big factor in us bringing on Heap as a tool.
  • Event Creation
  • Funnel Analysis
  • Data System Integrations
  • Testing environments
  • Better homepage experience
  • More templates
Heap is great for product analytics, analysis of user flows, and where folks may or may not be dropping off in an intended workflow within your app. It is also great for tagging events on the fly without the need for development resources. If you are strapped for those resources then it might be a great time to look at Heap.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heap is used for: Troubleshooting Validating user session / actions Analytics for bug events
  • Tracking user usage (step by step)
  • Tracking user device information
  • Ease of use, once you tried out 1 or 2 queries
  • It was a little overwhelming to start using Heap
  • The update speed sometimes are a bit slow (i.e. we know user have done a session but it does not show up till an hour + later)
  • Building charts was a little hard to get used to in the beginning
Well suited: Trying to figure out what did the users do prior to producing bugs Less appropriate: Hard to figure out user usage path on a higher-level scale (i.e. out of all our users, where did everyone go after login, how many branched out to different pages, where? How many dropped out and where, after how long?
Gregory Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap to better understand how our users are actually interacting with the products we built. We leveraged Heap across many product offerings to get REAL insights into user behavior, down to each individual click and event from every single user, without having to code any of that upfront. The best part about the auto capture is that it's retroactive, meaning that from the day you install Heap, you capture everything.
  • INCREDIBLY easy implementation
  • Easy to use for both technical and non-technical people
  • Requires close to zero ongoing engineering support
  • Automatically captures all event data by default without requiring upfront coded definitions
  • I believe some of the analysis types in Heap could be better explained to new users
Heap is, hands down, the best web analytics product I've ever used. I couldn't be a bigger fan. I've brought Heap to five different companies at this point, and it's had an incredible impact on each one of them. The auto capture essentially eliminates the need to spend valuable engineering time defining analytics events, and the event visualizer makes it possible for someone with zero technical ability to jump in and define events on their own.
March 20, 2022

Heap has got it all

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap to identify macros in user behavior to inform product decisions. There's a lot of data that is captured but heap lets us uncover valuable insights without having to do a lot of the heavy lifting to clean that data up a few clicks and you're already set up with a report that has data all the way from when you started collecting data. We use it extensively across the board to keep metrics in check and determine how we track against our KPI's
  • Historical data tracking so you dont miss out on things if you dint know what to track
  • Playbooks so we're able to set things up quickly
  • Informative dashboard suggestions. It might not be all end all but it helps us connect the dots in case we've missed anything
  • Aggregation of data is pretty hard. For eg. data in Looker is not sure how easy that integration looks like from a data warehouse.
  • Data is sometimes hard to understand. It spits out different values just by changing dates
  • Segments could be improved they only provide limited functionality
  • Sharing reports is an absolute pain. Unless someone is invited to a project they cant view it just keeps giving them errors. I've used other tools like Mixpanel / amplitude we can freely share stuff. With Heap, it's like you have to go through RBAC to do basic things. There should be at least a basic sharing mechanism so we can share reports with stakeholders.
Heap is great to use if you're trying to identify macros with large amounts of data where you have questions laid out of what you'd like to know. It has an amazing capability of easily providing a large amount of data to build an opinion around a certain topic is its conversion rates, paths from /into a page, etc. Although it's great at all those things there is some digging that is still left to do to get under the surface since things like distribution are not available for something like Avg time between events as it can pretty easily be skewed by only a few users with high numbers so there's no way for a novice user to root those things out. Also, cookies play a big role in these things if your users don't have cookies enabled there might not be enough data available.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a product manager, I want to know how customers are using our products. While I can and do have interviews directly with customers, that is a time-consuming process, is more liable to interpretation and faulty memory, and doesn't provide the quantitative data that I need to support some decisions about changes being made. While we could possibly get a good amount of data directly from our database, that involves me asking a DBA or Dev to run specific queries and it was extremely time-consuming. With Heap, I can tag the specific pieces (buttons, pages, whatever) I want to find data on, segment users, filter, and build reports and dashboards without involving dev resources. Those reports and dashboards are great tools to bubble up to senior leadership when it comes to metrics we are trying to actively track and influence. Overall, it has been a really valuable addition to our understanding of our customers and is surprisingly easy to figure out how to use.
  • Reports and dashboards
  • Funnels to see different paths users are taking
  • It provides some pre-set ideas of ways to analyze data points that are really helpful
  • There are some categorization pieces that are hard to understand and so I mostly don't categorize my reports outside of the dashboards
  • Dashboards can be a bit slow to load if you have a lot of reports on it
  • The relationship between date ranges in different rows as you're building a report can be a bit confusing
It is really easy to use once it is set up, and I particularly like the fact that once it is installed as you come up with new elements to tag and reports to create, it retro-actively applies that to as far back as Heap was originally installed. So, you don't have to think through everything you want to know immediately to make sure it is tracking it.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap as our primary user behavior tracking and analysis tool. Before Heap, we didn't have a very clear picture of how users interacted with our product. Heap allows us to better understand how users engage with our product, what a typical user flow looks like, and where there are frictions in our product. Typical use cases include the new customer onboarding funnel, tool setup funnels, and the customer support ticket funnel. In addition to user behavior funnels, Heap has been a valuable tool to understand which features of our product are used more/less frequently as well as which support and documentation articles are most popular. Finally, we've used several of Heap's integrations to pull in data from other sources, like Salesforce and SendGrid. This allows us to improve our user segmentation in addition to investigating complex user flows, like what the most common user journeys are after receiving an error email.
  • User Behavior Funnels
  • Common User Paths
  • Active User Calculations
  • Account-level analysis is difficult
  • Funnel analysis at the session level not supported
  • Properties that change over time are difficult to use
Heap is a great tool to use for user behavior analytics, particularly where the user level is the primary level of account. This is typically the case with B2C platforms. Heap is more complicated to use for B2B platforms, where an account has multiple users and the same user can be a part of multiple accounts. Heap is also well suited for websites that aren't built on React. With React, engineering support is required to add data attributes to all clickable parts of your website, like buttons. This is an important distinction to make as you're evaluating product analytics tools as it adds complexity to the setup of your Heap instance.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap to analyze funnels and flows through all our web properties, including our product. Heap means you can analyze any behavior after the fact, without having to pre-define events or flows. We love the web tools for defining events without having to add any code. Heap answers the question, "What did folks do?"
  • Analyze any web behavior that's happened in the past
  • Excellent visualization and reporting tools
  • Web based overlay for defining new events
  • For my level of usage, Heap doesn't have any
Analyzing what people actually do on the web. It doesn't have multivariate testing.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heap is used by many people on the product team weekly to get more insight into how users are interacting with our products. We constantly use Heap to answer questions like What % of users took X action? How does taking that action impact conversion? How long does it take users to take that action? How frequently are users taking the action? Where are users coming from and how does this impact conversion? Heap has recently made several big updates to their product that have made these questions much simpler to answer. Now users can easily filter on event properties as they are creating a report and you can still easily define new events. We mostly use Heap with our custom Segment events, but also occasionally use the native auto collection feature to get us out of a bind - it's nice to have the flexibility of using multiple sources.
  • Funnel analysis
  • Segmenting users based on prior behaviors
  • Automated threshold alerting
  • Optional events in funnel analysis
  • Data dictionary/validation
  • Sophisticated filtering and reporting with formulas
Heap is really well suited to simple to moderate analysis. It's a breeze to get quick answers to relatively simple questions on a simple product funnel, and I'd highly recommend the product if that's what you're looking for. If you're looking to do more sophisticated analysis related to time, calculated values other than a simple average, or deeper analysis on usage frequency/return user behavior; you may want to look elsewhere.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap to track conversions and another call to action for users across a range of different platforms on the site.
  • Data organization - it's very easy for things to get lost
  • Copy and pasting reports
  • Templates
  • Making it easy to save and duplicate reports
  • Making it easy to share without having to make it "public"
  • Making it easier to organize existing reports
- Heap is well suited for well-defined funnels/conversion metrics, where everyone understands what the events mean. - Heap is not well suited when there are funnel results that require confidence intervals as a decision rule
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use heap because in general, we have a lack of quality data and insights about our customers within the company. Most recently what the company sells is API but a certain portion of our products can only be accessed through front-end pages. For analysis related to front-end pages, I use Heap to study customer behavior and identify where customers usually get stuck.
  • The event visualizer was particularly helpful because I do not have to go chase engineers to match buttons and data source
  • Allowing us to pipe in data from split.io was amazing because I am using Heap to perform my AB test analysis directly.
  • I like the fact that the UI so far is relatively simple without too many tabs on the left… let’s not overcomplicate everything…
  • My company generally does not believe much in having centralized management teams…. So, no one is managing the definitions and it is a mess in definitions… a lot of outdated ones and badly named ones, and more.
  • I wish Heap output focused more first on the data table instead of the data chart. I am not against the data chart, please provide a data table by default, with actual counts and percentages listed before the chart.
  • If Heap wants to target data users (not sure if you do), then the data table is more intuitive than data charts.
  • I find it annoying that I have to turn off ad blocker before using event visualiser..
Heap is currently well suited for us to study AB test results for front-end related experiments. Event visualizer helps save me time to connect front-end components with the associated data source. However, without a centralized Heap management team in the company… data within Heap can start getting messy and it is like a jungle to navigate the data after a while.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Heap across our Marketing, Engineer, and Product teams for marketing analytics and product analytics purposes. Particularly from Marketing, Heap's used to better understand audience's behavior across multiple product offerings, identify areas where we can further improve and streamline the user experience, and segment identified users for behavior-based retargeting campaigns.
  • Flexible event definition
  • Wide range of integrations
  • Funnel analysis
  • Identity API
  • Limited logic filters within reports
  • Fairly steep learning curve
  • Attribution modeling
  • Event Visualizer can be improved
Heap's a great tool for both Marketing and Product teams when it comes to tracking site traffic and better understanding prospect/user behavior. The flexibility that Heap provides when setting up the environment allows us to cater events, properties, and reports specific to each team's need (Ex: Marketing focuses on tracking prospect's behavior whereas the Product team's main priorities to understand user behavior after logging in). From a Marketing perspective, the tool's definitely not (yet) user-friendly and event setup will still require you to have certain technical HTML knowledge in order to do it right, not to mention advanced custom API events that will require web development resources. Heap's best used for a team with dedicated Marketing Operations and Web Development support in order to get the most out of it.
Arthur Berman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heap informs us of usage trends in our application. We particularly use the funnel system to assess areas in our product that aren’t seeing the conversion they could. We integrate heap directly into redux and see a heap event for every client-side action dispatched on a user’s machine. This, along with a custom analytics object, forms the basis for our customer usage insights.
  • Funnels/conversion tracjing
  • Click tracking
  • Redux integration
  • Filtering, sorting, and tracking by event properties
  • Faster queries
  • Caching
Heap has definitely helped with our client-side insights, but we don’t get a lot of utility for our alerting, bug catching, etc. It’s very hard to look at heap data and assess problems. From that perspective, it is less useful than many tools which are able to offer traces through many layers of code.
Rebecca Lajoie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heap is being used mainly by technology, marketing, and product departments to analyze conversion rates to make key decisions. We also find it helps identify areas where we need to improve the user experience on our website to push our audience down the right URL paths.
  • Analyze Funnels
  • Quickly define key events on a website
  • Produce graphs seamlessly
  • Use case tutorial videos
I love it for analyzing conversion rates across key pages and understanding where to focus my efforts on first
At first, I found the platform difficult to utilize but with time I was able to navigate effectively.
The most challenging part of using Heap in a growing organization is the naming and structure in which reports and dashboards are organized. I work within the marketing department and our Heap leader internally works within the IT/Product department, which makes it challenging because we often don't speak the same language, so the learning curve has been steep without any specific use-case examples to leverage online.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Heap is used to give us valuable insights on our users with analytics that would otherwise not be possible without the use of our DB. We use this tool primarily in our Product Management, Technology and Analytics department. Marketing is beginning to make great use of the tool as well.
  • User friendly.
  • Robust.
  • Data rich.
  • Data governance.
  • Organization.
  • Lack of visualization customization.
Adding tracking and events into the database is time-consuming, cumbersome and needs to be done in advance with careful planning. Heap tracks everything all the time, so it's there when you think about it. That's the #1 benefit. The most difficult thing is data governance, even with the tools heap makes available like naming conventions and verified events. Organizations need to have a lot of internal structure in place to manage it effectively. Some specific feedback. If I need to repair an event by making it a combo event, if the old event is used in a bunch of reports it is so hard to update them all. Would be good to have a mass update feature. It's not easy to move events in and out of folders (you cant even create a folder until an event is in it). When using a report, sometimes it's good to view the definition easier to understand what you are using in a report (like a funnel as an example). Especially if it's someone else's report you aren't familiar with. You provide a hover in the dropdown that shows what goes into the definition, but it's not easy to go to that definition without opening a new tab (so you don't lose your report). In the definition area, it would be incredibly helpful if you could right-click and open in a new tab, or better, have an open in new tab button.
This goes back to what I said before, there are some quick wins that Heap can implement to make the usability a lot better, being able to peak into other areas without losing your report, opening in new tab, better folder organization/mgmt.
March 15, 2022

Heap of help

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I view dashboards and flows that engineers build for me. I haven't been as successful in building reports and funnels. We are using it now to analyze funnels related to sign-up and growth. We also use the dashboards to analyze experiments we're trying with small product changes. We use it to validate design changes.
  • Funnel building
  • Dashboards
  • effort analysis
  • time spent on tasks
  • Finding where events have been created on your site - the live site feature has never worked for me
  • Organization of heap events (management), so many colleagues have come and gone and it's confusing to know which is the "correct" event
  • More tutorials on how to do things
It's worked well when we measure changes in a funnel and find areas of improvement. I like seeing the effort and time spent on a task. Would love to see it build more for growth/experimentation. I usually wait for my engineers to map it and build events based on experiments vs control audience.
March 15, 2022

Heap is okay

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For general analytics - to gauge traffic quality and sales across the domain.
  • Somewhat intuitive interface
  • Realtime reports
  • Custom defined events and conversions
  • Attribution modeling
  • Faster loading of data
  • Easier segmentations
For marketers, it does have a learning curve and isn't as intuitive and fast as Google Analytics. There is no easy attribution modeling. We also have a lot of data gaps that make Heap data hard to use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Heap to capture user activity and engagement on our content management platform site. It helps us understand what types of content users are gravitating towards, and how they interact with the UI. We use this information to refine what content we publish (or archive), and how we refine the site design and functionality for a better user experience.
  • Segmenting users based on demographic or behavior
  • Categorizing data with customizable properties
  • Auto-capture of data
  • Event visualizer - helps me create new events that I didn't even think of
  • Data visualization - it's hard to customize chart formatting, especially when there are multiple items being graphed at the same time
  • Data exports - I want to be able to manipulate data sets from multiple queries, but when exporting data by week or month, I need to reformat it so that I can create pivot tables
  • Response time - When updating event properties with many conditionals, it takes several seconds to add and edit new conditionals and makes property maintenance a slow effort
Heap is great for websites that have a systematic and standardized approach for how pages are set up, items are named, etc. since it makes data collection and event definition easy and simple. It is less appropriate for websites that have many unique on-off pages, or where the content used (ex: URL download links) does not follow a standard taxonomy - this makes event and property definition difficult to manage and scale.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Heap to be able to track behavior on our patients' and clients' sides. The benefits of the service are felt across the organization: from ops to product to business stakeholders, Heap users at Cerebral have a real-time pulse on how features are being used by end-clients and to understand points of friction and to prioritize projects.
  • Tracks provider behavior in the EMR
  • Tracks results of AB tests
  • User behavior in onboarding funnels
  • How to structure events in funnels - there should be an option to add an OR in the last part of the funnel - i.e. people who subscribed to PLAN X or PLAN Y
  • The customer support is okay - but had hiccups during setup
  • Comparison paths - if we want to have two funnels but follow people who clicked "Yes" to a chart vs those who clicked "No" (there is the compare users option) but we cannot have two separate funnels side by side which would be ideal
Auto-capture, snapshots, and funnels are the reasons Heap is extremely valuable to a product organization that prides itself on understanding and improving user experience.