TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0I/2D/LB25RQ82W2PF.PNGMultivariate and A/B Testing Done RightWe leverage VWO's multivariate and A/B testing capabilities to improve conversion rates for our clients across the country. The detailed analytics and high level of customization make VWO a great platform for our CRO services, and our clients appreciate the simple reporting we can provide on results and recommendations.,VWO's adaptability and customization options allow us to tailor our tests to very unique scenarios. The overall ease-of-use of the platform allows us to quickly build and implement tests, without specialized coding knowledge, which means faster results for our clients.,The user interface within VWO does take a bit of time to get used to, especially as it pertains to switching back and forth between tests. When running multiple experiments on a site at a time, a clear and succinct dashboard for everything in one place would be helpful (as opposed to needing to switch between A/B, multivariate, etc).,9,Our clients have seen significant increases in engagement and conversion rates through changes we recommended after using VWO to test our hypotheses. Our clients and internal teams have appreciated the level of granular detail available within the platform, as more information leads to more reliable optimization suggestions.,The ability to implement tests quickly, use the VWO platform to implement coding adjustments (rather than having to edit site code), and track multiple conversion and engagement goals at once has allowed us to be more nimble, move quicker, and get to conclusions faster than other testing platforms we have used.,We have not used user segmentation much in our testing to date, aside from splitting a percentage of the overall traffic to a site. However, this capability is something we plan to leverage in the future, and I believe there is even more capability we haven't discovered yet within the VWO platform.,Removing the obstacle of having a developer make coding changes and spin up landing page variations allows us to move much more rapidly in our testing cadence than some other platforms have. Our clients appreciate being able to move forward quicker, as the important results for most come *after* the testing is completed.,Google Optimize,Google Optimize, Optimizely, TaboolaVWO is an easy to use platform for CROVWO Is being utilized to learn more about and improve conversion opportunities across multiple products including client sites. The VWO platform quickly enables the ability to implement and test different hypothesis for conversion rate optimization goals. This includes enabling the ability to run simultaneous tests across multiple different mobile device types.,VWO has a strong support team willing to help provide answers to questions during the setup process. During setup, we had some questions regarding implementation across a significant number of sites and they were able to ease dev team concerns and provide detailed best practices to streamline integration. Some of the initial results of a few of the initial tests raised some questions internally. We setup a call and were able to quickly address the questions and find some opportunities to leverage moving forward. I discovered a bug within the UI that lead to some questions internally. I was able to report it and the problem was fixed rather quickly and their team followed up with a thank you for reporting it and to report the issue was now resolved.,The plans are constantly changing from a pricing and visitor perspective. This means that if you are trying to prove the product you will need to be ready for a long term commitment. This platform tends to consume a large visitor allotment to find a result. In our initial tests, it took much longer than anticipated in order to find a reliable result. If you pause a campaign or test, the UI creates a large red warning that indicates it has been paused. This notification is red with an large exclamation point that makes it appear as if something is wrong with the test. This notification is by design according to VWO cannot be dismissed. This creates some confusion when presenting or training new users.,8,VWO has had a positive impact by uncovering different opportunities across specific device types. Some of the results are scrutinized at length internally because of experiences with other platforms. VWO utilizes Bayesian statistics to find results which has pros and cons. This is something to consider when searching for a CRO solution.,Our organization has not yet had the opportunity to test all of the feature sets within VWO. The current focus is to ensure the conversion funnel is optimized across different experiences across different devices. Ultimately, not all of the features will be leveraged but they are nice to have as we continue to make find incremental improvement opportunities.,The specific targeting opportunities found within VWO are helpful when it comes to audience and device segmentation. There is a significant number of pre-defined targets in the UI and of course you have the ability to set custom targets depending on the test you are doing. This is ideal when running test across multiple domains or products.,The WYSIWYG editor is easy to use and very simple for new users that want to hit the ground running. We leverage it to test different aspects of the site to find and deliver test results to ensure future changes which require dev work are going to make a positive impact before creating new request.,OptimizelyGreat user insight and conversion optimization toolVWO is used within our digital department to run A/B tests and to personalise our website for visitor segments. I personally also find it useful to watch recordings of visitors that have dropped out of our ecommerce funnel. VWO makes it easy to select these recordings, instead of having to manually go through a great number of irrelevant recordings.,When designing A/B variations I can choose to either use the visual editor or to make the changes using code. I particularly like using jQuery. VWO offers the ability to keep long term track of the performance of your goals. I can easily identify recordings of users that dropped out of a funnel and watch those. There is live chat to get support, with great response times and which is very helpful. You are forced to create observations and hypotheses when creating a test, which is a great way to make sure that you are actually testing something worthwhile. You can group tests together so that you can rule out interaction effects between tests that you are running at the same time.,The heatmaps within A/B tests are overlayed on the live website. Unfortunately, these don't work properly when scrolling down the site. I am missing an overview of all my custom conversions. I can only see a list of frequently used goals while setting up an A/B test, which may or may not include all custom conversions.,8,I can't give exact numbers, but it has contributed in identifying issues that we have then addressed.,The A/B testing functionality allows us to validate whether specific changes that we want to make to our website actually have the impact that we want them to have, rather than just going by gut feeling.,I am personally not very involved with this aspect of VWO, though I am aware of its capabilities. When used right, i.e. when you have meaningful segments, you can derive great benefit from this.,It has made it easier for the unexperienced to make changes and run a test. I think this also has the downside that people underestimate what they are doing on the website. The very first test ever that I tried to make was erroneous due to my editing dynamic content using the WYSIWYG editor. Making the tool easy to use for non experienced people is a double edged sword.,Hotjar and Google Optimize,HotjarThe perfect tool for marketers wanting to take control of testingVWO is mainly used within the marketing and IT department as a tool to increase website conversion. VWO allows us to quickly test researched hypotheses with the results changing our development priority. The management of VWO is split between the marketing function and IT, meaning everyone has full sight of what is currently being tested on our main consumer website.,Good reporting tools. Easy to use UI, you don't have to be a developer. Reasonable pricing.,Any advancements on the split testing are also welcome. Integration with Formissimo would be beneficial!,9,Allows us to build a business case for change based on the data gathering. Lets us test changes before implementing via hardcoded development. Cost of yearly subscription was paid for within the first few months based on the increase in leads due to testing.,We've been using VWO for a while and it allows us, as marketers, to take control of the process and run a number of tests which normally we would have to put into a development queue. A/B testing is the core reason we first chose VWO, and it's allowed us to make key business decisions, thanks to its advanced reporting suite.,We're a little behind our roadmap, so we haven't made full use of this feature yet! As a business who is keen to make the user's journey as efficient as possible, we see the value and potential ROI increase in personalizing our website with VWO. Here's hoping it's something we get moving with soon!,I alluded to it earlier, but the beauty of the A/B testing and WYSIWYG editor for us, and I'm sure a lot of other marketing teams, is that it removes the obstacle of having to ask a development team to do this work. It puts the power in the hands of the marketer and reduces the path to success.,Hotjar,Hotjar, Google AnalyticsOverall, VWO has helped dig into user needs, and help direct business decisionsWe use VWO in my department to track website engagement, get feedback from surveys, and test different variations of enhancements and changes. We share this information with our marketing department, and sometimes the company as a whole.,VWO A/B tests are easy to set up. I like that we can input our own HTML/CSS/js. Surveys are nice. I like the new feature of being able to see some recordings of sessions who answered the survey. Overall, the recordings are very useful. We have set up some recordings to even verify/debug some issues we were seeing on our site.,Setting up specific goals or events is sometimes hard. our goals/events/clicks are not always straight forward as "if user clicks this thing" which means we have to do extra set up. Form tracking has been a pain, especially with forms that don't have a "submit" button - our checkout process. being able to funnel from delivery/pickup, delivery address form, to payment type, payment form, and submit, it has been difficult. we have dynamic forms with unique id per each session, which also required extra set up. We had an issue with the form only capturing the latest submit, rather than all submits. Even with it set up, the form tracking doesn't seem to capture how we would want.,8,We have tested variations of enhancements that in turn, lead to more sales. Setting up some form tracking caused an issue in Internet Explorer, so we had to remove the tracking.,We have benefited from A/B testing. Our latest findings were a test on some messaging for our financing option. We found a bigger conversion rate with one of the variations and implemented that messaging. We tested changes to our add to cart, messaging, layout, and others, and have found that either, a) one variation saw better conversion rates or b) customer's convert the same with control vs variation, allowing us to put our efforts elsewhere. It helps us prioritize projects, seeing if these changes have value before we implement them.,We have not used the targeting feature.,The WYSIWYG editor is somewhat limiting for us. It would be great for users who don't know HTML, CSS. But for me, it is easier to implement the code directly. We also add js to our variations at times, which you cannot do through the WYSIWYG editor. We have used the WYSIWYG editor when we want to make a simple text change, which is sometimes faster than doing it through the HTML input.,Optimizely and Qualtrics,Google Analytics
Unspecified
VWO
169 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

VWO Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
VWO
169 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 170 vetted VWO reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 97)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joseph Collins profile photo
April 04, 2019

VWO Review: "Multivariate and A/B Testing Done Right"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage VWO's multivariate and A/B testing capabilities to improve conversion rates for our clients across the country. The detailed analytics and high level of customization make VWO a great platform for our CRO services, and our clients appreciate the simple reporting we can provide on results and recommendations.
  • VWO's adaptability and customization options allow us to tailor our tests to very unique scenarios.
  • The overall ease-of-use of the platform allows us to quickly build and implement tests, without specialized coding knowledge, which means faster results for our clients.
  • The user interface within VWO does take a bit of time to get used to, especially as it pertains to switching back and forth between tests. When running multiple experiments on a site at a time, a clear and succinct dashboard for everything in one place would be helpful (as opposed to needing to switch between A/B, multivariate, etc).
VWO is a great option for agencies when conducting conversion optimization testing, as it is a relatively intuitive and easy to use platform with a robust set of capabilities.
Read Joseph Collins's full review
Kevin McLallen profile photo
March 01, 2019

User Review: "VWO is an easy to use platform for CRO"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO Is being utilized to learn more about and improve conversion opportunities across multiple products including client sites. The VWO platform quickly enables the ability to implement and test different hypothesis for conversion rate optimization goals. This includes enabling the ability to run simultaneous tests across multiple different mobile device types.
  • VWO has a strong support team willing to help provide answers to questions during the setup process. During setup, we had some questions regarding implementation across a significant number of sites and they were able to ease dev team concerns and provide detailed best practices to streamline integration.
  • Some of the initial results of a few of the initial tests raised some questions internally. We setup a call and were able to quickly address the questions and find some opportunities to leverage moving forward.
  • I discovered a bug within the UI that lead to some questions internally. I was able to report it and the problem was fixed rather quickly and their team followed up with a thank you for reporting it and to report the issue was now resolved.
  • The plans are constantly changing from a pricing and visitor perspective. This means that if you are trying to prove the product you will need to be ready for a long term commitment.
  • This platform tends to consume a large visitor allotment to find a result. In our initial tests, it took much longer than anticipated in order to find a reliable result.
  • If you pause a campaign or test, the UI creates a large red warning that indicates it has been paused. This notification is red with an large exclamation point that makes it appear as if something is wrong with the test. This notification is by design according to VWO cannot be dismissed. This creates some confusion when presenting or training new users.
VWO makes implementation and integration easy. They have done a great job to ensure the script does not heavily impact load times or page speeds. This was a very important aspect especially if you will be doing tests across multiple sites or products. Overall the UI is easy to learn and the support team is quick to address specific questions.
Read Kevin McLallen's full review
Michel Zurkirchen profile photo
March 01, 2019

VWO Review: "Great user insight and conversion optimization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used within our digital department to run A/B tests and to personalise our website for visitor segments. I personally also find it useful to watch recordings of visitors that have dropped out of our ecommerce funnel. VWO makes it easy to select these recordings, instead of having to manually go through a great number of irrelevant recordings.
  • When designing A/B variations I can choose to either use the visual editor or to make the changes using code. I particularly like using jQuery.
  • VWO offers the ability to keep long term track of the performance of your goals.
  • I can easily identify recordings of users that dropped out of a funnel and watch those.
  • There is live chat to get support, with great response times and which is very helpful.
  • You are forced to create observations and hypotheses when creating a test, which is a great way to make sure that you are actually testing something worthwhile.
  • You can group tests together so that you can rule out interaction effects between tests that you are running at the same time.
  • The heatmaps within A/B tests are overlayed on the live website. Unfortunately, these don't work properly when scrolling down the site.
  • I am missing an overview of all my custom conversions. I can only see a list of frequently used goals while setting up an A/B test, which may or may not include all custom conversions.
It is well suited for exactly what you would expect. To gain insight into what visitors are doing on your website and to improve your website based on these insights through testing. Given my experience so far, I would say it is less suited to deal with websites that use AJAX. The insight gathering tools are still valuable, but the testing tools quickly become complicated.
Read Michel Zurkirchen's full review
Dominic Walker profile photo
March 04, 2019

VWO Review: "The perfect tool for marketers wanting to take control of testing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is mainly used within the marketing and IT department as a tool to increase website conversion. VWO allows us to quickly test researched hypotheses with the results changing our development priority. The management of VWO is split between the marketing function and IT, meaning everyone has full sight of what is currently being tested on our main consumer website.
  • Good reporting tools.
  • Easy to use UI, you don't have to be a developer.
  • Reasonable pricing.
  • Any advancements on the split testing are also welcome.
  • Integration with Formissimo would be beneficial!
I would say to anyone that VWO is best used to help build a business' case for the change on a website or run split testing. For example, simple A/B testing like language or placement changes to a key CTA is what VWO does so well. As a nontechnical person, it's built in such a way that, even if all the implementation is beyond me, I at least feel like I get it!
Read Dominic Walker's full review
Megan Lattanzi profile photo
March 01, 2019

Review: "Overall, VWO has helped dig into user needs, and help direct business decisions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO in my department to track website engagement, get feedback from surveys, and test different variations of enhancements and changes. We share this information with our marketing department, and sometimes the company as a whole.
  • VWO A/B tests are easy to set up. I like that we can input our own HTML/CSS/js.
  • Surveys are nice. I like the new feature of being able to see some recordings of sessions who answered the survey.
  • Overall, the recordings are very useful. We have set up some recordings to even verify/debug some issues we were seeing on our site.
  • Setting up specific goals or events is sometimes hard. our goals/events/clicks are not always straight forward as "if user clicks this thing" which means we have to do extra set up.
  • Form tracking has been a pain, especially with forms that don't have a "submit" button - our checkout process. being able to funnel from delivery/pickup, delivery address form, to payment type, payment form, and submit, it has been difficult. we have dynamic forms with unique id per each session, which also required extra set up. We had an issue with the form only capturing the latest submit, rather than all submits. Even with it set up, the form tracking doesn't seem to capture how we would want.
  • It's good for basic testing and tracking page engagement.
  • If you have a complex site or are trying to use it as an analytic platform, it may not work as you would like.
Read Megan Lattanzi's full review
Brian Toomey profile photo
February 23, 2019

User Review: "VWO is great for well defined tests"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to split test for a range of clients across a range of B2B and B2C verticals.
  • Rapid deployment of tests outside the normal development cycle.
  • Relatively affordable pricing.
  • Perhaps, streamline multi-device/browser QA process.
  • Clean up UX internally, as it feels a bit cluttered and I suspect many people use just the A/B testing and not the other features, as we do.
It's well suited for sites with clearly delineated HTML pages, sufficient traffic, and clearly defined KPIs which are measurable via Google Analytics. It's not well suited for mobile, sites with offline conversions, lower traffic, or web applications.
Read Brian Toomey's full review
Mark Harding profile photo
February 22, 2019

"Our VWO review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO was used within our digital team primary by myself and the developers, mainly for user research, collecting and analyzing the user feedback within surveys. The other main functionality we used was for MVT and AB testing throughout our UK website. With detail, reporting was helpful for board meetings and quickly grabbing data for presentations.
  • Great customer service and support.
  • Easy to use testing tool.
  • Clear and simple reporting of stats/data.
  • There is a lot to the tool that can add confusion.
  • Lots of guides that sometimes are confusing too.
  • Although there's great service, sometimes you are dealing with different people about one issue. Might be the time difference.
VWO is a great testing platform. We found it straightforward to set up and implement throughout the whole functionality of VWOs testing.
The tool is well laid out and should there be any confusion, there are plenty of helpful prompts, an editor which really anyone can use and the reporting is again very clear and easy to understand.
Where it is less appropriate is when traffic levels are low, however, this would apply to many other testing tools.
Read Mark Harding's full review
David Lane profile photo
February 20, 2019

VWO Review: "Much better than Google Optimize!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used within the marketing team to help improve on-site user-experience, increasing brand advocacy, and helping to deliver continual conversion rate improvements for our lead generation campaigns.
  • Simple to create very detailed multivariant tests.
  • Good heatmapping and scroll depth software.
  • Easy to understand results and reporting.
  • Faster support.
  • Simplified segmentation.
  • Easier to use form testing tools.
Very easy to view the performance of the full funnel, identifying areas for improvement, and then theorizing and testing an improved part of that process.
Read David Lane's full review
Taylor Marmie profile photo
February 19, 2019

User Review: "VWO is a great fit for our company!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO for marketing, and particularly A/B Testing! We A/B test our paid landing pages and website pages. From content to hero images to CTAs, VWO helps us A/B test everything we need to understand how users are using and converting on our websites. VWO is also seamless in allowing us to manage four websites in one account.
  • Nice data reporting.
  • Easy step-by-step instructions to set up your tests.
  • Easy to collaborate on tests other people on your team may have set up.
  • We would like the option to not add a hypothesis, as sometimes our tests aren't developed enough for one.
  • Date range on data reports.
  • Download screen recordings.
Our generic A/B tests for copy, hero images, and CTA copy/color/size/shape are all super well-suited for VWO. Our company has yet to come across a scenario where VWO has not worked for us. We've also taken advantage of the screen recording/heatmap sessions on VWO to make changes to pages, like our pricing page, once we know what may be confusing to a user in a new layout.
Read Taylor Marmie's full review
Ryan Bennion profile photo
February 19, 2019

Review: "VWO -- Great for small companies and teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for A/B Testing, Customer recordings, Heatmaps, reducing page load times, and making decisions. We find that we can show through their data why a customer will or won't behave a certain way. This allows us to stop making business decisions off of hunches and start taking action based on data that will move the needle for us and provide an overall better customer experience. That has translated to better sales for us.
  • Customer Recordings. Take a page, watch how your customers behave, and start making tests to reduce friction.
  • Heat Maps. We have long, evergreen content posts and we want to see how many people identify with the content, because then they will continue to scroll further on the page.
  • A/B Testing. If you have a simple website built on basic code, you should not have to integrate or bring on a developer. It's an easy drag-and-drop functionality. You can also request hours to have them help you if your IT resources are limited.
  • I think the UI could be a little more modern. At times, it can be touchy.
  • I would like it to be easier to export a customer recording into a small MP4 file. It's not the easiest way currently to export.
  • I think most of the company is based in India, which I don't have a problem with, but the time zones can make things a little challenging.
I would say it is well suited for A/B Testing, Customer Surveys (think popup surveys), monitoring customers, identifying customer behaviors, and drag-and-drop functionality for limited IT Resource companies.
It is less appropriate for complete overhauls of websites. It would be best to do testing for a page at a time. You can do split URL testing, but it doesn't seem easy and would require some hours on their part.
Read Ryan Bennion's full review
Thomas Frenkiel profile photo
February 19, 2019

VWO Review: "Great tool CRO from A/B to Z ;-)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used within Orangedotcom to analyze clients' websites and run A/B tests. Within our company, two departments make use of VWO: the SEO team and the SEA team. It helps us and our clients to get insights into how users navigate websites, and what we can do to improve their user experience.
  • Show clickmaps and heatmaps of specific pages, so that we can see how users interact with these pages. For example, we can see which element they click on - or don't click on - and use that information to try and improve the page.
  • Run A/B tests to find out which version of a page gets the best results. It's easy to add or delete elements, change elements' colour or size, or change certain text on a page.
  • When we have a question, the VWO team is always very quick to respond over the chat on the website. They are friendly and super helpful.
  • It's currently not easy to run a test on multiple pages at once. For instance to test something on 10 product pages at once.
  • We ran out of credits used for heatmaps and clickmaps really fast, and I am not sure how this is possible. VWO could improve their user instruction/explenation on this specific subject, or create different packages that contain more credits for heatmaps in the first place.
VWO is really helpful to use if you want to test different headlines, Call to Action (CTA) texts, or CTA colours. It is also appropriate when you want to find out what the ideal structure is for a page or pages, or if you want to get a clear image on how your websites pages are used.
Read Thomas Frenkiel's full review
Marijn Tijhuis profile photo
January 16, 2019

VWO Review: "Great pick for getting up to speed quickly with AB testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used by our e-commerce team for conversion optimization. Through VWO we create experiments to validate hypotheses aimed at business growth and customer satisfaction. We use quantitative and qualitative data to generate insights on which elements of our product and service can be improved. Next, we validate solutions through AB testing with VWO.
  • Intuitive interface. Relatively easy entry level for creating experiments
  • Excellent support. Fast response times and explained in a clear way
  • Comes with a one-month trial version. Easy 'plug and play' - like implementation
  • Improve documentation and troubleshooting for Google Analytics integration
  • Lack of use of Artificial Intelligence. Some other providers are heavily experimenting with AI
VWO is a great entry-level tool to quickly get up to speed with AB testing. Due to the easy implementation, excellent support and a wide range of use cases and communities, a business can quickly use VWO for small to medium scale AB testing. Once your CRO program becomes more mature, in house development might be a better solution in the long run.
Read Marijn Tijhuis's full review
Bart Maas profile photo
November 16, 2018

User Review: "Why we have used VWO for many years"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by the marketing department to test websites in different countries that Laudius is active in.
We coin a hypothesis and then set up the test through VWO. In our case, we mostly use A/B testing and split run testing. The main goal for us is to improve on mini conversions; for example: get more people from the product page to the signup page or get more people to sign up for information.
  • Setting it up is easy. You can do it either through Google Tag Manager or directly inside the code.
  • Support is very good; we always get a fast and in depth response.
  • The VWO editor is intuitive and is often easy to use
  • Some detailed parts of the editor are difficult to understand (regarding select parent). But after getting the explanations from the support it is solved and now we know how to set up that type of test.
One test in which VWO came in very handy was when we were discussing the way the price block on the course page should be visible. We debated all possibilities, but agreed that the only way forward was to let the numbers speak. There were four or five different opinions and we decided to test them all by setting up a split run test. The outcome was surprising in terms of the best performing setup as well as the huge difference it made in terms of turnover.

Another good example of a test was the name of a certain product. Several possibilities were added and there was a clear winner with a much higher conversion rate (which wasn't the name we previously had).

We cannot do all tests because certain pages do not have enough traffic. It will take too long before any results will be ready.
Read Bart Maas's full review
Dobs Totev profile photo
November 12, 2018

Review: "VWO is by far the most advanced tool for A/B testing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO to track conversion funnels and perform A/B testings mainly. We use it across departments but mainly most of the VWO's features are being used by the eCommerce team. They use it to track performance, conversion and so on, whereas the product design team uses mainly the A/B testing functionality to perform tests using the inbuilt editor to make small design or text changes. It helps us decide which idea leads to more conversion and which one doesn't work.
  • A/B Testing. The tool is very advanced and the editor allows you to make live changes to the existing website
  • Heatmaps. We love to see where people click the most and which CTAs trigger the most conversion
  • Funnels and Goals. You get clear details of what steps people take to reach the end goal
  • The recordings feature. It's practically useless. You have so many videos to go through to actually identify what is happening that it's a waste of time.
I think it's suitable for web-based applications but I wouldn't use it for mobile apps. For mobile apps, I would use Mixpanel.
Read Dobs Totev's full review
kate ambrose profile photo
November 12, 2018

Review: "VWO Is The Best When It Comes To Easy To Use, Quick, and Effective Testing Platforms"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently only use VWO for our e-commerce division. While it does solve intra-personal ideas on what designs work, it allows us to maximize our ability to provide a better customer experience. When we use testing, we aren't looking for little lifts in conversions but large leaps - and VWO allows us to do that easily and quickly.
  • Easy Set Up
  • Easy Modifications
  • Fantastic Support
  • With cons - keep in mind it may be we are just not aware of functionality. I would say targeting segments could be better
  • Better flexibility with 3P design integrations (to test their effectiveness)
  • Being able to see test elements in various screen sizes
It is well suited for quick & dirty user interface testing! Good for changing elements around on landing pages, change pricing etc.
Read kate ambrose's full review
No photo available
March 01, 2019

VWO Review: "Useful for simple changes, but developers needed for complex tests"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is used by the UX & CRO department of our digital marketing agency to facilitate running A/B tests on client websites. It solves the business problem of not needing to much developer resource to run tests, allowing our team members to mostly set up tests themselves rather than needing complex code.
  • Quick to set up AB tests on sites, with multiple variations allowed and the ability to use segments to control who sees the test.
  • Easily links with GA for accurate analysis
  • Heatmaps are included which allow you to see differences between test variations
  • Setting up multivariate tests can be very difficult, particularly if you want to test something which requires custom code rather than using the VWO editor.
  • Using the VWO editor to create tests can create excessive amounts of code to do quite simple changes, compared to if custom code written by a developer was used.
  • The heatmaps could be more detailed, and seeing how far users had scrolled would be useful.
  • Integration with more tools, such as Hotjar, would be very handy
VWO is useful when you need to run AB tests on websites which have been set up well. Problems can arise when the tests are more complicated, especially multivariate tests, or when the website is quite old/doesn't function as well as it should. Then tests can become quite buggy. It can also be difficult previewing tests via the preview tool, as that sometimes doesn't display the test correctly. It is also difficult allowing clients to preview live tests when there is more than one variation. The test can be set live to the client's IP, but to guarantee them seeing a specific variation it has to be set to 100%, so you can only show one variation at a time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2019

"Just an honest review about VWO"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by CRO and UX department, it's main focus is to AB test.
  • Allows split testing
  • Allows any traffic split
  • Allows segmentation
  • Horrible usability - the navigation within each account is quite something, not clear where you find certain features, imagine someone using it daily and having to deal with these issues - it's really a perfect recipe to ruin anyone's day.
  • The reporting isn't great either, it's difficult to understand how VWO reports as it never matches up with data in other platforms i.e. GA.
  • Another issue is related to the glitches and bug fixing, sometimes VWO agents don't have an answer and it can be frustrating.
  • Site speed - it can negatively affect the website and user experience, however not much has been done about it over the last few years.
  • MVT testing is too complex and in many ways impossible to actually execute.
It's well suited for the AB testing simple tests, which tie in nicely within the CRO strategy. Not ideal for personalisation and wanting to do tests which are more sophisticated.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 20, 2019

VWO Review: "A good enterprise web analysis package"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to analyze our marketing and e-commerce site. We use A/B testing, recordings, heatmaps and surveys to gather information about how users are able to use our sites and what they are understanding. A/B testing has been valuable in getting buy-in from decision makers as we are able to directly prove the effectiveness of the changes we are proposing.
  • Visual editor for A/B testing is really solid, especially if your site is fairly static. It gets a bit tougher when you have very dynamic content but it's still much easier than having our dev team make two versions of a page and try and split traffic.
  • Recordings and Heatmaps are invaluable assets for figuring out how well certain pages are working. While they don't replace standard user testing they can supplement it very well and reinforce your position to make a design change.
  • Support has been fairly quick to resolve rather complex issues, even with a bit of a language barrier a lot of the time. Discussing technical challenges over chat is not easy but I can usually get these difficult challenges ironed out in a day or so.
  • I don't really use the "plan" features much. They seemed nice at first but they are too slow and cumbersome to use in practicality. I don't like being forced to use it to do testing.
  • Goal tracking seems limited. I'd love to be able to use advanced e-commerce goals (like how many people bought a specific product) for my test but have to use overall revenue and 3rd party tracking like GA to fill in the gaps.
  • Dynamic content is really hard to edit. Anything built on a modern JS framework is hard because manipulating multiple states on the same page starts to get really complex. There's a lot of workarounds, and I haven't found a better solution, but it's not as easy as point and click if you have something more complex than a static site.
I wouldn't recommend VWO to non-enterprise users. Hotjar does a lot of the tracking equally as well at a fraction of the cost and there are split testing options out there that are much, much cheaper. It's convenient if you have the budget to have it all in one place, but if you don't, then doing it on two different platforms is still workable. If I'm price sensitive I'd probably explore some other options in combination with Hotjar.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 12, 2019

Review: "VWO: The tool you never knew you needed."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO primarily for its A/B testing functionality, secondarily for its ability to edit website content on the fly and implement flexible customer experience surveys. We use VWO in our EBSCO Mags business line, a B2B magazine agent. It allows us to implement A/B tests based on user behavior and other criteria and it allows the marketing department to make changes to the website before the Web Development team is able to implement permanent changes.
  • A/B testing. VWO users are able to use all sorts of criteria to trigger and serve an A/B test, and the editor functionality is extremely flexible in editing page content.
  • Surveys. We're looking to expand our surveys with the new logic functionality that VWO is beta testing.
  • Web content editing that circumvents the web development "wait time". If marketing needs something simple changed on a webpage, all we have to do is go in VWO and edit or hide it.
  • Continued learning. I think that quarterly product update calls would help us understand what's new in the VWO universe.
VWO is great if you're looking to learn more about your customers' online behavior, even if you've never had any kind of formal A/B website testing plan.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 12, 2019

VWO Review: "Recommended for websites with high volume traffic"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO across two markets. It helps us extend a test beyond the fundamental of AB Test. It has a 360-degree view of funnel and goal. Each test can be customized depending on traffic volume and specific to its conversion rate. As no pages value are equal, it makes sense to adjust conversion or improvements as you'd expect. It solves the issue of a number of concurrent tests you can run on the case of Google Optimise. Solves some flicker issues and nuances you get from using free testing tools. Tool also helps us from hypothesis to agile recording of insights and conversions to implementation, reporting and insights.
  • 360 degree view of your tests helps you frame insights. It's always challenging to put together reports if you're using multiple testing tools.
  • I like the collection of hypothesis and problems to solve, and you can reuse them to other tests rather than starting from scratch.
  • The best thing is that it's simple to use. Features are arranged in a simple and easy to understand manner.
  • Form tracking is one of its features that I really like. However, our websites are using Angular forms and it needs a bit of customization from their support.
  • For us the volume of traffic is not yet that huge, I had to spend quite a bit of time to calculate what should be the right conversion rate to achieve.
  • Would be great to also cater for low volume traffic in running tests.
Definitely better for high volume traffic. And probably not ideal for low volume traffic.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 05, 2019

VWO Review: "A great suite of UX tools to understand your users and test ideas"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO within our digital design team to conduct on-site surveys, observe how users interact with our site, and perform A/B tests, all with the aim of improving the usability of our site.
  • On-site surveys allow us to gather information directly from our users without having to seek them out and ask in person. For example, what information they would find useful for specific pages.
  • Recordings of users allow us to see exactly how people use our website, so we have a greater idea of where improvements can be made.
  • A/B tests give us vital information on if an idea really does work or not.
  • As a UX designer myself, I appreciate how well VWO has been designed. It really is easy to use, especially for something complex like creating A/B tests.
  • Our front-end team has a huge issue with how long VWO takes to load, which obviously will have a negative impact on user experience. More needs to be done to reduce this issue.
VWO is great for gaining a better understanding of your users and testing ideas to know if they work. Heatmaps, surveys, session recordings, hypothesis, and A/B tests make a complete set of tools to figure out what people are struggling with/need, and to analyze and test what will help make your service/product better.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Ups and Downs with VWO"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VWO for A/B testing smaller features on site (e.g. hiding some text) and split testing with larger features (e.g. layout and image changes). It's primarily used by engineering currently, but we are trying to move priorities to product and marketing (with some constraints) for the majority of tests.

It allows us to make business decisions around the wording of text that's shown, or the user experience around a new UI.
  • General overview of which test variation is doing better
  • Simple A/B and Split URL tests
  • Simple testing mechanics (e.g. blanking the page before simple tests are run like with the WYSIWYG editor)
  • UI/UX for finding certain options are confusing. Even having used the tool for a bit, can't remember where certain editing options are .
  • Bugs with the visual editor and preview mode (having to refresh the page until it works)
  • More complicated tests (which may involve mechanics specific to certain companies)
Good:
Simple tests like hiding and showing a button, text, etc.
Adding text onto the page
Changing the color of things
Split tests where the whole page can change

Bad:
Complicated tests regarding custom JavaScript that's run (there may be asynchronous actions happening in that script that we need the page blank for until those actions finish)
Want a smarter visual editor (e.g. we can change the layout and the test would still work, by class or id selectors)
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 17, 2018

Review: "VWO: Easy to realize big improvements on your website"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VWO is being used by our marketing department for optimizing our website. We will have a look at the heat maps to see what people click on and think is most useful. And we use A/B tests for continuous optimization of our homepage and landing pages. We try to answer questions like: how can we best serve our (potential) customers on our website?
  • Heat maps
  • Easy set up of A/B tests
  • Easy implementation of the tool
  • Last time I wanted to add a B-variant in a A/B-test on our homepage. I changed the existing content (that was separated in two columns), but in the preview it kept showing elements I already deleted. In the end I decided to skip this test, because I couldn't find a solution.
  • Integration of Google Analytics can be more easy, so I can easily use my existing measurement goals for example.
  • Exporting of the made heat maps into images.
VWO can be used well if you want to see how your website is used. Where do people click on the page? How can we optimize our conversion path? And you can easily test your improvements on part of the visitors, so it won't have too much impact on your running business.

If you use an iframe, in our case it will not be tracked. Probably if you add the VWO code in the iframe, but it is something you should be aware of.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 11, 2019

User Review: "VWO: An All-in-one CRO platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to run A/B tests, surveys, form analysis, and web recordings. It is primarily being used by the product team and to a certain level by the marketing team. It helps us to analyze how users behave and respond to various pages. Apart from this, it helps us choose one variation over the other while running experiments at any scale.
  • Conducting A/B tests. Segmenting their reports to get deep insights into which variation is performing well for what segment of users.
  • Form analysis. Knowing how users are interacting with the survey.
  • Surveys. Conducting various levels of surveys via the platform.
  • Segmentation in Surveys.
  • Connecting it with other tools like CRM, GA, etc.
  • Running multiple experiments on the same page simultaneously.
Running A/B, split URL tests easily without having to worry about any setup process. Connecting them with GA for advanced analytics could be done in a better way. It is also a great tool for conducting surveys and doing form analysis on a bunch of different landing pages. They have great customer support as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

User Review: "VWO is effective, but sometimes clunky"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing department uses it to A/B test new website organizations, promotions, and product page layouts. It lets us make temporary changes to our website strategy, see the effects, and then decide whether or not to commit to them on the live site for our entire audience.
  • Live previews of changes as you make them
  • Direct HTML access or a simple UI, as needed
  • Google Analytics integration
  • The first-party analytics are harder to use than the Google Analytics integration and show more inconsistent results - would be nice if these were improved
  • The web editor is sometimes slow to load or reflect changes, and occasionally locks up
  • Preview screenshots seem to be spliced together, so they often show multiple instances of the site header spaced down the page
It's the best A/B testing solution we could find for our own website and it's mostly very good at what it does. It has some usability issues on occasion, and the interface can be clunky, so it's not the easiest thing to pick-up-and-go, despite appearances; simple changes should be easy enough for a beginner to make but it takes some time with the interface to understand all its quirks.
Read this authenticated review

About VWO

VWO is an A/B testing and conversion optimization platform that enables growing businesses to conduct qualitative and quantitative visitor research, build an experimentation roadmap and run continuous experiments on their digital properties.

With its 5 capabilities Plan, Track, Test, Analyze, and Target, it brings the entire CRO (conversion rate optimization) process at one place. VWO helps online businesses follow the process- and data-driven conversion optimization to boost their conversion rates.

With features like heatmaps, surveys, visitor recordings, and others, VWO enables businesses to develop an in-depth understanding of on-site visitor behavior. VWO facilitates conducting research-driven A/B testing to optimize web experience across desktop, mobile, and other devices, to deliver a unique experience based on visitor preferences.

According to the vendor, VWO has helped more than 4,500 brands across the globe to run over 600,000 experiments to date. VWO’s global customer base includes brands like Vodafone, Samsung, Toyota, and eBay.


VWO Features

Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureMultivariate Testing
Has featureSplit Testing
Has featureCode Editor
Has featureMulti-Page Tests
Has featureGeo Behavioral Targeting
Has featureOn-Page Survey
Has featureSelf Hosting
Has featureComprehensive Reporting
Has featureRevenue Tracking
Has featureIntegrated Heatmaps, Clickmaps and Scrollmaps
Has featureDIY Visual Editor (WYSIWYG)
Has featureAdvanced jQuery based API
Has featureEnterprise Level Security
Has featureLog Observations
Has featureTesting for Mobile and Tablet Websites
Has featureAdvanced Segmentation
Has featureCross-Browser Previews
Has featureMobile App A/B

VWO Screenshots

VWO Video

VWO Integrations

VWO Competitors

Adobe Target, Optimizely, AB Tasty, Omniconvert, Frosmo, Google Analytics, Convert.com, Adobe Test & Target

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TESTINGGet a DemoThe classic VWO A/B testing solution
CONVERSION OPTIMIZATIONGet a DemoThe all-in-one platform for all your optimization needs
ENTERPRISEGet a DemoCustomized solution with advanced AB testing and conversion optimization capabilities

For any additional information about pricing and plans, visit https://vwo.com/pricing/

VWO Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

VWO Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No