TrustRadius
ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. The ServiceNow platform has strong social capabilities.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/71/UB/9GTXAITML6LZ.pngOne of the best Software for ITSM and ITOM needsI am a consultant and do works towards ServiceNow Implementation and Integration at end customers. Since I work with various customers in various verticals and domains, I come across a wide variety of use cases that ServiceNow can resolve and the way it can be implemented to achieve it. ServiceNow is known for ITSM solution. But in my opinion, ServiceNow very well works for ITSM, ITOM solutions. Nowadays ServiceNow has also launched their HR and CRM solution but I have not used those much.,ITSM functionality is very strong and available out of the box where you might want customization as per your organization need. Another Strong point of ServiceNow is easy customization as per the requirement. Creating new fields or new modules or even new applications are easy and provides lots of flexibility even if being a cloud application. ServiceNow is focusing a lot of platforms and provides the opportunity to build many things as per the need if something is not available out of the box for certain customer specific requirements. Or it's even possible to partner and build the solution and sell the same from ServiceNow marketplace.,The platform is not as mature as Force.com and needs a little improvement where a customer may require the least amount of coding. Creation of new application or modules requires some sort of coding skill. It is not pure drag and drop.,9,I cannot answer w.r.t. to my organization as we internally do not use ServiceNow but there are lots of customers who are the happy customer and got benefited with ServiceNow. This is a good product and provides better ROI.,Oracle Service Cloud and Salesforce Service Cloud,Oracle ERP Cloud, Oracle Integration Cloud, Oracle Data IntegratorServiceNow is our modern day customer communication toolServiceNow is our new customer communication tool within Amtech Software and Futura Services. It is replacing our old system, Remedy, and we find that access to it is so much simpler. We are able to publish press releases and news on ServiceNow, we are able to send notifications to users about news we do not want them to miss. We like the ease of being able to receive tickets, or issues, and also keep all customer information in one place.,I like the ease of setup and access for all users within the system, including our employees and customers. I like that we can personalize our ServiceNow site, which we have branded iServe for our customers. I like that we can use the system similar to our social media accounts, and pass along news to our users.,The only issue we have had thus far is that it doesn't integrate with HubSpot, without going through a third-party.,9,We have been able to update our accounting to see who is compliant and who is not. it has added a bit more manual labor for our Business Development department to make sure the information in iServe syncs with both our Hubspot & Zoho CRM systems.,ServiceNow for SuccessServiceNow is used as a Service desk tool where we can track customer incidents, Change management, task assignment, and SLA's. It also automates the flow of the business process with the help of structured workflows. We will get the customer requirements as we will be developing the new applications or adjusting the existing ones.,Usability of ServiceNow is very easy and users feel it is simple to use its UI for automating processes Integration of ServiceNow with any system is smooth with its flexibility and technology Processes are clearly defined and automation allows for easy implementation of workflows,The user interface of SN is not friendly for process automation tools like BluePrism etc. Need to use images and keyboard shortcuts, instead of UI elements The application is slow if we did more customization Works well with some specific browsers,8,Reduction in call center volumes It is good for Medium and large-scale industries. For small organizations, it might be too expensive and the ROI will take a long time Can utilize the resources working in the Service desk in other areas,JIRA Service Desk, Samanage, GoToAssist, Atlassian Confluence and Freshdesk,JIRA Service Desk, Remedyforce, BMC Client ManagementServiceNow in an IT Help Desk environment 20K customer baseMy interaction and usage with ServiceNow(SN) was/is two-fold. 1-Was: While with FDA, we used SN for our FDA Wide ticketing system for our IT Help Desk contract and other various support. Supporting over 20,000 customers, those customers would call the Help Desk, and log Interactions and Incidents for assistance. SN is very robust with lots of customizing, and ease of use for not only the Help Desk and Technicians but also customers as well. 2-Is: Currently I'm beginning the process of development and implantation of SN. The training program and eventual certification process so far have been straightforward and easy to follow. Eventually, I will be customizing SN for use over various contracts and agencies.,Navigation is fluid and easy to follow. Customizing views to suit your need is a breeze. Generating reports that you need is "fun" as there are many built-in options as well as the ability to create your own. Exporting reports in various formats help as different clients prefer different products.,Sometimes too much, is just that; too much. SN offers so much, that you can kind of get lost in all its features. Color customizing would be nice for those with visual impairments. Cost is steep, but you do get a lot.,7,SN ease of use has cut down on the learning curve, and thus the amount of time it takes to train a new hire. I'm not sure on the financial side, but from a workability side, SN gets customers "in and out the door" much faster than it's predecessor. (ServiceCenter in my environment) Technicians can update quicker, and easier, creating a greater likelihood of meeting SLAs. Meeting SLAs is bread and butter for our contract's overall success.,Oracle PeopleSoft SCM and Claritysoft,Oracle Primavera Portfolio Management, Claritysoft, Oracle PeopleSoft SCMITSM Senior ConsultantServiceNow lets the organization consolidate many process related to the enterprise service model on a single platform. Typically, the companies start with the main ITSM processes, such as incident, problem and change, using the CMDB, Asset, SLA and KB as foundational applications. Then may then move on to other process such as HR and customer service. With a cloud based solution, and with all major needs covered out of the box, enterprises can go live with this solution very quickly.,Application fully alligned to ITIL best practices. At least 11 process have been certified by companies like Pink Elephant. Cloud-based solution with major needs covered out of the box, with high standard of performance and availability. Application fully integrated, making transitions between modules easy and straightforward. Service portal, mobile applications and email capabilities provides the end user a self-service experience.,Licensing model for Fulfillers in order to share pool licenses. Report capabilities to obtain certain kind of metrics without performance analytics Graphical representation of the Configuration Management Database (CMDB) configuration items (CIs) and their relationships,10,ROI very fast due to the short time required to implement the solution. Don't need to provision internal resources (servers, software, IT specialists) to implement the solution. Many related processes consolidated in a single platform, thereby reducing cost. With the service portal options and the self service capabilities companies can reduce the number of service desk agents and the time required to drive end-user needs to the Fulfillers.,BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite,BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite, Freshservice, Remedyforce
Unspecified
ServiceNow
227 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

ServiceNow Reviews

ServiceNow
227 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 227 vetted ServiceNow reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 34)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Shalindra Singh profile photo
November 12, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "One of the best Software for ITSM and ITOM needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a consultant and do works towards ServiceNow Implementation and Integration at end customers. Since I work with various customers in various verticals and domains, I come across a wide variety of use cases that ServiceNow can resolve and the way it can be implemented to achieve it. ServiceNow is known for ITSM solution. But in my opinion, ServiceNow very well works for ITSM, ITOM solutions. Nowadays ServiceNow has also launched their HR and CRM solution but I have not used those much.
  • ITSM functionality is very strong and available out of the box where you might want customization as per your organization need.
  • Another Strong point of ServiceNow is easy customization as per the requirement. Creating new fields or new modules or even new applications are easy and provides lots of flexibility even if being a cloud application.
  • ServiceNow is focusing a lot of platforms and provides the opportunity to build many things as per the need if something is not available out of the box for certain customer specific requirements. Or it's even possible to partner and build the solution and sell the same from ServiceNow marketplace.
  • The platform is not as mature as Force.com and needs a little improvement where a customer may require the least amount of coding.
  • Creation of new application or modules requires some sort of coding skill. It is not pure drag and drop.
If the requirement is for internal IT management or Service Cloud (operations) internal or external, ServiceNow is a perfect solution. ServiceNow is moving towards becoming a complete ERP but it will take some time to reach there.
Read Shalindra Singh's full review
Ashley Gennett profile photo
September 28, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow is our modern day customer communication tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is our new customer communication tool within Amtech Software and Futura Services. It is replacing our old system, Remedy, and we find that access to it is so much simpler. We are able to publish press releases and news on ServiceNow, we are able to send notifications to users about news we do not want them to miss. We like the ease of being able to receive tickets, or issues, and also keep all customer information in one place.
  • I like the ease of setup and access for all users within the system, including our employees and customers.
  • I like that we can personalize our ServiceNow site, which we have branded iServe for our customers.
  • I like that we can use the system similar to our social media accounts, and pass along news to our users.
  • The only issue we have had thus far is that it doesn't integrate with HubSpot, without going through a third-party.
ServiceNow will work perfectly for organizations that had ticket logs, etc. We have found, through the implementation process, that it also works for us in seeing who is compliant and who is not. We can see who has expired on support, who is not paying and who is using more licenses than what they pay for.
Read Ashley Gennett's full review
Phanindra reddy Bommu profile photo
August 22, 2018

User Review: "ServiceNow for Success"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used as a Service desk tool where we can track customer incidents, Change management, task assignment, and SLA's. It also automates the flow of the business process with the help of structured workflows. We will get the customer requirements as we will be developing the new applications or adjusting the existing ones.
  • Usability of ServiceNow is very easy and users feel it is simple to use its UI for automating processes
  • Integration of ServiceNow with any system is smooth with its flexibility and technology
  • Processes are clearly defined and automation allows for easy implementation of workflows
  • The user interface of SN is not friendly for process automation tools like BluePrism etc. Need to use images and keyboard shortcuts, instead of UI elements
  • The application is slow if we did more customization
  • Works well with some specific browsers
ServiceNow is well suited in the areas where we need to have service desk features. Incident management and change management are the other two areas where SN is well suited. The knowledge base scripts provide a method for both customers and help desk to resolve issues very quickly.
Read Phanindra reddy Bommu's full review
Ryan Weller profile photo
April 12, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow in an IT Help Desk environment 20K customer base"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My interaction and usage with ServiceNow(SN) was/is two-fold.
1-Was: While with FDA, we used SN for our FDA Wide ticketing system for our IT Help Desk contract and other various support. Supporting over 20,000 customers, those customers would call the Help Desk, and log Interactions and Incidents for assistance. SN is very robust with lots of customizing, and ease of use for not only the Help Desk and Technicians but also customers as well.

2-Is: Currently I'm beginning the process of development and implantation of SN. The training program and eventual certification process so far have been straightforward and easy to follow. Eventually, I will be customizing SN for use over various contracts and agencies.
  • Navigation is fluid and easy to follow.
  • Customizing views to suit your need is a breeze.
  • Generating reports that you need is "fun" as there are many built-in options as well as the ability to create your own.
  • Exporting reports in various formats help as different clients prefer different products.
  • Sometimes too much, is just that; too much. SN offers so much, that you can kind of get lost in all its features.
  • Color customizing would be nice for those with visual impairments.
  • Cost is steep, but you do get a lot.
Any arena where SLAs and Ticketing is a factor, SN performs terrifically. If you need a tool that is easy to learn and train, then SN is your choice. An area of issue is also a strong point (oddly enough), as with its wide range of custom-ability, many customers often create more work for our SN team to make changes, while subtle at times, if only to appease 1 person. Basically, its flexibility can create bottlenecks.
Read Ryan Weller's full review
Antonio Acosta profile photo
March 16, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "ITSM Senior Consultant"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow lets the organization consolidate many process related to the enterprise service model on a single platform. Typically, the companies start with the main ITSM processes, such as incident, problem and change, using the CMDB, Asset, SLA and KB as foundational applications. Then may then move on to other process such as HR and customer service. With a cloud based solution, and with all major needs covered out of the box, enterprises can go live with this solution very quickly.
  • Application fully alligned to ITIL best practices. At least 11 process have been certified by companies like Pink Elephant.
  • Cloud-based solution with major needs covered out of the box, with high standard of performance and availability.
  • Application fully integrated, making transitions between modules easy and straightforward.
  • Service portal, mobile applications and email capabilities provides the end user a self-service experience.
  • Licensing model for Fulfillers in order to share pool licenses.
  • Report capabilities to obtain certain kind of metrics without performance analytics
  • Graphical representation of the Configuration Management Database (CMDB) configuration items (CIs) and their relationships
ServiceNow can be used to any organization no matter the sector. Companies that want to consolidate on a single platform with many enterprise services provided for internal users or customer. For small companies it could be an expensive solution.
Read Antonio Acosta's full review
No photo available
March 01, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow - Great for process improvement, poor for Customer Improvement"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow was used for IT service management by my organization. We utilized a lot of the features and modules including Change, Incident (Internal and External), Knowledge, Problem, Community, and chat. This tool enabled us to implement the ITIL service model of Change Management and Incident Management.
  • Easily customizable forms and tables and easy to create field dependencies.
  • Great user interface which allows agents to customized lists, favorites, bookmarks, and their dashboard.
  • Great filtering options for list views and record views
  • Reporting - ServiceNow has definitely come a long way with their reporting features, however, we had to outsource to a third-party entity to create more robust dashboards and reports
  • Permissions - User permissions are actually fairly good, but not as easy or intuitive as other systems we have used. The crossover of permissions from the knowledge module and the rest of the platform is subpar.
  • Limited CRM features - Although ServiceNow has recently rolled out a lot more CRM options within the past 2 years, it pales in comparison with the more established ones out there, leaving room for error and a gap between managing internal processes and customer-facing processes.
ServiceNow is great for IT service management in which you can capture customer incidents and implement a great change process. All of these processes aim to make your internal structure more efficient and easy. However, when it comes to managing customers on top of performing your daily internal processes, ServiceNow lacks that full 360 view of how handling customers can affect your internal processes and vice versa.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2017

"ServiceNow Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used as an ITSM and Service desk tool, replacing CA ServiceDesk Manager. We have a program in place to go beyond the simple service desk function and extend as a corporate procurement and asset management tool. Potential future use but not yet funded are for GRC(Governance Risk Compliance) and Project Management.
  • Provides a standard and relatively easy way to create a system of records for enterprise assets.
  • Processes are clearly defined and implemented. Alignment with legacy processes is easy and best practices exist when this is not the case. Automation allows for easy implementation of workflows and use of APIs make integration with external platforms a breeze.
  • Self-Service user experience is great. Out-of-the box. No need to specialized, costly and hard to find consultants.
  • Implementation is still the domain of major consulting companies. This requires large budget projects. It would be good to develop an education and certification program to reduce the need for major integration companies.
  • Maybe confusing at the beginning, too many fields, too much information. Is there a way to start simple and grow?
  • Pay attention to overpromising. The company has great marketing material, great sales people, making it seem to be the tool for all IT needs, but the road may be long and costly.
  • ServiceNow could be a very good enterprise-wide platform but you need to prepare for significant integration and be ready to adopt standard processes.
- Very well suited for ITSM. Standards based approach with simple and natural alignment with ITIL. - Very good reporting tools and going beyond simple obvious dashboards with multiplatform capabilities including mobile. - Although not at the same level as ITSM capabilities, a multitude of other capabilities in the finance, HR, project and portfolio management and other business areas makes this a very interesting proposition for an enterprise platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 23, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "Going from Nothing to Everything"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both my previous and current employers have implemented ServiceNow to help us to better assist our customers and staff. In networking, everyone is a customer. ServiceNow allows us to focus on improving the network by providing the leadership with insight to how the network is performing from a customers point of view. ServiceNow is used for incident management, problem management, change management, and inventory.
  • Incident management reporting has been the central focus of our organization. The knowledge base scripts provide a method for both our customer and help desk personnel to resolve issues very quickly.
  • The change management provides a central portal for leadership to be aware and discuss upcoming changes.
  • Part of the change management and incident management components is its integration with inventory. This allow us to identify systems that were affected or caused an issue in the past.
  • Quantitative trend analysis - There isn't a report that can be provided that can quickly identify a failing system.
  • Process dependencies - Some process require certain departments to be notified. Such as a new PC installation in a new office. There isn't a way for the users to identify everything that is needed, or a systematic way to build process dependent activities and notifications into the service.
ServiceNow works very well in a service oriented environment. Our environment is customer driven, nothing happens unless there is a customer need. ServiceNow provides that place for customers to report their requirements and issues. Where in some cases, we are mission centered, our goal is to provide areas where service is weak and improve them, ServiceNow lacks the functionality for us to quickly and easily identify these areas.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

"ServiceNow Review for Business and Technical Teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow to manage all ICT service management activities. This includes service desk, problem management and also Agile based software deliveries to our core systems.
  • Great for servicedesk management
  • Works well for Agile deliveries and assigning work as well as assessing effort
  • Good configuration management tools
  • Useful task based dashboards to manage teams
  • Tailoring of certain aspects can be difficult and costly to implement
  • The tool is for service management purposes but does lack the softer side of service delivery in terms of business expectation and customer satisfaction analysis.
  • Licensing model can be complicated.
Works very well across all service management disciplines. Generally, you need to treat the product itself as being under change management to ensure you do not break it or misconfigure it. You should have well-trained ServiceNow staff who can tailor the system to your needs.

While the tool can be used as a general ticketing tool for business desks its purpose is for service management teams.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 31, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "Simple and Easy to use. But, prepare to pay for consulting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used by the entire organization, solving the trouble of integration between the different areas of the organization. With the previous tool, we couldn't track what was happening sometimes, for example when lots of people opened an incident ticket and relate them to a problem. This tool helped us to solve this.
  • Integration between areas and the user
  • Run in the cloud
  • Integration with other tools, as monitoring tools creating a ticket automatically
  • Integration depends on consultant work.
  • No on-premise option
  • Price
When you need to start quickly, that's a great option. Fast deploy, fast integration with active directory, and the IT stuff if needed, it's quick to add too. To not pay the extra license, the team of the company that deployed it gave an option to create a single portal, allowing a common user to create tickets and watch all that was happening to the ticket.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow from an IT and call center perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Servicenow is used for tracking of inbound customer incidents, project management task assignment and coordination, change management and task coordination, problem management and asset management to a certain degree.

Servicenow helps solve the problem of not being able to associate configuration items with tasks performed on them regularly, be they break-fix, routine maintenance and other one off changes. This can be critical for mapping out trends in incidents and potential infrastructure flaws.
  • The change management and task relationship is exceptional. It allows easy collaboration between multiple users on a single change.
  • Incident communication workflows are easily customized to ensure that agents are responding to incidents within management defined SLAs. Out of the box communication to the opening user is excellent as well.
  • The responsiveness of searching previous incidents/problems/changes along with the easy ad-hoc filter generation.
  • Since there are so many ways to customize this application, depending on what your deployment scope is, it is very easy for a smaller development team to get backlogged in enhancement requests
  • The user of hyperlinks within forms to generate new windows can have unexpected scrolling behavior of the parent window upon completing a form.
  • Out of the box time entry and management is very cumbersome.
Servicenow is fantastic for incident-centric environments (anywhere you'd use a CRM solution to track customer/user/agent interactions). With the flexibility of licensing and deployment, along with the application being hosted by ServiceNow, it has applications for both large and small organizations. This application is also great for IT teams who want to be able to track trending issues and implement good problem management strategies.
Read this authenticated review
Max Lewenhaupt profile photo
January 03, 2017

Review: "Tech guy with 15 years of experience annoyed with ServiceNow."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

It's being used across the whole organization. Our entire company sends and finishes tickets using the portal. We use each queue for IT, facilities, and others.

Our business needs quick responses, as we work at a media company. We handle [everything] from small issues to big issues on servers and it is of vital importance that the [ticketing] software [vendor] respect our time frames and needs.

  • Maybe some of the customization features.
  • Cloud-based.
  • Can add attachments [to tickets].
  • Extremely slow after customization at enterprise [level].
  • So many fields needed for open ticket.
  • Confusing, not easy to find anything.
  • Search fields are not accepting % value to research as CPTM.
  • Time consuming customization on a daily basis.
  • No so user friendly.
  • Does not work well on Chrome.
We found several scenarios where ServiceNow is slow. In regards to performance, I have sent tickets several times to our team to review the poor performance without any success. Our business requires quick action many times on issues and ServiceNow is not providing quick performance for our tasks.
Read Max Lewenhaupt's full review
No photo available
December 15, 2016

User Review: "ServiceNow Rocks!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is the platform that we use to manage our clients' IT services. It is also used internally within our organization to provide a service desk function. It automates the flow of business processes through the use of structured workflows.
  • Service Watch is a component that ServiceNow utilizes to discover the IT assets (or configuration items) across different domains. Service Watch also configures the CMDB with what it discovers. This is one of its strengths.
  • It has many plugins that you can enable to manage the processes in the Service Life Cycle. The applications that I was able to look into are Change Management ansd Software Asset Management. It provides a lot of funtionality out of the box without doing any additional configurations
  • ServiceNow is also very customizable. You can create your own application if you wanted to and put those applications as widgets on the Service Portals.
  • The environment for developing widgets seems a bit undone. I found it more challenging to write widgets than applications on Service Now.
  • It supports AngularJS development, but it seemed like you need to work with a stripped down version of Angular. Also, there was no support for AngularJS 2.0 in the Helsinki version.
It suits well for managed IT services, automating business processes, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Sypes profile photo
May 27, 2016

Review: "ServiceNow, Service Tomorrow, Service Forever"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used across our entire business organization. It is our primary mechanism for front line personnel to report problems to our IT service desk. The Information Technology Department uses ServiceNow to track and manage reported incidents, tasks, projects and their resolutions. We also use it as the centerpiece of our change management control. ServiceNow also provides us with a significant portion of our project management flow.
  • Easy tracking of individuals' input and time spent
  • Automated email updates on work items
  • Tight integration among components
  • Massive and at times confusing interface
  • Too many categories of items with seemingly arbitrary differences in functionality
  • Honing in on just what you need is difficult for a basic user
ServiceNow is an enterprise level solution for managing service incidents, tasks, and projects. It is best suited for large organizations with the manpower to educate administrators of such a massive system. There is no doubt a lot of configuration and specialized knowledge involved in using this tool well. Smaller teams will find it unwieldy as it presents a lot of information which may or may not be useful to individuals.
Read Michael Sypes's full review
Jung Kim profile photo
March 28, 2016

ServiceNow Review: "Power to simplify"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used throughout the County of San Mateo including all of 28 Departments within the county. It's the central ticketing system, problem management, change management, event management, knowledge base and asset management solution. It's also used as Request Management to all of 28 Departments that they can order services and products from the IT groups.
  • Change Management is better than anything else that I've seen.
  • Asset Management/CMDB tied to Change Management is simply one of the kind.
  • Approval/notification workflow is flexible and powerful enough for any use cases.
  • Portfolio management is few generations behind compare to other leading solutions
  • Still has versionitus symptoms - some dramatic changes with each release
It's generally good for a medium and larger enterprises. Not suitable for small companies since the initial investment to set it up and configuring is high.
Read Jung Kim's full review
Randall Hodgins profile photo
September 26, 2015

Review: "ServiceNow is engineered for your success."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is a Platform as a Service product. It is typically used across the spectrum of IT in my customers' architecture. In virtually every deployment it has began as either an improved or even first time service desk tool and once the value has been demonstrated other enterprise stakeholders are quick to adopt its use - change management and problem management followed by product and services catalogs, asset management, etc.
I can honestly say that I have never been let down by the platform to meet a business goal - even those that might not be possible with other tools. The platform is extremely versatile and easily configurable to meet, thus far, any need.
  • Incident Management is the obvious first choice. It arrives out of the box (OOB) fully able to meet the needs of an ITIL compliant/guided Service Desk. The relatively low amount of configuration (usually data and/or special use needs) required to get up and running in an enterprise means that you can immediately be productive with the product and begin identifying mission critical concerns that impede your business success. The #1 benefit, in my estimation, is that the product prevents issues from falling through the cracks. Clients will no longer fail to get resolution because their incidents get lost, passed over or simply forgotten.
  • Change Management, always a challenge, benefits from the task based nature of ServiceNow. When combined with the Configuration Management Database and the intrinsic Workflow Manager, ServiceNow provides an integrated set of tools to respond to IT change processes. When integration of Incident, problem and change are in place an enterprise has all it needs to identify concerns, investigate root cause, make critical changes or reparation expediently. The platform also provides for executive level (and deeper) reporting to identify trends of service improvement - or degradation.
  • Keep in mind that the tool does not necessarilly require a troop of developers to configure. Most configurations and behaviors require either no or a only a few simple javascript code lines to accomplish. Very often the stakeholders themselves can perform the module changes they need.
  • While the individual topic modules are excellent, they would be less effective were it not for the notification engine that permeates the entire platform. Keeping everyone on the same page is a snap. Customer facing communications are separate from internal facing communications. Messages are automated at configurable ticket state changes, at defined events in the system, on the fly in a task form... The methods are email - easily customized to be branded and even personalized by user or department, and SMS notifications.
  • Complex reporting is an area that still needs improvement. It is not yet possible to obtain parameterized reporting. In truth, this is the only function of the platform that I would count down.
Every aspect of the product was born, natively, in the cloud and it shows. Mostly it shines in direct comparison with other so-called cloud platforms that actually were either legacy client-server products or merely web-extensions of the same.

From sales discussion through to GoLive! deployment, ServiceNow excels. Secure access, multi-function modules, unified data source, open access web services architecture, (pardon the phrasing but:) idiot-proofed configuration layer - dangerous coding is caught and prevented at several interpreted layers of execution. It is scalable and extensible.

Additionally, I would be remiss to fail to mention that ServiceNow as a multi-domain platform install provides all the benefits mentioned in a virtually turn-key managed services platform product.
Read Randall Hodgins's full review
Lorena Leonard profile photo
September 18, 2015

"ServiceNow product review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. It is being used for incidents, change requests, problem management, reports
  • Incidents - when configured properly, incidents are easy to create, track, report on, link to change requests
  • Change requests - easy to link to incidents, easy to approve, report on
  • Service Catalog is pretty powerful as well. As well as the knowledge module
  • Incidents and CR - search on keywords could use some improvements
  • Reporting module - more built in reports would be useful
  • IT Asset management can use some improvements as well

SN is well suited for incidents and change requests. Also well suited for problem management. Key questions to ask during the selection process:

What kind of environment is SN going to be used in?

What type of incidents that business has? How many in average?

How many problems do they have and how would they like to track them?

How important reporting on incidents and CRs is?

Read Lorena Leonard's full review
Paul Trupka profile photo
September 25, 2015

User Review: "ServiceNow and its Strengths"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the whole organization for reporting of problems by users, workflow of tickets, implementing a knowledge base and also self service to our company.
  • Integrating with our knowledge base and the ability to attach knowledge articles to tickets
  • The service catalog is very simple and easy for our users
  • Can host a lot of information and integrate it across several modules
  • The change system is confusing and our company does not implement it
  • Adding bookmarks can sometimes be quite confusing and not easy
  • I feel the multitude of options in the navigator can make browsing sometimes a difficult task
I would tell people that ServiceNow is definitely more helpful to larger organizations that can more heavily utilize all of the features of the software. Both of the instances I have used ServiceNow in have been larger companies and found that there was always a way to integrate almost anything that was requested into ServiceNow.
Read Paul Trupka's full review
Kevin Chu profile photo
September 25, 2015

User Review: "ServiceNow at NIDCR / NIH"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow as a ticketing system at NIH. It is also used to build reports for metrics regarding the tickets we obtain and complete.
It is widely used at NIH. It address IT issues in tracking what users needs help with and reassigning tickets to techs across different campuses and location. Also it helps in regards to creating reports to measure our productivity.
  • Tracking tickets and reassigning tickets
  • Allows up to pull reports on tickets that have come in
  • Web interface that will allow ease of use at any given time. Not tied down to one machine.
  • Reports are hard to generate and takes a long time to load. Its not a simple task and the GUI lacks desire and ease of use
  • Although it is a web based platform being mobile is highly necessary and pulling the ticketing system on a device to track a ticket is not friendly at all. There is much that needs to improve.
  • General over all look and GUI plus features such as time and duration of a ticket cannot be tracked reasonably as we cannot add in our own time, It only starts and ends when we have time to either create a ticket and or close the ticket.
You get to see tickets, assign / create new tickets for users.
Track tickets that are in each techs queue.
Run basic reports and metrics of a team or individual.
It would be better if there was a more robust mobile version, and if reports had a better GUI interface and ease of use was improved.
Read Kevin Chu's full review
Anusha Jampala profile photo
April 08, 2015

User Review: "ServiceNow Pros and Cons"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow at VCE is used for the the ticketing system and also in implementing the CMDB. It is used by the whole organization. It helps us with incident management,change managemnet and problem management. One of the products that we develop is Vblock. In order to track these Vblock at different client locations, we use CMDB module in ServiceNow. In addition to that, general IT ticketing is managed by ServiceNow at VCE.

Currently, I work in the CMDB(Configuration Management Database) team at VCE. We are using CMDB for our product Vblock and to understand the relationships of the CIs.In future we want to use CMDB as an internal tool to improve the sales of Vblocks.


  • Configuration Management Database (CMDB)
  • Update Sets
  • Domains
  • Scripting on both Client and Server
  • Web Services
  • Cloud Based Tool
  • Versioning
  • More Documentation
  • Better Tech Support
It is good for ITIL. If you want to implement a Configuration Management Database (CMDB) for your own product you need to have a better understanding of the current and future requirements of the Business User/Stakeholders. Also, if you are trying to implement it as CMDB, you need to architect the relationships between configuration items (CIs) in an efficient way.
Read Anusha Jampala's full review
Lee Cullom profile photo
September 29, 2014

Review: "Eureka! ServiceNow is SaaS for the MaaSes."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

For an additional fee, detailed review can be found in State of the ITSM Market at: http://www.itsmuniversity.net

Northcraft Analytics is a provider of Business Intelligence applications for Enterprise IT. As such, we have created a pre-defined set of 2,000 measures and Key Performance Indicators for 11 ITIL process areas (as of August, 2014). ServiceNow (NOW) is currently #2 in market share in the IT Service Management market (estimated at @ 1.7 Billion WW in 2014). NOW is our 2nd most popular BI application as well as the fastest growing in our portfolio of products (this is directly correlated with NOW's growth in the ITSM market). In the development of our offering for NOW (which is on-going) we have learned a great deal about the product's capabilities. In addition, when offering support for our product to our customers we learn their needs with respect to IT Performance management across the commonly deployed NOW modules. In our opinion the most common problems addressed are:- Request Fulfillment Automation to increase productivity within medium to large enterprise IT departments.- Self-Service Shopping for Employees to reduce call volume and simplify access to company services- Business Service Management to enhance communication between IT, lines of business & executive management

  • Request Management & Fulfillment - ServiceNow has the strongest offering outside of "best of breed" players, such as Kinetic Data.
  • Knowledge Management that is tightly integrated to the Incident Management function with powerful text search built in.
  • Orchestration, specifically password reset automation for Active Directory
  • PaaS (Platform as a Service) - ServiceNow is designed for customization and new application creation. Most importantly, JavaScript is leveraged, which is an established standard language.
  • Upgradability - While NOW is customizable, it can become more difficult to upgrade if solid implementation expertise is missing at critical moments.
  • Pricing - ServiceNow's pricing model has become less transparent more expensive (due to lower discounting) and more complex post-IPO. This is a reflection of the pride NOW feels in the product... which is somewhat justified by revenue growth which outstrips that of their competitors.
  • Depth in Functionality - This is both a positive and a negative. Depth in functionality often increases the complexity of the application and decreases the usability. ServiceNow doesn't have the depth of an HP Service Manager of BMC Remedy IT Service Management, but this can be an advantage as well.
  • Lack of Native Multi-Tenancy - This can hamper ServiceNow deployments for Managed Service Providers.
Well-suited:
  • Usability - Enterprise IT looking to establish a strong and simple front-end for automation of repeatable requests.
  • Simplicity - Small-Medium size enterprises who wish for a quick deployment of a user-friendly ITSM application.
  • Performance - Companies who are looking for an ITSM solution with strong, mature SaaS operations.
  • Flexibility/Agility - Companies that are interested in a customizable solution that fits their unique needs.
  • Breadth - Companies that are truly looking to establish a common platform (and database) for the most common ITSM/ESM needs.
Key Questions to ask:
  • How much do you charge for approvers?
  • Under what circumstances do you charge for employees accessing the system?
  • When would a customer use the out of the box mobile interface vs. purchasing a 3rd party add-on such as Mobile Reach? Why?
  • Under what circumstances would I need to consider purchasing ServiceNow business edition? Can you please tell us how to avoid customizing an out of the box script include up-front? So that we can avoid upgrade issues down the road?
  • Can you please show us how to create a change approval process that doesn't leverage one of the out of the box templates?
  • How often must we upgrade the application?
  • Which CMDB requirements would make Blazent or BDNA a necessary add-on purchase?
  • Use cases - Please, please, please come up with a detailed list of use cases.
Keep in mind:
  • Sometimes a vendor can win because they have the best demonstration. Consider using an independent 3rd party for demonstrations.
  • Vendors are typically not professional services companies, they are product companies. If possible, get multiple statements of work from different consulting organizations.

Read Lee Cullom's full review
Akil Franklin profile photo
August 06, 2014

User Review: "ServiceNow = Satisfied Customers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement ServiceNow for our clients and that is our core focus as a company. On our most recent engagement, we redesigned the user interface of American Airline's self-service portal using the CMS capability within ServiceNow. For that particular engagement, the product is used across the entire company with about 70,000 users.
  • Provides a strong "single plane of glass" portal for employee self-service.
  • The tool is very extensible. There are multiple ways to customize and integrate the product. Creating applications on the platform and extending it is relatively straightforward.
  • Provides a great single source of record for all service relationship management needs.
  • Strong ROI stemming mainly from reductions in call center volume, fewer outages, and faster outage resolution.
  • The user experience of the ServiceNow product needs work. The tool can be very intimidating to new users, and that can harm adoption. In most cases, this issue is addressed by customizing the user interface via the CMS and with training, so these efforts should be be planned for upfront.
ServiceNow is best suited to large organizations with the maturity and resources necessary to manage an ITSM implementation and the capability to champion use of the product across the entire organization. Smaller organizations or organizations with a less mature ITSM environment will have more challenges in realizing the benefit of the tool.
Read Akil Franklin's full review
No photo available
October 03, 2016

ServiceNow Review: "Harness the underlying platform and anchor yourself to a philosophy, because everything else can be changed"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ServiceNow mainly for IT processes (ITIL): Incident, Problem, Change, Service Catalog (Requests), Project Portfolio, etc. With our CreateNow license, we have slowly been creating break-fix or request-fulfillment tickets for other operationally focused groups such as Pipeline Services, Owner Relations, and others who were previously using shared mailboxes to do this work. They have seen the value of standardizing the types of work they do and are enjoying the historical metrics and clear technician performance.
  • Any type of work that keeps occurring and can easily be compared across "technicians", or the people fixing/fulfilling/completing the ticket, and across timeframes.
  • Once all those "chunks" of work are in the lowest common denominator of activity, it's a direct analog of performance in your organization and can be used to report valuable data.
  • Having those activities be very repeatable is the first step in automating them and removing them from your human workload - so they can be freed up to work on more difficult or creative tasks.
  • Haven't tried the new Project creation tool in Geneva yet, but Projects are always tricky when the tasks associated with them have dependencies on the order of completion and amount of work involved with each. To get each task down to a chunk of 3-4 hours would be a lot of work and hundreds of task dependencies.
  • It's very expensive if only used as a service desk ticketing system instead of an entire task management platform across the business. ServiceNow Express or other competitors would be much cheaper if only looking for IT service management.
  • Talent to heavily configure or add new functionality (developers) are costly, but you can mitigate this cost by training someone internal who has Javascript or similar object-oriented programming experience.
ServiceNow is best suited for implementing across all service departments as a company-wide initiative; that is where it will maximize ROI. For smaller organizations that don't have aspirations of rolling it out to an entire company, it might be too expensive unless you go through a multi-tenant managed service provider (MSP). Once more than 40-50% of employees are using it to work and assign tickets, there is an enterprise license option that may save some money.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 15, 2016

Review: "ServiceNow: Single system solution for all Hassles!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work as ServiceNow developer in my organization and we have many clients using ServiceNow. In other words, we have enabled it for many customers. I do development and customization work for my project on the ServiceNow platform. We get customer requirements and according to that we create new applications or modify the existing ones, automate things, and provide or suggest various methods to implement their requirements according to best practices.
  • The ease of customization it provides, great user experience.
  • Security features, can be easily integrated with other systems etc.
  • Can be easliy upgraded to new versions.
  • Provides various automation features.
  • As a developer sometimes I feel there should be a global search kind of thing to search a piece of code in the system.
  • For developers, some ServiceNow upgrades bring some new bugs/changes in the system which [causes] customers to want to be restored to previous versions.
  • The rest everything is superb in the platform.
Because of the features servicenow provides like ease of use, deploying, implementing, learning, developing and many more, I would highly recommend Servicenow.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 25, 2016

"ServiceNow a technical review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used by our organization both internally for areas such as HR, Incident Management, SDLC, Knowledge Management, Sales Pipeline, demand management and externally to interface with our customers. We continue to add more and more uses for ServiceNow as we continue to grow. ServiceNow can solve any business problem, the only thing needed is a solid process to support the technology.
  • ServiceNow is flexible, it can be built to support any process, not only Service Management.
  • ServiceNow can integrate with any system, because of its flexibility and underlying technology.
  • ServiceNow is constantly improving, with two releases a year they are listening to the wants of customers and adding those features.
  • Although ServiceNow is considered a platform, its development capabilities for seasoned developers are light.
  • Better documentation, although the documentation is great, it sometimes is not as detailed as it should be.
  • Better development APIs, since ServiceNow is a platform it should be supporting its developers with first-class APIs rather than forcing developers to write common code, over and over.
ServiceNow is best suited in organizations that want to improve process. Organizations that are looking strictly for a tool, but have no process to support the tool will get lost in the many features available in the product and likely never use the tool fully.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (23)
9.2
Expert directory (16)
8.1
Service restoration (18)
8.3
Self-service tools (20)
8.2
Subscription-based notifications (22)
8.9
ITSM collaboration and documentation (22)
8.3
ITSM reports and dashboards (22)
7.8
Configuration mangement (20)
8.2
Asset management dashboard (20)
7.9
Policy and contract enforcement (19)
7.6
Change requests repository (20)
9.0
Change calendar (19)
8.9
Service-level management (18)
9.1

About ServiceNow

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. The ServiceNow platform has strong social capabilities.

ServiceNow Integrations

ServiceNow Competitors

ServiceNow Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No