TrustRadius
ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. The ServiceNow platform has strong social capabilities.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/71/UB/9GTXAITML6LZ.pngServiceNow - Robust and scalable with all the detailsServiceNow was used as the centralized IT ticking solution for the student, staff and faculty helpdesk. It was later expanded to include the project and program management module. This was used by network operations teams, development teams as well as customer facing portal to submit tickets which will follow a back-end workflow to ensure it is properly triaged. This product allowed us to address having a one-stop shop for ticketing internal and external. We are able to ensure tickets are routed properly without too much administrative overhead in triage.,ServiceNow does a great job in creating a one-stop shop for ticketing for any organization large or small. The system has the ability to scale easily to both internal and external customers. ServiceNow has the ability to scale beyond ticketing to include contract and project management modules to further support one single operation for administration. ServiceNow integrates very well with Microsoft Active Directory. ServiceNow has a very robust set of permissions and rules you can apply for a high level of security.,ServiceNow knowledgebase is limited for self-learning on how to use their features. ServiceNow sometimes has a very linear approach to some workflows or assignments where there could only be one child/parent relationship. The ServiceNow features for Project Management serves its function is rather cumbersome. The dependencies aspect or predecessors or successors options are rather limited. It is more focused on hours planned vs hours worked then dependencies. ServiceNow customer support is hit or miss. They could serve to have more self-help step by step articles. ServiceNow needs to have a better export or import features for their Project Management module.,7,Overall ServiceNow has a positive impact on getting the SLA of tickets down in supporting our customers. One negative impact has been the amount of time to get the product to produce an ROI, it's almost too big to fail and too big to replace. You almost become committed to the product. Good or bad. Another negative impact would be if you track metrics of employees and time tracking, there is a lot of scenarios where engineers will track time on tickets but not get credit for closing them as the assignee function of tickets can only be tied to one user and credits only the engineer who closes the ticket. Another positive impact would be the level of security for permissions and scaling the workloads is robust and you will get out of the system what your team is willing to put in.,Jira Service Desk, Microsoft Access and Zendesk,JIRA Software, Smartsheet, Microsoft 365 Business, Amazon Web Services, Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point, Atlassian Confluence, Cisco Webex Teams (formerly Cisco Spark), Amazon ChimeServiceNow - which problems can't you solve with it?ServiceNow is currently gaining market share, here at Wayfair. It was on-boarded to the company in early 2018 due to our Monitoring / Critical Response teams need for a robust reporting platform with available integrations to our monitoring tools (Data Dog/Logic Monitor). Since then, we have seen team after team approach the ServiceNow Engineering group at Wayfair to onboard their ticketing needs. I say ticketing, and not "Incident, Change, or Request needs", as ServiceNow is providing our team with the conduit to help all Wayfair employees understand how to organize themselves in a more ITIL based approach, where it makes sense. We haven't adopted a full ITIL approach, but the segmentation within ServiceNow allows the Wayfair ServiceNow team to coach its users to understand the importance of labeling, organization and building automation with a platform or layered (not app/tool/single use case based) approach. Since then, our Monitoring, DC Operations, Infra Ops, and Help Desk organizations have partnered to build solutions in ServiceNow. Business Problems addressed: - Change, Incident, Request, Problem, Assets, CMDB: We are using these modules, out of box, to solve everyday operational needs - Alert >> Monitoring: Infrastructure teams are storing and reporting on alerts, and creating custom INC records based on event mgmt logic (custom) - General Use: digitizing process, decommissioning other internal apps,Request Management - ServiceNow's front end facing catalog is a fantastic cost-wise approach to expose the repetitive request-able functions your organization can offer to your company. Cost/Chargeback functions can be included effortlessly. Baking in Knowledge throughout the catalog like experience (to promote self service) is effortless. If you can organize your team into repeatable processes, then ServiceNow can take everyone out of email and spreadsheets, and into a fully transparent, documented, automated workflow to deliver each and every step of that process. Alerting / Monitoring - ServiceNow provides the tables/functionality you would need to store, organize and report on all monitoring tools in your portfolio. Importing information into ServiceNow is decidedly easy. Enriching data within ServiceNow is straightforward and benefits from all other business / infrastructure related content that you store on the platform. Using Discovery alongside monitoring tools provides the capabilities and flexibility needed to protect and run daily operations needed to support a growing and thriving company that Wayfair is. CMDB / Discovery - Very easy, licensing the technology that comes with Discovery is the single easier decision you can make to provide the level of support, transparency and consistency your infrastructure teams require to stay ahead of issues...and act quickly when they are happening. Backend Support - If you size dictates it, purchase the technical support from ServiceNow. They react quickly and with a solution your team can actually use to solve both short and long-term roadblocks.,Pricing - we all want to expose as much as our data as we can, internally. Easy reporting makes happy employees, and happy employee's stay productive. ServiceNow allows you to expose a front-end catalog like experience to all users in your company...but restricts their intuitive and fantastic back-end reporting capabilities to a subset of paid (sometimes expensive) users. The trick is finding our where you can and cannot compromise on functionality and experience. Sometimes you need to buy a license for a team, sometimes you can provide on-demand reporting functionality. Really depends case by case. Widget Flexibility - Allowing non-dev users to build their own widgets. Make the tool more friendly (no-code) to non-development/front-end only users. I would love to support a widget or piece of functionality which allows users to customize their ServiceNow catalog experience or reporting without my team's involvement. Better back-end reporting - reporting on system tables or core data is not always accessible via ServiceNow reporting/logging. I have often found myself at a roadblock to report on simple statistics like page views or number of clicks. We want to understand how our users are engaging in the platform, but there is a lack of reportable tables/metadata to help us build this picture.,10,Alert >> Monitoring response team - Servicenow has provided our monitoring teams with the ability to quickly set up automation, notifications, and response management off importing data, aggregating it, and using it for queries both on / off the platform. Our ability to identify the specific alerts to focus on has increased in efficiency Incident Coordinator / Critical Response team - has built many notifications, messaging, and response layers of automation to provide them with a simple form that allows them to create historical data to describe alerts/incidents, measure and compare issues, find and resolve the issues, then communicate out to various pockets of people. Their team's reach and capability to contact different segments of people (consistently and accurately) has been a direct result of their use of ServiceNow. Even better, everything is controlled from fewer interfaces, making their reach..greater, but their process...simpler. Help Desk team - utilizes the bevy of information we can aggregate in ServiceNow, to solve every problem we have here at Wayfair. Whether its a customer issue or a password reset, our Help Desk is enabled to research, read/listen, communicate, and work to resolve each and every issue that plagues us. This team is our biggest supporter of ServiceNow, and is actively at the forefront of new automation in each and every one of our sprints. Wayfair is growing rapidly, and in order to support this growth (without massive complementary hiring) we look to ServiceNow to provide them that exponential capacity.,,Datadog, LogicMonitor, SolarWinds Network Device Monitor, Tableau DesktopServiceNow is THE BEST!!ServiceNow is used in our organization for internal tickets as well as with our customer facing requests. It is used for ticketing, asset management, and software management.,Asset management - ServiceNow provides detailed asset management capabilities. Reports - ServiceNow allows reports that can be endlessly customized to provide any information. Software Management - ServiceNow allows serial number and software deployment information to be centralized.,Customer Interface - ServiceNow can be difficult to use at first. It does require some initial training to get the hang of. KB Articles - It really depends on who makes them but even the best KB article can be hard to understand at times. ITIL Interface - The ITIL statistics interface could use some work, can be hard to understand.,9,Excellent ticket management Asset management which keeps costs down Software management also keeps costs down,BMC Remedy and KACE Endpoint Systems Management Appliance,Microsoft Office 365, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), SlackService Now is Amazing!We use it for our service desk and the entire IT department, as well as our medical enrollment department, and we are adding groups monthly so that we are all on the same system. We are better able to communicate this way. It has helped to be on the same page as well and be better organized.,Organizes tickets very well. Allows multiple users to interact at one time on a ticket. Having the option to have multiple categories is also nice.,The ability to reopen a ticket even after it is closed for final. We then have to recreate the ticket.,10,Very positive ROI - it has allowed us to be very efficient compared to using SmarterTrak.,,Azure Active Directory, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft System Center Configuration ManagerOne of the best Software for ITSM and ITOM needsI am a consultant and do works towards ServiceNow Implementation and Integration at end customers. Since I work with various customers in various verticals and domains, I come across a wide variety of use cases that ServiceNow can resolve and the way it can be implemented to achieve it. ServiceNow is known for ITSM solution. But in my opinion, ServiceNow very well works for ITSM, ITOM solutions. Nowadays ServiceNow has also launched their HR and CRM solution but I have not used those much.,ITSM functionality is very strong and available out of the box where you might want customization as per your organization need. Another Strong point of ServiceNow is easy customization as per the requirement. Creating new fields or new modules or even new applications are easy and provides lots of flexibility even if being a cloud application. ServiceNow is focusing a lot of platforms and provides the opportunity to build many things as per the need if something is not available out of the box for certain customer specific requirements. Or it's even possible to partner and build the solution and sell the same from ServiceNow marketplace.,The platform is not as mature as Force.com and needs a little improvement where a customer may require the least amount of coding. Creation of new application or modules requires some sort of coding skill. It is not pure drag and drop.,9,I cannot answer w.r.t. to my organization as we internally do not use ServiceNow but there are lots of customers who are the happy customer and got benefited with ServiceNow. This is a good product and provides better ROI.,Oracle Service Cloud and Salesforce Service Cloud,Oracle ERP Cloud, Oracle Integration Cloud, Oracle Data Integrator
Unspecified
ServiceNow
244 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

ServiceNow Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
ServiceNow
244 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 244 vetted ServiceNow reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP profile photo
February 06, 2019

Review: "ServiceNow - Robust and scalable with all the details"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow was used as the centralized IT ticking solution for the student, staff and faculty helpdesk. It was later expanded to include the project and program management module. This was used by network operations teams, development teams as well as customer facing portal to submit tickets which will follow a back-end workflow to ensure it is properly triaged.

This product allowed us to address having a one-stop shop for ticketing internal and external. We are able to ensure tickets are routed properly without too much administrative overhead in triage.
  • ServiceNow does a great job in creating a one-stop shop for ticketing for any organization large or small. The system has the ability to scale easily to both internal and external customers.
  • ServiceNow has the ability to scale beyond ticketing to include contract and project management modules to further support one single operation for administration.
  • ServiceNow integrates very well with Microsoft Active Directory.
  • ServiceNow has a very robust set of permissions and rules you can apply for a high level of security.
  • ServiceNow knowledgebase is limited for self-learning on how to use their features.
  • ServiceNow sometimes has a very linear approach to some workflows or assignments where there could only be one child/parent relationship.
  • The ServiceNow features for Project Management serves its function is rather cumbersome. The dependencies aspect or predecessors or successors options are rather limited. It is more focused on hours planned vs hours worked then dependencies.
  • ServiceNow customer support is hit or miss. They could serve to have more self-help step by step articles.
  • ServiceNow needs to have a better export or import features for their Project Management module.
ServiceNow is a perfect and great fit for A to B style helpdesk ticketing! I would tend to shy away from this product is your project management shop is on the medium or larger scale. It is ok for smaller projects but not for large complex, multi-team projects. ServiceNow is also great for establishing routine and frequently used workflows that you want to publish to an external or public customer base. There is a lot of potential to relieve a lot of administrative overhead but it requires a lot of back end work to see those results.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Anthony Zappala profile photo
December 28, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow - which problems can't you solve with it?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is currently gaining market share, here at Wayfair. It was on-boarded to the company in early 2018 due to our Monitoring / Critical Response teams need for a robust reporting platform with available integrations to our monitoring tools (Data Dog/Logic Monitor).

Since then, we have seen team after team approach the ServiceNow Engineering group at Wayfair to onboard their ticketing needs.

I say ticketing, and not "Incident, Change, or Request needs", as ServiceNow is providing our team with the conduit to help all Wayfair employees understand how to organize themselves in a more ITIL based approach, where it makes sense. We haven't adopted a full ITIL approach, but the segmentation within ServiceNow allows the Wayfair ServiceNow team to coach its users to understand the importance of labeling, organization and building automation with a platform or layered (not app/tool/single use case based) approach.

Since then, our Monitoring, DC Operations, Infra Ops, and Help Desk organizations have partnered to build solutions in ServiceNow.

Business Problems addressed:
- Change, Incident, Request, Problem, Assets, CMDB: We are using these modules, out of box, to solve everyday operational needs
- Alert >> Monitoring: Infrastructure teams are storing and reporting on alerts, and creating custom INC records based on event mgmt logic (custom)
- General Use: digitizing process, decommissioning other internal apps
  • Request Management - ServiceNow's front end facing catalog is a fantastic cost-wise approach to expose the repetitive request-able functions your organization can offer to your company. Cost/Chargeback functions can be included effortlessly. Baking in Knowledge throughout the catalog like experience (to promote self service) is effortless. If you can organize your team into repeatable processes, then ServiceNow can take everyone out of email and spreadsheets, and into a fully transparent, documented, automated workflow to deliver each and every step of that process.
  • Alerting / Monitoring - ServiceNow provides the tables/functionality you would need to store, organize and report on all monitoring tools in your portfolio. Importing information into ServiceNow is decidedly easy. Enriching data within ServiceNow is straightforward and benefits from all other business / infrastructure related content that you store on the platform. Using Discovery alongside monitoring tools provides the capabilities and flexibility needed to protect and run daily operations needed to support a growing and thriving company that Wayfair is.
  • CMDB / Discovery - Very easy, licensing the technology that comes with Discovery is the single easier decision you can make to provide the level of support, transparency and consistency your infrastructure teams require to stay ahead of issues...and act quickly when they are happening.
  • Backend Support - If you size dictates it, purchase the technical support from ServiceNow. They react quickly and with a solution your team can actually use to solve both short and long-term roadblocks.
  • Pricing - we all want to expose as much as our data as we can, internally. Easy reporting makes happy employees, and happy employee's stay productive. ServiceNow allows you to expose a front-end catalog like experience to all users in your company...but restricts their intuitive and fantastic back-end reporting capabilities to a subset of paid (sometimes expensive) users. The trick is finding our where you can and cannot compromise on functionality and experience. Sometimes you need to buy a license for a team, sometimes you can provide on-demand reporting functionality. Really depends case by case.
  • Widget Flexibility - Allowing non-dev users to build their own widgets. Make the tool more friendly (no-code) to non-development/front-end only users. I would love to support a widget or piece of functionality which allows users to customize their ServiceNow catalog experience or reporting without my team's involvement.
  • Better back-end reporting - reporting on system tables or core data is not always accessible via ServiceNow reporting/logging. I have often found myself at a roadblock to report on simple statistics like page views or number of clicks. We want to understand how our users are engaging in the platform, but there is a lack of reportable tables/metadata to help us build this picture.
Centralizing Data / Reporting - ServiceNowexcels in providing easy ways to import/export data from the platform. Some automated, some manual, all users benefit with properly designed ServiceNow connected tables.

CMDB / Inventory Mgmt - Discovery and the CMDB functionality provide an easy means of keeping track of your configurable HW and SW environments. Best CMDB tool I have seen to date, in the market.

Change / Incident Mgmt - This is really the best out of box experience ServiceNow has. Very straightforward, with unlimited benefits to be provided in this space when enhancements to the CMDB are made. When everything is connected, gleaning context off a ticket becomes easy. Automation based on historical data is also a big feature in this space

Automation Tool - If you have tools which provide orchestration/automation, and you're just looking to replace them with a cheaper option, look elsewhere.
Read Anthony Zappala's full review
Jonathan Ayers profile photo
February 15, 2019

User Review: "ServiceNow is THE BEST!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used in our organization for internal tickets as well as with our customer facing requests. It is used for ticketing, asset management, and software management.
  • Asset management - ServiceNow provides detailed asset management capabilities.
  • Reports - ServiceNow allows reports that can be endlessly customized to provide any information.
  • Software Management - ServiceNow allows serial number and software deployment information to be centralized.
  • Customer Interface - ServiceNow can be difficult to use at first. It does require some initial training to get the hang of.
  • KB Articles - It really depends on who makes them but even the best KB article can be hard to understand at times.
  • ITIL Interface - The ITIL statistics interface could use some work, can be hard to understand.
ServiceNow is really suited anywhere. Since it is so customizable, you can make it fit any situation or organization. I like to think of it as a "Swiss Army Knife". The software management piece is really useful, it allows you to manage software deployment and serial number management. It also has a self-service feature that allows users to submit requests through templates that gather the pertinent information. I've used other systems like Remedy and KACE but ServiceNow is by far the best I've used.
Read Jonathan Ayers's full review
Jonathan Norwood profile photo
February 06, 2019

ServiceNow Review: "Service Now is Amazing!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our service desk and the entire IT department, as well as our medical enrollment department, and we are adding groups monthly so that we are all on the same system. We are better able to communicate this way. It has helped to be on the same page as well and be better organized.
  • Organizes tickets very well.
  • Allows multiple users to interact at one time on a ticket.
  • Having the option to have multiple categories is also nice.
  • The ability to reopen a ticket even after it is closed for final. We then have to recreate the ticket.
Great all around, we love the ability to communicate inside of ServiceNow. we are able to work a ticket with multiple people even if from different departments. The ease of function in creating tickets is also nice. On a daily basis, we create tickets and are able to search them if something new comes from the user.
Read Jonathan Norwood's full review
Shalindra Singh profile photo
November 12, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "One of the best Software for ITSM and ITOM needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a consultant and do works towards ServiceNow Implementation and Integration at end customers. Since I work with various customers in various verticals and domains, I come across a wide variety of use cases that ServiceNow can resolve and the way it can be implemented to achieve it. ServiceNow is known for ITSM solution. But in my opinion, ServiceNow very well works for ITSM, ITOM solutions. Nowadays ServiceNow has also launched their HR and CRM solution but I have not used those much.
  • ITSM functionality is very strong and available out of the box where you might want customization as per your organization need.
  • Another Strong point of ServiceNow is easy customization as per the requirement. Creating new fields or new modules or even new applications are easy and provides lots of flexibility even if being a cloud application.
  • ServiceNow is focusing a lot of platforms and provides the opportunity to build many things as per the need if something is not available out of the box for certain customer specific requirements. Or it's even possible to partner and build the solution and sell the same from ServiceNow marketplace.
  • The platform is not as mature as Force.com and needs a little improvement where a customer may require the least amount of coding.
  • Creation of new application or modules requires some sort of coding skill. It is not pure drag and drop.
If the requirement is for internal IT management or Service Cloud (operations) internal or external, ServiceNow is a perfect solution. ServiceNow is moving towards becoming a complete ERP but it will take some time to reach there.
Read Shalindra Singh's full review
Ashley Gennett profile photo
September 28, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow is our modern day customer communication tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is our new customer communication tool within Amtech Software and Futura Services. It is replacing our old system, Remedy, and we find that access to it is so much simpler. We are able to publish press releases and news on ServiceNow, we are able to send notifications to users about news we do not want them to miss. We like the ease of being able to receive tickets, or issues, and also keep all customer information in one place.
  • I like the ease of setup and access for all users within the system, including our employees and customers.
  • I like that we can personalize our ServiceNow site, which we have branded iServe for our customers.
  • I like that we can use the system similar to our social media accounts, and pass along news to our users.
  • The only issue we have had thus far is that it doesn't integrate with HubSpot, without going through a third-party.
ServiceNow will work perfectly for organizations that had ticket logs, etc. We have found, through the implementation process, that it also works for us in seeing who is compliant and who is not. We can see who has expired on support, who is not paying and who is using more licenses than what they pay for.
Read Ashley Gennett's full review
Andrew Bishop ✞ ☁ ✍ profile photo
January 09, 2019

Review: "Why service later... when you can ServiceNow?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All IT-related requests are being inputted into ServiceNow. ServiceNow is retiring legacy software as the true cloud functionality is appealing. ServiceNow is handling enhancement requests as well as demands and projects. We're going to be using the agile method with the visual storyboards to help accomplish the desired results of the organization.
  • Internal communication
  • Workflow automation
  • Related objects
  • Too many objects.
  • A bit confusing in the backend.
  • Filters can be confusing.
ServiceNow is well suited when it comes to project management. For example, if your company or organization has many different departments that need to update or access data about a particular project then ServiceNow can meet that request.

ServiceNow at the same time is so complex that training and change management will be the most difficult pieces of onboarding.
Read Andrew Bishop ✞ ☁ ✍'s full review
Phanindra reddy Bommu profile photo
August 22, 2018

User Review: "ServiceNow for Success"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used as a Service desk tool where we can track customer incidents, Change management, task assignment, and SLA's. It also automates the flow of the business process with the help of structured workflows. We will get the customer requirements as we will be developing the new applications or adjusting the existing ones.
  • Usability of ServiceNow is very easy and users feel it is simple to use its UI for automating processes
  • Integration of ServiceNow with any system is smooth with its flexibility and technology
  • Processes are clearly defined and automation allows for easy implementation of workflows
  • The user interface of SN is not friendly for process automation tools like BluePrism etc. Need to use images and keyboard shortcuts, instead of UI elements
  • The application is slow if we did more customization
  • Works well with some specific browsers
ServiceNow is well suited in the areas where we need to have service desk features. Incident management and change management are the other two areas where SN is well suited. The knowledge base scripts provide a method for both customers and help desk to resolve issues very quickly.
Read Phanindra reddy Bommu's full review
No photo available
February 06, 2019

Review: "ServiceNow...a serious ITSM tool for the serious organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is a fully integrated part of our corporate intranet. It is used to allow users to open service requests ranging from technology issues to HR issues, to facilities issues. ServiceNow (aka SNOW) is used across our entire organization. Because it is full-featured and a fully integrated solution, we no longer have multiple systems by which problem tickets and/or requests are opened and managed. This unified system improves efficiency and enhances the overall user experience.
  • Fully integrates with custom web solutions.
  • Provides detailed control of user security by user, role, network group, etc.
  • Offers a full-featured tracking system which allows attachment of documents and other objects.
  • ServiceNow offers to many options that it is sometimes difficult to navigate.
  • The ServiceNow documentation, while comprehensive, is provided through a completely separate window rather than being integrated directly into the system.
  • The mobile interface is sufficient but performance is a bit slow.
ServiceNow is well suited for the large organization with multiple locations. Because it is web-based, it is easily accessible throughout the entire organization. However, depending upon your implementation, it can be a bit technical and cumbersome for the less technical user. I would not recommend ServiceNow for any type of publicly accessible interface as there are likely much less complex, and certainly less costly solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

Review: "ServiceNow - a Great choice for ITSM for any sized company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is in use across our entire enterprise. It is the one location for Incident Management, IT Procurement, Problem Management, and System Access and Change Control. This allows Tickets to be routed to the owners for approval and for completion. Reporting is completed from one system and allows for the streamlining of processes.
  • Incident Management -- Calls to Incidents to Problems for tracking of issues.
  • Reporting -- very intuitive User interface to create reports, dashboards, and other metrics.
  • Ease of Integration -- Has many API's exposed to integrate with other systems.
  • Complex reporting requires data extracts.
  • Initial Setup (Lookup Data - Groupings and Categories/subcategories) must be done correctly or it can impact your ability to expand in the future.
  • Creating of users and user groups must be thought out and you must understand specifically what roles and tasks are to be completed in ServiceNow.
ServiceNow is great for any size company. Due to Cloud Deployment Options, it is quick and easy to deploy. If you are looking to create custom flows and work products, you will need either an in-house owner or contract with a company to support it for you. It is a very strong tool, but you must be willing to hire the talent to use the tool to its utmost capability.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 11, 2019

"ServiceNow - Fully Integrated"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Easiness of the Tool in setting up things like workflows, application/module arrangement makes things to be understood easily unlike other famous tools in the market. Documentation is also good and the best part is you don't need to face any hassles in maintaining the server/hardware performance.
  • Reports and Services dashboard is altogether a new evolution which cannot be beaten by any other tool in the market.
  • A change request which is basic for any enhancement or development project can be tracked flawlessly in this.
  • It even provides a knowledge management feature with approval flow. and if your project has Agile, Waterfall methodology even it fits best.
  • I don't like the email notifications this program generates.
  • Some of the required approvals are not relevant to our organization and become a bit of a hurdle for us.
  • At times, too many modules are introduced, and improvements to the existing ones are slowed down.
The ability for ServiceNow to provide several offerings on one page.
Well suited for the following:

1. Generates and populate data for report quickly.
2. Incident Tracking.
3. Agile Workbench and Development.
4. Change request tracking.
5. Process Management.
6. Maintaining Knowledge articles.

Some limitations are: event rules are tough to manage, the need for more simplification, confusions in trigger function and scheduling jobs.

It works very slow with Internet Explorer. They should find a way to make it faster in Internet Explorer.
We run into a lot of permission related issues. We utilize a small team of developers to help us manage the upstream/downstream impacts

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 08, 2019

ServiceNow Review: "The Next Generation IT Service Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using ServiceNow ITSM (IT Service Management) and ITOM (ITOM) modules. ITSM is currently being used for Incident, problem, change and request management. ServiceNow ITSM has allowed our organization to embrace ITIL best practices using various ITSM and ITOM modules. It has boosted productivity by automating many of our processes. Provides management on-demand reports and dashboards, with a single data model to generate and distribute important information on demand and in real time. ServiceNow is being used both at the back office and roadside. Asset Management Module is used for maintaining and tracking all inventory at the roadside along with purchase orders and transfer orders. We use the Procurement Management module for maintaining all our contracts and vendor management. In a nutshell, Service Now is one stop shop for all your IT needs.
  • Utilize ServiceNow API’s to perform integrations with 3rd party applications and also automate the ticket creation process as applicable.
  • Restore service after an unplanned interruption by investigating the root cause of an incident or escalating it to a major incident to quickly resolve critical service disruptions. ITOM CMDB is a must have for this scenario.
  • Improvement in mean time to respond (MTTR) for all Incidents. Reduce incident response times and improve the mean time to restore service (MTRS) for all Incidents.
  • ServiceNow supports a subset of the standard functionality on smartphones and similar devices, allowing mobile users to remotely access their ServiceNow instances to perform common tasks. This improves the ITSM processes and increase the level of accessibility for all our customers.
  • Reporting. Building Reports need unnecessary scripting unless you have activated paid plugins performance analytics.
  • Some of the API's which comes with ServiceNow support.
Easy to customize and has many options available to tailor your needs. The application is very scalable. ITSM guided setup provides a sequence of tasks that help you configure the IT Service Management (ITSM) applications on your ServiceNow instance. Ease of moving customization from one instance to another. ServiceNow provides a developer instance which is free for developers to learn and explore the product. Ability to build your own custom app. Reporting needs some improvement.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2019

ServiceNow Review: "Service Now - A great IT all around management tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used for ticketing, asset management, purchasing, change management and multiple other functions within our organization. It was the single system that is able to bring everything listed above together in a single web GUI interface.
  • The ticketing system is amazing.
  • Change Management is pretty good.
  • Time sheets.
  • Change Management could use a bit more polishing.
  • Problem system is strange and cumbersome and seems redundant.
  • Asset Management requires third-party plugins or expensive add-ons to work properly.
In a very large organization, where multiple functions need to be collapsed into a single web-accessible system, ServiceNow shines! Time Management and correlation to the tasks, projects, and incidents are great for billing back and/or keep track of employees. Integration with domain system is also very useful and provides a clear base for user management.
Read this authenticated review
Ryan Weller profile photo
April 12, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow in an IT Help Desk environment 20K customer base"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My interaction and usage with ServiceNow(SN) was/is two-fold.
1-Was: While with FDA, we used SN for our FDA Wide ticketing system for our IT Help Desk contract and other various support. Supporting over 20,000 customers, those customers would call the Help Desk, and log Interactions and Incidents for assistance. SN is very robust with lots of customizing, and ease of use for not only the Help Desk and Technicians but also customers as well.

2-Is: Currently I'm beginning the process of development and implantation of SN. The training program and eventual certification process so far have been straightforward and easy to follow. Eventually, I will be customizing SN for use over various contracts and agencies.
  • Navigation is fluid and easy to follow.
  • Customizing views to suit your need is a breeze.
  • Generating reports that you need is "fun" as there are many built-in options as well as the ability to create your own.
  • Exporting reports in various formats help as different clients prefer different products.
  • Sometimes too much, is just that; too much. SN offers so much, that you can kind of get lost in all its features.
  • Color customizing would be nice for those with visual impairments.
  • Cost is steep, but you do get a lot.
Any arena where SLAs and Ticketing is a factor, SN performs terrifically. If you need a tool that is easy to learn and train, then SN is your choice. An area of issue is also a strong point (oddly enough), as with its wide range of custom-ability, many customers often create more work for our SN team to make changes, while subtle at times, if only to appease 1 person. Basically, its flexibility can create bottlenecks.
Read Ryan Weller's full review
Antonio Acosta profile photo
March 16, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "ITSM Senior Consultant"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow lets the organization consolidate many process related to the enterprise service model on a single platform. Typically, the companies start with the main ITSM processes, such as incident, problem and change, using the CMDB, Asset, SLA and KB as foundational applications. Then may then move on to other process such as HR and customer service. With a cloud based solution, and with all major needs covered out of the box, enterprises can go live with this solution very quickly.
  • Application fully alligned to ITIL best practices. At least 11 process have been certified by companies like Pink Elephant.
  • Cloud-based solution with major needs covered out of the box, with high standard of performance and availability.
  • Application fully integrated, making transitions between modules easy and straightforward.
  • Service portal, mobile applications and email capabilities provides the end user a self-service experience.
  • Licensing model for Fulfillers in order to share pool licenses.
  • Report capabilities to obtain certain kind of metrics without performance analytics
  • Graphical representation of the Configuration Management Database (CMDB) configuration items (CIs) and their relationships
ServiceNow can be used to any organization no matter the sector. Companies that want to consolidate on a single platform with many enterprise services provided for internal users or customer. For small companies it could be an expensive solution.
Read Antonio Acosta's full review
No photo available
March 01, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow - Great for process improvement, poor for Customer Improvement"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow was used for IT service management by my organization. We utilized a lot of the features and modules including Change, Incident (Internal and External), Knowledge, Problem, Community, and chat. This tool enabled us to implement the ITIL service model of Change Management and Incident Management.
  • Easily customizable forms and tables and easy to create field dependencies.
  • Great user interface which allows agents to customized lists, favorites, bookmarks, and their dashboard.
  • Great filtering options for list views and record views
  • Reporting - ServiceNow has definitely come a long way with their reporting features, however, we had to outsource to a third-party entity to create more robust dashboards and reports
  • Permissions - User permissions are actually fairly good, but not as easy or intuitive as other systems we have used. The crossover of permissions from the knowledge module and the rest of the platform is subpar.
  • Limited CRM features - Although ServiceNow has recently rolled out a lot more CRM options within the past 2 years, it pales in comparison with the more established ones out there, leaving room for error and a gap between managing internal processes and customer-facing processes.
ServiceNow is great for IT service management in which you can capture customer incidents and implement a great change process. All of these processes aim to make your internal structure more efficient and easy. However, when it comes to managing customers on top of performing your daily internal processes, ServiceNow lacks that full 360 view of how handling customers can affect your internal processes and vice versa.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 23, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "Going from Nothing to Everything"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both my previous and current employers have implemented ServiceNow to help us to better assist our customers and staff. In networking, everyone is a customer. ServiceNow allows us to focus on improving the network by providing the leadership with insight to how the network is performing from a customers point of view. ServiceNow is used for incident management, problem management, change management, and inventory.
  • Incident management reporting has been the central focus of our organization. The knowledge base scripts provide a method for both our customer and help desk personnel to resolve issues very quickly.
  • The change management provides a central portal for leadership to be aware and discuss upcoming changes.
  • Part of the change management and incident management components is its integration with inventory. This allow us to identify systems that were affected or caused an issue in the past.
  • Quantitative trend analysis - There isn't a report that can be provided that can quickly identify a failing system.
  • Process dependencies - Some process require certain departments to be notified. Such as a new PC installation in a new office. There isn't a way for the users to identify everything that is needed, or a systematic way to build process dependent activities and notifications into the service.
ServiceNow works very well in a service oriented environment. Our environment is customer driven, nothing happens unless there is a customer need. ServiceNow provides that place for customers to report their requirements and issues. Where in some cases, we are mission centered, our goal is to provide areas where service is weak and improve them, ServiceNow lacks the functionality for us to quickly and easily identify these areas.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2017

"ServiceNow Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used as an ITSM and Service desk tool, replacing CA ServiceDesk Manager. We have a program in place to go beyond the simple service desk function and extend as a corporate procurement and asset management tool. Potential future use but not yet funded are for GRC(Governance Risk Compliance) and Project Management.
  • Provides a standard and relatively easy way to create a system of records for enterprise assets.
  • Processes are clearly defined and implemented. Alignment with legacy processes is easy and best practices exist when this is not the case. Automation allows for easy implementation of workflows and use of APIs make integration with external platforms a breeze.
  • Self-Service user experience is great. Out-of-the box. No need to specialized, costly and hard to find consultants.
  • Implementation is still the domain of major consulting companies. This requires large budget projects. It would be good to develop an education and certification program to reduce the need for major integration companies.
  • Maybe confusing at the beginning, too many fields, too much information. Is there a way to start simple and grow?
  • Pay attention to overpromising. The company has great marketing material, great sales people, making it seem to be the tool for all IT needs, but the road may be long and costly.
  • ServiceNow could be a very good enterprise-wide platform but you need to prepare for significant integration and be ready to adopt standard processes.
- Very well suited for ITSM. Standards based approach with simple and natural alignment with ITIL. - Very good reporting tools and going beyond simple obvious dashboards with multiplatform capabilities including mobile. - Although not at the same level as ITSM capabilities, a multitude of other capabilities in the finance, HR, project and portfolio management and other business areas makes this a very interesting proposition for an enterprise platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

"ServiceNow Review for Business and Technical Teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow to manage all ICT service management activities. This includes service desk, problem management and also Agile based software deliveries to our core systems.
  • Great for servicedesk management
  • Works well for Agile deliveries and assigning work as well as assessing effort
  • Good configuration management tools
  • Useful task based dashboards to manage teams
  • Tailoring of certain aspects can be difficult and costly to implement
  • The tool is for service management purposes but does lack the softer side of service delivery in terms of business expectation and customer satisfaction analysis.
  • Licensing model can be complicated.
Works very well across all service management disciplines. Generally, you need to treat the product itself as being under change management to ensure you do not break it or misconfigure it. You should have well-trained ServiceNow staff who can tailor the system to your needs.

While the tool can be used as a general ticketing tool for business desks its purpose is for service management teams.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 31, 2018

ServiceNow Review: "Simple and Easy to use. But, prepare to pay for consulting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used by the entire organization, solving the trouble of integration between the different areas of the organization. With the previous tool, we couldn't track what was happening sometimes, for example when lots of people opened an incident ticket and relate them to a problem. This tool helped us to solve this.
  • Integration between areas and the user
  • Run in the cloud
  • Integration with other tools, as monitoring tools creating a ticket automatically
  • Integration depends on consultant work.
  • No on-premise option
  • Price
When you need to start quickly, that's a great option. Fast deploy, fast integration with active directory, and the IT stuff if needed, it's quick to add too. To not pay the extra license, the team of the company that deployed it gave an option to create a single portal, allowing a common user to create tickets and watch all that was happening to the ticket.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2018

Review: "ServiceNow from an IT and call center perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Servicenow is used for tracking of inbound customer incidents, project management task assignment and coordination, change management and task coordination, problem management and asset management to a certain degree.

Servicenow helps solve the problem of not being able to associate configuration items with tasks performed on them regularly, be they break-fix, routine maintenance and other one off changes. This can be critical for mapping out trends in incidents and potential infrastructure flaws.
  • The change management and task relationship is exceptional. It allows easy collaboration between multiple users on a single change.
  • Incident communication workflows are easily customized to ensure that agents are responding to incidents within management defined SLAs. Out of the box communication to the opening user is excellent as well.
  • The responsiveness of searching previous incidents/problems/changes along with the easy ad-hoc filter generation.
  • Since there are so many ways to customize this application, depending on what your deployment scope is, it is very easy for a smaller development team to get backlogged in enhancement requests
  • The user of hyperlinks within forms to generate new windows can have unexpected scrolling behavior of the parent window upon completing a form.
  • Out of the box time entry and management is very cumbersome.
Servicenow is fantastic for incident-centric environments (anywhere you'd use a CRM solution to track customer/user/agent interactions). With the flexibility of licensing and deployment, along with the application being hosted by ServiceNow, it has applications for both large and small organizations. This application is also great for IT teams who want to be able to track trending issues and implement good problem management strategies.
Read this authenticated review
Max Lewenhaupt profile photo
January 03, 2017

Review: "Tech guy with 15 years of experience annoyed with ServiceNow."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

It's being used across the whole organization. Our entire company sends and finishes tickets using the portal. We use each queue for IT, facilities, and others.

Our business needs quick responses, as we work at a media company. We handle [everything] from small issues to big issues on servers and it is of vital importance that the [ticketing] software [vendor] respect our time frames and needs.

  • Maybe some of the customization features.
  • Cloud-based.
  • Can add attachments [to tickets].
  • Extremely slow after customization at enterprise [level].
  • So many fields needed for open ticket.
  • Confusing, not easy to find anything.
  • Search fields are not accepting % value to research as CPTM.
  • Time consuming customization on a daily basis.
  • No so user friendly.
  • Does not work well on Chrome.
We found several scenarios where ServiceNow is slow. In regards to performance, I have sent tickets several times to our team to review the poor performance without any success. Our business requires quick action many times on issues and ServiceNow is not providing quick performance for our tasks.
Read Max Lewenhaupt's full review
Michael Sypes profile photo
May 27, 2016

Review: "ServiceNow, Service Tomorrow, Service Forever"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used across our entire business organization. It is our primary mechanism for front line personnel to report problems to our IT service desk. The Information Technology Department uses ServiceNow to track and manage reported incidents, tasks, projects and their resolutions. We also use it as the centerpiece of our change management control. ServiceNow also provides us with a significant portion of our project management flow.
  • Easy tracking of individuals' input and time spent
  • Automated email updates on work items
  • Tight integration among components
  • Massive and at times confusing interface
  • Too many categories of items with seemingly arbitrary differences in functionality
  • Honing in on just what you need is difficult for a basic user
ServiceNow is an enterprise level solution for managing service incidents, tasks, and projects. It is best suited for large organizations with the manpower to educate administrators of such a massive system. There is no doubt a lot of configuration and specialized knowledge involved in using this tool well. Smaller teams will find it unwieldy as it presents a lot of information which may or may not be useful to individuals.
Read Michael Sypes's full review
Jung Kim profile photo
March 28, 2016

ServiceNow Review: "Power to simplify"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used throughout the County of San Mateo including all of 28 Departments within the county. It's the central ticketing system, problem management, change management, event management, knowledge base and asset management solution. It's also used as Request Management to all of 28 Departments that they can order services and products from the IT groups.
  • Change Management is better than anything else that I've seen.
  • Asset Management/CMDB tied to Change Management is simply one of the kind.
  • Approval/notification workflow is flexible and powerful enough for any use cases.
  • Portfolio management is few generations behind compare to other leading solutions
  • Still has versionitus symptoms - some dramatic changes with each release
It's generally good for a medium and larger enterprises. Not suitable for small companies since the initial investment to set it up and configuring is high.
Read Jung Kim's full review
Randall Hodgins profile photo
September 26, 2015

Review: "ServiceNow is engineered for your success."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is a Platform as a Service product. It is typically used across the spectrum of IT in my customers' architecture. In virtually every deployment it has began as either an improved or even first time service desk tool and once the value has been demonstrated other enterprise stakeholders are quick to adopt its use - change management and problem management followed by product and services catalogs, asset management, etc.
I can honestly say that I have never been let down by the platform to meet a business goal - even those that might not be possible with other tools. The platform is extremely versatile and easily configurable to meet, thus far, any need.
  • Incident Management is the obvious first choice. It arrives out of the box (OOB) fully able to meet the needs of an ITIL compliant/guided Service Desk. The relatively low amount of configuration (usually data and/or special use needs) required to get up and running in an enterprise means that you can immediately be productive with the product and begin identifying mission critical concerns that impede your business success. The #1 benefit, in my estimation, is that the product prevents issues from falling through the cracks. Clients will no longer fail to get resolution because their incidents get lost, passed over or simply forgotten.
  • Change Management, always a challenge, benefits from the task based nature of ServiceNow. When combined with the Configuration Management Database and the intrinsic Workflow Manager, ServiceNow provides an integrated set of tools to respond to IT change processes. When integration of Incident, problem and change are in place an enterprise has all it needs to identify concerns, investigate root cause, make critical changes or reparation expediently. The platform also provides for executive level (and deeper) reporting to identify trends of service improvement - or degradation.
  • Keep in mind that the tool does not necessarilly require a troop of developers to configure. Most configurations and behaviors require either no or a only a few simple javascript code lines to accomplish. Very often the stakeholders themselves can perform the module changes they need.
  • While the individual topic modules are excellent, they would be less effective were it not for the notification engine that permeates the entire platform. Keeping everyone on the same page is a snap. Customer facing communications are separate from internal facing communications. Messages are automated at configurable ticket state changes, at defined events in the system, on the fly in a task form... The methods are email - easily customized to be branded and even personalized by user or department, and SMS notifications.
  • Complex reporting is an area that still needs improvement. It is not yet possible to obtain parameterized reporting. In truth, this is the only function of the platform that I would count down.
Every aspect of the product was born, natively, in the cloud and it shows. Mostly it shines in direct comparison with other so-called cloud platforms that actually were either legacy client-server products or merely web-extensions of the same.

From sales discussion through to GoLive! deployment, ServiceNow excels. Secure access, multi-function modules, unified data source, open access web services architecture, (pardon the phrasing but:) idiot-proofed configuration layer - dangerous coding is caught and prevented at several interpreted layers of execution. It is scalable and extensible.

Additionally, I would be remiss to fail to mention that ServiceNow as a multi-domain platform install provides all the benefits mentioned in a virtually turn-key managed services platform product.
Read Randall Hodgins's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (33)
9.3
Expert directory (25)
8.1
Service restoration (26)
8.6
Self-service tools (30)
8.5
Subscription-based notifications (32)
8.3
ITSM collaboration and documentation (32)
8.4
ITSM reports and dashboards (32)
8.4
Configuration mangement (30)
8.2
Asset management dashboard (30)
8.1
Policy and contract enforcement (29)
7.7
Change requests repository (30)
9.1
Change calendar (28)
8.9
Service-level management (28)
9.2

About ServiceNow

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. The ServiceNow platform has strong social capabilities.

ServiceNow Integrations

ServiceNow Competitors

ServiceNow Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No