TrustRadius
iCIMS is an applicant tracking software for companies of all sizes. The tool's talent recruiting and management functions include a wide range of features such as social recruiting, talent sourcing and onboarding.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/iQ/5l/9N787LHUH4I9.jpegBest fit for a growing companyOur company does complete staffing and recruiting, for both commercial hires and government contracting ... everything from temps to executive direct hire placements. We use iCIMS to track all our job orders, job posts, candidates, applicants. We also use the Onboarding suite to onboard employees across the country, in many states. We are able to customize onboarding our employees for any special State requirements. We are able to customize the recruiting process for any special needs of our commercial clients and allow external hiring managers to interface at various levels. We are able to customize the internal reporting/tracking that our Program Managers need for federal contracts ... not simple or easy!,Highly customization of reports/searches, able to export to Excel. Allows all levels of management to make use of on-demand, real-time data. Professional layout and ease of use - great interface with most all user devices. Gives our company instant credibility and quality for our brand. Can't outgrow it. iCIMS has many very large customers, and excellent interface with other services and new technologies. They even acquired a texting manager platform we were hoping to start using.,The platform is not well oriented for the fast paced staffing agency, as it requires going in/out of various levels to manage accounts, hiring managers, etc. While it could be argued that that is a CRM function (not ATS), we feel it is a area that iCIMS should look at next. More ready-to-use templates, dashboards, etc. that can allow new users to dive in and use it quickly. If someone has a DBA background, they'll love getting started and learning all the tools/tricks, but if they are the typical manager ... not so much. Have had problems with buy-in for some managers, as it can seem too complicated. Some of the recruiting and hiring processes could be assisted by some ready-to-use features (like the Offer creation/approve/acceptance feature they are starting to work on). New clients have to create a lot of workflow processes on their own.,8,We really didn't have a viable ATS before. Has allowed company to grow five fold in two years, with national scope. Because of the system integrity, we have been able to accommodate clients with very high security needs (US Treasury, Department of Defense). We have been able to be highly responsive to quick hire needs of several customers nationwide, without sacrificing quality of documentation or HR compliance.,Jobvite, Ascentis Recruiting, Newton Applicant Tracking System, Bullhorn Recruitment CRM, Zoho Recruit and JazzHR,PanTerra Networks Unified Communications as a Service, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, Microsoft Office 365Worth it to learn it...it can do anythingI consulted for a trucking company that did not have an ATS in place. NOTHING. They were big enough that we decided to implement a solution that would allow them to continue to grow. Their processes were clunky when they existed at all. This streamlined everything! We wanted something that was mobile friendly, friendly for the "non-recruiters" in the organization, with common sense searchability from both ends.,Integrates well with TONS of job boards Amazing reports that are VERY user-friendly. You can track ANYTHING! Great passive talent management,It's a "big" system. It takes some training. Slow to load occasionally It took us a while to be able to sort candidates effectively Many processes are able to be utilized but difficult to do the first time,8,We can see our shortcomings and manage against them. There are so many reports available. We took the time to train and have a lot of employee buy-in for the system. We can track passive and active candidates and easily find people we spoke to in the past.,,Bullhorn Recruitment CRM, PCRecruiterWould NOT recommend.The product is great. Mainly utilize the system for sourcing.,Sourcing Process Flow,Too many bells and whistles. Training is very poor for a robust system such as iCIMS. Customer Service is very, very, very poor. Particularly the Account Managers. Will tell you anything to purchase/jupgrade the service. Not a user friendly system.,1,Refusal to support decision to break ties with iCIMS has been costly. Not a good overall experience.iCIMS Platform Review from an Enterprise-Client PerspectiveOur organization is complex with multiple legal entities and thousands of locations which include unionized facilities. We utilize iCIMS to post and manage the hiring process for all US-based external and internal competitive jobs across our organization. The Recruit module is also utilized (to a lesser extent) in 6 other countries and 3 languages.,Configurability; they give a great deal of control to the company. Having this flexibility means you can be more agile in your approach and don't have to pay a fee every time you want to make a small update. Training Resources; iCIMS has a robust knowledge base on their help site and I rarely find an article or video that's out of date (how they manage to create new content and keep all the existing content up to date is beyond me!). Their training team is fantastic and they regularly host pieces of training for both Recruiter Users and User Admins at their offices which are free of charge to their clients - if you can secure a spot, that is- they tend to fill up quickly! Searching/Reporting; I provide this 'pro' of the iCIMS platform somewhat cautiously for two reasons. First, I don't have much experience in this area outside of iCIMS. And secondly, I've gotten feedback from end users that it's confusing. But, I'm still listing this as a 'pro' because as I've become adept at building queries, I can see a ton of capability. A User Admin or Super User who is comfortable navigating the system and with a good awareness of their platform can build quite detailed and sophisticated searches that provide hugely valuable information. Recruiting Users, who have a more narrow scope in the system may need some training to get what they need. I do know that iCIMS is working on the interface to make searching more intuitive for recruiters - similar to other search forms they may use to look for passive candidates online.,Conditional Logic; This is the biggest opportunity for improvement for iCIMS. Not having this functionality becomes an issue when we want to prevent users from doing something based on a set of other - sometimes unrelated - conditions. Conditional logic would allow us to set up a more prescriptive process which would reduce user error and help maintain compliance. They have JUST released some promising new functionality in this area and I hope to see similar types of improvements around conditional logic elsewhere in the platform soon. Onboarding; Okay, we all know the purpose of an Applicant Tracking Systems is (at least historically) to track APPLICANTS. But if you've been involved in attempting to design a streamlined onboarding process, you know it's a beast all it's own. The capabilities of the Onboard module in iCIMS are . . . acceptable. It's functional, but it's not great. For the company with less complexity, I think the Onboard module would be a wholly sufficient. However, for more complex organizations, what's lacking becomes a bit more obvious (conditional logic would also be a huge win if applied to the onboarding module!) As with almost everything in iCIMS, you do have the ability to configure the content of the onboarding portal(s) to your liking. However, the user-interface itself leaves a lot to be desired and isn't nearly as sleek as the rest of the platform. They've recently released an update with some improved functionality and it seems like they are beginning to dedicate more resources to this area, so that's exciting. We've had over 15k new hires funnel through our onboarding process in iCIMS this year so by no means is this a deal breaker but I do hope for some functional and aesthetic improvements in the coming year.,8,The adoption of iCIMS across our business has provided a great deal of visibility into our processes. The integrations we've made with vendors (pre-employment screening, assessments, WOTC, etc) have provided us with the opportunity to use this technology as a way to reduce process variance across the enterprise and the benefit of that to an HR function cannot be overstated! Process consistency means better workforce analytics, improved compliance, easier system administration and training, and a better end user and candidate experience. iCIMS has been the vehicle by which we are improving our HR processes.Powerful but not easy to useWe use iCIMS Talent Acquisition to move a candidate through almost all stages of the pipeline, including some sourcing.,Candidate tracking at scale,User interface Candidate searches (sourcing) Candidate profiles in a single tab Candidate activity feed,2,I can somewhat see who I have in my pipeline,Greenhouse,Entelo
Unspecified
iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software Suite
97 Ratings
Score 7.0 out of 101
TRScore

iCIMS Reviews

iCIMS
97 Ratings
Score 7.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 97 vetted iCIMS reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 41)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 18, 2018

iCIMS Review: "Best fit for a growing company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company does complete staffing and recruiting, for both commercial hires and government contracting ... everything from temps to executive direct hire placements. We use iCIMS to track all our job orders, job posts, candidates, applicants. We also use the Onboarding suite to onboard employees across the country, in many states.

We are able to customize onboarding our employees for any special State requirements. We are able to customize the recruiting process for any special needs of our commercial clients and allow external hiring managers to interface at various levels. We are able to customize the internal reporting/tracking that our Program Managers need for federal contracts ... not simple or easy!
  • Highly customization of reports/searches, able to export to Excel. Allows all levels of management to make use of on-demand, real-time data.
  • Professional layout and ease of use - great interface with most all user devices. Gives our company instant credibility and quality for our brand.
  • Can't outgrow it. iCIMS has many very large customers, and excellent interface with other services and new technologies. They even acquired a texting manager platform we were hoping to start using.
  • The platform is not well oriented for the fast paced staffing agency, as it requires going in/out of various levels to manage accounts, hiring managers, etc. While it could be argued that that is a CRM function (not ATS), we feel it is a area that iCIMS should look at next.
  • More ready-to-use templates, dashboards, etc. that can allow new users to dive in and use it quickly. If someone has a DBA background, they'll love getting started and learning all the tools/tricks, but if they are the typical manager ... not so much. Have had problems with buy-in for some managers, as it can seem too complicated.
  • Some of the recruiting and hiring processes could be assisted by some ready-to-use features (like the Offer creation/approve/acceptance feature they are starting to work on). New clients have to create a lot of workflow processes on their own.
  • Gives you great reports, charts for real-time status of your recruiting processes.
  • Highly customize-able structure to allow for unlimited variety of application, screening, and onboarding processes.
  • Not user-friendly to non-database oriented people ... not always obvious where to navigate, how to use features.
Read Bruce Wilson's full review
April 15, 2018

iCIMS Review: "Worth it to learn it...it can do anything"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I consulted for a trucking company that did not have an ATS in place. NOTHING. They were big enough that we decided to implement a solution that would allow them to continue to grow. Their processes were clunky when they existed at all. This streamlined everything! We wanted something that was mobile friendly, friendly for the "non-recruiters" in the organization, with common sense searchability from both ends.
  • Integrates well with TONS of job boards
  • Amazing reports that are VERY user-friendly. You can track ANYTHING!
  • Great passive talent management
  • It's a "big" system. It takes some training.
  • Slow to load occasionally
  • It took us a while to be able to sort candidates effectively
  • Many processes are able to be utilized but difficult to do the first time
Great when you can train from the ground up. It's a beast. It takes some time to learn. If you have the resources to really have your team utilize all of the things it can do, you'll love it. If you're hoping for an overnight solution, this isn't the one for you.
Read Emily Tennant's full review
September 07, 2018

iCIMS Review: "Would NOT recommend."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product is great. Mainly utilize the system for sourcing.
  • Sourcing
  • Process Flow
  • Too many bells and whistles.
  • Training is very poor for a robust system such as iCIMS.
  • Customer Service is very, very, very poor. Particularly the Account Managers. Will tell you anything to purchase/jupgrade the service.
  • Not a user friendly system.
The company representatives have proven to be deceptive as it relates to the contract. Told one thing when I signed the contract and another when I attempted to end it. Unbelievable. The account managers change every 3 months. No continuity in staffing. Not a good experience. Would not recommend to an enemy.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2017

"iCIMS Platform Review from an Enterprise-Client Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is complex with multiple legal entities and thousands of locations which include unionized facilities. We utilize iCIMS to post and manage the hiring process for all US-based external and internal competitive jobs across our organization. The Recruit module is also utilized (to a lesser extent) in 6 other countries and 3 languages.
  • Configurability; they give a great deal of control to the company. Having this flexibility means you can be more agile in your approach and don't have to pay a fee every time you want to make a small update.
  • Training Resources; iCIMS has a robust knowledge base on their help site and I rarely find an article or video that's out of date (how they manage to create new content and keep all the existing content up to date is beyond me!). Their training team is fantastic and they regularly host pieces of training for both Recruiter Users and User Admins at their offices which are free of charge to their clients - if you can secure a spot, that is- they tend to fill up quickly!
  • Searching/Reporting; I provide this 'pro' of the iCIMS platform somewhat cautiously for two reasons. First, I don't have much experience in this area outside of iCIMS. And secondly, I've gotten feedback from end users that it's confusing. But, I'm still listing this as a 'pro' because as I've become adept at building queries, I can see a ton of capability. A User Admin or Super User who is comfortable navigating the system and with a good awareness of their platform can build quite detailed and sophisticated searches that provide hugely valuable information. Recruiting Users, who have a more narrow scope in the system may need some training to get what they need. I do know that iCIMS is working on the interface to make searching more intuitive for recruiters - similar to other search forms they may use to look for passive candidates online.
  • Conditional Logic; This is the biggest opportunity for improvement for iCIMS. Not having this functionality becomes an issue when we want to prevent users from doing something based on a set of other - sometimes unrelated - conditions. Conditional logic would allow us to set up a more prescriptive process which would reduce user error and help maintain compliance. They have JUST released some promising new functionality in this area and I hope to see similar types of improvements around conditional logic elsewhere in the platform soon.
  • Onboarding; Okay, we all know the purpose of an Applicant Tracking Systems is (at least historically) to track APPLICANTS. But if you've been involved in attempting to design a streamlined onboarding process, you know it's a beast all it's own. The capabilities of the Onboard module in iCIMS are . . . acceptable. It's functional, but it's not great. For the company with less complexity, I think the Onboard module would be a wholly sufficient. However, for more complex organizations, what's lacking becomes a bit more obvious (conditional logic would also be a huge win if applied to the onboarding module!)
  • As with almost everything in iCIMS, you do have the ability to configure the content of the onboarding portal(s) to your liking. However, the user-interface itself leaves a lot to be desired and isn't nearly as sleek as the rest of the platform. They've recently released an update with some improved functionality and it seems like they are beginning to dedicate more resources to this area, so that's exciting. We've had over 15k new hires funnel through our onboarding process in iCIMS this year so by no means is this a deal breaker but I do hope for some functional and aesthetic improvements in the coming year.
iCIMS is a powerful ATS which I think would work well for organizations of any size without multiple business verticals. Having multiple entities under one umbrella (or multiple umbrellas!) creates complexity in processes and requirements which can be difficult to reconcile in any system, particularly one without robust conditional logic. I wouldn't recommend iCIMS for a complex organization but I would advise that they make the initial discovery and design of their platform a high priority and take the opportunity to align processes as much as possible ahead of implementation. For a relatively straight-forward organization, it's a no-brainer - iCIMS all the way.
Read Carey Wilson's full review
December 21, 2017

iCIMS Review: "Powerful but not easy to use"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iCIMS Talent Acquisition to move a candidate through almost all stages of the pipeline, including some sourcing.
  • Candidate tracking at scale
  • User interface
  • Candidate searches (sourcing)
  • Candidate profiles in a single tab
  • Candidate activity feed
It’s overall difficult to use with information being hidden under several clicks. Without training and lots of trial and error, the platform is fairly difficult to use.
Read Tosh Giles's full review
December 18, 2017

User Review: "iCIMS - Top Contender for an ATS!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize iCIMS as our applicant tracking system withing the recruiting team.
  • Flexibility on completing configuration requests on your own (for the most part).
  • Great customer service team
  • Some reporting features are not as robust; can be a challenge to create.
iCIMS is definitely a top contender for an applicant tracking system. The reporting features are great, but can be complex as well.
Read Bonnie Chau Recruiter at Austin Industries's full review
February 01, 2018

"iCIMS Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iCIMS software is currently being used by the talent acquisition department at our organization although other areas touch the software as well. This software solves the problem of a recruitment platform. Prior to starting with my company they had no internal database or recruitment platform. I was astonished so we researched platforms and took demos and found that iCIMS fit our needs most.
  • Database for resumes, saves all resumes and information on candidates.
  • Templates for sending automatic emails to large populations. Saves a lot of time!
  • Easy to use and user-friendly.
  • Mobile version can be improved as well as mobile capabilities.
  • Auto-populating fields could save a lot of time. So parsing resumes.
  • More training demos.
Scenarios where this software is well suited would be in a recruitment setting or a talent team. We use it for recruiting and with our hiring managers daily to store our resumes and have a database for all information that runs through our team. It would be less appropriate in a smaller organization as you might not need such an expensive and detailed database.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2017

"ICIMS End User Review - Goal Setting and Performance Evaluation."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the enterprise to manage goals and performance reviews. It allows employees and managers to easily and securely create and share goals, and to collaborate on individual employee performance. It also manages the entire feedback cycle between the manager and employee, greatly simplifying our performance assessment process.
  • Storing and creating goals.
  • Collaborate on employee performance.
  • End to End process management.
  • The interface is not intuitive. I have to hunt and peck every time I need to get to my goals. This may be a result of our implementation, I'm not sure.
  • The interface should be modernized. It has an old look and feel, and is a bit clunky when saving updates.
  • I have lost information mid edit, and others have as well. Need to keep drafts like Confluence does. In fact, Confluence should be used to guide ICIMS UX path forward.
It is great for creating and storing goals. Not so great for keeping them updated and annotated.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2016

Review: "iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software Remains the Best Within Its Category"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Frankly, we don't use all the functions/features of the software but it helps organize our recruitment efforts all in one platform.
  • Easy to review and rate incoming applications/resumes; especially since iCims upgraded their interface to reduce the number of clicks to accomplish this.
  • Easy to get our job postings out to social media via the iCIMS "advertise" feature.
  • Fairly easy to email past candidates to keep in touch and develop a talent source from a growing pool.
  • Easy to post our jobs.
  • More work is definitely needed on the main interface to help make it even more intuitive and reduce the number of steps involved in reviewing candidates and "accepting" or "rejecting" them.
  • More integration with social media. Our package was just upgraded, so this already may have been accomplished. We'll see.
  • Emailing select groups of past candidates is still a little awkward. Would love to be able to sort the candidates and create more specialized groups and touch points to email them and create stronger ties and talent source pools. Would love to be able to tailor and send out newsletters, blog posts and specialized job announcements to them. May be create and advertise special events (job fairs & open houses).
  • Would love to see a feature where candidates and others can recommend a friend seeking employment.
  • Would love to have the ability to create email contact lists for job referral sources at colleges, labor dept offices, vocational schools, employment help organizations and others to which we could create and push out our job posts, e-newsletters and event invites to them with a click.
iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software is best suited for mid-size companies due to its many useful features and benefits, ease of use and relative affordability.
Read Marc LeVine's full review
February 16, 2016

iCIMS Review: "Take back control over your hiring process"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ICIMS both on the Mosaic and Acosta Corporate recruiting side, as well as for any full time field hires. If we hire them or pay them in ADP vs. Ceridian, we are using it to hire that candidate. The rest of our recruiting team for field hires uses Taleo. ICIMs works much more quickly than Taleo in terms of big data, and the visual/buckets set up (resume review, send to EBI, send to ADP) corresponds best to our on boarding process. It also integrates a bit as a CRM as it allows us to track our communication with the client teams by sending correspondence through it (reviewing candidates, setting up drug screens etc.).
  • Integration with job distributors - scraping to outside job boards.
  • Integration with other on-boarding systems- ADP, EBI etc.
  • Resume preview - would LOVE a feature that allows me to hover over resumes and preview them more easily.
  • Workflow progression - too many click thrus with adding notes, etc., vs. going right to the next step.
It's well suited for our corporate hires - our field hires are a bit too large to incorporate into the system, as that many resumes in buckets seems to get a bit clogged up. I also think integration with "turning on" job board scraping could be easier, but I know our team has elected not to take advantage of this piece.
Read Sarah Greenberg's full review
October 07, 2015

"iCIMS ATS review from a 19 year veteran"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I support iCIMS for my Current Client. It is being used as an ATS and also for some position management functions for the HR department. It is being used in the US only at this time.
  • Easy to set-up compared to other ATS systems.
  • Good workflow thru the application from first candidate submission to onboarding
  • reporting and searching are easy to do and does not take an "IT" degree to use
  • Integrations with HRIS systems work well
  • Support is very responsive and knowledgable
  • Account manager is also responsive and great to work with
  • Most functions/changes to the system can be done with in house staff
  • Frequent updates to system functionality, continuous improvement
  • Takes feedback from there clients on improvements and new functionality.
  • Great candidate experience in being able to complete the application process quickly
  • Integrations are not 100% functional with some 3rd party vendors
If you are a smail and mid market customer then the lower overall cost of iCIMS would work great with any budget. For larger customers looking for a great ATS iCIMS will work just fine and iCIMS and is moving quickly to compete with the "traditional" large enterprise ATS systems.
Read Scott Chase, SPHR's full review
December 23, 2015

User Review: "iCIMS is the best ATS on the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iCIMS was selected to help our organization better manage the requisitions and applicants in the recruitment process. It was used within HR to manage all the applicants and candidates throughout the organization. iCIMS helped us to better manage the requisition creation and approval process. It involved our managers in approving the requisitions more quickly than doing this through interoffice mail. We were better able to manage and measure our job board usage and effectiveness. Candidate management was a snap since everything was accessible from the main landing page. That page could be changed by the recruiter to help them better manage the process. The onboarding tool was pretty slick too.
  • Customer service is second to none. It is the best I have encountered.
  • Everything is configurable. It is easy to change the process to better match your process
  • Always improving. New features and functionality continue to keep you on the cutting edge
  • Social Media tool is the best tool ever
  • Nothing. They listen to their customers and quickly implement those areas to improve.
  • Nothing. They are so responsive in improving their product.
Ask about customer service, configuration, reporting, candidate management and social media. iCIMS excels in all of these areas. The system is very flexible so you will need to know your process very well to ask the questions that will best server your organization and recruitment team. So, the more you do your homework, the better selection you will make.
Read Kori Clemmer, SPHR, CCP's full review
November 11, 2015

iCIMS Review: "Talent Acquisition Technology & Analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using iCIMS for our overall recruiting cycle. We feed in open positions via an interface from Workday into iCIMS. This product is being used by our HR/Talent Acquisitions team. iCIMS has really made life easier for our recruiters,coordinators, hiring managers and upper management as it is a very easy to use tool and has an amazing dashboard setup that you can tailor to any audience. In the past we used another ATS system which was very clunky, but now with iCIMS we can take full control of not just our candidates, but the overall recruiting cycle.
  • iCIMS is a very customizable system. We are constantly making changes and adding new fields in iCIMS and the best thing is that the system administrator has the access to make all these changes.
  • The dashboard capabilities that iCIMS provides in its platform are amazing. You can literally tailor a specific user login to see only those dashboards that you feel they need access to see.
  • The workflow feature that iCIMS has allows for cleaner reporting, as you can't skip a step when moving a candidate thru the workflow.
  • iCIMS can improve the reporting capabilities as you can't have multiple logic setup when creating a report.
  • I think they can improve the security administration piece as the system admin can't tailor the security. You need to contact iCIMS so they can make changes.
  • iCIMS needs to do a better job when looking for partners to integrate their systems with. We currently are in the middle of integrating iCIMS with TalentWise and this integration has not gone too well.
Overall iCIMS gets the job done.
Read Vladimir Rodriguez, MBA, CPM's full review
February 27, 2015

Review: "Why iCIMS is the best ATS on the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iCIMS at Vology as an applicant tracking system. We house all of our internal and external (and confidential) recruiting activity within the tool. It is used solely within our Human Resources department. It allows us to post jobs to any job board directly from the ATS, and track the workflow of candidates through various steps of our recruiting process, it allows us to perform batch actions such as sending thank you letters and rejection letters. We also utilize iCIMS for a completely paperless onboarding process, allowing candidates to complete all of their new hire paperwork - both the standard W-4 and I-9 requirements as well as customized policies and Vology-specific forms - on their own time before their first day. This saves lots of paper and time, and houses the forms permanently in the employee record within iCIMS, eliminating the need for paper records. At Vology I am the main user of the system and we fill about 55 jobs/year. We also use it for AAP reporting at the end of the year, as well as other custom reporting of data such as source of hire, time to fill, etc.

I also used iCIMS at a prior company - Sage - where we used the system across a large enterprise of 5,000 employees, filling hundreds of jobs each year. At Sage, we also used the tool to feed directly into the HRMS system, automatically creating employee files and payroll records with simple clicks.

iCIMS is a tool that allows for the organization of candidates who have applied for jobs, it creates a searchable database of candidates for your organization, eases recruiting transactions, communication with candidates, reporting on talent acquisition activity and it is the first step in taking your entire HR department paperless.
  • Ability to customize. I have not come across anything within iCIMS that I cannot customize to be the way I want it to be. Such as the names of fields, order of fields, reports, communication to candidates, uploading any and every document that I share with candidates within the system. Anything I have ever wanted it to do it can do, either through my own ability to customize (they give users free reign to customize away - and it's very easy to do), or with the help of their tech support.
  • They don't nickle-and-dime. I have used other ATS's in the past such as Ultimate Software, Kenexa, Taleo, and some others, and all of them charge for the things I want to change or customize, and in most cases, they simply couldn't do it. If they could do it, it would take them months upon months and it would be expensive. With iCIMS, if I have a customization request, it is usually done within a day or two and I have never been charged for anything. This is an amazing strength of theirs that I hope they never change!
  • It's the one-and-only TRUE ATS. This is a true applicant tracking system. iCIMS is not part of a different company that is an HRMS trying to be able to round out their solution offerings by having a recruiting module. They ARE a recruiting module ONLY. The other products only frustrated me because if they were an ATS, as in the case of Taleo or Kenexa, they are owned by a larger organization (in Taleo's case it's Oracle, Kenexa is IBM), and just one tiny line of a very big business. That never works because service is slow, they nickle-and-dime for changes, and they don't know what they are doing when it comes to ATS so they can't offer good solutions. In the case of HRMS systems offering an ATS module, those modules are never good - it's something that is fairly simple so they can say they have an ATS module (as in the case of Ultimate). So if you really want a real ATS, there is no other solution than iCIMS. It integrates with ANY HRMS and it's a great solution for a great price.
  • I am not happy that iCIMS recently changed their job-posting provider. They switched from TalentBrew to JobTarget. It's not as smooth, there are more clicks and steps, and I have a feeling that I'm going to start being charged for this which will make me very unhappy. I miss the ease of TalentBrew.
  • Even though their customer service is fast and great and they still do anything that I ask them to, I have noticed that over the past several months their response time has gotten a little slower. It used to be that they'd get back to me the same day and generally have my customization or problem solved in the same day. Now, it takes a few days. I've had one as long as a week. So if you are really reading this iCIMS - please know that your customer service, ability to do whatever the customer asks and respond fast sets you WAY apart from the rest. Please don't change....tighten it back up. It's still excellent and better than anyone else in the market, but I'd hate to see that slip to average.
I have worked on a team of 30-50 people using the same iCIMS solution in an enterprise organization, and I have worked as the sole person using iCIMS in a small organization, and I loved it in both cases. iCIMS is extremely versatile and would work for any organization of any size. It can scale for a big organization, and it is super easy and simple to use with great support for a single user in a small organization. I recommend, as with any technology solution, that the users take accountability to fully learn the tool and optimize the full capabilities of the tool. Attend webinars, ask questions. Don't just complain about something you don't like about the tool - ask if it can be changed. It probably can be.
Read Jennifer Millman's full review
February 20, 2015

"Objective iCIMS Review From a Past User"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are no longer using iCIMS. We switched to a new ATS approximately 6 months ago. Before the switch, we used iCIMS for roughly over 2 years. We only used iCIMS in the recruiting department as our ATS. It solved the full cycle recruiting function at my organization.
  • iCIMS can provide extremely in-depth workflow stages to move candidates through to ensure real-time, accurate depiction of where candidates stand in the recruiting process.
  • iCIMS has the capability of providing customized, detailed reports based on client needs.
  • Communication with candidates through iCIMS is very detailed and user friendly. Building email templates and automating these functions is user friendly.
  • Visually, iCIMS is not appealing. It is overbearing at times with the dashboard. It is not the most streamlined display where the user has to go through various tabs and drop downs.
  • It functions less as a new aged, innovative ATS/CRM and more as a older system. I know their mobile capabilities are increasing but it is behind the times.
  • It is not a great function of engaging individuals once the move from candidate to employee. The more innovative ATS are now functioning as both the ATS and HRMS/HRIS, in the same platform. I think limiting these capabilities and requiring the employer to buy three different systems for Recruit, Social, and HR will deter.
How many recruiters do you have working out of the system? This would be great for more corporate, hierarchical organizations with multiple levels. It is not a good system for SMB market or startups where functionality, streamlined usability, and social recruiting/engaging employees is of high priority.
Read Ryan Winthrop, MA, PHR's full review
June 03, 2015

Review: "iCIMS - applicant tracking made easy and fun!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iCIMS was chosen as our applicant tracking system after reviewing several options. It is our primary hiring tool. iCIMS allows us to post jobs, receive applications, search resumes to find the ideal candidates for a given opening, track the interview process, create offer letters, and onboard new hires. It is a one stop hiring solution.
  • Customizable to an organization's specific hiring process.
  • User interface is easy from both the front and back end.
  • Strong resume search function enables recruiters to find the right candidates quickly without wasting time looking at unqualified resumes.
  • Customizability to a specific recruiting process is great, but there are certain features set in stone. When it comes to customizability, more is always better.
  • While implementation of the product was smooth, there were some issues with custom forms. Nothing that was not handled well in the end by the iCIMS staff though.
  • While easier to use than most applicant tracking systems, there is a ramp up time for recruiters to be able to take full advantage of the system.
iCIMS, like any applicant tracking system, is best suited for mid to larger size companies (those who hire 50+ employees annually). There are many systems out there that are designed to be used by small or large companies, but not both. iCIMS is scalable and can be used successfully across the board.
Read David George, PHR's full review
June 03, 2015

Review: "iCIMS Should Be On Every Company's Short List!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across my entire organization and I have 4 recruiter users on it. It's the platform that helps us fill 300-400 positions a year. It's basically all things Talent Acquisition for us.
  • Very user friendly
  • Very user customizable vs. having to submit requests for changes like other ATS systems
  • Great candidate pre-screening library tools with the ability to weight answers
  • Intuitive and ability to dictate OUR workflow vs. making our process fit the system
  • New releases work very well vs. Taleo new releases that seem to cause problems across the system; I used Taleo in my last company.
  • Update 3-22-15: I just recently updated to latest version 14.2 and as usual the update works seamlessly.
  • Customer Support is outstanding and you get to talk to live people. They are also very knowledgeable of the product, features and configurations.
  • As I mentioned, Customer Service seems to go to voicemail more than it has in the past
  • Update 3-22-15: Cust. Serv. been much better, rarely getting sent voicemail (if at all). I'm also always impressed just how knowledgalbe how well informed their reps are, they go above and beyond a level 1 support and rarely do I need level 2 or more support.
  • I'm trying to use thier Connect product which basically gives candidates the ability to just provide their resume without applying. I'm frustrated I can't create a custom field whereby I can inquire what their current title is and be able to search on it.
  • Update 3-22-15: iCIMS has made improvements to the Connect module.
I've implemented several different systems and worked on many more, this is an outstanding solution for any size company. I'm very disappointed in a Taleo implementation with my previous organization and thrilled to be back on iCIMS.

Be prepared, iCIMS charges for recruiter users and it can add up fast.
Read Steve Baraban's full review
April 07, 2015

User Review: "iCIMS FAN!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a very small company and there are currently two of us in the Talent Acquisition department. When I joined the company there was no ATS in place, everything was handled by paper :( The company I came from used iCIMS and I had a very positive experience with the tool. When I got approval to implement an ATS, I went straight to iCIMS. It has made recruiting (posting jobs, managing candidates, communicating with candidates) so much easier, organized, and efficient.
  • Integrates with our website painlessly!
  • Very easy to communicate with candidates and to save that communication
  • The software is incredibly intuitive and easy to navigate.
  • For my purposes, it is exactly what I need.
I have used iCIMS in two very different settings. One was a large global organization, and currently in a small, younger company. It has been great for both companies and has versions of the software that make sense for all types of companies.
Read Anita Kumar, PHR's full review
April 07, 2015

Review: "No ATS is perfect but iCIMS comes close"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iCIMS solely as an ATS for the recruitment and offer process (we do not use the onboarding feature). We track recruitment activity against the requisitions and applicant nomination, interview and approval progress through iCIMS.
  • Customization: It was clear from the first implementation meeting that we were going to be able to structure and format the process based on our requirements and not have to work within the limitation of the ATS.
  • Flexibility: Even after implementation was complete, we were surprised to learn that we can continue to change our process and refine it to meet our changing business needs.
  • Clean and clear layout: Simple layout that can be further customized is a key highlight for my organization.
  • Reporting: The reporting tool is extremely rich once you figure out what you want and how you want it presented/reported.
  • Because there is so much customization available we were not able to fully utilize the tools available to us. iCIMS could do a better job at presenting best practices or configuration recommendations to its clients as they are rolling out the ATS to their organization.
  • The reporting tool has many functions but there are not enough 'standard' reports per-populated into the tool.
  • The only thing we miss about our former ATS, Taleo, is the Outlook toolbar. Would love to see an Outlook or Gmail add-in to help record exchanged emails directly to a candidate record.
The customization and flexibility of iCIMS are really the biggest thing it has going for it, IMO. The thoroughness of the the selection and implementation process are really what will determine how well the product is utilized by the company. You can use the standard settings or really customize it to do exactly how you want. But that investment in time to set up the system the way you want will pay dividends. I suppose that is a general comment about using any ATS but with iCIMS the ease of use, setup and customization paired with a pretty through reporting tool are what make it a stand out product for me.
Read Mostafa El-Hamalawy, GPHR's full review
April 07, 2015

iCIMS Review: "Suffers from Poor UI/UX, Customer Service & Functionality"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use iCIMS everyday to intake and track job applications and respond to candidates.
  • The capability of looking at my candidates (as opposed to my colleagues candidates) at a glance on the homepage and in an immediately linked area from there is an advantage over other systems.
  • The ability to look at the resume without downloading it speeds up applicant reviews.
  • The lack of a preview button on job postings is unfortunate.
  • The antiquated user interface is frustrating. The look and feel are behind the times by ten years at least, and it's riddled with ux/ui problems such as collapsing of a list once you take an action on a candidate.
  • Some features of the product simply don't work or aren't there, such as the option for candidates to build a resume from a questionnaire.
  • The external candidate pages are not customizable enough by the users, and the options are old fashioned and limited.
  • The video capability on job postings and the landing pages is blocked by a security bug.
This product might be suited to a startup or small growing company. I would not recommend it to an established group.
Read Juliette Dupré's full review
February 25, 2015

Review: "iCIMS - cutting edge system for your recruitment needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iCIMS across our whole organization. This includes 3 states and more than 40 locations. Initially iCIMS helped us to go electronic with our application process and really streamline how the overall candidate is reviewed. Today, iCIMS continues to help us to manage our candidate flow as well as manage job openings.
  • iCIMS allows multiple managers at multiple locations (within a region) to review and share a pool of candidates with a central place for communicating where the candidate is at in the application (review, screen, interview or hire) process.
  • Likewise the candidate does not have to need to complete several different applications for multiple locations. They build a profile once and then apply to only the jobs they are interested in with a few clicks.
  • Admin Users are allowed freedom to manage several pieces within the platform and their own career portals. For example, they are able to create new company locations, update verbiage on career portals and workflow bins and statuses within the platform.
  • Applicants are counted everytime they are in the Identified Bin. So that if they have applied to more than 1 job, they are not 1 applicant but rather counted several times over. Within reporting, we wish there was a way to identify these individuals on certain reports or to not have them count multiple times on certain reports.
  • Wish there was a way to report on how many applicants were not selected based on a reason type and for what job or by what manager. This would allow us to do further trending as to why we are not selecting or hiring candidates.
  • When building a new Job Template, that it would not be assigned a job id like all other active job openings are. That when selecting the status of template, it would not automatically assign an ID.
iCIMS is a great platform for organizations of all sizes. Each organization may choose to utilize it simply or extensively - it has that flexibility. iCIMS is great about listening to their customers and incorporating feedback into upcoming releases. Many of our questions have turned into a new feature/enhancement within a release that year. Releases are completed typically twice per year. The education and resources available prior to the release and overall support after the release are great too.
Read Angie Pearson's full review
January 20, 2015

Review: "iCIMS for HiRE? Sure! iCIMS for sourcing? Not so sure."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using icims, nation-wide for recruitment and compliance purposes.
  • iCIMS has strong capabilities in easing the process of capturing applicant progress and tracking them through the hiring process.
  • iCIMS has positively helped our on-boarding process with the ease of electronic new hire documents.
  • iCIMS facilitates an easy process for submitting our background checks as well.
  • iCIMS is a sophisticated system that seems to have capabilities beyond tracking candidates through the hiring process. It would be beneficial to increase the ease of searching for candidates within the system (without cumbersome click-throughs and more simplified search templates).
  • Update 2015: Since I initially wrote this review -- I've worked with my administrator to create some fairly robust queries that helped (not completely solved) our searching/sourcing needs in iCIMS.
  • A calendar or reminder function for candidates that should be followed up with that can tie into Outlook would be great.
The two-way communication available within iCIMS is great feature. All emails generated from the system are housed there, as are the contacts' responses. Invaluable when you don't want to inundate your standard inbox and/or track communications exchanged with former recruiters as well.

Since we're consistently pipelining prospects, as well as seeking candidates for active openings, it was important that we'd be able to pull candidates that have already been screened. iCIMS searching functionalities were a bit clunky and required multiple click-throughs with the results being less than user-friendly and easy to share.
Read Cynthia Carrasco's full review
April 07, 2015

iCIMS Review: "Next generation of Recruitment!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for Recruitment and are in the proces of implementing iCims for Onboarding.
  • The dispositions assigned to positions are easier to track for AAP
  • Generating an offer letter is straightfroward
  • Reporting functionality is great
  • Customer Service is top notch
  • It is an intuitive and user-friendly system and has been easily teachable to all users
  • Better filtering capability for reports
It's well suited for a medium size organization that employs all layers of staff
It is too complex for a smaller organization
Read Marina Musi's full review
January 17, 2014

Review: "iCIMS - an excellent solution with strong capabilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iCIMS is used globally to track requisitions. Hiring Managers have access to the system to review requisitions and candidates. Approval workflows are used for both jobs and offers. The onboarding system is used in North America for new hire paperwork.
  • The interface is user-friendly. After implementation we had many comments from hiring managers and recruiters that the system was very intuitive. They found it easier to use than our previous system.
  • From the system administrator level, iCIMS is easy to configure. It was great to have the ability to customize dashboards for the different user groups (Hiring Managers, Recruiters, HR Managers).
  • iCIMS global capabilities were one of our deciding factors. The system supports resumes in local language and allows for custom message creation. This was critical for us as we needed a system to support Dutch, Czech, Japanese, and Chinese.
  • Great ability to take bulk actions for candidates. Both in terms of submitting resumes to the systems, updating source of hires, submitting to a job, and updating applicant status.
  • Very easy to set-up reports and extract data. You can also create reports and save to the dashboards for different user groups. I found this a great way to ensure that we were all reporting information in a consistent format.
  • It would be great to have the ability to bulk approve and bulk print forms in the onboarding portal.
  • I would like to see a social share widget in the recruiter portal for ease of use. There are social share options on the job portals if you choose that configuration.
  • Ability for system administrator to create iForms rather than going through support.
  • Recruiters should have the ability to create folders to share information within the platform.
I found iCIMS to have great functionality and capabilities for the price. It is a good value. The customer service is good. You will have to describe your problem or concern very specifically and provide screenshots/examples whenever possible. I did sometimes have to escalate beyond the initial rep, but always had my problem resolved.
Read Leigh Estrada (Gagnon), SPHR's full review
February 10, 2014

iCIMS Review: "A little old-school, but a powerful tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iCims is the sole candidate tracking application used companywide by Dolby who currently employes over 1500 employees and half as many contractors.
  • Great, customizable customer-facing UI!
  • Very good reporting features.
  • Great dashboards!
  • The admin UI can be counterintuitive at times. A bit dated.
  • Although a robust tool, iCims has somewhat of a learning curve as compared with its more contemporary competitors.
  • The search function does not seem to follow standard search parameters and feels limited.
Once trained, iCims is a great repository for pre-employment docs. It would be nice to have an onboarding module to complete the candidate-employee transaction.
Read Njon Weinroth's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Job Requisition Management (20)
7.1
Company Website Posting (18)
8.3
Publish to Social Media (12)
8.2
Job Search Site Posting (16)
8.5
Customized Application Form (16)
7.0
Resume Management (19)
7.4
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (19)
5.0
Candidate Search (19)
6.6
Applicant Tracking (19)
7.3
Collaboration (18)
5.8
Task Creation and Delegation (14)
5.4
Email Templates (19)
7.3
User Permissions (16)
8.6
Notifications and Alerts (16)
6.3
Reporting (18)
7.6

About iCIMS

iCIMS' Talent Acquisition Software Suite helps organizations to leverage mobile, social, and video technologies to manage their entire talent-acquisition lifecycle. The single web-based application helps with building talent pools, recruitment-marketing automation, applicant screening, and onboarding.

 

Talent Management Features  

Onboading Features 

  • New hire portal
  • Manager tracking tools
  • Compliance tracking and reporting

iCIMS Screenshots

iCIMS Integrations

Namely, 1. Tracker (I9-E-Verify), 2. Peoplesoft (ERP), 3. ADP-HRB (HRIS), 4. Talentwise (Background Check), 5. Job Target (Job Board Posting)

iCIMS Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

iCIMS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
17%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
43%

iCIMS Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase

iCIMS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:28
Supported Languages: All