TrustRadius
Litmus Software in Cambridge, MA offers their email marketing solution Litmus, supporting email campaign building and best practice checklist, spam testing and resolution, proofing and feedback sharing, and email analytics.Litmus adds value to both BTB and BTC campaigns for our companyOur team uses Litmus both for BtB promotions for our company and also for our clients. We utilize all of the Litmus features, for a variety of uses. Our Marketing team uses the Litmus integration with Act-On to get device previews for every email marketing message. These device previews have identified some important image sizing issues when there are updates to Act-On's image rendering. Using device previews give us the confidence to use their WYSIWYG editor with confidence, saving hours of coding each week. Our email services department uses the checklist and spam check features for advising our clients on how to best design emails to their audience.,Device previews of email marketing messages cut down on our email testing time and help our team be more efficient. Analytics: the analytics such as devices used to open an email, and especially the amount of time individuals spend reading an email are very helpful. Spam test: having a 3rd party report that shows spammy content both to our internal marketing and reviews for clients helps add weight to our team's opinions.,A drag and drop editor for creating emails would be a total game changer for Litmus. I would love to see click activity on emails. Integration with ESPs to append Litmus stats to regular email reporting.,10,Positive: Litmus has replaced our ad-hoc, random device previews. Litmus provides a clear result for the opinions of our staff. They are our backup, or expert to help us improve. Litmus has helped me identify setup requirements that our team had missed.,Email on Acid and 250ok Inbox,250,000 to 1 million,Both,Act-On Software, Mailchimp, Marketo, Atlassian Confluence, Trello, Basecamp,Email previews Device testing,Spam testing using some email systems is clunky.,10Litmus is the tool for all your email experience and deliverability needsWe use Litmus to test email templates in different mail clients and browsers with the Litmus editor and also sending directly out of Pardot. This ensures that the email looks great in all of the different clients/browsers and the experience is the best. We also use the spam checker to verify content and deliverability of our emails.,Client and browser testing Email editor with live browser testing Spam tests and deliverability tests in different clients and browsers Community and posts by email experts,More ESP integrations Additional share options Additional user customizations,10,Deliverability increase Spam decrease More personalization based on mail clients and browsers,25,000 to 100,000,Both,Pardot, Salesforce Community Cloud, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)Litmus - great for previews, but prepare yourself to figure it out on your ownLitmus is used by CRM and email marketing associates to review new email campaigns and automations.,A simple tool to navigate to the QA Checklist. Multiple preview options that can be adjusted to your business by device and client. The tool can be as simple or complex as needed -- from image review to links, image paths, loading speed, etc.,Lack of customer support. Lack of transparency in fees -- I didn't realize we were not charged per email that we reviewed but per preview within each email. Lack of training on the richness of the tool and its functionality.,7,Litmus is heavily utilized by the entire CRM team for each email campaign that is new or being adjusted; it has become a key part of our flow for the 5 seats we have purchased. I believe Litmus could offer even more value if they took some time to train on features and capabilities. I am unsure that we even have a client success manager in place. We do also have ReturnPath as an option to preview emails, and may consider switching. We use 15 email client renders to get a good feel for each email that we send as CRM is a core channel for the business so accuracy is extremely important especially with our ESP that requires a great deal of HTML rather than the drag and drop tool.,,Less than 10,000Litmus and IWe use Litmus in the marketing department. As an Art Director, I need to preview how my emails will look across various email clients. Of course there are slight display variances between email clients, but mainly we're looking for catastrophic breakdowns in the email. Often times it finds a critical issue in Outlook... Outlook is kind of the buzz kill in email design.,Litmus gives an accurate preview of how emails appear across various email clients Litmus helps detect coding issues Litmus allows users on my team to share email previews and determine whether we need to make adjustments,If I recall correctly, there used to be a browser preview functionality that is no longer available. I miss that. I wish Litmus was able to detect why we're experiencing certain issues between email clients. It's probably wishful thinking at this point given all of the variables Litmus would need to consider in order to make a sound suggestion.,8,Litmus helps me sleep at night knowing my emails won't go out with messed up code. If there is an issue with an email that someone (not me) sends, we're able to track whether they tested it in Litmus or not.,,250,000 to 1 million,BothLitmus makes coding, and previewing emails super easyWe use Litmus in the marketing department to code and preview emails. We also have Salesforce, so the Litmus <> Salesforce integration has been super helpful in previewing emails with different clients right as we send. It helps us develop, build, preview, and send emails. It particularly helps us make sure that all of our emails will render correctly with different clients (Gmail, Outlook, Yahoo, etc...).,Preview emails across different clients. Also makes it super easy to troubleshoot what the issues are and what in the code is causing the issue. Makes coding for both desktop and mobile very easy. Integration with Salesforce is clutch. It allows us to create, build and send emails with just 2 vendors, rather than multiple more.,Subject line, spam check, and preheader is sometimes hard to find, would be good to make it more prominent. Not sure how to use the analytics - would be good to have better overview of the additional features. I can't diagnose what's wrong with an email code until after I preview all the clients. It would be nice to be able to see the issues as i'm coding the emails.,10,Less time coding and troubleshooting emails,,Less than 10,000,B2C,Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio
Unspecified
Litmus
23 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Litmus Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Litmus
23 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 23 vetted Litmus reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Yosa Addiss profile photo
May 17, 2019

Review: "Litmus adds value to both BTB and BTC campaigns for our company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses Litmus both for BtB promotions for our company and also for our clients. We utilize all of the Litmus features, for a variety of uses. Our Marketing team uses the Litmus integration with Act-On to get device previews for every email marketing message. These device previews have identified some important image sizing issues when there are updates to Act-On's image rendering. Using device previews give us the confidence to use their WYSIWYG editor with confidence, saving hours of coding each week. Our email services department uses the checklist and spam check features for advising our clients on how to best design emails to their audience.
  • Device previews of email marketing messages cut down on our email testing time and help our team be more efficient.
  • Analytics: the analytics such as devices used to open an email, and especially the amount of time individuals spend reading an email are very helpful.
  • Spam test: having a 3rd party report that shows spammy content both to our internal marketing and reviews for clients helps add weight to our team's opinions.
  • A drag and drop editor for creating emails would be a total game changer for Litmus.
  • I would love to see click activity on emails.
  • Integration with ESPs to append Litmus stats to regular email reporting.
Litmus is very well suited to teams who are trying to do multiple device tests and up their email quality. Litmus points out in a very clear way the issues with the text of an email. This is incredibly useful when trying to modernize marketing programs. The ROI on email averages 39%. When teams use Litmus reporting to improve that ROI on email grows to 45%.
Read Yosa Addiss's full review
Sherice Dominguez profile photo
December 17, 2018

Review: "Litmus is the tool for all your email experience and deliverability needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Litmus to test email templates in different mail clients and browsers with the Litmus editor and also sending directly out of Pardot. This ensures that the email looks great in all of the different clients/browsers and the experience is the best. We also use the spam checker to verify content and deliverability of our emails.
  • Client and browser testing
  • Email editor with live browser testing
  • Spam tests and deliverability tests in different clients and browsers
  • Community and posts by email experts
  • More ESP integrations
  • Additional share options
  • Additional user customizations
Litmus is a great tool for the entire email marketing process from code, testing, deliverability and analytics. You see how the customer is also interacting with your email through a snippet of code placed in the email. You can see how long they've read your email, the clients they've read them in and overall interaction.
Read Sherice Dominguez's full review
Berlynn Pierce profile photo
March 14, 2019

"Litmus - great for previews, but prepare yourself to figure it out on your own"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Litmus is used by CRM and email marketing associates to review new email campaigns and automations.
  • A simple tool to navigate to the QA Checklist.
  • Multiple preview options that can be adjusted to your business by device and client.
  • The tool can be as simple or complex as needed -- from image review to links, image paths, loading speed, etc.
  • Lack of customer support.
  • Lack of transparency in fees -- I didn't realize we were not charged per email that we reviewed but per preview within each email.
  • Lack of training on the richness of the tool and its functionality.
Litmus is a very simple tool that can be utilized to preview how your email will be viewed in different clients and with different devices. There are multiple options to ensure the accuracy of your email in regards to opens, images, and link verification. There is a lot of manual exploring that will need to take place, as we were never trained on all the uses of the tool, which seem to be broad. We are most likely under-utilizing the tool and paying for more than what we use it for. The only time we ever heard from customer support ended up being a sales call. However, the tool itself is reliable and simple.
Read Berlynn Pierce's full review
Derrick Phipps profile photo
December 19, 2018

User Review: "Litmus and I"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Litmus in the marketing department. As an Art Director, I need to preview how my emails will look across various email clients. Of course there are slight display variances between email clients, but mainly we're looking for catastrophic breakdowns in the email. Often times it finds a critical issue in Outlook... Outlook is kind of the buzz kill in email design.
  • Litmus gives an accurate preview of how emails appear across various email clients
  • Litmus helps detect coding issues
  • Litmus allows users on my team to share email previews and determine whether we need to make adjustments
  • If I recall correctly, there used to be a browser preview functionality that is no longer available. I miss that.
  • I wish Litmus was able to detect why we're experiencing certain issues between email clients. It's probably wishful thinking at this point given all of the variables Litmus would need to consider in order to make a sound suggestion.
Litmus is great if you need to create a simple email that works well across a number of email clients. Litmus has a number of templates that can help you put together a polished email very quickly. Litmus could use a bit of help in organizing projects in folders. At the moment the way you search for a particular project is via keyword or looking them up based upon when they were created.
Read Derrick Phipps's full review
Ziyu Wang profile photo
December 02, 2018

"Litmus makes coding, and previewing emails super easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Litmus in the marketing department to code and preview emails. We also have Salesforce, so the Litmus <> Salesforce integration has been super helpful in previewing emails with different clients right as we send. It helps us develop, build, preview, and send emails. It particularly helps us make sure that all of our emails will render correctly with different clients (Gmail, Outlook, Yahoo, etc...).
  • Preview emails across different clients. Also makes it super easy to troubleshoot what the issues are and what in the code is causing the issue.
  • Makes coding for both desktop and mobile very easy.
  • Integration with Salesforce is clutch. It allows us to create, build and send emails with just 2 vendors, rather than multiple more.
  • Subject line, spam check, and preheader is sometimes hard to find, would be good to make it more prominent.
  • Not sure how to use the analytics - would be good to have better overview of the additional features.
  • I can't diagnose what's wrong with an email code until after I preview all the clients. It would be nice to be able to see the issues as i'm coding the emails.
Litmus is great for coding and previewing emails. I have not used its project working features or any of the other features.
Read Ziyu Wang's full review
Andrew Sielen profile photo
December 02, 2018

Litmus Review: "A great tool that makes email marketing less nerve racking. Trust that what you see is what your prospects see."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Litmus to ensure our emails look perfect every time. It doesn't have the widest user base, only 3 of us use it, but it is essential to our email marketing. We have a very strong brand and a lot of customer and prospects that use older technology which means we need to be careful about the emails we send out.
  • Multi-client email rendering
  • Easy email testing, just send the email to Litmus and they will test it and give you the results
  • Good source of information for email client differences
  • Better integration with marketing automation platforms
  • More insight and recommendations based on how emails render
  • Intelligent issue recognitions with fix recommendations.
It is a great tool for teams that do any amount of email marketing. Email HTML is a terrible beast to work with and I would not dare to do it without a tool like this. Not needed if you do not do mass email marketing or if you have total control over who receives your email and what clients they use.
Read Andrew Sielen's full review
Tim Berman profile photo
December 07, 2018

Litmus Review: "A must for any marketing agency"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing team uses this to build email campaigns and templates. It helps take the guesswork out of writing emails that work.
  • Spam testing.
  • Email template building.
  • Email copy management.
  • Lack of integrations.
  • Priced for agencies, not for small businesses.
  • Lack of on-boarding support.
If you are a marketing consultant or agency, this is right up your alley. If you're an independent business or marketer, you might check out GlockApps as a more affordable option.
Read Tim Berman's full review
Melissa Davies profile photo
December 06, 2018

Review: "Litmus - shines a light on deliverablity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Litmus to check the sendablity of our emails. From if they are going to make it into the inbox or the junk folder or just disappear by the client (deliverability): we review how emails look in different clients and evaluate the "spammingness" of emails.
  • Look of emails in different clients on different devices
  • Spamminess
  • Deliverablity
  • Understanding how the clients are flagging as spam or junk.
If you send emails in via a marketing automation tool (Marketo, Eloqua, Pardot) you should be testing every email send with Litmus.
Read Melissa Davies's full review
No photo available
March 29, 2019

"My Latest Litmus Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Litmus is currently being used at our organization by the Marketing department. More specifically, the tool is used by our Email Marketing team. 2-3 Email Marketing Managers use the product to monitor Email HTML templates across multiple browsers (Firefox, Chrome, etc.) and mailbox providers (Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, etc.) before deploying. We simply use the Email Previews option. Currently, we do not utilize their Email Analytics, Spam Testing or Builder features.
  • Litmus helps expedite the production process in our email by streamlining the review process within one page/dashboard.
  • Litmus allows us to get more done quickly, reducing hours of potential QA work with their preview tool.
  • The product offers a quick check to identify likely delivery issues within our template code.
  • There are a number of coding updates that happen, often over the course of a week, within different email clients. It would be useful for Litmus to highlight the updates as "NEW." Often we are reusing the same template. This would be helpful to ensure we are making the correct adjustments where necessary.
  • It would be beneficial for Litmus to highlight different product features within the preview dashboard, without having to toggle to different sections.
  • If we could receive a notification, in an email, for a preview/review that has happened in the past, that would be useful. For example: If we preview a template for an automated campaign, we would proof it once before automating within our ESP. If there is a change in how Gmail processes this template four weeks from today, it would be great to receive an email notification reminding our team to re-review. Of course, this would go beyond the current offering.
Litmus has a number of features; however, their preview/proofing feature is the most useful. The tool is extremely inexpensive and serves a great purpose for our email marketing team. The Builder tool and Checklist feature allow one individual on our team to quickly review what would otherwise take hours and leave room for error.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2018

"Litmus, handy for template review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Litmus in my current role of building and testing the email templates that we use for all our templated emails. It allows us to make sure that all of our templated emails will pull in properly to all of the different email platforms from Outlook 13-16, to Gmail for example, and all the different screen sizes. This allows us to determine if the emails are responding as we'd like and that all the images are pulling in properly.
  • Editing code.
  • Figuring out where the mistakes are in the code, but it is difficult in programs such as Marketo.
  • Showing how the email will be rendered across all the different email platforms.
  • Calling out the errors in code in a more explicit manner
  • Explaining what the problems are within the templates
  • Pulling in tokens to check the functionality of them to ensure they pull with the correct sizes and will fit properly within the different screen sizes and email platforms
Litmus is great for checking how well email templates work and will interact with different email platforms and screen sizes. It is useful for editing codes and finding errors and it color codes certain parts of code in similar colors so that you are able to more easily read the code and find the places where the errors are occurring. Whereas when trying to do this in Marketo it is more difficult.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

Litmus Review: "Useful but slow!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Litmus on the Marketing Automation team to build and test emails before sending them in Marketo. Litmus allows us to see how emails will render across clients, ensure that the links function, ensure images are working, and make sure that our emails are not ending up in the spam folder. This tool is primarily used on our team, however, I believe that a few other teams have a license to create emails that they will send out.
  • Build emails that will render correctly in multiple clients.
  • Add tracking that lets you see on what device emails are read and for how long.
  • Send test emails that will tell you if your subject line, preview text, or content will trigger spam flags.
  • Speed. If we are using it properly with snippets and partials, it becomes intolerably slow
  • Search function. Keyword searches for projects frequently will not turn up what you are looking for
  • Auto save. If you leave your work for too long or someone else jumps into the code, your work is always lost
It is good for custom emails that are heavily designed where the look of it really matters. It is not good for standard text emails or ones in which you utilize a template.
Read this authenticated review
Steffany Winkelmann profile photo
August 16, 2018

Review: "Litmus is the Holy Grail of Email Testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the sole user of Litmus (and our sole Email Marketer) and we use it to test how emails will render across all devices. I am primarily responsible for creating, testing, sending, and reporting on our emails, and know from personal experience that an email that looks or behaves poorly leads to an unsubscribe or ultimately a spam complaint. Litmus helps me ensure that no little mistake goes unnoticed. Code is very sensitive and the slightest mistake can cause all sorts of rendering problems, even if it looks perfect in Apple Mail. Outlook is notorious for emails acting wonky, and with Litmus, we are able to ensure that all our recipients get the same email experience regardless of what device they are using to view our emails.
  • Email rendering, of course! That is definitely their number one asset, and the thing they do best. While I have only the spam testing feature, the device rendering tool is incredibly invaluable. Imagine having to send an email to yourself (or a list of all your hundreds of email addresses and setting them up....) and checking it not on just your Mac and iPhone, but on your PC, your Android, your iPad, your Android tablet, your older PC with Outlook 2007, checking Samsung Mail on your Android, Google Inbox on your phone, Office 365, AOL.com, Hotmail on your various devices.... my head is spinning! Litmus takes away every bit of that annoyance and lets you view the rendering in one simple location.
  • Litmus also offers great webinars to help email marketers with strategy (seriously, stop spamming people - it does more harm than you can see at face value), with email development (they won't teach you how to code but will teach you how to use the tools to their full potential), and with content that provides a holistic view of email marketing as a whole. These reports offer up real, hard data and include general trends that help email marketers understand what works, what doesn't, and where they need to go with it.
  • The whole email testing experience with Litmus is a breeze. It's so easy to get started and understand, it almost feels like you're doing something wrong. I love having the history of past tests too, in case I want to compare various results.
  • This is more of a selfish nice-to-have, as I find no real, major issues with Litmus. But I'd like to see some sort of highlights within test results where code may have an issue. I use Sublime Text to make sure I'm coding properly, but it doesn't catch the tiny mistakes that aren't apparent in, for example, Apple Mail. I may see a perfect-looking email in Apple Mail but my colleague sees a strange mash-up of content blocks in Outlook on their PC. Being able to find the issue quickly within Litmus would be super cool, and I'd totally pay for that feature. Otherwise, I truly have no major issues and see no areas of major improvement other than cool new tools.
If you send bulk emails, you need Litmus. If you send small batches from like Gmail or send only plain-text emails, you don't need Litmus. It's pretty basic, and pretty simple. Litmus is a very powerful tool that has a wide reach; B2C users get the same experience as a B2B user. Plain text emails require testing with Litmus as there is no HTML/CSS to be concerned with.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (6)
7.5
Dynamic content (1)
3
Ability to test dynamic content (1)
3
A/B testing (1)
7
Mobile optimization (9)
8.9
Email deliverability (9)
8.9
Dashboards (6)
9.3
Standard reports (8)
8.5
Custom reports (2)
7.0

About Litmus

Litmus Software in Cambridge, MA offers their email marketing solution Litmus, supporting email campaign building and best practice checklist, spam testing and resolution, proofing and feedback sharing, and email analytics.
Categories:  Email Marketing

Litmus Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No