TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/BX/ae/1GOV5H1U2PGV.pngReview of Oracle Responsys - Pros and ConsIt is being used by the marketing team and we work closely with our developer team to get the right data into Responsys through a daily import. We use it to email all our users starting with on-boarding and how to use our product and going all the way to how to keep users engaged, show new features. We use the data we import from out app to know where users are in the process and can send messages specifically to help them complete tasks. We also use it for all transactional messages and for all marketing purposes for promotions, discounts, and new features or products.,Dynamic content works very well and you can add many layers to get specific. Get analytics to see which campaigns or emails are performing best and why, including revenue tracking for conversions. Ability to create detailed email programs filtering off actions or engagement of what your customers are doing to help guide them throughout their journey.,The ability to search for specific links globally , right now you can only search for link tables names. Ability to connect to RSS Feeds not using XML coding which is advanced and not user friendly. Away to mass update links because going through every link table to update a link in the header of every email was extremely painful and time consuming.,9,Email,10,Not a member of any user groups,HubSpot CRMSolid platform, but not user-friendlyOracle Responsys is our ESP and helps support a direct response B2C online business. The nature of our business requires carefully sequenced email strategies to move people along the funnel. We've been using Responsys before they were acquired by Oracle and it has allowed this marketing channel to strive. For the past several years, we now have a dedicated email marketing manager to assist with all things Responsys, which has helped growth substantially.,Trigger programs can be highly customized and segmented. Filtering for audiences is very powerful, but SQL skills are often required for more advanced filters. Customer records can be highly customized to accept business-specific variables.,The tool is not intuitive and really requires a dedicated expert with strong HTML/CSS and SQL skills to get the most out of it. Any additional custom work done by the Oracle Responsys team is almost always prohibitively expensive. Most marketers like to get into the data and dig through it to uncover opportunities. This is very difficult in Responsys as the tool is overly technical and disjointed. Again, you will need a dedicated expert resource to run the tool or even reporting.,6,Email,7,Not a member of any user groups,Bluecore, Experian Marketing Suite and Adobe CampaignOracle Responsys is a great tool!Oracle Responsys is used by our email marketing team to deploy our marketing and transactional emails to our customers. We also have the capability to do SMS and Push messaging through Responsys. There are currently not any other departments or people in our business using the tool, though we do support several different departments.,Email Message Designer is easy to use and fairly straightforward. Integrates well with other tools my company utilizes, like stensul and Liveclicker. Our Customer Success Manager is great! Customer service in general is very good.,I wish there were easier ways to search for pieces of content within the tool. It can be difficult to locate a specific item since there is no universal keyword search capability Online help and troubleshooting are lacking. Topliners, in particular, is just awful. There needs to be a complete overhaul of the help sections.,8,Email Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.),Not a member of any user groups,NoneOracle-ite!It is being used in our email marketing department, and it runs our entire email marketing program.,Automation Customization Personalization,Reporting features Ease of use UX is outdated,7,Email Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.),Not a member of any user groups,Deliverability PlusOracle Reponsys - THE B2C marketing orchestration toolOracle Responsys is a fantastic tool for B2C businesses looking to complex digital marketing campaigns. It has the power to handle any size organization, offers an open platform so you're able to integrate with other systems and allows for robust reporting on marketing efforts. Oracle Responsys is the best enterprise email tool for B2C organizations in my opinion.,Oracle Responsys offers tremendous flexibility when designing beautiful emails Natively integrates with SMS so you can easily orchestrate omni-channel campaigns Powerful reporting engine for determining campaign effectiveness.,More direct integrations with CRM rather than having to use SFTP for data imports Enhanced UI to match other applications in the Oracle Marketing Cloud suite It could be easier to use. It's really great for advanced users but steep learning curve for newbies,8,Email Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.),,,,Yes,Product Features Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Analyst Reports,I would certainly ask more technical questions around integration from all the vendors. The integration piece is pretty important and I should have been more informed on that.,No,4,No,No, I can't think of a time.
Unspecified
Oracle Responsys
49 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Oracle Responsys Reviews

Oracle Responsys
49 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 49 vetted Oracle Responsys reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
April 04, 2018

"Review of Oracle Responsys - Pros and Cons"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the marketing team and we work closely with our developer team to get the right data into Responsys through a daily import. We use it to email all our users starting with on-boarding and how to use our product and going all the way to how to keep users engaged, show new features. We use the data we import from out app to know where users are in the process and can send messages specifically to help them complete tasks. We also use it for all transactional messages and for all marketing purposes for promotions, discounts, and new features or products.
  • Dynamic content works very well and you can add many layers to get specific.
  • Get analytics to see which campaigns or emails are performing best and why, including revenue tracking for conversions.
  • Ability to create detailed email programs filtering off actions or engagement of what your customers are doing to help guide them throughout their journey.
  • The ability to search for specific links globally , right now you can only search for link tables names.
  • Ability to connect to RSS Feeds not using XML coding which is advanced and not user friendly.
  • Away to mass update links because going through every link table to update a link in the header of every email was extremely painful and time consuming.
Dynamic content is well suited and easy to use. The ability to import data and then filter off it for audience filters and content within the email is extremely robust and fairly easy to use. The program functionality is also robust and you can create very detailed email programs for things like on boarding, engagement, retention, etc.

It is not well suited for things like sending automatically emails off of RSS feeds from the blog because it takes a lot of developing in XML code.
Read Michelle A Hiland's full review
February 13, 2018

Oracle Responsys Review: "Solid platform, but not user-friendly"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is our ESP and helps support a direct response B2C online business. The nature of our business requires carefully sequenced email strategies to move people along the funnel. We've been using Responsys before they were acquired by Oracle and it has allowed this marketing channel to strive. For the past several years, we now have a dedicated email marketing manager to assist with all things Responsys, which has helped growth substantially.
  • Trigger programs can be highly customized and segmented.
  • Filtering for audiences is very powerful, but SQL skills are often required for more advanced filters.
  • Customer records can be highly customized to accept business-specific variables.
  • The tool is not intuitive and really requires a dedicated expert with strong HTML/CSS and SQL skills to get the most out of it.
  • Any additional custom work done by the Oracle Responsys team is almost always prohibitively expensive.
  • Most marketers like to get into the data and dig through it to uncover opportunities. This is very difficult in Responsys as the tool is overly technical and disjointed. Again, you will need a dedicated expert resource to run the tool or even reporting.
Responsys can handle very large subscriber lists and is very reliable. This is an enterprise-level platform, which will not be suited for a smaller business.
Read Kelly Saux's full review
April 26, 2018

User Review: "Oracle Responsys is a great tool!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is used by our email marketing team to deploy our marketing and transactional emails to our customers. We also have the capability to do SMS and Push messaging through Responsys. There are currently not any other departments or people in our business using the tool, though we do support several different departments.
  • Email Message Designer is easy to use and fairly straightforward.
  • Integrates well with other tools my company utilizes, like stensul and Liveclicker.
  • Our Customer Success Manager is great! Customer service in general is very good.
  • I wish there were easier ways to search for pieces of content within the tool. It can be difficult to locate a specific item since there is no universal keyword search capability
  • Online help and troubleshooting are lacking. Topliners, in particular, is just awful. There needs to be a complete overhaul of the help sections.
In my opinion, Oracle Responsys is well suited to companies that send large amounts of email, push, or SMS messages. I personally don't have a ton of experience with other ESPs, but I find this tool to be pretty easy to use and overall efficient. We send a lot of emails so it works for us - at a smaller company or someplace with lower volume, it may not be as helpful.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

Oracle Responsys Review: "Oracle-ite!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in our email marketing department, and it runs our entire email marketing program.
  • Automation
  • Customization
  • Personalization
  • Reporting features
  • Ease of use
  • UX is outdated
Well suited for those who have a very customizable campaign; less suited for smaller companies who don't do much email or don't have large lists.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2017

Oracle Responsys Review: "Oracle Reponsys - THE B2C marketing orchestration tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is a fantastic tool for B2C businesses looking to complex digital marketing campaigns. It has the power to handle any size organization, offers an open platform so you're able to integrate with other systems and allows for robust reporting on marketing efforts. Oracle Responsys is the best enterprise email tool for B2C organizations in my opinion.
  • Oracle Responsys offers tremendous flexibility when designing beautiful emails
  • Natively integrates with SMS so you can easily orchestrate omni-channel campaigns
  • Powerful reporting engine for determining campaign effectiveness.
  • More direct integrations with CRM rather than having to use SFTP for data imports
  • Enhanced UI to match other applications in the Oracle Marketing Cloud suite
  • It could be easier to use. It's really great for advanced users but steep learning curve for newbies
Oracle Responsys is perfectly suited for upper mid-market and enterprise B2C organizations who send large volumes of email. It is probably not the tool if you are a smaller organization such as SMB. It offers tremendous flexibility and email through-put. But with the flexibility comes a level of sophistication needed from users in order to get the most out of the application.
Read Mike Bernard's full review
October 31, 2017

Oracle Responsys Review: "Responsys is the next level - if you can learn it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is an email specialist tool used by our company to get the most out of our email services. It has excellent segmentation options and works very well within our system, especially for the marketing team. Responys helps us manage our advertising targeted projects and builds life-cycle campaigns to automatically send out emails on our behalf.
  • Extremely good reporting for our campaigns. We can identify the problem areas and work to address them for future campaigns all because Responsys tracks many varying techniques which can help boost our performance.
  • Ability to create all our campaigns with plug and play tools, which benefits us as the marketing team doesn't have to rely on other teams.
  • Marketing automation is of utmost importance and Responsys helps us do that quite easily.
  • As good as a tool Responsys is, it comes with a list of problems including bugs and customer service issues. New releases and updates cause problems to the existing version and they aren't fixed by customer support as promptly as they should be.
  • Very difficult for anyone to just start using as you need to have very good knowledge and understanding before you can dive in.
  • Not the most attractive user interface, or the most user-friendly either.
Oracle Responsys is good for our email marketing campaigns and provides us with a service that can help us improve our content and get the most out of lead engagement. Being able to create personalisation profiles based on varying criteria is very good as it has seen us make improvements in the emails we give out and also allows us to only send emails out that are relevant to the recipient.
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2016

Oracle Responsys Review: "Industry Leading Email Functionality"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Responsys 4 years ago to take our email marketing to the next level. We have integrated with multiple data sources to trigger, test, and deliver highly segmented campaigns. We currently use it for all promotional, transactional, and automated campaigns.
  • Program within Responsys really allows you to orchestrate campaigns. The UI is easy to use, and allows you to get complex scenarios up and running in a short amount of time.
  • We test almost every campaign that we send, and Responsys really allows us to do this without needing an extra resource. We run a test and select a winner all within the same day to optimize sends.
  • We ave been able to integrate with multiple data sources to bring in purchase data, browsing data, and our product catalog to add personalization and segmentation to campaigns.
  • We would love to see Oracle continue to integrate products so that the need for a marketer to have multiple logins becomes a thing of the past.
Oracle Responsys is perfect for any marketer looking to take their marketing to the next level. For the novice marketer there is plenty of opportunity to grow with the platform, and leverage the strategic minds at Oracle. For the advanced marketer, the tool is very powerful and can drive campaigns forward.
Read Shenea Edison's full review
September 11, 2015

Oracle Responsys Review: "Oracle/Responsys Blows Away the Competition"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Marketing Cloud (Responsys) enables automated lifecycle marketing and automated dynamic 1:1 marketing campaigns. The product offering is more advanced than any other vendors I've reviewed. Because of the revenue that email drives it doesn't make sense to select anything less than the best. Some of the competitive products had very confusing pricing models and cobbled together software application modules. Oracle and Responsys has a one-stop-shop solution.
  • Integration of display targeting and lifecycle communications to empower sequential story-based retargeting campaigns across display networks.
  • The Interact module allows for richer and more intelligent lifecycle campaigns to be created by marketing with less dependencies and involvement from technology teams.
  • The advanced analytics application allows for queries, filters, and comparison of disparate data to get the answers needed to optimize the email channel.
  • The user interface is very dated. I would like to see a much more refined GUI.
  • The requirement to map all data tables in advance is cumbersome and slows down the ability for a marketer to iterate programs rapidly.
The biggest reasons not to go with Responsys is that you need to be able to rapidly input new data points into the tech on the fly. Other than that, Responsys is hands-down the leading solution in the industry.
Read Juston Brommel's full review
July 14, 2015

Oracle Responsys Review: "What makes Responsys best ESP: Ease of use, flexibility and solid backend."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Responsys over different business units of the company and had at least 10 different accounts. Within each unit, there were entirely different web properties and hence Master lists. We used it for building iterative interactive flows (programs) and response based campaigns with great ease. The tool also has powerful data-warehouse and reporting that is not only very deep by also super easy to use. We worked with raw data also, which one can easily request and with a click of a second it get uploaded in your account FTP. We use Responsys forms and APIs on the site to register customers directly to our email database. We also integrated Responsys with Adobe DMP and Gigya data to build 360 degree profiles for customers Last but not least if there is anything (e.g. creating complex segments, etc) that cannot be done with the UI one can do it with SQL.
  • Building a 360 profile of customer , we integrated Adobe DMP, Responsys and Gigya data in Responsys itself leveraging its CRM capabilities.
  • It enables us to build complex segments using a simple UI based on recency and frequencey
  • It was very easy to create campaigns and hence with very little direction even technoogy/engineers could handle it in case of emergency.
  • There should a way to connect the Responsys feed directly to a database. i.e. a pipeline from DB to DB
  • I faced issues with different browsers accessing it.
We used Responsys in our previous company - one of the big 4 media companies in US. I think Responsys is a comprehensive tool for email marketing and can be integrated with other systems by using programming to build CRMs.
Read Gaurav Gautam's full review
March 31, 2014

Oracle Responsys Review: "A great tool , but we haven't yet fully harnessed its power."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool is being used by our Direct To Consumer department to manage the email communication (promotional and informative) from various brand ecommerce sites. It's allowed our B2C communication to become more refined, protect our IP health in the face of SPAM concerns, and given us better visibility on key metrics.
  • Allows you to define and target key audience segments - you must be sure to be collecting this data from your contacts however.
  • Presents results data well - can function like a pivot table in order to organize the data however is best for your needs.
  • Scheduling tool allows easy visibility of all activity across account for all of our ecommerce outlets
  • Simple to launch and evaluate a/b campaigns
  • The platform is more difficult to operate than other tools I've used
  • Seemingly tiny html "errors" can result in emails not test launching - know code well if managing this tool
  • Tool couldn't be integrated fully with our existing website platform, so some of the cart abandonment/custom imagery features are not able to function
This tool is in reality more robust than we need it to be. I don't think that we will ever be able to use Responsys to its full potential. We cast a large net and post significant revenue across 14 ecom sites, however this tool may be better suited for organizations with one ecommerce site that is within the top 500 and has vast email lists and lots of data on their customers.
Read Deirdre Daily's full review
December 09, 2014

Oracle Responsys Review: "Worth the effort"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Interact Campaign provides a wide variety of capability for creating dynamic message content, tailored to each specific channel.
  • Interact Connect offers straight forward, reliable data integration.
  • Recent enhancements to Interact Program make it flexible and easy to set up and test.
  • As a SQL developer, I'd like to see enhancements to the SQL View and Join View capability that would make it easier to set up and test, providing more of a developer experience.
  • We're starting to use Responsys for more real-time email scenarios. The regular maintenance windows are something we need to plan for and work around.
  • Response time in the UI and campaign launch can be slow during peak times.
I would recommend starting with a good definition of what types of interactions you want to achieve with an email marketing tool. Review the features that Responsys offers and compare that to other vendors. Other tools may seem easier to use at first, but many lack the broad depth of functionality that Responsys offers. As with any tool, there are frustrations, but Responsys appears to be learning from the past and continuing to improve. I would ask to see examples of how other Responsys customers are using the tool; what level of support is available; how Responsys will assist in helping your organization get started; what conversion rates can you expect as compared to others in your industry.
Read this authenticated review

About Oracle Responsys

Oracle Cross-Channel Marketing to Consumers (part of the Oracle Marketing Cloud, and formerly known as Responsys) is a B2C Cross Channel Marketing solution that is designed to help marketers deliver more relevant, real-time interactions for consumers across email, mobile, display, social, and web experiences. This solution includes Program Orchestration, which offers a centralized canvas to coordinate personalized interactions with a point-and-click interface that helps marketers adapt and respond to customer behavior.

The Oracle Marketing Cloud features solutions that are designed to help marketers acquire and retain ideal customers, engaging them with a relevant experience that spans the entire customer lifecycle. Oracle Marketing Cloud helps the marketer connect data across the marketing ecosystem to personalize customer experiences with software including marketing automation (Oracle Cross-Channel Marketing to Consumers/Businesses), content marketing (Oracle Content Marketing), social marketing (Oracle SRM), and data management (Oracle Data Management Platform).

Oracle Responsys Features

Additional Features
Has featureCross-channel coordination across paid, earned and owned media
Has featureOrchestrate an individualized customer experience at scale

Oracle Responsys Screenshots

Oracle Responsys Integrations

Salesforce.com, Workfront, Kapost, Umbel, Lytics, Adobe Omniture, IBM Coremetrics Analytics, Relationship One, AudiencePoint, Swerve, 250ok, Moveable Ink, TV Page, Kick Dynamic, eNautics, CAKE, Stensul, Put it Forward, Uplift, ITC InfoTech, Scratch-It, Venistar, SimpleRelevance

Oracle Responsys Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Oracle Responsys pricing covers marketing messages sent across Email, SMS, MMS, Push, Social, Display, and Web.

Oracle Responsys Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle Responsys Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Chinese (Traditional and Simplified), French, Italian, Korean, Russian, Spanish