Oracle Responsys Reviews

86 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Glen Kimmel Leblanc | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

With Responsys I can collect data, create complex campaigns and optimize our development by adding contacts automatically.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys allows us to solve different data collection problems, we can create personalized campaigns without much effort. In addition, Responsys gives us the possibility of creating large complex automations. We have configured our CRM to automatically add all the contacts. It is currently being used in different departments and I really like the tools it has with Eloqua.
  • We managed to efficiently automate campaigns with Responsys and its complex automations.
  • The configuration with our CRM is optimal.
  • We can solve our data collection problems.
  • It has very useful tools with Eloqua.
  • The interface leaves a lot to be desired and can be very complex.
  • Push messaging generates very annoying errors.
  • It generally has long charging times.
For data collection, personalized campaigns and for the configuration with our CRM we have noticed that once we manage to configure everything in Responsys, good results can be achieved. But the interface is complex and can turn out to be very problematic and push messaging generates errors. I hope they can improve some aspects, specifically the interface.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
The creation of email campaigns has a great advantage to achieve our goals. We have created campaigns in different languages to achieve better and more extensive data collection. We have specifically integrated our CRM system to optimize our email campaigns. Also, we can automatically add contacts which allows us to improve significantly. Although we have had some problems with the interface and with push messaging, I think we are making progress and achieving our adjectives.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Glen Kimmel Leblanc's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Responsys: Simplifying Marketing Complexities

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Responsys is used across all brands to deploy and manage email and SMS campaigns. It houses messages ranging from acquisition to portfolio management. Additionally, it also houses many of the operational messages we send week to week.

Responsys solves many of the issues around segmentation and customized touch points. It has easily accessible data and the tools to use this data to create unique sends to distinct groups.
  • Segmentation.
  • Program creation.
  • Dynamic email creation.
  • Clarity of associations within emails (data tables, programs, content, etc.).
  • Launch timing flexibility.
  • Automatic data upload timing flexibility.
Responsys is well-suited for a company with layers of complex data that can be distilled into individual email campaigns or programs. It also may be overkill for a company that does not have a deep data architecture set up. There are many features that, in that case, would likely go unused.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
Responsys allows the creation of programs that can include multi-channel touch points. This has been incredibly useful in alternating the communication touch points. Responsys is the only tool that we have to orchestrate these types of multi-touch campaigns and it has shown very positive results in terms of conversions. The process to create these campaigns is very easy and straightforward.
Read this authenticated review
Felicia DiSano | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Responsys is cool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Responsys is being used primarily by Marketing in our corporation, with the exception of myself, who is using it to develop templates for our eCommerce emails. It is a helpful program that allows you to design and view your design simultaneously.
  • Side by side design view and development.
  • Sent and bounce stats that are easy to navigate to.
  • In-depth details about emails that are sent out.
  • I’d like to see easier navigation between different email templates.
  • Have a side by side view of 2 different email templates and allow for edit in both.
  • Easier navigation to in-depth email stats for a specific email campaign.
It is less appropriate for a smaller business since it offers so much information suited for bigger businesses. It is more appropriate for bigger businesses.
  • Email
  • Display Ads
  • Social media
I don’t run the ad campaigns, unfortunately. I only have experience designing 4 email templates for eCommerce purposes. Sorry!
Read Felicia DiSano's full review
Rhianna Albert | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

For the right response....

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While my organization does not use Responsys internally we implement and integrate to it for many of our clients. We have clients who use it for marketing and then integrate their customer experience systems with it for a more detailed view to empower agents. Typically the information that is exposed to Agents in the call center is regarding current campaigns that a customer that is contacting the call center has received. This allows the agent to have some information about promotions or notifications they may have received. In sales integrations the information that is surfaced is similar though it is more focused on campaigns that had successful click throughs for opportunities or prospects that the sales team is targeting.
  • Dynamic content for messages provides a scalable and enterprise class set of features that allow specific criteria targeting individuals
  • Demand Generation campaigns are straightforward
  • Robust set of tools for the enterprise marketer this is the Tesla of ESPs
  • Surveys should be included in the product
  • Some features may be overkill for mid market and SMB customers
  • There is a but of a learning curve because of the robustness of the tool would recommend more training support materials
Well suited for Enterprise business with mature marketing departments that have a need for a full suite ESP. As mentioned in some of the benefits in my opinion this is a sleek machine, a Tesla that will perform beyond your expectations and bring you exponential ROI if used to the fullest extent. This is your go to demand gen tool.
  • Other
It is my opinion that Orchestration is straightforward and easily scalable with Oracle Responsys. The visual canvas that is used for campaigns can help organizations realize an increased Customer Lifetime value and be taught to even less experienced resources with a marketing background and comfort level with typical "office software"
Yes - I am a member of the Carolinas Area Oracle Service Cloud User Group and Oracle Applications Users Group.

User groups have had a tremendous impact on my career as a whole and helped me understand trends in the market place in various industries that my company deals with. It has given me a good understanding of how real companies are using Oracle Responsys.
Read Rhianna Albert's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2019

Great Enterprise Marketing Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Responsys for all of our email/SMS/push marketing. The product helps us to effectively communicate with our audience for ad hoc, campaign, and lifecycle messages. We use Responsys only within our Marketing department, but the solution helps tremendously for our B2C communication needs.
  • Email Marketing - The deliverability is great, the campaign builder helps create stunning emails, and the reporting is very strong.
  • Push Notifications - The solution integrates easily with our app to send users important push communications.
  • Lifecycle Campaigns - The program builder is very easy to use and has powerful tools to create outstanding customer journeys.
  • User Interface - The UI is a bit outdated and clunky, but gets the job done with some getting used to.
  • Training - There isn't much out there for training, unless you are willing to pay Oracle or a 3rd party.
  • Support - There is no dedicated support and you have to use their portal. It sometimes take awhile to get things looked at or fixed, but they eventually get to it.
The solution is great for an enterprise marketing team. There is a ton of functionality and options, but the UI is slightly clunky and outdated. We use the solution to build our customer communication journeys and can highly personalize the journey/messaging for each user with the powerful filters, rules, and programs. The campaign builder allows us to build stunning emails that grab a users attention and convert well. The reporting is outstanding and allows us to see how our campaigns perform and where we can improve.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
The solution allows us to market to users across channels with in-depth personalization and the ability to target a user's specified channel. We use the email portion of Responsys extensively to maintain a personal relationship with our users. The solution also integrates nicely with our app to allow us to send important push notifications to users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

My Oracle Responsys review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Organization uses Oracle Responsys for Promotional & Non-Promotional Email & SMS campaigns. The platform is crucial in helping us drive revenue and streamline our operations. We create campaigns to push users to purchase our products online and in-store.
  • Responsys integrates well with third party platforms including Google Analytics and others.
  • The Reporting features within Oracle Responsys are sufficient for our business needs.
  • The data model (table relationships) allow us to easily scale our program.
  • Responsys could be improved upon with a more extensive summary after a connect job fails. Failure 'Reason codes' are often generic. More specifically, if the reason codes for a failed (profile list import) connect job could be identified per column. For ex: a common connect job failure happens when "over 20% of the data is in an incorrect field format." It would be helpful to know which 20% and/or which files/records are required to update.
  • Inclusion of Skipped Addresses within the aggregate/Insight reporting. Currently, Skipped metric is only available within the live report setting.
  • It would be nice to receive notifications for changes/additions to the #SoftBounce table
Oracle Responsys is great platform for any size business. I personally brought on Responsys to 5 organizations; 2 of which were small start-ups. The platform is not suited for companies that are not engaged in permission based sending.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
The platform allows us to orchestrate campaigns across multiple channels by referencing the same data schema. This is especially helpful with our QA process as well; also ensuring consistency for our audience. We also leverage the Program feature to create multi-touch campaigns. This is helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Reviewing Oracle Responsys Email and Push Notification Capabilities

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Responsys to deploy a variety of triggered, transactional and one-time sends. We also use Responsys for deploying Push notifications. We have a lot of different programs running for email and push and often throw people from one program to another. We also utilize a lot of different dynamic content and dynamic sections of emails to customize content as much as possible.
  • Dynamic content and sections
  • Easy to build programs
  • Split screen HTML and render view
  • Previewing push and SMS
  • Easier to understand and utilize interactive dashboards
  • Measure total filter count accurately without having to press "get actual count"
  • Better support
Responsys can be a bit clunky but overall it is quite functional, especially in regard to sending emails to large and diverse segments. Building campaigns is relatively simple and has improved in recent years. There is now a split screen where you can see HTML and see how it renders. Programs are pretty straightforward to build.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
We build out complex programs that integrate push and email notifications and often throw people from one program to another. Responsys allows us to easily segment our programs to target very specific audiences for our messaging. We can include criteria such as they must have opened on XXX message XXX number of days ago.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Review of Responsys

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Responsys is used by the marketing / CRM teams to deliver emails (both transactional and promotional) to our customers.
  • It's a very complex product that allows us to automate emails
  • Provides a simple tool for us to analyze the performance of our emails
  • Provides a way for us to trigger emails via API
  • The support documentation is difficult to comb through and find answers to specific questions you may have about the product.
  • I wish there were a way to test an entire program at once, instead of having to create a test audience, and enter them into the program and wait for that test audience to finish the program.
Responsys is a good CRM system with a lot of functionality. It is a great tool for delivering a LOT of emails. I probably would not recommend Responsys to someone with a small business, as there are other less expensive products that are simpler to implement and use.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
Responsys allows us to combine email programs and push notifications in an orchestrated way so that we can time the delivery of the messages appropriately and ensure that our audiences are receiving messaging on multiple platforms and not just in their email inbox.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2019

Responsys can be whatever you make of them.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Responsys in many different ways within our promotional and triggered programs. It is helping us become more self-sufficient as we bring in some of our work in-house, so we can add additional features and support within Oracle Responsys. We look forward to the new AI features and innovation coming in the next several years.
  • They provide the support crew for any hours of the day.
  • Reliable QA and responsive issue resolution.
  • New and innovative approaches to solving problems.
  • Some of their tools for proofing are outdated.
  • Reporting is almost unlimited, but could use more detailed training and help within the platform.
  • We've seen more downtime than I would expect from such a large company.
I think they are more suited for providing full-service to smaller companies who don't already have the same level of sophistication and experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2019

Responsys is good, but could use a few small improvements

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Responsys to communicate with our sitter and owner bases that we have on the Rover platform. Responsys allows us to send batch emails that have large audiences, automate emails, and analyze data on our sends.
  • Programs: This tool is easy to understand and execute. The interface is easy to understand with the use of nodes and attaching the technical piece such as campaigns and filters to them. It allows us to automate so many of our emails to be ad-hoc and triggered.
  • Interactive dashboard: This tool allows us to pull many detailed reports, as well as automating those reports. There are also features that allow us to analyze emails that contain dynamic content and how each of those pieces performed. This tool also allows us to go back and understand performance from campaign to campaign.
  • Campaign builder: This tool is so well organized. It has every detail about the campaign included on the workbook. Newly, it will even tell you what programs the campaign is attached to, so that you know exactly where it lives. With us having so many campaigns and programs, this is super useful for keeping track of it all.
  • Dynamic content: This tool is used a lot by my team, but it could be easier. We use the classic version opposed to the widget that was introduced, because it gave us less functionality by being more restrictive on the areas that you can select for dynamic content. The experience could be cleaner and more intuitive when selecting sections of the email to be dynamic content regions.
  • Error notifications: There have been times where a program validates, but one of the campaigns that is included isn't valid. The program continues to run, and it reports that it is sending said campaign, but it isn't. Programs should realize this and give an error of some sort so that we know it isn't sending. This could be prevented in QA, but sometimes edits are made to campaigns after the program goes live, and this is when the errors would occur.
  • Archiving folders and campaigns. It would be helpful if you could hold them somewhere that isn't in the same place as all of the other folders that we're using, just to make it a cleaner place for storage.
Responsys is perfect for sending large quantities of batch emails, as well as setting up triggered emails. It is high powered and reliably sends a high volume of emails.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
My team doesn't use the cross channel functions of Responsys for the most part. We have in-house channels deployers for these other channels that we utilize.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Responsys Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Responsys to deploy all of our promotion, automated and transactional campaigns. Our digital marketing department uses the platform across a few different business channels. The teams that are in Responsys include, Paid, Digital, CS and IT.
  • Highly customizable
  • Robust program flexibility
  • Multivariate testing
  • Segmentation Is done manually with SQL query.
  • Emails are hand-coded.
  • Create a better drag & drop template
This is a robust solution that requires a large learning curve. There have been limited resources to help a new hire get onboarded but they are addressing this gap with a video training program.
  • Email
This has been a work in progress before my time and it is now a well-tuned machine that seems to be working well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Great Marketing Platform !

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle Responsys for digital and email marketing to run different campaigns and leads to target customers and prospects for products. All the leads are automated using using Responsys. Email Marketing is run using Responsys to decide which customers to contact and which to opt-out based on criteria and legal requirements by state and laws. The software overall is very scalable and easy to use for any new or existing users.
  • Email Marketing
  • Lead Automation
  • Ok2Contact Criteria
  • There is a room for improvement for mobile marketing.
  • Interface is not very great or user-friendly. It's not intuitive and some of the tags on the website are misleading.
  • Some part of automation requires you to do the same steps and processes again and again which is cumbersome.
Overall Oracle Responsys is a good product for email and digital marketing to run campaigns and leads but the user interface and automation can be improved to make it more user-friendly.
  • Email
  • Display Ads
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
  • Social media
We are using Oracle Responsys for email, digital, mobile and social media marketing to target customers and prospects by running different campaigns across different channels. It's a key part of our marketing process to attract customers for different offers, sales and promotions we run throughout the year. Using Oracle Responsys we can automate most of the leads so these leads can be reused in a timely manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2019

Retail love for Oracle Responsys

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hi! I work in retail and have been using Oracle for a little over two years. I have had an amazing experience with their customer service. They have always placed a lot of importance on relationship building and making sure that their clients are happy. The Responsys products I have used have truly been top notch and some of the ones that they offer (such as Send Time Optimization and PAM) are really incomparable to other services. Their strategic services and campaign services team are innovative and insightful.
  • Customer services/client relations. They are constantly meeting and improving the ways we interact with them. They are readily available whenever we need and consistently go above and beyond.
  • Top of class products and services. They have a handful of products available such as Send Time Optimization and PAM that we haven't seen anywhere else.
  • Willingness to go above and beyond! Always available to crunch timelines and be available outside of normal hours for different initiatives.
  • Better/more innovation. Bringing more strategic ideas to us, specifically in regards to contracts, billing, and invoices.
  • More transparency. Better explanation around contracts and billing.
  • Quicker reactibility. Better processes in place for emergency situations.
Oracle knows how to make their clients feel heard and important. They go above and beyond to make sure they are accessible and are willing to hear out their customers thoughts and suggestions. They are available at all hours and in emergency situations and will do what they can to help find a solution.
  • Email
We are currently only using Oracle Responsys for our email vendor, however, we'd be open to learning more about cross channel recommendations to better streamline our marketing channels. If Oracle can provide good reasoning and examples as to why we should do this, I think our company would be very interested in learning more!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Responsys is great for enterprise, needs to add smaller "start up" features

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Responsys is used for the b2c part of our org. We use it to send emails to our job seekers with timely communications.
  • PET functionality (profile extension tables)
  • Velocity Scripting
  • Personalization
  • Token functionality, like Marketo
Well suited for: anyone who needs a b2c solution for enterprise scale
  • Email
We only use the email functionality, but are exploring the other cross platform features
Read this authenticated review
Nick Pape | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2018

If you do not need enterprise strongly consider whether Oracle Responsys is for you

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Responsys was only used by the marketing remit vs. whole organization. Solely for email purposes, the solution was to help with the broadcast of daily emails to customers. Regrettably, the solution only had the front end pixel installed rendering the full solution harder to use given the limit on querying our database.
  • It is the Ferrari of ESP platforms. If you have the backend and frontend resource to implement 100% of the solution, it is a winner.
  • You can write custom SQL for the best in class segmentation vs. WYSIWYG types of segmentation some ESPs provide.
  • Out of the box, Oracle algorithms help the user manage behavioral and transnational segmentation data points.
  • A typical full-service ESP, understanding whether you need all the bells and whistles will determine whether Oracle Responsys will be on your short list.
  • Dummies user guide to the platform would be essential for a smaller business to use the solution
  • It is super clunky with a UI that is best suited to developers vs. marketers
You need a full-service front end and back end team and marketers to get the best use out of this platform. It is clunky to use day to day. The best example to give is Oracle uses their own form of SQL called RPL. Responsys Programming Language. Whilst simple enough to learn if you know SQL, many marketers do not have time to write query after query. You'd typically get a developer to do it. As a Marketer, decide whether you can delegate this out or not.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
We were 100% pure play although we did have a B2B wholesale client list. Oracle Responsys, however, was only used on the digital fascia of the brand. It was simple enough to send SMS after an email campaign but these were the only 2 mediums we used, about 98% email and 2% SMS. I have known Oracle to be used for multi-channel businesses but again, you need to have the developer resource to speak to the various systems.
Read Nick Pape's full review
Michelle A Hiland | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

Review of Oracle Responsys - Pros and Cons

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the marketing team and we work closely with our developer team to get the right data into Responsys through a daily import. We use it to email all our users starting with on-boarding and how to use our product and going all the way to how to keep users engaged, show new features. We use the data we import from out app to know where users are in the process and can send messages specifically to help them complete tasks. We also use it for all transactional messages and for all marketing purposes for promotions, discounts, and new features or products.
  • Dynamic content works very well and you can add many layers to get specific.
  • Get analytics to see which campaigns or emails are performing best and why, including revenue tracking for conversions.
  • Ability to create detailed email programs filtering off actions or engagement of what your customers are doing to help guide them throughout their journey.
  • The ability to search for specific links globally , right now you can only search for link tables names.
  • Ability to connect to RSS Feeds not using XML coding which is advanced and not user friendly.
  • Away to mass update links because going through every link table to update a link in the header of every email was extremely painful and time consuming.
Dynamic content is well suited and easy to use. The ability to import data and then filter off it for audience filters and content within the email is extremely robust and fairly easy to use. The program functionality is also robust and you can create very detailed email programs for things like on boarding, engagement, retention, etc.

It is not well suited for things like sending automatically emails off of RSS feeds from the blog because it takes a lot of developing in XML code.
  • Email
We can email users based on their interests to give them content they care about and we can use actions within our app to message them the right content that they need to use our app efficiently and stay engaged. We use it for marketing promotions as well and love how professional our email look.
Read Michelle A Hiland's full review
Kelly Saux | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2018

Solid platform, but not user-friendly

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is our ESP and helps support a direct response B2C online business. The nature of our business requires carefully sequenced email strategies to move people along the funnel. We've been using Responsys before they were acquired by Oracle and it has allowed this marketing channel to strive. For the past several years, we now have a dedicated email marketing manager to assist with all things Responsys, which has helped growth substantially.
  • Trigger programs can be highly customized and segmented.
  • Filtering for audiences is very powerful, but SQL skills are often required for more advanced filters.
  • Customer records can be highly customized to accept business-specific variables.
  • The tool is not intuitive and really requires a dedicated expert with strong HTML/CSS and SQL skills to get the most out of it.
  • Any additional custom work done by the Oracle Responsys team is almost always prohibitively expensive.
  • Most marketers like to get into the data and dig through it to uncover opportunities. This is very difficult in Responsys as the tool is overly technical and disjointed. Again, you will need a dedicated expert resource to run the tool or even reporting.
Responsys can handle very large subscriber lists and is very reliable. This is an enterprise-level platform, which will not be suited for a smaller business.
  • Email
We only use Responsys for email. Expanding to other features has not made financial sense.
Read Kelly Saux's full review
Mike Bernard | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2017

Oracle Reponsys - THE B2C marketing orchestration tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is a fantastic tool for B2C businesses looking to complex digital marketing campaigns. It has the power to handle any size organization, offers an open platform so you're able to integrate with other systems and allows for robust reporting on marketing efforts. Oracle Responsys is the best enterprise email tool for B2C organizations in my opinion.
  • Oracle Responsys offers tremendous flexibility when designing beautiful emails
  • Natively integrates with SMS so you can easily orchestrate omni-channel campaigns
  • Powerful reporting engine for determining campaign effectiveness.
  • More direct integrations with CRM rather than having to use SFTP for data imports
  • Enhanced UI to match other applications in the Oracle Marketing Cloud suite
  • It could be easier to use. It's really great for advanced users but steep learning curve for newbies
Oracle Responsys is perfectly suited for upper mid-market and enterprise B2C organizations who send large volumes of email. It is probably not the tool if you are a smaller organization such as SMB. It offers tremendous flexibility and email through-put. But with the flexibility comes a level of sophistication needed from users in order to get the most out of the application.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
We could be using the application better. I noted that we have used it for email and SMS. The true power of Oracle Responsys is seen when you run true omni-channel campaigns. It has been fantastic for getting our messages out to customers in a sort amount of time. I think we would see even more value if we began integrating with display and social.
Yes - Currently a member of the Twin Cities Oracle Marketing Cloud group. It is fantastic. I love it. Everyone should find a local user group so you can learn new things, network with like minded people, hear about job openings and keep up on what is going on with the application. User groups are a must.
Read Mike Bernard's full review
Shenea Edison | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

Industry Leading Email Functionality

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Responsys 4 years ago to take our email marketing to the next level. We have integrated with multiple data sources to trigger, test, and deliver highly segmented campaigns. We currently use it for all promotional, transactional, and automated campaigns.
  • Program within Responsys really allows you to orchestrate campaigns. The UI is easy to use, and allows you to get complex scenarios up and running in a short amount of time.
  • We test almost every campaign that we send, and Responsys really allows us to do this without needing an extra resource. We run a test and select a winner all within the same day to optimize sends.
  • We ave been able to integrate with multiple data sources to bring in purchase data, browsing data, and our product catalog to add personalization and segmentation to campaigns.
  • We would love to see Oracle continue to integrate products so that the need for a marketer to have multiple logins becomes a thing of the past.
Oracle Responsys is perfect for any marketer looking to take their marketing to the next level. For the novice marketer there is plenty of opportunity to grow with the platform, and leverage the strategic minds at Oracle. For the advanced marketer, the tool is very powerful and can drive campaigns forward.
Read Shenea Edison's full review
Juston Brommel | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2015

Oracle/Responsys Blows Away the Competition

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Marketing Cloud (Responsys) enables automated lifecycle marketing and automated dynamic 1:1 marketing campaigns. The product offering is more advanced than any other vendors I've reviewed. Because of the revenue that email drives it doesn't make sense to select anything less than the best. Some of the competitive products had very confusing pricing models and cobbled together software application modules. Oracle and Responsys has a one-stop-shop solution.
  • Integration of display targeting and lifecycle communications to empower sequential story-based retargeting campaigns across display networks.
  • The Interact module allows for richer and more intelligent lifecycle campaigns to be created by marketing with less dependencies and involvement from technology teams.
  • The advanced analytics application allows for queries, filters, and comparison of disparate data to get the answers needed to optimize the email channel.
  • The user interface is very dated. I would like to see a much more refined GUI.
  • The requirement to map all data tables in advance is cumbersome and slows down the ability for a marketer to iterate programs rapidly.
The biggest reasons not to go with Responsys is that you need to be able to rapidly input new data points into the tech on the fly. Other than that, Responsys is hands-down the leading solution in the industry.
Read Juston Brommel's full review
Gaurav Gautam | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2015

What makes Responsys best ESP: Ease of use, flexibility and solid backend.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Responsys over different business units of the company and had at least 10 different accounts. Within each unit, there were entirely different web properties and hence Master lists. We used it for building iterative interactive flows (programs) and response based campaigns with great ease. The tool also has powerful data-warehouse and reporting that is not only very deep by also super easy to use. We worked with raw data also, which one can easily request and with a click of a second it get uploaded in your account FTP. We use Responsys forms and APIs on the site to register customers directly to our email database. We also integrated Responsys with Adobe DMP and Gigya data to build 360 degree profiles for customers Last but not least if there is anything (e.g. creating complex segments, etc) that cannot be done with the UI one can do it with SQL.
  • Building a 360 profile of customer , we integrated Adobe DMP, Responsys and Gigya data in Responsys itself leveraging its CRM capabilities.
  • It enables us to build complex segments using a simple UI based on recency and frequencey
  • It was very easy to create campaigns and hence with very little direction even technoogy/engineers could handle it in case of emergency.
  • There should a way to connect the Responsys feed directly to a database. i.e. a pipeline from DB to DB
  • I faced issues with different browsers accessing it.
We used Responsys in our previous company - one of the big 4 media companies in US. I think Responsys is a comprehensive tool for email marketing and can be integrated with other systems by using programming to build CRMs.
Read Gaurav Gautam's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2018

Oracle Responsys is a great tool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is used by our email marketing team to deploy our marketing and transactional emails to our customers. We also have the capability to do SMS and Push messaging through Responsys. There are currently not any other departments or people in our business using the tool, though we do support several different departments.
  • Email Message Designer is easy to use and fairly straightforward.
  • Integrates well with other tools my company utilizes, like stensul and Liveclicker.
  • Our Customer Success Manager is great! Customer service in general is very good.
  • I wish there were easier ways to search for pieces of content within the tool. It can be difficult to locate a specific item since there is no universal keyword search capability
  • Online help and troubleshooting are lacking. Topliners, in particular, is just awful. There needs to be a complete overhaul of the help sections.
In my opinion, Oracle Responsys is well suited to companies that send large amounts of email, push, or SMS messages. I personally don't have a ton of experience with other ESPs, but I find this tool to be pretty easy to use and overall efficient. We send a lot of emails so it works for us - at a smaller company or someplace with lower volume, it may not be as helpful.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
The capabilities are endless with Responsys to create cohesive cross-channel campaigns. Unfortunately, my company isn't using this capability to the fullest at the moment, but we do have plans to get better at that in the future. Creating Programs with multi-channel touchpoints is very simple using Responsys, and it is very intuitive. In the last year or so they have really improved the programs as a whole and beefed up what they can do. I would say they are on a good path!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2018

Oracle-ite!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in our email marketing department, and it runs our entire email marketing program.
  • Automation
  • Customization
  • Personalization
  • Reporting features
  • Ease of use
  • UX is outdated
Well suited for those who have a very customizable campaign; less suited for smaller companies who don't do much email or don't have large lists.
  • Email
  • Mobile (SMS, In-app, Push notifications, etc.)
Not yet in SMS but plan to be, email heavy and it aids us in targeting our users across their home buying journey
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2017

Responsys is the next level - if you can learn it

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Responsys is an email specialist tool used by our company to get the most out of our email services. It has excellent segmentation options and works very well within our system, especially for the marketing team. Responys helps us manage our advertising targeted projects and builds life-cycle campaigns to automatically send out emails on our behalf.
  • Extremely good reporting for our campaigns. We can identify the problem areas and work to address them for future campaigns all because Responsys tracks many varying techniques which can help boost our performance.
  • Ability to create all our campaigns with plug and play tools, which benefits us as the marketing team doesn't have to rely on other teams.
  • Marketing automation is of utmost importance and Responsys helps us do that quite easily.
  • As good as a tool Responsys is, it comes with a list of problems including bugs and customer service issues. New releases and updates cause problems to the existing version and they aren't fixed by customer support as promptly as they should be.
  • Very difficult for anyone to just start using as you need to have very good knowledge and understanding before you can dive in.
  • Not the most attractive user interface, or the most user-friendly either.
Oracle Responsys is good for our email marketing campaigns and provides us with a service that can help us improve our content and get the most out of lead engagement. Being able to create personalisation profiles based on varying criteria is very good as it has seen us make improvements in the emails we give out and also allows us to only send emails out that are relevant to the recipient.
  • Email
Responsys is the next level of email marketing and helps us determine which email campaign has been working well for us. The reporting tool is excellent and allows our business to make the most out of our emails by finding out more about our audience and ensuring we are sending out emails suitable to them.
Read this authenticated review
Deirdre Daily | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2014

A great tool , but we haven't yet fully harnessed its power.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool is being used by our Direct To Consumer department to manage the email communication (promotional and informative) from various brand ecommerce sites. It's allowed our B2C communication to become more refined, protect our IP health in the face of SPAM concerns, and given us better visibility on key metrics.
  • Allows you to define and target key audience segments - you must be sure to be collecting this data from your contacts however.
  • Presents results data well - can function like a pivot table in order to organize the data however is best for your needs.
  • Scheduling tool allows easy visibility of all activity across account for all of our ecommerce outlets
  • Simple to launch and evaluate a/b campaigns
  • The platform is more difficult to operate than other tools I've used
  • Seemingly tiny html "errors" can result in emails not test launching - know code well if managing this tool
  • Tool couldn't be integrated fully with our existing website platform, so some of the cart abandonment/custom imagery features are not able to function
This tool is in reality more robust than we need it to be. I don't think that we will ever be able to use Responsys to its full potential. We cast a large net and post significant revenue across 14 ecom sites, however this tool may be better suited for organizations with one ecommerce site that is within the top 500 and has vast email lists and lots of data on their customers.
Read Deirdre Daily's full review

About Oracle Responsys

Oracle Cross-Channel Marketing to Consumers (part of the Oracle Marketing Cloud, and formerly known as Responsys) is a B2C Cross Channel Marketing solution that is designed to help marketers deliver more relevant, real-time interactions for consumers across email, mobile, display, social, and web experiences. This solution includes Program Orchestration, which offers a centralized canvas to coordinate personalized interactions with a point-and-click interface that helps marketers adapt and respond to customer behavior.

The Oracle Marketing Cloud features solutions that are designed to help marketers acquire and retain ideal customers, engaging them with a relevant experience that spans the entire customer lifecycle. Oracle Marketing Cloud helps the marketer connect data across the marketing ecosystem to personalize customer experiences with software including marketing automation (Oracle Cross-Channel Marketing to Consumers/Businesses), content marketing (Oracle Content Marketing), social marketing (Oracle SRM), and data management (Oracle Data Management Platform).

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/marketingcloud/products/cross-channel/marketing-to-consumers.html

Oracle Responsys Features

Additional Features
Has featureCross-channel coordination across paid, earned and owned media
Has featureOrchestrate an individualized customer experience at scale

Oracle Responsys Screenshots

Oracle Responsys Integrations

Salesforce.com, Workfront, Upland Kapost, Umbel, Lytics, 250ok from Validity, Adobe Omniture, IBM Coremetrics Analytics, Relationship One, AudiencePoint, Swerve, Moveable Ink, TV Page, Kick Dynamic, eNautics, CAKE, Stensul, Put it Forward, Uplift, ITC InfoTech, Scratch-It, Venistar, SimpleRelevance

Oracle Responsys Competitors

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, Cheetah Messaging, Adobe Marketing Cloud, Acoustic Campaign (formerly IBM Watson Campaign Automation)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Oracle Responsys pricing covers marketing messages sent across Email, SMS, MMS, Push, Social, Display, and Web.

Oracle Responsys Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle Responsys Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Chinese (Traditional and Simplified), French, Italian, Korean, Russian, Spanish