Emburse Chrome River Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (76-92 of 92)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River EXPENSE is used across the corporation for expense reports approval. It has helped make the expense reporting system far more efficient and effective than our previous in-house solution. We use it for both credit card direct payments as well as individual reimbursements. The features of breaking down expenses into taxes, additional fees, etc. really makes the system easier and more accurate.
  • The mobile app does a particularly good job at making receipt uploads effortless
  • They constantly add new integrations with travel providers such as Uber and rental car companies
  • The expense approval process workflow makes tracking your report very easy
  • Support is a little unresponsive, especially now that you have to go through their support application instead of just sending an email
For our mid- to large-sized corporation, the solution is ideal. Users do not have to have a corporate card to use the system, so it is great for both our corporate staff and our mill workers who can use it for safety and tool reimbursements. It interfaces well with American Express and our Mastercard credit card vendor.
It was pretty easy but time consuming when we switched credit card vendors. The system does not match up well for an automated interface with our payroll system, so we have to manage with downloading a CSV and reformatting and uploading to our payroll system. I'm not sure if this is a Chrome River EXPENSE issue, an HRIS/payroll issue, or if we just have not taken the time to get it working correctly.
The system works well for what we use it for. We do not use the new Chrome River EXPENSE credit card system, which might be nice in the future. I am disappointed with the new support model and the way we have to feed the HRIS using files instead of a direct interface.
Support can be slow but the generally gives you a correct answer or points you in the right direction. I really liked the option to send an email, but they no longer conduct support in that manner; you now have to use their online support app. I wish they would return to letting us email directly; however, I know that it is cost prohibitive.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used across the whole organization. Chrome River EXPENSE allows us to review spending from sales and back-office users, anywhere from travel expenses all the way to morale purchases for the offices. With the report function, we are able to quickly pull data that allows us to review spending in specific areas, as well as find and create budgets for future years.
  • Reporting feature
  • Quick/Efficient process
  • Excellent help desk
  • Rules can be confusing
  • Ability to create a specific report and save it for future use
Well suited for everyone, from small businesses to large-scale operations. Chrome River EXPENSE is better if used in larger corporations where there are "superusers" that can assist those with less time to complete reports.
The integration from Chrome River into our accounting software is great. I can easily book entries based on what posted in Chrome River because of the exported reports. IT does not have to use any resources to assist here. I am able to do everything by myself. Everything matches up.
Big tiles provide readability, very intuitive, accounts make sense. Everything in the app/website is very straightforward. You can see everything you need to do on one screen. If something is not completed correctly, the errors created by the staff will pop up so that the report is completed correctly. There is no worry about someone making a mistake.
Any time that I submit an issue to the help desk because I don't understand something, the help desk always responds the same or the next day with a solution. They provide update emails, and training modules all of the time, so you are always in the know. If something isn't working, they are very quick to assist and correct.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2019
Judy Dunivant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River expense module was used by our employees worldwide to capture and submit expenses from both their out of pocket items and items charged to their company AMEX card. They were able to take photos of receipts and email them to their folder for quick and easy reference and backup detail.
  • Photos can be emailed to your inbox and stored online until you are ready to use the items in an expense report.
  • Ability to use the software on both the computer and mobile device.
  • Administrative visibility and ease of maintenance for items are wonderful.
  • The ability to see exactly what your user is seeing and being able to help from the admin side is a true blessing.
  • Customer support - our product was out of the UK and we had to submit tickets and wait for an answer, many times as often as 3 days before we got an answer.
  • Putting the flow of how to do an expense report by forcing the user to START with the charges from their company AMEX card would have been much appreciated.
  • The naming of functions could be much more clear on the Admin side.
The ability to email receipts to your personal folder is awesome. Our current product does not offer that and our employees want that feature back. Admin features are very well laid out for easy usability but the names of the items seem to be out of date. The return process of rejecting an expense report back to the user is friendly and works well. It does not stick it in a loop that gives the user the opportunity to just resubmit rather than actual edit and change for errors like other products do.
I was never impressed. Ask questions, get an answer 3 days later. This was not user-friendly and caused a lot of annoyance. Support is to help when you have a need, not an I will ask and get back to you 3 days later then send a survey to see how you liked their answer.
Read Judy Dunivant's full review
October 23, 2019
Danielle Siemons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River EXPENSE is used university-wide. We use Chrome River for travel expenses/reimbursements that are over $100. Employees put in their expenses and have the ability to attach/scan receipts to submit for approval. There also is an app you can use to document receipts. It is routed to a few folks for approvals before being sent off to accounts payable for final approval.
  • User friendly
  • Notifies you if documentation is missing
  • Personal deductions can be hard to add
  • The notes field gets confusing, sometimes a note added carries over into a different expense. This needs to be labeled better
Well suited for managing employee travel.
I have not had any issues thus far.
Read Danielle Siemons's full review
October 23, 2019
Dana Koglin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River EXPENSE is used by Indiana University to process payments, reimbursements, and reconcilement of credit card charges.
  • It is easy to create reports.
  • Once a report is submitted, if it is sent back, no new expenses can be added. The report has to be completely deleted and redone.
  • All hotel bills have to be itemized as recurring with tax, even if there wasn't any.
  • Many things are not editable once you have moved to the next screen.
It is really just a clumsy system. And the design is poor. Within a section of a report, there is no hierarchy. It is just visually difficult to use. I would have thought it was built in the 1990s.
You can't find help anywhere!
Read Dana Koglin's full review
October 22, 2019
Amanda Withers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Chrome River EXPENSE for our travel pre-approvals, travel reconciliations, and pcard reconciliation across the whole organization.
  • Easy to use - as a manager it is hard to find time to do my travel reconciliations. Chrome River makes it very easy do.
  • Quick to learn - It was easy and quick to figure out how to use Chrome River EXPENSE.
  • It has a great overall look - The module itself looks really sleek.
  • Overall, I really like Chrome River and don't have any things that should be improved.
  • It is a great product.
  • We really love Chrome River. I can't say enough positive things about it!
Chrome River EXPENSE is a GREAT product that is really easy to use. Our campus users all have positive reviews. I highly, highly recommend it.
I am not involved with the external support for Chrome River EXPENSE.
Read Amanda Withers's full review
December 18, 2019
Lisa Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Chrome River across the whole organization to account for credit card usage and match receipts with the bank statement.
  • Simple
  • Easy to use
  • Maybe make past entries easier to search but this hasn't been too much of a necessity.
Chrome River is great to account for credit card usage and uploading receipts for all users of the corporate credit cards. It's easy to add a report for CC use, then another for cash reimbursement should that come into play in a particular month. No extra bells & whistles, just the pieces we need to report & add receipts.
Responsive when you need them!
Read Lisa Burns's full review
January 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River EXPENSE is my entire organization's new expense management platform. It's incorporated directly through our intranet and can only be accessed that way - no bookmarks allowed. Receipts can be scanned and emailed, or simply forwarded if they are digital to begin with, to the platform. There was plenty of training leading up to the switch to Chrome River.
  • Digital receipts are frequently issued, so simply forwarding them to the platform saves so many trees! And time!
  • Online cash expense form is much faster and easier than previous hard-copy system my organization used.
  • System remembers names, places, etc.
  • Not very intuitive - takes a lot of time to get used to it.
  • Requires a lot of information for certain expenses, like hotels, airfare and business meals.
  • Can't be bookmarked on my bookmarks bar, has to be access through a link buried deep in my organization's intranet site.
Works well at keeping e-receipts organized, since they can just be forwarded to the platform rather than printed out - especially helpful for airfare, purchases made thru the Square app, Uber/Lyfts, hotel reservations, etc. Really frustrating to break down a hotel stay - requires splitting types of charges (parking, meals charged to room, actual lodgings, etc). Takes much more time on my end than the old system.
Read this authenticated review
November 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this as an expense reimbursement tool and to track business travel expenses for those with a corporate credit card. This allows us to upload receipts for purchases and set perimeters around different expenses.
  • Easy to use mobile phone app to take and upload receipts for specific purchases.
  • Web interface allows you to designate expenses and dates of expenses when seeking reimbursement.
  • Internally, you can set maximum dollar amounts to expenses but allow employees to provide explanations around going over purchase limits.
  • Allow CR Snap App to integrate to an actual Chrome River EXPENSE app so you do not have to login to the website and attach receipts.
  • Do not default to current date when updating expenses but ask what the date of purchase was to save user some time when adding line items
Chrome River EXPENSE is well suited for larger organizations that want to streamline expense reimbursement. Gone are the days of tracking on excel spreadsheets and stapling paper receipts. The CR Snap APP makes it so the user does not have to carry around receipts but can take a picture of them right away. It would be less appropriate for a smaller company with minimal reimbursement and travel.
Organizationally, this product is excellent and has little to no downtown.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River is being used across the entire organization. This has allowed us to shut down our petty cash office and go cashless for employee reimbursements. It also gets rid of most of the paper as all reimbursements are submitted electronically. Having Chrome River makes it much easier to view and track submission and it saves time as well.
  • Electronic reimbursements.
  • Electronic manager approvals and submission routing.
  • Easy to review and approve or kickback to the employee.
  • Saves time and money.
  • Sometimes slow to load, but that may not necessarily be a Chrome River issue.
I always find it very easy to submit my own reimbursements. It doesn't take a lot of time and my history is easy to review. It is also very easy to review and approve my colleague's submission as well. If I have any questions for him, I can send them via Chrome River.
They are very hands-on and helpful.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2018
Zach Wasson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River is used by the entire company at all levels. All outside expenses from across the country were to be saved and uploaded so that one it was easier to reconcile in one central location. Each department is able to have their own coding so that the proper P&L is attached.
  • Provides an abundance of categories to expense within.
  • Seamless interaction with corporate card. Within a week all of you expenses will show up in the program to be categorized.
  • Receipts have to be PDF formatted. This can make uploading a longer process than needed at times.
  • Lack of phone app to track on the go. I believe I've seen that there is an app available now, but it never worked with my company. This meant having to save all receipts and take time to sit and expense a full trip after the fact instead of being able to do it as you go.
  • The user interface can be difficult to navigate the first few times. It takes some time to get used to starting a trip, starting an expense report, editing either of those, and submitting one.
One of the benefits of Chrome River is that I rarely noticed down time or error. The system seemed robust enough to handle 100's of users and do so with minimal down time.

I don't think it's as feature rich as it could be, but that also could just be the level that my company was paying for at the time.
Read Zach Wasson's full review
February 21, 2017
Jesse Rudolph | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River Expense is being used firm-wide as a complete replacement to an old in-house developed solution that was based off of an MS Access database. Expense has allowed our firm to speed up processing of expense reports, better track how we spend and more accurately and efficiently get expenses charged to clients, as applicable. The integration with our accounting database is nearly seamless which has all but erased the need to rekey anything.
  • Snap and send (via email) receipt functionality.
  • Integration with accounting system, including image integration.
  • Firm compliance rules and approval routing.
  • Clunky ad hoc reporting, a more robust and faster reporting tool would be nice.
  • Phone app is not very useful, use the snap and send (via email) function instead.

Chrome River Expense is built with the modern business traveler in mind. Having the ability to snap and send images of receipts while on the road is incredibly useful, especially for those that have an assistant who can then start building an expense report before you return to the office to grant a final approval.

The robust rules engine allows for everything from simple to multilayered approval routing which can allow all required individuals to review staff expenses and the fact that it can be tracked by the end user help reduce extra calls to Accounting asking where something is or when it will be paid.

The biggest downside is that for firms going from having nothing to having such a robust system (even though the system is fairly intuitive) training and handholding for the first 6 months is a must for most staff.

Read Jesse Rudolph's full review
March 06, 2017
Dorothy Kolb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Chrome River to process expense reports, company credit card transactions and vendor bills. We are a 100% fully distributed company, meaning all our employees work remotely so this platform was key in giving structure and workflow to this process.
  • Workflow is very beneficial being 100% remote. We can see where things are hung up or re-route easily if someone is out or we need additional approval due to type or amount of purchase.
  • We recently implemented the pre-approval module which has significantly helped us manage our expenses and cash flow.
  • Having all our receipts and reports in one place makes it very easy to locate specific expenses or purchases.
  • It would be better if there was some kind of notification to admin/finance when a company-paid expense was sitting on someone's dashboard for more than 30 days.
  • Being able to see unsubmitted/draft bills and expense reports on a dashboard rather than running analytical reports would be helpful.
Very well suited for distributed companies. Well-suited for companies that have a lot of individual expenses and bills as well as multiple layers of approvals because it's straightforward to locate where something is in the workflow process.
Read Dorothy Kolb's full review
February 28, 2017
Warren Keckeisen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toyota Motor Sales, USA, and Toyota Motor North America needed a new expense reporting solution to replace the aging IBM ERS application. We selected Chrome River as our expense reporting solution for all Toyota companies in the US. We combined one expense reporting application and one travel expense policy for all users to simplify the reimbursement process.
  • Very user-friendly interface
  • Easy configuration
  • Very experienced implementation team that knew our previous system
  • Listing out the general ledger account being charged for a specific expense
Chrome River is well suited to tailoring our specific needs for receipt requirements, approval levels, and auditing exceptions.
Read Warren Keckeisen's full review
February 17, 2017
Thomas A. Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome River Expense is being used by the entire firm to record expenses incurred in by attorneys and staff. CR Expense allows us to record expense reports, transmit receipts, get reports. It's not perfect, but it is easy to use, web-based, and ties in well with our accounting systems.
  • Expense categories are flexible and easy for users to select without needing GL numbers
  • Receipts can be transmitted with the report by scanning to the desktop
  • Receipts can be attached to a report via email. That's great for busy attorneys on the road
  • Reporting capabilities are really good and flexible.
  • Getting emails that go to only the right people is a problem. Mostly it's all on or all off for message types. There needs to be a way to send email only to certain people and not to others.
Chrome River Expense is really great for people on the road. It allows you to send receipts via email and they can be applied directly to new reports. This means less opportunity to lose receipts while on trips. It's also well-suited for executives and professionals who have assistants who will enter the expenses on their behalf. The ability to proxy is easy to use and easy for administrators to control.
Read Thomas A. Steele's full review
February 22, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Chrome River over 2 years ago now. It took us about a year to implement it and once it was ready to be launched, we started switching about 20 people per month until about 5 months after we had the entire campus using it. We have over 350 purchasing card holders plus a few people that don't have a p-card but they still use Chrome River for approvals. We used to process expenses with a paper form that took us a long time to receive. Sometimes they would get lost in someone's desk. Also, we had to tape each receipt to an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet so we could scan them.
  • Terminated the use of paper expense reports
  • Receipts can be easily added to expense reports
  • Expense reports are routed to the appropriate approver and our office can track them at any time and also reroute them if a person is out of the office
  • Some receipts get cropped and zoomed in and are hard to see
  • Adhoc functionality is a little slow
  • Some of the emails are not very clear- for example the "Unused Firm Paid Items" users have a hard time figuring out what that means

Chrome River is extremely helpful for those users who are on the road, they can start creating their reports as soon as they can and upload receipts to the receipt gallery to then add them to the reports (it takes 2-3 days for a charge to post in CR).

I cannot think where this is not well suited for. Maybe for people who have a lot of reimbursements? it would be a lot of data entry.

Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are utilizing the application for expense reimbursement items/purchases.
  • Allows for clear allocation of expenses.
  • Allows for easy reporting by GL codes and types.
  • Drastically reduces time and resources needed to manually obtain approvals for reimbursement processes.
  • The IOS app is very lacking, and at times difficult to use.
This application is well suited for any organization with large volumes of expense reimbursement requests, from both local and remote locations.

The application also allows for direct integration with certain credit card providers to allow payments to be made directly to the credit card company, which assists with saving the requester time.
Read this authenticated review

What is Emburse Chrome River?

Chrome River EXPENSE is designed to automate and simplify the submission, approval and reimbursement of an employee's travel and expense spend. Its intuitive interface works effortlessly and provides full functionality on any device, anywhere, at any time.

Chrome River EXPENSE integrates an employee's travel transactions (including through a corporate travel agency or travel booking tool), as well as personal and corporate credit card purchases and out-of-pocket expenses. Employees can also upload receipt images or forward emails to create accurate expense reports without typing. With its responsive design, users will have the same features and experience on any mobile browser or using mobile apps as they have on a computer or tablet.

Accounts payable teams can use Chrome River's automated compliance, approvals, audit and reporting capabilities that integrate with any ERP solution or financial system. Chrome River EXPENSE is designed to be configurable to fit the way any business works.

Emburse Chrome River Features

Emburse Chrome River Screenshots

Emburse Chrome River Video

See how we streamline expense management workflows

Emburse Chrome River Downloadables

Emburse Chrome River Integrations

Deem, Egencia, NetSuite ERP, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics GP, Oracle Cloud ERP, AppZen, Amadeus cytric, Barclaycard, Citibank, Ellucian, Grab, Ingogo, Lyft, Sabre, SAP, Spot Hero, Traxo, Uber, United Airlines, U.S. Bank, Vendorin, Deltek

Emburse Chrome River Competitors

Emburse Chrome River Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

We offer three cost-effective, subscription-based pricing models: A transaction-based model, priced according to expense report volume A submitter-based model, priced according to an average number of monthly submitters An enterprise-level model that includes unlimited expense reports. Pricing for this model is based on total employee headcount Feel free to contact us to discuss the best one for your organization.

Emburse Chrome River Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Emburse Chrome River Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: Armenian, Bulgarian, Canadian, French, Chinese - Simplified, Chinese - Traditional, Croatian, Czech, Dutch, English - UK, English - US, Estonian, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Thai, Ukrainian, Vietnamese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Emburse Chrome River?

Chrome River EXPENSE is expense management software, from Chrome River Technologies in Los Angeles, California.

What is Emburse Chrome River's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 8.4.

Who uses Emburse Chrome River?

The most common users of Emburse Chrome River are from Enterprises and the Higher Education industry.