TrustRadius
Monetate is a website optimization and personalization product. The company offers a strong product tailored to the needs of e-commerce and retailers. Customers are mostly enterprise brands.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/my/al/NDGACW4U8LT0.JPEGDon't assume. A/B test and Make decisions based on dataWe are using Monetate within the E-commerce team to improve the overall user experience and build a business case with actual numbers. We also use it to better understand our customers and optimize their journey online.,Training Account support Ease of use DIY tests,Exit feedback tool. Clarification on the KPIs tracked on each experience. Impact of results of experiences ran simultaneously on the same pages. Social proof options.,8,Improve UX. Be more reactive and support trade. Build a business case with real data. Liaise with different departments and countries & share findings.,8,10,7Monetate loverMonetate is being used across the marketing department throughout all brands. The system is mainly used for testing customer struggles and to help improve site KPIs. Along with Marketing trading banners and campaigns. Through the use of Monetate, we are able to personalize customer journeys with behavior targeting and data-sets.,Monetate cookie provides behavior's targets, and allows the business to provide a more relevant journey. The system is very user-friendly, meaning training someone new is quick and effective. Monetate support is always very helpful, and the account managers are keen to keep it up to date.,A Monetate app would be great, as the mobile site is extremely hard to use. Matching the business product feed with the Monetate data has proven to be difficult. Targeting a whole categories PDP is very hard to do with Monetate, unless you have time to find the whole categories of product codes. Providing more Monetate training.,8,A positive impact on bounce rates. A positive impact on Conversion rates. Positive support for online growth.,8,8,8Easy tool for a beginner in the industryMonetate is being used to display promotional content across the site through personalization to different user segments. It is also used to create tests that will optimize the user journey, both blanket tests and more segment-based testing, with future plans to use the individual fit tests.,Easy to use. Tests are easily customizable within the tool, through the html, css, and js boxes. An excellent support system, either through Monetate support or through our contact with the account managers.,The analytics is known to be 5% invalid when compared to GA, especially monetary measurements. Provide more in-depth analysis for tests. The AI tool should be able to better recognize smaller differences.,9,Good increase in conversion rate on specific tests. Good increase on "add to bag" for specific tests. Good decrease of our bounce rate.,10,10,9Would Highly Recommend!We use Monetate to test out optimization efforts across our 2 websites. We also use Monetate for banners to support our promotions. Finally, we use it to hotfix minor issues across the site, by modifying html or css. This is a very easy to use tool that gives a quick, easy solution without the need for the dev team to jump in.,Adding promotional banners under the top nav across the site Testing and measuring a/b efforts like PDP revisions or similar updates hiding elements that may be hindering the customer experience as a hotfix,documentation could be updated more regularly Training information and videos are very basic The overall organization can be improved,10,We are able to optimize our site. Through our testing efforts, we were able to lift both conversion rate and average order value simply by moving the layout of our pages around.,10,9,,10,Overall great experience with MonetateMonetate is being used by the eCommerce team. We mainly use it to A/B test various parts of our website to help us decide if these changes should be permanently made to the website. This is because website changes will require an additional resource (which is outsourced) and has a long turnaround time.,Really strong account service team who are very knowledgeable, insightful and quick to respond. Platform is easy to use. Experiences can be created internally once you have received training.,Still not 100% across the analytics/reporting component Would be great if we had a local team, given the differences in time zones,9,We are unable to provide any hard numbers as this is confidential.,9,10,9Very good tool overallMonetate is being used by our web team to conduct A/B testing and personalize the website for specific user segments. We also use it to be reactive with customer messaging.,Ability to get experiences immediately online. Ability to compare multiple metrics for A/B testing. Ability to duplicate experiences.,Custom events are not easy to use and don't get copied while duplicating experiences. When opening different experiences/actions in different tabs, all tabs switch to the same action/experience Impossible to track custom event on added element (added through Test version) with Inspector before experience is actually live. Differences between experience types (Majority fit vs standard A/B etc is not very clear in the interface. Inexperienced users sometimes choose the wrong experience type as a consequence. Bounce rate sounds sometimes incorrect. The experiment has a bigger bounce rate 90% of the time. Lack metrics such as Exit rates and Median order value.,9,Monetate helps us prioritize developments and build development cases with numbers.,7,9,8Monetate Makes MoneyMonetate is used to run campaigns/promotions and AB tests on our site. In addition, we look at the analytics behind each of these things and gather data on how to improve our strategies for future campaigns and tests.,AB Testing: ease of use & ability to access metrics/analytics Campaigns/Promotions: preview mode is especially helpful in identifying exactly what will show up,Customer segmentation functionality would be great in identifying the different types of customers we have Other ways to organize/gather data to identify different perspectives,8,Having improved analytics helps inform on making better business decisions,9,9,9Monetate ReviewWe use Monetate to create different user journeys for different customers we target. Doing A/B testing we get to see which experience will help us increase traffic on the site, how many users complete a goal and also decrease the bounce rate of users.,Targeting. We get to target different branches across the UK and also we can target users whether they are logged in or not. Quick Win. Changing something as a reactive response is super easy with Monetate and saves us going into our CMS. Analytics. We can see our each of our events perform.,In my opinion, the only thing I would change is finding the right blog/help guide to use.,10,Positive - it has increased our traffic to certain pages. Positive - Internal colleagues across the business love the tailored experiences.,8,10,9Getting the job done with MonetateIt's being used by several different marketing departments—our e-commerce store, our live event marketing team, our subscription service marketing team, and our general marketing team. It's also used by our product/dev teams to make changes to the site without having to do a development release.,Ability to AB test very easily. Very flexible/customizable lightbox tool. Easy to target specific users by uploading datasets.,Lightboxes that adjust for desktop vs. mobile experiences. Easier integration with custom analytics we use internally.,8,Increased conversion rates due to successful AB tests. Reduced churn due to successful AB tests. Increased shop sales due to lightboxes.,8,8,6Monetate the powertoolSite optimizing across mobile app and web app. Personalizing experiences for customers, creating 1 to 1 journeys.,Quick front end changes Traffic throttling Personalized journeys,Making the server side easier to obtain Not made for complex dev Sometimes UI can be clunky,9,Better conversion Less bounce Better ATB,6,7,9Good tool for creating promotions, adding badges to the products and create a lis of relevant itemsI worked with Monetate as part of the Marketing team. The tool was used by our department only. It allowed to set up customized, location-based banners for the home page informing visitors about changes in the local stores addresses and other changes; to create special promotions and perform A/B testings of their wording; to create and insert sale budges; to add lists of recommended products.,It has great customer segmentation capability It allows to use html, css, and javascript to create promotions It has good analytical tools It is intuitive even for a novice,Sometimes it is hard to find what you are looking for (for example, how to export data) The way of specifying pages on which promotion should be displayed could be improved It is hard to organize promotions,9,Increases insight into promotions effect Increased customer satisfaction via improving their knowledge about stores changed hours and locations More precisely targeted marketing,9,9,5,9,5,Specifying a target audience Specifying products to add badges to Scheduling promotions,Specifying pages where the promotion or badges should appear,9Very powerful testing toolWe use Monetate to test how well our product display pages convert against 2 different layouts, test conversion rate of our existing menu layout versus a radically different style, test how different promotional banner styles convert against each other, display different product images on our homepage based on a visitor's region/weather/major event, and so many other aspects of our site which has helped us really start understanding our audience better - what works and what doesn't - and apply that across our site and in other areas of our business such as email.,You can test virtually ANYTHING on your website. Once you know what you're doing, it is really easy to upload assets and really customize the details of your test. If you have multiple websites, you can keep all of your website tests separate - for example, we manage two separate brands, both which have 3 environments we can set up tests in: development, staging, and production environments. So, we can easily manage 6 separate test groups and store the various content in the proper section, very easily. The design is really clean and easy to navigate. It is easy to organize and filter your experiments, you can tag them to make filtering a lot easier (especially when you have a bunch of experiments running at the same time), and the simple function of duplicating an experiment makes minor changes to a grand experiment SO much quicker. The Monetate Inspector tool (I could be using the wrong word, sorry!) also allows you to far more easily identify the unique ID of an experiment so you can find it in Monetate and make any desired changes rather than sifting one by one through your various experiments trying to figure out which one you mean to edit.,The learning curve is a little steep, especially if you're unfamiliar with HTML/CSS. The tool is so powerful but can be overwhelming at first. The intro instructional videos/content is helpful but it doesn't cover everything. We needed to partner with an optimization company to better understand the tool and get started. Setting up an experiment for the first time isn't simple when you're a marketer who is inexperienced with any sort of web development or even just HTML/CSS. While you can easily select the area you want to create a test with, you don't have a way to easily manipulate that section without the use of HTML/CSS. The first optimization company Monetate recommended us to was horrible - it really was awful working with them. We had dedicated (paid for!) hours that got wasted after the company wasted our time in each meeting (when we did have one - they often needed to reschedule) and they barely knew what our company even did despite multiple meetings. Those hours, despite the awful experience, were never fulfilled, never reimbursed, never carried over to the new (and far better) company. This left a bad taste in my mouth. While I really like this product and it does everything we need, this awful experience and lack of ownership on their end was highly disappointing. We are moving forward though - and happy with our results.,9,We are really starting to understand our audience and what they prefer on our website. One example is on our product display pages, we learned that our visitors convert about 35% more when content is laid out in one fashion versus another. Another example is our promotional banners perform better when it takes up the width of the page versus the margins pulled in more. At first, Monetate was a negative ROI - we were paying for a service we weren't getting, and not understanding the full power of the program. With the new optimization firm however, we are now really able to churn out more tests, have a clean and direct test plan, and finally seeing tangible results. As an aside, Monetate has helped us just save time and money on creating our promotional banners now so we don't have to get with our development team each time we want to put one up. Even without running a test, it has let us add content to our site when we need to (as we already have the experiments set up as we need it to and we can quickly duplicate it) without our developers getting in there to make those short-lived changes.,10,10,10,10,10Great tool - easy to use and powerful outcomesWe use Monetate across our 6 websites to personalise and test content/functionality/aesthetics/UX. It has helped us understand what customers respond best to and how to offer the best user experience per the different individuals/segments we can target. It has also helped us when a quick fix is needed and our IT solutions aren't able to turn around with immediate effect.,Supportive account team to help us use Monetate to the best of its capabilities Intuitive to use and learn Has a vast array of functionality options to maximise possibilities to test/personalise,Monetate-built actions are often locked down so the client user cannot amend to be bespoke for their needs. Therefore any changes wanted require a new Monetate dev ticket. This can be time consuming,9,We have seen positive growth in our two biggest KPIs - Conversion and AOV,9,9,7,9,10Easy to use, Effective and Great Customer ServiceHaving used Monetate in a previous role, followed by an alternative A/B and personalisation platform, I was so glad to move back to Monetate at my current company. The interface is intuitive. The customer support is fast and friendly, and usually my problem is resolved with the first couple of emails. Far superior to any other platform I've used in my time as a CRO and UX professional and actually very competitive on price. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Monetate as my first choice of personalisation and testing platform in a move to a new company that didn't currently utilise testing tools due to how easy it is to become acquainted with the tool. I also remember, at my previous workplace, Monetate were happy to come in and run training sessions which were very valuable. Their conferences and events have also been informative and enlightening, in my experience.,Customer service - Their customer service is far better than any of their competitors that I've used in the past. I've had detailed coding help and suggestions to improve experiences within hours of lodging a support ticket. Intuitive interface - The action builder is so easy to use, even if you don't have a good grasp on HTML/CSS and makes it possible to get launch experiences quickly which is important in a retail environment where things are so changeable. Analytics - The speed at which detailed information comes in about whether an experience is performing is great and the level of detail makes it possible to provide business cases to key project stakeholders efficiently.,Lack of ability to move experiences to another folder if you're on the main experience page - This has bugged me for ages because we do a lot of experience duplication for different campaigns every month and it would be easier if you could duplicate and move folders on the same page. Mass content upload. I may just be missing this feature somewhere but I've never been able to upload more than one piece of content at once and it's quite frustrating. More Manchester based events. This one is obviously specific to my location and I understand why London is the hub for events but it would be nice to have more frequent opportunities to liaise with other Monetate users locally.,10,Conversion rate increase AOV increase, specifically in the case of experiments with exit intent pop-ups and recommended product additions Wider acceptance of CRO within the business as important to overall goals,10,10,10,10Great Decision for Marketing Team!We use Monetate primarily in the UX/CX and site merchandising departments, but we've also created experiences for other channels like email marketing, paid search, and display ads. Additionally, we have "fixes" for bugs that aren't able to be immediately addressed by web dev. And finally, we have experiences to address prioritization of new features that are still in the development backlog.,Our Monetate team is amazing! They taught us well, are quick to answer questions, and are very organized to keep us on track. Simple-to-use interface makes it easy for business users to set up experiences with little to no web dev assistance. We've gotten some great ideas out of the Insight reports our team has provided. Some of them we tested already, and others inspired even more ideas!,We'd like to be able to use the Monetate resources to help us set up tests that require web dev (to get it out of our backlog), but they also have wait times similar to our internal ones. I realize resources are hard to come by, but this is an area we'd love to be able to utilize more if the turnaround were quicker. IE is always a problem. I know it's not Monetate-specific though, and many tools struggle with IE. We have a large percentage of our users who use IE, and I'd like to provide more experiences in IE without and additional hassle.,10,We've had great results with our tests! We've seen a solid ROI on most, and we've been able to identify areas we shouldn't be investing resources into. Our teams have really pulled together to come up with ideas and test them. Putting a monetary amount on new features has helped the company understand the value of web dev, CX/UX, and marketing campaigns.,10,8,10,9,8Monetate ReviewMonetate is used by a marketing department, specifically by a web marketing team. We use Monetate to test our design strategies via its testing platform and by checking its live analytics and results from it. Depending on the result, we will then make a decision to permanently implement the design onto the site itself or to drop the idea if it fails.,Dynamic test to let users test several different ideas at the same time while dynamically distributing traffic to the highest ROI. Live analytics to show us where the test is at and to easily compare the experiment with original (control).,Faster development job is done when requested. I know the company has been undergoing a change but staff has changed so often that our personalized staff has changed numerous times.,8,We were able to make sure of the "working" ideas which actually brings customers. Our changes to the site has become more risk-free now.,9,7,10,9,,2,2,usability testing conversion rate optimization testing analysis,creating 3 mini cta buttons on the top of the main page changing the layout of the action page changing the banner ad styles,layout conversion rate style variations,9,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords)Better than the Other Guys!Monetate is used primarily within our eCommerce division, providing personalization for direct navigation, email, direct mail-to-digital, and display advertisement visitors. In most cases, we are using Monetate to execute A/B tests, but we have also used it to create quick patches for styling issues on the site to circumvent time restrictions caused when going through traditional code updates.,The reps are extremely timely in their responses and knowledgeable about the system. Monetate has a WYSIWYG system for making changes on web pages that is extremely easy to use. Reporting is clear and easy to share with others.,Some DIV tags cannot be selected in ActionBuilder and there is no explanation in the interface as to why that is. The dataset upload tool errors out sometimes, but when you click "View Error", nothing happens. When using JavaScript in ActionBuilder, sometimes it continuously fires even after closing ActionBuilder and reopening it. For example, redirect Javascript entered in ActionBuilder fires as soon as ActionBuilder is opened to edit the action.,9,We've tested new product listing page layouts that convert better. Intelligent Personalization (IFE) can have a negative impact if the wrong goal is selected. There is no direct goal to optimize for revenue. We report to the president of the company the lift for each fiscal month.,8,9,6,10,6Monetate - Digital Magic Tape!We use Monetate across the business to create tests to improve conversation rates on our retail site, deliver marketing promotions and personalise peoples website experiences. We also use it as a temporary fix for issues that go into the business in full development phase. It allows us to test development work quickly and turn it off if it doesn't work.,Relatively easy user interface to use. We have separated our Monetetate hub by site - very easy to use. Building tests or experiences has a good builder addressing what you are building, where it is targeting, when the experience should run and why The majority fit setting provides a good low risk way of determining if a fix is a 'winner' or not A very helpful and extensive Knowledge Hub,Searching through all the experiences or tests you put online is reliant on a very robust naming convention We would like an easier place for notes for each experience or test to be stored so that these are searchable. This allows things like project briefs to be summarised for the purpose of the wider team It would be great if Monetate had an improved preview function to allow you to view an experience on the device and screen resolution of your choice. Currently, to fully test your experiences, you'll need a few browser apps which allows you to mimic devices, clear cookies... A smarter way of building out variations for tests would be useful. Occasionally, a test that has a lot of different variables (but ultimately quite similar) will require you to setup multiple experiences to achieve this,7,We have run many a test which have demonstrated the financial benefit of a UX test. I cannot provide exact figures unfortunately, but we have been able to run tests that we can apply a financial value to. Aside from financial benefits, all of our tests run on Monetate are designed to improve site performance. Reduced bounce rates, improved take up of offers, and increased website browsing rates are all things that have had a beneficial impact on our business. The downside of Monetate is experiences that occasionally slow down the website. There are usually ways of developing an experience in a better way, but its important to keep this in mind.,8,7,7,6,6Game changer for Marketers.The marketing team uses monetate to display promotional banners to the appropriate customer channels, i.e. email customers get the message they received in the email on-site. My team uses monetate to A/B test different landing page setups and experiences.,Display marketing messages Provide data A/B testing,Custom customer segments Training videos Suppport chat,10,Greater email capture for long term growth Higher margins on acquisition customer by not giving away the farm,10,5,7Early Impressed ImpressionsMonetate is currently being used exclusively by an eCommerce focused team in an attempt to grow revenue with more relevant and personalized messaging to customers. To provide a unique customer journey to each customer is the goal. In the future, there is a strong chance that more departments or the broader organization will leverage it as a tool to reach their customers.,Intuitive UI. I am fairly technical but discussing the product with others on my team, they all agree that it is very easy to use. Monetate has taken a complex idea like personalization and has turned it into a simple problem to solve by thinking who, what, when, etc. to each situation. This was a much more elegant way to approach the problem than other vendors. They have great support and seem to really care about your success, as well as have motivation to push you, the client, to get going and find success with the tool.,In the pre-sales process, they really want to sell you billable hours. These hours do not transfer to the next calendar year and are not refundable. It is a poor system. Their technical documentation is confusing in spots and could be improved. We followed documentation, with an eyebrow raised in some cases, and then were told to go down a different path which was not listed in the documentation (but made more sense.) I can't speak to the success or not of the program, but we are currently working with a third party of Monetate (who Monetate put us in touch with, as part of our billable hours.) Its not a con per se, but feels weird.,8,I have no hard numbers yet, as I noted. The impact has not yet been seen either way.,8,7,,,8We're new users but mostly happy with it so far.We use Monetate to customize our site based on known personas within the education sector (teachers, administrators, district buyers) and to market our geographically specific workshops to visitors within range of an event.,Easy to use interface. Seamless for the end user. SEO is not affected. Personalized site means greater retention and interest.,Doesn't always work with active or JS controlled elements on the site. We use a lot of support hours to implement experiences.,8,We have seen some engagement with our local workshop enrollment but can not measure because most orders are done by PO or phone for those. Not enough direct conversion experiences set up yet to tell if there is a positive impact at this point but it certainly won't hurt engagement!,8,5,4,Great testing platformMonetate is mostly used by our marketing & merchandising team. Monetate is used for A/B testing in a variety of different ways. We use Monetate to test customize homepages, new site features and more to better understand how our customers use our website.It helps our team change the website without using other departments for help.,Monetate does well with showing us the impact of a test in a clear, detailed way. There are many different tests that can be done in Monetate and the results can be broken down by conversion, bounce rate, add to cart rate etc. This has helped us create the best possible experience for our customers. Monetate has tons of variety of different ways you can optimize a website. From badging, product cross-sells, navigation changes and product changes, it's now easy to completely change a portion of the website without having to go to IT for help. Monetate saves and archives all tests, even after they are completed. It's nice to have the option to look at what we did the past month or year and have the results saved as well.,Monetate can be difficult to learn at first. I think having a clear way to access how-to guides or videos would help employees learn the tool faster. A small criticism but Monetate doesn't allow you to delete any experiences. It can make the platform a bit messy because there are times where we practice creating experiences and now they can't be deleted.,8,Monetate has shown us how our new site features have either helped customer experience or created a negative impact. One issue we've run into with Monetate is site speed. Too many tests or experiences going on at once will slow down the website noticeably. Monetate has made it faster and easier for us to launch our ideas without having to go through IT for changes.,8,9,9,9,9Monetate - 4 Stars!Monetate is being used by one department, the internet marketing department. We currently utilize the Open-time Email, Product Recs, and Onsite Content. With Monetate we are able to achieve a more personalized experience for visitors based on browsing behavior, purchase behavior, geo-targeting, weather forecast, etc. We are also able to target new vs. returning visitors, device type, and so many other options we haven't even explored yet. None of which we were able to do on our current platform.,Monetate's knowledge base has been so helpful! Before I send an email to our rep, I always search the knowledge base first and most answers you'll find there! During implementation, there are detailed check-lists on next steps. Being the project leader I found this extremely helpful. Mostly because it was easy to delegate items to the team and everyone was held responsible for their part of the implementation timeline. Monetate provides training modules to get you familiar with setting up Experiences prior to a formal training. We all found this helpful because we had came to formal training with questions about specific use cases. Once you get in the UI it's extremely easy to navigate - this was something we were really excited about. We wanted the UI to be business user friendly and it completely met our expectations.,There seems to be very limited targeting options in Open-time Email. Onsite content has much more robust options in targeting. Our rep and platform consultant aren't as responsive to questions and insights as we hoped they would be. We expect answers from them within the same day and sometimes it's days before I have to follow-up on where this is at. There are limitations on measuring the true success of personalized emails. The only email analytics you see in the UI are on the clicks on the Monetate creative. We would like to know whether someone saw the personalized content and then clicked in the header or footer in the email template. Unfortunately there's no way to achieve that in Monetate. You would have to utilize your ESP to A/B test and determine the true success of a personalized email.,7,We have only been using Monetate for about 1 month and are still working on trying to evaluate our ROI.,8,9,,5,6Monetate is the best in the industryWe use Monetate for A/B testing, personalization, product recommendations, and for patching on our website. Monetate helps us to get to lift analysis for testing quicker, through standard A/B testing and optimization based on goal metrics. With short selling seasons, Monetate helps up to see results quicker which gets us to making decisions faster and implementing new technologies faster.,Fast: It's great that Monetate is a layer on top of our website. We are able to add things without code change and see the campaigns in action in real time. Strong analytics: I like how Monetate guides you through the analytics and has goal levels to let users know if the engine feels confident in the results, or needs more time for testing.,Technicality: While not exactly something Monetate can fix, most of our tests require development from our team or the Monetate team. As a business user, it would be nice to be able to create my own campaigns outside of a development queue.,10,In many cases we have seen high lift in test scenarios very quickly, which helped us to move these better improvements to product faster. Monetate has also helped us to asses changes that won't work. There is less risk with Monetate when you can test a hypothesis out first.,9,10,9,8,7Very Solid Testing PlatformWe have several users in the Ecommerce department who use Monetate daily to address muliple areas of need. On the marketing side, the email modules gives us the flexibility to message customers differently based on their location and past interactions with our site. We update promotional messaging both on site and in emails (even after they have been received by customers) or include countdown timers to increase urgency. We test extensively using both A/B and majority fit testing. Where Montate has perhaps proved most valuable is a means of updating HTML on the fly without having to involve developers.,Testing Personalization Custom coding,Product recommendations,7,Positive ROI Enhanced Site Flexibility Enhanced Marketing Efforts,9,5,7,8
Unspecified
Monetate
118 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Monetate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Monetate
118 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 118 vetted Monetate reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
LAURIE ASTOR profile photo
May 27, 2019

Monetate Review: "Don't assume. A/B test and Make decisions based on data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Monetate within the E-commerce team to improve the overall user experience and build a business case with actual numbers. We also use it to better understand our customers and optimize their journey online.
  • Training
  • Account support
  • Ease of use
  • DIY tests
  • Exit feedback tool.
  • Clarification on the KPIs tracked on each experience.
  • Impact of results of experiences ran simultaneously on the same pages.
  • Social proof options.
Monetate is ideal for quick or advanced A/B testing online and uses specific data collection to target the right audience with the right experience. Supporting trade day to day or, building a business case for future projects. This helps with project priorities and making decisions based on data. Linking data to your analytics tool can be challenging so it needs to be kept in mind for the findings you want to get out of the experiences you are running.
Read LAURIE ASTOR's full review
Chloe O'Brien profile photo
May 25, 2019

User Review: "Monetate lover"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used across the marketing department throughout all brands. The system is mainly used for testing customer struggles and to help improve site KPIs. Along with Marketing trading banners and campaigns. Through the use of Monetate, we are able to personalize customer journeys with behavior targeting and data-sets.
  • Monetate cookie provides behavior's targets, and allows the business to provide a more relevant journey.
  • The system is very user-friendly, meaning training someone new is quick and effective.
  • Monetate support is always very helpful, and the account managers are keen to keep it up to date.
  • A Monetate app would be great, as the mobile site is extremely hard to use.
  • Matching the business product feed with the Monetate data has proven to be difficult.
  • Targeting a whole categories PDP is very hard to do with Monetate, unless you have time to find the whole categories of product codes.
  • Providing more Monetate training.
Well suited to:
Targeting specific customers within Monetate, such as Google shopping customers or customers previously bought dresses etc. Completing homepage testing for personalized journeys through the AI testing tool.

Less suited to:
The Monetates analytics page is not very helpful, and it would be great to have more results. Testing sequencing within Monetate has also proven difficult.
Read Chloe O'Brien's full review
Autumn Smart profile photo
May 25, 2019

Monetate Review: "Easy tool for a beginner in the industry"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used to display promotional content across the site through personalization to different user segments. It is also used to create tests that will optimize the user journey, both blanket tests and more segment-based testing, with future plans to use the individual fit tests.
  • Easy to use.
  • Tests are easily customizable within the tool, through the html, css, and js boxes.
  • An excellent support system, either through Monetate support or through our contact with the account managers.
  • The analytics is known to be 5% invalid when compared to GA, especially monetary measurements.
  • Provide more in-depth analysis for tests.
  • The AI tool should be able to better recognize smaller differences.
When building tests that would benefit google shopping customers, Monetate is good because it can specifically target this customer base to help optimize their specific journey.
Read Autumn Smart's full review
Ellen Evans profile photo
April 25, 2019

Monetate Review: "Would Highly Recommend!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to test out optimization efforts across our 2 websites. We also use Monetate for banners to support our promotions. Finally, we use it to hotfix minor issues across the site, by modifying html or css. This is a very easy to use tool that gives a quick, easy solution without the need for the dev team to jump in.
  • Adding promotional banners under the top nav across the site
  • Testing and measuring a/b efforts like PDP revisions or similar updates
  • hiding elements that may be hindering the customer experience as a hotfix
  • documentation could be updated more regularly
  • Training information and videos are very basic
  • The overall organization can be improved
Monetate is best used for its intended purpose, A/B testing and personalization. You should be familiar with HTML and CSS to use this product. I like that you can set up custom KPIs for testing efforts when conversion rate might not be your best indicator of performance. Overall a good testing tool.
Read Ellen Evans's full review
No photo available
May 29, 2019

User Review: "Overall great experience with Monetate"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used by the eCommerce team. We mainly use it to A/B test various parts of our website to help us decide if these changes should be permanently made to the website. This is because website changes will require an additional resource (which is outsourced) and has a long turnaround time.
  • Really strong account service team who are very knowledgeable, insightful and quick to respond.
  • Platform is easy to use.
  • Experiences can be created internally once you have received training.
  • Still not 100% across the analytics/reporting component
  • Would be great if we had a local team, given the differences in time zones
Overall, really happy with the onboarding, training and support provided. I would recommend to other brands as once you get the hang of the platform, it is pretty easy to do simple experiences yourself. Otherwise, Monetate and Lean Convert are always happy to execute our ideas whilst still giving recommendations on best practice etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

Monetate Review: "Very good tool overall"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used by our web team to conduct A/B testing and personalize the website for specific user segments. We also use it to be reactive with customer messaging.
  • Ability to get experiences immediately online.
  • Ability to compare multiple metrics for A/B testing.
  • Ability to duplicate experiences.
  • Custom events are not easy to use and don't get copied while duplicating experiences.
  • When opening different experiences/actions in different tabs, all tabs switch to the same action/experience
  • Impossible to track custom event on added element (added through Test version) with Inspector before experience is actually live.
  • Differences between experience types (Majority fit vs standard A/B etc is not very clear in the interface. Inexperienced users sometimes choose the wrong experience type as a consequence.
  • Bounce rate sounds sometimes incorrect. The experiment has a bigger bounce rate 90% of the time.
  • Lack metrics such as Exit rates and Median order value.
Good to put content/changes immediately online. Good at A/B testing metrics analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

User Review: "Monetate Makes Money"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is used to run campaigns/promotions and AB tests on our site. In addition, we look at the analytics behind each of these things and gather data on how to improve our strategies for future campaigns and tests.
  • AB Testing: ease of use & ability to access metrics/analytics
  • Campaigns/Promotions: preview mode is especially helpful in identifying exactly what will show up
  • Customer segmentation functionality would be great in identifying the different types of customers we have
  • Other ways to organize/gather data to identify different perspectives
Monetate is well suited for running AB tests as well as running campaigns and banners across the site.
It's efficient and easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

"Monetate Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to create different user journeys for different customers we target. Doing A/B testing we get to see which experience will help us increase traffic on the site, how many users complete a goal and also decrease the bounce rate of users.
  • Targeting. We get to target different branches across the UK and also we can target users whether they are logged in or not.
  • Quick Win. Changing something as a reactive response is super easy with Monetate and saves us going into our CMS.
  • Analytics. We can see our each of our events perform.
  • In my opinion, the only thing I would change is finding the right blog/help guide to use.
Monetate is a great way of targeting the customers you want to complete a specific conversion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2019

User Review: "Getting the job done with Monetate"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by several different marketing departments—our e-commerce store, our live event marketing team, our subscription service marketing team, and our general marketing team. It's also used by our product/dev teams to make changes to the site without having to do a development release.
  • Ability to AB test very easily.
  • Very flexible/customizable lightbox tool.
  • Easy to target specific users by uploading datasets.
  • Lightboxes that adjust for desktop vs. mobile experiences.
  • Easier integration with custom analytics we use internally.
Great for very simple AB tests. Great for quick fixes to the production environment. We would get a lot of use out of testing on OTT devices, but I don't believe that's possible.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 27, 2019

User Review: "Monetate the powertool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Site optimizing across mobile app and web app. Personalizing experiences for customers, creating 1 to 1 journeys.
  • Quick front end changes
  • Traffic throttling
  • Personalized journeys
  • Making the server side easier to obtain
  • Not made for complex dev
  • Sometimes UI can be clunky
Best suited for small UI changes on the client side. Beat suited for full page tests on the server side.
Read this authenticated review
Irina Danilova profile photo
January 15, 2019

Monetate Review: "Good tool for creating promotions, adding badges to the products and create a lis of relevant items"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I worked with Monetate as part of the Marketing team. The tool was used by our department only. It allowed to set up customized, location-based banners for the home page informing visitors about changes in the local stores addresses and other changes; to create special promotions and perform A/B testings of their wording; to create and insert sale budges; to add lists of recommended products.
  • It has great customer segmentation capability
  • It allows to use html, css, and javascript to create promotions
  • It has good analytical tools
  • It is intuitive even for a novice
  • Sometimes it is hard to find what you are looking for (for example, how to export data)
  • The way of specifying pages on which promotion should be displayed could be improved
  • It is hard to organize promotions
Monetate is a great tool when you need to run a promotion and analyze it's performance. It is also very good (although a bit time consuming) in building lists of related products or displaying information that is location-specific.
Read Irina Danilova's full review
Steffany Winkelmann profile photo
September 12, 2018

Monetate Review: "Very powerful testing tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to test how well our product display pages convert against 2 different layouts, test conversion rate of our existing menu layout versus a radically different style, test how different promotional banner styles convert against each other, display different product images on our homepage based on a visitor's region/weather/major event, and so many other aspects of our site which has helped us really start understanding our audience better - what works and what doesn't - and apply that across our site and in other areas of our business such as email.
  • You can test virtually ANYTHING on your website. Once you know what you're doing, it is really easy to upload assets and really customize the details of your test.
  • If you have multiple websites, you can keep all of your website tests separate - for example, we manage two separate brands, both which have 3 environments we can set up tests in: development, staging, and production environments. So, we can easily manage 6 separate test groups and store the various content in the proper section, very easily.
  • The design is really clean and easy to navigate. It is easy to organize and filter your experiments, you can tag them to make filtering a lot easier (especially when you have a bunch of experiments running at the same time), and the simple function of duplicating an experiment makes minor changes to a grand experiment SO much quicker.
  • The Monetate Inspector tool (I could be using the wrong word, sorry!) also allows you to far more easily identify the unique ID of an experiment so you can find it in Monetate and make any desired changes rather than sifting one by one through your various experiments trying to figure out which one you mean to edit.
  • The learning curve is a little steep, especially if you're unfamiliar with HTML/CSS. The tool is so powerful but can be overwhelming at first. The intro instructional videos/content is helpful but it doesn't cover everything. We needed to partner with an optimization company to better understand the tool and get started.
  • Setting up an experiment for the first time isn't simple when you're a marketer who is inexperienced with any sort of web development or even just HTML/CSS. While you can easily select the area you want to create a test with, you don't have a way to easily manipulate that section without the use of HTML/CSS.
  • The first optimization company Monetate recommended us to was horrible - it really was awful working with them. We had dedicated (paid for!) hours that got wasted after the company wasted our time in each meeting (when we did have one - they often needed to reschedule) and they barely knew what our company even did despite multiple meetings. Those hours, despite the awful experience, were never fulfilled, never reimbursed, never carried over to the new (and far better) company. This left a bad taste in my mouth. While I really like this product and it does everything we need, this awful experience and lack of ownership on their end was highly disappointing. We are moving forward though - and happy with our results.
If your business is online and you have pages your visitors will interact with, Monetate can be a huge asset. You can test virtually anything! But if you don't have much capital to use, Monetate will be an expensive investment that you won't see ROI on for at least a few months. If your site is simple and more informational (i.e., no offer pages, informational-only site, etc.), Monetate will still work for you but it'll be really hard to determine ROI and make your money back.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
Sheryl Newell profile photo
December 20, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great tool - easy to use and powerful outcomes"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate across our 6 websites to personalise and test content/functionality/aesthetics/UX. It has helped us understand what customers respond best to and how to offer the best user experience per the different individuals/segments we can target. It has also helped us when a quick fix is needed and our IT solutions aren't able to turn around with immediate effect.
  • Supportive account team to help us use Monetate to the best of its capabilities
  • Intuitive to use and learn
  • Has a vast array of functionality options to maximise possibilities to test/personalise
  • Monetate-built actions are often locked down so the client user cannot amend to be bespoke for their needs. Therefore any changes wanted require a new Monetate dev ticket. This can be time consuming
Agile and powerful tool. We have a great working relationship with account team. They listen to requirements and work as best they can to meet them. Monetate can be restrictive but recognise most of the same level other personalisation / testing tools are at this stage in the market. New functionality is released regularly to keep up with market trends
Read Sheryl Newell's full review
Laura Neil profile photo
December 20, 2018

Monetate Review: "Easy to use, Effective and Great Customer Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having used Monetate in a previous role, followed by an alternative A/B and personalisation platform, I was so glad to move back to Monetate at my current company. The interface is intuitive. The customer support is fast and friendly, and usually my problem is resolved with the first couple of emails.

Far superior to any other platform I've used in my time as a CRO and UX professional and actually very competitive on price. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Monetate as my first choice of personalisation and testing platform in a move to a new company that didn't currently utilise testing tools due to how easy it is to become acquainted with the tool. I also remember, at my previous workplace, Monetate were happy to come in and run training sessions which were very valuable. Their conferences and events have also been informative and enlightening, in my experience.
  • Customer service - Their customer service is far better than any of their competitors that I've used in the past. I've had detailed coding help and suggestions to improve experiences within hours of lodging a support ticket.
  • Intuitive interface - The action builder is so easy to use, even if you don't have a good grasp on HTML/CSS and makes it possible to get launch experiences quickly which is important in a retail environment where things are so changeable.
  • Analytics - The speed at which detailed information comes in about whether an experience is performing is great and the level of detail makes it possible to provide business cases to key project stakeholders efficiently.
  • Lack of ability to move experiences to another folder if you're on the main experience page - This has bugged me for ages because we do a lot of experience duplication for different campaigns every month and it would be easier if you could duplicate and move folders on the same page.
  • Mass content upload. I may just be missing this feature somewhere but I've never been able to upload more than one piece of content at once and it's quite frustrating.
  • More Manchester based events. This one is obviously specific to my location and I understand why London is the hub for events but it would be nice to have more frequent opportunities to liaise with other Monetate users locally.
I would recommend Monetate to a business that wants to get set up with testing and personalisation quickly, with the knowledge that they can get the support they need to learn the tool but don't need to be web developers to use it.

I would also say that in the case of wanting to set up very specific experiments, Monetate is very useful as the targeting can be quite complex and there is the ability to integrate with other applications as well as set up custom targets.
Read Laura Neil's full review
No photo available
December 20, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great Decision for Marketing Team!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate primarily in the UX/CX and site merchandising departments, but we've also created experiences for other channels like email marketing, paid search, and display ads. Additionally, we have "fixes" for bugs that aren't able to be immediately addressed by web dev. And finally, we have experiences to address prioritization of new features that are still in the development backlog.
  • Our Monetate team is amazing! They taught us well, are quick to answer questions, and are very organized to keep us on track.
  • Simple-to-use interface makes it easy for business users to set up experiences with little to no web dev assistance.
  • We've gotten some great ideas out of the Insight reports our team has provided. Some of them we tested already, and others inspired even more ideas!
  • We'd like to be able to use the Monetate resources to help us set up tests that require web dev (to get it out of our backlog), but they also have wait times similar to our internal ones. I realize resources are hard to come by, but this is an area we'd love to be able to utilize more if the turnaround were quicker.
  • IE is always a problem. I know it's not Monetate-specific though, and many tools struggle with IE.
  • We have a large percentage of our users who use IE, and I'd like to provide more experiences in IE without and additional hassle.
I've used different testing systems, and Monetate is simple-to-use. I've been able to train interns who'd previously had little experience, too.
More complicated tests require web dev. I'd like to be able to "safely" shift and style elements in a WYSIWYG interface, but the interface provides most of what I want.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 14, 2019

"Monetate Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is used by a marketing department, specifically by a web marketing team. We use Monetate to test our design strategies via its testing platform and by checking its live analytics and results from it. Depending on the result, we will then make a decision to permanently implement the design onto the site itself or to drop the idea if it fails.
  • Dynamic test to let users test several different ideas at the same time while dynamically distributing traffic to the highest ROI.
  • Live analytics to show us where the test is at and to easily compare the experiment with original (control).
  • Faster development job is done when requested.
  • I know the company has been undergoing a change but staff has changed so often that our personalized staff has changed numerous times.
Monetate is an excellent testing platform to test your ideas onto the site and see how it's working before you actually make a permanent change, and to experiment with various ideas at the same time to see which one works the best.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

Monetate Review: "Better than the Other Guys!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is used primarily within our eCommerce division, providing personalization for direct navigation, email, direct mail-to-digital, and display advertisement visitors. In most cases, we are using Monetate to execute A/B tests, but we have also used it to create quick patches for styling issues on the site to circumvent time restrictions caused when going through traditional code updates.
  • The reps are extremely timely in their responses and knowledgeable about the system.
  • Monetate has a WYSIWYG system for making changes on web pages that is extremely easy to use.
  • Reporting is clear and easy to share with others.
  • Some DIV tags cannot be selected in ActionBuilder and there is no explanation in the interface as to why that is.
  • The dataset upload tool errors out sometimes, but when you click "View Error", nothing happens.
  • When using JavaScript in ActionBuilder, sometimes it continuously fires even after closing ActionBuilder and reopening it. For example, redirect Javascript entered in ActionBuilder fires as soon as ActionBuilder is opened to edit the action.
Monetate is good for quick changes on the site and simple tests. Complex tests requiring extensive web development can be difficult to execute by business users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2018

User Review: "Monetate - Digital Magic Tape!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate across the business to create tests to improve conversation rates on our retail site, deliver marketing promotions and personalise peoples website experiences. We also use it as a temporary fix for issues that go into the business in full development phase. It allows us to test development work quickly and turn it off if it doesn't work.
  • Relatively easy user interface to use. We have separated our Monetetate hub by site - very easy to use.
  • Building tests or experiences has a good builder addressing what you are building, where it is targeting, when the experience should run and why
  • The majority fit setting provides a good low risk way of determining if a fix is a 'winner' or not
  • A very helpful and extensive Knowledge Hub
  • Searching through all the experiences or tests you put online is reliant on a very robust naming convention
  • We would like an easier place for notes for each experience or test to be stored so that these are searchable. This allows things like project briefs to be summarised for the purpose of the wider team
  • It would be great if Monetate had an improved preview function to allow you to view an experience on the device and screen resolution of your choice. Currently, to fully test your experiences, you'll need a few browser apps which allows you to mimic devices, clear cookies...
  • A smarter way of building out variations for tests would be useful. Occasionally, a test that has a lot of different variables (but ultimately quite similar) will require you to setup multiple experiences to achieve this
A simple A/B test is Monetate's bread and butter. Providing you have a developer with the technical ability to acheive what you want, you can easily manipulate page layouts, insert content , remove content to achieve a test.

Whilst the majority fit works well as a low risk way of showing that a test will work, it does not give you learning or insight as to why something does or does not work.
Read this authenticated review
Nick Ashton profile photo
August 21, 2017

Monetate Review: "Game changer for Marketers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing team uses monetate to display promotional banners to the appropriate customer channels, i.e. email customers get the message they received in the email on-site. My team uses monetate to A/B test different landing page setups and experiences.
  • Display marketing messages
  • Provide data
  • A/B testing
  • Custom customer segments
  • Training videos
  • Suppport chat
For marketing teams to target customers by channel - email specific sales, acquisition messaging for customers coming from various sources. Testing different email capture messages.
Read Nick Ashton's full review
Reid Mirre, CPM profile photo
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Early Impressed Impressions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is currently being used exclusively by an eCommerce focused team in an attempt to grow revenue with more relevant and personalized messaging to customers. To provide a unique customer journey to each customer is the goal. In the future, there is a strong chance that more departments or the broader organization will leverage it as a tool to reach their customers.
  • Intuitive UI. I am fairly technical but discussing the product with others on my team, they all agree that it is very easy to use.
  • Monetate has taken a complex idea like personalization and has turned it into a simple problem to solve by thinking who, what, when, etc. to each situation. This was a much more elegant way to approach the problem than other vendors.
  • They have great support and seem to really care about your success, as well as have motivation to push you, the client, to get going and find success with the tool.
  • In the pre-sales process, they really want to sell you billable hours. These hours do not transfer to the next calendar year and are not refundable. It is a poor system.
  • Their technical documentation is confusing in spots and could be improved. We followed documentation, with an eyebrow raised in some cases, and then were told to go down a different path which was not listed in the documentation (but made more sense.)
  • I can't speak to the success or not of the program, but we are currently working with a third party of Monetate (who Monetate put us in touch with, as part of our billable hours.) Its not a con per se, but feels weird.
We have not implemented a live personalization yet, so this rating is based solely on pre-sales, integration, and a handful of calls. So far, it seems promising, but I cannot share our success when we have not had the opportunity to prove it. Monetate has a strong pre-sales process and will work with you every step of the way to installation. The dashboard is intuitive and it seems promising, but I can't say if it works yet.
Read Reid Mirre, CPM's full review
Erik Ickes profile photo
July 28, 2017

Monetate Review: "We're new users but mostly happy with it so far."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to customize our site based on known personas within the education sector (teachers, administrators, district buyers) and to market our geographically specific workshops to visitors within range of an event.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Seamless for the end user.
  • SEO is not affected.
  • Personalized site means greater retention and interest.
  • Doesn't always work with active or JS controlled elements on the site.
  • We use a lot of support hours to implement experiences.
It's great for straightforward swapping and moving of elements and has a nice set of pre-built experiences that make it ready right out of the box. There is also very little setup involved.

We haven't found it that effective for converting for revenue in our market but we are not in a traditional e-commerce business. A normal retail site would see bigger benefits that we do.
Read Erik Ickes's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

Monetate Review: "Great testing platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is mostly used by our marketing & merchandising team. Monetate is used for A/B testing in a variety of different ways. We use Monetate to test customize homepages, new site features and more to better understand how our customers use our website.It helps our team change the website without using other departments for help.
  • Monetate does well with showing us the impact of a test in a clear, detailed way. There are many different tests that can be done in Monetate and the results can be broken down by conversion, bounce rate, add to cart rate etc. This has helped us create the best possible experience for our customers.
  • Monetate has tons of variety of different ways you can optimize a website. From badging, product cross-sells, navigation changes and product changes, it's now easy to completely change a portion of the website without having to go to IT for help.
  • Monetate saves and archives all tests, even after they are completed. It's nice to have the option to look at what we did the past month or year and have the results saved as well.
  • Monetate can be difficult to learn at first. I think having a clear way to access how-to guides or videos would help employees learn the tool faster.
  • A small criticism but Monetate doesn't allow you to delete any experiences. It can make the platform a bit messy because there are times where we practice creating experiences and now they can't be deleted.
Monetate is great if you're looking to create content that's targeted to specific people or places. We have done this before on occasion and have targeted different images based on customer history with us. We have also used this many times in testing between new and returning customers. Monetate is also great for creating quick website experience changes and seeing how they affect users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2017

User Review: "Monetate - 4 Stars!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used by one department, the internet marketing department. We currently utilize the Open-time Email, Product Recs, and Onsite Content. With Monetate we are able to achieve a more personalized experience for visitors based on browsing behavior, purchase behavior, geo-targeting, weather forecast, etc. We are also able to target new vs. returning visitors, device type, and so many other options we haven't even explored yet. None of which we were able to do on our current platform.
  • Monetate's knowledge base has been so helpful! Before I send an email to our rep, I always search the knowledge base first and most answers you'll find there!
  • During implementation, there are detailed check-lists on next steps. Being the project leader I found this extremely helpful. Mostly because it was easy to delegate items to the team and everyone was held responsible for their part of the implementation timeline.
  • Monetate provides training modules to get you familiar with setting up Experiences prior to a formal training. We all found this helpful because we had came to formal training with questions about specific use cases.
  • Once you get in the UI it's extremely easy to navigate - this was something we were really excited about. We wanted the UI to be business user friendly and it completely met our expectations.
  • There seems to be very limited targeting options in Open-time Email. Onsite content has much more robust options in targeting.
  • Our rep and platform consultant aren't as responsive to questions and insights as we hoped they would be. We expect answers from them within the same day and sometimes it's days before I have to follow-up on where this is at.
  • There are limitations on measuring the true success of personalized emails. The only email analytics you see in the UI are on the clicks on the Monetate creative. We would like to know whether someone saw the personalized content and then clicked in the header or footer in the email template. Unfortunately there's no way to achieve that in Monetate. You would have to utilize your ESP to A/B test and determine the true success of a personalized email.
Monetate is well suited for personalizing onsite content. We are currently replacing content with brand affinities, category affinities, new vs. returning customers and it's doing very well. We have found it super difficult setting up personalized email campaigns. We believe that email is a new thing Monetate is new to. There are not as many targeting options as there are in Onsite Content, it's hard to measure the success of the personalized content, we still have out-standing questions on email click zones, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2017

User Review: "Monetate is the best in the industry"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate for A/B testing, personalization, product recommendations, and for patching on our website. Monetate helps us to get to lift analysis for testing quicker, through standard A/B testing and optimization based on goal metrics. With short selling seasons, Monetate helps up to see results quicker which gets us to making decisions faster and implementing new technologies faster.
  • Fast: It's great that Monetate is a layer on top of our website. We are able to add things without code change and see the campaigns in action in real time.
  • Strong analytics: I like how Monetate guides you through the analytics and has goal levels to let users know if the engine feels confident in the results, or needs more time for testing.
  • Technicality: While not exactly something Monetate can fix, most of our tests require development from our team or the Monetate team. As a business user, it would be nice to be able to create my own campaigns outside of a development queue.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2017

Monetate Review: "Very Solid Testing Platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have several users in the Ecommerce department who use Monetate daily to address muliple areas of need. On the marketing side, the email modules gives us the flexibility to message customers differently based on their location and past interactions with our site. We update promotional messaging both on site and in emails (even after they have been received by customers) or include countdown timers to increase urgency. We test extensively using both A/B and majority fit testing. Where Montate has perhaps proved most valuable is a means of updating HTML on the fly without having to involve developers.
  • Testing
  • Personalization
  • Custom coding
  • Product recommendations
If you're looking for a product for conducting multiple tests on your site, even multi-variable, Monetate is perfect. Majority fit enables you to test without worrying about missing out on sales because you're showing too many of the losing test. It's also ideal for making quick last-second code changes. Just pick an element that you want to change, and you usually can with even just a basic knowledge of coding. If I had to identify a less ideal application, it's as a personalized product recommendation tool. At least in the version we have, Monetate is not great at identifying additional products that a particular visitor is likely to want to purchase.
Read this authenticated review

About Monetate

Monetate is an ecommerce personalization software for consumer-facing brands. It is used by QVC, Newegg Inc., J. Crew Group Inc., The North Face, and hundreds of other retailers according to the vendor. Monetate enables brands to create individualized experiences for site visitors, with the goal of improving engagement and business performance.

The Monetate platform is open, designed to work seamlessly across the user's marketing stack. Monetate is real-time too, with machine learning capabilities to help deliver 1-to-1 personalization at scale.

Monetate Features

Has featureTesting
Has featureSegmentation
Has featureMachine Learning
Has featureData Integration
Has featureAPIs

Monetate Integrations

Google Analytics, Adobe Analytics, Intershop Commerce Suite, Tealium AudienceStream, SAP Commerce Cloud (formerly SAP Hybris), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Oracle DMP (Bluekai), Web Analytics Platforms, Demandware, IBM WebSphere Commerce, NeuStar PageAdvisor

Monetate Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Monetate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Monetate Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English