Monetate Reviews

122 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

Overall great experience with Monetate

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used by the eCommerce team. We mainly use it to A/B test various parts of our website to help us decide if these changes should be permanently made to the website. This is because website changes will require an additional resource (which is outsourced) and has a long turnaround time.
  • Really strong account service team who are very knowledgeable, insightful and quick to respond.
  • Platform is easy to use.
  • Experiences can be created internally once you have received training.
  • Still not 100% across the analytics/reporting component
  • Would be great if we had a local team, given the differences in time zones
Overall, really happy with the onboarding, training and support provided. I would recommend to other brands as once you get the hang of the platform, it is pretty easy to do simple experiences yourself. Otherwise, Monetate and Lean Convert are always happy to execute our ideas whilst still giving recommendations on best practice etc.
Excellent support - this is where Monetate excels. Great onboarding and organisation from the very start. Training provided was also really well done and Monetate accommodated to a time that suits us, even though we are in different timezones. Whilst communication has decreased as we know the platform more and can create experiences ourselves, support is still available and they are quick to reply.
Read this authenticated review
LAURIE ASTOR | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2019

Don't assume. A/B test and Make decisions based on data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Monetate within the E-commerce team to improve the overall user experience and build a business case with actual numbers. We also use it to better understand our customers and optimize their journey online.
  • Training
  • Account support
  • Ease of use
  • DIY tests
  • Exit feedback tool.
  • Clarification on the KPIs tracked on each experience.
  • Impact of results of experiences ran simultaneously on the same pages.
  • Social proof options.
Monetate is ideal for quick or advanced A/B testing online and uses specific data collection to target the right audience with the right experience. Supporting trade day to day or, building a business case for future projects. This helps with project priorities and making decisions based on data. Linking data to your analytics tool can be challenging so it needs to be kept in mind for the findings you want to get out of the experiences you are running.
Monetate teams are really reactive and support when needed.
Read LAURIE ASTOR's full review
Chloe O'Brien | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

Monetate lover

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used across the marketing department throughout all brands. The system is mainly used for testing customer struggles and to help improve site KPIs. Along with Marketing trading banners and campaigns. Through the use of Monetate, we are able to personalize customer journeys with behavior targeting and data-sets.
  • Monetate cookie provides behavior's targets, and allows the business to provide a more relevant journey.
  • The system is very user-friendly, meaning training someone new is quick and effective.
  • Monetate support is always very helpful, and the account managers are keen to keep it up to date.
  • A Monetate app would be great, as the mobile site is extremely hard to use.
  • Matching the business product feed with the Monetate data has proven to be difficult.
  • Targeting a whole categories PDP is very hard to do with Monetate, unless you have time to find the whole categories of product codes.
  • Providing more Monetate training.
Well suited to:
Targeting specific customers within Monetate, such as Google shopping customers or customers previously bought dresses etc. Completing homepage testing for personalized journeys through the AI testing tool.

Less suited to:
The Monetates analytics page is not very helpful, and it would be great to have more results. Testing sequencing within Monetate has also proven difficult.
It is a great system which is very user-friendly and the support is very helpful. I am proud to use Monetate.
Read Chloe O'Brien's full review
Autumn Smart | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

Easy tool for a beginner in the industry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used to display promotional content across the site through personalization to different user segments. It is also used to create tests that will optimize the user journey, both blanket tests and more segment-based testing, with future plans to use the individual fit tests.
  • Easy to use.
  • Tests are easily customizable within the tool, through the html, css, and js boxes.
  • An excellent support system, either through Monetate support or through our contact with the account managers.
  • The analytics is known to be 5% invalid when compared to GA, especially monetary measurements.
  • Provide more in-depth analysis for tests.
  • The AI tool should be able to better recognize smaller differences.
When building tests that would benefit google shopping customers, Monetate is good because it can specifically target this customer base to help optimize their specific journey.
Friendly and informative people who come into the office, who give us a whole day to book in sessions around topics.
Read Autumn Smart's full review
Ellen Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2019

Would Highly Recommend!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to test out optimization efforts across our 2 websites. We also use Monetate for banners to support our promotions. Finally, we use it to hotfix minor issues across the site, by modifying html or css. This is a very easy to use tool that gives a quick, easy solution without the need for the dev team to jump in.
  • Adding promotional banners under the top nav across the site
  • Testing and measuring a/b efforts like PDP revisions or similar updates
  • hiding elements that may be hindering the customer experience as a hotfix
  • documentation could be updated more regularly
  • Training information and videos are very basic
  • The overall organization can be improved
Monetate is best used for its intended purpose, A/B testing and personalization. You should be familiar with HTML and CSS to use this product. I like that you can set up custom KPIs for testing efforts when conversion rate might not be your best indicator of performance. Overall a good testing tool.
Read Ellen Evans's full review
Irina Danilova | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Good tool for creating promotions, adding badges to the products and create a lis of relevant items

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I worked with Monetate as part of the Marketing team. The tool was used by our department only. It allowed to set up customized, location-based banners for the home page informing visitors about changes in the local stores addresses and other changes; to create special promotions and perform A/B testings of their wording; to create and insert sale budges; to add lists of recommended products.
  • It has great customer segmentation capability
  • It allows to use html, css, and javascript to create promotions
  • It has good analytical tools
  • It is intuitive even for a novice
  • Sometimes it is hard to find what you are looking for (for example, how to export data)
  • The way of specifying pages on which promotion should be displayed could be improved
  • It is hard to organize promotions
Monetate is a great tool when you need to run a promotion and analyze it's performance. It is also very good (although a bit time consuming) in building lists of related products or displaying information that is location-specific.
Read Irina Danilova's full review
Sheryl Newell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Great tool - easy to use and powerful outcomes

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate across our 6 websites to personalise and test content/functionality/aesthetics/UX. It has helped us understand what customers respond best to and how to offer the best user experience per the different individuals/segments we can target. It has also helped us when a quick fix is needed and our IT solutions aren't able to turn around with immediate effect.
  • Supportive account team to help us use Monetate to the best of its capabilities
  • Intuitive to use and learn
  • Has a vast array of functionality options to maximise possibilities to test/personalise
  • Monetate-built actions are often locked down so the client user cannot amend to be bespoke for their needs. Therefore any changes wanted require a new Monetate dev ticket. This can be time consuming
Agile and powerful tool. We have a great working relationship with account team. They listen to requirements and work as best they can to meet them. Monetate can be restrictive but recognise most of the same level other personalisation / testing tools are at this stage in the market. New functionality is released regularly to keep up with market trends
Read Sheryl Newell's full review
Laura Neil | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Easy to use, Effective and Great Customer Service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having used Monetate in a previous role, followed by an alternative A/B and personalisation platform, I was so glad to move back to Monetate at my current company. The interface is intuitive. The customer support is fast and friendly, and usually my problem is resolved with the first couple of emails.

Far superior to any other platform I've used in my time as a CRO and UX professional and actually very competitive on price. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Monetate as my first choice of personalisation and testing platform in a move to a new company that didn't currently utilise testing tools due to how easy it is to become acquainted with the tool. I also remember, at my previous workplace, Monetate were happy to come in and run training sessions which were very valuable. Their conferences and events have also been informative and enlightening, in my experience.
  • Customer service - Their customer service is far better than any of their competitors that I've used in the past. I've had detailed coding help and suggestions to improve experiences within hours of lodging a support ticket.
  • Intuitive interface - The action builder is so easy to use, even if you don't have a good grasp on HTML/CSS and makes it possible to get launch experiences quickly which is important in a retail environment where things are so changeable.
  • Analytics - The speed at which detailed information comes in about whether an experience is performing is great and the level of detail makes it possible to provide business cases to key project stakeholders efficiently.
  • Lack of ability to move experiences to another folder if you're on the main experience page - This has bugged me for ages because we do a lot of experience duplication for different campaigns every month and it would be easier if you could duplicate and move folders on the same page.
  • Mass content upload. I may just be missing this feature somewhere but I've never been able to upload more than one piece of content at once and it's quite frustrating.
  • More Manchester based events. This one is obviously specific to my location and I understand why London is the hub for events but it would be nice to have more frequent opportunities to liaise with other Monetate users locally.
I would recommend Monetate to a business that wants to get set up with testing and personalisation quickly, with the knowledge that they can get the support they need to learn the tool but don't need to be web developers to use it.

I would also say that in the case of wanting to set up very specific experiments, Monetate is very useful as the targeting can be quite complex and there is the ability to integrate with other applications as well as set up custom targets.
Read Laura Neil's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Very good tool overall

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used by our web team to conduct A/B testing and personalize the website for specific user segments. We also use it to be reactive with customer messaging.
  • Ability to get experiences immediately online.
  • Ability to compare multiple metrics for A/B testing.
  • Ability to duplicate experiences.
  • Custom events are not easy to use and don't get copied while duplicating experiences.
  • When opening different experiences/actions in different tabs, all tabs switch to the same action/experience
  • Impossible to track custom event on added element (added through Test version) with Inspector before experience is actually live.
  • Differences between experience types (Majority fit vs standard A/B etc is not very clear in the interface. Inexperienced users sometimes choose the wrong experience type as a consequence.
  • Bounce rate sounds sometimes incorrect. The experiment has a bigger bounce rate 90% of the time.
  • Lack metrics such as Exit rates and Median order value.
Good to put content/changes immediately online. Good at A/B testing metrics analysis.
The team is reactive and eager to provide solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Monetate Makes Money

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is used to run campaigns/promotions and AB tests on our site. In addition, we look at the analytics behind each of these things and gather data on how to improve our strategies for future campaigns and tests.
  • AB Testing: ease of use & ability to access metrics/analytics
  • Campaigns/Promotions: preview mode is especially helpful in identifying exactly what will show up
  • Customer segmentation functionality would be great in identifying the different types of customers we have
  • Other ways to organize/gather data to identify different perspectives
Monetate is well suited for running AB tests as well as running campaigns and banners across the site.
It's efficient and easy to use.
We often send questions to the Monetate support team and they are quick to provide feedback to the issue They are helpful and offer solutions to the problems at hand..
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Monetate Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to create different user journeys for different customers we target. Doing A/B testing we get to see which experience will help us increase traffic on the site, how many users complete a goal and also decrease the bounce rate of users.
  • Targeting. We get to target different branches across the UK and also we can target users whether they are logged in or not.
  • Quick Win. Changing something as a reactive response is super easy with Monetate and saves us going into our CMS.
  • Analytics. We can see our each of our events perform.
  • In my opinion, the only thing I would change is finding the right blog/help guide to use.
Monetate is a great way of targeting the customers you want to complete a specific conversion.
Amazing... I work with Gary Thompson and on a day to day basis he assists me in what we are looking to achieve with the tool. When we are stuck or want some guidance he is quick to set a call to talk through this and discuss the potential outcome, whether we can can achieve what we want on the phone or whether he thinks it needs to go to the dev team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Getting the job done with Monetate

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by several different marketing departments—our e-commerce store, our live event marketing team, our subscription service marketing team, and our general marketing team. It's also used by our product/dev teams to make changes to the site without having to do a development release.
  • Ability to AB test very easily.
  • Very flexible/customizable lightbox tool.
  • Easy to target specific users by uploading datasets.
  • Lightboxes that adjust for desktop vs. mobile experiences.
  • Easier integration with custom analytics we use internally.
Great for very simple AB tests. Great for quick fixes to the production environment. We would get a lot of use out of testing on OTT devices, but I don't believe that's possible.
Good account reps and a responsive support team for general tickets. They may not code experiences for you, but they'll point you in the right direction and help you find the information you're looking for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Great Decision for Marketing Team!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate primarily in the UX/CX and site merchandising departments, but we've also created experiences for other channels like email marketing, paid search, and display ads. Additionally, we have "fixes" for bugs that aren't able to be immediately addressed by web dev. And finally, we have experiences to address prioritization of new features that are still in the development backlog.
  • Our Monetate team is amazing! They taught us well, are quick to answer questions, and are very organized to keep us on track.
  • Simple-to-use interface makes it easy for business users to set up experiences with little to no web dev assistance.
  • We've gotten some great ideas out of the Insight reports our team has provided. Some of them we tested already, and others inspired even more ideas!
  • We'd like to be able to use the Monetate resources to help us set up tests that require web dev (to get it out of our backlog), but they also have wait times similar to our internal ones. I realize resources are hard to come by, but this is an area we'd love to be able to utilize more if the turnaround were quicker.
  • IE is always a problem. I know it's not Monetate-specific though, and many tools struggle with IE.
  • We have a large percentage of our users who use IE, and I'd like to provide more experiences in IE without and additional hassle.
I've used different testing systems, and Monetate is simple-to-use. I've been able to train interns who'd previously had little experience, too.
More complicated tests require web dev. I'd like to be able to "safely" shift and style elements in a WYSIWYG interface, but the interface provides most of what I want.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2019

Monetate the powertool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Site optimizing across mobile app and web app. Personalizing experiences for customers, creating 1 to 1 journeys.
  • Quick front end changes
  • Traffic throttling
  • Personalized journeys
  • Making the server side easier to obtain
  • Not made for complex dev
  • Sometimes UI can be clunky
Best suited for small UI changes on the client side. Beat suited for full page tests on the server side.
Active UK consultants and an offshore support team there to aid any build.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Monetate Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is used by a marketing department, specifically by a web marketing team. We use Monetate to test our design strategies via its testing platform and by checking its live analytics and results from it. Depending on the result, we will then make a decision to permanently implement the design onto the site itself or to drop the idea if it fails.
  • Dynamic test to let users test several different ideas at the same time while dynamically distributing traffic to the highest ROI.
  • Live analytics to show us where the test is at and to easily compare the experiment with original (control).
  • Faster development job is done when requested.
  • I know the company has been undergoing a change but staff has changed so often that our personalized staff has changed numerous times.
Monetate is an excellent testing platform to test your ideas onto the site and see how it's working before you actually make a permanent change, and to experiment with various ideas at the same time to see which one works the best.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Better than the Other Guys!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is used primarily within our eCommerce division, providing personalization for direct navigation, email, direct mail-to-digital, and display advertisement visitors. In most cases, we are using Monetate to execute A/B tests, but we have also used it to create quick patches for styling issues on the site to circumvent time restrictions caused when going through traditional code updates.
  • The reps are extremely timely in their responses and knowledgeable about the system.
  • Monetate has a WYSIWYG system for making changes on web pages that is extremely easy to use.
  • Reporting is clear and easy to share with others.
  • Some DIV tags cannot be selected in ActionBuilder and there is no explanation in the interface as to why that is.
  • The dataset upload tool errors out sometimes, but when you click "View Error", nothing happens.
  • When using JavaScript in ActionBuilder, sometimes it continuously fires even after closing ActionBuilder and reopening it. For example, redirect Javascript entered in ActionBuilder fires as soon as ActionBuilder is opened to edit the action.
Monetate is good for quick changes on the site and simple tests. Complex tests requiring extensive web development can be difficult to execute by business users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Monetate - Digital Magic Tape!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate across the business to create tests to improve conversation rates on our retail site, deliver marketing promotions and personalise peoples website experiences. We also use it as a temporary fix for issues that go into the business in full development phase. It allows us to test development work quickly and turn it off if it doesn't work.
  • Relatively easy user interface to use. We have separated our Monetetate hub by site - very easy to use.
  • Building tests or experiences has a good builder addressing what you are building, where it is targeting, when the experience should run and why
  • The majority fit setting provides a good low risk way of determining if a fix is a 'winner' or not
  • A very helpful and extensive Knowledge Hub
  • Searching through all the experiences or tests you put online is reliant on a very robust naming convention
  • We would like an easier place for notes for each experience or test to be stored so that these are searchable. This allows things like project briefs to be summarised for the purpose of the wider team
  • It would be great if Monetate had an improved preview function to allow you to view an experience on the device and screen resolution of your choice. Currently, to fully test your experiences, you'll need a few browser apps which allows you to mimic devices, clear cookies...
  • A smarter way of building out variations for tests would be useful. Occasionally, a test that has a lot of different variables (but ultimately quite similar) will require you to setup multiple experiences to achieve this
A simple A/B test is Monetate's bread and butter. Providing you have a developer with the technical ability to acheive what you want, you can easily manipulate page layouts, insert content , remove content to achieve a test.

Whilst the majority fit works well as a low risk way of showing that a test will work, it does not give you learning or insight as to why something does or does not work.
Read this authenticated review
Steffany Winkelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2018

Very powerful testing tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to test how well our product display pages convert against 2 different layouts, test conversion rate of our existing menu layout versus a radically different style, test how different promotional banner styles convert against each other, display different product images on our homepage based on a visitor's region/weather/major event, and so many other aspects of our site which has helped us really start understanding our audience better - what works and what doesn't - and apply that across our site and in other areas of our business such as email.
  • You can test virtually ANYTHING on your website. Once you know what you're doing, it is really easy to upload assets and really customize the details of your test.
  • If you have multiple websites, you can keep all of your website tests separate - for example, we manage two separate brands, both which have 3 environments we can set up tests in: development, staging, and production environments. So, we can easily manage 6 separate test groups and store the various content in the proper section, very easily.
  • The design is really clean and easy to navigate. It is easy to organize and filter your experiments, you can tag them to make filtering a lot easier (especially when you have a bunch of experiments running at the same time), and the simple function of duplicating an experiment makes minor changes to a grand experiment SO much quicker.
  • The Monetate Inspector tool (I could be using the wrong word, sorry!) also allows you to far more easily identify the unique ID of an experiment so you can find it in Monetate and make any desired changes rather than sifting one by one through your various experiments trying to figure out which one you mean to edit.
  • The learning curve is a little steep, especially if you're unfamiliar with HTML/CSS. The tool is so powerful but can be overwhelming at first. The intro instructional videos/content is helpful but it doesn't cover everything. We needed to partner with an optimization company to better understand the tool and get started.
  • Setting up an experiment for the first time isn't simple when you're a marketer who is inexperienced with any sort of web development or even just HTML/CSS. While you can easily select the area you want to create a test with, you don't have a way to easily manipulate that section without the use of HTML/CSS.
  • The first optimization company Monetate recommended us to was horrible - it really was awful working with them. We had dedicated (paid for!) hours that got wasted after the company wasted our time in each meeting (when we did have one - they often needed to reschedule) and they barely knew what our company even did despite multiple meetings. Those hours, despite the awful experience, were never fulfilled, never reimbursed, never carried over to the new (and far better) company. This left a bad taste in my mouth. While I really like this product and it does everything we need, this awful experience and lack of ownership on their end was highly disappointing. We are moving forward though - and happy with our results.
If your business is online and you have pages your visitors will interact with, Monetate can be a huge asset. You can test virtually anything! But if you don't have much capital to use, Monetate will be an expensive investment that you won't see ROI on for at least a few months. If your site is simple and more informational (i.e., no offer pages, informational-only site, etc.), Monetate will still work for you but it'll be really hard to determine ROI and make your money back.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
Nick Ashton | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2017

Game changer for Marketers.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing team uses monetate to display promotional banners to the appropriate customer channels, i.e. email customers get the message they received in the email on-site. My team uses monetate to A/B test different landing page setups and experiences.
  • Display marketing messages
  • Provide data
  • A/B testing
  • Custom customer segments
  • Training videos
  • Suppport chat
For marketing teams to target customers by channel - email specific sales, acquisition messaging for customers coming from various sources. Testing different email capture messages.
Read Nick Ashton's full review
Reid Mirre, CPM | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2017

Early Impressed Impressions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is currently being used exclusively by an eCommerce focused team in an attempt to grow revenue with more relevant and personalized messaging to customers. To provide a unique customer journey to each customer is the goal. In the future, there is a strong chance that more departments or the broader organization will leverage it as a tool to reach their customers.
  • Intuitive UI. I am fairly technical but discussing the product with others on my team, they all agree that it is very easy to use.
  • Monetate has taken a complex idea like personalization and has turned it into a simple problem to solve by thinking who, what, when, etc. to each situation. This was a much more elegant way to approach the problem than other vendors.
  • They have great support and seem to really care about your success, as well as have motivation to push you, the client, to get going and find success with the tool.
  • In the pre-sales process, they really want to sell you billable hours. These hours do not transfer to the next calendar year and are not refundable. It is a poor system.
  • Their technical documentation is confusing in spots and could be improved. We followed documentation, with an eyebrow raised in some cases, and then were told to go down a different path which was not listed in the documentation (but made more sense.)
  • I can't speak to the success or not of the program, but we are currently working with a third party of Monetate (who Monetate put us in touch with, as part of our billable hours.) Its not a con per se, but feels weird.
We have not implemented a live personalization yet, so this rating is based solely on pre-sales, integration, and a handful of calls. So far, it seems promising, but I cannot share our success when we have not had the opportunity to prove it. Monetate has a strong pre-sales process and will work with you every step of the way to installation. The dashboard is intuitive and it seems promising, but I can't say if it works yet.
Read Reid Mirre, CPM's full review
Erik Ickes | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2017

We're new users but mostly happy with it so far.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate to customize our site based on known personas within the education sector (teachers, administrators, district buyers) and to market our geographically specific workshops to visitors within range of an event.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Seamless for the end user.
  • SEO is not affected.
  • Personalized site means greater retention and interest.
  • Doesn't always work with active or JS controlled elements on the site.
  • We use a lot of support hours to implement experiences.
It's great for straightforward swapping and moving of elements and has a nice set of pre-built experiences that make it ready right out of the box. There is also very little setup involved.

We haven't found it that effective for converting for revenue in our market but we are not in a traditional e-commerce business. A normal retail site would see bigger benefits that we do.
Read Erik Ickes's full review
Parker Block | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2015

Monetate Review from Director of E-Commerce

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monetate is being used by the e-commerce teams for two sites which I manage. It enables us to improve conversion and average order value by testing creative and promotional messaging, target messaging to consumers based on behavior and demographic segment, and cross-sell merchandise. Monetate also enables the teams to make quick changes to the site and avoid the time consuming ordeal of submitting tickets to developers and waiting for response and resolution.
  • The UI is intuitive. With very little training team members start using the tools.
  • It is versatile - a testing, targeting, a second CMS, and recommendation engine which can be used virtually anywhere on the site.
  • It is light. Integration is fast and does not slow down site speed. We even use Monetate to test certain 3P functionality, integrating through Monetate and testing the application to validate impact on site KPI rather than just integrating the 3P directly into the platform.
  • Client Services team very proactive in helping our team identify opportunities and get quick results. Also very responsive when we need to use Monetate to quickly address issues affecting the business.
  • Continuous improvement in predictive analytics.
A tool such as Monetate can impact the businesses most if it is able to leverage multiple sources of first and third party data. I would discuss in the evaluation process the best ways for integrating and leveraging those data sources in a way that is scalable. If your team does not yet have a culture of testing, it is worth discussing what organization is required to leverage the tool.
Very responsive and proactive support team. There never seems to be a bandwidth issue on their end to address our questions or issues.
Read Parker Block's full review
Laura Santoki | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2015

Why we selected Monetate as our testing and targeting vendor.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate for onsite testing and personalization - from very simple a/b content tests to very advanced functionality tests. Occasionally we use it to push content or features quickly when our IT group is backlogged. It is a very robust and yet simple tool for us.
  • Monetate's testing tool is extremely user friendly, reliable and robust. The tool itself allows us to test content and functionality in 2-4 weeks where it would normally take months for our IT team to prioritize and build.
  • Monetate's service is above and beyond. They assign each client a very knowledgeable and helpful client success manager who speaks with us weekly and answers emails daily when we have questions. They are proactive about testing suggestions and ideas and are extremely quick to respond to questions.
  • I truly have no areas for improvement for Monetate.
We are huge Monetate supporters. I feel like it's the best website testing solution available.
Monetate support team meets with use weekly, answers emails daily and promptly. They are proactive about getting answers for us when we need it and offering suggestions based on observations they have or learnings they want to share from other partners. Monetate's support is top notch.
Read Laura Santoki's full review
Richard Preciado | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2015

Simple to use, Simple to see results!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Monetate for three purposes, A/B testing, targeted dynamic content and segmentation, and on the fly changes to our sites.

It is so nice to be able to answer the question "What happens if we ....?" We have not come across an idea yet that we have not been able to test in some fashion using Monetate. Personalizing our site by customer, recognizing how they found us, and displaying content relevant to them is not only possible, it's relatively easy. Hardest part is usually coming up with the creative. Being able to quickly add a block of text where you don't currently have a div setup is amazing.

You don't need to be and expert programmer to make real changes to the look and feel of your site.
  • Ease of segmentation.
  • Ease of action builder. You don't need to know how to code html or java to create most of your actions. Even novice users can make substantial changes.
  • Support. The support that you get from your Client Success Managers make a big difference with the tool. You are not left to your own devices to figure out how best to accomplish a test. They make sure you are getting what you pay for.
  • I know that it is recommended to give any test at least two weeks before considering any results, but I would like to see real time reporting.
Taking an idea from concept to implementation has been reduced greatly. I can make changes to my site without Monetate, but without it I would not be able answer the question of how this change affects my results. Being able to personalize and make changes is great, as long as you can measure whether those changes are positive or negative.
Read Richard Preciado's full review
Karsten Shields | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2015

Monetate Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are utilizing Monetate for a number of purposes. We use it for A/B testing on a variety of projects. We rely on this tool heavily to justify our decision making process. This has been a great tool to provide us with insight on our user interface. We also use Monetate for a variety of other functions, such as promotional banners, email sign up lightboxes, and much more.
  • A/B testing functionality.
  • Reporting analytics for A/B tests and experiences.
  • Ability to provide product recommendations based upon site data, and feeding through a variety of algorithms.
  • We have had some trouble getting some JavaScript elements to fire correctly. We ended up putting our static content in Monetate, and testing against the dynamic content on our site.
Monetate is well suited for companies that want to have a scientific way to measure the effectiveness of various presentations of user interfaces in a head-to-head A/B style testing format. This has been critical for our company to determine what is the best option to move forward in our experiments.
Read Karsten Shields's full review

About Monetate

Monetate is an ecommerce personalization software for consumer-facing brands. It is used by QVC, Newegg Inc., J. Crew Group Inc., The North Face, and hundreds of other retailers according to the vendor. Monetate enables brands to create individualized experiences for site visitors, with the goal of improving engagement and business performance.

The Monetate platform is open, designed to work seamlessly across the user's marketing stack. Monetate is real-time too, with machine learning capabilities to help deliver 1-to-1 personalization at scale.

In October 2019 Monetate was acquired by Kibo Software.

Monetate Features

Has featureTesting
Has featureSegmentation
Has featureMachine Learning
Has featureData Integration
Has featureAPIs

Monetate Integrations

Google Analytics, Adobe Analytics, Intershop Commerce Suite, Tealium AudienceStream, HCL Commerce, Oracle DMP, now part of Oracle CX Marketing, SAP Commerce Cloud (formerly SAP Hybris), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Web Analytics Platforms, Demandware, Neustar Identity Data Management Platform (IDMP, PlatformOne)

Monetate Competitors

Monetate Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Monetate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Monetate Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English