New Relic Reviews

163 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 48)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic provides tools most teams need to address the 3 pillars of observability: metrics (APM, Infrastructure, Browser, Serverless, and more), tracing spans (APM, Browser, Serverless, and more), and logs. New Relic also provides unlimited ingest into its large data platform, which may allow teams to do away with the toil and overhead associated with supporting 3rd-party data aggregation and visualization tools like Graphite and Grafana. Finally, by using their new AIOps platform, teams get the benefit of intelligent monitoring and alerting, which can simplify the process of identifying events that need to be addressed to avoid customer impact.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2020
Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I appreciate that New Relic is easily integrated into applications for APM and infrastructure for monitoring.

Our applications are Ruby on Rails apps and getting them reporting into New Relic is easy to implement. In most cases, it just requires adding the "newrelic" gem and updating the "newrelic.yml" configuration file. Just this simple addition to a project gives us an entrypoint to analyzing performance.

We use the New Relic Infrastructure agent by default on all of our cloud based servers. We have this set up with Chef so we don't even think about it; we just spin servers up and go. Minutes later they're reporting into New Relic. We use Terraform to automatically create monitors so we can keep track of the essentials like core processes, disk, CPU, and memory.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
March 05, 2020
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic has great results if using the RUM module. Data delivered by that module is simple to understand and can be analyzed by using NRQL. Alerts channels are easy to integrate into any chat ops software. APM module is rich with useful data and the performance of staging is good. The production environment can be seen by APM. I would like to have more detailed info when some degradation or errors can be seen by the module.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
May 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Very good monitoring solution if you want to understand the ins and outs of your application running in production. Our applications are mostly JVM based, and New Relic is able to tell us about almost everything we need to know about the applications, such as CPU and memory consumption, threads, process stack traces, and more. Truly invaluable as it has helped us to find hotspots in our applications and areas that need improvements.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited to find the processes that cause the bulk of CPU load, network load, memory load etc., etc. Find very detailed logging on unhandled errors that you wouldn't have found out without New Relic. You can drill down into the function tree to get to that single database call that caused the website 6 seconds to load.
Read this authenticated review
November 01, 2019
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would use New Relic on every new Rails application I build. I can see how useful it is and I've been doing that for years now. When you have multiple applications and want to understand what is going all between all of them, New Relic is also a great choice. You can "tag" the request and New Relic will create a map for you.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
December 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic is appropriate for large enterprise organizations with large teams and in house data centers. For smaller businesses, or where cloud computing is heavily used, or where you have a specific language that is your sole focus, I believe there are more modern tools that will give better insights into specific platforms. New Relic, in my opinion, is the HP Openview of app performance. It covers a broad spectrum, but depth is lacking.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic is a perfect choice if your use case allows for sending metrics from your servers or consumer end-devices. It will enable you to monitor your databases, queues, virtual machines or virtually any other infrastructure components. It will not work well if your customers restrict their data from being transferred to the cloud service providers.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic gets you 80% of the way there when it comes to application monitoring and performance tooling. It is easy to set up with a simple gem install, and gives you actionable information right out of the box. For application platforms where their integration is robust and widely used (like Rails), this is especially true.
Read this authenticated review
October 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for monitoring our Acquia website. We have not tried it on any other internet-facing service.

Probably overkill for any internal sites or servers as it monitors too many parameters and may be cumbersome to manage. The management interface is too cluttered and cannot be customized to only monitor deployed agents. Maybe I do not know how to do that.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2019
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have full-fledged web application such as a website then New Relic is very good. But for small companies the price might be high. If you have backend servers which are connected to the Android and IOS apps then New Relic might not be good, there are some other alternatives such as Mixpanels.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
April 19, 2019
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For detailed performance monitoring, as well as quick setup of services, New Relic does an amazing job. It also does a great job of easily "guiding" you into problematic database calls. If you're looking for specific event tracking, such as how many times a page is viewed, or how many times a user clicks a certain button, New Relic is less suited for that even though there are ways of implementing it.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
April 18, 2019
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're concerned about the performance of your application, or you'd like a powerful tool to assist with debugging certain issues and analyzing your function calls, this is one of the best tools available anywhere. If you just need general application monitoring or uptime monitoring, this is overkill.
Read Ben McClure's full review
March 20, 2019
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic is great for profiling most web applications and determining what is wrong with them and if they are performing well. It is less appropriate for desktop applications, technically you could integrate with New Relic but there are most likely better options out there for that use case. New Relic also has support for profiling mobile apps but it is not as comprehensive as their web support.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
May 28, 2019
Jayson E. Conry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Step transactions and Web URL sequence monitoring is more difficult than it could be. Having a recorder process would take this tool to the next level. That said, the console is so easy to use that there is hardly any training required to access data you need to find or view.
Read Jayson E. Conry's full review
April 24, 2019
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When you need automated alerts and good traffic data, New Relic is a great tool. You definitely get what you pay for, and while New Relic is priced competitively, it gives a lot more than the free or cheaper solutions.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
April 17, 2019
Eugene Bos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If some issue happens with an application I go directly to New Relic's dashboard where I can see immediately what happened and therefore quickly fix the problem. You can see how different layers of your application perform there and immediately identify in some cases where the problem arises from.
Read Eugene Bos's full review
April 15, 2019
Matthew Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic is very well suited to identify performance bottlenecks and identify areas where there's room for improvement in your application. It narrows down the time and resource consumption to a method-level which makes it much simpler for developers to implement performance enhancements and apply fixes more practically than out in the wild.
Read Matthew Berry's full review
February 23, 2019
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think the biggest factor here is price. If you can get by with something cheaper, then great. Other people do basic up/down monitoring, and New Relic's biggest strength seems to be APM. But if downtime is money lost, reputation, etc, then you really need to consider two factors. One, of course, is the application's status, but it's also quite valuable to have historical data and the right tools to identify the issue and get the application healthy again. A cheaper tool might tell you the health of the application, but if it doesn't help you quickly fix any problems, it's only half of what you need. New Relic is worth the extra cost for us, as it gives us much more data to work with so we can address issues quickly.
Read John Grosjean's full review
July 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Do you need to monitor OS-based workloads? Do you have a mix of on-prem and Cloud instances? Do you need to have a converged view to see your OS, application, real-user monitoring (REUM), Synthetics, and other time-series data? New Relic is the platform that can deliver on those requirements.

Their technical support one of the best engagements we have had with a vendor. Exemplary in every way!
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic is a great choice for monitoring the performance of your back-end. New Relic integrates with PagerDuty and supports many common web frameworks out-of-the-box. Error traces and transaction monitoring are valuable tools for detecting problems and prioritizing improvements. The thread profiler has helped us to understand some defects that were tricky to reproduce. The service maps it generates are useful.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

After my experience, I found New Relic well suited if you have a critical online service or product and also a dedicated team to mantain and improve it over time. New Relic gives you a lot of interesting data to help you make technical and customer related decisions. One of our services is a web application where users can buy services between them, and it's critical for us to keep all services up and running without errors.
Read this authenticated review
May 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

New Relic Insights is well suited for smaller web development teams who do not have the resources to hire a dedicated web server manager. It is also great for teams who deploy code often and need a debugging and monitoring tool. New Relic can save valuable troubleshooting time and frustration by providing excellent insights at all times.
Read this authenticated review

What is New Relic?

New Relic is an all-in-one web and mobile application performance management provider for the cloud and the datacenter. They provide 24x7 user monitoring and code-level diagnostics for production apps deployed on dedicated infrastructures, the cloud, or hybrid environments and real time end-to-end monitoring for your iOS and Android app’s.

New Relic provides support for applications written in Ruby, Python, PHP, Java, .NET, Node.js and related frameworks. New Relic also partners with leading cloud management, platform, and hosting vendors to provide their customers with instant visibility into the performance of deployed applications.

New Relic also has an open SaaS platform that enables its community of developers, partners and customers to build plugins using open API’s to monitor any technology of their choice, from databases, networks, caching layers and more.

New Relic provides SaaS Application Monitoring for Ruby, PHP, .Net, Java, Python, iOS, and Android Apps.

New Relic Integrations

New Relic Competitors

New Relic Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Standard$99per user
ProContact sales team
EnterpriseContact sales team
Telemetry Data Platform0.25per GB
Proactive Detection0.25per million app transactions
Incident Intelligence0.50per incident

New Relic Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No