Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

249 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-50 of 150)

Chris Selby | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 has saved my department money and provided countless hours of needed rest!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have built out several test environments and have demoed all of these products and we were not able to build out or purchase an environment that performed as well or had the features as Scale HC3 for the same investment.
Read Chris Selby's full review
Richard Barrie | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Scale: It allowed us to triple our business size without tripling our IT costs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Citrix was our oldest virtual environment and it was tired when we retired it fully. But when testing newer systems it would have taken more time and was not as easily adaptable to grow our system. Hyper-V may be the basic MS virtual environment but the configuration of LUNs and Sans to provide storage would have escalated our time enormously.
Read Richard Barrie's full review
Chris Nixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Hyperconverged systems enabled our organisational change

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had looked at hyperconverged systems from Nutanix, HPE (Simplivity) and NetApp - all wanted a very high premium on top of which there were still additional licenses.

Their individual high costs meant they were never viable despite some attractive feature sets.
Read Chris Nixon's full review
Kelly Mumm | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Dumped Xen for Scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We previously used XenServer and had constant issues with reliability and management of the VMs. It was a pain dealing with three different entities when an issue came up. We had the server vendor, Citrix, and the NAS vendor. When there was an incompatibility issue or an issue with an upgrade I would spend days trying to track down what entity could help even though we used Citrix approved hardware. Now, I make one call to Scale for any issue.
Read Kelly Mumm's full review
Mike Hollingsworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

HC3 - A fantastic solution for all your needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we implemented our first HC3 cluster almost 5 years ago, we also reviewed options from Dell, HP, and Nutanix and found they just didn't stack up to what we saw in Scale Computing HC3, particularly with their price point. Being a school, IT budgets are always very tight so it was great to find a solution that met all our needs and budget requirements.
Read Mike Hollingsworth's full review
Shane Worley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2019

SCALE is Pretty Darn Awsome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used VMware , and Hyper-V, Both require huge learning curves and large involvement in other hardware to get your environment built and configured .Plus the vendors have so many versions to support, they can be confusing to Maintain. Scale was, from box to rack, to running in just a couple days. So easy even I can do it..!


Read Shane Worley's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Scale is the best solution for small to medium size businesses.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Scale has basically the same features that Nutanix offers but was more geared towards small to medium size business. Scale was the only vender that offered an evaluation tool to see exactly how much power we needed in each node to begin our transition. Based on that they gave me a custom quote that blew away the price that Nutanix was offering. The cost on 1 of the 3 nodes from Nutanix was almost the same as the cost for the total Scale system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Big Impact on a Small Organization - Scale Computer HC3

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Scale was our first choice, and once we saw how it worked, we spoke with others using the product, and with the Scale team, we didn't need to look any further. The best recommendation came from a company that was similar in size and once I knew how easy it was to use, I was sold.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Don't be afraid to Scale your virtual environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Multiple vendors, multiple systems, multiple contracts, multiple licenses, maintenance and support, all gone with a Scale Computing HC3 system. One system, one vendor, one support, fewer headaches and problems to solve. Devote your time to running the business and not minding the infrastructure. Scale made it an easy choice to build a virtual environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2019

Damn good option - I am sold for sure.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The fact that everything is integrated is fantastic. "One throat to choke" should something go wrong. I do not have to worry about if this software update is going to interfere with this hardware version....or vice versa. They check and recheck before they start pushing updates out. Sometimes that is sort of frustrating because I know there is some sort of update I want in the pipeline; but if I really want, they can get me upgraded before the public release. All of this and it is not even an alpha/beta release.....more of a post-beta if you will. I have done this twice and have never seen a single issue because of it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

HC3 - Truly a breath of fresh air.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As a long-time HPE shop, we did look at Simplivity (even knowing that HPE's lackadaisical support was likely to poison Simplivity post-acquisition), but we were very underwhelmed by the demonstrator's lack of expertise in the product, and some basic limitations surrounding the offering.
Nutanix was incredibly expensive when comparing apples-to-apples, and did not provide any meaningful advantages over other options.
As a corporate VMWare shop, we also looked at this option, but to achieve our goals, we would need several 3rd party products and full-time administrator training and expertise to adequately manage the environment, making the total cost of ownership prohibitively expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 offers a fast, stable, and cost-effective hyper-converged solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We replaced our 5-year-old SimpliVity hyper-converged solution with two 3-node Scale clusters in 2018. We went with Scale Computing HC3 over a new HP/OmniStack solution due to cost and feedback from other Scale users who were very happy with the product. We also liked the simple interface and not having the overhead and complexity of VMWare.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2019

Want time in your day back? Enjoy a coffee for a chance because this is the solution for you!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Scale computing for its simplicity, its cost-effectiveness and its ability to recover data in the event of a disaster. When it came time to refresh our previous virtual environment, we looked at traditional server/storage, server/san, and other HCI competitors. In the end, Scale was the right solution for us. We look forward to using this solution for years to come.
Read this authenticated review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix AOS, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English