UserTesting Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Eric Mahlstedt | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2020

Translate your hypothesis about markets, customer needs and solutions into experiments that increase the value of your business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Large panel of qualified participants
  • Quick turnaround of session recordings
  • Easy to use
  • More flexible account permissions for collaborators
  • Keep adding to screener logic questions
  • Keep adding b2b panelists
Read Eric Mahlstedt's full review
Alexander Kerschhofer | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Poor test UX leads to tainted test and misleading results

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simplicity of conducting user test.
  • The UI doesn't have a full screen mode. That means that the user can see all sorts of other elements that don't belong to the prototype. In one case the user clicked the browser's back button which tainted the test.
  • The panel with the instructions partially obstructs elements of the prototype. That might taint the test.
  • In one case, during the test, a feedback form for UserTesting popped up, also tainting the test.
  • The UI also has dedicated back/next buttons. One user used them which also might taint the tests.
Read Alexander Kerschhofer's full review
Rachel Miles | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Instrumental to my research workflow

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast to get participants.
  • Video editing.
  • Notetaking in the platform.
  • Recruiting.
  • Can't filter participants until after they've taken the test.
  • Video editor isn't super precise, but it does the job.
  • Permissions and payment structure are complicated for our organization.
Read Rachel Miles's full review
Padma Ravikumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Quick and easy-to-use resource for user research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick recruiting.
  • Unmoderated and moderated study options.
  • Compare designs.
  • Diverse pool of participants.
  • Share video with partners.
  • Create clips easily.
  • Transcripts that can be exported.
  • Combination of different types of questions that can be saved.
  • Favorite participants and create your own panel.
  • Cannot compare more than 2 designs.
  • Cannot delete studies which makes it cluttered.
  • Cannot select and publish just certain videos.
  • Chat feature with support who are amazing.
Read Padma Ravikumar's full review
Andrew Sweany | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

A powerful platform for recruiting and conducting user testing of all varieties

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Large general panel that makes finding relatively niche participants (in my case, cybersecurity professionals) relatively easy.
  • Great, responsive tech support for "how do I?" type questions.
  • Access to research professionals to consult on more technical test construction, recruiting, etc.
  • Better support and guidance for uploading prototypes - took us a lot of trial and error to ZIP a prototype and get it to work properly on the UT platform.
  • No time stamps on the recordings in the dashboard view!
  • Additional demographics on participants, such as Job Title and time in role, would be useful.
Read Andrew Sweany's full review
Katie Bindert | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2020

UserTesting is perfect for making a little extra income in your downtime!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pay outs: I’ve always received my payment very quickly (within 7 days). They’re extremely trustworthy so you don’t need to worry about not being paid!
  • Available studies: There are always several studies available for me to take that are matched up perfectly for me!
  • Time efficient: I’ve only ever had to answer 4-7 questions before I know if I’m chosen for a study, which if you’ve tried other survey sites, you know is incredible!
  • Set up: The initial download and set up is a bit time consuming and might deter some people from completing it.
  • Ratings: The way rating works can be frustrating because ratings are not required. This means that you could do very well on several recordings and not be rated at all but possibly be rated on the recordings that you didn’t do so well on, bringing your average way down simply because the only ratings you receive are bad ones.
Read Katie Bindert's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2020

Fantastic Usability Tool - Needs a Better Pricing Model

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides a [huge] panel of usability test participants
  • Allows you to screen participants to only people relevant to your test
  • Manages their panel to ensure participants are articulate in their responses
  • Provides a pretty simple method of creating unmoderated usability tests
  • Their pricing model stinks. I don't see why I should pay per seat license when that doesn't affect their costs. I should pay per usability test conducted.
  • If you need multiple seat licenses (e.g. multiple users who can create and administer tests) it gets very expensive very quickly.
  • They communicate a LOT at sales time, but I never hear from them any other time of year.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2020

Supercharge your customer insights for powerful results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their massive panel helps us identify the right participants for each study.
  • Their session review tools are both powerful and easy to use.
  • Their customer support is responsive and knowledgeable.
  • Our needs require individual workspaces for each business line, but I can't share clips between them. If a customer provides insight about another business line or the brand overall, I can't include that clip across workspaces.
  • I'd like to see the product expand into upstream design/research process, such as journey maps or assumptive personas.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

UserTesting Offers Great Feedback for our Development Needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • UserTesting interface is very easy to use.
  • We are notified immediately when we receive feedback.
  • UserTesting customer support has been very quick and responsive when we have issues and questions.
  • Some of the documentation is rather sparse.
  • I'd like to see a bit better dashboard on the info gathered.
  • Their pricing structure is rather rigid for our tastes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

Simple Usability Tool to Optimize User Experience design

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • UserTesting enables collection of qualitative data on what user experience design drives higher engagement and conversions and which site layout does poorly on engaging the customers of an e-commerce website or visitors to a website
  • UserTesting allows follow-up with participants who were part of a UX design test in-case their video recording of the testing session didn't articulate the test findings clearly due to technical issues.
  • UserTesting helps determine content strategy around new products by testing users who may have used those products already when they were customers of another similar business. So, we can implement engaging content which results in high sales.
  • UserTesting test results can be improved by ensuring testers are experienced in conducting user experience tests or by providing them additional training on how to do those tests. So, they speak out their findings and record their actions properly.
  • UserTesting test results can be improved by ensuring testers have microphones which filter out noise or sound interference and are testing in an environment with minimal extraneous disturbance during the test.
  • UserTesting test results can be improved by increasing the number of experienced respondents to a test by offering higher financial incentives. So, sample size of quality testers is higher which increases confidence in the test results and their findings.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2020

UserTesting is like a secret weapon!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A/B testing site changes
  • Providing independent review of initiatives
  • Competitive analysis
  • Better understanding of customer intent
  • Allow for better back and forth communication with users
  • Expanded group format for testing multiple users at same time
  • More flexibility in directing user tests.
  • Scheduled testing times so possibility for mutual engagement with tester.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2020

Quick with long-term research capabilities, but could use a facelift.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Participant turnaround is same day — usually within an hour or two.
  • Competitive analysis can be conducted on any public facing products.
  • Usability testing can be standardized with the ability to export results.
  • Could benefit from templates for standard research forms (SUS, NPS, SEQ, etc) with calculated results.
  • Sharing video highlights could be easier — it can be complicated to just send colleagues a snippet.
  • Integration with other tools could expand usage (Optimal Workshop, InVision, etc).
  • Usability analytics could use some controls (track specific task time, clicks, etc).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2020

A great platform at an affordable price for many SMBs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Participant pool: there is almost no limit to finding our audience.
  • Platform ease of use: the platform is extremely easy to use and we are able to get our tests up and running quickly.
  • Testing turnaround: most of our tests are able to be completed in a number of hours instead of scheduling interviews and waiting days. This allows us to pivot quickly.
  • If you're not experienced in asking the right questions you won't get what you need unless you bring in expert resources.
  • The testing pool in certain geographic areas like China are difficult if not impossible to source.
  • Most of the testers are great but you'll likely need to do a few retests because of poor quality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2020

Great product, but requires a significant investment of time to get benefits

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to set up tests; tasks are suggested, or you can create your own.
  • Recruitment is very fast; you will typically see results within minutes or hours.
  • The web interface makes it easy to watch videos, and there's a lot of additional functionality in the premium tier (which we haven't used).
  • A lot of "quality of life" enhancements are locked in the premium tier.
  • Limited ability to recruit based on demographics (i.e, no ability to recruit people of color specifically).
  • Watching the videos quickly becomes quite a bit of work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2020

Great for fast feedback from unbiased participants

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very fast turnaround; great when I'm on a quick timeline.
  • General population; participants are less likely to be a superfan of our product and more likely to be very honest.
  • Ability to show webpages (including google slides, which has been very helpful for us), apps, or simply ask people to talk; very versatile.
  • Easier to test beta builds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2020

Helps you do the job.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Exports findings to a usable Excel file.
  • Marks video key areas and facilitates tags and note-taking from user videos and video clip creation.
  • Can upload our own videos and take notes and make clips.
  • The “folders” are not well designed for organizing tests and drafts.
  • You need to email support to delete tests that have started (no way to delete past tests.
  • Note tags seem to be global and so can get messy. It would be great if there was a way to manage, rename, and delete tags, as these add up. It would also be an improvement if you could make families of tags or keep them isolated by projects in some way so that you don’t always see tags from every test.
  • The formatting of test questions uses strange symbols and is inconsistent. Would benefit from a WYSIWYG standard editor.
  • Would be nice to be able to allow us to easily add a pass, fail, difficulty, or not applicable for each task.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2020

I definitely would recommend UserTesting.com

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The panels are very good.
  • Their customer support is quick and helpful.
  • Their recordings and all of the features that come along with them are fantastic.
  • The panels are very good, but could always be improved. No-shows can be frustrating.
  • UserTesting.com could expand their platform to include more features outside of just usability testing (surveys, etc.).
  • The live conversations could allow for more than 5 users per study.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

A Researcher's dream platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Screening criteria.
  • Test writing format is very easy.
  • Analysis is super easy.
  • Can be slightly more affordable for smaller companies to afford it.
  • Should have budget friendly options for smaller teams who don’t have funding.
  • More logins for larger teams for more people to run tests even though testing volume could potentially be low.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

UserTesting is a must-have for uncovering customer feedback and usability insights about your product.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's fast. Usually you can get results within hours.
  • It's great at helping discover insights, cutting clips, identifying patterns and summarizing results.
  • It's easy to use and set up tests.
  • It makes sharing results and data with the rest of the team simple.
  • I wish you could delete a test.
  • I want to be able to test across other platforms, such as TVs and connected devices.
  • There should be a better way to organize and search for clips, tests and results.
  • IT'S EXPENSIVE.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2020

Quick feedback that speeds up the product development process!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick responses. When we send out a test, we normally get all of our tests back within a day or so (depending on the screener), which is great for quick timelines and feedback.
  • Ease of setting up a test. Putting in your screener questions and setting up your test is user-friendly and very easy to complete. You can also duplicate a test, which has helped us a lot in the past.
  • Customer support. When we have an issue with a test or participant, customer support is always very helpful and quick to respond. They're no-questions-asked when we ask to replace a test for any reason.
  • We've come across some participants who are there to sneak by screeners and are there to make money. These users aren't our target and it's frustrating to have to replace tests when that happens.
  • As a tech company, we are also looking for niche or technical users. Sometimes they're hard to find and takes a while to recruit. We also sometimes get the same users taking multiple of our tests because there are only so many of certain types of people in the pool.
  • The transcript is hard to go through. We have a lot of abbreviations and technical terms that the transcription doesn't pick up.
Read this authenticated review

About UserTesting

UserTesting aims to enable every organization to deliver the best customer experience powered by human insight. The vendor states that with UserTesting’s on-demand Human Insight Platform, companies across industries can make accurate customer-first decisions at every level, at the speed business demands.

UserTesting Competitors

UserTesting Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

UserTesting Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No