Zuora Reviews

260 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (101-125 of 135)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 11, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Zuora for our billing platform for our Saas based accounting software. Currently is it used in our finance department for our core product and we will be implementing our second software vertical onto Zuora in the near future. It has allowed us to bill our customers effectively and efficiently creating more automation for our AR processing.
  • Payment processing automation - It allows us to process payments and invoices effectively and efficiently to our customer base on a monthly basis.
  • The integration with Salesforce.com works well - We use Salesforce.com company wide between all departments and it allows us to have the quoting from our sales team flow seamlessly into the Zuora subscription creation.
  • There are some basic billing features that would be helpful - for example having the ability to run a customer statement for an account showing invoices and payments. We receive this request frequently and wish there was a streamlined option for this.
  • While the reporting is continuing to improve, the report building feature is a bit clunky and cumbersome to build recurring reporting.
Zuora has worked for our business model as a SaaS company. We have found the billing for usage based products to be quite beneficial for the monthly billing usage.
Currently our pricing is pretty simple and we have not needed to use the "packing" feature. We do not offer the ability for discounted pricing for bundling but have been able to utilize the product base features to set up our billing requirements accordingly.
Read this authenticated review
July 08, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I implemented customizations on the Salesforce platform to address product gaps in the Zuora platform that did not meet the business use cases of the end user.

The Zuora platform itself was used by the company to process payments of our clients, but from what I recall the setup of the system was not done correctly and the integration between Zuora and NetSuite was shaky at best and never worked.
  • Salesforce integration was decent
  • REST and SOAP API was good
  • Most of the support staff was responsive when tickets were submitted
  • Development of the platform and other products seemed to be driven by customer demands rather than core business use cases. This ended up adding a lot of bloat unneeded complexity to the core platform as well as the Zuora to NetSuite integration
  • The Zuora to NetSuite integration is pretty awful and should definitely be rebuilt
  • Stick with a consistent UI instead of changing it (5.100 -> 6.0 -> 7.0)
  • Better use of standard salesforce rather than janky customizations all over the place. A good example would be the use of Product2 to support forecasting, but custom objects still hang off of that and are being used to support a product catalog.
  • Credit Card integration was pretty bad in terms of being able to determine errors from the processor or from Zuora
The Zuora platform can handle very simplistic use cases of the billing model or product model easily for recurring billing, but the ability to support anything else is shaky at best.

The concept of accepting down payments by the end user's customers requires the need to jump through many hoops because of the object model in order to support it.
Through the many implementations that I've done, the flexibility is not truly there. Many times we had to perform customizations from either the Salesforce side to perform programatic amendments against the subscription in order to handle different use cases that the end user needed to support their business.

This seemed to be the norm and as such leads me to believe that the Sales team was focused on getting something signed and promising features that were not easily supported.
Read this authenticated review
June 29, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is our billing software. It is used primarily by the finance department but also used in other departments. It addresses our invoicing, and customer data storage needs.
  • Zuora does a great job calculating tough subscriptions and auto -generating credits
  • Constantly improving with new versions.
  • Amendments to detailed subscriptions are not allowed.
  • You must delete and rebuild the subscription in order to change certain information.
  • Support response time is slower than I would expect sometimes.
If you have a very basic standard billing structure, you could go with a less 'fancy' software than Zuora.
We utilize the unique subscription capabilities on a daily basis with many of our tough, manual bill customers.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
I am always impressed with both the turn around time of a request and the detail at which they offer to solve my issue.
Zuora came onsite with us for a day and I was very impressed with the level of attention they gave us and the feedback.
Yes - Went perfectly smooth.
Read this authenticated review
January 05, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zuora Insights to understand how our customers use our website, what makes them decide to purchase the offering, and how to keep them engaged.
  • Straightforward interface for developing queries at Group, Account, and User levels.
  • Flexibility for exporting query results to further analyze using other tools.
  • Data analytics consultation for developing more in-depth metric indicators.
  • Ability to query and explore Actions in a manner similar to Accounts, Groups and Users and customize charts (instead of having to export and rebuild them).
  • More flexibility in query building (e.g., deeper nesting).
  • Integration with MailChimp and Qualtrics to manage email campaigns.
Zuora Insights is quite well suited to get a better look at what has happened in the past and digest it in a fairly straightforward way. It would be even more powerful if it provided some automated analytical capabilities to point to potential patterns of use or trends that may be of interest but have been overlooked.
The response is on time as promised and always on point.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora Insights to gauge engagement with our product and to see trends and buying signals of someone using a trial of our product. I can easily see if there are parts of our tool that the trial user has not utilized so that I know how to check in and make suggestions to maximize their experience.
  • Identifies which users are actively engaged and using our product compared to average or heavy users of our product.
  • Notifies [us] of buying signals, such as heavy use of particular features of our product.
  • Displays data in graphs so I can see if a user's engagement is trending up or down.
  • So far it's very intuitive.
We find a lot of value in using Zuora Insights for trial installs and pilot groups to ensure they are off to a strong start on our product. We also use it to see if there are certain features that are not heavily used. For heavy users of our product, we can see the features they use most often and can see where we really deliver value.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company utilizes the Zuora system to invoice our Managed Service client contracts and for the corresponding revenue recognition. The revenue reports it can generate are used during our period closes to assist us with our journal entries and supporting schedules. It is just the Finance team that uses the system.
  • The site is very user friendly for the most part. Without much training, I was able to navigate through the system, and find what I needed.
  • One major pro is how automated the billing feature of Zuora is. Once everything is set up correctly, then the creation of invoices and submission to the clients takes minimal time and manual effort.
  • The amendment feature for subscription setup makes adjustments to an invoice/contract very difficult. My company in particular has very intricate contracts with projects that don't all begin in the same month. In addition we have annual prices increases, so adjusting the rate plans within our subscriptions takes more time and effort than it should. For example, if the start date of a project/rate plan changes, it shouldn't take two amendments to change the date (one to remove and one to re-add correctly). It should just be a more simple edit feature.
  • I would also like to see one central location where we can view only our company's clients, and an invoicing schedule of what will be billed each month. We work for a company that has multiple entities using Zuora, and we see all of the other entities' data. I would like to see a simple filter function that would allow us to only see data pertaining to our entity.
  • Another missing feature is a central location where we can pull the total invoiced amounts to date for each of our clients by project/rate plan including the corresponding invoice numbers and status of invoice.
  • Would also like a way to enter a reference ID for each usage project/rate plan revenue schedule. Each period when we pull the revenue report, we have to go in and manually enter the ID
Zuora is a perfect billing system for projects/services that are fixed monthly fees with no variables. For more intricate rate plans that have a lot of possible adjustments, it is not as well suited.
No, we have not used this feature. I was also unaware of this feature.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zuora in our billing department. The quote is created in Salesforce and then sent to zbilling where a bill run is performed and invoices generated.
  • Strict control over subscriptions start/end dates
  • Control over cancellations; billing is stopped right away
  • Autopost and Autoemail feature (although not able to use this feature in production just yet)
  • Not able to generate a report for billing in home base currency (we deal with billing in multiple currencies)
  • Does not accommodate fractional terms (contracts must have full number of months) therefore it is difficult to make products co-terminus
  • A negative invoice can't be directly applied to an existing invoice to offset the charge
Well suited - Prepaid subscriptions such as Netflix.
Anything else - does not work b/c of lack of flexibility in custom billing (split invoice is the only custom billing option and that one has limitations)
We were able to create catalogs for several products and that is beneficial although hard to manipulate from a Salesperson perspective if a custom tier is needed.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has used Zuora since 2013 across multiple product channels, payment frequencies, and currencies. Our Financial Operations Department uses Zuora exclusively for all credit card and manual invoicing accounts. Zuora is integrated with Salesforce as well as NetSuite. Our self service customers receive automated invoice e-mails upon payment and our sales assisted customers receive invoices originating from Salesforce.
  • Zuora has a powerful reporting function allowing a ton of useful information to be extracted.
  • It can be tailored to fit your particular business needs.
  • It produces an attractive invoice that is simple and can incorporate purchase order numbers, VAT, etc.
  • For invoices that are already posted, it only adjusts the Grand Total rather than individual line items. Customers are occasionally confused by this assuming the adjusted invoice is incorrect.
  • Zuora has several shortcomings when it comes to coupon calculations especially when an invoice is adjusted.
  • On invoice adjustment items, the drop down menus change order reducing workflow efficiency.
Zuora is a great choice for a subscription model billing option when your customers are small/midsize businesses or consumers. It becomes increasingly more cumbersome for Enterprise Fortune 500 customers with multiple entities or Parent/Child billing relationships.
I don't have visibility into our Zuora pricing/value proposition. We have a very integrated/customized platform with the highest level of support.
Read this authenticated review
March 21, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Zuora to bill and track usage for some of our volume sales products. This allows us to manage billing, credit memos and revenue much better than the method we used before implementing Zuora.
  • Complete feature set with clean user interface
  • Easy to create reports
  • Functional integration with other key systems that we use
  • Some of the features are not as intuitive such as the way termed billing is set up in the subscription level. It is very difficult to figure which features should be toggled on or off depending on the particular scenario we are dealing with. The naming conventions do not seem intuitive if you are not a billing expert.
  • Since Zuora is very date driven, maybe determine if there are certain date features that could be eliminated...to avoid confusion.
  • Make it easier to send customers payment receipts on demand. A toggle switch on the account for "payment received" would be nice.
Zuora is very good for volume customers and volume business models.
We have achieved this benefit for the most part, however, creating certain subscription and term settings depending on a specific customer requirement, can be quite difficult. 90% of the time it is fine, but for some customers' requirements, Zuora can be a little confusing. Also we nave the need to sometimes suspend accounts for non-pay and currently I do not believe Zuora has the ability to do this without completely cancelling the subscription or removing the product.
Read this authenticated review
March 21, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Zuora to manage recurring subscriptions for multiple product lines in an online advertising sales organization.We were able to migrate from another vendor to Zuora in a seamless manner, and the support has been fantastic. We've scaled our business around how flexible Zuora has been for us, and we're introducing new product lines into Zuora when we monetize them.
  • Zuora is fantastic at calculating prorations and adjusting invoices and credits automatically.
  • Zuora makes creating invoice receipts simple, while looking great and providing tons of details.
  • Zuora is flexible and integrates with many other services and products with minimal tweaking.
  • Data exports and reporting is powerful but not very intuitive.
  • Adding dashboards with visual charts would be fantastic for at-a-glance monitoring.
  • Exporting invoices for a full year with each payment as a line item would be fantastic for annual statements for customers.
Zuora is fantastic for recurring subscriptions and for reporting.
We have been able to create all kinds of product pricing and packages with Zuora to fit our needs. Some packages are fixed price, some are impression based advertising, some are one-off charges, and Zuora handles them all. We've integrated Zuora products to sync with our CRM and track subscriptions and ad packages seamlessly.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is currently utilized for all billing functions in our organization. This encompasses invoice generation, payment processing, credits, etc. Zuora reporting functionality is also used frequently to provide information to both customers and internal sales representatives when needed. Multiple departments have Zuora access, however Zuora usage remains primarily with the billing team.
  • Easy to navigate and very well laid out.
  • Contains a multitude of functions, including dispatching automated notices such as past due reminders, expiring credit card notices, etc.
  • Payment processing and invoice adjustments are quick and easy.
  • Very stable platform. In the rare case that we experience an issue of some kind, the support response is lightning-fast.
  • No real built-in function to credit an account for a future (yet-to-be-invoiced) billing period. Alternatives are available, but not ideal.
  • Aside from usage-based billing, not geared towards invoicing in arrears (for services rendered).
  • Making multiple account adjustments without the aid of an API interface can be cumbersome.
Work can be somewhat time-consuming when multiple adjustments are needed without the aid of an API. Outside of that scenario, the interface is extremely well laid out and easy to navigate. System catalogs a great amount of detail, but presents it in a manner that is easy to follow. Core functions such as payment processing and invoice generation are a breeze.
Zuora's product catalog and ability to sustain multiple prices / rate plans has certainly been utilized by our organization.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used accross the organization for virtually all of our subscription management and billing needs. As a SAAS based company it's primay purpose is to manage the subscription lifecycle of our customers.
  • It keeps a record of material changes to subscriptions in versions. These can be reported and and researched as needed.
  • It is cloud based which minimizes administrative overheard of the system
  • The billing rules are flexible
  • Zuora rates subscriptions based on time, not usage. If you sell value to your customers in usage (not time) this could be an issue when customer upgrade mid-term.
  • Usage is marked as processed through the date of the last run invoice against that subscription and charge, even if zuora didn't rate a charge (invoice) against it.
  • Being cloud based it means that any data modifications of any size have to be done against cloud based API's, orders of magnitude slower than equivalent on prem/sql based solutions.
Zuora is most appropriate when you are your services based on time, not consumption of usage. It also is very light when it comes to maintenance of the product catalog. It does not have built-in product selection rules, dependencies, requirements, "similar" product suggestions etc. All of that logic, if needed would have to be built on top of Zuora.
Zuora's API is flexible, but will require professional services or in house development staff to become familiar to leverage anything that isnt available "out of the box".
The product catalog within Zuora provides a number of options for how you bill your customers for products and services but provides very little intelligence/meta-data around how those products interact with each other (business rules about what can and should and can't be sold together is not present). Support for ecomm scenarios like coupons, promotions, discounts have to be build outside Zuora proper via API integrations.
Questions are answered quickly and first level support is responsive.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By the back-end systems team to manage customer subscriptions and bill charges.
  • Managing subscriptions and charges, as well as monthly usage that we upload.
  • API requests sometimes return errors, even though the change was applied, which causes double billing.
  • Payments sometimes get stuck in processing and require opening a ticket to address.
  • The API does not allow basic things like creating a Payment run, making it out of sync with the user interface.
  • The service goes down more often than I'd like.
If you have a small business that you want to manually manage, it's simple enough and works well enough. If you want to implement a large scale, highly performant and durable application integration, it's difficult to manage and has lots of "gotchas".
We craft usage charges that are tailored to our business needs, which works fairly well; discounts and prorated charges with discounts don't really meet our needs however.
The support team is very enthusiastic and attempts to be helpful; usually the issue is technical expertise with complex problems and getting responses from the engineering teams on difficult problems.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora in the finance department for all billing and collection needs.
  • I like the main navigation page - it includes a menu bar and pages with hotlinks to more detailed data.
  • The subscription feature is very manual and can be cumbersome to edit to account for sales order changes. Instead of having one main page where all edits can be made in a single snapshot one must instead drill down to each individual product, make a single change and then save 3 times for each kind of date (contract effective date, service date, acceptance date) thereby triplicating effort. Date conflicts constantly arise which require creative rigging to make the system bill properly.
  • Only a limited data is shown on the main page and some data is lost by going to the View All option (.ie.: Created By). It would be nice to have a scroll down option within the main page instead of having to navigate off the page and lose the continuity of how data is visually shown.
  • After editing usage for a single client record the system brings up all clients instead of focusing on just the one client's usage history.
  • Zuora seems "buggy" after updates. Functionality seems to be altered without warning. For example, where once we were able to delete a Cancel Amendment command to a subscription we lost that ability for some reason for a a few months. Then it magically came back intermittently for random client records.
Zuora is not well suited for easily tracking change orders.
Zuora enables flexible pricing and packaging by allowing users to enter detailed product data.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Zuora for less than a year. We started in July 2015. Our company was a small family company of about 300 employees or so around the globe. We were bought by a large corporation in June. We are a consulting firm in the hospitality business mostly. Although we do other venues as well such as sporting events, retail etc. Our consultants go out into the field and anonymously check to be sure that whomever they are inspecting are following guidelines set forth by the company. For example we will go to hundreds of Marriott hotels each year to check and be sure they are up to par in all aspects (e.g. room, food, personnel, etc.).
  • Recurring invoices are easy to produce
  • Invoices look ok
  • We are not a subscription based business. All invoices have to be created using usage files. What once took us 5 minutes or less now takes 15 minutes or more.
  • I have yet to receive an answer to a question from support when there has been a problem. The typical answer is I don't know why that happened.
  • Instructions in the knowledge center are not very clear and very hard to follow.
  • Templates used for mass entries are extremely confusing.
  • Every time an invoice is created we have to wait about five minutes and make sure that we receive an email that says the invoice creation was a success, which really slows down progress when things are busy.
  • I can think of very little that makes this system user friendly.
It's clearly only meant for subscription based businesses so I have no idea why we are using it in our department. It's almost like this system has a mind of it's own, what works one day does not work the next day. The training we received was beyond useless.
I have no answer for this question because I am not at all involved in this process. My only involvement is creating hundreds of invoices each month which takes way longer than it should.
Read this authenticated review
March 17, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora's main function within my company is to bill customers. Specifically we utilize Zuora to generate invoices and to run customer and billing reports. While I cannot speak to the billing aspect, as my main responsibility is tax, Zuora is helpful to us during an audit when we are required to provide invoice details for a given period.
  • Houses data in (what I assume as a non-tech guy) relational databases to make querying for data very powerful and customizable.
  • Customer information is on an "all in one" screen allowing the user to get relevant information.
  • The layout of the screens are not user friendly. A task of simply looking up a customer should not require user documentation. The simplest of tasks should be just that - simple. When a user clicks on the link to "customer accounts" Zuora, it should take you to a query page, not a list of all customers.
  • Data exports are very difficult and not intuitive. There are many people from many areas of the business accessing Zuora - it should not be that difficult to pull data out of Zuora. Perhaps the logic makes sense to the designers, but it doesn't make sense to the average user. Unfortunately we fall into the trap of running one or two types of data export because it takes too much time to figure out how to get what we need.
  • The system, in general, is slow when running a data export. The speed is not the main issue, the problem is that when a user runs a data export, all data exports appear in the processing screen. Therefore if a user needs to access a data export from the day before, they may have to (in my case) tab through 290 pages to get to their export because so many other jobs completed since theirs.
Zuora is well suited for billing operations, but they need to understand that there are other users in the business who may need to access Zuora. From a finance standpoint, it is not an easy system to navigate.
Read this authenticated review
March 17, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used throughout our organization to generate invoices, as well as process payments, and refunds. It is our most reliable and detailed billing resource.
  • Provides a central location for all billing transactions.
  • The running of reports is simple using the data exports tool.
  • The speed at which account searches return results.
Zuora is definitely best used as a billing platform for any small to medium sized company. A lot of the issues that are experienced deal with the interconnectivity with other applications we use, however there are many more pros than cons.
Zuora certainly offers many subscription and product editing tools that allow for the quick and easy adjustment of our service pricing when necessary.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used by the accounting/finance department to help aid with deferred revenue and current month revenue recognition. We were able to move from an Excel spreadsheet to a more accurate method to track our revenue on a daily basis. We have over 1,000 new subscriptions a month, so this is a better method and tool to help with tracking new members.
  • The deferred revenue report is a life saver. It's great now that it's a cumulative report can be pulled.
  • Journal entries are done thanks to having chart of accounts in the software. I just export them into Excel and I'm done.
  • The ease of looking for items using various search options, examples - number, name, payment reference.
  • The payment report makes it easy to reconcile with PayPal account.
  • When I close the month, the journal entries run then instead of having to run them myself.
  • Sometimes when we need to fix an account and aren't sure if we are doing it correctly, [we wish] that there would be a preview option to give us an idea of what would happe.n
  • When creating a report, can't seem to find some of the fields that are on a canned report.
Zuora is well suited for a business that has multiple subscriptions and options with those subscriptions. [You] can do add-ons later and not mess up the original product that was purchased.
We currently offer 4 package types and within those packages, different options. It's great because if we want to change the price, we can do it in one place and all the packages are updated. And we can add discounts/promotions with ease for a new product we are testing out. And that has been great with the different methods we want to use (percentage vs flat rate).
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Zuora across sales and finance in conjunction with Salesforce.com to manage all product subscriptions and invoicing. We use its price book for quoting as well, and its data is pulled to our other websites for renewal and product-add purposes.
  • Subscriptions are handled very well. They are flexible and easy to manage.
  • Invoicing and bill runs are also flexible and easy to manage.
  • The user interface in many places is obtuse and complicated.
  • The system has several inexplicable rules dealing with subscription amendments that should be removed or user-toggled.
  • The accounting backbone of the system is weak and could be more flexible.
The system appears to be designed primarily for monthly-type automated billing. We use it primarily for annual, piecemeal billing, however, and it holds up reasonably well there. Subscriptions are a far superior method to managing customer inventory, forecasting, and billing than what we used previously.
Aside from a specific situation involving tiered pricing that the system could not handle (% of enrollment-based pricing), we have been able to do most of what we needed to do.
Support usually responds quickly but is always slow to grasp the problem and rarely helpful without escalation. Part of the problem may be that we use the product in a slightly unconventional way.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used in my company to receive payment from customers for their subscriptions. On a daily basis it processes thousands of payments for our customers and it is very easy to use. It is the only payment program we use.
  • It is easy to use. Very straightforward and seamless for the employees of our company.
  • It is convenient for the customer as they do not need to worry about manual payment each month - all payments via credit card are processed automatically. For accounts wishing to pay by wire transfer or check, the system will automatically ship them an invoice via email.
  • Overall time-saver. Easy to cancel, easy to make amendments, easy to process payment and update billing information.
  • Not much room for improvement. I am not sure if it is the way we have it set, but we are unable to update the currency on a Zuora profile. We would have to create a whole new Zuora profile and select the correct currency, and cancel out the old one.
Any company that is a service based provider with customers that have a subscription, Zuora would fit their needs.
Yes, my company is constantly updating their plans and pricing. Zuora makes it easy to make these changes.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the entire company as our transactional quote to cash system of record. All deal flow and financial sales information flows through Zuora. It holds our SKUs, rate plans, and offers. We have integrated with Salesforce.com using Zuora's professional services help along with Accenture as a partner.
  • Minimizes SKU complexity
  • Integrates with top third party software
  • Integrates with multiple payment processors
  • Could use a bulk/batch SKU creation and maintenance tool
  • Move to RESTful APIs
  • Inherit rate plan names and make cloning easier
Zuora seems to be geared to relatively simple / minimal offering schemas. I'm not clear how a large catalog of offerings could be easily created and maintained. Bulk upload/update is lacking and would facilitate more complex product catalog management. Currency management is challenging and would also benefit from a bulk update utility.
The best I can say here is that Zuora does not dictate how we price and package our offering. It is flexible enough to allow the business to drive pricing and packaging. That said, currency management is a challenge and Zuora does create some limitations on total number of items in the Product Catalog and total number of currencies supported due to the lack of automation around uploading/updating large and complex offerings transacted in multiple currencies.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used across the organization, for billing and revenue recognition across subscription software, perpetual software and maintenance, and professional services. Our company was at the precipice of pivoting to a primarily subscription model, and we were struggling with systems not built for subscription management; crippling our ability to keep a complete view of our customers and to easily calculate subscription metrics.
  • Zuora's native integration with Salesforce.com and 360 sync allows for SFDC users visibility to important customer and subscription information without needing to access Zuora itself.
  • Zuora's customer success and global support services are extremely responsive.
  • Out of the box subscription metrics save time for finance.
  • Zuora is currently lacking traditional "Credit & Re-bill" functionality which can cause pain if billing is set up incorrectly, a tax exemption certificate or VAT ID is left out of the order, etc.
  • Revenue reporting is restricted to what is billed. If you have a multi-year annual billed subscription, the system will only record revenue for the first year. If you require out year waterfall reports, that needs to be custom built.
  • Some audit functionality is not quite there (i.e. changes to the product catalog are not logged in a way that are reportable).
  • While Zuora does basic revenue recognition well, advanced revenue recognition (such as in the case of multi-element arrangements) is not possible within the system.
Zuora is very well-suited out of the box for standard recurring billing subscriptions, both from an eCommerce and a sales assisted perspective. More customization is needed upfront to handle upfront billed subscriptions, orders with lines of varying subscription lengths, and orders which include both product and professional services.
The Zuora Product Catalog is incredibly well designed. The ability to add different rate plans, or update charges on existing rate plans, and immediately sync over to Salesforce (which is where we are doing our quoting) is highly valuable. Our time to set up a new product went from a few weeks to a day.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora as a billing service for our subscription business. It is the best product for subscription billing as it allows for updates mid subscription for upgrades and additional purchases. Zuora is only used by our finance team.
  • Subscription Billing - Other products haven't mastered the requirements of subscription billing like Zuora has. It is easy to use and make updates.
  • Data Exports - It is very easy to get any type of information you need form Zuora. Reports are very easily manipulated to return the data you need.
  • Connects to other Systems - Since we only use Zuora for billing for our subscription business, we sync over all of the data from Zuora to our main system. This is done pretty seamlessly with only a few kinks due to differences in systems.
  • A general search bar would make things easier. Currently you have to go to the correct tab, and make sure the appropriate drop down is selected or it will not return any results. It just makes for unnecessary extra clicks.
  • It would be helpful if you were able to save data exports that you regularly use so that you don't have to select the criteria every time you need to run it.
  • Currently you can not issue a single credit memo for an invoice. It creates individual adjustments or just a balance adjustment. This creates issues when syncing to our main system.
Zuora is perfect for subscription billing for smaller companies. Since Zuora's pricing is not set and is based on invoices, it can become quite expensive as your company grows.
Zuora is expensive, but necessary. As other systems fine tune their subscription billing functions, Zuora will need to increase user functionality and competitive pricing.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used by our company to power its next generation SaaS B2B platform. It serves many functions such as being the central host of the product catalog and being the subscription billing platform. It is integrated into our Salesforce.com instance where sales opportunities and quotes are managed. It is also integrated into our downstream fulfillment system where usage is incurred by customers.
  • Flexibility in product catalog options - lots and lots of options to set up our products in many different ways as we want to achieve different variations of behaviours.
  • Management of subscription lifecycle - supports amendment, renewal, cancellation very well for subscription business.
  • No easy way to sync changes to product catalog (such as addition of charges) to previously created subscriptions, aside from mass amendment.
  • Works well for 100% subscription business but not when business has both true time-based subscription services and usage-based transactional services.
  • Not yet a lot of options to customize towards specific billing options - although they are improving on that. Example, we needed prepay-with-drawdown which was not supported for years until recently.
Zuora is well suited for subscription business model, but challenging otherwise.
Our company offers a lot of products and services, each offered in different ways, and our customers have different buying behaviour for different services. All of these have resulted in an inherently complex pricing and packaging needs. We have definitely benefited from Zuora by having such flexibility in setting up varieties of packaging options.
Read this authenticated review
June 29, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a department that has a subscription based customer base. Zuora handles the catalog, billing and revenue recognition.
  • Zuora handles the customer accounts, payment methods and subscription relation really well.
  • Their customer support is really awesome. They are very prompt.
  • Enhancing their rest APIs. They have limitations which the SOAP APIs don't have.
Yes, we did achieve flexible pricing for a given product by giving discounts or overriding the amount presented in the catalogue.
Read this authenticated review

What is Zuora?

Zuora is software for subscription businesses. The software is designed to provide an end-to-end subscription management solution that includes billing, finance, commerce and insights, helping users establish a subscription business model and establish, nurture, and monetize recurring customer relationships.

Zuora spans across commerce, billing, collections, revenue recognition, and analytics. The vendor says their products aim to help users:

  1. Go to market with their subscription offerings, then grow and retain their customer base across multiple channels
  2. Automate billing, collections, and revenue recognition to scale their business and support their go-to-market strategies
  3. Deeply understand their subscribers and the health of their business at all times

Zuora is headquartered in Foster City, CA with 11 offices around the world. The company services over 800 clients, including HP, Dell, Financial Times, Box, YP.com, Vivint, Hubspot, and Schneider Electric.

Zuora Features

Has featureProduct Catalog
Has featureSubscriptions & Amendments
Has featureZuora for Salesforce
Has featureBilling & AR Settlement
Has featurePayment Processing
Has featureRevenue Recognition
Has featureGL Integration

Zuora Video

Overview of Zuora: The world’s only subscription order-to-cash platform.

Zuora Integrations

Zuora Competitors

Zuora Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP (enterprise resource planning) systems that does not focus exclusively on billing.

What is Zuora's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Zuora?

The most common users of Zuora are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.