TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/r7/Uk/1PI341WEV9CU.PNGAdRoll: A True WinnerThe marketing department uses AdRoll to retarget users who visit our site as well as prospect lookalike users who have not visited. The problem we are addressing is the ability to capture and follow users as they browse the web. AdRoll allows for support of Facebook and Instagram retargeting/prospecting, which is key as we also attempt to grow our social following.,Retargeting Prospecting Trackability,Management of old campaigns Ability to delete drafts More social integration,10,ROI Social Growth Database Growth,Facebook for Business, Twitter Ads, Google Ads (formerly AdWords) and Google Analytics,Both,Campaign Management/Monitoring Scheduling Segmentation,None,10Easy to Use and Positive ROI from Ads!AdRoll is being used across our organization by the marketing team for retargeting ads. It is cheaper than using AdWords and more efficient in reaching a larger range of audiences. We didn't have a method to express remarketing ads, so this was perfect for us.,Customizability of visual ads is easy and efficient. I can make it look the way I want it with the words I need to use. I think the reach not being limited to just Google but rather accross multiple channels is an advantage for AdRoll. Has a great support team that is always ready to help out. They were particularly helpful when we were first trying to set up our first ad campaign.,They could make their documentation more easy to understand such that it is more user-friendly for first time users, so we don't have to reach out to support for more information. They could have the functionality of more design options on the page. I had to externally make the ad have the background I wanted and upload it. But having editing capabilities on site would be easier. I would like to see them expand into other aspects of advertising, not just remarketing and retargeting ads.,8,We have had an increase of returning leads to our website. We have a lower bounce rate on people coming in from ads due to targeting accurately. We have been spending less on ads for more relevant leads.,AdWords,B2BAdRoll - Solid platform for display and retargeting across web and FacebookWe have used AdRoll for a variety of purposes, including prospecting and retargeting through the web display and Facebook. It's used primarily by our marketing team. The main business problem it addresses has to do with how we do brand and awareness marketing, and supplement our other marketing efforts, especially with retargeting.,Provides a unified interface for running Facebook and web prospecting and retargeting campaigns Very solid reporting tools Excellent and helpful account managers who really help you get the most out of the product,Conversion reporting would be the big one. Some aspects of what they do are obfuscated, so you can't always get the best reporting depending on what channel you're running (web or facebook, retargeting, etc). Better integration with Facebook creative units. Right now it feels like you don't get access to all of the same newer formats and capabilities you get when running with Facebook direct. Better creative management. It can get a bit unwieldy managing many different variations of creative.,7,On a positive front, we've been able to measure some impact from AdRoll campaigns - we actually did an A/B test to look at how many view-through conversions were recorded for people who saw our ads vs seeing PSA's and saw a significant lift. On a more negative front, the large majority of conversions we've seen through AdRoll have been view through conversions, which has made it more difficult to track which conversions specifically were due to AdRoll, and measuring has been more difficult (although their Enhanced Conversion Tracking helps some, although it only works for a subset of campaigns we run). It's honestly hard to tell what the overall impact has been, as we actually haven't been running with it the past few months, and it's been hard to measure a noticeable decrease in overall signups/volume.,Facebook and mediamath,B2BAdRoll: The OK Remarketing ToolWe utilize AdRoll for remarketing events, new products, solutions, and featured content to previous website visitors. This is currently only used by marketing but is integrated into both customer and new prospect marketing. This helps us to target people who come to our main website but haven't taken a 'hot' action yet.,Remarketing specific pages to a target audience within our wheelhouse. We can quickly and easily set this up; no wasted time is accumulated.,The ad sizes are constricting. If you want to have a gif file, you're going to have to use the bare minimum in design. Support is not the best. They are not helpful and has resulted in multiple calls to support.,6,We have seen an increase in traffic to the key pages we've built campaigns around. Within the first week, we had a 70% increase in traffic. Results can take time to product ROI. We are not at a point where we can begin tracking ROI whereas with other we have been.,Quantcast Advertise and Shopify,B2BAdRoll is a powerful retargeting platformCurrently, AdRoll is being used solely for retargeting purposes which is managed by our demand gen marketing team. We have not explored the prospecting or email capabilities. We selected AdRoll due to their background in B2B marketing and ability to access multiple ad exchanges.,Ease of use Robust segment abilities Reach across multiple ad exchanges,B2B targeting capabilities (company size, job function/role),9,Retargeting has been a powerful channel Strong ROI and keeping prospects engaged,B2B
Unspecified
AdRoll
72 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

AdRoll Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

AdRoll
72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 72 vetted AdRoll reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-23 of 23)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Stefanie Cash profile photo
October 29, 2018

User Review: "AdRoll: A True Winner"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing department uses AdRoll to retarget users who visit our site as well as prospect lookalike users who have not visited. The problem we are addressing is the ability to capture and follow users as they browse the web. AdRoll allows for support of Facebook and Instagram retargeting/prospecting, which is key as we also attempt to grow our social following.
  • Retargeting
  • Prospecting
  • Trackability
  • Management of old campaigns
  • Ability to delete drafts
  • More social integration
AdRoll is great for those who have a strong creative department and want the ability to retarget users who land on their site. AdRoll is also great for prospecting as you can upload your database and AdRoll will prospect lookalikes. For folks who want to track users on social (Facebook and Instagram), AdRoll does wonders. You also have the ability to email prospects which is another great way to build a unique database.
Read Stefanie Cash's full review
No photo available
July 29, 2018

AdRoll Review: "Easy to Use and Positive ROI from Ads!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AdRoll is being used across our organization by the marketing team for retargeting ads. It is cheaper than using AdWords and more efficient in reaching a larger range of audiences. We didn't have a method to express remarketing ads, so this was perfect for us.
  • Customizability of visual ads is easy and efficient. I can make it look the way I want it with the words I need to use.
  • I think the reach not being limited to just Google but rather accross multiple channels is an advantage for AdRoll.
  • Has a great support team that is always ready to help out. They were particularly helpful when we were first trying to set up our first ad campaign.
  • They could make their documentation more easy to understand such that it is more user-friendly for first time users, so we don't have to reach out to support for more information.
  • They could have the functionality of more design options on the page. I had to externally make the ad have the background I wanted and upload it. But having editing capabilities on site would be easier.
  • I would like to see them expand into other aspects of advertising, not just remarketing and retargeting ads.
It is very well suited for easy targeting especially when it comes to visual ads in the remarketing and retargeting categories. As a small business, this option is also affordable for our use.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Higgins profile photo
February 09, 2018

Review: "AdRoll - Solid platform for display and retargeting across web and Facebook"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used AdRoll for a variety of purposes, including prospecting and retargeting through the web display and Facebook. It's used primarily by our marketing team. The main business problem it addresses has to do with how we do brand and awareness marketing, and supplement our other marketing efforts, especially with retargeting.
  • Provides a unified interface for running Facebook and web prospecting and retargeting campaigns
  • Very solid reporting tools
  • Excellent and helpful account managers who really help you get the most out of the product
  • Conversion reporting would be the big one. Some aspects of what they do are obfuscated, so you can't always get the best reporting depending on what channel you're running (web or facebook, retargeting, etc).
  • Better integration with Facebook creative units. Right now it feels like you don't get access to all of the same newer formats and capabilities you get when running with Facebook direct.
  • Better creative management. It can get a bit unwieldy managing many different variations of creative.
It's really well suited to being a central hub for your display campaigns across the web and Facebook.

I'd say that it's perhaps less appropriate if you want to get into the nitty gritty with what's possible with Facebook Direct - for the convenience of AdRoll you do sacrifice some capabilities to do more advanced advertising.
Read Justin Higgins's full review
Justina Logozzo profile photo
February 07, 2018

User Review: "AdRoll: The OK Remarketing Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize AdRoll for remarketing events, new products, solutions, and featured content to previous website visitors. This is currently only used by marketing but is integrated into both customer and new prospect marketing. This helps us to target people who come to our main website but haven't taken a 'hot' action yet.
  • Remarketing specific pages to a target audience within our wheelhouse. We can quickly and easily set this up; no wasted time is accumulated.
  • The ad sizes are constricting. If you want to have a gif file, you're going to have to use the bare minimum in design.
  • Support is not the best. They are not helpful and has resulted in multiple calls to support.
AdRoll is ideal for companies not interested or ready for PPC, but is wanting to venture into paid advertising. It works well for our events as well as our solutions to grow our brand awareness.

AdRoll is not ideal for very small companies, companies struggling with defining their target audience, or companies with limiting graphics resources. This is not a platform that will walk you through its abilities.
Read Justina Logozzo's full review
Logan England profile photo
February 06, 2018

Review: "AdRoll is a powerful retargeting platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, AdRoll is being used solely for retargeting purposes which is managed by our demand gen marketing team. We have not explored the prospecting or email capabilities. We selected AdRoll due to their background in B2B marketing and ability to access multiple ad exchanges.
  • Ease of use
  • Robust segment abilities
  • Reach across multiple ad exchanges
  • B2B targeting capabilities (company size, job function/role)
I think AdRoll is a great fit for any company looking to build a retargeting marketing channel. They're well suited for all verticals (B2B, B2C, Ecommerce). Being focused on B2B requires some additional features that almost all providers are currently lacking. I have been told that AdRoll is investing heavily in these additional features in 2018. Looking forward to seeing what comes.
Read Logan England's full review
Eric Kammer profile photo
February 06, 2018

User Review: "AdRoll for Healthcare Remarketing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a company that does marketing specifically in the healthcare sector. Due to this, we run into a lot of issues using remarketing through the Google AdWords interface. AdRoll has helped solve those issues by allowing us to purchase remarketing directly. The return on investment we've seen has been amazing.
  • Remarketing campaigns
  • Streamlined implementation for new campaigns
  • Great analytics and insights
  • Not as much functionality as I've seen with other software. The software is designed to be easy to use and streamlined so this leaves out some of the customization that you see with others.
  • Transparency on where your ads are displayed and how they're interacted with could be much better.
I think Adroll is strongest in its ease of use and is a simple to learn platform. The customer service team is fantastic and always ready to help answer any questions or aid in setup and optimization. That being said if you are looking to run a campaign where you want to test and adjust things on a microlevel Adroll isn't the best fit.
Read Eric Kammer's full review
Vincent Misiewicz profile photo
February 06, 2018

Review: "AdRoll - The Leading Retargeting Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an agency, our digital paid media department uses AdRoll for our web and social retargeting for e-commerce clients. It's relatively low maintenance and provides a modest ROI. We actually prefer the AdRoll interface to running retargeting in the Facebook ad manager due to the speed, simplicity, and ease of implementation. It saves us a good amount of time and is less expensive than most other comparable tools.
  • Much easier to set up dynamic retargeting than AdWords
  • Customer service is fairly responsive and is standard with all accounts
  • New reporting features are an upgrade and no longer require use of excessive filters
  • The "attribution" model is a little suspect. We use just a 1-day lookback window, as "view-thru" conversion value is difficult to measure.
  • For Facebook ads, you have to contact customer service to edit any ads. The approval of ads is unnecessarily long.
  • There is not a lot of control over the bidding and the actual fees are a little unclear.
E-commerce sites with a significant amount of SKUs are good candidates for dynamic retargeting on both the web and Facebook. Having the ability to serve these highly relevant ad creatives without having to create them manually, allows for more time spent customizing your strategy around high-value segments/users, rather than using budget on design hours. It is relatively affordable and we have found it to be a better use of budget than other platforms such as Gemini or Outbrain.
Read Vincent Misiewicz's full review
Lee Wheeler profile photo
February 06, 2018

AdRoll Review: "Give it a try"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AdRoll is a network of websites to show banner ads across . It’s larger than Google’s display network so it includes all kinds of websites!
  • Size of network
  • Ease of uploading materials
  • Ease of management
  • Billing is difficult on an agency level
  • Higher click costs
AdRoll is great for remarketing campaigns for a single client. AdRoll is not able to differentiate their billings between accounts and that complicates things for an agency.
Read Lee Wheeler's full review
No photo available
February 09, 2018

Review: "With AdRoll, Marketers Can Reach Their Audience Throughout the Entire Customer Journey with Personalized Messaging Using Advanced Segmentation."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I worked on the agency side, AdRoll was used by my entire Digital Marketing team of about 5-6. Where I'm currently at, a few Digital Marketing Specialists on our Corporate Marketing team use Adroll. It's a great tool for streamlining retargeting ad management, provides robust insights and reporting capabilities and integrates with our Marketing Automation platform, HubSpot.
  • Simple retargeting via integration with Marketing Automation platforms
  • Cross-platform ad personalization capabilities
  • Simplified campaign management and optimization
  • Improved level of support during the technical setup process would really improve the onboarding process
  • Consistent, proactive account management is key with organizations like AdRoll. A dedicated rep goes such a long way.
  • More granular reporting would help with back-end optimization and client recommendations
AdRoll is great for more advanced Marketing organizations with a robust CRM and Marketing Automation platform as it provides a scalable platform for targeting multiple different audiences along their entire customer journey. Those just starting out may not be able to leverage the tool to its potential without robust training/support.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2018

User Review: "AdRoll is easy to use but Expensive"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adroll was used by our company to expand our digital marketing reach for a key specific demographic and audience. It attempted to address our need for additional brand exposure with a limited budget as well as to help retain visitors to our website. The campaign goal was to increase as many conversions as possible.
  • Adroll is easy to set up and start
  • The user interface is quite intuitive without a learning curve
  • The control on adspend is much better when compared to competitors
  • Would be better to have more control over where ads appear similar to AdWords
  • A decrease in CPM (cost per thousand impressions) would be crucially beneficial
  • The option to perform CPC campaigns ala AdWords
AdRoll works well if you are looking to do generic brand marketing campaigns to increase visitor retention rates as well as for branding purposes. If you are looking at adroll as a cost-effective or cheaper alternative to traditional digital marketing then I warn you to look elsewhere as the CPMs can become very costly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

AdRoll Review: "Retarget Website Traffic and SaaS Users"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used AdRoll to retarget various groups of website visitors and product users to move them further down the funnel of becoming a paid user. Our solution was a freemium solution with both an individual and team paid plan. We had AdRoll deeply integrated to be able to track both website visitors as well as users.
  • Retarget website visitors based on the specific pages they visited
  • Retarget product users based on the pages/features they did OR did not use
  • Increase product usage by targeting high potential users with value of our paid solution
  • Increase product sign ups but targeting website visitors who are actively engaged with our brand but DID NOT sign up yet
  • When I was using AdRoll I don't think they had the ability to retarget on LinkedIn - that would be the ultimate retargeting platform but can't remember if this is already available or in the works
  • It's great to supplement the work you are already doing to get visitors to the website - use AdRoll to retarget people who have visited your website > visited X page OR done X action > to push them further along your funnel
  • It's also interesting to use to retarget users who you believe are high-value but HAVE NOT completed a specific action. For example, you could retarget your engaged users who DID NOT visit your plan upgrade page yet OR perhaps they did not discover a page/feature that is critical to them becoming an avid user.
  • It's not a fallback option for solving your traffic volume issues. You need a good amount of traffic for retargeting to be relevant.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 16, 2018

AdRoll Review: "User-friendly platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team uses AdRoll for retargeting and prospecting.
  • Creating prospecting lists to attract new users.
  • Making a user-friendly experience for retargeting.
  • An account management team to make success easy.
  • The focus on view through conversions isn't helpful for teams that need to track through the pipeline
  • ABM seems like a great tool, but the subscription cost is prohibitive
AdRoll prospecting does a great job of bringing in new clients through prospecting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 06, 2017

Review: "Love AdRoll as an easy to use retargeting tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use AdRoll in my role as a digital marketing manager to retarget our website visitors with display ads and Facebook ads. As a member of the lead gen/revenue marketing team, I am focused on converting new leads at the top of the marketing funnel. Adroll helps bring in a consistent number of conversions on our content each month, depending on what we are promoting in our display ads. AdRoll helps us keep website visitors engaged after they visit for the first time.
  • Ad placement. Our ads see good engagement where AdRoll places them.
  • Campaign customization. There are many targeting and budget options within the campaign setup.
  • Reporting. AdRoll provides simple, streamlined reporting on impressions, clicks, conversions, spend, etc.
  • Segmentation. It's pretty easy to set up conversion segments and track where we are seeing conversions.
  • I would like to see better attribution reporting. Some of AdRoll's new features try to tackle this but I haven't seen much value from this yet. Would love to know where my campaigns are overlapping, if specific people are contributing to impressions across multiple campaigns.
  • Examples of high performing display ads, suggestions on how to improve design and conversions.
  • Access to the prospecting campaigns. I'm super interested in using this feature but have not been given access or any information on how to get up and running.
AdRoll is super helpful if you are looking to re-engage specific segments of your website traffic. It works best if you have enough web traffic each month to set up ad groups that include and exclude groups of visitors for more targeted ad campaigns. AdRoll also offers great options for retargeting on Facebook which is usually super effective.
Read this authenticated review
Adam Lewis profile photo
March 14, 2017

Review: ""Over-Promise and Under-Deliver" - A Cautionary Tale About Using AdRoll"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were looking for a programmatic ad platform to help manage and optimize our larger clients' remarketing campaigns. Initially, we started with a couple clients who were interested in testing out the platform, or who had experience running it the past.
  • Campaign management
  • Access to premium inventory
  • Cross-platform management in a single UI
  • Full service management was the biggest selling point for us, but not a single campaign went live through our AdRoll reps without tracking errors, billing issues and lack of follow-through from their account teams. Our spend levels were high, which makes me wonder how much worse the customer service would have been if we were just spending a few thousand dollars per month.
  • Despite what they claim, AdRoll's interface is outdated (has not materially changed since 2012) and inefficient. We had to rely on their unresponsive account teams to do even the most basic updates.
  • Slow response time, despite clear service level commitments. Almost every element of our experience with their customer service can be summarized by "over-promise and under-deliver." When things went wrong, they were quick to apologize and make excuses, but the quality of service and response times never improved.
  • Attribution models are very generous to AdRoll campaigns. In one case, they attributed over a quarter of a million in eComm revenue to one of our clients based off less than $10k in ad spend. Even after adjusting down the view-through attribution windows, they still gave their campaigns a disproportionate amount of credit.
  • Finance team is not customer-facing. If you run into payment or refund issues, it will take months and many hours of back and fourth to get them resolved. We had to go through our account reps to get anything resolved, which took far more time that is would have directly with Google, Bing or Facebook.
  • Lack of billing transparency. AdRoll does not tell advertisers this, but they pre-bill for the following period's ad spend. This means that when advertisers put campaigns on pause, they will see a "credit" for future advertising, which is actually their own money. This comes across as deceptive and shady, especially given how hard it was to get refunds processed. For context, no other ad platforms we've used pre-bill for future advertising.

I highly recommend looking elsewhere for retargeting solutions. It may have started out as a leader, but it has become a big, slow, poorly managed organization. Their support teams are overworked and under-qualified, so it's really not realistic to rely on them. This would be OK if the interface was more efficient, but it's slow and very manual.

If you're looking for a manual, outdated platform to manage all remarketing campaigns in a single UI, AdRoll is a viable option. However, if you're looking for a qualified, reliable team to manage your remarketing campaigns, look elsewhere.

Read Adam Lewis's full review
No photo available
March 14, 2017

Review: "Get Your Retargeting Fix Accomplished Effectively With AdRoll..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for an agency and we've used AdRoll for both our own remarketing and for our clients. It's great to get access to a number of display inventories all in one location. It reduces the amount of work my team needs to do to ensure we're displaying our clients ads in as many places as possible.
  • Self Service Platform is easily designed and makes getting a new campaign or making changes easy.
  • Reporting provides clear insight into the platforms and creative driving sales.
  • The pricing is reasonable for the time savings that AdRoll produces.
  • Support could be more knowledgeable and engaging when helping with problems or just reaching out occasionally to send more recommendations.
  • More third party integrations would be nice to see.
  • Call tracking capabilities.
I think AdRoll would be best suited for small to mid size businesses or any company that doesn't have the resources to manage the channels separately. I think with larger companies it might be better for them to manage a few of the remarketing channels individually. Their platform is also well suited for getting new team members involved with remarketing and their reporting is easy to translate across all departments.
Read this authenticated review
Kelly Saux profile photo
October 14, 2016

AdRoll Review: "On a roll"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AdRoll supports our retargeting efforts domestically and abroad. Compared to other retargeting vendors, I find that AdRoll puts a lot of emphasis on providing its clients with a robust account team that does 90% of the heavy-lifting to manage the campaigns. From campaign set-up to ad creation and reporting, you can rely on AdRoll to be an extension of your marketing team. We communicate with them on a weekly basis and have bi-monthly calls. All this at no extra cost. If you have a small in-house marketing team, this can be very valuable.
  • Dynamic retargeting ads have been very effective with AdRoll. And they've allowed us to slice and dice our catalog very effectively.
  • Segmentation! Segmentation! Segmentation! From behavioral audience segmenting, to URL based segments, or CRM audiences, there's a lot of flexibility in the platform.
  • Reporting by geo would be nice.
  • Integration with enterprise-level ESPs. Updating CRM lists is currently inefficient.
AdRoll is a good solution, but may not be appropriate for a new website or a site with low traffic. Make sure you set some clear CPA goals.
Read Kelly Saux's full review
Johan Kuikka profile photo
September 06, 2016

AdRoll Review: "Easy to use Advertising and Revenue maker"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as remarketing tool both for display and for remarketing on Facebook. The company is very serviceable and wants to develop your business as well as their own. They have good communication through their web interface. I also been in touch with their specialists which were helpful and professional.
  • Essy to use
  • Good overview of your campagins
  • Solid analytics and easy tracking pixel install process.
  • Well I wish I had time to do better follow ups and initiate more campagins with them.
I think their strong suit is in the display and the RTB banner serving so it is a good provider for anyone who wishes to have better revenue and ROI on their campaigns.
Read Johan Kuikka's full review
Billy Barker profile photo
March 24, 2016

User Review: "AdRoll keeps traffic 'rolling' in"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AdRoll in our marketing department to retarget visitors to our website who did not complete one of our key forms. The AdRoll banners are used to attract visitors back to our site in hopes of converting them into a lead to pass to our sales department.
  • Simple, easy to use interface and dashboard for reporting on metrics.
  • Easy access to support via a chat button button in the lower right corner of the screen.
  • Uploading artwork is simple, just drag and drop.
  • Setting up visitor segments can be a bit confusing, each time we need to make changes we have to reach out to our AdRoll rep.
  • Needs more integrations. Would like to integrate AdRoll with Pardot and possibly our CRM.
  • I would like our AdRoll rep to reach out to us more often to check in, help with things, or offer best practices to help us get the most out of their solution.
We've only ever used AdRoll for retargeting and been happy with their product and the results. Companies should clearly test a few similar products and decide what they need and if the product does that. AdRoll is well suited for us.
Read Billy Barker's full review
Adam Sabados profile photo
March 18, 2015

User Review: "AdRoll Keeps Us Rolling"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adroll has boosted our remarketing efforts across the whole company due to it's ease of use and quick set up. The easy set up and metrics make it simple to explain to marketing teams, and track and show results.
  • It has easy set up, you can have a campaign set up in minutes.
  • The metrics are easy to read and provide the information we're looking for.
  • The support team have been helpful and responsive.
  • Their invoicing process can be confusing. The invoices do not provide enough information, such as an itemized list of the amount spent on each campaign in that invoice, which campaigns are included in the billed invoice, and a date range.
  • Editing campaigns (dates, budget, etc) can be difficult once a campaign has started.
  • The "campaigns purchased" vs. "deliveries billed" invoices can get confusing at times.
The main hurdle is web traffic. If a new site is launched it likely wont have enough web traffic to make a remarketing campaign effective.
Read Adam Sabados's full review
Nadalie Dias profile photo
April 19, 2014

AdRoll Review: "Is this retargeting platform right for you?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using adroll as our retargeting platform, it helps your non-profit clients meet their fundraising and advocacy goals. It allows us to convert users who have left our clients site before completing our desired call to action. Adroll allows us to address the fact that 98 % of online users do not convert within their first visit to a website. It also allows us to stay top of mind for those users who have already expressed an interest in our client's charitable organization.
  • Segmentation - They allow your segmentation to be extremely granular and the setup is pretty easy and streamlined.
  • Cookie Splitting- they allow you to split your cookie pool which is great if you are doing any sort of testing, but do not have a tag management solution.
  • tech solutions- when new products are released by Twitter and Facebook they are usually one of the first to receive access to this inventory.
  • Self -serve implementation of 3rd party ad tags
  • Self-serve adjustments of frequency capping
  • I wish they provided you a latency graph or showed you how soon after a user saw an ad they converted so that you adjust your cookie duration and bidding strategy more effectively.
If your client has a large budget you may want to look at a Demand Side Platform that has retargeting capabilities. While AdRoll does purchase inventory based on traditional display criteria (i.e; demographic and psychographics information ) it does not allow you to do so in a self-service manner. DSPs tend to have greater breadth of insights and reporting capabilities as well and their UIs allow for a lot more self- service in setting up your display campaign.

Key Questions I would ask are;
  • What does your backend look like? Is it easy to get your coders to passback macros? Can you easily apply a tag across your entire site?
  • What is your company's/ campaign goal?
  • Do you sell products?
  • Do you have a restrictive budget?
  • Can you creative your own banner ads ?
Read Nadalie Dias's full review
Alya Grinberg profile photo
April 22, 2014

User Review: "AdRoll in Progress"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using AdRoll to do Facebook re-targeting for our company and were able to generate some conversions at good value.
  • Facebook retargeting
  • Conversion tracking
  • Reporting
  • Ad approval process
  • Call Tracking
I think a lot depends on brand recognition and degree social engagement. More engaged companies will have better chances of success.
Read Alya Grinberg's full review
No photo available
October 23, 2015

User Review: "AdRoll: Hit or Miss"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally used AdRoll for Facebook and Twitter retargeting for one of our largest clients. The client was education focused. We managed Facebook via the AdRoll interface, but we had to manage Twitter ourselves and in the Twitter interface, so I don't really understand the purpose of AdRoll's role on that platform. Perhaps that has changed now and we can manage all social in the AdRoll interface, which would be helpful.
  • Customer Support.
  • UI management (for Facebook).
  • Proposal turnaround time.
  • Merge social platforms into one easy interface for management.
  • My agency rep did not seem very knowledgeable about the product itself.
  • Account manager had basic knowledge regarding optimization tactics.
There are other vendors we would probably use instead. Other vendors have quick response times, access to the Facebook API, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 25, 2014

Review: "Satisfied with Adroll but not best in class"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially used Adroll's platform for our retargeting and Facebook Exchange
  • User friendly interface - Reporting, summary, analytics was easy to pull
  • Facebook Exchange retargeting
  • Conversion was easy to track
  • Account management can improve to include strategy and education for the client. We relied on Adroll and our other partners to give us new and innovative ideas on advertising.
  • ROI is based on CPM rather than CPC. Even though their budget is based on a CPM basis our company based performance off of CPC and we saw little ROI for what we were testing.
Make sure it is clear what your KPIs are and that Adroll's services align with your goals
Analytics and Strategy related questions
ROI expectations
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Data Transfer (8)
7.6
DSP integration (6)
7.3
Ad campaign creation (17)
8.2
Ad deployment (18)
8.4
Display advertising (16)
8.2
Ad display and retargeting segmentation (18)
8.1
Sequence targeting (8)
6.4
Ad dashboards (18)
7.5
Ad performance reports (18)
7.4
Ad conversion tracking (18)
6.5
Ad attribution reporting (16)
6.7
Cross-channel ad management (13)
7.3
Ad forecasting and optimization (12)
6.0

About AdRoll

AdRoll Integrations

AdRoll Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

AdRoll Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No