Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
394 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 225)

Marcus Warolin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Avalara - a top tier sales tax automation software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an ecommerce company and we have integrated Avalara Avatax into 2 of our websites. We are also an Amazon FBA seller and we load all Amazon sales into Avalara in order make use of the Avalara tax filing service. Being e commerce, we have nexus accross the US and I have no doubt that we would not be able to keep up with sales tax requirements without Avalara.
  • We have had great success with the Avalara plug ins to our websites.
  • The tax filing service is easy and convienent
  • We have recently moved to their SST services which will help save cost.
  • The lack of integration with Amazon causes the greatest frustration for us. We end up having to import sales into Avalara on a monthly basis to make sure our tax reporting is complete.
  • Avalara is one of the more expensive solutions, but at this same time, they are the only provider that has had the range of plugins for the applications we use.
We have found Avalara to be very well suited for ecommerce. With the available connectors, we can set up the connections once and they then run extremely reliably. We have recently moved to using Avalara's SST services, which will help save a significant amount of money.
  • Magento
  • NetSuite
  • Shopify
  • WooCommerce
Avalara is built into Shopify, so that was a very easy connector. Other connectors were still very simple. Download the plug in and enter your credentials and that is about it.
Avalara is very easy to use. Their site makes it easy to see your transactions and how much tax to each state you owe. I do always have difficulty finding the area on their site to make changes to states. Also I find their custom reports a bit of a challenge to use on their site.
Read Marcus Warolin's full review
Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara AvaTax to calculate and provide reporting for sales tax which is integrated with our ERP system and more recently implemented Cert Capture to maintain certificates for our customers in the states we sell into that have implemented economic nexus rules to force companies to collect and remit sales tax on sales into their states. We used the partner Avalara for getting licensed in all those new states and we have considered having Avalara file the returns also but have been doing them in-house for now.
  • Avatax stays current with all the changes in rates and does an excellent job of calculating the correct sales tax to charge.
  • The reporting interface for sales tax reports is easy to use and once you set up a report you can save it as a favorite and rerun it any time with one click. Their UI on the reporting is simple and provides a minimum number of clicks to get the data you want and export it to Excel where every number lives whether it belongs there or not!
  • When I file returns myself, I immediately know what the discrepancies are (e.g., discounts for filing, etc.) and can book those adjustments immediately as I record the payments themselves. Avalara necessarily has a gap between when you submit the return to them and when they file it and calculate those differences. It's not a big deal but I don't like having a one month lag in reconciling those differences. I like being able to manage them in real-time. That may just be the price you pay to have them do the filing for you but it is a bit of a deterrent for me at this point.
  • For a while there is seemed like musical chairs for the sales reps assigned to us. The current rep has been with us for a while and that really helps.
In this day and age, you simply cannot administer your own sales tax calculation and reporting scheme. You will lose more in a single sales tax audit in fees and penalties than you pay to have a competent software package do the calculations and reporting and administration of certificates for you. AvaTax integrates directly with our quoting, order and invoicing modules in our ERP system so it runs in the background and does so flawlessly. If you are invoicing more than 50 customers a month, you need a tool like AvaTax and Certcapture to take away the administrative burden.
  • Microsoft Great Plains Dynamics
The integration was done a couple of years before I started but I understand it was very smooth and since then any upgrades or changes on the ERP side have gone smoothly when integrating with Avalara's products.
No system is perfect but Avalara has achieved the goal of making a fairly complex problem (almost) go away for companies like ours. Their website and UI are outstanding as they are intuitive and responsive and require the minimum number of clicks to accomplish what you want to do. The system rarely goes down and when it does it does not last. When I had an issue with a report that suddenly began omitting some data I needed to complete my return, I contacted the company and was able to show them the issue and they got it corrected.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Kia1204! Treen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

Avalara is easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used through out our organization via our ERP system. We came to the use of Avalara because the Wayfair vs SD act. Our ERP system was not able to encompass the change in capturing and reporting.
  • Capturing the correct tax.
  • Easy to use.
  • Reporting.
  • Exempt on religious org-user needs more help on what code for what state.
Avalara helps in the capturing the appropriate sales tax for state, city and county. No matter what business you are in, this is the important part of the package and reason you are looking for a company like Avalara. They have a good support team and are responsive.
  • CV3 - ecommerce
  • ERP - Synrao
As with all integrations, if you expect no bumps you haven't been through an integration to your software systems. There are always bumps. However the bumps we experienced were managed quickly and we were on track within the first 5 days. I think that is a very good rating.
Easy to use as accountant. All the information you need is available and easy to capture.
Read Kia1204! Treen's full review
Chris Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

Avalara! The right system for convenience and to ease the burden of filing your taxes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara for calculating sales tax in the states we have Nexus in. We also use the exemption module within the software to store our customers' exemption certificates and keep track of any renewals. Recently we signed up to have Avalara start filing our sales tax and remit payments on our behalf.
  • Ease of navigation through the software.
  • Convenient to pull sales tax reports for any of the states you file in for a particular period.
  • Maintaining the exemption certificates for customers has become much easier, along with the ability to upload a copy of their exemption certificate for storage.
  • A lot of our business is in the oil field which may be located away from any main city. It would be helpful if LAT Longs could be used as opposed to a zip code.
Avalara has really simplified the reporting and upkeep of our tax reporting. Everything is in one spot and easy to navigate and track. The implementation was easy and the implementation team was very helpful.
  • Acumatica (Accounting Software)
The integration was seamless and our 3rd party had implemented Avalara previously.
The software is easy to use and navigate in order to store or pull the necessary reports needed for taxation.
Read Chris Smith's full review
Michelle Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

Amazing Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It is being used strictly for accounts receivable in our billings.
  • Storing certificates.
  • Processing sales tax returns.
  • Reporting for reconciling.
  • Ease of uploading the certificates into Cert Capture.
  • Sending emails for renewal sales tax certificates.
The connection between our software and Avalara was seamless.
  • JobBoss
It was very easy to integrate the two software.
Easy to use. Could use some work on the Cert Capture with regards to sending emails from the system.
Read Michelle Knight's full review
Brent Yost | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

No more manual databases!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Avalara Avatax through our customer billing process in Sage 300. Prior to Avatax, we manually managed a sales tax rate database consisting of hundreds of tax rates. This required an enormous amount of effort.
  • Avatax automatically calculates accurate sales tax rates at the exact address.
  • Sales tax rates are automatically updated when a jurisdiction's rate changes.
  • The reporting available can be customized to get exactly what you need.
  • A more comprehensive review during implementation would be an improvement.
Avatax is accurate and easy to use.
  • Sage 300 ERP software
The integration required consultation with the Avalara implementation team but ultimately was easy to implement.
Once Avalara was set up and the results were verified to be correct, no additional maintenance has been needed. Reporting from the system is great.
Read Brent Yost's full review
Braxton Todd | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

A Good Product For Certain Industries

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Avalara in respect to our state sales and use tax compliance. We are a multi-state construction company and have different divisions offering a variety of services nationwide. Because we have nexus in a large number of states, researching all of the tax answers ourselves is not be feasible. Plus, tax rates changed dramatically across tax jurisdictions. We used Avalara to help us understand the complexities of sales and use tax.
  • Providing accurate tax rates across differing jurisdictions.
  • Providing accurate tax answers.
  • Providing tailored answers for the construction industry (tax compliance for the construction industry is immensely complex).
I would be very careful when using Avalara for industries outside of retail, for example. We are a construction company and didn't always find the most appropriate answers for our complex projects. Other resources are better suited for the construction industry. For example, TTR (Transaction Tax Resource) provides appropriate answers for more complex construction projects.
  • Vista by Viewpoint
Although we have some serious reservations about using Avalara again with respect to specific, construction-oriented, tax questions, the service itself is not a poor product. The staff at Avalara are amiable and very useful when you are having a problem. Thus, the overall usability is a good fit for most individuals or companies.
Read Braxton Todd's full review
Rebecca Fortman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Tax compliance made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TydenBrooks utilizes Avalara for our tax calculations and tax return preparations. Avalara is linked directly with our Epicor ERP software. AP and AR both utilize the software for managing the taxation of goods sold and paying tax collected into states. Our company has Nexus in all states currently collecting tax from to marketplace, online sales, traveling salesmen, etc. Avalara makes tax apportionment, billing, and filing efficient and streamlined across our company.
  • Tax calculation
  • Tax filing
  • Historical data retention
  • Tax consult and tax support
  • Conversion to CAD
  • Selecting all states as one option vs. having to list state after state individually for setups, such as for our marketplace
  • Filing refund requests vs. carrying credits
It is amazing for Domestic US taxes, however, not being able to convert to CAD is a huge headache when it requires downloading data to do manual conversions for CAD filing.
  • Epicor 9
It was not difficult at all, we were able to have our internal Epicor Specialist create the link, so that Epicor goes out to Avalara captures the rates/calcs and sends it back to Epicor
It is very explanatory if you have even a small amount of tax understanding and computer comprehension. I feel that each step is easy to understand and follow.
Read Rebecca Fortman, MBA's full review
Yolie Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Avalara is worth considering for your business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is used by the Accounting/Tax Department. We use it to streamline our sales tax filing obligations in 29+ states. We have also integrated Avalara with our ERP system, ePIC through a custom API to make sales tax calculations for our invoices to customers
  • Streamlines sales tax process with electronic filing and includes paper filing
  • Makes payments of sales tax simple
  • Stores or tracks unused sales tax credit
  • Provide more specific support for companies that require API to connect their ERP system to Avalara
  • Provide more advance notification and training for changing AvaTax platform
Avalara is great for manufacturers, especially their AvaTax and CertCapture services. It will promote a company to get current with technology and streamline their business process. It helps minimize paper by storing all returns electronically for you.
  • ePIC ERP system
  • Accounting
Highly difficult as Avalara provided virtually no support. They make it difficult to communicate to the appropriate engineers
It is a decent system to use, it is user-friendly. However, there have been hiccups in implementation, or time spent to resolve issues. AvaTax system has miscalculated sales tax l even though the import transactions were correct, completed, committed, and had a different total. AvaTax also has a lot of issues with custom tax rules. For example they told me freight in Illinois will always be taxed, but the system never assessed sales tax on freight invoice lines without us forcing it through a custom tax rule. Which also had a lot of issues with the set up
Read Yolie Nguyen's full review
Judy Vorndran | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Avalara is the Uber of sales tax - it has been transformative in its connector-related focus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We partner with Avalara to help companies collect and remit sales taxes across the US, due to its relatively easy integrations to multiple GL systems, it can be integrated readily, thus, with proper sales tax mapping and nexus set up - create reporting for taxes owed by jurisdiction. It is a bit more like a rate database with product taxability - and is an excellent product for those with a relatively simple invoicing system - i.e., invoice and add taxes.
  • Amazing sales process.
  • Great marketing.
  • Loads of connectors.
  • Fun.
  • Service - too self-service with no personal resources.
  • Videos cannot be the only way to provide support.
  • Somewhat inflexible.
Avalara is well suited for ecommerce, simple integrations, unsophisticated or nonexistent tax departments, simple invoicing process with tax - it is a rate calculator with a taxability mapping interface which can allow one to set up tax and collect across the country without having to set up separate codes by state.
  • Quickbooks
  • Intacct
  • NetSuite
  • Shopify+
  • MicrosoftNAV
  • Sage
100% better than manual and in some taxpayer instances can achieve greater than 80% risk mitigation - but it is not "set it and forget it," taxpayers must understand their nexus footprint, their taxability determinations and reporting obligations to work hand in hand with automation.
Read Judy Vorndran's full review
Kathleen Gage | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

The good, the bad and . . .

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I am the primary user, with my manager as back-up. I do have plans to roll out the application to billing personnel in my company and to sales for tax calculation.
  • Calculate real-time sales tax for invoices.
  • CertCapture for managing my TEC's.
  • Transaction sales tax detail.
  • Local jurisdiction exemption certificates.
  • Avalara online university classes are not interactive and do not provide for practice applications.
Avalara does a great job with usual sales tax calculations, but it needs a bit of improvement in trickier or unusual sales tax calculations/exemptions.
  • Microsoft Dynamics SL 2018
Not too difficult, Field Service module had to have custom integration built and there were several bugs to work out once we went live.
The application (Avalara Identity) is very user-friendly, in my opinion.
  • Online training
They were not so good in the beginning but since the implementation of submitting cases online their support has improved. I do find some support techs are very knowledgeable but while some are not. Also sometime it can be very difficult to understand a support tech as their English language skills may not be very proficient.
Yes - We were using the Avalara rate tables prior; now we are fully integrated with Avalara.
Not sure what you mean by this question
Read Kathleen Gage's full review
Michelle Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

CertCapture

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CertCapture was used by the tax department, and our company just pushed it down to the whole organization this year. It helps to store and track our customer's resale certificate in a central place and provide support for tax audit purpose.
Some Problems:
  • Missing certificates.
  • Improper certificate forms were used by the division.
  • Incomplete certificates were accepted.
  • Misplaced certificates.
  • Out of date certificates.
  • We were able to track the number of missing customer certificates.
  • We were able to identify the acceptable certificate forms.
  • This product educated our division's credit manager enough to only accept the proper forms.
  • The automated and customized report is needed.
Avalara provides a State verification link provided when entering the tax ID number, and the tax ID number format is also provided. The customer list upload templates are also great.
  • AS400 in-house program
not sure, our IT team is leading the integrations.
It is user-friendly and provides a lot of supports.
  • Online training
the response is fast and useful.
Read Michelle Chow's full review
Marc Petrine | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

I use Avalara and I'm not sure why everyone doesn't!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara across our sales and accounting departments. Avalara integrates with our e-commerce platform to calculate, charge, and collect sales tax. It's helpful that Avalara knows the correct rates to charge for all products in all jurisdictions for all classes of customers. That information is then transmitted to our accounting staff to reconcile with our internal records. Avalara then files the necessary tax returns.
  • Determines tax rates for customers depending on that customer's exact ship-to location.
  • Files returns correctly and on time.
  • Tracks and uses customer supplied exemption certificates to determine a customer's taxability.
  • Avalara assumes that companies have IT support. Dumbing down some of their training would be helpful.
Avalara is well-suited to a company that has accounting software that has the ability to integrate through API. It becomes more manual when you have a situation where third-party software does not integrate well.
  • Big Commerce
  • Thatcher
Integrations with big fit-in-the-box applications like Big Commerce is a breeze! Thatcher is very customized but fortunately the team over there is very familiar with Avalara and making it work. It is funny that there are certain tweaks that can be made such as calculating tax at the item level or the cart level, which can greatly affect the cost of the service. There are some products out there like Paywhirl which offer no integration at all.
Once the data is contained inside of Avalara, the system is very user-friendly when it comes to looking at and using the data.
Read Marc Petrine's full review
Megan Laurion | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use it for tax calculation on orders. It's Integrated with our ERP system.
  • Easy to Use
  • Friendly employees
  • Communication
  • Knowledge of product
We use it for tax calculation. We do not use it for filing sales tax returns, as it is less cost-effective vs having an employee complete them internally.
  • Syteline ERP
Fairly easy to set up a sandbox environment and point to our ERP.
Does a good job for what we need.
Read Megan Laurion's full review
Sol Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara for sales tax. It helps the tax department calculate tax liabilities and file returns. Avalara only helps file sales tax returns from the US.
  • Nexus study.
  • Taxability matrix.
  • Generating reports.
  • Hold times
  • Follow up with issues.
  • Accessibility to account manager.
  • Account manager.
Avalara can appropriately calculate tax for straight forward transactions. However, it is not very reliable for calculating tax for complicated seniors or invoices. For example, multiple line items with multiple shipping addresses. Coding can be faulty.
  • Accounting software
With invoices with various line items, it is sometimes very difficult since tax liabilities are not calculating correctly.
Complications with invoices that have multiple line items.
Read Sol Sanchez's full review
John Moeller | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Cream of the crop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the federal terminal reporting of Avalara
  • Customer Service is top notch
  • Always willing to help you 100%
  • Detail of the program is above and beyond
  • the new e-mailing customer help desk
Setting up everything, the customer service department stayed on the phone with me the entire time walking me through it and they also were right there watching me via the computer the first time I filed the return. They have been a help ever since when needed.
  • ADDS
Could not do because of the other system.
Very easy to navigate
  • Online training
the e-mail you have to send to support back and forth is not easy. Easier to make a 5 mion call then hours on e-mails
Read John Moeller's full review
Heather Ordoyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Avalara is a timesaver!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara for our entire organization. We sell products that are moving to a national level. Avalara provides us with the knowledge of when to add new states due to meeting thresholds. They help us manage our tax-exempt certificates and keep us updated on all changes.
  • CertCapture.
  • I don't care for having to make scheduled appointments to talk to someone.
Avalara is well suited for anyone that has to file taxes in multiple states or has customers with tax-exempt certificates that are job-specific or in various states. With the changing laws, it helps us stay informed.
  • NetSuite
We implemented both at the same time. They assisted with all of it and even offered some training on how to use Avalara in NetSuite.
It is very easy to use and intuitive for almost anyone.
Read Heather Ordoyne's full review
Ian Larkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Avalara keeps us in compliance with constantly changing tax laws

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara enables our finance department to accurately calculate sales tax, file the related tax returns and remit payment to the numerous tax authorities in an easy and user-friendly manner.
  • Sales tax calculation
  • Sales tax details
  • Easier to file back taxes
Businesses with customers in numerous states/localities without a physical presence there (or a limited presence) will greatly benefit.
  • NetSuite
Integrating Avalara with NetSuite was very easy.
Avalara is very user-friendly and cost-effective.
Read Ian Larkin's full review
Kevin Lannan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Finance departments at the 2 companies we own, both manufacturers, use it. One has been using it but will add more modules like Cert Capture while the other Company will begin using Avalara in 2020.
  • Communications
  • Follow-up
  • Follow-up is good but they could follow-up faster than they do
  • Earn trust faster - some of my past staff members lacked trust in Avalara
Sales tax management is tough. Companies of all sizes need help and will likely never be able to hire experts to manage it on their own. That said, I have used Avalara at a $10 billion company, a $1 billion company, a $100 million company and now with 2 companies - a $30 million company and a $40 million company. It is complicated. Avalara is good at making sure the right tax rates are applied to the right sales transactions.

We also need help managing International Sales, so, not sure how well versed Avalara is with that.
  • Epicor (currently)
  • Oracle (past company)
Actually not difficult at all.
Because of the integrations with the ERP systems and billing systems, it is quite easy to use. In fact, for the most part, people do not even know we are using Avalara.
Read Kevin Lannan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the AvaTax module of Avalara and interface it with Intacct to create sales tax line items on our Intacct invoices and to create Sales Tax by Location reports in Intacct and Avalara. Our corporate parent's Indirect Tax department uses the Avalara sales tax calculations to file sales tax returns in all states that we have nexus in. Given the complicated calculations of some states such as Texas, we could not do any of this without Avalara software. Avalara is very easy to use, and we can easily add states or exempt customers who send us sales tax exemption certificates. Avalara has taken the risk out of sales tax calculation and return filing, which we are forever grateful for. In addition, I use Avalara's knowledge base on sales tax issues to make sure that I stay current on the latest thinking. I have found their articles and videos very easy to understand and informative for a non-tax expert. Thanks Avalara, for making my life easier!
  • Calculating sales tax for invoices; always using the most current rates.
  • Creating helpful knowledge base articles and videos.
  • Assisting with any questions we have on our account or future issues.
  • Exempting customers - some data entry fields are not intuitive.
  • Differences in the monthly reports are not as well-explained as I would like; I had to experiment a bit with different reports.
Avalara is well suited to situations where you have a formal invoicing software system, and you need to have sales tax automatically calculated. The interface between Avalara and Intacct is what really sold us on the software.
  • Sage Intacct
The integration was almost seamless. There was a little set-up in Intacct, which they helped me through, after I received a set-up key from Avalara. Then I worked with Avalara to set up the states that we had Nexus in. From the first month, we had Intacct invoices with Sales Tax calculated on them..
There are a few parts of the user interface that are not intuitive, such as running reports. But for the most part, the software is very easy to use. The Integration with Sage Intacct was smooth, and we never had to do any tweaks to it. The only issues I had where I had to talk to someone from Avalara had to do with custom tax codes, which would not be easy in any system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Time saving tool in sales tax reporting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the Accounting department and Ecommerce department. The Accounting department uses AvaTax returns to file sales tax returns. The Ecommerce department uses AvaTax to configure transactions from Magento. However, the Ecommerce department rarely logs in to Avalara. They usually only log in to Magento. The Accounting department will do the reconciliation to make sure transactions are configured to AvaTax and to Magento.
  • Takes away the hassle of filing sales tax returns
  • Provides useful reports
  • Easy to access E-commerce transactions
  • The account manager can be more helpful. Our new account manager still hasn't replied to our email requesting a link to her calendar to schedule a meeting after two follow up emails. She was not at the Crush conference either. We didn't get a chance to talk to her after she became our account manager.
  • The billing department can do better. We just got an invoice in May for overages in January.
It is well suited for a business that needs to be registered in more than 15 states.
It saved us a lot of time in filing sales tax.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Good product, so-so service

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara to calculate sales tax on invoices and orders. It's mainly used in the accounting department but also for the commercial team.
  • Avalara syncs well with our ERP system.
  • Reporting is easy to pull and send to our accountants.
  • Avatax saves a lot of time so we don't have to maintain tax rates internally.
  • The definition of a transaction keeps changing and affects how much our contract covers. It makes it hard to predict the level of service we will need in a year since we don't want to over pay and we don't want to have any overages.
  • Our customer rep changes frequently. We've averaged a new rep every year so it's hard to get anything resolved.
  • When we have questions on the way rates are calculated, we don't get the answers we need.
  • Reporting for tracking usage was removed so there is no way for us to track our own usage. Our rep is supposed to send us a monthly report and with changing reps, we haven't been sent this report for months.
When the system runs well, Avalara is a great system and replaces a lot of manual work. But if there are issues and questions, it's impossible to resolve since we don't have reliable support.
  • ERP Software - Avalara
This was years ago and with our in house ERP team, it seemed fairly simple.
It's easy to use once integrated and easy to maintain. It just runs in the background without much thought.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

AvaTax for Calculating only

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is being used in our company to calculate sales tax on our e-comm website. As a manufacturer focused primarily on wholesale transactions, the shift to B2C is a large undertaking, especially for sales tax compliance. We have nexus in all states, so Avalara has been key to collecting the correct sales tax from our consumers
  • Calculating sales tax.
  • Innovation in the tax industry.
  • Sales tax exemption certificate management.
  • Reporting when not using the filing service.
Avalara is best suited for companies with broad nexus and/or rapid growth. CertCapture is excellent for companies that have a large number of wholesale customers as well as retail customers.
Avalara is less appropriate if you don't know where you have nexus, or always have a tax professional review before registering in new states.
More user training would be great. We were repeatedly told that reporting was unavailable due to us not using the filing features, but recently found out we've had access all along to very useful reports.
There is no change that has to happen as your company grows, Avalara continues to do it's job for any size company
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our retail operations team utilizes Avalara to calculate sales tax for our retail stores located throughout the country. Our distribution and warehousing department also uses it to calculate tax rates for customers we ship to across the country, which can be a real challenge! Overall, it has served us very well in determining taxation.
  • Ease of use
  • Tax calculation
  • Flexibility
  • Slow at times
  • Confusing sometimes
  • Could be more flexible
Avalara is particularly well-suited to businesses that sell to customers in multiple states or countries. Additionally, it works very well for helping with figuring out taxes within a state when sometimes different counties, cities, or even neighborhoods have different tax rates! It would not be suited well if you have one location and simple taxes.
  • eCommerce
  • Accounting
It was fairly easy!
Avalara is extremely easy to use as it is easily integrated.
Read this authenticated review
Lisa Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Avalara's pros & cons for storing & collecting tax certs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cert Capture to keep Resale & other tax exemption documents/letters on file for all of our dealers. It is only used by the Credit Department, and if we have a tax auditor come through. It keeps certificates on file and allows us to know when they are about to expire, as well as try to assist us in running a campaign to collect any new certs in certain states.
  • Storing arena for Resale Tax Exemption Certificates.
  • The need to hit Refresh several times throughout the process to upload a new cert can be tiresome, and on occasion we have to wait a long time for it to show up during one of those refreshes.
  • Campaigns can be clunky; not always notified which dealer accounts didn't get their email delivered, and sometimes dealers find the format to appear to be SPAM and so they do not complete it.
To my knowledge, we aren't aware of a great software for the Resale Tax Exemption Certificate need we have. So it does work to store, and collect, tax certs even if parts seem clunky to me. If we did not have it, it would make collecting & storing the certificates much more laborious.
  • None that I am aware of
Need to hit refresh often during process to add a certificate, and then they are not always there for a long time. Campaigns to collect new certs can have their own issues with knowing who all did and did not receive our email like if it was undeliverable. And when a document comes in from a dealer that is a failed transfer, we have no idea to know who actually sent it to let them know it failed and to try again.
Read Lisa Burns's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (113)
8.7
Cross-border Taxes (24)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.1
Energy and Fuel Taxes (15)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (63)
8.7
3rd-Party Software Integrations (80)
7.9
Tax Data Reporting (93)
8.0
Compliance Administration Management (68)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (76)
8.2
Tax Document Management (73)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.3

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Vertex Cloud, TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web