Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
376 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 207)

Leslie Rogers profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Avalara Cert Capture as well as the Avalara for taxes. We keep all our certs stored in Cert Capture. Avalara files all of our returns, we are also currently using Monitoring, so we can see when we have potential liability. In some instances we are taking advantage of Registering with Avalara as well. Our Finance department is the only department using Avalara, but it affects the company as a whole because if we are not taxing our customers correctly it can affect everyone. It saves us time and money because we do not have to file returns and we can see where our exposure is.
  • Helps with returns
  • Files our returns
  • Helpful Customer Account Managers
  • Customer Support has been lacking.
  • Response time to cases lately has been too long.
  • Retaining and communicating when account managers are reassigned.
Avalara would be a good fit for a company just starting out. Avalara can help you get registered in different states and can help monitor where there might be tax liability when the new company grows. Avalara would also be a great fit for a larger company who wants to free up personnel because there are other projects that need to take priority. Also, in the growing world of taxes and the new Pandora's box, Avalara can help them with their tax liability and exposure. Avalara is always up to date on tax laws and rates, so it's easy to stay ahead of the game.
Read Leslie Rogers's full review
Elaine Ware profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We sell in all 50 states. Avalara is a part of our ERP software (Dynamics GP). We use it to calculate sales taxes on our quotes, sales orders, and invoicing.
  • Seamless tax addition to documents without having to do anything.
  • The tax rates automatically update when new laws are passed.
  • Salespeople can look up accurate tax rates by address very easily for our quotes.
  • The option of showing a window with tax rate details, without having to drill down, would be helpful.
I appreciate that I am not depending on employees to calculate the correct amount of tax on orders. It is also nice to know that I can depend on the program to consistently not charge taxes to a customer on items that are non-taxable. All of these things ensure the accuracy of my documents and in the end keeps our customers happy.
Read Elaine Ware's full review
Sandy Labun profile photo
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using AvaTax to calculate tax and CertCapture to manage our exemption certificates. We have also contracted to file returns but have had a problem with our legal department signing the POA. The application is used across the company for all locations. This helps eliminate storage use on our server of the certificates and gives us the confidence that we are billing the correct tax rates.
  • Keeps tax rates up to date
  • Reports are very concise and easy to read
  • They keep up well on rate changes
  • More person to person support contact rather than "watch this webinar"
  • Eliminate the rounding problems
Great source for tax info across the nation, state by state. They can provide simply worded explanations of what each state considers taxable purchases. Avalara is a good tool to use if doing business in states with home state rules. Let them calculate the tax rather than you trying to keep track of what and where to charge tax.
Read Sandy Labun's full review
Candace Dallas profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara to manage sales tax from acquiring taxes rates at point of sale to filing returns. Our accounting system is Acumatica and our online store is through Shopify, both of which are integrated with Avalara. Using Avalara ensures correct tax rates are applied along with timely and compliant filing.
  • Dynamic acquisition and application of address-based tax rates
  • Tax filing per the current tax laws and regulations
  • Provide necessary data for monthly reconciliations
  • Support center often has long phone queues. It can be frustrating when you need immediate assistance
  • System gets bogged down around the time for approvals
It is well suited to businesses touching many tax jurisdictions because it can be difficult to keep up with changing tax rates and regulations.
Read Candace Dallas's full review
Kathy Kuhn profile photo
May 13, 2019

Avalara Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Avatax and cert capture for our main business, but are in the process of implementing it for two of our acquisition companies. It is the best way to ensure compliance with Wayfair. The acquisition companies were not compliant.
  • Customer service has been exceptional, thanks to David West, our rep
  • Cert capture is easy to use and saves us time
  • None noted
We have historically used it for our online sales (Avatax) and cert capture for our B2B sales. We are currently using the state registration services and are seriously considering the return prep services. I like that it all can be done by one point of contact.
Read Kathy Kuhn's full review
Gabriel Diaz profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The CertCapture module is used by my division, Snap-On Industrial. We use it for filing tax certs and audit-proof our processes. Other divisions have considered using AvaTax for the calculation portion of transactions; however, according my corporate tax team, it does not currently meet the needs of the corporation.
  • User friendly
  • Modern UI
  • Great customer service
  • Keeps my team updated on changes in the tax world
  • Integration with certain ERP systems
  • Meeting the needs of large corporations with Avatax
  • A tax calculator / transaction tester would be nice
The products Avalara offers are suitable for any company. If you are a company that collects tax certificates, performs transactions across the nation, drop ships, and want to keep documents organized and readily available for auditors, this product is for you. CertCapture can be used by small stores to large corporations, and it ensures that the documents on file are up to date and organized.
Read Gabriel Diaz's full review
Debbie Gasparovich profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara in our Net Suite ERP system to calculate taxes. We use Certcapture to house our exempt certificates and Avalara submits our monthly returns to the states in which we have Nexus.
  • Calculate state and local taxes.
  • House exempt certificates.
  • File and pay tax returns to states.
  • Easier reporting website.
Avalara is the perfect solution to this new world of tax collection with the new State Nexus mandates.
Read Debbie Gasparovich's full review
Thomas Nash profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is a system and service outsourcing solution for our eCommerce sales tax calculations (through an API with our eCommerce platform) plus the service component to file all necessary returns to multiple states as required. It allows us to use the experts at Avalara versus our company having to become an expert on the specialized sales tax world. We ultimately save a lot of time through this solution and may also be avoiding compliance issues by using the Avalara service.
  • Customer service and friendly staff
  • Account management
  • Easy API implementation
  • Integration of existing systems to form one single sign on system
Small and medium businesses should likely all be on a system/service like this.
Read Thomas Nash's full review
Christine Knobloch profile photo
May 15, 2019

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by our tax and accounting manager. Avalara documents and manages our exemption certs.
  • Online training
  • Conferences
  • Webinars
  • CertCapture
  • Billing - we have had issues in past
  • Turnover in client reps
  • Cost of some products
CertCapture is a good product. AvaTax is not needed by our company as the majority of our sales are exempt. But we are interested in the new use tax product.
Read Christine Knobloch's full review
DEBORA CORREA TALUTTO profile photo
May 14, 2019

Great Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Accesso is a software company that uses Avalara to file our sales tax returns in several jurisdictions. Avalara is being used for some of our US entities to collect and file our sales tax.
  • Tax summary
  • Visibility of transactions
  • Timely filing
  • Research
  • Updates to clients
  • Multi-entity reporting
The tool is easy to use, and the reports generated by Avalara are great to provide our management an overview of the compliance.
Read DEBORA CORREA TALUTTO's full review
Nancy Wong profile photo
May 13, 2019

Save me!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is being used across our whole company. We are remote sellers so real-time for tax computation and accounting will be of use for reports.
  • Calculation
  • Communication
  • Finding help questions. I'm always trying to research and always spend too much time finding the correct topic.
  • I have had three account managers in 6 months.
Great tool when you want to leave the experts to collect taxes. Smaller companies that do not have the man power to find all rules and regulations.
Read Nancy Wong's full review
Julia Anaya profile photo
May 13, 2019

2019 Crush

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is a fundamental part to ALK ABELLO Inc. It makes our business sales tax calculations with Avatax simple. It's been two years now that we started using Avatax Returns and its freed up 6+ hours to do other accounting work. Avalara's services are great.
  • Calculations of tax
  • Returns filed timely
  • Knowledgeable people
  • Grow a customer service team that answers phone calls
  • When customer calls and leaves their phone number for a call back...have someone call
  • If customer service phone call gets strangely disconnected, call the customer back especially since the Avalara representative asks for a call back # in case of a disconnect.
Makes filings and tax calculation simple.
Read Julia Anaya's full review
Dennison Stewart profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Avalara's Avatax integration into our CRM and Financial packages to accurately calculate, and store sales tax
  • Integration
  • End user calculation
  • CertCap
  • Continued refinement of dashboard and services
Location tax calculation and exemption verification and retention
Read Dennison Stewart's full review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization. Whenever we create invoices, the Zuora-to-Avalara connector automatically pushes the relevant invoice data to Avalara for AvaTax to calculate the amount of sales tax instantly. It addresses the issue of scalability, automation, and accuracy. We no longer have to keep up with the tax rate changes in any jurisdiction as AvaTax is always updated.
  • The tax has automatically calculated the instance that invoice is generated.
  • The sales tax rates are maintained on Avalara's side. Whenever there's a sales tax rate change for any jurisdiction, Avalara will update the rate.
  • The User Interface is very user-friendly. Reports can be constructed and filtered in many ways (by state, by types of documents, etc.)
  • Avalara doesn't have the ability to tax multiple jurisdictions if you have one invoice line item but have a quantity of more than 1. This is relevant for when you have 100 software licenses and these licenses are used throughout multiple jurisdictions.
  • Avalara needs to find a solution to handle and remit use tax that is not manual-intensive work.
  • It sometimes takes a while to connect to chat support when you try to get support during peak hours.
AvaTax has the ability to scale with your business as you are paying on a per-transaction basis. The amount charged per transaction is related to the tier in which you contract for. If there are very few jurisdictions in which you must collect and remit sales tax, then it might be more cost-effective to calculate tax and maintain rates yourself.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 25, 2019

Easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is integrated with our ERP system in order to tax our customers and remit taxes. When an invoice is created with customer information and the items are populated on the invoice, the system pings the Avalara system and gathers the correct tax rate and amount to put on the invoice. This ensures that our system is taxing the customer and we are remitting taxes correctly.
  • If there is a question about the tax on an invoice, it is easy to check the transaction and each jurisdiction of the tax.
  • It is easy to download reports to reconcile at the end of the month.
  • Anything can be downloaded to analyze the data.
  • When an invoice has been voided it is a little cumbersome to pull up. It would be great to see this along with the original invoice.
  • Make it easier to discuss problems instead of having to always go to the Account Rep.
  • Sometimes reports do not match the return. Having a discrepancy report or a way to identify them would be great.
  • The new upgrade makes it more difficult to find previous transactions.
If you are in difficult states to file or have more than you can handle staff-wise, then this is a great alternative. Avalara will provide a great way to pull all your data into a concise form and file the taxes for you. You must manage the business licenses and registrations in order for Avalara to file taxes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 23, 2019

Certifiably CertCapture

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently CertCapture is used by our tax department and our Records department. CertCapture is currently being used to house all of our sales tax and fuel tax exemptions. We are also using the system to hold all of our customer's accounts.
  • The interface for CertCapture is fairly easy to use. Everything is more or less self explanatory and easy to navigate. Anything process wise that may be difficult at first is shown step by step in the "walk me through" guide.
  • Changes to accounts are easy to see and follow. We deal with a lot of timing issues between account changes and invoices. This allows us to see if the account was changed before or after an invoice was created.
  • Reporting of what documents are in the system, and who has them is quick and easy. We are constantly using the CertCapture reporting to clean up our ERP System.
  • There certificate management needs to have a better understanding of state laws and how each exemption certificate relates to it.
I find it as a great customer record tool and recommend it for any business that deals with a lot of exemptions from customers. They are expanding on outbound exemptions as well which is a plus if your company does a lot of tax exempt purchases.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 03, 2019

Mediocre at best

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We compared Avalara against a number of products in response to Wayfair. We liked the Thompson Reuters and SOVOS products and customer service better, but Avalara came in at a better price point and was the only system that currently integrates with Shopify+. We integrated Avalara with our NetSuite instance.

We currently utilize AvaTax and CertCapture. We are still doing our own returns.
  • The system works okay. It helps us manage rate tables and customers with multiple jurisdictions.
  • TERRIBLE and SLOW customer service. In fact, the worst I've ever experienced. It takes over a week to get a response unless you call-in, wait over an hour and get lucky with a knowledgeable rep. They love to pass the buck and point you to Avarala Help articles that are unrelated or not particularly useful.
  • Implementation - We went with their "guided implementation" to cut costs as we have a strong IT team and a lot of great internal and experienced resources. They were not helpful at all. No engagement (we had to reach out to them multiple times to get things moving), no project plan, limited guidance, slow responses and flat-out wrong recommendations. They gave us incorrect configuration information, and their data upload is downright antiquated. We had to CSV upload our customers (oh yeah, they don't know how to bulk upload data). We figured out a way to do it, but they also don't tell you any null values will delete those fields of data, so you get to do it all over again.
  • We then had to manually associate every single certificate for existing customers. We had to go through 3 reps and implementation types to properly handle marketplace facilitators (hint: setup an exempt customers in CertCapture like Amazon FBA/FBM, flow marketplace transactions through those customers, then create tax exemptions for each state that marketplace collects/remits on your behalf). We went live with lots of issues, and we're still working through several of them months later.
  • Their NetSuite integration is okay - but weak at best. Not intuitive at all. Permissions are a headache and we had to open a ticket to request they actually connect CertCapture correctly. All state liabilities also post to a single tax GL. If you want to report by state this is a challenge to reclass and reconcile.
  • Their reporting is mediocre at best . The reports they provide don't actually provide enough data to file your reports, likely because they want you to utilize their services and pay the $50/per filing for them to file on your behalf. If you have budget and you're not a small business, this would probably be fine.
  • UI - their User Interface is really pretty antiquated and frustrating to work with. Instead of having a single place to login and manage your account, there's an AvaTax login, there's an Avalara Admin login, there's a CertCapture login, and you have to handle them all separately. Many aspects just aren't super intuitive, and their Help isn't all that helpful. For instance, you can create a template cover letter to email to customers for exemption certificate requests, but you can't set it as a default form - unless you delete their default form and rename it (it took them 2 weeks to figure that one out).
Avalara is fine. It works, just barely. But for as big as they are and as much as they tout how wonderful they are, and for how aggressive as their sales team is, their system feels like it's the beat-up old Buick of tax automation software. Too bad they seem to have more integrations than others and come in at a better price point.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the Accounting department and Ecommerce department. The Accounting department uses AvaTax returns to file sales tax returns. The Ecommerce department uses AvaTax to configure transactions from Magento. However, the Ecommerce department rarely logs in to Avalara. They usually only log in to Magento. The Accounting department will do the reconciliation to make sure transactions are configured to AvaTax and to Magento.
  • Takes away the hassle of filing sales tax returns
  • Provides useful reports
  • Easy to access E-commerce transactions
  • The account manager can be more helpful. Our new account manager still hasn't replied to our email requesting a link to her calendar to schedule a meeting after two follow up emails. She was not at the Crush conference either. We didn't get a chance to talk to her after she became our account manager.
  • The billing department can do better. We just got an invoice in May for overages in January.
It is well suited for a business that needs to be registered in more than 15 states.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Avalara and are a certified partner for implementation. We recommend the product when advising clients on automated sales tax solutions. It is used by myself and another certified partner in our organization when implementing on a client's ERP.
  • Great at address level tax calculations.
  • Simple and easy to use interface.
  • Easy connection to ERPs.
  • The options of “sellers use or sales tax” and “sales tax only” when selecting nexus states on AvaTax. I believe the process of selecting what tax type a client has needs to be more fleshed out. The consequences of selecting incorrectly could be major. Examples or a more detailed description of what selecting one or the other means for each state would be really helpful. I selected the “sellers use or sales tax” option for Iowa on a client’s set up and it missed an additional 1% local tax on a transaction as a result, which ended up not collecting an additional $3K in sales tax on an invoice. Each state defines one or the other differently, and it is important to know which option does what. It’s not as easy as knowing what type of tax the client has in the state in situations when that may not be apparent (such as new registrations when the tax type is not defined yet, but as a consultant, you know how the tax will be collected).
  • Documentation for clients such as a users guide, implementation manual for a company’s ERP that details what has changed on a client’s interface system, process diagrams on how everything connects, etc. Some of this is found on the online help, but some clients want actual documentation.
  • Support and guidance on CertCapture.
  • Support and guidance on proxy installations. A client was given a proxy installed on their NetSuite that allowed customer information to be passed to CertCapture. It was installed and no guidance was given on how to use it, even after requesting.
  • Better support for clients with special requests. We requested phone time with NetSuite specialist from Avalara and AvaTax specialist in order to discuss some open questions the client had.
For a simple e-commerce site that sells TPP that is taxable in all states and is using Shopify Basic, Avalara’s solution may not be the best. Also, a client that wants to file their own returns and also does not have a complicated list of items or services sold may also not want to use Avalara. Even though Avalara can create multiple types of sales tax reports, they are not as simple as they should be. This may be designed on purpose in order to have Avalara file returns, but we have come across other solutions (such as TaxJar) that create sales tax reports which are very simple, catering to each state, which allows for us to easily follow tax filings when manually filing. Clients with multiple types of services or transactions with nexus across multiple states are good candidates for Avalara. Clients with a system in place that comes with an agreement with AvaTax such as Shopify Plus or BigCommerce are great candidates too.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The business is using Avalara for tax calculation for ecommerce sales, and as the integrated tax engine for our point of sales system. Finance is using it for tax and accounting data. It technically is used by IT users for various tasks that I'm not qualified to speak to. It addresses the need for a tax software that goes to a zip+4 or rooftop level tax calculation.
  • Tax calculations with the Avalara AvaTax API system returns pretty accurate taxation results.
  • AvaTax website is easy to navigate.
  • Avalara's blog provides valuable tax information regarding rate changes and tax holidays or changing tax rules.
  • When paired with our POS system, which does not utilize an API but utilizes an Avalara-designed static rate file, tax results are often inaccurate, resulting at times in significant tax undercollection.
  • Reports are hard to use when the same data is on multiple lines for multiple jurisdictions.
  • Website often is slow in looking up transaction details.
  • Customer support on the product/technical side leaves much to be desired. Poor communication, unresolved issues but tickets are closed anyway, and often, unhelpful "contact your rep" or "we don't support that" types of answers.
I think if you're a smaller to mid-size business, or any size of business using Avalara for a tax calculation with a live API, it works well. I think when you're a larger company integrating with a point of sale system, and not using an API for tax determination, you can expect problems and can expect the organization will not be able to solve those timely for you, as it's hard to determine ownership of the issue between multiple players.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We depend on Avalara, as it's integrated with our Epicor ERP, to calculate our sales taxes across the US, and file our returns. Without Avalara, we would spend countless hours maintaining tax rates and filing sales tax returns. Frankly, I doubt we would be able to be compliant without this technology solution. I know that we would have to add headcount to even try.
  • Accurate calc of taxes. The tax rate is determined by a combination of the tax code of the item being invoiced, as well as the ship to address.
  • Files returns so that I never again have to file a state sales tax return
  • File VDAs for me
  • Our EPicor ERP system combined with Avalara allows us to easily do Use Tax during the AP Invoice Processing - much easier than the old way of writing on invoices.
  • A little slow in VDAs, due to being overwhelmed with volume
  • Backdated transactions are not always included in the appropriate return, and it is hard to find them.
  • I have had trouble reconciling my monthly transactions since they include monthly/quarterly/annual returns and some have prepayments and carryover credits. Better training and templates on reconciliation would be nice.
Avalara integrates tightly with my Epicor ERP. It is the only tax solution that does so. It also calculates tax on our webstore, using WooCommerce.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 13, 2019

Basic Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CertCapture and CertExpress to request and store exemption certificates for our customers. I am the main point of contact for our customers who have questions regarding the exemption process, a position which was created 6 months ago. I have the most frequent interface with these programs and am largely self-trained in their use. We also use Avatax and Returns. Avalara programs are used predominately by our Accounting Department (almost exclusively myself and our CFO). Collecting certificates, maintaining sales tax compliance, and filing accurate returns are our chief goals in using Avalara.
  • Run customer and certificate reports
  • Store customer and certificate data
  • Provide links to helpful info on how to use the system
  • The CertExpress customer interface is limited in its capabilities and confusing to customers.
  • There is no way to specify if address info is Bill To or Ship to when it is entered into CertCapture.
  • The Chat feature in all programs has extremely long wait times and rarely provides answers.
  • The Nexus Alert feature in Avatax does not take into account any transactions that are not passed through Avalara.
  • Customers are not automatically notified by email when certificates are validated.
  • Email campaigns from CertCapture stall in process and have to be resent.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for calculating sales tax and file tax. Mainly for the engineering and finance departments. The engineering department does the implementation. It’s part of our automated payment system and has been working fine.
  • Calculate tax
  • Address validation
  • API response time
  • Support response time is bad. Does not meet SLA.
  • Support response quality is bad. It usually takes a few times to get the answer I want.
  • API sometimes goes down.
I think it’s a great solution for companies with a complicated tax situation or with a lot of transactions across different states/countries. It might not be good for a small company because it takes effort to implement. The API is not perfect so there needs to be extra hands to design fallback strategies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is currently being used across the accounting, IT, and sales departments to calculate and remit sales and use tax. We are in the beginning process of implementing CertCapture as well. We have locations in several states and this helps us maintain rate changes.
  • Timely remittance
  • Rate changes
  • Multiple state jurisdictions
  • Customer service. Very good compliance team though
  • Dealing with tax notices
  • Manual entries are difficult
Well suited for doing business in multiple states/jurisdictions, and less appropriate if doing business in one or few states.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avatax to collect our sales sales information and complete filings.
  • Avatax provides up to minute tax solutions to charge customers accurately.
  • The sales tax can be pinpointed down to exact address.
  • Allows us to remain compliant and up to date.
  • Recently used registration service and felt we could have been walked through the status of state registration.
  • I have not run into any other concerns.
We have not had too much exposure Avalara yet as we not are fully integrated yet, but so far has met our needs.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (95)
8.4
Cross-border Taxes (21)
7.6
VAT / GST Taxes (20)
7.3
Energy and Fuel Taxes (13)
8.7
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (52)
8.9
3rd-Party Software Integrations (66)
7.5
Tax Data Reporting (79)
8.0
Compliance Administration Management (59)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (64)
8.2
Tax Document Management (62)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (45)
7.3

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web