Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
523 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 291)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 17, 2020
Jeff Hinrichs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Avalara's AvaTax in our ERP system (GP) and on our web presence. It is used by multiple departments. We are also using the CertCapture for handling non-taxable entities. Avalara's tools for integrating their software with our platforms has been quite good.
  • Implementation - we sell a wide range of products, so getting items set up was a big deal.
  • Supports our ERP system.
  • Allows us to to track entities and certificates with CertCapture.
  • Without Avalara, our accounting department would have to be bigger.
  • While tax calculation is a must, their is a time cost when we must query Avalara's system for the tax information. During parts of the day, especially EOD can be slow, relatively.
  • Their growth sometimes has exceeded their systems for a period. They do scale quickly.
Given the complexities of dealing with Taxes, Nexus, documentation, and regulatory/legal compliance, if you are not working with a partner like Avalara, it is going to substantially affect your margin by forcing you to have a bigger professional workforce to meet these demands. With Avalara you can budget and forecast with greater accuracy then trying to do it yourself.
  • ERP: GP 2015R2, GP 2018R2/R3
  • Web Presence: BigCommerce
The integrations our well documented and our ERP and Web were well supported by Avalara.
Usability for order entry and taxing is straight forward. Back end operations are also quite good as well.
Read Jeff Hinrichs's full review
December 14, 2020
Eric Kimmerling, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara returns and AvaTax to handle all of our sales and use tax compliance. Avalara does all of our sales tax returns, helps identify new areas where we may be subject to tax and helps us register with new taxing authorities. We use their AvaTax integrations with our accounting system and with our eCommerce platform. Sales tax compliance is a huge headache and we could not do it without Avalara.
  • Files returns accurately.
  • Calculates tax accurately.
  • Stays on top of all changes in sales tax rates.
  • Responds quickly to support cases.
  • Highlights new areas where we may be subject to tax.
  • AvaTax integrations with outside software could be improved. Mainly insight into how the integration is built and how Avalara's team communicates with Partners.
Avalara is well suited to complex, multi-state sales tax situations. It is well suited if you have eCommerce applications to integrate. It is also good if you are uncertain of your current sales tax environment. Best to work with a sales tax lawyer/CPA together with Avalara.

I would use Avalara for any of my clients, but it may be less applicable if you are an annual filer in one state for very few transactions.
  • Magento
  • Zoho
The integration was very easy.

However, making changes, updates or getting new features is not easy. I am currently working through this issue. Now. Avalara has been great to work with on their side. However, it takes both parties to come to the table to get resolution with an API based app integration.
Well, I have not used another filing service, just done returns manually or on State websites. Avalara is very user friendly compared with those two other methods.
Read Eric Kimmerling, CPA's full review
December 12, 2020
Sandi zeko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara for our retail gift shop. It is used to calculate, process, collect and do state returns.
  • State returns
  • Calculating tax
  • Tracking all our transactions
  • Calculating for shipping to address changes
  • Updating sales tax if there is a change to the reciept.
  • Amount of time it takes for the tax returns to update for any corrected transactions
Products work very well and handle the multi-state issues we must now deal with.
  • ecommerce. Celerant
Integration was not difficult at all. There are a few other Celerant customers using Avatax so they already had setup in place.
The website could be a bit clearer but is mostly good. My biggest issue is when I have to change a transaction to our location (customer picked up the order instead of shipping) I have to go into each line on the transaction to tell it to use the main address. There should be a setup option to default that all your transaction items use the same address.
Read Sandi zeko's full review
November 23, 2020
Carol Beaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is used across the company. We use it for keeping up to date on sales tax rates and the change in rates.
  • Updating sales tax rates.
  • Generating sales tax returns.
  • Reporting
Having updated sales tax rates without having to do any work on our end is a huge plus for our company.
The ease of approving the tax returns is wonderful.
I would just like to have one screen where all the monthly reports load and I download the reports from that screen.
  • E-Automate
The initial integration was easy. Our problem is that when E-automate does a revision of their software, they don't always check to make sure that the revision still works with Avalara.
The last upgrade to Avalara was incredibly easy to use.
Read Carol Beaver's full review
November 18, 2020
Susan Crone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara reviews all transactions processed through our software, Prophet 21, and determines taxable status. Avalara is also creating and filing monthly returns.
  • Transaction reviews.
  • Accurate returns.
  • Timely returns.
  • Support - can’t talk to anyone who isn’t overseas. Terrible connection.
  • Support - when instruction sheets are emailed, they rarely match with what’s seen on the screen.
Support is less than stellar. But thankfully support is rarely needed.
  • Integrated ERP software
I wasn’t involved in the actual integration.
So much of it is done behind the scenes/hands-off.
Read Susan Crone's full review
November 18, 2020
Julia Medeiros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the organization, we are a SaaS based product and we find issues with having to do additional research as to what taxes we are exempt from. We also find difficulty with returns and auditing between our returns and what is owed to the states.
  • Easy to file returns.
  • Great customer service from account managers.
  • Good tax information on each state.
  • Assistance with audit between returns and what is owed.
  • SaaS product information on Exemptions build within the platform.
  • Update on your how to do steps for users. Many are out of date, when attempting to use.
I do like the platform, I do also feel there is room for improvement.
  • We have integrated NetSuite.
It is easy to use, and self explanatory with helpful guides. Some guides need updated after the system has an update. Some of the step by steps are outdated and the buttons they say to click have different names or locations.
Read Julia Medeiros's full review
November 17, 2020
Julian Ospina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses everyday Avalara and is one of the best tools and partners for our taxes. Is been used across the whole organization, but with special emphasis in the sales and revenue department. Avalara addresses the tax problem, especially when the company sells its products in different states and even outside of the United States.
  • Calculate sales tax
  • Filling and pay the returns
  • Constantly support and integrate with the ERP system
  • Training and research
  • On time reports and alerts
  • Budget friendly
  • More options to reduce costs.
It is wonderful for any size or type of company. Works perfect for multi-state sales and purchases. It is a great tool for e-commerce and provides a strong partner to support revenue growth. Avalara fits perfectly for multiple locations sales and for work with different kinds of customers.
Could not be very appropriate if your business is focused on a very specific location and your taxes are not very complex.
  • ERP Software
  • E-Commerce
Avalara is a great system that allows the customer to have easy integration with any ERP software or e-commerce site. So far we did the integration with three different systems and we do not experiment with problems or errors. It is great and works perfectly with the most common and not so known ERP software
This rating for Avalara is because we strongly believe that the service and customer support are excellent and we are very happy to have them as our tax helper provider. The overall usability of 10 represents the different capabilities of the software, the excellent connectivity, and the great service.
Read Julian Ospina's full review
November 17, 2020
Dianne Spillner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Avalara to calculate all of our customer invoices. It is being used across the whole organization and is connected to our ERP system. It has helped us become more compliant with our sales tax. Since we use Avalara for Returns as well, it has taken that responsibility off of me. Avalara has taught me a ton about tax too.
  • Timely Returns
  • Communications
  • Solving support issues quickly.
  • Communication from our account manager on new products.
For a company with cross-border sales, Avalara is very helpful. For companies that just sell to customers in just 1 state, Avalara isn't needed as much. They would still be helpful.
  • ERP Software - ECI Solutions
Not difficult at all!! Avalara and ECI Solutions took care of everything!
I was able to login into AvaTax and get what I needed without any training. It is very easy to train someone else on as well.
Read Dianne Spillner's full review
November 17, 2020
Jonna Boeckholt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to calculate sales tax and returns organization wide. Allows accurate sales tax capturing & filing - frees up multiple hours of my time.
  • Great customer service / quick response
  • Easy to understand instructions
  • Continued presentations with updated options
Avalara is an asset for any company which ships to multiple locations, where varied tax collections are required. This allows up-to-date rates and calculations as well as accurate reporting and payments.
Perhaps if you were a brick and mortar with 1 location - selling only to walk in/local clients this would be less appealing.
  • accounting
Easy to do, great customer service help.
Extremely happy with Avalara's ease of use and appreciate the training received and ongoing.
Read Jonna Boeckholt's full review
November 17, 2020
Kaysha Menge, MAFM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use for all sales tax calculations and it is incorporated into our ERP system - Epicor. We also have a rental business that uses a separate software, we are looking to incorporate Avalara to that software in the future. We use Cert Capture and Avalara prepares all of our sales and use tax returns. It simplifies the sales tax process. It allows us to define our product taxability with presets in Avalara and is accurate, efficient and we can trust it for a complicated tax world.
  • The depth of knowledge of the tax laws and implementation into the software.
  • Timely processing of returns
  • Responsive Customer Service
  • At times we have down time between the connection of Avalara and our ERP which is a loss in time or incorrect invoicing.
  • Cert Capture - Validation of certificates should be able to validate with each state
  • Proactively let us know about things like Tiered Tax laws or unusual taxation based on settings between Avalara and our ERP instead of the customer having to drill in and determine those when customers question.
Avalara is well suited for large volume invoicing with multi-jurisdictions and types of services or products provided.

Less appropriate if only delivering to one area. But I can't really think of a situation where this product would not simplify life for the Accounting Department.
  • Integrated with Epicor ERP
  • Want to integrate with R2 rental software
I was not involved in the initial integration but will be for R2.
Such a valued and needed software.
Read Kaysha Menge, MAFM's full review
November 17, 2020
Allison McLain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is being used by our accounting department alongside Quickbooks Enterprise Desktop. It helps us address sales tax nexus as helps with accurate sales tax calculations in the various different tax jurisdictions.
  • Monitoring Sales Tax Nexus
  • Calculating Accurate Sales Tax
  • Providing Reporting for Ease of Remitting Taxes to Various Jurisdictions
  • Speed - sometimes the calculation call-outs can take several seconds
  • Monitoring # of transactions versus just $ of transactions for economic nexus
I haven't been in any situations where it is less appropriate but Avalara is well suited for all types of sales tax tracking, reporting, and calculating.
  • Quickbooks Enterprise Desktop
It was very easy. An Avalara tech met with us to walk us through the set up and even gave us tips on how to make sure the process went smoothly.
Even the most tech challenged folks on our team have been able to use the software with ease.
Read Allison McLain's full review
November 17, 2020
Andrea Karsian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Nexus in various jurisdictions and I can't imagine operating a business today without using Avalara. Avalara simplifies our tax life as well as making us feel secure about meeting the requirements of local and state authorities. Avalara works well with our ERP system, Epicor Prophet21 and allows us to grow our business.
  • Tax filing
  • Answering nexus questions
  • organizing in case of audit
  • Nothing
I am often used to speak to potential Avalara customers and welcome the opportunity to do so. Avalara is well suited to any business that deals in the online marketplace. Avalara protects a business from audit for non compliance.
  • ERP P21
  • CRM White Cup
  • ECC
The initial integration was difficult because we were one of the first but I have no doubt today it is very easy.
Avalara is extremely easy to use and makes it so easy to learn the product.
Read Andrea Karsian's full review
November 17, 2020
Alyssa Zarling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara to keep track of customer exemption status and to track all tax and file all our S&U tax filings with every state we are registered in.
  • Tax Filings
  • Organized information
  • Very helpful staff that answers all questions in a timely manner
  • Educating people new to the tax world
  • Giving more information on registering to collect tax in more states
  • Making auto withdrawal of funds easier to update
In an instance where someone is handling multiple states for filing returns I think Avalara is very helpful. if you only have one or two states you are registered in I do not think Avalara would be necessary. They are very helpful in identifying nexus which is something that I think most people don't know they need to consider when collecting sales tax.
  • ERP Software
It took a lot of time and testing to get the integration figured out. The Avalara team was very helpful in all parts of the testing to get this up and running.
I find it very easy to navigate around the Avatax portal and using the site is very easy.
Read Alyssa Zarling's full review
November 17, 2020
Amanda Rompola | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara has always been my favorite purchase at a prior company years ago. I was pleasantly surprised that my current company uses it as well. It replaces having a FTE doing the tax returns each month. It keeps all the annoying exemption certificates easily at hand and linked to Netsuite (our ERP) and able to tell customers to the lowest tax line what rate was. All for a VERY reasonable price!! It is crazy to not at least review this service when you are considering sales tax compliance.
  • Sales tax return processing
  • Support can be less generic and actually help
Avalara replaces a FTE person (for a smaller company) with a cheaper price!
  • Netsuite
  • Paypal
  • Authorize.net
Seemed to be pleasant experience for the developers I spoke to.
Read Amanda Rompola's full review
November 12, 2020
Jennifer Heng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara AvaTax helps support our sales tax compliance and is used across the whole organization. It is working concurrently with our sales webstore platform providing real time comprehensive sales tax calculation. The AvaTax functions not only calculate sales tax, it file and remit returns. Very happy with this product because it relieved my teams from spending hours bogging down on manual details calculations and preparation as well as monitoring the constant changing of states regulations.
  • Automation
  • Communication
  • Resources
  • Good help desk support
  • Website Resource center: For example state sales tax rates and info is really helpful. Would be nice if there is indication when info was last updated.
  • Website: A section for Hot topics, "What's new", or updates on State's regulation, etc.
I would definitely recommend Avalara for the ease of compliance due to automation. Filing multiples states makes it so much easier with the help of AvaTax. Spent more time on high level instead of details work.
  • Personify
Even though Personify is not really well know[n], the integrations with our IT department went well.
With Avalara's team keeping up with the constant changing of State's regulations, I am confident that the AvaTax System is reliable and I can relied on their team to get the tax compliance right.
Read Jennifer Heng's full review
November 12, 2020
Alejandro Castaneda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is being used for sales tax calculation when selling products. Avalara streamlines the tax calculations by eliminating the need for our company to enter the tax level and percentages by state, city and county, an activity that can be time-consuming and prone-error. Also, Avalara provides excellent support when any issue arises between our ERP and Avalara.
  • Avalara maintains tax % level by county and even by city zone more accurate than we expected.
  • Avalara provides excellent customer support when questions arises.
  • Avalara Cert Captures streamlines the capture of customer tax certificates efficiently.
  • Avalara Customer Support sometimes takes 30 minutes to reply. I get they are too busy, but I normally send the Q and just get to do some other things in between.
  • Changes to the Websites are too drastically from the latest version to the previous one. A video explaining the changes would be handy for us, customers, to understand the changes.
Avalara is well suited for Tax Calculation for USA. I wonder if Avalara is also available for all countries in the continent (Latin American countries). Our ERP does not have Geo Localization for tracking where our shipments are being shipped to. Most of our shipments are to fields, or a well in the middle of the country, where even the Avalara finds it hard to provide the correct tax percent correct sometimes.
  • Our ERP, Epicor 10, integrates with Avalara for Tax Calcualtions for Sales
Epicor 10, our ERP, integrated to Avalara was an easy process, since it was implemented by Epicor Consultants.
Avalara does what it does in the background. It is very easy to use once you understand how taxes are calculated, and the Ship to address are correctly entered in the ERP system.
Read Alejandro Castaneda's full review
November 12, 2020
Toni Fuller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara to calculate sales tax on all of our sales. This helps us to eliminate manual tax calculation steps and errors. Avalara also prepares the tax returns for 8 states for us.
  • Real time taxing - always current rates.
  • Preparation of tax returns.
  • Reporting.
  • Customer service.
  • Help desk is very difficult to get a response from.
  • More training at implementation.
I think Avalara is well suited for anyone shipping and invoicing customers. Entering certificates on Cert Capture is easy and takes the manual steps out of calculating as assigning taxes on customer invoices.
  • Acumatica
Integration was seamless.
Easy to use for the most part. Some areas such as importing use tax transactions, error correction, and special taxing in some states could use a little more training/direction. Help desk is difficult to get answers from.
Read Toni Fuller's full review
November 12, 2020
Margaret Whitted | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We first started using Avalara in order to take advantage of the SST enrollment. We are currently using it for our e-commerce tax calculations.
  • Tax calculation based on ship-to address.
  • Application of exempt certificates.
  • Making it easier when setting up jurisdictions.
  • Sometimes, it's not intuitive when you are looking for something.
  • Quicker response when you encounter an issue.
Companies selling in multiple states and/or using e-commerce.
  • e-commerce
  • Zoho
  • NetSuite
E-commerce was easy. Hit some bumps with Zoho.
Would give higher rate if the software was more intuitive and if getting support was easier. Also, we have been using the software for awhile now and I just got an email congratulating me on my purchase and urging me to set up my company.
Read Margaret Whitted's full review
November 12, 2020
Kathy Spiegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for our e-commerce websites.
  • They calculate sales transactions correctly.
  • We have an account manager that keeps up well with our account and makes good suggestions.
  • They have an easy to understand and use website.
  • They have good reporting.
  • It is hard to get someone to answer questions on support cases submitted in a timely manner.
  • It is hard to get answer in a timely manner for tax notices.
  • Some questions are by email and person never answers back.
  • Phone support is good but email support takes a long time.
Avalara is great for e-commerce business.
  • QuickBooks
  • Woo Commerce
  • Big Commerce in Development Stage
The integrations work but our systems are hard to reconcile with Avalara because of timing of shipment.
The site seems more user friendly and easy to navigate.
Read Kathy Spiegel's full review
November 12, 2020
Zachary Walz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Avalara for the whole organization. We use it to determine the taxability of a transaction and use it to file sales tax returns. We use it to save time in filing our returns and to remove the human element of interpreting the taxability of a sales. It frees up time that was previously used to research new sales tax laws, because Avalara does this for you.
  • Time savings.
  • Storage of documents.
  • Determining taxability of transaction.
  • On-Boarding was lacking for implementation.
  • Transparency in pricing.
  • Determining document storage and exemption not clearly explained at time of onboarding.
Avalara does a great job of handling the sales tax in all aspects. It is not clearly stated how little the implementation manager actually participates in the integration. Once you get over the hump of implementation the product works very well.
  • Cloud Suite
  • SX
  • Web UI
Implementation team for Avalara were hands off in this process. Only stepped in when we requested assistance. Assistance was scheduled 2 weeks out. No same day meetings.
This program is user friendly and easy to navigate.
Read Zachary Walz's full review
November 12, 2020
Ruth Schonfeld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it in our ecommerce system to calculate sales tax. One of our companies also use the tax returns filing module. AvaTax allows us to enter the states with nexus and it calculates the correct sales tax. We also use it to tell us when we are reaching nexus in other states.
  • Great customer support.
  • Ecommerce extension is awesome.
  • Provides a lot of analysis on our sales tax position by state.
  • Returns filing is very convenient.
  • Our account manager changed and we had some issues with an open quote.
  • Difficult to change thresholds mid year.
Great for ecommerce sales tax calculations, nexus determinations and sales tax filing.

If there are no taxable sales, this probably not a needed product.
  • Ecommerce - Magento
  • Ecommerce - Shopify
Not difficult at all, very easy and no issues.
One of the best integrations we have in terms of ease of setup and maintenance. Always accurate and simplifies sales tax compliance as much as possible.
Read Ruth Schonfeld's full review
November 04, 2020
Summer Hagge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara company-wide to calculate sales tax on our invoices for sales, rentals, repairs, consulting and training, software, and warranties. We also have Avalara remit our returns to our taxing authorities. This has ensured that we remit exactly what we collect, as well as that we are collecting exactly what we should be.
  • Reports
  • Returns
  • Sales Tax
  • Exemptions tab
  • Implementation
  • Explanation and Instruction on features
Avalara is well-suited to companies that sell in an area with many jurisdictions that need to be collected and filed for. Avalara is also well-suited for a company that sells many different types of items (i.e: tangible, intangible, computer software, rentals, services, consulting). If a company only sells in one place or only has one type of item, this service is not necessary.
  • QuickBooks
  • Miscrosoft Business Central
  • Shopify
Quickbooks was an ok set up, but the actual tax calculation was so open for error that only one person in my company could calculate and send invoices to customers accurately. Business Central calculation has been easier, but would be nice if one could check the rates inside of BC. Also, HUGE issue with our sales quotes templates not being able to show tax. Shopify doesn't work with Avalara accounts that already exist.
It is a necessary tool, but I wish there were other sales tax calculators to choose from. Avalara doesn't have to fight for my business, because I need them. However, their implementation and support are very lacking.
Read Summer Hagge's full review
October 12, 2020
Tammy Faber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is used to process our sales tax across the country. We also use cert capture to track and record our tax exempt and resale certificates. It helps us accurately track, record and pay our sales tax due. Additionally it removed the errors we had with incorrect sales tax rates being charged to our customers.
  • Accurately calculates sales tax and communicates that with our ERP system.
  • Tracks our sales tax certificates.
  • Looks for other jurisdictions we have increased sales in where we now must collect sales tax.
  • Add warnings when thresholds are close in jurisdiction.
Avalara has simplified our sales tax process. We spend less in house time on rates, our costs to have the CPA calculate the sales tax have been eliminated and we have more accurate rates in our system. Avalara has saved us time and money. I highly recommend the program to eliminate the sales tax headache.
  • SAGE 100
It was very easy! No issues at all!
Extremely user friendly. Great online tools for help. Great support team.
Read Tammy Faber's full review
August 19, 2020
Elaine Ware | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We sell in all 50 states. Avalara is a part of our ERP software (Dynamics GP). We use it to calculate sales taxes on our quotes, sales orders, and invoicing. It also makes it easy for our sales team to quote the correct sales tax before the order is placed.
  • Seamless tax addition to documents without having to do anything.
  • The tax rates automatically update when new laws are passed.
  • Salespeople can look up accurate tax rates by address very easily for our quotes.
  • I have confidence in their customer service when I have a problem
  • I like to be able to drill down to the actual combination state, fed, and special tax rates that were on an order
  • My account representative checks in annually to discuss my changing needs.
  • The option of showing a window with tax rate details, without having to drill down, would be helpful.
  • Adding some reports into the GP framework would be nice
I appreciate that I am not depending on employees to calculate the correct amount of tax on orders. It is also nice to know that I can depend on the program to consistently not charge taxes to a customer on items that are non-taxable. All of these things ensure the accuracy of my documents and in the end keeps our customers happy.
I have never had a problem reaching someone at Avalara when I have a question about my service or about my account. It is nice to have trusted source to turn to when I have a question on a topic as complicated as sales and use taxes.
  • Dynamic GP
It was not difficult. Avalara gave us a lot of help and support in setting it up.
Most people in our company use Avalara every day, and don't even realize that they are using an add-on product. It simply works. We have been using Avalara for years without any problems.
I have never had trouble finding a real person to talk to at Avalara. My sales rep keeps in touch and is constantly reviewing my account and helping me adjust our package to our ever changing needs. Whenever I have had to call into support for a question, I have always felt that the person on the other end of the line was very knowledgeable and helpful. My questions are always answered promptly.
Everyone in our organization depends on Avalara. Sales and Accounting.
Read Elaine Ware's full review
August 17, 2020
Lori Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara AvaTax in our accounting department. It supplies us the tools to charge our customer's the proper sales and use tax and then helps us submit the correct amount to the correct taxing authority. It keeps us on track and accurate, without the overwhelming effort to maintain the tax records.
  • If you have to submit sales tax in California, then you will love Avalara AvaTax! It keeps all the tax divisions in the right divisions separate.
  • The liability worksheet makes it easy to check the amounts to be submitted, which you approve prior to submittal.
  • Avalara AvaTax keeps you in control of the sales and use tax, which saves you time and stress.
  • The training on the system could be much better. We only use the system once a quarter, so it difficult to remember something you only use in that time frame.
  • Better help with the committed items, as sometimes they do not commit.
  • Make the system reminders for the liability worksheet pertain only to your client's time-frame. We are quarterly, so please don't send us a reminder every month, it's confusing, especially when we are new to your system.
It works great for us as we need the help with all of the returns.
Once you get used to it Avalara AvaTax works like a charm.
Read Lori Clark's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (179)
9.2
Cross-border Taxes (34)
8.6
VAT / GST Taxes (29)
7.8
Energy and Fuel Taxes (16)
8.5
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (95)
8.8
3rd-Party Software Integrations (132)
8.0
Tax Data Reporting (150)
8.5
Compliance Administration Management (109)
8.5
Tax Exemption Processing (121)
8.4
Tax Document Management (114)
8.7
Complex Tax Scenario Management (79)
7.8

What is Avalara?

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features

Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes

Tax Reporting & Compliance Features

Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite ERP, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Avalara Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web