Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
385 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 218)

Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara AvaTax to calculate and provide reporting for sales tax which is integrated with our ERP system and more recently implemented Cert Capture to maintain certificates for our customers in the states we sell into that have implemented economic nexus rules to force companies to collect and remit sales tax on sales into their states. We used the partner Avalara for getting licensed in all those new states and we have considered having Avalara file the returns also but have been doing them in-house for now.
  • Avatax stays current with all the changes in rates and does an excellent job of calculating the correct sales tax to charge.
  • The reporting interface for sales tax reports is easy to use and once you set up a report you can save it as a favorite and rerun it any time with one click. Their UI on the reporting is simple and provides a minimum number of clicks to get the data you want and export it to Excel where every number lives whether it belongs there or not!
  • When I file returns myself, I immediately know what the discrepancies are (e.g., discounts for filing, etc.) and can book those adjustments immediately as I record the payments themselves. Avalara necessarily has a gap between when you submit the return to them and when they file it and calculate those differences. It's not a big deal but I don't like having a one month lag in reconciling those differences. I like being able to manage them in real-time. That may just be the price you pay to have them do the filing for you but it is a bit of a deterrent for me at this point.
  • For a while there is seemed like musical chairs for the sales reps assigned to us. The current rep has been with us for a while and that really helps.
In this day and age, you simply cannot administer your own sales tax calculation and reporting scheme. You will lose more in a single sales tax audit in fees and penalties than you pay to have a competent software package do the calculations and reporting and administration of certificates for you. AvaTax integrates directly with our quoting, order and invoicing modules in our ERP system so it runs in the background and does so flawlessly. If you are invoicing more than 50 customers a month, you need a tool like AvaTax and Certcapture to take away the administrative burden.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Braxton Todd | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

A Good Product For Certain Industries

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Avalara in respect to our state sales and use tax compliance. We are a multi-state construction company and have different divisions offering a variety of services nationwide. Because we have nexus in a large number of states, researching all of the tax answers ourselves is not be feasible. Plus, tax rates changed dramatically across tax jurisdictions. We used Avalara to help us understand the complexities of sales and use tax.
  • Providing accurate tax rates across differing jurisdictions.
  • Providing accurate tax answers.
  • Providing tailored answers for the construction industry (tax compliance for the construction industry is immensely complex).
I would be very careful when using Avalara for industries outside of retail, for example. We are a construction company and didn't always find the most appropriate answers for our complex projects. Other resources are better suited for the construction industry. For example, TTR (Transaction Tax Resource) provides appropriate answers for more complex construction projects.
Read Braxton Todd's full review
Rebecca Fortman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Tax compliance made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TydenBrooks utilizes Avalara for our tax calculations and tax return preparations. Avalara is linked directly with our Epicor ERP software. AP and AR both utilize the software for managing the taxation of goods sold and paying tax collected into states. Our company has Nexus in all states currently collecting tax from to marketplace, online sales, traveling salesmen, etc. Avalara makes tax apportionment, billing, and filing efficient and streamlined across our company.
  • Tax calculation
  • Tax filing
  • Historical data retention
  • Tax consult and tax support
  • Conversion to CAD
  • Selecting all states as one option vs. having to list state after state individually for setups, such as for our marketplace
  • Filing refund requests vs. carrying credits
It is amazing for Domestic US taxes, however, not being able to convert to CAD is a huge headache when it requires downloading data to do manual conversions for CAD filing.
Read Rebecca Fortman, MBA's full review
Yolie Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Avalara is worth considering for your business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is used by the Accounting/Tax Department. We use it to streamline our sales tax filing obligations in 29+ states. We have also integrated Avalara with our ERP system, ePIC through a custom API to make sales tax calculations for our invoices to customers
  • Streamlines sales tax process with electronic filing and includes paper filing
  • Makes payments of sales tax simple
  • Stores or tracks unused sales tax credit
  • Provide more specific support for companies that require API to connect their ERP system to Avalara
  • Provide more advance notification and training for changing AvaTax platform
Avalara is great for manufacturers, especially their AvaTax and CertCapture services. It will promote a company to get current with technology and streamline their business process. It helps minimize paper by storing all returns electronically for you.
Read Yolie Nguyen's full review
Judy Vorndran | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Avalara is the Uber of sales tax - it has been transformative in its connector-related focus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We partner with Avalara to help companies collect and remit sales taxes across the US, due to its relatively easy integrations to multiple GL systems, it can be integrated readily, thus, with proper sales tax mapping and nexus set up - create reporting for taxes owed by jurisdiction. It is a bit more like a rate database with product taxability - and is an excellent product for those with a relatively simple invoicing system - i.e., invoice and add taxes.
  • Amazing sales process.
  • Great marketing.
  • Loads of connectors.
  • Fun.
  • Service - too self-service with no personal resources.
  • Videos cannot be the only way to provide support.
  • Somewhat inflexible.
Avalara is well suited for ecommerce, simple integrations, unsophisticated or nonexistent tax departments, simple invoicing process with tax - it is a rate calculator with a taxability mapping interface which can allow one to set up tax and collect across the country without having to set up separate codes by state.
Read Judy Vorndran's full review
Kathleen Gage | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

The good, the bad and . . .

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I am the primary user, with my manager as back-up. I do have plans to roll out the application to billing personnel in my company and to sales for tax calculation.
  • Calculate real-time sales tax for invoices.
  • CertCapture for managing my TEC's.
  • Transaction sales tax detail.
  • Local jurisdiction exemption certificates.
  • Avalara online university classes are not interactive and do not provide for practice applications.
Avalara does a great job with usual sales tax calculations, but it needs a bit of improvement in trickier or unusual sales tax calculations/exemptions.
Read Kathleen Gage's full review
Michelle Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

CertCapture

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CertCapture was used by the tax department, and our company just pushed it down to the whole organization this year. It helps to store and track our customer's resale certificate in a central place and provide support for tax audit purpose.
Some Problems:
  • Missing certificates.
  • Improper certificate forms were used by the division.
  • Incomplete certificates were accepted.
  • Misplaced certificates.
  • Out of date certificates.
  • We were able to track the number of missing customer certificates.
  • We were able to identify the acceptable certificate forms.
  • This product educated our division's credit manager enough to only accept the proper forms.
  • The automated and customized report is needed.
Avalara provides a State verification link provided when entering the tax ID number, and the tax ID number format is also provided. The customer list upload templates are also great.
Read Michelle Chow's full review
Marc Petrine | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

I use Avalara and I'm not sure why everyone doesn't!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara across our sales and accounting departments. Avalara integrates with our e-commerce platform to calculate, charge, and collect sales tax. It's helpful that Avalara knows the correct rates to charge for all products in all jurisdictions for all classes of customers. That information is then transmitted to our accounting staff to reconcile with our internal records. Avalara then files the necessary tax returns.
  • Determines tax rates for customers depending on that customer's exact ship-to location.
  • Files returns correctly and on time.
  • Tracks and uses customer supplied exemption certificates to determine a customer's taxability.
  • Avalara assumes that companies have IT support. Dumbing down some of their training would be helpful.
Avalara is well-suited to a company that has accounting software that has the ability to integrate through API. It becomes more manual when you have a situation where third-party software does not integrate well.
Read Marc Petrine's full review
Lisa Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Avalara's pros & cons for storing & collecting tax certs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cert Capture to keep Resale & other tax exemption documents/letters on file for all of our dealers. It is only used by the Credit Department, and if we have a tax auditor come through. It keeps certificates on file and allows us to know when they are about to expire, as well as try to assist us in running a campaign to collect any new certs in certain states.
  • Storing arena for Resale Tax Exemption Certificates.
  • The need to hit Refresh several times throughout the process to upload a new cert can be tiresome, and on occasion we have to wait a long time for it to show up during one of those refreshes.
  • Campaigns can be clunky; not always notified which dealer accounts didn't get their email delivered, and sometimes dealers find the format to appear to be SPAM and so they do not complete it.
To my knowledge, we aren't aware of a great software for the Resale Tax Exemption Certificate need we have. So it does work to store, and collect, tax certs even if parts seem clunky to me. If we did not have it, it would make collecting & storing the certificates much more laborious.
Read Lisa Burns's full review
Sol Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara for sales tax. It helps the tax department calculate tax liabilities and file returns. Avalara only helps file sales tax returns from the US.
  • Nexus study.
  • Taxability matrix.
  • Generating reports.
  • Hold times
  • Follow up with issues.
  • Accessibility to account manager.
  • Account manager.
Avalara can appropriately calculate tax for straight forward transactions. However, it is not very reliable for calculating tax for complicated seniors or invoices. For example, multiple line items with multiple shipping addresses. Coding can be faulty.
Read Sol Sanchez's full review
John Moeller | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Cream of the crop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the federal terminal reporting of Avalara
  • Customer Service is top notch
  • Always willing to help you 100%
  • Detail of the program is above and beyond
  • the new e-mailing customer help desk
Setting up everything, the customer service department stayed on the phone with me the entire time walking me through it and they also were right there watching me via the computer the first time I filed the return. They have been a help ever since when needed.
Read John Moeller's full review
Heather Ordoyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Avalara is a timesaver!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara for our entire organization. We sell products that are moving to a national level. Avalara provides us with the knowledge of when to add new states due to meeting thresholds. They help us manage our tax-exempt certificates and keep us updated on all changes.
  • CertCapture.
  • I don't care for having to make scheduled appointments to talk to someone.
Avalara is well suited for anyone that has to file taxes in multiple states or has customers with tax-exempt certificates that are job-specific or in various states. With the changing laws, it helps us stay informed.
Read Heather Ordoyne's full review
Ian Larkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Avalara keeps us in compliance with constantly changing tax laws

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara enables our finance department to accurately calculate sales tax, file the related tax returns and remit payment to the numerous tax authorities in an easy and user-friendly manner.
  • Sales tax calculation
  • Sales tax details
  • Easier to file back taxes
Businesses with customers in numerous states/localities without a physical presence there (or a limited presence) will greatly benefit.
Read Ian Larkin's full review
Kevin Lannan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Finance departments at the 2 companies we own, both manufacturers, use it. One has been using it but will add more modules like Cert Capture while the other Company will begin using Avalara in 2020.
  • Communications
  • Follow-up
  • Follow-up is good but they could follow-up faster than they do
  • Earn trust faster - some of my past staff members lacked trust in Avalara
Sales tax management is tough. Companies of all sizes need help and will likely never be able to hire experts to manage it on their own. That said, I have used Avalara at a $10 billion company, a $1 billion company, a $100 million company and now with 2 companies - a $30 million company and a $40 million company. It is complicated. Avalara is good at making sure the right tax rates are applied to the right sales transactions.

We also need help managing International Sales, so, not sure how well versed Avalara is with that.
Read Kevin Lannan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the AvaTax module of Avalara and interface it with Intacct to create sales tax line items on our Intacct invoices and to create Sales Tax by Location reports in Intacct and Avalara. Our corporate parent's Indirect Tax department uses the Avalara sales tax calculations to file sales tax returns in all states that we have nexus in. Given the complicated calculations of some states such as Texas, we could not do any of this without Avalara software. Avalara is very easy to use, and we can easily add states or exempt customers who send us sales tax exemption certificates. Avalara has taken the risk out of sales tax calculation and return filing, which we are forever grateful for. In addition, I use Avalara's knowledge base on sales tax issues to make sure that I stay current on the latest thinking. I have found their articles and videos very easy to understand and informative for a non-tax expert. Thanks Avalara, for making my life easier!
  • Calculating sales tax for invoices; always using the most current rates.
  • Creating helpful knowledge base articles and videos.
  • Assisting with any questions we have on our account or future issues.
  • Exempting customers - some data entry fields are not intuitive.
  • Differences in the monthly reports are not as well-explained as I would like; I had to experiment a bit with different reports.
Avalara is well suited to situations where you have a formal invoicing software system, and you need to have sales tax automatically calculated. The interface between Avalara and Intacct is what really sold us on the software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Time saving tool in sales tax reporting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the Accounting department and Ecommerce department. The Accounting department uses AvaTax returns to file sales tax returns. The Ecommerce department uses AvaTax to configure transactions from Magento. However, the Ecommerce department rarely logs in to Avalara. They usually only log in to Magento. The Accounting department will do the reconciliation to make sure transactions are configured to AvaTax and to Magento.
  • Takes away the hassle of filing sales tax returns
  • Provides useful reports
  • Easy to access E-commerce transactions
  • The account manager can be more helpful. Our new account manager still hasn't replied to our email requesting a link to her calendar to schedule a meeting after two follow up emails. She was not at the Crush conference either. We didn't get a chance to talk to her after she became our account manager.
  • The billing department can do better. We just got an invoice in May for overages in January.
It is well suited for a business that needs to be registered in more than 15 states.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

AvaTax for Calculating only

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is being used in our company to calculate sales tax on our e-comm website. As a manufacturer focused primarily on wholesale transactions, the shift to B2C is a large undertaking, especially for sales tax compliance. We have nexus in all states, so Avalara has been key to collecting the correct sales tax from our consumers
  • Calculating sales tax.
  • Innovation in the tax industry.
  • Sales tax exemption certificate management.
  • Reporting when not using the filing service.
Avalara is best suited for companies with broad nexus and/or rapid growth. CertCapture is excellent for companies that have a large number of wholesale customers as well as retail customers.
Avalara is less appropriate if you don't know where you have nexus, or always have a tax professional review before registering in new states.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Avalara simplifies sales tax calculations and filings.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Avalara for two companies -- one using a Shopify feed and the other that sells only on Amazon. Avalara solves my state sales tax filings for both companies. With the Shopify store, the feed is automatic and I just have to review the liability worksheet once a month. With the Amazon store, I have to upload transactions from Amazon and then review the liability worksheet. It's easy to pull returns and track filings.
  • My account rep (Tosca) has been excellent in dealing with any issues I many have.
  • Sales tax filings are timely.
  • It's easy to track and obtain copies of filings.
  • There are a ton of helpful reports.
  • For Amazon manual transaction upload, it would be great if there was an automatic way to pull the Amazon report and upload rather than reformat.
I've used other platforms and I don't think there is a more accurate or better platform for sales tax compliance on the market. It's better than doing it yourself. I would highly recommend Avalara.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Cloud-based tax calculation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our company, there is a financial area that is responsible for calculating taxes. From the IT department, we support this tool, both the AvaTax module and Returns. This tool allows you to simplify the calculation of taxes and their return.
  • Cheaper than others
  • Simple for financial staff
  • It has a previous demo
  • Need financial training
  • Tax calculation could be easier.
  • The calculation of returns could be adjusted more.
This tool has a very specific and defined role, so its use is not complex (at least for financial staff). It allows you to anticipate the calculation of taxes and returns.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is integrated with our ERP system in order to tax our customers and remit taxes. When an invoice is created with customer information and the items are populated on the invoice, the system pings the Avalara system and gathers the correct tax rate and amount to put on the invoice. This ensures that our system is taxing the customer and we are remitting taxes correctly.
  • If there is a question about the tax on an invoice, it is easy to check the transaction and each jurisdiction of the tax.
  • It is easy to download reports to reconcile at the end of the month.
  • Anything can be downloaded to analyze the data.
  • When an invoice has been voided it is a little cumbersome to pull up. It would be great to see this along with the original invoice.
  • Make it easier to discuss problems instead of having to always go to the Account Rep.
  • Sometimes reports do not match the return. Having a discrepancy report or a way to identify them would be great.
  • The new upgrade makes it more difficult to find previous transactions.
If you are in difficult states to file or have more than you can handle staff-wise, then this is a great alternative. Avalara will provide a great way to pull all your data into a concise form and file the taxes for you. You must manage the business licenses and registrations in order for Avalara to file taxes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Certifiably CertCapture

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently CertCapture is used by our tax department and our Records department. CertCapture is currently being used to house all of our sales tax and fuel tax exemptions. We are also using the system to hold all of our customer's accounts.
  • The interface for CertCapture is fairly easy to use. Everything is more or less self explanatory and easy to navigate. Anything process wise that may be difficult at first is shown step by step in the "walk me through" guide.
  • Changes to accounts are easy to see and follow. We deal with a lot of timing issues between account changes and invoices. This allows us to see if the account was changed before or after an invoice was created.
  • Reporting of what documents are in the system, and who has them is quick and easy. We are constantly using the CertCapture reporting to clean up our ERP System.
  • There certificate management needs to have a better understanding of state laws and how each exemption certificate relates to it.
I find it as a great customer record tool and recommend it for any business that deals with a lot of exemptions from customers. They are expanding on outbound exemptions as well which is a plus if your company does a lot of tax exempt purchases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Mediocre at best

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We compared Avalara against a number of products in response to Wayfair. We liked the Thompson Reuters and SOVOS products and customer service better, but Avalara came in at a better price point and was the only system that currently integrates with Shopify+. We integrated Avalara with our NetSuite instance.

We currently utilize AvaTax and CertCapture. We are still doing our own returns.
  • The system works okay. It helps us manage rate tables and customers with multiple jurisdictions.
  • TERRIBLE and SLOW customer service. In fact, the worst I've ever experienced. It takes over a week to get a response unless you call-in, wait over an hour and get lucky with a knowledgeable rep. They love to pass the buck and point you to Avarala Help articles that are unrelated or not particularly useful.
  • Implementation - We went with their "guided implementation" to cut costs as we have a strong IT team and a lot of great internal and experienced resources. They were not helpful at all. No engagement (we had to reach out to them multiple times to get things moving), no project plan, limited guidance, slow responses and flat-out wrong recommendations. They gave us incorrect configuration information, and their data upload is downright antiquated. We had to CSV upload our customers (oh yeah, they don't know how to bulk upload data). We figured out a way to do it, but they also don't tell you any null values will delete those fields of data, so you get to do it all over again.
  • We then had to manually associate every single certificate for existing customers. We had to go through 3 reps and implementation types to properly handle marketplace facilitators (hint: setup an exempt customers in CertCapture like Amazon FBA/FBM, flow marketplace transactions through those customers, then create tax exemptions for each state that marketplace collects/remits on your behalf). We went live with lots of issues, and we're still working through several of them months later.
  • Their NetSuite integration is okay - but weak at best. Not intuitive at all. Permissions are a headache and we had to open a ticket to request they actually connect CertCapture correctly. All state liabilities also post to a single tax GL. If you want to report by state this is a challenge to reclass and reconcile.
  • Their reporting is mediocre at best . The reports they provide don't actually provide enough data to file your reports, likely because they want you to utilize their services and pay the $50/per filing for them to file on your behalf. If you have budget and you're not a small business, this would probably be fine.
  • UI - their User Interface is really pretty antiquated and frustrating to work with. Instead of having a single place to login and manage your account, there's an AvaTax login, there's an Avalara Admin login, there's a CertCapture login, and you have to handle them all separately. Many aspects just aren't super intuitive, and their Help isn't all that helpful. For instance, you can create a template cover letter to email to customers for exemption certificate requests, but you can't set it as a default form - unless you delete their default form and rename it (it took them 2 weeks to figure that one out).
Avalara is fine. It works, just barely. But for as big as they are and as much as they tout how wonderful they are, and for how aggressive as their sales team is, their system feels like it's the beat-up old Buick of tax automation software. Too bad they seem to have more integrations than others and come in at a better price point.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is used in our company mainly from the financial department, but my technological profile helps them when handling the tool. I have been able to use this tool and, without being an expert in economics, I have been able to use this tool, since it is very simple and intuitive and performs all the tax calculations automatically.
  • Calculate tax very close to reality.
  • Real time calculations.
  • Very focused on the American market.
  • I miss documentation in Spanish.
It works great thanks to its direct link between AvaTax and Salesforce via a prebuilt connection. Its use is very simple, even for my profile. Practically I found a connection with all the most important CRMs in the market, maybe if you use a less used one you may have problems.
Read this authenticated review
Leslie Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2019

Avalara is the best tax compliance of all.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Avalara Cert Capture as well as the Avalara for taxes. We keep all our certs stored in Cert Capture. Avalara files all of our returns, we are also currently using Monitoring, so we can see when we have potential liability. In some instances we are taking advantage of Registering with Avalara as well. Our Finance department is the only department using Avalara, but it affects the company as a whole because if we are not taxing our customers correctly it can affect everyone. It saves us time and money because we do not have to file returns and we can see where our exposure is.
  • Helps with returns
  • Files our returns
  • Helpful Customer Account Managers
  • Customer Support has been lacking.
  • Response time to cases lately has been too long.
  • Retaining and communicating when account managers are reassigned.
Avalara would be a good fit for a company just starting out. Avalara can help you get registered in different states and can help monitor where there might be tax liability when the new company grows. Avalara would also be a great fit for a larger company who wants to free up personnel because there are other projects that need to take priority. Also, in the growing world of taxes and the new Pandora's box, Avalara can help them with their tax liability and exposure. Avalara is always up to date on tax laws and rates, so it's easy to stay ahead of the game.
Read Leslie Rogers's full review
Theresa Whalen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Makes life easier for tax compliance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are registered for sales tax in over 60 jurisdictions and AvaTax makes an administrative nightmare manageable. Avalara interfaces with our proposal program, Salesforce, as well as our GL package Microsoft Dyanmics GP (Great Plains). With over $60 million of revenue, we would not be able to accurately and timely calculate the taxes on our proposals and invoices without Avalara.

The only issue we have occasionally is the local jurisdictions taxes do not calculate properly in Salesforce. When these situations arise, the Avalara tech team and our IT department work together to resolve the issue.

We also have a Canadian entity which calculates the GST/HST and PST on our proposals and invoices. With the Canadian entity, I wish they had tax codes and determined the taxes without us having to do tax codes and tax rules. This is one area I would like to see improved so it would be more automatic like in the US. Overall, we are very happy with Avalara and would recommend it to other companies.
  • The respond to notices that are received timely
  • The tax calculation appears seamless
  • I like having the returns and confirmation of filing saved in archives
  • The Canadian tax calculations and filings for GST/HST and PST
  • Having the account representative reach out more when new things are available on the admin console or new interface
  • Doing one-on-one training through the internet
Avalara is a necessity when a company has multiple jurisdictions and has various items it sells that are taxed differently in various jurisdictions. In today's world and economic nexus, I think most businesses would benefit from a service like Avalara.
Read Theresa Whalen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (106)
8.7
Cross-border Taxes (25)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.2
Energy and Fuel Taxes (16)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (60)
8.7
3rd-Party Software Integrations (75)
7.9
Tax Data Reporting (88)
8.0
Compliance Administration Management (66)
8.2
Tax Exemption Processing (72)
8.2
Tax Document Management (71)
8.3
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.3

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web