Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
397 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 227)

Jere Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

If your e-commerce is growing, it helps to know what your owing! Avalara does it all.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are growing online sales and meeting economic thresholds, it is a must; especially if you do not have the time or expertise to do it in-house or your CPA does not specialize in sales tax.

If you need a tool that can integrate well with your ERP system, this may likely be right for you.

If you meet economic thresholds but have a very limited number of transactions and sell into a limited number of taxing jurisdictions, and you have the staff to handle the process, it might not be appropriate.
Read Jere Allen's full review
Marcus Warolin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Avalara - a top tier sales tax automation software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have found Avalara to be very well suited for ecommerce. With the available connectors, we can set up the connections once and they then run extremely reliably. We have recently moved to using Avalara's SST services, which will help save a significant amount of money.
Read Marcus Warolin's full review
Eric Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer

Likelihood to Recommend

I would never recommend Avalara to anyone who uses Magento. They are unfamiliar with their own platform, let alone Magento. They have no idea how their own API works. I got conflicting tech support every single time I called. I was given the number of the firm that originally built their product, Classy Llama, and when I called them, they were so fed up with Avalara and told me terrible things about working for them. They offered to fix my problem with the integration for $5000. In months of working with Avalara they were never able to sync any part of their API. Not only did the most basic part of their extension not work, their address validation component broke our cart. Eventually they told me they would not support my installation, when they realized that they had no idea how to. They offered me a refund and now its been 3 months trying to get them to refund my installation while they continue to charge me for future services. I can't get my rep to respond for almost 2 months. I finally got them to remove the current charge, but they refuse to reply to me about the original charge.
Read Eric Bernstein's full review
Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In this day and age, you simply cannot administer your own sales tax calculation and reporting scheme. You will lose more in a single sales tax audit in fees and penalties than you pay to have a competent software package do the calculations and reporting and administration of certificates for you. AvaTax integrates directly with our quoting, order and invoicing modules in our ERP system so it runs in the background and does so flawlessly. If you are invoicing more than 50 customers a month, you need a tool like AvaTax and Certcapture to take away the administrative burden.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Kia1204! Treen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

Avalara is easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara helps in the capturing the appropriate sales tax for state, city and county. No matter what business you are in, this is the important part of the package and reason you are looking for a company like Avalara. They have a good support team and are responsive.
Read Kia1204! Treen's full review
Braxton Todd | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

A Good Product For Certain Industries

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would be very careful when using Avalara for industries outside of retail, for example. We are a construction company and didn't always find the most appropriate answers for our complex projects. Other resources are better suited for the construction industry. For example, TTR (Transaction Tax Resource) provides appropriate answers for more complex construction projects.
Read Braxton Todd's full review
Judy Vorndran | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Avalara is the Uber of sales tax - it has been transformative in its connector-related focus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara is well suited for ecommerce, simple integrations, unsophisticated or nonexistent tax departments, simple invoicing process with tax - it is a rate calculator with a taxability mapping interface which can allow one to set up tax and collect across the country without having to set up separate codes by state.
Read Judy Vorndran's full review
Sol Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara can appropriately calculate tax for straight forward transactions. However, it is not very reliable for calculating tax for complicated seniors or invoices. For example, multiple line items with multiple shipping addresses. Coding can be faulty.
Read Sol Sanchez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara is well suited to situations where you have a formal invoicing software system, and you need to have sales tax automatically calculated. The interface between Avalara and Intacct is what really sold us on the software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Good product, so-so service

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When the system runs well, Avalara is a great system and replaces a lot of manual work. But if there are issues and questions, it's impossible to resolve since we don't have reliable support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

AvaTax for Calculating only

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara is best suited for companies with broad nexus and/or rapid growth. CertCapture is excellent for companies that have a large number of wholesale customers as well as retail customers.
Avalara is less appropriate if you don't know where you have nexus, or always have a tax professional review before registering in new states.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara is particularly well-suited to businesses that sell to customers in multiple states or countries. Additionally, it works very well for helping with figuring out taxes within a state when sometimes different counties, cities, or even neighborhoods have different tax rates! It would not be suited well if you have one location and simple taxes.
Read this authenticated review
Michelle Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

CertCapture

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara provides a State verification link provided when entering the tax ID number, and the tax ID number format is also provided. The customer list upload templates are also great.
Read Michelle Chow's full review
Lisa Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Avalara's pros & cons for storing & collecting tax certs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

To my knowledge, we aren't aware of a great software for the Resale Tax Exemption Certificate need we have. So it does work to store, and collect, tax certs even if parts seem clunky to me. If we did not have it, it would make collecting & storing the certificates much more laborious.
Read Lisa Burns's full review
John Moeller | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Cream of the crop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Setting up everything, the customer service department stayed on the phone with me the entire time walking me through it and they also were right there watching me via the computer the first time I filed the return. They have been a help ever since when needed.
Read John Moeller's full review
Heather Ordoyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Avalara is a timesaver!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Avalara is well suited for anyone that has to file taxes in multiple states or has customers with tax-exempt certificates that are job-specific or in various states. With the changing laws, it helps us stay informed.
Read Heather Ordoyne's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (115)
8.3
Cross-border Taxes (24)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.1
Energy and Fuel Taxes (15)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (65)
8.1
3rd-Party Software Integrations (82)
7.5
Tax Data Reporting (95)
7.5
Compliance Administration Management (69)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (78)
7.7
Tax Document Management (74)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.2

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Vertex Cloud, TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web