TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGGo with the obvious market leader in customer successGainsight is leveraged across our professional services group, our customer success management group, and our sales group - primarily inside sales. The tool is our primary means of aligning those three customer-facing organizations to coherent motion to first and foremost retain customers, then, as a secondary goal, expand in those accounts. Gainsight also serves as a targeting mechanism for our customer marketing group.,More and more prescriptive. They've invested a metric ton in a body of content that you can leverage inside your business to evangelize customer success as a stand-alone domain. Forgiving services model. While structured around an SOW, they're flexible and focused on success. Community. It's rare to see a company their size spend so much time on events, but it's a rewarding investment on their part and your part - you do meet and learn from the people who are good at this, and they do a great job facilitating.,Prescriptive business applications ecosystem. A point of view here, and content around that, would be a huge win. Prescriptive career tracks. Given customer success is a new domain, a lot of the first generation came out of customer service. The new generation is coming from other places, and forging that ground is hard solo.,10,10,Together, our leadership team - directors, VPs, C-Suite - count is 34 people. Each of them is in Gainsight or receives weekly updates out of Gainsight. Our services group conducts weekly account reviews with the front line folks. Sales receives automated triggers to direct their motion to opportune accounts. This goes into our board reporting.,2-5% uptick in retention $500k in additional ARR directed with GS A data-driven culture,Strikedeck and Totango,In: Each of our product lines. Salesforce. Out: Marketo, WalkMe. This lets us surface threats and opportunities and action them with humans and with email and in-app messaging.Gainsight - Consolidated Customer InsightsWe primarily use Gainsight in our Customer Experience department, but we are working on expanding our usage across the organization. We use Gainsight to monitor our customer health and product usage, to work through projects with customers such as implementation, and to keep a record of all interactions we have with customers.,Gainsight does an excellent job of listening to product feedback given through their Community, implementing those changes when they determine they are a need for many customers, and then informing users that the changes have been implemented. Gainsight is an excellent tool for automating lifecycle communications with customers while still maintaining a personalized touch, thereby allowing us to scale our operations. Gainsight has a good lineup of integration options to allow us to bring all of our customer data into one place to have a unified customer record.,Gainsight could do a better job of allowing for one-off exceptions. It does a great job of helping to address the needs of the majority of our customers, but when one customer's needs create a special use case, it is rather difficult to make adjustments for that one customer. Editing programs created through the Journey Orchestrator is very difficult. Sometimes we need to make a small change to the criteria of a program after we have already started running it, but we can't do this without ending the program, cloning it, and starting an entirely new program.,10,4,Our executives do not have access to Gainsight and do not use it in any capacity. We have created an executive dashboard that is shared with them, but they do not look at it.,Gainsight has helped us to scale our success operations to become much more efficient. While our customer base has grown exponentially, the Success team has not needed to also grow exponentially because of the scalability Gainsight affords us. Gainsight has also helped us to improve our visibility into customer usage data. Before we used Gainsight, we had no idea how our customers were actually using our product. Being able to track this information in a single place that is visible to our CSMs has allowed us to better understand customer behavior.,Totango,We have connected our internal customer record system to Gainsight, as well as Salesforce and our support ticketing system. We also have a system that monitors product usage that feeds into Gainsight. Gainsight sends information into our analytics tool that helps our analysts to understand what is going on with customers. Having the data all housed in Gainsight helps us to operate much more efficiently because we only need to go to one place to learn everything we need to know about a customer.Gainsight is a thought leader and has the best software in the customer success space!My organization relies heavily on Gainsight across many customer-facing departments and with our executive team. It provides visibility into our customer base and helps us to assess our risks. We also use it to increase adoption across our customer base and ensure that we have a plan in place for each individual customer.,Tracking customer health and adoption and assessing customer risk Communicating effectively to your customer base at a large scale Creating success plans for each individual customer,The relationships module is not fully developed and has not worked well for our organization Reporting is powerful but can be a little clunky at times Mass email communication had issues early on, but most have been fixed at this point,9,9,Our executives are very customer focused and need high visibility into the health of the customer base. They leverage the executive dashboards and other reporting within Gainsight on a weekly basis.,Increased our visibility into the overall health of our customer base Helped us to scale our CSM team as customer base continues to grow. We were able to launch a 1:many CSM program because of the tools within Gainsight We have increased our net retention as well,Salesforce, Eloqua, and we are hoping to integrate Learncore in the future.Optimize your CS business with GainsightWe use Gainsight to help streamline the operations and visibility of our Customer Success and People Science organizations. Our CSMs as well as our renewals and consulting teams leverage Gainsight for the most up to date customer information including what products and services have been purchased, overall health related to adoption, renewal and engagement and for NPS and CSAT survey feedback. Overall health results are shared with the Executive team on a weekly basis in a push report from Gainsight. It is the primary platform leveraged by my Customer Success organization.,Overall customer health scoring and tracking NPS and CSAT surveys and reporting Call to Action (CTA) Automation,Configuration can be tricky with self-service Reporting and insights could be more advanced,10,7,Very important. We have a weekly report that is pushed to the E-Team in order to ensure transparency in customer health and what action is being taken. The information is used to help prioritize product and engineering work as well as executive time on accounts that are at risk.,Centralize and streamline CS work and customer visibility; we have gained at least 20% efficiency improvements and are working toward much more by aligning with Gainsight's best practices,Salesforce, Zendesk and high level usage data. Helps pull together the full customer health picture. We do not share data from Gainsight to other systems currently.A New Users Point of ViewGainsight is currently being used by 75 employees within a single Department of our Company. Its purpose is to create a single point of record for the users. Making their day to day tasks easier by only needing to visit one software/website - rather than several.,Reporting/Dashboards. At first, depending on how your Data is loaded, it can be a little overwhelming when first in the Report Builder. But once you understand where your data is coming from - ensuring you are pulling the proper fields...It's amazing and VERY simple to use! Gainsight Community. As an ADMIN of the software - I find that their Community is one of the bests around! Having the ability to post a comment and get feedback from people all over is amazing! Another perk of the community is also reading how others are using the software. Reading how some people were handling certain issues and how they resolved it with the software has helped us update some of our configurations. Support. Their actual support is also amazing! Friendly, courtesy - and they treat your problem as their problem! Their User Interface is one of the best that I've seen. Making it easy for a user to navigate to various sections of the software - it's a real treat compared to some of our former CRMs.,Have a full-time ADMIN. Gainsight is very back ending heavy during the initial setup and configuration of the software - especially if you're converting. But once you get it going - it's awesome!,10,10,While there are MANY features of the software and we are still rolling them out in stages, the most heavily used one by our Executive Team is Dashboard. Both on the Customer side and the Internal side. Being able to view customer Data the way they wish to see it - and the permission to lock it down so only certain people or groups have a view - is amazing. The internal dashboard is also handy - it shows various statistics like the use of the software, number of licenses, etc.,We're actually working on rolling some of these features out now - including automation of follow up appointments!,Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), ServiceNow and Salesforce.com,We utilize Azuor to link Gainsight to our other platforms such as Service Now and another Salesforce instance. Gainsight just makes it easy to connect into other software progrms to get data - and upload wherever.,75,1,Financial Roll Up. We needed the ability to roll up our financial data based on tier. The software allowed us to do that with ease! API Integration. We needed the ability to ensure that we could get the most up to date information from our other software titles used across the company - and while Gainsight does offer their own, we use another Software. But Gainsight makes it so easy to streamline everything! Support. For any software to be successful, they need a good Support Team that listens. And Gainsight exceeds those expectations. They listen to their users and make improvements based on feedback and input. Truly amazing!,Rules Engine. While there is a learning curve at first - once you get an understanding of it and how it works. It becomes your best friend for making large changes! It's made updating and maintaining records so much easier! Bulk Uploads/Updates. Another features that has become a stable is the ability to bulk upload data. Either new or updating existing data. It has made it easier to upload new accounts in bulk rather than manually entering them.,Outlook Integration. While there is talk about a light integration soon. If this happens - this will be a game charger for the users in tracking their emails. Email Blasts. While we do this lightly, we're looking to use this more frequently. Ensuring our customers are receiving the most up to date information about the company.,10,Azure API Management, ServiceNow,Yes,Third-party Reviews,I would say not rushing into a conversation - but rather having time to better understand features and expectations....and timeline on some of them. But would do it again.
Unspecified
Gainsight
318 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
318 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 318 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (26-50 of 176)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Go with the obvious market leader in customer success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is leveraged across our professional services group, our customer success management group, and our sales group - primarily inside sales. The tool is our primary means of aligning those three customer-facing organizations to coherent motion to first and foremost retain customers, then, as a secondary goal, expand in those accounts. Gainsight also serves as a targeting mechanism for our customer marketing group.
  • More and more prescriptive. They've invested a metric ton in a body of content that you can leverage inside your business to evangelize customer success as a stand-alone domain.
  • Forgiving services model. While structured around an SOW, they're flexible and focused on success.
  • Community. It's rare to see a company their size spend so much time on events, but it's a rewarding investment on their part and your part - you do meet and learn from the people who are good at this, and they do a great job facilitating.
  • Prescriptive business applications ecosystem. A point of view here, and content around that, would be a huge win.
  • Prescriptive career tracks. Given customer success is a new domain, a lot of the first generation came out of customer service. The new generation is coming from other places, and forging that ground is hard solo.
When you have a lot of unstructured customer-facing motion conducted by humans a workflow engine like Gainsight makes a lot of sense and is best of breed. If you're looking for automated stack of tech touch, Gainsight plays a role but there's other tools that can fit that stack.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 27, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - Consolidated Customer Insights"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Gainsight in our Customer Experience department, but we are working on expanding our usage across the organization. We use Gainsight to monitor our customer health and product usage, to work through projects with customers such as implementation, and to keep a record of all interactions we have with customers.
  • Gainsight does an excellent job of listening to product feedback given through their Community, implementing those changes when they determine they are a need for many customers, and then informing users that the changes have been implemented.
  • Gainsight is an excellent tool for automating lifecycle communications with customers while still maintaining a personalized touch, thereby allowing us to scale our operations.
  • Gainsight has a good lineup of integration options to allow us to bring all of our customer data into one place to have a unified customer record.
  • Gainsight could do a better job of allowing for one-off exceptions. It does a great job of helping to address the needs of the majority of our customers, but when one customer's needs create a special use case, it is rather difficult to make adjustments for that one customer.
  • Editing programs created through the Journey Orchestrator is very difficult. Sometimes we need to make a small change to the criteria of a program after we have already started running it, but we can't do this without ending the program, cloning it, and starting an entirely new program.
Gainsight works really well for lifecycle-based communications that are intended to feel personalized and look like they are a one-to-one communication even when they are not. We have found Gainsight to be less appropriate when sending mass marketing communications that need A/B testing, HTML programming, heatmap click tracking, and so on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

Review: "Gainsight is a thought leader and has the best software in the customer success space!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization relies heavily on Gainsight across many customer-facing departments and with our executive team. It provides visibility into our customer base and helps us to assess our risks. We also use it to increase adoption across our customer base and ensure that we have a plan in place for each individual customer.
  • Tracking customer health and adoption and assessing customer risk
  • Communicating effectively to your customer base at a large scale
  • Creating success plans for each individual customer
  • The relationships module is not fully developed and has not worked well for our organization
  • Reporting is powerful but can be a little clunky at times
  • Mass email communication had issues early on, but most have been fixed at this point
Gainsight is great for organizations that have a customer focused environment, but need to take it to the next level. They are truly leaders in this space and can help you reach a new level of success in your organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2019

Review: "Optimize your CS business with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to help streamline the operations and visibility of our Customer Success and People Science organizations. Our CSMs as well as our renewals and consulting teams leverage Gainsight for the most up to date customer information including what products and services have been purchased, overall health related to adoption, renewal and engagement and for NPS and CSAT survey feedback. Overall health results are shared with the Executive team on a weekly basis in a push report from Gainsight. It is the primary platform leveraged by my Customer Success organization.
  • Overall customer health scoring and tracking
  • NPS and CSAT surveys and reporting
  • Call to Action (CTA) Automation
  • Configuration can be tricky with self-service
  • Reporting and insights could be more advanced
Gainsight can be leveraged as a day-to-day CSM platform to track customer health, interactions and engagement. It is less helpful for sales or other functions. It does require focused resources to get the data integration correct, so allocation of technical resources up front is critical. A technical administrator within the customer organization is optimal for maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 31, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A New Users Point of View"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used by 75 employees within a single Department of our Company. Its purpose is to create a single point of record for the users. Making their day to day tasks easier by only needing to visit one software/website - rather than several.
  • Reporting/Dashboards. At first, depending on how your Data is loaded, it can be a little overwhelming when first in the Report Builder. But once you understand where your data is coming from - ensuring you are pulling the proper fields...It's amazing and VERY simple to use!
  • Gainsight Community. As an ADMIN of the software - I find that their Community is one of the bests around! Having the ability to post a comment and get feedback from people all over is amazing! Another perk of the community is also reading how others are using the software. Reading how some people were handling certain issues and how they resolved it with the software has helped us update some of our configurations.
  • Support. Their actual support is also amazing! Friendly, courtesy - and they treat your problem as their problem!
  • Their User Interface is one of the best that I've seen. Making it easy for a user to navigate to various sections of the software - it's a real treat compared to some of our former CRMs.
  • Have a full-time ADMIN. Gainsight is very back ending heavy during the initial setup and configuration of the software - especially if you're converting. But once you get it going - it's awesome!
The main reason I would recommend it is because of the support they provided. No matter the question, simple configuration to advanced - they have someone that will assist you through the whole process. They are amazing!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a great way to improve the daily lives of your CSMs!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the Customer Success team within my organization. We leverage our customer data to manage at-risk customers and grow the lifetime value of our healthy customers. Our Customer Success Managers can be proactive instead of reactive to their books of business. The reporting capabilities provide insight into our customers and we can design them specifically for our CSMs, Management and Executives.
  • Customer Health scoring is used to evaluate the health of our customers and drives proactive efficiencies for our CSMs
  • Tech Touch assists in automating outreaches.
  • Dashboards provide valuable reports to our team.
  • Gainsight Support needs to improve their documentation from an Admin perspective.
  • Gainsight to SFDC linking needs to be enabled for MDA data, not just SFDC objects.
  • Success SnapShot needs to have more fonts, formatting options for PPT.
If you are looking to utilize your customer data to better understand your customers then it is for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Wide range of capabilities!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for client development and some expansion work. We have an administration team that channels configuration. While this is happening we monitor the lifecycle of a customer as they progress throughout the various buyer stages. Using what we find out about the lifecycle internally, we try to effectively transform that to actionable items. This can be in the form of CTAs, dashboards, whatever.
  • Bionic Rule Capabilities -- Rules engine is extremely powerful. The way I look at it is as if it's a bonafide ETL tool living inside a workflow management tool. Through rules you can put together powerful queries that really makes your workflow management great.
  • C360 -- Gainsight excels at being able to bring in all sorts of data into one place.
  • Call to actions - Through the rules engine call to actions can be incredibly specific so we can target any point of the customer lifecycle with strategic ctas based off our data.
  • I think that reporting functionality is getting there. Inline calculations would be a huge improvement. Filtering on Aggregated fields also would be nice.
  • I think being unable to edit programs once they are on is very concerning. Why can't participants be brought in under some sort of logic, then we can edit and tweak as we iterate upon our first program?
Workflow Management - Perfect. If you want to use your data strategically then this is a big plus for you.
Health Scores - Great health scores and health score update capabilities. We personally worked with the Gainsight data science team and they did a great job at getting our predictive scores helped out.
Support - Excellent support, they are so responsive and will make sure the problem you have is solved/answered.

Con: Reports - Reporting is good, don't get that wrong. But, if you're looking for a robust Tableau-esque platform then this doesn't quite live to that mark. But that makes sense, Gainsight is sort of the jack of all trades tool in my opinion.

Reports Management - Really difficult to manage reports. Need more filters on the report management section.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight - Great for automation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight for all levels of our customer journey. Gainsight and the outreaches/advanced outreaches have allowed us to scale via automation. It also allows us to deliver that "just in time" approach to provide resources. We are also using Gainsight for renewal automation as well.
  • Automated outreaches - allows for being able to scale.
  • Calls to action - allows for the use of automation to monitor data and create actionable items based on the data; scalability.
  • Reporting- allows quick/easy access to reporting on customer health with automated, actionable items.
  • The backend setup of Gainsight is not that intuitive.
  • Email formatting is difficult
  • Would like to see rules setup in a template to choose from
Gainsight is great for being able to automate the onboarding experience for low/tech touch customers; creating actionable items along the way. Being able to monitor the overall health of an account to help curb churn is also nice.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2018

Review: "Benefits and Opportunities for Improvement with Gainsight for an On-prem Multi-product Company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the customer success managers in the organization to provide them with a 360 view of their customers and to help them streamline the CS processes (i.e. customer onboarding) and document key customer interactions, success plans, risks and opportunities for account growth.
  • One location for all CS work
  • Flexible reporting and easy to configure dashboards
  • Native integration with SFDC
  • Ginsight is a great product but needs more help to cope with the complexity of an on-prem multi-product enterprise company.
  • Would be great to be able to access Gainsight independently from Salesforce
  • The functionality to share dashboards to non-GS users is a great idea and would be really good to see more development in upcoming releases in terms of ways to share the dashboards and making the usage smoother, especially for bigger data sets
If you are a mid-sized SaaS company, Gainsight is one of the greatest investments you can make. For large on-prem multi-product businesses, Gainsight also makes a difference, although complexity and scale can be a challenge (as for any other tool I suppose).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

User Review: "First 6 months with Gainsight"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Gainsight globally within our Customer Success Management and Account Management functions. It is designed to address all classic CSM requirements, fundamentally to operationalize and standardise our methodology to support growth.
  • Very deep integration possibilities with SFDC allow highly sophisticated business logic and rules to be constructed.
  • Pulling together of lots of disparate sources of information into a unified view is a substantial time saver and allows clearer 'big picture' context.
  • Creation of dashboards that present lots of reports in a single view allows for quick analysis.
  • The Program feature is complex to manage and counter intuitive in certain areas. A simple revision requires the whole program to be cloned and a new version created.
  • Greater customisation around the report presentation would be useful, such as the colours used - sometimes it is hard to see.
  • Better slicing and dicing around NPS (by region, team, etc) as far as NPS score is concerned. Out of the box you just get a global value.
Gainsight requires quite a lot of investment in the admin side and requires someone who is good with software - it needs a power user to make the most of the feature set, you certainly can't set it up and leave it if you expect to get the most out of it.

If however you have a complex data structure and want to produce bespoke and challenging business rules, then with the appropriate investment in resources you can achieve most things.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a really useful customer management tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is the primary tool of our customer success organisation. We sync it with various systems to pull important data points into one place. Our leadership team has a snapshot of what's going on with a given customer at any moment, through having access to features such as the health score and timeline.
  • Integration with Salesforce.
  • Mass communications made and tracked with ease.
  • Flexible Health Scores!
  • Timeline is great, but quite silo'd.
  • Would love to see a widget that allowed timeline/notes to be taken outside of the platform. Gainsight Sally for Slack is useful but it's a tool many sign-out of in a meeting environment.
Great for keeping a record of health of a customer over-time, and perfect for handing an account from one CSM to another for a business, less loss of information.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the CSM team within the customer success department. It allows us to track health, expirations, metrics, and activities against a client, segment, country or region.
  • The timeline feature allows you to create a diary within a customer's profile and you can easily distinguish what each entry is e.g call, meeting. You can also say if that call was positive or negative, how long it took and who was on the call internally and externally.
  • Gainsight connects back to SFDC and all activities are logged so there's no need for anyone to have access to Gainsight if they're not going to proactively be using it.
  • The cockpit allows you to segment your to do list for today, tomorrow, next week, month or year!
  • Needs an App
  • Needs more reporting features
Best suited to companies with a subscription based business model
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is a powerful tool to dive in to the details on a customer and get a high-level view of your customer base"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently primarily being used by our Customer Success department, but other people can view some of the output via Salesforce. It helps us manage our customer relationships and updates.
  • I enjoy using the Timeline feature to keep track of each customer I work with to ensure their success.
  • I like having the CTA's readily accessible in a global view for all customers so I can gauge where I am on certain open tasks.
  • The ties into Salesforce are very useful so that others in our company can stay updated on customer health.
  • Shifting from Timeline to Detailed view could be better for viewing of notes and product/customer details.
  • Reporting and Dashboards could be more visibly appealing and have more easily accessible information. I hear there was a new release this week, so some of this might be addressed.
  • Multi-product views could be improved, and losing score card information when customers purchase multiple products is really tough to go through!
It's well suited for SaaS environments and harder for on-premise solutions, which is how we use it at the company I work for. It's great for notes and history keeping. It's also good for sharing of scorecards/overviews with others outside of the CSM team, but not always easy to do so.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Amazing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight solely in our Customer Success department currently. We use Gainsight to help in monitoring account activity as well as mitigating portfolio risk.
  • Excellent at sending automated emails and generated semi-templated emails with auto-generated content.
  • Great at generating account health scores based off data from multiple sources (CRM, product, 3rd parties, etc.)
  • Great at logging activities via the timeline feature for an account.
  • Graphing/Data Visualization functionality is very limited.
Gainsight works really well for us in assisting to manage our self-service portfolio, where there isn't a specific CSM assigned to an account. It helps in managing communications to these accounts as well as monitoring and bubbling up potential pockets of risk.

Additionally Gainsight is very helpful in our managed portfolio in helping to automate some administrative tasks, while still allowing reporting on the cadence of customer engagements and updates.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Gainsight Review: "A key part of the success of our Customer Success team (and more)!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used to give us an easy to access 360 degrees view of all things customer related - from commercials, to support, to operations and more. It is used primarily by our customer success team but then to help facilitate projects and campaigns for other teams (who might not have direct access). Have this single view of the customer is a very powerful proposition that allows us from an exec level to an individual contributor (and customer success manager) level to understand quickly where a customer is in their journey, lifecycle and product usage.
  • Integration (automatic or more manual - e.g. using CSV files) with other data sets (e.g. for support and product usage).
  • Configurable customer dashboards - showing key stats and data relevant to that customer.
  • Industry best practice information and insights.
  • Flexible solution that can be tailored to our specific product and team requirements.
  • Local (geographically) support services.
  • More regional support and services - think beyond just the USA.
  • Tailored professional services packages - e.g. self contained for small and large deliverables.
  • More automated out of the box integrations.
  • Well suited to customer success team and organisations that need to quickly scale up.
  • Less suited to smaller teams and operations (and lower cost).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 23, 2018

User Review: "Gainsight is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by many groups in our company to view data on each of our customers, but its powerful functionality is used by our Customer Success team. This where there processes live and how they track each interaction with the customer. Its a great way to see a summary of the customer. I believe its a great tool to enable customer success in any organization.
  • Customer Support -- they are always very fast and efficient when I put in tickets.
  • User Experience
  • Functionality and ability to customize to your company
  • More admin training opportunities
I think Gainsight is a great tool to enable companies to truly see a holistic view of the customer. It can easily be customized to your needs and have so much functionality that can help with your overall business processes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - A great way to see ALL of your clients"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight as a way to manage our customer accounts. The entire customer success department uses the software. Gainsight allows us to track a client's progression. We are able to create a timeline of all interactions with each client. As such, we are able to easily determine the health and engagement of each one of our clients.
  • Timeline -- allows accounts managers to record events. You can detail date, time, who was involved, how long it lasted, and an open notes section. You can also log clients missing/skipping interactions
  • Calls to Action (CTAs) -- can set up one-time or recurring CTAs across the entire organization. Helps to prioritize actions and work collaboratively across teams.
  • Recording Scores -- the ability to record customer health scores. Allows for a quick summary view of health that can be expanded on in the notes/timeline
  • CTAs are are used rather broadly, would like a specific recurring accounts update section
  • Would love an integration with Google calendar to automatically log my calls
  • Requires a high degree of training to know the ins and outs. A more robust knowledge base with training videos would be awesome!
Well suited for a large, international organization, allows for total team collaboration. Since our organization spans different time zones, having one place to update accounts makes it easy to determine the health of each customer

Would not recommend for a smaller, centralized organization where the entire company can collaborate physically in the same office. It would be useful, but the cost may not outweigh the benefits.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"Gainsight Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used as our internal CRM for keeping up with customers, tracking their escalations, making sure that the status of their 'temp' is readily apparent to other users of Gainsight like our salespeople and other customer success managers.
  • Allows us to the ability to track any and all escalations a customer might have
  • Helps us keep an accurate temperature of customer status, by simply looking at the acct we can gauge if the customer is referenceable or not
  • Helps track NPS score for our clients
  • Wish we had the ability without having to push a refresh button to update directly into SF
  • Activity History
Gainsight is well suited for any company that wants to:

  • keep track of the status of customers
  • track tickets/types/sources
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 06, 2018

Review: "Gainsight is the future of customer success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used at our organization as a customer success tool to trigger knowledge-based actions in order to ensure customer retention and product adoption.
  • Triggering actions based on knowledge and information gathered from the account.
  • Showcasing a 360-degree view of the customer account.
  • Giving you the capability of aligning multiple sub-customers under the same customer by the relationship View.
  • Since Gainsight works on top of Salesforce lightning can be a bit latent in Speed and Performance.
  • There is no way to get alerts for individual accounts you only can set up a feed which gives you alerts for all the accounts.
  • Frequent timeout errors.
Managing multiple relationships with customer as well as the customer success life cycle.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 31, 2018

Review: "Gainsight - thought leader in Customer Success Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to understand our customer's health score. It is also incredibly useful for reporting, and to get a 360 view on our customers. Lastly, it provides us with automated, actionable insights that we can act on.
  • Thought leader in the market
  • Very active in the Customer Success Community
  • European office and presence
  • Adapt to Europe (different languages, currencies, etc.)
An incredibly powerful tool that gives a 360 overview of a customer across multiple data points.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Early days"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used purely within the CSM function. It facilitates visibility and accountability of CSM activities to the team and the C suite.
  • Allows automation of key processes.
  • Helps creation of efficient workflows.
  • Implementation time is severely underestimated.
  • Support is not 24/7.
Once set up it is well suited to reporting and planning of CSM activities. We did not have an assigned implementation team, despite recommendations - this was a mistake- it contributed to delays in full implementation and disenchantment with the solution.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Metzler profile photo
April 12, 2018

User Review: "Get fired up about Gainsight."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are primarily using Gainsight within the CS org, but have begun to spread it across other departments. One example is with renewals management. We use a Gainsight dashboard to run a renewals meeting between execs, sales, product, and CS.
  • Great reporting and dashboards.
  • Our single source of truth for customer info.
  • Excellent thought leadership.
  • Administration can be complex
  • Gainsight is dependent on your Salesforce data being accurate.
Gainsight is a very powerful tool and in the right hands can transform a CS Org and its company. Just like any powerful tool, it can be daunting to know where to go next. Gainsight have recognized this, and are helping their customers with the new elements framework, which we are very excited about.
Read Jason Metzler's full review
George Hamm profile photo
April 11, 2018

User Review: "Peak 10 enters into Gainsight bliss"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We brought in Gainsight due to the amount of churn we were experiencing, the lack of ability to contact our clients in a consistent manner, and the lack of up-sell opportunities. Since then we have seen a dramatic reduction in churn, an increase in retention rates, and we can strategically plan our our day's activities for a proactive approach to account management.
  • Provides an all around customer view.
  • Advance notice on high risk clients.
  • Organization tool for all CSMs.
  • Continue to grow with functionality.
I would like to see more IaaS companies to tap into knowledge and how they are adapting to Gainsight.
Read George Hamm's full review
Mikael Braun profile photo
April 10, 2018

Review: "Gain Sight on Client Data with Gainsight!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We will be using Gainsight as our main CS hub. It's compatibility with our existing systems such as Salesforce is off the charts. The layout and ease of use, getting all the data in one click for all our clients make the decision to run with Gainsight a "no brainer!"
  • Integration of Salesforce data
  • Live and accurate client health scores
  • Great task management per account with checklists
  • Theme selection, colors and backrround color selection
  • Touch friendly App style access with all the desktop web portal functionality
Gainsight will help us replace three other softwares and a ton of manual processes. Our CS department will be living in this software every minute to achieve the best results and provide the best Client Journey through every lifecycle stage.
Read Mikael Braun's full review
Meredith Blanchar profile photo
April 05, 2018

Gainsight Review: "Vice President, Customer Success"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used primarily by the Customer Success and Services organization to gather information and analytics from our customers, identifying risks and opportunities, and ultimately allow both organizations to scale.
  • Customer 360 View. Gainsight provides a holistic view of elements of customer health including risk, adoption, advocacy, engagement, etc.
  • Customer Communication. Gainsight has a great communication engine allowing us to ensure customers receive the right message at the right time.
  • Customer Lifecycle Management.
  • The reporting functionality is not as robust as it could be.
Gainsight is well suited for a CSM team looking to identify trends across their customer base in terms of adoption, concerns, and risks. Ultimately it becomes a scalability lever.
Read Meredith Blanchar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (126)
8.3
API (94)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (161)
9.4
Integration with Marketo (41)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (155)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (128)
8.2
NPS surveys (132)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (128)
8.4
Customer profiles (154)
9.1
Automated workflow (167)
8.4
Internal collaboration (153)
8.3
Customer health scoring (167)
9.6
Customer segmentation (142)
9.3
Customer health trends (158)
9.3
Engagement analytics (138)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (85)
9.2
Dashboards (166)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android