Lucidchart

Lucidchart

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
Score 8.7 out of 10
Top Rated
TRUE
Lucidchart

Overview

What is Lucidchart?

Lucidchart is a diagramming application that helps teams to clarify complexity, align their insights, and build faster. With this cloud-based solution, users can work visually and collaborate in real-time while building flowcharts, mockups, and UML diagrams.

Lucidchart is utilized in...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Painless.

10 out of 10
January 25, 2023
As a ScrumMaster/Business Analyst/Technical Strategist Consultant, I use Lucidchart on a daily basis both internally within my firm and …
Continue reading

The review.

9 out of 10
January 09, 2023
I create roadmaps, flowchart and other types of diagrams to support our software development efforts
Continue reading

Lucidchart Review

1 out of 10
December 27, 2022
I tried to test the Lucidchart BambooHR integration at my company. They promised in their interface and in the following calls that they …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

How Lucidchart Differs From Its Competitors

Integrations

Lucidchart integrates with leading applications such as Atlassian, Google, Salesforce, Microsoft, Slack, AWS, BambooHR, GitHub, and Zapier to even further facilitate collaboration. The value you or your organization has had, particularly to your daily workflows, is large.
Continue reading

Integrations

When preparing confluence docs for system designs, it has helped us tremendously by having to include Lucidchart directly into the confluence doc via the plugin. The auto-update feature is quite helpful, too which doesnt make me go back and forth to update the chart into the confluence doc.
Continue reading

Integrations

I have primarily used Lucidchart's Slack integration in my day to day work. Generally I use the tool "in isolation" and share it via email, Slack or cut and paste into ClickUp. However, there are times that I want to collaborate with a coworker and Slack integration makes this easier.
Continue reading

Integrations

We haven't used any integrations just yet, but willing to explore them and will be happy to implement GitHub integration to start adding use cases to automated tests and ease the daily life of engineers and automation testers.
Continue reading

Integrations

When we get new clients, we set them up in Salesforce, and a project immediately gets created in LucidChart. This is perfect since this prepares us for our first discoveries with our client. And if other team members jump in, they are able to review the diagrams to get up to speed and understand …
Continue reading

Integrations

It is very helpful that Lucidchart integrates with applications that our company uses, as it makes it easy to share with stakeholders and collaborate with team members. Specifically in regards to integrations, I love the feature that allows these charts to be easily inserted into professional …
Continue reading

Integrations

Integrating Lucidchart with Google Docs and Slides has helped keep our presentations neat, on brand, and easily edited. It allows me to hide the keys to my diagrams while letting other team members edit around them. It also facilitates visual consistency in our communications - diagrams are …
Continue reading

Integrations

Lucidchart is definitely value added. It looks a tool that is easy to use and has an infinite canvas to map out the most complex processes. Redundancies and non-value add steps in the process are easy to identify and refine company processes to achieve a productive and efficient workforce. …
Continue reading

Integrations

The Lucidchart integration into Microsoft was very useful for me because I use Lucidchart to create timelines and present data to my organization and having it directly integrate into MS PowerPoint saved me time.
Continue reading

Integrations

It is very impressive that Lucidchart integrates with leading applications like those listed - however, I have not used these features yet. Will look to do so as we use some of the applications listed in the prompt. Given how easy it is to use the platform I'm sure my team will be able to learn …
Continue reading

Integrations

With Lucidchart's out-of-the-box integration with Google and Slack, the team can easily share newly implemented process flows as well as allow multiple users across various regions to collaborate on ongoing projects.
Continue reading

Integrations

With SalesForce this is the main benefit as it allows AEs and ADRs to add contacts with ease, I’ve not explored the Slack potential, but not sure that would be applicable to target accounts.
Continue reading

Integrations

I do use it in Slack quite a bit, super easy and a big time-saver to have this integration.
Also here, I feel that many people do not fully utilize these integrations yet, lots of opportunities for Slack and the community to develop a cross-channel integration.
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

5 videos

User Review: Lucidchart Saves Time and Takes Flow-Charting From Page to Screen for Game Maker
03:47
User Reviews: Lucidchart Quickly Creates Diagrams & Flow Charts in the Digital Space
02:50
User Review: Lucidchart Allows Business Users to Be Creative & Limitless in Diagram Creations
02:20
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud

Individual

$7.95

Cloud
per month, per user

Team

$9.00

Cloud
per month, 3 user minimum

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://lucid.app/pricing/lucidchart

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Lucid for hybrid teams
00:36
Intelligent Diagramming 15sec
00:16
Lucidchart Q3 Male VO
00:42
Lucidchart and Lucidspark together
00:39
Lucid Software Overview (Lucidchart, Lucidspark, Lucidscale)
00:27
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Lucidchart?

Lucidchart is a diagramming application that helps teams to clarify complexity, align their insights, and build faster. With this cloud-based solution, users can work visually and collaborate in real-time while building flowcharts, mockups, and UML diagrams.

Lucidchart is utilized in over 180 countries by more than 25 million users, from sales managers mapping out target organizations to IT directors visualizing their network infrastructure. The vendor boasts users among ninety-nine percent of the Fortune 500, and that their customers include Google, GE, NBC Universal, and Johnson & Johnson. Lucidchart is based in Utah, and was founding in 2010.

Lucidchart Features

  • Supported: Real-time collaboration
  • Supported: Enterprise End-to-end security
  • Supported: Automated diagramming with Data Linking
  • Supported: Integrate with industry-leading apps
  • Supported: Easy Admin Controls
  • Supported: SSO
  • Supported: Create Custom Shapes
  • Supported: Visio, Gliffy, Omnigraffle import

Lucidchart Screenshots

Screenshot of Empower teams to clarify complexity, align their insights, and build the future—faster.Screenshot of Easily import, export, and share information whenever and wherever you need to.Screenshot of Lucidchart offers secure intelligent diagramming that is built for every team.

Lucidchart Videos

Lucid Software for Hybrid Teams
Lucidchart: Intelligent Diagramming
Lucidchart: See and Build the Future
Lucidchart & Lucidspark Together
Lucid Software Overview

Lucidchart Competitors

Lucidchart Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesDutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

Lucidchart starts at $0.

SmartDraw, Microsoft Visio, and Gliffy are common alternatives for Lucidchart.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Lucidchart are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 796)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Robert Curtis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I utilize Lucidchart for Network diagrams and share the diagrams both internally with my peers and externally with clients. I utilize Lucidchart to enable collaboration with the ability to control the access rights on shared copies and the ability to see each others cursors on the diagram, enabling a two way conversation in todays "remote" environment.
  • Document Sharing
  • Intuitive Interface
  • Platform Independent
  • Automatic 3rd party Stencel Availability
I find Lucidchart very well suited for diagramming and having meetings "remotly" and enabling two way conversations and enabling visibility. I also find Lucidcharts storage very convient as far as sharing diagrams and controlling access rights on the documents.
I have found Lucidchart very intuitive to use and had a very short learning curve. I have also found visual tutorials for any features I needed background information on.
January 25, 2023

Painless.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
As a ScrumMaster/Business Analyst/Technical Strategist Consultant, I use Lucidchart on a daily basis both internally within my firm and frequently as the recommended tool of choice at our client's companies as well.
  • Flowchart
  • Sequence Diagrams
  • Org Charts
  • Integration to source code for self documentation.
As a ScrumMaster / Business Analyst / Technical Strategist Consultant I use Lucidchart on a daily basis both internally within my firm but frequently as the recommended tool of choice at our clients companies as well.
Allows users to jump in and get started right away with little to no learning curve.
I would give it a 10, but this question was supposed to be skip-able if you've never contacted support (which I haven't), but it turns out this typing is required in order to move to the next page. This is actually a systemic problem I've noticed within the Lucidchart community site (NOT the web app used for flowcharts), where anything intended to be "optional" is actually required to proceed.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use it primarily to consult with different clients to advise on next steps for implementing a specific system or in the actual implementation ; To fulfill this need , I need to organize information in various formats ; The titles for various artefacts that I generate are as under
Business Architecture/IT Architecture
IT Heat Maps
Process Flow
Conceptual Flow/Graphics
Business Flows
Data Architecture



  • Business Process Flow
  • Swimlane Diagrams
  • Visualization of a specific concept by picking any shape model and connecting them together
  • struggle to at times straighten out the connector , it keeps going to its intended place
  • shapes like chevron are missing , though I do see and able to use , but its a struggle
  • Need more conventional generally accepted popular shapes and themes for api integrations, cloud integrations , Business architecture themes
Flow charting
Shaped based graphic depiction of a concept, systems works very well

But situations where we need to add a table on to a graphic and superimpose it is a bit of back and forth
Font choices should be expanded
Aspect ratio compatibility of a diagram on a power point slide should be looked into
Intuitive
Auto Saved
Cloud Saas Available anywhere
Never used support
January 23, 2023

Designers's friend.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My role requires me to design the technical architecture for a new feature/product for the company. The lucid chart has a tremendous shapes library that helps me quickly design and lay out the systems neatly and how they would interact with one another. Lucidchart helps the team to visualize the mechanics of any module. For my scope of work, a Lucidchart helps me put forward the picture of exactly what I have in mind as a Technical Architect.
  • Vast shapes library.
  • Drag and drop shapes.
  • Auto save diagram.
  • It's hard to select a single pointer when two of them overlap.
Lucidchart is most suitable for Technical architects.
I have personally not attended any training to use Lucidchart. I was hands-on with it from the very first day I logged into Lucidchart.
Never contacted support.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I most frequently use LucidChart to create process flows, and structural diagrams. I've found that Lucidchart provides a wide variety of templates so that, when I begin a diagram, I have a good start that reduces the amount of time it takes me to begin my work. The status field is helpful, but I feel it would be more helpful if it provided more customizability.
  • Start diagram from a template
  • Categorize charts by status
  • Collaborate with coworkers
  • More customizable statuses
  • More icons are always better
  • More templates is always better
I have found Lucidchart is most helpful in its capacity to diagram process flows, which the primary reason I use the application. Using a template as a starting point, I am able to quickly start diagramming, without having to do a lot of "housekeeping" tasks first. I have not found any cases where the app is inappropriate.
Lucidchart usability is increased by its wide variety of templates to use as starting points to the diagrams I create. I also appreciate the flexibility that the tool provides, as well as the productivity provided by its integration with Slack and the categorization of diagrams by status and also by folders.
I've never contacted support.
January 09, 2023

The review.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I create roadmaps, flowchart and other types of diagrams to support our software development efforts
  • Diagrams (obviously)
  • Flowcharts
  • Timelines
  • I really miss an option to share the diagram with users that do not have an account
  • Also anonymous access would be good to have (where someone can just enter his name which is optional) and start diagramming
  • Proper desktop app to work without internet access is also needed
- Requirements engineering
- Brainstorming
-Async visual collaboration
- Visual facilitation
The interface is pretty intuitive for basic things, but there some advanced stuff to learn + you gotta learn the actual diagram types and when to apply them
I think I contacted them a couple of times, nothing extraordinary
December 27, 2022

Lucidchart Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I tried to test the Lucidchart BambooHR integration at my company. They promised in their interface and in the following calls that they have a connection with our HR tool, BambooHR. However, it is my belief that was not true. They had us manually include all the changes in the org chart, but then we could not use the tool. That was 20 hours of work for, in my opinion, nothing. Additionally, they promised that we have seven days of free use of the tool, but then they changed for a whole month, almost 100 euros. It is my personal beliefl they did this to get small usage fees.
  • Templates
  • Transparency
I do not reccomend Lucidchart. It wasn't connected with my HR tool, BambooHR, and I had to make all the changes manually in my org chart.
I believe that the support was not helpful. They just took time from us but never supported us with the right solution.
Manish Bhattacharya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Lucidchart has been very useful for us for multiple use-cases. We use it to learn and document various flows in the fintech services. It is easy to use, and the team can share and collaborate on projects effortlessly. My favorite Lucidchart feature is connecting two boxes, it connects the center of boxes with ease.
  • Flowcharts
  • Intelligent diagramming
  • Beautiful mockups
  • Shorter sharing links
Lucidchart is well suited for flow charts and diagrams. I use these diagrams and charts for documentations and learning a complex problem!
Intelligent diagramming is one of my favorite features of Lucidchart, which makes the connection seamless and result in clean flowcharts.
I didn't have any issue so far hence haven't connected with the support team yet!
December 12, 2022

Easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Designing financial processes for planning, reporting, and analysis. Using the application to map org charts to process steps, visually define system interfaces, and outline a data model of a new ERP system implementation.
  • Org charts
  • Process diagrams
  • Systems map and interfaces
  • Embedding into MS Powerpoint
  • More flexibility to link multiple boxes in a process diagram to show dual accountability of a process step.
  • Mix and match ability to visually showcase systems interfaces to process steps.
As a comparison to Visio or building charts in powerpoint, Lucidchart is much easier to use. It's suite of templates is broad and offers many options and even inspires thoughts of other usage. Specifically, when mapping a new process to drive both accountability and education, Lucidchart has been very helpful to provide a visual representation of both. Also the org chart functions are flexibile and offers a wide variety of use beyond just our org. It is also useful in showing sales account responsibility as well.
I gave it a high rating for its ease of use. Training was helpful, but I learn more by trying on my own and creating things on the fly. Lucidchart made it very easy to figure out.
I have not had to reach out to customer support, but I was already contacted by Lucidchart support to make sure my experience has been good.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Lucidchart is used by engineering departments to create flow charts of the product and ease automation needs, as well as create testing workflows for the company. Lucidchart was initially used to create automated pipeline diagrams and helped to achieve alignment between all engineering departments and teams. Great product that was discovered by accident through a mobile app and is now used by all engineering departments.
  • Ease of navigation within the working chart.
  • Working in a team and collaborating.
  • Easy export of finished charts and sharing them.
  • Have more templates for product flowcharts.
  • Selecting elements on working flowchart and not including connecting lines.
  • Increasing elements border line (bold border lines).
Lucidchart is great for creating workflows for an existing product or when designing new systems and pipelines. It can be used in a wide range of applications, but we mainly use it for automated test coverage flows of the product, which can't be envisioned without a chart that outlines all the parts of the application, That way, it's easier for us to not miss a use case or test case and increase coverage of the application.
Lucidchart is great for creating workflows for an existing product or when designing new systems and pipelines. It can be used in a wide range of applications, but we mainly use it for automated test coverage flows of the product, which can't be envisioned without a chart that outlines all the parts of the application, That way, it's easier for us to not miss a use case or test case and increase coverage of the application.
I personally haven't used support yet, but I'm sure that subscription support has reasonable SLAs during which users will get answers and be able to proceed with work. Overall great product and I would recommend it to my colleagues.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently, our organization uses Lucidchart for business process management as well as organizational chart diagramming. The collaboration capability for BPMs is very helpful! We can easily Slack a BPM to our peers or grab a link to share externally. Further, once the BPM is mapped out, it streamlines process improvements.
  • Business process management.
  • Collaboration
  • Diagram creation.
  • Intuitive drag and drop.
For my role, specifically, being able to map out processes in order to improve them is crucial. Reviewing a mapped-out process facilitates efficient conversations and ensures everyone is on the same page. Further, being able to grab a shareable link to add to an email or calendar invite streamlines the process even more.
Overall, Lucidchart has been the tool we hoped it would be for our company. A couple small usability details could be improved, but overall it well provides for our needs!
I have not yet had to work with Lucidchart support.
Jessie Mead | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize LucidChart across our entire organization. We are software developers, so we utilize it heavily to diagram our client processes/architecture out before any kind of project work begins. We all strive to learn from our clients, so being able to visualize and communicate their company vs. how we perceive their company is absolutely critical, and Lucidchart does an amazing job for us!
  • Visualization of Business Processes.
  • Collaboration internally and externally.
  • Versioning and iterations.
  • Further collaboration methods for shared edits/comments/tags.
  • Pasting images / text complexities.
This is GREAT for architectural/business process/solutioning designs for software development! It does take time to come up with a great diagram, so probably not so good for very small projects. We also love this to provide to our clients once our project is complete, so clients have something tangible to review down the road.
It does require a learning curve to understand all of the available tools/shapes / etc., but once learned, it's SUPER easy.
N/A - I've never contacted support.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is being used by executive management for a number of applications, chiefly keeping track of organizational structure and project teams. We have a number of independent and associated contractors, as well as employees, and keeping track of teams and projects is always a challenge. Lucidchart helps us see, at a glance, who is working on what.
  • Creates easy to understand flow charts
  • Diagrams processes
  • Creates trees for chain of command
  • Cannot copy and paste from another chart
  • Making screens overall larger in tutorials
  • Navigation is challenging
Great for organizational mapping and diagramming workflows, project management processes, and priority trees.
I feel that navigating the controls requires some training. The basics are fairly simple, but finding the tools to create specific shapes, colors, and functions are not easily found right away, and the help database could use improvement.
We have not contacted support as of yet.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Lucidchart is a great tool to create UX deliverables, such as personas and journey maps. It's important to communicate processes, research, and user stories as clearly as possible to stakeholders, and Lucidchart makes it easy to put together high quality and professional looking deliverables. In addition, the many available integrations make it easy to share with your team members.
  • Flow charts
  • Templates
  • Diagrams
  • Pay-to-use templates should be more clearly marked
This tool is great for creating flow charts, hierarchies, and user journeys. It is easy to create from scratch or template, and supports multiple different formats. The tool's flexibility and features make it simple to create whatever graphics or charts you need, and the integrations and collaboration aspects make it simple to share with the team.
It's difficult at first to get started in Lucidchart because of the large breadth of features and tools. I recommended starting with tutorials or templates to learn the tool's various features. Once a user has learned how to use the tool, it becomes very easy to use and provides many features and flexibility.
I have never contacted customer support for this product, so I am skipping this question about rating the overall support experience for the Lucidchart application.
September 29, 2022

Lucidchart Really Helps

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Lucidchart for a variety of business needs. I make user-flow diagrams and product roadmaps, conduct card sorting and other mapping activities, and build out wireframes with Lucid. It's such an intuitive interface that I can jump in and quickly make whatever I need without any fuss or software preparation. The export feature is excellent - it can automatically size your page to fit specific content without having to make a copy, and it exports cleanly to image or PDF. It's basically my notebook, meeting facilitation tool, and the starting point for all my web projects. It's great!
  • User journey flowcharts
  • Wireframes
  • Card sorting and content mapping
  • I wish I could share in-progress documents without collaborators needing an account
  • A tracked changes option for group work
  • Animated flowcharts
Lucidchart is great for creating user journey maps and wireframes for website development. I often use it to build out product road maps and gant charts, which can link to tabs containing relevant diagrams and lists. It's a great work notebook (I prefer it to OneNote) and organizing tool. I don't think I'd use it for long text blocks, but for my purposes, that's never been necessary.
Lucidchart is as simple as I need it to be. If I'm creating a content map or diagram, it's the fastest, most reliable tool I've found. Because it's a browser-based system, I don't have to worry about starting up time or locally saved files. The navigation and toolbars are totally intuitive and in line with other productivity software.
While I haven't needed support from Lucidchart, I have gone through their resources and free training program. The material is presented in a clear and robust way and encourages users to test out different features in sample documents that are saved in their account. I found all the training and documentation very helpful.
September 29, 2022

A cut above the rest

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I currently use Lucidchart for planning and development purposes, mostly for Process mapping, Process interaction diagrams, Wire frame designs and strategic planning. It is also a useful and a collaborative tool for brainstorming and facilitating productive meetings. My team members enjoy this tool as they feel included and their ideas can easily be sorted and categorized.




  • Swim lane diagrams
  • Wire frame designs
  • Brainstorming
  • Process interaction
  • Flow charts
  • Fish bone technique
  • None observed so far
Lucidchart is a perfect tool for:
1. Creating a road map to digitalize company processes
2. Streamline and prioritize strategic objectives
3. Map out work tasks and determine best method of execution for work processes
4. Create professional wire frame designs 5. Access tools to encourage brainstorming and innovation
6. Map processes to visualize intended output
It is fun, intuitive and easy to use. There are hundreds of templates that are well designed, modern and practical. Shortcuts are available to allow quick formatting and efficient design. The diagrams can be shared with other stakeholders for review and feedback. It facilitates collaboration and tracks the version history, so work will not be lost
I haven't used this feature
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My organization has very many different business processes and each process is somewhat complex. With all of these complex processes, it's very easy to use Lucidchart to diagram out all of these processes and connect them by creating a flowchart. Also since our organization is global, being able to collaborate on Lucidchart helps us visualize processes together without worrying about miscommunication.
  • Providing free templates for users
  • Connecting shapes to other shapes and being able to align them with an onscreen ruler
  • I think the homepage when you log into Lucidchart is not very intuitive. I recommend that it has the same format as SharePoint where you can list all files out and group them into folders.
My previous company used Microsoft Vizio to create flowcharts for our different processes. I hated learning how to use it and it wasn't very intuitive. Lucidchart has tips and best practices on the side of the screen which has been very useful. When I first joined my current company, I wasn't shown how to use Lucidchart, but it was really easy and simple to pick up.
I never received any training in Lucidchart, but it was so simple to pick up. All of the controls and shortcuts were intuitive and the side panel with the tips and tricks was also very helpful.
never contacted support for this product
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Lucidchart in Operations, Finance, and HR to diagram as-is processes as well as identifying opportunities to improve for the future. We switched over from VIsio to increase the accessibility of our diagramming tools for users who are on non-MS operating systems. We were able to import files from Visio into Lucidchart seamlessly, so none of our previous work was lost. Lucidchart has been easy to learn and so far we've been able to get a lot done with it in a relatively short period of time.
  • Import and edit Visio files
  • Provides good guidance and help to get you started
  • Easy to collaborate with other users
  • Easy to duplicate pages
  • Make swimlane titles lockable (so that they appear as you scroll across the screen)
  • Give the option to "hold" a copy/paste shape (repeatedly)
  • make it easier to zoom into specific sections/shapes
We've only been using it for a few weeks, but our primary reason for choosing Lucidchart was that we needed something that would import Visio files and let us edit them collaboratively. As a team, we use multiple operating systems, so having something that was web-based that allows us to collaborate was a high priority. The Mac users on our team were previously using Parallels to run Visio but it just didn't work the way we wanted it to. So far, Lucidchart has been working well for our team. It also integrates well with Slack, which is a great way to manage notifications/updates.
It's very usable out of the box but there are a few things that I wish were more intuitive, such as alignment of swimlanes in the document.
Haven't really accessed support yet but I am cautiously optimistic it will be good. I think I'd have more to say about this if we'd been using it longer, but it's just been a few weeks and we've mostly been in DIY-mode.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use it to draw diagrams and graph org charts. It is used by several people in a department but not the whole organization. It helps create great diagrams and visualize processes. We are able to build dynamic org charts for our current clients and prospective clients. This allows us to identify key stakeholders and decision-makers. Separately, we have several data flow diagrams. We are easily able to map out flow from one platform to the next in a digestible, concise manner.
  • Org Charts
  • Data Flows
  • Process diagrams
  • Ease of use
  • Tutorials
  • More templates
  • Customization of colors
Making org chart to easily map out key stakeholders within an organization. The program provides an easy way to customize hierarchies and organization flows for any type of enterprise - no matter how simple or complex. My experience with Lucidchart has also shown that it is a great tool for diagraming data flows or timelines of processes. I am yet to find a scenario where Lucidchart is not appropriate. It has many capabilities and templates to help you get started.
I would rate the overall usability of Lucidchart a 10. It is easy to use, intuitive, and has a clean user interface. There are also many templates that could be used to help beginners get started. The diagrams are flexible and allow users to customize and draw in appropriate manners. It has helped my team draw diagrams to easily visualize and understand complex structures and data flows.
The overall support for Lucid Chart is great. The platform has very helpful support staff. I have reached out to them for tutorials and they were quick to reply and accommodate. Additionally, I have contacted the team with questions about features that I have not used or was having initial difficulty with. They were able to solve my problems and help my seamless usage moving forward.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our whole organization uses Lucidchart. I use it for all sorts of purposes, from diagraming team hierarchical structures to data flow, process maps, etc. It helps us to identify opportunities to restructure our teams for improved communication, improve our workflows for greater efficiency or reorganize our software for increased simplification.
  • Process Mapping - specifically adjustment to the map after you've already created it. Those can be the most painful because you have to reorganize everything, but much of it is easy with Lucidchart.
  • Easily customize standard formatting for shapes or other visual tools.
  • It is very flexible and will easily adapt to whatever type of chart you're trying to build.
  • So far, I'm getting used to the different functionality, and I'm impressed that I've been able to find everything I want, even if it is a little different than what I am used to.
  • In a world of "just-in-time" learning, with an extensive library of shapes, it would be awesome to have a link for each shape type that takes you to a page with education around what the best practices are for the use of that variety of shapes.
  • I like that templates are pre-populated as it helps see how they've been used, but it would be nice to have a blank template option, so you don't have to go to the trouble of erasing all the text and/or shapes that you don't need.
Lucid is great for process maps or process flows which is where I typically use it. I have not had extensive experience with A3 creation yet or with significant collaboration on a project, but I look forward to testing that functionality as it becomes more relevant to my work.
I haven't been using Lucid for long, and while it was a bit of a transition at first, it only took a few hours of mapping to get comfortable with unfamiliar functionality.
The only lack of support I've heard has come from people who have a preference for a different software, but not for any particular reason other than familiarity.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Lucidchart's intelligent workflow technology makes it easy for us to create process flows for our customer care team's standard operating procedures, which are both easy to understand and visually appealing for our new hires, as well as existing employees. This saves time and gives us the ability to create procedures quickly, while still ensuring they are clear.
  • Easy to customize shapes for diagrams to match the user's brand strategy.
  • Download process flows in various formats based on user's needs.
  • Work with your projects anytime, anywhere - no need to worry about having to download bulky applications.
  • Bandwidth - when working with complex workflows spanning multiple shapes and layers, the page tends to slow down and sometimes crash.
  • Zooming in & out - when a workflow is spread out over multiple pages, the view can become small even with a large screen.
  • Pricing - newly introduced monthly/annual pricing schemes are not as good as previous quarterly payment models.
Lucidchart is a powerful workflow builder particularly useful to huge organizations implementing new and updated process flows across multiple regions, demographics, and departments. Creating easy-to-understand and visually appealing diagrams, the software's end products surely would appeal to a variety of users, from newly hired employees getting acclimated with the process to existing teams and leadership groups.
It's a powerful diagramming tool that requires little effort to master.
Reasonable timeframe for resolution on support requests created.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Helping organize ideas and people. Currently using it for various projects and programs within the company. Organizing architectural solutions and implementation ideas. Collaborating with X-functional groups and team members and managing chain of thoughts in designing systems, products, and services. Sharing diagrams and allowing other team members to simultaneously participate in the same diagrams.
  • Drawing diagrams.
  • Sharing and collaborating across the organization.
  • Organizing the work to be done.
  • More clip arts.
  • Better coordination within the tool.
  • Better select button and transitioning between objects.
Diagramming and presenting complicated ideas and system integrations in a simple, easy-to-use, and understand tool. Less appropriate with brainstorming and capturing notes.
Very good tool but still needs some fine-tuning.
Excellent.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We’re using the software to map out strategic accounts' organizational structure and create some continuity between ADRs, AEs, and CSMs.
  • Simple diagram tools.
  • Adding key contacts to maps.
  • Integrates with SalesForce.
  • More ‘keys’.
  • Links to opportunities or contracts direct from people on maps.
In my ADR role, it allows me to see where certain prospects sit within the company I’m targeting, for example, who reports to who. It obviously depends on the team's input.
I haven’t received any official demo or instruction, so I’m finding my way a bit. I do have a colleague who is proficient, so I’m following his lead as much as possible.
It’s hard to say as I’ve not reached out for help as yet. We may look into a team demo soon, so we can maximize the tool, but I’m not sure when that is planned for.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It really helps me to visualize workflows and decision-making diagrams.
I used to do these things in Word and it would cost me twice as much time as it does right now, Plus the options and opportunities are endless in Lucidchart.
  • Templates
  • Training new users
  • It just works when you need it!
  • Easy for me to share with external users and super simple for them to view my work.
  • Make it even more simple/easy to use standard templates.
  • As with most software/programs I feel that I'm only using 10% of its functions and capabilities, I'm challenging you guys to open up the entire space and get me engaged with your product!
Its perfect to map communication flows and address challenges, also works really well for project structures and visualizing responsibilities
The user interface is clear and well designed, even as a new user a lot of the thing look familiar and just make sense.
Everything is designed well and thought through, resulting in me not needing any support yet.
July 05, 2022

Lucidcharts review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Using Lucidcharts for network topology designs. It is very easy and accessible to use. Downloading new shapes and an extensive shape library, the task completes seamlessly. It is a crucial tool for my team as each site contains a different network topology and designs. However, sometimes it feels a little uncomfortable as dots and pointers are very sensitive to movement.
  • Diagrams
  • Colors
  • Shapes
  • Pointers
  • Presentation
  • Vendor specific symbols
Good for: Designs and topology, flow charts, algorithms. Needs improvement: vendor-specific symbols , device-specific symbols
It is easy to learn and work with Lucidcharts. It is a very user-friendly tool and everything is available in a single window making it easy to access and use.
Support is easy to reach and readily available.
Return to navigation