M‑Files Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-48 of 48)

Todd Ek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

Empower yourself with content, information and process

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

We use M-Files workflows to manage business units across the organization. Such as Project implantation, contract life cycle, sales, commissions and more. Tracking project status, history, and documents are key to our success. We utilize M-Files workflows to track key project tasks, personnel and follow up. Workflow notifications keep me on track with contract balances, end dates because the consultant and projects records are always at my fingertips. M-Files standardizes our documentation employing templates for quotes, proposals, contracts and project documentation streamlining our processes.



  • Workflows are powerful; they notify personnel of the status and details of a project. Routines, tasks, and checklists are assigned automatically via email or views based on roles or process.
  • We can track and inform on anything, from customer requests, formal internal communications, requests, audits, and risk. When a teammate is assigned a request, it brings instant visibility and accountability. Colleagues receive reminders on task deadlines, and tasks escalate when not completed on time, resulting in stronger communication and faster result all around.
  • I often say, “If we track it on a spreadsheet today, the process needs to be moved to M-Files tomorrow." There are many micro processes within a team where an individual manages an important procedure in a homegrown manner often on a spreadsheet with date, check boxes, and reminders. Finding these and deploying their methods in M-Files can ease the task and share responsibility among the team.
  • I would like to see M-Files implement spellcheck in the user interface and the administration module. It seems like a no-brainer improvement for the end user.
  • A web-based template tool or integration would be also wonderful enhancement .
  • Enhancement of the Intelligent Metadata Layer (IML) to ease migration of documents from Network Folders.
M-Files is well suited for almost any environment, my favorite being Quality Management. It is a great fit for any compliance or regulated organization that wants to enhance compliance or is working towards compliance. M-Files powerfully assists with document control, change requests, audit planning, and execution, issue and risk management and training with a turn-key approach.
Read Todd Ek's full review
Matthew Sirois | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2018

M-Files is the Document Management Solution We Needed

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is being used across multiple departments as a library for raw material and packaging specification documents. It is also being used to manage a number of workflows related to those documents, as well as the onboarding process for new record creation in our main ERP system.
  • M-Files offers fantastic document management capabilities that solve virtually all of the issues associated with managing document libraries in a traditional folder structure. Version control and document history, the ability to classify documents such that they appear in multiple views, and the excellent access control are all tools we can no longer live without.
  • M-Files is extremely customizable without requiring a deep technical background. Basic administrative functions can be learned with relative ease.
  • User support for M-Files is top notch.
  • M-Files lacks the ability to audit for users who have never accessed it.

M-Files is specifically well suited for document management, especially when the population documents are significant. When the number of documents is small, that advantages of using M-Files may be offset by the need to setup an appropriate document type and metadata structure.

M-Files is also excellent at managing customized workflows.

M-Files has improved our ability to access documents and to control access to those documents. We have not as of yet tied M-Files directly to any external systems.
Read Matthew Sirois's full review
Tim Goetz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

M-Files Rocks!!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being and end user of M-Files, I am in the Sales Dept and use it daily. I create Proposals using the templates and love it. I use it to look up customer contract information which is done very easily. All correspondence done with my customers is stored in M-Files so I am able to easily retrieve it.
Bottom line... "It makes my job that much easier!"
  • Creating Proposals: I use the templates in Word and Excel to create Pricing and Proposals on a daily basis.
  • Archiving Customer Information: I use the Outlook Plug in and archive all emails related to my customers and projects I am working on.
  • Retrieving Customer Information: The SEARCH feature makes life easy and I can easily find my customer information with a quick search.
  • I don't see any areas that need improvement. However, M-Files seams to find them and put them in the new releases before I even thought I needed them. For instance the highlighting of the search words.. very nice and makes it easy to find at a quick glance what I am looking for.
M-Files seams to have every area covered.. at least from my perspective. I can see where every dept at our company can use it.
We use shared folders. It is nice to be able to limit access to certain files like HR files.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
the software does everything we need and then some. Even stuff we didn't even know we needed.
Easy to use. simple. Does everything I need it to do. Makes my job easier and saves me much time in generating proposals. It helps me keep track of those proposals as well as being able to look up contact information on an account and contract agreements at the click of a button.
do so much more than we need but has all the stuff we do need.
Yes - went smother than i could imagine. didn't notice a thing other than the new features.
Read Tim Goetz's full review
Alan Lampe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2018

A wonderful document management system.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is used in several departments. We scan in various documents, tag them and retain them as historical records. It is easier to find the file in M-Files than search through paper files.
  • It indexes a wide range of documents easily.
  • It allows for custom designed tags.
  • It is easy for me to use.
  • When tagging an Excel spreadsheet of names, I add the person to the tag. If the person is new, M-Files wants to add the new person. The new user window pops up in the middle of the screen every single time. I have to move it out of the way to see the data behind it. M-Files needs to be able to retain the location of where I move a window so that it opens where I want it to, and not right in the middle of the screen, right on top of the data that I need to enter.
  • Wish it had an OCR option.
M-Files is well suited to retain your invoices, orders, employee information and more. With custom-designed fields for tagging, you have the option to input as much, or as little data you want.
Read Alan Lampe's full review
Ken Heinrich | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2018

Great value

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We resell M-Files. We provide the M-Files platform to our customers/prospects here in Canada.
  • Great feature set
  • Cost effective
  • Easy to deploy
  • Ability for free trials
M-Files is very well suited for companies that are looking to automate some of their current manual workflows.
Read Ken Heinrich's full review
Michael Ellerbeck | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2018

M-Files, simple, elegant, love the outlook plugin and the m: drive!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently M-Files is being used by a single department to track a lot of documents surrounding COAs and other necessary documents for purchase orders. It is extremely useful for being able to add documents directly from an email. It sends out alerts if certain forms haven't been entered and matched in a timely manner.
  • Easy install, go get your self a demo!
  • Great outlook integration!
  • Wonderful API
  • More more more training docs!
  • M-Files is a paradigm shift, so wrapping your brain around how its storing metadata takes some getting used to.
  • Learning curve with advanced features (what product doesn't?).
It's great for routing documents, creating workflows, and quickly retrieving data and image scans/PDF. Search works really well
Sometimes it is difficult to know how to match its metadata design to a traditional ECM problem. I think that is where lots of training documents, examples templates, and case studies would be very helpful! I like documentation!
We mainly have utilized it for shared folders and workflows surrounding that. We haven't yet utilized it for Sharepoint or for Salesforce or for any other sources.
Read Michael Ellerbeck's full review
John Kujawa | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2018

M-Files review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have vaults for Finance Dept, Legal Dept, Personnel (HR), IT and Executive files across the whole organization. M-Files eliminates the need to paper copies, easier and faster to search and allows for workflow.
  • Ease of use. Familiar user interface.
  • Search of documents.
  • Easy to configure and administer.
  • Annotations seem clumsy to work with. On large documents annotations are hard to find. Multiple annotations can overlay each other.
  • Would like the ability to setup pre-defined queries where user can enter a values for certain metadata fields.
  • Workflow can be more intuitive.
  • Web client currently does not match the desktop client.
Works well with certain documents that have clear metadata. Harder to work with on more generic documents.
We have not implemented these features yet.
Read John Kujawa's full review
Rush Hoag | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

M-Files is a great problem solving solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use M-Files to help our customers keep track of and control their documents.
  • Storage of documents
  • Customer service
  • User training
  • M-Files used to offer a more entry-level program, but they have done away with that, limiting the type of the customer that can justify the product
It's perfect for people managing complex financial portfolios
Read Rush Hoag's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2018

Look Ma, No Hand[ler]s

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used to manage contracts (purchase contracts and community partnerships) and approvals by our Board of Education.
  • Creating associations between documents/objects; allows for endless options for viewing data that is stored within M-Files.
  • Search feature; also searches within documents (not just the titles).
  • Workflows
  • More user friendly customization options that do not require knowledge of coding/scripting. For example, prompting the creation of a new document from a template in a workflow.
  • When using the 'insert property' feature in a Word doc, I would love to convert dates from a mm/dd/yy format to be written out (such as September 21, 2018). Or possibly even just to pull the year or the month from a selected date to insert into a document.
  • I've often wished that I could find more detailed tutorials online for some features.
M-Files is well suited for a step-by-step process that involves changes to documents. Such as a document approval process. Specifically in the way that we currently use IT for contracts, which involves revisions and approvals by multiple people, tracking of milestones and important dates, and management of associated insurance requirements.

We also have a trip application process that I would love to integrate into M-Files. This would eliminate the need for multiple people to print and sign a document to show their approval. The approval could be granted within the same system and then the application moved to the next step in the approval process.

An example of a less appropriate use - M-files would probably be overkill for a simple repository of data/documents that only one person needs to access. Although if I already had M-Files I would probably use it anyway.
We have not. Our need was relatively simple and we have not yet explored the need to invest additional public funds for additional capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

M-Files

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the legal department as a database to store contracts. We put in ticklers to let us know when an agreement is coming up for auto-renewal, termination, etc.
  • User interface is easy to understand and learn for new users.
  • The functionality is great once contracts are loaded into the system.
  • Customer service. We experienced some difficulty with our account this year and the service wasn't the most responsive. We rely on M-Files to run our department and without prompt responses/clear resolutions, it became fairly frustrating.
  • Problem resolution. We were shut out of our account for a month or so this year which really set us back as a company. Not sure why it took so long to resolve, but again, it was a significant hinderance.
  • We have a backlog of contracts that need to be uploaded. Anything that allows the contracts to be input into the system in a quicker, more efficient manner would be helpful
I think it is a perfect solution for a company such as ours, a basic contract storage database that also allows you to keep track of contract expiry. Anything more advanced, or needing specific integrations completed, I would probably recommend a different service.
Not that I am aware of. It would be nice to have it synced with SalesForce but at this point in time don't think we have that feature enabled.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

M-Files is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is used throughout our organization. We rely on the powerful workflow tools to help us manage our internal processes. As a growing company we needed a powerful tool that would help us grow without requiring additional staffing resources. M-files has allowed us to continue our growth plan with great success.
  • Ease of use for both technical and non-technical staff.
  • Ability to search within M-Files as well as other repositories.
  • Support and service of the software.
  • The M-Files software has very few areas for improvement.
M-Files has applications in nearly all of our departments. We use it to manage Human Resource documents as well as the hiring process. M-Files is the starting point and repository for all of our contracts. All documents are stored and managed in M-Files as well. It is ingrained in everything we do.
We have integrations with SharePoint, Salesforce, and our ERP. Our staff is able to use information from these business systems directly in M-Files.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

Pleasantly pleased couldn't be happier with program

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use M-files to manage our QA documentation.
  • Very user friendly
  • You can easily locate your documents within moments by using the search
  • We were able to bring information from other databases to retrieve information so lessen manual input of metadata within M-files.
  • Very nice reporting feature - we use to create an index tracing material to part.
  • I have not seen any issues that affect our use
M-files has worked very well in the tracing of materials used, locating documents and providing reports. M-files also has very good support.
We have pulled information from other databases to M-files automating some of the data required in the metadata field.
  • Online training
They have been very good at getting back to us with answers.
very user friendly, anyone can use this program with ease.
We have only used this program in one department and will be scaling up in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2018

M-Files saved us from a document conversion nightmare

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by specific departments for two different companies that we support. Converting documents to electronic format using ChronoScan, attaching tags and descriptions to make documents searchable, and adding destroy dates for make sure documents are being destroyed for legal reasons.
  • Using ChronoScan makes it very easy to get hard copies to be converted to electronic copies, and automatically added to M-Files, once ChronoScan is setup. The setup of ChronoScan took some time, as its very specific to a template being used.
  • Adding tags, metadata, and descriptions to the M-Files properties for each documents makes it very easy to find those documents, or group of documents in the future.
  • Having the ability to set destroy dates in the properties gives us the confidence to know that document has been destroyed and can no longer be accessed forever.
  • Workflows allow for automatic document loading vs approved document loading. Making any part of the workflow a place to place verification and approval if desired.
  • The only long-standing issue we have at the moment is a slowness issue, but working through the issue we are discovering our two vault instances are at two different locations. Maybe do a better job at determining the best datacenter location for the vault to reside at depending on the customers locations?
Converting paper documents to electronic documents, organizing, making those documents searchable, and destroying them at a specific date.
We do not use the integration with other programs like Sharepoint and Salesforce. We do use a shared folder to do auto upload to ChronoScan, and yes this is very helpful for our uploading process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2018

Strong DMS

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is used by a department only. It used for integration with MS Office.
  • The most powerful part of M-Files is workflow automation.
  • System has quite a simple interface.
  • Good integration with other applications like MS Dynamics.
  • Workflow definitions need graphical interface.
  • M-Files API need documentation and samples.
  • Files upload is very slow.
M-Files is well suited for what it is designed for - document management.
Customization using M-Files API is cumbersome, not because of API itself, but because of API documentation.
We improved productivity by using M-Files to manage all projects-related-documents flow, from initial business presentation to release notes.
Read this authenticated review
Vineta Rubene | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2017

M-files Magic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use M-files across the whole organization (50 users). M-files helped to implement a paperless office - our documents are agreed and approved in M-files. Documents are available at other company locations immediately. Version control is great with M-files.
  • Very user-friendly interface.
  • Quite easy to configure.
  • Extremely powerful user access rights management, including access based on document metadata.
  • Add comments to read-only document.
  • Minor improvement - posibility create a new document based on existing document (not copy, just duplicate common metadata).
Very good for typical document management - create document (based on template or not), approve, share, store, search. Good version management. Works with Microsoft.
M-files is not a task or resource management system (however quite a lot of things could be done through M-files tasks).
Read Vineta Rubene's full review
HAMID TAIATI | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2016

Why I'm using M-files

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use m-files in all departments of our company. [There are] six users. We chose M-Files to organize and securely manage all incoming and outgoing documents.
  • Organization
  • Security
  • Workflows
  • Google products integrations are not available like Microsoft products are.
  • The OCR functionality is too expensive for a small organization.
  • Community forum is not very active.
You can use m-files for any organization on permise or on the cloud. It is based on the metadata of documents. It is recommended to Windows users because the desktop client is not available for others systems but you can access it via a simple browser.
M-files is user freindly and so simple
You not save any thing any where but you save documents or objects for what they are.
Read HAMID TAIATI's full review
Melissa S. Jackson, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2016

M-FIles helps get your organizational act together

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased M-Files to be used across the School of Arts and Sciences which consisted of about 800 faculty and 100 staff members. The goal was to organize decades worth of contracts that contained inconsistent information in each document and manage the contractual details of each document. The ultimate goal was to eventually allow administrators in the field to have access to this as well which would have consisted of another 300 or so persons.
  • M-Files forces your organization to think through and update their process. We spent years doing things because 'it was how it was always done". When that became unmanageable, we were forced to consider the logical steps needed to complete various tasks.
  • M-Files was intuitive in that searching for things became easier because all our files were mapped by department, area, person, year, etc.
  • M-Files was highly customizable. Because we changed our processes fairly often (every 3 years of so) it allowed us the flexibility to manage this.
  • From a technical perspective, M-Files wouldn't allow us to scale because our LDAP configuration was not Windows based (Active Directory). We were a Linux shop and it caused problems.
M-Files is best suited for managing documents where the details don't change often due to irregularities within the organization. We have so much turn over at a university with administrations that it becomes a challenge to keep a process in place without a strong leader who is tech conscious (which doesn't always happen. It also didn't help that there wasn't a sponsor to enforce this project through its completion.).
Read Melissa S. Jackson, PMP's full review
Jacob Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

M-Files review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use M-Files both for testing and development as a re-seller and also for in house purposes.
  • Search. Much like Google, M-Files has a simple yet robust search function.
  • Workflow. Comes standard with the product.
  • Templates. Configure standardized documents to auto populate with customer specific information.
  • M-Files mobile app. Lacks the ability to create documents or assignments. Very limited.
We have yet to come across a customer that could find no benefit in using this product.
Read Jacob Allen's full review
Jason O'Neill | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2015

M-Files has allowed us to embark on our path to a paperless business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files has been an instrumental tool for our organization to stream line our manufacturing operations, quality control systems and corporate functions. After implementing M-Files, visibility to key information has been moved from a paper system to M-Files which has allowed our company to make real time business decisions.
  • The integration of M-Files into our ERP system is very powerful in overlaying our buisness processes on to the functionality of M-Files.
  • Customization has also proved to be valuable to our organization as our team demanded a system that could to modified to fit the way we run our business.
  • The user interface is good, but as we bring new employees on board it takes time for them to learn the layout and features.
Anyone considering an Enterprise Content Management (ECM) solution, should interface with their entire team to gather the requirements of each business stakeholder. This we found was the most important part of the selection process. It was identified that the ability of M-Files to intregate with our ERP system was a critical requirement.
Read Jason O'Neill's full review
Anar Guliyev | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2015

Highly configurable system.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We used M-Files for our customers, as a solution for industry specific document flow control, e-catalogs etc. We liked that M-Files is highly configurable - each folder/item level can be configured to have certain fields (and field types are also configurable). So, you can create a sophisticated system of almost any type of structured information. We considered implementing it for medical data, museum inventory, legal and business documents.
  • Each folder/item level can be configured to have certain fields. So, you can create a sophisticated system of almost any type of structured information. DIfferent folders and document types can evolve independently, so you can create several systems within one.
  • Field types are also configurable.
  • Convenient version control
  • Powerful search features.
  • Convenient workflows management.
  • Creating new language localization requires to contact M-Files (the could make it possible with plugins)
  • Lacks good mobile access and integration on Linux.
M-Files is highly configurable - we could use it in different scenarios and industries. Just keep in mind it is mostly a "Windows" solution.
Read Anar Guliyev's full review
Dave Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2014

M-Files simply easy to use Document Management Software priced for the small business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use M-Files to manage all of my business and personal documents. Everything from quotes, RFPs, orders, invoices, emails, resumes, job descriptions, agreements to contracts and more. With M-Files I can easily find anything I need just by entering any of the stored metadata tags or anything from the contents into the search box. I also can create custom Views that act as a "saved search" giving me quick access to pertinent groups of documents filtering out all of the metadata properties and sorting them anyway that I want. I also use M-Files OCR module to turn all my paper docs into fully searchable PDFs. I use their Reporting Module to create reports showing me graphical statistics about the content that I have in my M-Files Vault.
  • Very easy to use
  • Tightly integrated with Windows Explorer and the MS Office suite, there are M-Files functional buttons inside Word, Excel, PPT and Outlook
  • I can access my information from anywhere using their Web browser and also via my iPhone using their Mobile Client downloaded from the App Store
  • Their prices are perfect for a small business
  • Their Mobile Browser could be improved to allow more functionality, I am told this is coming out in a soon to be released update.
  • It would be nice to be able to put annotations onto PDFs like drawings, I am told this is also coming out before the end of 2014
It is my opinion that M-Files can benefit even the smallest business all the way up to a Fortune 100 company. Their price was not a barrier to me deciding to purchase and I was able to get up and running in just a few hours. I did it all myself because my needs were simple, but they offer full consultancy services to design and configure your vault to your requirements.
Read Dave Turner's full review
Mark List | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2014

M-Files making it easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use M-Files to organize and maintain our CAD and drawing libraries. It is used by myself and our other engineers. M-Files make finding and accessing data quick and easy by being able to search a variety of options.
  • Finding files based on description, part numbers, etc.
  • Finding related files, parts, and drawings when searching an assembly or part. It can tell you all the places a file is used.
  • Being able to rollback to a previous version if a mistake is made or a previous design worked better.
  • The only real problem I've had with M-Files in during setup. Sometimes it just doesn't want to connect to the server and I would get an error saying the DNS Server could not be found. It was a real pain. I called M-Files for support and they tried to help me out but to no avail. Eventually I got it to work fine by re-installing everything multiple times. I'd say the setup can be a bit of a hassle if things don't go right the first time.
M-Files seems to be less suited to organize PDF files that need to be updated. If the PDF is given the same name you end up with multiple copies of the file with the same name. I'd ask about that if you do a lot of PDF files.
They were very responsive but I fixed the problem myself.
It works good.
Read Mark List's full review
Richard Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
We have incorporated M-Files into our internal document management structure. Our internal structure consists of sales and marketing, vendor support, client support, finance, management and human resources. We have solved the issue of locating saved documents and maintaining mutiple versions scattered throughout the network. We have been able to link the physical, such as a client with the electronic documents associated with them in a dynamic and purposeful manner. We have accomplished this through the inherent meta-data driven properties and OCR functionality applied to all information absorbed into the centralized repository that is M-Files.
  • Permissions and access controls allow for security throughout the various departments
  • Recognizable Windows Explorer style user-friendly interface provides an organization shorty training and down time during an integration.
  • Document version control and auditing allows companies to meet compliance standards
  • Scanning and Zonal OCR features provide companies with a quick and meaningful way to convert paper documents into electronic form automatically applying meta-data properties
  • Connecting existing external databases such as Microsoft SQL and Access to M-Files. A great example would be connecting a list of all employees and can be bi-directional, which helps with redundancy and integration.
  • Connecting external databases can be tricky without prior knowledge of how those database were created. Some of the pitfalls can be avoided with more comprehensive training.
  • The OCR functionality could be more accurate which would help ingest documents of different types with less setup and training for employees trying to use M-Files.
  • M-Files has customer support, but I would like to see support have quicker response times and be more useful.
  • As a partner, the partner-portal could address more support issues by providing solutions.
We see that organizations that are consumed by paper documents would benefit from using M-Files. M-Files can enhance those companies that need to continually use paper, but can also provide a solution transitioning them away from paper documents eliminating costs, increasing efficiency and will provide a more effective method for meeting auditing and compliance standards. A few key questions to ask a company are, how long it takes to fill out and intake a document? How much time is spent filing and retrieving a document? Are you concerned about document control and permissions?
Read Richard Abraham's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (33)
8.0
File sync, storage & archiving (40)
8.5
Document management (42)
8.5
Records management (41)
8.1
Content search & retrieval (42)
8.5
Enterprise content collaboration (35)
8.3
Content publishing & creation (9)
6.9
Security, risk management & information governance (38)
8.5
Contract lifecycle management (30)
8.7
Automated workflows (37)
8.5
Artificial intelligence (17)
6.6
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Integration (10)
7.5

About M‑Files

M-Files provides an information management platform that is designed to improve business performance by helping people find and use information more effectively. Unlike traditional enterprise content management (ECM) systems or content services platforms, M-Files unifies systems, data and content across the organization without disturbing existing systems and processes or requiring data migration.

Using artificial intelligence (AI) technologies in its Intelligent Metadata Layer, M-Files breaks down silos by delivering an in-context experience for accessing and leveraging information that resides in any system and repository, including network folders, SharePoint, file sharing services, ECM systems, CRM, ERP and other business systems and repositories.

The vendor claims thousands of organizations in more than 100 countries use M-Files for managing their business information and processes, including NBC Universal, OMV, Valmet, Rovio, SAS Institute and thyssenkrupp.

M‑Files Features

Enterprise Content Management Features
Has featureContent capture & imaging
Has featureFile sync, storage & archiving
Has featureDocument management
Has featureRecords management
Has featureContent search & retrieval
Has featureEnterprise content collaboration
Has featureContent publishing & creation
Has featureSecurity, risk management & information governance
Has featureContract lifecycle management
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureArtificial intelligence
Has featureMobile support
Has featureIntegration

M‑Files Screenshots

M‑Files Video

M-Files connects to existing systems, like network folders and SharePoint, and makes those systems more intelligent by adding metadata, version control, and workflows to the content. M-Files enables organizations to access and manage the ever-increasing amount of documents and information across all business systems without requiring an expensive and time-consuming migration.

M‑Files Integrations

Microsoft Office 365, NetSuite, Salesforce.com, DocuSign, AutoCAD, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Esri, Micosoft Teams, Microsoft SharePoint, Sage 200, AutoCAD LT and Autodesk, SAP, ChronoScan

M‑Files Competitors

Laserfiche, Alfresco Enterprise Content Management, OpenText Enterprise Content Manamagement (ECM)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Please contact an M-Files representative via https://www.m-files.com for pricing information.

M‑Files Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

M‑Files Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:M-Files is available in 100+ countries through direct support or via the company's partner network.
Supported Languages: M-Files is available in 30+ languages.