QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
355 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 84)

Kelly Baldwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Quick overview for those who have questions or concers if you should purchase Enterpirse Solutoins Edition

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using QuickBooks for over 10 years and currently using QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions Manufacturing and Wholesale 15.0 for our financial and accounting software within our business. We are a information technology and service company with nearly 1,000 active customers. We have over six active users in QuickBooks starting with our officers, billing department, and the procurement and financial department. As the financial coordinator I am a certified ProAdvisor as well. Enterprise Solutions has the highest number of users allowed with many other multiple features including advanced inventory and handles over $1 million per year in sales. What I like about the Enterprise Solutions Edition is the class tracking which allows you to produce a more detailed Profit & Loss, FIFO Inventory method, Inventory Assembly and Find and Select Items within Advanced Inventory. You can also create Debit and Credit Journal Entries for your accounting purposes. You can manage fixed assets, create purchase orders and sales orders and use the Sales Order Fulfillment Worksheet and track serial numbers or lot tracking for inventory parts. On a day to day basis I am constantly running financial reports, adjusting invoices and entering parts purchases. Many reports are created from Open Purchase Orders and Sales Orders to a Collection Report. This edition is very user friendly but does have a few things that would make my world easier if these features were added e.g., making changes in the Chart of Accounts/Item List without having to go into Single User Mode. This step requires all users to be logged out. There are just a few small issues that eventually Intuit will more than likely fix as they hear more concerns.
  • Class Tracking - allows you to produce a more detailed Profit & Loss Report
  • Advanced Inventory - keeps track of your inventory along with Fixed Assets
  • Sales Tax - Paying sales tax with the Sales Tax Liability Report gives you the breakdown of the different fields the State Tax Department requires
  • Chart of Accounts - When updated or changing an account code, it automatically changes the history of all the entries made in lieu of manually changing all entries
  • Home screen - It is mapped out for you to enter your business entries clearly
  • Reconcile - Reconciling the bank statements is very eary
  • Making changes in the Chart of Accounts or Items Lists sometimes require you to be in Single User Mode. Also, merging a contact name (customer or vendor) requires this as well. If QuickBooks fixed it where you do not have to go into Single User Mode I could get more thing accomplished at one time
  • Running reports - Custom Report field needs more detailed or user friendly fields to create reports that are not generally created along with color coded charts per customer etc
  • Entering credit card payments that are tagged to a Purchase Order; the steps are confusing. Had to watch a video to figure out how to tie the two steps together.

Depending on how many customers, vendors, other names, QuickBooks has list limits. Enterprise Solutions has the highest limits of 1,000,000.


Some key questions to ask are:


  • How many users will be in QuickBooks at the same time?
  • Do you have inventory and are you running payroll?
  • Do you have multiple locations?
  • Do you run financial reports?
Read Kelly Baldwin's full review
Scott Romero | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2016

Good sidekick

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Financial statement preparation, accounting record keeping.
  • drill down to the transaction level
  • easy to learn very intuitive
  • solid reporting capabilities
  • consolidations. We have 10 companies but need to consolidate in excel.
  • I was not able to open more than 2 companies at the time.
  • expense allocation module (dimensions) would be great.
If you have a multiple company with different currency setup, QB might not be the right choice.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
I didn't get a solution at the first call. I had to call the following day.
It is very easy to use, however it is not a very strong system.
It is not a fair rating because we did not invest in different modules to accommodate for business grow and complexity expansion.
Read Scott Romero's full review
Nick Hendrickson, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2015

Nick's QuickBooks Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize QuickBooks in connection with clients and audits. We also take client QuickBooks files and utilize them for our audits.
  • Making it easy to use for beginner accountants
  • Items and processes appear to flow well between each other (cash data to journal entry processing)
  • Reporting - it may be my limited experience but I found it difficult to run a few reports like advanced journal entry detail.
  • Again this may be something that was limited in the QuickBooks file we received but it was difficult to navigate around the general ledger and see what was done during the year.
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is most appropriate for small companies and ones that do not have advanced accounting. It is also important to know the experience of the user that will be utilizing it. It's best suited for employees with limited experience in accounting software.
Read Nick Hendrickson, CPA's full review
Cynthia Wiseman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2015

CPA in public accounting, providing accounting software support to my clients

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have several clients using Enterprise Solutions, as well as other versions of Quickbooks. It is primarily used by the accounting department.
  • Ability to scan documents and attach for online viewing; this is helpful in analyzing expenses
  • Ability to drill down from reporting to original documents/transaction
  • Ability to make changes easily, but also see the changes with audit trails to assist in tracking those changes for purposed of fraud detection
  • More flexibility in customized reporting
  • A fixed asset/depreciation schedule that really interfaces seamlessly with the accounting
Enterprise is best used by an organization that needs over 5 users, has budgeting and forecasting needs, and multiple warehousing for inventory tracking.
Read Cynthia Wiseman's full review
Jayme Zublick | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2015

I recommend QuickBooks Enterprise to my clients

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions here at the CPA firm for our books. My experience is more in assisting clients using the software to better manage their businesses.
  • Ability to customize reports for management
  • Drilldown to detail of numbers for quick answers or corrections
  • User friendly makes it easier train clients
  • More options in customizing reports based upon customized fields
  • Having an inter-company posting option that syncs to another QuckBooks data file

If using Inventory, make sure to test the ability to handle all needs. Some limitations in regards to building assemblies and BOM's.

How many users?

Read Jayme Zublick's full review
Sam Fiedler | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2015

Everthing Enterprise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are premier resellers of QuickBooks, and we provide advanced technical support for our QuickBooks clients. The Squire team has a wide array of expertise in QuickBooks across all of our experts, and together we are able to solve many QuickBooks integration pain points, advanced custom reporting, accounting system conversions, and all other aspects of the software. The entire firm has experience in QuickBooks and all Squire professionals use it. We have found that since a vast majority of the small and mid sized businesses in the US use QuickBooks, it makes a lot of sense to be very well versed in the product and to provide all levels of techincal support to our clients that choose to use it.
  • QuickBooks provides a full service accounting software solution for business owners at a very competetive price, often at a fraction of the cost of its competitors.
  • QuickBooks Enterprise offers advanced features, such as advanced pricing, advanced reporting, and advanced inventory as part of it subscription service so that businesses can have access to all the great tools they need in order to maintain a competitive edge.
  • QuickBooks offers a software development kit to third party vendors that want to integrate with its software so that there really aren't any limitations on the software. With the right knowledge and need, almost any solution can be built right into the software to mold it to your company's needs.
  • QuickBooks Enterprise is lacking in its ability to be anything but an accounting software. While many software development companies have developed products that fill in the gaps, QuickBooks no longer is trying to expand its horizons by branching outside of strictly accounting software.
  • QuickBooks Enterprise is a very open accounting software. While that is great in many ways, it also leaves room for potential error and fraud. Without a true ability to close out an accounting period, users can return at any point to a prior period and make changes to what should be locked financials.
QuickBooks Enterprise is very well suited for most small to medium sized businesses of all types. There are few industries where it would not be the best fit. Where it ends up not being a good fit, typically one of the other QuickBooks products end up being the better choice, such as QuickBooks Pro, Premier, or Online. Some other specialized industries, such as insurance, some food service establishments, and large, complex manufacturing or logistics companies are typically where users will have to move to a more sophisticated system.
Read Sam Fiedler's full review
George D. Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions - A great small and mid tier solution for business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It can be used for tracking sales, inventory, expenses for a complex product and services organization. It is being accessed by the entire organization for key information. QBES is an excellent and powerfully capable version of QuickBooks that can be used to handle complex business needs. With extensions, it can handle complex pricing structures, multi-location, serial numbers, lot numbers and more. With extensions, such as Method CRM, you can enable your sales force to see a catalog with current stock status and place orders remotely into QBES. QBES and the Intuit eco-system creates a very effective solution for many complex distribution and manufacturing businesses. For more info contact: info@bocabookkeeping.com

  • QBES is easy to learn so training is simple. Extensive training options exist on the web and in your local area.
  • QuickBooks ES leverages and integrates well with the QuickBooks eco-system of applications such as: merchant accounts, payroll, advanced time tracking, Service Dispatch, CRM, edi, ecommerce stores, and many industry specific applications, ie: medical, legal, complex manufacturing etc. Custom reporting is easy!
  • QuickBooks ES is very affordable for the small and mid tier business. (Fraction of the cost of competitive offerings). Intuit and partners have created a true efficient and affordable solution for mid size complex processes and businesses.
  • QuickBooks ES can be enabled to provide anytime, anywhere, anydevice access to your business information needs.
  • QBES provides extensive capability out of the box. While QBES with advanced inventory permits tracking of serial numbers and lot numbers, it does not permit both. However, there are work arounds or apps to solve for this.
QuickBooks ES is very well suited for distribution of large quantities of sku's and higher volume. QBES can be easily implemented in many configurations that fit key industries well, such as manufacturing and Wholesale, Contractors, Non Profit, Professional Services, and Retail. When complex manufacturing is involved, app's can be leveraged to extend the functionality and ability to meet very complex business needs. Method CRM extends the availability of QuickBooks ES to enable remote users to have access to QuickBooks information without directly logging in to QB.
With QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, you can manage and control your complex mid size business with tools and products used extensively across the marketplace. Training is simple and available both online and in person when needed with a Certified QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions ProAdvisor. A business solution to meet specific needs of a company can be implemented and customized at an significant savings when compared with most alternative multi user systems.
Read George D. Williams's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2018

Great accounting system, lacking in inventory management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a marine hardware manufacturer that has been utilizing QuickBooks for over 18 years. We upgraded to QuickBooks Enterprise from QuickBooks Premier about 5 years ago to take advantage of their inventory functions. We use QuickBooks for all aspects of our business; accounting, sales, inventory, and assemblies/kitting. QuickBooks is a fantastic accounting system, but lacks in inventory functionality. There is no real 'barcoding" functionality, even though their brochures say "barcoding is now available in Enterprise 18". It is not a true WMS system that will improve functionality in warehouse and inventory control.
  • QuickBooks was developed as an accounting system and does a fantastic job.
  • Reports are very easy to pull and customize as you need them. You can also save customized reports in your own individual folder, however, these reports would be visible to all with report writing access. They also have "advanced reporting" which you need to understand programming to use.
  • Easy interface to learn and use.
  • Inventory control is difficult in QuickBooks. Transaction tractability is nonexistent unless you scroll through a year's worth of transactions.
  • Kitting and build assemblies are very basic and do not operate like a true ERP solution. The worst part of it is if a component is used in an assembly process, there is no usage reporting for that component. It is removed from inventory, but cannot be traced through any of the inventory reports.
  • Unstable database - I must continually run "rebuild" because of inventory mismatch errors and costing inbalance.
  • The inventory management system needs a lot of improvement.
If you need a good accounting system, QuickBooks is a great solution. If you need inventory control, this system works well for smaller companies that do not do any kitting or assemblies. If you are looking to barcode your warehouse, this is not the solution, unless you add a 3rd party WMS system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2018

Quickbooks Enterprise for Not-For-Profit

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickbooks Enterprise is used for 4 members of our accounting and finance team: Accountant/Payables, Receivables, Analyst/Reporting and Director of Accounting. We have used Quickbooks Enterprise for over 10 years knowing the limitations that come with it.
  • Quickbooks Enterprise is relatively easy to use for small organizations.
  • Most of the reports are easy to download straight from the system.
  • Our local bank offers to download the Quickbooks version of the monthly activity which helps to reconcile our bank accounts.
  • If the company has more than one Account Receivable General Ledger Account, the Merchant online process doesn't work properly. Invoices can be sent to clients to be paid either by credit card or bank accounts. The merchant account collects the funds and details the deposit by the client, but the activity is not downloaded to the GL due to the multiple AR accounts.
  • Some information on Quickbooks Enterprise cannot be downloaded.
  • Reports are rigid and not flexible to change.
  • Upload activity in Quickbooks Enterprise is not possible, a third-party software is needed.
  • Copy/Paste option is not possible in Quickbooks Enterprise. This would be very useful when entering Journal Entries.
  • Quickbooks Enterprise does not have account reconciliation option. This is done in Excel.
  • Quickbooks Enterprise offers the Fixed Assets functionality but is very limited and can only be used in "Single-User" mode.
Quickbooks Enterprise is suitable for small size organizations or companies that do not need much reporting or analysis. Quickbooks Enterprise is getting to a point that is starting to be a legacy system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2017

QuickBooks Advanced Reporting - Forget Everything You Know About Creating Reports

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved from Accpac ERP to QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions (QBE) about 5 years ago because it integrated with Autotask. ERP was much harder for accounting to use, but it had much more functionality and type checking that I think lacks in any QB versions. It is easy to make mistakes in QB because it will pretty much let you change anything at any time. But from a business analyst perspective QB reporting is limited to what it can do, so they implemented QB Advanced Reporting. I have used Crystal Reports and Microsoft Reporting Services and they are very similar and intuitive to write reports quickly. Now that we have grown and have 4 divisions separated by class in QB, I am now creating a bunch of massive Excel Reports to get P&L's for each division. I am doing all KPI's in Excel. I am also doing all forecasting and budgeting in excel. I am constantly updating spreadsheets if any lines change in the P&L. The only way to do what I want to do would be to create all the reports in QB Advanced Reporting. I must say it is the most confusing report writer I have ever seen. I hope Adaptive can do it all.
  • Easy to use.
  • Good Support.
  • Easy to make mistakes, does not type check very well, but it is slowly getting better.
  • Advanced Report is not intuitive, very hard to learn.
  • QuickBooks files seem to corrupt more than it should.
QuickBooks is a good software package for companies that do not have complex accounting needs. It is easy to teach to accounting staff with limited accounting experience.
Read this authenticated review
Jacie' Fontenot | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2014

QuickBooks is the RIGHT and ONLY choice to make!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Polar Technology, we use QuickBooks for payroll purposes. QuickBooks is our main accounting software where we create, issue credit memos and invoices. Daily sales reports are generated out of QuickBooks. We also use QB for our payables to vendors.
  • QuickBooks makes paying vendors really easy.
  • QuickBooks makes memorized transaction very easy to record every month.
  • Pulling Daily sales numbers is really easy. You can customize the report according to your needs.
  • If we could upload transactions to QuickBooks it would save a ton of time.
  • Our QuickBooks freezes up at times and is slow at times.
  • Also maybe a way to track inventory.
What exactly do you need the software to do?
Read Jacie' Fontenot's full review
Nick Jastrebski | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2014

Quickbooks Enterprise - A Consultant's Perspective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
QuickBooks was used as an accounting tool across our business. In addition it was also one of the primary products we recommended and resold to our small/medium size business customers. It did a great job of helping keep track of revenue targets and at integrating with our operations software.
  • Allows you to easily track all customers and vendors.
  • Enhances data entry to be faster and easier.
  • Allows for purchase and sales orders to be created quickly and easily.
  • Accurate Reporting
  • Integration support with 3rd party applications is not the best.
  • Intuit has shifted more toward Quickbooks Online and has left some of the desktop components behind.
  • For more complex system integration using development tools that allow for data manipulation without using the SDK support is lacking entirely.
The key is to make sure the customer using it fits the correct target and has the correct version. Enterprise solutions allows for lots of data and will support almost any small/medium size company. However the lower versions like Quickbooks Pro can be outgrown by a company over time and cause data issues. It's key to get an understanding of where the company projects to be so you can be sure to make the correct product selection.
Read Nick Jastrebski's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2016

Moving on from QuickBooks

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The finance team currently uses QuickBooks as a general ledger for our financial reporting needs. The invoicing and expense process are performed outside of QuickBooks (with Beanworks and Expensify) and are manually re-keyed into QuickBooks along with grant information that is housed in Salesforce. The organization is currently looking to switch to a financial system built on the Salesforce platform and one which could potentially perform invoicing and expense approval processes within the system.
  • The look (visually pleasing) and it is easy to understand
  • It is easy to undo entries or things if there is a mistake
  • Multiple profiles needed (vendor, employee, customer)
  • Dimensions are limited
  • Character limits on certain things (vendor names, chart of accounts names)
  • No audit trail (who entered what in QuickBooks and when)
  • Connectivity to platforms such as Salesforce
  • invoice and expense processing
  • Budgets vs. actuals vs. forecast reporting
It really depends on the size of the company and what they want to use it for as well as there are other platforms/systems being used (and how that integrates with QuickBooks). I think for a smaller company QuickBooks may work just fine for the price point however given the limited capabilities with platform connectivity to Salesforce, the non-profit organization I am currently working with is considering and is in the process of switching systems. We would also like to have a system where expense processing (approval process) is within the financial system; something not currently performed in QuickBooks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2016

QuickBooks worked well at first but it has now outrun its course.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks is used by the accounting department to process transactions and generate financial reports for managers and the board. It is user friendly and mostly does the job but it lacks when it comes to planning, forecasting, budgeting, dashboards and access to the whole organization.
  • It is easy to navigate through the transactions, reports and modules.
  • It is easy to change previously posted transactions within the same month or open months so you don't have to create correcting journal entries for every thing that needs correction. Of course, that means you need qualified staff making the right decisions or controls so only qualified staff can make changes to existing transactions.
  • You can export reports to Excel and manipulate the data for presentation to others.
  • You can easily create reports by modifying existing reports.
  • It would be nice to be able to have more than one A/R and/or A/P account on a journal entry.
  • The budget piece is not strong. You can't create department budgets and have them roll into a company-wide budget. So making changes to the budget is a tedious process.
  • As far as the budget piece, you also can't create multiple what-if scenarios, which is very limiting, so we end up doing a lot of the budgeting process in Excel.
  • We don't know of a way to create allocation formulas in QuickBooks and be able to select applicable ones when posting transactions.
QuickBooks is appropriate for a smaller business with just a few departments. As the business grows and there is an increased need for budgeting, forecasting, and planning tools; that's where QuickBooks falls short in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2016

Simple for Everyone to track financials

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use QuickBooks for the North Texas Society for Human Resource Management not for profit business organization. I basically used QuickBooks as a check register for expenses and bank reconciliation. The group does a monthly luncheon, an annual two day conference, a day legal update and hosts round table discussions as requested.
  • Bank Reconciliation process
  • Financial Report options and drilling down to the detail. Love Love the drill down capabilities.
  • The ability to make corrections while in different areas of the software
  • The ability to change transactions without an audit trail.
  • The ability to close a month and prohibit changes prior and after certain dates
  • Budget implementation by month
Well suited for individual recording keeping. Not suited for business that will have multiple staff in the software. The ability to change transaction without an audit trail not good for business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2016

Great for the small to medium guy, not the big dogs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickbooks Enterprise Solutions is currently implemented throughout my entire company. It has a variety of primary uses here, but we mainly use it to track invoices from our vendors as well as to our customers, as well as tracking purchase orders. One of the best features is that we can easily attach a purchase order or invoice to a specified vendor or customer as needed. Its functions and general layout is very easy to grasp and understand, and even for the more simple minded user, at first glance it's a bit intimidating, but after poking around a bit, the functions simply make sense. This is definitely something I would recommend for a small or even medium sized company who wishes to keep track of anything of monetary value.
  • Ease of Use
  • Great Customer Support
  • Consistent updates/upgrades
  • Remote Backing up (optional)
  • Local back ups are not as strong as I'd like
  • It's easy to become inundated with the reports
  • Customer Support can be a long wait at times
Quickbooks Enterprise Solutions is great for small and medium sized companies. Because it's not meant for large companies, I wouldn't recommend for them, it's likely not powerful enough for their intentions and desired uses. But for the smaller mom and pop type companies, it does everything necessary and so much more. The beauty about Quickbooks Enterprise Solutions is that you can use the program as little or as much as desired. You don't have to populate every single field to utilize the program, you can leave a few blanks and though it may not be as effective, it's still very usable.
Very rare do I call the Quickbooks Enterprise Solutions support staff and I get a customer service associate quickly. On average, my wait time is near an hour, and at times even longer. After spending the first three minutes discussing my problem, they then begin to poke and prod around, sometimes the questions continue. But 80% of the time, the problem is over their head and they have to escalate the issue. The only problem is this escalation arrives usually after spending forty-five minutes poking and proding around but learning nothing. In short, my experience is rarely all that well, let alone great.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2016

Shut up and take my money already! Great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Enterprise has very large list capacity, so it solves the problem of having to purge and condense the system frequently. There is so much hidden value when it comes to all the small time wasting problems that business owners are faced with when it comes to their need to store many years worth of data in one searchable system.
  • Large list capacity
  • Can be easily networked to connect multiple store fronts
  • Has the capability to track inventory in any particular way you want or need it to be
  • Once you have a file that is over a million MB's, it starts to take its time when working within the program
  • Takes space on the computer if not on a remote server
  • You will need training if you have never used this product.
Say you have multiple clothing stores and have QB Point of Sale already implemented, but a customer comes in and you are out of what they want. On a networked QuickBooks Enterprise System you would be able to see all stores' inventory and be able to satisfy the customer without losing the sale!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2015

Just Saying!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is being used across the whole organization. There is a reconcilation issue, where old data repeats itself. I'm unsure if data is accurate based on the reconciliation issue. I have seen an old invoice repeat itself.
  • I don't see any difference from other QuickBook software. Other than the menu's are friendlier. Data is listed in the category created. Reports are available for numerous information. Pleasing to the eyes.
  • Previous software never had any issue, other than the company technology issue.
  • Tech support is excellent. Everyone (support rep.) comes to the table with a different analysis.
  • Control of previous data, possibility having a automatic restriction of data transfer from one year to another. Reconciliation saving format should be saved the same as in pdf file. Warnings signs of last year data being violated.
  • Automatically saving all data in same format that are equal, at the same time not one report of discrepancies and the other accuracy of the same report.
  • Discrepancies should be a warning sign daily. Hard to keep up what is good and bad data. What I mean good or bad data, some accounting are misplaced or disappear in other areas without the recognition of the user
I don't think it good for a large organization with more than 10 people!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2015

QuickBooks the Enterprise Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I have several clients on Enterprise edition and it works really well in most situations. The trick with QuickBooks of any edition is knowing the work around entries necessary for some transactions. However, all accounting programs have their limitations but that is improving each year. I have two home building contractors, and a manufacture in QuickBooks and it seems to work well enough for them currently. Of course QuickBooks does have an inventory add-on should we need it. Overall I am quite satisfied with the product, but that does not mean I stopping looking at other software that maybe a better fit for my clients.
  • I like being able to attach documents in QuickBooks
  • Downing loading of bank transactions works well
  • I like the graphic user interface with the desk top edition
  • I like that I can use one Enterprise edition to support more than client at a time.
  • Like that my clients with multiple companies do not have to purchase multiple QuickBooks
  • Inventory is still a weakness unless you purchase the inventory add-on
  • Needs to be fewer work around processes
  • You can no longer purchase the desktop version

How many users are needed to access the file at one time?

Do you have more than one company that you are going to use this for?

How many employees do you have?

Tell me about your business so I can recommend the best product for your needs.


As a ProAdvisor I have always had good results when calling in with a QuickBooks issue. Support has done a great job of helping me accomplish what I needed to accomplish.
I like the QuickBooks Enterprise edition so much I moved my company to it this year. I like the overall functionality of the program and I am very familiar with the user interface which makes my job easier. One of the things I dislike about the online version it is not modeled after the desktop edition and I have a hard time getting around in the program.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2015

QuickBooks Enterprise fits our needs to the tee!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions for invoicing, tracking and paying vendor invoices, bank reconcilement, fixed asset management, payroll, and reporting. It is used by the accounting and management business functions. It automates the processes and provides good reporting for our needs. We have found the reporting to be more user friendly than our prior software.
  • Great job with keeping track of payroll, paying payroll taxes, filing quarterly payroll forms.
  • Great reporting available, both standard and customized including the ability to download into Excel.
  • Very good fixed asset manager for depreciation schedules etc., which is only available in this version (vs. Pro and Premier)
  • QuickBooks Enterprise is made for larger companies, but lacks control points such as the ability for transactions to be reviewed and approved before posting.
  • Some fields are not available for customizing within certain reports.
  • The fixed asset manager file is separate from the company file. This is fine, but it requires it to be stored on a local PC instead of the network so it is not backed up automatically (but can be backed up manually).
  • There should be an option to open a company in multi-user or single-user mode from the "open company" screen (without drilling down to the file location).
If the company is subject to a financial statement audit and in need of strong internal controls, then a higher end product may need to be considered which has better review and approval functionality. However, we have found ways to keep such internal controls but requires some creativity outside of the software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

QuickBooks offers quick solutions for minimal investment in time and capital

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our accounting software at one of our operating subsidiary locations. It helps us to track our inventory, for which we use last in first out (LIFO) and can be cumbersome to track.
  • Support - it is so nice to be able to reach out to certified advisers of the program because it is so widely used and recognized across all business platforms.
  • Additional training/education - I really like the fact that I am able to search online to find information and support about certain reports or features that I otherwise would not have known.
  • User friendly - the system is very intuitive and folks are able to pick it up relatively quickly.
  • There are limited capabilities when it comes to organizational growth and needs.
  • Tracking specific features of inventory within the system can be complicated.
  • Troubleshooting seems to be 'work-around' solutions rather than actual solutions to the software.
Depending upon the size and growth expectations, consider other solutions. However as an out-of-the box solution for a small organization with less sophisticated accounting folks, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is an ideal option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

QuickBooks-a powerful solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization provides supports and Services to individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. One of our programs is Self-determination. As part of this program, individuals determine their own supports by forming a sole-proprietorship and hiring individuals to provide day and residential services. Our organization provides administrative support and is a fiscal reporting agent. Their are 95+ companies through this program and we were able to set them up as classes in QBES, which has helped immensely with the payroll reporting process.
  • Easy to learn and use.
  • Fabulous reporting and drill down functions.
  • Reasonable cost for software.
  • better phone support.
  • I struggled with how to use website for classes for pro advisor.
We chose not to use the QBES program for our overall organization because of limitations with tracking receivables.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2015

You sorta can't go wrong-there may be something better but you won't regret purchasing QB Enterprise.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. It addresses inventory, financial reporting and budgeting.
  • It's date oriented feature is great, you can go back and see reports at any point in time.
  • The ability to change and adjust transactions it one of it's best features.
  • With Enterprise you are allowed to have 2 companies open at the same time, a really nice time saving feature.
  • Payroll - I tried to add that module but did not like how reports post all individual transactions to account. Posting only totals would really clean up the transactions in the accounts and make it easier to reconcile tax reports.
  • Sometimes formatting reports is a challenging task to complete.
  • Search options in the audit review would make this feature much more advantageous to use. It takes a long time to populate and there is a lot of information that is not needed.
It is well suited in a wholesale environment. We have 8 users and do not have any problems when everyone is logged in. Its user customization allows a lot of flexibility in setting up access.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2015

QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBooks to help our clients record and process transactions, and report and analyze their financial information. The product provides in-depth financial information that helps us advise our clients on what is going well, what isn't and what needs to change. We use the product only in our outsourced accounting department at the current time.
  • The reporting capability of QuickBooks allows us to design and customize reports that give our clients the information they need.
  • Reports are easily exported to Excel for additional analysis as needed.
  • Drilling down on line items is easy.
  • The biggest we have is that we have to wait for our client to send us an accountant's copy of the QuickBooks file before we can start work on it.
  • Real-time, always available, and up-to-date information would be a huge improvement.
  • Beginner's at the product struggle at times with the product and need training.
It is important for someone to assess whether they will be working with an accountant frequently and how quickly they need information. If time is of the essence, I would recommend looking into a cloud based solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2015

QuickBooks 2015

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks being used by our controller to handle the firm's accounting needs. Staff also use it to import and work on client files that are sent over to us. We have a variety of years going back to 2005 and up to the latest version of 2015. Overall it has worked well.
  • Handle accounting functions
  • Decent support
  • Clean GUI
  • Issues working on it with a term server
  • Database corruption
  • Buggy error messages
It works well for a company of our size. QuickBooks is annoying in that we have so many clients using various years there is no way to streamline the process and import them, so you have to hold onto a bunch of different programs or force the clients to upgrade.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (50)
8.6
Benefit plan administration (32)
7.3
Direct deposit files (49)
8.3
Salary revision and increment management (43)
7.9
Reimbursement management (42)
8.2
API for custom integration (23)
6.1
Plug-ins (28)
6.3
Single sign-on capability (58)
8.6
Role-based user permissions (64)
8.2
Dashboards (67)
8.0
Standard reports (74)
8.7
Custom reports (71)
8.3
Accounts payable (74)
9.2
Accounts receivable (74)
9.1
Cash management (65)
8.5
Bank reconciliation (73)
9.0
Expense management (65)
8.4
Time tracking (35)
6.9
Fixed asset management (53)
7.9
Multi-currency support (28)
7.3
Multi-division support (50)
7.9
Regulations compliance (35)
7.6
Electronic tax filing (37)
8.2
Self-service portal (28)
7.3
Global Financial Support (13)
7.5
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (21)
7.8
Intercompany Accounting (22)
8.1
Localizations (15)
7.9
Journals and Reconciliations (42)
8.9
Enterprise Accounting (29)
8.1
Configurable Accounting (26)
8.5
Centralized Rules Framework (17)
7.7
Standardized Processes (32)
8.6
Inventory tracking (45)
7.8
Automatic reordering (25)
6.7
Location management (31)
7.4
Manufacturing module (27)
6.7
Pricing (47)
7.8
Order entry (47)
8.3
Credit card processing (40)
8.2
Cost of goods sold (47)
8.4
Order Orchestration (17)
7.2
End-to-end order visibility (18)
7.5
Order exception Resolution (15)
7.5

About QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is a widely-used accounting and business management software designed for small to mid-sized companies. Enterprise is the most powerful of the QuickBooks solutions, with core accounting features plus customizable reporting, financial dashboards and advanced tools to manage employees, payments and different locations. Features include inventory management and order fulfillment from start to finish, job costing for end-to-end tracking of construction projects, and advanced pricing controls with integrated inventory.

Built to scale with companies, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise enables up to 40 users, and has over 200 3rd party integrations including industry specific apps. Dedicated versions for construction, manufacturing and wholesale, retail, nonprofit, and professional services are available as is hosting for remote access. Dedicated account management, on-demand training, and 24/7 technical support comes automatically with the Priority Circle loyalty program. Pricing starts at $1,200 annually with multiple packaging options to fit business needs.

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Has featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Has featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Has featureGlobal Financial Support
Has featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Has featureIntercompany Accounting
Has featureLocalizations
Has featureJournals and Reconciliations
Has featureEnterprise Accounting
Has featureConfigurable Accounting
Has featureCentralized Rules Framework
Has featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Has featureInventory tracking
Has featureAutomatic reordering
Has featureLocation management
Has featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Has featureOrder entry
Has featureCredit card processing
Has featureCost of goods sold
Has featureOrder Orchestration
Has featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Has featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Does not have featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Additional Features
Has featureJob Costing for end-to-end tracking of construction projects
Has featureAdvanced pricing controls with integrated inventory
Has featureCustom reports including industry specific reports
Has featureDedicated account management, on-demand training, and 24/7 technical support
Has featureDedicated versions for construction, manufacturing and wholesale, retail, nonprofit, and professional services are available
Has featureHosting is available for remote access

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Integrations

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Competitors

Sage Intacct, NetSuite, Sage Business Cloud Accounting (formerly Sage One Accounting)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No