TrustRadius
SAP is best known as an ERP vendor and their enterprise CRM product tends to be used by customers who are already using SAP's ERP other solutions. SAP CRM also includes marketing resource management (MRM) capabilities. SAP has recently combined SAP CRM with analytics, mobile, collaboration, and social media capabilities under the moniker SAP 360 Customer. SAP also offers CRM solutions for SMB customers with their Business ByDesign producthttps://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/84/rY/XU2APGGTHFMF.PNGSAP CRM a product for Customer interactionWe provide the service to our clients to be used for their CRM sales, services and marketing purpose. The business problems we addressed were marketing segmentation and strategy for business planning. This has been used for increasing sales across different regions throughout the organisation, and also improved managing the service scenarios and communication with different customers.,SAP CRM is offers 360 degree views for our customer SAP CRM is easy to integrate with third party data providers, tools, and organisations, for sales and marketing purposes SAP CRM is interacts very well with WM systems to communicate with different departments as a middleware business tool,There is not much room for improvement, as SAP has recently launched SAP C4 HANA as the improved version of SAP CRM with added functionality. SAP CRM has a little room for improvement in how efficient it is for users SAP CRM's performance could be improved in terms of Orders to be searched in the backend, and the DB level has to be improved,9,Positive - Streamlined the business process and proper reporting Positive - Customization and mobile integration have the best functionality within SAP CRM Negative - TCO is very high during the support phase,Salesforce Lightning and SugarCRM,SAP ERP, SAP Business Warehouse, SAP hybris Marketing Suite, Salesforce LightningSales Review - 2018We use SAP CRM for our sales team. This was very helpful and insightful for the sales force. SAP CRM is very easy to use and very reliable. You can also integrate this CRM with other ERP's which is very beneficial for a company like ours. I found the biggest use for it when tracking relationships with current customers as well as desired customers. This clarity and visibility go a long way.,Easy to use Helps keep track of all calls, emails as well as attempted contacts to desired new customers. This is a reliable program Cost effective too,Seems like it is aging and could use some improvement in that area Lots of features I never really used that were still there Can tend to be slow from time to time,10,It has positively given visibility to our sales team It has eliminated infringement of leads Helps us know when to contact certain companies,,Ring.io, SlackCRM Sales, Best for companies with SAP ERPSAP CRM Sales was being used by my previous organization by one department. Mainly a customer complaint department to improve customer service. We implemented automated internal complaint creation to address problems, even before customer raises issues. That gave the organization a head start to resolving those issues as well as in the long-term improve services provided to customers with a high satisfaction rate.,Easy integration with other SAP modules. We integrated SAP CRM with SAP SD. Business users were pleased about that. In the SAP CRM sales part, quotes/orders/returns processing is easy to use once business users have proper training. Also, SAP CRM IC (interaction center) handles communication through all channels very efficiently. Easy to use CRM custom pricing in the sales area. Received positive reviews from business users when comparing with ERP. Web-UI customization based on individual user's need. SAP IC, call logging & Business partner/Contact management,Web-UI slow performance for certain scenarios/transactions. Especially, we experienced that with high volume of data. Hope this gets boost with HANA database. High price to buy/implement SAP CRM when compared with other CRM products Lacks in integration with SAP APO Due to longer learning curve to use software & lack of proper training can easily lead to negative in end user community,5,Longer implementation time when client needs customization in SAP CRM based on their custom business processes. That leads to longer ROI. Proper training is key step to ROI on SAP CRM. Out of box solution gives quick ROI. When client is implementing process first time & adapts SAP CRM provided solution in their organization.,Sap CRMWe use SAP CRM concurrently with Salesforce, due to the fact that we sell multiple product lines. For cloud solutions, we use Salesforce and for our legacy products, we use SAP CRM. I have the SAP CRM set up to extract customer history.,SAP CRM is a pleasure to use. It is a very reliable program and is easily integrated with other SAP modules, such as the ERP, and Business Warehouse. I like the ease of use, as well as its ability to help track customer relationships across multiple channels. I like the fact that SAP in general has multiple ways to enter/populate data into the system.,It is definitely an aging solution that could use some cosmetic upgrades. First time users might find things difficult to navigate. If you are looking to run a large report, the time to populate can be extensive. As someone who uses the tool while on the phone with customers, this can affect my conversations.,8,Our company has been using SAP CRM for years and there has definitely been a return on investment.,,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Zoho CRM, Epicor ERPSAP CRM ReviewWe use SAP CRM to process orders and make quotes. It is used across the entire sales organization. It helps us keep track of quotes and orders and if used correctly, helps you build your gross profit margin.,SAP processes our orders - the process is tedious but is a reliable way for us to make sure they are placed. Helps us make sure that our margins are growing model vs. next-generation model. Helps the finance team see side by side what we are trying to price out.,CRM is hard to use, it is not user-friendly and takes new reps a long time to understand. CRM is slow. After each click it will spin before it will move on to the next one. CRM freezes up. When you have been working on a configuration for over an hour, and then you go to hit save it freezes and signs you out.,3,Positive is that you can see where you are at in terms of your profit margin Negative is that you get logged out often and it is extremely finicky Our company is probably going to be switching away from the SAP CRM platform because it is hard to use,,Salesforce CPQ (formerly SteelBrick), Workday Human Capital Management, Qlik Sense Cloud
Unspecified
SAP CRM
90 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
TRScore

SAP CRM Reviews

SAP CRM
90 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 90 vetted SAP CRM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 25)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 29, 2018

Review: "SAP CRM a product for Customer interaction"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide the service to our clients to be used for their CRM sales, services and marketing purpose. The business problems we addressed were marketing segmentation and strategy for business planning. This has been used for increasing sales across different regions throughout the organisation, and also improved managing the service scenarios and communication with different customers.
  • SAP CRM is offers 360 degree views for our customer
  • SAP CRM is easy to integrate with third party data providers, tools, and organisations, for sales and marketing purposes
  • SAP CRM is interacts very well with WM systems to communicate with different departments as a middleware business tool
  • There is not much room for improvement, as SAP has recently launched SAP C4 HANA as the improved version of SAP CRM with added functionality.
  • SAP CRM has a little room for improvement in how efficient it is for users
  • SAP CRM's performance could be improved in terms of Orders to be searched in the backend, and the DB level has to be improved
SAP CRM is well suited when customers have already implemented SAP ERP, or S/4 HANA, as their backend system. It is mainly suitable for medium to large enterprises because it comes with lot of pre-built functionality, which can be utilised without much customization and ultimately improves the quality by using SAP Standardised functionality.
Read Pradeep Bele's full review
June 14, 2018

SAP CRM: "Sales Review - 2018"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP CRM for our sales team. This was very helpful and insightful for the sales force. SAP CRM is very easy to use and very reliable. You can also integrate this CRM with other ERP's which is very beneficial for a company like ours. I found the biggest use for it when tracking relationships with current customers as well as desired customers. This clarity and visibility go a long way.
  • Easy to use
  • Helps keep track of all calls, emails as well as attempted contacts to desired new customers.
  • This is a reliable program
  • Cost effective too
  • Seems like it is aging and could use some improvement in that area
  • Lots of features I never really used that were still there
  • Can tend to be slow from time to time
For the sales team. Gives visibility and clarity when looking at contact with customers/desired customers. Helps when a sales force has problems with territory/lead infringement.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2018

SAP CRM Review: "CRM Sales, Best for companies with SAP ERP"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM Sales was being used by my previous organization by one department. Mainly a customer complaint department to improve customer service.

We implemented automated internal complaint creation to address problems, even before customer raises issues. That gave the organization a head start to resolving those issues as well as in the long-term improve services provided to customers with a high satisfaction rate.
  • Easy integration with other SAP modules. We integrated SAP CRM with SAP SD. Business users were pleased about that.
  • In the SAP CRM sales part, quotes/orders/returns processing is easy to use once business users have proper training. Also, SAP CRM IC (interaction center) handles communication through all channels very efficiently.
  • Easy to use CRM custom pricing in the sales area. Received positive reviews from business users when comparing with ERP.
  • Web-UI customization based on individual user's need.
  • SAP IC, call logging & Business partner/Contact management
  • Web-UI slow performance for certain scenarios/transactions. Especially, we experienced that with high volume of data. Hope this gets boost with HANA database.
  • High price to buy/implement SAP CRM when compared with other CRM products
  • Lacks in integration with SAP APO
  • Due to longer learning curve to use software & lack of proper training can easily lead to negative in end user community
  • SAP CRM Sales - well suited for customer quotes, pricing, complaint creation etc.
  • SAP CRM IC - well suited for integration with all channels.
  • Not appropriate for small/mid size companies.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2018

User Review: "Sap CRM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP CRM concurrently with Salesforce, due to the fact that we sell multiple product lines. For cloud solutions, we use Salesforce and for our legacy products, we use SAP CRM. I have the SAP CRM set up to extract customer history.
  • SAP CRM is a pleasure to use. It is a very reliable program and is easily integrated with other SAP modules, such as the ERP, and Business Warehouse.
  • I like the ease of use, as well as its ability to help track customer relationships across multiple channels.
  • I like the fact that SAP in general has multiple ways to enter/populate data into the system.
  • It is definitely an aging solution that could use some cosmetic upgrades.
  • First time users might find things difficult to navigate.
  • If you are looking to run a large report, the time to populate can be extensive. As someone who uses the tool while on the phone with customers, this can affect my conversations.
SAP CRM has deep functionalities for sales, marketing, and service. As a sales professional, it is a valuable tool that allows me to stay current with my customers.
Read Colin McDonald's full review
December 15, 2017

"SAP CRM Review"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP CRM to process orders and make quotes. It is used across the entire sales organization. It helps us keep track of quotes and orders and if used correctly, helps you build your gross profit margin.
  • SAP processes our orders - the process is tedious but is a reliable way for us to make sure they are placed.
  • Helps us make sure that our margins are growing model vs. next-generation model.
  • Helps the finance team see side by side what we are trying to price out.
  • CRM is hard to use, it is not user-friendly and takes new reps a long time to understand.
  • CRM is slow. After each click it will spin before it will move on to the next one.
  • CRM freezes up. When you have been working on a configuration for over an hour, and then you go to hit save it freezes and signs you out.
I'm not sure the exact cost of the platform but I would assume it is expensive. It would not be a fit for a small company. The only reason that I like it is because I know how to use it but it does take a lot of time to get used to.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2017

"SAP CRM Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sap crm is used across our entire organization to keep customer and account information readily available to every employee. SAP Crm allows the organization to utilize full end-to-end business processes keeping the information right at employees' fingertips in a centralized location. Most importantly for us is the open adaptable technology platform powered by SAP NetWeaver. This allows for integrations with any other system.
  • Collaboration
  • Ease of use
  • Cloud enabled
  • Storage
  • Out of platform connectivity could be improved
  • Not easy to access help topics
  • Can be slow if large database
Great if you need easy access to information across siloed departments. Instead of needing logins for all those tools now you just need one to access all the content. The web UI is very easy to configure and change and simple to navigate for our end users. It gives them a 360-degree customer view. I would not recommend for any type of scenario where there is a queue or queued items. Sap CRM has a very very high maintenance cost so the larger your DB the greater your cost will be every single year.
Read this authenticated review
December 18, 2017

SAP CRM: "CRM SAP Sales Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM is used to price, quote, and manage our customer's pricing. It is predominately used by our Sales Department.
  • SAP CRM is a simple to use platform once you are properly trained. You could easily quote one of our products within 5 min
  • CRM is a great repository for customer pricing information, you can pull a list of customer pricing with ease
  • SAP CRM, when you do have trouble with it, is usually pretty easy to resolve due the to the detailed error messages they give you in the top right corner
  • SAP CRM can sometimes be slow, causing a longer quote-to-customer time
  • SAP CRM had a lot of tabs and buttons I never used, maybe a better explanation or clean up of these
  • A chat support feature
CRM is great for a large company to implement and use to manage multiple customers. It is less appropriate for a company with a small amount of customers and not a wide range of products
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2017

"My SAP CRM Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM is being used by all inside sales teams at Lenovo currently. SAP CRM helps us to provide our partners and customers with quotes and contracts for our products and services.
  • SAP CRM provides all information about a particular account in one place.
  • SAP CRM is fairly easy to navigate.
  • SAP CRM keeps information for a long period of time.
  • Outdated format
  • Slow performance
  • Order history
SAP CRM is well suited for taking products and services from an opportunity to a quote to a contract, as well as placing orders. It is less appropriate for keeping track of an order history. It is well suited for account management as well.
Read this authenticated review
April 04, 2017

SAP CRM Review: "Powerful and versatile, but not always easy to use"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP in our company for sales, operations, purchasing and accounting. The SAP CRM portion of it we use to keep track of our sales activities and leads, and is used for quoting as well. It's used every day by salespeople, both inside and outside, sales managers and by those of us in sales support as well.
  • Integration with other functions and departments. Data can be transferred from one area to another easily.
  • It can be customized to fit the needs of the particular business.
  • Report production is useful.
  • Keeping track of customer interactions, ability to save and review detailed notes.
  • It is not terribly user friendly and the learning curve to learn how to use it can be steep.
  • The user interface could be more pleasant to look at.
  • Commands are not always clear or intuitive.
SAP CRM is good for a company with heavy order fulfillment and tracking needs or one with high volumes of sales transactions. If a business has a large volume of customers, customer interactions and/or sales leads to track, SAP CRM can be very useful. SAP CRM is an especially good fit for B2B or manufacturing businesses. It is probably not as appropriate for a smaller business.
Read William Alvarez's full review
August 03, 2016

Review: "SAP CRM is the king of ticketing and incident management systems"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM is being used by my organization as a way to keep tracking of incident interactions and as a ticketing system. Using CRM allows us to consolidate all our incidents and help desk tickets in one system which can access globally. It also serves as a depository for knowledge base articles.
  • Ticket incident tracking
  • Knowledgebase article retention
  • Call interaction logging
  • Lacking is the ability to send automatic notifications regarding updates to the knowledge base
  • Lacks the ability to consolidate change controls linking to incident tickets
  • Lacking in the ability to utilize the cloud for a wider spectrum of visibility.
SAP CRM is well suited to take care of an enterprise organizations ticketing and incident management system. It works very well within a large enterprise environment and of course it integrates well with other SAP modules. I don't feel CRM would be well utilized in a small business environment. It really shines when the user bases exceeds 100 users.
Read Sam Figueroa's full review
February 20, 2016

SAP CRM Review: "Capable but less intuitive"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM is being used by some of the clients of my organization which is a services consulting company. These clients have implemented SAP CRM for multiple purposes - business order to cash cycles, web ecommerce, digital marketing, service support etc.
  • Simple Order Management - Creation and seamless integration with ECC (for a business with low volume transactions).
  • One-order concept makes it very easy to learn and implement compared to other complicated SAP modules.
  • Customer specific pricing easy to handle and implement especially in WebChannel.
  • Since it is more of a front-ending tool for Business, the backend integration with SAP SD modules should be more seamless especially with the high volume of transactions.
  • Should at least support inventory management or a better integration with SD ATP or allocation check instead of only depending on SAP SD or other modules for order creation/management.
  • Product catalog replication and management is complicated and tedious, some way to make it more user-friendly would definitely be appreciated by business users who are not as tech-loving.
Overall it is a great addition to SAP's suite of applications. It was amazing when I started working on it as compared to Siebel etc. However compared to Salesforce or Hybris, I find it slightly less user-friendly and more complicated to implement the smallest of features for functional consultants. However, at the same time there are features that are well suited for large organizations and best industry practices especially catering to manufacturing firms. With improvising of the cloud offerings, it could definitely gain over the other simpler CRM ERPs.
Read Vartika Prakash's full review
October 09, 2015

Review: "Important Points during SAP CRM evaluation"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM is being used by my client for the Sales and Customer Service processes. There are approximately 7500+ users using SAP CRM. SAP CRM provides the tools for the field sales people to manage their accounts, contacts, daily activities, monitor their opportunities. For the Customer Service department, the CRM system is a single window to view the entire account and its transactional data without having to jump into multiple systems to view the customer data. It is also a system to interact with customers via telephone, email, chat etc. Truly it provides a multi-channel support. The breadth of functionality that SAP CRM provides is truly fabulous. It covers not sales but Customer service, Service Management, Marketing, Partner Channel Management, Web channel Management. The integration of SAP CRM with other SAP products is a big plus because it provides native integration to SAP ECC, SAP BI and other SAP systems. SAP CRM also provides integration with third party tools including Computer Telephony Integration, Microsoft Outlook integration etc.
  • Primary the strength of SAP CRM lies in the breadth of functionality. It covers most of the front office modules including Interaction Center (Customer Service), Sales process for field sales, Service process for support and warranty, Partner channel management for Channel Management, Web channel for eCommerce support (for both sales and service)
  • SAP CRM provides extensive integration capabilities with SAP products. This includes SAP ECC, BI, Supply Chain and other SAP modules.
  • On the non-SAP side integration, it can integrate seamlessly with CTI (Computer Telephony Integration), Microsoft Outlook. In conjunction with SAP PI, SAP CRM can be integrated with any legacy application
  • The biggest issue where SAP can improve CRM is in performance. Non HANA based CRM versions have latency in response times. The system degrades with increase in volume for very large customers.
  • SAP CRM needs to simplify their UI design to enable developers for quicker enhancements. The UI layer has always been complicated. I compare this against their competitor Sales Force Dot Com where the architecture of the UI is fairly simple and straightforward with additional automatic integration to mobility.
  • The Mobility integration with SAP CRM is very complicated in non-Fiori based installations. Even with Fiori architecture they should have simplified the development process instead of having layers of development to accomplish enhancements
SAP CRM is appropriate for the breadth of functionality and its strong integration strengths with SAP and non-SAP products. One of the key questions that customers to ask if they plan to use SAP CRM is to check how the new S/4 HANA is going to play out as they plan to bring the CRM functionality into one single ERP system. As SAP works through the whole HANA strategy for the business suite, the roadmap is not very clear on what is the positioning of SAP CRM as part of the larger S/4 HANA suite. This is very important before deciding on choosing SAP CRM as a platform. Otherwise customers will be caught in multiple upgrade cycles as SAP works through all the hoops to get to the grander vision or end goal of S/4 HANA
Read Rajesh Manghat's full review
October 01, 2015

Review: "How on-premise SAP CRM product helps your business in the Web based (SaaS ) applications world"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SAP CRM for the Kellogg Sales and Marketing Team, which helps Kellogg business users plan their marketing and trade promotions to thier customers by providing various merchandizing incentives.
  • SAP CRM Application has key functionalities, called Marketing, Sales and Service, which helps any company to use SAP CRM for their pre-sales planning and post-sales analytical analysis.
  • SAP CRM Marketing and Trade Promotion management functionalities would fit perfectly to CPG industry client, where as they do plan various sales incentives and promotions to clear their inventory and supply based on the demand.
  • Interaction center and Service modules helps customer/employee services effectively by identifying all the history and searching knowledge base.
  • When your business is already using SAP ERP application and thinking about going for a CRM product, consider SAP CRM as a one of the closest, which fits most businesses and processes.
  • Integration with SAP ECC and BI systems is one of the reasons for using most of the SAP CRM systems, because it has such robust CRM middleware integration, especially when setting up integration with ECC. It is really an online data process and helps data flow without any issues/errors.
  • SAP CRM has the flexibility to integrate with any thirrd party applications as well SAP Cloud systems, which is one of the SaaS based CRM products.
  • As User requirements keep changing based on the existing technical drastic revolution, SAP CRM has a room to improve theUI and Web UI functionalities, which are built based on user roles and responsibilities.
  • As per current market changes, the time we need to implement a project is going to be a challenge from business.
  • Was built to use as stand alone system, which helps business to process from Sales Lead to Billing and invoice, but all those features are being used by a handful customers.

Pre-Sales and Sales process activities.

CPG Industry's can use SAP CRM TPM/TPO for their Sales and Marketing.

Service industry's can leverage SAP CRM Service component for their all Service phases.

Interaction centers in various industry businesses can use the call center services, for which SAP CRM helps to have an interaction center by enabling a CTI feature, that helps agents to reach their customers/prospect to assist them during pre-sales and post-sales as well as providing technical services.

Read Narendra Pallapolu's full review
December 09, 2014

User Review: "SAP CRM"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the entire organization for marketing automation and trade promotion management.
  • If you have an SAP ERP system, you get out-of-the box data integration and can easily configure end-to-end business processes that span multiple systems.
  • While the core functionality is comparable to a lot of the other systems, SAP CRM is still one of the best solutions available for companies needing functionality like Trade Promotion Management, Market Development Funds, etc...
  • The system is highly customizable and can be easily configured / enhanced to work in a wide variety of scenarios.
  • SAP has come a long way with user interface development but the current UI is still not ideal. It's definitely better than SAP GUI but can still be difficult for beginners to navigate.
  • One of the strenghts that I listed was that the system can be easily configured / customized to meet the needs of almost any company in any industry. The flipside of that is that the system also contains a lot of functionality that won't end up being used 80% of the time and will need to be turned off through configuration.
  • This isn't really an issue with the system itself as much as SAP's inability to market some of the features that are available in SAP CRM that make it as powerful of a tool as it is (i.e. the ability to integrate with non-SAP systems through web services, etc...)
  • This will be changing with release 2 of SAP Fiori in early 2014, but currently the SAP CRM Web UI does not function well on mobile devices compared to some other systems and the CRM specific mobile apps that are currently available from SAP are pricey and lack a lot of useful features.
The biggest deciding factors are going to be whether or not you're planning on integrating the system with other SAP components and whether or not you need specific functionality that isn't as strong in the competing systems. If you're looking for a standalone CRM option with standard functionality around Sales, Customer Service, and Marketing, Salesforce, SugarCRM, etc... are probably fine. On the other hand, if you have an SAP ERP system and you're looking to design end-to-end business processes across more than one system, then SAP CRM should be at the top of your list.
Read Tom Leddy's full review
February 03, 2015

Review: "SAP CRM or Salesforce, What is in it for you?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for automating and enabling Sales opportunity pipeline
Service Business functions like Service orders,Contract Manageament, Repairs, Dispatching of Field Engineers - has a matured solution for resource scheduling, Filing time and labor, Billing and Invoicing
  • Every Sales and Service business process. Tons of inbuilt features delivered out of box to enable these processes. Niche processes like Territory Management, Trade promotion Management, Campaign managements are delivered
  • Great CTI Integration capabilties. Call Center Integration, Phone and Email, Business Activities
  • Strong SAP ERP and Finance Integration in areas of Inventory Management, Accounting, Pricing, Master data etc.
  • UI and Ease of Use features needs a great facelift
  • Go-live and Deployment time can get very longer for a brand new implementation
  • Slow Performance. Very Annoying to the users.
  • Mobile and Reporting capabilities
The organization's long term strategy and the maturity of the business process is a key driver in choosing this product.

SAP CRM is great fit, when:
You have matured Sales, Service and Marketing business processes and would like to streamline and get improved efficiency.
You have to implement end-end business process automation, not piecemeal.
You are already in the SAP landscape and ecosystem.
Integration with other SAP systems.









Read Prashanth Busa's full review
February 01, 2015

User Review: "SAP CRM at a glance"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a consulting firm specializing in SAP CRM and other products. We use it internally as a playground, training and demo system. We are about to use SAP C4C internally for our sales team.
  • SAP CRM is extremely flexible and the tool of choice for complex business requirements that need a high level of customization
  • It integrates very well with SAP ECC, SAP BW and / or SAP CCtr (and other SAP products) natively which makes it a great application for customer engagement processes in the area of Sales, Service and Marketing
  • It is very robust and has a lot of features that can be utilized
  • Compared to modern CRM applications, SAP CRM lacks an intuitive and easy to use user interface. This is one of the commeon reasons for poor user adoption
  • It does not provide strong reporting or mobile capabilities like Cloud-based applications typically do. Additional hard- and / or software is typically required
  • Administering a CRM OnPremise application requires highly skilled IT staff. Configuration and customization processes are quite heavy and not as easy as compared to Cloud-based products
It all depends on
- business requirements and complexity
- time-to-deploy
- available IT budget and personnell

Typically, these days there are a lot of considerations as to why a SaaS based CRM makes more sense. Implementation costs for CRM OnPrem are very high and durations from project kick-off to GoLive are long.
Read Sebastian Jungels's full review
January 28, 2015

Review: "Why SAP CRM is better when it works with others"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM is being used company wide. It is used for management of parts, cataloging instrument sales and customer purchase history information, Contact and user information, finance/budgetary information etc.
It allowed us to house all of the information of different platforms of SAP CRM, which made it an applicable tool company wide.
  • I think that the idea of SAP CRM is brilliant, a way to house and store data so that your company can really get a handle of data mining which theoretically would allow you to plan and be more proactive vs reactive.
  • Once you get the hang of the screens it is easy to understand how to accomplish what you're trying to input into SAP CRM.
  • The system is really set up to help you try and capture the most relevant information to your business.
  • As I said the idea of SAP CRM is brilliant but from my experience (and it could be the way my company chose to implement it) the use of so many different platforms that don't actually talk to one another is a ridiculous way to implement any data capturing tool. We had to export from two different systems of SAP CRM and then load it into a BIOD just to get the information to talk to each other and make any sense. And even then the project itself was a long and exhausting process because trying to figure out the language it speaks in the Order Entry system vs. the Customer Inquiry system isn't the same and you have to force it to mesh the data together.
  • The screens are cumbersome and not user friendly. There are so many different ways you need to input information to get to the screen that you actually want you need a manual for literally everything you have to do because it takes that many steps.
  • I think SAP CRM would benefit from focus groups for their North American business partners. Not everyone does business the same but North America has big business's that would greatly benefit from this type of system if it were easier to understand and implement on a day to day basis.
I think I would focus solely on implementation. Make sure you have a solid understanding company wide on how you would like to implement this system and what you would use it for. Take the time, even if it takes months to do the work and have a solid plan on how your company would like to use the system now, and ten to twenty years from now. If you do the hard grunt work up front then it should help the implementation and use of the product be a success in your company.
Read Sarah Geist's full review
January 27, 2015

SAP CRM Review: "Most Comprehensive CRM Solution in the Market"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We are] using SAP CRM to mainly support the Service Process. The solution addresses the creation of service orders and its subsequent process like service confirmations, resource planning, work performed, billing etc. The solution is also used to place sales orders in the system for service parts. Interaction Center is used by the agents to initiate and support the service process.
  • Address Key Functionalities like Sales Orders, Service Orders, Service Confirmation, Billing
  • Good Integration with the ERP system, Robust Architecture
  • Supports wide range of functional capabilities and industry wide best practices scenarios.
  • Improvements can be made to the UI. Need to make it more user friendly. With new web UI lot of improvements have been made but still falls behind other CRM systems like Sales Force in Usability.
  • The Web User Interface is a little slow compared to other CRM systems

Most Comprehensive CRM Solution on the Market !

1. SAP CRM supports a lot of Industry wide process. So Analyze and check what percentage of your needs can be fulfilled using out of the box solutions. This is a key feature when compared to other CRM systems.

2. Do you have a established business process? SAP CRM has been built keeping in mind the best practices used across different industries. This is very helpful when you are trying to define or improve a existing business process.

3. Are you already using a SAP ERP system? If so then integration is very easy and most of your master data can be downloaded from the ERP system which saves lot of time and effort!

4. Consider the infrastructure needs for SAP CRM. Its usually a little on the higher side compared to other systems.

5. If you are looking for Analytics then keep in mind that most of the Analytics features in SAP CRM are dependent on using SAP BI

Read Anirudh Reddy's full review
December 09, 2014

User Review: "SAP CRM from a Marketing Perspective"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • As a tool for the sales team, SAP CRM helps them manage their sales pipeline by keeping things organized and providing useful reports.
  • SAP CRM is fully integrated with our ERP system.
  • Because it is a SAP product, we have the full support of our IT teams.
  • SAP CRM functionality is cumbersome and requires extra manual steps. These steps can be automated through "Work Flow", but that is always at a higher cost. Salesforce.com does a much better job and is more user friendly.
  • SAP's BP(Best Practice) is never anywhere near what we at Osborn would consider normal transactions. Almost everything we needed required additional programming and at additional costs.
  • At the recommendation of our SAP Consultants, we chose the BP version. From the start it cost us more and more money in modifications. And, one year later, it is still costing money to get the system to completely work properly.
From a Marketing perspective, this system is too costly to adapt. To input lead data from various sources, you need to compile the data on a spreadsheet and then map it and then upload it to the CRM. With Salesforce.com, I was able to pull code from the CRM and embed that on a web page and the lead would automatically be loaded in the CRM. Easy.

You really need to understand the limitations of the SAP product. I recommend going to SAP for the training well before you make your purchase decision. Again, this training is costly but in the end could save you money.

You also need to create a tight scope for the project so that everyone understands what the limitations are.
Read Jeff Naymik's full review
December 06, 2013

SAP CRM Review: "SAP's CRM: An Incredible Tool for Transparency & Reporting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • CRM is a great tool for compiling reports. The ease of access to reports is far superior than it was with my division's old program.
  • The ability to intergrate your emails and calendar entries from other programs (i.e. Lotus Notes) is very simple. This insures that all of your entries are up to date and streamlined.
  • The depth and detail that CRM allows you to have for each account helps keep all of the necessary information in one place. Makes information much easier to find.
  • The ability to customize search criteria and the input of data should be increased/improved. I don't know if this hampered us due to CRM limitations or if was due to the confines that my company put around CRM prior to us "developing" it for my division.
  • Some of the words used in CRM should be able to be changed to make more sense in the region you live in (i.e. Action/Visit/Task are all alike). Another example, "Region" in CRM is the same as "State". This also caused confusion for some people in the earliest days of using CRM.
Go into the selection process of your next managment system with an open mind. Often people are very wary about changing systems because they have to learn something new and they are used to the "old ways". I ran into this with my colleagues when I was introducing them to CRM. Just keep in mind older is not always better. CRM is an excellent tool and if maintained and kept up to date it will only increase its value and usefulness.
Read Aaron Norris's full review
August 30, 2016

SAP CRM Review: "Good for a big company with SAP ERP. Not so good for small sales based companies."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is s used by marketing, sales and the after-sales departments. We use it to get leads, and for tracking sales and cross sales. We are a team of 25 people and we want to improve our relationship with our customers. We wanted to reduce customer dissatisfaction after the purchase of our products, avoid legal issues and get more sales with the same clients.
  • SAP PLM (Product Lifecycle Management) is well designed and has many options.
  • We can implement customized business processes in our company. We integrated to our SAP ERP and other non SAP systems.
  • It supports all our customer-focused business areas (marketing, sales, service) getting a centralized tool.
  • Social CRM (SCRM) capabilities are weak, it's hard to get all our social networks centralized.
  • The have a poor User Interface. Our marketing team is mainly 25-35 people that really hate to work with SAP, so they are looking for alternatives.
  • SAP CRM is expensive, especially when we compare with many other CRM tools that are lean, easier to use and fully SaaS.
It is well suited for a large marketing team and companies that have SAP ERP. It is less appropriate for a small business. Its rigidity and lack of options is a major problem, especially for companies that want customization like ours.
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2016

User Review: "I recommend SAP CRM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP CRM as a customer interaction tool. We take calls and then service tickets are created. Apart from that we use SAP CRM to create sales orders and all sales related documents.
  • It is a web based application that can easily be accessed from any where.
  • It works on a framework which is well versed and simplified.
  • Concept of BOL makes it really easy to handle the application. The database is hit only once when we are either going in or coming out of application which reduces hits on the database.
  • Performance has always been a problem with SAP CRM. As a standard application it is pretty fast but once we start customizing it becomes pretty slow.
  • It is difficult to handle once the data count increases. Things get really slow.
  • CTI integration can be cumbersome some times. Many times a call just drops off and some times it never ends.
Yes, SAP CRM sales is really efficient. Even the service module is great (with the exception of CTI). Marketing was always a good aspect of SAP CRM.
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2015

Review: "SAP CRM -> How it increases Agent's Productivity"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP CRM need to develop in Cloud....
  • I have used SAP CRM for many projects including marketing campaigns, equipment leasing, customer service (Interaction Center). Sales service marketing, e-commerrce, Interaction Center (call center), CRM mobile solution.
  • The Interaction Center is particularly powerful in providing a 360 degree view of the customer with a few clicks to call center agents with which customer service, customer retention and productivity increases.
  • With SAP CRM you can integrate with new products like SAP Syclo for mobility integration. One example of how we use this is the is using the audit manager to track how equipment is moving from one customer site to another. This way service engineers know where the equipment is. When a repair on equipment needs to be made, a service order is sent to mobile device, the engineer services the equipments and sends notification back over his mobile that the work has been completed. This is then integrated directly into the CRM back-end.
  • SAP CRM Mobility is not successful so it is important to improve on this. Things have gotten much better since SAP acquitted Cyclo which works very well. We would like to see Cyclo expanded beyond sales management and inventory management to handle some of the other capabilities that the SAP CRM Mobility offered. However, Cyclo has brought incredible progress in this area.
First try to understand the requirement and then you can build anything in SAP CRM with standard / non standard functionality. Whenever standard functionality cannot meet thebusiness needs, functional requirements are written by the business users and given to the APAP engineer to customize the product appropriately.
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2015

SAP CRM Review: "Provides a good insight into your customers interaction history"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP CRM 7 mainly by our customer service / call center groups. Our customer service team is mailny in our corporate office but our warehouses throughout US and Canada use it to log calls with customers. We use it to log customer interactions and any "tasks" that need to be followed up on. We also use it for setting appointments in our inside sales group. Some of our Strategic Sales team members have used it to create and track sales leads. The product helps our employees have a good picture of the interactions of our customers with us.
  • Able to see many details about your customer including locations, contact people and their phone and emails
  • Able to see customer interaction history such as all calls into call center and warehouses, interaction with inside sales reps, view return history, complaint history, order history.
  • Able to set appointments for calling customer back.
  • Able to create tasks for other departments to follow up on with regard to taking care of customer needs
  • SAP CRM could be easier to customize. Our users are always wanting something other than what is standard and you have to have an ABAP team to help. The user has no customzation ability.
  • CRM Sales does not have a good way to secure other sales people from seeing your sales pipeline
  • Not enough support sites for SAP CRM 7. Hard to get answers to technical issues
  • Relies on replicating data from SAP ECC so that you have two versions of your customer information. Would like to see SAP ECC as the data source for customers and CRM could have additional data for interactions, sales leads, opportunities, etc.
It is very good for creating and tracking customer interactions. Need to ask: Will you have a big enough support staff to provide functional support as well as middle-ware support? The replication between ECC and CRM is complicated and requires a lot of attention to keep them in sync. After the implementation team leaves will you have enough staff to keep the system up?
Read this authenticated review
January 27, 2015

SAP CRM Review: "Smoke and Mirrors"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP CRM to manage Trade Promotions, Funding, and Claims. The majority of our user base is through our third party broker spread across the US. By working with our SAP ECC module CRM supports our pricing and accounting functions. In CPG trade spend can be quite substantial, and it is important to manage this spend well.
  • Integrates with ECC smoothly, and without issue.
  • Consistent and Flexible. We have been able to adapt all pre-existing business processes to SAP CRM.
  • Claims management works consistently well, and all accounting is accurate and documented
  • Currently, the Web GUI is dependent on outdated versions of Internet Explorer to function. There may be a patch now, but what a ridiculous limitation to have for a production product.
  • There are challenges with speed of the user interface, and the UI feels dated.
  • BI integration has been slow and painful. Developing multi providers to support CRM data has been challenging to say the least.
I hate to say it, but I think that the days of large enterprise software packages are behind us. The codebase is old and over complicated. Customization is possible, but it will cost you. Even the web based application only serves to show how painfully clumsy SAP is when compared with its competitors in the CRM space.

SAP CRM does the job though I guess, and if integration with enterprise central component (ECC) is essential then it is worth considering, but if you are not already stuck in the SAP ecosystem, your best bet is to avoid it entirely.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customer data management / contact management (21)
8.2
Workflow management (21)
8.0
Territory management (18)
8.4
Opportunity management (19)
8.6
Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (16)
7.2
Contract management (19)
6.4
Quote & order management (18)
8.2
Interaction tracking (20)
7.0
Channel / partner relationship management (19)
6.4
Case management (17)
6.9
Call center management (18)
6.7
Help desk management (15)
7.1
Lead management (18)
6.8
Email marketing (15)
6.5
Task management (15)
6.3
Billing and invoicing management (14)
6.7
Reporting (13)
6.8
Forecasting (18)
6.5
Pipeline visualization (16)
6.6
Customizable reports (19)
7.0
Custom fields (19)
8.0
Custom objects (19)
7.7
Scripting environment (16)
6.5
API for custom integration (16)
7.5
Single sign-on capability (20)
8.5
Role-based user permissions (15)
8.6
Social data (11)
7.5
Social engagement (10)
6.7
Marketing automation (14)
6.8
Compensation management (11)
6.8
Mobile access (15)
7.1

About SAP CRM

SAP is best known as an ERP vendor and their enterprise CRM product tends to be used by customers who are already using SAP's ERP other solutions. SAP CRM also includes marketing resource management (MRM) capabilities.

SAP has recently combined SAP CRM with analytics, mobile, collaboration, and social media capabilities under the moniker SAP 360 Customer.

SAP also offers CRM solutions for SMB customers with their Business ByDesign product

SAP CRM Integrations

SAP CRM Competitors

SAP CRM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No