Twilio Reviews

84 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 29, 2021
Samer Araabi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fantastic documentation
  • Good customer support
  • Messaging functionality in lots of countries
  • Fantastic error messaging and debugging
  • Not supported in all countries
  • Prices can be high, particularly internationally
  • Programming trees of voice responses can start to get really unwieldy
Read Samer Araabi's full review
March 08, 2021
Ramón Carmona Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ecosystem is just good and is online 99% of the time
  • They provide you with needed tools in order to implement solutions that you have in mind.
  • As for Whatsapp Numbers they give you personal follow-up from the beginning until the implementation from the side of Twilio of course.
  • Well when we talk about Twilio we already know is gonna be hard to implement since are most of the time API request. I know that Twilio has partners with several business that make 3rd party integrations so an easy way to find in Twilio those integrators might be useful for those who want to use Twilio but they have the tech barrier against them.
  • Twilio WhatsApp Business didn't have verified numbers for Mexico, so our business is using a US whatsapp verified number business. It could be nice to have a local Mexican number in order to be closer to our customers. For international business this might not be necessary.
  • Cost even for WhatsApp Business is slightly almost the same as sending SMS we were expecting to savings by using Whatsapp instead of SMS so a better differentiation in price will be a good improvement.
Read Ramón Carmona Medina's full review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Time-based one-time password (TOTP) backup - If you lose your phone or another authentication device, Authy keeps an encrypted cloud backup of your TOTPs.
  • Multi-Device Support - Your TOTPs are no longer tied to a single device - Authy supports multiple devices (including Apple Watch!).
  • Excellent User Interface - Authy makes it easy to make sure you're entering the right TOTP for your application.
  • Authy does not support the "push button" multi-factor authentication from your application's native apps. This means if you want to use Authy, you still need to use TOTP based codes.
  • Not really a shortcoming of Authy, but it does nothing to help with multi-factor authentication using text messages - those are still sent to your platform's messaging app.
  • Authy doesn't always display how much time is left before your current token expires, making it difficult to know how much time you have left to enter the current code.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Competitive rates in the market are being offered.
  • It is cheaper compared to the rates we would be paying if we are to use the services offered by regular major carriers.
  • The API isvery convenient and easy to set up in the back end for operational use with different platforms.
  • It does not directly integrate with Oracle
  • Have to use a third party plug-in to connect to Oracle
  • There's an issue when viewing/searching for SMS transaction logs. When you search for the logs using phone number as a search tool, sometimes the results will not show up.
  • If you export the log, you only get 100 or so rows so you can't extract all of your log data.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customizable.
  • Great interface.
  • Integrations.
  • Basic in nature.
  • Isn’t one “knock your socks off” feature.
Read this authenticated review
August 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility: Twilio uses a pseudolanguage known as TwiML, in XML format, with which we can develop anything from simple IVRs to complex skill-routing call engines on a variety of common languages, such as Ruby, Javascript, PHP and Python.
  • Modularity: You can build up with Twilio, from phone numbers up to entire logic handling solutions, and even interconnect with your existing infrastructure.
  • Portability: Twilio is entirely in the Cloud; it's an SaaS communications platform. You don't need to deploy anything onsite to make it work, besides accessories such as softphones (although you can develop your own if you wish), so you have immediate access to Twilio's entire infrastructure from anywhere in the world.
  • The Twilio Studio. It's perhaps the most powerful feature on Twilio, with the ability to build full-fledged IVRs with little to no development on our side, and other advanced functions such as auto-SMS and chat bots. However, it's somewhat expensive at the moment. Though there is a free tier, it comes with several restrictions.
  • The handling of stale SIP sessions. When a user connects via softphone to his/her Twilio SIP account, it sometimes loses connectivity and resets it by opening the softphone again; sometimes this causes a second (current) session to be opened. Twilio gets confused with this, since it sees two sessions (it lacks the logic to take the most recent one), and generates an error.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Device changes (desktop & mobile)
  • Consistent across platforms
  • Easy to use
  • Updates are rare
  • Not publicized well, aka their marketing department has some work to do
  • Needs a better installer on Windows
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reliable.
  • Works across all platforms.
  • Customizable.
  • Web RTC and SDKs still can be a bit of a challenge.
  • The quality of the video is quite good, but could always be a little better.
Read this authenticated review
September 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Text to speech.
  • Multiple language speech.
  • Recording of audio.
  • Answering machine detection is the worst part of this product. The messages are cut off and do not wait until most machines start recording.
Read this authenticated review
September 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to set up and use without a ton of infrastructure.
  • It's pay as you go, so if you're low utilization but need the professional setup, then this is great.
  • Reporting is the biggest problem, in my opinion.
  • The second would be some of the management tools.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2019
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy implementation. Just a few lines of code.
  • Custom numbers for area codes (we have one in each different city).
  • Cost effective. Very cheap not only for a number (about $1 or so per number per month) but also for sending out automated SMS.
  • Good overview dashboards to see activity, send rates, and deliverability.
  • Number verification (so the text that makes you input a code) something we haven't used but will be adding in in the near future.
  • Setting up response sequences should be more intuitive like an email sequence software or a chatbot service where you can send users through flows based on actions.
  • Less code setup or having a graphical user interface to set it up would be nice then to be able to just export the code of what we need and send it over to developers.
  • Easier multi-media sending for images, videos, or files needed.
Read Evan Laird's full review
April 04, 2019
Andrew Doar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple Salesforce integration. Twilio provided much-needed relief from Salesforce's built-in messaging platform (LiveMessage).
  • Intuitive and user-friendly. No training necessary for new users.
  • Responsive support. Twilio has technicians who are well-trained in identifying obstacles in a Salesforce integration.
  • Reading, Marking, and Archiving messages require far too many clicks.
  • Both Twilio and Salesforce are to blame for this: Configuring how messages are routed should be much simpler. Admin users still receive all text messages in their inbox. This requires time-consuming sifting and sorting.
  • Twilio does not have message previewing. I wish I could hover over an unread message and read its contents without having to open and read the message.
Read Andrew Doar's full review
October 25, 2018
Jeff Eaton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy addition of new 2FA accounts, either manually or using QR codes.
  • Quick recognition of sites the accounts map to, and import of favicons for quick recognition.
  • Automatic syncing of 2FA information between devices.
  • Locating specific accounts once you've added more than a dozen or so can be a pain — a way to categorize or group them would be VERY welcome.
  • Couldn't find a simple way to kill a device from my list of Authy devices — i.e. my phone was grabbed and I want to revoke its ability to generate 2FA keys. It may be possible, but it wasn't easy to find in the relatively streamlined mobile interface.
  • Ongoing prompts for my backup password are understandable but strange, since canceling the prompt still allows me to use Authy.
Read Jeff Eaton's full review
October 17, 2018
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sending the same text message to thousands of users. With Twilio's number pooling, you can use a "number pool" of regular phone numbers to round-robin send the same content to 1000s of users without getting blocked by the carriers.
  • Great Ruby API, very easy to use and write unit tests for
  • Call forwarding to your personal cellphone, to allow users to reach you (after going through an automated phone tree)
  • Price is expensive. Twilio is the market leader and thus they charge more than their competitors. By far our most expensive SaaS service is Twilio.
  • Support reps are not always helpful
  • Documentation can be confusing at times
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
March 13, 2018
Olivia Capizzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Twilio SMS support is on point! Their messaging rates aren't the cheapest but if there's something that you are scratching you head to find the answer to, Twilio has it on lock!
  • The UI is particularly easy to use and easy-to-understand, easy to modify at any given time.
  • Twilio SMS provides detailed bug reports and offers good guidance on where to look for origination of errors in our system.
  • UI interface collapses randomly bringing you back to the Dashboard page.
  • Wish that "Active Numbers" page could further segment. If you have thousands of numbers used for different things in your application, it's impossible to group them or anything so they are just lumped into one gigantic folder.
  • The sales department is a little intense. Like 8 emails in the past month about scheduling a meeting that's kinda far out.
Read Olivia Capizzi's full review
March 13, 2018
Rich Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very reliable service
  • Consistent deliverability
  • Well documented
  • Copilot telephone number pooling
  • Expensive compared to competitors
  • Version control can be wayward in docs
  • Unable to download more than 10,000 logs at one go
Read Rich Warren's full review
March 09, 2018
Ivan Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Twilio appears to very easy to configure.
  • Twilio offers great reporting tools so we can scan text messages that are sent without having use a website control panel or build a custom UX.
  • Twilio prices were more affordable than our previous solution and appear to scale well for future needs.
  • As we have started using Twilio for additional notifications, we would like to label them. The tools to do so did not seem as easy as I would expect. They want us to set up a different number for each notification, but that would cause the user to get messages pertaining to the same action from different numbers and doesn't seem smart.
  • We had a few errors with Twilio adding an extra 1 to the US country code that we were not sending them. Made us wonder if some prefixes were flagged.
Read Ivan Collins's full review
March 07, 2018
Greg Dungan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Twilio provides reliable phone numbers that we can track to gain analytics on how they are used.
  • Twilio provides phone numbers that we can connect to chat applications so that they can be initiated via text message.
  • Twilio provides excellent tech support.
  • Twilio's setup process can be a bit tech-heavy, so if you aren't used to using APIs and integrations, you may want to have someone set it up for you.
  • Twilio's usage analytics could be more comprehensive and user friendly.
  • This might seem picky, but Twilio make you use a overly complicated password to login. I use at least a dozen online tools and this is the only platform that does this to me. As a result I can never remember the password and I always have to look it up. It's not a major negative, but it is a hassle when you're super busy.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
March 07, 2018
Nicholas Kouvatsos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We like Twilio because it's so much less expensive than any other provider.
  • The entire system is built on API calls, so Twilio is completely customizable, and not limited by a user interface.
  • I've been playing with the Studio recently, and I think some additional functionality could be built in. I was trying to be foward thinking and thought I may be able to build out separate flows that interact with each other. So instead of creating one massive flow for every foreseeable interaction, I could build out a front end flow to determine which flow to direct them. If they text "SLIDES" it would direct them to the flow that handles slides. If they text "DISCOUNT" it would direct them to the DISCOUNT flow. If they texted something that didn't match, they'd be directed to a default flow. Within each flow, I should be able to reuse common items, like trying to match them up to someone already in my database, without having to rewrite the flow arguments every time.
Read Nicholas Kouvatsos's full review
March 06, 2018
Peter Lange | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Twilio obviously does a great job at sending SMS Messages. The delivery is quick and never fails. The coding for sending them is relatively simple
  • They provide you with a lot of options in terms of selecting your own phone number to use from their pool of local numbers.
  • Their customer service is prompt and responsive and makes every effort to help you even with technical problems.
  • Their documentation could be greatly improved. It can be hard to figure out what you are looking for if you don't already know where an how to look for it. When new features are added, also their communication of those features is sometimes non-existent.
  • Their API is easy to use, once you understand it. But in getting to that point, it can be hard to understand. For example, I doubt that the average person will understand that there is in fact a messaging queue and that something can be removed from the queue before it sends (if you are quick and lucky) and more importantly, why would the average person want to??
Read Peter Lange's full review
March 14, 2018
Brad Ranks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to implement
  • Reliable
  • retainable
  • Deliverability can go out, but it seems to be rectified quickly.
  • Outage notifications would be helpful for administrators to be able to disable the service during an outage, so the issue does not compound.
Read Brad Ranks's full review
March 09, 2018
Akram Hasan Sharkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their fast and secure API
  • Easy documentation and amazing customer support
  • Detailed log for all activities
  • SDK for all programming languages
  • Pretty much everything seems okay to us, though I would appreciate it if their pricing went down a little bit.
Read Akram Hasan Sharkar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Agent dashboard (2)
9.2
Validate callers (2)
9.2
Outbound response (3)
8.4
Call forwarding (1)
8
Warm transfer (2)
6.1
Interactive voice response (2)
9.2
REST APIs (3)
9.5
Call scripts (2)
9.2
Call tracking (2)
9.2
Multichannel integration (2)
8.6
CRM software integration (3)
9.5
Inbound call routing (1)
10
Recording (1)
10
Quality management (1)
10
Call analytics (1)
10
Historical reporting (1)
10
Live reporting (1)
10
Customer surveys (1)
10
Customer interaction analytics (1)
10

What is Twilio?

Twilio offers a CPaaS and CCaaS solution, with the combination of its programmable Voice, Video, and Messaging APIs, as well as the Twilio Flex cloud contact center. Additional capabilities include Twilio's Elastic SIP Trunking, as well as API for WhatsApp.

Twilio Video

What is Twilio?

Twilio Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Local Calls$0.013Per Minute
Toll-Free Calls$0.013Per Minute
Browser / App Calls$0.040Per Minute

Twilio Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No