Brandwatch Consumer Research Reviews

83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

Gavin Bigelow | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Brandwatch Consumer Research is the GO TO platform for improving your marketing strategy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially a listening tool for our social team to better understand the audiences they could tap into, Brandwatch Consumer Research eventually became a staple for tracking and reporting for our Influencer, Product Marketing, Customer Service, and Performance Marketing teams. For the social teams, it became both an analytics tool and a means to track and rapidly implement consumer feedback on social marketing campaigns, promoting social channel growth and an increase in positive sentiment for the brand across various social channels. Our Influencer team was able to track and report on the interactions they got from various signed personalities while monitoring brand mentions across the web, allowing them to find and reach out to new potential influencers for the brand. The Product and Performance marketing teams made great use of all the data provided by various dashboards built within the platform to track and report live campaigns, allowing them to implement changes and improvements to future campaigns faster. The Customer Service team and Product Marketing team both highly benefited from Brandwatch's sentiment tracking tools, allowing both teams to track and report on key topics across multiple KPIs.
  • Segmentation
  • High Customization
  • Huge Data Source
  • Access to Historic Data
  • Onboarding
  • Exporting Dashboards
  • Automated Exports
Brandwatch Consumer Research is an excellent tool for better understanding your global audience while providing your teams the tools to deep-dive down to a specific list of individual users. The real value of the tool comes from its advanced customization options. With a little time and creativity, you can segment any data to suit almost any purpose, allowing you to create some truly deep reports and insights into the various user data you are looking into. If you are looking to dive into the nitty-gritty of your audience while maintaining the functionality to create easy to understand reports Brandwatch is a wonderful platform to look into.
Read Gavin Bigelow's full review
Tegan Jenner | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Brandwatch is worth every penny!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brandwatch is used by our media and data team at my company. But reports and findings generated through Brandwatch are shared with our entire office and externally to clients.

Some of the main areas we use Brandwatch for are: trend tracking, organic follower tracking (FB, IG, and TW), estimating share of voice, Twitter custom audiences using the Audiences tool, sentiment tracking, Brand health monitoring, competitor conversation tracking.
  • Clean, beautiful visuals that can be easily incorporated into reports to be used internally and externally.
  • Customization-- anywhere from the queries you create to adjusting individual report widget/components this tool is very flexible.
  • Excellent Customer Service and support. My Brandwatch rep is always open to hearing from me for questions and often reaches out to me to check in on my status or see if I would like to participate in beta programs.
  • Constant innovation. It seems like Brandwatch is constantly updating and adding improvements to their platform--especially with their 2019 acquisition of Crimson Hexagon.
  • Query building learning curve. To get the most out of query set up, using the Query Editor is best, but learning the nuances of this process can be hard if you don't consider yourself to be very tech-savvy.
  • It would be nice if widget color schemes were adjustable so graphs could be catered to specific report styles. Our company aesthetic doesn't really match with the rainbow-colored widgets created by Brandwatch, so sometimes they stand out in a bad way in our reports.
  • I know this is something they are working on, but the current AI classification and learning abilities are limited (as of Oct. 2019). Part of their road-map with their Crimson Hexagon acquisition is to incorporate smarter classification and AI to help filter out irrelevant mentions.
  • Sentiment classification is unreliable sometimes depending on the subject matter. If a user is being funny or sarcastic in a mention, the sentiment algorithm gets really tripped up.
Brandwatch has been exceptionally helpful when it comes to new business pitches. If we are looking into pitching a client that is in a new sector/field compared to our other clients, we use Brandwatch to pull in user data to get a feel for trends and discussion topics in the sector. Clients really appreciate any insights we can bring to our pitches -- especially when they are supported by actual user data that we've collected through Brandwatch.
Read Tegan Jenner's full review
Youssef Shalaby | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Drive real value and insights with Brandwatch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brandwatch is the perfect listening tool that gives users the best control over data analysis in a user-friendly and simple way. Compared to other platforms that I've viewed and/or used over the past five years, they are the most progressive and can be classed as thought leaders within the social media and listening analytics field.
It is true they can be a little pricey, yet it is all worth it, especially for advanced users.
  • Tagging and categorizing.
  • Data charting, filtering, and analysis.
  • Integration of external data sources on analytics platform.
Brandwatch is perfect for quick and reliable insights from both social media and the web. It can be really helpful in deep analysis as the robust analytics platforms decrease the time to slice and dice and dig deep into data.
Read Youssef Shalaby's full review
Kenji Onozawa | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Wouldn't recommend it

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across our company, it was mostly used in marketing and social care (who was responsible for the brand listening within our organization).

The main uses for Brandwatch within our company were as follows:
  • Monthly social channel performance reporting.
  • Brand protection.
  • Campaign reporting (mainly hashtag tracking).
  • Announcement reporting.
  • Social listening.
  • Campaign reporting.
  • Manipulation of the data (visually).
  • The learning curve is steep.
  • Price tag.
  • Wasn't able to pull all the metrics our organization needed.
I think among the enterprise-level listening suites, Brandwatch is probably among the best. With that said, for the average marketer, it's still too confusing to set up and get going without the help of their support managers (as compared to something like Sprinklr). More often than not, our team would need to contact them to get the dashboards set up the way we needed as it was simply too difficult to do so on our own.

I think what it did well was at a high level being able to get the social listening metrics we needed (with a few caveats) and being able to alert us when there was a situation on social we needed to be made aware of (so we could get ahead of it). Where it really faltered was in the social channel post reporting as it wasn't able to gather some of the data our team required. As a result, we'd need to go into the native platforms to generate post performance metrics, which defeated the point of us having a tool like Brandwatch in the first place.
Read Kenji Onozawa's full review
Kelcey Zacarese | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Brandwatch Listening Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brandwatch is being used by myself and our clients' in house community management and analytics team. I use Brandwatch mainly for social listening requests or reports. We have other tools that can accomplish these asks, however, Brandwatch appears to be the most comprehensive and advanced tool yet that I have had experience using.
  • Social listening
  • Sentiment Analysis
  • Trend Spotting
  • Sentiment Analysis could be more accurate
  • Easier Interface to use
  • More explanation on when boolean terms are not applicable
Brandwatch is great for any social listening reports or requests since they have a few options when you can create a query - either an automated query or you can manually do a boolean search. They pull results from blogs, news sites, forums, and all main social media platforms that are not affected as strongly by the API (i.e., Twitter).
Read Kelcey Zacarese's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Comprehensive and very attractive reporting...maybe too fiddly.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used as the main reporting tool for board and senior leaders on understanding social media commentary and exposure the business has. Helping to support some UR and thematic research, Brandwatch helps to steer high level product design strategies and communications direction when talking about overall brand, overall user propensity to purchase.
  • Very detailed in its thematic and keyword based searches.
  • The ability to crease multiple levels to predefined filtering allows for cleaner results.
  • Too comprehensive means it is more of a reporting tool than an investigations tool.
  • The filtering defaults are often misused to predefine keyword filtering... how can we be sure users always use the same keywords.
Albeit a complex interface and very fiddly to get to an end result, the use of presentation graphics, the ability to filter properly and the options within the design and distribution of the boards means that Brandwatch is used at the highest level in our organisation. Alternatives to Brandwatch are used but it is the output that gives Brandwatch the edge.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Brandwatch has a great impact on my company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for our website and social media. The company mainly uses it in our Marketing Department so we can get raw and generic data to better grow our company.
  • Search
  • Professional
  • Reach
  • None
When we are gathering data from our social platforms, we are able to use Brandwatch to help us in doing so. The sentiment it gives the company helps us to improve daily.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Good For Top Level Social Listening

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Brandwatch for competitive analysis and market research for new business pitches. It is mainly used by our digital department but provides insights used by our entire organization.
  • Sentiment analysis.
  • Social mentions.
  • Social influencers.
  • Pulling historical information.
  • Pulling information evenly across online channels.
  • Identifying negative comments vs positive comments.
I think Brandwatch is good for analyzing online conversations around broad topics. However, I think for more niche topics there is a lot of clean-up that needs to be done in the mentions and data pulled.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Very powerful tool; not the best for novice users

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For modern PR, having a pulse on social conversation is a must. We use it to monitor conversation on topics, brands, competitors, and to identify trends and audiences that can inform both strategic planning and rapid-response. In practice, the analytics team does most of the work in the platform, but there are some generalists who are comfortable doing basic to intermediate tasks.
  • Slices and dices data by different keyword sets and visualizes it however you need it
  • Doesn't limit the number of queries
  • Allows for highly customized dashboards
  • Makes it easy to limit access based on user logins
  • Very steep learning curve- good luck training casual users on the difference between a query, a rule, a category etc
  • Lack of access to FULL historic data is a serious drawback- populating that data takes a minimum of 24 hours and incurs additional costs
  • Volume limits mean you may have to build your query to exclude mentions that may be useful in getting the full context of the situation
Brandwatch is great for ongoing monitoring using defined categories. It's brilliant at segmenting and displaying data how you need it, especially when you know what data you need and how you need to see it. It's not the best when you don't quite know what you're looking for, and when time matters - there aren't many good tools for quickly applying filters or using AI to identify patterns, though that's getting better as they continue to merge Crimson Hexagon technology, so I'd continue to watch this space.
Read this authenticated review
Jarad Matula, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2018

Brandwatch: Powerful tool for experienced users with only a few minor drawbacks.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Media Department currently. It provides insights into both existing clients and the performance of their campaigns. We use it to measure Share of Voice, Brand Sentiment, and for customer insights on a monthly basis. We also use it as part of a "social audit" we perform for new clients to better acquaint our client on the social landscape and where they stand in it.

In addition, we also use it for research for new business development. This enables us to come up with insights into a potential client's business before making a deal, and enables us to know what type of programs would benefit the company the most, based on what's happening in the market.
  • The breadth of the data it captures is impressive, and you are only limited in the tool by your own knowledge of how to use the system. Therefore, if you know how to create smart, tightly structured queries, how to create smart rules to help save manual search and filing, already have a set of keywords to plug in to your query, and know how to use the more advanced chart visualizations beyond the stock ones they provide, you should be in great shape.
  • The range of historical data, as well as the ability to access it in detail is a definite plus that puts them above competitors if you're looking for long-term historical trends.
  • The visuals are basic, but look nice, and the ability to export most of the graphs and charts is very useful when putting together presentations.
  • Depending on your prior knowledge, there could be a steep learning curve. Don't get me wrong, their customer service/account management is fantastic-- they take you through an initial training and are happy to answer any questions you have, but it's hard to articulate what you don't know, just starting out, so there's things I'm only learning how to do after a year of using the tool. I like to think of it as a very power shell/big data source. If you know exactly what data you're looking for and already have the necessary keywords to build a query, you can do great things. If not, it will be an uphill struggle at times.
  • Many of its competitors have "quick search" type functions that are great for new business pitches or other situations where you're starting from square 1, while Brandwatch does not in its basic product and offers it as a separate product for additional fee.
  • While the visualizations are serviceable, they are quite basic don't allow flexibility, so many times I end up exporting the data and creating my own in other tools.
  • Intelligence on identifying sentiment is lacking without your own rules, training it, etc. I spend a fair amount of time re-categorizing mis-filed sentiment on posts.

Brandwatch is a great tool for social listening, especially if you already have experience with query building (using Boolean logic, are familiar with Operators, etc.), but sometimes things feel like they're harder than they need to be. Considering it's one of the most expensive products in its category, I would expect more features and functionality right out of the box, and to be far less DIY. And the product keeps adding new features all the time, so I think they're on the right track and only getting better, but still have some gaps.

If you're using it to monitor your brand's social presence only, or if you're in an agency and using it to monitor existing clients and provide reports to them, then this is a great tool and you're hard-pressed to find something better. But if you're wanting it more for new business and discovery, there are tools that do this much better, including Sysomos and Crimson Hexagon.

Read Jarad Matula, MBA's full review
Ravinshu Saneja | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2018

Enterprise Social Listening - Solved!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it as an agency for other brands in India. The whole organisation uses it, and in fact, most of our enterprise clients use Brandwatch services too. Based on the experience with clients and users of Brandwatch, the best use case of Brandwatch involved peer-benchmarking. Most companies use it to listen to what's happening on the internet about their peers. Why are they being liked or disliked? Bucketing such conversations gives them insights on what to improve on and what to focus more on. Other business problems Brandwatch takes care of include marketing campaign analytics, net sentiment, PR coverage, and brand health.
  • Brandwatch is great with bulk changes in mentions, which I believe is also a USP as I haven't seen any tool do that (I have checked out many).
  • You can bulk tag, change sentiment, add rules, add categories etc. to mentions.
  • From tagging and rules comes good analysis of mentions. Once categorised, you'd be able to understand what are people taking the most about - in a negative or a positive way. Say a telecom company wants to know why people don't like my services - is it the network, or customer service or something else. Do people from a particular city complaint a lot?
  • Brandwatch also does a good job at capturing a huge amount of mentions from 90M+ websites. That's 2x or 3x more in some cases than the few leading enterprise listening software.
  • It also provides the maximum number of metadata per mention thus giving maximum scope of slicing the data and analysing in different ways.
  • I feel Brandwatch needs to add more sources with proper API integrations. The integrations are limited to Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. While Twitter gets great coverage, Facebook and Instagram do not (considering the recent policy changes, coverage has been limited). While it does capture 90M+ other sites which include most of the other social media sites such as Youtube, I feel an integration with such sites can get more analytics around usage data such as video viewing times, view growth on Youtube.
  • While they have a lot of insights already, I feel a few word clouds could have been done differently as well, such as word connections. Also, more accurate auto-categorisation of mentions where manual rule adding isn't needed.
  • E-commerce review coverage (Amazon etc.) should be included.
In any large enterprise use case of listening to social media, Brandwatch Analytics is very well suited. For any small-medium enterprise trying to listen to social media, just for knowing your social media reach, I feel there exists cheaper tools and to save cost, Brandwatch might not be needed. Brands can upgrade to Brandwatch when they need enterprise level insights from social media mentions. Also, you might not want it if you just want PR tracking.
Read Ravinshu Saneja's full review
Edward James Bass | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2015

Brandwatch is certainly the most dynamic and well supported Social Insight platform available today

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brandwatch Analytics as the core technology for our research into conversation around brands and entertainment properties and personalities. This involves utilising Brandwatch Analytics as a platform more than a tool, an option that would not be possible using any other social listening technology.
  • Highly programmable setup allows for deep categorisation of social and online conversation data.
  • Useful and clear UI that allows easy access to granular reporting.
  • Highly responsive and knowledge support and account management teams.
  • Company is clearly committed to evolving their platform for their clients as well as being responsive to their recommendations.
  • The UI sometimes struggles with larger categorisation sets but this can be worked around by exporting to Excel and creating your own graphs there.
For those looking for more granular and complex insights into social conversation and audience behaviour there is simply no better platform.
Read Edward James Bass's full review
Emma Reid | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2015

Brandwatch - market leading digital intelligence software for strategic insight and foresight.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brandwatch Analytics within our organisation to gather digital intelligence for clients. We use this platform to cleanse, segment and provide context behind the data, allowing for actionable and meaningful insight that provides an understanding of strategic insight and foresight.
  • The gathering of data and use of categories, rules and tags to help to segment large unstructured datasets into structured themes of data that can be analysed through netnographic and qualitative research techniques.
  • The ability to auto create reports on a daily, weekly and monthly basis, allowing us to draw comparisons and track changes in sentiment and behaviour over time.
  • The use of Brandwatch Analytics signals to identify emerging trends, crisis management and conversation spikes, allowing us to work in an agile fashion to respond to changes within the marketplace on a real-time basis.
  • It can be complex to write advanced level queries, for example understanding where the brackets should be placed when writing long and detailed queries.
  • The cleansing of the data is the most time consuming part of data analysis - greater automation in data cleansing would allow for more time for data analysis and comparison of themes and patterns (again this relates to the ability to write good queries to ensure that the correct data is pulled.
  • It may be useful to have an 'auto translate function' as we have been asked recently to analyse data in different languages and we currently do not have these skills in-house.
Brandwatch Analytics is suited to situations where businesses need to understand the context behind digital conversations. It works well with high volumes of data, however there is a need for training and an understanding of the type of information that you are looking to confirm/explore within the data, therefore projects should be planned out and categorised prior to beginning analysis - this can be very time consuming.
Read Emma Reid's full review
Blake Mahaffey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2015

Hey! We might have half a brand between us after all...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a marketing agency that uses white label Brandwatch Analytics to:

1) Empower our clients with their own data
2) Provide regular reporting on brand presence, market research, and industry analysis

It is our primary product. As far as addressing business problems, it allows us to offer a competitive social media product beyond what most agencies are able to offer.
  • By far, Brandwatch's biggest strength is the ability to customize rules that influence how mentions are tagged and categorized as they enter the system. It allows for in depth categorical and topical analysis that many competing social listening platforms are unable to beat.
  • Brandwatch has a fantastic support team, and implements regular platform updates nearly every month. The platform is generally stable, and any issues are resolved very quickly.
  • Customizable graphs allow analysts to drill deep into data. After two years of 40+ hours a week in brandwatch, I am still finding new ways to drill down.
  • So many Boolean operators! Really helps when trying to get specific and accurate datasets.
  • Being able to collect samples of data (instead of being forced to collect 100%) really helps us stay underneath our datacap.
  • Facebook data is particularly poor. Channels will often break and stop collecting Facebook posts and metrics on owned pages. I would say this happens to about 75% of my channels every two or three months.
  • There aren't ways to filter out criteria beyond keywords while writing boolean queries. This can lead to some serious spam collection from channels like Twitter. While these mentions can later be filtered out through custom rules, it's just another step in the process that can take some time.
  • Doesn't provide information on favorites from Twitter, which has forced us to adopt another third party tool.
  • Longform content analytics is a serious pain. I am not sure if any listening software can get this right.
  • Like all other analytics platforms, the sentiment algorithm is horrible in areas beyond B2C specific products.
I think agencies will find Brandwatch Analytics is a powerful tool, but in house marketers may find its level of complexity challenging and cumbersome. To truly get benefit from Brandwatch, you absolutely need to know the ins-and-outs of the tool. It excels at market research and going beyond brand presence.

In house marketers will probably get more bang for their buck from a competitor like Sysomos, Crimson Hexagon, or Sprinklr.
Read Blake Mahaffey's full review
Jemima Gibbons | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2015

Easy to use, in-depth analytics - perfect for social media strategy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Brandwatch Analytics as a consultant to help create social media strategies for clients.
  • Competitor analysis - understanding share of voice and identifying successful competitor campaigns.
  • Market analysis - identifying key topics and conversations.
  • Influencer analysis - identifying key influencers in any sector.
  • It would be great if data from newer, more visual platforms like Instagram, Pinterest and Snapchat could be included.
  • I'd love it if you could see in one dashboard follower counts and engagement rates across social platforms for a selection of key players in a specific sector.
  • More audience analytics - demographic breakdowns, most influential followers etc.
Brandwatch Analytics is great for competitor analysis and for monitoring brand mentions.
Read Jemima Gibbons's full review
Fiona Roddis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2015

Brandwatch: A Great Cross Platform Listening Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brandwatch Analytics as part of our education program, both with clients and graduates to illustrate what's possible with social listening and brand monitoring.
  • Cross platform monitoring including social media.
  • It's a very powerful tool that allows us to gain deeper insights into brands and organisations.
  • Detailed help and tips when setting up projects/queries as well as fantastic customer support from the team.
  • Query structure is flexible allowing us to create a range of queries from general to very complex and specific.
  • Introduce a small business package that's more financially viable for startups/entrepreneurs or graduates.
  • Increase social media platform coverage.
Read Fiona Roddis's full review
Daniel Rowles | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2015

Best Global Social Insights Tools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brandwatch Analytics with a range of our large global clients for market insights and brand monitoring. We also use it directly ourselves for market insights and research for our content marketing efforts.
  • Global views allowing geographic searching and geo-fencing.
  • Monitors huge range of social sources globally, not just top US sites.
  • Works in huge range of languages.
  • Great analysis tools and easy to use reporting.
Brandwatch Analytics is the best tool on the market for brand monitoring and market insights via social media.
Read Daniel Rowles's full review
Phil Butler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

Brandwatch for the "Listening Edge" of Digital

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a technology, travel, and news journalist, or a PR and marketing professional, I've utilized many tools to capture the relevance and value of social media over the years. At Pamil Visions Public Relations, and via our efforts at Argophilia and Argo Travel News, our people have found Brandwatch the premier tool for showing the statistical underbelly of the digital landscape. Whether we need to report to hotel clients on media mentions, or if I personally need to find a key metric for a news story, Brandwatch solves for "X" in most cases. The point of pain Brandwatch easily solves is turning intricate and complex social interaction, Big Data, and difficult to explain concepts into relative child's play. Brandwatch is a tool every business person interested in digital must have.
  • Brandwatch mitigates creating simple to understand answers from highly complex social metrics - face it, outputting a chart to explain social tone is just amazing
  • When I was asked to show the "heat" of mentions on the subject of the Ukraine for Russia Today, Brandwatch simplified the task of comparing the sentiment toward Russia's part, Ukraine, and the rest of the west. Social media plays a huge role in PR and politics these days.
  • A hotel recently asked us to show the ROI of PR, something public relations professionals have wrestled with for decades. Brandwatch helped me clearly represent how a "test" PR campaign resulted in a massive branding plus for a singled out hotel chain versus its competitors. I know of no other metrics driven tool that has been able to so easily accomplish this.
  • Frequently we're asked to evaluate one hotels chain's competition for their social and digital imminence. Businesses want to stay ahead of the competition, obviously. Brandwatch is the perfect comparative tool to help owners eclipse their competing hotels.
  • The only real weakness I can find in the Brandwatch tool set is the learning curve for super-wired company professionals like my team. That said, the complexities and uses of Brandwatch, while extensive, end up being far more feasible for uptake than the competitive ones. I'd also commend the team at Brandwatch for assisting at every level. I can't tell you how many times they've helped me create campaigns.
In general Brandwatch can be utilized by any business or organization to make a "window" into their digital ecosystem. That said, very small companies may be pressed for cost as is always the case. Those companies intent on growth, and on using the tools that promote it, are perfect candidates for Brandwatch.
Read Phil Butler's full review
Matthew Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

Brandwatch. A first-rate enterprise monitoring application

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement monitoring solutions for leading consumer brands. We provide managed solutions providing data at a top management level, but making sure that important indications filter down. Brandwatch monitoring provides us with critical marketing intelligence including performance indicators, threats, concerns, opportunities and competitor benchmarks. Monitoring allows clients to intercept and evaluate the conversations regarding their brand. It provides key information for improving brand sentiment, share of voice, customer service and a host of other issues.
  • Groups similar mentions to assist in competitive / marketing intelligence.
  • Social media management. Extend the network of content management.
  • Customer service. Allows teamwork on outstanding issues. Mentions can be assigned to individual users.
  • Facilitates calculation of ROI from marketing campaigns.
  • Sector wide listening. Provides a company with key industry benchmarks.
  • A Mobile version would be exceptional.
Brandwatch is appropriate in any context where there is a relatively high volume of open conversations. Important to ask information about the (advanced) query settings that can make all the difference to the quality of your results.

Read Matthew Watkins's full review
Luis Fernando Martinez Funes | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Brandwatch for LATAM. A good social monitoring and intelligence tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Brandwatch for social media consulting, customer and competition analysis and one time reports for a variety of clients. We're a social business focused consultant so everybody in the company has a use for social media monitoring tools whether it is for internal use so we can assess and evaluate our customers' current social media situation or as a support of the planning and implementation of a social media strategy.
  • Brandwatch interface is clean and easy to understand. While social monitoring tools don't have to be simple they also have to provide a quick instinctive way to be used and Brandwatch provides this
  • Excellent configuration settings. Designed for both the simple projects and consultants to the most complicated and demanding projects thanks to its two ways to configure it.
  • Good analysis focus. Brandwatch has a good analysis focus which allows you not only to see the information in a dashboard but to actually dwell deeper into it.
  • Latin America focus. Brandwatch has started a LATAM drive which could be beneficial to the region and the company
  • Brandwatch still can become a more analytically focused tool. We have too many "easy basic dashboards" tools out there. Some of us really need to dig deep into the information and Brandwatch while in the right path can still improve its interface to facilitate this.
  • Increase amount of social networks covered. a tough challenge given how we always have new networks around but it is not only the new but the foreign networks like weibo or renren that should be considered.
  • Better pricing. Brandwatch is a bit expensive and a lot of small businesses have no way to access it. A small business package could really be useful.
  • While their Boolean configuration is an asset, writing and building the Boolean queries can be a real hassle and having and easier faster way to build it could be awesome. They are improving in this but there must be a way to automatize the creation of hundred characters long queries.
I recommend Brandwatch for a lot of companies and agencies that need a clean analysis with a marketing orientation or crisis management. The easy but complete way in which you can configure it and start getting results and insights can help a lot. Also to create good reports regarding the use of social media by agencies.

It can also be used for social crm and customer service scenarios but [it is] not as easily and fluid as other tools so this is where I sometimes hesitate to use it.
Read Luis Fernando Martinez Funes's full review
Marshall Sponder | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Brandwatch is an excellent platform / tool investment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have my students working with internship projects this semester and it is an excellent platform for monitoring online reputation and story amplification. Brandwatch also implemented various roles and permission with make it easier to control access and mention usage. The issues that Brandwatch addresses is how to make sense of what is being said online about the subject of an analysis - Brandwatch's superior text categorization and tagging tools (which I compare with a Cuisinart) make it an excellent platform to invest in reusable queries revolving around industry and use case monitoring.
  • Finding conversations and tagging, categories and rulesets
  • Connecting Social Media Monitoring to SEO via API access to MOZrank, Compete, and providing social impact scores on each piece of content.
  • Demographic profiling via Twitter, can do some interesting comparisons on the fly which might be hard to do with several of its competitor platforms.
  • Theme surfacing via Text Analytics is something that is better with Brandwatch than most of the other platforms I have worked with, when it is offered, at all.
  • Brandwatch now monitors Facebook and Twitter owned media - this is more than most platforms Brandwatch is competing with does.
  • Maybe its just the server my instance is running on, but query execution is slower than ideal
  • I want to set more than 10 influencers to show up in the Author dashboard, but aren't quite sure how to do that, if it's possible.
  • The Geolocation features Brandwatch introduced a few years ago are helpful, and it would be nice if they extended it to their output, not just the input, currently they just show regional data for the most part, not city or lat/long coordinates.
  • Brandwatch ought to develop a mobile app, just like Google Analytics and Radian6 has.
Well, there's nothing specifically bad to say about Brandwatch - its all good. What I have mentioned in my speaking engagements and teaching is that text analytics tools that are best on keywords have strengths and some obvious weaknesses. One of the issues with all tools that use keywords for social media monitoring is that people often don't use the keywords we are monitoring for, using others, or no keywords at all.
Read Marshall Sponder's full review
Ari Lightman | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2014

Students and faculty using Brandwatch to research insights and work with Brands

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brandwatch as a discovery and measurement tool within projects and classes dealing with social analysis at Carnegie Mellon University. Students and faculty use Brandwatch to asses how market segments are engaged with brands, political and societal trends across the social space, and how communities engage and respond with organizations. We view Brandwatch as a critical piece in student development and learning and couldn't be happier in partnering with them..
  • Powerful querying capabilities with the ability to filter based on several factors
  • Data visualization for easy trend spotting and benchmarking capability
  • Sentiment mapping to identify how brands and content are perceived across channels
  • Easy to understand and use interface
  • Great customer support and accessible online help resources
  • Industry specific content and examples
  • Integration into structured CRM applications
Brandwatch is one of the best tools for research and analysis in that it lets you go very specific on individual querying to weed out all the noise from the social web.
Read Ari Lightman's full review
Ben Donkor | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2014

Not just a "social listening tool", but a "social intelligence solution".

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the main problems I've been able to solve with the help of Brandwatch is correlation - so what you had spike in mentions last week? What caused it? So what you had a lot of mentions from a particular forum, more than usual? What caused that? Thanks to annotation and the ability to plot various metrics on the flexible Brandwatch graphs, I can easily identify what correlates and what causes spikes and/or dips, even before I export the data to Excel for a deep-dive. In fact, one of the benefits of Brandwatch is that, while I can keep some of the dashboards with basic and self-explanatory graphs based on the audience, I can also keep my "super dashboards" with all the metrics and widgets I need, and I can do all of my deep dives right from the dashboard. This leads me to the next problem I was able to solve thanks to Brandwatch - showing my various stakeholders that social listening (and social analytics in general) isn't daunting, it isn't boring, and just because it's often portrayed in an Excel spreadsheet it doesn't mean it's too scary for the business to appreciate. Brandwatch is so customisable and flexible that it's manager-friendly, analyst-friendly, data geek-friendly etc.
  • Brandwatch is very flexible, customisable, it's great for beginners and it appeases the advanced users who are always looking for more and more data
  • Brandwatch is the tool with the highest number of supported Boolean queries - something to keep in mind if you want to build really flexible and accurate social listening queries.
  • Brandwatch is open - with open APIs, you can integrate it with other applications that you may already have (e.g. Hootsuite, so you can monitor mentions and engage with them).
  • Brandwatch isn't stagnant - the platform is constantly updated, every 2 weeks, so I'm reassured that I'm with a solution that moves at the pace of digital marketing.
  • I've used Brandwatch for quite a while, and I have to say that I'm thoroughly satisfied with it. However, if I have to point out a "weakness", I'd say the lack of an app. It would be great to have a view of mentions and analytics on-the-go, via an app. Having said that, it's not a big deal-breaker - I've tried using Brandwatch on my phone and a few more times on my tablet and it works just fine.
One of the several areas where Brandwatch shines is how refined you can get your Boolean queries to be - as it's the tool that supports the most Boolean queries out there, I've been able to create really accurate and refined queries, and the better the queries, the better the results you get out of the tool. The added preview option also helps me to see if the query will work even before I save it. In other words, Brandwatch is a perfectionist's dream come true.
Read Ben Donkor's full review
Adam Connell | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2014

An impressive enterprise level social listening tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Brandwatch across my entire organization. We use it to monitor brand mentions and that of our competitors. We have some VERY big competitors and Brandwatch has been instrumental in gauging how strong our brand is in comparison to competitors.

  • Identifying social reach of competitors - do you know how much reach your competitors have? What about how many social mentions they get in a given day? Most people have no idea but I can see the exact percentage of the social web my brand takes up in comparison to its competitors. This is invaluable in discovering how effective my brand is, what's working for competitors and what's working for us.
  • Deep social listening - do you know what your customers/readers are saying about your brand? Most of my brands competitors don't know this so using Brandwatch to monitor for brand mentions gives us a huge advantage. We can also respond to mentions within the tool in most situations - great for reputation management.
  • Supporting additional social networks - what Brandwatch supports now is great, but the more the merrier.
  • Ease of adding queries - there is a learning curve involved when using Brandwatch but then again that's the way it should be because it's an enterprise level tool so it's packed with functionality. There are easier to use tools but they don't have nowhere near as many features and the complexity of queries adds another dimension entirely. That said, they have improved things significantly so it's now much easier than it was and their team are always very helpful in offering support.
Consider whether you have the time to invest in using a tool like this. You need the time to learn how to use Brandwatch and the time to put the data to use. The Brandwatch team is very helpful so you can easily get support. It's not the cheapest tool but you really get what you pay for. I've used budget tools and they just aren't as effective (and support isn't there when you need it).
Brandwatch is an incredible tool to monitor social mentions, pick up on potential marketing opportunities, identify what's working for your competitors and understand the reach of competitors.

Read Adam Connell's full review
Dr Jillian Ney | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2015

Brandwatch offering more than surface level analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brandwatch daily at Disruptive Insight. Brandwatch is one of our preferred tools that we use for a number of social intelligence projects. We are passionate about highlighting the context within social media conversations and Brandwatch provides us with functionality to get behind some of the numbers in social media. The advanced analytics are what attracted us to Brandwatch and they continue to be one of our favourite and most used tools from our suite of partners.
  • Advanced Analytics
  • Customer Service
  • Visual Graph Creation
  • Ability to recode topics from the auto generated word cloud
We use Brandwatch daily and for a number of different scenarios and business needs and find it a good catch all. However we use another application for understanding influencers.
Read Dr Jillian Ney's full review

About Brandwatch Consumer Research

Brandwatch Consumer Research is an enterprise social intelligence platform that is designed to allow brands to listen and analyze online conversation to extract meaningful insights, inform their business decisions and understand more about the return on their marketing spend.

Brandwatch Consumer Research was built in 2008 and according to the vendor, it is now widely recognized as the most sophisticated social intelligence platform available, offering a flexible, powerful suite of features designed to aid business in taking advantage of social data.

Brandwatch Consumer Research Features

Has featureProprietary listening technology providing quality data coverage
Has featureThe most advanced, customizable charting and analysis functionality available
Has featureUnlimited users and a range of distrubution, sharing and permissions options
Has featureFlexible dashboards with over 25 different components
Has feature30+ fully-supported languages, including Topics and sentiment extraction
Has featureSophisticated demographic and theme analysis
Has featureOwned Twitter and Facebook channel tools
Has featureAutomated, intelligent and custom alerting features
Has featureBulk processing and automation of categorization and tagging

Brandwatch Consumer Research Screenshots

Brandwatch Consumer Research Integrations

Hootsuite, Clarabridge, Percolate, Khoros Marketing (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium)

Brandwatch Consumer Research Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pro$80010k mentions
Enterprise3000+Unlimited mentions or Queries

Brandwatch Consumer Research Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
1%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
9%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
20%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
70%

Brandwatch Consumer Research Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Brandwatch Consumer Research Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No