TrustRadius
Optimizely is a website optimization platform, providing A/B and multivariate testing. It enables users with and without technical expertise to make dynamic changes to their websites, test the variations to live traffic and gather immediate results.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nE/W8/NPJ6TVND0MJQ.PNGDecent optimization toolWe use Optimizely on the marketing team to run A/B and multivariate tests. Mainly we use it for splitting our traffic when testing not so much for building the actual tests themselves. The tests that we use it for are mainly to verify hypothesis around the top of our funnel acquisition flow in connection with our marketing site.,It is very easy to set up a test and split traffic to various test variations. It has a decent smart editor for tests that only involve small changes. The version that we use (Optimizely classic) has a decent amount of integration with other analysis tools.,It is way too expensive. The editor is only useful when you run a test involving small/simple changes to your pages. The support is lacking.,6,Testing has helped us increase conversion rates substantially and Optimizely has made that process a lot easier.,Pardot,Pardot, Salesforce App Cloud, Google Analytics, KissmetricsOptimizely is a great A/B testing platform. Highly recommended!Optimizely helped us in running quick experiments on our websites. We used it for A/B testing in order to understand which call to action button colors/style/text was working better and converting more users. I personally set up the experiments and did the tests. The integration part was very easy.,Easy integration Great platform for A/B testing You can start and run experiments straight from the dashboard, no need to ask developers to change anything in the code,The pricing model was hard to understand and could be improved Our website loading took longer when Optimizely code was added, would be great to see this improved/solved Getting on board was easy, but still took some time to understand the details,10,We optimized our CTA buttons and saw around 10-15% increase in signups. From negative ones - the website loading started to take longer,None,Hotjar, Buffer, Zapier, MailChimp, Trello, HubSpot CRMPlease A/B test this review!We use Optimizely for all of our A/B webpage testing across both our main website and any campaign landing pages. Only the Marketing department uses this tool. We use Optimizely to test out theories in order to see their effect on conversion rates and other relevant KPI's.,It makes it easy to set up the A/B testing parameters and allow us to focus on running multiple tests. We love the ability to exclude audiences so that the test data is as pure as possible We like the interface since its easy to see what version is "winning",There is a bit of a learning curve with the interface, it's not that intuitive day 1. You will need a web dev to help get these tests set up. It is not easy enough for a non-tech person to do.,8,It has a positive ROI overall on the organization. It has saved us from lowering our conversion rates due to the data we get from the test results.,Acquia Lift,Google Analytics Premium, Drupal, Acquia Platform, MarketoOptimizely is at the top of the listI previously used Optimizely to conduct A/B tests for our conversion landing pages. We needed to increase conversions and Optimizely has a number of features that allowed us to determine what worked best. I also used Optimizely on our main website to test out certain scenarios regarding our customer service activities.,Optimizely offers a number of great features that other testing services do not. Optimizely allows us to test within certain timeframes and in specific timezones. One of the cooler features Optimizely offers is its multivariate testing. It automates multiple tests at one time.,My biggest con is that the service is much more expensive than its competitors. There are too many tiers to the services. The basic tier, which is still pricey only gets you simple A/B tests and not all the bells and whistles. It did not allow me to extend the account to other managers in my department.,8,For my landing pages I am seeing a 6x increase in conversion rate. For ease of use, Optimizely made things happen much quicker and allowed me to manage it and not an agency. Optimizely did provide some cost savings with regard to agency expenses and once the ROI began to increase the service cost was less of a concern.,Unbounce and Visual Website Optimizer,Adobe Photoshop, Slack, Basecamp,4,4Powerful Optimization Tool -- But comes with a price.We manage multiple brands, and we choose to use Optimizely on one of them. We mainly use Optimizely on this website for testing to improve our conversion rate with simple A/B tests, and we also use Optimizely to modify messaging and sales prices on front of site when running flash sales. In a pinch, we can also use Optimizely to make hot fixes when we find errors and typos, until we can get our dev team to put a more permanent fix in for the bug.,Optimizely has a great WYSIWYG editor, very intuitive and easy to use. For more advanced users, you also have access to the raw code, which I go in frequently to clean up things that the editor may have done. I'm a huge fan of Optimizely's targeting criteria. I know that I can run tests on my site based on almost an audience I'd like. I really enjoy Optimizely's analytics and reporting. They allow you to choose which metrics you're looking for, then they have built in confidence percentages to show you at a glance how your test is running.,Optimizely used to be free, now it's pretty expensive. Luckily, my account was grandfathered in, but I really think they're making a mistake by moving to a paid-only model instead of a freemium. Sometimes there is a "flicker" when your page first loads where you can see the original page before the experience loads. Most visitors probably won't notice but it is not desirable. The reporting doesn't always match up to the same stuff I see in Google Analytics. I know there is multiple reasons that this could be happening, but it is something to keep in mind when analyzing your data.,7,Being that we are still on the free version, the return on investment has been fantastic. If we were paying for it, I'd have to take a closer look. We have seen a slight bump in our conversion rate based on changes that we made due to tests ran in Optimizely. Using Optimizely to throw up flash sales when we are slow has really helped us. Being able to announce that we are running a sale and show sale prices on front of site without needed to take up dev resources helps us a lot.,Visual Website Optimizer,Visual Website Optimizer, Asana, Google Analytics
Unspecified
Optimizely
240 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

Optimizely Reviews

Optimizely
240 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 73 of 241 Optimizely ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 73)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Thue Lægdsgaard Madsen profile photo
December 13, 2017

Optimizely Review: "Decent optimization tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for simple testing and optimization. Anything more substantial will still require engineering and will likely not benefit from the native editor. It also does a good job of splitting traffic, either in even sized groups or based on specific demographic data points.
Read Thue Lægdsgaard Madsen's full review
Tigran Hakobyan profile photo
December 08, 2017

Review: "Optimizely is a great A/B testing platform. Highly recommended!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are looking for a platform that will allow you to quickly do some experiments and A/B testing on your website/platform, then Optimizely is a great choice. For us, it was a perfect solution to test different call-to-action buttons, colors, and texts. It helped us figure out the winning one and we started using that version of our CTA.
Read Tigran Hakobyan's full review
Brian Nizinsky profile photo
December 07, 2017

Optimizely: "Please A/B test this review!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Optimizely is well suited for your standard A/B testing scenarios. It does not do multivariate testing (at least the version we have does not). I would not look to Optimizely for any type of personalization for a website. There are better tools out there for that.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review
No photo available
January 12, 2018

User Review: "Optimizely is at the top of the list"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For what it does Optimizely is very good. Although I did have to splurge and pay for the larger package to get all of the bells and whistles I was looking for, I was able to expand my testing scenarios. Looking at the landscape of all other testing services Optimizely is at the top.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2017

Optimizely Review: "Powerful Optimization Tool -- But comes with a price."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I used to recommend Optimizely to everyone, but with it being pay to play now, it is best used only for larger businesses. If you are a small business owner who is just looking to take advantage of some small testing on your site, you may be better off looking elsewhere (perhaps VWO or some other software that is priced based on traffic).
Read this authenticated review
Polly Harris profile photo
May 04, 2017

Optimizely Review: "Great Tool for CRO Programs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Optimizely is great for testing on sites with moderate to heavy traffic. It doesn't seem to be as effective with lower trafficked sites because the sample sizes just aren't there. I'd recommend going with a User Testing-type platform to perform CRO on lower trafficked sites.
Read Polly Harris's full review
Grant Wilkins profile photo
December 16, 2016

Optimizely Review: "It's Easy as A/B/C - Experimentation Made Simple"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Optimizely is a great tool to get you up and running with A/B testing quickly without sacrificing quality. The WYSIWYG editor mode is passable for someone without html and javascript knowledge, but to get the most out of the tool you'll definitely want to have a developer that is fluent in javascript. As of a few months ago Optimizely now offers server side (or full stack) testing in addition to their client side testing. This is an additional feature you have to pay for, but if you have the need and teams to support server side testing it allows you to test a lot of different things you won't get out of client side testing.
Read Grant Wilkins's full review
Andrew Weitsman profile photo
October 10, 2016

Review: "Optimizely A/B Testing Delivers Results"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Optimizely is fantastic for quick and easy testing, and implementing experiments without a long lead time from the dev team. The company is constantly innovating and updating and creating new opportunities to try the product. However, the platform has a lot of features that are reliant on at least a remedial knowledge of code, so users should make sure to at least have a resource available to help them create more detailed experiments.
Read Andrew Weitsman's full review
Brynn Arego profile photo
April 04, 2016

Review: "Optimizely lets you test easily with low overhead."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you want better insight into how users are specifically interacting with a page, a different tool would be able to do this whereas Optimizely is lacking.
Read Brynn Arego's full review
Benjamin Himley profile photo
March 08, 2016

Optimizely Review: "Changed the way our front end development process worked in a great way!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you've got a front end team that doesn't use A/B testing to help make their design decisions, this is a must! Not something I'd recommend a marketing/sales team to try and use on their own - you need someone who can do the necessary front end work to put together the tests.
Read Benjamin Himley's full review
Matthew Pimenta profile photo
March 21, 2016

User Review: "Optimizely and You: An A/B Love Story"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Optimizely is well suited any time you need to serve a different version of a website to varied users or potential customers. It is also well suited when you are uncertain of which version of a website to serve to users. Optimizely provides a no-frills medium within which you may test which version leads to better conversion and optimize towards it.
Read Matthew Pimenta's full review
Joseph Taylor profile photo
March 18, 2016

Optimizely Review: "Its a MUST HAVE - period."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Unless you're skilled with jQuery you won't be able to run experiments on pages that are private on your sites since you won't be able to open those pages in the editor easily.
Read Joseph Taylor's full review
Sean Cleveland profile photo
September 30, 2015

Review: "If you are wanting to improve your site, use Optimizely!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are trying to improve your website, Optimizely is the model standard. Their product is unbelievably easy to use, with the ability of advanced functionality. Their support team is always there to help you out. Really no key questions that I can think of, just be up front and be honest with what you want.
Read Sean Cleveland's full review
Jeremy Bradford profile photo
September 09, 2015

User Review: "Doing it fast with Optimizely"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When it comes to designing completely new pages from scratch, Optimizely is probably not the best tool, but it excels at modifying existing pages. That said, if you know how to write jQuery and CSS well, seems like there is no limit to what you can do with a little creativity and effort. We're constantly expanding the boundaries of what we thought the tool could do.
Read Jeremy Bradford's full review
Renee Thompson profile photo
August 14, 2015

User Review: "Optimizely Rocks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Honestly I think Optimizely works for any company - all industries/business types.
Read Renee Thompson's full review
Brian DeLoach profile photo
August 11, 2015

User Review: "Why we're happy with Optimizely"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you plan to conduct A/B testing on your site or app, I haven't seen anything that's better than Optimizely.
Read Brian DeLoach's full review
George McMullen profile photo
August 10, 2015

Review: "If only I could use Optimizely to test this title - they make it so easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great for doing both quick tests on UI/UX and for more involved tests that you've designed and experimented with on a qualitative basis. On both web and native mobile apps, it works flawlessly. From a mobile perspective, the team at Optimizely was incredibly helpful in getting us up and running. I do get a little concerned about the way it swizzles the UI elements when running simple UX/UI tests and have found some limitations in that, but for the most part I am running more advanced tests to begin with anyway.
Read George McMullen's full review
Sergei Kogut profile photo
November 16, 2015

Optimizely Review: "You could be testing in just minutes."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This is true for any A/B testing platform - It's best used by someone who knows a bit of JavaScript, or has a testing team with members that have this expertise. While it's still entirely possible to make a lot of simpler "point and click" changes to your site early on using the built-in visual editor tools, as your testing program evolves some of the more advanced changes will start to require increasing amounts of HTML/JS/Query knowledge.
Read Sergei Kogut's full review
Robert Chan profile photo
November 09, 2015

Review: "Optimizely is a Solid Platform for Testing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would highly recommend this tool for businesses looking to build quick tests without leveraging too much weight on developers. It could prove to be exceptionally useful for e-commerce platforms as Optimizely provides A/B testing, multivariate testing, and multipage testing. For those looking to build custom code, the platform is very accessible for all to use.
Read Robert Chan's full review
Lisa Pinto-Hendron profile photo
October 28, 2015

User Review: "Optimizely and Me: A Love Story"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Optimizely has a large range of features that we are still learning, but we have found it great for true site testing. Its multivariate test options are vastly superior to many of its competitors. The segmentation is great for businesses that would want to delve into the realm of personalization and need to test scenarios. We have also found it helpful for testing experiences across device types.
Read Lisa Pinto-Hendron's full review
Abel Ramos profile photo
August 21, 2015

Review: "Taking the next step in your online business using Optimizely"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

A few key questions would be:
What level of support do they offer?
What ROI will this tool help us achieve?
What business needs will this help us solve now and in the future?
How will this tool impact my current website architecture?
How easy is this tool to use and what level of technical knowhow will our user need to have to be able to use?
How easy is it see the results of my test and be able to interpret these results into actionable items?
How does this tool integrate with other tools in my Marketing stack?

Read Abel Ramos's full review
Chad Wales profile photo
August 05, 2015

User Review: "Why we chose Optimizely"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Optimizely is a great tool that lets you easily set up A/B tests. The learning curve is rather small and they have a great resource / training section that will allow you to be brought up to speed quickly. I've used multiple A/B testing platforms and Optimizely is by-far the most user friendly tool. When we did our POC for purchasing an A/B testing platform this was a huge deciding factor.
Read Chad Wales's full review
David Shaw profile photo
August 03, 2015

Review: "Optimizely Should Be Your Testing Software of Choice!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a website that generates revenue then you should be using it. It is likely best suited to eCommerce websites or for businesses who have highly trafficked landing pages as that will allow you to get a lot of data into the system a lot quicker and have results in a shorter period of time.
Read David Shaw's full review
John Freeborn profile photo
July 31, 2015

Review: "Optimizely is A/B testing for Marketers (not just code-heads)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you don't have A/B testing tools in your systems then Optimizely is a great, easy to use tool. If you lack IT resources to experiment or iterate than here's a way to do that on your own. For my company, one of the key issues was finding the time and resources internally to make the best use of Optimizely. I had other responsibilities. We ended up hiring an A/B testing partner to kickstart our testing program. This was a huge help.
Read John Freeborn's full review
Alek Toumert profile photo
August 26, 2015

User Review: "Optimizely > All Else"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ask about integration with current analytics toolset.
Read Alek Toumert's full review

About Optimizely

Optimizely is a website optimization platform, providing A/B and multivariate testing. It enables users with and without technical expertise to make dynamic changes to their websites, test the variations to live traffic and gather immediate results.
Categories:  A/B Testing

Optimizely Integrations

Optimizely Competitors