TrustRadius
ADP SmartCompliance is a tax and regulatory compliance platform for midsize or larger companies using an ERP or non-ADP platform for HR and HRMS services.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/LA/ek/9OFGG7V2RMT6.PNGDon't hesitate - Go with ADP SmartCompliance!ADP SMartCompliance is used by the Payroll Department to distribute and report our Tax filings, Tax payments, Wage Payments (both FSDD and Checks) and to distribute our garnishment payments. We are a small payroll department and process payroll in house using Workday, but prefer to outsource the tax filings, wage payments and garnishments. We previously used another partner for these tasks and were very dissatisfied with their services.,Workday,SmartCompliance captures all the payroll data in one location and makes it easy to access. SmartCompliance allows us to run reports when we need them. We can upload our periodic, quarterly and annual data and quickly extract reports to review for accuracy before the filing deadlines, which allows us to correct any issues without tax penalties, etc. SmartCompliance makes it so easy to generate tax amendments when needed. The system stores all the employee data and has a process that is very easy to update wages and/or taxes as needed for correction. The system quickly generates the amendment files and provides reports to review for processing with tax agencies. It used to take months to get an amendment processed with our previous partners. We can update tax rate changes, such as SUI rates, ourselves, as we received them without having to use a ticketing system that require monitoring for processing. We can quickly and easily update tax agency notices, which allows for very quick response time by ADP to any issues.,In the area of quarterly filings, it takes a bit of experience to understand all the reports generated and in which order we should review or use the reports. Laying them out in a organized way that we could quickly go down the list of priority would be very helpful. Occasionally, I need to add a comment to a tax notice that has been submitted and it seems to be locked for commenting. It would be helpful to be able to add information after a tax notice has been submitted.,10,We are able to keep our staff at a minimal level while still providing top notch payroll services. We can utilize an in-house payroll system while partnering with ADP for the tax payments/filings, wage and garnishment payments, and trust that ADP is on top of tax and other regulatory changes. We can get those occasional amendments processed very quickly to avoid further penalties and interest. The process is so simple with SmartCompliance as compared to years ago when you had to send file information and wait for it to be assigned, and then wait some more for it to be created.ADP SmartCompliance is fast, easy, and accurate for payroll tax.We use ADP SmartCompliance for Payroll Tax and Garnishments, and only by the payroll department. We did garnishments manually, and payroll tax utilized Master Tax prior to ADP. ADP is less work and more accurate than Master Tax.,I'm not sure,Taxes are paid to the correct agency, on time. Payroll Tax notices are less work and resolved timely. Annual reconciliations are done with little or no effort.,The local tax for Jefferson County KY. School District should have it's own stand-alone code to better match our payroll system. Some tax notices are mislabeled, a notice for Attalla, AL was labeled as Federal. To resolve Quarter issues/errors the website makes you start from the beginning for each company, it should allow you to just keep working on the following issues without making you start from the beginning after each issue is resolved.,10,It takes fewer employees and is more accurate than anything we have used in the past. Changes are easy to spot and apply to internal systems if needed. ADP will only do what you tell them to do, no more and no less. Someone needs to watch and make sure the communication is clear and precise so that everything is done correctly.,8,3,Payroll Tax Garnishments,Learning Track tax notices,I don't know,10,Microsoft Office 365, Infor BI,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,I would do it all the same,Paychex Flex,Implemented in-house,correct mapping of tax codes correct format of account numbers,9,9,No,no - fully meet expectations, but nothing extraordinary,Periodic files and daily tax deposits tax notices,Quarter files,9ADP SmartCompliance is a very useful tool!The payroll department uses SmartCompliance for tax issues and reporting, wage garnishment and payments. It allows us access to data/reports when needed. We also use the system to upload agency notices for taxes and garnishments. Prior to SmartCompliance, we had to request this data individually from ADP which was not as efficient.,None,The system is easy to navigate. Having the ability to easily access your associate's garnishment notices, answer forms, etc., allows us to provide better customer service. Being able to download quarterly & annual tax reports from SmartCompliance is very efficient.,Having quarterly/annual filing information available more timely would be useful. Being able to communicate with ADP tax experts through SmartCompliance would be a great tool. Being able to communicate with ADP garnishment experts through SmartCompliance would be a great tool.,8,SmartCompliance allows us access to our employee garnishment related documents. SmartCompliance allows us access to our company tax related documents. SmartCompliance allows us to easily upload documents to ADP for review/resolution.We depend on Smart Compliance all the way!SmartCompliance is used by the payroll department. It allows us to transmit our payroll files on a weekly, semi-monthly and monthly basis. Prior to SmartCompliance, we used ADP and whatever system they offered for this information, I believe it was our account managers that provided the data. We have been with ADP about 29 plus years.,Peoplesoft,The information is available almost immediately. Allows you to utilize your data in more than one way even those you never thought to have access to such as graphs. It captures all activity you provided and displays it in several different ways. It allows you as an employer to track data that is important to ensure has been handled such as agency notieces.,It would be nice to locate tutorials on how to use SmartCompliance navigation for example. It would be nice to have access to reports for longer than 90 days if needed without having to involve the acct manager. I would like to see more self-service handouts regarding the tools offered by ADP.,10,ADP has only provided positive impact as it's the system we use to ensure our reports are available timely and accurately.ADP SmartCompliance makes reconciling and filing payroll taxes a breeze.ADP SmartCompliance is utilized by payroll to deposit and file all payroll related taxes. It allows us to outsource our tax filing with the ability to reconcile, audit, and approve final filings. Previously, taxes were outsourced to another provider without the online capability for reconciling and reviewing all data. ADP makes compliance and audit very easy.,Workday,Customer Service Reporting Record Retention,Better confirmation of each deposit with individual agencies.,10,ADP makes our tax filing and reconciliation process very easy. It takes a minimal amount of time to reconcile and file payroll taxes.
Unspecified
ADP SmartCompliance
83 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

ADP SmartCompliance Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

ADP SmartCompliance
83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 83 vetted ADP SmartCompliance reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 36)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Gina Dye profile photo
September 26, 2018

Review: "Don't hesitate - Go with ADP SmartCompliance!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ADP SMartCompliance is used by the Payroll Department to distribute and report our Tax filings, Tax payments, Wage Payments (both FSDD and Checks) and to distribute our garnishment payments. We are a small payroll department and process payroll in house using Workday, but prefer to outsource the tax filings, wage payments and garnishments. We previously used another partner for these tasks and were very dissatisfied with their services.
  • SmartCompliance captures all the payroll data in one location and makes it easy to access.
  • SmartCompliance allows us to run reports when we need them. We can upload our periodic, quarterly and annual data and quickly extract reports to review for accuracy before the filing deadlines, which allows us to correct any issues without tax penalties, etc.
  • SmartCompliance makes it so easy to generate tax amendments when needed. The system stores all the employee data and has a process that is very easy to update wages and/or taxes as needed for correction. The system quickly generates the amendment files and provides reports to review for processing with tax agencies. It used to take months to get an amendment processed with our previous partners.
  • We can update tax rate changes, such as SUI rates, ourselves, as we received them without having to use a ticketing system that require monitoring for processing. We can quickly and easily update tax agency notices, which allows for very quick response time by ADP to any issues.
  • In the area of quarterly filings, it takes a bit of experience to understand all the reports generated and in which order we should review or use the reports. Laying them out in a organized way that we could quickly go down the list of priority would be very helpful.
  • Occasionally, I need to add a comment to a tax notice that has been submitted and it seems to be locked for commenting. It would be helpful to be able to add information after a tax notice has been submitted.
I believe ADP SmartCompliance is well suited for any organization that has implemented an HRIS system, such as Workday, but do not want to fully be responsible for the tax filings. I also feel it is very well suited to organizations such as ours that have employees in almost all 50 states. This helps to keep our payroll department staff at a minimum knowing we can rely on the cooperation between the Workday and the ADP SmartCompliance system. I think the only way I would not think SmartCompliance would be helpful would be with a very small company that would prefer to fully outsource their payroll process.
Read Gina Dye's full review
Mitch Norby profile photo
November 20, 2018

"ADP SmartCompliance is fast, easy, and accurate for payroll tax."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ADP SmartCompliance for Payroll Tax and Garnishments, and only by the payroll department. We did garnishments manually, and payroll tax utilized Master Tax prior to ADP. ADP is less work and more accurate than Master Tax.
  • Taxes are paid to the correct agency, on time.
  • Payroll Tax notices are less work and resolved timely.
  • Annual reconciliations are done with little or no effort.
  • The local tax for Jefferson County KY. School District should have it's own stand-alone code to better match our payroll system.
  • Some tax notices are mislabeled, a notice for Attalla, AL was labeled as Federal.
  • To resolve Quarter issues/errors the website makes you start from the beginning for each company, it should allow you to just keep working on the following issues without making you start from the beginning after each issue is resolved.
For a large company Payroll Tax is much easier with SmartCompliance. Once the set up is done then everything can be uploaded to the website, and everything is on autopilot after that. Our garnishment team has some trouble with the system, but I don't do garnishments so I don't know why or what the problem is.
Read Mitch Norby's full review
Marissa Johnson profile photo
November 17, 2018

Review: "ADP SmartCompliance is a very useful tool!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The payroll department uses SmartCompliance for tax issues and reporting, wage garnishment and payments. It allows us access to data/reports when needed. We also use the system to upload agency notices for taxes and garnishments. Prior to SmartCompliance, we had to request this data individually from ADP which was not as efficient.
  • The system is easy to navigate.
  • Having the ability to easily access your associate's garnishment notices, answer forms, etc., allows us to provide better customer service.
  • Being able to download quarterly & annual tax reports from SmartCompliance is very efficient.
  • Having quarterly/annual filing information available more timely would be useful.
  • Being able to communicate with ADP tax experts through SmartCompliance would be a great tool.
  • Being able to communicate with ADP garnishment experts through SmartCompliance would be a great tool.
This tool is very efficient & useful. I would recommend ADP clients take advantage of the tool.
Read Marissa Johnson's full review
Evelyn E. Bozeman profile photo
October 31, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "We depend on Smart Compliance all the way!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SmartCompliance is used by the payroll department. It allows us to transmit our payroll files on a weekly, semi-monthly and monthly basis. Prior to SmartCompliance, we used ADP and whatever system they offered for this information, I believe it was our account managers that provided the data. We have been with ADP about 29 plus years.
  • The information is available almost immediately.
  • Allows you to utilize your data in more than one way even those you never thought to have access to such as graphs.
  • It captures all activity you provided and displays it in several different ways.
  • It allows you as an employer to track data that is important to ensure has been handled such as agency notieces.
  • It would be nice to locate tutorials on how to use SmartCompliance navigation for example.
  • It would be nice to have access to reports for longer than 90 days if needed without having to involve the acct manager.
  • I would like to see more self-service handouts regarding the tools offered by ADP.
  • Best suited - Easy to understand and user-friendly and fast.
  • Less suited - Navigation of what is available seems to be hidden and not front and center.
Read Evelyn E. Bozeman's full review
Paul Barnes, CPP profile photo
October 30, 2018

Review: "ADP SmartCompliance makes reconciling and filing payroll taxes a breeze."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ADP SmartCompliance is utilized by payroll to deposit and file all payroll related taxes. It allows us to outsource our tax filing with the ability to reconcile, audit, and approve final filings. Previously, taxes were outsourced to another provider without the online capability for reconciling and reviewing all data. ADP makes compliance and audit very easy.
  • Customer Service
  • Reporting
  • Record Retention
  • Better confirmation of each deposit with individual agencies.
ADP SmartCompliance is an excellent choice for outsourcing taxes with a system such as Workday.
Read Paul Barnes, CPP's full review
Larry Roepke profile photo
October 30, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "Partnering for Better Business!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ADP for the Tax Credit Services. ADP has been an excellent partner in helping us maximize the tax credit opportunities. All of our locations are accessing the software to capture the required data to make this program successful. Previously, we were utilizing another provider for these services. This new process is more efficient and successful.
  • ADP has integrated with Avionte which simplifies our processes.
  • ADP reports keep us informed of our credits and opportunities.
  • ADP works with us to help design the internal processes to maximize the credit opportunities in an efficient manner.
  • The transition to ADP could have been smoother.
  • Our initial setup was not as efficient as it could have been.
  • I was left out of important communications in the beginning.
ADP is certainly well suited for capturing Tax Credits. We also use Global Cash Card and I believe they have been acquired by ADP. Global Cash Card has been a very trusted organization for offering cash cards.
Read Larry Roepke's full review
Dieter Gable profile photo
November 13, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "Not using ADP means you enjoy having things be more difficult and wasting money....."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ADP SmartCompliance for the research & development aspects of our operations and the associated tax credit programs. Prior to ADP's involvement we had not made use of those benefits. Now we are aware of the program and use ADP across the entire organization. As a result of our positive experience in this area we have expanded the use of ADP into other areas.
  • The process was well described and the interactions were well structured.
  • The focus was on making sure that there was efficient use of resources (including key personnel) as it related to gathering data and interviews.
  • Overall the results exceeded our expectations (and we set some reasonably high expectations).
  • No suggestions at this time (and we otherwise seem to always have suggestions)
We have recommended ADP SmartCompliance to other companies with complex operations and R&D activities. Clearly it is well suited for companies of a reasonable size in order to make use of the capabilities and outcomes.
Read Dieter Gable's full review
Jennifer Mrumlinski profile photo
October 17, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "WOTC is an Easy Program with a Big Financial Impact"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SmartCompliance to track garnishment services, WOTC, tax notices, review data for quarter and year end.
  • WOTC is easy to use, navigate and easy for our prospective employees to navigate. We can track our progress in ADP Smartcompliance.
  • Smartcompliance makes it easy to see what is occurring with our accounts.
  • Smartcompliance allows our company to see what we are responsible for financially.
  • The administration piece is easy but just another step in ADP's ever complicated setup for users.
WOTC is well suited for large companies with a high volume of applicants and onboarding. You can obtain tax credits for hiring individuals that fall within a certain category without knowing or doing much work!
Read Jennifer Mrumlinski's full review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

"ADP SmartCompliance Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use SmartCompliance to upload tax notices, issue stop payments on checks, and also to check and see if checks have been cashed or not. I don't believe it is being used across the whole organization. Prior to ADP SmartCompliance, we were using Ultimate software to address these issues.
  • You can tell if a check has been cashed
  • Stopping payment on a check
  • Uploading tax notices
  • N/A
SmartCompliance is well suited for payroll and checking to see if checks have been cashed or to stop payment on checks. It is convenient to upload tax notices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "Occasional frustration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A file is submitted to ADP for them to process the employment taxes.
  • They pay the employment taxes in a timely manner.
  • Make it easier to find the quarterly tax files to printout, but I think they just did this with the last qusrter.
I had some unresponsive reps in the past, but the current rep is much better and I feel she is there to help me when needed. The other thing is how to get hold of the rep. I just can't pick up the phone and talk to them. I found the best way to get hold of someone is to send an e-mail.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "WOTC Wonder"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ADP SmartCompliance system for our lower level employees within the restaurants. We submit information for the WOTC program. It streamlines the WOTC system and allows us to avoid filling out 8850 forms by hand.
  • Streamline the WOTC process
  • When you call in employee info for the WOTC program, the wait times are terrible.
  • I'd like to see an app or web module version implemented.
It works well for the WOTC program in an industry that hires large amounts of blue-collar workers and needs a fast way to make sure that we get all the Tax credits that we need.
Read this authenticated review
Vanessa Anderson profile photo
June 05, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "TRY ADP THEY ARE THE BEST AT PAYROLL PROCESSING"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company just converted from Ultipro to implementing Kronos Workforce as our payroll processing software and we use ADP as our third-party provider for check distribution, garn and wage payments. ADP Smart Compliance is being used to avoid exceptions and provide accurate quarterly tax payments. ADP addressed our wage garn issue, for example, we acquired a new company and failed to set up garnishments for this new company and ADP was able to rectify the issue and add wage payment immediately and provided a lump sum check to the creditors; which keep us in payroll deduction compliance :)
  • ADP PROVIDES A VERY WELL KNOWLEDGABLE STAFF TO ADDRESS ANY ISSUE YOU MAY ENCOUNTER
  • ADP ARE CONCERNED ABOUT HOW YOU FEEL AS A USER OF THEIR SERVICES AND ALWAYS OPEN TO LEARN WHAT THEY CAN DO BETTER
  • ADP DEFINITELY WILL SEE ANY ISSUE THRU O THE END; GREAT FOLLOW UP SKILLS
  • I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ADP ADDRESS DEALING DIRECTLY WITH THE COMPANY PREFERRENCES; AND NOT USE GENERAL GENERIC METHODS. WE KNOW ADP CAN PROGRAM TO YOUR COMPANY SPECIFIC NEEDS, BUT IT WOULD BE NICE IF CERTAIN ISSUES COULD BE USED ON A CUSTOMIZE BASIS. EXAMPLE RETRO PAY CALCULATOR PAID AS A SEPARATE CHECK AND STILL GENERATE INTO BATCHES FOR PAYMENT PROCESSING.
  • I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ADP PROVIDE MY TRAINING TO UNDERSTAND THEIR REPORT STRUCTURE AND HOW TO TRULY USE THIR ADP COMPLIANCE FULLY. THEY HAVE PROVIDED 2017 SOARS TRAINING BUT I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A MORE OF A ONE ON ONE COMPANY BASIS TRAINING.
  • ADP CAN HELP WHEN IT COME TO CLIENTS REACHING REPS IN A MORE TIMELY MANNER THE ACCT MANAGER USUALLY DOES GET BACK TO YOU BUT NOT ALWAYS THAT SOON.
I LOVE ADP; ALL COMPANIES HAVE ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENTS
Read Vanessa Anderson's full review
Leticia Alvarez, CPP profile photo
May 25, 2018

Review: "ADP SmartCompliance... I am so glad we switched!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the only payroll person at our company. We switched to ADP SmartCompliance from OSV in Q1 of 2017. We use ADP for Payroll Tax and Wage Payments.
  • ADP SmartCompliance is great in that it provides all the reporting and info that you need in one spot and in an organized manner.
  • I like that ADP SmartCompliance allows you to upload agency notices and track the process of where it is at.
  • ADP allows the user to update tax rates an new states easily and quickly.
  • It would be great to have How To guides more easily accessible. (maybe within the sections that they pertain to). For example, a how-to guide on how to add a new state to the within the set up the screen.
  • I think that being able to download the quarterly tax filings that ADP filed on our behalf are missing. We do not know what was submitted directly to the agencies.
  • A built-in Quarter end / Year end checklist or workflow that is directly in ADP SC would be great. Currently, I reference a spreadsheet that is outside of ADP SC to ensure that I have checked the necessary reports and reconciled. If this could be a step by step task (with the due dates) within ADP SC and if you could mark it complete within the system instead of having to scan and fax the sign off sheet for the quarter... that would be great and would help keep me on track.
  • Reminders within ADP SC that would let me know when it was time to submit my Monthly file for Illinois would be great. I currently have a calendar reminder to remind me to send the monthly integration file.
ADP SmartCompliance is great at making sure that all the necessary information is where it needs to be.
Read Leticia Alvarez, CPP's full review
Hilda Marquez profile photo
April 10, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "ADP - lessen your load"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ADP SmartCompliance is being used by two companies within our organization to file and pay payroll taxes. Payrolls are processed within the organization twice a week Wednesday for Friday pay dates and Thursday for Monday pay dates. ADP SmartCompliance is also used to submit quarterly filing. All the functions supplied by ADP SmartCompliance were done manually prior to using ADP.
  • Provides a Tax Summary
  • Timely filing and paying of taxes
  • Research of agency notices
  • Welcome any improvement.
  • Can't identify any missing functionality.
  • Have no suggestion on doing things different.
ADP SmartCompliance is well suited when it comes to providing a Tax Summary. The ADP 'SmartCompliance portal is user-friendly and lets you know if you need to work and tasks or are in great shape. It also has a good notice of notifications and lets you know when something needs to be resolved.
Read Hilda Marquez's full review
Melissa Carter profile photo
March 22, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "Smart Compliance and Payroll Processing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using SmartCompliance for Payroll functions only, but the possibility of moving Accounting items over in 2019. We rolled out with ADP product services in May 2016, beginning with Aline cards and Wage Payments and adding the Tax and Garnishment modules in June 2016. Using the Aline and Wage Payment services have allowed us to be on a 100% electronic payment model since August of 2016 - prior to that we were an approximate 60/40 mix of paper pay checks and direct deposits, requiring us to have manual checkbooks in each of our facility locations to cut payment for terminations or other immediate payment needs. Adding the Tax and Garnishment modules allowed us to reallocate headcount that went to manually entering and tracking all employee garnishments and tax liability invoices into other functional responsibilities.
  • SmartCompliance is exceptionally user friendly, it does not require a lot of technical skill or training to navigate and leverage the site.
  • ADP's client support staff is some of the best I've worked with over my career. They are generally very responsive and quick to identify and resolve client issues and concerns.
  • They have moved to a point where the majority of the client services offered are all on one unified site - rather than having to navigate to multiple sites to perform multiple functions
  • Some of the SmartCompliance modules (i.e. Aline) are fairly new, thus can be a little buggy in the initial usage. Items like historical data from the prior PAT system are slow to move over, meaning multiple log ins are still needed to access history
  • Customer Service support is great, but sometimes it can be difficult to get Technical Support involved to assist with things like troubleshooting data integration issues or site specifications to build/improve data flow.
SmartCompliance is extremely helpful for business tax filing and reporting - contracting with ADP has allowed us as an organization to focus energies on other functional areas instead of worrying about recruiting or retaining employees with strong tax backgrounds who can be ahead of the game on any compliance changes. ADP's team is always well informed and stays abreast of changes within the codes that might slip through the cracks with independent research. For smaller businesses with lower employee counts, the Aline pay cards or Garnishment maintenance might not be as necessary from a compliance or process improvement standpoint.
Read Melissa Carter's full review
Ramona Fenner profile photo
April 13, 2018

User Review: "ADP SmartCompliance is a time saver!!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ASP Smart compliance to handle all of our employment tax and W2 processing.
  • It handles the processing and reporting all of the employment taxes to the Federal; , state and local agencies.
  • Using ADP to process employment taxes and W2 processing together makes the Year End process uncomplicated.
  • Smart compliance also makes mapping jurisdictions very simple.
  • Once a jurisdiction is mapped it should be mapped across all payrolls.You have to repeat the process too many times.
  • If there are problems with smart compliance being down a notification to inform users that there is an issue via email.
  • The display of smart compliance is not easyto see most of the text is located at the bottom of the page which makes it hard to locate and view important information.
It well suited for employment tax and sending file transfers.
Read Ramona Fenner's full review
Melissa Cypher profile photo
April 04, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "ADP Smart Compliance is a Smart Choice!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ADP Smart Compliance to manage our tax filings and report on what we've submitted per our payroll processes in Workday. We also use it to manage our ACH deposits made to employees (wage payments).

We were an ADP Payroll client prior to moving over to just tax and wage payments in 2015, but the ADP Smart Compliance portal has improved greatly since our implementation on this platform in 2015. We have more reports and tools available than we did as an ADP Payroll client prior to 2015.

It allows us to report our taxes and balance to our current payroll system, and resolve issues with more accuracy than we may have before. It provides good overall tax reports that allow us to show management where we stand with certain tax issues.
  • ADP Smart Compliance provides real-time tools to see your tax deposits, filings, and amendment files.
  • ADP Smart Compliance allows different options of updating information (tax input, amendment files, integration (manual and automatic)
  • ADP Smart Compliance has user-friendly reporting tools.
  • It would be great if more options could be provided between Workday integration and ADP Smart Compliance (Amendment processing and tracking)
  • I would like to see ADP Smart Compliance with real-time communication between client and ADP - perhaps a chat feature, for questions that clients may have and need answered without calling or waiting on their representative.
  • ADP Smart Compliance could improve by merging the W2 PSS process into Smart Compliance so it can be handled on one site.
  • I would like to see our Case Management with our ADP Reps integrated into Smart Compliance
  • I would like to see a report for ADP Smart Compliance that pulls just the 941X returns filed (we have amendment reporting, but that can get cumbersome if going through an audit and just wanting to select all 941/941X returns filed for a period of time)
ADP Smart Compliance is a great resource and tool for ERP or HRIS customers using other systems, to get a true snapshot of their tax filing and responsibilities.
Read Melissa Cypher's full review
Angie Almand profile photo
March 23, 2018

User Review: "ADP SmartCompliance - 100% Awesome"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ADP SmartCompliance is being used by the human resources department at SAGU. We are using this company for our employer taxes. We were paying our taxes ourselves and filing everything that needed to be filed out of our office on campus.
  • ADP SmartCompliance takes care of their clients. They are always reaching out to us to see if we need to discuss anything and making sure that we do not have unanswered issues.
  • If an email or phone message is sent to ADP, they are very quick to respond and get with us. They definitely want their clients satisfied.
  • What I use ADP for is working perfectly for me. I complete my processes and send them on to ADP and they do the rest. I have no items to add to an improvement list at this time.
ADP is very well suited for our company. We are not tiny but we are not large and ADP has a select group that works with us. We know our people's names and we know who we would call specifically for a question or issue to be resolved.
Read Angie Almand's full review
Michelle Gagnon profile photo
March 22, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "SmartCompliance makes my life easier"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SmartCompliance is used solely by the finance department. We converted to SmartCompliance in 2014 and use it for tax filings, quarterly/yearly reporting, and W2s. We used to use the ADP full-service product for 20+ years. We went out to bid on an integrated HR/Payroll software. SmartCompliance has been a good solid reliable product for VSAC.
  • Ease of upload - It is very easy to upload tax files in SmartCompliance.
  • Reporting - The reporting is robust for either periodic or quarterly reporting as well as year end.
  • Exception resolution - I receive an email if there is an exception that would prevent tax filings.
  • I would like to be able to upload wage payments into SmartCompliance. One stop shopping.
  • Ability to reset a user's password.
  • I would like to see more instruction on how to set up a jurisdiction. I found setting up a new state to be confusing and it did not set up the jurisdiction correctly. I needed my account manager to walk me through.
SmartCompliance is a solid and reliable product. We have less than 200 employees and the pricing is appropriate and the customer service is great. We use a non-ADP HR/Payroll system and it would be nice to have our wage payments and tax filing integrated with our HRIS software.
Read Michelle Gagnon's full review
Michelle Shepperd profile photo
April 15, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "Getting Smart with SmartCompliance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Payroll Department uses SmartCompliance to validate garnishments, taxes, wage payments. This is an easy access all inclusive site for the organization.
  • Direct Deposit
  • Taxes
  • Garnishments
  • Year-end communications
Our new garnishments module is wonderful.
Read Michelle Shepperd's full review
Janet Maples profile photo
April 13, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "Smart Compliance Fits the Bill"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday for payroll processing and Smart Compliance for tax filing, W-2's and wage payment. Prior to Workday we were using ADP PCPW. Choosing ADP meant we continued with a proven track record for compliance. They also offered the best pricing. The bad always in part of Smart Compliance has been a constant turnover of service representatives, not always a smooth transition, and not always knowledgeable or helpful representatives. They are hit and miss. The site also has some glitches. My notifications icon doesn't show, it's there you just can't see it. I reported it to no avail. Also, the site isn't always intuitive.
  • Timely wage payments
  • Timely tax filing
  • Accurate W-2's
  • Knowledgable service reps and less transition
  • Glitch free system
Integrates well with Workday
Read Janet Maples's full review
Ruth Roberts, PHR profile photo
April 06, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance: "Employment Tax Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ADP for employment taxes in the Human Resources Office. We were handling the paying of employment taxes in house prior to going with ADP.
  • The SmartComplaince website is user-friendly. I don't access it every day but when I do go in I can find what I need quickly.
  • Our university hires adjunct instructors in multiple states. I originally choose ADP over another option I was considering because at that time ADP would complete the registration in a new state for state income taxes. I now have to complete that registration myself.
Read Ruth Roberts, PHR's full review
Carl Walton profile photo
April 05, 2018

"ADP SmartCompliance Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ADP SmartCompliance is used by the Payroll Director to confirm our Tax deposits with ADP and review our Quarterly Reports. It is also used to process any Amendments. when necessary. It is extremely useful in setting up new tax Jurisdictions and checking our Tax deposits and processing our monthly and quarterly reports.
  • Amendments. These can be processed directly with SmartCompliance
  • Tax Reporting. We are able to receive copies of our Quarterly and annual reports on demand.
  • Tax Resources. Links to other ADP Resources.
  • Improved downloading to Excel
ADP SmartCompliance is well suited for Tax Input and amendments. It also has other functionality that we are not currently using, such as Wage Garnishments. It also has the ability to set up different users with Custom permissions. This is extremely helpful when you have different users but do not want all users to have the same access rights.
Read Carl Walton's full review
Patti Maher profile photo
April 04, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "Easy to use."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for Garnishment Files, Stopping payments, and Withholding Taxes. It is being used by the payroll department. I see no problems because it can be used by all that we have set up. We used a fax machine prior to this, and now we have immediate verification when an item is voided. I have access to garnishments when they come in from other areas.
  • Void checks & deposits
  • New garnishment uploaded
  • Transfer files between ADP & SAP.
  • Items not processed - i have to go looking for them. Maybe a download report with those items.
I like that I can create access easily for a colleague.
Read Patti Maher's full review
Chris Bellian profile photo
April 03, 2018

ADP SmartCompliance Review: "ADP Tracker"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ADP SmartCompliance is used to process our withholding taxes, garnishments, and Aline debit cards. It is used across our entire organization. It processes the payments on our behalf for withholding tax and garnishments. The Aline card allows a direct deposit for employees that do not have a banking relationship. Taxes were processed in-house prior to ADP SmartCompliance.
  • Reporting is done particularly well. Reports are always easy to read and understand.
  • Aline debit cards are easy to order on behalf of employees. If there is every a question, customer service actually solves the problem.
  • The tax summary report was just eliminated. I miss it. Now I have to run a report. That takes more of my time.
  • If anything is just a bit different than the norm, the system does not know how to handle. There needs to be more flexibility.
ADP SmartCompliance is best suited for scenarios that are always the same.
Read Chris Bellian's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (1)
9.1
Benefit plan administration (1)
9.1
Direct deposit files (1)
9.1
Salary revision and increment management (1)
9.1
Reimbursement management (2)
8.6

About ADP SmartCompliance

Compliance-as-a-Service solution that integrates with both ADP and non-ADP payroll, applicant tracking and other HR systems. It helps reduce the burden of and maintain compliance of processes such as employment tax, wage garnishment, paycards, tax credits, unemployment claims and employment verification.

It is a combination of integrated, enabling technology and service from compliance experts who manage many of the workforce compliance-related tasks required of employers while providing transparency throughout so you know what ADP is doing for you. The modular offering allows companies to enable the workforce compliance processes they need and then add and scale as their business or the regulatory environment changes.

ADP SmartCompliance Features

Has featureIntegrates with both ADP and non-ADP payroll/HR systems
Has featureModular architecture
Has featureCloud-based technology

ADP SmartCompliance Integrations

ADP SmartCompliance Competitors

OneSource Virtual, Equifax, Ceridian

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Pricing varies based upon modules deployed and features enabled.

ADP SmartCompliance Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Virtual User Conference

ADP SmartCompliance Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, U.S. Territories
Supported Languages: English