Birst Reviews

183 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 68)

Marci Augustine | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2019

Solid tool with opportunites to become even better.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Birst provide a much better web UI and end user experience and distribution mechanism than both Tableau and SSRS. Power BI simply did not have the full complement of features that we needed at the time of our selection to be competitive and Pentaho was too custom and would have required an investment in professional services that we could not afford. SSRS is good for data dumps, but creating user friendly visualizations is not practical.

Snowflake ended up as our EDW platform, and we integrate that with Birst to provide a complete BI stack for our end users.
Read Marci Augustine's full review
Robin Filan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Birst is the best tool we found to meet our needs, but has some significant issues

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Birst was the only tool that did the following:
  • robust enough ETL for our data warehouse team
  • data would remain within our data warehouse and not within the tool's proprietary store, in case the company went out of business.
  • allow us to distribute reports within the company within their tool
  • embed reporting as iframes
  • relatively easily to build reporting
  • connect to many different kinds of data.
Read Robin Filan's full review
Tim Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Birst almost live access

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Birst is not as intuitive or flexible for cube design and aggregations as using SQL Analysis services - at times seems an odd mix between gui based, and required specific code.
Power BI is the tool of choice internally, but is limited by security settings that we need to enable to suport client access.
Tableau is unfortunately beyond our budget to provide the solution we would like to deliver.
Read Tim Welch's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Birst Review from Advertising Point of View

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Key evaluation criteria:
- Is how quickly the query runs
- The code and metadata for the database
- How user-friendly the output is
- Ability for the dashboard or output to be shared amongst the business
- The visualization tools
- Stability of the database
Birst is a good data storage system which also allows for us to create different dashboards, therefore is a good choice for holding our past buying and selling information.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2018

Birst, a data visualization tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are a few items I evaluate when looking at different tools.
  1. Price per user
  2. License price
  3. scalability
  4. Customization
  5. Embedded
  6. How data is processed
A lot of tools that provide the same functionality are quite expensive. These other tools are built for big data and large enterprises. If a mid-size or small organization needs these capabilities, they should evaluate or look at cheaper alternatives. Might not need all the functionality these tools provide.
Read this authenticated review
Sean Keesler | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2018

Birst in eLearning Sales and Ops

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Birst was better than Domo for our needs because we could get in and tinker with it. Our impression of Domo was that it had a lot of connectors and ready to go reports, but it made too many assumptions about applications we use. We customize too much to use a "ready to go" solution like that.
When we looked at Tableau, we liked its visualization capabilities, but it wasn't going to help us do the extractions, ETL, and warehousing of data. It may have come some distance since then.
Read Sean Keesler's full review
Krishnakumar Govindhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2018

Birst for all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use other BI tools within the organization. These tools have been there before we got BIRST and while comparing, BIRST did score well against these tools but the migration cost to convert existing reports/data prevented us from replacing those tools with BIRST.
Read Krishnakumar Govindhan's full review
Rohit Acharya | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2018

Birst debunked.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Birst lacks external modular components power bi has currently. New custom visuals, charts, statistical models created by third party vendors can be added to existing dashboard and enhanced.
  • Birst lacks interactive dashboard functionality and external inputs.
  • Powerbi and Tableau have better CGI and rendering
  • Both Powerbi and Tableau when have good backend infrastructure are very scalable solutions
  • Birst lacks multiple external source intergration in comparison to th
  • Birst has its own backend and as a result the company need not worry about the back end infrastructure. both power bi and Tableau lacks backend.
  • Birst is good at canned reporting and emailing compared to other products
Read Rohit Acharya's full review
Josh Beam | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2018

HarvestBI - Leveraging Birst to Improve an Industry

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The primary differentiator with Birst is its scalability. Every other system we have developed or reviewed is either very strong in a single focus or requires a large team to manage to deploy over multiple, diverse customers. We have been able to accomplish more successfully and more quickly with a single developer and 2 BA's than what has historically taken multiple developers years to accomplish.
Read Josh Beam's full review
David Pearlman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Birstarific

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We compared Birst vs Tableau and Lumirra and there's no question that Birst is the best option from a cost perspective. Additionally, the ease of use complemented with our support team has allowed us to innovate on the platform quickly
Read David Pearlman's full review
Jaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Birst Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose Birst as birst Appliance and cloud versions has same set of features available. Power BI hosted on Azure cloud has competitive pricing, but Power BI report server has very limited features available and is also very expensive. Due to PHI data regulations in different countries, we needed both flavors to sell our product.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jeremy Schichor | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

The more complicated your needs, the harder it is to use Birst.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Birst's ETL is better suited to our purposes than Alooma's stream-based processing.
Birst's designer is more mature and meets or needs better than Periscope's reporting functionality, at the time I investigated it.
Read Jeremy Schichor's full review
Patrick O Leary | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

BIRST is an ok MIS product not a high performance OEM product

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The presentation that BIRST provided gave us a 3 way tie between logi analytics and information builders. The promise of deployment path, cloud-ready, simplified report building tools, accessibility capabilities and compatibility with technology we had already chosen were all drivers to the decision.
However, we found those statements were incorrect and those items were huge gaps that jeopardized our projects and required a lot of investment to solve on our side.
Read Patrick O Leary's full review
John Laws | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2018

Birst Delivers as Promised!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The ability to scale was the primary factor for our CIO's approval. The other products had solutions for scale, but Birst has the one we preferred. As an IoT company our CIO concentrates on products that will meet our requirements today and far into the future. The other products certainly have their place, but Birst fit Apex.
Read John Laws's full review
Andy Olson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2017

Nerd Crush.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We preferred to have an all-in-one cloud solution that could connect to Salesforce.com and on-premise servers. I thought the combination of ETL built into a star-schema was unmatched. QlikView could do something similar, but the resulting data file was not an enterprise grade data warehouse. The visuals are great, I have no problem with them but Tableau is probably a bit better there. Our final choice was between Birst and a combination of Tableau, Redshift, and a third party Redshift ETL. It was an easy choice for us.
Read Andy Olson's full review
Laura Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2017

Agile BI solution with great data management and customization!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Data Warehouse
Our key criteria requirements were focused around data consolidation, integration, volume, customization, and scalability. We reviewed industry related (Real Estate) and general BI solutions before deciding on Birst. For our needs, Birst outshined the competition with their cloud-based solution that allowed heavy customization and superior data management capabilities.
Read Laura Williams's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (68)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (77)
7.8
Report Formatting Templates (60)
6.7
Drill-down analysis (78)
7.0
Formatting capabilities (77)
7.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.1
Report sharing and collaboration (68)
7.4
Publish to Web (52)
8.5
Publish to PDF (67)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (66)
8.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (72)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (58)
7.5
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (70)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (68)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (69)
7.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (52)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.3

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish