Skip to main content
TrustRadius
ShipStation

ShipStation

Overview

What is ShipStation?

ShipStation is an order fulfillment and inventory management web-based shipping software designed for eCommerce businesses. It allows users to import, manage, and ship orders from multiple online selling channels while providing discounted rates and integrations with carriers like USPS, UPS,…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

ShipStation is a shipping software that offers a range of use cases to streamline and simplify the shipping process for businesses. …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$9.99

Cloud
per month

Bronze

$29.99

Cloud
per month

Silver

$59.99

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.shipstation.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $9.99 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Magento 2 Multi Vendor ShipStation Integration Plugin - Working

YouTube

MRPeasy - Setting Up and Using ShipStation

YouTube

AutoShipper for ShipStation Product Demo with Examples

YouTube

ShipStation Integration Demo for Spire ERP

YouTube

ShipStation | Demo Video

YouTube

Demo of Shopify, LOCATE Inventory Picking and ShipStation Split Shipment Functionality

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is ShipStation?

ShipStation is an order fulfillment and inventory management web-based shipping software designed for eCommerce businesses. It allows users to import, manage, and ship orders from multiple online selling channels while providing discounted rates and integrations with carriers like USPS, UPS, DHL Express, Canada Post, FedEx, Royal Mail, AUSPost, and more. ShipStation also offers workflow automation to speed up fulfillment, and branded package tracking, vital for enterprise and small businesses alike.

ShipStation Features

  • Supported: Multi-Carrier Shipping Integrations including: UPS, FedEx, USPS, DHL, and GlobalPost
  • Supported: Multi-Channel Integrations including: Shopify, Amazon, BigCommerce, and WooCommerce
  • Supported: Import and order management, label printing, customized branding, tracking, inventory management

ShipStation Competitors

ShipStation Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

ShipStation starts at $9.99.

ShipHero, Shippo, and Pirate Ship are common alternatives for ShipStation.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of ShipStation are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(80)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

ShipStation is a shipping software that offers a range of use cases to streamline and simplify the shipping process for businesses. According to users and customers, ShipStation is commonly used to manage orders from various channels and platforms, providing accurate shipping rates and efficient order management. The software integrates seamlessly with popular eCommerce platforms such as BigCommerce and Shopify, making it easier for online businesses to handle order shipping effectively. By importing orders directly from these platforms, ShipStation creates shipping labels based on customer-selected services and carrier rates, saving time and ensuring smooth operations.

Another key use case of ShipStation is its ability to handle international shipping options. With features that facilitate UPS export documentation, the software eliminates the need for duplicate entries and simplifies the process for businesses sending packages abroad. Users have reported that this functionality has made international shipping much easier and more convenient.

In addition to international shipping, ShipStation also integrates with Stamps.com to ship through USPS. This integration allows users to print postage at home, saving valuable time at the post office. The software acts as a central hub for managing sales from multiple platforms, making it an indispensable tool for businesses with diverse selling channels.

Furthermore, ShipStation provides in-house shipping management capabilities, reducing the need for a fulfillment center and keeping costs down. This feature has been particularly beneficial for small businesses looking to streamline their operations and maintain control over their shipping processes.

Despite its many advantages, some users have reported issues with USPS International Shipping and difficulties with support. However, overall feedback suggests that ShipStation has significantly improved the speed, efficiency, and organization of shipping processes in warehouses.

Overall, ShipStation offers a comprehensive solution for businesses seeking an easy-to-use platform that integrates seamlessly with various selling channels. Whether it's managing orders from different platforms, handling international shipments, or simplifying in-house shipping management, ShipStation proves to be a valuable tool for optimizing the shipping process and ensuring customer satisfaction.

Intuitive User Interface: Several users have found ShipStation's user interface to be intuitive, making tasks easy to complete. This suggests that the software offers a user-friendly design that requires minimal training or learning curve.

Helpful Customer Support: Users have praised ShipStation's customer support for being helpful and responsive. This indicates that the software provides reliable assistance when users encounter issues or have questions, enhancing their overall experience.

Seamless Integration with Multiple Sales Channels: ShipStation's ability to connect all sales from various platforms in one place has been appreciated by users. This suggests that the software seamlessly integrates with multiple sales channels, providing a centralized hub for order management.

Cons:

  1. Lack of UPS End of Day Report: Some users have expressed frustration with ShipStation's refusal to offer the UPS End of Day Report for Driver to Scan, making it difficult for them to process claims with the carrier.
  2. Customer Service Issues: Several reviewers have complained about the declining quality of customer service in the last 6-12 months, citing repeated outages and problems. They also mentioned that front-tier support lacks insight into the duration of system downtime.
  3. Inaccurate Status Page: Many users have pointed out that ShipStation's status page is inaccurate, as it shows 100% uptime even during major issues and disruptions in their services. This discrepancy has caused confusion and inconvenience for customers relying on this information.

Users commonly recommend Shipstation for its time-saving automation, streamlined process, and cost savings for small to mid-range businesses. They find the platform user-friendly and easy to implement, with various search options that enhance efficiency. Shipstation also offers affordable pricing and good integration, allowing users to access discounted UPS rates. Furthermore, reviewers suggest trying Shipstation for batch shipping, order management, and discounted rates. They recommend setting up automation to save time and find the tool especially useful for managing shipments in small and medium-sized eCommerce stores. Additionally, users appreciate Shipstation's quick and easy label creation and printing features, which make order fulfillment more efficient. Some users also mention that Shipstation offers helpful customer support and daily ease of use. Lastly, reviewers highlight that Shipstation allows for shipping through multiple carriers and the creation of custom packing slips—a valuable feature for smaller businesses or nonprofits looking for efficient package handling.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-22 of 22)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Jordan Talmor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use ShipStation to manage the outbound shipments of 25k+ orders per year. It acts as our main fulfillment system, while we use another platform for inventory management.
In my opinion, I would stay away from them completely unless they hire new staff and rebuild their software and their customer support team. It is my belief that they are unresponsive, lack knowledge, and always point their finger at someone else as the root cause of the issue, even when it ultimately comes down to what I believe is their poorly written software. I feel their software is not updated in a timely manner, so, in my experience, when Shopify makes an update , ShipStation no longer works and you are sitting waiting for 6+ months for them to actually fix it so that you can get orders out without the fear that things are not going to work.
March 07, 2023

ShipStation Review

Frank Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have used ShipStation for 4 years now. Up until the last 6-8months it worked flawlessly and was headache free. Within the last 6months I have had issues with USPS International Shipping to where I am unable to utilize USPS International shipping for letters/documents or packages. Explanations below... 1) Going back ~6months ago ShipStation started defaulting for USPS International packages to using Global Post even though USPS had been selected and Global Post was not even a carrier I had setup inside of ShipStation. I created a 'support case' and someone quickly got on the problem and resolved it and in fact due to my request completely disabled Global Post from being used with my account per my request. Then on 1/25/2023 I went to create a USPS International Package Label and all of a sudden the label created showed Global Post. I went and looked at my shipping settings and quickly saw that without my authorization Global Post services had been checked to use for USPS International Packages, even after this had supposedly been disabled for my entire acccount? After unchecking the Global Post selections and voiding the original label ShipStation still created a label using Global Post! After 5 attempts I gave up and reached out to support on 1/25/2023. To this day this has not been resolved and since originally filing the support case no one has responded since 1/30/2023 and that was simply the original person I spoke with via Chat asking if it had been resolved which I replied no; no one has even responded to the case. 2) More recently 2/25/2023 I tried sending a USPS International Letter and in creating the label ShipStation now creates a label that is not scaled correctly and no way to scale it correctly and it does not fit the address into the box area that is supposed to print. The label does not have customs information on it as it used to; secondly I could not even void the label as I had been able to in the past. Since 2/25/2023 I have explained/re-explained the issue taken pictures of 2 printed labels side by side attached PDF's of a good label vs. this bogus label that doesn't even print correctly and for 10 days not the support person can't even acknowledge that there is an issue. I have spent far too much time on ShipStation. While I may continue to use it for Fedex and US shipments I am starting testing other shipping service platforms as the support from ShipStation lately is simply unacceptable. From what I have been reading on various forums/reviews I am not the only one who has pretty much had enough with the lack of support from ShipStation.
  • Handles Fedex Shipments properly
  • Simplifies Export documents with Fedex correctly
  • Allows relatively simple connections/interface to WooCommerce, Ebay, and Amazon but I am sure other shipping software does also.
  • In my opinion, customer support is abysmal. I truly believe support people are trained to just delay, delay, delay as there are multiple times the responses I get back are essentially like the utterly useless tech questions "is your unit plugged in?"
  • In my experience, there is literally no way to contact anyone at ShipStation outside of their Support Chat/Case System. They have an email for support but it all goes to the same place.
  • Fix USPS International Shipping issues!!
ShipStation is OK if you only want to ship using Fedex or DHL or domestically. In my opinion, It simply doesn't work anymore for using USPS International shipping
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I sell my products on many platforms, and I love ShipStation because it allows me to see all of my sales from every platform all in one place. I also love that I can ship my products right through ShipStation and it automatically leaves tracking information with each sale, regardless of the platform the sale was made on.
  • Connects all of my sales from every platform in one place.
  • Allows me to re-arrange columns almost like a spreadsheet so I can put sales in order by certain columns (date/name of customer/item name, etc).
  • It's linked to my Stamps.com account so when I print postage it comes out of my Stamps.com account.
  • I have a lot of items that are similar in name, so I like that it also shows an image of each item in the order so I am sure to ship the correct items to my customers.
  • It's easy to get shipping rates for different classes or even different carriers.
  • Last year (summer?) they made some changes and I can no longer schedule a USPS pick up from my ShipStation account. I put in a ticket and they said it could be months before it is resolved, something about how this particular team only works so many days a week. Well, it has been almost a year, and still no resolution. I used to use the USPS pickup option daily through ShipStation. Now I have to go to the USPS website and log in every single day and it's frustrating.
  • I used to be able to print postage with my Rollo printer. They suddenly and without any notice said they no longer support Rollo, so now I have to download the label and print it from a PDF file for EVERY order.
  • I wish they would let me connect with my Faire account! The only account I am not able to link to ShipStation.
I do - and have - recommended them to other businesses. If they had taken care of the USPS pickup option and started supporting Rollo printers again I would have given them a 10. But a year with no resolution is unacceptable. Everything else about them is excellent. When I do have issues I'm usually able to contact someone via live chat and get it resolved. They are glitchy on occasion, but what piece of modern technology isn't.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have been using Shipstation for 6 years. Orders flow from our webstore into Shipstation. They ship via a selected carrier and Shipstation sends out the tracking emails, and sends the tracking information back to our store. Our primary use of Shipstation is for the International Shipping options. All of the UPS export documentation is easily accomplished in Shipstation without duplicate entries. All shipping is being done thru Shipstation with the exception of Truck Freight.
  • Export Documentation. HUGE timesaver over having to hand enter the export info within UPS Worldship.
  • Multi Carrier Pricing Options are easily compared.
  • WHEN it is functioning properly it works great.
  • For years users have requested UPS End of Day Report for Driver to Scan. Shipstation Refuses to offer this and it means that Claims with the carrier are next to impossible to process as there is no PROOF the carrier received your package.
  • Customer Service is Seriously Lacking within the last 6-12 months. Repeated outages, problems, and their front-tier support has no insight as to how long the system will be down. Poor Response times for even the most basic of issues such as error logs so our cart can troubleshoot from their end.
  • The Status Page is inaccurate. 5 of the last 6 times when we had major issues their status page shows as 100%. Not a reliable gauge of up-time.
Great when it works. The huge downside when it doesn't if you do not have contingency plans in place. Do not expect timely updates to issues, and you will likely never be able to speak with a human for tech support. A good option for International Shippers in that it streamlines the export documentation when it is working.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ShipStation is being used by multiple departments within our organization. Our customer service department, our CG Gear department as well as our marketing department. It addresses a seamless fulfillment process for our customers who are purchasing our gear to promote our brand out in the public.
  • Confirms shipping address to ensure accurate delivery.
  • Great partnership when needing to address any opportunities in the moment.
  • In our early days with ShipStation we experienced more discrepancies with invalid sizes being shipped to the wrong customers.
ShipStation is great for last-minute orders and communication on where our inventory stands for keeping our campers in the loop.
Darcy Knapp, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our clients love the ease of use and accuracy of shipping rates for their clients nationally. We recommend the ShipStation app for anyone with an online retail store. ShipStation is a great tool that we use for our eCommerce clients, it is easy to integrate into BigCommerce and Shopify stores to facilitate online order shipping.
  • Easy print labels.
  • Accurate shipping rates.

Clients love when their Shipstation shipping costs and postage match up for the orders. We strive to be sure that all clients have a good solution to keep their stores on track and manage postage rates. Depending on the client needs, the Shipstation app is free and integration is super easy, we always recommend a Shipstation shipping plugin to keep rates accurate and costs in line. Clients hate losing money on orders due to shipping errors, and this app keeps orders on track.

Charles Combs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ShipStation is the main shipping software for our entire business. All of our orders—from multiple channels—flow into ShipStation, which is tied to all of our carrier accounts. It is our one-stop shop when it comes to all things shipping.
  • Great USPS rates
  • Integrates with all major carriers (others don't) and e-commerce stores
  • Customizable email templates and tracking pages
  • The clean, customizable dashboard makes organizing easy
  • Custom store/marketplace integrations
  • Needs barcode scanning to help reduce picking and packing errors
  • The Products and Customers sections aren't easy to edit and require us to use workarounds
  • User permissions aren't very granular and give too much access sometimes
  • ShipStation v3 Beta hides quote options in menus now, making it harder to get quotes fast
  • Alerts are weak, not customizable and can be easily missed
ShipStation is a solid shipping software that gets the main job of importing orders, getting quotes, and shipping packages done really well.
Joshua Sutphin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Shipstation primarily in our warehouse for shipping our products. It has helped us increase the speed and efficiency of shipping.
  • Reporting.
  • Integrations.
  • Cost.
  • The quick ship feature is a nice idea but could use some improvements
It's really great for packages that are set sizes.
Mark Linkhorst | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use ShipStation as part of our BigCommerce package to help with fulfillment, create shipping labels and manage returns of products.

As a small operation, it allows us to manage our shipping in house without the need for a fulfillment center which keeps costs down. We use ShipStation and their Stamps.com integration to ship thru USPS 99% of the time.

ShipStation saves us hours at the post office with the ability to print postage at home and drop off or have picked up by our rural USPS carrier.
  • Batch Printing
  • Integration with Big Commerce
  • Provides an easy to manage fulfillment operation
  • New Beta software was hard to use, I reverted back to the older version.
  • Sometimes ShipStation fails to print the labels I want, I have to manually download them and print from outside ShipStation.
  • I primarily use Firefox for my browser but something between BigCommerce, ShipStation and Firefox doesn't play well. So for printing, I use Safari which doesn't render the same issues.
If you are a small startup or a larger enterprise operation, ShipStation can work for either scenario. It also works for sending batches of labels and orders to a fulfillment center to handle the legwork on shipping. If you don't have a Stamps.Com, UPS or FedEx account, you'll want to set one up in order to use ShipStation.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use ShipStation to ship all online orders. We have all our third-party marketplaces linked to Channel Advisor and then have Channel Advisor linked to ShipStation. Orders are imported, labels printed, and tracking sent back to the marketplaces seamlessly. We primarily use ShipStation for the online portion of our business, but occasionally we do fulfill orders for our group business through ShipStation as well. The interface is easy to understand and easy to train employees on. It makes shipping hundreds of packages daily a breeze.
  • The integrations between ShipStation, the marketplaces, and Channel Advisor are perfect and rarely have issues.
  • ShipStation automatically sends the shipment notification to the marketplace and emails the customer with tracking information which means we never have to worry if our customers are receiving that info.
  • The tracking portal for custom websites is absolutely great. We've branded it to match our e-commerce store and it provides access for our buyers to real-time tracking updates.
  • Making the Aliases importable via CSV would be a huge help. Currently, we have to add each one manually and we even had to develop a BOT that would add thousands over the course of hours, but that process is still time-consuming and nowhere near perfect. If this could be solved by allowing Aliases to be uploaded via CSV that would be lovely.
  • The product information area could be improved upon, maybe adding more fields so you can have as much product info in ShipStaion as possible. Also making any new data fields importable would be great.
I absolutely love the ShipStation software. You can set it up to fit your business needs and process flow perfectly. With the tags, we can easily identify which warehouse a product needs to be fulfilled from. Also with tags, we can separate the different types of orders, such as dropship.
Vivian Vassar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used ShipStation to ship all of our packages from multiple online marketplaces and our own website We also used it to track packages and check that all order were delivered. If an order encountered a delivery problem we could see by the icon on ShipStation and then follow up with USPS.
  • ShipStation makes it easy to check that packages are delivered by showing the delivery status.
  • ShipStation has preset postage options that were easy to set up and made it quicker to process orders.
  • They responded quickly to system problems - good customer service and dependable up time.
  • When we wanted to check on the cost of all available shipping services for a package we had to open a new window which was a bit awkward. We would have to pop back and forth.
  • Setting up a new shipping company had several steps that we would need help with. But once it was done it was done.
ShipStation is dependable, with very little downtime. Occasionally USPS would be offline but ShipStation would post updates so we felt we were kept informed and could decide if we needed to use alternate shipping or not. ShipStation help section is clear and concise. We used that to trouble shoot and were often able to figure out answers ourselves.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used for all of our order processing and shipping across all selling channels. It is used across the whole organization and it addressing syncing and managing shipping across different selling platforms and brings them all into one interface.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Powerful Features
  • Supports more marketplaces and apps
  • Better discounted shipping rates for carriers
In my opinion, it's a must-have for multi-channel eCommerce businesses that sell on several different marketplaces or websites. Well suited for small and large businesses and can scale with your company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use ShipStation as a third party shipment management software, integrating with a shipping label company (Stamps.com) and our eCommerce platform (BigCommerce). ShipStation provides custom label design, allows us to ship from multiple locations using one account, and manages customer contact options (like pre/post ship emails, tracking, and landing pages).
  • Integration: It works so well I forget that it is a 3rd party solution sometimes.
  • Automation: You can set nested rules based on order details, really cutting down on the little things that slow down your fulfillment process.
  • Management: We almost never log into the admin side of BigCommerce thanks to ShipStation. ShipStation handles all of our day-to-day needs.
  • ShipStation needs to allow DKIM/SPF email verification so customers receive emails directly from our email address instead of "via shipstation.com"
  • Statistics/Overview need to have a "quarterly" view.
  • Post shipment actions, primarily notifications, shouldn't silently fail like they do currently. When there's a failure (no tech is perfect!), the user should be notified so we can take manual action (like emailing the customer telling them the order shipped or attempting a manual notification).
Do you ship packages on a regular basis? You should be using ShipStation then! ShipStation's extensive integrations and automation options will save you hours upon hours of time when shipping. Once set up, the majority of our packages are a single simple weigh-in and label print, no need to enter any additional information, like package dimensions, destination, shipping service, etc....all automated. ShipStation even fills out and prints the customs forms if you handle international shipping.
September 26, 2019

Shipping with Shipstation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ShipStation is integrated with Bigcommerce within our company. Its used mostly by the shipping department but also with customer service. We are able to keep track of when shipments go out the door and provide our customers with tracking numbers. Shipstation is a quick and easy way to get the shipments out the door and manage them at the same time.
  • Integrated shipping rates directly from the post office
  • The scales sync directly with the software for more accurate measurements
  • Can allow multiple stations to use one printer to save on equipment costs.
  • There are times when the printers or scales will drop and need to be reconnected
  • If a user doesnt realize shipstation connect is not turned on their station will not connect to their hardware
  • The logistics could be a little more granular
We are able to allow multiple users to use the same printers, which is a huge advantage during the holiday season. During that time we can keep our staff moving with how easy it is to use the software. Some of our users are a bit older but are still able to easily follow the simple interface they offer and still move quickly and effectively.
September 16, 2019

A Ship shape product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Three people do the shipping in our company, and ShipStation allows any individual to be aware of what has already been done regarding an order. It makes my job managing the shipping department much easier. We can offer multiple options for shipping and batch process them all at the same time.
  • It makes it easy to offer and manage multiple shipping methods.
  • It is easy to search what has been shipped in the past, and it integrates well with our BigCommerce site.
  • Multiple users can easily see what has been done vs what needs to be done.
  • When additional customs forms are required you have to remember to go in and print them instead of them printing automatically. It would be helpful if you received a notice/email about this more than an icon in the shipments screen.
  • It has some redundant features.
  • I wish you didn't have to manually refresh to see new orders that have come in from the website.
ShipStation is great if you offer multiple shipping methods and/or have multiple employees working in the shipping department. It integrates well with our website, but it would be nice if you didn't have to manually refresh to see new orders. There are likely many useful features that we don't use because we don't know about them, so prompts to try new methods would be helpful.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We ship approximately 7000 e-commerce packages a week and needed a shipping tool that was cloud-based, so we could ship from multiple warehouses. ShipStation provides an inexpensive solution that has some tools that the bigger more expensive solutions have without the expense and coding. It works well with ChannelAdvisor, Amazon, Amazon PRIME, eBay, and BigCommerce.
  • A good cloud-based system for multi-warehouse transfers.
  • Multi-use carriers, so we can shop rates.
  • Filters, tags, and automation rules to make choices limited.
  • Great customer service.
  • We have over 40 users logged in, and no slow downs.
  • It does not shop the best rates for you.
  • It's only as automated as you can make a singular line of rules. It does not branch for automation rules.
  • This is not its fault, but it is only as good as the data coming in. If you don't have dimensions already, it does not average sizes within an SKU.
I would say it is a good solution for the price, but there are advantages that are missing that we have had with other tools.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ShipStation is used by our whole organization for all our shipping needs. It imports our orders directly from BigCommerce and creates shipping labels based on the service the customer selected. It uses the combined weight and size of the items purchased to determine shipping costs based on the rates set up with the carrier.
  • Create labels.
  • Run reports.
  • Verify addresses.
  • I don't like the newest release, but may just need time to get use to it.
  • Reprints are not easy.
ShipStation is scalable and has met all our shipping needs. You can see details on where you are shipping by volume and how much each shipper is being used. Some carriers, though very few, do not integrate with it, so you can't get real-time shipping costs. I do truly believe that this falls more on BigCommerce than ShipStation.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use ShipStation in our shipping department to send out our orders. It is very helpful in organizing our orders from our inventory management system. The orders flow from the ERP system to ShipStation and once the orders are shipped the tracking information goes back to the ERP system and ShipStation sends an email to the customer. The customer data is imported for us, so typing of addresses unless there needs to be a manual adjustment from time to time.
  • Order Management
  • Compares rates between all our carriers
  • Integration with our ERP
  • Equipment/Hardware Issues
  • Status Page (showing downtime) Not Always Accurate
If you are trying to manage several orders per day, you need a shipping software system to organize your orders and show you the best rates (depending on how you offer shipping to your customers). If you just have a few orders a week then you may not need a system like ShipStation yet because you will have to learn to use it.
Paul Francis Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ShipStation streamlines our shipping process, we also connect an API to ShipStation to import orders into our somewhat ancient warehouse and accounting software. We have multiple selling channels, and are always looking to add more, and that's not a concern with ShipStation, which to the best of my knowledge has integrated with every single selling channel I've ever used. The API we use is very specific to our business, as I mentioned we use an ancient, jack of all trades warehouse/accounting software, and it can be a difficult fit for eCommerce, but we've made it work using the API, in that manner ShipStation has been very flexible.
  • Customer service is always very important to me; I've never had any issues getting a question answered via live chat, which is super convenient when I'm working, and can't budget time to be on the phone AND working.
  • The search in ShipStation is pretty robust, it's fairly easy to find an order using pretty much any bit of information from an eBay user name to first or last name. I've never had trouble finding an order when I need.
  • I like that I can save custom exports in ShipStation that help me determine my average cost of shipping, which helps me be more competitive with pricing. I just search an item number, sort by quantity, export, and I have a custom "cost of shipping" export that I just run through excel and get my average.
  • ShipStation features a shipping calculator, right there, super convenient in the header. You'd be surprised to find that it's really difficult to find a good shipping calculator online, so it's nice to have it here in my shipping software.
  • If I had to nitpick, I'd say that I'm not a big fan of ShipStation's new V3 UX update. It's more-or-less the same UX, only some of the data that I relied upon is now hidden elsewhere. It's not that I resist change or anything like that, I just like to get to the information I need using the least amount of clicks.
  • I have some alerts set up to notify shipping when an order has been sitting in our order screen for too long, I'm just not really impressed with the alert itself, which is just a red alert in your top menu that can be easily cleared and forgotten about. I'd really like the option to be able to opt into email or text alerts.
  • The account settings tab is a little random in that you have you find your automation rules on the same page you find your Subscription and Passwords, and then your user profile is a completely separate thing. It's not the end of the world or anything, but it just seems like there's not a lot of logic on what's on the Popular Settings page, but you get used to it.
If you want to run a multichannel eCommerce business, which is most, you probably need ShipStation. All of your orders are in one place, tracking is communicated and updated, and it really helps you get a handle on your cost of shipping. It's not something I'd use for my personal Etsy shop, but if I ever added a 2nd selling channel like eBay, I could definitely justify the starter package, which is incredibly cheap.
Ray Doustdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using ShipStation right now for all of our fulfillment for our sales from our website at www.buiced.com. It addresses the problem of how to ship trhe orders that come into out site, and I can honestly say it does a GREAT job. It is very well done and set up, and honestly could not run my business without it!
  • The User Interface is good, although there is A LOT in there and so you really need to spend time looking at all areas.
  • Their Postage Rates with USPS are amazing, I mean REALLY GOOD.
  • I found that they're pretty good with getting back promptly with Customer Service needs and issues as well.
  • I am not sure why you cannot Close Out Shipments from previous days.
  • Also, for some reason, the BAR CODE for the End of the Day Shipments does NOT scan at the USPS offices. I have had to PRINT it out.
  • When you Schedule A Pick Up, it should pull the End of Day Shipment info into that area, so we don't have to fill it out again. Maybe I am missing something, but I don't feel like it does that.
Very well suited for any Web business. We are a small to medium size company, and I think this can scale to large ones as well, no problem.
Will Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use ShipStation for all our package shipments. ShipStation connects with BrightPearl seamlessly so all orders are updated in real time which is key for our Customer Support personnel.
  • Easy to set up and implement.
  • Easy to create box sizes that are commonly used by the warehouse/shipping department.
  • Customer support is always there to help.
  • Strong integration with BrightPearl.
  • It'd be great to see Freight on ShipStation, especially ones like FedEx or UPS.
  • It would be great if items aren't actually shipped out of ShipStation to not count against the quota. For instance if we sell something straight from the store and the support person working in BrightPearl "picks" the order it goes to ShipStation and if the person just says "shipped" it counts against the quota. The only items going against the quota should be ones where labels are actually printed.
  • It would be perfect to be able to say what products are in each box. Being able to print off packing lists for each box with exactly what's inside would be extremely helpful!
This is a great piece of software. We tried other types and found them very difficult to maneuver and to add information. ShipStation is very user friendly and allows the user to really make the product work for them.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Shipstation is used by our shipping department. Shipstation allows us to update our API Brightpearl with tracking information which in turn updates our selling channels.
  • Immediate tracking information provided to customers.
  • Ability to create manual shipments.
  • Allows us to compare pricing for UPS versus USPS.
  • Creating End of Day reports can sometimes be an issue if there is a holiday that only affects my state and Shipstation does not change setting on their end in a timely fashion.
  • I occasionally have a problem importing new SKUs and having all the settings updated correctly.
I have only used Shipstation in my current position where up to the minute tracking information needs to be communicated through to many selling channels and I believe it is the best solution for that application.
Return to navigation