Toggl Reviews

86 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Alex Pegg | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Time management when every second counts!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is perfect for the freelancer, who has to juggle multiple projects and account for time spent on each one. This software is easy to use, with a perfect user interface and desktop app. Makes time management a breeze and actually saves time from switching between screens and organizing spreadsheets. It allows you to edit/revise time and projects and generates professional, sleek reports when you're all finished. Also easy to share among other users.
Read Alex Pegg's full review
Genie Forkner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

A full featured timekeeping application

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's a perfect solution for freelancers or teams. An all in one timekeeping app with a very short learning curve. Easy to implement and provides incredible insights on productivity. Scalable to fit your needs, from freelance to larger teams.
Read Genie Forkner's full review
Marc Duke | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Worth spending the time to track your time!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is brilliant if you have a number of clients or different projects that you want to keep track of time spent.
Not sure how well suited it is to a team environment when people have a limited amount of time on a given client/project, also not sure how well it deals with linking expenses generated on a client and to the process of invoicing for time done. If there was some way to integrate outputs versus time spent that would be even more amazing. But if you are looking for a simple, easy to use solution that enables you to track time spent both on desktop and on mobile/smartphone then there is no better place to start than with Toggl.
Read Marc Duke's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Quality time-tracking tool for organizations needing to track hours

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Toggl is well suited in scenarios where there are only a few employees, or potentially more, and there's a need for tracking time. In organizations where employees are paid by the hour in particular, I think it's very well suited. I think it's less appropriate for bigger companies or bigger projects where there's less concern about how much time is spent on a project.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

Toggl - Project Time Tracking Made Easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need to track how much time is being spent on tasks and report on those tasks this is the solution for you. You can easily track projects and timing. If you need to invoice out from the same tracking solution that's the only scenario where this wouldn't fit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Easy to use time tracking tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for a small company like ours that needs to track time on clients' projects. Also well suited for a contract worker to track time and provide reports with their invoices.
Read this authenticated review
Helen Valenzuela | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Can't go wrong with Toggl

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is perfect for someone who works remotely, but you have to remember to open it, choose the client, start the timer and type in your work description. It would not work for a busy office where you are constantly switching between cases or projects because you would have to constantly be making entries.
Read Helen Valenzuela's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Toggl: save time tracking your time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is great for anyone who needs to track their time on various projects. You can get really complex using features that I don't use, such as clients, billing, and teams. But, the free version is also full of useful features that help individuals who just need to track their own time for reporting purposes or just to track their efficiency or time spent on key priorities in their lives.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Whiteford | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Toggl is a great product for disciplined users

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is excellent for service facing Saas users, such as accountants, who can use the Toggl integrations to mark their time automatically from within the app.

In companies where the discipline to mark time is lacking, Toggl cannot help. The usefulness of this tool, particularly the reporting functions can only work when the tool works (garbage in, garbage out).
Read Sarah Whiteford's full review
Mike Wittenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Toggl tracks your time but its greatest value is putting you in control and putting money in your pocket

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is great when you:
  • bill clients for the time you spend
  • track the time you spend on internal projects
  • understand the profitability of each client, project, and individual
Toggl is not:
  • a replacement for your accounting program
  • able to make recommendations on how to better spend your time
  • able to track "missing" time or revenue
Read Mike Wittenstein's full review
Bryan Buford | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2018

Great software for customized time tracking

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Any scenario where you need to track time spent on projects or by customer. The customization of setup means it should work for almost any type of customer. We utilize the software to track time spent on projects, support, sales, customer service and software development.
Read Bryan Buford's full review
Matt Heerema | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2018

Seamless time tracking with great reporting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need to track hours by project and client, and want to do it through the web, on your desktop, or mobile app, Toggl is the best choice. If you need deep integration with your accounting software, it will not work as well, but I can't imagine a scenario where deep accounting integration is more important than ease of use for initial data entry.
Read Matt Heerema's full review
Shannon Bronico | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Toggl: Simple and easy to learn for to track time for data analytics and billing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is well suited for a small office of up to 20 employees using the same workspace. It is an efficient and easy tool for recording data to generate time sheets, billable hours for invoicing, and information for data analytics to identify areas for increasing productivity and measuring office and staff efficiency.

For offices that have complex billing structures or high volume of billable hours each billing period, I would not recommend Toggl as the primary tool for recording billable time. For a law office, I would suggest the timer and billing functions included with case management software like Rocket Matter or e-immigration.
Read Shannon Bronico's full review
Jerry Janes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Toggl - Perfect for juggling multiple clients

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is well suited for consultants like me who have multiple clients and want to keep billing, not to mention work notations, centralized and ordered.
As for less appropriate, I cannot envision a scenario where it would not suffice, or be too much.
Read Jerry Janes's full review
Stefan Boeykens | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Log in, start entering data, get insights in who is doing what...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are slowly growing towards a medium-sized company and keeping ahead of who is doing what becomes increasingly difficult. Toggl helps us to document this in intricate detail. The advantage is obviously the overview, summaries and reporting you can extract from that.

While we were interested in the many connection possibilities (integration via other APIs) we have not used those for now. And the automatic tracking only works well if you do this continuously and the whole day. With many meetings out of the office and not always online and the big chance of frequent switches between projects, makes this a feature that we don't use.
Read Stefan Boeykens's full review
Benjamin E. Jerew | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2018

Toggl Keeps Me Motivated and Tracks All My Tasks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Toggl is great for my one-man-army freelance automotive writing business. I would suggest it for anyone, though, especially if your work is task-based. I haven't looked into it, but I believe it's also designed for company-wide implementation, which could make it useful for teams and small companies to track time, tasks, and efficiency.
Read Benjamin E. Jerew's full review
Wera Michalska | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

Definitely the best time tracker out there !

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ability to add multiple projects (clients) as well as subtasks to track. Using Toggl has made it so much easier to have an accurate representation of how much time it actually takes for each project. On the other hand, it can be a little bit more difficult to fine-tune your reports and It does not support screen capture feature so this kind of issue may look simple and not important but for some of you can be a negative scenario.
Read Wera Michalska's full review
Quentin Aisbett | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2018

Super-Easy To Use! You seriously won't know how good it is until you test it out.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have a remote team so keeping a track of the hours spent on client projects can be difficult. Toggl is perfect in this scenario as it helps us monitor our team's time and the time invested on each specific project.

Read Quentin Aisbett's full review
Chloe Sayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

Time Tracking Wizard

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is great for someone who is focused on getting work done for a specific amount of time. It's not so great for someone who just wants a general overview of how they spend their time (e-mail, Facebook, etc..) and their overall productivity level. As a finance professional, I would not recommend using Toggl to create invoices; however, it can be a helpful back-end tool to provide timesheet data for invoicing.
Read Chloe Sayers's full review
Andre Yeu | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2017

Feel like you and your organization have no time? Toggl helps you understand where it all goes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for: Tracking time for either internal purposes (ethogram/understanding what you spend your time on) or external purposes (billable time to clients, or as a basic way to track for hourly employees submitting timesheets).

If it involves tracking time, I think Toggl is pretty awesome. I can't see anyone using it unless it was for the right purpose.
Read Andre Yeu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2018

Time tracking your team will actually use!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is great for smaller teams. We have a team of 7 using it. I'm not sure if the functionality would necessarily scale to larger teams with more time-tracking requirements. Since we're in marketing, so much of our time is spent inside project management tools or working in web pages, jumping from one project to the next. Toggl's Chrome extension makes it super easy to keep up with our fast paced workflow.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2018

Positives, Negatives, and Improvements

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Toggl is well suited for individuals wanting to stay organized between multiple tasks and understanding what they spend more time on and where they should focus on more later in life. It is less appropriate I feel for organizational use, it seems more like a personal improvement tool than for collaboration.
Read this authenticated review

About Toggl

Toggl is a time tracking tool from the Estonian company of the same name.
Categories:  Time Tracking

Toggl Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No