CallRail Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Madeline Simpson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

The Call Tracking Software Every Marketer Should Be Using

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We help dozens of clients to implement and track performance of marketing campaigns across multiple traditional and digital channels. With dozens of ads and organic content available for Leads to find our clients, it is so important for us to be able to track where incoming phone calls are coming from so that we know where to spend more marketing dollars, and where to spend less. CallRail has been the #1 call tracking software that we've used and has become our software of choice at our agency!
  • Lead Attribution
  • Dynamic Number Pools
  • Outbound calling features
  • Would love to see an auto-dialer added to the software!
CallRail is a very user-friendly platform and allows us to track all of our leads' phone calls with ease. The best part is the reporting that is available based on the data collected with every call. Whether it is based on UTM parameters or number dialed, CallRail allows us to track what calls are coming from paid efforts and what calls are coming from organic efforts.
Read Madeline Simpson's full review
Amber Callan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

The Best Call Tracking Software on the Market Right Now

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
At our marketing agency, we use CallRail to track our marketing efforts for our clients. When visitors come to my clients' websites and call them, or when they call from AdWords or print campaigns, we need to know where our marketing dollars are going to be best spent and what's generating the best leads.

CallRail allows us to create different tracking numbers for different efforts so my agency can prove our ROI to clients and our clients know where their calls are coming from. This helps us optimize our campaigns better!
  • Reporting - We love the breakdown for attribution and sources for calls. CallRail makes reports easy to understand and lets you share them with clients.
  • Call Tracking - This may be obvious, but you get so many options with CallRail in terms of your number pool, recording options, picking your numbers, etc. It gives you the metrics you care about and they haven't experienced any calls mis-forwarding.
  • Support - With other companies, I've had to wait for days and days to hear back. With CallRail, they normally get back to us on our tickets fairly quickly and they have a great knowledge base for common questions too!
  • Integrations - While most of our clients use HubSpot, CallRail doesn't integrate with every CRM our clients have in place so instead of having our metrics all in one place, we need to combine sources for an overall picture.
  • SMS - We live in a world that's moving towards text messaging in the marketing world, but we haven't yet found an affordable SMS tracking software yet. I'm hoping CallRail may eventually jump into this market so we can get all our phone metrics in one place!
  • Speech to Text - Their transcribing of calls could improve! Accents can sometimes throw off the program.
  • CallRail is well suited for small and medium sized businesses looking to track their marketing efforts by way of tracking their calls.
  • If you're looking to track calls from your website from all sources, CallRail is right for you.
  • If you're looking to just track AdWords campaigns, CallRail is right for you.
  • If you're looking to track a print campaign, CallRail can do that too.

I'm personally not quite sure how it would perform for large or enterprise companies, as I personally haven't come across this use case in my own work.
Read Amber Callan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Turbocharge your sales process.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track leads that are incoming from multiple sources. It is really good at doing that. You can find the source of a lead really easily and use that information to fine tune what works for you and what doesn't. So its really good at absorbing a large amount of information and getting useful analysis out of it. We also use this for monitoring and quality control. Being able to record and review conversation our people have with clients is of course an invaluable asset in maintaining quality and improving our conversation structure in the future.
  • It was super simple to set up. We had it up and running in a matter of a few days.
  • It was also really easy to use. Normally with new software, there is always that transition period where you are googling to figure things out. That was really painless in this case.
  • It also integrates well with Zapier. We use that a lot and it was a nice add on.
  • It is really cost-effective. Both the mid and top tier plans are pretty reasonably priced.
  • The speech to text is kinda wonky. It was pretty hit and miss for us.
If you have a mid to large-sized team working on your sales, then I think this will definitely get you your money's worth. Even for smaller sales campaigns, I think you can make a case for using it. They offer a free trial (even though its a bit limited in scope) and I think that is worth checking out.
Read this authenticated review
Ramon Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

If you fail to plan to you plan to fail, instead, use CallRail!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CallRail to track calls, campaigns, and revenue from our pay per click campaigns. It is very useful to see if a certain ad or keyword is producing calls and results. Along with this functionality, they offer call recording which we use to track calls over time, for reporting and a whole host of other useful features.
  • Pretty easy to set up
  • Customer service is helpful and easy to reach
  • Reporting is easy to use and set up
  • It would be great if it could somehow track call to revenue directly from their dashboard. We have to export call and cross reference them to our analytics and CRM to see which call resulted in sales which is time consuming.
  • Pricing could be a little lower but overall its competitive.
I recommend CallRail all the time. I think it's best suited for companies running multiple ad campaigns that are not producing direct sales online and they are trying to track which campaigns are producing the most calls and sales. I would say that it is not well suited for pages with a single traffic source and that are not using paid ads or external ads to track calls.
Read Ramon Khan's full review
J.P. VanderLinden | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

A Solid Choice for Service Companies Doing Online Marketing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented CallRail as a call tracking solution for clients of our marketing agency numerous times. Typically we recommend CallRail as a way to get realistic call metrics to measure against a campaign running on paid search (Google, Bing) or paid social (Facebook). We'll incorporate CallRail data into our aggregate reporting as a way for clients to see the total impact of what their campaigns are producing.
  • CallRail has fantastic integration with Google Ads. They can support click-to-call extensions, as well as on-site number swapping for when users visit a website and then make a call.
  • The call routing capabilities on CallRail are really strong. Whether it's round-robin distribution, time-of-day routing, or a system based on which source drove the call, it's a good way to make sure calls get where they need to go.
  • CallRail's integration with paid social is pretty weak. While data can be ported directly into Google Ads or Google Analytics, tracing calls from Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn or other ad sources is much more difficult. The native plug-in functionality just isn't there yet.
  • While there is the ability to pick an area code when choosing phone numbers, that's as granular as it gets. And in many parts of the country, for local businesses, the right central office code (the second three digits) can be just as important as the first.
  • The "whisper message" often sounds garbled, meaning those answering a call can't tell if the message said it's coming from Google Search, Google Organic, Google Maps, etc.
CallRail is a great solution if you're trying to drive a number of calls from different sources and want to track them. Direct mail, radio, television can all feed different tracked numbers, and online sources can feed dynamic numbers. This is great if you're a local business, as many work entirely off of phone calls, or if you're a national company who needs to field phone calls (less common, but can be very high volume). However, if less than 20% of leads/customers use the phone, or if the phone is primarily for customer service issues, I usually don't recommend my clients use a call tracking solution.
Read J.P. VanderLinden's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2019

CallRail is a must have

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CallRail is being used by our digital marketing department to track phone calls from various sources. It solves the problem of identifying which source receives the lead attribution. It is also great in utilizing recordings for the stores. They are able to perform quality assurance on their telephone etiquette and improve in-store processes.
  • Call Tracking is the main reason why we use CallRail. Great for attribution.
  • Recording technology assists with quality assurance to provide the best customer service.
  • Customer support is prompt and responsive to needs and requests.
  • The UI could use some improvement as it is sometimes hard to navigate to certain indicators.
  • The multi touch attribution is pretty new and would be great to have a tutorial on how to use the new features.
  • Limited numbers due to demand for the specific area code.
It would be well suited for data driven marketers. It allows us to track which source provides us the most phone calls. We are able to decide which channel to allocate budget towards. I would recommend it for businesses who use 3rd party lead providers to determine each channels success and to make better business decisions.
Read this authenticated review
Aaron Metzger | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2018

CallRail is the Perfect Platform for Local Businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CallRail is a lightweight call-tracking platform that allows small-medium sized businesses to jump into call tracking. Generally most call-tracking platforms are built and cater to enterprise-level clients, but CallRail has all the same features, but a fraction of the cost. Since a high-pricetag generally keeps most companies from starting call-tracking, CallRail is a great place to start, giving your clients more access to data than ever before.
  • Number Pools that track all incoming traffic, keywords, and source/medium is a huge opportunity for businesses to attribute marketing channels with leads.
  • Super-simple self-explanatory platform that makes setup a breeze.
  • Mutl-account functionality for agencies to keep their client accounts separate and be able to check in on performance quickly.
  • Building customized reporting and integrating with reporting companies, like Google Data Studio or DashThis, isn't really an option.
  • Flagging conversions inside the platform isn't really an option, and it could be a good way to manage pushing clients into a CRM.
  • CRM capabilities don't appear to be clear-cut.
If you have a small to medium sized client that needs call tracking, CallRail is definitely the place to start. Their team members are eager to help in getting accounts set up, and they're happy to help with the in-depth integrations. Their overall price-tag is great for small businesses, and it will help companies to find value in call tracking.
Read Aaron Metzger's full review
Georgina Cole | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Call Rail is the most effective and best-value call tracking product we've used (and we've used 3)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CallRail across the website to track enquiries to specific teams within our organisation. CallRail calculates call volume, conversion rate and cost per lead for each team, and tracks ROAS back to specific paid search campaigns.
  • With a small tweak that CallRail made to our set up, we can now track calls to individual team numbers and track those back to specific ad campaigns, allowing us to see varying CPLs for different ad campaigns/departments, rather than all calls in total. This is vital to our ROAS calculations.
  • It was easy for us to configure and deploy after moving over from an alternative call tracking provider. The software has a clean UI and is straightforward to use so it's easy to onboard colleagues in the sales team and teach them how to pull call reports.
  • CallRail allows us to define a 'qualifying call' by call duration, and to only include qualifying calls towards our conversion stats which allows for greater accuracy by weeding out wrong-number or irrelevant calls which tend to be quite such.
  • Like-for-like to our previous call tracking provider, CallRail is around 75% cheaper! Because of this saving, we've been able to buy more numbers to ensure that at peak visit times, we have enough dynamic numbers to track the channel data from visits much more accurately.
  • Ideally, it would be great if the volume of tracking numbers in a pool could be increased/decreased automatically dependent on busy/low visitor times to the site, just so you don't have to always be paying for the maximum numbers you would need when the site is busy.
I've already recommended CallRail to another company in the travel sector. I think the pricing of CallRail is so affordable that even quite small companies can justify the outlay to see where their calls originate from - it's all valuable intelligence. It's far less relevant to businesses for whom the majority of enquiry comes in organically, as there will be no data associated with those calls (Google encrypts organic search terms). If your business gets leads via referral sources, social, paid ad campaigns or via social - I'd say this is an essential tracking tool.
Read Georgina Cole's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

The Benefits of CallRail

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently CallRail is being utilized in one of our departments within our whole organization.
We use CallRail primarily for call tracking for our clients. Typically the best situation to use a CallRail call tracking number is within a Google AdWords campaign. We set up the campaign within AdWords and assign a phone number within CallRail for this client to be able to track phone calls coming from our paid campaign. This allows us to specifically take responsibility for these leads + be able to listen to recorded phone calls at any point throughout the campaign.
  • Tracking phone calls first & foremost! Being able to have a running tally of the phone calls made and listening to the recorded calls throughout the month and providing that information back to our clients is vital!
  • Their UI is exceptionally easy to use & navigate. This is important when we have many clients running at the same time and we are able to always determine what report is for which client.
  • The ease of setting up a brand new client & their tracking phone number is fantastic! Saves a lot of time when it walks you through everything you need to know & do step by step.
  • Some client facing reporting would be great! We typically don't give clients logins, as all of our clients are within one business UI. Having something that a client can log into would be very helpful!
  • Although the entire purpose of CallRail is the recorded phone calls - it would be nice to have some additional in depth reporting to be able to report back to a client to give us more insights!
  • Pricing tiers could be better for agency type businesses.
CallRail is great for agency type businesses that have a lot of clients to do business on their behalf. As many numbers as needed can be created and reported on. If you're in the advertising world, call tracking is a great way to be able to track any conversions/phone calls back to your paid campaign. It could even be utilized for on TV and Radio to be able to track those phone calls to a phone number of your choosing and report that back to the client.
Read this authenticated review
McKay Salisbury | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2018

CallRail a good premium tool that's necessary when you are generating a lot of leads through phone calls

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Callrail for call tracking for our PPC campaigns. The most I used it was for an industrial cleaning company we had as a client. It was SUPER useful. Our PPC would have been basically useless without Callrail or a similar system. Obviously you need to know which ads and keywords are generating calls but surprisingly the record feature was SUPER useful from an agency perspective. Obviously you could easily generate a bunch of irrelevant calls using AdWords. Being able to listen to the calls and rate them was HUGE. It's very difficult to get feedback from clients sometimes so being able to hear the first calls was great. It affected how we targeted our ads and made followup way easier.
  • Recordings of calls. By listening to the first call from a lead, you can quickly determine if the lead was good or not. Most useful feature of Callrail.
  • Call tracking. CallRail integrates with AdWords and Bing Ads so you know which ads and keywords they used. Google does provide a service with their forwarding numbers now but this is better.
  • Tracking all the calls in a cloud making all the calls easy to track. You can label the calls, rate them, and filter your views for easy reporting.
  • Pricey if you don't get that many calls, especially now that AdWords offers free call tracking. A lot of smaller Ad Campaigns only generate a few calls a week so CallRail is a bit much to justify for those companies.
  • Difficult to switch. If you use their numbers for anything besides your landing pages, you basically have to keep paying CallRail for a while until all potential clients know your new numbers.
If you are doing lead generation ad campaigns, you need to be using Callrail. This is especially true with companies where getting them on the phone increases their chance of purchase. I've seen it particularly useful for services companies (lawyers, contruction, plumbers, etc.) It's not useful if you are primarily striving to generate form fills, get people signed up for free trials, or online purchases.
Read McKay Salisbury's full review
Seth Tucker | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2017

Totally awesome call tracking solution--CallRail is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CallRail to help track inbound calls from multiple traffic sources. We ran into a problem for our SaaS company that when we have inbound phone calls, we have no idea what pages people have looked at, and most of the time the caller information does not get synced into Hubspot because the calls are usually brief. So now, we have setup CallRail to automatically sync the call data into Hubspot, along with helping us gather deeper insights into user behavior before the call is made.
  • CallRail does dynamic keyword insertion incredibly well, especially if you are looking to use toll-free numbers instead of local numbers.
  • CallRail does session tracking very well. I've always been impressed to find the visitors page viewed session data very useful in better understanding what people are doing before making a phone call.
  • The integration with Hubspot is not as seemless as I would have liked. We had an issue where a person who was already in Hubspot called in, and their contact information was not matched to the caller ID correctly which created some duplicate entries. A little bit of a bummer, but from what I understand they may have fixed this. We had to stop using them for a little while because our outsourced sales team was more confused by adding CallRail, so we'll be re-implementing this once our new sales team is fully trained. Hopefully the record miss-match issue gets fixed.
Unless you have extremely sophisticated call tracking needs, I think CallRail is built to handle everything you need. It's built from an agency perspective, so the tools are very powerful and the integrations are wonderful. I would even argue that with their API, your development team can handle integrating CallRails system into your own system pretty easily.
Read Seth Tucker's full review
Eric Kammer | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

CallRail's software solves your DNS issues

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We currently use CallRail on all of our Adwords campaigns. The platform is easy to use and provides insights into what keywords are most profitable for us. We can also use CallRail to link these conversions into Google Analytics and backtrack them into Adwords to aid in our daily campaign optimizations.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Very easy to set up their call tracking on a landing page.
  • Low cost dynamic number swapping.
  • Some of the best customer service I've experienced.
  • Lag time between connection to phone line that the call tracking line is connecting to.
  • Integration with Adwords/Analytics isn't seamless and there always seems to be missing conversions somewhere along the pathway.
CallRail is the perfect solution for finding out keyword data. Since Google removed keyword data from analytics a few years ago we've been using callrail to fill that gap. We are able to track our phone calls, which are our primary conversion, back to the keyword level. This has helped us maximize our ROI by being able to drop any unprofitable keywords from our campaigns while placing a greater focus on high performing keywords.
Read Eric Kammer's full review
Richard Kaiser | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2016

High Value B2C Real Estate Marketplace Experience with CallRail

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
"Where do inbound phone leads come from?" is a crucial marketing challenge. Callrail is excellent at this.
  • Records every inbound call online, which can listened to directly from an email on your phone.
  • Before you answer the call it tells you where the call came from.
  • It tracks reporting by channel despite driving all the same calls to one phone.
  • CallRail did not have the ability to give us a custom number.
CallRail is well-suited for anyone with calls coming in from more than one marketing channel.
Read Richard Kaiser's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

Know who's making the Call with CallRail.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CallRail to capture keyword search data that leads to conversions in our paid search campaigns as well as some of our SEO campaigns. CallRail allows us to know exactly which pages are driving conversions so we can use that data to improve our campaigns and create more conversions for our member.
  • Keyword search data for various types of campaigns.
  • Landing page data to better determine which landing pages are driving conversions.
  • Easy access to each of your companies if you're using it for agency purposes.
  • There are some campaigns that don't seem to pull all the phone calls into analytics.
  • It can be a little confusing to understand which numbers swap in which order if you're using only one destination number.
  • I wish it was easier to test your swap target without having to clear your cache and cookies or using incognito mode.
CallRail is very handy for understanding how your campaigns are performing as it pertains to driving phone calls and what exactly is driving those phone calls. They provide detailed keyword data and landing page data that allows you to consciously optimize your campaigns for better results. And they have excellent customer service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2017

Matt's CallRail Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use callrail to track calls from our programmatic media buys. It helps us track which sources are generating phone calls. In addition to the on-site conversions we see through the ad networks (Google/Bing/FB, etc.) it gives us visibility into the entire picture of conversions. This is critical because some sources generate more phone calls than others, and without a means to track/attribute where those calls are coming from it's impossible to optimize spend. So, seeing the whole picture of conversions enables us to optimize our media spend and get the most for our money.
  • Easy to use
  • Accurate reporting
  • Detailed reporting
  • Adding additional reporting dimensions
  • Multi-user management
  • Availability of more local numbers
Callrail seems to be a great fit for small to medium businesses, looking to get more visibility into call performance. For enterprise implementations, I'm not sure the functionality of the software would align as well as integrations with enterprise tools and applications may be more challenging. I do not have experience with callrail in enterprise implementations so this is just my assumption based on my understanding of the features
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2017

CallRail is a great solution for PPC call tracking needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use callrail to help track marketing campaigns.
  • CallRail was a great tool for tracking conversions on ppc campaigns.
  • The call recording helped to qualify the quality of the leads.
  • We had a few downtime issues but they were addressed promptly.
[It's] great for digital marketing conversion tracking and lead quality analysis. The dynamic insertion was a great feature.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

Call Rail is an Essential business tool for high call volume

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CallRail to track sales orders and lead generation from our paid search initiatives. It helps us track wholesale orders that are placed from phone calls and the user found us through a paid search ad. It helps us organize our interactions with these customers and manage our phone call tracking. It also helps up track profitability through paid search that isn't from on site conversions.
  • Platform for managing calls and creating notes for each call.
  • Opportunities to create labels for different calls e.g. dead ends, sales, lead generation, etc.
  • Tracking the source of each call: organic vs. paid and which search engine it originated from.
  • It would be especially helpful if CallRail could have different labels for Paid Campaigns that are with Shopping or Text rather than having to segment to see if a keyword is associated.
  • It would be helpful to expand the notes section by creating more columns that are customizable for reporting. For example: revenue.
Callrail is ideal for any kind of eComm site. You can track your leads, see where your calls originated from, and maintain a database where you can track all of your interactions and leave notes based on your conversations.
Read this authenticated review

About CallRail

Used by more than 100,000 companies and marketing agencies in North America, CallRail provides call analytics to data driven marketers so they can improve customer acquisition. CallRail says they deliver intuitive self-service software to businesses that care about phone calls and enable smart marketers to know what makes their phone ring. CallRail tracks phone calls from online and offline marketing campaigns (including PPC keywords), provides insight into which campaigns are working best, and records calls for lead qualification and coaching to increase call conversion rates. A 14-day free trial is available.
Categories:  Call Tracking

CallRail Features

Has featureMeasure phone call conversions from search, digital, and offline marketing campaigns – including PPC keywords.
Has featureAutomatically show the tracking phone number to the right audience. Capture the full visitor journey before and after the call.
Has featureA new call tracking number can be configured in less than a minute. Call flow builder helps create custom call routing.
Has featureCall recording can be used to qualify leads, coach staff, and improve customer service. Easily review and annotate phone calls.
Has featureAdjust marketing to drive more quality calls using automated lead scoring. Instantly analyze call content with visual call transcriptions.

CallRail Screenshots

CallRail Integrations

Google Analytics, Marketo, HubSpot, WordPress, Kissmetrics, Zapier, Acquisio, Bing Ads, Mixpanel, Facebook for Business, unbounce, Marin Software, Optimizely, Wix, Slack, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Salesforce, API & Webhooks, Pipeline Deals

CallRail Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Call Tracking$45per month
Analytics Suite$95per month
Custom PlanCustomper month

CallRail Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

CallRail Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:United States, Canada
Supported Languages: English