ConnectWise Automate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
119 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 50)

Riccardo Francese | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2017

Good product for compliance and automated servicing.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Silent installs
  • Automate certain tasks
  • Get information from the computer
  • Scripting required to use
  • Can sometimes screw up and cause an over-run on memory
  • Backend can be hard to use
It meets our needs by providing our IT staff with the information necessary to diagnose problems. It also can automate processes like restarting services that have stopped or alerting us when a major issue is going on with a server. This has allowed us to be proactive rather than reactive and given us the power to maintain our systems around the clock.
Read Riccardo Francese's full review
Daniel Creamer | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2017

ConnectWise Automate is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ConnectWise Automate to support and monitor our customer's networks and servers. We use it to deploy applications and scripts as well. It gives us many other different tools for providing fast and efficient service and support to our customers.
  • Remote Monitoring
  • Remote Support
  • Automated Issue Resolution
  • The GUI of the program could be a little more "user-friendly"
It's well suited for the MSP market.
Read Daniel Creamer's full review
Richard Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2017

ConnectWise Automate works well...if you invest the time

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization supports over 5000 end-points across 130+ locations leveraging ConnectWise Automate's remote monitoring and management capabilities. In addition to basic monitoring and alerting ConnectWise Automate (CWA) is also leveraged for software deployment, license management, and custom-built script writing/deployment. Integration with our PSA (ConnectWise Manage) is seamless as is integration with ConnectWise Control.
  • Incredibly robust with infinite capabilities
  • Recognized as one of the top 2 RMMs in the industry
  • Strong community/forum users
  • Ample add-ins for integrating with other vendor tools
  • Incredibly robust -- unlikely you'll ever leverage 100% of what CWA has to offer
  • Requires dedicated resource(s) in order to fully leverage scripting and customization capabilities
  • Thick client -- slow to load and bulky to use.
For larger MSPs with dedicated NOC personnel - this is a great selection. For smaller MSPs looking for basic monitoring and alerting, there are easier and cheaper solutions that should be considered.
Read Richard Anderson's full review
Carson Hagan, ITILv3 | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2017

LabTech Review - MSP Standpoint

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LabTech as a RMM tool to help delivery and integrate our Managed Services catalogue for clients. It has become an essential tool for supporting our Service Desk operations and proactive maintenance to our clients. LabTech is used by other departments of our company to help gather information or assess situations when going on prom is not optimal. Being able to support our clients and their end users from the background has been vital to our company and changed the way we do business.
  • Provides a ticket based system that integrates directly into the user's computer for easy access to Ticket Submissions.
  • Provides a remote connection tool, ScreenConnect, that is amazing to use.
  • Provides a very technical approach to managing computers and servers.
  • Powerful reporting and auditing features.
  • Cloud partners have issues with infrastructre stability and reliability.
  • Broken agents need self remediation for when they have been offline for too long.
  • Number of built in scripts, screens, modules don't work completley.
  • Patch Manager needs serious attention.
Suited well for an MSP that is managing multiple clients with workstations and servers at multiple sites. Less appropriate for an internal tool to a 1 person IT department. Would not recommend to someone who does not have a technical background - Need to have a firm understanding of computers, networking, etc.
Read Carson Hagan, ITILv3's full review
Scott Sanford | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2017

LabTech - Good solid choice for the MSP

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Labtech to manage and help maintain our managed service clients.

Labtech handles our needs well, including server and high-priority workstation monitoring and remediation of issues and errors.
While it's a little bit of a challenge to setup and implement, once you put the time in, it only increases its value the more you utilize and customize it.
  • Handles alerting of critical and moderate issues
  • Integrates with our PSA solution
  • Allows for rapid remote access with an integrated implementation of ScreenConnect
  • Initial implementation and setup is a bit of a bear. We have, over the years, completely re-done our installation 3 or 4 times.
  • Allow a more feature-rich implementation of ScreenConnect to be run with LT so that if you want to give a client a session key, they can connect in that way as well as through the unattended client.
  • Sometimes server down alerts, raid failure alerts are not sent. High potential for egg-on-face ...
Well suited to true and hybrid MSP model shops.

Not well suited for an in-house IT that is already strained and who doesn't have time to read up and or be trained to understand LT.
Read Scott Sanford's full review
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2017

I trust Labtech to automate our support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Labtech to care for all of the endpoints under our management. Our techs love it!
  • We switched over from Kaseya and immediately found that the scripting engine was far more powerful! We have many architecture, engineering and construction clients that require quite a few applications. We weren't able to script most of them with Kaseya, however we are now able to with Labtech (our biggest scripted application is 50gb in size).
  • Labtech monitors everything! I found it far easier to have everything monitored and quiet it down than it is to keep adding in the individual monitors. We used to always miss something, now it's built in for us
  • Compared to Kaseya, support at Labtech is VERY good. With Kaseya, I'd only get a call back if the server was hard down. Now I have chat support and someone gets back to me the same day every time.
  • Labtech's UI was obviously built by a developer :-) I've seen some of the mock ups of what the product will look like in the future and it's a huge improvement!
MSP's are well suited for Labtech software
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2017

Experience Using LabTech

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use LabTech daily for a number of IT service help desk mission-critical operations. We have important monitors and scripts that keep servers and workstations working at peak performance, as well as alerts and scheduled automated processes. We use information from it daily to provide reports and audit the health of our clients' data.
  • Monitoring critical server services
  • Scheduled scripts and processes on servers and workstations
  • Auto-remediation of many important IT tasks
  • Alerting and reporting on health and other critical endpoint data
  • Customer support is very knowledgeable/good
  • Knowledge base is very good
  • Response time on some tickets has lagged from time to time
  • Sometimes initially, a reported issue may not be well-understood
  • Windows patching support is sub-par
LabTech is a good fit for an MSP that wants to automate processes for their clients' endpoints. It integrates well with the ConnectWise PSA and customizes fairly well. For a company that wants to dedicate their staff to other pursuits, LabTech can automate a lot of the important things.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
Eric Christiansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2016

How LabTech has improved our day to day operations.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LabTech primarily in our managed services group within our company. We use it to manage over 4000 client workstations and servers. It lets us consistently monitor, patch and remotely manage our client systems as efficiently as possible. We also use it for other tasks as well like assisting our clients with keeping their hardware and software inventories up to date and using it to deploy software to systems.
  • LabTech lets us consistently monitor client systems for basic things like server up/down, low disk space and high CPU and memory usage. It also excels at automatically detecting and monitoring specific systems like e-mail and database servers. Because LabTech automatically applies the proper monitoring, onboarding new clients is very simple.
  • We use LabTech for automation for repetitive tasks. For example, when a low disk alert is received, we run a script automatically to clear out temp and other unnecessary files that we've defined. A tech only needs to get involved if the script isn't able to automatically free up enough space. Automation like this greatly increases our efficiency.
  • The ScreenConnect remote control is fantastic. Having the ability to instantly connect to a client system directly from LabTech makes our job a lot easier. Previously we had to depend on client specific remote access solutions which varied from client to client. Now we can connect to every client the same way.
  • While LabTech does an excellent job at monitoring servers and workstations, it lacks in network device monitoring. We tried for a while to use the built in SNMP device monitoring effectively but eventually went with a different product which fit our needs. However, the nice thing about LabTech is that it is open with integrating with third party products and we are working on integrating the SNMP product
  • Support can be slow to respond which is a minus. However, once you are able to get to someone, the techs are very nice and helpful.
LabTech is well suited to MSPs who manage mostly Windows Systems. While LabTech can manage Mac computers, the feature set is limited. Also, LabTech does a lot of different things so if someone is looking for a solution to a single problem (monitoring, remote control, etc.), LabTech could be overkill. LabTech is an ideal tool for MSPs or larger organizations to manage many systems. As LabTech is a complex system, it requires a certain amount of care and feeding so LabTech may not be an ideal solution for a small organization with not a lot of systems to manage.
Read Eric Christiansen's full review
Justin Nehring | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2016

LabTech is a platform you can build an IT service company on

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LabTech is being used to remotely manage and monitor our clients' computers, servers, and networks. We use it to deliver automated services that allow us to increase profits by reducing labor. It is a force multiplier that allows us to deliver services consistently and timely across our entire client base. We have several applications that integrate with LabTech to help keep all our technicians informed and it aids in providing quick support to clients.
  • Scripting - Automation is what makes LabTech great. The built-in scripts are a good start, but the real power comes from being able to customize the automation to make it your own.
  • Remote Control - Not having to roll a truck for every service ticket is a huge time and money saver. It is fast and reliable. It works every time with no delays.
  • Integration - LabTech's framework allows for tight integration with other applications and gives you freedom to select the components that are a best fit for your business. For example: you aren't locked into one baked-in antivirus or disaster recovery application.
  • Network Monitoring - Network monitoring isn't the strongest point for LabTech. Mostly this is due to the licensing model. They aren't charging you for monitoring printers, switches, and routers so their isn't much incentive for them to make it a best-in-class network monitoring tool. However, remember integration is a strong suit and what it lacks here can be made up with third party utilities that can "plug-in" if you need something stronger.
  • UI in flux - With LabTech 11 the next generation tile based computer management screen has been rolled out. While it updates the Interface to a much more modern look and feel. There are some things that need to be tweaked. Speed is a bit of an issue. On the plus-side, each month's patches have made strides of improvement and the developers are really in-tune with getting it right.
  • Not a Microsoft SQL database back-end - I personally don't count this as a "con", but if you are expecting to find a Microsoft back-end it isn't. MySQL is the default database used with this product.
LabTech was built by an MSP for MSPs. It can scale from small one man shops to organizations with tens of thousands of endpoints under management. LabTech isn't just for service providers. Enterprises are starting to pick up on the power of LabTech and adopt it as well. It is a great value with a proven track record and solid management guiding its future success in servicing its partners needs.
Read Justin Nehring's full review
Jack Skinner | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2016

LabTech, Managed or Not?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LabTech is used across our entire organization for both MSP and non-MSP clients. It assists with the management and tracking of the PC assets across all clients, gives our Team the tools and information that they need to support the endpoints, and the automation needed for deployment and support of a large number of endpoints with fewer resources.
  • Automation
  • Customization
  • Flexibility
  • Managment
  • Technical Support
  • QA of new releases
  • Communications with their customers
LabTech is a great product, but has great room for improvement and has gradually improved over the past year or so. It lacks some maturity in the product, but excels in features and flexibility. The lack of maturity can usually be over come with some customization due to its flexibility, but it requires additional man hours spent on the product. At times, the support of the test technology is also an issue, but again can usually be over come by additional customization.
Read Jack Skinner's full review
Stuart Bryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2016

LabTech - force multiplication that works well so you don't have to work harder

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage clients' servers and workstations. The service department uses it exclusively. It allows us to effectively support varied infrastructures.
  • Scripting - LabTech's scripting engine is powerful and allows us to automatically remediate issues, and reduce work for routine tasks as well schedule tasks.
  • Integrated GUI - The Control Center has a lot of information and it allows us to find issues without asking for remote control of client computers.
  • Remediation - The tools provided give us multiple ways to deliver support which can be necessary at times.
  • Better AV management integration. Currently we use ESET and Webroot and we often go to the web console of the software vs. the built in LabTech control panels.
  • Some better placement of tools. Not all are very intuitive.
  • License management of add-ons. Not easy to get a quick report.
I think it works well as a standalone RMM platform and could supplant tools like LANdesk if the ticketing and other reporting tools were richer. I'd like to see better IoT support and that will come but for now it's a solid tool and well suited for internal and outsourced IT departments.
Read Stuart Bryan's full review
Linda Lynch | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2016

LabTech leads to more productive and positive environment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LabTech to monitor technology assets for approximately 50 clients with 800 endpoints in total. LabTech alerts us to issues that need to be addressed by creating tickets in our Connectwise system. It also allows us to connect to endpoints remotely for problem resolution when the issue cannot be automatically addressed and resolved by LabTech. In some instances, we can use LabTech to remediate the issue without having to connect to the endpoint, a real plus in many situations.
  • Remote access to endpoints is through Screenconnect. This tool connects faster than anything we have ever used and we have far fewer problems connecting than we had with other tools.
  • The integration with Connectwise is very tight. Many tickets are created for issues that may need attention, but are then closed because the situation has been resolved. For example, we get tickets when servers are offline. When the issue is resolved, the tickets automatically close and we don't have to go through them to make sure that they were closed.
  • LabTech also allows us to control how tickets are created in our Connectwise system based on the category of alert. It is very easy to make sure critical issues are separated from non-critical issues so that our on-call team can be notified of critical events and not bothered with alerts that do not require immediate attentions.
  • The reporting functionality could certainly be improved. You can schedule reports to be sent to clients or internally, but the scheduling is very inflexible.
  • When we purchased LabTech, we were also interested in backup software that would integrate and allow us to perform workstation image backups to local NAS drives. We went with ArcServe only to find out that it wasn't well integrated, in fact, I don't think it is unfair to say that is was not integrated at all. We also learned that we were paying for licenses that are actually free directly from ArcServe. We were able to get the billing changed and we were eventually able to get LabTech to monitor the ArcServe backups, but there still isn't really what we would call integration available.
  • Many of the things that we asked about during implementation had answers that began with 'you can write an SQL query....'. In my mind, this is not an acceptable answer. These were not off the wall requests, but were about how to get the same functionality we had in our previous tool. I don't expect to have to use SQL queries to get reasonable information out of the tool.
Overall, LabTech works well for us and we are happier than we were with our previous tools. The ease and speed at which we can make remote connections has made our team more productive than we were previously. There is, however, a period of time where you need to be fine tuning the tools to eliminate some of the noise that is generated out of the box.
Read Linda Lynch's full review
Steven Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2016

Labtech an excellent MSP framework

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Labtech to support our customers IT systems. For our larger customer's we provide Labtech as a service to augment our customers Internal IT operations.
Labtech provides a framework for our automation of windows systems management, using its API we integrate our UNIX systems management as well
  • Labtech's scripting is some of the best we have used in the RMM market, while not as intuitive as others it is far more powerful
  • Labtech's Integration with ScreenConnect makes connecting to many different systems quickly very easy
  • Labtech currently can not provide very fine-grained monitoring that is needed for monitoring HA systems
  • Labtech's scalability is limited by the hosting platform. a rebuild to use a more robust hosting platform in a scale out vs scale up methodology would be greatly preferred
  • Labtechs managment system
Labtech is well suited for advanced MSP's it is a framework more than a solution. The time involved in setting it up is quite high compared to other RMM's we have used. The analogy i use to describe lab tech is it is an erector set, you can do just about anything you want with it.

It currently uses a windows-based console to access the system, We would prefer a full web console just for being able to access the system universally
Read Steven Peterson's full review
Daniel Dausch | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2016

Robust and highly capable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Labtech for IT Service Providers is a very versatile product that has taken the industry over as the front runner. There is a ton of support out there for the product, as well as a following of independent developers. Labtech is capable of managing our client networks by independently scanning and deploying agents, installing Microsoft patches, keeping us informed about AV status, and monitoring for events that occur on critical machines.
  • Dataviews that show a variety of important information about machines
  • Searches help identify machines with criteria
  • Scripting is very versatile
  • GUI improvements
  • Reporting is lacking
  • Somewhat complex and high learning curve
A single company many not need something so complex to handle their patching and machine management, but for a company that manages different environments and many machines, Labtech is great. Coming from a previous product, Labtech is capable of handling a more robust service area that we were striving to achieve.
Read Daniel Dausch's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 08, 2017

Pretty good product for small/mid MSPs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a managed services provider and use it as one of our RMM tools. We use it to administer patching, reports, integration with antivirus software, integration with backup software and remotely connect to workstations/servers. Our entire service desk and professional services team use LabTech. We do not use it for network monitoring, Office 365 management or AD integration.
  • The integration with screenconnect is my favorite. Being able to console in directly to a machine within a matter of a few clicks is great. Performance is better than teamviewer, logmein, Bomgar, join.me and vnc.
  • Integration with third party products, such as Webroot or Shadow Protect. It has made deployments much easier to manage.
  • Support. The support team at LabTech has always been great. They are always able to locate a knowledge base article or assist with an issue relatively quickly and resolve it just as fast.
  • Patching. This used to work well, but since the 10.0 version forward, it has been lacking. Too often we have systems that don't patch and servers that don't reboot and manual intervention is needed.
  • Reporting. Could use a lot of work. Even with going to Devexpress, we aren't seeing what we want for larger businesses and have to rely on creating our own reports through other tools.
  • Support for third party products. I find a lot that if it isn't integrated to LabTech, the reporting on it lacks. Currently my biggest pet peeve, is how LabTech reports other antivirus statuses. Works great if it is Vipre, ESET or Webroot, but if you are using Trend, Symantec or something else, you don't get accurate data about version status or if it is up to date. Sometimes, it doesn't report an antivirus installed, even though it clearly is.
Overall, I think LabTech ( LT) has been able to do well in all areas, but I see it lacking the ability to manage large scale environments. The LT server itself starts having performance issues over 5,000 agents. Even though you can break out certain services, it needs to be able to scale much higher than that. Within the next 2-3 years, we will have double the amount of agents we currently have and right now we are at 6,500.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2017

ConnectWise Automate Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • One single location for all data (for NOC)
  • Easily scalable
  • Enforces consistent workflows (once the are configured)
  • Support often takes days if not weeks to respond
  • Constant attempts to upsell us on other products
  • Typically we are told changes to the program will require us to pay them more $
This is the ideal program if you are already using ConnectWise (Manage), but not a stretch as ConnectWise purchased LabTech (now Automate) so the programs are really one in the same. The more clients an MSP has, the more value that this program provides. However, the hosted option of Automate (instead of on-premise) is astronomical.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2017

Automation at its finest

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a managed service provider, we used Labtech to manage, automate and maintain our customers' networks.
  • Labtech is great for keeping your Microsoft machines up to date with patching. You can set and approve patches on for each of your customer's specific needs.
  • The monitoring allows for full customization according to your needs.
  • System automation saves your company time by automatically resolving issues without the need for human interaction.
  • Virtual machine monitoring is not that robust and hard to configure.
  • Alerting can sometimes be overwhelming.
  • VNC can sometimes be troublesome to connect to machines.
I have used many of Labtech's competitors and I can tell you that Labtech is the best of the best.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2017

LabTech, the last RMM You Will Ever Use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize LabTech, or Connectwise Automate as they have changed the name, to rapidly deploy remote management tools to our end clients. We use it to do everything from managing Windows patches to automatically cleaning registry errors and auto fixing issues with Windows. We also use it to distribute approved software and make tickets for pressing end client issues. It also enables us to deploy commands to entire environments if we need to mass deploy a GPO or find a single file in hundreds of computers.
  • Scalability.
  • Reduces time that techs need to work on remote computers.
  • Infinitely customizable.
  • Auto fix actions to keep your techs focused on what really matters.
  • Complex setup and configuration, you need a degree in LabTech to really be able to implement it without some help from Connectwise.
  • The main control center and dashboard GUI looks like it came out of Windows 98 but the Computer Management and Patch Management screens look like Windows 10, it can be jarring going back and forth.
  • You will have no clue what to do with all your free time once you have it set up.
LabTech is best suited when you need to manage many different computers on many different clients or hundreds of computers on a single client. Don't bother picking this up if you have less than fifty endpoints that you manage. Also if you are unfamiliar with key SQL, PowerShell, and Scripting concepts you may want to take a few courses before implementing LabTech as it can be very technical to get the initial setup out of the way. After that, you can deploy software, reboot computers, run remote PowerShell commands, and more with the touch of a single button.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2016

LabTech is everything you need in a tool to support your Managed IT Services business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Managed Services company and use Labtech to provide IT management services to our customers. We use it to provide the standard RMM tasks of monitoring and maintenance, patching, remote access through ScreenConnect, antivirus, scripting and automation. It allows us to have a small team of technicians that can work either remotely or on-site at our customers to manage a large number of customer machines.
  • Scripting and automation is very strong with LabTech - my first visit to the yearly conference someone told me that "LabTech can do anything" and over the years I've learned that is almost entirely true.
  • Remote access. LabTech/ConnectWise purchased the company ScreenConnect over a year ago and integrated it fully into the LabTech product at no additional charge. ScreenConnect is truly the best remote access software I've ever used.
  • LabTech is at the top of the industry and we see the benefits from that with the 3rd party integrations that come from being a big player in the market. Big and small companies have worked with LabTech to make custom plugins for their products - products like Intel vPro, Microsoft CloudConnect, Veeam Backup, and ConnectWise are among our favorite integrations.
  • Product updates are historically an area where I would like to see improvement, though to be fair they are working hard on improving it. Major releases often are delayed for months with no real communication or explanation. They have recently promised monthly bug fix releases, and they have stuck to it which is appreciated.
  • There is a module that integrates with Active Directory and imports contacts to be synced with service tickets. The AD module could use a lot of improvements - mainly being smarter and being able to detect removed/disabled contacts.
  • Network monitoring with SNMP is something that's been promised an improvement but haven't seen any movement on in a long time. The current functionality is barely usable so we've added additional 3rd party products to our toolbox to fill that need.
All Managed Service Providers should be on LabTech. Period. I've used/seen some of the competition and while they all have their pros/cons, I don't think anything else compares. In the Enterprise sector it could also be very valuable for an IT team to remotely access and manage all endpoints. I'm not sure it would be worth the investment for smaller companies with an in-house IT department, solely because of the cost associated.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

Great software, needs Mac support and a refreshed UI

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Labtech to manage PCs for hundreds of users. We use it for our commercial clients and we use it to monitor and maintain the computers. In addition, we use Labtech to push out software and software updates. It helps us manage inventory and to ensure that all employees are on current software.
  • Software patching
  • Inventory Management
  • Scripting
  • Mac Support
  • Move the app to the cloud
  • Needs a UI refresh
Labtech is great for managed services providers who are looking to bring organization to the chaos of their client environments. It is helpful in lowering the frequency of rolling trucks to the customers site and helps you to increase the tickets that can be resolved over the phone instead of in person.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2016

Labtech Review for MSPs

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LabTech to manage our clients' IT environments.
  • ScreenConnect works great. This tool in LabTech allows us to provide quick effective remote support to our clients.
  • LabTech is very customizable and has some powerful scripting.
  • There Is still a lot of noise created from the systems especially if you use Ignite.
  • Server monitors are not reliable. We receive a lot of false positive alerts or no alerts at all sometimes. Kaseya monitoring was much better!
  • The system has a lot you can do with it but for most busy MSPs that do not have time to have a full time LabTech admin it needs to be simplified to ensure the system is able to have basic functions working consistently for all managed systems. Currently many common tasks to set up best practices are not intuitive at all!
  • The mobile app does not really work well at all. It locks up and is so slow to refresh data and is unusable.
  • The web interface has improved a lot but still lacks a lot of the functionality that we had in Kaseya.
It's good for a company of managed service providers that can dedicate an employee to manage the system full time. It's not good for busy small to mid size managed service providers without the resources to spend lot of time maintaining LabTech.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2016

LabTech - An MSP's best automation tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LabTech to manage, monitor and automate our services across all of our customer systems. LabTech allows us to manage, monitor, alert, script and deploy to and from multitudes of systems in a very timely manner, reducing our time to resolution from hours to minutes in most everything we do.
  • The LabTech scripting engine is awesome. It allows us to automate repetitive tasks and significantly reduce our time of effort in solving tasks.
  • Hardware information gathering and reporting. The basic Agent information portal in LabTech allows a very clear overview of the state of the hardware and also allows us to rapidly dig into a particular hardware or software area.
  • The new UI for the LabTech Agent is good looking but not as intuitive as the previous one. It also takes some screen dragging to get to the view that you want. Would be nice if the main UI dashboard could be scaled to fit the data panels in the view instead of having to click/drag to get to the panel you want.
LabTech is suited to almost any location/scenario where you have devices/hardware you want to automatically monitor and alert or support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2016

Thoughts about LabTech

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LabTech to manage the computers within our organization, as well as a few thousand computers we manage for our customers.
  • Provides good, detailed information about computers' properties - running processes, installed software, hardware, networking, logs, etc...
  • Provides simple, fast, and powerful remote access capabilities.
  • Can be configured to automatically respond when certain behaviors occur on monitored computers. The possible responses are limited only by imagination.
  • Has powerful scripting capabilities.
  • The user interface is improving with new versions but is unintuitive and sometimes difficult to figure out.
LabTech is very powerful and vary capable & useful if you learn how to use it correctly. If you aren't able to put in the needed time and effort to learn it, then it won't be very beneficial. The LT training offerings are very good, if you have the time & money to attend them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2016

LabTech Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used LabTech for monitoring devices. It's very easy to use and very user friendly. It has been used a s apart of our core testing of the devices that are designed by our company.
  • Very user friendly.
  • Inexpensive as compared to others.
  • Good for a small sized company.
  • Make it good for larger networks.
  • Have more room to customize the dashboards.
  • Make it faster for a larger scale.
LabTech would be more suited for the small sized company, it has to make improvements for larger companies or larger scale [use].
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2016

Labtech Our impression

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product is designed to be used as an advanced monitoring and remote support tool. We use it to manage and monitor all our customers' servers, desktops and provide remote support. It addresses the need to monitor multiple servers, provide Microsoft patching, remote support and some basic reporting.
  • Remote access. Now it uses screen connect to remotely access computers- it is much faster.
  • Monitoring of servers for uptime and errors - this is ok could be a lot better.
  • Labtech has lots of features unfortunatly a lot feel incomplete or don't work as well as you would expect. It has a tool to pull license keys of machines that doesn't work well. The reporting is very inflexible and slow. The monitoring of uptime can be a little flakey and the lowest threshold is 5 min. We would prefer to know immediately if something is down.
  • It's very expensive especially considering we host it ourselves on our own servers.
  • It's powerful but requires a lot of effort to make it work for you. At a conference a question was asked "Who feels they are not utilizing LabTech to its full potential" nearly everyone put their hands up. It requires a lot of work.
  • Microsoft patching requires a bit of effort to keep on track and is a bit manual accepting patches etc.
Its remote access is really good now. It is improving all the time. Its quite good for monitoring the basics on servers like disk space, uptime, and patching (with a little work). A lot of MSPs use it because it's one of the best of the bunch. It used to be a lot cheeper now it is not. Best thing is get a demo and really try it out (if you have time) don't accept the sales pitch of it will all work once it's set up. You need to see it all working for what you want before you buy.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Remote monitoring (12)
9.2
Network device monitoring (12)
7.5
Multiple Server Monitoring (12)
9.4
Multi-device monitoring (12)
9.0
Automated alerts and notifications (12)
9.0
Patch Management (12)
8.9
Service configuration management (12)
8.7
Software and hardware inventory (12)
8.9
Policy-based automation (12)
8.5
Performance data reports (12)
8.3
Customizable reporting (12)
8.2
Data visualization (12)
7.4
Risk analysis (11)
6.6
Data backup and recovery (8)
7.2
Antivirus and malware management (12)
8.6
Adinistraor access control (11)
9.0

About ConnectWise Automate

ConnectWise Automate, formerly LabTech, is an IT management tool that helps deliver IT services. The vendor says their remote monitoring and management (RMM) platform provides powerful automation to discover and manage devices, monitor for problems, and automate action. According to the vendor, this solution enables users to deliver streamlined reactive and proactive managed services, stop putting out fires, and start focusing on what matters most.

ConnectWise Automate Features

Has featureDiscovery
Has featureManagement
Has featureMonitoring
Has featureAutomation
Has featureIntegration

ConnectWise Automate Screenshots

ConnectWise Automate Integrations

ConnectWise Manage, ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect), ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect)

ConnectWise Automate Competitors

Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA), Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA), Autotask Endpoint Management, Continuum Managed IT Services, Solarwinds N·able

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

ConnectWise Automate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

ConnectWise Automate Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: Automate's Control Center is in English, Agents are compatible with all Windows supported Languages