IT Glue Reviews

37 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Russ Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

IT Glue is, by far, the best documentation system we have ever used.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IT Glue to keep all our customer data organized, in sync, and shared to our technicians. We also use the My Glue portion for several clients to grant them access to their passwords and commonly needed information. Finally, it makes a fantastic password generator.
  • Easy to navigate and well laid out GUI.
  • Being able to find what you're looking for is of high importance, of course. IT Glue has an easy to navigate layout, and the search functions make it easy to find exactly what you're looking for.
  • Quick, convenient, and complex password generation.
  • When you create a new login your option to generate a password is right there. I don't think I need to explain the need to have complex and diverse passwords among your clients.
  • Over the last few years, there have been some bugs in the GUI. For a time if you moved a password, it would just disappear. Thankfully the help desk over there has always been quick to respond.
If you're a small office or a MSP with very few clients, you may not see the need for such a well stocked application. In general, I would say IT Glue starts really becoming valuable when you're up to around ten clients or so. This would also be highly useful if you have a small number of clients with complex configurations. Being able to drill down into more and more detail is always appreciated.
Read Russ Taylor's full review
Matthew Ingram | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

IT Glue - Swell and Narly

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep track of our customer's computers, servers and networks.
  • Organization
  • Passwords
  • Linking to other items
  • Integration with PSA/RMM
  • Sometimes it takes a long time to update flexible asset changes
  • Quickly finding things could be improved or maybe I just need to learn more.
  • Vendor doesn't seem to care much about the small MSPs.
  • Hard to get a call back for an upsell. What's up with that?
Syncs well with my RMM, SyncroMSP. It doesn't sync back to SynchroMSP. I end up putting my assets in Synchro so they sync with IT Glue. I looked at other options and it was either crappy integration or no integration. It stinks that you have to pay for the enterprise version just to get any kind of integration. I cannot take advantage of all the features, not sure it's worth the money but there is nothing much better.
Read Matthew Ingram's full review
John Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

The best documentation platform, hands down.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Documentation is one of those fields that we have struggled with in the past. To be honest, we looked at several competitors before landing on IT Glue simply because of the cost but found ourselves unhappy with everything we tried. When we finally decided to try we saw why so many other MSPs use it in their environments; because it does what it is supposed to do in an organized, efficient, and very well designed way.
  • Documentation is organized in such a way that multiple users reviewing, editing, and adding is a breeze.
  • Integration with our RMM keeps or configurations up to date with accurate information. Adding non-managed devices is quick, easy, and very helpful.
  • As an MSP that does a lot of hosting, the SSL monitoring is a lifesaver; this has literally saved us countless times from expired SSLs.
  • Passwords management, though not terrible, could definitely be upgraded a bit. I would like to see more customization options added.
  • Settings are a bit clunky to navigate.
Any site or organization that needs a documentation tool needs to at least give IT Glue a chance. I can say with almost certainty that we will never go back to anything else. This just works!
Read John Lewis's full review
Dale Bradford | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

IT Glue and you!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We made the decision a couple years ago to bring our help desk in-house. With that we had to find a way to collect all the information we had on our customer base in one central, secure, location. After a few months of tossing ideas around we decided to demo ITGlue, and it has been the best decision we have made.. With IT Glue's integrations and their easy to use interface, implementing it and training our help desk staff was so easy!
  • Web Based Short cut keys: IT Glue has built in to their WebUI short cut keys to allow you to access your data faster
  • Mobile App: With their mobile app, our staff and access needed information about our customer quickly and securely
  • Integrations: They integrate with almost all of our softwares. So getting data in to so easy!
  • Up time: There have been a couple of times in the last month or so, that we couldn't get to our information. I will say the outages are usually brief and followed up with a detailed explanation as to why it happened.
  • Integration Improvements: Though the integrate with alot of our software, some need to be improved, and made two-way.
  • Mobile App: Their mobile app is amazing, however some data is still not available on it.
We love this software because it makes collecting and maintaining the data really easy. It also allows for us to give our customers access to their data. No more calls asking about their wireless passcode, to license keys, though we are here to help, IT Glue helps our customers be a little more self sufficient.
Read Dale Bradford's full review
Sam Kemp | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

IT Glue is an absolute must-have for any MSP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue is being used on our technical team to handle all inventory/asset, password, knowledgebase management to support our customers. It allows us to have a one-stop-shop for any information our techs may need.
  • Password management.
  • API connections to key software such as Autotask and Office 365.
  • Configuration documentation.
  • Full push to auth 2FA with Duo.
  • Mobile App - This would be #1.
This is a perfect solution for any MSP who needs quick access to customer information from ISP circuits to passwords. The more you put into this software the more you will get out of it in the long run.
Read Sam Kemp's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

Holding all of your IT world together

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IT glue in our tech services department. We are using it to store config info and passwords as well as any help docs we create. We are using IT Glue to replace all of our old spreadsheets and Word documents/one note that contained most of this information. We have also integrated IT Glue with Connectwise, Meraki and Datto to make sure all config into is captured for our customers
  • Well organized and straightforward - Lots of options on where and how to enter information into the system.
  • Able to integrate a lot of other programs into IT Glue such as Kaseya, Connectwise, Datto, Meraki.
  • Built-in change-log has prevented many arguments about who did what, or changed what, or when.
  • If it's not in IT Glue - It doesn't exist.
  • Not enough information - and too much information can make things messy.
  • Integrations should be easier to handle and back sync should work better - This would prevent a lot of useless or old info from becoming cluttered.
When we onboard customers, only one member of the team is involved. This team member will be the only one to touch each machine and gather all info and documentation from the customer. Without IT Glue we would have nowhere to put that documentation, and other engineers would be asking for this information all the time. When we put the information in IT Glue it is accessible to everyone, and if it is not in IT Glue, then it does not exist.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

IT Glue - Great Documentation Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue is used mainly as a documentation source for the company I work for. We have a sync with ConnectWise Manage that brings over all of our contacts and configurations to one central location. We are able to tie in specific configurations with specific vendors which makes it easy to track down the information we need.
  • Global search makes it easy to find any documentation across any company.
  • Flexible Assets allow for custom tracking.
  • MyGlue, allows our customers to see documentation we have for their environment.
  • Unable to add custom assets that do not come with IT Glue.
  • Unable to customize certain assets.
  • Domain tracker doesn't check if it is set to auto renew.
IT Glue is best suited for medium to larger sized companies who rely on documentation for multiple customers. It's easy to use and user friendly layout makes it really easy to find the information you are looking for. As with any documentation platform, it needs to be maintained, but if done well, it makes life a whole lot easier.
Read this authenticated review
Glen Nash | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

IT Glue, it is for you.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue documents all of our clients' and internal IT information. It is being used across our organization and allows all departments to share the same info. It has created one standard format and location for all needed account information. We would have a difficult time staying on top of documenting ever changing landscapes without this product.
  • Documetation
  • Security
  • Uniformity
  • Slow to open
  • Needs more custom fields
  • Crashes often
IT Glue, meant for IT service providers, is great for documenting both large and small environments. It has great fundamentals and the development continues to improve. Every tech can add and search for whats needed. It does lack in the ability to create easy global custom fields. However the pro's out way the con's 100 to 1.
Read Glen Nash's full review
Leonard Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

IT Glue is easy to use and is a lot of fun to learn

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue has been given our MSP team a large array of tools to better assist our clients. It allows us to easily access such tools as passwords, licenses, knowledge base articles, and keep track of everything that our clients have on site. We are able to locate anything on the site by a simple search. It makes managing simple and easy to use. It has helped reduce the amount of time each of us spends searching for client information. We are also able to sync various vendors with IT Glue and all that information is pulled into their page. This helps us stay productive as an MSP. We receive better results with how reliable IT Glue has been.
  • Client Management - We are able to easily select a client or do a search for a particular password on the main page.
  • There is a lot of information you can add for each client: Contacts, documents, domain information, SSL information, and more. It's very well made, so nothing feels confusing.
  • IT Glue integrates very well with other software to make it even better. Being able to use PowerShell and RDP within IT Glue is super useful.
  • The price for each IT Glue user is not that high.
  • Removing KB documents takes some time to learn. This mainly has to do with certain permissions assigned to each user. I wish it was easier to delete documents that are added by mistake.
  • There's a bit of a learning curve before you see why IT Glue is so good. You might feel overwhelmed at first.
  • I hope IT Glue keeps adding more vendors to the list. It would be a shame if something wasn't compatible or could not be imported into IT Glue.
If you manage clients through an MSP then you should try IT Glue. It is easy to use and you can do just about anything if you take the time to get it set up. I really enjoy using IT Glue. It has a lot of information about our clients. You don't have to look at getting multiple programs or software to run a successful MSP team. If you're smaller and you aren't looking to spend the money then maybe you could get by using something else. There are a lot of free and low-cost solutions out there. After a while, you will either love IT Glue or you've found something that works for you.
Read Leonard Johnson's full review
William Pote | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

IT Glue eases documentation worries

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IT Glue in almost every aspect of our business. From managing client documentation to writing SOPs for how we communicate to prospects. It really has given us a centralized repository to manage our business within. Since upgrading to the enterprise license, we've been able to save even more time because of the API integrations with all of the tools that we use.
  • It works consistently
  • They are innovating regularly
  • Good consolidation of information
  • Development could happen faster
  • It's occasionally (very occasionally) flakey
It really helps provide structure around your documentation that can be lacking when using other tools. In my opinion, it's especially well suited if you have two or more people in your shop. It allows you to tag information, which makes it easy to find and build public documents you can share out to your clients.
Read William Pote's full review
Rob Rotundo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

IT Glue - Strong adhesive? Or basically a bandaid?

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue is being used across our entire company, but mostly for our tech side. It helps to organize configurations, passwords, accounts, etc...all into one easy to find place. It basically takes place of needing a separate inventory system and knowledge base. By "gluing" it all together, it's easier to quickly find the info we need.
  • Easy to manage users and data.
  • Easy to integrate with ConnectWise.
  • Sync process takes a LONG time, especially for the in-house version.
  • Embedded vs Standard passwords can get tricky to manage.
Here's the thing: if you're an MSP starting from scratch, this tool would almost be mandatory. If you're already a relatively large MSP and have been using other tools, converting it all to IT Glue is a nightmare and a full-time job. Even then, things get forgotten, misplaced or skipped. Then the conversion ends up taking a back seat and is never fully utilized properly.
Read Rob Rotundo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Must have IT documentation tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for documentation purposes of our internal assets and documents, but also our customers.
  • Integration with RMMs and PSAs.
  • Keeps everything in one place that is easy to search.
  • Security and Authentication.
  • Expensive.
  • It's time-consuming to get all the data entry done.
I cannot think where IT Glue cannot be used, this tool is great if you are managing several customers or just your internal systems. You have access through any web browser and mobile app, it keeps a history of any changes that are made, and it takes the Excel worksheet off your network share.
Read this authenticated review
Shaun Joubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2018

KB Management at the next level

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue has been implemented throughout our entire Managed Services division.

IT Glue has allowed us to quickly and easily access client information such as passwords, vendor management information and all the relevant services our clients have set up.

We have also been able to integrate IT Glue into Autotask to set up quick links to relevant information based on keywords.
  • The UI has been set up perfectly, there is a sub-menu for every possible bit of information you wish to store.
  • There are a number of excellent features such as the autohiding passwords and quick searching from anywhere on the page.
  • The recent addition of the IT Glue is also an excellent feature, it features online self-guided courses to become a certified IT Glue user.
  • You can create and group custom documents together.
  • IT Glue can be integrated with a number of platforms such as Autotask.
  • IT Glue also integrates well with N-Central to automatically populate the configurations tab with all the relevant Workstation, Printer, and Server information making client on-boarding a breeze.
  • The document import function needs some improvement.
  • The search works well enough but can benefit from some refinement.
IT Glue is well suited to any size managed service provider that requires a secure central knowledge base.

IT Glue also integrates well with N-Central to automatically populate the configurations tab with all the relevant Workstation, Printer, and Server information making client on-boarding a breeze.
Read Shaun Joubert's full review
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

IT Glue - the essential MSP documentation solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue is our primary documentation system. We use it for all information about our clients and as much as possible for internal information. It addresses the problem of "where and how" to put client data, logins, and instructional checklists/guides. We utilize IT Glue for all of our documentation on setup guides and how-to fixes.
  • Well thought out interface and organization, there is a place for everything.
  • Quick and easy to copy paste, especially for credentials. Secure view of credentials to prevent it from sitting on a screen for too long.
  • Amazing search features allow for quick finding of keywords.
  • Small item, but linking can be a bit better. When a "standard password" is used, for instance, it would be nice to link objects as child and parent so that they follow the parent if it is updated. Right now, you have to make associations and fill passwords with "see parent" but it's not intuitive.
  • Creating configurations are useful and many things build on it. If you do not create the configuration beforehand, you have to open another tab and create the configuration then search for it and link it to the building item (such as a firewall/router item). It would be nice if you could do it all in one pane.
IT Glue is much better than any documentation system built into a ticketing or RMM system. I have used many tools but IT Glue's interface is very fast and easy to learn. It is laid out in a very intuitive way that is quick to pick up and understand how and why.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Alissa Levanway | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2018

IT Glue - Documentation at its best

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize IT Glue for saving passwords, organizing documents related to trainings, saving confidential customer information. It is a place where we can give specific access to items that only a few people or all people needing access to. It has a password generator so you know if you're setting up a new passcode to something, you have one to choose that is secure and strong.
  • Passwords - Generating a new password , saving passwords, and the option to copy to clip board without diving all the way into the password profile. The option to also save information related to that specific login such as account #, rep names, etc.
  • Documents - You can create folders to save grouped documents into. For example, we have employee workbooks, departmental documents, quarterly forms, etc
  • Sync- IT Glue syncs with ConnectWise Manage which is a great tool for keeping all our configurations together.
  • Searching - Unless you know clearly what you are looking for, the search bar could use improvement. I find that I have to type in several different keywords for it to work and even then it doesn't pull up everything I'm looking for
  • Syncing - It's not totally clear to me how to get it to sync with ConnectWise. I know it does it automatically but if I'm working to update items in both softwares I don't right away see a button that says "Sync" and I think that would be handy to have
For IT companies, this is a great documentation tool. It helps if trying to save information for specific clients and for providing access accordingly. It's easy to use for editing so beginners shouldn't have to difficult of a time in using it. We used to use WIKI and that was much more complex then this.
Read Alissa Levanway's full review
Jennifer Henney | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2018

Huge initial outlay leads to huge gains in productivity

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using IT Glue to document our MSP clients as well as our internal SOPs and KBs. We chose it not only because it appeared to be the most robust documentation solution for MSPs available, plus it integrates with a large number of our other tools. The ultimate goal is to have IT Glue be the central repository of information for our entire organization. We were previously keeping our clients' network books in OneNote and Excel spreadsheets and our internal documentation scattered around a shared drive and SharePoint.
  • Linking related items together to form a big picture view of a network and all of its moving pieces.
  • Integration with our PSA and RMM to provide alerts by creating tickets for things that are expiring like domains, certificates, warranties, and documentation.
  • The ability to track our users' engagement with the tool to encourage a culture of documentation and standardization.
  • Like many other MSPs we had the majority of our SOPs and KBs in Word docs. The best case scenario would be to simply drop those files directly into ITG without having to import them into the ITG documentation format. The import function is so broken as to not be an option because it completely ruins formatting and tends to drop images. Thus we have to manually copy/paste text and individually upload each image.
  • They marketed the product as having true branding but that is stretching the truth. SSL is not an option so client-facing documents will give security errors in browsers. ITG does not appear to be concerned about this even though security is a major concern for all MSPs.
IT Glue out of the box has all the basic tools to document a client environment and the customizable flexible assets mean your documentation and relationship mapping options are limitless. However, getting ITG set up in your organization requires a significant amount of time and effort and a culture shift to be sure that the data remains current. Everyone needs 100% buy-in for it to work, otherwise, they will stop trusting the data and stop using the product.
Read Jennifer Henney's full review
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2018

IT Glue - Wonderful Documentation System for Managed IT Service Providers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT Glue has been a great tool for us. Finally, a provider has gotten it right in providing the flexibility needed for IT documentation for managed service providers. Our firm moved to IT Glue over a year ago and has greatly benefited from its features and resources, and continual new features added. At this point, we're heavily steeped in the solution with it integrated into our client onboarding systems, and much for the better, compared to prior systems we used. We opted not to use the password storage part of IT Glue (we're using a separate utility for this), but IT Glue can do that, too. IT Glue for managed IT service providers is definitely worth checking out.
  • Flexible Assets are custom questions or forms that you get to create to keep the kind of documentation that *you* want. Our team has done this, and have developed a comprehensive system in our documentation that is better than anything we've ever had.
  • Tagging. This feature is so helpful when interlinking related items in the documentation system. IT Glue makes it so easy to tag other configurations, including printers, firewalls, phones, etc.
  • Public sharing of knowledge base articles. Often our clients need to know how to do something. We can add pictures, step-by-step walkthroughs that save us and them a ton of time.
  • iFrame embedding. There's some flexibility to the web pages that have been helpful for putting other things, such as Cognito Forms in.
  • Communication/roadmapping on their support enhancement forums has been lacking.
  • At this time, it appears that key words in flexible assets are not as searchable as they should be. More search functionality in general for existing documentation would be good.
If you are a managed IT services provider and want to keep organized and flexible documentation for your clients, then IT Glue is a great fit. It also syncs well with our ConnectWise PSA, which we appreciate.

If someone is looking for a documentation system that is not specifically for IT support, then probably look elsewhere.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
Wil Buchanan | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2017

IT Glue - Excellent place to create documentation that you will have a hard time finding

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IT Glue as our documentation platform. Our initial setup involved manually migrating thousands of pages of documentation out of our old system. There were some automation steps that we could have taken, but we decided to do it manually to preserve formatting and to clean up years of old documentation.


  • Excellent visibility
  • Easy to see if we have fully documented a client network
  • Able to share client documentation with client in a secure fashion
  • So far we have enjoyed the functionality of ITG with one exception:
  • The search feature is severely lacking. We have thousands of articles in this knowledge base but the search window is about 1" wide and only shows the first few words of each article. Within our system, those first few words are often the same "SYSTEMS: How-To...". If we are searching for a system, we will have no alternative but to manually try to find this document by browsing through folders within ITG.
  • Unfortunately ITG has not responded to a flurry of enhancement requests around this feature, that go back quite a while.
  • The functionality that would make this a killer app for us would be a dedicated search page that displayed results like a Google search page.
  • Ability to export all client documentation if the client moves to another provider.
Without the search functionality, we will not be recommending this software/service. I am hopeful that ITG will respond to what seems like a pretty simple request, otherwise we will start the tedious process of looking for another documentation system.
Read Wil Buchanan's full review
Benjamin Kaeding | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2017

Happy but Could be Happier

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We love how easy IT Glue is to use to create and organize new documentation. We use It Glue document procedures configurations. Unfortunately, there is one major drawback when it comes to the ability to search. If this could be corrected, I think we would be much more pleased with it.
  • Organization by category or customer.
  • Editing is very easy and the ability to attach images and documents is wonderful.
  • The ability to link to other documents and related configurations is very handy.
  • The search has limited display space and is pretty useless.
  • An automated keyword "Tagging" function would be nice. We do this manually at the bottom our our documents now.
I would recommend IT Glue more if the search was more functional. If this were corrected, it would fit just about any company to record standard processes and configurations.
Read Benjamin Kaeding's full review

About IT Glue

IT Glue, a Kaseya company since the December 2018 acquisition, is an information management platform that allows for efficient storage and retrieval of all the documentation an organization needs to help their MSP run better. By integrating PSA and RMM data, the vendor says they can help increase efficiency, and reduce onboarding times. Additionally, the vendor says by eliminating wasted time, IT Glue gives organizations more time to focus on what matters - growing their business.

IT Glue Features

Has featureFlexible Assets
Has featurePassword Management
Has featureAPI & Documentation Automation
Has featureKnowledge Base & SOPs
Has featureSOC 2 Compliant

IT Glue Screenshots

IT Glue Integrations

Datto Autotask PSA, Zapier, Datto, Slack, SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management (RMM), Lucidchart, SolarWinds N-central, Jamf Pro, Pulseway, ConnectWise Manage, ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA), Warranty Master

IT Glue Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$19per user
Select$29per user
Enterprise$39per user

IT Glue Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

IT Glue Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand
Supported Languages: English