TrustRadius
Marketo is a marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities spanning SMB to enterprise. Basic features include email marketing, drip nurturing, landing pages, and lead scoring, but other editions offer additional advanced features. Typical customers are B2B firms with complex sales cycles.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/2C/bR/K0CNIBPW0UWO.JPEGMarketo- The PowerhouseMarketo is being used by both the Marketing team and the Sales Team. Marketo assists our Marketing team by providing a platform to gather lead information at each phase of the buyer's journey. Through the information that Marketing gathers, we are able to enroll selected leads into email campaigns. Additionally, Marketo provides lead information to our sales representatives in real time. Sales representatives are able to see which web pages certain leads have visited, what forms (if any) were submitted, and are able to follow up with leads using pre-loaded Marketo templates. Marketo has increased efficiency in our prospect follow up processes.,Marketo is a robust lead management platform that houses all necessary customer/prospect information needed to deploy relevant campaigns. Easy to use Salesforce integration In-depth list segmentation,While a pro about Marketo is its robust platform and tools, a con is that it takes significantly more time to understand and become highly knowledgeable about the platform. Marketo is pretty pricey compared to other platforms like HubSpot, and additional functionality/features within Marketo seems to come at a higher price. The reports are pretty basic and not as visually appealing as other auto-generated reports in competitor platforms like HubSpot.,6,Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,HubSpot,1 to 5 million,B2BMarketo - THE Marketing Automation LeaderAs a consultant, I have seen businesses achieve results in a number of areas. Marketing operations teams have dramatically reduced the time it takes to launch campaigns, marketing and sales alignment has greatly improved with the handoff of quality leads and automated communication around marketing, and businesses have insights into their lead funnel that hadn't existed in the past, and can market accordingly.,Streamlined creation of marketing programs. Marketo dramatically reduces time spent by the Marketing ops team through tokens, cloneable programs and dynamic content. Integration. Marketo integrates seamlessly with many components of a MarTech stack and integrates smoothly with SFDC. Enablement of sales and marketing alignment: MArketo greatly assists with sales and marketing alignment through its scoring and lifecycle functionality, interesting moments and Marketo Sales Insights, and automated alerts and tasks.,Microsoft Dynamics integration is lacking. Product documentation often follows behind new product releases.,10,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business Other,Engage and grow customers over time,Oracle Eloqua, Pardot and HubSpot,1 to 5 million,BothMarketing is Easier With MarketoWe use Marketo in our Marketing department to help with email marketing, marketing automation, lead tracking, web forms, integration with our CRM, integration with other third-party SaaS applications, and much more. Marketo is integral to our business processes and we have used it for four years.,User tracking from lead through to sale Creating automated marketing campaigns with full analytics Integrating with different SaaS applications - they make it easy!,Hard to get everything set up and requires lots of "tribal" knowledge Support is okay at best, takes too long to get a response UI is average, could use an update,9,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,MailChimp and Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio,100,000 to 250,000,B2BMy experience with MarketoWe use Marketo across our entire organization. We use it for B2B and B2C email campaigns. Marketo helps us track engagement and manage our reporting. Most of our campaigns are batch and blast, and we could do a lot more to make use of the metrics within Marketo. I'd also love to convince our organization to upgrade to the Marketo Emails editor 2.0.,Marketo provides us with a quick tool for creating forms and LP's. We track open/click rates. We host a ton of images in Marketo.,Marketo can run a bit slow across the organization The interface is a bit clunky, and not very user intuitive The WYSIWYG is not very good,8,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business Other,Oracle Eloqua, Pardot and MailChimp,100,000 to 250,000,B2BThe B2B Leader. A powerful tool.Marketo is used as the source of truth for marketing. All marketing data flows through Marketo, as well as emails, landing pages, and more. It's only been used by the marketing department in my experience, although I see broader application and value.,Flexibility. If you can imagine it, you can automate it with Marketo. They make nearly every behavioral action and data point accessible for automation and workflows. Not all platforms, even the other market leaders do this. An impressive roadmap. I started using Marketo when it was essentially a place for email and storing leads. They have an impressive vision that they've executed on fairly well. Specifically, web personalization tools and integrating AI. It gives me confidence in the future of the platform and their ability to innovate. Integrations. The Salesforce integration is excellent. So much better than Pardot's despite being Salesforce owned. The ad bridge integrations with Facebook, LinkedIn, etc are really useful for building segments.,The email builder is just not good. They've made some improvements, specifically around pre-built templates and making them modular, but, it's still weak. So many other SMB platforms have drag n drop builders. Marketo needs to catch up in this area. The landing page builder is also lacking. Creating a simple landing page template necessitates hiring a developer or using a pre-built template. I just think a platform of Marketo's level should be more drag n drop. Visualizing nurturing programs or other automation is tough. It works for me, but I speak to a lot of people who are frustrated by this. They need to find a way to clearly create logic paths that can be visualized in a connected fashion.,9,Cross-Sell Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Pardot and HubSpot,100,000 to 250,000,B2B
Unspecified
Marketo
1507 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Marketo Reviews

Marketo
1507 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1507 vetted Marketo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 664)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Marketo- The Powerhouse"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used by both the Marketing team and the Sales Team. Marketo assists our Marketing team by providing a platform to gather lead information at each phase of the buyer's journey. Through the information that Marketing gathers, we are able to enroll selected leads into email campaigns. Additionally, Marketo provides lead information to our sales representatives in real time. Sales representatives are able to see which web pages certain leads have visited, what forms (if any) were submitted, and are able to follow up with leads using pre-loaded Marketo templates. Marketo has increased efficiency in our prospect follow up processes.
  • Marketo is a robust lead management platform that houses all necessary customer/prospect information needed to deploy relevant campaigns.
  • Easy to use Salesforce integration
  • In-depth list segmentation
  • While a pro about Marketo is its robust platform and tools, a con is that it takes significantly more time to understand and become highly knowledgeable about the platform.
  • Marketo is pretty pricey compared to other platforms like HubSpot, and additional functionality/features within Marketo seems to come at a higher price.
  • The reports are pretty basic and not as visually appealing as other auto-generated reports in competitor platforms like HubSpot.
Marketo is an excellent Marketing Automation Platform geared towards marketers. If you are looking for a platform that is easy to use for both Marketing and Sales, this platform may be tricky to onboard. Marketo Smart Lists is a key feature and a very helpful tool for marketers when trying to target a specific group of people. The filters within Smart Lists are extensive and nearly every filter you can think of is available. The ability to create an AMB campaign in Marketo was a key project for our team to undertake. The Account Based Marketing tool within Marketo proved to be useful and helpful when targeting specific high producing prospects. However, you are limited to the number of accounts you can create for your ABM campaign. It would be helpful if this number was not capped.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo has assisted greatly with the improvement of our lead management. Once we were able to integrate Marketo with Salesforce, we have been able to have lead information being shared cross-departmentally and more efficient/streamlined follow-ups with our prospects. By creating triggers and flows, our Marketing team has made it easier for sales representatives to automatically follow up with a selected list of prospects depending on their stage in the buying process. Additionally, Marketo has made filtering through inbound leads more efficient, allowing only "hot leads" to be passed to sales representatives with all submitted lead information seamlessly populating into the Salesforce CRM.
Read Whitney Slothower's full review
August 07, 2018

Review: "Marketo - THE Marketing Automation Leader"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I have seen businesses achieve results in a number of areas. Marketing operations teams have dramatically reduced the time it takes to launch campaigns, marketing and sales alignment has greatly improved with the handoff of quality leads and automated communication around marketing, and businesses have insights into their lead funnel that hadn't existed in the past, and can market accordingly.
  • Streamlined creation of marketing programs. Marketo dramatically reduces time spent by the Marketing ops team through tokens, cloneable programs and dynamic content.
  • Integration. Marketo integrates seamlessly with many components of a MarTech stack and integrates smoothly with SFDC.
  • Enablement of sales and marketing alignment: MArketo greatly assists with sales and marketing alignment through its scoring and lifecycle functionality, interesting moments and Marketo Sales Insights, and automated alerts and tasks.
  • Microsoft Dynamics integration is lacking.
  • Product documentation often follows behind new product releases.
Marketo is a powerful, flexible, and scalable marketing automation platform. It integrates very well with SFDC and a number of Martech solutions. From data management to scoring and lifecycle reporting to online and offline marketing initiatives, Marketo has you covered. I highly recommend Marketo for any of these scenarios and day to day marketing operations.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read Michelle Miles's full review
June 28, 2018

User Review: "Marketing is Easier With Marketo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo in our Marketing department to help with email marketing, marketing automation, lead tracking, web forms, integration with our CRM, integration with other third-party SaaS applications, and much more. Marketo is integral to our business processes and we have used it for four years.
  • User tracking from lead through to sale
  • Creating automated marketing campaigns with full analytics
  • Integrating with different SaaS applications - they make it easy!
  • Hard to get everything set up and requires lots of "tribal" knowledge
  • Support is okay at best, takes too long to get a response
  • UI is average, could use an update
Marketo is well-suited for a medium to a large enterprise that has people devoted to getting it set up and running. You have to really WANT to get it going, otherwise, you will not get great value out of the product. Once you get it up and running, it's a great product with lots of resources on the web for use. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a full marketing automation suite.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo to communicate with our partners, customers, employees, and prospects. We are looking to increase sales, sign up new partners, and communicate more effectively with each group. We also use Marketo for lead generation on our website with forms, landing pages, and personalization.
Read David Portnowitz's full review
June 14, 2018

User Review: "My experience with Marketo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo across our entire organization. We use it for B2B and B2C email campaigns. Marketo helps us track engagement and manage our reporting. Most of our campaigns are batch and blast, and we could do a lot more to make use of the metrics within Marketo. I'd also love to convince our organization to upgrade to the Marketo Emails editor 2.0.
  • Marketo provides us with a quick tool for creating forms and LP's.
  • We track open/click rates.
  • We host a ton of images in Marketo.
  • Marketo can run a bit slow across the organization
  • The interface is a bit clunky, and not very user intuitive
  • The WYSIWYG is not very good
Like I said previously, Marketo is really good for batch and blast campaigns. We use it for events as well, but the reporting is not as great as we'd like it to be. I suspect it has something to do with how we've set up our campaign.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
New product sales and to drive growth. Also, increasing revenue with our current customers is always a goal of ours. Tracking customers through the funnel is easier with certain reporting types we use within Marketo. Marketo is relatively easy to use once you understand it, and were able to be pretty agile when it comes to creating assets and campaigns.
Read Derrick Phipps's full review
June 14, 2018

Marketo Review: "The B2B Leader. A powerful tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used as the source of truth for marketing. All marketing data flows through Marketo, as well as emails, landing pages, and more. It's only been used by the marketing department in my experience, although I see broader application and value.
  • Flexibility. If you can imagine it, you can automate it with Marketo. They make nearly every behavioral action and data point accessible for automation and workflows. Not all platforms, even the other market leaders do this.
  • An impressive roadmap. I started using Marketo when it was essentially a place for email and storing leads. They have an impressive vision that they've executed on fairly well. Specifically, web personalization tools and integrating AI. It gives me confidence in the future of the platform and their ability to innovate.
  • Integrations. The Salesforce integration is excellent. So much better than Pardot's despite being Salesforce owned. The ad bridge integrations with Facebook, LinkedIn, etc are really useful for building segments.
  • The email builder is just not good. They've made some improvements, specifically around pre-built templates and making them modular, but, it's still weak. So many other SMB platforms have drag n drop builders. Marketo needs to catch up in this area.
  • The landing page builder is also lacking. Creating a simple landing page template necessitates hiring a developer or using a pre-built template. I just think a platform of Marketo's level should be more drag n drop.
  • Visualizing nurturing programs or other automation is tough. It works for me, but I speak to a lot of people who are frustrated by this. They need to find a way to clearly create logic paths that can be visualized in a connected fashion.
Marketo is well-suited for anyone looking to build a large scale demand generation machine. If you need to integrate with Salesforce, it's a really good fit. You won't be limited by or outgrow Marketo. You'll probably outgrow quite a few of the cheaper solutions.
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
For cross-sells, you can easily create lists of leads that look like your customers for product A based on any criteria. You can then target them, across all channels, from email to your website, to online ads, with full personalization. Marketo is excellent for lead management as well. You can automatically update data with ease. This really reduces manual work. For example, I frequently timestamp field changes to get an easy view of when key metrics changed. For prospecting / new business, Marketo makes it easy to see which channels are contributing to pipeline and revenue growth. I can see which programs and channels are having the highest impact and double down on those through personalization.
Read Austin Schmidt's full review
September 19, 2018

User Review: "Marketo good and bad"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo was being used by the ecommerce department, so every online transaction with the web platform involved Marketo. The company uses Marketo to keep track of analytics, sales, email, mobile, and social promotions. We also use Marketo for other aspects such as web design management. It addresses problems such as lack of customer reach and engagement.
  • The platform keeps track of all the information on our end as well as the customers end.
  • It links all affiliate, social, email, and web so it is all connected and not separate platforms.
  • It is an up to date and easy to navigate platform on business and customer end
  • It is digital based marketing, which isn't bad, but it is directed towards that, so if your company isn't, this is not the platform for you.
  • Price wise, it is not the best priced platform in the business, but not outrageous.
  • It is hard to reach out personal agent for customer care sometimes.
Marketo is very well suited for our retail company. It is well suited in a promotional area such as an automated promotion, sale or coupon that is being sent out site wide or on all platforms such as email and social media as well. Marketo makes it easy to time and design promotions and sales and customize to exactly the time, design and audience we are targeting.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
Increase revenue within existing customers is a huge desire of ours. Since it is cheaper to keep a returning customer rather than reaching out to pursue new customers, we try to focus on that. A returning customer also means a happy customer and a loyal customer that will come to us with all of their needs.
Read Casey Geer's full review
May 22, 2018

Review: "Marketo is the at the core of our Marketing efforts."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is the hub of our Marketing efforts. We have a fairly advanced tech stack and Marketo sits at the core of everything we do in Marketing. We have programs for everything that we do across marketing, which we use to hold the data from that event. From this, we can that start to track attribution of our marketing efforts to understand where we need to reallocate funds to specific high performing events/assets. We also use Marketo to nurture our leads which drives MQLs for our sales teams.
  • Email nurture - the ability to build specific awareness/engagement streams and managing where people sit through transition rules means you can take your leads on a journey, providing the right content at the right time.
  • Segmentation - the ability to segment your database depending on whatever criteria you like means that you can quickly build the desired audience for a specific campaign. Segments are also updated in real time.
  • Attribution - understanding which channels or specific programs perform highly in terms of pipeline attribution is really powerful.
  • Period costs - updating these is a manual process and there is no way to upload on mass. Keeping these updated is a massive manual effort.
  • UI - currently quite dated looking, but I know there is new UI coming.
If you're a growing company and starting to want to do some more sophisticated flows and processes, then Marketo is for you. Marketo obviously can do email marketing, but it is so much more than that. If you're a smaller company that just wants to send an email then there are other platforms that may be more suitable. However, if you've gotten to the point that you want to do more advanced marketing across web personalization, lead scoring, email nurture and tracking attribution then Marketo is the way to go.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We have 2 main areas of focus:

Prospecting - through events and nurture getting leads ready for sales to call. Triggering an MQL off a specific program status (e.g. hot scan at a tradeshow vs just a regular scan)

Customer Marketing - keeping customers updated with product releases and trying to upsell/sell. Segmenting your DB to understand where specific product upsells are possible, then aligning that to your nurture/digital marketing strategy to increase demand.
Read David Da Silva's full review
September 12, 2018

User Review: "Marketo is a fantastic product."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is primarily used by the Marketing team, but also with Customer Success and Support. Primarily it enables us to scale and measure activity across our prospect and customer teams.
  • Productivity - tokens and templates enable teams to set up new programs very quickly.
  • Integrations - primarily Salesforce for us, but with other vendors to extend the platform.
  • Ease of use - the basic concepts are quick to pick up.
  • Some customisation of the reporting side to enable attribution to more accurately follow your business process.
  • Editing program meta data - it's not sexy, but updating metadata such as names, descriptions, tags and costs one-by-one can be painful.
  • Speed up the CRM sync - some good work has been done already
Marketo is building a platform to manage the entire engagement cycle from unknown, anonymous web visitor all the way through to customer. We're a mid-market tech firm and as such delivers all our requirements; email, web personalisation, predictive content, scoring, segmentation, off-line events. Our version isn't suitable for SMB's; too much I think but I believe they have a lighter offering for that market.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Within our customer marketing (product launches, upsell, cross sell) we're using Marketo to integrate with CRM data in order to help us segment which customers are most likely to have a need for different products. With various engagement programs, we're creating marketing activities to educate, promote and create a space for discussion between our account managers and customers.

In lead management and new business, we're using behavioral actions and intent data to identify the best MQLs, with lead scoring as a secondary measure. Our goal is to increase our conversion from MQL to SQL (meeting) by 20%, we're half way there.
Read Mark Farnell's full review
May 18, 2018

User Review: "Why you need Marketo!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization in order to achieve seamless user experience from prospecting stages until retention, loyalty programs, etc.
  • integration with custom objects of CRM's
  • most complete list of filters and triggers to play with for workflows, segmentations, specific rules within the funnel, etc
  • the ability to have a custom data model for integration to different platforms: CRM's, video, webinars, surveys
  • the out of the box reporting is the most complete I've seen vs. many other marketing automation platforms that sell more specialized reporting as add-ons
  • a missing functionality that may help Marketo's ecosystem is the ability to create a website/blog within Marketo, though through the munchkin we may track nowadays
For enterprise companies that need governance within a single instance with multiple workspaces, database partitions, specific custom objects to be mapped. it may be a "Ferrari" for SMB's
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Marketo increase prospects, a seamless customer experience, revenue within existing customers and maintains governance within the organization.
Read Patricia Villalobos's full review
May 07, 2018

User Review: "Marketo is an entire ecosystem"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is primarily used by the Marketing department for engagement and one-off campaigns, as well as lead management. We have a 1:1 back and forth sync with Salesforce so both can be used for lead management. In short, marketing inputs all leads that we acquire into Marketo, sales inputs all of theirs into Salesforce, and both have the same full database. We market to both our leads and the sales team's leads, as well as manually inputting additional leads we get from other sources for follow-up.
  • It's very easy to see lead acquisition from multiple sources with ROI, so it can be calculated where marketing budget is best spent
  • Engagement streams are easy to build, with multiple if -> then conditions built into a stream for easy segmentation, getting the right message to the right person at the right time
  • There's a massive amount of partners and integrations available - if there's something you want to do that isn't baked in, there's probably a provider that has a software for that
  • There's a bit of a learning curve. Without significant training, even an experienced marketer might stumble around a bit. There's a lot of different ways to do one thing, but it's not always clear what best practices or implications may be for one way over another.
  • There doesn't appear to be an easy baked-in way to de-duplicate records (though it can only send out one email to duplicates). That's something we're dealing with now and may have to use a third party.
  • The ideal would be some direct integration into ad platforms - if it's there, I don't know it.
Marketo is great at segmentation and lead nurturing - if you want to create a thousand nurture streams for every possible condition, you can do that with some robust tools. However, there doesn't appear to be an automated way to do this. You would have to personally create one thousand nurture streams. (But there's a partner that can do something like this.)
Reporting is easy and built-in. There's thousands of partners in a very wide network. Any use case or crazy thing you want to do, like automate ad buys so you don't need your own DSP, there's someone that has done that and can do that for you. It's not just Marketo itself you'd be buying into - it's a vast well-resourced ecosystem.
Read Michael Weissberg's full review
May 04, 2018

Review: "Digital Marketer Ditches HubSpot for Marketo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo to manage leads and deploy segmented email marketing for our inner office (many of these message are distributed through the entire organization), and members of a separate network and sponsored messages (we use Marketo to send 3rd party messages from to special members of our networks for a fee.)
  • List and lead management - Marketo is able to segment and manage lists to a very fine detailed level. this comes in handy when we want to assure that every message sent is relative to the receiver. (For example we can segment list by reign of the country)
  • Custom email templates - Marketo has upgraded the email platform to allow for sweet custom templates with custom HTML, CSS modules. With the use of tokens and moveable modules, we now have one beautiful master template that any of our messages, no matter the complexity, can all be created using the one template.
  • Email automation - this one should have been 1st on the list. The intuitive enterprise level email automation abilities are fantastic. With the ability to take in outside functions with webhook and incorporate that with string of automated actions based on the users response or time pasted while communicating and reporting to and from SalesForce is a real game changer in how we communicate. The ability to test all the functionality to make sure it's working perfectly before launch is also exceptionally great.
  • It's slow - Compared to HubSpot, Marketo moves very slow. Not just a little slow, but it is brain numbing how slow it moves from everything from opening an email to edit it's contents, to loading the program up or moving anywhere in the calendar
  • Slow hurts - Many times this has happened to me: I would find myself working on one program and then click into a different one, and Marketo is so slow, it takes so much time to process the simple edit, that it does not move me to the new area I clicked. So, I found myself editing the wrong area. I was happy that I caught the error before it became a bigger issue.
Many systems send emails, manage clients/customers and integrate well with other platforms (such as Google, SaleForce, etc). But Marketo is best suited for all in one for large to enterprise level businesses who send a tremendous amount of members, data and messages. Businesses who want special custom tracking, KPI's and want to learn from user's responses, want special actions to take place based on a user's activities, track and report all of this seamlessly in one platform professionally (without tagging of the provider's branding) - with an in-house team of professionals to manage Marketo and create content and graphics for emails and landing pages. Less suited for smaller businesses with less communication and reporting needs and smaller staff.
Read Nathan Lindsey's full review
May 02, 2018

Marketo Review: "Market leader, but needs to speed up improvements to stay that way"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization. It is the source of truth for customer marketing efforts, resolving issues of multiple applications being used to email and actively contact customers.
  • Cloning repeatable email programs at scale
  • Showing the full path of sales and marketing attribution for a customer
  • Providing templates but also allowing full customization
  • Slow slow slow! Waiting for that spinning wheel costs me upwards of a half hour a day waiting for assets to load (I've tracked).
  • Organizing content requires an outside application to document common practices, for example, naming conventions. There is no prebuilt naming convention system to ensure everyone follows the same standards. That would be easy to implement, but they've gone the "you do it" approach.
  • Customer support can take days to address simple issues and fixes, which can be problematic if your Marketo instance is accidentally emailing customers due to bugs.
  • Great for repeatable and automated email marketing.
  • One-off sends can take a bit of time, unlike tools like MailChimp.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo to increase sales, help onboard new customers, and retain current customers. Essentially all marketing efforts that surround email.
Read Adam Marré's full review
May 01, 2018

User Review: "Marketo Is Great But It Takes A Minute"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo for everything but website hosting. I may be a bit biased because I used Hubspot at my previous job. From what I've heard from several Marketers Marketo is much more powerful, much more customizable. But I will say the UI is not as easy. There are much fewer built-in tours/guides/prompts, it's harder to find things, etc. But I know they're rolling out several new updates, so it looks like the UI will get better.
  • Powerful
  • Customizable
  • Integrations
  • Less user-friendly
  • Outdated UI
  • Harder to learn
If you were looking for a super easy-to-use solution and didn't need much customization, Marketo might be less ideal.
Read Anna Spady's full review
May 01, 2018

Marketo Review: "An Enterprise platform - with an Enterprise time commitment"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by the marketing department in a shared services model for the entire organization.
  • Marketo's token functionality is excellent for reducing workload and eliminating repetition.
  • Marketo's integration with SFDC has been seamless for us with no technical debt.
  • Marketo's web activity reports have been a big hit with our executive team to showcase who we're bringing in from our target market.
  • Marketo's visual reporting is awful. I shouldn't have to pay 5 figures for reporting that is baseline in other marketing automation products I've used.
  • The UI is lagging behind competitors, as is sorting and searching assets. Hoping the new UI that's been announced addresses this.
Marketo's a complicated product that can do anything, but is a platform that requires a full-time architect. Smaller organizations should recognize the investment that's necessary for success, and look at it as a long term investment.
Read Evan Kubitschek's full review
August 09, 2018

Review: "Marketo can be worth it - if you work it"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo as a lead generation tool - to be able to stimulate and capture interest for our products/services. Enter folks into the sales pipeline and through the numerous digital tools we utilize. Allows us to build continuous relationships with our clients because we are able to understand who they are and what they are interested in. Only the marketing department actively uses the platform, although the rewards are reaped by the entire organization.
  • Quick and easy solution for marketing software
  • Allows for innovative uses of the databases we grow/acquire
  • Automated A/B testing for emails and landing pages
  • It's quite pricey compared to other platforms
  • Does not support dynamic website content integration
  • Easier platform for B2B usage rather than B2C
If you utilize all the features to the best of your ability - meaning you have enough human capital to use and monitor all aspects necessary. You also are able to incur the steep price. Want a better handle on databases and how to massage them for your company needs. Really cannot emphasise enough - human capital to justice the price - make sure you use all the features
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Customer service - allows you to manage your database and peek interests when necessary. As well as reach out when required.
Lead management - again, easy database management. Allow seamless transition into deeper parts of the buying funnel.
Prospecting - being able to seamless transition your list from one area to another and market to them accordingly based on interests, behavior, etc.
Read Stefanie Cash's full review
July 24, 2018

Marketo Review: "Robust, multifunctional, time-saver."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used in our marketing department across the world. We have about 4 active users who support a marketing team of 20 people. Marketo allows us to have better lead nurturing, lead scoring & revenue cycle models, and it certainly allows our team to save a lot of time when implementing marketing campaigns.
  • Cloning marketing campaigns - right click & clone! So simple and it actually works!
  • Synchronizing lead activity from Marketo to SFDC.
  • Tracking web activity.
  • Next Gen UX is a big achievement for Marketo. Makes rolling out a marketing program even quicker.
  • Support portal lacks proper responses - better going to the online Community to fix issues.
  • Comes with a heavy price tag.
  • Requires a lot of time up front for implementation.

Having used half a dozen marketing automation, email marketing, lead scoring tools, I can say that after 5 years of hands-on experience with Marketo, it is the best out there. It is robust, multifunctional and a big time saver for my team. We sliced down our MarTech stack in half because Marketo can do so many things. It's like a Swiss Army knife for today's modern marketer.
Requires front-loading time for implementation and standardization, but it is time well spent that you will gain back in revenue later on.

  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo primarily to drive new business, increase revenue and brand awareness. Our team is able to roll our marketing campaigns 3x faster with Marketo to allow us more time to focus on writing content and developing attractive Marketing plans.
Read Chloe Pott's full review
March 30, 2018

Marketo Review: "Great lead-management, CRM, and email system."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used as a lead management system. It provides all requisite lead information, and also allows for lead scoring - an essential part of the client business model to determine selling/conversion strategies. It is used across the whole organization, with different departments requiring different elements of Marketo's functionality: as a data analyst, I rely on Marketo's ability to capture passed UTM parameters to identify the origination of a lead. Additionally, with the inclusion of lead scoring, I help guide the sales team priorities and resources to optimize return.
  • Data organization and export
  • Customizable for a variety of client needs
  • Integration with other platforms
  • More intuitive layout/navigation
  • Faster data export
Marketo is well suited for a mid to large size business that's looking for a comprehensive solution to aggregate, store, and export leads, contact information, etc. It integrates readily with a number of platforms and can receive/store custom parameters passed from landing pages, ad campaigns, and retail platforms. It has a powerful data export, but can - unfortunately - take some time to produce a CSV. The smartlist reporting is an excellent feature: it basically is a GUI to create a SQL query of the entire lead database -- it allows the creation of custom reports for continual access or export.
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
For lead management, Marketo is used to aggregate and store lead information: contact info, lead scores, UTM parameters.
This functionality also extends itself to prospecting/new business, as prospective clients can submit contact information from landing pages, which passes to the platform and is then used for lead scoring/outreach. Finally, for customer service - customer information can be annotated and updated as desired to track/understand customer (and prospective customer) history.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
May 28, 2018

User Review: "Marketo at Mid-Market B2B company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketing owns the tool (in partnership with BizOps). It is used to communicate with/nurture prospects as well as customers. It is also used along side SFDC to handle scoring and lead routing.
  • Out of the box functionality is simple and easy to implement right away with results seen immediately
  • User interface is much more friendly than other tools I've used (Eloqua)
  • Out-of-the box reporting and analytics are terrible
  • Analytics module (at an extremely high additional price) is not much better
  • If not using out of the box functionality (nurture programs for example), customization can be cumbersome
Marketo is great for mid-market B2B companies like us with small (1-2 person) ops teams - easy to use and doesn't require a lot of coding or customization. Can't imagine it would be ideal for a very large company with multiple teams, product lines, or email channels.
  • Product Launches
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Excellent for Lead gen to nurture to MQL. We are also using it to communicate with current customers about product updates and training.
Read Kerstin Vinall's full review
May 28, 2018

"Marketo Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Marketo is exclusively used by the Marketing Department
  • Our primary use is for email communications
  • I really enjoy the nurture/engagement programs. It makes it really easy to keep our audience engaged with our content.
  • Email management
  • Managing and collecting data
  • The interface is a bit clunky and could be more user-friendly
  • The analytics portion isn't as robust as I'd like it.
We're currently only using Marketo for emails. Recently we've been implementing nurture programs, which has made it easy to deliver continuous content.

I'd like to see it better integrate with advertising efforts. We're running multi-channel campaigns and would like to see the impact in one place, which is possible with Marketo, but tracking things like web ads has a real manual set up.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Customer Service
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product Launches & Upsell - Generating new leads and increase revenue with existing customers
Customer Service - To keep our customers engaged with our product and brand
Prospecting/New Business - Generate new leads
Read Maya Williams's full review
May 26, 2018

User Review: "Marketo is okay"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used by the majority of our marketing team, around 20 users, every day and all day. It addresses lead management, sending mass emails to specific audiences, connecting our CRM and most importantly email automation.
  • Email blasts
  • Connection to GoToWebinar
  • Easy to learn
  • Slow, hard to work on multiple things at once
  • Outdated interface
  • Shuts down often
Marketo is used across our marketing organization and by many other organizations; it's one of the leading solutions but still has a ton of room for improvement. My pages are always logging me out, things are slow to load, I'll approve things and go back later and it is unapproved. It's good for managing a large amount of leads, segmenting the database, and sending mass emails at once. I use it to run webinars and the connection between GoToWebinar and Marketo works pretty well.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Our goal with anything in Marketo is to increase pipeline, whether we are sending a content related email, a thank you follow up, an announcement, or webinar invitation. We mainly use it to send emails to our prospects but we also use it for customers around our yearly customer events and user groups. For lead management the most important thing is that everything syncs back and forth between Salesforce and Marketo.
Read Lauren Mallen's full review
May 22, 2018

"Marketo Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo to manage all marketing emails sent from our organization. Nurture emails, operational emails etc., are all sent through Marketo. We also use Marketo to track engagement and score leads based on actions taken such as website visits, email opens and clicks, and tradeshow and event attendance.
  • Marketo is very good at tracking engagement within your database. You can set up sales alerts when a prospect takes a certain action to get quicker follow-up from their rep.
  • Ability to A/B Test emails to see which elements perform better (subject lines etc.) is something Marketo performs well
  • Web Personalization is something that Marketo handles well. You can set up a bunch of different segments and have the website appear differently based upon your segment criteria.
  • Out of the box reporting could be more robust and easier to use. A lot of reports you would expect to exist actually don't exist and the only way to get the numbers you need is to create a bunch of different smart lists.
  • WYSIWYG editor sometimes does not work as expected when building certain emails. It sometimes adds additional pieces of code that could possibly break an element.
  • Smart lists sometimes take a very long time to load if you are using a lot of different filters.
Enterprise companies looking to get a handle on Marketing Automation would benefit. Probably not well suited for smaller size companies as cost could be prohibitive.
  • Other
We use Marketo for sending a lot of different nurture emails to our database. By tracking which Content Syndication pieces they've downloaded, along with website visits etc., we can enter them into a nurture stream specific to their area of interest.
Read Jason Zimmerman's full review
May 22, 2018

Marketo Review: "The best software for global companies, the options are limitless"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is the best software for global companies, the options are limitless.
  • Campaign Building
  • Easy email send
  • No software
  • The best Metrics
  • cool dashboards that are easy to read
  • Long waiting loading times
  • The pain when you approve drafts
  • May be hard to start using it
The fact that you hace all in one place and its easy acces, there is no need to move from tab to tab like any other software in the market
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Lead generation as an inbound strategy its really good and simple to track
Read Christian Martinez's full review
May 22, 2018

"Marketo Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketing uses it to manage our email programs and campaigns for our organization. It allows us insight into our programs and campaigns and the ability to automate our workflows. It also allows us to better track and report on the success of our marketing programs.
  • Nurture campaigns
  • Webinar integration
  • Campaign and program building
  • Navigation - it can be cumbersome to navigate through the menu trees to get to the information that is needed
  • Email template customization - better ability for an end user to make customization to the email modules in templates. There is some ability but it could be better
Marketo is a little difficult for a small business with a limited marketing team to manage. There is a large learning curve for staff and building programs can be time-consuming.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Increase Sales through cross-sell and upsell opportunities, competitive takeaways from competitors, keep existing customers. Marketo helps us reach the right person at the right time with the right message
Read Sarah Sicignano's full review
May 22, 2018

User Review: "Marketo expertise is a career shaper"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Marketo for our global company and across the organization. It solves CRM business requirements as well as personalization. We manager a lean marketing team and run campaigns using Marketo on a global scale.
  • Trigger campaigns
  • Personalized content
  • Metrics and analytics
  • Salesforce integration
  • API integrations
  • Custom campaign development
  • Form CSS
  • Landing page guided templates
  • More flexibility for email editor
Full-scale business and marketing applications and setting up channels to measure marketing activities. I think Marketo is a great ecosystem addition that can be integrated with different platforms. For example, Slack integrations, Zapier integrations, CRM Salesforce, new features and email deliver-ability options all are available and ready to implement.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We are trying to drive revenue and acquire and convert leads. Marketo also helps us determine ROI from events and different campaigns.
Read Kristina Schroffel's full review
May 21, 2018

Review: "Marketo is a marketing automation platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing department uses Marketo for marketing automation. It allows us to host a landing page with forms to capture new leads and send automated emails.
  • Emails - Send any email to anyone in your database
  • Forms - Create any type of form and embed if needed
  • Landing pages - Add forms to landing pages
  • Analytics - hard to report on impact down the funnel
  • SFDC sync - can be slow
Marketo is great for marketing automation. It is not good for reporting down the funnel.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo allows us to send automated emails to prospects and customers
Read Collin Burke's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (476)
7.4
Dynamic content (447)
7.5
Ability to test dynamic content (438)
7.3
Landing pages (492)
7.4
A/B testing (465)
7.4
Mobile optimization (454)
7.2
Email deliverability (501)
8.1
List management (502)
8.6
Triggered drip sequences (444)
8.6
Lead nurturing (494)
8.6
Lead scoring and grading (478)
8.4
Data quality management (478)
7.7
Automated sales alerts and tasks (457)
8.4
Calendaring (377)
6.7
Event/webinar marketing (443)
8.1
Social sharing and campaigns (272)
7.0
Social profile integration (252)
6.9
Dashboards (455)
6.8
Standard reports (490)
7.2
Custom reports (463)
6.8
API (415)
7.9
Role-based workflow & approvals (360)
7.7
Customizability (444)
7.8
Integration with Salesforce.com (430)
8.9
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (111)
7.7
Integration with SugarCRM (72)
7.0

About Marketo

Marketo is a leading marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities for small and medium businesses and large enterprises, across various industries. Some common features include email marketing, nurturing, SEO, landing pages, scoring, and analytics while other editions offer advanced features such as website personalization, mobile engagement, social and web retargeting. Typical customers include both B2C and B2B brands of all sizes.

Marketo Features

Has featureAttract - Your potential customers are out there researching solutions. Help them find and learn about yours more easily.
Has featureEngage - Easily build automated campaigns that engage prospects in a personalized way, without help from IT.
Has featureDrive Revenue - Convert more potential buyers into customers by triggering a relevant message at exactly the right time.
Has featureMeasure and Optimize - Move beyond opens and clicks. Quickly determine how each of your campaigns and channels impact revenue.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Spark$895per month up to 10,000 records
Standard$1,795per month up to 10,000 records
Select$3,195per month up to 10,000 records

For the Enterprise edition, contact Marketo for a custom quote.

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS