TrustRadius
Marketo is a marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities spanning SMB to enterprise. Basic features include email marketing, drip nurturing, landing pages, and lead scoring, but other editions offer additional advanced features. Typical customers are B2B firms with complex sales cycles.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ar/as/3WPK31KVTO03.JPEGThe B2B Leader. A powerful tool.Marketo is used as the source of truth for marketing. All marketing data flows through Marketo, as well as emails, landing pages, and more. It's only been used by the marketing department in my experience, although I see broader application and value.,Flexibility. If you can imagine it, you can automate it with Marketo. They make nearly every behavioral action and data point accessible for automation and workflows. Not all platforms, even the other market leaders do this. An impressive roadmap. I started using Marketo when it was essentially a place for email and storing leads. They have an impressive vision that they've executed on fairly well. Specifically, web personalization tools and integrating AI. It gives me confidence in the future of the platform and their ability to innovate. Integrations. The Salesforce integration is excellent. So much better than Pardot's despite being Salesforce owned. The ad bridge integrations with Facebook, LinkedIn, etc are really useful for building segments.,The email builder is just not good. They've made some improvements, specifically around pre-built templates and making them modular, but, it's still weak. So many other SMB platforms have drag n drop builders. Marketo needs to catch up in this area. The landing page builder is also lacking. Creating a simple landing page template necessitates hiring a developer or using a pre-built template. I just think a platform of Marketo's level should be more drag n drop. Visualizing nurturing programs or other automation is tough. It works for me, but I speak to a lot of people who are frustrated by this. They need to find a way to clearly create logic paths that can be visualized in a connected fashion.,9,Cross-Sell Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Pardot and HubSpot,100,000 to 250,000,B2B,Channels Programs Email Templates Forms Landing Pages Smart Campaigns Lead Scoring Lead Sourcing Segmentation Lead NurtureFavorite MAP I've triedInternally, Marketo is used as our Marketing Automation platform, integrated with SFDC. My role is primarily working with clients who use Marketo with a variety of different goals and use cases. Primarily I work with companies who are in the B2B SaaS space, using Marketo to manage and nurture their leads, alert sales, and publish their content with Marketo Landing Pages and Forms.,Engagement Programs - the ability to set up very complex, granular email nurture programs allows you to target people with incredibly personalized experiences at scale. Lead management process - you can completely customize your lead stages to your sales cycle, set up your own revenue cycle to create unique analytics based on your company, and automate sales alerts and recycling to marketing based on your own criteria. User friendly templates - The modules in Marketo email templates make putting together beautiful HTML emails a breeze.,Improved Salesforce integration - increased functionality would be useful, but the basics are already there.,10,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Pardot, eTrigue DemandCenter and HubSpot,25,000 to 100,000,B2BWhy you need Marketo!It's being used across the whole organization in order to achieve seamless user experience from prospecting stages until retention, loyalty programs, etc.,integration with custom objects of CRM's most complete list of filters and triggers to play with for workflows, segmentations, specific rules within the funnel, etc the ability to have a custom data model for integration to different platforms: CRM's, video, webinars, surveys the out of the box reporting is the most complete I've seen vs. many other marketing automation platforms that sell more specialized reporting as add-ons,a missing functionality that may help Marketo's ecosystem is the ability to create a website/blog within Marketo, though through the munchkin we may track nowadays,10,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business Other,Oracle Eloqua, Act-On Software, HubSpot and SharpSpring,250,000 to 1 million,Both,Channels Programs Email Templates Forms Landing Pages Smart Campaigns Lead Scoring Lead Sourcing Segmentation Lead Nurture Reporting/AnalyticsMarketo- The PowerhouseMarketo is being used by both the Marketing team and the Sales Team. Marketo assists our Marketing team by providing a platform to gather lead information at each phase of the buyer's journey. Through the information that Marketing gathers, we are able to enroll selected leads into email campaigns. Additionally, Marketo provides lead information to our sales representatives in real time. Sales representatives are able to see which web pages certain leads have visited, what forms (if any) were submitted, and are able to follow up with leads using pre-loaded Marketo templates. Marketo has increased efficiency in our prospect follow up processes.,Marketo is a robust lead management platform that houses all necessary customer/prospect information needed to deploy relevant campaigns. Easy to use Salesforce integration In-depth list segmentation,While a pro about Marketo is its robust platform and tools, a con is that it takes significantly more time to understand and become highly knowledgeable about the platform. Marketo is pretty pricey compared to other platforms like HubSpot, and additional functionality/features within Marketo seems to come at a higher price. The reports are pretty basic and not as visually appealing as other auto-generated reports in competitor platforms like HubSpot.,6,Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,HubSpot,1 to 5 million,B2BMarketo - THE Marketing Automation LeaderAs a consultant, I have seen businesses achieve results in a number of areas. Marketing operations teams have dramatically reduced the time it takes to launch campaigns, marketing and sales alignment has greatly improved with the handoff of quality leads and automated communication around marketing, and businesses have insights into their lead funnel that hadn't existed in the past, and can market accordingly.,Streamlined creation of marketing programs. Marketo dramatically reduces time spent by the Marketing ops team through tokens, cloneable programs and dynamic content. Integration. Marketo integrates seamlessly with many components of a MarTech stack and integrates smoothly with SFDC. Enablement of sales and marketing alignment: MArketo greatly assists with sales and marketing alignment through its scoring and lifecycle functionality, interesting moments and Marketo Sales Insights, and automated alerts and tasks.,Microsoft Dynamics integration is lacking. Product documentation often follows behind new product releases.,10,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business Other,Engage and grow customers over time,Oracle Eloqua, Pardot and HubSpot,1 to 5 million,Both
Unspecified
Marketo
1548 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Marketo Reviews

Marketo
1548 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1549 vetted Marketo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 667)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Austin Schmidt profile photo
November 02, 2018

Marketo Review: "The B2B Leader. A powerful tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used as the source of truth for marketing. All marketing data flows through Marketo, as well as emails, landing pages, and more. It's only been used by the marketing department in my experience, although I see broader application and value.
  • Flexibility. If you can imagine it, you can automate it with Marketo. They make nearly every behavioral action and data point accessible for automation and workflows. Not all platforms, even the other market leaders do this.
  • An impressive roadmap. I started using Marketo when it was essentially a place for email and storing leads. They have an impressive vision that they've executed on fairly well. Specifically, web personalization tools and integrating AI. It gives me confidence in the future of the platform and their ability to innovate.
  • Integrations. The Salesforce integration is excellent. So much better than Pardot's despite being Salesforce owned. The ad bridge integrations with Facebook, LinkedIn, etc are really useful for building segments.
  • The email builder is just not good. They've made some improvements, specifically around pre-built templates and making them modular, but, it's still weak. So many other SMB platforms have drag n drop builders. Marketo needs to catch up in this area.
  • The landing page builder is also lacking. Creating a simple landing page template necessitates hiring a developer or using a pre-built template. I just think a platform of Marketo's level should be more drag n drop.
  • Visualizing nurturing programs or other automation is tough. It works for me, but I speak to a lot of people who are frustrated by this. They need to find a way to clearly create logic paths that can be visualized in a connected fashion.
Marketo is well-suited for anyone looking to build a large scale demand generation machine. If you need to integrate with Salesforce, it's a really good fit. You won't be limited by or outgrow Marketo. You'll probably outgrow quite a few of the cheaper solutions.
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
For cross-sells, you can easily create lists of leads that look like your customers for product A based on any criteria. You can then target them, across all channels, from email to your website, to online ads, with full personalization. Marketo is excellent for lead management as well. You can automatically update data with ease. This really reduces manual work. For example, I frequently timestamp field changes to get an easy view of when key metrics changed. For prospecting / new business, Marketo makes it easy to see which channels are contributing to pipeline and revenue growth. I can see which programs and channels are having the highest impact and double down on those through personalization.
Read Austin Schmidt's full review
Anne Angele profile photo
October 30, 2018

Marketo Review: "Favorite MAP I've tried"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Internally, Marketo is used as our Marketing Automation platform, integrated with SFDC. My role is primarily working with clients who use Marketo with a variety of different goals and use cases. Primarily I work with companies who are in the B2B SaaS space, using Marketo to manage and nurture their leads, alert sales, and publish their content with Marketo Landing Pages and Forms.
  • Engagement Programs - the ability to set up very complex, granular email nurture programs allows you to target people with incredibly personalized experiences at scale.
  • Lead management process - you can completely customize your lead stages to your sales cycle, set up your own revenue cycle to create unique analytics based on your company, and automate sales alerts and recycling to marketing based on your own criteria.
  • User friendly templates - The modules in Marketo email templates make putting together beautiful HTML emails a breeze.
  • Improved Salesforce integration - increased functionality would be useful, but the basics are already there.
Marketo is an amazing option for large companies or a company looking for a customizable marketing automation platform that can grow with their company. I'd recommend having a strong plan in place for how you plan to use Marketo before implementing, but you can always start with a simple implementation and build out the complexity of your system as your marketing strategy changes. I would not recommend Marketo for anyone that does not have a strong tech presence in their marketing department.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
I've used Marketo to increase customer engagement through customer on-boarding/training and upsell opportunities, lead nurturing to bring new names to sales-ready, educated leads, and to improve brand awareness in colder leads. Marketo is an excellent tool for all of these goals, with advanced email marketing options, easy to customize landing pages, progressive profiling, advanced lead scoring options, and an integration with salesforce that gives insight to the sales team.
Read Anne Angele's full review
Patricia Villalobos profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Why you need Marketo!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization in order to achieve seamless user experience from prospecting stages until retention, loyalty programs, etc.
  • integration with custom objects of CRM's
  • most complete list of filters and triggers to play with for workflows, segmentations, specific rules within the funnel, etc
  • the ability to have a custom data model for integration to different platforms: CRM's, video, webinars, surveys
  • the out of the box reporting is the most complete I've seen vs. many other marketing automation platforms that sell more specialized reporting as add-ons
  • a missing functionality that may help Marketo's ecosystem is the ability to create a website/blog within Marketo, though through the munchkin we may track nowadays
For enterprise companies that need governance within a single instance with multiple workspaces, database partitions, specific custom objects to be mapped. it may be a "Ferrari" for SMB's
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Marketo increase prospects, a seamless customer experience, revenue within existing customers and maintains governance within the organization.
Read Patricia Villalobos's full review
Whitney Slothower profile photo
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Marketo- The Powerhouse"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used by both the Marketing team and the Sales Team. Marketo assists our Marketing team by providing a platform to gather lead information at each phase of the buyer's journey. Through the information that Marketing gathers, we are able to enroll selected leads into email campaigns. Additionally, Marketo provides lead information to our sales representatives in real time. Sales representatives are able to see which web pages certain leads have visited, what forms (if any) were submitted, and are able to follow up with leads using pre-loaded Marketo templates. Marketo has increased efficiency in our prospect follow up processes.
  • Marketo is a robust lead management platform that houses all necessary customer/prospect information needed to deploy relevant campaigns.
  • Easy to use Salesforce integration
  • In-depth list segmentation
  • While a pro about Marketo is its robust platform and tools, a con is that it takes significantly more time to understand and become highly knowledgeable about the platform.
  • Marketo is pretty pricey compared to other platforms like HubSpot, and additional functionality/features within Marketo seems to come at a higher price.
  • The reports are pretty basic and not as visually appealing as other auto-generated reports in competitor platforms like HubSpot.
Marketo is an excellent Marketing Automation Platform geared towards marketers. If you are looking for a platform that is easy to use for both Marketing and Sales, this platform may be tricky to onboard. Marketo Smart Lists is a key feature and a very helpful tool for marketers when trying to target a specific group of people. The filters within Smart Lists are extensive and nearly every filter you can think of is available. The ability to create an AMB campaign in Marketo was a key project for our team to undertake. The Account Based Marketing tool within Marketo proved to be useful and helpful when targeting specific high producing prospects. However, you are limited to the number of accounts you can create for your ABM campaign. It would be helpful if this number was not capped.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo has assisted greatly with the improvement of our lead management. Once we were able to integrate Marketo with Salesforce, we have been able to have lead information being shared cross-departmentally and more efficient/streamlined follow-ups with our prospects. By creating triggers and flows, our Marketing team has made it easier for sales representatives to automatically follow up with a selected list of prospects depending on their stage in the buying process. Additionally, Marketo has made filtering through inbound leads more efficient, allowing only "hot leads" to be passed to sales representatives with all submitted lead information seamlessly populating into the Salesforce CRM.
Read Whitney Slothower's full review
Michelle Miles profile photo
August 07, 2018

Review: "Marketo - THE Marketing Automation Leader"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I have seen businesses achieve results in a number of areas. Marketing operations teams have dramatically reduced the time it takes to launch campaigns, marketing and sales alignment has greatly improved with the handoff of quality leads and automated communication around marketing, and businesses have insights into their lead funnel that hadn't existed in the past, and can market accordingly.
  • Streamlined creation of marketing programs. Marketo dramatically reduces time spent by the Marketing ops team through tokens, cloneable programs and dynamic content.
  • Integration. Marketo integrates seamlessly with many components of a MarTech stack and integrates smoothly with SFDC.
  • Enablement of sales and marketing alignment: MArketo greatly assists with sales and marketing alignment through its scoring and lifecycle functionality, interesting moments and Marketo Sales Insights, and automated alerts and tasks.
  • Microsoft Dynamics integration is lacking.
  • Product documentation often follows behind new product releases.
Marketo is a powerful, flexible, and scalable marketing automation platform. It integrates very well with SFDC and a number of Martech solutions. From data management to scoring and lifecycle reporting to online and offline marketing initiatives, Marketo has you covered. I highly recommend Marketo for any of these scenarios and day to day marketing operations.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read Michelle Miles's full review
Ben Beck profile photo
November 13, 2018

Review: "Marketo - the best SMB marketing tool out there"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used across multiple departments: in sales, customer service, and marketing. Marketing owns the tool and does regular trainings with others across the organization.
  • Marketo is advanced - it let's you do complicated things that no other marketing automation tool does. For example, when you update a blog post on WordPress you can have Marketo automatically send an email to some user base with that post inline.
  • It is great for managing events - the clone event option is super quick and easy!
  • I love Marketo tokens - they allow you to easily clone a program, switch out a few data points and have a new program rolling in minutes.
  • The Marketo community is the best of all marketing automation suite communities. Most users are actively participating, sharing ideas for new features, contributing new ideas how to do things in a non-out-of-the-box method, etc.
  • Out of the top 3 marketing automation tools, it is one of the more expensive tools, but you get what you pay for!
  • Now that Adobe has acquired Marketo we may see changes. When one of their main competitors was acquired by a big enterprise player the competitor languished and has not been well developed... hoping that we don't see the same thing happen with Marketo. As I enjoy the great marketing analytics suite Adobe has built, I anticipate good things for their acquisition of Marketo, but I'm still not sure on the issue.
I've recommended Marketo to lots of friends and everyone that has gone ahead with the purchase has loved it. No regrets!
  • Product Launches
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We've used Marketo for product launches and other product development related tasks, such as collecting customer feedback on new functionality. We have also integrated Marketo with ZenDesk (our customer support tool) and setup communications and access control between Marketo and ZenDesk to ensure new customers get accounts and expired accounts are locked out of support upon expiration of their accounts. We also use it for managing our lead input, our customer journey, prospecting efforts, and sales enablement.
Read Ben Beck's full review
Kristina Schroffel profile photo
November 13, 2018

User Review: "Marketo expertise is a career shaper"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Marketo for our global company and across the organization. It solves CRM business requirements as well as personalization. We manage a lean marketing team and run campaigns using Marketo on a global scale. We can fully grow within the Marketo system and continue to segment and personalize and scale.
  • Trigger campaigns
  • Personalized content
  • Metrics and analytics
  • Salesforce integration
  • API integrations
  • Custom campaign development
  • Design Studio
  • Lead Database
  • Community
  • Form CSS - make it easier for everyone to modify
  • Landing page guided templates
  • More flexibility for email editor
  • More design options for customization
Full-scale business and marketing applications and setting up channels to measure marketing activities. I think Marketo is a great ecosystem addition that can be integrated with different platforms. For example, Slack integrations, Zapier integrations, CRM Salesforce, RTP, ABM, and MPI new features and email deliver-ability options all are available and ready to implement.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We are trying to drive revenue and acquire and convert leads. Marketo also helps us determine ROI from events and different campaigns.
Read Kristina Schroffel's full review
Joe Kevens profile photo
November 13, 2018

Review: "Marketo for VSMB (25 person B2B IT Services firm)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is our marketing system of record. It's integrated with Salesforce, our Influitive AdvocateHub, and other systems.
  • Functionality - lots you can do with Marketo.
  • Community - Lots of users, which helps maintain and grow the product.
  • Time to ramp - lots of functionality comes at the expense of ease of use.
  • A/B testing is painful
Well suited for those who have a Marketo certified marketer on their team or are willing to invest 6-12 months in implementation and basic-to-moderate use of the functionality. Less appropriate for companies without a CRM system that's easy to integrate with Marketo.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Joe Kevens's full review
George Hoffmann profile photo
November 12, 2018

"Marketo Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used as a lead gen tool and an email communication tool.

Marketo hosts all of our forms, handles our lead routing and lead scoring, and executes all of our email communications to prospects, brands and members.
  • Marketo is great for nurturing prospects. Setting up streams and targeting is made very intuitive.
  • Great for lead gen. Marketo hosts all of your lead gen forms and has an incredible API with Salesforce that allows you do be very versatile when syncing and routing leads.
  • Marketo support is not good and the account managers are very unskilled.
  • Marketo announces new products and then never releases them.
Well suited for a business doing massive amounts of communication and complicated lead generation and routing.

Well suited for a business with a very defined sales process.

Not good for a business who does not have a well-defined sales process and does not rely on lead gen.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Make the opt-in to sales touch as efficient as possible.

Streamline customer communications and communicate on a massive scale. Track customer and prospect engagement and fire automation based on that engagement.
Read George Hoffmann's full review
Lauren Smith profile photo
November 04, 2018

Marketo Review: "Great Marketing Automation Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo internally to do our own marketing, and we also work within our clients' instances of Marketo to varying degrees. The problem being addressed is how to effectively communicate with your audience in a relevant, timely and personalized way.
  • Offers a lot of flexibility in designing marketing automation programs
  • Offers valuable, relevant information to your sales team via Sales Insights
  • Offers partitions and workspaces to help manage leads and workflow across large organizations
  • Sometimes, processing can be slow
  • The ability to highly customize programs and campaigns can be dangerous in the wrong hands
  • RCE could be more powerful if you had access to all Marketo fields in all report types
Mid to large-sized organizations with sophisticated marketing programs would benefit greatly from using Marketo. It is less appropriate for smaller organizations that have simpler programs.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
Goals can be categorized in two main buckets: 1) reach the highest number of relevant people to illicit the expected response and 2) facilitate leads moving through the sales and marketing funnel in the most efficient way for each business. Marketo allows you to achieve both of these in a logical way that balances complex logic with ease of use.
Read Lauren Smith's full review
Ed Paxton profile photo
November 03, 2018

Marketo Review: "A seamless marketing experience"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within our marketing department. We use it as an engagement platform to manage leads and contacts and deliver relevant information to them at the right time while helping our sales team effectively engage with them when the time is right. Marketo also helps us measure our departmental metrics and assess our influence on revenue.
  • Intuitive and simple campaign setup.
  • Once templates are built, it's relatively easy to build landing pages.
  • Orchestrated multi-channel engagement.
  • The UI has a dated feel to it and should be modernized.
  • There are numerous small things that could be better implemented or improved upon like being able to sort by custom fields in a report view.
  • Processing time can be slow at times. Often laggy.
Marketo does lead segmentation exceptionally well. This makes it simple to reach the right people in the database, no matter how complex the logic. Other marketing automation platforms fall short on this, especially when it comes to mixing and/or logic.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use the system for Demand Gen activities, customer and partner ennoblement, sales insights and sales development, community involvement, lead scoring and nurturing new clients.
Read Ed Paxton's full review
Gerry Dapergolas profile photo
November 02, 2018

Marketo Review: "Marketing Automation software that can increase your ROI. There are better alternatives."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo for a number of clients. It helps us with landing pages, leads and form submissions along with oversight oh how the campaign is performing. We mainly use it for our lead gen campaigns. It helps increase lead gen rates, and also nurture leads by sending them follow up emails.
  • Landing Pages
  • Analytics
  • Lead nurturing
  • Not very user-friendly
  • Hard to implement email workflows
  • Forms aren't as intuitive
Marketo is good for lead generation campaigns and also good with lead nurturing campaigns. Whether you are generating new leads through organic or paid channels or whether you want to nurture your existing leads/marketing qualified leads, Marketo can help you with your marketing campaigns. It's less appropriate for e-commerce businesses.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Increase revenue within existing customers
  • Generate new leads and nurture them with follow up emails
Advanced analytics can help with optimising your marketing campaigns. [They] can also help bring your sales and marketing teams closer together as marketing can provide intelligence to your sales teams and improve efficiency. It can help with the majority of your marketing and lead gen and lead nurturing goals.
Read Gerry Dapergolas's full review
Joseph R. Sweeney profile photo
October 31, 2018

User Review: "Marketo: Sweet and Simple"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Originally, it was just being used by our marketing team to manage our own images and logos. We then took this and developed it further for our brand authentication division to help us manage our various vendors and their logos. It has helped in not only organizing everything into one place, but also by automating the process across multiple projects.
  • The API and UI are far superior and much easier to use than other similar programs that I have used in the past making it faster to pick up and use.
  • Project organization is a plus as it makes distributing different programs and files much easier when dealing with multiple images/logos/project design ideas.
  • Its handling of multiple users is integral as we have a few different team leads as well as cross-project branding which allows for different projects to be shared across different users.
  • The reporting tool has limited functionality in regards to its analytics which draws from it becoming more of a well-rounded all access type of tool.
  • Customization of reports is not present, nor can I save standardized reports that I would want to run quickly. It takes too long to get these reports figured out.
  • I would like to see the price driven down from where it currently is, especially due to the lack of functionality. Our company switched from another product and are considering switching back if we can't work with this one.
If you need a simple tool to organize different marketing scenarios or projects across a team, then Marketo is right for you. However, if you are looking for a more in-depth program that will allow you to run statistics and reports on your marketing and/or sales, you may want to consider a more robust program.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Part of our business is about bringing clients on to manage their brands as well as protect their image. Marketo assists us in managing a client's marketing portfolio which then allows us to get our foot in the door with other products that we offer. So far, it has helped with upselling several clients to a larger portfolio coverage as well as cross-selling them on our online brand protection coverage. Our hope is to build these customer relationships so as to get new business through word-of-mouth.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Ravi Ansal profile photo
October 27, 2018

Marketo Review: "Better than others that's all i can say!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a Digital Marketer, I use Marketo on daily bases to run digital campaigns such as Email, Events, Webinar etc.
Best features are as follows:
  • We can track leads in Marketo easily and also track their activities in detail.
  • The nurture and Lead scoring programs help me in demand generation.
  • Its sync with Salesforce helps our CRM as well.
  • I implemented Marketo in my old company. The support you get from the Marketo team is really good.
  • Lead Nurture : I does it exceptionally well as you can create multiple rules for multiple scenarios.
  • Revenue Cycle Analyzer: When it comes to track ROI; the details you get from Marketo is significant.
  • Lead Database : They should create something where we can change the lead details easily.
  • Analytics : There are multiple reports but their should be few options to edit them according our need as we might want to compare 2-3 different reports so instead of doing that manually we should be able to do that automatically.
Well suited for Email marketing. Subscriptions options are really good. Best for Event registrations as well but it would be great to have their own event support system for Webcast/Webinars then to integrate it other platforms.

Data sync issues with On24 event support system.

Lead detailing is really good and detailed but complex for a new user as well.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Ravi Ansal's full review
Josh Hill profile photo
October 27, 2018

Review: "Save Time with Marketing Automation and Marketo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Marketo at Perkuto, but mostly for our clients where I implement their lead lifecycle and marketing programs. Most firms are using this tool in Marketing and Sales departments. The service helps B2B marketers manage large volumes of lead records, report on the sales funnel, and provide rich behavioral data to Sales. With Marketo (and with other marketing automation tools), it becomes easier to automate the sending of emails, email lead nurturing, and data management. The goal of the tool is to have an automated, fully reportable sales funnel.
  • Lead Management - Marketo has a variety of tools and workflows to adapt to your business process.
  • Salesforce Integration - Marketo has a tight SFDC integration that helps marketers manage leads and align with the Sales process.
  • Revenue Cycle Analytics - with this add-on, Marketo provides full visibility into ROI and sales funnel metrics.
  • Implementation - Marketo is a powerful system, but it comes out of the box fairly blank. Marketers need to plan out their lead lifecycle and workflows well in advance of signing a contract or turning on the switch.
  • Basic Reports - these are helpful, but limited. The sales funnel is not fully or automatically reported without the RCA package.
Remember to use your brain during the RFP process. Don't rely on vendor materials (and I mean all vendors). Think about your business process and sales funnel first. Think about Marketo as a catalyst for change and prepare that in advance of any vendor selection. Then go to the vendor and ask them about all the features you need and how they would build out your process. Be prepared to do the heavy lifting or to bring on a consultant to build out the first phase.

Marketo is well suited for B2B firms with more than 30,000 records that are moving toward, or already doing, content marketing.
Read Josh Hill's full review
Cody Kimball profile photo
October 27, 2018

User Review: "Developer's Perspective of Marketo"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a great tool currently used at our organization for admins to customize emails, build workflows and marketing paths to help drive traffic down the funnel. It is mostly used by the marketing department, but we are now trying to leverage it more across the organization and provide visibility to those outside of marketing.
  • Customize emails
  • Build workflows based on certain trigger criteria and help facilitate a guided path to conversion
  • Basic integrations with salesforce
  • Very limited API functionality
  • Support doesn't seem to understand their own product beyond simple declarative functionality, e.g. APIs
If you need a simple central way to manage marketing efforts, Marketo is a good tool that with a little bit of training can help maximize the efficiency of a few talented individuals.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Lead Management - track leads and overall activity across various marketo campaigns and marketing activities
  • Prospecting/New Business - Build campaigns around new prospects and contacts and help drive them into salesforce for further lead development
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Jeff Lawrence profile photo
October 26, 2018

Review: "Utilizing Marketo as a Marketing Automation and Lead Nurturing Tool for Customer Engagement"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo across the organization. It's utilized by Sales with regards to modules like lead scoring and lead activity as well as within Marketing for the purposes of marketing automation and lead nurturing among-st others. It has addressed the needs of the organization as we have a much longer sales timeline than other industries may have and the solutions presented by Marketo we've found to be incredibly useful.
  • Ease of Use
  • Robust Solution
  • Customer Service and Support
  • Integration with Salesforce with Custom Objects
Marketo works well for users who may be newer to marketing automation and lead nurturing but have had some experience with email marketing in prior roles. It's a powerful solution that has allowed us to execute upon any of the campaigns that we've envisioned. Marketo may not be the best solution for those with no prior experience.
Read Jeff Lawrence's full review
Brent Levi profile photo
October 26, 2018

Marketo Review: "Most Powerful Marketing Automation Software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Marketo across our entire organization, from marketing, to inside sales, to client services. It allows us to effectively communicate with our prospects and customers while also knowing what is driving the best ROI. It also handles some business needs, sales enablement, and general automation where we need support.
  • Salesforce Sync is top notch.
  • Automation functionality is the most powerful in the space.
  • Integrations make it as powerful as you want it to be.
  • Reporting, while powerful, is clunky
  • Data extraction is not the easiest
  • Feels like products were just appended on (e.g. RCE, SEO, ABM, etc.) with no seamless integration
It is the 'best-in-class' software for those who have a solid plan to leverage it and the knowledge to support. If you are looking to do many one-off style communications, have little expertise in marketing automation, or can't gain buy-in through a change management process you won't be successful with Marketo.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product Launches: Based on lead engagement we will be able to determine when to communicate our new product offerings and be relevant to them.
Upsell/Cross-Sell: Leveraging the tracking capabilities, combined with the SFDC integration we can deliver timely content AND keep our client services team in the loop.
Lead Management: Marketo's segmentation and data management capabilities allow us to 'bucket' leads appropriately.
New Business: All of the above and managing our paid + organic efforts.
Read Brent Levi's full review
Melissa Davies profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Why I would keep picking Marketo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Marketo in companies from Enterprise to SMB - US only to Global. Marketo is a great tool for not only marketing but sales and data
  • Ease of use - I can sit someone with little to no experience down and have them sending emails in a few hours. Setting up an integration with SFDC is literally 3 clicks.
  • Scalability - I can build programs with everything (landing pages, emails, campaigns, lists, reports, etc) and use tokens so the only thing that has to be updated is the tokens (which doesn't require me to use any of my record level fields)
  • Global - I can roll out Global programs with the tool/education/support in that regions language - and not have to worry about them getting into another regions data, programs, etc. but still be able to have global reporting/management
  • Throttling email sends controlled by the send.
  • Open send click reporting functionality in SFDC
if you have a database of under 5K and only send the occasional email or have very little lead generation then Marketo is not for you
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Revenue

Being able to look at a per opportunity what campaigns as well as using programs to do attribution and ROI
Read Melissa Davies's full review
Scott MacGregor profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Marketo for B2B and Team Collaboration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used by the marketing team primarily from locations in Vancouver (Canada), New York and Dublin. It helps us execute our B2B marketing programs globally across teams spread out globally. Working with a Salesforce CRM and Marketo sync we manage and execute almost our entire digital marketing tactical mix, measure and report results as well as collaborate with external consultants and vendors.
  • Ease of use and training resources mean that you can rapidly bring digital marketers up to speed and providing value to the team and org.
  • Measure and evaluate the effectiveness of programs - especially through touch points (attributions) and Revenue Cycle Analytics, Opportunity Analyzer, etc.
  • Design tools are intuitive and easy to use and deploy. Digital assets are standardized and available across the team - or they can design their own to fit their needs.
  • Finding dependancies in programs, statuses and field changes is difficult - especially when troubleshooting inherited instances. A metasearch feature that looks deeper than asset titles, etc. would be nice to have.
  • Some features are not that complete - SEO, Calendar, etc.
B2B. heavy digital marketing mix, teams collaborating.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read Scott MacGregor's full review
Rachel Thomas profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Marvelous Marketo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing and sales teams use Marketo to manage emails and collect lead details as well as insights. Currently, we run a fairly complex nurture program with Marketo that targets where someone is in the sales funnel and specific industries that we work with. It allows our rather small marketing team to get as much (if not more!) accomplished than a team twice our size.
  • Lead Management
  • Nurture Stream set up and distribution
  • Integrates easily with lots of other solutions
  • Great community and support team
  • Landing Page Design for non-coder
  • Email Design for non-coder
  • Anonymous lead capture
Marketo is great for marketing and sales teams that need to work with lots of different types of personas/industries and that are a little more mature in their strategies. It isn't great for someone who just needs to send out the occasional newsletter or someone who needs really, really deep analytics.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
We use Marketo for all of our marketing communications. We use it to nurture leads, reach out to prospects, and continue to build great relationships with our current clients. Marketo lets us do that fairly easily with minimal fuss.
Read Rachel Thomas's full review
David Portnowitz profile photo
June 28, 2018

User Review: "Marketing is Easier With Marketo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo in our Marketing department to help with email marketing, marketing automation, lead tracking, web forms, integration with our CRM, integration with other third-party SaaS applications, and much more. Marketo is integral to our business processes and we have used it for four years.
  • User tracking from lead through to sale
  • Creating automated marketing campaigns with full analytics
  • Integrating with different SaaS applications - they make it easy!
  • Hard to get everything set up and requires lots of "tribal" knowledge
  • Support is okay at best, takes too long to get a response
  • UI is average, could use an update
Marketo is well-suited for a medium to a large enterprise that has people devoted to getting it set up and running. You have to really WANT to get it going, otherwise, you will not get great value out of the product. Once you get it up and running, it's a great product with lots of resources on the web for use. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a full marketing automation suite.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo to communicate with our partners, customers, employees, and prospects. We are looking to increase sales, sign up new partners, and communicate more effectively with each group. We also use Marketo for lead generation on our website with forms, landing pages, and personalization.
Read David Portnowitz's full review
Derrick Phipps profile photo
June 14, 2018

User Review: "My experience with Marketo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo across our entire organization. We use it for B2B and B2C email campaigns. Marketo helps us track engagement and manage our reporting. Most of our campaigns are batch and blast, and we could do a lot more to make use of the metrics within Marketo. I'd also love to convince our organization to upgrade to the Marketo Emails editor 2.0.
  • Marketo provides us with a quick tool for creating forms and LP's.
  • We track open/click rates.
  • We host a ton of images in Marketo.
  • Marketo can run a bit slow across the organization
  • The interface is a bit clunky, and not very user intuitive
  • The WYSIWYG is not very good
Like I said previously, Marketo is really good for batch and blast campaigns. We use it for events as well, but the reporting is not as great as we'd like it to be. I suspect it has something to do with how we've set up our campaign.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
New product sales and to drive growth. Also, increasing revenue with our current customers is always a goal of ours. Tracking customers through the funnel is easier with certain reporting types we use within Marketo. Marketo is relatively easy to use once you understand it, and were able to be pretty agile when it comes to creating assets and campaigns.
Read Derrick Phipps's full review
Casey Geer profile photo
September 19, 2018

User Review: "Marketo good and bad"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo was being used by the ecommerce department, so every online transaction with the web platform involved Marketo. The company uses Marketo to keep track of analytics, sales, email, mobile, and social promotions. We also use Marketo for other aspects such as web design management. It addresses problems such as lack of customer reach and engagement.
  • The platform keeps track of all the information on our end as well as the customers end.
  • It links all affiliate, social, email, and web so it is all connected and not separate platforms.
  • It is an up to date and easy to navigate platform on business and customer end
  • It is digital based marketing, which isn't bad, but it is directed towards that, so if your company isn't, this is not the platform for you.
  • Price wise, it is not the best priced platform in the business, but not outrageous.
  • It is hard to reach out personal agent for customer care sometimes.
Marketo is very well suited for our retail company. It is well suited in a promotional area such as an automated promotion, sale or coupon that is being sent out site wide or on all platforms such as email and social media as well. Marketo makes it easy to time and design promotions and sales and customize to exactly the time, design and audience we are targeting.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
Increase revenue within existing customers is a huge desire of ours. Since it is cheaper to keep a returning customer rather than reaching out to pursue new customers, we try to focus on that. A returning customer also means a happy customer and a loyal customer that will come to us with all of their needs.
Read Casey Geer's full review
David Da Silva profile photo
May 22, 2018

Review: "Marketo is the at the core of our Marketing efforts."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is the hub of our Marketing efforts. We have a fairly advanced tech stack and Marketo sits at the core of everything we do in Marketing. We have programs for everything that we do across marketing, which we use to hold the data from that event. From this, we can that start to track attribution of our marketing efforts to understand where we need to reallocate funds to specific high performing events/assets. We also use Marketo to nurture our leads which drives MQLs for our sales teams.
  • Email nurture - the ability to build specific awareness/engagement streams and managing where people sit through transition rules means you can take your leads on a journey, providing the right content at the right time.
  • Segmentation - the ability to segment your database depending on whatever criteria you like means that you can quickly build the desired audience for a specific campaign. Segments are also updated in real time.
  • Attribution - understanding which channels or specific programs perform highly in terms of pipeline attribution is really powerful.
  • Period costs - updating these is a manual process and there is no way to upload on mass. Keeping these updated is a massive manual effort.
  • UI - currently quite dated looking, but I know there is new UI coming.
If you're a growing company and starting to want to do some more sophisticated flows and processes, then Marketo is for you. Marketo obviously can do email marketing, but it is so much more than that. If you're a smaller company that just wants to send an email then there are other platforms that may be more suitable. However, if you've gotten to the point that you want to do more advanced marketing across web personalization, lead scoring, email nurture and tracking attribution then Marketo is the way to go.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We have 2 main areas of focus:

Prospecting - through events and nurture getting leads ready for sales to call. Triggering an MQL off a specific program status (e.g. hot scan at a tradeshow vs just a regular scan)

Customer Marketing - keeping customers updated with product releases and trying to upsell/sell. Segmenting your DB to understand where specific product upsells are possible, then aligning that to your nurture/digital marketing strategy to increase demand.
Read David Da Silva's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (483)
7.4
Dynamic content (457)
7.5
Ability to test dynamic content (448)
7.3
Landing pages (500)
7.5
A/B testing (472)
7.4
Mobile optimization (461)
7.2
Email deliverability (510)
8.1
List management (510)
8.6
Triggered drip sequences (452)
8.6
Lead nurturing (503)
8.6
Lead scoring and grading (487)
8.4
Data quality management (487)
7.7
Automated sales alerts and tasks (466)
8.4
Calendaring (383)
6.6
Event/webinar marketing (451)
8.1
Social sharing and campaigns (279)
7.0
Social profile integration (259)
6.8
Dashboards (464)
6.8
Standard reports (499)
7.2
Custom reports (473)
6.8
API (422)
8.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (366)
7.8
Customizability (451)
7.8
Integration with Salesforce.com (437)
8.9
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (116)
7.5
Integration with SugarCRM (73)
7.0

About Marketo

Marketo is a leading marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities for small and medium businesses and large enterprises, across various industries. Some common features include email marketing, nurturing, SEO, landing pages, scoring, and analytics while other editions offer advanced features such as website personalization, mobile engagement, social and web retargeting. Typical customers include both B2C and B2B brands of all sizes.

Marketo Features

Has featureAttract - Your potential customers are out there researching solutions. Help them find and learn about yours more easily.
Has featureEngage - Easily build automated campaigns that engage prospects in a personalized way, without help from IT.
Has featureDrive Revenue - Convert more potential buyers into customers by triggering a relevant message at exactly the right time.
Has featureMeasure and Optimize - Move beyond opens and clicks. Quickly determine how each of your campaigns and channels impact revenue.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Spark$895per month up to 10,000 records
Standard$1,795per month up to 10,000 records
Select$3,195per month up to 10,000 records

For the Enterprise edition, contact Marketo for a custom quote.

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS