Marketo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1792 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 776)

Therese Flannery | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2020

Favorite Marketing Automation Tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Marketo for all marketing communications. We use it to run outbound email campaigns, email nurturing, lead scoring, lead sourcing, and more. It's been a valuable tool to track our marketing efforts and to provide sales insights into lead activity and email history.
  • Email Marketing
  • Marketing Operations
  • Ease of Use
  • Sync with Salesforce
Marketo is great for businesses looking to expand their marketing efforts and increase the level of detail in their marketing reporting.
  • Upsell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo to engage with new and existing leads to drive them to purchase a paid plan.
Read Therese Flannery's full review
Alex Polamero | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Marketo - ROI Delivered

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Marketo is extremely versatile in solving business challenges, nurturing prospects and customers, and automating processes. We use Marketo for a wide variety of enterprise functions including 1) lead generation, nurturing, and personalized communications across multiple divisions, 2) behavioral tracking and triggered real-time notifications to over 100 sales team members 3) recruitment marketing - personalized recruiting emails, landing pages, integrated Facebook ad campaigns; employee on-boarding and Glassdoor reviews; 4) HR process and communications automation including employee on-boarding, off-boarding, employee status changes, employee events and recognition 5) cross-marketing campaigns between different divisions and services 6) Google Ads and Facebook Custom Audience integration and real-time advertising.
  • Lead capture
  • Lead nurture
  • Behavioral tracking
  • Paid ad integration
  • CRM integration
  • Marketo's native landing-page builder could be easier to use and design with.
  • Marketo's new user interface is overdue. We're ready for an upgrade.
  • Marketo's training could be easier to navigate and relevant training easier to find.
If your organization uses Salesforce, then Marketo is definitely worth considering as a marketing automation tool. If your organization is looking to personalize communications across various target audiences, Marketo is excellent. Every organization that we've implemented Marketo for has easily seen a 200% increase on their Marketo software purchase. We've seen clients realize $5M + in new revenue in year one leveraging Marketo.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product Launches - We leverage Marketo to send personalized email engagement campaigns to target audiences encouraging them to schedule an appointment with sales team members to review new products. Products may include touring a new apartment community or new home or reviewing new retail products for sale.
Upsell - We use Marketo to communicate with customers for 1-7 years into the future and maximize the customer lifetime value. The goal is to get customers to buy more and more frequently.




Read Alex Polamero's full review
Mike Koolwijk | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Marketo: For "us" not the "best" tool on the market, Marketo get your game on!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly used it because a customer was using it. Still, to also broaden my horizon with Marketing Automation tools, I looked into its functionalities in combination with the needs of clients.

Marketo offers multiple options; we mainly used the Marketing Automation and Lead Management part to create campaigns and lead nurturing flows. You must see Marketo as a suite where you can add extensions of the options you need, and pay for those options. Because of this, it's quite easy to use! So, in short, we use Marketo as an optional Marketing Automation product to fit with the client, based on their needs and expertise.
  • You can build Marketo as you want and pay for those options alone, making it a flexible product.
  • It's really easy to use because you can limit yourself to the specific things you want (see point 1).
  • Easy to learn and setup, Marketo as a big active community where you can easily learn the ins and outs of the tool. And you are up and running in minutes.
  • Sadly the reporting is still behind, and I notice this in many reviews Marketo! You are way behind with this.
  • Price Marketo has a hefty price tag, and for most clients, we won't even suggest Marketo; for what most need, there are better options on the market.
  • Easy to use hard to master, when you dive deeper into the tool, you will hit a BIG learning curve, API integrations, more unique segments, etc. You need some dedication here.
  • Speed, it can be really slow sometimes, when making segments or just in peak hours, I guess.
Just one word: Corporate.
Most of our clients are small; I would so not suggest Marketo. The main reason the price but also the ending learning curve. If you want to get MOST out of Marketo, you need someone dedicated to it, but once you have, you can use the full power of the tool and see it working for you.

For "our" client base, we have better options that fit.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We set up a lead nurturing campaigns through multiple channels, and various touchpoints over all those channels and centering down to 1 landing page to catch all the new contacts, and filter existing ones. Creating specific lists for better one on one communication and better quality leads for the sales team.
Read Mike Koolwijk's full review
Kyle Garrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Marketo pumps up automation to 11.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is a piece of tech that is owned by the Operations arm of our company. I and a colleague share the responsibility of architecting and implementing new marketing initiatives with Marketo, as well as integrations. We use it as our sole database for the intake of the thousands of leads we get each and every month. We use it to manage the lead lifecycle, utilizing lead scoring, status changes, data normalization, and other operational procedures as well as email marketing and other lead nurturing efforts. Everything enters Marketo, and then is fed to our sales systems and sales teams.
  • Marketo has the most capable functionality out of any of the major marketing automation platforms that I have used.
  • Building complex nurture tracks to your wildest imagination is possible in Marketo.
  • The UX/UI in Marketo is amongst the worst in modern software offerings. Everyone lives with it because of the amazing capabilities it has.
  • I've had subpar experiences with customer service, so it's not a great tool to learn with if you are just starting out with marketing automation.
In my experience, Marketo is a program that many companies graduate to after they have used other marketing automation platforms, and have outgrown their capabilities. Other programs are far easier to learn on, and even someone with little background in marketing automation can learn on those, but once you're ready to join the big leagues, you move to Marketo. It is perfect for a company that really wants to turn their understanding of marketing, and the ownership of the processes of marketing, up to an 11. If there is a dedicated resource to manage Marketo within the company, or the company is willing to add the headcount to do so, it's well worth the investment. It's best if you are moving beyond simple email campaigns, and really want to coordinate what marketing is doing, and understand the buyers' journey.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo helps us manage our large database. We are at the point as a company where we get too many inbound leads for our team to be able to call every single person who fills out a form on our website, plus the many 3rd-party places someone fills out a form that is routed to us. We use Marketo for lead management and prospecting in that we use the data we receive to score leads until they reach a point where marketing feels they are interested in our product enough to talk to a representative from our company. It allows us to make some sense out of the chaos that is our marketing motions. We collect so much data in Marketo that we can turn into actionable insights that it make it worth its cost over and over.
Read Kyle Garrett's full review
Rubi Cammarota | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Marketo has pluses and minuses

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo to send emails, manage our large customer database, and analyze our marketing effectiveness. It addresses our problem of organizing our very large database (about 10 million contacts), helping us gain insight into what users are doing in our app, and allowing us to segment them so we can best target them.
  • Lets you look at and segment leads from a very macro to a very granular level
  • Lets you create very complex engagement programs
  • Lets you send trigger emails on very specific criteria
  • The WYSIWYG email editing function is terrible. Marketo always adds a bunch of tags that break the code that I slave over in Litmus
  • The inability to schedule emails to send in the recipient's time zone is a HUGE issue
  • Not being able to edit Email Program campaign limits makes that function completely unusable.
This tool is good for larger marketing organizations but is more than a smaller company would need. There are lots of quirks/issues with the tool and it seems like you need someone at the organization who has been using it for a long time and understands the intricacies and limitations.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
We are looking to convert leads to customers, gain logos, upsell plan types, sell services, and expand within organizations. Marketo helps us with these goals by giving us the power to slice and dice our database in many ways and send targeted communications. Personalized content is key in this crowded B2B space.
Read Rubi Cammarota's full review
Sam Dahoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

Great solution to increase sales and find good customers.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is a good simple application to automate marketing. We were able to create email lists in applications, control and help with all digital marketing actions. It is a platform capable of adapting to any company, regardless of its size or sector. It especially helps in marketing automation, recruiting leads, the home page, campaign promotion, and provides progressive growth at work.
  • It is a very useful and excellent solution to achieve better sales without much effort and in a short time.
  • Ease of use is the best and I meet with my clients to provide the right service.
  • Email automation is great.
  • It seems to me that the price is very high.
  • It is usually slow in the links section of social accounts.
Marketo is a very functional, good service to automate the marketing of your company. I recommend it because it is easy to use and offers good final results.
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We were looking for progressive growth and after using this great tool, everything has changed. We have greatly increased sales and found potential customers.
Read Sam Dahoo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Thumbs Down for Marketo

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used to capture leads from our company website. It is also integrated with our webinar tool for registration, and email confirmation. It is used by our entire marketing team. It is currently the company's marketing lead generation tool, and integrates with our Salesforce CRM.
  • Sync with Salesforce is a nifty feature.
  • Built for a large database of leads.
  • Nice to see information about inferred leads who visit the website.
  • Overly complex.
  • Slow and clunky. Cumbersome to use. Often see a spinning icon as it processes simple requests.
  • Not a good user interface.
I do not recommend Marketo based on its poorly designed user interface, and slow response rate. The application is slow, and cumbersome to use. I often see a spinning icon as it processes simple requests, or when clicking from module to module. It could use a good overhaul. It's better suited for a large enterprise organization like IBM.
I only had to contact support one time, and I did get a fair response. It took about an hour to get a call back. I left a voicemail, and emailed, and received a response the same afternoon.
The user interface is not user friendly. There are icons that are in the interface that have no hover definitions, so users do not know what the icons are for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Excellent if you have SFDC

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Marketing Department uses it, and my department uses it for one of our product demo environments.
  • Modular elements to campaigns.
  • Easy integration to external services.
  • Managing campaign members isn't as intuitive as it could be.
  • When using filters the multiple value selection isn't as user friendly as other applications (for instance, when compared to SFDC).
Thanks to a very powerful integration with Salesforce, Marketo allows both Marketing and Sales to keep their data consistent, and the two solutions complement each other well. I'd recommend Marketo to anyone using Salesforce.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
Marketo's smart campaign flows and streams are great for segmenting by persona (we use Leadspace's enrichment/scoring webhook natively in Marketo). Once segmented properly, we use streams to send relevant messages out to our inbound leads, as well as existing customers for cross-sell/upsell based on product interest (gathered from web traffic data and third party intent).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2020

Excellent marketing and list management solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Marketo across our entire organization in order to increase our marketing spend and efficiency. The nice thing about Marketo is its integration with all of our social media platforms, which gives us the ability to centralize our CRM efforts across platforms. By being able to target both the platform and our message, our digital ad spend is much more targeted.
  • Cross social platform CRM integration
  • Broad depth of tools features
  • Excellent cross platform analytics
  • Speed of migration from prior platform can be enhanced
  • Database import / integration was not that straightforward
Overall, we feel Marketo is an excellent solution to address our needs, all things considered. I would highly recommend this to other businesses as it has a great degree of cross-social-platform capabilities and allows us to manage our add spend and target our message very well in a more cost-effective manner than the prior solutions we had engaged.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
Our primary goal with Marketo was for new launches and managing our existing leads. The new launch functionality is excellent--offers a broad integration across social platforms. Our target is to engage as many filmmakers we can across social platforms. Marketo solutions helped us do this in a very efficient and seamless manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Marketo can segment anything, if you know how to do it.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo was used by the marketing department to facilitate our smart, automated email campaigns. It was addressing our inability to accurately segment our email lists, since we offer many different niches within our company and each needs a personalized email feel. With Marketo, we began the process of segmenting down and capturing the information we needed to accurately sell product by product, rather than just selling people on the entire collection.
  • Segmenting of lists and capturing segment information.
  • Triggers & Automation flows.
  • Keeping your CRM clean and clear.
  • Ease of use - it is horrendously big and hard to understand.
  • Setting up templates for use with standard marketing flows.
  • Allowing the user to understand their CRM.
I would say that I'm right in the middle because Marketo can do it all, and segmenting was super accurate, but Marketo doesn't really make it easy to do any of those things. Without the Foundations training, you cannot expect to use and understand Marketo. You simply have to be trained in order to accomplish anything. They definitely need to start making it a little more user-friendly, so that people really have a better understanding about how to use it.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Other
We were trying to drive sales and automate our workflows so that we didn't have to do so much manual email construction. We have different segments in our business and each needed a separate email flow for retargeting subscribers who were about to expire. We also were attempting to nurture leads better so that they got timely communications, based on their customer journey. Previously, we had been using a newsletter format to basically blast our entire list with everything we offered all at once.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Great B2B tool for marketers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Marketo globally in our team. What is great is our regional marketers have the autonomy to create their own campaigns, but we can keep the approval at the corporate level for regions with a lower maturity to ensure brand guidelines are respected. This accelerates our delivery process since not all of the campaigns need to be created by us anymore.
  • The community is very strong. If we run into an issue or are not sure how we can set up a program following best practices, an easy search on the community will usually give us the answer.
  • The email editor is quite flexible and easy to use. People without any HTML knowledge can create their own email.
  • The platform is strong for nurturing and scoring programs.
  • The analytics functionalities could be stronger.
  • We would like to be able to give permission on a folder level. This way we can give full permission for some internal teams to send their emails internally, but they wouldn't be able to activate any of the external campaigns.
  • API integration with PowerBI is not working properly
We do all our marketing automation using Marketo. The platform is very user-friendly. We use it to manage form fills, email sent, nurturing programs, lead scoring programs, landing page creation, etc. It also offers a lot of integrations with other tools on the market so it's allowing us to reduce manual work to import information from one platform to the other.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
Some of the goals that we have is driving awareness towards new products. Marketo allows us to develop full campaigns targetting our customers or leads that fit criteria for these specific campaigns. We leverage integrations like LinkedIn and Facebook lead gen to have form fills directly from the social platforms and add them in the proper nurturing programs in Marketo.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2020

Marketo--Both Simple and Sophisticated

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo for our email campaigns on a regular basis in all of our regions globally. It is used thoroughly within the Marketing department (from Marketing Ops, to Field Marketing, to Demand Generation, etc.), and on occasion by the Sales team. It fulfills our need to reach out to our database, generate leads, and create easy-to-use and easy-to-create web pages.
  • Great online community--it is informative and well-organized.
  • Great marketing--all emails look professional and engaging.
  • Great interface--easy to learn and use.
  • Buggy--I always receive error messages.
  • Slow interface--it takes a while to load.
  • Better way to track/monitor open rates/click through rates. More visual results for email campaigns! No more ugly spreadsheets.
It is definitely my vendor of choice for marketing automation, because of its ease of use, cleanliness, and innovation. It is suited for marketing teams that require hands on work by a larger number of people, because it is easy to learn (though harder to truly master). You should ask yourself--do I want a sophisticated software that can do simple well, but scale to greater things? Or would I prefer just pure simplicity. Sometimes, complexity isn't necessary.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Marketo Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used at our organization internally and externally as a marketing platform and tool. My organization also consults and aids in the implementation of Marketo in various ways and industries. It is being used across the whole organization. It addresses many problems of internal marketing operations and and externally at how to best deploy client operations.
  • Ability to accurately score leads within your instance and accurately translate these every time to Salesforce
  • High levels of customization available to both emails and landing pages along with templates
  • In order to set up processes such as lead scoring, contact lists, lifecycle stages, etc. you will need some knowledge of Marketo
  • Implementation can take time to connect accurately to your CRM
Marketo is by far one of my favorite marketing automation softwares to use. It helps to solve various internal and external problems within my organization. It aids in collaborative work and in consulting at an agency. It also helps to save time and create strategies that are easily deployed and reported on within the system.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
As a consultant at a marketing agency, we aid a wide variety of companies across multiple industries to address many sales problems along their entire sales pipeline and process. We help to create better internal processes within internal sales and marketing communication with this tool along with help to create external communications with various clients, prospects, leads or partners in efficient and effective ways.
Read this authenticated review
Courtney Grimes | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Flexibility at Scale to Tackle Your Company's Digital Needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a marketing technology consultancy that is platform agnostic but chooses to work extensively with Marketo—both as our in-house platform for marketing automation as well as with our clients. Internally, we use Marketo to drive demand generation, digital marketing initiatives, customer journey management, nurturing and prospect acceleration. With our clients, we deploy, configure, optimize, integrate and implement Marketo in a with a diverse group of companies, including B2B/B2C/B2B2C and verticals such as higher education, financial services, transportation, consumer goods, and SaaS platforms among others.

Our clients use Marketo in different ways, but some key business outcomes we see folks commonly tackle with Marketo include:
  • Message-based marketing (email, SMS, push notification), both in ad-hoc and structured nurture varieties.
  • Web content and lead ingestion via forms and landing pages.
  • Customer journey measurement/tracking.
  • Event management (webinars, live events, virtual events).
  • Sales enablement through marketing messaging (Marketo Sales Insight/Engage).
  • Targeted digital advertising through connected Marketo data.
  • Flexibility of use - compared to other marketing automation platforms, Marketo is fairly open-ended in how a user can approach a business problem and tackle it. This can be both a positive and negative attribute based on a team's digital skills, however.
  • Marketer control - Marketo is the only platform I have worked with that can be set up to delegate creative control and asset creation to a marketing department without needing much handle-holding from technical users: marketers can create professional-looking emails, landing pages, forms, and campaigns without much asisstance after an inital ramp-up period. The setup is also quite flexible, allowing marketers to take creative liberties as desired.
  • Sales enablement - The sharing of messaging, ranked prospect lists, information on prospect behavior and other parts of the Marketo Sales Insight platform are second to none.
  • Integrations - From a developer's point of view, working with Marketo is more straightforward than other marketing automation platforms, something reflected both in work built directly for a company and the wide variety of platforms that integrate with Marketo.
  • Reporting - Although Marketo reports can answer surface questions and some canned concepts, drilling down and customizing reports is still problematic and is best served through big data and BI visualization.
  • Maintenance - The system is not very forgiving for non-technical users working at scale and often requires intervention as performance degrades over time.
Marketo particularly excels in companies where there is either some in-house technical knowledge or a willingness to partner with an agency to customize setup—the freedom and frustration of Marketo are that is not prescriptive in how you handle business procedures—there are even multiple ways to do something as straightforward as sending an email! Those who need customization will find quite a bit here, but smaller companies, those with fewer resources or less mature marketing departments may find the initial effort needed to be daunting compared to other marketing automation providers.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read Courtney Grimes's full review
Matt Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

Marketo is the choice for creating Epic Experiences for medium-to-large scale enterprises!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used in a variety of ways at Walden University. First and foremost it is our center for customer communications and engagement across channels: email, SMS, and personalization. We use Marketo to communicate with both current and prospective students, as well as alumni. Beyond communications and nurturing, Marketo is used by our Sales organization to send messages, add customers to targeted campaigns, and view customer behaviors via Marketo Sales Insight. Additionally, Marketo is the centralized entry point for leads where we capture, scrub, score and qualify leads via a custom process we designed and deployed. Marketo is also our hub for a huge roster of marketing tech, database, and reporting application partners.
  • Marketo is very simple to learn and affords quick time to value and a simple UI for those that are used to less capable or more tech-reliant competitor platforms.
  • Marketo plays very well with Salesforce CRM in my experience, but be cautious with how you customize your Salesforce data model or architecture, as those decisions can have implications for Marketo.
  • Smart campaigns and smart lists are an invaluable resource. They're like mini workflows at your fingertips, requiring no SQL or coding language. Just drag and drop; the possibilities are nearly endless! Example: In an email send campaign, drag and drop a step to exclude customers that have previously received an email related to a different campaign. The platform will recognize these leads in real time and remove them from the flow. It sounds elementary, but from experience, it is not easy, or not possible, to do things like that in other platforms.
  • Little or no reliance on IT for support. Marketo allows Marketers and ops team members to administer the tool without needing developers.
  • Marketo Sales Insight - I don't know where we'd be without this! Our organization relies on it heavily to send nicely-formatted templated emails to sales prospects, and quickly remind prospects of events and webinars of interest to them with just a few clicks from the sales owner.
  • As easy as the UI is to use, it is a little dated. The good news is Marketo Sky UI is just around the corner and available in certain areas of the tool today.
  • Analytics and reporting areas are very B2B centric, requiring workarounds for B2C applications. It's also a little slow loading, but that is on the roadmap to be improved in the coming year.
  • The REST API will turn away certain kinds of posts with an error code; an example is a lead post where there are already existing duplicates with a matching email address in the database that drives a 1007 error and the data is not captured. I think it would be nice if the data would go to a staging table or something, just so it lands somewhere within the platform so admins could debug and mitigate issues.
Marketo is really the only choice for large enterprise Marketing organizations, in my opinion. It scales better than other platforms with similar functionalities and is easier to use. Competitors' products in this space will require more "technical" users with coding and database management backgrounds, or will flat out not handle the volume. Marketo is in the sweet spot. If you have Salesforce or Dynamics and are in a large or medium-sized organization, especially if you are in a B2B oriented industry, Marketo is for you.
I am personally currently in the Higher Education industry, and Marketo works well in that space, though we sometimes need to seek workarounds for some areas of functionality that are B2B-focused.
Small businesses may price out of Marketo, especially if they have a large database or B2C orientation, but it is still worth a look. That said, I personally implemented Marketo at two different small software and services shops with 100-150 employees, and they both still use the tool 5-10 years later.
For organizations that are going to want to do only traditional batch/blast email campaigns and have small databases, Marketo will work, but you'll be paying for leaving a lot of capability on the table.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
The primary goal for our Marketo implementation is customer engagement, like driving prospective students to apply and start courses at Walden. The second goal is retention, like creating a positive customer experience that drives students to finish their program. The third goal would be lead capture and qualification, and the fourth would be providing tools that allow for alignment between Marketing and Sales. Marketo fulfills all these areas very well for us.
Read Matt Gomez's full review
Emily Thornton | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Powerful platform if you have a solid strategy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Marketo internally to house our lead management "funnel" architecture as well as perpetual lead nurturing efforts. Marketo contains all of the logic that moves leads through the funnel stages (leveraging a combination of activity and demographic-based scoring) and collects all of the necessary data to allow us to report on funnel metrics (lead velocity, conversion rates, volume, and revenue impact via an integration with SFDC). We've built out our nurturing as well, using advanced logic to ensure people receive content that is mapped to their specific role and their place in the buying cycle.
  • With the robust logic capabilities, you can pretty much design your nurturing and lead management framework to function in any way you need it to. So it's a very scalable platform.
  • Integration with SFDC is pretty seamless. The bi-directional sync of data between platforms happens every 5 minutes or so.
  • I've worked at multiple companies that use Marketo, and in all cases our sales reps were huge fans of the visibility Marketo Sales Insight provides them. When added to the page layouts in SFDC the reps can view a feed of a lead's website activity, email activity, scoring changes, and "interesting moments" (which are customizable and show key activity that we deem note-worthy).
  • The robustness of the platform means that if you start using Marketo without a well thought-out strategy, you may not get the return you're hoping for. The reports and functionality that are often shown in Marketo's product demos and webinars are great, but for those to work properly an overall architecture and governance really need to be in place. Also, if your business plans to make an investment in Marketo, definitely be sure you have people (or are able to hire people) who will be able to support it.
With Marketo's logic capabilities, it's possible to build nurture programs that are extremely dynamic and personalized to the user as their data profile changes and they move through the lead funnel. From a reporting standpoint, if implemented with a solid strategy, the reports and insights you'll be able to gain are extremely valuable. That said, it's not a magic wand (no platform is). You'll get out of it what you put in. Also, while the out-of-the-box reporting capabilities are a great and do show revenue attribution data from a connected CRM, I've found it to be more useful to use Marketo in conjunction with a BI tool such as Tableau.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We've moved away from one-off "batch and blast" campaigns, and have more of a perpetual ongoing approach with our outbound efforts. We've mapped all of our content to persona's, and also to our different lead funnel stages. When a new lead is created via form submission, we have "listening campaigns" that look at what information the person has provided via progressive profiling, and then adds them to an appropriate place in our nurture program. The goal of the content in the nurture program is to "nurture forward" to the next stage of the funnel (which they'd achieve by consuming more content, entering more progressive profiling data, and thus increasing their score). When this happens, we have more "listening campaigns" that remove them from their previous spot in the nurture program and place them further down. The eventual goal is to have them reach a "Qualified Lead" threshold, which is the point sales is notified to follow-up in SFDC, and hopefully, a closed won opportunity comes of it.
Read Emily Thornton's full review
Justin Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

The most robust and powerful marketing automation solution I've encountered.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Marketo consulting agency and use it both for our own marketing and implement it for clients. We also build products that integrate with it. For our own marketing we use it to manage demand generation activities and for lead management. With our clients we implement, configure, and customize it in a large variety of ways.
  • Very robust workflow capability, with extremely flexible filtering and numerous options to enable almost any business scenario.
  • Tight integration with SFDC with visibility into standard and custom objects and good campaign integration.
  • Extensive use of tokens to quickly create and manage highly customized programs.
  • New! Email and landing page editor updates provide extremely user-friendly and customizable asset creation toolset.
  • The default analytics module is a bit inflexible; existing reports are adequate but customizing them to answer the questions you want answered is often difficult and generally requires pulling a multitude of time-consuming smart lists or access to the more expensive Revenue Cycle Analytics module. Again however, this is something that is actively being improved by product management.

Marketo is extremely powerful and can enable massive efficiency for the right companies -- growing companies with a small but expanding team who need to manage a lot of marketing activities, large enterprises, and everyone in between. The flexibility and depth of Marketo is best in its class, and for a creative technical marketer, the sky is really the limit for what you can achieve.
There is a good deal of work to implement, configure and manage Marketo (I'd recommend at least a part-time resource or an agency partner) so the real ROI comes at scale, when the efficiency you gain from automation and deployment outweighs the work required to manage the system. On the other hand if you are a smaller company with fewer marketing initiatives, less complex needs, and lighter lead flow, Marketo could be overkill until your needs expand.
Read Justin Norris's full review
Evan Kubitschek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

An Enterprise platform - with an Enterprise time commitment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by the marketing department in a shared services model for the entire organization.

Specifically, we use it for:
Email marketing (batch and blast)
Email marketing (automated nurture paths)
Web content (operational delivery of assets + forms)
Database cleanup (standardization of fields, etc. before passing to CRM)
Webinars (via GoToWebinar integration)
Live Events (landing pages / registration / post-show assets)
  • Marketo's token functionality is excellent for reducing workload and eliminating repetition.
  • Marketo's integration with SFDC has been seamless for us with no technical debt.
  • Marketo's web activity reports have been a big hit with our executive team to showcase who we're bringing in from our target market.
  • Marketo's visual reporting is awful. We've defaulted to Salesforce because Marketo's out of the box reporting is so limited without a big upsell
  • The UI is lagging behind competitors, as is sorting and searching assets. Hoping the new UI that's been announced addresses this.
Marketo's a complicated product that can do anything, but is a platform that requires a full-time architect. Smaller organizations should recognize the investment that's necessary for success, and look at it as a long term investment.
Read Evan Kubitschek's full review
Josh Pickles | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

There's a reason Marketo is a leader within marketing automation technology - it's just good software.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is the central marketing tool used by various marketing teams across the business, with one centralised team managing the day-to-day (lead and data management, reporting, bounce handling, account management, etc.) as well as the strategic automation development across the various marketing teams within the business.

Each business vertical has its own marketing team who use Marketo on a weekly basis to manage all of their tactical emails with assistance from the Central team.
  • Flexibility - It has a lot to offer, but you don't have to have it all. There are a lot of integrations that allow you to set up your MarTech environment however you want.
  • Usability - Marketo is pretty straightforward to use, and there are a lot of resource documents and community available to help mitigate any issues a user might have.
  • Comprehensive - There's a huge range of features that Marketo has built into it that can be bolted on. I accept there are other tools out there there that do "more", but Marketo's features are comprehensive and operate in a local environment.
  • Support - Marketo's support feature and team are fantastic. They've always been willing and able to help with simple and complex queries in a highly professional manner. The Marketo Community backs this up - with both Marketo Support and Marketo Experts providing insight and responses to queries.
  • Landing Pages - The Landing Page editor is a little clunky. It was built prior to the email template builder which has more functionality that it could take to be improved.
  • Analytics - Marketo's default reporting is very simple and tactical. For more detailed reporting there is a paid add-on you can rely on to pull through meatier results.
Marketo operates well for medium to large-sized organisations. While it doesn't have its own CRM, it integrates really well with the likes of Salesforce and MS Dynamics to simplify lead management.

Marketo might not be suitable for smaller organisations who are starting out with marketing automation technologies.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo across a broad range of business verticals, each with their own goals. Overall, we're using Marketo to better understand the user journey. This process has allowed us to better inform customers of key promotions, features, as well as to better communicate and manage customer pain points.
Read Josh Pickles's full review
Michael Weissberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

Marketo is an entire ecosystem

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is primarily used by the Marketing department for engagement and one-off campaigns, as well as lead management. We have a 1:1 back and forth sync with Salesforce so both can be used for lead management. In short, marketing inputs all leads that we acquire into Marketo, sales inputs all of theirs into Salesforce, and both have the same full database. We market to both our leads and the sales team's leads, as well as manually inputting additional leads we get from other sources for follow-up.
  • It's very easy to see lead acquisition from multiple sources with ROI, so it can be calculated where marketing budget is best spent
  • Engagement streams are easy to build, with multiple if -> then conditions built into a stream for easy segmentation, getting the right message to the right person at the right time
  • There's a massive amount of partners and integrations available - if there's something you want to do that isn't baked in, there's probably a provider that has a software for that
  • Marketo's Revenue Explorer dashboard has a built in cost per new name tracking, also easily divisible by program, for easy deciding.
  • The ability to segment users by any combinations of fields is intuitive for emailing, syncing to an ad partner, or just viewing who you have in your database.
  • There's a bit of a learning curve. Without significant training, even an experienced marketer might stumble around a bit. There's a lot of different ways to do one thing, but it's not always clear what best practices or implications may be for one way over another.
  • There doesn't appear to be an easy baked-in way to de-duplicate records (though it can only send out one email to duplicates). That's something we're dealing with now and may have to use a third party.
  • The ideal would be some direct integration into ad platforms - if it's there, I don't know it.
Marketo is great at segmentation and lead nurturing - if you want to create a thousand nurture streams for every possible condition, you can do that with some robust tools. However, there doesn't appear to be an automated way to do this. You would have to personally create one thousand nurture streams. (But there's a partner that can do something like this.)
Reporting is easy and built-in. There's thousands of partners in a very wide network. Any use case or crazy thing you want to do, like automate ad buys so you don't need your own DSP, there's someone that has done that and can do that for you. It's not just Marketo itself you'd be buying into - it's a vast well-resourced ecosystem.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Prospecting / New Business
We're trying to get the right message to the right user at the right time - whether it's a new product launch for people who have been previously interested in the group or just nudging someone along we haven't heard from in a few months, or even a welcome email, nobody gets ignored and everyone gets a relevant, personalized message based on how they interacted with us and what we know about them.
Read Michael Weissberg's full review
Derrick Phipps | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

My experience with Marketo

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo across our entire organization. We use it for B2B and B2C email campaigns. Marketo helps us track engagement and manage our reporting. Most of our campaigns are batch and blast, and we could do a lot more to make use of the metrics within Marketo. I'd also love to convince our organization to upgrade to the Marketo Emails editor 2.0.
  • Marketo provides us with a quick tool for creating forms and LP's.
  • We track open/click rates.
  • We host a ton of images in Marketo.
  • Marketo can run a bit slow across the organization
  • The interface is a bit clunky, and not very user intuitive
  • The WYSIWYG is not very good
Like I said previously, Marketo is really good for batch and blast campaigns. We use it for events as well, but the reporting is not as great as we'd like it to be. I suspect it has something to do with how we've set up our campaign.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
New product sales and to drive growth. Also, increasing revenue with our current customers is always a goal of ours. Tracking customers through the funnel is easier with certain reporting types we use within Marketo. Marketo is relatively easy to use once you understand it, and were able to be pretty agile when it comes to creating assets and campaigns.
Read Derrick Phipps's full review
David Portnowitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2019

Marketing is Easier With Marketo

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo in our Marketing department to help with email marketing, marketing automation, lead tracking, web forms, integration with our CRM, integration with other third-party SaaS applications, and much more. Marketo is integral to our business processes and we have used it for four years.
  • User tracking from lead through to sale
  • Creating automated marketing campaigns with full analytics
  • Integrating with different SaaS applications - they make it easy!
  • Hard to get everything set up and requires lots of "tribal" knowledge
  • Support is okay at best, takes too long to get a response
  • UI is average, could use an update
Marketo is well-suited for a medium to a large enterprise that has people devoted to getting it set up and running. You have to really WANT to get it going, otherwise, you will not get great value out of the product. Once you get it up and running, it's a great product with lots of resources on the web for use. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a full marketing automation suite.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use Marketo to communicate with our partners, customers, employees, and prospects. We are looking to increase sales, sign up new partners, and communicate more effectively with each group. We also use Marketo for lead generation on our website with forms, landing pages, and personalization.
Read David Portnowitz's full review
Alec Dibble | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

I've Used Marketo In Several Organizations

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being utilized organization-wide to fulfill all of our automated email needs. Uses include marketing campaigns, application-based transactional notifications, and internal notifications. Being able to do all email automation using one program simplifies email management across the org. It helps ensure all automated emails are consistent and coming from the same trusted source. Additionally, it provides a high degree of automation, flexibility, and integration. Most campaigns and automation sequences we need are implementable using Marketo.
  • Marketo's flexibility is where it excels. The architecture and interface have a learning curve, but Marketo gives the end user a lot of power to set up campaigns or flows exactly how they need it. I have used many competing products and none are as flexible.
  • Marketo's token and custom fields implementation is mature and powerful. Many competitors fall short in this department. Tokens and custom fields can be used extensively in flows and segments, creating almost endless possibilities.
  • Marketo's 3rd-party integration are well thought out and maintained consistently. Integrations I have utilized include Salesforce and GoToWebinar. Both integrations worked great and enabled a lot of productivity and automation.
  • The segmentation engine is very powerful. Many other services have limits or restrictions on how you can segment your users or what filters you can use. Marketo is incredibly flexible in this regard. I have never ran into an issue where we couldn't build a segment we needed.
  • The interface, including querying members of segments, can be very slow. Sometimes queries can run for over 10 minutes with no useful indication of status. Sometimes the query fails and I have to reload. In the past, it caused us to miss target campaign send times. Currently, the email team tries to account for this issue when implementing and executing campaigns.
  • The documentation can be very poor. Marketo is a VERY technical and complicated service. While the documentation has different guides for different skill levels, overall reference material can be really lacking. Some parts of the REST API also have undocumented behavior. The community and forums can be a useful substitute. However, it can be very slow searching through that content.
  • I'm not a fan of Marketo's interface and visual aesthetics. It looks much less modern and professional when compared to most competitors.
  • Their SEO keyword tracking feature feels underpowered compared to many services dedicated to SEO tracking. I do not depend on it and use other services for keyword tracking.
Marketo is extremely proficient at implementing complex automation and integrating with third party services. This is a great value-add for businesses with complex email operations. However, it requires a lot of dedicated resources to set up, configure, and manage. At a minimum, one full-time email marketing specialist should be managing the Marketo instance.

For highly technical startups, I would recommend implementing email automation internally. I believe the biggest value of Marketo is enabling people who aren't software engineers to implement extremely complex segmentation and automation. If engineers are managing the email automation, it will be much cheaper to implement the automation internally. If non-engineers are managing the email systems, then Marketo is very useful.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Marketo is utilized for several different business functions. First of all, it is utilized for email marketing campaigns to the existing user base. These campaigns are meant to educate our user base and provide help suggestions and call to actions to help utilize our service effectively. It also provides transactional email support for our application. Finally, we use it for internal notifications that require automation or formatting.
Read Alec Dibble's full review
Jennifer  Robertson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

Highly intuitive.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used by almost our entire organization. It works together with our CMS to track the buyer journey, automate perpetual nurtures, track multi-channel success, capture ROI, and much more! Marketo is the foundation to our marketing strategy and success!
  • Very user friendly. Easy to get up to speed and train others how to use it. Similar to SFDC in the fact that it is intuitive.
  • Increasing marketing efficiency. It's so simple to clone landing pages, emails, programs, and campaigns that it makes us very proficient.
  • It makes up for deficiencies in SFDC. Sometimes there are limitations with SFDC workflow rules that Marketo can handle. It also allows a deeper view into each lead that would not be available in SFDC without Marketo.
  • Provides valuable lead information, visibility, and tools for Sales.
  • Marketo has a great native integration with SFDC. It's easy to set-up and troubleshoot if an issue arises.
  • Sometimes it can be very slow. Sometimes just finding a value on a pick list takes much longer than it should. Sometimes it can take a long time for a list to run. Database size and quantity of database activity can play a role on speed. Some of this was due to years of accumulated anonymous lead data that was clogging up system. These are now archived automatically after 3 months by Marketo. This helped, but we still have periods where it is slow when we work with clients with large databases.
  • It would be nice to be able to assign priorities to smart campaigns to help control race conditions.
  • RCA stage accuracy could be improved by making the model intuitive enough to correctly handle merges.
  • If a SFDC administrator makes a mass update, this can cause backlogs in the system. For example, campaign triggers or alerts can be delayed by a couple of hours.
Would highly recommend Marketo.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
We use Marketo to drive sales and growth in new business and existing business. We also use Marketo as our lead management foundation to allow us to capture multi-channel interactions and associate that activity to the buying journey, qualified leads, and ROI. We use Marketo in a way that lets us automate complex, perpetual nurture and tracking to not just improve conversions and ROI, but to also personalize a person's experience with our brand based on their consumption, buying stage, and areas of interest.
The support team is very responsive and they can usually solve any problem we encounter.
Usability is a real strength. It is very easy to learn and train others on the system. The UI is quite intuitive, especially for anyone who already uses SFDC.
We look at scaleability in a few different ways. First, the speed while using Marketo has remained relatively the same as our database has grown. Though I would say Marketo is slow at times, it has not gotten slower over the last few years. If anything, it has improved, and they are working to improve it. Second, the amount of programs we have developed in Marketo has exponentially grown as well. Marketo has allowed us to drastically increase our output without having to drastically increase our headcount.
Read Jennifer Robertson's full review
khyati panwar | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Marketo: A powerful marketing automation and operation tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Marketo is a SaaS based marketing automation and operation software which helps our organization to automate and measure marketing engagement, tasks and workflows. The benefits I realized working with Marketo is how versatile it is in its marketing approach, analytical insights and its strategic ways. It is easy to use and create emails, forms, and landing pages. It is also easy to create workflows for automation which might be very useful in nurturing campaigns. When it comes to complex campaigns, you are able to create flows and derive users according their actions and behaviors. Below are the the different Marketo functions which are being used to address business problems:


  • Email Marketing
  • Lead Nurturing
  • Lead Management
  • Bi-directional CRM synching
  • Data Collection & Database Management
  • Data Quality & Cleansing
  • Demand Gen & Web Content Strategy
  • CRM Integration & Lead Management
  • Change Management & Training
  • Demand Funnel Development & Sales Alignment
  • Lead Scoring
  • Landing Pages & Forms
  • Marketing Activity Tracking
  • Web Activity Tracking
  • Social Marketing
  • Campaign Dashboards and Reports
  • Program and Campaign Analysis
  • Opportunity Influence Modeler
  • Advanced Report Builder
  • Ease of use - Drag and drop interface
  • Marketo community offers tips, and you can get any question answered really fast.
  • There is a huge learning curve with Marketo but this enables capability once you climb that curve.
  • Marketo is a super strong product with a lot of functionality. It’s a very robust tool, and has instantly closed-loop reporting. For an organization to use Marketo to its potential, they need to take the time to come up with a holistic and complete strategy and to note what they would like to accomplish. Once this is achieved, they need to develop the technical architecture in Marketo and their CRM platform integration. Also, make sure that all the integrated teams who are responsible for managing Marketo are completely trained on how to use the platform well. Also Adobe Acquisition will only make it better.
  • The only thing which is little less appropriate is some functionality is restricted to the version of your contract or implementation, and sometimes you must follow unnecessary steps to achieve simple tasks.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read khyati panwar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (588)
7.1
Dynamic content (565)
7.7
Ability to test dynamic content (550)
7.5
Landing pages (606)
6.9
A/B testing (583)
7.3
Mobile optimization (571)
7.2
Email deliverability reporting (625)
8.2
List management (624)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (561)
8.3
Lead nurturing (617)
8.2
Lead scoring and grading (599)
8.2
Data quality management (597)
7.9
Automated sales alerts and tasks (574)
8.0
Calendaring (464)
6.7
Event/webinar marketing (550)
7.9
Social sharing and campaigns (345)
6.6
Social profile integration (324)
6.6
Dashboards (578)
6.8
Standard reports (616)
7.0
Custom reports (583)
6.8
API (529)
7.8
Role-based workflow & approvals (457)
7.7
Customizability (555)
7.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (534)
8.2
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (154)
6.6
Integration with SugarCRM (98)
6.2

About Marketo

Marketo Engage aims to help marketing teams drive demand and growth in their companies by delivering exceptional experiences in concert with sales at every stage of the customer journey.

The challenge these teams face is that everyone today expects a personalized experience whenever they interact with a company - they don’t have patience for generic marketing and the last thing they want is a cold call from sales. So to stay competitive, marketing teams are scrambling to understand customers better, so they can give them a better experience, because this is disrupting entire industries. And a big part of what’s needed is figuring out how marketing and sales can do a better job together.

The vendor states Marketo Engage redefines Marketing Automation by helping these companies bring together the customer data, content, automation and analytics needed for marketing and sales to coordinate engagement with customers that’s personalized and measurable at every touchpoint - and do it with efficiency and scale.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Video

Marketo Downloadables

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS