Marketo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1885 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 818)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Emily Thornton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Marketo internally to house our lead management "funnel" architecture as well as perpetual lead nurturing efforts. Marketo contains all of the logic that moves leads through the funnel stages (leveraging a combination of activity and demographic-based scoring) and collects all of the necessary data to allow us to report on funnel metrics (lead velocity, conversion rates, volume, and revenue impact via an integration with SFDC). We've built out our nurturing as well, using advanced logic to ensure people receive content that is mapped to their specific role and their place in the buying cycle.
  • With the robust logic capabilities, you can pretty much design your nurturing and lead management framework to function in any way you need it to. So it's a very scalable platform.
  • Integration with SFDC is pretty seamless. The bi-directional sync of data between platforms happens every 5 minutes or so.
  • I've worked at multiple companies that use Marketo, and in all cases our sales reps were huge fans of the visibility Marketo Sales Insight provides them. When added to the page layouts in SFDC the reps can view a feed of a lead's website activity, email activity, scoring changes, and "interesting moments" (which are customizable and show key activity that we deem note-worthy).
  • The robustness of the platform means that if you start using Marketo without a well thought-out strategy, you may not get the return you're hoping for. The reports and functionality that are often shown in Marketo's product demos and webinars are great, but for those to work properly an overall architecture and governance really need to be in place. Also, if your business plans to make an investment in Marketo, definitely be sure you have people (or are able to hire people) who will be able to support it.
With Marketo's logic capabilities, it's possible to build nurture programs that are extremely dynamic and personalized to the user as their data profile changes and they move through the lead funnel. From a reporting standpoint, if implemented with a solid strategy, the reports and insights you'll be able to gain are extremely valuable. That said, it's not a magic wand (no platform is). You'll get out of it what you put in. Also, while the out-of-the-box reporting capabilities are a great and do show revenue attribution data from a connected CRM, I've found it to be more useful to use Marketo in conjunction with a BI tool such as Tableau.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We've moved away from one-off "batch and blast" campaigns, and have more of a perpetual ongoing approach with our outbound efforts. We've mapped all of our content to persona's, and also to our different lead funnel stages. When a new lead is created via form submission, we have "listening campaigns" that look at what information the person has provided via progressive profiling, and then adds them to an appropriate place in our nurture program. The goal of the content in the nurture program is to "nurture forward" to the next stage of the funnel (which they'd achieve by consuming more content, entering more progressive profiling data, and thus increasing their score). When this happens, we have more "listening campaigns" that remove them from their previous spot in the nurture program and place them further down. The eventual goal is to have them reach a "Qualified Lead" threshold, which is the point sales is notified to follow-up in SFDC, and hopefully, a closed won opportunity comes of it.
Read Emily Thornton's full review
December 18, 2020
Colton Slauson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used to help track and manage marketing campaigns. Marketo allows us to properly score and source our leads upon creation. It is used in marketing, but it benefits the whole company. The information that is captured in Marketo is then passed on to SFDC (SDR) and Bizible (Multi-touch Attribution).
  • Lead Scoring
  • Landing page creation
  • Email sends
  • Campaign Management
  • Lead Lifecycle management
  • Can be expensive (pay more for additional storage)
  • Doesn't have the best user interface
  • Steep learning curve
Marketo is really robust and can help produce amazing campaign tracking. Marketo does a great job at tracking a leads creation, stamping lead source, scoring that lead, and pushing to the designated lifecycle/funnel stage. It allows for sales to spend less time cold calling and more time calling actionable hot leads.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We have a lot of email campaigns that allow us to inform current customers and compliant prospects of new product launches and updates.
We also use Marketo to help us identify what customers can be targeted for upsell or cross-sell. We then put those target accounts into our ABM strategy to create new opps.
Read Colton Slauson's full review
December 15, 2020
Peter DeMichele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is currently deployed predominately for use within the United States but over the past 3 years we have expanded capabilities of use for channel seller, internal communications and end-users within United States, Canada, Mexico and European regions. We have over 20 users, with a smaller subset of core, subject matter experts who live in the system daily. Today we use it for marketing communications (emails) in addition to focused web pages with forms as we gate content or drive people to raise their hand for more information or to be contacted by sales.
  • Automation is top notch with its smart campaign execution not only within Marketo, but triggering external communications.
  • Connectivity of data and automation within CRM is top notch
  • Email marketing templates are simple, straightforward and easy to manipulate through modules.
  • Reporting and subscriptions make sharing data with outside users very simple
  • We have had challenges with platform responsiveness at times, most has gone away through our experiences after the Adobe acquisition
  • Mobile UX seems to not be ideal.
  • When sync failures occur, I wish there was a better communication mechanism, outside of just on the individuals activity record
Marketo has been an absolute game-changer for our organization and I feel we are still only scratching the surface. In my opinion if/when you would implement a solution, I highly recommend giving administrator(s) flexibility of testing capabilities to help move your organization along. This tool has leapfrogging capabilities if enough capacity is dedicated to it.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
In most cases, we are trying to drive both top of funnel awareness in addition to lower funnel, trigger-based sales engagement. We have found tremendous value in creating alerts to key stakeholders to make people aware of form fills, and in some cases have created additional trigger campaigns/nurtures as a result that has provided value to the sales org.
Read Peter DeMichele's full review
December 01, 2020
Ellie Bublick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my organization, we use Marketo to send a variety of emails as well as target our customers when advertising on LinkedIn and in Google AdWords. The capability is also there to target your customers on Facebook as well. Marketo also offers forms you can create which has enabled us to generate lead-generation forms as well as programs to send folks a report when they complete a Marketo form we host on our website. This diversity of uses has made is a critical tool for our marketing and social media teams who are serving the needs of our entire organization with this tool.
  • A/B Testing
  • Email Performance Reporting
  • Sending emails targeting the right audience
  • Connecting to advertising platforms to target audience in other venues.
  • Improved ability to connect with Tableau would be a great place to improve. The current connector is fixed, you cannot adjust the fields it pulls, just the time range it uses. As a result it only allows me to pull one week of data which is not nearly enough.
  • Better data management options. Because data is so hard to clean or enhance, I've had to purchase another tool to connect to the data to do this work.
  • Provide reports on the performance of content ai emails vs non-content ai using emails.
Marketo is well suited for an organization that is a bit larger, with a need to reach a lot of customers and on several platforms in order to justify the price. If your team also has someone well-versed in HTML there's a lot of great design functions you can make happen in the platform. Marketo also has a trigger email function which allows you to set up emails that automatically go out when someone matches the conditions and I find that very helpful rather than sending batches of scheduled emails.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
We are often announcing new products and promoting their sales as well as trying to retain or upsell our customers. Marketo has been helpful in all of these, trigger emails are an essential part of our core needs being addressed. The emails we send also offer opportunities to cross-sell as well.
Read Ellie Bublick's full review
January 20, 2021
Kali Charan Rajput (KC) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is one of the key tool for email marketing in our organization to provide good quality of analytics. It is being used across the whole organization for internal and external emails . It includes to send update/newsletter of company to nurture prospects. Tool has wide range programs to run like email, event, webinar, web content and nurture. This tool is major for lead generation in organization by email marketing and landing pages creation using design studio.
  • Custom and personalized emails and landing pages creation.
  • Good analytics to target and plan effective campaigns.
  • Web Analytics which help to know more about visitor.
  • UI can be more user friendly. It has room of improvement as compare to available competitors in the market. It is hard sometimes to find some features.
  • SEO feature does not work as effective and can have more improvement.
  • Nurture program layout should be more graphical to see the lead passing through the sales funnel and its status. It can be done more effectively as finding leads based data is bit difficult.
Marketo has helped our organization to get 360 view of our prospects by looking their activities on our website, landing pages and emails. This tool has been well suited for all type of email campaigns in b2b marketing. It is not much helpful in B2C marketing activities.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We want to increase lead generation using Marketo we are doing lead generation. We are running campaign for the existing database too. Marketo has given us platform to create brand awareness.
Read Kali Charan Rajput (KC)'s full review
January 13, 2021
Richard Thelwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used as our sole marketing automation platform, from which we run the vast majority of our marketing programs. This includes putting together the structure of the marketing programs, creating landing pages, sending emails, managing prospect lists and segmentations. It addresses the problem of disparate platforms by bringing all of this activity into one go-to platform. It also integrates well with other 3rd party systems we use, in particular our CRM, Salesforce.
  • Integrates well with our CRM, Salesforce.
  • Allowed easy creation of assets like landing pages and emails by non-technical users.
  • Allows us to easily manage user segments and create smart lists to run campaigns against.
  • There is room for improvement in the main product's ABM functionality, though this is an available add-on.
  • The new UI is missing some functionality like drag and drop which makes it a little clunky.
  • The out-of-the-box reporting functionality is very limited.
Marketo is well suited for our fast-paced business because it allows us to quickly spin up marketing programs and the various elements needed (LPs, forms, emails, lists, segmentations etc.). It's great for our business as we look to mature a lot of our marketing operations as it has more deep functionality than a number of its competitors. However, it's still relatively easy to use.

However, the reporting functionality in Marketo leaves a lot to be desired so we often have to pull reports through other integrated systems.
  • Product Launches
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product launches - increase awareness amongst existing user/prospect base and increasing upsell.

Prospecting/new business - creating awareness amongst net new prospects and nurturing them through the stages of qualification to turn into revenue. Particular focus on generating new leads and business from Enterprise orgs.
Read Richard Thelwell's full review
January 01, 2021
Christina Dearman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Farm Journal uses Marketo as its go-to platform for all marketing email deployments and automation. We have multiple divisions and brands and utilize workspaces to serve our entire organization. We serve marketing emails, internal and partner messaging, newsletters, press releases, and paid subscription email products. We support 80 users in our day-to-day operations and multiple API integrations and partnerships.
  • Marketing Automation--This is at Marketo's core
  • User UX/UI--When properly administrated, the interface is fairly intuitive
  • Customer Support--Once you get past Tier 1, which does not always know the answer, you can get a solution for most items. This one can be spotty but is usually good.
  • Admin features--Reorganizing an established structure can be an absolute nightmare. Timeouts galore if you attempt to rapidly move folders and programs around, especially in bulk.
  • Customer Support--Support is usually good, but when it's bad it is really bad. Expect some cases to be answered in a manner that makes you suspect the support tech did not bother to read and comprehend your question about 1 out of every 10 times.
  • Pricing--As an enterprise solution, this is comparative, but it would make the barrier for entry pretty high in my opinion.
If you are a heavy marketing user, wanting to send lots of deployments every day and do complicated marketing and nurture, Marketo is fantastic!
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
We have several goals overall:

1. Communication with the readers of our publications (in the form of newsletters and unique product offerings)
2. Helping our partners reach our readers with their own unique product offerings
3. Keeping our readers interested, outside of daily newsletters--we send out Whitepapers, eBooks, Events, and other items
4. Keeping our demographics up to date on our audience--done through lead nurture, renewals, and other places where forms/gates come into play
5. Expanding our audience--mostly by driving external traffic to us by running ads outside of our product line websites; then the user meets a gate.
Read Christina Dearman's full review
December 30, 2020
Ashley Morse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used in my organization for email marketing tactics across the whole company in all geos. The business problem it addresses is messaging our promotions on our website to our customer segments, driving database growth, customer acquisition, revenue, and click-through rates. We have automated programs and ad-hoc.
  • Filtering customers into segments
  • Easy, adaptable email templates
  • Thorough data reporting
  • There are bugs that pop up here and there.
  • Creating filter statements is not user-friendly.
  • Throttling if you have large customer databases you are sending to.
I've used four different email service providers and Marketo is by far the easiest and most robust to use. It is perfectly suited for large enterprise customers, as it is easy to scale and train internal colleagues. The support is superb and hyper-responsive. The only negative is that there are little bugs that pop up here and there that are not easy to replicate - we are using this platform for a ton of contacts and a lot of campaigns, so the more content we have and the larger our customer segment, the more likely we are to see a bug.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We are trying to take our customer database and segment them based on their interests, demographics, and geo-location. We have hundreds of products that we sell so we are trying to make our campaigns more personalized and show what people are most interested in, based on their site behavior. A good example of this is showing highly reviewed items that are related or accessories that complement something they looked at or purchased.
Read Ashley Morse's full review
December 22, 2020
Sander Buitelaar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used by the marketing organization--two or three people on the marketing team (mainly in demand generation) use it almost every day to create emails. The marketing operations team 'owns' the Marketo platform but does not use it to build emails. Marketo allows us to send email communications to tens of thousands of people in our database.
  • Easy to create marketing automation programs
  • Can scale as the business grows
  • Integrates well with SalesForce
  • UI is not that nice, but it's getting better
  • The email editor isn't that easy to use
  • Marketo sometimes doesn't work well in some browsers (like Chrome)
Marketo is best suited for large companies with tens of thousands of people in a database with emails being sent every day and where complex marketing automation is needed. For smaller companies, Marketo is probably too much.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
  • Other
We are sending emails to our prospects and customers for new product launches, our nurture flows, marketing campaigns, and other announcements. We're trying to educate the audience on automation, specifically on the Tray Platform.
Read Sander Buitelaar's full review
December 21, 2020
Darshil Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is an awesome tool if you have the expertise and strategy to implement and set up. It has all the relevant add-on features that can benefit any B2B business in marketing, Marketo lead management, campaign orchestration, reporting, and capabilities of integration with second- and third-party apps like SFDC, Tableau, etc.
  • Lead management.
  • Reporting.
  • Email marketing.
  • Advanced revenue cost analytics.
  • Lead database.
  • Nurture programs.
  • Custom objects.
B2B Marketing
Closed Loop reporting and data transfer between Marketo and crm like SFDC, Revenue Cost Explorer,
Lead Lifecycle, Reporting, API Support, Integrates with ease with social channels and online event partners like GoToWebinar Zoom meetings, tokenised approach, web personalisation - which is a new feature introduced lately - is also worth exploring and using in advanced audience targeting and personalisation,
Email Marketing


  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product Launches- Introduce the product by create the market of products, addressing the pain points of customer that the potential product will help clients with, Nurturing Lead[s] and providing them with the thought leadership and educational-relevant content, so as to appeal them at every stage in their buying journey.
Lead Management
Read Darshil Shah's full review
December 15, 2020
Jana Lass | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used as our lead management and marketing automation system. We use it for all our email marketing, landing page creation and for tracking and segmenting leads throughout the funnel in addition to weekly reporting. It is a versatile and powerful marketing tool that allows me to do more with limited resources, I can easily create and segment a campaign and set it up so we can turn out more quickly.
  • Marketo is a great lead management tool and has a lot of functionality that allows me to target the right kinds of leads with our campaigns via granular segmentations.
  • Building landing pages with Marketo is very easy once you have a template you like to use and it is important to have a good template library.
  • Marketo is great for automated nurturing. It is very low maintenance once you set it up so you don't have to worry about how everything is functioning operationally and focus on just creating new content to add to your nurturing tracks.
  • Marketo can be very buggy with its WYSIWYG interface. Sometimes changes need to be made multiple times in an email or landing page before they save properly.
  • There are a lot of small items that could be fixed or improved like being able to sort by custom fields in a report view.
  • Marketo used to have a great community but once they restructured it, things became very difficult to find. The documentation and user guides could be improved significantly.
  • The update to the new UI has made it difficult to quickly find what you are looking for in various folders. All the icon look too much alike and everything being grey means the icons don't add any visual value at all. The previous icons made it much easier to locate visually what I was looking for.
  • I'm not sure why it still isn't possible yet, but more focus on basic features and functions like being able to sort by custom fields in a view would make a much bigger day to day difference in ease of use and workflow efficiency.
Marketo can be a great tool for a small team who needs to be flexible and move quickly if you already have a strong foundation with it, but it seems like it is becoming more and more an enterprise focused solution and there are probably a number of other options now available that would be better for small teams without the hefty price tag particularly as they seem to have stopped focusing on features that just make day to day easy to use.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
The segmentation capabilities that also allow us to target different areas of our funnel with different messaging depending on where someone is in the lifecycle are very useful. We have not been using it for any regular customer communications. That may change in the future, but for now we use other tools for customer communications.
Most of the time they are pleasant to deal with but don't always read the cases submitted well enough and provide canned answers that are not helpful. Often you have to restate or reask a question multiple times before getting an adequate resolution. Additionally too many things are "black holes" that we don't have visibility into to be able to troubleshoot on our own when it comes to issues with Marketo syncing with our CRM and any responses regarding questions of that kind are redirected to our CRM vendor.
Read Jana Lass's full review
December 14, 2020
Yoav B. Guttman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mainly use Marketo for batch and automated email campaigns, as well as building landing pages. I particularly like that we are able to target so specifically based on previous engagement specifics. Though I manage Marketo in my company, it is an asset that is used across the organization.

Additionally, using lead scoring and assignment, we are able to power our sales team's process and hand them off the best possible leads. At the same time, any leads they choose not to engage, we are able to continue nurturing. The sync with Salesforce lets us have a full view into what we are sending and to whom, while making sure we are in-step with our sales team
  • The ability to target an audience based on previous engagement, including with our website and blog.
  • Sophisticated emailing options with regard to the flow, who should get sent what based on their interaction with the last email.
  • An easy user interface
  • Being able to see an email's impact down the sales pipeline
  • Reporting and being able to customize reporting; Scheduling and unscheduling tests and reporting
  • Saving flows similar to how one saves smart lists
  • Setting a date for turning off Trigger based campaigns
If you want to target specific groups in your database, splice and dice different user profiles or build lists, Marketo is great. It also is easy to overcome the Lead/Contact dichotomy from Salesforce and just look at your contact list as 1 list, based on different inputs.

For easily building landing pages, it is great. For reporting the impact of marketing activities, it has a lot of improvement still to be done.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
For just about everything I checked off, we have two goals that truthfully roll up to the same goal - drive revenue. That trickles down to driving requests for the feature or product (traditionally considered inbound). But for things like product launches and webinars, we also aim to deliver product/brand awareness. While inbound can be an outcome of this, we also partner with our sales and CS team to deliver contacts who have actively engaged in the program (e.g. attending a webinar) to our sales team to follow up and book meetings.
Read Yoav B. Guttman's full review
December 09, 2020
Mihaela Bisnel, MSc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are a European consulting company headquartered in Brussels, Belgium but with offices across Europe and Asia. We are a specialised Marketo Engage consultancy and all our team members are certified and are supporting various clients from various industries and locations.
  • Segmentation via Smartlists is a forte. Much better than other MAP
  • Marketing & Sales alignment via strong out of the box Integrations with top CRMs
  • Strong Lifecycle and scoring capabilities - very detailed and enterprise level
  • Not just email but orchestration of all online and offline Marketing efforts
  • Strong ROI marketing campaigns tracking
  • Some more features could be added to MSD integration - to be more like the complete SFDC solution
  • Some OOB reports can be improved
I would recommend Marketo for enterprise-level organisations who are not IT-driven and want to drive Marketing and Sales Alignment. I am platform agnostic in the sense that I worked will all major MAP platforms in the past 9 years but Marketo Engage is by far the one I would recommend.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Marketo can help you gain new leads as well as drive demand within an existing database. There are very good possibilities for cross-sell and upsell that would be data-driven without a major data integration, expensive project.
The engagement nurturing functionality can also be used for onboarding new clients as well for supporting your sales team to progress an already existing opportunity. Possibilities are endless but what is important is that it can be fairly quick to get started with a phased approach rather than waiting for years for the perfect IT project.
Read Mihaela Bisnel, MSc's full review
November 25, 2020
Chris Willis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used across several divisions of our organization to automate our marketing processes, engage customers, and measure the impact of marketing to revenue.
  • Lead Management
  • Email Marketing
  • Lead-to-Cash Management
  • Marketing Automation
  • Asset builders are not easy-to-use
  • Out-of-box reports
Marketo is well-suited for organizations that understand that marketing is a revenue driver and need to structure it's marketing programs in such a way that you can measure the impact of touches towards Sales, Pipeline, and Revenue. It is less appropriate if you are looking for an "email tool" and do not need to be well-aligned with your revenue pipeline.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Chris Willis's full review
November 11, 2020
Samantha Cossum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo across our Marketing and Member Support areas to send communication to clients on their membership features, announcements, and upcoming events. We use it to acquire new members by managing leads, nurturing and scoring leads, and for campaign analytics and tracking. It is also used by our Member and Lead Marketing areas to build campaigns and sequences across various product departments.
  • Email Marketing
  • Lead Nurturing
  • Email Analytics
  • Database Management
  • Behavior Tracking
  • Managing 3rd party integrations: the GoToWebinar integrations have been out of date for several years.
  • Landing page template: landing page templates are still clunky when compared to the email templates.
  • Merging Sky and Main platform: there are some really helpful new features in the sky version of Marketo that are still not available in the core. This is especially frustrating because not all core functions are available in sky.
Best for organizations marketing on large scales who are able to put in the time to build complex programs/sequences. There is a lot of advanced functionality you can do in Marketo, but it can be cumbersome to set up, so you really need to be able to put in large amounts of time on the platform. The platform is also harder to use if you do not use Salesforce or Microsoft Dynamics. We have a custom integration, as we use NetSuite. Thankfully we have an in-house dev team that helped us get it set up and manages it, but it would have been extremely difficult had we not had those resources.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product launches and upsell are used for existing customers to get them to ascend to different levels and buy new products or event tickets. Customer service is also mostly for our clients and sending onboarding and continuing communications. The rest are used to nurture leads and convert them into new clients.
Read Samantha Cossum's full review
October 30, 2020
Matt Sturm (he/him/his) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used by several departments across the organization, including multiple demand gen departments, customer marketing, and CX. It enables us to market to prospects, accelerate pipeline, and keep in touch with our customers.
  • Enterprise solution: features like "Segments" work great for a company with multiple verticals, personas, and sales processes.
  • Admin visibility: I can see things like user history, fields that are synced or not with SFDC, and system-level deliverability.
  • Customizability: we've almost never (I can only name a couple of times) run into a time where we couldn't address a business problem with Marketo's existing functionality. When we did have these issues, we generally could create a workaround in SFDC that enabled us to solve it in Marketo.
  • Tons of options: requires significant admin presence to train and support users.
  • Hard to deprecate fields and custom objects: we have many fields that are no longer in use, but can't depreciate them without going in and deleting every time we've ever used them. Wish we could manage fields in bulk, rather than in a slow, one-by-one process
  • Support is generally good, but it usually takes me a long time to get Bizible support
  • Wish Marketo had features like those in Litmus email: not sure why I need a separate vendor for that.
Marketo is well-suited to enterprise and high-growth organizations that have at least one full-time marketing ops person, and/or a meaningful commitment to a marketing ops agency. Marketo would be a poor solution for a team that knew nothing about marketing automation and did not want to invest the time to be successful.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Matt Sturm (he/him/his)'s full review
January 19, 2021
Thomas Komar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is our main tool for marketing automation. We use it across the company to automate email send, upload and capture lead information, and host various gates for documentation. This reduces the number of hours that get wasted on manual send by automating various processes.
  • Reliable platform.
  • Industry standard.
  • Templatization with ease.
  • Loads slowly.
  • UI is not user friendly.
  • Error warning comes after you activate a campaign, could come before while importing data.
Email sends, gated documents or videos, event landing pages, lead uploads, lead scoring and data analysis are all things Marketo is well suited for.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo allows us to achieve out goals in these areas using less man power allowing us to invest more time into strategy.
Read Thomas Komar's full review
September 22, 2020
Amit Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Marketo Engage is a Marketing automation tool widely used by the Marketing (primarily) and Sales teams. This automation tool helps the organization manage its day to day marketing activities, allowing marketers to keep track of the campaign performance, adjust campaign settings as needed, and optimize the customer experience on several different platforms by capturing, not only the demographics attributes, but also the 360 custom behavior. Marketo’s engagement engine helps marketers driving more personalized campaigns with relevant content at the right time to the right people. Marketo also helps organizations in aligning the Sales and Marketing teams to better collaborate and drive more revenue and optimize Sales efficiency at the same time.

Marketo provides models to manage day to day campaigns, create web-forms and landing pages, manage the whole email Marketing, tracking user’s web behavior, integration with CRM, integration with 1000’s of third-party applications, and many more.

  • Tracking user behavior
  • Email marketing and engagement engine
  • Web-form capture and lading page
  • CRM integration.
  • Marketing database mangament and segmentation
  • Email and web personalization
  • Marketo needs to focus more on some of the core functionality of the platform as they continue to grow as a company. Some of the items I hope will be taken care of with the upcoming Marketo upgrade.
I highly recommend Marketo because of many reasons but a few top of the mind things are it's tracking mechanism, engagement engine, email, and web personalization, native integration b/w Marketo and SFDC.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We are using Marketo to serve different purposes, including the acquisition of new prospects, engaging the existing prospects and customers, and obviously upselling and cross-selling. But the most important thing that we are solving using Marketo is to understand the customer's needs and provide the relevant content at the right time. Marketo allows us to manage the communication limit and helps us to not over-communicate with the customer.
Read Amit Jain's full review
December 24, 2020
Leigh Choate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor and track all marketing programs, to build and segment audiences, and to gather lead source and conversion data into and through the marketing/sales funnel.
  • Campaign management.
  • Database segmentation.
  • Changed user interface overnight; it was jarring. However I like the new experience except we need the drag-and-drop capability to come back!
  • It's too easy to do things kind of "any way you want"; I've inherited several very screwed up Marketo instances that have been overcomplicated.
Used globally, large user base, so it's fairly easy to find answers to questions by googling something if you're lost.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Drive awareness of our brand, deliver the right message to the right audience segment at the right time, automate email programs, nurture, and standardize campaign setup so it's easy for users to ensure that they set up campaigns so the results can be captured consistently and correctly.
Read Leigh Choate's full review
August 24, 2020
Matt Tonkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Marketo both within our organization as our primary lead management/automation platform as well as with clients who I help to optimize their Marketing Ops processes. I've used a number of Marketing Automation Platforms, Marketo is easily the most versatile and scalable. That said it does require an intimate knowledge to get the most out of the platform as well as proper maintenance.
  • Customization.
  • Versatility.
  • Multichannel integration.
  • Nurturing.
  • Ease of use.
  • Learning curve.
Marketo is great for mid to enterprise size companies that can:
  • Dedicate a resource (or many) to system maintenance
  • Have many users that will require customized levels of access
  • Have a mature Tech Stack that will benefit from full integration
This isn't to say that Marketo can't be used by small teams, I have done so myself. However it really starts to show its value when it is being used across many types of initiatives. It is far more than an email platform.

Marketo's interface definitely can be difficult to get into, particularly for users migrating from friendlier platforms. For content users the base landing page and email builders are not really usable. Highly recommend investing in some well structured and designed templates with plenty of variables otherwise you'll end up with a wide array of non-standard content.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Within my own organization Marketo is our primary Demand Gen management tool. It is used for nurturing prospects as well as existing customers. It is also our primary lifecycle management tool along with SFDC. We're a team of Marketo experts so we have a lot of experience setting up Marketo to work with our needs. I also work with many other organizations as a consultant helping them get the most out of their instances.
Read Matt Tonkin's full review
July 23, 2020
Michelle McKinley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo to communicate to our insurance agents, partners, and employees. We are possibly going to start reaching out to policyholders as well. We are hoping to use more sophisticated programs and workflows to start nurturing our agency partners to help them write more business and make doing business with us more efficient.
  • It is very powerful and can complete very complicated workflows.
  • Once you get the basics down, it is fairly easy to use for day to day emails.
  • I just returned from their marketing summit which was very helpful and informative.
  • Because it can do so much, it makes it a little cumbersome to know what you don't know. We use a partner to help us navigate the system.
  • Some of the features are difficult to use, but it looks like there are some enhancements coming up to help with the more cumbersome tasks such as creating workflows.
  • Pricing for the system is no longer transparent. Negotiations are a must and it seems like it's a little Willy Nilly these days.
I think if you are a medium-sized business, this is a good product for you. With anything, you have to do your due diligence and make sure that it's a right fit for your company and your other systems that are already in place. For instance, we have SalesForce and it integrates well with Marketo.
Read Michelle McKinley's full review
January 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Marketo to send daily campaign emails to our user base to promote new job postings on our site. the goal of these campaign emails was to increase user engagement. Our IT, marketing, and design departments all used Marketo to get our campaigns created and sent.
  • Provides good statistics for mail campaigns
  • Advanced lead segmentation
  • The UI is horrible. Its laggy, cumbersome,and difficult to find anything.
  • The API is filled with poorly documented limitations and quirks that make it hard to use and build integrations with.
  • Constant errors and issues with the email template builder.
  • Everything in Marketo feels like it is way harder to use than it should be. Things that take a couple minutes to do in other services take forever in Marketo.
  • The half-completed UI makeover just makes the site more confusing and ugly.
If your business has a full time Marketo specialist and they are committed to staying with your company, this product might be worth it. Otherwise avoid at all costs. Our team of developers and designers had this product dumped on us by a marketing team in the parent company who were soon moved on to other things. Keeping on with this ridiculous system was nothing but trouble. Trying to figure out how to do basic things is a massive time sink. The UI is convoluted and the documentation does little to help. Building a serious API integration is likely to be costly and end up not meeting expectations. We had no positive experiences with Marketo and celebrated when our contract ran out and we were able to move to a sane service.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
After our marketing team moved on, nobody could figure out the statistics and make sense of the UI so we really did not have much awareness about how well Marketo achieved our goals.
Read this authenticated review
January 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is presently used as our marketing automation engine. It is the driver for email, lead scoring, sales enablement, user activity alerts as well as our account based marketing activities. The platform serves as the hub for our marketing communications strategies and tactics.
  • Email sending and tracking
  • Lead scoring & grading
  • Journey building and automation
  • Cumbersome reporting
  • Visualization of journey mapping
  • Hard to use email builder
Marketo has worked well for us to manage our trigger campaigns. By having an MA expert on staff we have been successful coordinating several campaigns all at once while allowing email action trigger additional campaigns
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used within my organization globally, primarily for email communications internally (interdepartmental newsletters, announcements, etc) and externally (communications with clients, outreach to prospects, partners, etc). It is also used for its robust integration with salesforce.
  • Ability to consume and report large amounts of data
  • Integrations with many other services we use
  • Deep customization of emails and programs
  • Buggy at times - smart list filters for emails can take ages to reflect correctly
  • Inability to customize email reporting display/dashboard
If your organization constantly sends large volumes of emails to a very large database, Marketo is your answer. However, on-boarding of new users and learning all the functions, tricks, settings, etc. will definitely take time and multiple training sessions.
  • Product Launches
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo enables us to maintain in constant and organized communication with our thousands of clients, prospects, agencies, partners. Emails are sent every day to announce product updates, launches, sales outreach, marketing nurtures, all with the same goals - keep our customers happy, informed, and keep in touch with future customers.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo underpins our entire marketing stack from strategy to execution. Marketo allows us to have a pulse on what is working and what is not and at the same time act upon it. The vast array of integrations and the amazing Salesforce integration puts Marketo at the very heart of what we do.
  • Brilliant Integrations
  • Highly scaleable
  • Brilliant product community
  • Innovation in the product seems to have seriously lagged in recent years, especially compared to Hubspot
  • Marketo's answer to new feature seems to be integrations rather than building it
  • There is a steep learning curve
Marketo is perfect for companies with large databases or with high growth, it really is built to scale and is highly customizable and flexible. It does require a dedicated resource to use and implement effectively. It may not look as good as some of its competitors but this means it is much more flexible and the focus is on what you can achieve with Marketo than how it looks.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo is a tool to help you achieve your goals but this is highly reliant on what you want to achieve and the skills you have to use the product. Marketo's strong integration with Salesforce is a massive pro, and the main reason I switched from another product, it just works and ensures alignment with sales.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (629)
7.1
Dynamic content (601)
7.7
Ability to test dynamic content (585)
7.3
Landing pages (642)
6.7
A/B testing (623)
7.4
Mobile optimization (609)
6.9
Email deliverability reporting (1288)
8.1
List management (665)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (600)
8.5
Lead nurturing (658)
8.2
Lead scoring and grading (636)
8.3
Data quality management (633)
7.9
Automated sales alerts and tasks (610)
8.0
Calendaring (495)
6.4
Event/webinar marketing (589)
7.8
Social sharing and campaigns (373)
6.1
Social profile integration (350)
6.2
Dashboards (619)
6.6
Standard reports (657)
6.8
Custom reports (623)
6.9
API (565)
8.1
Role-based workflow & approvals (488)
7.9
Customizability (592)
7.7
Integration with Salesforce.com (567)
8.2
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (169)
6.8
Integration with SugarCRM (106)
6.0

What is Marketo?

Marketo Engage aims to help marketing teams drive demand and growth in their companies by delivering exceptional experiences in concert with sales at every stage of the customer journey.

The challenge these teams face is that everyone today expects a personalized experience whenever they interact with a company - they don’t have patience for generic marketing and the last thing they want is a cold call from sales. So to stay competitive, marketing teams are scrambling to understand customers better, so they can give them a better experience, because this is disrupting entire industries. And a big part of what’s needed is figuring out how marketing and sales can do a better job together.

The vendor states Marketo Engage redefines Marketing Automation by helping these companies bring together the customer data, content, automation and analytics needed for marketing and sales to coordinate engagement with customers that’s personalized and measurable at every touchpoint - and do it with efficiency and scale.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Video

Marketo Downloadables

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Marketo Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS