TrustRadius
Marketo is a marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities spanning SMB to enterprise. Basic features include email marketing, drip nurturing, landing pages, and lead scoring, but other editions offer additional advanced features. Typical customers are B2B firms with complex sales cycles.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ar/as/3WPK31KVTO03.JPEGMarketo is the industry leader for a reasonWe use Marketo in all of its glory. We moved from Mautic, and I'd previously moved from Act-On and Pardot. Marketo is a little bit more to bite off and chew for sure, but the payoff is absolutely worth it. Took much longer to implement, but not necessarily to get connected up with Salesforce. We personally don't use Marketo much for landing pages (yet) - we mostly use our CMS, but plan to do some testing with Marketo in the future here. We use Marketo HEAVILY for post form submission automation, data cleanliness, and much of their automation. Love their email WYSIWYG, but like every WYSIWYG, it can have quirks. We paid for their template team to come up with landing page and email templates - well worth it! They also had an implementation team (ours was through LeadMD - 3rd party Marketo services partner), and our experience there was absolutely fantastic!! It took some time to get FULLY off the ground, but we were sending emails within a few days. I would say Marketo can take a little more technical savvy to set up and administer, but for your end users, it's worth it.,Automation: unparalleled. The things you're able to do with Marketo can alleviate automation on the Salesforce end, and bring data into the system clean, precise and ready to route before it hits Salesforce. Flexibility: There are SO many things you can do to tweak the system to operate according to your lead / data flow. Targeting - persona, territory, demographic... etc. If you have the data, you can easily get Marketo to slice, dice and precisely target your data. Integrations: They have a ton. The ones they don't, there's third party integrations through Zapier that work pretty well. Super happy on this front.,Technically heavy. Takes a bit to implement and understand - there's a bit of a learning curve here, and may require some help to stand up and implement. Interface: They just rolled out a new interface, but they definitely have a "database" approach to the software - folders, subfolders, sections... can be confusing at first, but once you learn, you'll be locked in. Rope - you can hang yourself. Need to be methodical and well executed with your campaigns, or you can get yourself into trouble! Salesforce API... I would expect there to be a managed package.. but you set up the system through a traditional API connection. It's cumbersome and timely, but once it's set up, it's definitely rock solid.,10,Product Launches Upsell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,,25,000 to 100,000,B2BMarketo is great for companies who value sending the right content at the right time!The marketing team mainly uses Marketo as a tool to carry out email marketing campaigns and support the sales team with easily accessible content to present to prospects. The platform also helps us to maintain communication with potential customers -- allowing them to comfortably learn more about our products and services before discussing their interest with sales.,My favorite and most-used feature on Marketo is the Design Studio, where I can create landing pages for our marketing assets. It's extremely easy to upload the eBooks, infographics, flyers, etc. that we create about our products. Marketo creates a link to each content piece, which we use in so many places -- on our website, in a content database, on social media platforms, etc. Marketo also does well with lead nurturing. We've been able to gain new clients by sharing content tailored to the groups Marketo has divided our contacts into. This helps us to stay on track and in contact with the customer at every stage in the buyer journey. Marketo helps a lot when it comes to building out HTML emails. I came into my job with no knowledge of HTML, but I am able to easily build HTML emails in Marketo with the templates the platform comes with. This saves us a lot of time and energy, but I also learned more about HTML because the source code of the email is still there if you need it.,Marketo could mostly improve its terminology when naming the features. For example, naming the area where content is uploaded as the "design studio" is confusing. You would think that would be an area where content is designed or edited, but it's not. The naming of their features is very confusing and not intuitive at all. Marketo is not always easy to use when creating landing pages. There have been times when I updated a document, so I had to upload the new version to Marketo. But when clients clicked the link , it still took them to the old version. I've waited a full day sometimes just to come back to the office in the morning and see that my landing page is still not displaying the correct version. I wish Marketo had more email templates. Because we don't know HTML well, it's difficult for us to build our own. One of the expected perks of purchasing a solution is to solve issues like this, but sometimes Marketo's email templates are still very limiting as far as layout is concerned.,7,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Prospecting / New Business,Act-On Software and Constant Contact,10,000 to 25,000,BothInsights about MarketoMarketo is used by Marketing team for all the promotional activities and generating leads for sales team. The purpose of using Marketo is campaign management, nurturing and demand generation. We are using Marketo mainly for up selling and cross selling, engagement programs suits really well for these requirements. Also seam less integration with SFDC makes life more easier to get the information flow in CRM and get the sales team on the job,Engagement programs and lead management are the area where Marketo helped the most. We are able to set-up nurture programs, which gives us complete automation of sending mails to prospects without much of manual intervention Lead scoring models for different segmentation and workspaces is another area which provides lot of flexibility to customize the models as per the product requirement. Though predictive lead scoring is the area where Marketo needs to improve The ease of using Dynamic content and personalization with the help of tokens is the feature which makes Marketo ahead of other automation tools,Predictive lead scoring - make use of AI Revenue analytics - though this can be achieved with integration of other tools but would like to see Marketo give those insights Sales insights - must allow more than 10 filters,8,Upsell Cross-Sell Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Oracle Eloqua, HubSpot and Pardot,100,000 to 250,000,B2BReview on Marketo's Marketing Automation toolWe use Marketo in our entire marketing team. Our sales team is also using the Marketo sales insight functionality in our CRM. Marketo allows us to score, qualify and nurture all marketing leads before they are handed over to our sales department. Marketo fulfills an important part in the beginning of our sales funnel.,Powerful forms. The Marketo forms on our landing pages are highly customizable, and the use of progressive profiling and form pre-filling helps a lot. A/B testing. Marketo offers you the possibility to test any email or landing page you create. It is very user-friendly and the insights are easy to understand. Setting up campaigns. The use of campaigns in Marketo is very straightforward, and easy to use. Within one place, the so called "smart campaign", you define the who, the what and the when. For example: who do you want to target, what do you want to do with them (send an email?) and when does it need to happen.,Email editor. The current email editor of Marketo is very tricky to use. Without HTML knowledge, you basically cannot do anything 'fancy'. Hopefully the new email editor that Marketo recently launched will improve the usability. Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM. If you need to integrate with this CRM system, you will face a lot of issues. The standard integration does not give you a lot of freedom. You will need to implement several workarounds if you want to get more out of both systems. Anonymous visitors. Marketo recently removed insights on anonymous visitors to your landing pages and website. You have no idea where your page views come from, unless they fill out a form.,8,Product Launches Upsell Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Unbounce, UsabilityHub, GoToWebinar, Lead Forensics and VWO,25,000 to 100,000,B2B,Channels Programs Email Templates Forms Landing Pages Smart Campaigns Lead Scoring Lead Sourcing Segmentation Lead Nurture Reporting/Analytics,Smart campaigns: a very easey to use, but powerful feature to manage and run all your flows. Webinar/event integrations: Marketo very easily integrates with third parties like GoToWebinar. The integration syncs all data seamlessly from your webinar/event tool & Marketo, ensuring a perfect follow-up. Tokens: Marketo has a feature called 'Tokens' that make it very easy to prefill standardized content & images. Saves a lot of time.,Tokens. Initially, I would edit/update all text & images in each individual email or landing page, which takes a lot of time. Now all my programs are filled with tokens, so that I can very easily update standard information across all emails within the program. Nobody wants to type the same email signature 10 times. :) Additionally, you can also use velocity scripting in your tokens, allowing your tokens to behave dynamically depending on certain values / lead details.,The Marketo Community is very active, and has many members that are very quick to reply with tips & advice. There are some community members that are very knowledgeable in HTML and other coding, and have helped me out a lot in this area. Additionally, I have created quite some complicated nurture programs, and I have been able to verify (and improve) my logic with the community.,Marketo is a powerful tool that encompasses a broad set of marketing features, but it is still very easy and intuitive to use. Some other platforms are less able to find this balance. It is especially vital for cross-functional marketing teams to have a tool that can do a lot, but keeps it straightforward.,Marketo organizes its programs in a folder structure, just like you would do on your computer. This is very intuitive, and makes organizing and sorting very easy.,Lead sourcing is vital if you want to know which marketing channel is most effective in acquiring and converting leads. You can assign an 'acquisition program' to each lead, so that you know which marketing program is responsible for the lead's initial conversion. Additionally, you are able to use hidden fields on your forms, so that you can capture UTM data and other URL parameters. This can then be converted into a custom lead source.,We use the following channels: - Engagement Programs - Webinars - Events - Newsletters - Report downloads - Email Sign up,It is very easy to segment in Marketo, you just make use of the 'smart list' (a smart list is a dynamic list that you can create using all lead variables).,We use smart campaigns for all our marketing programs. It is the core function of Marketo, and is the way to run all your campaigns (send emails, update data, manage leads, sync to CRM etc.),Forms are very easy to set up, and work perfectly on a native Marketo landing page, or embedded on an external page. Additionally, you're able to create dynamic forms depending on certain lead criteria, and you can use progressive profiling.,We use templates for emails & landing pages.A clear leader in data managementMarketo is currently used in our marketing department. Having a lot of experience with the platform we use it for a multitude of use cases addressing lead generation/management, qualification, and sales insights. We use it as a hub for handling data between our systems as it has a whole range of customization possibilities with tokens, API, and webhooks.,From comparing to other MAPs, Marketo really nails the scalability aspect of marketing programs by collecting a group of assets (landing page, form, email, smart campaigns for triggers) and allowing users to clone these into entirely new programs which maintain the same process connections for quick rollout. Having a unique architecture where every part of a process can have its own Smart Campaign asset may look intimidating to new users when everything is not clearly painted in a flow chart but allows for so much more simple building blocks when getting into a more complex process. Tokens are an amazing feature that can be underestimated, allowing for values to be assigned on the Person, Program, Folder, and Trigger level to name a few. Data management is very user-friendly in Marketo for either translating data or keeping it clean but Marketo offers a lot of segmentation options on top of this.,The UI has been due for a refresh in terms of speed and UX - Although at the time of writing (Dec 2017) the UI is planned to get a reboot pretty soon. I would like to see the same modular aspect applied to Landing Page templates as with the newer modular email templates.,10,Product Launches Upsell Cross-Sell Customer Service Lead Management Prospecting / New Business,Oracle Eloqua, Pardot and HubSpot,Less than 10,000,B2B,Channels Programs Email Templates Forms Landing Pages Smart Campaigns Lead Scoring Lead Sourcing Segmentation Lead Nurture Reporting/Analytics,Webhooks - For more advanced use cases it is so easy to pass on data between other systems and I'm glad it's so flexible with tokens. Programs - Although a basic feature, I love cloning assets for quicker production and it's even better done on a program level. Smart campaigns - The ease of setting up triggered processes or even batch campaigns is great. Smart lists used both in Smart Campaigns and outside of them is also a useful feature.,When starting out, a useful feature is engagement programs, because of the ease of setting up drip nurture compared to other marketing automation tools. I find I have not had too many feaures I'd learned about sooner but I would personally say webhooks, because of the possibility of creating soft integrations with other tools/data. Instead of relying on other companies' integrations, which can sometimes be created quite poorly, it's useful to call webhooks in flowsteps to push or request data to/from other channels.,The Marketo Community in general offers great insights, either through blog posts or looking over questions asked. This could range anywhere from getting tips on form styling or setting up custom events for form conversions. In general it all depends on what you are looking for but the community is useful for tips when you do a quick search.,I always consider Marketo best at data management, which is key to creating personalized communication as well as proper tracking of marketing initiatives. Not solely relying on custom fields, and extending certain reporting to e.g. programs and channels, provides more flexibility for analyzing performance. Not to mention Marketo is excellent for processing lead data and ensuring data is clean and grouped in the most efficient way, although that's up to the user to configure.,Of course Programs are a key feature here, even with setting up program templates for cloning processes. My Tokens within programs can let any user clone a process and switch out key information to have something ready to go - although this needs to be configured first. Aside from this I'd say the modular email templates also contribute to staying organized, since you only need one template these days for making multiple different layouts.
Unspecified
Marketo
1579 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Marketo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Marketo
1579 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1579 vetted Marketo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 673)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ian Nate profile photo
January 14, 2019

Review: "Marketo is the industry leader for a reason"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo in all of its glory. We moved from Mautic, and I'd previously moved from Act-On and Pardot. Marketo is a little bit more to bite off and chew for sure, but the payoff is absolutely worth it. Took much longer to implement, but not necessarily to get connected up with Salesforce. We personally don't use Marketo much for landing pages (yet) - we mostly use our CMS, but plan to do some testing with Marketo in the future here. We use Marketo HEAVILY for post form submission automation, data cleanliness, and much of their automation. Love their email WYSIWYG, but like every WYSIWYG, it can have quirks. We paid for their template team to come up with landing page and email templates - well worth it! They also had an implementation team (ours was through LeadMD - 3rd party Marketo services partner), and our experience there was absolutely fantastic!! It took some time to get FULLY off the ground, but we were sending emails within a few days. I would say Marketo can take a little more technical savvy to set up and administer, but for your end users, it's worth it.
  • Automation: unparalleled. The things you're able to do with Marketo can alleviate automation on the Salesforce end, and bring data into the system clean, precise and ready to route before it hits Salesforce.
  • Flexibility: There are SO many things you can do to tweak the system to operate according to your lead / data flow.
  • Targeting - persona, territory, demographic... etc. If you have the data, you can easily get Marketo to slice, dice and precisely target your data.
  • Integrations: They have a ton. The ones they don't, there's third party integrations through Zapier that work pretty well. Super happy on this front.
  • Technically heavy. Takes a bit to implement and understand - there's a bit of a learning curve here, and may require some help to stand up and implement.
  • Interface: They just rolled out a new interface, but they definitely have a "database" approach to the software - folders, subfolders, sections... can be confusing at first, but once you learn, you'll be locked in.
  • Rope - you can hang yourself. Need to be methodical and well executed with your campaigns, or you can get yourself into trouble!
  • Salesforce API... I would expect there to be a managed package.. but you set up the system through a traditional API connection. It's cumbersome and timely, but once it's set up, it's definitely rock solid.
We love their forms, and the automation you're able to execute post form submission. I would say they are unparalleled in this area. The flexibility and power the automation provides is invaluable, and reduces the overhead with your Salesforce instance. Triggered actions are pretty fantastic as well - love that you're able to trigger things based on "in-time" actions - or now and when they happen in the future, AND you can trigger actions based on PAST actions, based on your custom timeline. Can't tell you how many times that's come in handy! Their data management is absolutely stellar, and the things you're able to do on that front are unrivaled. WYSIWYG is one of the better I've seen (love Unbounce in this area - they're close). Ability to inject forms into your webpages with ease - javascript or static HTML. Ability to capture utm parameters or cookie values is HUGE for us!
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We have a "zero cracks" initiative where we want NO lead or action to be unnoticed or followed up with. Scoring capabilities are very advanced, and we're able to score and re-assign leads based on activity. I honestly don't think we'd be able to have a zero cracks initiative without Marketo... maybe Eloqua, but unsure with them. No lead is left behind, and we're able to capture, append data (DiscoverOrg, ZoomInfo) and clean the data BEFORE it hits the sales team. They love the fact that lead data comes in clean and precise, and is routed correctly from the start. Marketo doesn't have the ability to assign leads like Salesforce does, but given what we're able to do with the data BEFORE it hits the CRM, we don't need it to. Given our "custom" lead sourcing / tracking situation where we use javascript / cookies / form fields to capture utm parameters, Marketo makes this MUCH easier than I've done in the past with Act-On, Pardot and Mautic. In fact, I was able to cut my javascript in half because Marketo handled that functionality!
Read Ian Nate's full review
Brittney Collier profile photo
January 11, 2019

Review: "Marketo is great for companies who value sending the right content at the right time!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing team mainly uses Marketo as a tool to carry out email marketing campaigns and support the sales team with easily accessible content to present to prospects. The platform also helps us to maintain communication with potential customers -- allowing them to comfortably learn more about our products and services before discussing their interest with sales.
  • My favorite and most-used feature on Marketo is the Design Studio, where I can create landing pages for our marketing assets. It's extremely easy to upload the eBooks, infographics, flyers, etc. that we create about our products. Marketo creates a link to each content piece, which we use in so many places -- on our website, in a content database, on social media platforms, etc.
  • Marketo also does well with lead nurturing. We've been able to gain new clients by sharing content tailored to the groups Marketo has divided our contacts into. This helps us to stay on track and in contact with the customer at every stage in the buyer journey.
  • Marketo helps a lot when it comes to building out HTML emails. I came into my job with no knowledge of HTML, but I am able to easily build HTML emails in Marketo with the templates the platform comes with. This saves us a lot of time and energy, but I also learned more about HTML because the source code of the email is still there if you need it.
  • Marketo could mostly improve its terminology when naming the features. For example, naming the area where content is uploaded as the "design studio" is confusing. You would think that would be an area where content is designed or edited, but it's not. The naming of their features is very confusing and not intuitive at all.
  • Marketo is not always easy to use when creating landing pages. There have been times when I updated a document, so I had to upload the new version to Marketo. But when clients clicked the link , it still took them to the old version. I've waited a full day sometimes just to come back to the office in the morning and see that my landing page is still not displaying the correct version.
  • I wish Marketo had more email templates. Because we don't know HTML well, it's difficult for us to build our own. One of the expected perks of purchasing a solution is to solve issues like this, but sometimes Marketo's email templates are still very limiting as far as layout is concerned.
Marketo worked very well when I was working for a for-profit business. Its features really cater to the tech-savvy company who has the budget and time to focus on developing content and following leads. However, I would not use this in the non-profit space or within companies that are not very tech savvy. It's a little more advanced and focuses heavily on providing tools for generating revenue, which isn't always the goal for a non-profit.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Prospecting / New Business
With product launches, upsell, and cross-sell, our goal is to produce content that helps our customers understand how new products will improve efficiency within their company. Marketo helps us to accomplish that goal by serving as a tool to distribute that content to the right people. When prospecting or engaging new business, our goal is to keep the attention of prospects throughout the buyer journey. Marketo helps us to accomplish this goal by providing steps to delivering the right content at the right time that really speaks to the prospect and their concerns at that point in their journey to purchasing.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
abhishek chandra profile photo
December 06, 2018

User Review: "Insights about Marketo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used by Marketing team for all the promotional activities and generating leads for sales team. The purpose of using Marketo is campaign management, nurturing and demand generation.
We are using Marketo mainly for up selling and cross selling, engagement programs suits really well for these requirements. Also seam less integration with SFDC makes life more easier to get the information flow in CRM and get the sales team on the job
  • Engagement programs and lead management are the area where Marketo helped the most. We are able to set-up nurture programs, which gives us complete automation of sending mails to prospects without much of manual intervention
  • Lead scoring models for different segmentation and workspaces is another area which provides lot of flexibility to customize the models as per the product requirement. Though predictive lead scoring is the area where Marketo needs to improve
  • The ease of using Dynamic content and personalization with the help of tokens is the feature which makes Marketo ahead of other automation tools
  • Predictive lead scoring - make use of AI
  • Revenue analytics - though this can be achieved with integration of other tools but would like to see Marketo give those insights
  • Sales insights - must allow more than 10 filters
It is most suited in a B2B scenario where the number of emails sent is less as compared to B2C, but if you are sending lots of mails per day, Marketo may not be as effective. If analytics is the main requirement then Marketo may not be as effective. lAlso predictive lead scoring is definitely area of concern.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Upsell & Cross-sell - to update the clients about our new products and services, also the latest developments in existing services
Lead management - manage leads so that they can be shared with sales team with proper activity details and lead scoring
New business - targeting leads for new business via engagement programs and also tracking the website visits for proper lead scoring
Read abhishek chandra's full review
Tom Liolios profile photo
November 22, 2018

"Review on Marketo's Marketing Automation tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo in our entire marketing team. Our sales team is also using the Marketo sales insight functionality in our CRM.

Marketo allows us to score, qualify and nurture all marketing leads before they are handed over to our sales department. Marketo fulfills an important part in the beginning of our sales funnel.
  • Powerful forms. The Marketo forms on our landing pages are highly customizable, and the use of progressive profiling and form pre-filling helps a lot.
  • A/B testing. Marketo offers you the possibility to test any email or landing page you create. It is very user-friendly and the insights are easy to understand.
  • Setting up campaigns. The use of campaigns in Marketo is very straightforward, and easy to use. Within one place, the so called "smart campaign", you define the who, the what and the when. For example: who do you want to target, what do you want to do with them (send an email?) and when does it need to happen.
  • Email editor. The current email editor of Marketo is very tricky to use. Without HTML knowledge, you basically cannot do anything 'fancy'. Hopefully the new email editor that Marketo recently launched will improve the usability.
  • Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM. If you need to integrate with this CRM system, you will face a lot of issues. The standard integration does not give you a lot of freedom. You will need to implement several workarounds if you want to get more out of both systems.
  • Anonymous visitors. Marketo recently removed insights on anonymous visitors to your landing pages and website. You have no idea where your page views come from, unless they fill out a form.
Marketo is well suited when you have a substantial marketing team, that is in need of streamlining certain marketing processes. It also is a great help in setting up a standard alignment with your sales department.

Managing and administrating Marketo is, however, a full-time job. So you need the resources.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Our main focus with Marketo is on prospecting/new business. We offer a lot of downloads on our website, and we link to our Marketo landing pages on social media and in paid advertising. We have set up many nurture flows to engage with the new business, in order to get them ready for sales.
Next to that, we do some customer marketing, in which we communicate with our existing customers, and try to upsell and inform them about product launches.
Read Tom Liolios's full review
Erik Heldebro profile photo
November 22, 2018

Marketo Review: "A clear leader in data management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is currently used in our marketing department. Having a lot of experience with the platform we use it for a multitude of use cases addressing lead generation/management, qualification, and sales insights. We use it as a hub for handling data between our systems as it has a whole range of customization possibilities with tokens, API, and webhooks.
  • From comparing to other MAPs, Marketo really nails the scalability aspect of marketing programs by collecting a group of assets (landing page, form, email, smart campaigns for triggers) and allowing users to clone these into entirely new programs which maintain the same process connections for quick rollout.
  • Having a unique architecture where every part of a process can have its own Smart Campaign asset may look intimidating to new users when everything is not clearly painted in a flow chart but allows for so much more simple building blocks when getting into a more complex process.
  • Tokens are an amazing feature that can be underestimated, allowing for values to be assigned on the Person, Program, Folder, and Trigger level to name a few.
  • Data management is very user-friendly in Marketo for either translating data or keeping it clean but Marketo offers a lot of segmentation options on top of this.
  • The UI has been due for a refresh in terms of speed and UX - Although at the time of writing (Dec 2017) the UI is planned to get a reboot pretty soon.
  • I would like to see the same modular aspect applied to Landing Page templates as with the newer modular email templates.
Depending on the size of the company, their customer base and budget, I would recommend Marketo in most cases. If someone was evaluating enterprise level solutions I would definitely recommend Marketo.

I would also be able to recommend Marketo to both a company with limited technical resources as many aspects of the tool help marketers rely less on their IT department, and would highly recommend it to a company that has many technical resources and the need for integrating data points from different databases/systems.

If a company were in a startup phase and/or had a limited budget I could not justify the investment as there would probably be more important things to focus on and that company could perhaps do well with something very lightweight to start and get the ball rolling - in this case the same goes for other big actors like Pardot, Eloqua, etc.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
The use cases kind of hang together as there are many aspects of Marketo that support different initiatives. We use the tool for lead/demand generation as well as lead management, providing nurturing to new users to educate them in our products and where specific use cases can apply for them.

Cross/Upselling would go hand-in-hand as the tool offers a lot of segmentation possibilities with segments, smart lists, data management which very much support achieving impact on these initiatives.

We have replaced our forms with Marketo forms on the website, this is a great improvement by being able to translate activity, aggregate data, but also gives the security of for example knowing that if something has not been notified about, it's easy to get back to that data.

Don't use Marketo specifically for customer service but it allows us to easily notify support when contact submissions come in by using webhooks without the need of setting up too much complexity with multiple systems.
Read Erik Heldebro's full review
Austin Schmidt profile photo
November 02, 2018

Marketo Review: "The B2B Leader. A powerful tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used as the source of truth for marketing. All marketing data flows through Marketo, as well as emails, landing pages, and more. It's only been used by the marketing department in my experience, although I see broader application and value.
  • Flexibility. If you can imagine it, you can automate it with Marketo. They make nearly every behavioral action and data point accessible for automation and workflows. Not all platforms, even the other market leaders do this.
  • An impressive roadmap. I started using Marketo when it was essentially a place for email and storing leads. They have an impressive vision that they've executed on fairly well. Specifically, web personalization tools and integrating AI. It gives me confidence in the future of the platform and their ability to innovate.
  • Integrations. The Salesforce integration is excellent. So much better than Pardot's despite being Salesforce owned. The ad bridge integrations with Facebook, LinkedIn, etc are really useful for building segments.
  • The email builder is just not good. They've made some improvements, specifically around pre-built templates and making them modular, but, it's still weak. So many other SMB platforms have drag n drop builders. Marketo needs to catch up in this area.
  • The landing page builder is also lacking. Creating a simple landing page template necessitates hiring a developer or using a pre-built template. I just think a platform of Marketo's level should be more drag n drop.
  • Visualizing nurturing programs or other automation is tough. It works for me, but I speak to a lot of people who are frustrated by this. They need to find a way to clearly create logic paths that can be visualized in a connected fashion.
Marketo is well-suited for anyone looking to build a large scale demand generation machine. If you need to integrate with Salesforce, it's a really good fit. You won't be limited by or outgrow Marketo. You'll probably outgrow quite a few of the cheaper solutions.
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
For cross-sells, you can easily create lists of leads that look like your customers for product A based on any criteria. You can then target them, across all channels, from email to your website, to online ads, with full personalization. Marketo is excellent for lead management as well. You can automatically update data with ease. This really reduces manual work. For example, I frequently timestamp field changes to get an easy view of when key metrics changed. For prospecting / new business, Marketo makes it easy to see which channels are contributing to pipeline and revenue growth. I can see which programs and channels are having the highest impact and double down on those through personalization.
Read Austin Schmidt's full review
Anne Angele profile photo
October 30, 2018

Marketo Review: "Favorite MAP I've tried"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Internally, Marketo is used as our Marketing Automation platform, integrated with SFDC. My role is primarily working with clients who use Marketo with a variety of different goals and use cases. Primarily I work with companies who are in the B2B SaaS space, using Marketo to manage and nurture their leads, alert sales, and publish their content with Marketo Landing Pages and Forms.
  • Engagement Programs - the ability to set up very complex, granular email nurture programs allows you to target people with incredibly personalized experiences at scale.
  • Lead management process - you can completely customize your lead stages to your sales cycle, set up your own revenue cycle to create unique analytics based on your company, and automate sales alerts and recycling to marketing based on your own criteria.
  • User friendly templates - The modules in Marketo email templates make putting together beautiful HTML emails a breeze.
  • Improved Salesforce integration - increased functionality would be useful, but the basics are already there.
Marketo is an amazing option for large companies or a company looking for a customizable marketing automation platform that can grow with their company. I'd recommend having a strong plan in place for how you plan to use Marketo before implementing, but you can always start with a simple implementation and build out the complexity of your system as your marketing strategy changes. I would not recommend Marketo for anyone that does not have a strong tech presence in their marketing department.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
I've used Marketo to increase customer engagement through customer on-boarding/training and upsell opportunities, lead nurturing to bring new names to sales-ready, educated leads, and to improve brand awareness in colder leads. Marketo is an excellent tool for all of these goals, with advanced email marketing options, easy to customize landing pages, progressive profiling, advanced lead scoring options, and an integration with salesforce that gives insight to the sales team.
Read Anne Angele's full review
Patricia Villalobos profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Why you need Marketo!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization in order to achieve seamless user experience from prospecting stages until retention, loyalty programs, etc.
  • integration with custom objects of CRM's
  • most complete list of filters and triggers to play with for workflows, segmentations, specific rules within the funnel, etc
  • the ability to have a custom data model for integration to different platforms: CRM's, video, webinars, surveys
  • the out of the box reporting is the most complete I've seen vs. many other marketing automation platforms that sell more specialized reporting as add-ons
  • a missing functionality that may help Marketo's ecosystem is the ability to create a website/blog within Marketo, though through the munchkin we may track nowadays
For enterprise companies that need governance within a single instance with multiple workspaces, database partitions, specific custom objects to be mapped. it may be a "Ferrari" for SMB's
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Marketo increase prospects, a seamless customer experience, revenue within existing customers and maintains governance within the organization.
Read Patricia Villalobos's full review
Jay Orlando profile photo
December 13, 2018

Review: "Marketo Leads the Charge as Marketing Automation Transforms Business Results"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is deeply used throughout our entire organization. Starting in Marketing, Marketo is the core system our Marketing efforts are built within, tracked, and optimized overtime. The system gives us visibility, helping to inform our largest strategic decisions.
Marketo allows us to:
-Track ROI for all Marketing Tactics and Marketing Content.
-Understand the influence each Marketing Tactic plays in bringing quality leads forward and over the finish line.
-Visibility to which specific behavior, and/or combination of behaviors, that draw our prospects into Awareness, Research, and Evaluation stages of our product sales cycle.
-Setup, tracking, and optimization of numerous custom variables: customer profiles/personas, specific product interest, etc.
  • Ease of use of User Interface. Almost no coding needed, some understanding of HTML helpful but not needed.
  • Partnerships with Google, Bizible, Data Augmentation Tools (LeadSpace), etc.
  • The Marketo Community! Amazing resources that are always available to answer your most challenging questions. Marketo Technical Support via tickets direct to Marketo, Product Discussion portal online, Local Marketo User Group meetings.
  • Analytics tools and ease of use to compare against SFDC reporting or Business Intelligence/Tableau tools.
  • There are opportunities to make program builds more fluid. Copying and pasting very complex logic from one area of the system across multiple areas, for example. That said, one of the positives is that the customer team really listens to user ideas. Many of the areas for opportunity are being addressed by Marketo's new version, Marketo Sky. Online, there is an area where users can submit ideas for product changes and updates, and the Marketo team has listened and is delivering.
Marketo is very well suited for organizations that are midsize/regional, to very large enterprise organizations running global efforts. The system handles complexity incredibly well, helping to organize what some may consider chaos. Well-suited examples: Uber, Amazon, Microsoft, Century Link (Midsize Communications Company with reach in the Pacific Northwest).
Marketo may not be ideal for very small businesses operating in hyperlocal spaces.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Marketo helps our organization with the obvious tasks of automating our email sends. It allows us to set it and forget it. Sending the right email communications, to the right audience, every time. This helps with large/complex/multi national product launches, product updates, and general customer engagement.

Past this, Marketo acts as the engine behind our largest strategic decisions. It helps us to organize our Marketing Tactics and Content into reportable campaigns/assets. Any custom variable we desire, we can work into our efforts. Allowing us to understand, overtime, the role each tactic or content piece plays in getting qualified leads to sales, and pushing sales over the line. The more data we gather the more we are able to optimize and target the right message, to the right audience, at the right time.
Read Jay Orlando's full review
Braydon Unsicker profile photo
December 12, 2018

Review: "Marketo is great, but it isn't the most user friendly ESP out there"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo for customer marketing, lead nurturing, forms, and lead scoring. We have two power users on our Demand Gen team that live in it everyday and then there are members of our Business Ops team that manage the sync between Marketo and Salseforce. We implemented the software about 4 months ago and are now starting to ramp up our lead nurturing efforts with it.

  • We use and like the lead nurturing aspects of the program. The engagement programs are pretty slick.
  • The native Salesforce integration is pretty good, we haven't had to manage it much once we got it place.
  • There are lots of native integrations that are easy to set up. We are setting up the Wistia integration soon and like the functionality that will bring to include video in our lead scoring model.
  • The email builder in Marketo is not a WYSIWYG. We pay for a 3rd party email builder because Marketo's was so bad.
  • The basic email reporting is not very intuitive either. It has been frustrating to pull the reports we want. We haven't been able to create automated reports yet. Everything is manually pulled.
  • There is also no native RSS feed set up to automatically send our blog content to our subscribers. We pay for a RSS feed integration with a 3rd party.
We love the great Salesforce integration and it's lead nurturing capabilities. Every web visitor that comes to our site and fills out any of our forms are sent through our nurturing programs. We have 3 nurturing programs in place right now and have had Marketo for about 4 months. We plan on expanding to 5 programs here pretty soon.

A scenario where Marketo may be less appropriate is if you can't dedicate a Marketing Automation Specialist to run it. It's not the most intuitive software in the world, so if you can't dedicate a person to use it then it may be better for you to use a more user friendly solution like Act On or something.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Prospecting / New Business
Our Customer Marketing team uses Marketo to communicate with customers to upsell, cross-sell, and inform in an effort to keep our customers happy and increase revenue. Our Demand Gen team uses Marketo to generate Marketing Qualified leads through email nurturing. We don't do any cold prospecting or outreach through the software, everything is 100% inbound.
Read Braydon Unsicker's full review
Whitney Slothower profile photo
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Marketo- The Powerhouse"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used by both the Marketing team and the Sales Team. Marketo assists our Marketing team by providing a platform to gather lead information at each phase of the buyer's journey. Through the information that Marketing gathers, we are able to enroll selected leads into email campaigns. Additionally, Marketo provides lead information to our sales representatives in real time. Sales representatives are able to see which web pages certain leads have visited, what forms (if any) were submitted, and are able to follow up with leads using pre-loaded Marketo templates. Marketo has increased efficiency in our prospect follow up processes.
  • Marketo is a robust lead management platform that houses all necessary customer/prospect information needed to deploy relevant campaigns.
  • Easy to use Salesforce integration
  • In-depth list segmentation
  • While a pro about Marketo is its robust platform and tools, a con is that it takes significantly more time to understand and become highly knowledgeable about the platform.
  • Marketo is pretty pricey compared to other platforms like HubSpot, and additional functionality/features within Marketo seems to come at a higher price.
  • The reports are pretty basic and not as visually appealing as other auto-generated reports in competitor platforms like HubSpot.
Marketo is an excellent Marketing Automation Platform geared towards marketers. If you are looking for a platform that is easy to use for both Marketing and Sales, this platform may be tricky to onboard. Marketo Smart Lists is a key feature and a very helpful tool for marketers when trying to target a specific group of people. The filters within Smart Lists are extensive and nearly every filter you can think of is available. The ability to create an AMB campaign in Marketo was a key project for our team to undertake. The Account Based Marketing tool within Marketo proved to be useful and helpful when targeting specific high producing prospects. However, you are limited to the number of accounts you can create for your ABM campaign. It would be helpful if this number was not capped.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo has assisted greatly with the improvement of our lead management. Once we were able to integrate Marketo with Salesforce, we have been able to have lead information being shared cross-departmentally and more efficient/streamlined follow-ups with our prospects. By creating triggers and flows, our Marketing team has made it easier for sales representatives to automatically follow up with a selected list of prospects depending on their stage in the buying process. Additionally, Marketo has made filtering through inbound leads more efficient, allowing only "hot leads" to be passed to sales representatives with all submitted lead information seamlessly populating into the Salesforce CRM.
Read Whitney Slothower's full review
Michelle Miles profile photo
August 07, 2018

Review: "Marketo - THE Marketing Automation Leader"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I have seen businesses achieve results in a number of areas. Marketing operations teams have dramatically reduced the time it takes to launch campaigns, marketing and sales alignment has greatly improved with the handoff of quality leads and automated communication around marketing, and businesses have insights into their lead funnel that hadn't existed in the past, and can market accordingly.
  • Streamlined creation of marketing programs. Marketo dramatically reduces time spent by the Marketing ops team through tokens, cloneable programs and dynamic content.
  • Integration. Marketo integrates seamlessly with many components of a MarTech stack and integrates smoothly with SFDC.
  • Enablement of sales and marketing alignment: MArketo greatly assists with sales and marketing alignment through its scoring and lifecycle functionality, interesting moments and Marketo Sales Insights, and automated alerts and tasks.
  • Microsoft Dynamics integration is lacking.
  • Product documentation often follows behind new product releases.
Marketo is a powerful, flexible, and scalable marketing automation platform. It integrates very well with SFDC and a number of Martech solutions. From data management to scoring and lifecycle reporting to online and offline marketing initiatives, Marketo has you covered. I highly recommend Marketo for any of these scenarios and day to day marketing operations.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read Michelle Miles's full review
Amanda Thomas profile photo
November 29, 2018

User Review: "Why Marketo is What You Need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used as our marketing automation tool. We use Marketo for email campaigns, lead scoring, to measure content success, and more! Marketo allows our business to measure the coordination between sales and marketing. For example, we're able to see that we've provided over $6.3 million in created opportunities this year.
  • Marketo is easy to use.
  • Marketo grows with your business. The more you need from marketing automation, the more benefits you find within Marketo.
  • Marketo comes with a community to help you get the most out of your marketing automation system.
  • The ability to combine/join reports.
  • Auto archive campaigns that haven't been used in 12+ months.
  • Hyperlink an image upon uploading.
Some small companies may turn to other marketing automation tools since they might seem simpler. It's the wrong decision, unless you plan on growing slowly. Within a year of using a marketing automation tool, you'll realize how much you need more and more. Marketo will be able to fulfill all of your marketing ideas as your business grows.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We're trying to close out new business and retain customers with Marketo. This year we've provided $6.3 million in created opportunities, and have decreased our churn rate. This isn't only with emails, this is with applying lead management strategies to increase insights to what works and what doesn't. That way we can do more of what's working!
Read Amanda Thomas's full review
Stephen Jeong profile photo
November 28, 2018

User Review: "Marketo is great at what it does."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used by marketing. We use it to promote marketing campaigns to our prospects and clients.
  • Lead scoring
  • Email marketing
  • Database management
  • Landing page design
  • Email design
  • Speed
Appropriate in promoting marketing campaigns
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Goal is to increase brand awareness and product purchases.
Read Stephen Jeong's full review
Katie Taylor profile photo
November 27, 2018

Review: "Marketo directs your sales team to work on who's hot, when they're hot!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used for our sales department from potential clients, to current clients, to expired clients. Marketo allows us to reach so many more prospects and clients without having to babysit the lead. The best feature is that it lets our sales reps know when a lead shows interest in something we've sent them which provides better focus and use of our reps' time.
  • Makreto is like Big Brother - we're able to track our leads movements and activity at all times.
  • Easy campaign set up - creating email is easy!
  • Syncs between CRMs.
  • It would be helpful to see how many emails land in junk mail to get a better analysis of how many people we are reaching.
  • I would like to be able to re-name emails/campaigns - right now, you have to clone and delete.
  • Better one on one help. When I'm lost, I'd find it helpful to speak to MY account manager to run through problems.
Marketo is well suited to nurture leads with very little effort on a sales rep's part - meaning your sales team can focus on their hot leads instead of those who aren't interested. It really helps to funnel our teams work load so they are working on the most important leads at the right times.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Prospecting / New Business
Our purpose is two-fold, we want to bring in NEW business first and foremost and secondly we want to address concerns and questions leads and clients have before they need to ask them. Selling additional sites to a current client is just a bonus!
Read Katie Taylor's full review
Shanie Los profile photo
November 20, 2018

Marketo Review: "Robust product good for Emails"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an ad agency so we typically only use Marketo on our account management or developer side. We use Marketo for data management, email communications, and landing page development.
  • Marketo provides a number of great campaign templates that help us set up programs efficiently.
  • We can find any stat needed with the reporting available. It's fairly easy to use and understand and we feel that the performance of our accounts depends strictly on performance of our campaign.
  • Marketo support has been really exceptional lately. I’ve used them for a few issues I was experiencing and things were resolved quickly.
  • Marketo tends to crash a lot. I will get a spinning wheel for awhile forcing me to refresh. A lot of the time I get a refresh error message and then the instance becomes very glitchy from then on.
  • I would love an option to stop a campaign from completing other than the abort button.
  • It would be nice to have another level of certification before the expert level for more junior level people.
I feel that Marketo has a strong email communications game. They offer a ton of flexibility in structure and templates. The landing pages seem to have issues from time to time with form and design capabilities.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Our client does not track profitability as much as they should be in Marketo so we aren’t sure how helpful Marketo has been with growing our numbers.
Read Shanie Los's full review
Josh Hill profile photo
November 17, 2018

Review: "Save Time with Marketing Automation and Marketo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Marketo at Perkuto, but mostly for our clients where I implement their lead lifecycle and marketing programs. Most firms are using this tool in Marketing and Sales departments. The service helps B2B marketers manage large volumes of lead records, report on the sales funnel, and provide rich behavioral data to Sales. With Marketo (and with other marketing automation tools), it becomes easier to automate the sending of emails, email lead nurturing, and data management. The goal of the tool is to have an automated, fully reportable sales funnel.
  • Lead Management - Marketo has a variety of tools and workflows to adapt to your business process.
  • Salesforce Integration - Marketo has a tight SFDC integration that helps marketers manage leads and align with the Sales process.
  • Revenue Cycle Analytics - with this add-on, Marketo provides full visibility into ROI and sales funnel metrics.
  • Implementation - Marketo is a powerful system, but it comes out of the box fairly blank. Marketers need to plan out their lead lifecycle and workflows well in advance of signing a contract or turning on the switch.
  • Basic Reports - these are helpful, but limited. The sales funnel is not fully or automatically reported without the RCA package.
Remember to use your brain during the RFP process. Don't rely on vendor materials (and I mean all vendors). Think about your business process and sales funnel first. Think about Marketo as a catalyst for change and prepare that in advance of any vendor selection. Then go to the vendor and ask them about all the features you need and how they would build out your process. Be prepared to do the heavy lifting or to bring on a consultant to build out the first phase.

Marketo is well suited for B2B firms with more than 30,000 records that are moving toward, or already doing, content marketing.
Read Josh Hill's full review
Cody Kimball profile photo
November 15, 2018

User Review: "Developer's Perspective of Marketo"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a great tool currently used at our organization for admins to customize emails, build workflows and marketing paths to help drive traffic down the funnel. It is mostly used by the marketing department, but we are now trying to leverage it more across the organization and provide visibility to those outside of marketing.
  • Customize emails
  • Build workflows based on certain trigger criteria and help facilitate a guided path to conversion
  • Basic integrations with salesforce
  • Very limited API functionality
  • Support doesn't seem to understand their own product beyond simple declarative functionality, e.g. APIs
If you need a simple central way to manage marketing efforts, Marketo is a good tool that with a little bit of training can help maximize the efficiency of a few talented individuals.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Lead Management - track leads and overall activity across various marketo campaigns and marketing activities
  • Prospecting/New Business - Build campaigns around new prospects and contacts and help drive them into salesforce for further lead development
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Ravi Ansal profile photo
November 14, 2018

Marketo Review: "Better than others that's all i can say!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a Digital Marketer, I use Marketo on daily bases to run digital campaigns such as Email, Events, Webinar etc.
Best features are as follows:
  • We can track leads in Marketo easily and also track their activities in detail.
  • The nurture and Lead scoring programs help me in demand generation.
  • Its sync with Salesforce helps our CRM as well.
  • I implemented Marketo in my old company. The support you get from the Marketo team is really good.
  • Lead Nurture : I does it exceptionally well as you can create multiple rules for multiple scenarios.
  • Revenue Cycle Analyzer: When it comes to track ROI; the details you get from Marketo is significant.
  • Lead Database : They should create something where we can change the lead details easily.
  • Analytics : There are multiple reports but their should be few options to edit them according our need as we might want to compare 2-3 different reports so instead of doing that manually we should be able to do that automatically.
Well suited for Email marketing. Subscriptions options are really good. Best for Event registrations as well but it would be great to have their own event support system for Webcast/Webinars then to integrate it other platforms.

Data sync issues with On24 event support system.

Lead detailing is really good and detailed but complex for a new user as well.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Ravi Ansal's full review
Ben Beck profile photo
November 13, 2018

Review: "Marketo - the best SMB marketing tool out there"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used across multiple departments: in sales, customer service, and marketing. Marketing owns the tool and does regular trainings with others across the organization.
  • Marketo is advanced - it let's you do complicated things that no other marketing automation tool does. For example, when you update a blog post on WordPress you can have Marketo automatically send an email to some user base with that post inline.
  • It is great for managing events - the clone event option is super quick and easy!
  • I love Marketo tokens - they allow you to easily clone a program, switch out a few data points and have a new program rolling in minutes.
  • The Marketo community is the best of all marketing automation suite communities. Most users are actively participating, sharing ideas for new features, contributing new ideas how to do things in a non-out-of-the-box method, etc.
  • Out of the top 3 marketing automation tools, it is one of the more expensive tools, but you get what you pay for!
  • Now that Adobe has acquired Marketo we may see changes. When one of their main competitors was acquired by a big enterprise player the competitor languished and has not been well developed... hoping that we don't see the same thing happen with Marketo. As I enjoy the great marketing analytics suite Adobe has built, I anticipate good things for their acquisition of Marketo, but I'm still not sure on the issue.
I've recommended Marketo to lots of friends and everyone that has gone ahead with the purchase has loved it. No regrets!
  • Product Launches
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We've used Marketo for product launches and other product development related tasks, such as collecting customer feedback on new functionality. We have also integrated Marketo with ZenDesk (our customer support tool) and setup communications and access control between Marketo and ZenDesk to ensure new customers get accounts and expired accounts are locked out of support upon expiration of their accounts. We also use it for managing our lead input, our customer journey, prospecting efforts, and sales enablement.
Read Ben Beck's full review
Kristina Schroffel profile photo
November 13, 2018

User Review: "Marketo expertise is a career shaper"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Marketo for our global company and across the organization. It solves CRM business requirements as well as personalization. We manage a lean marketing team and run campaigns using Marketo on a global scale. We can fully grow within the Marketo system and continue to segment and personalize and scale.
  • Trigger campaigns
  • Personalized content
  • Metrics and analytics
  • Salesforce integration
  • API integrations
  • Custom campaign development
  • Design Studio
  • Lead Database
  • Community
  • Form CSS - make it easier for everyone to modify
  • Landing page guided templates
  • More flexibility for email editor
  • More design options for customization
Full-scale business and marketing applications and setting up channels to measure marketing activities. I think Marketo is a great ecosystem addition that can be integrated with different platforms. For example, Slack integrations, Zapier integrations, CRM Salesforce, RTP, ABM, and MPI new features and email deliver-ability options all are available and ready to implement.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We are trying to drive revenue and acquire and convert leads. Marketo also helps us determine ROI from events and different campaigns.
Read Kristina Schroffel's full review
Joe Kevens profile photo
November 13, 2018

Review: "Marketo for VSMB (25 person B2B IT Services firm)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is our marketing system of record. It's integrated with Salesforce, our Influitive AdvocateHub, and other systems.
  • Functionality - lots you can do with Marketo.
  • Community - Lots of users, which helps maintain and grow the product.
  • Time to ramp - lots of functionality comes at the expense of ease of use.
  • A/B testing is painful
Well suited for those who have a Marketo certified marketer on their team or are willing to invest 6-12 months in implementation and basic-to-moderate use of the functionality. Less appropriate for companies without a CRM system that's easy to integrate with Marketo.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Joe Kevens's full review
George Hoffmann profile photo
November 12, 2018

"Marketo Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used as a lead gen tool and an email communication tool.

Marketo hosts all of our forms, handles our lead routing and lead scoring, and executes all of our email communications to prospects, brands and members.
  • Marketo is great for nurturing prospects. Setting up streams and targeting is made very intuitive.
  • Great for lead gen. Marketo hosts all of your lead gen forms and has an incredible API with Salesforce that allows you do be very versatile when syncing and routing leads.
  • Marketo support is not good and the account managers are very unskilled.
  • Marketo announces new products and then never releases them.
Well suited for a business doing massive amounts of communication and complicated lead generation and routing.

Well suited for a business with a very defined sales process.

Not good for a business who does not have a well-defined sales process and does not rely on lead gen.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Make the opt-in to sales touch as efficient as possible.

Streamline customer communications and communicate on a massive scale. Track customer and prospect engagement and fire automation based on that engagement.
Read George Hoffmann's full review
Lauren Smith profile photo
November 04, 2018

Marketo Review: "Great Marketing Automation Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo internally to do our own marketing, and we also work within our clients' instances of Marketo to varying degrees. The problem being addressed is how to effectively communicate with your audience in a relevant, timely and personalized way.
  • Offers a lot of flexibility in designing marketing automation programs
  • Offers valuable, relevant information to your sales team via Sales Insights
  • Offers partitions and workspaces to help manage leads and workflow across large organizations
  • Sometimes, processing can be slow
  • The ability to highly customize programs and campaigns can be dangerous in the wrong hands
  • RCE could be more powerful if you had access to all Marketo fields in all report types
Mid to large-sized organizations with sophisticated marketing programs would benefit greatly from using Marketo. It is less appropriate for smaller organizations that have simpler programs.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
Goals can be categorized in two main buckets: 1) reach the highest number of relevant people to illicit the expected response and 2) facilitate leads moving through the sales and marketing funnel in the most efficient way for each business. Marketo allows you to achieve both of these in a logical way that balances complex logic with ease of use.
Read Lauren Smith's full review
Ed Paxton profile photo
November 03, 2018

Marketo Review: "A seamless marketing experience"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within our marketing department. We use it as an engagement platform to manage leads and contacts and deliver relevant information to them at the right time while helping our sales team effectively engage with them when the time is right. Marketo also helps us measure our departmental metrics and assess our influence on revenue.
  • Intuitive and simple campaign setup.
  • Once templates are built, it's relatively easy to build landing pages.
  • Orchestrated multi-channel engagement.
  • The UI has a dated feel to it and should be modernized.
  • There are numerous small things that could be better implemented or improved upon like being able to sort by custom fields in a report view.
  • Processing time can be slow at times. Often laggy.
Marketo does lead segmentation exceptionally well. This makes it simple to reach the right people in the database, no matter how complex the logic. Other marketing automation platforms fall short on this, especially when it comes to mixing and/or logic.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We use the system for Demand Gen activities, customer and partner ennoblement, sales insights and sales development, community involvement, lead scoring and nurturing new clients.
Read Ed Paxton's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (491)
7.4
Dynamic content (466)
7.6
Ability to test dynamic content (456)
7.5
Landing pages (509)
7.5
A/B testing (480)
7.5
Mobile optimization (469)
7.2
Email deliverability (518)
8.2
List management (518)
8.6
Triggered drip sequences (460)
8.6
Lead nurturing (512)
8.6
Lead scoring and grading (495)
8.4
Data quality management (495)
7.8
Automated sales alerts and tasks (475)
8.3
Calendaring (389)
6.6
Event/webinar marketing (459)
8.2
Social sharing and campaigns (284)
6.9
Social profile integration (263)
6.6
Dashboards (473)
6.8
Standard reports (508)
7.2
Custom reports (482)
6.8
API (430)
8.1
Role-based workflow & approvals (372)
7.8
Customizability (458)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (443)
9.0
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (117)
7.6
Integration with SugarCRM (74)
6.9

About Marketo

Marketo is a leading marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities for small and medium businesses and large enterprises, across various industries. Some common features include email marketing, nurturing, SEO, landing pages, scoring, and analytics while other editions offer advanced features such as website personalization, mobile engagement, social and web retargeting. Typical customers include both B2C and B2B brands of all sizes.

Marketo Features

Has featureAttract - Your potential customers are out there researching solutions. Help them find and learn about yours more easily.
Has featureEngage - Easily build automated campaigns that engage prospects in a personalized way, without help from IT.
Has featureDrive Revenue - Convert more potential buyers into customers by triggering a relevant message at exactly the right time.
Has featureMeasure and Optimize - Move beyond opens and clicks. Quickly determine how each of your campaigns and channels impact revenue.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Spark$895per month up to 10,000 records
Standard$1,795per month up to 10,000 records
Select$3,195per month up to 10,000 records

For the Enterprise edition, contact Marketo for a custom quote.

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS