Marketo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1781 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 776)

Courtney Grimes | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Flexibility at Scale to Tackle Your Company's Digital Needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a marketing technology consultancy that is platform agnostic but chooses to work extensively with Marketo—both as our in-house platform for marketing automation as well as with our clients. Internally, we use Marketo to drive demand generation, digital marketing initiatives, customer journey management, nurturing and prospect acceleration. With our clients, we deploy, configure, optimize, integrate and implement Marketo in a with a diverse group of companies, including B2B/B2C/B2B2C and verticals such as higher education, financial services, transportation, consumer goods, and SaaS platforms among others.

Our clients use Marketo in different ways, but some key business outcomes we see folks commonly tackle with Marketo include:
  • Message-based marketing (email, SMS, push notification), both in ad-hoc and structured nurture varieties.
  • Web content and lead ingestion via forms and landing pages.
  • Customer journey measurement/tracking.
  • Event management (webinars, live events, virtual events).
  • Sales enablement through marketing messaging (Marketo Sales Insight/Engage).
  • Targeted digital advertising through connected Marketo data.
  • Flexibility of use - compared to other marketing automation platforms, Marketo is fairly open-ended in how a user can approach a business problem and tackle it. This can be both a positive and negative attribute based on a team's digital skills, however.
  • Marketer control - Marketo is the only platform I have worked with that can be set up to delegate creative control and asset creation to a marketing department without needing much handle-holding from technical users: marketers can create professional-looking emails, landing pages, forms, and campaigns without much asisstance after an inital ramp-up period. The setup is also quite flexible, allowing marketers to take creative liberties as desired.
  • Sales enablement - The sharing of messaging, ranked prospect lists, information on prospect behavior and other parts of the Marketo Sales Insight platform are second to none.
  • Integrations - From a developer's point of view, working with Marketo is more straightforward than other marketing automation platforms, something reflected both in work built directly for a company and the wide variety of platforms that integrate with Marketo.
  • Reporting - Although Marketo reports can answer surface questions and some canned concepts, drilling down and customizing reports is still problematic and is best served through big data and BI visualization.
  • Maintenance - The system is not very forgiving for non-technical users working at scale and often requires intervention as performance degrades over time.
Marketo particularly excels in companies where there is either some in-house technical knowledge or a willingness to partner with an agency to customize setup—the freedom and frustration of Marketo are that is not prescriptive in how you handle business procedures—there are even multiple ways to do something as straightforward as sending an email! Those who need customization will find quite a bit here, but smaller companies, those with fewer resources or less mature marketing departments may find the initial effort needed to be daunting compared to other marketing automation providers.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read Courtney Grimes's full review
Matt Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

Marketo is the choice for creating Epic Experiences for medium-to-large scale enterprises!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used in a variety of ways at Walden University. First and foremost it is our center for customer communications and engagement across channels: email, SMS, and personalization. We use Marketo to communicate with both current and prospective students, as well as alumni. Beyond communications and nurturing, Marketo is used by our Sales organization to send messages, add customers to targeted campaigns, and view customer behaviors via Marketo Sales Insight. Additionally, Marketo is the centralized entry point for leads where we capture, scrub, score and qualify leads via a custom process we designed and deployed. Marketo is also our hub for a huge roster of marketing tech, database, and reporting application partners.
  • Marketo is very simple to learn and affords quick time to value and a simple UI for those that are used to less capable or more tech-reliant competitor platforms.
  • Marketo plays very well with Salesforce CRM in my experience, but be cautious with how you customize your Salesforce data model or architecture, as those decisions can have implications for Marketo.
  • Smart campaigns and smart lists are an invaluable resource. They're like mini workflows at your fingertips, requiring no SQL or coding language. Just drag and drop; the possibilities are nearly endless! Example: In an email send campaign, drag and drop a step to exclude customers that have previously received an email related to a different campaign. The platform will recognize these leads in real time and remove them from the flow. It sounds elementary, but from experience, it is not easy, or not possible, to do things like that in other platforms.
  • Little or no reliance on IT for support. Marketo allows Marketers and ops team members to administer the tool without needing developers.
  • Marketo Sales Insight - I don't know where we'd be without this! Our organization relies on it heavily to send nicely-formatted templated emails to sales prospects, and quickly remind prospects of events and webinars of interest to them with just a few clicks from the sales owner.
  • As easy as the UI is to use, it is a little dated. The good news is Marketo Sky UI is just around the corner and available in certain areas of the tool today.
  • Analytics and reporting areas are very B2B centric, requiring workarounds for B2C applications. It's also a little slow loading, but that is on the roadmap to be improved in the coming year.
  • The REST API will turn away certain kinds of posts with an error code; an example is a lead post where there are already existing duplicates with a matching email address in the database that drives a 1007 error and the data is not captured. I think it would be nice if the data would go to a staging table or something, just so it lands somewhere within the platform so admins could debug and mitigate issues.
Marketo is really the only choice for large enterprise Marketing organizations, in my opinion. It scales better than other platforms with similar functionalities and is easier to use. Competitors' products in this space will require more "technical" users with coding and database management backgrounds, or will flat out not handle the volume. Marketo is in the sweet spot. If you have Salesforce or Dynamics and are in a large or medium-sized organization, especially if you are in a B2B oriented industry, Marketo is for you.
I am personally currently in the Higher Education industry, and Marketo works well in that space, though we sometimes need to seek workarounds for some areas of functionality that are B2B-focused.
Small businesses may price out of Marketo, especially if they have a large database or B2C orientation, but it is still worth a look. That said, I personally implemented Marketo at two different small software and services shops with 100-150 employees, and they both still use the tool 5-10 years later.
For organizations that are going to want to do only traditional batch/blast email campaigns and have small databases, Marketo will work, but you'll be paying for leaving a lot of capability on the table.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
The primary goal for our Marketo implementation is customer engagement, like driving prospective students to apply and start courses at Walden. The second goal is retention, like creating a positive customer experience that drives students to finish their program. The third goal would be lead capture and qualification, and the fourth would be providing tools that allow for alignment between Marketing and Sales. Marketo fulfills all these areas very well for us.
Read Matt Gomez's full review
Alex Polamero | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Marketo - ROI Delivered

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Marketo is extremely versatile in solving business challenges, nurturing prospects and customers, and automating processes. We use Marketo for a wide variety of enterprise functions including 1) lead generation, nurturing, and personalized communications across multiple divisions, 2) behavioral tracking and triggered real-time notifications to over 100 sales team members 3) recruitment marketing - personalized recruiting emails, landing pages, integrated Facebook ad campaigns; employee on-boarding and Glassdoor reviews; 4) HR process and communications automation including employee on-boarding, off-boarding, employee status changes, employee events and recognition 5) cross-marketing campaigns between different divisions and services 6) Google Ads and Facebook Custom Audience integration and real-time advertising.
  • Lead capture
  • Lead nurture
  • Behavioral tracking
  • Paid ad integration
  • CRM integration
  • Marketo's native landing-page builder could be easier to use and design with.
  • Marketo's new user interface is overdue. We're ready for an upgrade.
  • Marketo's training could be easier to navigate and relevant training easier to find.
If your organization uses Salesforce, then Marketo is definitely worth considering as a marketing automation tool. If your organization is looking to personalize communications across various target audiences, Marketo is excellent. Every organization that we've implemented Marketo for has easily seen a 200% increase on their Marketo software purchase. We've seen clients realize $5M + in new revenue in year one leveraging Marketo.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product Launches - We leverage Marketo to send personalized email engagement campaigns to target audiences encouraging them to schedule an appointment with sales team members to review new products. Products may include touring a new apartment community or new home or reviewing new retail products for sale.
Upsell - We use Marketo to communicate with customers for 1-7 years into the future and maximize the customer lifetime value. The goal is to get customers to buy more and more frequently.




Read Alex Polamero's full review
Emily Thornton | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Powerful platform if you have a solid strategy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Marketo internally to house our lead management "funnel" architecture as well as perpetual lead nurturing efforts. Marketo contains all of the logic that moves leads through the funnel stages (leveraging a combination of activity and demographic-based scoring) and collects all of the necessary data to allow us to report on funnel metrics (lead velocity, conversion rates, volume, and revenue impact via an integration with SFDC). We've built out our nurturing as well, using advanced logic to ensure people receive content that is mapped to their specific role and their place in the buying cycle.
  • With the robust logic capabilities, you can pretty much design your nurturing and lead management framework to function in any way you need it to. So it's a very scalable platform.
  • Integration with SFDC is pretty seamless. The bi-directional sync of data between platforms happens every 5 minutes or so.
  • I've worked at multiple companies that use Marketo, and in all cases our sales reps were huge fans of the visibility Marketo Sales Insight provides them. When added to the page layouts in SFDC the reps can view a feed of a lead's website activity, email activity, scoring changes, and "interesting moments" (which are customizable and show key activity that we deem note-worthy).
  • The robustness of the platform means that if you start using Marketo without a well thought-out strategy, you may not get the return you're hoping for. The reports and functionality that are often shown in Marketo's product demos and webinars are great, but for those to work properly an overall architecture and governance really need to be in place. Also, if your business plans to make an investment in Marketo, definitely be sure you have people (or are able to hire people) who will be able to support it.
With Marketo's logic capabilities, it's possible to build nurture programs that are extremely dynamic and personalized to the user as their data profile changes and they move through the lead funnel. From a reporting standpoint, if implemented with a solid strategy, the reports and insights you'll be able to gain are extremely valuable. That said, it's not a magic wand (no platform is). You'll get out of it what you put in. Also, while the out-of-the-box reporting capabilities are a great and do show revenue attribution data from a connected CRM, I've found it to be more useful to use Marketo in conjunction with a BI tool such as Tableau.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We've moved away from one-off "batch and blast" campaigns, and have more of a perpetual ongoing approach with our outbound efforts. We've mapped all of our content to persona's, and also to our different lead funnel stages. When a new lead is created via form submission, we have "listening campaigns" that look at what information the person has provided via progressive profiling, and then adds them to an appropriate place in our nurture program. The goal of the content in the nurture program is to "nurture forward" to the next stage of the funnel (which they'd achieve by consuming more content, entering more progressive profiling data, and thus increasing their score). When this happens, we have more "listening campaigns" that remove them from their previous spot in the nurture program and place them further down. The eventual goal is to have them reach a "Qualified Lead" threshold, which is the point sales is notified to follow-up in SFDC, and hopefully, a closed won opportunity comes of it.
Read Emily Thornton's full review
Mike Koolwijk | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Marketo: For "us" not the "best" tool on the market, Marketo get your game on!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly used it because a customer was using it. Still, to also broaden my horizon with Marketing Automation tools, I looked into its functionalities in combination with the needs of clients.

Marketo offers multiple options; we mainly used the Marketing Automation and Lead Management part to create campaigns and lead nurturing flows. You must see Marketo as a suite where you can add extensions of the options you need, and pay for those options. Because of this, it's quite easy to use! So, in short, we use Marketo as an optional Marketing Automation product to fit with the client, based on their needs and expertise.
  • You can build Marketo as you want and pay for those options alone, making it a flexible product.
  • It's really easy to use because you can limit yourself to the specific things you want (see point 1).
  • Easy to learn and setup, Marketo as a big active community where you can easily learn the ins and outs of the tool. And you are up and running in minutes.
  • Sadly the reporting is still behind, and I notice this in many reviews Marketo! You are way behind with this.
  • Price Marketo has a hefty price tag, and for most clients, we won't even suggest Marketo; for what most need, there are better options on the market.
  • Easy to use hard to master, when you dive deeper into the tool, you will hit a BIG learning curve, API integrations, more unique segments, etc. You need some dedication here.
  • Speed, it can be really slow sometimes, when making segments or just in peak hours, I guess.
Just one word: Corporate.
Most of our clients are small; I would so not suggest Marketo. The main reason the price but also the ending learning curve. If you want to get MOST out of Marketo, you need someone dedicated to it, but once you have, you can use the full power of the tool and see it working for you.

For "our" client base, we have better options that fit.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We set up a lead nurturing campaigns through multiple channels, and various touchpoints over all those channels and centering down to 1 landing page to catch all the new contacts, and filter existing ones. Creating specific lists for better one on one communication and better quality leads for the sales team.
Read Mike Koolwijk's full review
Kyle Garrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Marketo pumps up automation to 11.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is a piece of tech that is owned by the Operations arm of our company. I and a colleague share the responsibility of architecting and implementing new marketing initiatives with Marketo, as well as integrations. We use it as our sole database for the intake of the thousands of leads we get each and every month. We use it to manage the lead lifecycle, utilizing lead scoring, status changes, data normalization, and other operational procedures as well as email marketing and other lead nurturing efforts. Everything enters Marketo, and then is fed to our sales systems and sales teams.
  • Marketo has the most capable functionality out of any of the major marketing automation platforms that I have used.
  • Building complex nurture tracks to your wildest imagination is possible in Marketo.
  • The UX/UI in Marketo is amongst the worst in modern software offerings. Everyone lives with it because of the amazing capabilities it has.
  • I've had subpar experiences with customer service, so it's not a great tool to learn with if you are just starting out with marketing automation.
In my experience, Marketo is a program that many companies graduate to after they have used other marketing automation platforms, and have outgrown their capabilities. Other programs are far easier to learn on, and even someone with little background in marketing automation can learn on those, but once you're ready to join the big leagues, you move to Marketo. It is perfect for a company that really wants to turn their understanding of marketing, and the ownership of the processes of marketing, up to an 11. If there is a dedicated resource to manage Marketo within the company, or the company is willing to add the headcount to do so, it's well worth the investment. It's best if you are moving beyond simple email campaigns, and really want to coordinate what marketing is doing, and understand the buyers' journey.
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Marketo helps us manage our large database. We are at the point as a company where we get too many inbound leads for our team to be able to call every single person who fills out a form on our website, plus the many 3rd-party places someone fills out a form that is routed to us. We use Marketo for lead management and prospecting in that we use the data we receive to score leads until they reach a point where marketing feels they are interested in our product enough to talk to a representative from our company. It allows us to make some sense out of the chaos that is our marketing motions. We collect so much data in Marketo that we can turn into actionable insights that it make it worth its cost over and over.
Read Kyle Garrett's full review
Justin Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

The most robust and powerful marketing automation solution I've encountered.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Marketo consulting agency and use it both for our own marketing and implement it for clients. We also build products that integrate with it. For our own marketing we use it to manage demand generation activities and for lead management. With our clients we implement, configure, and customize it in a large variety of ways.
  • Very robust workflow capability, with extremely flexible filtering and numerous options to enable almost any business scenario.
  • Tight integration with SFDC with visibility into standard and custom objects and good campaign integration.
  • Extensive use of tokens to quickly create and manage highly customized programs.
  • New! Email and landing page editor updates provide extremely user-friendly and customizable asset creation toolset.
  • The default analytics module is a bit inflexible; existing reports are adequate but customizing them to answer the questions you want answered is often difficult and generally requires pulling a multitude of time-consuming smart lists or access to the more expensive Revenue Cycle Analytics module. Again however, this is something that is actively being improved by product management.

Marketo is extremely powerful and can enable massive efficiency for the right companies -- growing companies with a small but expanding team who need to manage a lot of marketing activities, large enterprises, and everyone in between. The flexibility and depth of Marketo is best in its class, and for a creative technical marketer, the sky is really the limit for what you can achieve.
There is a good deal of work to implement, configure and manage Marketo (I'd recommend at least a part-time resource or an agency partner) so the real ROI comes at scale, when the efficiency you gain from automation and deployment outweighs the work required to manage the system. On the other hand if you are a smaller company with fewer marketing initiatives, less complex needs, and lighter lead flow, Marketo could be overkill until your needs expand.
Read Justin Norris's full review
Evan Kubitschek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

An Enterprise platform - with an Enterprise time commitment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by the marketing department in a shared services model for the entire organization.

Specifically, we use it for:
Email marketing (batch and blast)
Email marketing (automated nurture paths)
Web content (operational delivery of assets + forms)
Database cleanup (standardization of fields, etc. before passing to CRM)
Webinars (via GoToWebinar integration)
Live Events (landing pages / registration / post-show assets)
  • Marketo's token functionality is excellent for reducing workload and eliminating repetition.
  • Marketo's integration with SFDC has been seamless for us with no technical debt.
  • Marketo's web activity reports have been a big hit with our executive team to showcase who we're bringing in from our target market.
  • Marketo's visual reporting is awful. We've defaulted to Salesforce because Marketo's out of the box reporting is so limited without a big upsell
  • The UI is lagging behind competitors, as is sorting and searching assets. Hoping the new UI that's been announced addresses this.
Marketo's a complicated product that can do anything, but is a platform that requires a full-time architect. Smaller organizations should recognize the investment that's necessary for success, and look at it as a long term investment.
Read Evan Kubitschek's full review
Rubi Cammarota | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Marketo has pluses and minuses

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo to send emails, manage our large customer database, and analyze our marketing effectiveness. It addresses our problem of organizing our very large database (about 10 million contacts), helping us gain insight into what users are doing in our app, and allowing us to segment them so we can best target them.
  • Lets you look at and segment leads from a very macro to a very granular level
  • Lets you create very complex engagement programs
  • Lets you send trigger emails on very specific criteria
  • The WYSIWYG email editing function is terrible. Marketo always adds a bunch of tags that break the code that I slave over in Litmus
  • The inability to schedule emails to send in the recipient's time zone is a HUGE issue
  • Not being able to edit Email Program campaign limits makes that function completely unusable.
This tool is good for larger marketing organizations but is more than a smaller company would need. There are lots of quirks/issues with the tool and it seems like you need someone at the organization who has been using it for a long time and understands the intricacies and limitations.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
We are looking to convert leads to customers, gain logos, upsell plan types, sell services, and expand within organizations. Marketo helps us with these goals by giving us the power to slice and dice our database in many ways and send targeted communications. Personalized content is key in this crowded B2B space.
Read Rubi Cammarota's full review
khyati panwar | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Marketo: A powerful marketing automation and operation tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Marketo is a SaaS based marketing automation and operation software which helps our organization to automate and measure marketing engagement, tasks and workflows. The benefits I realized working with Marketo is how versatile it is in its marketing approach, analytical insights and its strategic ways. It is easy to use and create emails, forms, and landing pages. It is also easy to create workflows for automation which might be very useful in nurturing campaigns. When it comes to complex campaigns, you are able to create flows and derive users according their actions and behaviors. Below are the the different Marketo functions which are being used to address business problems:


  • Email Marketing
  • Lead Nurturing
  • Lead Management
  • Bi-directional CRM synching
  • Data Collection & Database Management
  • Data Quality & Cleansing
  • Demand Gen & Web Content Strategy
  • CRM Integration & Lead Management
  • Change Management & Training
  • Demand Funnel Development & Sales Alignment
  • Lead Scoring
  • Landing Pages & Forms
  • Marketing Activity Tracking
  • Web Activity Tracking
  • Social Marketing
  • Campaign Dashboards and Reports
  • Program and Campaign Analysis
  • Opportunity Influence Modeler
  • Advanced Report Builder
  • Ease of use - Drag and drop interface
  • Marketo community offers tips, and you can get any question answered really fast.
  • There is a huge learning curve with Marketo but this enables capability once you climb that curve.
  • Marketo is a super strong product with a lot of functionality. It’s a very robust tool, and has instantly closed-loop reporting. For an organization to use Marketo to its potential, they need to take the time to come up with a holistic and complete strategy and to note what they would like to accomplish. Once this is achieved, they need to develop the technical architecture in Marketo and their CRM platform integration. Also, make sure that all the integrated teams who are responsible for managing Marketo are completely trained on how to use the platform well. Also Adobe Acquisition will only make it better.
  • The only thing which is little less appropriate is some functionality is restricted to the version of your contract or implementation, and sometimes you must follow unnecessary steps to achieve simple tasks.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Read khyati panwar's full review
Lauren Aquilino | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Marketo, my Faithful Friend

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing department uses Marketo to manage incoming leads and their lifecycle, score them, and nurture them with email and advertising. It allows us to keep track of nearly all of our marketing initiatives and lays the foundation for reporting which programs are working and which are not. This helps us make better business decisions on where to spend our marketing budget.
  • Marketo's integration with Salesforce is second to none and lightning fast. This is absolutely critical when processing Leads, Contacts and Campaigns, maintaining accurate data and ensuring transparency,
  • Marketo has made it really simple to scale the creation of marketing programs and assets. With features like tokens and the ability to clone, hours of work is saved by the average marketer.
  • Marketo's user community is the best. There are so many people willing to help, from answering basic questions to sharing advanced solutions that push Marketo to the limits.
  • Marketo's partner ecosystem makes for an incredibly smooth integration with our entire marketing tech stack.
  • Marketo documentation does not stress enough how to set up and maintain a best-practice instance. For example, many key features that are required for reporting are not clearly prioritized over other features.
  • Marketo's reports still leave a bit to be desired. It can be tough to give someone all the information they would like in one snap shot, or even in one consistent format.
I would absolutely recommend Marketo to any organization that is looking to manage a large database of prospects and customers through their lifecycle. I would especially recommend Marketo for integration with Salesforce. If someone is looking to simply send emails and not manage lead lifecycles or track ROI of marketing campaigns, Marketo may be too robust.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Our main goals are to generate new opportunities for the business, as well as influence opportunities that are in the pipeline. By integrating with Salesforce, Marketo allows us to handle communications differently based on the sales cycle.
Read Lauren Aquilino's full review
Amanda Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Why Marketo is What You Need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used as our marketing automation tool. We use Marketo for email campaigns, lead scoring, to measure content success, and more! Marketo allows our business to measure the coordination between sales and marketing. For example, we're able to see that we've provided over $6.3 million in created opportunities this year.
  • Marketo is easy to use.
  • Marketo grows with your business. The more you need from marketing automation, the more benefits you find within Marketo.
  • Marketo comes with a community to help you get the most out of your marketing automation system.
  • The ability to combine/join reports.
  • Auto archive campaigns that haven't been used in 12+ months.
  • Hyperlink an image upon uploading.
Some small companies may turn to other marketing automation tools since they might seem simpler. It's the wrong decision, unless you plan on growing slowly. Within a year of using a marketing automation tool, you'll realize how much you need more and more. Marketo will be able to fulfill all of your marketing ideas as your business grows.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We're trying to close out new business and retain customers with Marketo. This year we've provided $6.3 million in created opportunities, and have decreased our churn rate. This isn't only with emails, this is with applying lead management strategies to increase insights to what works and what doesn't. That way we can do more of what's working!
Read Amanda Thomas's full review
Ande Kempf | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Marketo - Excellent MarTech Solution (B2B)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used by our marketing department and we are integrated with Salesforce, which is mainly used by our sales department. Our company decided to use Marketo because they wanted to automate their marketing process, implement lead scoring, and track our marketing spending by campaign through their analytics and reporting.
  • Reporting and analytics provide excellent insight into our funnel.
  • Marketo Community is a wealth of knowledge.
  • Customer service is quick and helpful.
  • Marketo's annual summit is a wealth of knowledge and excellent for networking.
  • Event campaigns are super easy to use and integrate with webinar providers. We specifically use ON24 and have been able to implement custom object for easy status syncs.
  • Reporting dashboards are pretty generic. If you want real insight into your reporting the dashboard is not helpful and seems fruitless.
  • Database tiers are set up very broadly. I think it jumps from 50K to 100K. It would be nice to have the option of 75K.
  • Customer service has declined in quality over the years. Be prepared to troubleshoot your problems.
Marketo is an excellent tool to control the order of operations for all data processing. In my experience a lot of clients experience race condition problems with their data processing and that is a significant problem when thousands of records are impacted. Marketo offers the ability to build a center of excellence to avoid race conditions.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
One goal with Marketo is to manage upsell communications to clients. Of course, Marketo can handle sending promotional communications but it will also track engagements as they are related to lead scoring. As a client's lead score increases their stage in the lifecycle will change until they're ready for a sales rep to reach out.
Read Ande Kempf's full review
Sam Dahoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

Great solution to increase sales and find good customers.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is a good simple application to automate marketing. We were able to create email lists in applications, control and help with all digital marketing actions. It is a platform capable of adapting to any company, regardless of its size or sector. It especially helps in marketing automation, recruiting leads, the home page, campaign promotion, and provides progressive growth at work.
  • It is a very useful and excellent solution to achieve better sales without much effort and in a short time.
  • Ease of use is the best and I meet with my clients to provide the right service.
  • Email automation is great.
  • It seems to me that the price is very high.
  • It is usually slow in the links section of social accounts.
Marketo is a very functional, good service to automate the marketing of your company. I recommend it because it is easy to use and offers good final results.
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
We were looking for progressive growth and after using this great tool, everything has changed. We have greatly increased sales and found potential customers.
Read Sam Dahoo's full review
Adam Vavrek | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Efficient Marketing with Marketo

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo in the marketing department to manage our campaigns and for email marketing. It's used to report on email opens and clicks as well as campaign KPIs such as leads acquired, impact on revenue, and more.
  • Schedule regular reports to be sent via email. Report on areas such as 1. email opens, clicks, and unsubscribes; 2. lead status changes; 3. leads with high web activity; more.
  • Database segmentation for targeted messaging.
  • Campaign metrics: leads acquired, revenue attribution.
  • Marekto does have reporting functionality but I wish it was more robust.
Marketo is well-suited for large companies with big lead databases. Marketo also has an outstanding support team and community. Since the Adobe acquisition, they have a lot more to offer, seamlessly integrating with many Adobe platforms and technologies. They are clearly the market leader because they continue to innovate and listen to the opinions and needs of their customers.
Read Adam Vavrek's full review
Alex Greger | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2019

Marketo - A Robust Engagement Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo plays a central role in our company and we integrate with several other Adobe products. The engagement platform allows you to communicate, track, and report on prospects to customers holistically across their journey. Our entire lead flow runs through Marketo along with many other channels of our business. We have almost 100 active users across our org that are actively creating campaigns, assets, reports and other elements to help grow our company.
  • Platform usability, it is made for the marketer, not the developer or IT. Items are easily found, drag and drop interface along with centrally located assets.
  • Connects well with other platforms and has a great partner ecosystem.
  • Allows marketers to be empowered with data to reflect attribution to sales through holistic reporting across the buyer's journey.
  • Marketo has come along way with their email templates, the modular aspect is wonderful. If only it could be applied in a similar manner to the landing page template.
Marketo is a great tool for any company focused on true engagement across the buyer's journey, whether B2B or B2C.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
  • Other
Our clients use the product for a variety of reasons including all of the above. We use the product to mostly cross-sell and engage with prospects. Driving new business through prospects and current customers engaging with content centered around thought leadership and best practices in the MarTech space.
Read Alex Greger's full review
Alex Stanton | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

With Marketo, the sky is the limit.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant I've worked in many instances of Marketo and seen a lot of different types of problems being solved with great business and tactical results. From honing and optimizing the lead lifecycle (closing the gap between marketing and sales, providing insight to sales on lead activity and lifecycle), to advanced nurtures that are truly responsive in nature (not drip campaigns!) that engage at a deep level and pull people through the buying cycle faster, plus amazing increases in team efficiencies and marketing program optimizations. The sky's the limit with Marketo and the rewards are just as high.
  • There is a learning curve, but that is true of any advanced system. Once you get the hang of it, everything in Marketo is really easy. There is one set of principles to learn, and everything works that way, from sending an email blast to setting up advanced reporting.
  • The integration with Salesforce is very strong, it provides many opportunities for insight and reporting and it is very helpful in closing the gap between marketing and sales.
  • I have used other marketing automation platforms and was impressed by how streamlined Marketo's solutions are, compared to its competitors.
  • Modular email templates could be offered as part of the platform
Marketo does require time and commitment (both in terms of personnel and in terms of finances). It is important to analyze your resources before you commit.
Read Alex Stanton's full review
Angela Ruggeri | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Intuitive and powerful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used for email campaigns and syncing with Salesforce.com.
  • Email spot campaigns
  • Lead management
  • Great integrations
  • Clear email reporting and drill downs
Price is definitely a large consideration and make sure you have someone dedicated to managing Marketo.
Read Angela Ruggeri's full review
Ajay S | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Marketo Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used by sales and marketing. It helps in bringing more clarity to the sales team about the effort of marketing through MSI. The tool is amazing and the customer service is great. We can count on Marketo! It is helping us to solve many business problems such as data hygiene, Marketing attribution, Automation, lead scoring and lead life-cycle management.
  • Leads Scoring
  • Reporting
  • Nurture
  • Marketing Sales Insights
  • Support
  • Integration with APIs
In my opinion Marketo is best suited for all companies who can afford it.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
In all scenarios, we're targeting to generate demand through Marketo!
Read Ajay S's full review
Corey Bethel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Marketo is a must!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marketo as our main marketing automation tool. About 90% of our time each day is spent inside Marketo. Marketo has completely changed the way we send email, create landing page, review stats, and manage our lead database. Before Marketo, compiling stats for our emails was very clunky and took quite a bit of time to complete. Before Marketo, we basically only sent emails, with no landing pages/forms, with little information on how they performed.
  • Lead management
  • Nurturing leads
  • Email analytics
  • Landing Page
  • Forms
  • Can be slow at times
  • Inability to edit images within Design Studio
I think Marketo would be less appropriate in small businesses.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Corey Bethel's full review
Jackie Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Marketo Marketing Automation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is being used across our entire organization. It allows us to market more effectively to our customers and allows us to make business decisions with the data we are able to collect. It is useful for filling our sales funnel and determining which customers are most ready to engage with your business.
  • Reporting is simple. You can easily track how well your campaigns are doing, complete tests, make improvements and see the results.
  • Managing campaigns works well. They allow you to send timely information, focus on the customer, and utilize tokens and segments to personalize your campaigns.
  • Creating and testing emails and landing pages is easy and useful. You can increase your conversions greatly.
  • Marketo Web personalization and account based marketing are great tools to further help drive business.
  • Would like to have added feature of subscribing to smart lists as reports. - Marketo has listened to its customers and added this feature! Great job Marketo
I think Marketo would work well for most businesses.
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Product Launches - Make people aware of our new products through emails and web personalization.
Customer Service - Follow up survey emails to see their success.
Lead Management - Each person is places in the appropriate engagement program to provide them with useful information.
Prospecting/New Business - Form fills are great for finding top of funnel form fills and sales qualified leads.
Read Jackie Potts's full review
Jason Hamilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Marketo Rules

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a consultant and use Marketo all day everyday for many clients of all different industries and sizes. Generally used by Marketing and sales but more departments are getting on board every day. I would recommend this to anyone serious about marketing and ROI.
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Very thorough feature set
  • Constantly improving - new features every month
  • Multiple email addresses needed for multiple accounts
  • Support
  • Faster smart lists
What CRM are you using?
  • Product Launches
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Customer Service
  • Lead Management
  • Prospecting / New Business
Read Jason Hamilton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Excellent if you have SFDC

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Marketing Department uses it, and my department uses it for one of our product demo environments.
  • Modular elements to campaigns.
  • Easy integration to external services.
  • Managing campaign members isn't as intuitive as it could be.
  • When using filters the multiple value selection isn't as user friendly as other applications (for instance, when compared to SFDC).
Thanks to a very powerful integration with Salesforce, Marketo allows both Marketing and Sales to keep their data consistent, and the two solutions complement each other well. I'd recommend Marketo to anyone using Salesforce.
  • Upsell
  • Cross-Sell
  • Lead Management
Marketo's smart campaign flows and streams are great for segmenting by persona (we use Leadspace's enrichment/scoring webhook natively in Marketo). Once segmented properly, we use streams to send relevant messages out to our inbound leads, as well as existing customers for cross-sell/upsell based on product interest (gathered from web traffic data and third party intent).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2020

Thumbs Down for Marketo

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marketo is used to capture leads from our company website. It is also integrated with our webinar tool for registration, and email confirmation. It is used by our entire marketing team. It is currently the company's marketing lead generation tool, and integrates with our Salesforce CRM.
  • Sync with Salesforce is a nifty feature.
  • Built for a large database of leads.
  • Nice to see information about inferred leads who visit the website.
  • Overly complex.
  • Slow and clunky. Cumbersome to use. Often see a spinning icon as it processes simple requests.
  • Not a good user interface.
I do not recommend Marketo based on its poorly designed user interface, and slow response rate. The application is slow, and cumbersome to use. I often see a spinning icon as it processes simple requests, or when clicking from module to module. It could use a good overhaul. It's better suited for a large enterprise organization like IBM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2020

Excellent marketing and list management solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Marketo across our entire organization in order to increase our marketing spend and efficiency. The nice thing about Marketo is its integration with all of our social media platforms, which gives us the ability to centralize our CRM efforts across platforms. By being able to target both the platform and our message, our digital ad spend is much more targeted.
  • Cross social platform CRM integration
  • Broad depth of tools features
  • Excellent cross platform analytics
  • Speed of migration from prior platform can be enhanced
  • Database import / integration was not that straightforward
Overall, we feel Marketo is an excellent solution to address our needs, all things considered. I would highly recommend this to other businesses as it has a great degree of cross-social-platform capabilities and allows us to manage our add spend and target our message very well in a more cost-effective manner than the prior solutions we had engaged.
  • Product Launches
  • Lead Management
Our primary goal with Marketo was for new launches and managing our existing leads. The new launch functionality is excellent--offers a broad integration across social platforms. Our target is to engage as many filmmakers we can across social platforms. Marketo solutions helped us do this in a very efficient and seamless manner.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (588)
7.1
Dynamic content (565)
7.7
Ability to test dynamic content (550)
7.5
Landing pages (606)
6.9
A/B testing (583)
7.3
Mobile optimization (571)
7.2
Email deliverability (624)
8.2
List management (624)
8.4
Triggered drip sequences (561)
8.3
Lead nurturing (617)
8.2
Lead scoring and grading (599)
8.2
Data quality management (597)
7.9
Automated sales alerts and tasks (574)
8.0
Calendaring (464)
6.7
Event/webinar marketing (550)
7.9
Social sharing and campaigns (345)
6.6
Social profile integration (324)
6.6
Dashboards (578)
6.9
Standard reports (616)
7.0
Custom reports (583)
6.8
API (529)
7.9
Role-based workflow & approvals (457)
7.7
Customizability (555)
7.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (534)
8.2
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (154)
6.6
Integration with SugarCRM (98)
6.2

About Marketo

Marketo is a leading marketing automation platform with a range of capabilities for small and medium businesses and large enterprises, across various industries. Some common features include email marketing, nurturing, SEO, landing pages, scoring, and analytics while other editions offer advanced features such as website personalization, mobile engagement, social and web retargeting. Typical customers include both B2C and B2B brands of all sizes.
Categories:  Marketing Automation

Marketo Features

Has featureAttract - Your potential customers are out there researching solutions. Help them find and learn about yours more easily.
Has featureEngage - Easily build automated campaigns that engage prospects in a personalized way, without help from IT.
Has featureDrive Revenue - Convert more potential buyers into customers by triggering a relevant message at exactly the right time.
Has featureMeasure and Optimize - Move beyond opens and clicks. Quickly determine how each of your campaigns and channels impact revenue.

Marketo Screenshots

Marketo Video

Marketo Integrations

Marketo Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Spark$895per month up to 10,000 records
Standard$1,795per month up to 10,000 records
Select$3,195per month up to 10,000 records

For the Enterprise edition, contact Marketo for a custom quote.

Marketo Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Marketo Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS