TrustRadius
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email is an email marketing platform. It used to be called ExactTarget and was rebranded after its acquisition by Salesforce. This email marketing platform allows companies to build relationships with their clients with speed, precision, and flexibility. This solution enables the creation of tailored and relevant content in any language. With the drag-and-drop tools, you can create an email in minutes and send real time transactional emails such as cart abandonment and shipping confirmations. Additional key features include A/B Testing Tools, Real Time Tracking and Graphical Reporting.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/lM/pg/T1EPPTEZW4E2.PNGBadass way to get to know your customer while making them HAPPYI am using the Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio for multiple clients. It's great for planning and monitoring social network interactions. What it comes down to, is the ability to really get inside the behaviors and heads of your clients. Because you are personalizing interactions, as a brand, you are giving the client what they want, while really learning more about your audience and their wants.,Connecting with clients in a personalized fashion Tracking customer behaviors to build better marketing and branding personas Finding new clients in creative ways,The contact import feature sucks. Sometimes when updating files on the platform, they have become corrupted and unrecoverable. When trying out the product as a free trial, you don't get the kind of support that you should to seal the deal - for smaller companies with limited time and budgets, that also sucks.,9,I have multiple clients working with this platform who have seen exponential NPS score increases in customer satisfaction. This platform has been valuable in persona building. Being able to connect with customers in a way that makes them feel like they are the only customer (when done right).,HubSpot and Sailthru,10,000 to 25,000,Both,Shopify Plus, Squarespace, Amazon Web ServicesSalesforce is unbelievably powerful if you can afford it.With Salesforce we are able to easily automate all of our customer engagement. One of the cool things that Salesforce Marketing Cloud lets us do with their email marketing software is to create custom channels and workflows and build out extremely detailed drip campaigns. The email templates they give are pretty basic, but also idiot-proof. It's really easy to use and give us all of the data we need to figure out the likeliness of user conversion based on their funnel path.,Easy to use funnels. Action based paths that people can go down based on clicks, open-rate, engagement, etc. Easy to use templates for building. Easy to segment lists.,It's crazy expensive. Would love if they dropped the price. Could be a cleaner interface, but that is just me. Looks like the rest of the Salesforce backend, which is pretty simple. More A/B testing options would be appreciated.,9,Helps lower our costs on sales follow-ups from actual team members. It takes over all of our mass email sending which is great for customer services. Keeps clients in the know about what is going on based on their interests and products they are using.,Zoho Campaigns, Marketo, Drip from Leadpages and HubSpot,25,000 to 100,000,Both,Zoho Campaigns, HubSpot, Drip from LeadpagesRobust Email Marketing SolutionSalesforce Marketing Cloud is primarily used by our Marketing Department. However, employees across the organization will benefit from it. Our organization has not had any formal email marketing solutions during my tenure. Employees tends to implement their own solutions - mainly mass emails from their address books - and then they need to "log" Opens, Clicks, Responses into our CRM system (if at all). Additionally, this method is not CAN-SPAM compliant, so we run a risk of FTC complaints.,Salesforce.com integration including a connector app, bundled permission sets, user profile permissions Customizable Data Extensions that use either Campaigns or Reports from Salesforce.com Customizable Subscription Center for mailing list recipients to manage emails they do and do not want to receive.,Administrative interface is quite a bit different than Salesforce.com Likely a legacy holdover from it's roots in ExactTarget Security configuration is confusing again a holdover from ExtactTarget Knowledge articles lag behind each release,9,With only year of use, we are unable to quantify monetary ROI yet, however the annual subscription is five figures It has centralized a previously decentralized set of end-user "solutions" It provides visibility to all users of our CRM,MailChimp,10,000 to 25,000,B2C,TeamGantt, Cvent Event Management, Conga Composer, Webroot SecureAnywhere, Zix, Cisco Umbrella, Salesforce for NonprofitsWe Love Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email StudioWe used Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio in conjunction with a few other tools to manage our marketing and customer outreach campaigns. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio was mostly used by a few departments (marketing, UX, customer service and our leadership team), but the effects were felt by the entire company. Salesforce really helped us manage and customize our customer experience via email and other forms of outreach.,Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is great at managing our customer base which happens to be very large. We were able to create detailed segments and handle them all individually The tracking and analytics provided by Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio are great Along the lines of segmentation and tracking, Salesforce is great at allowing us to target customers or segments of customers with the content best suited for them.,Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is quite expensive. This was a real issue for us when evaluating a vendor to use. Because of the amount of control that Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio provides, it follows that learning the tool is fairly complicated. It takes us a good amount of time to train new users. We have had some issues with importing email templates that we have used previously into Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio.,8,Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio has provided us with incredible data on our customers and their behavior which has lead to increased conversion. Being able to handle thousands of customers at once and segment them has saved our marketing team an incredible amount of time. Though the initial cost is high, we have seen a great ROI after using Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio for the past couple of years.,250,000 to 1 million,BothA Powerful Marketing Tool with a Steep Learning CurveSalesforce Marketing Cloud is used by our marketing team. We use it currently to create broadcast emails and automated messages for the marketing and communication departments, as well as supporting other business units by building out campaigns for them as they have not yet been given access to build these out on their own. We use this as a way of stewarding, cultivating, and soliciting supporters.,Visual editor Scheduling campaigns Reporting,Integration with Salesforce CRM is clunky and isn't intuitive Inbox placement / deliverability insights,6,Positive: we were able to stop using an all in one solution and use a more cost-effective modular approach Negative: we were steered in the direction of using a dedicated IP address when I don't think was needed. This has made our deliverability much more of an undertaking. Negative: we needed to hire an implementation partner to help set up Salesforce Marketing Cloud,Streamsend, MailChimp and Aurea Campaign Manager (formerly Lyris HQ),25,000 to 100,000,B2C,250ok Inbox, Salesforce for Nonprofits, Camtasia, Slack, Microsoft 365 Business, 8x8 Virtual Office, Dropbox, OneDrive
Unspecified
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio
329 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio
329 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 329 vetted Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sylvia Flores profile photo
February 21, 2019

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Badass way to get to know your customer while making them HAPPY"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using the Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio for multiple clients. It's great for planning and monitoring social network interactions. What it comes down to, is the ability to really get inside the behaviors and heads of your clients. Because you are personalizing interactions, as a brand, you are giving the client what they want, while really learning more about your audience and their wants.
  • Connecting with clients in a personalized fashion
  • Tracking customer behaviors to build better marketing and branding personas
  • Finding new clients in creative ways
  • The contact import feature sucks.
  • Sometimes when updating files on the platform, they have become corrupted and unrecoverable.
  • When trying out the product as a free trial, you don't get the kind of support that you should to seal the deal - for smaller companies with limited time and budgets, that also sucks.
If you are already using Salesforce, everything within the Salesforce universe is exceptional. If you are using it correctly and taking every advantage, it will help you grow your business, by virtue of having robust data at your fingertips. Email Studio lets you get to know your customers and their behaviors while building a one-to-one relationship with them. It's great for small businesses that are looking to build their brand and create that value-add of customer service, while also building out personas. It can be cost prohibitive for some businesses. However, this is an expenditure that is well worth it. I find it to be very intuitive, but if you are a micro startup with limited time and people resources, you may not be able to get the bang for your buck.
Read Sylvia Flores's full review
Chris Lesner profile photo
February 01, 2019

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Salesforce is unbelievably powerful if you can afford it."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With Salesforce we are able to easily automate all of our customer engagement. One of the cool things that Salesforce Marketing Cloud lets us do with their email marketing software is to create custom channels and workflows and build out extremely detailed drip campaigns. The email templates they give are pretty basic, but also idiot-proof. It's really easy to use and give us all of the data we need to figure out the likeliness of user conversion based on their funnel path.
  • Easy to use funnels.
  • Action based paths that people can go down based on clicks, open-rate, engagement, etc.
  • Easy to use templates for building.
  • Easy to segment lists.
  • It's crazy expensive. Would love if they dropped the price.
  • Could be a cleaner interface, but that is just me. Looks like the rest of the Salesforce backend, which is pretty simple.
  • More A/B testing options would be appreciated.
If you are trying to automate all of your emails by building funnels and paths that consumers can go through that help you feed them better content based on their interests. It's really great if you need to be able to rate a users experience based on their engagement with your organization and create rules that start and stop users from being sent emails.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
William Reese profile photo
January 26, 2019

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Robust Email Marketing Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud is primarily used by our Marketing Department. However, employees across the organization will benefit from it. Our organization has not had any formal email marketing solutions during my tenure. Employees tends to implement their own solutions - mainly mass emails from their address books - and then they need to "log" Opens, Clicks, Responses into our CRM system (if at all). Additionally, this method is not CAN-SPAM compliant, so we run a risk of FTC complaints.
  • Salesforce.com integration including a connector app, bundled permission sets, user profile permissions
  • Customizable Data Extensions that use either Campaigns or Reports from Salesforce.com
  • Customizable Subscription Center for mailing list recipients to manage emails they do and do not want to receive.
  • Administrative interface is quite a bit different than Salesforce.com Likely a legacy holdover from it's roots in ExactTarget
  • Security configuration is confusing again a holdover from ExtactTarget
  • Knowledge articles lag behind each release
As the number of nonprofits and the options available to fundraise increases exponentially, it is important to distinguish our nonprofit from the others. One way of doing that is with email marketing in order to maintain engagement with our donors and volunteers. We have multiple "Giving Societies" based on contribution levels. A lot of our donors are members of more than one Giving Society. Marketing Cloud enables us to target our emails efficiently and accurately so that we do not overwhelm donor inboxes and that the messages they do receive are relevant and easy to understand in the context in which that message addresses for that donor.
Read William Reese's full review
No photo available
January 15, 2019

Review: "We Love Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio in conjunction with a few other tools to manage our marketing and customer outreach campaigns. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio was mostly used by a few departments (marketing, UX, customer service and our leadership team), but the effects were felt by the entire company. Salesforce really helped us manage and customize our customer experience via email and other forms of outreach.
  • Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is great at managing our customer base which happens to be very large. We were able to create detailed segments and handle them all individually
  • The tracking and analytics provided by Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio are great
  • Along the lines of segmentation and tracking, Salesforce is great at allowing us to target customers or segments of customers with the content best suited for them.
  • Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is quite expensive. This was a real issue for us when evaluating a vendor to use.
  • Because of the amount of control that Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio provides, it follows that learning the tool is fairly complicated. It takes us a good amount of time to train new users.
  • We have had some issues with importing email templates that we have used previously into Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio.
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is a great tool for a larger organization that is looking to send targeted emails and other forms of communication to their customer base. You can follow the entire process through the tool and pulling analytics numbers is a breeze. This tool is not for smaller companies. The price alone could rule Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio out for many.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "A Powerful Marketing Tool with a Steep Learning Curve"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud is used by our marketing team. We use it currently to create broadcast emails and automated messages for the marketing and communication departments, as well as supporting other business units by building out campaigns for them as they have not yet been given access to build these out on their own. We use this as a way of stewarding, cultivating, and soliciting supporters.
  • Visual editor
  • Scheduling campaigns
  • Reporting
  • Integration with Salesforce CRM is clunky and isn't intuitive
  • Inbox placement / deliverability insights
If an organization is using Salesforce CRM, Salesforce Marketing Cloud is a natural extension for email and mobile marketing. It does have a relatively steep learning curve, but once someone understands the integration between CRM and Marketing Cloud, it will generally work for all email applications. It's not suited for users with less technical backgrounds and/or people who have limited experience working in email marketing platforms.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 16, 2019

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Take your e-newsletters to next level."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio was used by my department to send e-communication to our clients. It helped us understand how our emails and communication is being taken in by our clients, the opening rate, and how we can improve our communication. We used the data to analyze and further improve our email blasts.
  • Easy to use and very well versed user interface.
  • Great customer support service support
  • A lot of templates available to help you start your campaigns with.
  • The implementation was not easy.
  • A lot of training was required to train users.
Its well suited if you want to run marketing campaigns and understand how your email communication is working.
Read this authenticated review
Cassidy Ebert profile photo
September 11, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "A great program for emailing clients and customers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is used within the sales department of our organization because we sell advertising space to clients, and that advertising space often comes in our e-newsletters. We send out e-newsletters every day, with my department in charge of: Financial Planning, On Wall Street, and Bank Investment Consultant. This program allows us to send these newsletters out on a set schedule, to specific email distributions, and allows us to customize the emails to the user who is receiving it. There is little room for error!
  • Sends client confirmations when they subscribe to a newsletter, sign up for a conference, or place an order with our company (SourceMedia). We don't have to hire an agency to send these for us.
  • Manages newsletter subscriptions and allows us to deploy on specific dates/times.
  • Helps us discover and manage the correct audience base per newsletter, and automates the distributions so we don't have to do it manually.
  • It would be nice if the interface was more user-friendly, it's simple to me because I've used the service for a while but it can sometimes take a while to train new employees.
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Suited is great for businesses who send a lot of emails out on a regular basis, who have to manage many different distributions or email subscriptions, and who are looking for help managing audiences and automating responses. It might be less suited for an organization that does not use email communication or who just sends out 1-2 emails per week.
Read Cassidy Ebert's full review
Gareth Beer profile photo
April 06, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "SFMC - the complete email marketing solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SFMC is being used by the digital team to manage our marketing communications. The application improves our ability to send targeted, regular communications to our consumers.
  • Predictive intelligence - SFMC provides excellent analysis and recommendations through its AI assistant Einstein. The recommendations will help drive improvements in our marketing communications
  • API connectivity - we have integrated a number of 3rd parties via the API suite which proved easy to implement
  • Journey builder - the process of creating targeted campaigns is easy using the SFMC journey builder. Both native and external data is available in the same interface
  • Reporting - the suite of reports available to the users is comprehensive and allows us to make data-driven decisions
  • Deliverability reports - before sending emails they are checked for known issues and deliverability performance. The SFMC offering is ok but could be better. There additional software that can be purchased which should be included as part of the offering
  • SF should make it easier to integrate other clouds i.e commerce cloud and service cloud. The implementation of commerce cloud has improved but I still feel there is a way to go
SFMC is suited to medium and large organisations who need to send large volumes of emails and or SMS. It works particularly well for us having multiple brands administered via the same system. This allows for cost and efficiency savings to be realised.
Read Gareth Beer's full review
Daniela Belevan profile photo
May 01, 2018

Review: "Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is GREAT if you send a lot of emails frequently!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is being used by the marketing department of our company. It helps create highly personalized emails with the easy tool of drag-and-drop. It helps address the problem of not having an organized system to send out emails to a large number of people. It keeps your email marketing campaigns organized which helps your whole team with productivity.
  • Easy to create email marketing campaigns. A lot of helpful tools and help if you get stuck somewhere along the way.
  • Integration with other programs, such as Salesforce CRM is phenomenal.
  • Easy to set up and track A/B campaign testings.
  • Extremely expensive. If you're a small business, forget about it, unless this is your ONLY option. There may be other great email marketing platforms out there that work just as well
  • A very long process to send out an email. Step by step...
  • Sometimes the platform is slow and buggy
It's well suited for a large company who sends a massive amount of emails to a LOT of people very frequently. If not, don't bother because it's very expensive. A small or micro business may not benefit from this platform due to the price. But if your company mainly focuses on email, then go for it.
Read Daniela Belevan's full review
No photo available
September 11, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Good For Group Organization"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used to for group collaboration and cross channel campaign tracking. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio helped our team stay on top of deadlines and track upcoming ad buy campaigns.
  • Organization
  • Tracking
  • User friendly
  • I have nothing negative to add.
Any team/company that works with a plethora of buys and has competing deadlines, would benefit from this program.

I would recommend this for teams of 5+ people.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 12, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Good if you can spend the time to get to know it"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is one of several email tools in use, and a couple of different marketing departments use it in different areas of the world. As you might expect, it's primarily used for marketing emails, usually blasts to existing customers and prospective customers, although it's sometimes used for transactional messages, too.
  • It's quite intuitive to use and I'd say it's pretty good as just about everything you might reasonably expect from an all-in-one email tool.
  • There's a lot of flexibility - perhaps too much in some areas, but nothing that some oversight can't contain.
  • The ExactTarget feature is apparently very good - I haven't used it enough to know its full capabilities, but I've heard a lot of good things about it.
  • Not a criticism of the tool itself, but it can be difficult getting everyone to use it in the same way, due to the flexibility offered. This is something for businesses to figure out and get alignment on.
  • I've not had to contact their support, but I've heard people aren't always impressed by the service received. Same with a lot of tools, unfortunately.
  • It is kind of expensive. There are surely cheaper ways to achieve what you need if you don't need anything too sophisticated.
It's good for any business that needs to send a high volume of email on a regular basis, particularly highly targeted campaigns. As I mentioned, it's not cheap and you're paying for a level of sophistication that might be more than you really need, so I recommend carefully weighing up how frequently you think you'll actually use some features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 13, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Salesforce - Mass campaigning and CRM tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We do not use Salesforce, but before deciding which CRM to go for, Salesforce was one of the major players in our choices. I, as an analyst had evaluated pros and cons of around 6 different CRM tools and presented them to top management and then we finalized on one. However, those were with respect to our company, what best suits for our needs.
  • Salesforce works well in different browsers
  • No. of apps available
  • Email campaigns feature is a plus
  • Installation seemed a hassle, it is handled by third party
  • Complexity of the CRM system, for our company size
  • And the price of the tool seemed high for our company
Marketing email campaigns are one of the good features of Salesforce. Will be useful for campaigns, to send a message to multiple customers at once, in a single click. However when the message that needs to be sent is customized for one user, and a mass email campaign doesn't work - then this is not a great feature.
Read this authenticated review
Gaurav Gautam profile photo
March 02, 2018

Review: "Reduce churn and improve conversions with Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio not only for designing email creatives and templates but also for personalizing, AB testing, Multi-variate testing and customizing onboarding experience for new and prospective customers. It has immensely helped us in improving efficiencies, decreasing CAC, reducing customer churn and improving conversion of visitors to customers and customers to our loyal customers base.
  • Ability to create powerful and feature-rich segments to personalize campaigns.
  • Easy to use tool for data operations as well as for creating email templates and creative.
  • Ability to leverage platform capabilities to do effective AB and multivariate testing.
  • Simplify the creation of multi-variate testing.
  • Simplify role management.
  • Data-driven email marketing for higher conversion and ROI
  • Personalization of email campaigns
  • Data management and usage from cloud ecosystems
  • Very simple UI to create AB tests and review results
Read Gaurav Gautam's full review
Bogdan Enache profile photo
October 16, 2017

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "SFMC has a Ferrari engine under the hood. Unleash the power via AMPScript and/or pair it with the Salesforce CRM to deliver awesomeness to your Marketing and Sales teams!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SFMC is used as the platform of choice for TELUS Business to:
- Build and deploy communications for Marketing and Sales online initiatives
- Automate various emails based processes
- Generate leads into the SFDC CRM via build and hosted web pages (with lead generating web forms).
- Synch, update and get updates with and from SFDC data (contacts, leads, cases, surveys, etc.)
  • Tight integration with SFDC - easy to create, update and retrieve records information from our CRM of choice (Salesforce).
  • Customization power - through the available AMPScript language you can really take the customization to the next level for all your data capturing, tagging and reporting needs.
  • Intuitive interface - it offers a good user experience for its users whether they are seasoned developers with direct access to code or less technical folks that prefer drag and drop or WYSIWYG editors.
  • (Lack of) Web Tracking - it offers minimal tracking capabilities for web visit(or)s and the ones that are in place don't provide an easy way to allow you to use that data in building reports or automation.
  • No Web Forms - if most of your marketing campaigns include a call to action pointing to a web form submission, the SFMC doesn't have a "web form asset" per se that you can build. You could still achieve the same functionality by deploying cloud pages and/or microsite AMPScript pages that use Data Extensions as tables to hold data but that doesn't come out of the box.
  • Customization brings Complexity - OK, maybe this is not a con but sometimes it feels like one. In order to build your own custom way of segmenting, importing, filtering data, having triggered sends, etc. you need to create a lot of assets on the platform. Think of it like small Lego bricks that you need to build first then combine them in a larger brick that is part of an even larger construction.
The Salesforce Marketing Cloud platform is well suited for companies looking to deploy and automate Marketing and Sales communications in general but where it shines is in the scenarios where you need a cross platform solution between the Sales and Marketing Clouds because your need involves either capturing data in the Salesforce CRM (email metrics, leads, etc.) or using some of the CRM data as part of the campaign itself (i.e. segment your audience, dynamic email content with CRM data fields or logic).

Its weak point is the web tracking capabilities if your web tracking needs go beyond displaying some charts of visits and visitors (aka use web metrics as part of your email automation, lead scoring, etc.)
Read Bogdan Enache's full review
Rose Grant profile photo
February 01, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Decent Product if you can afford it"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio for mostly promotional emails and our newsletters. All admins create their own emails so it's used across all departments. It helps our org create professional and sleek emails without having to waste too much time on templates and formatting. It also helps with campaign management, analytics, and tracking what gets attention in our emails.

  • Templates
  • E-commerce emails
  • Interface that's user friendly for admins
  • Cost ROI
  • Database not particularly admin friendly
  • Email lists not intuitive + we wished there were more options
It's great for organizations where admins want an easy way to create email campaigns. It saves time and gets results. It's also good for admins that don't like too many choices - this is maybe not for tech savvy users who want a ton of customization options. Some orgs would prefer only a handful of decent design and customization choices, which this is great for.
Read Rose Grant's full review
Sherice Dominguez profile photo
September 25, 2017

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio: "Review of Marketing Cloud Email Studio by SME"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is being used as an add-on with Marcomm Central. We used the Marketing Cloud to send emails and create templates on behalf of dealers. The dealers were able to select emails in Marcomm then send the email out to their perspective lists based on product-specific templates.
  • The email WYSIWYG is great. You can create custom templates for less experienced users to easily drag and drop images or text without the whole email breaking.
  • The integration with other systems is also something that has been beneficial. Salesforce in particular.
  • Dynamic content is super simple with the marketing cloud. You don't have to create any custom script or utilize another language to make this happen.
  • The speed of the system could definitely be improved. Lists could be loaded faster.
  • Also creating complex lists can be difficult. It really isn't a drag and drop type of functionality. Programming has to be used to get really complex.
  • You have to buy multiple tools for what other marketing automation platforms provide out of the box. You also have to move from one "studio" to another. It needs to be tied together more.
I do not like the whole Pardot and Marketing Cloud model. They need to combine the two tools. It's hard to jump from one to another when you need to create a journey. Again, one tool to do it all approach would make for a better customer experience. I hope they have that planned for the future of the Marketing Cloud.
Read Sherice Dominguez's full review
No photo available
February 19, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Salesforce Marketing Cloud is the Best Around if you can Afford it!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio was a product we consulted with and used for our university's marketing and communications department. We used it in the CRM department specifically to sent emails for a large graduate program we have in the college. This was able to solve issues we had with sending email broadcasts with upwards of half a million contacts or more.
  • Ability to send a large number of email broadcasts at one time
  • Ease of use in creating new email from templates or from scratch
  • Analytics on email campaigns were top notch
  • The simple but robust nature of it was very nice and something you don't see in a lot of software
  • The price of the platform was ultimately a sticking point
  • Charging per contact as well as other costs were a big downside
  • Some of the more detailed features were somewhat hard to find
It is well suited for smaller, non-profits if you are sending to a smaller pool of individuals. The ability to do different email campaigns based off of historic dates or campaigns was also very nice and well suited for these institutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2018

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Great Solution for Marketers in the Salesforce Ecosystem"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Salesforce marketing cloud for A/B test analysis and CRM enabled digital marketing. Marketing Cloud is a central component of our digital strategy since it contains email, social, triggered and drip marketing. If you are running on a salesforce platform then it is especially robust since it integrates well with the CRM.
  • Salesforce Marketing Cloud connects well with Salesforce Sales Cloud.
  • Journey Builder is incredibly robust and allows customized one to one email marketing.
  • Predictive content from the Einstein engine is extremely useful in customizing emails by segments.
  • Sluggish development of email basics. I feel that competitors are showing Salesforce Marketing Cloud up by having better templates. Content Builder is a move in the right direction.
  • Faster UI. I feel that the Marketing Cloud UI can be a bit dated and slow
  • Better inbox viewing and delivery testing.
Salesforce Marketing Cloud is good for professional, business, and enterprise users. I would not recommend Salesforce Marketing Cloud solely for email marketing - others do it just as well and for cheaper - however, if you work with the Salesforce ecosystem - Service Cloud, Sales Cloud, etc., - then Marketing Cloud is the obvious choice for the digital marketing.
Read this authenticated review
Abby Perfetti profile photo
August 04, 2017

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Salesforce doesn't work for small biz"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Salesforce Marketing Cloud for about six months when I worked for a popular county tourism agency. We had very high hopes for its email platform, but were disappointed. I used it to email our list of about 12,000 people twice a month (people across the country who signed up for our e-news), and another smaller email list once a month (locals in our industry). My team was under the impression that we could use all sorts of automation features, dynamic content, and other tools that would increase our capabilities and marketing effectiveness. Instead, we found that the interface was difficult to use and quite outdated for 2016. Every task took tons of research, even though our entire team was quite tech-savvy, and we were constantly paying more than we expected.
  • They make a good sales pitch.
  • I think for really large companies that sends huge emails every day to consumers, it could be more useful.
  • They have many types of products to offer.
  • The interface was really challenging to use because it was out of date and not user-friendly. It doesn't even compare to any of the other platforms I've used (MailChimp, Constant Contact, or Emma).
  • Emails did not look like they did in the editing phase, so things turned out unattractive and out of our control despite having a designer on our team with plenty of coding skills.
  • Dynamic content turned out to be way harder to set up than we were told, so we couldn't use it, and that was the main reason we signed up for the Marketing Cloud.
It is probably better suited for very large retail companies that send lots of emails daily, with dynamic content depending on data like what users have bought, what their interests are, etc. It is not a good fit for smaller companies. It's too expensive, the interface looks like it was designed in 2001, and the features are really challenging to use even for someone who uses new technologies all day.
Read Abby Perfetti's full review
Leigh Nolan profile photo
June 12, 2017

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Not even close..."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed an HIPAA-compliant platform for our company. Our only choices were Eloqua and Salesforce/Marketing Cloud. We use Marketing Cloud as our automated marketing platform, for marketing only.
  • Secure data
  • Bad User Experience. June 2017 and it reminds me of a Microsoft Wizard tool from the 90s. It's clear that the functionality is several different companies/platforms mashed together with very little thought to the end-user's day-to-day needs, or any concept of integrating the separate functions.
  • Expensive & difficult to set up. Do not think you can set this up yourself in a day and get marketing (unless you have dev/Salesforce admin training). This tool is overly-complicated.
  • Reporting needs to be configured. Don't think that your automated email programs will automatically report on key campaign KPIs for you or that Marketing Cloud will create a slick homepage dashboard. Nope. You need to pay someone to do that for you. Or spend a few hours in dev tools trying to build it yourself. Even then, it looks like I've traveled back in time to 2008.
  • Doesn't use HTML5. For some very stupid reason, someone thought it was a great idea to not use standard, internationally accepted code. Think that you'll be able to upload a CSS folder and all of your email templates will pull your email style? Think again. Unless you create locked templates, every time you add a CTA button, you'll have to re-select your brand colour from the default blue. Over and over.
  • Link tracking is dumb too. Again, someone really smart decided that instead of a normal tracking parameter, MarketingCloud will actually redirect/interupt your URL to track the click/conversion. So, device detection is gone. If your link is going to either open an app or open a web page - you'll need to turn OFF MarketingCloud tracking. (God I miss MailChimp)
  • How-tos are still outdated. Dev Tools & How-to demonstrations are outdated with old screenshots and some even use Exact Target wording. MarketingCloud wants you to spend money with their 3rd party partners in setting it up, so they don't make set-up easy.
  • Unsubscribe Default Page. Ready to laugh? Do you know that their default unsubscribe page still asks for your customers if they want to opt-in to HTML or text only? Like this is 2008 or something... Also, this page isn't really 'brandable'. You'll opt for the "BrandBuilder" option. That basically means that your logo appears on 2 pages. That's it. You can't update the fonts, upload a CSS file for styles... nothing like that. BrandBuilder means your logo will appear in the top left when you log in, and on your Subscription Preferences page that your customers see.
Unless you 100% need the top-of-the-line data security, don't opt for Marketing Cloud. They will tell you what it can do, but not how expensive (or how hard) it is to set it up perfectly.
Read Leigh Nolan's full review
Emmanuel Galván profile photo
July 21, 2017

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Far from best but not so bad once you get used to it"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Marketing Cloud is used across the whole organization. It is mainly used for email marketing purposes.
  • Creation of Data Extensions - for target lists.
  • It's easy to set up A/B Testing campaigns.
  • The mobile app is not bad.
  • Very poor analytics for tracking email campaign performance.
  • The platform is not intuitive at all and requires a lot of work to maintain.
  • It can be very slow sometimes.
If you're a very large organization with a very big team, a very big budget and you're already dependent on other Salesforce products then Salesforce Marketing might be the best choice. If that isn't the case, then you'll be better off using a different platform.
Read Emmanuel Galván's full review
No photo available
July 20, 2017

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "A pretty solid email marketing platform"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used by the marketing department, sometimes also by the sales department. The business problems it addresses include lead nurturing, lead generation, customer communication, maintaining customer relationships, as well as company branding. In the marketing department, we use it to send out weekly digests. In the sales department, it is used to send out events specifics or sales specific campaigns.
  • It has email campaign tracking functions, so you can track the recipients, the links clicked, and those who clicked etc.
  • It has a subscribers importing function, as well as subscription integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM.
  • It has different content creation tools helping users to put together an email layout or template.
  • It is in general not so intuitive, probably the least intuitive email marketing platform I have used.
  • It only allows users to edit the code in some places and not the other, it would be nice to have the possibility to edit in all places for best customization.
  • I have quite a lot of doubts with the accuracy of the data in the emails send report tracking.
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio is well suited if your organization or department is willing to invest money and resources on customization and getting a well-rounded package with dedicated support staff. It is less appropriate if your company is not willing to spend much on an email marketing platform because then you will only get very little value out of the investment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 25, 2017

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Salesforce Email is a great tool if you're already deep in the Salesforce ecosystem."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire company uses Salesforce in some capacity, however the Marketing Cloud is used exclusively by our marketing department. The Marketing Cloud helps us coordinate our marketing effort with all the other aspects of our business to make sure we are on the same page, and making full use of BI from other departments.
  • Integration with other aspects of Salesforce.
  • Integration with our website.
  • Intuitive layout.
  • Salesforce could do a better job training you on all the features that are available.
  • The permissions functions can be hard to update.
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email is well suited if you already use Salesforce for other aspects of your business and are looking to dive deeper with that. I would not recommend it to someone looking for a relatively simple out of the box solution, or someone who isn't already working with Salesforce in some other capacity.
Read this authenticated review
Danny (Danny Blaq) Tran profile photo
July 07, 2015

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Top of the Class in terms of flexibilty, scalabilty and freedom from a developer perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Salesforce Markting Cloud across all of our businesses and we have implemented it across all of our outbound messaging / marketing efforts.
  • It is very scalable from a developer's view. The proprietary AMPscripting is very powerful in allowing developers to leverage most of platform programmatically which most providers are lacking. I believe that is the one key component making the Salesforce Marketing Cloud superior to others.
  • Data Segmentation via SQL. Most applications I have seen require you to use their interface to build your queries within the GUI. However, SF MC allows you to leverage SQL to access pretty much all of the Data points via Data Extensions and Data Views. Data Extensions are equivalent to database tables that the user can control and the "Data Views" are system databases that contain all of the Salesforce behavioral data such as bounces, send, clicks, opens, etc. You can write powerful queries that can leverage all of them to segment in real time if you want.
  • Powerful API. We are leveraging their API to hook in several of our company systems to process triggers, imports and other applications. There is a lot of flexibility in terms of how you would create different applications depending on what outcome you are looking for.
  • Templates are great as you can leverage regular HTML and AMPscript to create complex solution as I have done. I built a template system that allows to be used across 40+ different newsletters using only 1 master template that will conform according to the "newsletter type" and populate all of it components that a non-tech users selects. The data is also being called in via AMPScript. There are a lot of options.
  • Microsites which can be used for many things. I built a content generator that leverages many of the Salesforce MC components. The tool allows editor to enter newsletter data, manipulate, preview and submit which will then will be processed to output the final rendered email for deployment. It allows the use of many scripting language like JS, Jquery, AJAX, etc.
  • Customer Service. It took quite some time to find a support "partner". Overall Salesforce account management and service is not the greatest. Not sure if it is due to their rapid growth or sheer arrogance. I now have found someone that is great from a support level but it took about 2 years and during that time we had many "hard meetings" to address our issues.
  • When using SQL one of the pain points is that you have to output everything into a Data Extension which has to be built before you can run the queries, you can't connect a 3rd party tool like Navicat, RazorSQL to get outputs while you are writing queries. So it can be a daunting task especially when you are building complex campaigns and need to see results immediately.
  • Copying certain components like Data Extensions. Sometimes you may want to repurpose data but you can't just copy a data extension, you have to build it again. You can copy structure but not data, and there is no tool for it. The same for business units, we use a production and testing business unit. We build applications in the testing bu but then have to manually recreate everything in production.
I believe this is a very solid solution for email marketing. It is a very powerful platform and ExactTarget has been very diligent in improving the platform. One of the lacking features is the social sharing and Forward to a Friend which we are currently addressing with them and pushing to do a better job. I think they are doing their best to stay on the forefront and in my opinion are the top of their class right now. I came from using Epsilon DREAMmail which was a very hard platform that was not scalable and everything was very difficult in accomplishing, most of the time it requires Epsilon to do the work which you have to pay a pretty penny for.

I have [sent] RFPs to several platforms and for my company this was the best in that it has the flexibility for engineers and developers to build out many of the custom initiatives. I understand that marketers want to be able to build campaigns without a tech resource but quite frankly I find it very hard if you really want to be effective. In the email marketing space you need to be innovative and out-of-the-box solutions are limited.
Read Danny (Danny Blaq) Tran's full review
Brian Woodlief profile photo
September 04, 2015

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Review: "Salesforce Marketing Cloud - a solid contender for email marketing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce (ExactTarget) Marketing Cloud Email is currently our email platform for our entire marketing team. We use it for both email and for some specialty/campaign web pages, as well as their web forms. When we were initially looking at Salesforce, we were trying to find a less expensive alternative to HubSpot. Salesforce fit the bill offering a robust set of tools that allows us to do most everything we were enjoying in HubSpot, but with a much reduced cost.
  • Salesforce Marketing Cloud has a powerful, yet easy-to-use set of tools for creating emails, sending emails, and organizing our email campaigns.
  • The Subscriber List tools are also very good. Segmenting lists, creating groups, and managing our house email lists has been very easy.
  • Tools for creating marketing/campaign web pages is not as strong of a core feature of the platform, but there is plenty that you can do with them, including embedding Salesforce Marketing Cloud html forms for data-collection.
  • The biggest initial complaint I would have with the email platform is the distributed IP send servers Salesforce Marketing Cloud uses for sending emails out. The first several email campaigns we launched from from the platform had a significant lag in end-user receipt (up to 2-3 days, in some cases) while various email clients were slowly white-listing the IP addresses that Salesforce sends from.
  • Also, the training we received (by Salesforce trainers/reps) to get up-and-running on the platform was extremely fast-paced and not nearly comprehensive enough to effectively begin using the tools.
  • There were also problems with the set-up process... there were tools that should have come with our installation/account that were not turned on until weeks after using the tools and uncovering the omissions. In my opinion, this was one of the worst Customer Service points, for us.
If you are looking for a low cost solution that doesn't sacrifice in tool set/ability, then Salesforce Marketing Cloud has a lot to offer. If you require integration (API's) with other standalone apps, you will probably NOT find those, here. Also the admin is often confusing and could really stand to be cleaned up/streamlined. But, the core features of the platform, particularly the email/lists tools, perform well, once you are acclimated to them.
Read Brian Woodlief's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (2)
7.0
Dynamic content (26)
7.6
Ability to test dynamic content (2)
5.3
Landing pages (2)
4.1
A/B testing (25)
7.9
Mobile optimization (2)
7.3
Email deliverability (3)
8.0
List management (3)
7.5
Triggered drip sequences (3)
6.7
Dashboards (2)
5.3
Standard reports (3)
4.9
Custom reports (2)
2.7

About Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email is an email marketing platform. It used to be called ExactTarget and was rebranded after its acquisition by Salesforce.

This email marketing platform allows companies to build relationships with their clients with speed, precision, and flexibility. This solution enables the creation of tailored and relevant content in any language. With the drag-and-drop tools, you can create an email in minutes and send real time transactional emails such as cart abandonment and shipping confirmations. Additional key features include A/B Testing Tools, Real Time Tracking and Graphical Reporting.

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Does not have featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Does not have featureAbility to test dynamic content
Does not have featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Does not have featureMobile optimization
Does not have featureEmail deliverability
Does not have featureList management
Does not have featureTriggered drip sequences
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Additional Features
Has featureDeliverability Tools
Has featureEmail Tracking and Reporting
Has featurePlaybooks
Has featureAdvanced Content Management
Has featureDrag-and-Drop Segmentation
Has featureTriggered Messages
Has featureAutomation Solutions
Has featureDistributed Sending

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Screenshots

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Integrations

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

To learn more about products and pricing, please visit http://www.exacttarget.com/pricing.

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish