ScienceLogic SL1 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
218 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 111)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 02, 2021
John &quot;Frotz&quot; Fa'atuai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • This question is ambiguous. As stated, it suggests that Cisco IT might have found an unexpected or innovative way which ScienceLogic (the platform) is used which surprises Cisco IT. The reality is that Cisco IT is driving how ScienceLogic is used and we are surprising ScienceLogic (the company) with our scale and Enterprise Use Case specifications and articulations. The remainder of the questions will answer from a company perspective, not a product perspective.
  • #multitenancy - Enterprise Use Case wants to share many data elements in a read-only way to the IT world. As originally deployed, 8.3 > 8.11 suffers from Managed Service Provider Use Case where Organizations are expected to be 100% independent from each other with no read rights and no world implications. 8.12 delivers our first glimpse of how Cisco IT will allow a more seamless Enterprise Use Case experience by allowing configuration of a WORLD rights permission that grants read (but not write; as is the case in 8.9 and prior) permissions to device configuration and performance data.
  • We have 467 Organizations with some 2200 users. Many in multiple organizations.
  • IT Services have been how we folded our host clusters onto Science Logic stacks. We've been involved in early discussions about Device Services and Business Services and as those become tangible in the platform we will provide our feedback based on issues we find due to our scale.
  • Given 467 Organizations and some 2200 Users, we found that pre-generating Critical Ping Failure and Availability runbook automations and actions and external contacts so that all of our teams had a starting point in the platform was a surprise to use as a mechanism whereby we provide base training to our end-users in the RBA space. Our statement is these are yours. Play with them. Learn from them. Delete them if you need clean copies and we will regenerate those for you.
  • Our use of ServiceNow as our upstream CMDB with monitoring configuration paint being applied downstream has been a great boon to us. This allows our operations teams to force a repaint to clean up problem configurations without concern to multi-master issues. We consistently find that SyncServer and Integration Server use cases are inverted for us in that ScienceLogic pushes to ServiceNow and a hand-wave on whether or not ServiceNow does its own discovery (thereby creating a multi-master problem).
Read John "Frotz" Fa'atuai's full review
March 02, 2021
Matthew Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • A vendor did not have a supported remote reporting object for a specific scenario in their network setups, so we wrote a collection application that utilizes SSH connections and regex processing to provide extremely detailed and accurate monitoring and alerting of network status for hundreds of sites.
  • Creating customer copies of specific events with filtering allowed us to provide alerting capabilities for proprietary customer applications.
  • We use automations for ticketing creation and resolution in an external system.
  • We use the monitoring data for resizing AWS resources to optimize costs.
Read Matthew Carter's full review
March 02, 2021
Rob Duram | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Business services - we are just starting to use the business services section, but the idea of transitioning from a device monitoring paradigm to a service monitoring paradigm sites right where we need it as a managed service provider. Our customers don't usually care too much about specific monitored events in one particular room as those are remediated locally and with our help desk support, which they are generally pleased with. What they really want is to have metrics that comprise 'services' and to see how that service is doing on a monthly basis. We are looking into the SL1 business services feature to do just that.
  • DCM - the device component mapping function in SL1 is really neat and compelling for most customers. I have not seen this type of breakdown of nested or component devices to describe a room or conglomerate system in any other apps.
Read Rob Duram's full review
March 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Leveraged ScienceLogic to alert us before something happens
  • Used ScienceLogic for login failure
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Used for a proactive monitoring system.
  • Used for network troubleshooting automation.
  • Used to build a network path automation.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Highly customized integration with our ITSM platform
  • Integration with 3rd party products
  • Offering customer-facing services through ITSM solutions bonding
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Monitoring using old approaches like WMI for servers
  • SL discovered inventory as the base cmbd
  • Quick infra availability check using instant ping
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Start simple automation through e-mail receiving in the tool
  • Use the reports to analyse cloud environments
  • Use the component device topology for a visual view of some environments
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • We do syslog filtering with LayerX and feed the alerts in ScienceLogic SL1 for eventing.
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Using the vcenter PowerPack, we are taking events generated from vcenter and having them as emailed alerts, such as when vcenter begins to become unhealthy.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Monitor non-traditional devices (satellites)
  • Develop business area for sales opportunities
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2020
Scott Landrum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Unfortunately, due to the nature of the business model we are operating under, innovation has not been a priority. That is changing.
  • One of the areas of innovation which we want to pursue is integrating with Splunk to provide data to Splunk for analysis as well as a single pane of glass approach to user access to Splunk through the ScienceLogic SL1 UI
  • Using the ability to add custom fields to help identify devices that are not represented in the CMDB and close the gap on the completeness of the CMDB
Read Scott Landrum's full review
May 01, 2020
Brian Vinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • Dig into devices with troubleshooting toolbox to find different elements we want to monitor.
  • Ability to test and troubleshooting a large number of issues without having to log into the SL1 console itself
  • SL1 becoming the central go-to source of information for our CMDB due to the level of information it can pull about a device.
Read Brian Vinson's full review
April 21, 2020
Andy Winters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • We were able to write customer monitors to watch all sides of our business including our domain registrations.
  • We have dashboards that break out groups and their devices allowing them to see when something is going on in real-time. This has allowed us to stop fighting fires and be more proactive.
Read Andy Winters's full review
April 21, 2020
Robert Gruener | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • The monitoring of Linux hosts and Docker using SSH.
  • Driving customer focussed notification processes using a rules engine.
  • Dramatically reducing notifications by grouping events and controlling flapping
  • Enriching event handling using automations
Read Robert Gruener's full review
April 21, 2020
Nicolai Sally | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Innovative Uses

  • The integration to ServiceNow was a giant leap but this could be improved.
  • CMDB proxy within SL1 for consolidation between Customer CMDB and our Supplier CMDB.
Read Nicolai Sally's full review

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

The ScienceLogic SL1 platform aims to enable companies to digitally transform themselves by removing the difficulty of managing complex, distributed IT services. SL1 uses patented discovery techniques to find everything in a network, so users get visibility across all technologies and vendors running anywhere in data centers or clouds. The vendor states the advantage of SL1 is that it collects and analyzes millions of data points across an IT universe (made up of infrastructure, network, applications, and business services), to help users make sense of it all, share data, and automate IT processes.


With SL1, the user can:

  • See everything across cloud and distributed architectures. Discover all IT components—–across physical, virtual, and cloud. Collect, merge, and store a variety of data in a clean, normalized data lake.
  • Contextualize data through relationship mapping and machine learning (ML) for actionable insights. Use this context to understand the impact of infrastructure and applications on business service health and risk, accelerate root cause analysis, and execute recommended actions.
  • Act on data that is shared across technologies and IT ecosystem in real time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate workflows at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic SL1 Screenshots

ScienceLogic SL1 Videos (5)

Watch Eliminate Visibility Gaps While Driving Tool Consolidation

Watch Diagnose and Resolve Service Impacting Issues with Behavioral Correlation

Watch Automate Troubleshooting for Faster Root Cause Analysis

Watch Achieve CMDB Accuracy With Real-time Synchronization of Monitored Environment

Watch Understand Infrastructure Impact on Apps with AppDynamics

ScienceLogic SL1 Downloadables

ScienceLogic SL1 Integrations

Kubernetes, Cisco HyperFlex, Nimble, Hyper-V, MySQL, Dynatrace, New Relic, Cloud -AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, IBM Cloud, Aliyun, CloudStack, OpenStack, etc., Cloud Services – Amazon EKS, ECS, Fargate; Azure AKS; etc., Containers – Docker, etc., Software-defined Networks/WAN – Cisco, VMware, etc., Network - Cisco, F5, Juniper, Meraki, Riverbed, Aruba, Avaya, Fortinet, HP, etc., Storage - Dell EMC, NetApp, HPE, Hitachi, Nutanix, Pure Storage, etc., Hypervisors – VMware, Xen, KVM, etc., Operating Systems - Unix, Windows, Linux, Business Applications, Databases - Microsoft, SAP, Office 365, MS SQL Server, Oracle, IBM DB2, etc., APM - AppDynamics, etc., etc., Storage - Dell EMC, NetApp, Pure, HP/Nimble, etc., Cloud -AWS, Azure, Google, IBM, Aliyun, Openstack, etc., Applications -Microsoft, SAP, etc., Compute -VMWare, Microsoft Hyper-V, KVM, Linux, Unix, Converged -Nutanix, Unified Communications and video - Cisco, Polycom, Tandberg

ScienceLogic SL1 Competitors

LogicMonitor, Datadog, Moogsoft, OpsRamp, Dynatrace, SolarWinds, BMC, Broadcom CA, IBM, MicroFocus/HP, ServiceNow ITOM, Splunk ITOM, Zenoss

ScienceLogic SL1 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SL1 Premium – AI/ML-driven Analytics, Low-Code Automated Workflow Authoring$0
SL1 Base – Infrastructure Monitoring, Topology & Event Correlation$0
SL1 Advanced – Application Health, Automated Troubleshooting and Remediation Workflows$0
SL1 Standard – Infrastructure Monitoring – with Agents, Business Services, Incident Automation, CMDB Synchronization, Behavioral Correlation$0

ScienceLogic SL1 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
0%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
100%

ScienceLogic SL1 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Success Managers
Online Training / eLearning

ScienceLogic SL1 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC
Supported Languages: English