Visual Website Optimizer Reviews

Visual Website Optimizer27 (27)
8.1 of 0 - 10

Review Details

Author Details

Reviews (1-10 of 19)

Visual Website Optimizer
October 30, 2015
No photo available
Technician in Marketing |
Marketing and Advertising | 11-50 employees

8 of 0 - 10  |  10/30/2015
Visual Website Optimizer was used for our own websites as well as client's websites in order to best optimize them for that specific audience. Since each website's audience is different, it requires a different website as well. And the only way to get to the results that work is to A/B split test your website over and over again till you find the right results.
A/B Split Testing

Speed of Implementation

A lot of options to use

Sometimes their JavaScript code interferes with other JavaScript code

Their JavaScript sometimes doesn't load up in time and thus misses to show the experiment

They offer a free trial so the best way to tell if it will work for you and your organization is to try their free trial.  There are other alternatives such as Optimizely which work just as well, sometimes even better in some areas, and they are worth a shot too. They all offer free trial which is perfect to see if it will work for you and your website.
Visual Website Optimizer
September 30, 2015
No photo available
Analyst in Marketing |
Online Media | 51-200 employees

9 of 0 - 10  |  9/30/2015
We currently use VWO in our Marketing department and it helps us to conduct A/B testing without too much effort. It's easy to implement and set up, and testing itself is also not hard. The editor to edit  and adjust the css/html is easy to use. You can set up quickly different kind of tests.
Easy to implement

Asynchronous code which loads fast

Setting up tests is easy

More reporting funciontalities
It works well for a large site, with a lot of dynamic content. VWO only adjusts the css, so the content stays dynamic.
Visual Website Optimizer
April 8, 2015
Interactive Marketing Director |
Financial Services | 51-200 employees

9 of 0 - 10  |  4/8/2015
We use Visual Website Optimizer (VWO) to run tests on our lead gen sites in order to improve conversion rates. The Marketing Department identifies pages that we would like to improve and then we set up A/B split tests to test enhancements to these pages.  
Once it's set up, one of the best features of VWO is that the WYSIWYG editor allows us to make comprehensive revisions to the layout, images and content without needing to get designers or IT involved. Of course, we use these resources on the more important tests, but this flexibility makes the testing process much smoother.

I think that the heatmaps/clickmaps are a very cool feature. VWO gives us the option of collecting clickmap data with every test that that we run. This data is fantastic to have as it shows us what elements on the page are getting the most attention from visitors. We can then adjust these elements in future tests to draw more or less attention, as needed.

Not only does VWO support A/B split tests, multivariate tests and split URL tests, but it also lets us segment the traffic that sees a test by different criteria such as geo location and traffic source. Also, when running tests concurrently, we can prevent visitors that see one test from seeing another. This is a great feature because it allows us to speed up our testing process without skewing results with "cross-over" visits.

The revenue tracking feature is not one that we currently use since our sites are built for lead generation. But I've used this feature with e-commerce sites before and it is very helpful to see the impact on revenue in addition to the impact on conversion rates, especially when your products or services have different price points.

VWO support is outstanding. They have always responded to my questions and requests quickly, and have assisting in helping us solve complicated technical issues.

I really don't have anything bad to say about VWO. If I nit pick, I would say that I'd like to see graphs displayed in the dashboard so that we can get a snapshot view of our tests without having to click into the test details.

I also wish that it would save a snapshot of the test variations instead of pulling them live. After a test has run its course, we sometimes update the page and, in doing so, we lose an example of what the original variation looked like. I capture screenshots before updating the pages, but it would be great if VWO did this for me.

VWO requires very minimal coding to set up. Typically, the set up can be handled by someone who is proficient in HTML without needing to get the IT team involved. Since VWO allows you to do things like drag and drop page elements in its WYSIWYG editor, switch out images and content easily, a marketer with a good eye can make many of these changes with limited resources. 
Visual Website Optimizer
April 8, 2015
Director Of User Experience |
Internet | 11-50 employees

8 of 0 - 10  |  4/8/2015
Trinity Insight uses VWO to implement and conduct A/B/n and Multivariate tests, heat maps and click maps, and geo-targeting initiatives. VWO is utilized by our Engineering Dept. and allows us to help our clients test and target pain points of their website's goal funnels to collect data that will assist them in making more informed decisions about the evolution of their business.
Great UI and features available for beginners or advanced developers.

Excellent support with great response time.

Created by a company that is very forward thinking.

Complete integration with Universal Analytics.
Heat maps are sometimes challenging as you cannot use a regular expression to collect heat map data across multiple pages. You're only allowed 1 page at a time.
Visual Website Optimizer
February 11, 2015
Multimedia Specialist |
Consumer Goods | 11-50 employees

7 of 0 - 10  |  2/11/2015
Currently we use VWO to conduct AB Tests on our site. I am running AB tests part time and conduct meetings with the owners of the company on a weekly basis to discuss results and future tests. AB Testing has allowed us to confidently make changes to our website and increase the quality of usability with our visitors.   
Easy to use and set up goals

Only one tracking code needs to be installed

Will alert you when a metric has reached statistical significance

The editor seems finicky at times, some elements need to be coded in the variation to work properly

I rarely get a correct preview of my variation, I have to view it in the editor to see it

After a test is completed and stopped, some of the data may be lost, I have noticed days missing from several reports, so always document results outside of VWO

When choosing a testing platform, it is important to know what kind of tests you want to run and the level of difficulty there is to run them. Also you will want to know if you will be assigned a dedicated tech for support and how long it takes to receive a reply.  
Visual Website Optimizer
December 30, 2014
SEM Consultant |
Marketing and Advertising | 11-50 employees

10 of 0 - 10  |  12/30/2014
I use Visual Website Optimizer to increase traffic, sales and leads for our clients, as well as our own website. It allowed us to easily test hypothesis and share these with clients. The graphic representation makes it easy for clients to buy into our ideas. If we disagree, we put it to the test. I prefer Visual Website Optimizer over other tools, because of: 1) ease of use, 2) flexible editing tool, without the need for coding, and 3) flexible and customizable tracking methods.
Rules based, allowing advanced segmentation

Very easy to create new tests, or modify testing content

Very flexible in ways to conduct and measure your test

Push notifications to mobile devices

Tie-in business results with back office (e.g. uplift on revenue, conversion attribution for long sales channels, etc.)

The vendor is quick to respond and provide custom solutions. Feel free to ask them if you need more info!
Visual Website Optimizer
December 18, 2014
Founder |
Internet | 1-10 employees

10 of 0 - 10  |  12/18/2014
Using VWO has been of great benefit to both Lone Goat and our clients. We've helped clients smash through a series of conversion 'road blocks' leading to increased KPIs. The immense flexibility of VWO and the support of their team have made all this possible.
It's a very simple system to use with some very advanced/flexible features.

The support team is very knowledgeable and on-hand to provide assistance when required.

The pricing plans are very generous as well as flexible if required.

Some of the advanced functions that really help to make this a great product are sometimes hidden and you may not know of their existence until after speaking with support.
They can cater for any budget and the help section is very informative. The WYSIWYG function is great for beginners with HTML, JavaScript and CSS editing available for the more advanced users.
Visual Website Optimizer
June 10, 2014
No photo available
Manager in Product Management |
Consumer Goods | 51-200 employees

8 of 0 - 10  |  6/10/2014
Visual Website Optimizer is being used by both our product management and marketing department. Both departments are using it for iterative micro-optimization of public pages (homepage and landing pages) for lead generation. There are future projects that will also test using VWO on our member pages to optimize the purchase flow.
The test setup interface is VERY user friendly which makes setting up tests and teaching others how to set up tests quick and easy.

The test results are easy to understand and the cumulative conversion chart helps with determining when data has normalized.

The test duration calculator has been very helpful in test planning and expectation setting. Sometimes getting a significant result takes longer than we would hope and the test duration calculator helps validate that.

POST-SEGMENTATION would be so helpful. If there was a way to segment the data after the fact in order to look at segments with significant change rather than flat results, our organization would get many more learnings out of out tests.

As a frequent A/B tester I know that running a test for 1 day usually isn't going to have confidence and that every day of the week will probably show a different result. So having a test display 99% confidence after 1 day is a bit annoying, since it's too early to tell.

Well Suited for: Images Swaps  Text Changes Public Pages Unsegmented pages Simple pages Less Appropriate: Member pages (preview doesn't work if it's a "logged in" page) Rearranging elements of the page with sliders Segmented pages Elements with dynamically populated product. Elements with hover states
Visual Website Optimizer
June 10, 2014
No photo available
Professional in Information Technology |
Information Technology and Services | 1-10 employees

10 of 0 - 10  |  6/10/2014
Currently VWO is being used on a case by case basis. 
Its very easy to use.

It was quick to get up and running.

It gave a winner very quickly!

There's a new version enroute, but I'm yet to receive access, even though I've been requesting it online and spoken to a VWO representative.

It looks likes the new version will address this, but currently it feels like there's alot of detail/advanced features that could be hidden.

The language on the old version of the site is sometimes not that clear.

It seems like this would work well in all situations, based on my limited experience.
Visual Website Optimizer
June 10, 2014
No photo available
Manager in Marketing |
Broadcast Media | 10,001+ employees

8 of 0 - 10  |  6/10/2014
We used Visual Website Optimizer only in the Web team. We performed regular website optimization, that is to say, we attempted to increase our conversions for specific, predetermined website goals.
Very easy to implement

Very simple and intuitive to use

Very inexpensive compared to other tools.

VWO fails in allowing complex functionality, such as customer segmentation. It does allow you to target specific segments based on cookies, but these filters must be added to individual tests and can not be stored as universal variables. You must create cookies that contain individual customer attributes, or use the generic, predefined attributes such as geolocation, browser type, time of day, day of week, etc....

Reporting is not as thorough as it seems to be in some other tools.

I think it is best for organizations just starting out on optimization. It is so simple to use, easy to implement, and inexpensive. The other, more expensive tools such as Maxymiser and Monetate, would likely be too complex for fledgling optimization practices. Cut your teeth and figure out your processes first on VWO, then you can always move to the more expensive tools later when you've honed your team and process.

Visual Website Optimizer Rating Summary

Overall Rating (27)
Usability (1)
Availability (2)
Support (3)

Visual Website Optimizer Description

Visual Website Optimizer is an A/B testing tool that allows marketing professionals to create different versions of their websites and landing pages using a point-and-click editor, with no HTML knowledge required. Users can then see which version produces maximum conversion rate or sales. Integrating our split testing software is striaghtforward: copy-paste a code snippet in your website once.

Visual Website Optimizer is also a multivariate testing software (full factorial methodology) and has a number of additional tools like behavioral targeting, heatmaps, usability testing, etc. 

Visual Website Optimizer Features

Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureMultivariate Testing
Has featureGeo Behavioral Targeting
Has featureComprehensive Reporting
Has featureRevenue Tracking
Has featureIntegrated Heatmaps and Clickmaps
Has featureVisual Editor (WYSIWYG)
Has featureAdvanced jQuery based API
Has featureEnterprise Level Security
Has featureTesting for Mobile and Tablet Websites
Has featureMultiple Targeting and Segmentation Conditions
Has featureCross-Browser Previews
Has featureiOS App Testing

Visual Website Optimizer Screenshots

Visual Website Optimizer Integrations

Visual Website Optimizer Competitors

Adobe Target, Optimizely, AB Tasty, Marketizator, Frosmo,, Adobe Test & Target


Free Trial Available? Yes
Free or Freemium Version Available? No
Premium Consulting/Integration Services Available?  No
Entry-level set up fee? No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Small Business (10,000 monthly visitors, unlimited tests)$49per Month (billed annually)
Small Agency (30,000 monthly visitors, unlimited tests)$129per Month (billed annually)
Large Agency (100,000 monthly visitors, unlimited tests)$249per Month (billed annually)
Enterprise (200,000 monthly visitors, unlimited tests)$500per Month (billed annually)
Enterprise (300,000 monthly visitors, unlimited tests)$729per Month (billed annually)

Visual Website Optimizer Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version

Visual Website Optimizer Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Mobile Application:No
Excerpt from TrustRadius Buyer's Guide to A/B Testing Software

Visual Website Optimizer Profile

Visual Website Optimizer is an A/B testing and website optimization tool from the company Wingify. The company was founded in 2009 and is based in New Delhi, India. In May 2014, the tool was updated with a new user interface and additional features.

*Interview with Paras Chopra, Founder and CEO
Company status Private
2013 revenue $7 million*
Growth 2012-2013 N/A
Customers 3,700*
Employees 56*
Pricing Self-serve starts at $49 per month; Enterprise starts at $499 per month**

Aggregate User Ratings of Visual Website Optimizer on TrustRadius

Source: (18) User reviews of Visual Website Optimizer on TrustRadius
Rating Attribute Visual Website Optimizer # of Reviewers Contributing to Rating Average A/B Testing Category Average
Likelihood to recommend 8.7 18 8.4
Likelihood to renew 8.2 18 8
Product usability 8 1 7.4
Support 8.5 2 9
Implementation satisfaction 10 1 8.9

Summary of Visual Website Optimizer Reviews

Source: (18) User reviews of Visual Website Optimizer on TrustRadius
Visual Website Optimizer Strengths Visual Website Optimizer Areas for Improvement
Ease of use
All reviewers mention the user interface and ease of use. It's easy to implement the tool, set up tests, use the WYSIWYG editor, and understand results.
Customer segmentation
Some users would like to see more advanced visitor segmentation options, as well as the ability to do post-test segmentation. One user says advanced segmentation is possible through JavaScript and cookies.
Note: the company launched a new interface in June 2014, which allows for post-test segmentation and may address this area for improvement.
Customer support
Users say VWO's customer support team is quick to respond and helpful.
Though the tool provides excellent high-level reporting, some users say they would like to see more in-depth or more detailed reporting options.
Users say VWO is available at a reasonable cost and provides good ROI.
Advanced level
Users are divided on how advanced the tool is. Some say it allows for advanced segmentation and provides useful additional features such as heatmaps, revenue tracking and split url testing. Others say that it's a tool best suited for testing and optimization novices, especially since it does not allow for after-the-fact segmentation of visitors in the analysis of tests.

Interview with Paras Chopra, Founder and CEO

Photo of Paras Chopra, Founder and CEOPositioning
Paras Chopra, Founder and CEO at Wingify, says Visual Website Optimizer is targeted at enabling marketers to run optimization programs with minimal IT involvement. “With most testing tools five years ago, it was your responsibility to code and upload to your server the different versions of your webpages,” he says. “This was a barrier to marketers who would have to go to their IT department and ask them to code up a new version in order to implement an A/B test.”

With VWO, companies need to include a snippet of code on their website only once, and the tool allows marketers to use a drag and drop interface to create different versions of their website to test, he says.

Competitive Differentiation
Some other vendors now have the same pitch of allowing marketers to A/B test without depending on IT, Chopra says. However, VWO is broader and faster, he says. “We provide a broader set of methodologies in the entire area of optimization,” he says. “We have four different sections of tools that encompass the entire web optimization workflow. It's not just a box of tools. We reinforce a workflow that aligns with optimization methodologies, starting with usability and user research.”

The four toolsets include user surveys, an IdeaFactory with more than 300 ideas and case studies for website improvements, A/B and multivariate testing, and ad-hoc segmentation of visitors in reporting. The tool also provides heatmaps showing click activity on a webpage, which can help users understand visitor behavior and come up with ideas to test. There's also a personalization option with 15 geolocation and behavioral variables, based on which users can target different offers and content to different visitor segments.

VWO also integrates with all major content management systems, and most major web analytics tools.

Target Customers
The bulk of customers are in the SMB market, but the company has also acquired some enterprise customers, such as Microsoft, Rackspace, GE and Disney, Chopra says.

Response to Feedback from Visual Website Optimizer Reviews
“We just had a new release with more emphasis on visualizations, with new chart types, a timeline of events, segmentation, and other new features,” Chopra says. “The new version allows for advanced and post-test segmentation, and the reporting has been improved significantly. It also runs very fast.”

The new version also introduces zero-coding A/B testing for iOS apps, he says.

See TrustRadius Buyer's Guide to A/B Testing Software or download in pdf to continue your research offline.

Using Visual Website Optimizer for Landing Pages

Testing, optimizing and measuring the performance of your landing pages - how well they generate leads or convert visitors - needs to be clear, concise and actionable. There are many tools on the market that can do the job, but there are many more specific use cases that can make picking the best software a tough decision. Visual Website Optimizer is a very popular web optimization tool, but how good is VWO as a tool to test and optimize landing pages? Users on TrustRadius had a lot to say in their Visual Website Optimizer reviews.