Canto Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
36 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Tara Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Newly adopted. Chose against Photoshelter for UX, Easy search, Visual Library.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have years of photos from the field of our nonprofit work that have never been organized properly, so we were in need of a photo management solution to better organize and locate the assets we have.

We're currently in the process of implementing it, and hope it will save our team lots of time in the future as we grow and scale. It will be used across the whole organization, but mainly across marketing/creative/fundraising functions.
  • It has an easy UX and search capabilities
  • The visual library is so easy to navigate, and has a better visual experience than most competitors
  • It feels simplistic once you're trained and get the hang of it
  • The albums/folders are a little confusing, but their team is helpful in assisting
  • The entire application does not feel like it's built for retina Mac screens. Most buttons/features appear slightly pixelated on my Mac, and it feels like they haven't adapted it to be high-resolution for Mac retina screens.
  • I would love to see how they're constantly evolving and improving (not sure if they are)
It's great for small organizations who aren't looking for a super complicated system—but would like complex features as their org scales in the future. This is the best of both worlds with simplicity and high-powered tagging/metadata features.

Overall, the search functions and visual library sold me. Great for a staff that isn't the most tech-savvy or maintaining close attention to detail. Don't implement though unless you have a clear project manager over Canto with clear structure on asset uploads/tagging. It is work up front (for every system, not just Canto), but the simplicity of the service comes later if you set it up well.
Read Tara Collins's full review
Michelle McKinley | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Canto is the bomb.com Highly recommend to anyone in need of a DAM solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto in the Marketing, Employee Sucess, IT, and Training departments. All employees can access a photo portal with all our employee event photos. They love the facial recognition tool and can easily search their name. The Training Department uses it to house and keeps the same links for training provided to our stakeholders. In marketing, we keep all our photos and video files. It's 10000% better than using our share drive to hint for high-resolution photos. This alone has saved our team members many hours a week.
  • Maintaining file integrity with version control.
  • Ease of Use - It's very intuitive.
  • Link sharing is very easy. Share one or multiple images or collections easily.
  • User portals are customization and are very handy for many use cases.
  • Customer service is really good.
  • Keeps meta data with the file. You don't lose any keywords that you add.
  • Easy to do things, but many different ways to do it. Sometimes that makes things a little difficult because there are a lot of ways to do things.
  • On boarding was a little rocky, but I think that was specific to our specialist.
Canto is ideal for anyone who manages or accesses large files. We wanted to access these files in a faster fashion and that was what brought up the need for a document asset management (DAM) tool. It was quick to see how many other uses Canto provides. I would say every company of a certain size needs a DAM, and even more, efficiency is created if you are in a creative type position, like an ad agency or a group that has a lot of editing to a single document.
Read Michelle McKinley's full review
Kelsey Tyler | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Good Search Capabilities, File Structure and Sharing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto has been a good addition to our Marketing Production team resources and has helped us with process development and organization. Currently, it is only being utilized within the marketing team but we consistently use the branding tools and portals to help us share files with other organizational groups.
  • Folder structure is easy to develop and use.
  • Search capabilities make it easy to find files.
  • Sharing internally and externally is easy given different sharing options.
  • Versioning makes it easy to save versions without having to create new files each time.
  • Adobe Integration is slightly lacking. Designers have to download packaged files in order to gain access to all the links. Canto connector does not function as well as would be expected.
For an organization that is constantly making file updates and has a large number of files to store with a semi-complicated file structure Canto is a good solution. Probably not as helpful if you are looking for just an asset manager to store files.
Read Kelsey Tyler's full review
Heather Wagner | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Canto is top-shelf and has saved our team countless hours of wasted time searching for assets!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is used by our Marketing team to organize digital assets across the company and externally with our sales reps and dealers.
  • Canto is extremely user friendly, easy to set up and utilize.
  • Canto offers Gallery Portals that can be customized for our different markets and dealers which is incredibly useful for allowing others to view assets for public consumption, without sacrificing privacy of other items.
  • Would love to see the option to copy the metadata/tagging details onto new assets in an album based on the assets already in that area. This would be highly convenient when adding new items into the same project.
If you have a lot of assets in folders across multiple devices, departments, servers, etc., Canto is definitely the best plan for getting everything in one place and streamlining the search process.
Read Heather Wagner's full review
Ricardo Arreola | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Great for organizational type of people.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the marketing department to organize all our marketing materials. Canto helps us keep our materials accessible and neatly organized by using keywords and other metadata. This type of organization makes it easy to categorize materials so they are easy to find by any of our users in the future.
  • Extremely customizable to the needs of our team.
  • Keyword search for managing materials.
  • Responsive interface.
  • Video annotations to a specific time would be helpful.
  • Being able to export parts of a video instead of all of it.
  • Better AI to recognize content in images and categorize it automatically.
Great to organize content but it is a tedious task. One can move a whole library with folder structures and Canto will keep everything organized the same way, When creating links to send to others, it takes a lot of clicks and could be improved so it only takes 2 clicks max.
Read Ricardo Arreola's full review
Quinn Fenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Open Up Your Drill-Down File Library

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is currently being used primarily by the marketing team, with future plans being to open it up to the company at large. Our previous media library was just file explorer within Windows, which bogged down searches and wasted time. Canto cuts down on search time and ensures a backup of data should our internal servers fail.
  • Search functions
  • Facial recognition
  • Client portals
  • Metadata entry
  • Smart or auto tags
  • 3rd party app integration
Canto is well suited if your media library is particularly large with no clear way of organization. For instance, if you or your company regularly take project photos or if you run a business focused around media. The closed in, drill down nature of OS file libraries don't work well with large libraries of photos and videos. Instead, Canto opens it up by relying on search functions and key words, cutting down on search time drastically.

Canto is less appropriate if your media structure can be neatly organized within folders and easily found in such a way or if your media library just isn't large enough. It excels at making thousands of different files find-able, so naturally, if you don't have that problem, the price certainly isn't worth it.
Read Quinn Fenger's full review
Travis Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Look no further. Canto will solve your image searching and tagging challenges.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Canto across the entire company, but mostly by the Marketing Department to organize and share photos, videos, etc. It allows our marketing team to have access to approved art as well as find the perfect photo to use for any purpose. It also gives the entire company an easy way to find photos and videos. One the best applications is that we have created a branding style guide with logos and guidelines for fonts, etc. Never again will we have to respond to an email request to "send me our logo."
  • The photo tagging especially while uploading in batches is very useful.
  • Uploading assets in folders or batches is made very easy.
  • The ability to create public and private portals where team members, the entire company or specific vendors can search, access and download assets.
  • The templates such as brand and style guides make universal adoption easy.
  • The facial recognition is not very advanced and keeps asking for better images even on high resolution.
This software will assist any marketing team or organization that has a large quantity of photographs, illustrations and other media to store and organize and share with internal and external teams. The onboarding and implementation was well guided. The software is very intuitive and user friendly. I would not recommend this for small companies without many hours to dedicate for implementation.
Read Travis Kimball's full review
Marci Falvey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Canto: The Team Member You've Been Missing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The New World Symphony uses Canto across all departments. The integration across the institution allows us to seamlessly work with approved assets and across department lines when collaborating. The most ingrained users are in the Marketing, Communications, and Business Development departments. We have found the Canto platform easy for our staff members to adopt and implement in their workflows.
  • Canto creates a centralized hub for collaboration.
  • Canto cuts down on project back-and-forth by creating a workspace and communication tool.
  • Canto is a user-friendly platform that addresses our archival and asset management needs completely.
  • The pricing structure has changed since we first signed on, so renewing our contract based on line item prices that no longer exist was tricky.
  • Our graphic designers found the InDesign integration not worth the price, so we didn't renew that portion.
  • The facial recognition feature sometimes is very sensitive and you end up with 100 photos tagged by a shadow.
New World Symphony actually had another DAM in place that was just awful. When we found Canto, we actually took its functionality features back to the original company and they admitted that Canto was what they aspired to be. We quickly switched our account to join Canto and have been extremely happy ever since. It's been a game-changer for my team.
Read Marci Falvey's full review
Darlene Bailey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Easy to navigate and plenty of customization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is being used across the University, managed by University Communications. Employees can access it through their work portal. In my department, I use Canto to access approved licensed photos for my marketing collateral and website. It keeps the photos organized by topic and by the department. I can also email photos directly from Canto to my colleagues who request images. I can save my favorite photos on Canto and I can download the right file size and dimension (print quality vs web).
  • Keeps files organized in folders.
  • Easy sharing through email or link.
  • Folders can be marked private, if needed.
  • Faster loading times: Slowing loading thumbnails if it is a large folder.
  • Auto-archiving photos after a certain date: helps with people who tend to go back to the same photo over and over in marketing collateral.
  • Ability to crop and post photos directly to social media or integrate with Hootsuite.
Well suited:
  1. Managing image collections
  2. Categorizing images for marketing campaigns
  3. Sharing images without the hassle of email attachments
Less appropriate:
  1. File sharing that requires editing or notes or comments.
  2. Project management that involves in-platform chat.
  3. Assigned deadlines or tasks to team members related to the files in Canto.
Read Darlene Bailey's full review
Shannon Owens | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Great hub for team sharing!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a great hub for team sharing. We use it daily throughout our marketing and design departments to access product images, videos, and documents. It is so great to be able to access everything in one place and keep everything organized since the majority of our team works remotely. It gives us access to our content any time, any place, and the ability to use tags helps find specific images much easier!
  • Organization.
  • Storing digital assets.
  • Accessibility among team members.
  • Tagging assets added.
  • More options for organizing could be a little better.
  • Cleaner interface.
  • It always seems to run a little slow on my computer.
It is great for housing many images, documents, and videos for access from anywhere. It's great for keeping them organized and tagging them for specific collections, descriptions, etc. We are able to share and utilize all of our product assets through Canto to work on marketing and design projects and keep templates for future work.
Read Shannon Owens's full review
Robin Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Canto : One of the Best DAMs Out There!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team has been using Canto as our DAM for our final artwork files for over two years. I'm quite pleased with the ease-of-use and the ability to get away from our dreaded corporate server! I like the way files are replaced and "versioned" simply by dragging the new one on top of the old file. The portals work great for the marketing projects for our individual clients as well.
  • File versioning
  • File cloud storage
  • Client portals
  • I'd like to see albums created automatically when a folder is added.
I would not recommend Canto as "in-process" file storage for art files, simply due to the handling of the folder structures.
Read Robin Martin's full review
Timothy Gates | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Great tool for digital assets

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Canto as a Digital Asset Management tool, it helps us to catalog and share all of our digital assets both internally as well as externally to our customers.
  • The search feature is very robust and makes finding the assets you need easy and quick.
  • Being able to create custom portals for our varied customers has really streamlined asset sharing.
  • I am in and out of Canto all day, but it logs me out after only a little bit of time when I'm inactive. It would be nice if it was a longer window for Admins.
  • The learning curve is a bit steep but it is really only because of how customizable and robust the program is.
If your company has a growing digital library of images and digital assets that multiple people need access to, I would highly recommend this DAM as a great tool.
Read Timothy Gates's full review
Sam Micatrotto | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Yes We Can(to)

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto to keep track of all of our projects across departments and topics. It is mostly used within the Marketing departments, and it helps us keep organized, especially if edits are made! It's great that we can update the files within a folder and the link will remain the same for those who have it.
  • Easy to update and share.
  • Great for organizing and separating projects into folders.
  • Keyword search is easy.
  • Edit history.
  • Facial recognition on the app.
  • More filters would be helpful when trying to find something specific that was not tagged properly.
It is great for teams with many members where they are all working on different projects. When a project is done, the member can shoot the link off for approval and then all files are in one spot. Much easier than trying to upload large files in an email or Teams message. All edits are tracked and it is amazing that the same link can be used for the updated files when edits do have to be made.
Read Sam Micatrotto's full review
Eric Snyder | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Great Document Asset Management and Document Control Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Sales, Marketing, Technical Services Team, and Product Development Team. It solves the problem of document control and it helps our company keep the most up to date documents at the hands of our employees to ensure that our customers get the most up to date asset. We also use it to upload and manage all of our assets onto our website. We also use Canto to share assets with employees at our company and employees at our customers' companies. It is a great tool for the marketing department (administrators) to use to store documents before they are made available to the other departments. We use the approval options in Canto for this to decide who can see which assets.
  • Document Control. It is very easy to keep the original attributes/tags on a particular asset even when you need to make an edit or upload a new version. It also shows you the previous versions, so you never have to worry about losing old versions.
  • Sharing. With the click of a button and copying and pasting the link, it is very easy to share one or as many pictures as you would like with internal or external people. You can also manage what permissions the person that gets the link has (view only or downloadable).
  • Searching and Tagging. It is very easy to filter and search for documents if you tag them correctly when uploading. This process is made simple by being able to customize the few very important and always included attributes (ex. project name, location, product, etc.). We were able to upload lists that we can select from quickly for some of these tagging options. These tags are also very easy to incorporate to the website so that we can upload documents quickly to the correct location on our website.
  • Bulk Uploads. It is time-consuming to bulk upload different assets. For example, when uploading it is slightly difficult to change the tags that you use for the images in the same upload. You have to go into each separate asset to select the tags if not all of the assets in the same upload need the same tags.
  • The search bar is sometimes glitchy and selects a tag that you did not click on or type.
  • I wish there was a better feature that you could apply to certain assets that when you downloaded them, it reminded you of the usage rights. There is a spot to enter the usage rights, but nothing that pops up to remind you when you download them to use them.
Well Suited
  • Document Control (making edits to documents/updating): It keeps the version history and tags when you change a document/upload a new version.
  • Sharing: It is quick and easy to share multiple documents at once, but it is not possible to share documents from different search queries in the same link. It is easy to share internally and externally with links generated by Canto.
  • Linking to website/website uploads: You can add new assets or change old assets and if it is tagged correctly, it will upload every 15 minutes to the website.
  • Tagging and Organizing: There are plenty of spots to add all of the tags that could be possible when managing assets.

Less Appropriate:
  • It is clunky when trying to bulk upload. If there are the slightest variances in the tags you are trying to add, you must wait until they are all uploaded and then make sure each is tagged correctly and individually.

Read Eric Snyder's full review
Leyna Segal | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2020

Easy to use visual DAM system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto among our art department, marketing department, sales department, and web department as a visual and searchable asset database. It makes it easier to find assets as opposed to digging through our server to find them. We also use the Portal feature to share our assets with distributors and retailers.
  • Branding customization.
  • Tagging and keywords.
  • Metadata capabilities.
  • Importing metadata.
  • Collections can only be viewed by the creator.
Canto is very well suited for visual items such as photos, logos, and social media assets, plus PDF files such as catalogs, sell sheets, price lists, and branding guidelines. It is easier and faster to use than Adobe Bridge or Finder to sort through those kinds of assets. It is also well suited for sharing visual assets in a quick and easy manner.
Read Leyna Segal's full review
Ashish Tewari | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2020

The best bang for your buck if starting out

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prior to Canto, all of our marketing material used to reside on a shared drive accessible within the organization network. All brand manager would own folders within which they stored marketing assets - images, brochures, videos, 3D assets. This caused issues because:
  1. Simple folders = no tagging = very hard to search for assets.
  2. No version control, approval history, and random nomenclature made it hard to identify which asset to use even if found.
  3. No access outside the organization, so could not be used remotely or shared with 3rd party partners and agencies; people would use wetransfer each time.
  4. Significant duplication of content, obsolescence, and storage consumption.
With Canto, all of the above get solved. We could enable access permissions to control modification, set up portals to share assets externally permanently, reduce storage with dedupes, and setup version control and a standardized folder structure and process. While this helped bring in significant efficiencies in process, the real win was in content management, tremendously reducing incidence or incorrect imagery used, safer, faster, and more effective development of ads and digital assets, and ensuring content quality.
  • Portal creation.
  • Deduplication.
  • Tagging.
  • Multi-folder assignment.
  • Bulk upload.
  • Mobile app.
  • Browser compatibility.
Flight by Canto was not the most powerful, technically advanced, or the most feature-rich, but for someone starting out in using a DAM for the first time it's a brilliant solution - has a very strong feature set for first timers, a very intuitive and easy-to-use interface, some very powerful technical integrations, responsive support, excellent tagging/sharing/user management capabilities... but the real killers are 1) how fast and easy it is to get set up and running, and 2) a very competitive (and customizable) price tag for the level of features offered. Add a robust product roadmap and evolving capabilities and very scalable expansion options once you're up and running, I would highly recommend this.
Read Ashish Tewari's full review
Katrina Lynch | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Canto has made every search within our DAM fast!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto/Flight on a daily basis across multiple departments. It helps us archive and keep current on social media, and digital platforms. Helps us cycle photos and video that are current to all of our enterprises and to media if needed. It has helped our organization stay current with employees and products.
  • Watermark photos: helps to determine use and domain.
  • Face recognition: If a photo has not been tagged in the meta data correctly it can help search an individual out.
  • Meta Data: Granted this is only as good as they people putting it in but tags and names are a great tool to help you search through a large pool of photos, videos and documents.
  • Folders: helps keep us organized.
  • Facial Recognition: other platforms have figured it out a bit better, some photos of profile or not complete head and shoulders it still struggles to recognize an individual.
On more than one occasion I have been asked for a certain photo or group of photos. if I had to rely on files just on my computer it would take forever with the amount of photos we have, but due to the quick access and search to the photos in our DAM they are easily found and sent on. Also being able to send a link to a high res photo is tons better than having to send a flash drive or burning a disk.
Read Katrina Lynch's full review
Jennifer Shaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Canto has been a valuable asset to our organization!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto to house and organize our wide range of photos for marketing and other purposes. We are in the beginning stages of setting things up and adding photos to Canto, and we have loved learning more about it and the features it has. Our development team, including marketing, is currently the sole users but we hope to soon train our programs team on how to upload, keyword, and tag new photos that they take in the field. Canto addresses our overwhelming problem of not having a system to the madness of our photo collection. Before Canto, we had been adding photos to Dropbox but were not doing much to name and describe the photos, making the search for a specific photo very difficult. Now with Canto we are able to tag things like "girl smiling" or "previous water source" so we can nail down exactly what photos we want for marketing purposes. I am excited to see how else we will use Canto in the future.
  • Facial recognition.
  • Details embedded in each photo.
  • Easy and helpful customization for your needs.
  • Employee training.
  • Maybe ability to identify similar photos.
I would recommend Canto for anyone who is looking for an organized, streamlined way of keeping your photos. Specifically Canto would be great for marketing agencies, nonprofits, and other businesses that deal with a large amount of photos. I think Canto would be less appropriate for other types of businesses that do not deal with photos.
Read Jennifer Shaw's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2020

Very pleased with our decision to choose Canto

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto as our first custom DAM. It is replacing an 'in-house built' system. Currently, it is being used by our Comms, Marketing, and Creative teams. Our Admins from other teams have begun accessing it too. We had outgrown our old system and had begun to invest more in our content creation abilities. This led to us reconsidering our storage and distribution methods in support of our teams. We are now more responsive and consistent when it comes to representing and promoting our brands and our teams feel more efficient being able to access this platform when and where they choose without worrying about old network restrictions.
  • Basic DAM functions like tagging, search and displaying content
  • Distribution and access to team members and trusted vendors/partners
  • Communication after the sale, system upgrades for the platform and human support
  • Sometimes the amount of customization and display tools can feel overwhelming, finding your right 'fit' for your work style requires dialing it in through your profile preferences.
This is our team's first experience with a DAM provider, so we were looking for 'basic' functionality. Canto delivered on that and provided more that has allowed us to begin to look at the tool differently and find new ways for it to support our team and department functions.

Content access and distribution across different disciplined teams have seen early adoption.
The Canto Connect desktop app makes the ingest of a large amount of content (recent photoshoot or initial library move) easier than expected. We appreciated the support roles and their responsiveness to our team's needs during the transition to the platform.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Generally happy for the price point and our needs.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is being used as a way for the many organizations within our company to have a centralized and easily searchable library of our photos. Primarily it allows us to more easily search for specific photos that used to be disorganized in many separate folders.
  • Easy/intuitive layout and general interface that allows users to search via a search bar or through a more traditional folder layout.
  • Branding Customization.
  • Customization of the tags/categories to our specifications (custom fields).
  • Very responsive to feature requests and program is updated with new additions frequently.
  • Curated views allow us to "sort" our photos in an order that makes most sense within an album.
  • Technical support is very responsive to issues. Makes sure to follow up with you to make sure things are functioning correctly.
  • Integration has been somewhat challenging figuring out how to get the searches to yield results in the specific ways we want.
  • Wish there were more specific/fined tuned permissions for individual users beyond the main 3 levels
  • Facial Recognition doesn't work that well and in fact we have stopped trying to use it. Sometimes the photos will be almost exactly the same (head shots for example) and it doesn’t recognize them as the same person or will misidentify. The interface when it comes to both applying and searching through names is also very clunky.
  • The ai "smart tags" have not been relevant for our business since most of our photos are of events not products being sold. The smart tags identify things like "human" "clothing" "accessories" which has no relevance to what people of our company will search. We end up having to go in and put in the tags manually.
I think Canto is a good option for the price and also for a company just starting out with a Digital Asset Management system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2020

Canto is a very user-friendly enterprise DAM with tons of features

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is used as the enterprise-wide DAM system. It's helping store, organize, and distribute content across channels at all stages of production. It helps reduce duplicate efforts across teams, which saves time and resource costs. It also ensures proper governance, digital rights management, and allows for controlled sharing with external partners.
  • Asset management and distribution.
  • Detailed permissions structures.
  • Portals and style guides.
  • More direct integrations with programs like Sketch would be great! (already has Adobe integration).
  • More control over the Smart Tags feature would be really useful - to be able to train it a certain way (using brand terms, for example) or teach it not to tag certain things would help us customize the automatic tags it adds—removing some of these is a manual process (even with confidence set at 95).
  • Transparency for the price tiers for adding more power users and more storage space would be helpful.
It's great if you need an interface that anyone can use with a lot of features. It's user-friendly and very visual, which is great. We use the sharing features and portals a lot to share assets with external partners, and the controls around those are excellent. It's well suited to organizations with lots of assets. It would probably be less appropriate for smaller teams or companies that don't need to control detailed permissions or DRM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Pleasure to Use - Beautiful Interface - Friendly Customer Service

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is used as a digital asset management system for a college. It is used to store assets created by the marketing department, however, the system is available to the entire community to search and download assets. It addresses the problem of organizing photography assets.
  • Organizational structure tree.
  • Search features.
  • Filter features.
  • Portal feature.
  • No quick, back-end way of creating organization.
  • Portal setup/sync can be slow.
  • Sometimes links get overloaded when too many people try to download them at same time (links in email blasts).
  • Download cropping/resizing isn't the most user friendly.
You really need an organized person to keep this DAM working for everyone in your company/business so that the organizational structure makes sense. The less cooks in the kitchen, the better - one person should really spearhead the overall design, tags and org. Overall it works for High-Ed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Canto is a Gift for Creatives

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started out with Canto being used by our core Creative Services Team, to allow us to become comfortable with the software and also to load our photo and creative concept archives into the system. Once we had prepped the data, we rolled access to this out to our entire company. It has been nothing short of a game-changer. Our entire company uses this software now, many of us using it every day. The Canto support team takes incredible care of us and is always willing to help us find unique solutions to challenges we have encountered. With the system being web-based, it allows for infinite flexibility compared to trying to access our office servers and storing our photos and creative files separately. The search and tagging functions make this vastly flexible and are fantastic. We're grateful every day that we have this platform in our hands.
  • Organization: it's intutive and easy to create as many levels as you need or want.
  • Tagging: This makes every element you upload infinitely searchable.
  • Sharing: Being able to remove branding and determine the levels of access that outside users have to the files being shared is an essential component.
  • I would love for there to be preview images available for Microsoft documents as well as PDFs.
Canto has made sharing creative decks and assets vastly simpler. I'm grateful to have it in our hands every single day.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

User-Friendly, A Solid Solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use Canto in the marketing department, but other departments like Sales and HR have access to it. Before Canto, all of our assets were in an intensive folder structure that was tough to navigate unless you were in it often. When people from other departments were trying to use our assets, it would take them a long time or have to ask someone on the marketing team for help. With Canto, they're able to simply use the search bar and easily find what they're looking for.
  • The facial recognition feature does a great job, and is really helpful.
  • It's easy to find assets via the search bar.
  • Portals are great if you're using Canto to give assets to people outside of your company.
  • Getting started with Canto is tough. It takes a long time to upload a massive amount of content and organize it.
  • The folder structure can be annoying like learning the difference between album and folder, etc. Plus when you're uploading new content, it's hard to a new folder.
  • At times it seems like there are too many features. It has a lot of features, but they don't all seem necessary. It seems like these features make it confusing and slow.
  • No mobile app. I'd love an app to upload or download things from my phone.
Companies without a lot of assets wouldn't need Canto since it's pretty expensive. Also, when you're scrolling through photos and videos, it usually lags. So it's really important to have buy-in from the whole team to utilize the right tags and keywords.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Canto is "Cando" for anyone! Wonderful tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto in our marketing department. It is a wonderful tool to organize our files within our team, as well as share files with other departments quickly. It is much easier to search and find files within Canto than other file storage systems, plus uploading files is quick and simple.
  • Folder and albums keep everything organized clearly.
  • Tags and keywords make searching for something quick and easy.
  • Sharing files with others who do not have a Canto login is a huge plus!
  • Uploading files to Canto is a simple and fast process.
  • Confusion between folders and albums can lead to a bit of a mix up when you first start using Canto.
  • Tags are not always what we need or relevant to what we are uploading.
Canto works well for uploading marketing materials that are used internally but also works amazingly well for sharing content with other departments that do not even have to have a Canto login. Uploading guides or briefs to Canto, then being able to share them directly from Canto without having to download them, and send through an email, makes the process of sharing much simpler.
Read this authenticated review

About Canto

The vendor states marketing teams across all industries can use Canto to organize, secure and share visual brand assets with ease. Canto gives users team the ability to tag, collaborate and report on company-wide digital assets in a visual environment. Boasting over 25 years of experience in the digital asset management industry, the vendor states that thousands of brands around the world now rely on Canto to centralize their rich media libraries.

Canto Features

Has featureCentralize – Provide a central database for all users while avoiding file duplicates and huge email attachments.
Has featureOrganize – Navigate your brand assets quickly and efficiently with easy-to-use tags, keywords, folders and albums.
Has featureShare – Create collections, download-links and even branded self-service portals for easy file sharing.
Has featureBrand – Ensure consistency with style guides, a customizable interface and watermarking tools.
Has featureReport – Access and analyze activity through detailed reports and audit trails.
Has featureCollaborate – Approve content, develop new ideas and communicate with outside colleagues and external agencies.
Has featureSecure – Determine permissions based on user role and apply digital rights information to protect your assets.

Canto Screenshots

Canto Integrations

Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, Mailchimp, WordPress, Slack, Vimeo, Drupal, Egnyte, InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, PowerPoint, Word, LinkedIn, FaceBook, Twitter, Pinterest, YouTube, TYPO3, Sitecore, Mac OS, Chrome, Microsoft Windows

Canto Competitors

Canto Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Canto Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Canto Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: Czech, German, English, Italian, Japanese, Dutch, Spanish, Chinese (Simplified)