Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Canto

Canto

Overview

What is Canto?

Canto delivers digital asset management capabilities while offering an intuitive experience for teams. Canto's AI Visual Search enables users to search their brand libraries using natural language.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Review

9 out of 10
March 09, 2024
Incentivized
We use Canto as a master photo library within the organization and share photos internally and with contractors.
Continue reading

Encanto Canto.

8 out of 10
March 05, 2024
Incentivized
We use Canto for all photo and video storage and graphic assets such as logos. I create graphics in Adobe products daily, and the Canto …
Continue reading

Canto Review

9 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
We are still getting out Canto up and running, but I can see so many opportunities on how it will help us organize images, assets and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 19 features
  • Downloading assets (24)
    8.2
    82%
  • Asset sharing (24)
    7.9
    79%
  • Uploading assets (23)
    7.5
    75%
  • Asset search (24)
    7.4
    74%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Canto?

Canto delivers digital asset management capabilities while offering an intuitive experience for teams. Canto's AI Visual Search enables users to search their brand libraries using natural language.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.canto.com/pricing/?utm_sour…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

135 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

N/A
Unavailable
What is Bynder?

Bynder helps brands to distribute their marketing materials, manage creations and facilitate brand consistency. Bynder is a solution for marketing that comes with best in class digital asset management, creative project management, brand identity guidelines, product information management and web…

What is Cloudimage?

Cloudimage offers a way to optimize and accelerate images for the web.Cloudimage automates the transformation and optimization of images on the fly and accelerates their distribution via the Content Delivery Network (CDN). Cloudimage helps web pages to become faster and lighter, to improve both SEO…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Take a virtual tour

tour.canto.com
Return to navigation

Features

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

6.6
Avg 6.5

DAM Features

Features commonly found in dedicated Digital Asset Management (DAM) Software.

7.1
Avg 7.9
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Canto?

A digital asset management (DAM), Canto allows organizations to centralize, organize, and share assets. With AI Visual Search, natural language can be used to instantly discover content without relying solely on metadata. Canto aims to empower brands to extract more value out of their content, maximize ROI, and accelerate time to market.

Canto's platform, supported by a flexible and transparent pricing structure, caters to a diverse array of industries. It empowers companies ranging from teams of 50 employees to global enterprises to fuel their content delivery, maximizing their ROI.

Canto Features

DAM Features Features

  • Supported: Uploading assets
  • Supported: Downloading assets
  • Supported: Categories
  • Supported: Asset storage
  • Supported: Asset sharing
  • Supported: Asset search
  • Supported: Tagging system
  • Supported: Content editing
  • Supported: Embed codes
  • Supported: Metadata
  • Supported: Collections
  • Supported: User access
  • Supported: DAM Integrations
  • Supported: DAM API
  • Supported: Workflow automations
  • Supported: Related asset discovery

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Content analytics

Canto Screenshots

Screenshot of the Canto AI Visual Search to discover digital assets faster.Screenshot of asset discovery with AI Visual Search, using natural language to instantly find the most relevant images and videos in Canto.Screenshot of Canto's integrations, including Adobe Creative Suite, Hootsuite, Canva, and monday.com.Screenshot of sharing tools to push on-brand digital content to teams, channels, and platforms while maintaining control with access controls and digital rights management.Screenshot of the organized, searchable content hub, where everyone can always find what they need, when they need it.

Canto Videos

Canto Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS
Supported LanguagesCzech, German, English, Japanese, Korean, Dutch, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Chinese (Simplified), Russian

Frequently Asked Questions

Canto delivers digital asset management capabilities while offering an intuitive experience for teams. Canto's AI Visual Search enables users to search their brand libraries using natural language.

Acquia DAM (Widen), Brandfolder, and Bynder are common alternatives for Canto.

Reviewers rate Downloading assets highest, with a score of 8.2.

The most common users of Canto are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(289)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 253)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
March 21, 2024

Canto Review.

Angelique Bey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Canto is used to organize final versions of assets for the organization. We use Canto to easily search for assets, label relationships between assets, track analytics on the viewing and downloading of assets, share assets, receive assets, etc. We also use Canto's style guide template to share information within the organization, such as branding and guides for using Canto. We also create share links to share assets in the workspaces of the PAT portal through Sitefinity.
  • Search Feature.
  • Analytics
  • Link Creation.
  • Speed of uploading and downloading.
  • I struggle with using Canto's style guide feature. I would love to see this feature improve.
  • There needs to be the addition of a search feature for the list of share links. As my organization's number of share links increases, it is becoming difficult to find share links when we need to use or edit them.
Canto is an excellent tool for organizing assets and searching for them in one location. I also really enjoy using the mobile version of Canto on my smartphone when I am on the go. Canto is robust and fast and it has been a major advancement in the way that my organization stores and shares assets.
Deveraux Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Canto has been a blessing so far for our organization in terms of having digital access management that is easy to use and helpful to our users to be able to access photos and templates fairly easily. Having the ability to use the facial recognition option to tie multiple assets by name or file type is very useful. One of the main business problems we had was having a location that could be accessible to the whole university along with our external partners. With Canto, we can finally curate photos for certain areas like admissions, certain colleges, etc.
  • tagging
  • facial recogition
  • AI tagging
  • better UI enhancements
  • improved mobile device app
  • robust template tool
Having the ability for faculty and staff to search in a portal within Canto for photos for articles or other types of media content is very helpful. Another helpful scenario is for when clients want to simply create a one-page flyer from a template will allow us to utilize our resources to something more useful
March 09, 2024

Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto as a master photo library within the organization and share photos internally and with contractors.
  • Search function works well.
  • Tagging abilities are extensive.
  • Flexibility to download in multiple sizes/formats.
  • It is a bit clunky to share photos with outside people. It could be easier to create an album or link.
Canto works great as a marketing library of photos and videos. I could see it as a great photo-sharing platform, too, as I know there is some customizability that we don't utilize as much, as we have a different method of sharing photos with customers in particular.
March 05, 2024

Canto Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Uploading assets for back up and to share with Sales and Marketing.
  • Options for searchability
  • Visibility of assets
  • Ability to create custom structures
  • Copy / paste is counterintuitive; ie, you must be "inside" a folder to copy it
  • Would love option to have multiple trees open to copy paste between without excess navigation
It has robust options, but requires good training and team alignment to determine best practices for all.
March 05, 2024

Encanto Canto.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto for all photo and video storage and graphic assets such as logos. I create graphics in Adobe products daily, and the Canto Connector tool allows us to work much faster and keep photos from shoots organized. It has enhanced our workflow as a creative team.
  • Asset organization.
  • Facial recognition and taggings.
  • Canto Connector app with Adobe.
  • UX - sometimes icons aren't intuitive.
  • UX - takes a lot more clicks than necessary often.
  • No keyboard shortcuts (that I am aware of).
Appropriate: all photo and video storage, sharing a few select photos or entire albums with people (you don't even have to have an account!). Less appropriate for us is storing active Photoshop/Illustrator/InDesign files.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto as a warehouse for all our visual assets and logos. Our primary use is for communications team use, but all staff can access and use it. We find it especially useful in the creative process when looking for assets to accompany our storytelling.
  • Facial recognition.
  • Identification of objects within images.
  • Searching for specific images.
  • Too many options for grouping and tagging - super confusing.
  • Easier way to create a drop box for photos from staff.
You're making a PowerPoint, and you need some beautiful visuals. Canto is the best starting point.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Within our organization, the Marketing department takes the lead in utilizing Canto to manage, categorize, and distribute assets like photographs and graphic files. Access to Canto is extended to other departments, facilitating efficient searches and usage of media items. The platform's features, such as tagging, keywording, and facial recognition, enable swift and easy sorting through a vast collection of photographs, ultimately saving valuable time for project teams in need of these assets. Furthermore, Canto serves as a rapid and effective means of sharing files, even with external parties beyond our organization.
  • Categorizating.
  • Sharing content.
  • Facial recognition.
  • Keywording.
  • Search.
  • Tagging
  • Quick use of editable files.
  • Slow upload at times.
We appreciate Canto for its practical features like keywording and tagging, which make navigating our photo collection quick and efficient. The ability to select specific photos and generate shareable links is something we use regularly, streamlining our communication. The recent addition of facial recognition is a notable improvement. However, when it comes to swift file management, we've found that platforms with native desktop applications offer a more responsive experience, especially for tasks requiring instant access to files.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My team uses Canto every day for our graphic design projects. It's a great media manager and has really helped us to streamline the process of sorting, tagging, and searching for photography assets. With the Adobe Creative Suite integration, we're able to import seamlessly into our signature print and digital work without having to download it to our devices. When my department first started looking for a DAM solution, we were on multiple platforms (Google Drive, Dropbox, Internal S: Drive) and it was difficult to find anything.
  • Facial recognition technology helps us tag key staff automatically.
  • The in-tool search and tagging features are very robust, allowing us to find the specific assets we need fast.
  • The AI driven auto tagging is a nice addition and helps broaden what we can look for.
  • The ability for outside vendors to seamlessly upload content straight into the tool saves a lot of work for us.
  • The ability to selectively share out specific assets or folders with other departments or principals is a great way to really capitalize on our assets without creating extra work for my team.
  • The price point is a bit high, so I'd like to see either more features to justify that or a price drop.
  • The Adobe Connector interface is functional but could be a bit more drag and drop, right now it's a little clunky, if effective.
  • Right now you can't share collections between users, it would be great if we could do that for major projects rather than having to create a new album or tag.
Canto is a really great tool for signature publications, like our annual magazine, the Minnetonka Alumni Magazine. While I oversee the design and layout, there is another staff who helps gather photos, make infographics, etc. By keeping everything in Canto, I'm able to really quickly and easily collaborate and locate the assets I need. It has been invaluable in helping my team improve our efficiency.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto to help us organize all of our media and make it easy to search. We have a bunch of different divisions that each have their own assets as well as content that is used across divisions. We were spending a lot of time searching for assets and Canto makes it easy for the end users to find what they are looking for directly.
  • Facial recognition
  • AI object tagging
  • OCR text recognition
  • The brand templates add-on is very difficult to use. It sounds great on paper, but when you actually try to use it you find out it's very clunky and limited.
  • Adding fonts to style guides is difficult. Would love to see some sort of integration with Adobe and Google fonts.
  • Duplicate finder only finds exact duplicates, so if a file has been run through processing of any sort it doesn't find it (ie Photoshop, Lightroom). Would be great if it could have some sort of optical duplicate finder.
After researching over a dozen platforms, I'm happy that we went with Canto. It has all the features that we are looking for and they are constantly making improvements to the platform. Their support is great and implementing it was very easy. Their recent acquisition of MerlinOne and integration of their capabilities will further enhance the already rich suite of tools that they offer.
February 22, 2024

Completely Canto!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto to collect videos and photos from international staff for marketing purposes in the US.
  • Smart Tagging
  • Portals
  • Customized downloading options
  • Easy Uploading
  • Could be easier to use
  • Setup
Its been great for us getting photos and videos from staff all around the world that's needed for our advertising in the US
February 22, 2024

Canto Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are still getting out Canto up and running, but I can see so many opportunities on how it will help us organize images, assets and customers!
  • makes it easier to find images
  • allows us to share images with customers
  • portals are amazing!
  • takes time to get it up and running
  • learning curve
Way easier to find images than using dropbox.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our office uses Canto as an image database. We have a hard time easily sharing and searching for specific photos, and Cantos folders and tagging features makes this super easy. On a daily basis we use the feature where you can create a share link that can be publicly shared and expire during a certain date or time. We also use Canto to organize event-specific photos so we can easily access them later on. It is sometimes I do not think our marketing office could live without!
  • Photo Tagging & Searching
  • Organizing Options like folders and albumns
  • easily allows us to share photos with non-canto users in the office
  • I do with we could search for colors or items in Canto, for example red shirt photos
  • We have a small team, but everyone needs different levels of access, I feel like there arent many levels of access as there could be
Well suited for sharing photos across networks and departments, especially in a marketing and editorial setting. This is not good if you are wanting a user to just be able to view certain areas, but not everything.
February 22, 2024

Canto is helpful software

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Canto for organizing all our photos and videos.
  • Makes it easy for influencers to upload content
  • Makes finding things easy with the tagging system
  • Fairly user friendly
  • admin seats are far too costly
  • the difference between folders and albums is confusing
Canto has helped us organize our creative content.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Canto for internal documentation of all types and for all departments. Use as a way to organize and improve the finding of correct documents
  • Flexible
  • Very powerful search engine (almost too powerful)
  • has features we can use
  • Search engine not intuitive
  • hard for my users to understand
  • VERY poor interaction with Adobe products, which we expected to be a main reason for us to get it
The work with Adobe products is not good at all. Very unintuitive. When it brings in images, it renames them, making it unusable for other documents sharing the same graphic. Also brings in some images at low res, making them unusable for export. If we could get tighter integration with Google Drives, that would be great. Having to wipe out entire drives and then reimport them again is killing me. People get way too frustrated when searching. I can't seem to figure out how to restrict their searching effectively.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto as a place to sort all of our digital asset. As an organization that has a lot of historical documents, Canto is a great place for us to digitally store photos, pdfs, videos, and so much more. It also is a great asset for our organization since half of us work remotely.
  • Tagging ability
  • Organizational tools for digital assets
  • Automatic tags
  • Customer support/learning hub tools
Canto is really helpful when we need to give access to digital content to third party vendors. The ability to create specific links and folders for them and customize what they can do with the content is super useful, especially when dealing with copyrighted materials. I think it is possible for Canto to be less useful depending on the types of content you are working with. For us, it's perfect but I could see situations where certain file types might not work well within Canto.
February 22, 2024

Never Let Go of Canto

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto to give access to our retailers across the nation as well as store assets & files to be used internally for our sales & marketing departments. I also use it to add image links to our amazon store. This is incredibly helpful because the images allow us to use the URLs which are required by Amazon product templates!
  • Storing files, assets and images
  • Sharing files, assets and images
  • Allowing multiple in house users to operate seamlessly
  • Export specific URLs for each photo
  • Export specific metafields for each photo
  • Allow more than 5 admin users without additional charge
  • Allow more than 600 consumer users without additional charge
Canto gives our employees the ease and friendliness to navigate the dashboard and retrieve files, assets, images, PDFs, pretty much anything. Moreover, the Canto support team has always been there to shed light on sticky subject that we sometimes overlooked or did not take into consideration. Lastly, canto is also helpful in the way that we can download files and asset in bulk and easily be sent an email link with all of the assets.
Stephanie Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily use Canto to classify and store all company photo assets. We're currently starting to employ Canto for project flow and management as well.
  • Very pleased with implementation support
  • Would like to see some flexibility in adding admins to existing plans
  • Metadata import is sometimes messy
For our needs, Canto is an affordable, user-friendly product.
September 27, 2023

Canto saves the day

Christian Eriksson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
A single source for assets (of all kinds) in a very distributed organisation. Saving time finding recent assets.<br>It is also integrated via API to our website and will be integrated into our new intranet.
  • Searching
  • Sharing
  • Public sharing (through portal)
  • Support multiple brands
  • The recent update of the UI made search less user-friendly. Needs to be revisited.
An organisation that handles and produces assets that needs to be made available to large orgnisation.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Canto for our marketing department Dam system. We liked that it was cloud based. It was being used to handle our photos, PDFs, and Videos. Our goal was to move approved assets off a local file server to a solution that was easier to search, tag, and organize our files for our team and our entire organization. We had about 2000 assets in the DAM.
  • Tagging
  • Search
  • Sorting
  • Viewing
  • Sharing
  • Linking files together
  • Overal UX/UI
It was good for a basic DAM solution. It worked off a file storage UX so for many people it would be a very familiar workflow. It was easy to add tags, and other info to files. Unfortunately the performance and UX/UI was not well suited for large asset libraries which made going through a lot of assets a pain. The file sharing solutions were not well handled. Overall the system felt very dated.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Canto to house and organize our digital assets. We purchased Canto to streamline our marketing processes. Canto allows employees to take responsibility for locating, downloading, and/or sharing of our digital assets and templates. It reduces the need for employees to disrupt the marketing team to request assets and templates, allowing the marketing team to focus on more important tasks. It has increased our marketing efficiency and reduced our time to go to market. We also use the portal feature to share assets with outside organizations that do not need to be password protected. We have also taken advantage of the guidelines feature to share our branding to ensure consistency across the company.
  • Organization of digital assets
  • Search features and functionality
  • Portals and style guides
  • Visual thumbnails to see assets
  • Not allowing you to upload images for thumbnails, some previews/thumbnails don't show up depending on file type so you can't see what it is without downloading it.
  • The organization of assets in the portal isn't as user-friendly as the main library. It can be difficult to find something once they enter the portal.
  • It would be nice to have more customization features and functionality in the style guidelines, it's very basic and doesn't look as professional as the main library.
Canto is a great solution for large companies with a multitude of assets and several employees. It's a great way to keep company assets safe and organized in a professional manner. It's user-friendly and has a robust set of features. I think the solution is more geared to larger/enterprise level companies. While I think any business could benefit from a solution like Canto, smaller companies with fewer assets and employees might find it overwhelming and unnecessary. Or a company with only a few different kind of assets that don't require multiple levels of files and folders to organize their assets.
Kacey Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Canto is used by the [...] across the national organization and Chapters to manage digital assets for publishing photos, images, and other creative assets for collaboration, to maintain copyrights, and digital communications.
  • Library for digital assets
  • Ensure usage and copyrights are managed correctly
  • Support collaboration for digital engagement and communications
  • Integration with Marketing Cloud
I think Canto is very well suited to small, medium, and large organizations with the need for collecting and managing digital assets to scale. In my experience, it is a very powerful tool that requires training, onboarding and support depending on the experience of the user community and use case.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it across our division to track and organize all collateral/assets.
  • Organization of content.
  • Filters to view specific types of content.
  • Very user friendly.
  • Nothing!
  • Great and easy to use!
  • No improvements to share.
When trying to source a student profile for an Admissions advertisement, Canto helps to easily filter and locate available profiles to highlight.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We were looking for a solution to share large files inside and outside our agency with other stakeholders. A colleague of mine attended a workshop/conference and Canto was there, so she got the information. After a demo and some conversations, we decided to put out a procurement which Canto won. The best things I can say is that Canto is easy to use and it does exactly what the solution is meant to which is make storage and management -- and sharing! -- of media files easy and seemless. It's very intuitive and, admittedly, I haven't scratched the surface of what Canto can do so it can be a powerful tool. But it can also be a quick, nimble resource if you don't want or need to deep dive as well.
  • Ease of uploading material
  • Ubiquitous/can use in any browser or platform
  • Fairly intuitive
  • workflow. I still have to fumble around a bit to figure out what I want to do
It is perfectly suited for what we needed the solution for: to provide a place to store and manage, for now, photography assets for use by media and our colleagues. I could easily set up a page that could be accessed by anyone I sent a link to for approved, useable photos, and the page looked professional and clean in its interface.

The only cons I would say about Canto is that its tools are so robust we didn't need some of them but I'm glad they were there should we want to flex our muscles a bit.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Canto helps store, organize, optimize, and share out our reports and collateral pieces, including images, videos, and other documents, internally and externally.
  • Tagging and searching
  • Simplifying organized digital files
  • Integrating AI or other smart tools to recognize and identify what's in documents or images to better enhance search
  • Simplify or better visualize the sorting and multiple sub-folders of storage
Great for tagging and organizing content. I wish there was a way to better optimize the viewing experience for an external audience - i.e., create mini webpages of sorts that do not look technical or back end for select audiences like VIP donors or executives. For now, the visuals look more technical and would be too overwhelming to send to older recipients.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Canto to provide resource directories for different groups within our organization. For example, we have a customer portal, a volunteer portal, a media portal, and an internal portal. Each of these portals houses different resources to help those groups interact with our brand and work as an ambassador on our behalf. This provides us the opportunity to easily manage resources across groups and target the information each group receives. We are able to do this without IT resources being involved and can change things at a moment's notice.
  • Separate Audiences
  • Visual Search
  • Resize Images
  • Better communication for what the page represents (more text)
  • Less file-like structure
Canto is best suited for providing targeted resources across different audiences.
Return to navigation