Canto

Canto

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.8 out of 100
Top Rated
Canto

Overview

Recent Reviews

We Love Canto

9 out of 10
May 27, 2022
It's used for the legal department only. We use it to share all the information with our teammates so they can easily access, download, …
Continue reading

Go Canto

8 out of 10
May 27, 2022
We are currently using Canto as our storage solution for the Comms and creative team and as an image library for the whole organisation.

Pro…
Continue reading

Easy, Custom, and Efficient!

10 out of 10
May 26, 2022
Canto has helped us to share assets across the team in an organised fashion. I love the ability to tag and sort the images as we see fit …
Continue reading

Canto Good System

7 out of 10
May 25, 2022
We used Canto to house all of the creative assets that we use in our marketing efforts and product photography website catalog. We also …
Continue reading

So far, great tool!

7 out of 10
May 24, 2022
Canto is being used as our photography library. It's being used across the marketing department to all other departments. It addresses the …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Customer Support 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Canto, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Canto?

Flight is a cloud-based digital asset management (DAM) from Canto headquartered in San Francisco, a somewhat lighter and low cost alternative to their flagship DAM, Cumulus.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://go.canto.com/TrustRadiusPricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

21 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Bynder?

Bynder helps brands to distribute their marketing materials, manage creations and facilitate brand consistency. Bynder is a solution for marketing that comes with best in class digital asset management, creative project management, brand identity guidelines, product information management and web…

What is Cloudinary?

Cloudinary is an image and video management tool enabling users to manage, optimize, and deliver images, videos and other media across every device and channel.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Canto?

Canto enables users to collect, manage and share digital content from anywhere. A digital asset management solution, Canto helps brands in all industries take control of their content libraries and get more out of their digital assets.

A CENTRAL LOCATION FOR DIGITAL ASSETS No more digging through folders and hunting down files. Canto is a hub for digital content – including photos, videos, collateral, and other digital assets are where they are needed.

FIND FILES IN SECONDS Users can organize content in any way desired, and users don’t need to dig through folders to find what is needed. With advanced features like smart tags and facial recognition, the entire library is fully searchable.

COLLECT AND SHARE DIGITAL CONTENT WITH ANYONE Manage the flow of assets in and out of an organization’s library. Upload links make it easier to add content to a library, and unlimited sharing portals allow users to deliver polished, curated collections to any audience.

COLLABORATE To share assets with other teams, external partners and collaborators anywhere in the world. Flexible permissions ensure everyone can access everything they need – and nothing they shouldn’t.

MANAGE A BRAND Approval features keep users in control of what content goes out into the world. Avoid embarrassing mix-ups with version controls and expiration dates, and mitigate business risks with digital rights management tools.

A TOOL THAT FITS ITS TEAM With its configuration options, Canto adapts to how a team works. Plus, out-of-the box integrations snap into the tools a team already uses – including Slack, Microsoft, Adobe Creative Cloud, and others.

FULL VIDEO COMPATIBILITY Canto has a whole host of features designed just for video – including full video previews, timestamped annotations and smart tags, 360° video support, and trimming features to extract just the excerpts needed.

Canto Screenshots

Centralize – Keep team images, video and other files in a central location.Customize – Customize your view and make a new home for your team assets.Organize – Digital assets can be labeled for themes, products, campaigns, templates or anything else.Share – Create visually stunning portals to share your images, videos and other assets.Styleguide - Manage your brand with a private or public digital style guide to easily share your brand colors, logos, typography and more.

Canto Video

Canto Integrations

Canto Competitors

Canto Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesCzech, German, English, Japanese, Korean, Dutch, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Chinese (Simplified), Russian

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Canto?

Flight is a cloud-based digital asset management (DAM) from Canto headquartered in San Francisco, a somewhat lighter and low cost alternative to their flagship DAM, Cumulus.

What is Canto's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses Canto?

The most common users of Canto are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Marketing & Advertising industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 204)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Matthew Liebergall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is being used by almost everyone at my company. We create thousands of ads every year, but before this, had no clear way to find past projects, there wasn't an organization tool. We are using Canto as a repository for our best in class work, and this can be helpful to everyone. We have the sales team using it to find great examples of past work with specific verticals/ad placements/brands, etc. The creative team is using it to find awesome examples of specific creative techniques to elevate their work.

So in short, we're using Canto as a place to house the best of every category of work we do, so that anyone on the team can find what they need!
  • Share links. Now, we can share video asset examples to our clients without them having to download it! They can click on the link, and watch it immediately in a browser, major time saver. Also, for security reasons, it's great that we can set an expiration date to those links, and toggle download permissions.
  • Filter bar. I love how I can quickly filter the assets I currently have in my window. I might use the search function, but realize I missed one part of the search. No worries, I can quickly filter those results!
  • Portals and Workspaces. I love how I can control what users can see in their portals, and that I can use a Workspace to organize assets before making them visible on the general Canto library. This allows me the time to organize assets on Canto, without risking them falling into other's hands before they're ready.
  • I don't love the share features for My Collections. Right now, to share a collection externally, you have to go to the collection, select all the assets, and create a share link. There should be a share link creation associated with the collection itself.
  • Moving and creating folders and albums is slow. Anytime I create or move one, the system will take quite a few seconds of loading time. Also, after it's done, the entire folder structure will collapse to its smallest state, and I usually want it to remain the way it was.
  • Tagging. This isn't a unique issue with Canto, but I wish tagging was less manual, wish I could create shortcuts for tags. I have to make repetitive tags as I want to make sure the right results come up for a user, no matter how they search for it. For example, I'll manually tag an asset "e-comm" "ecomm" e-commerce" and "ecommerce."
If you are looking to host a repository of visual assets, this is your place. If you're creating a repository for discovery, this is your place. If you're trying to make a place where you can find assets quickly and easily, this is great for you.

However, if you're looking to create an educational portal, this may not be the right environment. Leaving notes and comments on Canto is a little hard to do, and they are not easy to find when looking at an asset.
The Canto team is very helpful, they usually respond to any questions within a day. And they're always responding with helpful, personal, human answers. It feels like they care about our partnership, and want us to use their product to its best abilities. They provided us with a month-long onboarding period where they helped us build out the repository.
Canto seems to be modeled to be about as user friendly as possible. For any users that are simply going on it to find and share assets, it really couldn't be easier. It's an extremely easy to follow, and simple platform. The one caveat here is that the admin side is not so as much. There are many settings pages, and they are a bit cumbersome and hard to find. I find myself reaching out to Canto reps on simply pointing me in the right direction on changing a simple setting.
May 27, 2022

We Love Canto

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for the legal department only. We use it to share all the information with our teammates so they can easily access, download, and work in an easier way than go to the physical documentation. And, due to the pandemic working from home, Canto solves all the documentation needs for everyone.
  • Organization on the files
  • Easy access for download and share
  • Security regarding the fact you can share your documents with the people you want.
  • Easy app
  • The file migration; it can't be done one time.
You can access all your data from anywhere. You can share, customize the way you share, and download your documents. Also, you can create portals where you can work specifics without involving everybody on the team. Also, you can have statistics on your users about uploading, time on the platform, etc.
theyre always super helful and easy to contact.
because it is really smooth to work with it
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto to store all of our digital assets, from stock photography, product labels, video, marketing assets like brochures, and even headshots! Our entire company uses Canto in various ways depending on their department. Before Canto, we were storing our files on various hard drives - and each time we needed something we'd play everyone's fun game of "who has it", "who has the latest version", and "where are the attachments to this InDesign file". Now, everyone has the ability to log in and quickly keyword search for exactly what they are looking for.
  • Visually show you the file in a thumbnail without having to click on it
  • Keyword search to find files relating to exactly what you're looking for
  • Easy user upload and download
  • Ability to share assets with outside members
  • The servers get slow after a single use experience of uploading items
  • The servers can't handle large uploads (for instance like 1 GB) very well
  • It would be nice to not have to pay for more than 5 users
Canto can definitely help a company efficiently store and find their assets, especially if they have a lot of them (files in the thousands). The ability to visually see and search for a file in seconds is why our company signed up. Their support staff has also been nothing short of amazing. I will say, though, if you're looking for an easy way to share assets outside of your organization without too much hassle, Canto can be a bit clunky sometimes.
The whole point of why we started using Canto in the first place was for it's intuitive user interface (UI). From day one it was easy to train on and start adapting to. Our initial asset import became a breeze, too. Folder structure is important, but the tagging and keywording, including Canto's "smart search", has allowed each of our team members to find what they want without sifting through folders for days.
May 27, 2022

Go Canto

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Canto as our storage solution for the Comms and creative team and as an image library for the whole organisation.

Pros - Easy access to photo's and other files
Cons - Would like to see a desktop version similar to Dropbox and OneDrive so you can organise files without being on the web
  • Easy for all team members to access
  • tagging
  • easy to use
  • Desk top folder like OneDrive or dropbox
  • Option to have more than one library
  • N/A
Best way to be GDPR compliance
Overall usability is great, but it still could with some improvements for example by improving bulk uploads. When uploading a folder with a number of assets with different file extensions, not all files will upload which resulting going back and checking what's missing and then uploading individually, not ideal when using this as your main backup solution.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization Canto is primarily operated by our Marketing department as a way to store, categorize and share assets such as photographs and graphic files. We also provide access to other departments who need to regularly search for and use these media items as a way to speed up the process of them finding what they need.
For us it helps us sort through thousands of photographs quickly and easily through tagging, keywording and facial recognition, saving a large amount of time for people working on projects needing those assets. It also provides us with a quick and effective method of sharing these files, even with those outside of our organization.
  • Categorizating.
  • Sharing content.
  • Facial recognition.
  • Keywording.
  • Search.
  • Quick use of editable files.
  • Slow upload at times.
We love the ability to keyword and tag all of our photography, then search through thousands of photos quickly and easily. Also the ability to select a few photos and make a link to just those photos that I can send to people is something we use almost every day. The new facial recognition also works well.
However, I find that for working quickly with files there are other filesharing platforms that have native desktop files, available at an instant, that are better suited to that purpose.
Canto support have always been quick to respond and quick with solutions to any problems that we've had. They've also been willing to walk new employees of ours through their features via video chat when necessary and are always available for questions or suggestions on how to better use their platform to meet our needs.
I've had to train multiple staff in our organization, and a few contractors outside the organization, how to use our Canto to find the content that they require and it's always been a really easy process. I think that speaks well to how usable the platform is for people with varying technical experience.
Lauren Gummelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are excited to use Canto for the management of our digital marketing assets for ease of searchability and consistency for our teams. It is currently being used by our Marketing teams, but we anticipate it being used by many more departments. It is very hard to search for the right stock photo within a folder, and it is impossible to keep up with the licensing. Canto solves both issues.
  • Easy implementation
  • Google Drive/External Link Synchronization
  • Does all the hard work for us
  • After the setup time frame, we got everything working to where it was 100%. We have enjoyed our service since implementation.
If you have to manage more than 300 files for digital marketing assets that other users have to also use, Canto is the right solution for you.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto across the entire organisation both for internally and for external 3rd parties to access. It solves our need to store, catalogue and share assets securely and quickly.
  • Easy upload through separate app - Canto Connect
  • Intuitive and fast access to sharing assets
  • Smart tagging of assets
  • Public facing portals
  • Custom URL for Portals
  • More freedom to custom design the portal e.g. template selection
  • More integrations
I am a big fan of Canto. It is easy to set up and use from day one. The user interface is well designed and intuitive. For us it has saved time and money by reducing workflows plus it gives me a a perfect umbrella view of what assets we are using as a company in order ensure that our brand messaging is aligned.
The team is very responsive for any queries we have had. Having a dedicated account manager really helps.
Canto is incredibly easy to use and set up. We integrated it within the organisation within a matter of days
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto has helped us to share assets across the team in an organised fashion. I love the ability to tag and sort the images as we see fit and use the custom tagging features to ensure the team can search by whatever is easiest for them. You can easily find all assets for a particular product by searching for that product name, or all content featuring the same model. It's also been helpful in the post-production process for shoots, whereby we can have conversations with the photographer via Canto comments. This has saved a lot of back and forth! The team loves it and it's made our lives a lot easier since we've been using it.
  • Custom tagging
  • Commenting
  • Content categorisation
  • Reduced cost for additional admin/contributor profiles would be nice. As our team grew, we needed more but the cost feels a bit high for more people to be added with this access level.
Canto has been really helpful for custom tagging so that anyone in the marketing team, or wider business, can quickly and easily find the images or videos they need by searching in the way they want to - e.g. by product name or model name. It has improved our post-production process as we can easily have conversations with the photographer using the comments section to pinpoint what we are talking about, rather than having lengthy email exchanges with screenshots.
May 25, 2022

Canto Good System

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Canto to house all of the creative assets that we use in our marketing efforts and product photography website catalog. We also collect all of our UGC here as well. We use portals to allow the press to connect with us.
  • Portals for external Press or Outside Agencies
  • Easily relate images which we use for UGC and approvals
  • Easy to use
  • Price can get expensive after a while
  • Automatic tagging features are lacking compared to others.
  • More Users per account
I think it is great for a company that doesn't do a lot of videos that can afford those high storage costs but overall great product and a great company.
McKenna Sokol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Canto as a solution for our massive library of images and graphic design files. It's being used by everyone internally and will be used by our clients once we set those portals up so they have better immediate access to image files. Our pre-existing database was messy and difficult to work through, where Canto allows us to keep everything in one spot with amazing search functionality for ease of use.
  • Organization
  • Search queries
  • UX
  • Onboarding is tough, but that's more because it's a robust tool and we're a team of over-thinkers :).
Marketing agencies far and wide would be a great place for Canto. Any creative-based business with a lot of assets, really.
Once you get the hang of it, it's fabulous. The learning curve can be difficult for those that didn't onboard/set up the tool, especially if they aren't in it all the time. The curve is as steep as it is because of how robust the tool is, so the pros definitely outweigh the cons here.
May 25, 2022

Canto is DAM good

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is used to create access to our band assets and photo library to employees and agencies we work with
  • Great interface
  • Simple to use but powerful features
  • Easy to set up and manage
  • Great support
  • Reliable and fast despite a large amount of content uploaded
  • Includes support for video
  • There is currently no way of integrating InDesign plugin through our CISCO firewall
  • Some plugins are expensive although very useful
If you have a large image library and or marketing collateral you need to be able to store and make available to others then this tool is ideal. Keywording and metadata makes finding images really easy and the system runs smoothly and efficiently despite having a large database of information.It has some great features which make sharing and manipulating content easy.
Very responsive and helpful and quick to resolve issues
Canto has lots of great features and is easy to use. It is stable and fast with excellent support when required.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The full company uses Canto, although it was chosen with Mar/Comms and BizDev needs in mind.
  • Best search functionality out of all other DAM systems I looked into.
  • Frequent product updates.
  • Good customer service.
  • Slow load times (especially for video).
  • Only admins ("power users") can upload assets into the main library. Canto limits the number of admin seats you can have.
  • Initial training was not very helpful.
Canto is well suited if you need to organize images, videos, and other files across teams. It has some functionality to allow version control and editing on the platform, but I wouldn't say it's quite robust enough to replace Frame.io, Vimeo, Light Room, etc.
  • Online Training
I've had great support from my account manager, although the initial training wasn't very helpful.
While Canto has some limitations, it has been helpful, and the company releases new features ~once a quarter.
Canto is based on the West coast, so occasionally patches and planned outages happen during East coast working hours
No
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is used as the enterprise-wide DAM system. It's helping store, organize, and distribute content across channels at all stages of production. It helps reduce duplicate efforts across teams, which saves time and resource costs. It also ensures proper governance, digital rights management, and allows for controlled sharing with external partners.
  • Asset management and distribution.
  • Detailed permissions structures.
  • Portals and style guides.
  • More direct integrations with programs like Sketch and Bridge would be great! (already has some other Adobe product integrations).
  • More control over the Smart Tags feature would be really useful - to be able to train it a certain way (using brand terms, for example) or teach it not to tag certain things would help us customize the automatic tags it adds—removing some of these is a manual process (even with confidence set at 95).
  • Transparency for the price tiers for adding more power users and more storage space would be helpful in our planning.
It's great if you need an interface that anyone can use with a lot of features. It's user-friendly and very visual, which is great. We use the sharing features and portals a lot to share assets with external partners, and the controls around those are excellent. It's well suited to organizations with lots of assets. It would probably be less appropriate for smaller teams or companies that don't need to control detailed permissions or DRM.
Our Canto rep is super responsive whenever we have questions. They also add new features all the time, which is excellent. They're very receptive to feedback. We've asked for new features in the past and they've even let us know when they're implementing a change or new feature that we requested, which is really nice followup. Service overall is among the best of the vended products we use.
It's pretty intuitive and easy to learn. We offer internal training and people find that it's usually pretty quick with few questions at the end if any. The documentation is thorough. I can almost always find what I'm looking for, but when I have questions the help center is useful and I very rarely have to reach out to get a question answered.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is being used as our photography library. It's being used across the marketing department to all other departments. It addresses the ease of seeing what our best photography is for our team and outside teams. This is crucial and a missing component to what we previously had in place.
  • Searchability
  • Flexibility
  • Plug-in capability for Adobe products--our team is just starting to test out using this and off the bat it seems like there are some issues with the images downloading to the machine rather than truly being cloud-based links
  • Sometimes a bit overwhelming with all the features; its taking our team a while to get the product up and running
  • Filtering is not as intuitive as I had thought
  • Takes a long time to build up metadata for the filtering
Canto really seems well suited to be a photo cataloging tool and photo sharing tool. I think it lacks a little bit in terms of full capability due to storage cost and constraints in that category.
they are responsive but some of the issues we had a year ago are still occurring for instance one was caused by a version update they made to their plug in tool and that caused fuctionality errors on our end. when brought up to their support they didn't do a whole lot and relied on our team to do the legwork and testing.
some of the features and usablity are great but most of it takes sooo long to get off the ground. we spent well over a year on it so far and still working on it which is disappointing.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto is used as a digital asset tool. Internally, we create content for different departments to share with external vendor partners and retailers. Having so many assets and so many different specifications for each partner makes it challenging to store on a traditional shared drive, but Canto has allowed us to organize and tailor assets by channel.
  • Asset upload
  • Asset organization
  • Search functionality enables us to find assets easily
  • The crop and resize feature is sometimes challenging to use for non designers.
Canto is well suited for a company looking for standard asset DAM and organization and management. It’s particularly helpful if you need to share content externally. You don’t need to rely on an additional file sharing service like Dropbox which is the main benefit for our organization.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto to organize all of our assets. We run a lot of different campaigns, so it's great to have everything really organized in Canto, and all staff can access it easily. The images can be tagged which helps to search for any type of photo we may need.
  • tagging photos
  • portals
  • folders
  • sharing links
  • Link with desktop folders, so that we don't have to download assets all the time
  • reporting
portals are great to share certain assets with certain groups of people.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto as a digital asset management tool to keep our venue assets organized, as we run 350 event venues worldwide, each with its own images, logos, etc. Canto allows us to give access to the venues, vendors, and to consultants to upload their content in a safe organized space. We can give all users the level of access they need to get their files, without seeing things they don't need. Overall, it's been a big help to the marketing department.
  • Permission/Access
  • File Structure Customization
  • Reports on Use
  • Would like more levels of access.
  • Would like to be able to copy file structures.
  • Would like A-Z sorting to be default.
Canto is great for sharing large files like PowerPoint presentations or videos with others so that they are safe and do not clog anyone's inbox. Sharing photos with Canto is ideal because you don't have to compromise their quality like you do in an attachment. Canto is not ideal if you need too many admins because the seats are expensive.
Erin Dixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto has been a great asset to my company! Before Canto, the Marketing team would waste hours filtering and sorting through all of our media to find one specific photo or video. Now, we can easily organize and search for what we need. It takes a matter of seconds! The facial recognition feature is also an excellent tool that we utilize every week.
  • Facial recognition
  • Onboarding and implementation process
  • Customizable
  • My only issue with Canto is not having an account manager. I honestly have no idea who to reach out to if I have questions or concerns.
Canto is great if your company is like mine and has thousands of photos and videos. It's so easy to share, upload and organize our media.
May 14, 2022

Excellent Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto as a central system for all our property photos and logos. We also use it for brand logos, stock photos, lifestyle photos, and videos. I would say that Canto allows up to have a place to go to access materials required by all departments of the hotel - everyone has access to the same information. My personal use includes downloading content as well as uploading content to our corporate office for approval and addition to the galleries.
  • Layout of information is easy to read - and easy to find what you are looking for.
  • Upload and download rate is quick with no delays.
  • System runs smoothly.
  • Allowing access to more than one hotel property under an email address.
  • Better training for those who are system administrators.
  • Layout could be a bit better.
Canto is great for companies like the one I work for - we have multiple hotels under multiple chains and being able to access all our media under one account is ideal. It is really beneficial for marketing agencies and those who need to share and have access to photos for their company.
May 14, 2022

Canto is helpful

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canto to organize our assets including photos, videos, style guides etc. Our favorite feature is the ease of sharing. We no longer have to use Dropbox etc to share large files that cannot be attached to emails. We can also create specific branded portals to share with clients and other teams.
  • Style guides for press kits
  • Portals to share with clients
  • Asset organization and management
  • Difficult to navigate
  • Learning curve
  • Simpler settings
The client portals are the game changer. If you have instances where you need to share particular assets in a clean way, Canto is the way to go. If you are just looking to store photos and videos somewhere, there may be easier options to use for your needs and wants.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company loves using Canto because it gives easy access to searching any image in our database. We used to use Dropbox but that didn't give us the option to tag our products by names and patterns. Using Canto we can tag each image with customized tags that allow users to easily search for what they need.
  • Canto Adobe Connector, allows our graphic designers to search for images within the Adobe programs and simply drag and drop to their artwork.
  • Bulk tagging is very helpful.
  • Portals are amazing for sharing with our wholesale customers' images for each season that we create.
  • Customized fonts for the portal is not available.
  • Different layouts for the portal would be great.
Canto is great for any company or individual that deals with a lot of photography and video assets. I feel like every marketing team should have Canto because it just makes things easy to search for and organize.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps us with storing our current digital archive and photographs for the school, which can be accessed by anyone with a login. We appreciate that there are tools that make the process of searching for a photo easier, for example by searching by date, category, or hashtags. We have not found another system that makes this as easy a process.
  • Categorizing
  • Tagging
  • Be able to use it for digitised books and publications too.
It is good for a school that wants to categorise its photographs and make them available to the community, but not as an external archival system.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Inter-American Foundation is an independent U.S. government agency that promotes community-led development in Latin America and the Caribbean. We use photos and videos in our blogs and social media, in reports to Congress, and in our own communications products such as our annual report. At the IAF, we use Canto to compile, store, access, and share photos for our agency. We were looking for a system that could accommodate all of our photos, ideally in cloud-based storage that would be accessible from anywhere. It was very important to us to be able to attach metadata, including keywords, tags, descriptions, and custom fields, to each photo. It was also essential to us to be able to search by country, by grantee, by individual picture, and by topic area. We may need to find a photo of an artisanal fishery project, or of women in sustainable agriculture, or of a specific grantee from Honduras, and we needed a system that would make it easy to do that. Nice-to-haves included having a way for contractors, photographers, or foundation representatives to upload photos and videos, as well as having a way to share specific sets of photos with external people without having to share our entire photo catalog with them.
  • Creation of custom fields with drop-down menus to facilitate adding key metadata.
  • Use of upload links to allow collaborators to upload and tag photos themselves.
  • Effective, intuitive search and filter functions.
  • Use of portals to easily share photos and style guides with external collaborators.
  • It would be great if everyone at our organization could be automatically enrolled by email address (@iaf.gov). We've been having to invite them to register themselves by hand.
Canto is working well as a photo catalog for us. My understanding is that that's what it's designed to do. I wouldn't try to use it as a photo editing program or for anything too far beyond storing and searching for photos.
May 14, 2022

Would recommend

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto's ability to create a media site that can be broken down into individual portals depending on user type is a great help for managing huge quantities of files. Simple build tagging systems take out a lot of the need to guide users on how to use the system. The fact it can host PDFs, images, videos, and more assets is also a great help.
  • Auto AI tagging
  • Customisable portals
  • Storage space
  • Simple to use backend
  • Auto AI is a bit hit and miss
  • Managing users could be easier - i.e. bulk editing
If you work on behalf of big companies and need to create a media repository with varying levels of access, this is the system. If you also work in live industries such as sports, this helps with immediate turnaround.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canto was purchased in 2019 because we were stuck in legacy or internal systems that did not benefit the company as a whole. We needed a way to share information across the company as well as have a repository of information that could be accessed, updated, removed, and added at any time. Canto was able to check all those boxes.
  • Repository of information
  • Access items quickly
  • Easy to find and sort on items.
  • Access the platform with a simple link.
  • Managing and uploading new content was simple.
  • Sometimes it can be tough to find items via search.
  • At times, items would not upload.
  • Thumbnails were too small to see the items.
Canto is ideal for companies that have a lot of items to keep tabs on, such as sales collateral or other materials needed internally. Canto is great for corporate use because everyone can access it easily via a simple link. However, there are times when finding items in Canto was difficult, but honestly, that is probably more user error than anything (such as naming conventions and whatnot). All in all, Canto is a very good product.