D&B Hoovers Reviews

37 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Sean Mir | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

D&B Gold

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
D&B Hoovers is used across our whole sales organization and we heavily rely on it to present accurate data about the businesses and prospects we are targeting. Often times accounts get mixed up across territories, so as soon as we engage with an account we make sure to update our D&B Hoovers to ensure it is properly assigned to the right BDR.
  • Update Records
  • Provide accurate records
  • Improve ease of use
  • Detailed explanation of fields
It is a must for organizations with an outreach sales department. It integrates directly with our CRM and guides through which accounts to work with. I would say the best overall functionality is the relationship it has with the CRM tool making it a seamless experience for users prospecting quickly through accounts.
Read Sean Mir's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Do not cheat yourself or your business by being tight with your money. HUGE ROI!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a fanatical prospector, this software is by far the best lead generation software that allows the user to customize their search for target markets and receive b2b leads that are accurate and up to date more than any other b2b lead generation software.
  • D&B Hoovers provides leads that are up to date and constantly updated and checked.
  • D&B Hoovers allows the user to customize searches that use filters to find target prospects in target markets.
  • D&B Hoovers has far more businesses as leads in their data base than any other competition, period.
  • There are virtually no areas where this software can improve. This is elite b2b software that businesses who care about their prospecting/sales campaigns use.
  • Other than the software, the price itself can improve so start up businesses are more inclined to make the purchase.
D&B Hoovers is the most elite b2b lead software that should be used by any business that takes their sales/prospecting campaigns very seriously. The leads themselves are always being checked for validity and updated, and provide far more to choose from than any other lead generating software out there, and believe me, I have used quite a few. This software offers so much more than accurate lead generation or an amazing filter to find target clients in your target market - it offers the ability to find leads close to you based off of your GPS location, and this is one awesome perk among many - but rest assured you will receive a personal webinar meeting to show you all of the ways the software can be implemented to provide a huge return on investment. The only turn off about D&B Hoovers is the pricing which is understandable considering that they are the best, but it is not worth saving money only to pick up pennies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Cost Effective Prospecting Solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
D&B Hoovers has been widely used by our sales department as a way to increase their prospect database and targeting the right individuals. Our organization does very little cold calling, and D&B Hoovers was a way to prospect without being 100% cold. It's reduced the number of inbound leads necessary to hit budgets.
  • Able to target prospects based on title, industry, company etc.
  • Integration with our CRM
  • Easy for our reps to use
  • Accuracy of database
  • Staying current with business listings
If you are looking for a cost-effective solution to database prospecting, Hoovers will help. If you're looking for something more robust, accurate, and up-to-date, Hoovers may not be the best option for your company.
Read this authenticated review
Lindsey Schultz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2018

Prospecting Tool D & B

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use D & B Hoovers to find contacts for companies that we want to prospect into. We wanted something that could easily integrate into our CRM and have accurate information.
  • It can help find contact information for prospects to use for email and phone calls.
  • It will allow you to segment who you are looking for and will even help find similar prospects based on what you search for.
  • There are over 100 M contacts!
  • It would be better used with LinkedIn Sales Navigator and to be able to build a list from there.
  • Sometimes we have seen emails bounce.
D&B Hoovers is used well when you are trying to find contact information (emails and phones) of prospects from companies you are trying to target. There are tons of industries to choose from and they have a pretty wide coverage.
Read Lindsey Schultz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

One stop for pre-sales data.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is just used by the sales department. The sales department here has around 25 team members, most of them are in the US. We do B2B sales and we are into legal services. D&B Hoovers facilitates the overall pre-sales process, right from extracting the data for any company pertaining to finances, contacts, geographies, industry to call preparation questions. We provide sales data to our front-end sales team, analyzing data and sharing it with the sales team.
  • It provides financial data (revenue, net profit and other terms in the annual financial report) in a standardized form which is easy to understand.
  • It regularly updates the news and trigger events of the business like mergers and acquisition, changes in leadership, etc
  • Besides providing the general details of the businesses, it also provides Call Prep Questions, Executive Insight, SWOT analysis which are quite helpful when you are preparing your pre-sales data.
  • They should improve on their feature 'Search & Build a List' which lets you extract reports. They should provide more filters.
When the organization needs to prepare the data of their prospect, this tool can be quite handy. It will provide all the data you need before pitching sales or approaching your prospect customer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

D&B Hoovers, powerful but in need of a face lift

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
D&B Hoovers is being used across the sales team for its accurate data with company count, business code, and industry data. With this information we break down what company belongs to what territory, size, and classification so we can give the different sales teams different territories to work on. We can also end disputes over who has claim to opportunities, making for a more cohesive and set-in-stone environment.
  • Building company lists.
  • Accurate data.
  • Contact database.
  • Looks antiquated, could use a face lift.
  • Could better manage duplicates.
  • Could manage larger searches and associates.
D&B is well suited for sales teams. I've always used it in the past and present to verify company information, search for more incumbents, and understand organizational structure, and to do so in one database maximizes my time. D&B is less appropriate if you are looking to send off email blasts, prospect in the fastest manner, or integrate to Salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

D&B Hoovers - Mediocre sales data quality with an extremely high price tag

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current role, we have been using D&B Hoovers to identify prospect companies and key contacts to connect with to promote our SAAS product. This product is primarily being used by a single department (marketing) although the information is shared company wide. There are a lot of different kinds of information you can use Hoovers to source, including financial data and other business insights, but our primary use has mostly been acquiring contact information.
  • Aggregates publicly shared company data very well. Can be useful for getting information on a specific company without doing a lot of web research.
  • Integrates with a few different CRM platforms so you can import data
  • Much of the data on this platform is stale or inaccurate when it comes to identifying company contacts. We determined that there is about a 70% accuracy in any given data set. This is in stark contrast to the 90% or better that the D&B sales rep sold us on.
  • Customer service is terrible here when you have any kind of complaint. In our experience, they escalated our issue (poor data quality and a request for a refund or termination of our contract) to a manager who never bothered to return any emails or calls.
  • You pay (heavily) for exporting data outside of their system. If you're not able or willing to pay for exports, the interface they have for just viewing the data in grid format is clunky and inefficient.
If you're with a big company that can afford to pay $500 - 1000 per month or more for data, then this platform may have a lot of value for you. That's in part because you could use it to produce actionable insights on a mass scale and you may not be worried about the cost of incorrect data. If your company is a smaller company working on a budget, this most likely is not the solution for you.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
Greg McLaughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

D&B is a transformational game changer for Master Data Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Neopost USA and also at Getty Images, we used D&B as the backbone to our Master Data Management platform. We regularly DUNS matched about 2 Million Customer and Prospect records against their pool of 500 Million records to cleanse and enhance our critical business data. We also implemented Hoovers as a means for our Customer Information team to easily look up and resolve miss-matching records as well as a tool for our Sales Reps to become intimately knowledgeable about their Customers and Prospects prior to the Sales Calls. Additionally, our Marketing team used D&B to supplement their targeting efforts and identify new prospective companies to add to our acquisition campaigns.
  • Amazing source of data. The best, cleanest, most reliable database in the world.
  • DUNS Matching process. Unparalleled in its accuracy .
  • Customer Service. They make themselves an indispensable member of your team.
  • Their order management process is cumbersome
  • Negotiating can be difficult as their Sales teams always have to seek multiple approvals to move forward
  • They don't advertise their big picture strengths and their transformative capabilities nearly well enough
Any company with a CRM system where the data is duplicative, lacking detail and/or inaccurate has a need to match and append their data with D&B. Also, any company looking to effectively target their addressable market should also connect with D&B. Lastly, and company with a robust direct Sales team should be using Hoovers to help their Reps approach their clients from a strong position of knowledge and strategic information.
Read Greg McLaughlin's full review
Andrew Fix | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2018

Avention Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Avention is being used by the Business Development department at my organization and it's used as a tool to confirm company details as well as be a resource for finding company information. It allows us to find contacts, company location, revenue, employee size, and ultimately cross reference it with other information.
  • Provides company information (HQ address & phone number, revenue, employee size)
  • Ability to build company lists
  • Ability to find contacts and research into industries
  • Understand competitors of an organization and reports specifically pertaining to that company
  • I wish there was a way that I could learn the full extent of what Avention has to offer. I was forced to learn it on my own which is fine because it is a user-friendly tool but without a training on it, I don't fully understand the capabilities it offers.
  • Include training videos or steps that identifies what you're trying to accomplish within the tool and how you can continue to benefit with Avention.
Avention is well suited when trying to find details about an organization. It provides great information into an organization and allows you to gauge your prospecting off of the information provided.
Read Andrew Fix's full review
LeAnn Perkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2017

Hoover's - It doesn't suck!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hoover's is used by marketing and sales. It's great for org charts and company info.
  • It's accurate.
  • It provides detailed org charts.
  • It's user-friendly.
  • More small business info would be nice.
  • Sometimes the info is old.
It's great for finding the contacts you're looking for. The org charts and company info are top notch.
Read LeAnn Perkins's full review
Richard Ingram | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2015

Great product, intuitive!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I really like the ability to quickly find a phone number, website url, or email syntax for an account that I am prospecting for. Also, as you start typing to search for a company, it begins to auto-populate with possible accounts you are looking for and provides the headquarters location in the preview results so I know for a fact that I am selecting the right account that I should be looking into.
  • Find updated contacts.
  • List companies easily when typing them or adding them in.
  • Companies that have merged are listed without current information.
  • Updated addresses.
  • Employee turnover needs to update sooner.
Hoover's is a good tool if you are looking for basic information on companies. For larger companies with public reporting Hoover's is a great source for information. I think almost every company with a sales/business development force has used Hoover's in the past.
Read Richard Ingram's full review
Douglas Hook (MBA,MS) | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2015

Doug's review of Avention

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avention is used to explore lead generation.
  • Filtering on details for capturing leads by a particular segment.
  • Capturing leads by specific filter, then having them become unchecked when you leave the page when wrapping around or scrolling.
How current/accurate is the data being stored by Avention? How often is it updated/refreshed?
Read Douglas Hook (MBA,MS)'s full review
Stanley Szeliga | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2014

Hoovers 2014

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hoovers is being used by the inside sales department to find appropriate contact information for key companies to better perform outreach.
  • shows company key financial information
  • shows correct phone numbers and address
  • shows key company contacts to look for
  • shows recent news for the company
  • have easier to use filters when searching for companies
  • separate companies that are out of business into a separate area in search
  • flag employees or data that may be out of date
it is well suited for any sales division that needs to do background research on a company before making a phone call. It is also well suited for finding key financial information when deciding whether or not to invest into a company.
Read Stanley Szeliga's full review
Micah Tinklepaugh | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2014

Rookie Review of a Reputable service.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a small consulting firm specializing in Virtual Worlds rehearsal we would use Hoover's to gather financial performance indications from privately held companies. There were five people in the organization, two executives, one IT director, and one manager. We all used the service. After gathering the key financials and competitive information we would build a profile of the organizations behavior over time with which to enter realistic data into a video game simulation (3D) where our clients would control an avatar. Hoover's would usually give us 1-3 pieces of information that we required 10 data points. We wanted the ten but could only come up with a little bit given that they were privately held companies and Hoover's had far less on them the plethora of data already provided by finance search engines. Usually executives names, merger history, business operations, etc would show up. It did not give us deep business intelligence but provided skeletal pattern with which to piece together what we were looking for.

  • Hoover's has good information architecture in one sense that allowed you to keep track of where you have looked and also add anticipatory links for things you might like to research or know.
  • It was great for finding a more complete picture of the companies history.
  • It was helpful for piecing together contact information for people you may not have known worked there.
  • Often multiple listings of the same data were presented which required clicking through each one to be sure you didn't miss any pertinent info.
  • It would be nice to see recommended containers such as 'other people viewed' or interactive visual charts mapping company assets or leadership.
  • The Data they provide often isn't accurate or is often outdated.
As a business and marketing intern, my experience while in school using these services is limited. But I will say that more accurate sales leads and competitive intelligence can be garnered just by using Data.com (a free service if you upload contacts) in conjunction with LinkedIn. The email formula needed for sales leads is found from Data.com and every contact within an organization is on LinkedIn. You also get competitor's workforce sizes and many other data points that if used creatively will help you integrate approximations for the financials of companies like how much they might have in parts of their budget to spend on a technology you want to sell them. I'd honestly rather spend an hour going back and forth between those sites aggregating it into an Excel spread sheet than spending company resources on Hoover's.
Read Micah Tinklepaugh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2018

Avention Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Avention to understand our new prospect accounts. The Avention tool helps in assisting with revenue, employee size, description, etc. I believe a good amount of the sales force uses Avention.
  • Account lookup
  • Account Prospecting
  • Advanced Search
  • The tool is well built. I enjoy the search functionality.
  • Continue standard updates.
The Avention tool is perfect for prospecting. Each sales floor should utilize the tool to assist with prospecting. The tool becomes less appropriate the further you move up in a company. This is mostly due to lack of prospect searching and more net new base.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2018

Hoover's Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hoover's has given us many sales leads that we would not have found otherwise. It also gives insight into the company prior to contacting. The listing of employees is helpful as well.
  • The large data base of leads
  • That you are able to bring up leads for any industry you are currently researching
  • The information on the contacts is kept current and up to date
  • Being able to link to their D&B report if you are a subscriber to both Hoovers & DNBi.
When researching for leads in a specific industry or trying to obtain contacts within those companies
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Untrustworthy Company, overpriced mediocre product

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Not a very useful product that costs way too much and has terrible support. Does not honor their refund policy, does not present you with all options for purchase, dishonest sales reps.
  • It has data.
  • Poor quality product
  • Dishonest sales
  • No support
  • Does not honor refund request
I would never recommend Hoover's to anyone.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2016

Hoover's Rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hoover's was used by the marketing and business development team at the firm - attorneys would use it sparingly but for the most part our division would use the product and pass along information to the attorneys. When preparing biz dev pitches we would use Hoover's to get as much info as possible on the target companies.
  • Executive bios
  • Company details and facts
  • Key player contact info
  • Tool was a bit clunky and not intuitive
  • Information wasn't always up to date or accurate
  • Load times were sometimes slow
Hoover's was great when we wanted detailed company descriptions on what they do, how much revenue they generate, where their offices are located. I preferred to use other tools when looking up company bios - Linkedin was a better resource with much more up to date information which is key when looking for contact info.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2015

Newbie

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avention is being used to bring in new business to our organization. It is used across the whole organization. It doesn't address any business problems, really, as most of the information can be found through extensive intel searches on our own. However, having Avention makes it easier to obtain the information as it's in one central location.
  • It provides names of the decision makers (very important)!
  • It shows the parent company and lists the locations of all the subsidiaries.
  • It allows us to create filters and lists for our research, which is really helpful.
  • What's really needed is email addresses for the decision makers.
  • I don't like the white background as it's difficult to read the information. The contrasting colors of grey make it even more difficult.
  • Avention should use deeper colors as a background and contrast with brighter colors in the font/text. It would make the perusing of the information easier on my eyes!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Advanced search (16)
7.9
Identification of new leads (16)
8.4
List quality (16)
7.4
List upload/download (15)
7.9
Ideal customer targeting (16)
7.9
Load time/data access (15)
7.2
Contact information (16)
7.5
Company information (16)
8.0
Industry information (16)
8.2
Lead qualification process (13)
7.5
Smart lists and recommendations (15)
7.7
Salesforce integration (13)
8.3
Company/business profiles (15)
8.5
Alerts and reminders (9)
9.1
Data hygiene (12)
7.6
Automatic data refresh (11)
8.1
Tags (12)
8.3
Filters and segmentation (13)
7.5
Sales email templates (7)
9.7
Append emails to records (7)
9.7

About D&B Hoovers

D&B Hoovers (formerly Avention, which was acquired by Dun & Bradstreet) is a sales and marketing intelligence tool with account-based marketing features. In addition to list building, it also profiles on target accounts, and surfaces news and alerts about companies of interest.

D&B Hoovers Competitors

D&B Hoovers Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No