Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Optimizely Web Experimentation

Optimizely Web Experimentation

Overview

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Ease of Use: Users consistently praise the platform for its elegant and user-friendly design, which enhances productivity across various …
Continue reading

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review

8 out of 10
June 22, 2024
We use the Optimizely Web Experimentation software to facilitate our A/B testing on the front end of our website. This allows us to freely …
Continue reading

Not value for money

5 out of 10
April 24, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to launch different experiments in our site. We have different type of audiences, coming from …
Continue reading

Optimizely Review

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B testing and soft rollouts of changes. This allows us to test and make changes without needing to use engineering …
Continue reading

Good platform

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
I have used Optimizely in order to conduct simple AB tests and more complex MVT test to improve an ecommerce website. We had issue …
Continue reading

Data has no opinions

8 out of 10
April 16, 2024
Incentivized
It's simple for us, we want to make data driven decisions and Optimizely Web Experimentation gives us the tools and data we need to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 33 features
  • a/b experiment testing (105)
    9.3
    93%
  • Standard visitor segmentation (97)
    8.9
    89%
  • Test significance (96)
    8.5
    85%
  • Preview mode (94)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review from a Director of Partnerships
08:08
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.optimizely.com/plans/

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

46 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Oracle Marketing?

Oracle CX Marketing (formerly Oracle Marketing Cloud) is a solution designed to enable marketers to plan and execute automated marketing campaigns via email, display search, video advertising, and mobile while delivering a personalized customer experience for their prospects.

What is Instapage?

Instapage, from AirSlate since the October 2023 acquisition, offers post-click automation to help digital advertisers create more relevant and impactful advertising, unifying the post-click stage of the advertising funnel. Instapage helps marketers to maximize conversions by creating,…

Return to navigation

Features

Testing and Experimentation

These features enable companies to plan, set up, and execute different types of tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, split URL tests).

8
Avg 8.3

Audience Segmentation & Targeting

A set of tools used for website optimization experiments (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, funnel, split URL, multivariate tests) that can help users segment their audience in to different groups for the purpose of exposing specific audiences to tests or personalization efforts.

8.7
Avg 8.7

Results and Analysis

Tools that allow users to evaluate the results of website optimization tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, and split URL tests), or view visitor interaction with webpages and specific site elements.

8.3
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers marketers to conduct fast experiments and personalization campaigns without relying heavily on technical resources. Marketers can test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, deliver personalized customer experiences, and do it all from edge networks.

Optimizely provides a single workspace for experimentation collaborators to have control and visibility across their experiments — from setting up experiment components to interpreting test results — ultimately to improve velocity and collaboration, and elevate performance.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

  • Supported: a/b experiment testing
  • Supported: Split URL testing
  • Supported: Multivariate testing
  • Supported: Multi-page/funnel testing
  • Supported: Cross-browser testing
  • Supported: Mobile app testing
  • Supported: Test significance
  • Supported: Visual / WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Advanced code editor
  • Supported: Preview mode
  • Supported: Test duration calculator
  • Supported: Experiment scheduler
  • Supported: Experiment workflow and approval
  • Supported: Dynamic experiment activation
  • Supported: Client-side tests
  • Supported: Server-side tests
  • Supported: Mutually exclusive tests

Audience Segmentation & Targeting Features

  • Supported: Standard visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Behavioral visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Traffic allocation control
  • Supported: Website personalization

Results and Analysis Features

  • Supported: Form fill analysis
  • Supported: Goal tracking
  • Supported: Test reporting
  • Supported: Results segmentation
  • Supported: CSV export

Platform Integration Features Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Web analytics integration
  • Supported: Content Management System Integration
  • Supported: Integration with CRM or DMP software

Optimizely Web Experimentation Screenshots

Screenshot of the visual editor, used to make changes to the appearance and layout of a website.Screenshot of the results dashboard that displays experiment results.Screenshot of the integrations page, where integrations can be enabled.Screenshot of Advanced Audience Targeting: Custom Real-Time Segments provide customers with the ability to create rapidly-updating segments which can be used as audiences for testing or personalization. These segments can be based on profile data, omni-channel behaviors, and AI-based observations.Screenshot of AI Content Suggestions: AI-powered suggestions in the Visual Editor accelerate ideation.Screenshot of Extensions for Edge: reusable elements minimize developer dependency when launching multiple tests with the same element.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Competitors

Optimizely Web Experimentation Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Optimizely Web Experimentation Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

AB Tasty, VWO, and Adobe Target are common alternatives for Optimizely Web Experimentation.

Reviewers rate Traffic allocation control highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Optimizely Web Experimentation are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(520)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Ease of Use: Users consistently praise the platform for its elegant and user-friendly design, which enhances productivity across various tasks such as A/B testing.

Reporting: The robust reporting capabilities, multi-account support, and advanced settings have been highlighted to be key strengths provided by the tool by reviewers who value detailed results engine provided by the platform.

Streamlining: Additionally, users commend the intuitive WYSIWYG editor for simplifying editing processes and aiding in thorough live and post-test analysis to streamline experimentation workflows. The ease of experiment setup with metrics tracking features further adds to the platform's appeal and has provided a quick streamlining experience.

Slow User Interface: Users have reported that the user interface can be sluggish, impacting their overall experience negatively. Some find the platform's navigation confusing, leading to inefficiencies. The WYSIWYG editor is described as clunky, hindering quick and effective changes, affecting user productivity.

Steep Learning Curve: Non-technical users may face usability barriers on the platform, needing improvements for easier use without technical expertise. Having a longer learning curve period hinders by spending more time getting to know the product rather than getting work done.

Limitations: Additionally, users desire more a la carte feature availability rather than being restricted by tier-locked features.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 185)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use the Optimizely Web Experimentation software to facilitate our A/B testing on the front end of our website. This allows us to freely be creative with different front end user designs, and use data to back up any results to consistently improve the user experience across our website.
  • It offers the ability to work with many metrics, enabling us to receive the data and knowledge we really want from each individual test
  • It allows seeing full versions of each test before releasing, making it easy to review
  • It is a straightforward and easy to use, with a very logic, step by step process
  • The UI part of the software can sometimes load slowly
  • Although the step by step is logical, it can be long winded and take a while to set-up each individual experiment
  • Would benefit from the addition of dashboards for easier viewable data
Its useful in allowing us to test front end changes, on both smaller and larger scales without the need for full developer resource. It means that we can test changes that we want to make prior to adding them into a dev queue which can be time consuming and we can be confident in the data that backs up the changes that do make it into the dev queue, therefore improving the UX.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to conduct A/B-test in order to optimize our digital customer journeys, for various products and service we provide. We usually want to test our hypotheses based on our UX-researches, and get these hypotheses confirmed or rejected by quantitative methods, and A/B-test is one of the methods we use.
  • Test design
  • Test monitoring
  • Test result analysis
  • Documentation tools for tests
  • Easier visualization tool for test variants
  • Statistical significance calculation for alla metrics
The tool is very well-suited in scenarios where AB-test is actually needed. However, it is not very clear in the tool that it can also be used for test of changes when no hypotheses are not available.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
A/B testing of various web experiments on our semi-static published site and our dynamic, complex app focuses on UI changes within a page; in my opinion, the optimized is poorly suited for true feature flag functionality.
  • A/B testing on simple UI changes within one page.
  • Feature flag management of A/B testing of multi-page web flows.
  • Integration with Segment is extremely poor, especially when integrating front-end and back-end signals.
  • Integration with Segment is extremely poor when tying into the web; many excuses are given by Optimizely's advanced tech teams.
A/B testing of a simple UX change or wording change on a single page, where there can be many entry and exit points; crude feature flag support for feature testing if you're willing to write significant, complex, and difficult-to-debug and maintain code unique to Optimizely alongside all your 90+ other SaaS tools.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We're a mid-sized university with a need to better cater to our current student base and also be able to target prospective students with marketing campaigns to grow our cohort. Moving to Optimizely Web Experimentation has provided us with a great opportunity to do this. We can make use of many of the features that Optimizely Web Experimentation supports to do so with agility and efficiency, given the small size of our website team.
  • Reusable blocks
  • Clean and coherent design
  • Version control
  • Greater integration of features
  • Coming from Squiz Matrix, the lhs asset tree is missed
Optimizely Web Experimentation is a modern and clean web platform that allows basic tasks to be performed quickly while also providing capacity for much more technical approaches to web development. Last year we utilised it for a proof of concept project to ascertain whether Optimizely would be able to fulfil our ongoing needs, which it did and we are now going through a broadscale deploy for whole of public-facing site.
Fabien Caublot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
As an agency we service many clients with the Optimizely tech, I personally help them establish the tech and support their everyday optimization needs to ensure success of their optimization programme.
  • Strong Reporting
  • Multi account / Multi environments / advanced settings
  • Javascript injection at various levels
  • You rarely find yourself limited in your everyday optimization
  • UI sometimes slow
  • WYSIWYG can be clunky
  • So many ways to do things that it's sometimes hard to know what is the "right way"
  • Might be a bit offputting for non-technical people
Clients with already an experimentation team (Dev, QA, Analysts) that are not nacent to Optimization (emerging and onwards)
Audrey Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely Web Experimentation hosts a myriad of features relevant for experimentation and A/B testing. The tool itself is regarded as a market leader and certainly performs as such--though like any software--it isn't without its own bugs. That being said, Optimizely Web Experimentation's greatest strength is its maturity in the testing/experimentation space. We have been able to leverage the expertise of Engineers, System Architects, Project Managers, Strategists, on top of the normal account manager. Optimizely Web Experimentation seeks approval on a very personal level by having that 1:1 attention that smaller companies may not be able to provide. With Optimizely Web Experimentation, we're about to test hypotheses against our target audience to ensure optimal business impact. Any sort of development work is safeguarded because of our testing processes. We are able to identify what development work is worth pursuing and what isn't based on the experiment results deployed by their platform. That being said, we also utilize agency resources to increase velocity and time to test. Their RapidX add-on allows clients to take advantage of seasoned Optimizely developers and project managers who can assist with maintaining strict timing when it comes to designing, engineering, launching, and even analyzing results.
  • A/B Testing
  • Experimentation
  • Personalization
  • Strategy
  • Professional Services
  • Heatmaps
  • User Recordings
  • Dashboards and better reporting
Optimizely Web Experimentation has a higher sticker price than some of its competitors. While this is true, you're buying an industry leader with tremendous experience in working with clients for years. Initially, with our Conversion Rate Optimization program, we were wow'd and cajoled into trying the hot bleeding edge features that some newer companies might call AI/algorithmic models-- these are otherwise known as Multi-Armed Bandit campaigns, which isn't a new thing. That being said, contracting and fully utilizing Optimizely Web Experimentation's suite of features, professional services, and more may be cost prohibitive for smaller companies. Once a CRO program reaches maturity Optimizely Web Experimentation can scale for larger teams where more advanced can utilize server side tests exclusively for seamless experimentation.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely to test new ideas before dedicating resources to fully develop them. We also use Optimizely to test anything we think of that could help increase conversions.
  • A/b/n testing
  • User friendly WYSIWYG editor
  • Live and post test analysis
  • Better support for complicated page types that don't currently work well within the WYSIWYG editor
  • in-platform UX is a little confusing to navigate
  • More features could be available a la carte instead of locked within higher tiers
Great for any level of testing, it's not cheap so I guess the only scenario where I wouldn't recommend Optimizely is when the cost can't be recouped by the anticipated conversion gain.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely Web Experimentation is integral to our organization, enabling A/B experiments for user interaction personalization. With features like A/B testing, multivariate testing, and UX/UI testing, we can quickly identify the most effective website elements. It helps us with data-driven decision making, improving user experience, conversion rate optimization and improving our product recommendations algorithms to drive user value and business metrics
  • Ease of experiment setup and tracking
  • Metrics and Monitoring with in-depth event tracking
  • Performance Optimization
  • Integration with Third-Party Tools: Braze, Fullstory
  • Predictive analytics: Provide an estimate of impact based on historical experiment data
  • Experiment Management: experiment scheduling and prioritisation
Optimizely Web Experimentation is well-suited for scenarios where data-driven decisions are crucial to optimize website performance, conduct A/B testing, and UX/UI testing. It empowers teams to make website changes backed by data, personalize customer experiences, and optimize conversion rates efficiently. However, it may be less appropriate for smaller teams with limited resources and scenarios where qualitative insights from UXR studies are needed.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We're using it to integrate our Amplitude cohorts with Optimizely, so we can automate the delivery of different page content depending on the cohort/audience that the users are in. It's also good for removing the responsibility of deploying different pages by depending on the code changes in the backend. That gives the marketing team the power to move fast and test more hypothesis.
  • Data sync
  • Easy UI/dashboard to check experiments
  • Great integration with many other apps/SaaS
  • Better debugging for new experiments
  • Better cookie-based integration
  • Better API documentation
If you want to check the behavior of specific users, grouped by any type of attributes, like last sign in date, the presence of some cookie key/value. And you can also combine many conditions in an easy way, by using a drag-and-drop UI. It's great to use for marketing websites and landing pages, and track and analyze the users behavior based on the type of content they have received
April 24, 2024

Not value for money

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to launch different experiments in our site. We have different type of audiences, coming from different countries and we offer content on different languages. Also we offer two different kind of products, so for us is essential to know what is the best way to communicate the value we offer and to make as easy as possible to complete our funnels, where users need to enter and select data tos submit claims. Therefore AB testing is such a great tool to optimize every part of our funnel for each different segment of users. We are also divided into different product teams and squads, so we need a robust tool to support teamwork, and different types of testing, the ones with the wysiwyg editor to the ones implemented on the code by devs.
  • Project and experiment organization.
  • Flicker and loading time. It is fast.
  • Results engine is detailed, and allows to check results as the experiment goes.
  • Pricing model penalizes those just starting with experimentation.
  • High price and fees based on website traffic, not experiment impressions. so you are charged whether you experiment or not.
  • Integration with GA4 is subpar.
  • Documentation at times confusing, different products.
  • UX is confusing and too simple. It leads to errors by users. Lack of meganavs, too minimalistic, it becomes quite a frustration.
  • Not competitive pricing compared with other AB testing tools.
Optimizely Web Experimentation is appropriate if you have a big budget and your company is mature enough in experimentation to take all the advantage of a such an expensive price model.

If you are just starting into AB testing, or not enough budget, I do not recommend Optimizely Web Experimentation, as it becomes quite frustrating to manage usage limits and technical set up to avoid extra charges.
April 23, 2024

Optimizely Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B testing and soft rollouts of changes. This allows us to test and make changes without needing to use engineering resources. This gives us flexibility and more capabilities for testing.
  • Provides many capabilites
  • User friendly
  • Reporting capabilities
  • We have run into issues with experiments not firing with cookies blocked.
I would recommend Optimizely for A/B testing and to soft rollout changes or enhancements without using engineering.
Diego Polanco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to perform A/B tests. Since Goolge Optimize closed, we have turned to other options and one of them is Optimizely. The problemas that Optimizely addresses are the need of an advanced experimentation tool where we can perform high level test and not just basic ones. Also, this tool is in my opinion, the tool that better exports data to GA4, among those recommended by Google as substitutes for Optimize.
  • anti-flickering
  • audiences
  • test-building
  • easy to interpret reporting
  • Improve use for new users. It is hard to get lost at first, even compared with its competition.
  • Change between accounts is not as easy as in other tools, or at least not as visible as in other tools.
  • Ease to access. Sometimes I use it on a daily basis and have to log in everytime I use it.
It is a very good tool if a colleague has a lot of experience using experimentation tools. It is mainly for people who understand the structure of the experiments. I would say this is for medium or advanced users. Optimizely offers a lot of functionalities and only these users are able to make the most of them. I would not recommend it to colleagues who are new in the cro or experimentation world as it is not the easiest tool to use.
April 23, 2024

Good platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have used Optimizely in order to conduct simple AB tests and more complex MVT test to improve an ecommerce website. We had issue tracking the results of our tests in a centralised platform.
  • Analysing results
  • Using filters
  • Speed could be important: the site lags
  • Revenue KPI never reach significance
It's good for
- using simple and complex tests (AB tests, MVT and else)
- having a centralised platform to analyse tests results
- understanding when to stop a test
April 16, 2024

Data has no opinions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's simple for us, we want to make data driven decisions and Optimizely Web Experimentation gives us the tools and data we need to accomplish that. You are not your customer so just making a change and assuming it's the right one won't get you far. You need to get your ideas in front of customers and measure the real impact of those changes.
  • Display of data trends
  • No tech copy changes
  • React has been an issue on targeting for a while but they are working on it. I still feel like I need a dev to help me make sure I am targeting the right element when setting up tracking, etc.
  • Explaining best practices within the setup and UI. i.e. you should run the test for xyz, I see this page has XXX traffic you need sessions
  • Explaining how stat sig is calculated
So far for testing changes within a single page it seems well suited. However, if I wanted to make a change on one page and see how it affects things down the funnel, it seems like there isn't a lot of ability to measure that. Or I don't know how.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage this tool to conduct UX/UI testing on our sites. Optimizely Web Experimentation is incredibly streamlined and powerful as compared to a previous platform we used. We run tests across our business and at any given time have about 20 tests live. This has been a great resource and has taken our builds to the next level.
  • Enhanced targeting capabilities
  • The Featured experimentation add on is fantastic for complicated builds
  • Simple interface with little to no learning curve needed
  • Filtering capabilities in the reporting tab. To be able to filter based on a custom metric
  • Tracking scroll depth within the reporting tab
  • A more interactive graph within the reporting tab. Ability to manipulate there vs having to update the whole page
This is our second testing platform, and is by far the best we have leveraged. Its intuitive in how you are able to build tests. Tracking is easy to set up within the visual editor or as a capability in URL tracking. The reporting tab does need more filtering capabilities for custom metrics.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely to run A/b tests on our website to optimize for not only Conversion Rate but also Revenue Per Visitor (RPV). We experiment 1. design: images, layout, color, fonts; 2. product offerings to determine what drives the most RPV; 3. Copy and content to solve the why customers should buy our product and remove nay doubts; 4. website UX features such as Product Matrix vs a Product Builder, Swipe to view vs scroll.
  • Considers every kind of experiment from simple code change, code additions, code removal, javascript functions, CSS changes, and split landing redirects.
  • Very friendly UC interface for easy navigation of implementation of pages, click events, experiment set up, and metric set up.
  • The ability to let me know when something has reach stat sig without having to do complicated math on my own
  • ability to carry UTM parameters through landing page redirects with a click of a button.
  • They only support integration with GA4 if you use GTM (google tag manager). They don't have any way to integrate other tag managers like ensighten.
  • If you don't know how to write html, css, or javascript code the platform can be challenging to use.
  • Like to see more direct funnels. I have an add to cart event, but it triggers any time someone adds to cart, not necessarily if they add to cart from PDP that I am running the test on.
Well suited for companies that get high traffic. Otherwise it will take a long time to reach stat sig. I would not recommend for small business or start ups. It is great if you work on a team or at a company where you feel like only those with the most influence or loudest voice gets their ideas and content implemented. Stop going with gut and get real data to prove out these guesses.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely is an essential tool for our Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO) program. We use Optimizely to execute small tests quickly to improve our conversion rates. Using this tool, we've been able to drive frequent and consistent incremental gains in performance for various avenues of our business. I also appreciate how self-serve the platform can be. However, they also offer managed support when we need it. Overall, it's a great, useable, easy-to-understand tool for any marketer!
  • Self-serve capability.
  • Reporting interface.
  • Support
  • It can be tricky to use if you don't know how to code.
  • Metrics/reporting can be confusing.
It's great for small tests like CTA buttons - color, text, placement, page position, etc... it's also great for A/B landing page tests or segmenting traffic across channels into various different flows. If everyone on the team has reporting access, it's easy for individuals to jump in to view in-progress results. I wish it was easier to design tests without code -- similar to an Instapage or something...but if you have a team member who knows how to use it, it's generally fine.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation in our organization on the marketing side of the business. At this time the tests we run are rather one-off but our hope is to put together more of a process that will allow us to build on the tests. Right now the focus is trying to get customers through the purchase funnel.
  • Great training and support
  • Easy to understand user interfaces
  • Easy to understand results
  • Not always able to run tests without engineering assist
  • Expensive
It's useful for uncomplicated pages and basic research questions. It's likely a researcher would need the support of a developer to incorporate testing into more complex pages. However, as a tool I can't think of a scenario, where testing is appropriate to answer the research question, where you wouldn't want to use Optimizely.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At our company, we utilize Optimizely Web Experimentation primarily to conduct A/B testing and multivariate testing on our coupons and deals website. This tool helps us in optimizing web pages to enhance user experience and engagement. The key business problem addressed by Optimizely is the need to understand user behavior and preferences, which directly impacts conversion rates and overall site performance. Our use case encompasses experimenting with various website elements such as layout, content placement, and promotional offers to identify the most effective configurations that drive user interaction and sales. This strategic use of Optimizely enables us to make data-driven decisions that improve the site’s usability and effectiveness in attracting and retaining customers.
  • AB Testing and Multivariate Testing.
  • User Interface and Ease of Use.
  • Personalization and Targeting.
  • Pricing
  • Full Stack and Web Pricing.
  • Integrations with other tools.
Where Optimizely Shines: Best for Large-Scale Operations: Optimizely is exceptionally well-suited for large enterprises with complex, multi-faceted A/B and multivariate testing needs. Its comprehensive functionality is perfect for conducting extensive experiments across various websites and products. Data-Driven Companies: For organizations heavily reliant on data-driven strategies, Optimizely's advanced analytics and detailed reporting are invaluable. It's ideal for businesses that require an in-depth understanding of user behavior to enhance user experiences and optimize conversion rates. E-commerce Personalization: E-commerce platforms aiming to personalize content and offers will find Optimizely's personalization features highly beneficial. This can significantly boost user engagement and sales. Where Optimizely May Not Be the Best Fit: Cost-Prohibitive for Small Businesses/Startups: The high cost of Optimizely can be a barrier for small businesses or startups. These entities might find the platform's advanced features excessive for their basic A/B testing needs, given their limited budgets. Overkill for Simple Testing Needs: For websites requiring only basic A/B testing, Optimizely's extensive suite of features may be unnecessary. More straightforward and budget-friendly tools could serve their purposes more effectively. Not Ideal for Short-Term Projects: For businesses planning short-term experiments or one-time projects, the investment in Optimizely might not offer adequate returns. Simpler, less expensive platforms could be more appropriate for such limited engagements. Conclusion:Optimizely is a powerful tool for web experimentation, but its suitability varies greatly with the scale and nature of the business. It offers significant advantages for large-scale, data-centric enterprises, while smaller businesses or those with simpler requirements might find it less appropriate due to its high cost.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We push for web experimentation so that our clients can understand what pages and features and calls to action and buttons and layouts and everything about their users. It's more intuitive for them to click for our clients to then get the actions that they want their users to take. So ultimately drive additional conversions through minor changes and experimentations through the Optimizely Web Experimentation platform.
  • Particularly well. Integrations and kind of playing friendly with others in the sandbox. If you search for any type of technology and Optimizely, there's some sort of a connection for that or they work with that. We have an integration built in, so it's ease of adoption is very good as well as it's intuitive. You really don't need a lot of coding background or a ton of dev resources, especially in the web experimentation side.
  • I think just overall education that there's more than web experimentation. So I think Optimizely was first known for A/B testing, serving two different experiences, "which one performed better?" and continuing with testing. But now with their CMS platform and their commerce platform and they've expanded a lot, I know that there's almost an education gap in all that. It's not just web experimentation. There's a lot more that this does even down to hosting. So I think there's almost an education gap that people go, "I didn't know Optimize could do that. I didn't know I could use them as a solution for that."
Well suited. You have a team that wants to run hundreds of tests. This platform can take that also, especially in e-commerce. It's very easy for a faster sales cycle. Someone's on your site, they're ready to buy something, it's a 20, a 50, a $100 product. It's easiest for that because you see the results of it faster. There's less of a when are we going to see the results of this, especially if you have a lot more traffic, then if your site has more traffic, you can run tests faster with statistically significant results and then say, all right, we know which option to pick based off of it performing better than this other one. Let's keep moving forward with additional tests for ones that might not be the best fit. Smaller, medium-sized businesses who are extremely budget conscious, maybe who don't have a lot of website traffic, then they're going to struggle with being able to perform experiments in a faster cycle. So it's going to take longer to see results, longer to see the impact of the software.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We needed an advanced a/b testing and site personalization platform to take our team to the next level; Optimizely Web Experimentation simplifies our workflow, enhances and automates much of our analytics, and enables us to both increase our test velocity and run more complex experiments overall. It's both saved us time and effort and led us to better, quicker results.
  • UI for users of all levels (from business owners to developers) is clean, simple and easy-to-use
  • The in-platform analytics are far and above any competitor, and the combination of Bayesian and Frequentist methods to calculate statistical significance is a huge pro
  • The experiment editing and previewing capabilities are seamless, and allow collaborators of all levels to set up and review tests with ease
  • The audience set up for personalizations is a little hard to spot at first; could be surfaced more clearly like in the A/b test experience set-up.
All UX site testing ideas are well-suited to Optimizely Web Experimentation; for instance, we've tested using a static add-to-bag CTA on PDPs vs. a hybrid sticky and static CTA. Landing page tests for media also run well in Optimizely Web Experimentation, although we focus less on these.
Jason Tabert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation for our Marketing experimentation and optimization program focusing on landing page and funnel optimizations. Client-side experimentation lets maintain a high-velocity experimentation program with less dev overhead and faster time to market. When we discover winning variations we use the tool to serve them as part of always-on personalization campaigns.
  • Easy to set up and get started but offers a full suite of features and tools
  • Built-in integrations with your tech stack
  • Powerful reporting and analysis built-in
  • Raw export of experiment data to internal data warehouse for deeper analysis
  • Excellent technical support
  • Powerful suite of tools that goes beyond just experimentation (CDP, DMP, CMS, etc.)
  • Better program management features
  • Complexity of experiments can be limited when only using WYSIWYG editor
  • Would like more pre-built widgets or reusable components for easy iterations and evergreen campaigns
  • Lacks built-in revenue impact quantification tools
Optimizely Web Experimentation can be simple to set up and get started but has a huge set of incredibly powerful features that you can grow into as your experimentation program matures. Built-in integrations with popular tools in your marketing tech stack allow you to enhance your capabilities as well as enhance the power of your other tools and platforms. The platform is incredibly flexible and supports easy WYSIWYG editing all the way to very complex multi-page experiments. Client-side experimentation lets marketers test and iterate quickly with less reliance on development release cycles and build high-velocity experimentation programs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the platform to run A/B tests across 4 lines of business. We use Rapid Experimentation to build tests.
  • Tells us when we hit stat sig
  • Builds experiments
  • Communication
  • Bounce Rate is calculated in a way that's problematic. It should be based on clicks and not if a user hits a second page in a session, but clients don't have the script on all pages in some cases, so this data is wrong and my team learned the hard way after reporting misinformation to management.
  • Program Management - Comment field - The field we type in should be extendable. I have to type out messages in word and copy it in because I can't see enough of what I've written.
  • Program Management - Comment field - Would love the comment box to save copy if users flip to the attachments or another section. It erases what's been started and you have to start over. Another reason for typing it all out in word and pasting it in.
  • In my opinion, the data export is not super helpful; have to manually organize it in excel and clean a lot out.
  • In my opinion, it's not a true wysiwg. Requires too much code, so we have to reply on Rapid Ex. Calling it a Visual Editor is a stretch.
The team is called Rapid Experimentation, but it's not really very fast when the dev team misses things and we go through rounds of dev or fixing metrics.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily use the tool to augment digital marketing efforts - optimizing experiences to improve conversion rates. It allows us to get to market quicker with experience tests, utilizing less resources, and build upon trustworthy results with each iteration. We execute 40+ tests annually.
  • It's fairly easy to use without much formal training.
  • The event tracking wasn't as intuitive to me as other tools we've used in the past and required assistance from developers.
  • A few more definitions of fields on the page itself would be helpful - specifically URL match - I don't understand the different between simple and exact match.
The speed with which we're able to create and test page variations has been particularly helpful.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Use the tool to solve business problems, optimize conversion, and reduce risk.
  • Ease of use
  • Good stats model
  • Easy to understand results
  • Data cohesion
  • Data/analysis presentation
  • Analysis repository
  • Searchable insights library
  • Code recommendations based on previously written tests
Well suited:
- Testing content
- Optimizing flows/funnels
- Reducing risk by directing users

Less appropriate:
- Launching complex features
- Aggregating expected impact of combined tests
Return to navigation