TrustRadius
Radian6 was acquired by Salesforce.com in 2011 and - along with Buddy Media - is now part of the Salesforce Marketing Cloud. (It is no longer available as a standalone product.) The Radian6 platform is perhaps the best-known listening platform on the market with over 3,000 customers, including over half of the Fortune 100. However, this is now a very crowded space and there are many competitors.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/rf/R7/UO6A6HJOFH9V.PNGRadian6 - Monitoring of Social MediaWe used Radian6 product software for one of the world leading organization who are in Fortune 500, we helped them implement the product. In the current time, social media has become one of the important aspects of any business success. To understand the social buzz and the social trends better, the radian6 was a great choice. Over the course of implementation, we loved the product and the results it has yielded us. The primary focus was to understand where are we stand and how to improve the brand.,The amount of the information that radian6 can pull from multiple social platforms is absolutely phenomenal. Its just not only the pull but the way the information can be presented in dashboards was way good. It helped us understand in various aspects of our social presence. Multiple profiles helped us to break down the Big/Huge social buzz cloud to smaller and more manageable pieces. This helped us concentrate on the lows and helped us to plan better on turning them to highs. Radian6 allowed us to follow thru the crowd trends with the latest information presented in a single view. This also helped us to collect the social opinion on the product releases. The ease of use, one need not be an expert to start using this platform. The interface is easily understandable by anyone. A keyword can be edited quickly to tailor the needs and the results were quick.,The initial setup was difficult to make it live. Despite the fact that the radian6 is a great tool, there is still a lot to improve upon with regard to the setup process. Narrowing down the search sometimes produces glitches. I have experienced some glitches when looking up for the period time like 90 days with fewer keywords. There is room to improve the export data functionality.,8,Radian6 has definitely helped us layout the future social goals. This, in turn, helped in growing the brand value. On a long-term comparison of "where we were" and "where we are now" on the social presence, Radian6 has surely helped to build the road with its social monitoring capabilities.,6,,Adobe Analytics, Google AnalyticsComprehensive and powerful to monitor your online reputation in the marketWe use Radian6 to monitor the social media buzz of our brands in the local market. It's very important for us to keep monitoring what's been said about us in general and specifically when we run local campaigns to know the social media impact and reach of our actions. Also in critical scenarios, it helps us to spot when and where we need to act.,Easy end-user graphical interface, create powerful dashboards in minutes. Can be integrated with other tools like Salesforce. Fast, refreshes and retrieves your queries in seconds; you can have several dashboards with your key metrics, keywords, tag cloud, etc.,Some networks are out of the tool: i.e. only Facebook open public API but not all of it, other social networks are missing as well. Having 2 separate consoles: Engagement console and the Radian6 dashboard console (one is web-based and the other is via desktop app). The engagement console is very powerful but difficult to set up.,8,Monitoring social brand awareness is not something you can consider to have a meaninful impact in your business ROI short term, however it's a must for taking care of long term relationships and customer intimacy. Radian6 connects with other analytical tools like webtrends, Google Analytics, etc..however it's not directly linked to a revenue driven platform, you can´t see the immediate ROI generated in the tool. If you bet for social relationships you should consider this tool, no question on that. Social Commerce might be of course impacted postively by the proper use of this tool.,4,,Webtrends Analytics, Social Studio, Facebook for BusinessRadian6 - The Gold Standard for The EnterpriseRadian6 is used across the company to provide research to enterprise clients. The companies we monitor have thousands of mentions daily on social media and blogs. It allows us to identify trends (both positive and negative) before they become too big to manage.,It is hands-down, the best tool for monitoring brand mentions at an enterprise level. It provides profiles for multiple users. It allows you to identify and address conversations rapidly.,It is difficult to use if your brand has a very common name. For example, if your company name is "Ignite" there could be many different reasons why someone would use that word and the results can be useless. If you have a very unique name like "Starbucks" most of the results will be relevant. It isn't a cost effective tool for smaller brands. There are cheaper, more basic tools for those businesses.,It allows clients to identify negative conversations before they blow up so they can create solutions around them. It allows clients to identify things people like, which can assist with marketing and development. If you know what people like, you can use that information to grow the company.,9,Mention and Talkwalker,WordPress, Squarespace, Sitecore Web Content Management, Google Analytics, Buffer, Hootsuite Free, IFTTT, MailChimp, Pardot, Sprout Social,5,9,8,10Review of Radian6Radian6 allows us insight into identifying potential brand evangelists for our business by targeting relevant keywords. Our strategy was to use these brand evangelists to help build the brand.,Radian6 is definitely proficient in twitter search General keyword search,The only real issue with Radian6 is the pricing for the product. It's a little high.,Our ROI initially was great. We were able to identify keywords we needed to add and be more proficient in.,7,HootSuite Pro,,6,7,5,9Radian6 - Strengths and Weaknesses but Still at the TopWhile Salesforce SRM/CRM tools are being implemented across my organization for use in various departments for customer-facing roles, my review will focus on our use for social media monitoring and engagement. We have a team of seven community managers currently using Radian6 to monitor three Twitter accounts. Also note that this review covers the Radian6 Engagement Console, not their new web version, Social Studio, which is currently in development and launch.,Social media monitoring: Radian6 excels in pulling in mentions of our brand as well as a detailed assortment of key words. Topic Profiles allow an incredible amount of filtering and let create separate stacks or queues for different topics. It also allows "Does Not include" key words in the Topic Profiles. Different profiles can be designed for different teams, also. Categorization of posts: Radian6 offers more categorization of posts than any tool I've used. This includes post tags, source tags, sentiment, priority, engagement level, classification level, and assign to user. Users can create their own system for how they want to use these, but it's not required. Macros: One of my team's favorite things about Radian6 is that we can create macros. These are shortcut buttons within the engagement console that we can program to do multiple actions. For example, a macro for "Alumni Association" may mark a post positive, add a post tag of Alumni, add a high priority flag, and assign the post to a specific user. Multiple workflow actions taken care of with one click. Analytics: This is still emerging but Radian6 does a pretty good job once you know what you're doing. only down side is that you have to open and log into a separate window to access it, which happens to be the Radian6 Dashboard. This is the same place you create and design your Topic Profiles and keyword groups, etc. The Analysis Widgets, Rivers of News, etc. provide a lot of flexibility for viewing things like mentions per time period, pie charts by post tag, and word clouds. It's also easy to export all posts from a chart. Assigning and managing posts: User assignment is easy and flexible within Radian6. Users can quickly create their own My Tasks stack, as well as other stacks to monitor effectively.,Setup: Radian6 is incredibly difficult to get up and running. I'm the only one on my team that took the time to learn it. Two years later, there are still things I have to have our account rep walk me through. Once set up correctly though, it functions great. Fragmentation: Because of all the companies and tools they've acquired and incorporated, the Salesforce ecosystem is quite fragmented. Use the Engagement Console for monitoring and engaging, use the dashboard website for setup, filtering, and analytics, use the Social Hub site for more details filtering and automated rules, use the Summary Dashboard site for other broad view analytics. I just want it all to be in one system. Fortunately, this is exactly what they're working on. Managed Accounts: I still don't entirely understand what these are and why they need to be set up this way. The execution could definitely be better.,8,,6,8
Unspecified
Radian6
79 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
TRScore

Radian6 Reviews

Radian6
79 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 79 vetted Radian6 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 29)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
April 17, 2018

User Review: "Radian6 - Monitoring of Social Media"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Radian6 product software for one of the world leading organization who are in Fortune 500, we helped them implement the product. In the current time, social media has become one of the important aspects of any business success. To understand the social buzz and the social trends better, the radian6 was a great choice. Over the course of implementation, we loved the product and the results it has yielded us. The primary focus was to understand where are we stand and how to improve the brand.
  • The amount of the information that radian6 can pull from multiple social platforms is absolutely phenomenal. Its just not only the pull but the way the information can be presented in dashboards was way good. It helped us understand in various aspects of our social presence.
  • Multiple profiles helped us to break down the Big/Huge social buzz cloud to smaller and more manageable pieces. This helped us concentrate on the lows and helped us to plan better on turning them to highs.
  • Radian6 allowed us to follow thru the crowd trends with the latest information presented in a single view. This also helped us to collect the social opinion on the product releases.
  • The ease of use, one need not be an expert to start using this platform. The interface is easily understandable by anyone.
  • A keyword can be edited quickly to tailor the needs and the results were quick.
  • The initial setup was difficult to make it live. Despite the fact that the radian6 is a great tool, there is still a lot to improve upon with regard to the setup process.
  • Narrowing down the search sometimes produces glitches. I have experienced some glitches when looking up for the period time like 90 days with fewer keywords.
  • There is room to improve the export data functionality.
Radian6 has good capabilities for social monitoring and measuring. Any Org who wants to listen the real facts stated directly out from the crowd, this is a great tool.
Read Mahesh Aluvala's full review
December 21, 2017

Radian6 Review: "Comprehensive and powerful to monitor your online reputation in the market"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Radian6 to monitor the social media buzz of our brands in the local market. It's very important for us to keep monitoring what's been said about us in general and specifically when we run local campaigns to know the social media impact and reach of our actions. Also in critical scenarios, it helps us to spot when and where we need to act.
  • Easy end-user graphical interface, create powerful dashboards in minutes.
  • Can be integrated with other tools like Salesforce.
  • Fast, refreshes and retrieves your queries in seconds; you can have several dashboards with your key metrics, keywords, tag cloud, etc.
  • Some networks are out of the tool: i.e. only Facebook open public API but not all of it, other social networks are missing as well.
  • Having 2 separate consoles: Engagement console and the Radian6 dashboard console (one is web-based and the other is via desktop app).
  • The engagement console is very powerful but difficult to set up.
Well suited: Keep tracking of your social media brand presence, social media buzz, monitor hundred of bloggs, monitor PR mentions online, etc,
Less appropiate: small business and profesionall due to cost model.
Read this authenticated review
January 06, 2016

Review: "Radian6 - The Gold Standard for The Enterprise"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Radian6 is used across the company to provide research to enterprise clients. The companies we monitor have thousands of mentions daily on social media and blogs. It allows us to identify trends (both positive and negative) before they become too big to manage.
  • It is hands-down, the best tool for monitoring brand mentions at an enterprise level.
  • It provides profiles for multiple users.
  • It allows you to identify and address conversations rapidly.
  • It is difficult to use if your brand has a very common name. For example, if your company name is "Ignite" there could be many different reasons why someone would use that word and the results can be useless. If you have a very unique name like "Starbucks" most of the results will be relevant.
  • It isn't a cost effective tool for smaller brands. There are cheaper, more basic tools for those businesses.
Radian6 is extraordinary for companies that have a lot of mentions in multiple places. It takes a large amount of information and consolidates it into a usable form. It is less appropriate for smaller businesses that don't have a lot of conversations happening.
Read Sharon Suchoval's full review
March 18, 2015

"Review of Radian6"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Radian6 allows us insight into identifying potential brand evangelists for our business by targeting relevant keywords. Our strategy was to use these brand evangelists to help build the brand.
  • Radian6 is definitely proficient in twitter search
  • General keyword search
  • The only real issue with Radian6 is the pricing for the product. It's a little high.
I would not recommend Radian6 if the colleague was on a limited budget.
Read Derrick Lane's full review
October 30, 2014

Review: "Radian6 - Strengths and Weaknesses but Still at the Top"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While Salesforce SRM/CRM tools are being implemented across my organization for use in various departments for customer-facing roles, my review will focus on our use for social media monitoring and engagement. We have a team of seven community managers currently using Radian6 to monitor three Twitter accounts. Also note that this review covers the Radian6 Engagement Console, not their new web version, Social Studio, which is currently in development and launch.
  • Social media monitoring: Radian6 excels in pulling in mentions of our brand as well as a detailed assortment of key words. Topic Profiles allow an incredible amount of filtering and let create separate stacks or queues for different topics. It also allows "Does Not include" key words in the Topic Profiles. Different profiles can be designed for different teams, also.
  • Categorization of posts: Radian6 offers more categorization of posts than any tool I've used. This includes post tags, source tags, sentiment, priority, engagement level, classification level, and assign to user. Users can create their own system for how they want to use these, but it's not required.
  • Macros: One of my team's favorite things about Radian6 is that we can create macros. These are shortcut buttons within the engagement console that we can program to do multiple actions. For example, a macro for "Alumni Association" may mark a post positive, add a post tag of Alumni, add a high priority flag, and assign the post to a specific user. Multiple workflow actions taken care of with one click.
  • Analytics: This is still emerging but Radian6 does a pretty good job once you know what you're doing. only down side is that you have to open and log into a separate window to access it, which happens to be the Radian6 Dashboard. This is the same place you create and design your Topic Profiles and keyword groups, etc. The Analysis Widgets, Rivers of News, etc. provide a lot of flexibility for viewing things like mentions per time period, pie charts by post tag, and word clouds. It's also easy to export all posts from a chart.
  • Assigning and managing posts: User assignment is easy and flexible within Radian6. Users can quickly create their own My Tasks stack, as well as other stacks to monitor effectively.
  • Setup: Radian6 is incredibly difficult to get up and running. I'm the only one on my team that took the time to learn it. Two years later, there are still things I have to have our account rep walk me through. Once set up correctly though, it functions great.
  • Fragmentation: Because of all the companies and tools they've acquired and incorporated, the Salesforce ecosystem is quite fragmented. Use the Engagement Console for monitoring and engaging, use the dashboard website for setup, filtering, and analytics, use the Social Hub site for more details filtering and automated rules, use the Summary Dashboard site for other broad view analytics. I just want it all to be in one system. Fortunately, this is exactly what they're working on.
  • Managed Accounts: I still don't entirely understand what these are and why they need to be set up this way. The execution could definitely be better.
I think Radian6 is best suited to large organizations with multiple social accounts to monitor. Also, if you don't need a lot of categorization for tracking social data yet, it's overkill.
Read Nolan Perry's full review
January 17, 2014

Review: "Radian6 is a solid tool that sets you up for success!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At CDW, we use Radian6 as our "listening tool" for mentions of our brand, products and competitors. Radian6 is used mostly with the Social Media Project Management team and Customer Service. With the Customer Service organization we are looking for "cries" for help or customers that may be experiencing a negative customer experience with our company. We have been able to indentify when pricing issues were taking place on our website my monitoring tweets, step in on blogs where customers were voicing opinions and experiences about our company, and even thank posted who would post positive recognition about our organization. For us, the main problems it addresses are the most urgent when customers aren't recieving calls back from our co-workers or not getting their desired resolution. The Social web allows customers an easy outlet to get help instead of calling a call center or sending an email. Radian6 helps us get access to those posts right away rather than waiting for a customer to have time to stop and email or call. Not to mention, the marketing tool that it creates for our customer service. People see us posting back publically to these posters, offering our services and wanting to help. Radian6 helps us maintain our presense of wanting to provide an unmatched customer experience to all of our customers.
  • Weeding out posts that don't pertain to CDW. We are able to set up filters that allow us to avoid seeing clutter from other posters.
  • Allowing direct access to the post from the portal. When a tweet comes accross with a CDW mention - the ability to click and access the site it is posted on is key for maintaining productivity and insuring our response gets out to the customer quickly.
  • There are sites where CDW has presense that Radian6 is not able to tap into to include in their search. This causes us to have to run separate searches on individual sites. It would be great if Radian6 could really be our "one stop shop" to searching all of the web for mentions of our organization.
Radian6 is well suited for organizations looking to tap into Social Media and see what is out there and what opportunities monitoring Social Media will bring to their organization. What is great about Radian6 is that you can use the tool for as little or as much as you want to get out of it. Even using it a little opens the doors to some customer facing/saving opportunities that will help you get a better understanding for how your organization is viewed.
Read Susie Mac Kinnon's full review
December 02, 2013

User Review: "Radian6 - Robust and Powerful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Radian6 captures a ton of sources across the internet.
  • Very robust system.
  • After being purchased by Salesforce.com, I know that their level of personalized customer support fell off a bit. I had become friends with a good amount of the folks over there, but now most of them have left due to culture change.
  • Difficult to use if you are not savvy with tech.
  • Sentiment analysis was off a bit. We had to manually correct sentiment tags that were clearly wrong.
  • Pretty expensive.
Make sure you have a dedicated person to clearly understand the extent of how the tool works. It takes quite a bit of time to get your profiles set up. You will also want to make sure you have very clear objectives of what you want to accomplish. If you do not have tons of folks talking about you online, then you may want to get another tool.....this is definitely best used to handle lots of data and would not be as great of an ROI if you are a baby brand due to the cost.
Read Weston Woodward's full review
November 05, 2013

"Radian6 Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Incorporates tons of data, but allows for control of what and how much.
  • Has great data output for additional analysis.
  • Robust and allows for a large number of social accounts.
  • It is geared for industries where there is a large amount of chatter on social media. Not a good fit for the company I was at while using it.
  • Very easy to screw up data via the use of keyword hierarchies.
  • At times the platform was overly complex and really required a team of 3-5 minimum to get full use of it.
Determine its usefulness in your industry before purchasing.
Read Eric Brown's full review
November 02, 2013

"Radian6 Review from an ex-agency side analyst"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Sentiment Analysis - Radian6 does a good job of gathering and categorizing data from various social media channels. It also has a convenient export option that allows you to manipulate the data using your own external tools.
  • Social Listening - Radian6 is useful for brands that want to know the impact of a campaign in real time. Especially to answer questions like "Is our target audience responding the way we anticipated?"
  • Social Media Marketing - Radian6 is useful when planning a social media campaign or any integrated marketing plan which involves social media.
  • Quality Control.
  • Price.
  • Multiple User Access.
Only use it for long term campaigns. It provides a lot of interesting data and insights, but they tend to only be actionable in the long term. Be sure to ask:

1. Is my audience large enough to justify using a tracking tool?
2. Is my audience actively using social media?
3. Which features will I be using most often? And are those features available for free somewhere else?

Read Chirag Gupta's full review
November 02, 2013

Radian6 Review: "The answers you need from social media..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Radian6 is helpful in locating target audiences by allowing the user to set a wide variety of preferences. This is hugely important to the interest of saving time.
  • Radian6 has evolved to display results in graphs that make it easy for viewers (at all levels) to interpret. This cuts down on the extra work you have to do in order to present your finidings to clients and/or executives.
  • Perhaps most useful, Radian6 quickly and accurately analyses trends. It really takes some of the guessing work out of crowd listening and allows the most up-to-date information to shine through the noise.
  • I was honestly able do to what I needed to do (and more) with the platform the way it is...
I'd certainly recommend if for colleagues working in advertising and B2C spaces. My advice would be to DO THE TUTORIAL! There is so much available that it's makes more sense to get a lesson or two instead of just trying to dive in blind.
Read Andrea M. Bussey's full review
October 24, 2013

User Review: "Radian6 - Your Reporting All-Star"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Radian6 is an industry leader in social media monitoring. In terms of the results returned from the web at large I've always been extremely satisfied. They manage to return just about every company and entity mention out there. The widgets are quick and easy to create and provide C-Level teams with an overview of information they need to know while letting those using the tool daily dig deep into the data. It's the best of both worlds. I will say if you aren't used to a dashboard tool the setup and creation of this will be a bit of a learning curve but nothing you can't handle with the support of their customer service team.
  • The profile setup is relatively easy although when it comes to clearing out spam results from Facebook it is a bit of a manual process. This is out of Radian's control as it is an API issue on Facebook's part.
  • I find their proprietary influencer tool isn't very helpful or accurate. You can change influencer attribute settings in the report and it does give you results however it isn't fully comprehensive. Instead we use the tool to monitor conversations and hashtags to identify influencers.
Radian6 is a great tool and service that I have come to rely upon. With many competitors coming up in the marketplace there are certain one-off features Radian6 has yet to start incorporating, for instance returning Pinterest results. This is something I hope they address and continue to improve upon as they are a Salesforce company and have been an industry leader for many years.
Read Jenn Vojta's full review
October 21, 2013

Radian6 Review: "What was once a great tool, now feels neglected and unloved"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Viewing data in a variety of formats and the ability to easily drill down into this data.
  • Evolving - since the Salesforce merger in particular, the platform has hardly been updated and as a result is slow and cumbersome.
  • The data tables can take a while to upload, which often makes it feel clunky.
  • The tool cannot be used for engagement, despite the 'engagement console'. You cannot schedule content or post easily. Even dealing with inbound messages via this is overly complicated and the big application is slow - this is not browser based, but a standalone application you need to download and install. When using as a part of a team, the permissions are painful to set up as are the dashboards. There is also a delay in messages coming into the dashboard - around 5-10 minutes, meaning that it is no good for real-time engagement. It also frequently misses tweets.
  • Communication/account management - all poor and not what you would expect from such a high cost platform. You can expect not to hear from an account manager for months at a time, plus they change frequently.
  • Mention limits - this feels like an old-fashioned pricing model and as such greatly limits you on what you can actually track and therefore the benefit you can actually take from the system. To increase mentions, you will be looking at an equally big price hike.
It is a big shame this part of Salesforce seems to have been neglected, despite strong claims originally that this would be fully integrated into their "marketing solution" - something which never happened (not necessarily a bad thing), but which has just been left to gather dust.
Read Sarah Brown's full review
January 23, 2014

"Radian6 review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Radian6 is being used by our customer relations dept. to monitor customer compaints via social media. We log into Radian6 and filter through the posts to see if any pertain to the issues. For example we can see if a customer tweets about CDW in a positve or negative way
  • Searches for everything within the filter search.
  • Has to ability to block blogs.
  • Linking direct to the site where the post is listed.
  • When searching have the ability to mute certain users.
  • Being able to flag abusive users.
It's difficult when users use the company name and you can't mute them because they use the company name
Read Heather Gibala's full review
January 17, 2014

"Radian6 Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Radian6 is currently used by our Social Media and Quality Analyst teams. Radian6 assists us in reaching out to customers who post information regarding their personal experience with our company. It is extremely helpful in diffusing any negative feedback quickly.
  • Pulls data containing our company name.
  • Assists in being able to provide immediate Customer Service to customer's on the web.
  • Makes managing social media easy!
  • Being able to remove a post, that is not directed to your company.
Radian6 is great when working in Customer Service. It provides direct access to any complaints or feedback that is posted regarding a customer's experience.
Read Krystal Biafora's full review
October 31, 2013

Review: "Radian6 is a lifesaver! Don't start a social media campaign without it!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Radian6 simplified tracking social media data for specific projects you or your client was working on and the reports were a great tool to drill down into the data.
  • Radian6 offered great tools and widgets to understand what coverage you were getting and what others were saying about you on a specific topic.
  • The entire Radian6 dashboard was user-friendly and easy to navigate, and there was always something new to learn!
  • If you saw a spike in content you can use the topic cloud to find the keyword that caused the spike and look at the interaction of your community. Great way to really get the cause of increased mentions
  • I remember that setting up topic profiles was a bit of a chore, especially if you had a longer list of terms. Adding items one by one was one thing I didn't like and should be improved.
I would tell the colleague to do some training to get familiar with how the dashboard works but also let them know its a very user friendly platform that you won't be able to live without.
Read Ryan Johnson's full review
October 28, 2013

User Review: "New Results with Radian6"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Understanding what consumers are saying about a product or campaign.
  • Understanding sentiment.
  • Finding advocates and influencers.
  • Better beginners guide.
  • Better examples of the types of analysis that can be done.
  • New features.
It will give new insights that you've never had access to before.
Read Nicolette Hawks's full review
October 28, 2013

Radian6 Review: "Streamline your Social lead generation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Radian6 is very user friendly and, since it is integrated with Salesforce.com, it is really easy to manage your leads and stay organized.
  • Assigning leads to users in Salesforce is really easy so it streamlines the process of sharing social data and conversations with other colleagues
  • Great user interface that makes navigating the dashboard and console very easy and fun to use.
  • Streamlines various social accounts that keep your social profiling organized.
  • More integration with LinkedIn.
  • More access to other social websites like Quora or even RSS feeds like Feedly.
  • More alerts and notifications for trigger events or social news relevant to the user.
I would take the time to look through all of the tutorials. They are very informative and can enhance your knowledge and capability within Radian6.
Read Dan Collery's full review
April 22, 2016

User Review: "Radian6: measurements and insights"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I used Radian6 it was being used by one department/division. It addressed our need for measuring analytics on our social media and digital efforts. We used it to see how we measured up to competitors, and how we could better utilize content to reach our audiences. Radian6 helped us see who was talking about us, and where and when they were talking about us.
  • I liked that Radian6 measured multiple social media platforms.
  • I liked the easy-to-use interface of Radian6.
  • I liked the fact that Radian6 allowed for the export of information, charts and results to easily compile into a document that could be shared with upper leadership.
  • I frequently wished I could see a share of voice a little easier - how a company compares with competitors.
  • I had trouble setting up keywords to monitor certain companies or industry trends.
  • When I used Radian6, I wanted to be able to monitor in real time more effectively.
I think Radian6 is great if you need a platform that will create reports for your business and allow you to export and share those reports. It's a little pricey so it's best for larger companies that can afford the robust tool. It's less appropriate for monitoring social or other online efforts.
Read this authenticated review
November 04, 2014

"Radian6 Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ability to dive into data various ways and bring user directly to source of mention. I love the ability to look at data and dig into the data. For example, looking at Topic Trends and then being able to dive into the River of News from a specific point in the Topic Trends. Another way would be to look at the keyword groups, dive into media type and then dive into a specific media type for more detailed data about Twitter or Forums specifically.
  • I really like the art of the Keyword Configuration and ability to filter noise.
  • Number of sources covered. One of the things I love about the tool is the ability to crawl so many sources including social media sites, blogs, mainstream news, forums, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and more. The tool covers over 650 million sources of data the last rep I talked to in late July, 2013.
  • Ability to train multiple users across the organization.
  • I really like the Engagement Console workflow and use the feature to delegate mentions to the appropriate stakeholders. I also like to flag and prioritize mentions among team members. We can also respond to mentions from the tool specifically if we need to.
  • Provide insights based on data.
  • Customize Reports. Many times, I would like to see data a specific way. Currently, this tool does not allow me to custom build a report in the tool to send to my managers. I will need to export data and create my own dashboard based on the data I would like to see. The Summary Dashboard does not provide me the reporting I need.
  • Sentiment could be improved.
Read this authenticated review
September 12, 2014

Review: "Radian6 Experience over the past 3 years"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Radian6 has been used for social listening. It is used by the Analytics Department and Consumer Insight Department as well. It address the topics around the brand that raise attention. It also tells us the effect of our social and TV campaigns.
  • Friendly user interface. Easy to navigate and easy to set up the account based on keyword
  • Stability - almost never had problem with logging in or getting kicked out of the program unexpectedly during the 3 years of use.
  • Certain features. I really like the keyword cloud as well as the topic trend.
  • Export limit. 500 mentions is too little. Any topic could easily gather over 2000 mentions in my experience.
  • Keyword sentiment. This is the major turn-off but it is not unique only to Radian 6.The keyword-based analysis cannot properly interpret human emotions. The sentiment we received is not accurate but we just don't have the time to go through these mentions manually to get a favorability ratio.
  • Level of noise. Often times there are quite a few automated and duplicated message/advertising that should have been noticed, captured and filtered out automatically by the system.
How accurate is the result? How user friendly is the interface? And the cost of course.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2014

User Review: "Why Radian6 Might Not Be For You"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Radian6 as a social media manager at a mid-sized company (250-300 employees). Radian6 comes with two key features: a listening platform and an engagement console. The engagement console was only available on a desktop and could not be accessed online, which I found strange and inconvenient. Configuring the listening platform isn't intuitive and several of my coworkers found it confusing to understand. Radian6 allows you to build your own pages with widgets which could have been great, except the widgets didn't fit properly on the screen so things end up looking unorganized and chaotic. I suggest attending their five part webinar series if you're struggling with setting up your account. It especially helped me understand the reporting and analytics portion. The largest hurdle we faced as a company using this software was identifying the right keywords to track, other than our company name, products, and competitors. If your keywords are too broad you will bring in too many search results and exceed your data limit. Radian6 may be a good solution for a bigger company, but it was not the right fit for ours.
  • Radian6 integrates with other enterprise applications like Salesforce.com and analytics like Webtrends, Omniture and Google Analytics.
  • Radian6 does not pull data from a handful of major sites that provide extremely useful content, such as LinkedIn groups, Amazon reviews, and Google+.
  • Radian6 also does not capture comments made in response to Facebook fan page post or pick up posts proactively made by fans to pages unless the fans make all their content public.
  • The query search for Radian6 basically consists of "and" "or" and "not" as filtering tools but doesn't provide other valuable filtering options such as narrowing your search to specific sites or links.
  • Radian6's website is entirely in Flash, which makes your computer slow down quite a bit.
  • The collaboration process has some glitches. For example, when a user creates a campaign or keyword to track, everyone on the team can see it but will not have the ability to modify anything.
  • In addition to the license fee, there is a per-topic profile fee, which is where you tell it what data you want to pull in. If you want to separate data, there is only so much you can do within one topic profile. If you go over your data limit, you'll be charged!
  • It's very expensive. If you're a small - mid-sized company you can probably get the same results with a much more affordable software.
Radian6 is a pricey software that is also almost too comprehensive. It could be a considerable option for an enterprise-level organization, but definitely overkill for small to mid- sized companies.
Read this authenticated review
May 06, 2014

"Radian6 review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Radian6 for a social media monitoring engine. It is primarily used within our department, though in addition to cross department projects, we will get one off requests. Our department is the only in the company that does have direct access to the tool. Because we are the insights group (research), Radian6, along with other monitoring agents, serve as the base for our report. We use third party aggregators, like Radian6, to capture the universe of conversation pertaining to a set of keywords and then analyze and report on the data.
  • I think Radian6 have one of the best data crawls out of the Social Monitoring tools that I have used. The tool consistently returns the largest volume numbers.
  • Radian6 is great at getting a read on what is being said about your brand and most importantly, doing so quickly. It only takes a minute or two to set up a keyword group and the pull can run in a matter of seconds.
  • The tool's AI behind the data crawl is smart. When searching for certain keywords like Pepsi, social mentions that include Pepsi in a hashtag are also pulled back. So not only posts including #Pepsi, but also #ILovePepsi would be pulled back as well.
  • The export or raw data can be tedious. Currently, the tool exports a 10,000 mention bulk CSV file. When dealing with larger brands like Nike, you are looking at well over 300K posts for a year. Parallel to this, is the lack of an exportable sample of data.
  • Each widget can only showcase 3 months worth of data. So creating a trend line of volume of mentions must be done in 3 separate widgets and requires the user to manually piece them together.
  • Though the tool consistently brings back the most volume, the data is not always clean. Within the data crawl, twitter user names are also scraped for your kewords, so going back to the above example, if your keyword is nike, and someone's twitter handle is @IhateNike, the post is often irrelevant to the brand.
  • Though I find the tool quite easy to use, new users often tell me that the tool is incredibly confusing and not an intuitive process.
  • Lack of Facebook posts, though this is a limitation of all social monitoring tools given the privacy settings of the social network
  • Lacking the ability to input Boolean Syntax limits the depth of the keyword queries.
Radian6 in my opinion is a very no-nonsense type of tool. I know what I am going to get. So in a sense of where it is best suited, I feel as though it is best suited for clients that need a basic read on volume for their brand as well as spikes in conversation over the last 3 months. Radian lacks an automated analysis that is usable. As with other tools, automated sentiment tends to be crap. When comparing to Sysomos, I tend to lead on Radian more because I see them as similar tools though Radian gives me more information. Sysomos has an influencer/'authoritative' portion that the basic Radian tool seems to lack, however, from prior vendor conversations (Im not sure if they have changed it since), Sysomos' was primarily based on twitter followers.
Read this authenticated review
January 10, 2014

Review: "Radian6 is Scalable - Great for beginners & advanced"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I like that I am able to quickly edit my keyword string to see how different keywords will change the overall results. I do not have to wait for results to load, as in other platforms. This is especially helpful when trying to figure out words that need to be excluded from a keyword string. If your client's name is a very common word, you have to figure out which other words should be excluded in order to get clean results. Radian6 makes this cleaning process very easy.
  • This product can be scaled. It can be used by very technical analysts or on a more basic level by those who do not have extensive research experience. Very user friendly!
  • I have always found the representatives from Radian6 to be very prompt and helpful. They are also proactive in suggesting uses for the tool based on specific clients.
  • I think Radian6 could grow in its global capabilities. I do not always feel confident that it aggregates all conversation from a particular country or foreign language.
  • I would like to see more capabilities for visual platforms, such as Instagram, Pinterest, and Vine. Clients are more frequently asking us to search content on those platforms.
  • Exporting can be tedious. I would like to be able to pull a larger sample size at one time, rather than making a few smaller exports.
I would recommend Radian6 as a great first social listening tool to a colleague. It can be used by beginners on a basic level but can be scaled to uncover advanced insight.
Read this authenticated review
April 05, 2013

Radian6 Review: "Expensive to scale listening. Other tools better for engagement."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Localized, keyword, social media monitoring
  • The product had lot of "noise" despite filters; no easy integration with social intranet and natural employee workflow; standalone system.
  • We needed a tool that integrated with our social intranet (in this case Jive).
  • Additionally, we wanted workflow capability that would provide a clear process for all employees to follow, and not something we would have to buy an individual license for every user. It was crucially important to collect and filter the data, and then assign it to the right people within the organization to respond.
Overall, it was an ok tool for a standalone PR team; however, to do social monitoring across teams, other tools are better. It was also not as good as tools like Spredfast for engagement.

Radian6 is really built for listening to conversations, but Spredfast is built for engaging on the most important items. Radian6 might actually have more advanced listening filters (ie. Language); however, Spredfast is built for taking action, participating on conversations, and sharing relevant materials.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2013

User Review: "Would be lost without Radian6"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Word Clouds.
  • Twitter analytics to track hashtags.
  • Finding where users are Tweeting from based on location.
  • Having a longer time period for temporary profiles.
  • Using less bandwidth so computers don't freeze running reports.
Take a training course and really master the ins and outs of the program. It looks scary at first, but once you know what you need to do, it's easy and really beneficial for clients.
Read this authenticated review

About Radian6

Radian6 was acquired by Salesforce.com in 2011 and - along with Buddy Media - is now part of the Salesforce Marketing Cloud. (It is no longer available as a standalone product.)

The Radian6 platform is perhaps the best-known listening platform on the market with over 3,000 customers, including over half of the Fortune 100. However, this is now a very crowded space and there are many competitors.

Radian6 Competitors

Radian6 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No