Avalara Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
397 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 139)

Jere Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

If your e-commerce is growing, it helps to know what your owing! Avalara does it all.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We've looked at some other products but have been satisfied enough with Avalara that we've never had an interest in moving to another platform. It integrates well with our systems and does a great job for us. We have had some relationship management turnover and unmet expectations along with that experience, but generally have been able to resolve the issues.
Read Jere Allen's full review
Marcus Warolin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Avalara - a top tier sales tax automation software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have looked at TaxJar as an alternative to Avalara. TaxJar is significantly less expensive than Avalara, but what we ran into during our evaluation was TaxJar did not have the needed connectors with NetSuite/SuiteCommerce. Also since Shopify is natively connected to Avalara, TaxJar was not able to connect with Shopify, but would have to have orders exported to NetSuite to be run by TaxJar after the customer had been charged tax in Shopify based on the Avalara calculations.
Read Marcus Warolin's full review
Eric Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer

Alternatives Considered

Taxify involves much more do it yourself development. So the start up price is around $3-4k in dev time, but then it's 1/4 of the price of Avalara andddddd IT WORKS!!!!! Calculating sales tax is not a very complicated thing really. I mean I guess it can get complicated but our business is very very simple. Taxify works perfectly, their support is ACES, their tech knows the product in and out. It has already filed returns for us. EVERYTHING IS BETTER NOW! Also down the road, we are going to save thousands of dollars a year using them. If we grow very large then we can just move to SOVOS who is a much more respected company than Avalara. Mostly I'm upset I ever went with Avalara. I just want my money back at this point as we agreed.
Read Eric Bernstein's full review
Tom Berkompas | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Implement Avalara ASAP - You Won't Regret It!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When I go to the annual Summit conference for Microsoft GP Dynamics I run across other companies who do what Avalara does and to date I have not investigated them since I am happy with Avalara. I believe one of them is a tool from Thomson Reuters but I have not done any evaluation of this product (or any other) to date.
Read Tom Berkompas's full review
Braxton Todd | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

A Good Product For Certain Industries

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We currently use Transaction Tax Resource (TTR) which is a comparable product to Avalara. Both products provide accurate tax answers and rates. They both offer additional services to help with tax compliance, like exemption certificate management systems. However, TTR is tailored more towards the construction industry and other similar industries (e.g. heating and air services, equipment rentals, etc).
Read Braxton Todd's full review
Judy Vorndran | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Avalara is the Uber of sales tax - it has been transformative in its connector-related focus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Limited with home rule jurisdictions and taxability categories, it's not a very robust product, but will meet most of the needs of e-commerce end users or a business needing tax calculating on an invoice without having to run the iterations manually.
Read Judy Vorndran's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2020

Look no further than Avalara for your sales tax needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We didn't consider any other software other than Avalara. They impressed us as the leading sales tax software, and as the price was reasonable, we didn't need to reach out to other vendors. As far as we were concerned, Avalara was the "gold standard" of sales tax programs and that was what we wanted.
Read this authenticated review
Elaine Ware | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2019

Making the calculation of sales taxes untaxing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I was introduced to Avalara through GPUG and a presentation at the GPUG Summit. The other GP users said that it was a good product, and they had no problems using it. After talking to the people in the Avalara booth, I decided that it would be a good solution for our company.
Read Elaine Ware's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I do not have any experience to compare it to!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Certifiably CertCapture

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Most of what has been done in the past was paper held in hand. This created many difficulties when trying to look up past documents, and checking the validity of past documents. With CertCapture, everything is at our fingertips.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Mediocre at best

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Avalara had more integrations, was the only system at the time that worked with Shopify+, which we are re-platforming our Magento site to, and came in at a price point competitive with Vertex.

Honestly - we liked Sovos and ONESOURCE a lot better. ONESOURCE had the tightest and most impressive NetSuite integration. Sovos seemed to have the best customer support and overall service offering. I wish we could've gone with one of these two - maybe in a year or two, we'll be able to switch.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Sales and Use Taxes (115)
8.3
Cross-border Taxes (24)
8.3
VAT / GST Taxes (23)
8.1
Energy and Fuel Taxes (15)
8.3
Geolocation for Tax Assessment (65)
8.1
3rd-Party Software Integrations (82)
7.5
Tax Data Reporting (95)
7.5
Compliance Administration Management (69)
8.1
Tax Exemption Processing (78)
7.7
Tax Document Management (74)
8.2
Complex Tax Scenario Management (52)
7.2

About Avalara

Avalara aims to help businesses get tax compliance right. Avalara customers can manage tax obligations from state, local, and other tax authorities around the world through the platform. Avalara states that the value proposition for users is that its tool provide efficient and more accurate solutions for managing those requirements.

The Avalara Tax Compliance Suite — Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, and Avalara CertCapture — offers solutions for various transaction taxes, including sales and use, VAT, excise, communications, and others. Through the suite, users can calculate taxes, file and remit returns, and comply with document management requirements. More than 700 integrations are available for accounting systems, ERP and CRM providers, ecommerce platforms, and more. The company also offers Professional Services including Tax Advisory Services, Implementation Services, Managed Services, and Support Plans and Training to help customers prepare for and achieve compliance.

Categories:  Tax Compliance

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features
Has featureSales and Use Taxes
Has featureCross-border Taxes
Has featureVAT / GST Taxes
Has featureEnergy and Fuel Taxes
Tax Reporting & Compliance Features
Has featureGeolocation for Tax Assessment
Has feature3rd-Party Software Integrations
Has featureTax Data Reporting
Has featureCompliance Administration Management
Has featureTax Exemption Processing
Has featureTax Document Management
Has featureComplex Tax Scenario Management
Additional Features
Has featureCentralized tax management: Unify sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation under a single platform.
Has featureGeospatial location: Tax calculations delivered on-demand, with geospatial location technology to map rates to exact locations.
Has featureIntegrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with your accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
Has featureCloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure you are using the most current information.
Has featureExemption management: Request certificates from vendors and store them electronically for easy access and to effectively track expiration dates. Send automatic renewal requests before certificates expire.
Has featureReturns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling you to pay all your returns with a single source of payment.
Has featureExcise tax: Calculate tax, prepare signature-ready returns, and track exempt customers efficiently for petroleum products, including excise, environmental, and sales and use taxes in the U.S. and Canada.
Has featureLodging: Manage lodging tax for your hotel or rental property with a solution that plugs into your reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as prepares, files, and remits your lodge tax returns.
Has featureCommunications: Delivers tax calculations on a broad array of communications transactions by directly connecting to your current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
Has featureVAT, India GST, and Brazil: Master the complexity of selling overseas with solutions for global businesses; from complete European VAT solutions to full compliance in Brazil, or GST in India.
Has featureCross-border: Cross-border sales are riddled with complex taxes, duties, shipping costs, and fees. With Avalara, you can calculate the final cost of global commerce transactions so your customers aren’t surprised by hidden costs.
Has featureBeverage Alcohol: Simplifying regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Downloadables

Avalara Integrations

3dcart, BigCommerce, Drupal, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, PrestaShop, QuickBooks Online, Sage 500 ERP, Sage Intacct, SAP Business One, Yahoo! eCommerce, part of Yahoo Small Business, Shopify Plus, Zuora, Stripe, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Epicor Manufacturing Express Edition, Pinnacle Cart, Quickbooks

Avalara Competitors

Vertex Cloud, TaxJar, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud (formerly Sovos S1 Platform)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web