Braze (formerly Appboy) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
35 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Mark McRae profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Braze is a tool that had integrated nicely with our products, furthermore it has opened up several possibilities for actively engaging with our users. I would highly recommend Braze as a fully integratable actionable platform, that respects users' time and situation.
  • Great ability to customize
  • Powerful across all channels
  • User friendly and modern
  • Braze could offer more tier based cost effective solutions for users who only integrate minimally.
  • I think the the ability to understand how users patterns can be utilized is powerful but could be made more robust yet usable.
  • Reporting without exporting to a CSV perhaps a more cloud-based reporting option.
Braze is great if you fully utilize the options and properly integrate with your platforms. There is a reason why it's the top customer engagement (CEM) platform out there. If properly handled it can be a powerhouse but if only minimally used it can be overwhelming. More certifications and personalized training would be helpful to grow user adoption.
Read Mark McRae's full review
Jackson Yomogida profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] All marketing communications across email, push, in-app messages, and SMS texts.

It is being used by the marketing department. It allows us to target retention, education, up-sell opportunities, and compliance communications.
  • Personalized customer journey
  • Consolidation of marketing tools to bring multi channel communications under one roof and allowing each of them to talk to each other.
  • The Braze community. This not only helps with idea generation, but makes a great place to network and grow your team.
  • The Customer Success team is world class. They reply to anything and everything we send them promptly and with actual answers.
  • Mobile experience for the Braze dashboard
  • Simplification of liquid logic for non-technical users
  • Improvement to reporting metrics with detailed graphs. Creating something in the dashboard would save us the resources spent on hiring analytics managers and piping the data to Tableau.
The Braze product is honestly best in class when it comes to creating a personalized experience for your users. The area that really sets them apart is the team that comes with it. I've never received the level of direct support from any other company like I have with this team. Having access to customer success managers and access to other marketers within the Braze community has made the difference when building out and scaling my team as well.
Read Jackson Yomogida's full review
Konrad Moss profile photo
October 24, 2019

Powerful and Easy to Use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Braze across a large portfolio of digital products. We have Segment instrumented data flowing into Braze to nurture users through in-app and email campaigns. We've been able to drive digital user engagement, paid conversion, adoption, and retention through these campaigns. We also have Braze events flowing into Amplitude to analyze campaign success.
  • Seamless integration with other growth tools (Segment and Amplitude)
  • Intuitive, easy to use UI
  • Strong support team with quick and helpful follow-up
  • Search function can be very particular
  • Needs more advanced audience segmentation capabilities (namely the ability to target audiences with multiple event properties tied back to events)
Simple in-app campaigns work well in Braze, but the in-app canvas feature is not quite there yet (from a large enterprise perspective, as we need these in-app messages to be tied to specific apps/products).
Read Konrad Moss's full review
Victoria Quang profile photo
October 17, 2019

Braze

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Braze is being used as the primary platform that we use to communicate with our different audiences. It's being used to fulfill communication needs for all departments in the company but managed by the CRM team.

Braze is an extremely robust tool with a short learning curve. Building out new lifecycle strategies and campaigns was extremely simple. While there are a lot of functionalities, no CRM/ESP service will ever have every feature that all of their competitors have. Braze does a great job with listening to their customers and adding new features onto the roadmap.

  • Building out new lifecycle strategies and campaigns was extremely simple.
  • Braze does a great job with listening to their customers and adding new features onto the roadmap.
  • Moving data into and out of Braze has been a challenge.
  • Braze's reporting function is still a work in progress.
Braze (formerly Appboy) is well suited to nurture and build experiences that involve multiple channels (in-app messages, SMS, email, push notifications). If your needs are fulfilled simply with email and your company does not have an app counterpart, it would make sense to consider another CRM platform that is more cost effective.
Read Victoria Quang's full review
Kenneth Walters profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Braze over the last several years for our email marketing and retention efforts. We use the platform to build, send and evaluate the performance of millions of emails every day. It provides us with a platform to build and manage customer audiences and messages with personalized content. We're now in the process of expanding our use of the Braze tools and services to expand our retention efforts around mobile push and in-app messaging.
  • The Braze services and support team has been a true partner for our business. They have been proactive in helping us to solve our business problems.
  • The Braze platform provides easy to use tools for building audiences and messaging that allow a small team to be highly effective.
  • The Braze approach to dynamic content has worked very well for our needs. It has provided use with an intuitive and performant approach to email personalization even as well scaled up to millions of personalized messages per day.
  • Moving data into and out of the platform can be a challenge, given our scale. The Braze Currents offering has helped, at least in terms of getting engagement data back out of Braze and into our data warehouse.
Braze provide a modern platform for email and mobile marketing. It integrates well with APIs for dynamic content creation and they provide a broad set of tools to allow for integrated messaging across email, mobile push, and in-app.
Read Kenneth Walters's full review
Emma Stratton profile photo
October 02, 2019

Amazing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Braze to send out emails, push notifications, and in-app messages. We're able to reach out to our members more efficiently and in a more personalized way. We've been able to improve our overall engagement, and are now able to iterate on our messages to continue to improve. We also use the platform to send out surveys (including engagement and NPS) to get more insight into our members.
  • Very, very easy to use. There's never been anything I haven't been able to figure out, whether it be through experimenting in the platform or through their learning resources.
  • The customer support is truly amazing. They're attentive and respond to everything we throw at them in a timely and friendly manner.
  • We had some tricky moments with implementation, however, the team at Braze was super helpful to get us through.
As a product, Braze is extremely intuitive — it's easy to figure out how to do what you need to do (and even if you can't find it, all of their learning resources are very well done). The platform is very robust, so it's easy to execute campaigns efficiently and as imagined.
Read Emma Stratton's full review
Matt Chang profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Braze across most of our departments (Growth, Product, Ad Sales) to send out all of our marketing campaigns. By using in-app messaging, we are able to reach our user base whether it's to notify them of a new feature or to sell a premium membership. We have used another platform previously and find that Braze is much easier to use.
  • Diverse options to send out messaging including full-screen interstitials, sliders, modals, and news feed cards.
  • Segmenting users is easy to do.
  • Excellent customer success team and fast and helpful support.
  • Unable to edit conversion event once the campaign is launched.
If you are looking to engage your audience with relevant messaging while also being able to add segmentation and personalization, Braze is highly recommended.
Read Matt Chang's full review
Jennifer Rudin profile photo
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Braze delivers great value to the company when it comes to defining granularly targeted audiences based on user behavioral data tracked in Segment for nurturing users with in-browser pop-up message campaigns and email campaigns. In addition to the Segment integration, Braze does a good job with Amplitude integration as well for a deeper dive into the Braze interaction data alongside the every day data the company is tracking on digital clients. We leverage Braze across product teams with a digital offering experience (both hybrid cloud & on-prem), as well as beginning to scale out across geographies and markets for more granular campaigning.
  • Braze support team continues to demonstrate strong expertise and prompt follow-ups on our technical inquiries and debugging assistance as incidents arise.
  • Braze offers a great variation of integrations with tools such as Segment and Amplitude to digest all the data companies are currently tracking on digital clients and analyze those data points in a common environment alongside all Braze interaction events.
  • Braze offers great flexibility in targeting and delivery criteria for campaigns, as well as sets a good standard in thinking about conversion events / success factors for campaigns.
  • The target users tab in Braze does not provide optimal granularity in identifying targeted audiences. The way our company tracks data on users requires us to target audiences with multiple event properties tied back to events.
  • The canvas in-app feature Braze offers does not allow for delivery in specific apps. For a company such as IBM that offers a variety of products and services implemented with Braze, this feature does not serve value and cannot be used.
  • Braze offers A/B testing with multiple variables but they don't expose the variant IDs in the UI of the braze campaign analytics dashboard. This prevents us from easily analyzing the variants of campaign in Amplitude.
  • Great for nudging users to gain a more valuable experience in the UI of the product with in-app messages.
  • Great for preventing churn with emails.
  • Great for experimenting and A/B testing content in nurture campaigns.
  • Great for targeting users effectively based on Segment instrumented data.
  • Great for analyzing data in Amplitude post campaign launch to see interaction data alongside segment data.
Read Jennifer Rudin's full review
Calvin Shum profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Braze enables us to connect with customers directly in-app or on email at the most opportune points and time in their journey based off of usage data and behaviors. We utilize Braze within the Growth Stack as marketing automation to nurture clients to find value within our digital products from milestone to milestone.
  • Canvas allows us to plan, visualize and orchestrate the customer experience from beginning to end.
  • Data ingestion allows us to personalize communications and interactions.
  • Services open to support custom integrations.
  • While Braze can optimize the message medium based on performance, we don't use a lot of the existing capabilities and channels, and need additional tech build outs and workarounds for unique B2B use cases. I wish we could use some of the underutilized features, when they fit our enterprise needs.
Read Calvin Shum's full review
Lucia Hua profile photo
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a demand gen marketer using Braze to nurture marketing prospects exclusively through in-app messages, as we use a proprietary marketing automation tool to send emails.
  • Braze is good at managing multiple campaigns simultaneously. It is easy to draft, start, stop, modify, restart, and archive campaigns — the interface is attractive, and the campaign creation/management process is pretty intuitive.
  • Targeting options are very sophisticated. Braze uses both event and analytics data from our offerings to let us choose the exact cohort we want to hit. Delivery triggers are similar, but depending on the instrumentation of the offering our delivery timing may not be optimal (we rarely get this right on the first pass.)
  • One limitation is that once campaigns are launched, Braze does not allow changing conversion events. They do this to maintain data integrity, but in many of our use cases, this does not make sense. However, it is still fairly simple to copy the campaign and then change the conversion event and relaunch. This does mean that we have to sum data to fully see results.
Braze is useful in scenarios where the business use case is well defined and instrumentation is in the maturity/complete stage. Overall Braze has a lot of functionality, and can serve as a one-stop-shop for marketing automation. But because I work for a large company, we have yet to fully adopt Braze, as we have other tools that are better integrated with our existing systems and processes.
Read Lucia Hua's full review
Fernando Sandes profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Almost every metric related to the user life cycle - activation, engagement, conversion, reactivation, etc. Braze is a super helpful tool. It helped me to create lots of segmentations and give the best experience for all of the different types of users that we have. For example, we can create different groups of users and we can send different and localized push notifications and also different subscription offers.
  • Push Notifications.
  • In-app messages.
  • Conversions dashboards.
  • Automated inbox messages.
Braze is well suited for those who have a large userbase with people from different countries, speaking different languages and having different purchase behaviors.
Read Fernando Sandes's full review
Khuyen Nguyen profile photo
October 31, 2019

Braze Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Braze for in-web messages and push notifications as a new channel to drive the customer back to the site and encourage them to complete purchases and make new ones.
  • Personalization.
  • Customer profile.
  • Trigger events.
  • A/B testing.
Braze is better suited for app pushing more than web pushing.
Read Khuyen Nguyen's full review
Pepe Valiente profile photo
October 14, 2019

Braze Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data without use has no purpose. Braze is helping us create bridges with our users and is allowing us to connect and engage in a powerful way through in-app and e-mail messages that allow us to improve our user experience.
  • Has a powerful and native integration with the segment.
  • Seamlessly identify events and milestones to interact with clients through email or in-app messages.
  • Not that I dislike but I see as an opportunity. More flexibility to scale to big organizations (e.g. product codes and families).
Braze is well suited for milestone identification and push notifications to users.
Read Pepe Valiente's full review
Mariane Lemire profile photo
September 29, 2019

Braze is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Braze is mainly used by our marketing department to run CRM campaigns across 2 countries. We have members of our insights team using it for reporting, product for product launches, and devs, obviously are involved.
  • Customer support.
  • They listen to their customer's needs.
  • It's definitely a leader in this business.
  • No cons on our end!
Braze is amazing for reaching customers via push notifications, in-app messaging, email, webhook, etc. It's easy to A/B test with, run specific campaigns to specific users, they have a canvas tool I love using. That is definitely a strong reason why we decided to get the product in the first place.
Read Mariane Lemire's full review
No photo available
November 04, 2019

Braze Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Braze to implement both in-app campaigns as well as email campaigns to welcome them to the product if they use our product for the first time, provide additional assets and resources, promote new features or capability announcement, and nudge users to move through to the next steps within the product, or 5) remind them that their service is being deleted. I believe the majority of the organization is using Braze or at least pushing to use throughout various business units.
  • Braze is integrated with segment and is also integrated with amplitude so that you can track user data across multiple platforms.
  • The more granular your product instrumentations are done, the more effective your Braze campaigns can be in terms of targeting a specific user group in specific areas within the user experience.
  • Braze works well with large companies by providing support and dedicated teams in terms of debugging issues or helping with implementation.
  • If you do not have a solid understanding of your product instrumentation and Braze, it will be difficult to be effective with it initially.
  • You need to spend some time learning about the platform as some aspects are not self-explanatory so you need to rely on other documentation or guidelines they have (i.e. how to find your instrumentations - need to find it by adding quotations marks, etc).
Braze is great if you want to nudge users to move through your product milestones that you set for your product and understand their progress. Braze also has a section where you can define what conversion you want to see which is very helpful to see how effective your campaign actually was once launched.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2019

Great product and team

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The CRM team is using Braze to communicate with all of our audiences through multiple app groups using email, IAMs, push, SMS, and webhooks. Braze has enabled our CRM team to build and test robust, personalized, real-time user journeys without ongoing support from product/engineering.
  • Usability - If you are experienced with ESPs, Braze is simple and straightforward to learn after an initial exploration into the tool.
  • Tooling, Products, and Features - Braze is a robust tool that enables my team to build complex lifecycle marketing programs without needing support from product/engineering. We can easily target users with email, push notifications, in-app messages, webhooks, SMS, and more all in one place.
  • If there is ever a product that is missing/could be improved, the Braze team will listen to our needs and incorporate suggestions into their product roadmap.
  • Customer Service - The Customer Success team is so responsive and helpful - some of the best I've ever worked with. They will provide suggestions, feedback, workarounds (if needed), and recommendations to improve your efficiency and strategy. I'd highly recommend a CSM as well.
  • Better reporting and analytics built within Braze. We do a lot of exporting of data to outside tools for analysis.
  • UI improvements such as foldering/organizational structure instead of just a tagging system.
  • Load times for canvases that are very complex (though I've been told this improvement is coming soon).
If you use an omnichannel marketing approach across digital products and want to reach your users with real-time, personalized messages (email, in-app, push, SMS, webhooks, etc) then Braze is suited for you. If you're just doing straightforward email marketing without much testing or personalization, you can probably find cheaper products that fit your needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Braze to trigger lifecycle and ad hoc messaging to our 2-sided marketplace audiences. The product is used primarily by the Marketing team with support from product and engineering.
  • Segmentation - easy to segment users based on actions taken in product and user attributes.
  • Campaign setup - easy to use segments to build automated campaigns.
  • Support and resources - Braze onboarding team and available resources on implementation, use, and best practices are very thorough.
  • Data architecture flexibility - some limitations on how certain data points are stored. Important to understand how Braze's data is structured before implementing it.
Very well-suited for eCommerce businesses who want to build automated messaging to users and see retention/revenue growth.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Braze is used by our marketing team to reach users across different platforms (email, app, push). It has helped us better segment our users, as well as add in personalization. Lastly, it's given our marketing team tools to analyze the effectiveness of each campaign we launch.
  • Customer service and reliable reps.
  • Good documentation for you to self learn the tool. Braze is complicated, but they have resources (in addition to human customer service) designed to help you learn.
  • Integrations - We integrate Braze with Simon Data, which is a huge help.
  • The UI can be difficult to figure out. It's hard to sort current campaigns from past ones. You can't delete campaigns.
Braze is incredibly helpful for companies reaching users on many different platforms. It's also helpful for personalization. That being said, for a company launching a simple newsletter, it's probably not necessary.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 29, 2019

I recommend Braze!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Once we launched our first campaign through Braze, we haven't stopped! It's super easy to get campaigns up and running, set conversion goals, and measure impact. You can communicate with your customers across email, push, in-app, and content card integrations. If you're looking for a customer engagement platform for your app, I'd suggest considering them as a partner. On top of the tool itself, we've found our reps to be fantastic - always helping us figure out how we can further leverage all the offerings of the tool.
  • Easy to create campaigns.
  • Can integrate with other tools.
  • Can instantly see results.
  • More conversion goals than 4.
  • Preview of custom HTML in-app notifications.
We can't rely on product alone to push users through the funnel. Braze has become a solution for that, and we saw lift against the control for nearly all of our campaigns - so it's easy to justify the cost of the tool!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Braze is being used by product and marketing teams in a variety of departments and business units.
We are using Braze for nurturing the user along the journey of using our offerings to proficiency and driving them to convert to higher revenue plans, ensuring those who provision trial versions of our offerings get value during the trial period to drive upgrade to paid versions, and to drive those who show interest in our trial offerings to sign up for a trial.
We are seeing (1) increased business results and (2) improvement in our offering/marketing team skills at designing more effective nurture. Braze requires them to know what their use case is and the data needed to support it before crafting, so they are getting more data-driven and focused in their nurture planning.
  • Braze takes advantage of data to drive behaviorally-based nurture. It is more effective than other nurture tactics in driving results, based on windows of time from a purchase or trial registration, because of the context behavioral nurture provides. Therefore, if your organization has strong instrumentation to support your nurture use cases, Braze will prove to be a powerful tool to increase business results.
  • I find their support helpful, responsive, and open to discussions when their experience may not map to the needs of an enterprise the size of ours.
  • Some of the features and limitations are due to, probably, a lack of experience working with large enterprises.
  • Our company has hundreds of offerings, each wanting to nurture their users, and so the data involved is large, making search functions difficult unless you have a very specific character string for things like events.
  • Our data can require more than one event property to best describe the behavior, and the current limitation is for 1 property.
  • That being said, Braze is very open to discussing our needs and talking to their developers about the opportunity and impact of our needs on the product.
Some use cases are casting a wide net when it comes to targeting an audience. Braze's power comes from focused targeting, and targeting based on data about behavior. Some of our folks want to nurture an audience that is very broad and not very definable, i.e. "someone who has tried any one of our 100's of products." That is not Braze's strength in the way we have implemented it.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Rees profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appboy powers our push notifications. It is used by both the mobile app team for open rate analysis, but is primarily supported by the editorial team, who curate the messages sent to our users.
  • Push notifications - allows for flexibility in message and content.
  • Custom event reporting - set events in the app code that triggers when certain criteria is met.
  • Segmentation - using user behavior to better target messaging based on what they engage with in-app.
  • Optimization - provide suggestions for messaging based on experience of past campaigns.
  • Allow for greater flexibility in segmentation dimensions.
  • Reduce latency in reporting - real time or concurrent user data would be useful.
Appboy provides the most value in allowing multiple teams with different goals and technical experience to collaborate with one product. The editorial team is comfortable creating our messaging, while another team can seamlessly dive into the data and create segments of the users who will be seeing the targeted message. After a campaign is complete, it is easy to look back through the performance and make adjustments for future messaging.
Read Brian Rees's full review

Braze (formerly Appboy) Scorecard Summary

About Braze (formerly Appboy)

Braze (formerly Appboy) is a lifecycle engagement platform that empowers brands to humanize their connections with customers through technology, resulting in better experiences and increased retention, lifetime value, and ROI.

Braze is built for today’s mobile-first reality and tomorrow’s ambient computing future. Enterprise and born-digital brands rely on Braze to deliver personalized messaging experiences that span across channels, platforms, and devices. The product aims to enable the automation of sophisticated marketing and growth strategies easily, and instantly, on a global scale.

Each month, tens of billions of messages associated with nearly 2 billion active users are managed through Braze. Braze is a venture-backed company with hundreds of employees.

Categories:  Mobile Marketing

Braze (formerly Appboy) Features

Additional Features
Has featureMultichannel Messaging
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureLifecycle Management
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureEmail deliverability
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard Reports
Has featureAPI
Has featureRole-based workflow & approvals

Braze (formerly Appboy) Integrations

Braze (formerly Appboy) Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Braze (formerly Appboy) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Phone
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Braze (formerly Appboy) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No