Ceridian Dayforce HCM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
899 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 471)

Janice Monda, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Ceridian Dayforce Experience 2020

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 4 affiliated companies within our production site. Each business has completely separate operations, pay practices, shift rotations and implementation dates. We use Dayforce HCM for payroll processing, onboarding and Time & Attendance. Ceridian Dayforce provides us with the flexibility required by ea. company.

The Mexichem Companies were operating completely separate for many years. When we transitioned to Dayforce Payroll, we are now sharing best practices and helping each other. While separate, we are now operating as a team! Our learning curve has been steep because of our separate implementations in Time & Attendance.
  • Flexible configuration
  • User Training
  • User Friendly
  • Support model
  • Implementation model (used external partners to implement)
  • Costly when changes need to be made
Before recommending Dayforce, I would have to gauge the technical proficiency of my peer.

Dayforce is highly configurable providing there is capital available to implement or make changes.Dayforce has training resources available to learn but I still have to consult support to configure correctly. Users must be knowledgeable.

Our Tax configuration allows us to withhold accurately. The program is more intuitive than I am! Dayforce knows when employee withholding is applicable based on the employee's address. It also is updated behind the scenes with tax law changes. I am comfortable with the fact that I am paying employees correctly with Ceredian Tax support and program compliance.
Read Janice Monda, SHRM-CP's full review
Christine Kelichner, SPHR-CA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Accuracy, Efficiency, and Engagement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce has been fully implemented at all levels of our organization. It provides a seamlessly integrated HR system for all facets of our employee's work life. With Dayforce, our workforce is engaged and rusts the accuracy of their payroll, benefits, and HR record. Our managers are able to efficiently manage their workforce and have data at their fingertips necessary to make business decisions.
  • Fully Integrated HRIS solution
  • Accurate payroll delivery
  • HTML migration
  • Improved integration with retirement plan
Of course, the larger the organization, the more Dayforce makes sense. But even with our 350 employees, it is the right solution. I don't see this being a good solution for a smaller organization of less than 100.
We have locations in multiple states with state-specific requirements for wages and hours. Compliance with these requirements is a priority as the penalties and costs can be in the millions of dollars. With Dayforce, we are able to set the state-specific requirements to ensure our employees are paid correctly every day.
Read Christine Kelichner, SPHR-CA's full review
Garrett Cox, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Ceridian YAY-force!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for many functions of our company. We use the following modules/solutions
Workforce Management, Recruiting, Learning Management System, Payroll, Time and Attendance, Human Resources and Benefits. These modules all work cohesivley together which makes the the job of administering these functions much easier and more efficient. Also, the Ceridian support team is great and provides great service when we encounter an issue.
  • Staying on top of HRIS tech trends
  • Great support team
  • The easy flow of data between modules
  • Provide more training opportunities for end-users
  • Make configuring workflows/forms easier for new admins
  • Transitioning from Silverlight to HTML has been hard to adjust - more support needed
Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for any company, regadless of size or industry. Ceridian Dayforce provides the Admins with flexibility to configure the system to meet the company's business needs. I can't think of a situation where Dayforce wouldn't be an solution for a company looking for a HRIS.
You are able to configure Ceridian Dayforce to include any compliance or policy changes. There are workflows you can edit and also pay policies you can adjust. Dayforce allows us to continue staying compliant with different changes and makes it easy to react. We are able to set up different policies and double check our work in a test environment to make sure everything works.
Read Garrett Cox, SHRM-CP's full review
Rachael MacDougald | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Ceridian Dayforce Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce as our HR and Payroll system of record.
  • Houses all information in one place
  • Payroll process is fairly simple
  • It's not designed for a company as complex as ours and we have had to "make it work" in some cases
  • Does not handle employees working at multiple legal entities well
  • Many branches of the product that do not work well.
No, the implementation team made errors relating to ESA requirements that cost us money. Some items are automated but basic items like minimum wage increases are done via upload.
Read Rachael MacDougald's full review
Crystal McNulty | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Ceridian Dayforce Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Dayforce across the whole organization. Is allowed us to house the data for our Canada and US entities. It significantly reduced the amount of administrative work our company was doing on a day to day basis. Our management team loved having access to their employee information (vacation, contact information).
  • Vacation integrated with payroll.
  • User-friendly.
  • Not highly customizable.
  • Implementation is a heavy process.
Dayforce is well suited in any environment where there is a lot of manual administrative work being done. The solution provides employees and their managers a lot of information at their fingertips. It simplified vacation tracking and ensures compliance. IT may be less well suited in a large organization that needs more customized fields.
Ceridian is always up to date on legislation.
Read Crystal McNulty's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Ceridian Dayforce saved my life!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used across the whole organization. We currently use it for Payroll Processing, benefits management, and time management. The system has sped up how we run reports and use that information to apply for the grants that keep our doors open MUCH faster. Payroll is something that used to take days and now is a few hours. Time management was non existent and we can now see patterns in work that we were unable to see before.
  • Payroll processing is smooth and efficient.
  • The system is very user friendly.
  • Mass rate changes are a pain to process. I find doing upload to be challenging.
  • When I went live there were many bugs but things I wouldn't be able to see until I ran the system for a while. The implementation team leaves too quickly. The amount of tickets I had to open was frustrating.
Dayforce is amazing for onboarding new employees. It has the capacity to have all the things necessary to walk a new employee through the steps. I find my employees (once in the system) find it very user-friendly. Entering time data is straight forward and them being held accountable for what is in the system has increased greatly. Mainly, Dayforce saves time and everyone can use a little bit more of that.
All things needed to meet legislation are worked into the production environment. I never have to worry in that department. We are unionized here so things from our Collective Agreement are also worked into the system and some of those functions are quite complex. I have had a few severances and the with holding tax is always perfect and in the past I have had to do a lot of manual calculations and the system now does it all for me.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Dayforce single platform works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Ceridian Dayforce across our whole organization, and we encourage employees to use the mobile app. I would say that we use 90% of the modules offered in Dayforce. Dayforce is a one-stop-shop with all of our employee information in one system, we do not have to enter duplicate information into different systems. Saving time in every department, across the board. For example; our Managers can easily see TAFW requests, create employee schedules and review their employee's Timesheets. When they approve the TAFW, it automatically shows up in the employee's schedule and/or Timesheets.

And for our HR and Payroll team, if we update an employee's file to show that they are on a leave of absence, the system automatically begins calculating benefit arrears. When the employee returns, the system then begins deducting the arrears from the employee's paychecks until the arrears are caught up. We don't have to create spreadsheets to track this information and we can trust the information.

  • Dayforce is fully integrated, a one-stop-shop! All employee information is in one system and moves quickly throughout it. This is particularly helpful when a wage change goes through in the middle of a pay period or when completing a retro wage change. You can see the change, including the retro change, right in the employee's Timesheet, which automatically feeds over into Payroll.
  • Dayforce makes benefits enrollment and annual open enrollment simple. The system remembers what benefit programs the employee has participated in and the employee's beneficiary information.
  • Dayforce is very customizable. You can create shift rotations, pay policies and attendance management policies based on the needs of your company.
  • Dayforce does not have a paycheck calculator and it would be great if it did!
  • Dayforce could do better with basic reporting, ie: 401(k), garnishments, etc.
I feel Dayforce can be adjusted to fit the needs for every different type of company. Dayforce is very customizable and a has a great integration of all things HR and Payroll. Even for our crazy laws here in California.
Dayforce is easily customizable. We are able to customize our pay policies to cover: state and local employment laws, shift premiums, different overtime policies for each state that we operate in, Donning and Doffing, etc.

We are able to utilize Dayforce benefit management for new hire and annual enrollment, retirement enrollment and create EDI's for our benefit vendors. This allows us to make sure that we are in compliance with our plans.
Dayforce is a cloud based, integrated system and as a whole is very user friendly. Dayforce allows managers to easily deal with day to day activities because all of the information is in one spot. Long gone are the days that a manager needs to log into separate systems to verify an employees timesheet, requests for time off, etc. By providing ease of use, our managers get more time back in their day to do other things.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Excellent platform for payroll and benefits

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being used across the whole organization. We instituted it last year and now everyone is using it. It addresses the problems of having a centralized internal portal for payroll and benefits. We have been needing something for performance evaluation, and through Dayforce we will have that ability.
  • Payroll.
  • Benefits.
  • Mobile app.
  • Commuter benefits.
I think it's a very useful tool that's well suited to most companies out there. I think a smaller company would not be suited for it, but a mid to the large-sized company would benefit greatly from having Dayforce. For companies that already have a solid system for benefits and payroll, it would be less appropriate.
Ceridian Dayforce enables compliance through automated compliance with labor union rules. We have a union at the company, and thanks to Ceridian Dayforce, compliance has become an automated process that was much more difficult in the past. This has made the relationship between employer and union smoother. Ceridian Dayforce also enables compliance with healthcare eligibility.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2020

Dayforce and HR

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization at different levels. It’s addresses payroll, HR management, and project hours tracking.
  • Support is great.
  • Having resources available.
  • Easy to use.
  • Timesheet linking to the employee's profile.
  • More reporting options.
It is best suited to organizations that are ready to adopt online options. I feel like the more you use it, the better the system is.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

New user review of Dayforce

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Ceridian Dayforce for HR/Payroll purposes only at this moment.
  • WFM is very convenient
  • Running payroll is quick
  • Accurate entitlement policy, such as vacation balances
  • Report design should be more friendly to use
Whenever I terminate an employee from previous payroll and generate ROE, it is a bit challenging with vacation payout. Dayforce does not auto payout. I had to calculate and put "vacation payout" manually in quick entry.

Also, the implementation team should have more knowledge of both payroll and HR to map the program and the importance of all the data coming from other programs to Dayforce.
We have been using Dayforce since January and our experience with the program is getting better, with fewer problems day by day.
All the issues we have encountered are mostly fixed by support from the customer care team. BUT it would be nicer if the implementation team did a better job from the beginning. We still need to update other policies, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Dana Lyons | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Dayforce pulls all the HR functions together in one place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started implementation in February, 2019 and first used Payroll and Benefits in July and will also be using Recruiting, Onboarding, Performance, Compensation, Dashboards and learning Management. We had a patchwork of systems we were using for all those things and this will combine most everything for us making us all more efficient.
  • Benefits and Payroll Integration - changes happen in real time.
  • Workflows - still working on creating some but we created some so that when employees make changes, we are notified and that's great so nothing goes unnoticed.
  • Site is easy for employees to navigate and has a 'clean' presentation.
  • Recruiting - seems like it could use some enhancements based on feedback from our recruiters. It doesn't have the same functionality as our stand alone system did but hopefully there are some updates coming to fix some gaps.
  • Compensation - seems a little clunky but could be just because we haven't used for a cycle yet.
  • Implementation - seems like some time spent up front understanding our organization set-up and needs could have saved some time and angst in the long run.
We are still in implementation but we have the idea and vision that Dayforce will work well for us overall. We know that any system is going to have some limitations and may require some adjustments to current processes on our part but we are happy with the aesthetics of the software and our employees are finding it easy to use as well. I have a family member also in HR and she has used Dayforce at a prior employer and had a very positive experience with the software as well.
We are pleased with benefits and healthcare reporting in regards to ACA and tracking eligibility for part-time employees. Compliance with State Tax withholding will help prevent mishaps from occurring.
Read Dana Lyons's full review
Kerstin Falvey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Dayforce - Changing the Way We Work.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce has changed the way we do work. We were 100% manual for all things recruitment, benefits, time off requests, performance reviews, compensation increases, attendance points and perfect attendance prior to the system. Even paychecks and statements were paper! 2 years after our implementation, NONE of this is paper based anymore. For the first time ever, we have employee self-service, which gives power and information to our teammates!
  • It is truly one system for all things HR. Every piece connects.
  • Dayforce is customizable and really understands that no two companies do things the same way.
  • Ceridian presents a lot of different opportunities for users and customers to connect, share best practices, and lean on each other vs. always being required to go through support or pay additional fees for help.
  • Support - I would really like to see true "support consultants" when getting help on a ticket. We get lucky sometimes and get a fantastic support rep, but often it seems that they don't really care about providing true help, just want the ticket closed.
  • User groups for all regions.
  • More user friendly training for manager levels vs. just for "super users".
Dayforce has been great for our company, where we went from nothing (just a payroll system) to a full blown HCM. It is user-friendly and relatively easy to understand for all levels of our organization...from forklift drivers to our CEO.

I would like to see Dayforce work on their performance and recruiting modules. Ceridian's model is based on continuous feedback, so the system currently is designed around that...which means no such thing as a PIP, and very basic ATS functionality.
Leave Approvals, COBRA file feeds, attendance points, labor union rules, California (and other state-specific) laws...so many!
Read Kerstin Falvey's full review
MariBeth Theusch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

GNC Ceridian Dayforce Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dayforce for Timekeeping, HR, Payroll, Benefits, Recruiting, Onboarding and we're about to implement the Compensation Module. We implemented Dayforce so that we had a complete HCM solution. We also wanted to eliminate paperwork and tedious tasks for our managers and HR Administrators. We also wanted to create a better experience for employees, potential employees and onboarding employees.
  • TAFW requests work very well. It has done away with paper and saved time for both the employee and manager when requesting time off.
  • Open Enrollment works very well. Last year was our first OE and our employees loved it! Doing away with the paperwork was a big timesaver.
  • Payroll processing is extremely efficient. The PR Admins love the preview features that help them ensure that payroll is correct each and every time.
  • We are still unable to use Attendance Management after being live on Dayforce for over a year. We have been told that one of our attendance policies can't be done in the system even though we were promised it could be done at the time we were choosing Dayforce. For our other policies, they are not working properly and no one we've worked with at Ceridian seems to understand Attendance. Our policies are very simple so this has been extremely disappointing.
  • Dayforce Support is a crapshoot. When submitting a ticket you can never be sure if you will receive a Support Rep who is knowledgeable and committed to resolving your issue or a Rep who is just trying to get that ticket closed and out of their queue. We receive inconsistent and incorrect responses fairly frequently. I've had to rely on a User Group for more accurate solutions.
  • Although we like the Recruiting feature, we would like to see more flexibility in that module. More tokens for the Offer Letter, more flexibility in the application questionnaire, etc.
  • Reporting is not intuitive and it seems to be becoming less so as new releases come out. It seems Ceridian is moving towards wanting clients to have Professional Services create all of their reports.
  • We would like to see better audits between WFM and Payroll. It is still too easy to miss hours in WFM that aren't picked up in Payroll.
  • Ceridian Tax Service has been extremely slow in handling questions. The Source Tax Online tool is clunky and difficult to extract information if you have a tax issue.
I don't think we are seeing any real compliance difference from ADP. We did appreciate the ease of PPACA and the Component-1 reporting.
We have found that the quality of the service we receive from support is completely dependent on the support person who receives the case. Some of the support reps are exceptional and others seem to want to get the case out of their queue as quickly as possible with little regard to whether they have resolved the issue to our satisfaction. In addition, we have had many cases where one person is working the case and after not hearing from anyone for several days, we hear that a new person is put on the case because the original person is out. A lot of time is lost and we often have to re-explain the whole situation. Very frustrating.

We also get a lot of "we couldn't replicate the situation" so the case just gets marked closed.
I think it's very usable for the employee. I don't think it is as easy for the HR/PR admins - especially if there is an issue. There are so many setup screens that need to be looked at to try to figure out why payroll isn't calculating properly, hours aren't feeding over correctly, or benefits are not calculating properly. For the most part, they can't do their own troubleshooting. The same is true for the managers. Our managers find it cumbersome to go into make any schedule changes after the schedules have been generated.
Read MariBeth Theusch's full review
Don Stewart | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Use the Dayforce, Luke

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is currently using Dayforce for our payroll, HR, workforce management, labor tracking, recruiting, benefits administration, and performance management. It has been a great experience. We are in the process of expanding it to eight other business units within the umbrella of our parent company. At Morgan, we plan to begin using Dayforce for compensation, onboarding, learning, and succession planning in the coming weeks and months.
  • Ease of use
  • Ability to automate processes and reduce paper use
  • Improved employee experience
  • Customer support when issues arise
  • Reports are tricky for new users
  • Some features still rely on Silverlight for functionality
  • Mobile functionality still being developed and improved
Ceridian Dayforce is perfect for a growing or maturing company that is looking to automate processes rather than relying on manual work, Excel sheets, and paper forms. It can help take your employee experience to the next level. If you are already heavily invested in a robust HRIS and Payroll system, switching to Dayforce couldn’t hurt, but the impact wouldn’t be as dramatic in many cases.
Dayforce has saved us money through compliance by automating compliance with local, state, and federal tax regulations; with overtime, scheduling, and PTO policies; with healthcare eligibility and healthcare laws. Dayforce does a lot of this work for you. In other cases, such as state by state PTO regulations, it is easily customizable. Ceridian constantly and consistently updates the platform as laws and regulations change. The company also makes every effort to keep its customers informed of compliance changes.
Read Don Stewart's full review
Jennifer Monson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Wonderful integrated HCM Solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HR, Payroll, Benefits, Biometric clocks and timekeeping. Dayforce allows us to comply with all CA wage and hour requirements - ensuring employees take at least a 10-minute break and a 30- minute lunch, and pay the meal penalty if they take their lunch late or skip it. The system verified that a second meal is taken if work is greater than 10 hours. The added benefit of employees attesting that they received all of their meals and rest breaks each day is a wonderful tool.
  • Self service benefit enrollment
  • EEO-1 reporting
  • ACA reporting
  • Carrier feed integration
  • We would like EES to be able to waive or attest their meals and breaks on the mobile app, not just on the time clock.
  • I think the dashboards are difficult to drill into and modify.
  • Effective dates in the benefit module seem to have occasional glitches.
CA wage and hour laws can all be monitored. Payroll runs smoothly. We have almost 20 pay policies to meet the need of our employee pay groups. Reports are easily run, created, and modified Paid time off accruals work well. Workflows are pretty easy to configure and work well. Overall, I believe this is the most robust and flexible HCM product in the market today.

CA wage and hour compliance is achieved through programming pay policies in the system. The EEO-1 with pay report collects required data and allowed us to upload it easily before the deadline. The ACA module is very easy to navigate and it collects all of the data, so we are just verifying it before transmission. The ability to have multiple pay policies allows us to pay OT according to each state we operate in.
Read Jennifer Monson's full review
Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

An engineer with a passion for HR technology

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is primarily used for payroll, benefits administration and workforce management. It has been useful in getting information from employees working at different sites in less time. We have been able to reduce the use of paper by using Dayforce. It has also helped us conduct audits and synthesize our processes across departments. Employees are happy as they have better connections with HR.
  • Report writing and ability to generate reports.
  • Ability to use additional employee properties to create additional fields.
  • Timekeeping
  • Payroll earning and deduction reports are very useful
  • During position change, the schedules have to be adjusted manually.
  • During system upgrades, the workflows break and need to be tested again.
  • Silverlight issues while using Dayforce with Macbook and Apple products.
Dayforce's report writing tool is very helpful in obtaining organization data. The ability to link different fields and create custom topics is very helpful while analyzing interdepartmental properties. We are able to generate reports on employee roles, forms, location, position, ethnicity etc. This has helped us create HR metrics for headcount, termination, retention to create HR strategy.
Ceridian has helped manage COBRA, PPACA, tax reporting, EEO compliance, I-9 processes. We are able to run reports and use the group, sort buttons to extract data as required. Earlier it was a nightmare to review thousands of paper documents and turn that information into numbers that make sense. With Dayforce inconsistencies can be corrected with the click of a button.
Read Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR®'s full review
April Atkins, CPP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Dayforce Payroll is a '10'

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used throughout our entire organization, including our associates in the United Kingdom.
  • Dayforce offers HR, Recruiting, Benefits, Payroll, and Workforce Management in a single application. Our associates have mobile technology which enables them to see their schedules, review their timecards or check benefit information 24 hours a day.
  • Our associates have access to real time information 24 hours a day. They are able to see how much PTO time is available and request time away from work through mobile technology.
  • The new 'Timecards' needs improvement. It is difficult to access the timecard totals (previously 'View Pay' in My Timecards) without having to drag the side bar down. It is not efficient.
  • The HTML screens are slow and inefficient. We are still using Silverlight when possible.
Dayforce is very intuitive and the training through MyPath made our transition very easy for our associates. The payroll module (sitll using MyPay due to system response in Payroll) is definitely a '10' in my book! I think WFM still needs improvements. Our supervisors and managers have found it not as easy to use or read as Kronos.
As an employer in 35+ states, we have benefited from the embedded compliance in the scheduling module.
This is dependent on what type of support that is needed. Ceridian has opportunities to make improvements relating to support on the global/UK side. I find it challenging to get problems solved quickly with our UK Native payroll. The US side is different. We tend to get our issues resolved quickly when we encouter issues on the US side.
From a payroll standpoint, the payroll module is excellent. However, HTML screens are slow and inefficient.
Read April Atkins, CPP's full review
Jessica Summy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

Happy with the experience and optimistic about future possibilities!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being developed and used within our business and sister companies to streamline, clarify, and improve the employee experience by consolidating all HR-related content into one platform, including onboarding, time and attendance, organization management, time and attendance, performance management, compensation, reporting payroll, etc. While it is currently used by our HR team, the future goal is to increase self-service across the company and encourage use across the entire organization.
  • Reporting - the reporting module is very user-friendly and allows users to create custom reports to meet specific needs.
  • Navigation - the database is organized in a way that is easy to navigate and user-friendly! I love how the site is clean and aesthetically pleasing.
  • One-stop shop - it's a great to use HRIS that encompasses so much HR-related content. New additions with the system have tremendous power to positively enhance the employee experience!
  • People functionality - certain data fields are delimited when another is changed (manager field delimits when a work assignment is modified). The user has to manually adjust that if a workflow is not being used.
  • Reporting functionality - the system doesn't have the capacity to pull data for a group of people that are unrelated according to filters - you can't run a report for a group of people unless they have a shared characteristic that is stored within Dayforce.
I think Dayforce is a great tool for work environments and cultures that seek to improve the HR and employee experience. After working with several Human Resource Information Systems, Dayforce is the most user-friendly platform I have worked with and continuously increases its functionality and capacity to enhance the work experience. There is a lot of potential to be unlocked with the various modules that are offered.
As we continue to automate processes, automation ensures the proper and necessary parties receive and sign off on proposed changes within the organization while providing a manageable way to track and review approvals. Dayforce is helping our organization ensure that our data is relevant, valid, correct, and reportable. Accountability is built into the system that ensures compliance within our organization.
Read Jessica Summy's full review
Meagan Bare, MBA, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Dayforce: Good for the organization that likes to take control of their data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce Payroll and WFM is being used across our entire US population. We are implementing all talent modules over the next 6-9 months.
  • Configurable
  • Flexible
  • User-Friendly
  • State-Mandated form integration into the Onboarding Module (NY, CA, DC)
  • More robust Recruitment Module
  • Feeds with Background/I-9 Vendors to allow you to selected the vendor of your choice, not just those that are integrated with Ceridian. Currently with EBI, and we have to initiate background screenings by flipping a status and the status of the backgrounds are housed outside the system.
Dayforce is customizable, but relies heavily on configuration. As an administrator, I like that I can change settings without having to get support involved, like other HRIS/HRM solutions I've used in the past. However, if you are a small organization and do not have a Sr. Manager or above HR/Payroll team, this may be a bit daunting. There is not employment law built in as a baseline; for example: we had to specify what meal/rest break policies were, we had to specify what the rounding rules were and we had to specify what the spread of hours/recall/on call pay looked like for all states we were in business in. As a client, it would be super helpful to start at a point of compliance, and allow customers to configure it further from there, if they are more generous than the state requirements. State Forms are also not built into the onboarding module. I have wage forms that need completed for CA, NY and DC; the only way I can automate these is through docusign and even that is cumbersome. It's unfortunate.
It does enable compliance, but you need to build it; the platform does not start at a legally compliant level.
Read Meagan Bare, MBA, SHRM-CP's full review
Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Robust System But Poor Customer Support

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Ceridian’s Dayforce HCM platform for workforce management, payroll, and time and attendance. We’re currently slated to implement the Performance Management, Recruiting, and Onboarding modules in the next two months. This will allow us to move to a paperless system and a single platform to house the majority of our HR data. All employees within 3 legal entities currently utilize the Dayforce system.
  • Dayforce is robust and has a lot of functionality, once you understand all its capabilities. This allows us to make more informed and data-driven decisions.
  • The user interface is relatively user-friendly and intuitive. Our employees find it easy to navigate, requiring less help on tactical HR needs and freeing up that time for more strategic needs.
  • All of the data is housed in a single platform, which makes analyzing the data in new and more informative ways easier.
  • The customer support is lacking. If needs are highly urgent, then the customer support will respond timely. Other needs that are reported aren’t responded to timely and you don’t have much support to get things addressed.
  • The implementation process of their system is so difficult and cumbersome. So much of the burden of implementation falls on the customer, rather than Ceridian as I expected, and the timeline is rushed, so we were forced to go live without feeling like things were truly ready to go. Having additional communication and better implementation support, along with more time to implement, would have saved us months of headaches down the road.
  • We are a mid-sized business, and Ceridian is focused on enterprise-level customers. While we’re thrilled with the functionality the system has, the support for companies our size is pretty minimal. We felt that we weren’t as important of a client.
Ceridian as a company and Dayforce as a system is focused primarily on large and enterprise-sized customers. The customer support and focus seems to be great if you fit that box, but not if you don’t, Ceridian doesn’t appear to care as much about your success on their platform. Those smaller companies might be better served to find another HCM provider.
Our organization requires compliance with EEO and OFCCP, and the included reports in Dayforce help us ensure we are compliant with these regulations. The automated tax withholding and reporting has also reduced possibility of human error and ensured that we are compliant with these as well. Rather than requiring these compliance needs to be done manually, they can be automated through Dayforce.
Read Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Kristin Bockhahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Dayforce from a Multi-state and International Perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce for timekeeping, sick/vacation entitlement tracking, HR records, payroll, labor law compliance, and document management. In our US UK and Canada operations, we use Dayforce exclusively for our payroll processing, and we're working toward adding Australia and possibly Singapore to the list of our countries that process payroll through Dayforce. We currently use timekeeping, entitlement tracking, and HR records for all employees company-wide. We love the single platform approach since it nearly eliminates the need for dual entry we have to do between our HR/Payroll departments.
  • Single platform for HR and Payroll. When one thing changes, it cascades through the whole system, keeping us on track and reducing the likelihood of data entry errors.
  • Time Calculation flexibility. If there is something that can't be configured within the pay configuration, I've yet to discover it. Need your employees to get OT for hours after a certain time? Done. Need shift rates applied? Done. Need meal penalties assessed for shifts above a certain length (for you CA employers)? Done. I could go on and on- but the point is that the system can work for you, no matter your needs.
  • Real-time payroll calculations. Need to check if a garnishment is going to be correctly applied to an employee's pay? Need to see what impact a commission payment will have on employee taxes? Need to check to see what your to-date payroll liability for the pay period is? Any of these and many more are at your fingertips in just a few minutes with the ability to recalculate the pay file at any time during the pay cycle. You no longer have to wonder what your payroll will look like when processing day comes along- you can see it all along.
  • Configurability. Dayforce is still getting up to speed on how to manage the configuration abilities of the product. You can do pretty much anything, but this provides an issue when trying to get support from them - no one is an expert on your system since literally, no two clients have the same configuration. It's best to have an on-site Dayforce expert to handle system updates and maintenance.
  • Reporting. While constantly improving, the reporting feature is complicated to use for someone who needs specific information. You practically have to be a programmer (and some options require SQL knowledge to implement) in order to get the report you want. Also, the auto-formatting makes it tricky to manipulate the data after the report is run, if you are trying to use Excel or CSV to extract data points for complex analytics. Fortunately, you can turn this off - you just have to remember to update the settings before processing the request for the report.
  • Workflows. We've run into issues with certain things, like time off requests, being stuck in limbo when management changes. If the request was originally submitted to one manager, and then that manager makes a move or leaves the company, the new manager cannot view the request, so the SysAdmin has to intervene.
Dayforce is great if you have a varied workforce that requires complicated configuration, like multi-state jurisdictions with different labor laws applicable to each location. Just be prepared to designate an individual at your company to become a configuration expert in case anything needs updating.

Dayforce is less great if you use only one aspect of the program. As a whole, when you buy the whole enchilada and do all your HCM through Dayforce, the integration makes the minor annoyances worth it. If you are only looking to replace HR data, only time tracking, or only payroll processing, this is probably not the system for you. I'd go all or nothing.
The configuration abilities of the program are superb. They have many built-in configurable policies that allow you to tailor your time tracking to state labor laws, union contracts, or whatever else you need. We recently had to add a feature to a subset of employees that pays time and a half for hours worked outside the set office hours for the location. They are constantly reviewing customer needs and adding to this functionality.

The tax engine is also very robust. It automatically calculates state/local taxes based on the address of the worksite and the employee's primary residence, with very little interaction from us.
Read Kristin Bockhahn's full review
Alison Howard CPA CGA BMus | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 02, 2019

Excellent product for NFPO's to prove to donors that funds are being used appropriately

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being used to manage the time of our employees and to pay them. We run a six-week summer program for children with special needs and Dayforce enables us to track staff attendance so that we can accurately pay our employees in a straightforward manner. Employees now get paid for when they start work - not for when they are supposed to start work. This has addressed the issue of staff arriving late or leaving early and being paid for that time. As a not-for-profit, we rely on public donations and this program allows us to do our part by being fiscally responsible with those donated dollars.
  • Sets up rules so that employees can punch in early but not be paid until their shift start time.
  • Automatically calculates holiday pay.
  • Streamlines the payroll process and has reduced time spent on payroll by 50%.
  • The program is complicated and it is not easy to create your own reports.
  • There are many rules around how to make a change and if they aren't done in exactly the right order the change won't be made.
  • The program is slow to implement changes - new employees or changes from terminated to re-hired.
We run a six-week program, and I think many of the issues I have come from that fact - I only use this program for 4 payroll runs per year, so I forget many of the rules and things that need to happen. If this were something used by a payroll professional on a regular basis the rules would become more automatic and probably the issues I face would not be faced by a full time, year-round user.
This allows us to automatically comply with BC Employment Standards by calculating holiday pay based on the hours worked. By paying employees based on the hours worked, the amount of time spent on manual calculations has been eliminated, and the accuracy of the payment has been significantly improved, thus increasing our compliance.
Read Alison Howard CPA CGA BMus's full review
STEVE LENSING | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Over-promised, Under-delivered User Experience

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our payroll and H.R. department as well as 675 associates located at 65 different sites throughout the Midwest. The business problem it addressed was primarily our (previously) manual H.R. enrollment.
So all of our store managers use it for time clock purposes, tracking time off, enrolling new associates, scheduling their workforce.
  • Automates enrollment both initial and annual open enrollment for our 675 associates.
  • Reporting is horrendous.
  • Doesn't handle a basic 401K plan as it should.
  • The lion's share of support staff do not understand it.
  • Oversold and underperformed.
Seems to be well suited in the enrollment side of things.

Terrible in reporting, Promised 200 easy to use reports. Maybe have 2 reports that work.

Does not allow the user much flexibility in making changes. Example: We made a simple change internally to our PTO policy and spent $15,000 in professional services having it implemented/modified. With our last system (Sage), it would have taken us 15 minutes to change and cost us nothing.

Does not handle a simple 401Plan well at all. We've dumbed it down.
Really, the only benefit that it has given us insofar as compliance is the FLSA computation. Don't sense/feel any other benefit insofar as compliance is concerned? Absolutely mutilated our 401K process with our outside administrator...it's been a real embarrassment to us. Previously our accuracy was literally 99.9%. Today, not the case.
Read STEVE LENSING's full review
Lynn Marie Caissie, CHRL | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Dayforce is a strong product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce to pay hourly and salaried employees (both overtime-eligible and non-overtime eligible) at our 7 locations across Canada. Benefits and retirement savings are also managed in Dayforce. We are able to make common documents available to our employees with this system. As an HRIS, Dayforce is a superior product. We executed a vanilla implementation of our paper-based system to the Performance Management module for the 2018 review cycle in January 2019. For the users, it was intuitive and user-friendly. For upper management, it provided transparency. We are currently preparing to launch the Compensation Management module; transferring our solid comp practices to the module is a breeze, and we are looking forward to further transparency with the reporting capabilities of Dayforce. Two additional Dayforce projects are upcoming for us in 2020: Recruitment and Onboarding. I find having a fully integrated system that synthesizes information to employees, managers, executives, and HR provides a springboard for us to move on other value-added activities.
  • The concentrated attention given by implementation specialists for individual modules is superior, and is very helpful in ensuring that the end result is a success.
  • The annual INSIGHTS conference is well organized and informative. I've found tips and tricks at those conferences that have been particularly helpful.
  • The AHA board is a great place to make suggestions for improvement and it gets particularly active when there is a new release.
  • The post-implementation support for pay, benefits, and HRIS, when our consultant left and we needed to get into the weeds, was poor.
  • It's a good thing that 7000 things were done right and only 100 were left outstanding - but those 100 things gave us whopping headaches.
  • When pay is changed retroactively Dayforce does not report hours in the correct week, which erroneously evaluates average earnings for EI purposes,
  • and causes our employees some heartache. Previous Ceridian pay systems did not have this problem.
If you are considering moving your payroll from your current system to Dayforce, make sure you have one or two dedicated employees to shepherd the process and who will stay with the company once implementation is complete. It's easier to hire someone to temporarily fill in for you than to replace the consultant who leaves once implementation is deemed complete—and implementation is never deemed complete until you have gone through one whole cycle (usually one year).
We are in compliance because we configure our system to be so—pay, taxes, retirement savings caps, benefits - what's taxable and what isn't, overtime, eligibility rules, scheduled meal breaks, and regulatory hours of work—to name a few.
Read Lynn Marie Caissie, CHRL's full review
Noriko Kusaka | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

Great Product and Excellent Support Team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Ceridian Dayforce for onboarding, scheduling, shift trading, time collection (biometric clock, online timesheet), payroll processing, and HR records such as workplace injuries and training records. It is used across the organization. We had no time & attendance system prior to implementing Ceridian Dayforce, so each business had developed unique procedures over many years. Dayforce streamlined the payroll procedure and eliminated a lot of manual administrative work as well as paper forms.
  • Ceridian Dayforce offers excellent teams of customer support consultants, as well as easy-to-use support portal.
  • Issues can be addressed either by phone call or by logging it into the portal.
  • R&D - continuous improvement of product.
  • Flexibility of the system.
  • Training and courses offered to users are useful.
  • Multiple work assignments are not available to select while using pay adjustment within timesheet.
  • Reports. Finding a required report template or creating a new report can be a challenge. Employee Change reports are not user-friendly.
  • Shift rotation that goes from one day to the next required work-around.
I find the system is very flexible so it can be configured to meet requirements of any organization, but I think it is suited to mid to large organizations with multiple locations, various pay rules, and policies/collective agreements.
We have hundreds of part-time employees and many of them have multiple positions with various pay rates. It was time-consuming to calculate their statutory holiday pay based on the ESA rules manually in the past, also part-timers with multiple positions could work too many hours per week. Dayforce automated the holiday pay calculation and made it so easy to review the number of days and hours worked by such employees.
Read Noriko Kusaka's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (374)
8.1
Employment history (405)
7.9
Job profiles and administration (396)
7.8
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (402)
7.7
Organizational charting (363)
6.9
Organization and location management (402)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (257)
7.4
Pay calculation (432)
8.6
Support for external payroll vendors (218)
7.7
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (1)
9.1
Benefit plan administration (342)
7.9
Direct deposit files (416)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (328)
7.9
Reimbursement management (212)
7.7
Approval workflow (368)
8.1
Balance details (380)
7.4
Annual carry-forward and encashment (307)
7.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (425)
8.6
Update personal information (434)
8.6
View company policy documentation (291)
7.8
Employee recognition (150)
7.3
View job history (358)
8.1
Tracking of all physical assets (68)
7.8
Report builder (436)
6.9
Pre-built reports (437)
7.3
Ability to combine HR data with external data (310)
6.3
New hire portal (258)
7.9
Manager tracking tools (234)
7.7
Corporate goal setting (138)
7.7
Individual goal setting (151)
8.0
Line-of sight-visibility (130)
7.9
Performance tracking (157)
7.9
Performance plans (166)
7.8
Performance improvement plans (143)
7.5
Review status tracking (169)
7.8
Review reminders (167)
7.8
Multiple review frequency (149)
7.8
Create succession plans/pools (59)
7.5
Candidate ranking (61)
7.4
Candidate search (64)
7.7
Candidate development (61)
7.1
Job Requisition Management (199)
7.8
Company Website Posting (194)
8.1
Publish to Social Media (161)
7.8
Job Search Site Posting (188)
7.9
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (157)
7.1
Applicant Tracking (195)
7.8
Notifications and Alerts (191)
7.6

About Ceridian Dayforce HCM

Dayforce is a global HCM software platform that transforms the employee experience. It unifies data from across the entire employee lifecycle to enable better decision-making at every level. Dayforce is a comprehensive cloud platform that combines HR, payroll, benefits, workforce management, and talent management in a single application. Our scalable HCM software is built with a single, flexible rules engine combined with real-time updates and calculations that help address complex regulatory requirements.

Dayforce offers:

  • Continuous pay calculation: This means that pay is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving administrators the time they need to produce high-quality pay.
  • One application: With data stored in a single, central location, get data-driven insights across all HR functions so users can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Actionable insights: Dayforce provides critical data-driven insights to help users make fast, informed decision.
  • Anytime, anywhere access: Access Dayforce using the device of choice on web or mobile.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Screenshots

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Videos (8)

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Downloadables

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Integrations

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Competitors

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English (US), English (GB), French, French Canadian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Italian, German, Polish, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, Hindi, Portuguese (Brazil), Croatian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian, Slovak, Japanese, Korean, Hungarian, Thai