TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/28/zA/GRRFZG7EG952.PNGDayforce from a Multi-state and International PerspectiveWe use Dayforce for timekeeping, sick/vacation entitlement tracking, HR records, payroll, labor law compliance, and document management. In our US and Canada operations, we use Dayforce exclusively for our payroll processing, and we're working toward adding the UK and Australia to the list of our countries that process payroll through Dayforce. We currently use timekeeping, entitlement tracking, and HR records for all employees company-wide. We love the single platform approach since it nearly eliminates the need for dual entry we have to do between our HR/Payroll departments.,Single platform for HR and Payroll. When one thing changes, it cascades through the whole system, keeping us on track and reducing the likelihood of data entry errors. Time Calculation flexibility. If there is something that can't be configured within the pay configuration, I've yet to discover it. Need your employees to get OT for hours after a certain time? Done. Need shift rates applied? Done. Need meal penalties assessed for shifts above a certain length (for you CA employers)? Done. I could go on and on- but the point is that the system can work for you, no matter your needs. Real-time payroll calculations. Need to check if a garnishment is going to be correctly applied to an employee's pay? Need to see what impact a commission payment will have on employee taxes? Need to check to see what your to-date payroll liability for the pay period is? Any of these and many more are at your fingertips in just a few minutes with the ability to recalculate the pay file at any time during the pay cycle. You no longer have to wonder what your payroll will look like when processing day comes along- you can see it all along.,Configurability. Dayforce is still getting up to speed on how to manage the configuration abilities of the product. You can do pretty much anything, but this provides an issue when trying to get support from them - no one is an expert on your system since literally, no two clients have the same configuration. Reporting. While constantly improving, the reporting feature is complicated to use for someone who needs specific information. You practically have to be a programmer (and some options require SQL knowledge to implement) in order to get the report you want. Also, the auto-formatting makes it tricky to manipulate the data after the report is run, if you are trying to use Excel or CSV to extract data points for complex analytics. Fortunately, you can turn this off - you just have to remember to update the settings before processing the request for the report. Workflows. We've run into issues with certain things, like time off requests, being stuck in limbo when management changes. If the request was originally submitted to one manager, and then that manager makes a move or leaves the company, the new manager cannot view the request, so the SysAdmin has to intervene.,8,Our value has been primarily a uniform end-user experience. It's not cheaper than other programs we've used. It's not all-around more user-friendly than other programs. However, it gives us the capability to provide a single set of instructions company-wide so that all employees and managers have the same experience, no matter where they are located. The secondary value we've seen is in the streamlining of our hiring/termination processes. Our business is very seasonal in nature, and we hire about 800 employees at the beginning of each summer season, only to have them separate from the company 6-12 weeks later. As you can imagine, the burden this places on HR and Payroll is staggering. Dayforce has allowed us to reduce the amount of time our staff spends directly interacting with the system to hire or terminate an employee.,The configuration abilities of the program are superb. They have many built-in configurable policies that allow you to tailor your time tracking to state labor laws, union contracts, or whatever else you need. We recently had to add a feature to a subset of employees that pays time and a half for hours worked outside the set office hours for the location. They are constantly reviewing customer needs and adding to this functionality. The tax engine is also very robust. It automatically calculates state/local taxes based on the address of the worksite and the employee's primary residence, with very little interaction from us.,We're still exploring all that Dayforce is offering to us in this regard.,Paylocity Web Pay, ADP SmartCompliance and Paychex FlexHow Dayforce WFM v6.44 has brought us into the 21st century!Dayforce WFM (one of the HCM modules) is being used across the whole organization. It is our primary workforce management (WFM) tool, encompassing time and attendance in all its aspects: hourly employees punch in using biometric clocks; salary non-exempt employees use the web-clock feature for recording their work time; all employees use the Time Away From Work (TAFW) feature to submit time off requests. It is also used by the HR/Payroll department for the processing of hours worked and paid time off. The Attendance Module has been especially helpful, as we have four different bargaining agreements, each with different rules and policies regarding attendance, absenteeism, and the various types of available premium pay. Not only have we been able to configure individual pay policies to reflect these requirements, but it has also enabled us to eliminate the use of old-fashioned paper calendars and spreadsheets for calculating available time off and the no-fault points system. It has increased the accuracy of our records as well as productivity of our HR representatives, leaving them with more time to better support their plant. We also went through a complete RFP process last year, and we will be moving the rest of our payroll/HR/benefits to the Dayforce platform in 2019. By far, it had the most functionality and best configurability for a reasonable price.,The Time Off Request system is fantastic! It has done away with all the old paper submission forms and employee calendars. It also streamlines the process. It is submitted, reviewed, approved all in the system and then automatically updates the employees' timesheets and attendance calendars. The Attendance Module has reduced the amount of additional manual record keeping such as spreadsheets, and also given the supervisors a tool to see the accumulation of points in real-time, versus waiting for a weekly or monthly report to be completed and distributed. We have six different payrolls, each with varying pay period end dates and pay frequencies. Dayforce is able to handle the variety without any issues. I attended the new Dayforce FIT session for WFM at this year's Insights conference. It has greatly increased my ability to make configuration changes to my product without having to open as many support tickets as in the past, which also translates into big savings. I attended a different Dayforce FIT session at Insights 2019 for Payroll. It was a great in-depth overview of how the payroll module works, and greatly enhanced our readiness for implementation of the payroll module later this year.,I would love it if Dayforce included an FMLA module. So much of the information needed for accurate tracking already exists right in the system. We are left with the decision to either continue our in-house manual process or to find a stand-alone software to assist us with the cumbersome administration. The TAFW module does not yet provide the ability to limit security access of non-exempt employees to be able to run reports for their own information. We are a union work environment, and as such have employees with multiple rates of pay for different jobs. Currently, premium pay such as "Team Lead" can only be calculated by the system when they work their primary job assignment. It does not automatically get picked up and included on the timesheet when the employee works an alternate job.,10,The overall record-keeping time has been reduced by 50%. And in locations that are now fully automated, using both the Attendance and TAFW modules for both hourly and salary employees, the overall record-keeping time has decreased by 66%. The ability to create the custom reports that are used every week, and save us countless hours of manual work.,Ceridian Dayforce has provided us the reporting tools necessary to audit and clean-up our database. In conjunction with Having the ability to further configure our pay policies in Dayforce, manual payroll entries have been reduced by 67% and off-cycle paychecks to correct payroll errors has been reduced by 50%. Additionally, it provided us the ability to fully automate payment of our separate vacation and alternate job rates, reducing the administration time by 100%. In return, this has greatly reduced the overall rate of grievances filed by union employees.,We currently only have the WFM module, so do not have the hands-on knowledge regarding the ease of use across all modules. We will be implementing Dayforce's full core-package later this year (2019).,ADP TotalSource, Kronos Workforce Central, AsureForce Time & Labor Management, Ascentis Payroll and Vista,EmpowerID,500,1,Attendance Module for tracking attendance and no-fault points system The ability to configure complicated pay policies and practices The real-time access to employee data for line management,We customized one of the rate fields to house the hourly employees' vacation rates (different from their base rate) The ability to develop and use customized rotation schedules, even if only applied to one employee,I am currently in the process of finding a way to use the application for FMLA tracking,9,Yes,Price Product Features Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor,I am not sure we would change anything. We made sure to approach the RFP process in a professional way - to ensure we weren't swayed by the many different "bells and whistles" that come with much of the vendor platforms out there. We asked to see the guts - each vendor had to prove their platform would be able to handle our very complex payroll. Knowing what we need and make sure a vendor could deliver on their promises seems the best way to go no matter what.,No,8,Yes,Generally, I save all tickets that were not able to be resolved in a separate folder. Once a year, I go through them and ask for updated feedback as to the platform's ability to handle that particular item. Many times, just over the course of one year, something that was not yet available a year ago can now be configured. They truly listen to their customers, and ask for their feedback and ideas concerning the platform.,Adding additional pay; ie. paid time off, retro pay, bonuses, etc. Once set up, Shift Rotations automatically populate the timesheets for all employees assigned to a Shift Rotation. Changes are very simple for the supervisor to make right in the application in Schedules. If company policy allows, shift trading is also an available feature which is easy for the employees to learn to use. The TAFW feature cuts the paper process requesting/approving/recording paid and unpaid time off into one easy step.,It takes some time to learn how to correctly configure the software on your own, but classes are available and have proven to be a very valuable resource. Well worth the time and effort. We still have a couple of items that the system is not able to handle (on Timesheets) - so we still have manual work-arounds for them. (i.e. when an employee works an alternate job on a paid holiday).,Yes,9,9,9,9,Ceridian develops and implements platform updates/new features twice a year. We have been using Dayforce WFM for 5 years, and will be moving our payroll and Core HR and Benefits to Dayforce in the next few months. It never ceases to amaze me at the progress Dayforce has made in just 5 years - how the ability to configure the software just how we need it (and to keep up with union bargaining agreement changes) continues to increase exponentially year after year. Inevitably, if I have something that can't yet be done and goes to R&D, it becomes a standard feature within 1-2 years.,10,10,Since we are already a Dayforce WFM customer, we don't need the standard WFM items that are included in the SOW. In exchange for the 'hours' that covers by the Ceridian implementation team, we were able to negotiate including a few projects that we had shelved last year due to billable cost. They will now be included as part of next year's implementation. Also, their standard for bringing over history for current customers was only 3 years - we were able to negotiate 7 years' worth of history that will be brought over from our legacy product.,I don't think there are any secrets. I found our account representative to be forthright with us during the entire evaluation/sales period. No hidden agendas. No hidden costs. My best advice is to know what you need, why you need it, and be willing to think outside the box.Great for Large BusinessWe are using Dayforce across the organization. We have implemented WFM, Payroll, Benefits, Reporting, Document Management and Dashboards. We have purchased Performance but have not started implementation with that module yet. We are retail and were previously using spreadsheets to write schedules with no comparison to the timeclock. The WFM module has completely changed the way our associates interact with their time.,WFM module has the potential to significantly decrease overtime if used properly by managers. Ability to see labor in real time. Accessibility to associate information across the organization has been greatly enhanced and allows for greater security.,Customer Support is lacking. Unless the issue is stopping payroll, your case may not get responded to for days or weeks. Also, customer support appears to be focused on a work around instead of finding the root of the problem. Very disappointing. Amount of time required of internal resources for implementation is exponentially more than the timeline provided by Dayforce. Implementation is a full time job for 2 people in the organization, one for payroll/benefits and the other for everything else. Sales team promises things that are not possible or require additional charges. Some implementation consultants are happy with "good enough". We want full functionality and felt like we needed to accept less than promised. We continued to push and received the end result we paid for but felt we should not need to push to get full functionality.,8,The time to process weekly payroll has decreased from a full week to 1 1/2 days. Greatly decreased overtime for managers that are using the Plan tools to manage labor. Completing onboarding forms prior to orientation has significantly decreased the time needed during orientation.,Automating compliance with labor laws, state taxes, OT policies, Wage and Hour laws, healthcare eligibility, etc has greatly improved with Ceridian Dayforce. There is no functionality to manage FMLA without internal tracking or paying a third party vendor. Adding this feature would be a huge win for our organization and Dayforce.Dayforce in ForceOur entire organization uses Dayforce self-service. We also utilize the manager capabilities in WFM. As an HR specialist, the majority of my day is spent in Dayforce, and it is heavily used by the rest of the HR department. Using Dayforce has allowed us to roll out many paperless processes including onboarding for new hires and manager functions that were previously completed via a paper workflow.,Dayforce has allowed our time management, payroll, and HR to be in one system. This is a great time saver and prevents us from having to configure other systems to 'talk to each other'. The workflows in Dayforce have allowed us to set up many paperless processes, saving time and reducing the risk of misplacing a paper transaction. Changes made in Dayforce are easily accessible, transactions can be found in just a few quick clicks. The setup of Benefits allows us to easily see who is eligible based on the qualifiers within the plans.,Dayforce has limited capabilities when it comes to customization. Our previous system, also a Ceridian product (HR/Payroll Web) was heavily customized to our organizations needs. Being able to customize based on our needs, such as repurposing a field, or removing a field from view, would be a great addition. Adding or removing columns in a report can be a very lengthy process. Once you click to remove a column, Dayforce has to process the request. If you are removing or adding many columns, this process can be somewhat time consuming.,8,Workflows have reduced our reliance on paper forms in benefits enrollments and position and compensation changes.,Having job, pay, and time management in one application reduces and helps to eliminate lengthy paper processes, gives HR, Payroll and Management access to all info at their fingertips which allows for quicker decision making, ensures accurate tracking through workflows and allows employee records to be updated in the blink of any eye.,From Life Support to Wellness: A transformation of our HCM heatlhDayforce is being used primarily as an HR and Payroll system across our organization. All employees use Dayforce to some extent. All new hires use Dayforce to enter information for Payroll purposes. The majority of employees also use it for Benefits selection, Timekeeping, and reporting life events. Managers use Dayforce to track time, leave, and performance. Department Administrators use Dayforce for reporting, budgeting, hiring/terminations, pay changes, and other employee related tasks. Administration uses Dayforce for some HR functions, all timekeeping, payroll, and benefits. Dayforce addresses the timekeeping problems we had as well as helps us to comply with appropriate Payroll directives and accurately pay our people. We are expanding into the HR realm with Benefits, Recruiting, and Performance Management. It is helping us address processes that have been very different across our departments in regards to the employee life span - from hiring to terminations. It is helping us streamline and pull our processes together in a comprehensive way.,One single platform was a game changer for us. The continuous calculation of pay changed the way our payroll and benefits office does business. The time it has saved in calculating and auditing changes is great. Dayforce looks at the entire employee experience from both an employee and employer's perspective and meets both expectations. Employees are getting what they need and stayed engaged through Dayforce. Managers, administrators, and executives can get the level of detail they want/need to help them make informed decisions Scalability. As our organization has grown from 800 employees when we first implemented Dayforce to over 1350 employees now, Dayforce has grown with us. And not only in the number of employees, but growth of our organizational structure. We've added locations, cost centers, and processes. Dayforce has kept up and allowed to to make these changes with relative ease.,The HTML roll out to replace Silverlight has been somewhat difficult for us. In a few areas, namely MyPay/Payroll and MyHR/People, we have had a more difficult time adapting and finding the same functionality we had before. More of a learning curve, but still "uncomfortable" nonetheless.,9,We have definitely reduced the amount of paper generated, especially with the implementation of Benefits module within Dayforce. Timekeeping is more manageable and accurate. Our homegrown, internal system couldn't keep up with our growth and technology. Having a web-based solution has been key. No, we have not been able to quantify the impact, but our staff is more engaged, able to process more. We have relieved some of the stress of an ever-growing workforce and empower our managers and department administrators to do their jobs better with more access to information.,Dayforce has helped us comply with locality taxation in a very compliant way. We know that calculations are going to be accurate and timely. It also allows us to configure our organization's policies and processes into HR functions and manage them with equity across all departments.,Using the single application of the Dayforce platform has allowed us to make budgeting decisions on every level. From the overarching organizational viewpoint to the department and cost center level, data is there to use within Dayforce,,Macola
Unspecified
Ceridian Dayforce
525 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Ceridian Dayforce HCM
525 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 525 vetted Ceridian Dayforce HCM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 221)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kristin Bockhahn profile photo
March 08, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce from a Multi-state and International Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce for timekeeping, sick/vacation entitlement tracking, HR records, payroll, labor law compliance, and document management. In our US and Canada operations, we use Dayforce exclusively for our payroll processing, and we're working toward adding the UK and Australia to the list of our countries that process payroll through Dayforce. We currently use timekeeping, entitlement tracking, and HR records for all employees company-wide. We love the single platform approach since it nearly eliminates the need for dual entry we have to do between our HR/Payroll departments.
  • Single platform for HR and Payroll. When one thing changes, it cascades through the whole system, keeping us on track and reducing the likelihood of data entry errors.
  • Time Calculation flexibility. If there is something that can't be configured within the pay configuration, I've yet to discover it. Need your employees to get OT for hours after a certain time? Done. Need shift rates applied? Done. Need meal penalties assessed for shifts above a certain length (for you CA employers)? Done. I could go on and on- but the point is that the system can work for you, no matter your needs.
  • Real-time payroll calculations. Need to check if a garnishment is going to be correctly applied to an employee's pay? Need to see what impact a commission payment will have on employee taxes? Need to check to see what your to-date payroll liability for the pay period is? Any of these and many more are at your fingertips in just a few minutes with the ability to recalculate the pay file at any time during the pay cycle. You no longer have to wonder what your payroll will look like when processing day comes along- you can see it all along.
  • Configurability. Dayforce is still getting up to speed on how to manage the configuration abilities of the product. You can do pretty much anything, but this provides an issue when trying to get support from them - no one is an expert on your system since literally, no two clients have the same configuration.
  • Reporting. While constantly improving, the reporting feature is complicated to use for someone who needs specific information. You practically have to be a programmer (and some options require SQL knowledge to implement) in order to get the report you want. Also, the auto-formatting makes it tricky to manipulate the data after the report is run, if you are trying to use Excel or CSV to extract data points for complex analytics. Fortunately, you can turn this off - you just have to remember to update the settings before processing the request for the report.
  • Workflows. We've run into issues with certain things, like time off requests, being stuck in limbo when management changes. If the request was originally submitted to one manager, and then that manager makes a move or leaves the company, the new manager cannot view the request, so the SysAdmin has to intervene.
Dayforce is great if you have a varied workforce that requires complicated configuration, like multi-state jurisdictions with different labor laws applicable to each location. Just be prepared to designate an individual at your company to become a configuration expert in case anything needs updating.

Dayforce is less great if you use only one aspect of the program. As a whole, when you buy the whole enchilada and do all your HCM through Dayforce, the integration makes the minor annoyances worth it. If you are only looking to replace HR data, only time tracking, or only payroll processing, this is probably not the system for you. I'd go all or nothing.
The configuration abilities of the program are superb. They have many built-in configurable policies that allow you to tailor your time tracking to state labor laws, union contracts, or whatever else you need. We recently had to add a feature to a subset of employees that pays time and a half for hours worked outside the set office hours for the location. They are constantly reviewing customer needs and adding to this functionality.

The tax engine is also very robust. It automatically calculates state/local taxes based on the address of the worksite and the employee's primary residence, with very little interaction from us.
Read Kristin Bockhahn's full review
Bethann DuBois profile photo
January 30, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "How Dayforce WFM v6.44 has brought us into the 21st century!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce WFM (one of the HCM modules) is being used across the whole organization. It is our primary workforce management (WFM) tool, encompassing time and attendance in all its aspects: hourly employees punch in using biometric clocks; salary non-exempt employees use the web-clock feature for recording their work time; all employees use the Time Away From Work (TAFW) feature to submit time off requests. It is also used by the HR/Payroll department for the processing of hours worked and paid time off. The Attendance Module has been especially helpful, as we have four different bargaining agreements, each with different rules and policies regarding attendance, absenteeism, and the various types of available premium pay. Not only have we been able to configure individual pay policies to reflect these requirements, but it has also enabled us to eliminate the use of old-fashioned paper calendars and spreadsheets for calculating available time off and the no-fault points system. It has increased the accuracy of our records as well as productivity of our HR representatives, leaving them with more time to better support their plant.

We also went through a complete RFP process last year, and we will be moving the rest of our payroll/HR/benefits to the Dayforce platform in 2019. By far, it had the most functionality and best configurability for a reasonable price.
  • The Time Off Request system is fantastic! It has done away with all the old paper submission forms and employee calendars. It also streamlines the process. It is submitted, reviewed, approved all in the system and then automatically updates the employees' timesheets and attendance calendars.
  • The Attendance Module has reduced the amount of additional manual record keeping such as spreadsheets, and also given the supervisors a tool to see the accumulation of points in real-time, versus waiting for a weekly or monthly report to be completed and distributed.
  • We have six different payrolls, each with varying pay period end dates and pay frequencies. Dayforce is able to handle the variety without any issues.
  • I attended the new Dayforce FIT session for WFM at this year's Insights conference. It has greatly increased my ability to make configuration changes to my product without having to open as many support tickets as in the past, which also translates into big savings.
  • I attended a different Dayforce FIT session at Insights 2019 for Payroll. It was a great in-depth overview of how the payroll module works, and greatly enhanced our readiness for implementation of the payroll module later this year.
  • I would love it if Dayforce included an FMLA module. So much of the information needed for accurate tracking already exists right in the system. We are left with the decision to either continue our in-house manual process or to find a stand-alone software to assist us with the cumbersome administration.
  • The TAFW module does not yet provide the ability to limit security access of non-exempt employees to be able to run reports for their own information.
  • We are a union work environment, and as such have employees with multiple rates of pay for different jobs. Currently, premium pay such as "Team Lead" can only be calculated by the system when they work their primary job assignment. It does not automatically get picked up and included on the timesheet when the employee works an alternate job.
I would not recommend Ceridian Dayforce to small business or to anyone that does not have a real payroll professional on their HR team. While not the most user-friendly application available, it is definitely the most powerful and the most well equipped to handle more complicated payroll situations such as unions, rotating shifts, etc. Prospective customers should know exactly what they need to get out of their payroll system (such as history and reporting), as well as knowing all the payroll policies and practices that are unique to their industry and/or company. For example, one of our unions has a requirement that if an employee comes in early and works before their scheduled shift they should be paid overtime. We have a separate policy that says anything over 8 hours in a work day should be overtime. In this example, the hours worked before the scheduled shift (and any accompanying premium pay or shift differential) is paid at overtime - and the scheduled shift (which is being worked after already working 8 hours) is paid at straight time. This happens a lot. If the system could not handle this calculation, we would not have gone with the Ceridian Dayforce product.

Ceridian Dayforce has provided us the reporting tools necessary to audit
and clean-up our database. In conjunction with
Having the ability to further
configure our pay policies in Dayforce, manual payroll entries have
been reduced by 67% and off-cycle paychecks to correct payroll errors has been reduced by 50%. Additionally, it provided us the ability to
fully automate payment of our separate vacation and
alternate job rates, reducing the
administration time by 100%. In return, this has greatly reduced the overall rate of grievances filed by union employees.



Read Bethann DuBois's full review
Becky Casanova profile photo
March 01, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Great for Large Business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dayforce across the organization. We have implemented WFM, Payroll, Benefits, Reporting, Document Management and Dashboards. We have purchased Performance but have not started implementation with that module yet. We are retail and were previously using spreadsheets to write schedules with no comparison to the timeclock. The WFM module has completely changed the way our associates interact with their time.
  • WFM module has the potential to significantly decrease overtime if used properly by managers.
  • Ability to see labor in real time.
  • Accessibility to associate information across the organization has been greatly enhanced and allows for greater security.
  • Customer Support is lacking. Unless the issue is stopping payroll, your case may not get responded to for days or weeks. Also, customer support appears to be focused on a work around instead of finding the root of the problem. Very disappointing.
  • Amount of time required of internal resources for implementation is exponentially more than the timeline provided by Dayforce. Implementation is a full time job for 2 people in the organization, one for payroll/benefits and the other for everything else. Sales team promises things that are not possible or require additional charges.
  • Some implementation consultants are happy with "good enough". We want full functionality and felt like we needed to accept less than promised. We continued to push and received the end result we paid for but felt we should not need to push to get full functionality.
Dayforce is more appropriate for large organizations. The amount of time needed for implementation is 4 to 5 times what is stated in the implementation plan. There are a large amount of canned reports which are great. If the need arises to create a custom report, the reporting module is not user-friendly. Uploading custom forms is complicated and requires someone who knows how to write XML code in order for it to work properly.
Automating compliance with labor laws, state taxes, OT policies, Wage and Hour laws, healthcare eligibility, etc has greatly improved with Ceridian Dayforce. There is no functionality to manage FMLA without internal tracking or paying a third party vendor. Adding this feature would be a huge win for our organization and Dayforce.
Read Becky Casanova's full review
Jessica Von Vleck profile photo
October 29, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce in Force"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Dayforce self-service. We also utilize the manager capabilities in WFM. As an HR specialist, the majority of my day is spent in Dayforce, and it is heavily used by the rest of the HR department.

Using Dayforce has allowed us to roll out many paperless processes including onboarding for new hires and manager functions that were previously completed via a paper workflow.
  • Dayforce has allowed our time management, payroll, and HR to be in one system. This is a great time saver and prevents us from having to configure other systems to 'talk to each other'.
  • The workflows in Dayforce have allowed us to set up many paperless processes, saving time and reducing the risk of misplacing a paper transaction. Changes made in Dayforce are easily accessible, transactions can be found in just a few quick clicks.
  • The setup of Benefits allows us to easily see who is eligible based on the qualifiers within the plans.
  • Dayforce has limited capabilities when it comes to customization. Our previous system, also a Ceridian product (HR/Payroll Web) was heavily customized to our organizations needs. Being able to customize based on our needs, such as repurposing a field, or removing a field from view, would be a great addition.
  • Adding or removing columns in a report can be a very lengthy process. Once you click to remove a column, Dayforce has to process the request. If you are removing or adding many columns, this process can be somewhat time consuming.
Dayforce appears to be a product that was designed for retail, however, we have made it work for our environment in a law firm setting. It works well for time management to my knowledge, but our recruiting, performance management, and billing through accounting is still outside of Dayforce in other systems.
Read Jessica Von Vleck's full review
Priscilla Midkiff profile photo
October 25, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "From Life Support to Wellness: A transformation of our HCM heatlh"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used primarily as an HR and Payroll system across our organization. All employees use Dayforce to some extent. All new hires use Dayforce to enter information for Payroll purposes. The majority of employees also use it for Benefits selection, Timekeeping, and reporting life events. Managers use Dayforce to track time, leave, and performance. Department Administrators use Dayforce for reporting, budgeting, hiring/terminations, pay changes, and other employee related tasks. Administration uses Dayforce for some HR functions, all timekeeping, payroll, and benefits.

Dayforce addresses the timekeeping problems we had as well as helps us to comply with appropriate Payroll directives and accurately pay our people. We are expanding into the HR realm with Benefits, Recruiting, and Performance Management. It is helping us address processes that have been very different across our departments in regards to the employee life span - from hiring to terminations. It is helping us streamline and pull our processes together in a comprehensive way.
  • One single platform was a game changer for us. The continuous calculation of pay changed the way our payroll and benefits office does business. The time it has saved in calculating and auditing changes is great.
  • Dayforce looks at the entire employee experience from both an employee and employer's perspective and meets both expectations. Employees are getting what they need and stayed engaged through Dayforce. Managers, administrators, and executives can get the level of detail they want/need to help them make informed decisions
  • Scalability. As our organization has grown from 800 employees when we first implemented Dayforce to over 1350 employees now, Dayforce has grown with us. And not only in the number of employees, but growth of our organizational structure. We've added locations, cost centers, and processes. Dayforce has kept up and allowed to to make these changes with relative ease.
  • The HTML roll out to replace Silverlight has been somewhat difficult for us. In a few areas, namely MyPay/Payroll and MyHR/People, we have had a more difficult time adapting and finding the same functionality we had before. More of a learning curve, but still "uncomfortable" nonetheless.
Dayforce is well suited to an employee-centric organization. One where the workforce is mobile, spread out, or at least on the go. Coming from a service organization perspective, 90% of your expenses are labor costs. Dayforce is a great service in these scenarios. On the other hand, if an company is small with a minimum number of employees, Ceridian may not be the best option.
Dayforce has helped us comply with locality taxation in a very compliant way. We know that calculations are going to be accurate and timely. It also allows us to configure our organization's policies and processes into HR functions and manage them with equity across all departments.
Read Priscilla Midkiff's full review
Stacy Lowery profile photo
October 25, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce HCM has helped streamline our HR and Payroll process"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce HCM for all of our HR and payroll needs. It has helped our company be more up to date with technology, become paperless and make it easier for our managers to manage their employees.
  • Dayforce is great at connecting the managers, Payroll and HR to the employees. The messaging function has saved all of us time and lets us talk to employees not on site so much easier.
  • The workflows and forms are a huge strength for Dayforce. Without them we would still have a ton of paper forms and have to sort through boxes of files to look back at old forms.
  • Having performance management, document management, payroll, timesheets, schedules, on-boarding and recruitment all in one system is awesome. It reduced all of our data entry and errors.
  • Implementation was rough. We felt like the team from Ceridian did not know the system that well and they didn't set up stuff correctly which caused issues later.
  • The new Payroll module in HTML is too slow and added hours of work onto payroll. Until that is fixed we will continue to use My Pay.
Having all of the schedules roll over to timesheets and the audit trail in timesheets has really helped us. We are now able to look back and see if managers are changing punches and if it was the employee who really did clock in late.
The fact that we can check workflows, audit trails and have everything in one system helps keep us in compliance. It makes it so much easier when the auditors are here and it helps HR and Payroll audit what the managers are doing.
Read Stacy Lowery's full review
Sherri Carras profile photo
October 25, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Powerful program with a lot of potential still waiting to be tapped."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the entire organization, from the field to corporate. We use it for timekeeping, payroll, benefits, human resources, general ledger, and taxes.
  • It offers a lot of solutions "out of the box". If your company has no specialized/customized needs this would be excellent.
  • For the most part, customer service is responsive, aside from the busiest times of the year.
  • Documentation is extensive on all parts of the system. The DIG (Dayforce Implementation Guide) in particular, is very helpful.
  • Training and sales seem to be out of sync with the actual system. Sales promises our leaders things that in real life are not possible, or require additional fees/services to implement. Training has featured things that are no longer available live in the system. Support sometimes is out of sync with updates as well.
  • Support is overwhelmed the entire year. This means slow response times, unless you mark everything as urgent. If a ticket is marked as high priority, unless it is escalated we may not get a response beyond "your ticket has been received" for two weeks or more. Ceridian needs to hire more support people.
  • Communication on changes that will be made by hot fixes is often done after the fact.
When you don't need to customize, I can see where Dayforce would be great for most businesses. Unfortunately, our company is very large, has several combined legacy systems, and therefore we require a lot of customization to make things match/work as needed. We also are simply not able to report on everything we see in the system, which we need to be able to do to ensure things like taxes and earning codes are set up as needed, and to satisfy our users and auditors. Dayforce is a powerful database, but because it is also large it can be hard to use. Some of our less computer-savvy field users simply get overwhelmed by the user interface.
We are able to assign rules for schedules and unions, which helps keep the field compliant.
Read Sherri Carras's full review
Julie Strauss, PHR, SHRM-CP profile photo
October 24, 2018

User Review: "TWO THUMBS UP for Ceridian Dayforce"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Ceridian Dayforce HCM company-wide. The system allows employees to be more self-sufficient and get their information at a moment's notice. They can get their earning statements, W-2, paid time off balances and much, much more. They can submit address changes, W-4 changes, direct deposit changes, request a leave of absence, marital status change...I can go on and on. Ceridian Dayforce HCM has especially helped HR and payroll better manage the data that hits their desk on a daily basis more efficiently and with less margin of error. The system is amazing.
  • Allows employees to submit personal changes either to address, direct deposit and/or a life event changes such marriage, the birth of a child.
  • The system also allows our employees to clock their time more efficiently using their mobile phone, computer or even a time clock that we have set up for them. This especially makes it easier for the manager to approve time as well.
  • Reviewing employee changes and payroll has been better as well with the reporting tool the system has in place. The standard reports and report templates make it easier to run custom reports as well. Fantastic tool.
  • I work in benefits and I can see how Ceridian can put a bit more focus on the benefit module. We don't have a typical plan year of January through December so the system takes a bit more specialized focus to set up the benefit plans.
  • The system could also work on how it calculates benefits with multiple payrolls. For example we have semi-monthly employees and bi-weekly employees and the system doesn't calculate the employee/employer costs of benefits properly between the two payrolls. It can only handle one type of payroll at a time so we have to manipulate the system to calculate the correct costs.
Ceridian Dayforce HCM is great for any size employer as long as the employer takes the time to truly test the system during implementation. We eliminated so much frustration by taking the time to test and retest the system to how we need it to work with our organization. We jumped in and implemented all the modules that were available to us at the time and we dedicated a team of 6 to 7 people throughout implementation to the project. This was time well spent for sure. I highly suggest doing that.

We are more efficient with the multi-state requirements that we have with several employees who travel to several states throughout the year. We are better equipped with all state requirements. We are also able to track hourly employees' time and get them paid in a more timely manner.
Read Julie Strauss, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Darin Kuhnke profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "So many applications in just one system!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used as our timekeeping, scheduling, and payroll application. Currently it is being used across all departments at the Hotel and Golf resort I work for. It truly helps by consolidating everything all into one program and gives us the tools, such as report writer, to be able to get accurate, and detailed information on our labor.
  • Continuous calculation for payroll, ensuring you, and the employee knows were they are at in the pay period, and can quickly identify discrepancies to be able to resolve them prior to payroll submission. This helps our admins not stress prior to payroll submission, and be able to deliver the most accurate paychecks for our employees keeping them happy.
  • Report writer! Get readouts of the information you need. Build your own report with the information you need. We use a variety of different reports to help us get the most accurate information from an HR, payroll, timekeeping perspective. We've found endless benefits to this function and use the information to push our company forward in the industry.
  • Excel to Dayforce. There are different ways to upload information straight into Dayforce, making it easy to get a new employee's information uploaded directly into Dayforce. This drastically cuts down on the labor time it took to get a new employee into the system helping our HR department get back to assisting our employees instead of being bogged down on data entry.
  • I think the scheduling component could use some work. Currently if someone has a different type of availability for work, you cannot simply look at the days they are available and visually see what they can work. You have to hover over the box to see what they can work. It would be benificial if there was a way for their availability to be visible A for AM, P for PM or O for open in each day.
  • Some of the upload functions could use some additional functions. We are currently trying to figure out how to upload our J1 visa employees, but have their social security tax blocked so we don't have to manually for all of their work assignments. It's very time consuming.
It is well suited for companies looking for a system that can do it all and work efficiently. Dayforce is continually going above and beyond provided new functions and the right support to make the most out of your day which makes all of us more effective. I think it may be a little overkill for a small company of 20 or less, but for our company of 1500-3000 (seasonally) it is fantastic.
Read Darin Kuhnke's full review
Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Robust System But Poor Customer Support"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Ceridian’s Dayforce HCM platform for workforce management, payroll, and time and attendance. We’re currently slated to implement the Performance Management, Recruiting, and Onboarding modules in the next two months. This will allow us to move to a paperless system and a single platform to house the majority of our HR data. All employees within 3 legal entities currently utilize the Dayforce system.
  • Dayforce is robust and has a lot of functionality, once you understand all its capabilities. This allows us to make more informed and data-driven decisions.
  • The user interface is relatively user-friendly and intuitive. Our employees find it easy to navigate, requiring less help on tactical HR needs and freeing up that time for more strategic needs.
  • All of the data is housed in a single platform, which makes analyzing the data in new and more informative ways easier.
  • The customer support is lacking. If needs are highly urgent, then the customer support will respond timely. Other needs that are reported aren’t responded to timely and you don’t have much support to get things addressed.
  • The implementation process of their system is so difficult and cumbersome. So much of the burden of implementation falls on the customer, rather than Ceridian as I expected, and the timeline is rushed, so we were forced to go live without feeling like things were truly ready to go. Having additional communication and better implementation support, along with more time to implement, would have saved us months of headaches down the road.
  • We are a mid-sized business, and Ceridian is focused on enterprise-level customers. While we’re thrilled with the functionality the system has, the support for companies our size is pretty minimal. We felt that we weren’t as important of a client.
Ceridian as a company and Dayforce as a system is focused primarily on large and enterprise-sized customers. The customer support and focus seems to be great if you fit that box, but not if you don’t, Ceridian doesn’t appear to care as much about your success on their platform. Those smaller companies might be better served to find another HCM provider.
Our organization requires compliance with EEO and OFCCP, and the included reports in Dayforce help us ensure we are compliant with these regulations. The automated tax withholding and reporting has also reduced possibility of human error and ensured that we are compliant with these as well. Rather than requiring these compliance needs to be done manually, they can be automated through Dayforce.
Read Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Amedeo Vidaic profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce and Cross-Functional Integration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used across all of our North American operations (and possibly internationally). We primarily use it for payroll, audit trails and electronically storing HR information. In Canada we also use it for time keeping and will begin shortly to use it for attendance.
  • As stated in the previous answer we utilize both the time and payroll features of Dayforce. This cross-function integration prevents us from having to import time data from another platform.
  • It also keeps all data on one platform so that it all flows between the different features and functionalities. For example, changing someone's time-sheet and then recalculating in payroll is intuitive and avoids going into another system to make the change and re-importing whole loads of time data.
  • The integration also maximizes attendance usage, as time data is tracked continuously under attendance and is adjusted with any time adjustments in real-time. This makes attendance and time flow between one another seamlessly and efficiently.
  • Dayforce's continuous calculation in general is a great capability of the system to make adjustments when they are necessary and see their effects immediately.
  • Payroll-complementing features such as report building, third-party remittance, organizational/job mapping for workers comp and year-end filing also work smoothly.
  • While I have been helped tremendously by Dayforce's customer support line, I think I would prefer if resolutions were made during that same call if business time allows for it for both sides of the transaction. While deferring resolutions through ticket logging is generally ideal, a call in might--generally speaking--call for resolution during that call, even if its not immediate. This would only apply to urgent issues of course and ticket logging through the support portal for less immediately urgent issues generally works just fine.
Great for cross functional integration and excels at payroll and features related directly to that aspect.
The ability to configure rules for just about any sort of automated or manual activity is a great tool to ensure collective bargaining agreements; provincial regulations and federal legislation (new or old) are complied to without the need for continuous manual modification. Rules are also intuitive to change and adjust for any changes or adjustments in any of these policies.
Read Amedeo Vidaic's full review
Jim Carr profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Business Analyst Review of Ceridian"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this as our primary payroll system. It is used in a large part of our organization and it is currently being implemented throughout all of our locations. This includes North America, Europe, Asia and the Middle East.
  • The reporting is flexible and easy to create with preformed topics to get the information you need
  • There is online help to follow which is informative when trying to learn how to use the application.
  • Problems can be added to online ticket system and tracked with the support staff responding quickly via a phone call for or email depending on the severity.
  • New reports at the end of the year are a normal occurrence when doing new implementations. There needs to be more flexibility to get these done in the time required. Development should be available all year.
  • The removal of Silverlight needs to be replaced quicker for a better browser experience.
If your business is in North America, Ceridian works well. Functionality works well when implemented in this location. When doing a global implementation, currency is very important piece of information and that is missing when reporting data.
Read Jim Carr's full review
Gail Nichols profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "It’s a new day with Dayforce!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce HCM was implemented company-wide in July 2018 to manage our core HR, payroll, time reporting, benefits, recruiting, onboarding, and performance/compensation/document management needs.
  • Single application
  • Comprehensive HR, benefits and payroll functionality
  • Strong mobile presence
  • Customer Support can be challenging at times. Ceridian is growing rapidly so we don’t always get the level of experience needed to resolve our issues as quickly as we would like.
  • They are migrating all functionality from Silverlight to HTML. Not everything has been migrated yet so it gets confusing when reporting. Thankfully, it’s a temporary situation.
  • Reporting has a steep learning curve when implementing as many modules as we did. That said, there are tons of canned reports available.
We eliminated nine systems and 22 interfaces by moving to Dayforce HCM. For us, having a single application to house all of our people data is invaluable. Plus, Dayforce HCM has a strong product roadmap so we are confident that we will always be at the forefront of technology. At this time we’re still learning Dayforce and suspect that will be the case for the coming year!
Read Gail Nichols's full review
April Atkins, CPP profile photo
October 23, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce Payroll is a '10'"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used throughout our entire organization, including our associates in the United Kingdom.
  • Dayforce offers HR, Recruiting, Benefits, Payroll, and Workforce Management in a single application. Our associates have mobile technology which enables them to see their schedules, review their timecards or check benefit information 24 hours a day.
  • Our associates have access to real time information 24 hours a day. They are able to see how much PTO time is available and request time away from work through mobile technology.
  • The new 'Timecards' needs improvement. It is difficult to access the timecard totals (previously 'View Pay' in My Timecards) without having to drag the side bar down. It is not efficient.
Dayforce is very intuitive and the training through MyPath made our transition very easy for our associates. The payroll module (sitll using MyPay due to system response in Payroll) is definitely a '10' in my book! I think WFM still needs improvements. Our supervisors and managers have found it not as easy to use or read as Kronos.
As an employer in 35+ states, we have benefited from the embedded compliance in the scheduling module.
Read April Atkins, CPP's full review
Jerry Atkins profile photo
October 23, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce is the best solution for our company!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Orvis utilizes Dayforce for HR, Benefits, Payroll, Time & Attendance, Scheduling and Recruiting. We employee 1750 employees in the United States and 215 employees in the United Kingdom. Dayforce is a cloud-based single application which eliminated the need for the multiple interfaces we used with our old systems. It has greatly approved our employee and manager self-service experience with the use of mobile technology and data readily available through its robust reporting capabilities.
  • Dayforce is easy to learn and easy to operate. It gives employees control of their data with anytime access, and helps us make sure our employee information is accurate and up to date.
  • With data stored in a single, central location, we get data-driven insights across all HR and Payroll functions so we can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Payroll is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving my payroll team the time they need to produce accurate and timely pay.
  • One specific area of improvement would be with WFM (Time and Attendance) where we could get a snapshot of weekly/biweekly timecard totals without having to scroll through the detailed "Pay" totals.
  • Because our company pays different hourly amounts to employees for holiday pay based on their FT/PT status, we would like to see the hours appear in the time card totals without having to go to the "Pay" tab to confirm.
  • System Security settings should include the ability to grant access to hourly and/or salaried employees. This would eliminate the need for unneeded configuration to prohibit some manager level employees from seeing salaried associates.
Dayforce is a single application with robust capabilities that empowers our workforce with access to their personal information including schedules, timesheets, pay statements, benefit elections, etc with most available through mobile technology.
Dayforce has enabled compliance for state tax withholding, reciprocity rules, state wage and hour rules, overtime policies, company PTO tracking, benefit enrollments, etc.
Read Jerry Atkins's full review
Lyndsay Degeyter, MBA profile photo
October 22, 2018

Review: "Ceridian Dayforce - Helping us to focus on what really matters!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is currently being used across our entire organization. It helps address efficacy and accuracy with regard to payroll and employee timesheet management. It also helps to keep us paperless, especially in the realm of HR.
  • Ceridian Dayforce has helped us tremendously in document and administrative task management. From new onboarding forms to recruiting to even payroll, Dayforce has enabled us to refocus our efforts, not on making sure paperwork is properly completed, compliant and filed, but to focus on empowering our work force to grow and develop.
  • Payroll, Ceridian Dayforce has helped us take payroll processing time from 3-4 days to 8 hours total, and with little to zero errors.
  • Workflows! We seem to be a company that operates on a one off basis. This causes us issues with the Dayforce workflows. We would like to see the ablility to change workflow parameters while the workflow is populated or an easier way to cover the approval areas we needs. This may just be a training issue on our end.
  • Again, the little one off issues we have in Payroll. For example, any time we go out side of the system to complete a task, like adding a new hire through the new hire workflow instead of the recruiting workflow, we see issues.
Ceridian Dayforce is great as a full HCM and payroll system and especially for large organizations. We are on the smaller side, around 100 employees. That means that we have a lot of one-off items and this sometimes causes us issues. The good news is that we are preparing ourselves for growth and with Ceridian Dayforce we are already one step ahead of the game.
Ceridian Dayforce has taken the pain of time away and time management in general and made it an easy behind the scene process. It accurately calculated overtime for our organization, even for our shift works who work nights and weekends. This has allowed us to take the time used to check and recheck this data and focus our efforts on developing our workforce.
Read Lyndsay Degeyter, MBA's full review
Nivea Fernandez profile photo
October 19, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce has given me work life balance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce through out the company. We use it for all of our HR, Benefits, Payroll, and Talent. We purchased all modules.
  • It's all one platform.
  • It's configurable to your company needs.
  • The system follows the employee from hire to termination. All HR functions are done in Dayforce. No need to use another system it's all in one.
  • The implementation is very time-consuming. The way the data needs to be given to Ceridian needs to be more user-friendly.
The payroll through Dayforce is going to save my company at least one day of processing. Where we came from we had to process 9 payrolls because we have 9 legal entities. Now with Dayforce, I run one payroll.
Dayforce keeps us compliant with our overtime rules because being in California overtime is very specific and complicated to calculate. The FLSA OT rule has many facets and Dayforce does a great job in these calculations.
Read Nivea Fernandez's full review
Mary Sheeley profile photo
October 19, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce Customer - 3 Years"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is our HCM system. We use it for HR, benefits, and payroll. Dayforce has allowed us to deploy self-service to our employees and managers. The employees love the self-service features. They can view their current and past pay statements, view their schedules using the mobile app, make changes to their deposit accounts, change tax withholding, and view company sent messages. Managers love the ease of scheduling and submitting position and pay changes through self service forms. We recently rolled out Performance and Compensation.
  • I especially like the Payroll module in Dayforce. For the first time in my 20+ year career I am able to combine multiple FEINs in a single pay group. This is a huge step forward, allowing us to consolidate our pay groups for more efficient processing. Overall, the payroll module is great. I love being able to add my own pay definitions, create my own deduction codes, and run off cycle payrolls without having to call support.
  • I have been a Ceridian Tax Service customer longer than I have been a Dayforce customer. CTS is the best in the business. The year end reports in Dayforce make it easy to identify exceptions that need to be corrected now, making year end easier. Also, the tax functionality in Dayforce makes local tax compliance relatively easy.
  • I really appreciate having the test environment. This is a huge help! We use the test environment to build out new functionality, test the new releases, and for training and troubleshooting.
  • There is no way to confirm that New Hire Reporting was done properly. In other systems I have used I could refer to reports to verify the NHR was compete and accurate. Dayforce has no such reports. Also, I've been contacted a couple of times from states where the NHR was not complete. The state compared the SUI quarterly filing to NHR and fined me for omissions that they claimed had not been reported by Dayforce/Ceridian.
  • As much as I like the payroll module, it needs to move faster. We have a LOT of extra incentive payments that are calculated outside DF. This means we have to import into Quick Entry in Payroll. It can take up to 17 minutes sometimes to recalc payroll. That really slows us down at the end of our processing because we are reconciling and balancing every hour and dollar. If Dayforce would just MOVE and load faster and calculate faster we could reduce the time spent on payroll processing. Also, a common complaint overall is getting kicked out of the system, often multiple times a day, or even within the hour.
  • The salary proration for mid pay period new hires and terms and rate changes is based on a Monday through Friday workweek. That is not accurate in our case. I'd like to be able to have it prorate over 7 days in a work week or choose a different work week.
Dayforce is great for companies who want to build employee engagement and change the way they move employee data. If you don't like change, and want things to stay the way they are, Dayforce may not be for you. Be prepared to invest in training for the system admins and the end users.
We have pay policies built to help us with CA overtime and meal break compliance. This is a big plus for us! Also we love the embedded payroll tax calculations. As a Pennsylvania employer, this was a huge time saver!
Read Mary Sheeley's full review
Julie Belley profile photo
October 18, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "The Cadillac of all HRIS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used by everyone within the organization. However, the principal client administrators are in HR and Payroll. The university has an HR team of two, so it is essential that they be able to complete their tasks quickly and efficiently to support 500 employees. However, the paper-based manual system they were using wasn’t conducive to meeting this goal.

Despite its relatively small workforce, the university deals with three bargaining units, as well as non-union employees. The inherent complexities of this environment, combined with legacy systems and procedures in a growing institution, continued to challenge the payroll function and staff. In addition, USB was struggling to secure an HCM system that provided excellent customer service, ideally in French.
  • The university is using a number of modules, including Payroll, Time and Attendance, Workforce Management, and Recruiting, Onboarding and employees are actively engaging with the mobile application. All of these modules are user friendly and very effective.
  • One of the strengths of Ceridian Dayforce for us is that it is the only HRIS that is bilingual.
  • On top of that, customer service is their biggest strength. The testing environment helps clients to get familiar with all the changes within the system (technology evolves rapidly therefore it is key to stay up to date and they do this very well). If you need help, at any time, someone will genuinely help you.
  • Our biggest headache is employees that have more than one assignment. We have many within our workforce (i.e. a salaried employee who also has an hourly job within USB).
  • Customized reporting is difficult to use. However, there are hundreds of reports already set up for clients and as mentioned previously, support is always there.
If you are looking to empower your employees to track their vacation and sick days, Dayforce is the best system for that! It has significantly reduced the number of inquiries to the HR and payroll teams, and managers appreciate being able to field requests remotely, via the mobile app. Dispensing with paper-based time sheets has saved money, reduced the impact on the environment and freed up a significant amount of time for all concerned. The biweekly alert reminding employees to input or approve hours has eliminated the need for labour-intensive follow-ups.
Read Julie Belley's full review
jennifer soccio profile photo
October 16, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce HCM Advocate"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses the Dayforce system for the day-to-day payroll and HRIS duties. It aides us in management of our greatest expense, employee compensation and benefits. With this program we can have a singular view or an enterprise view of any aspect within the system. From onboarding to offboarding, we have connected the system as our system of record, time management and compensation for the employees. It is the operations resource for daily management of the employees.
  • Many of our employees are shared between locations, and several with multiple jobs as well. The one system record prevents us from having confusion on employee data, benefits or compensation. The one system record aides in compliance with labor law.
  • The self-service function for the individual employees provides an opportunity for change, viewing or printing of their data without having to make an appointment with Human Resources. The self-service function cuts down on the HR department having to reprint check stubs or write income validations for employees. The employee can print it for themselves or view it on their data phone at their leisure.
  • Our regional managers can report findings that are company specific, based on the information we built during implementation. Our ability to customize fields and flow of employee data allows us to manage it the way we work/run the company.
  • The customer support portal is the most problematic area. There have been great improvements from the beginning to now, but with customer support - there is always room for improvement.
  • The system is costly, but it is a very robust system that is worth the cost if you work the entire system correctly.
It seems to me that Dayforce HCM is geared more to a larger company or a company with multiple sites. For a small company, this system may be too robust for their use.
Being in healthcare, compliance sets many rules and expectations for us. Adding in Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) reporting this year added another layer of compliance requirement. ACA, PBJ, DOL, Wage and Hour...there are so many agencies that rely on our accurate reporting capabilities, and our liability relies on it as well. The employees don't question the reliability of the software as it pertains to their payroll check. We have undergone several DOL routine audits and because of the good record-keeping and ability to export the data from the system - we have had minimal problems. We are required to report up several buildings payroll specific numbers for the DOL random auditing program. The system has been easy to configure data that aides in submitting these reports timely.
Read jennifer soccio's full review
Deann Sowels, SPHR, SHRM-SCP profile photo
October 16, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Dayforce is the one truly integrated, real-time system for all your needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is used as our main HRIS throughout the whole organization. We use payroll, recruiting, timesheets, benefits, performance management and are in the process of setting up onboarding. The total integrations of Dayforce has created efficiencies for the Human Resources department as well as the bank as a whole.
  • Dayforce is in real time, which is a huge benefit with payroll and benefits processing.
  • The integration of all modules allows you to avoid repetitive data entry and and cuts down on the chances of errors.
  • Ceridian stays on top of all the latest needs and is continually upgrading the system. It is very user friendly and is geared towards the generations that are entering today's workforce.
  • Recruiting should be set up to allow edits when job descriptions, qualifications, etc. change. You currently have to build a new template and keep the outdated ones as well.
  • I would like to see the ability to upload our current forms in the system. You have to be an XML expert to accomplish this now. There should be an easier option. This would add a huge efficiency to our organization.
  • I would like to see a feature where our managers could make approvals through an email without logging into Dayforce. Many top level managers do not like taking this extra step and therefore are not a fan of the system. Making their life easier would increase top level buy-in.
Dayforce is well suited for those that are looking for a totally integrated system that works in real time. It would be fantastic for those in retail or manufacturing as well. It has many features that we do not utilize that those in different environments could utilize well.
Ceridian Dayforce has allowed us to better monitor overtime across the company and report those that are not in compliance. We are also going to be able to add all our compliance-related annual forms in the near future, creating a better flow and tracking than the current process.
Read Deann Sowels, SPHR, SHRM-SCP's full review
Emily Ozmon profile photo
January 28, 2019

User Review: "Ceridian Dayforce Rocks!!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian as our only HR/Payroll Software. All employees and supervisors use Dayforce for Scheduling, Time and Attendance and Recruiting and Onboarding. We love the single software platform and are looking forward to expanding our features.
  • Excellent Support Team
  • User-Friendly Platforms
  • Fabulous Implementation Teams
  • Some features still rely on Silverlight
  • Reporting could be expanded
  • Need all features/fields to be able to be customized for company needs
Ceridian is fabulous at the Payroll/WFM and HR level. Recruiting and Onboarding being a newer feature of theirs is still working out the kinks. But their support is great and I never have issues getting any help needed. The ease of use in payroll took processing for 2800 employees from a whole week to just 2.5 days.
All enrollments are electronic from Benefit to tax filings. It allows up to stay in compliance without keeping track of paper. The electronic scheduling allows for better tracking of schedules to budgets and where the Overtime is happening in live time. The auditing feature in Timesheets allows us to follow where changes are being made and managers can see payroll information in up to the minute calculations.
Read Emily Ozmon's full review
Sarah Barnes, CPM profile photo
January 16, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Fully integrated business solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being used by all employees across the organization in the US and Canada. We have hourly and salary employees who use Dayforce on a daily basis. We were having a lot of issues with accurate timekeeping system for our hourly employees, and time-off tracking for salary employees. Dayforce is a single system that covers all the needs of the business. From time tracking, recruiting, HCM, payroll, reporting and much more.
  • The system calculates timecards extremely well. In Canada, we have some complex rules with regards to statutory holidays, and Dayforce has been the only software I've used that has been able to average out a holiday day.
  • When calculating payroll I find that Ceridian Dayforce moves really quickly. The flow of information from the timesheets to payroll is seamless. There is no need to wait for timesheets to be approved or committed. The information is available with payroll for early review right away.
  • The support portal for its customers is very efficient and effective. I find that I will get a response right away whenever I have a question. A lot of my issues are resolved within 24 hours. I can get a hold of someone anytime, even on the weekend.
  • I wish there was a site where clients could talk to each other about best practices. I know there is the XOXO match; however, I often see people asking questions on there that I would also like the answer to. It would be nice to have a forum where we could ask each other questions without having to reach out to support.
Dayforce is well suited for multi-national organizations of any size with both hourly and salary employees. The system is easily navigated and very user-friendly. The value you are receiving for the amount of money that you spend is worth it. I have used other programs that are more cost-effective, and they don't even compare to Ceridian Dayforce.
We used to have to manually calculate stat holidays for part-time employees. Ceridian Dayforce calculates it for us manually and gives everyone a proper average amount that is in compliance with BC Employment Standards
Read Sarah Barnes, CPM's full review
Jennifer Duarte profile photo
December 10, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce - be careful what you wish for!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dayforce across the entire organization: payroll, benefits, timekeeping, onboarding, performance management, employee/manager self-service, regulatory reporting, taxes, reports, scheduling, and HRIS. Inefficiency and indirect cost savings with improved productivity.
  • Module design and functional capacity.
  • User interface.
  • Product/service education and training.
  • Ceridian Dayforce support is horrible! Support is NOT offered in a "pod" environment with personnel being cross-trained on any/all modules. Support lacks in-depth product/service knowledge and technical expertise. Any single change/update ALWAYS has an unforeseen impact elsewhere in the system. The system may be integrated; however, support provided does not adequately or satisfactorily address system administration issues.
  • Double or triple the amount of time and resources recommended for implementation.
  • 12 months after implementation, we cannot depend on the system to function consistently as expected, which negatively impacts our confidence as to the accuracy of information, along with our inability to further explore/implement customized functionality suitable to our advantage.
  • Time differences and language barriers exacerbate support issues.
  • Do not anticipate or expect timely resolution to open support cases and be prepared to provide system training to support personnel in order to make progress.
Dayforce is not well-suited for companies without adequate, dedicated administrative resources, although conceptually, one would think otherwise.
Dayforce contributes to improved DOL and other regulatory compliance requirements.
Read Jennifer Duarte's full review
Julia Oca profile photo
November 01, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Experience at a glance"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being used across our organization from our sales associates to our CEO. It has been most beneficial in interweaving our company cultures from corporate to the field. It has also made business decisions much quicker to make by having so much data at our fingertips.
  • Data Privacy
  • Candor
  • Customer Support
  • Customer Support Analysts for more advanced users that have already tried the basic tasks to try and resolve a problem so we don't have to go back and forth several times before we actually discuss the issues.
  • Would love a 'can i help you' feature within the program or support portal for questions on the fly.
I think this is a great product for a retail company.
Ceridian always keeps us posted about compliance within our system and any actions we need to take as an organization as far as inadvanced as possible. It's a life saver.
Read Julia Oca's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (170)
8.3
Employment history (181)
7.9
Job profiles and administration (178)
7.9
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (188)
7.7
Organizational charting (171)
6.8
Organization and location management (183)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (122)
7.3
Pay calculation (201)
8.7
Support for external payroll vendors (105)
7.7
Benefit plan administration (162)
7.9
Direct deposit files (190)
8.8
Salary revision and increment management (146)
8.0
Reimbursement management (102)
8.0
Approval workflow (171)
8.4
Balance details (180)
7.9
Annual carry-forward and encashment (143)
8.0
View and generate pay and benefit information (199)
8.7
Update personal information (196)
8.6
View company policy documentation (125)
8.1
Employee recognition (79)
7.5
View job history (162)
7.9
Tracking of all physical assets (27)
7.7
Report builder (206)
6.9
Pre-built reports (206)
7.1
Ability to combine HR data with external data (146)
6.6
New hire portal (120)
8.1
Manager tracking tools (110)
7.9
Corporate goal setting (63)
7.6
Individual goal setting (68)
7.7
Line-of sight-visibility (60)
7.4
Performance tracking (68)
7.6
Performance plans (71)
7.5
Performance improvement plans (59)
7.4
Review status tracking (71)
7.4
Review reminders (70)
7.3
Multiple review frequency (62)
7.1
Create succession plans/pools (17)
8.0
Candidate ranking (18)
8.1
Candidate search (17)
8.3
Candidate development (18)
7.0
Job Requisition Management (91)
8.0
Company Website Posting (90)
7.8
Publish to Social Media (78)
7.8
Job Search Site Posting (87)
7.6
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (74)
7.3
Applicant Tracking (91)
7.8
Notifications and Alerts (91)
7.5

About Ceridian Dayforce HCM

Dayforce is a global human capital management (HCM) platform that aims to transform the employee experience. It unifies data from across the entire employee lifecycle to enable better decision-making at every level. Dayforce is a comprehensive cloud platform that combines HR, payroll, benefits, workforce management, and talent management in a single application. The vendor promises a scalable platform that is built with a single, flexible rules engine combined with real-time updates and calculations that help address complex regulatory requirements.

Dayforce offers:

  • Continuous pay calculation: This means that pay is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving administrators the time they need to produce high-quality pay.
  • One application: With data stored in a single, central location, get data-driven insights across all HR functions so you can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Actionable insights: Dayforce provides critical data-driven insights to help you make fast, informed decision.
  • Anytime, anywhere access: Access Dayforce using the device of your choice on web or mobile.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Screenshots

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Videos (4)

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Downloadables

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Integrations

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Competitors

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English (US), English (GB), French, French Canadian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Italian, German, Polish, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, Hindi, Portuguese (Brazil), Croatian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian, Slovak, Japanese, Korean, Hungarian, Thai