Ceridian Dayforce HCM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
896 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 468)

Christine Kelichner, SPHR-CA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Accuracy, Efficiency, and Engagement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce has been fully implemented at all levels of our organization. It provides a seamlessly integrated HR system for all facets of our employee's work life. With Dayforce, our workforce is engaged and rusts the accuracy of their payroll, benefits, and HR record. Our managers are able to efficiently manage their workforce and have data at their fingertips necessary to make business decisions.
  • Fully Integrated HRIS solution
  • Accurate payroll delivery
  • HTML migration
  • Improved integration with retirement plan
Of course, the larger the organization, the more Dayforce makes sense. But even with our 350 employees, it is the right solution. I don't see this being a good solution for a smaller organization of less than 100.
We have locations in multiple states with state-specific requirements for wages and hours. Compliance with these requirements is a priority as the penalties and costs can be in the millions of dollars. With Dayforce, we are able to set the state-specific requirements to ensure our employees are paid correctly every day.
Read Christine Kelichner, SPHR-CA's full review
Garrett Cox, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Ceridian YAY-force!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for many functions of our company. We use the following modules/solutions
Workforce Management, Recruiting, Learning Management System, Payroll, Time and Attendance, Human Resources and Benefits. These modules all work cohesivley together which makes the the job of administering these functions much easier and more efficient. Also, the Ceridian support team is great and provides great service when we encounter an issue.
  • Staying on top of HRIS tech trends
  • Great support team
  • The easy flow of data between modules
  • Provide more training opportunities for end-users
  • Make configuring workflows/forms easier for new admins
  • Transitioning from Silverlight to HTML has been hard to adjust - more support needed
Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for any company, regadless of size or industry. Ceridian Dayforce provides the Admins with flexibility to configure the system to meet the company's business needs. I can't think of a situation where Dayforce wouldn't be an solution for a company looking for a HRIS.
You are able to configure Ceridian Dayforce to include any compliance or policy changes. There are workflows you can edit and also pay policies you can adjust. Dayforce allows us to continue staying compliant with different changes and makes it easy to react. We are able to set up different policies and double check our work in a test environment to make sure everything works.
Read Garrett Cox, SHRM-CP's full review
Dana Lyons | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Dayforce pulls all the HR functions together in one place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started implementation in February, 2019 and first used Payroll and Benefits in July and will also be using Recruiting, Onboarding, Performance, Compensation, Dashboards and learning Management. We had a patchwork of systems we were using for all those things and this will combine most everything for us making us all more efficient.
  • Benefits and Payroll Integration - changes happen in real time.
  • Workflows - still working on creating some but we created some so that when employees make changes, we are notified and that's great so nothing goes unnoticed.
  • Site is easy for employees to navigate and has a 'clean' presentation.
  • Recruiting - seems like it could use some enhancements based on feedback from our recruiters. It doesn't have the same functionality as our stand alone system did but hopefully there are some updates coming to fix some gaps.
  • Compensation - seems a little clunky but could be just because we haven't used for a cycle yet.
  • Implementation - seems like some time spent up front understanding our organization set-up and needs could have saved some time and angst in the long run.
We are still in implementation but we have the idea and vision that Dayforce will work well for us overall. We know that any system is going to have some limitations and may require some adjustments to current processes on our part but we are happy with the aesthetics of the software and our employees are finding it easy to use as well. I have a family member also in HR and she has used Dayforce at a prior employer and had a very positive experience with the software as well.
We are pleased with benefits and healthcare reporting in regards to ACA and tracking eligibility for part-time employees. Compliance with State Tax withholding will help prevent mishaps from occurring.
Read Dana Lyons's full review
Kerstin Falvey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Dayforce - Changing the Way We Work.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce has changed the way we do work. We were 100% manual for all things recruitment, benefits, time off requests, performance reviews, compensation increases, attendance points and perfect attendance prior to the system. Even paychecks and statements were paper! 2 years after our implementation, NONE of this is paper based anymore. For the first time ever, we have employee self-service, which gives power and information to our teammates!
  • It is truly one system for all things HR. Every piece connects.
  • Dayforce is customizable and really understands that no two companies do things the same way.
  • Ceridian presents a lot of different opportunities for users and customers to connect, share best practices, and lean on each other vs. always being required to go through support or pay additional fees for help.
  • Support - I would really like to see true "support consultants" when getting help on a ticket. We get lucky sometimes and get a fantastic support rep, but often it seems that they don't really care about providing true help, just want the ticket closed.
  • User groups for all regions.
  • More user friendly training for manager levels vs. just for "super users".
Dayforce has been great for our company, where we went from nothing (just a payroll system) to a full blown HCM. It is user-friendly and relatively easy to understand for all levels of our organization...from forklift drivers to our CEO.

I would like to see Dayforce work on their performance and recruiting modules. Ceridian's model is based on continuous feedback, so the system currently is designed around that...which means no such thing as a PIP, and very basic ATS functionality.
Leave Approvals, COBRA file feeds, attendance points, labor union rules, California (and other state-specific) laws...so many!
Read Kerstin Falvey's full review
MariBeth Theusch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

GNC Ceridian Dayforce Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dayforce for Timekeeping, HR, Payroll, Benefits, Recruiting, Onboarding and we're about to implement the Compensation Module. We implemented Dayforce so that we had a complete HCM solution. We also wanted to eliminate paperwork and tedious tasks for our managers and HR Administrators. We also wanted to create a better experience for employees, potential employees and onboarding employees.
  • TAFW requests work very well. It has done away with paper and saved time for both the employee and manager when requesting time off.
  • Open Enrollment works very well. Last year was our first OE and our employees loved it! Doing away with the paperwork was a big timesaver.
  • Payroll processing is extremely efficient. The PR Admins love the preview features that help them ensure that payroll is correct each and every time.
  • We are still unable to use Attendance Management after being live on Dayforce for over a year. We have been told that one of our attendance policies can't be done in the system even though we were promised it could be done at the time we were choosing Dayforce. For our other policies, they are not working properly and no one we've worked with at Ceridian seems to understand Attendance. Our policies are very simple so this has been extremely disappointing.
  • Dayforce Support is a crapshoot. When submitting a ticket you can never be sure if you will receive a Support Rep who is knowledgeable and committed to resolving your issue or a Rep who is just trying to get that ticket closed and out of their queue. We receive inconsistent and incorrect responses fairly frequently. I've had to rely on a User Group for more accurate solutions.
  • Although we like the Recruiting feature, we would like to see more flexibility in that module. More tokens for the Offer Letter, more flexibility in the application questionnaire, etc.
  • Reporting is not intuitive and it seems to be becoming less so as new releases come out. It seems Ceridian is moving towards wanting clients to have Professional Services create all of their reports.
  • We would like to see better audits between WFM and Payroll. It is still too easy to miss hours in WFM that aren't picked up in Payroll.
  • Ceridian Tax Service has been extremely slow in handling questions. The Source Tax Online tool is clunky and difficult to extract information if you have a tax issue.
I don't think we are seeing any real compliance difference from ADP. We did appreciate the ease of PPACA and the Component-1 reporting.
Read MariBeth Theusch's full review
Don Stewart | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Use the Dayforce, Luke

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is currently using Dayforce for our payroll, HR, workforce management, labor tracking, recruiting, benefits administration, and performance management. It has been a great experience. We are in the process of expanding it to eight other business units within the umbrella of our parent company. At Morgan, we plan to begin using Dayforce for compensation, onboarding, learning, and succession planning in the coming weeks and months.
  • Ease of use
  • Ability to automate processes and reduce paper use
  • Improved employee experience
  • Customer support when issues arise
  • Reports are tricky for new users
  • Some features still rely on Silverlight for functionality
  • Mobile functionality still being developed and improved
Ceridian Dayforce is perfect for a growing or maturing company that is looking to automate processes rather than relying on manual work, Excel sheets, and paper forms. It can help take your employee experience to the next level. If you are already heavily invested in a robust HRIS and Payroll system, switching to Dayforce couldn’t hurt, but the impact wouldn’t be as dramatic in many cases.
Dayforce has saved us money through compliance by automating compliance with local, state, and federal tax regulations; with overtime, scheduling, and PTO policies; with healthcare eligibility and healthcare laws. Dayforce does a lot of this work for you. In other cases, such as state by state PTO regulations, it is easily customizable. Ceridian constantly and consistently updates the platform as laws and regulations change. The company also makes every effort to keep its customers informed of compliance changes.
Read Don Stewart's full review
Jennifer Monson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Wonderful integrated HCM Solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HR, Payroll, Benefits, Biometric clocks and timekeeping. Dayforce allows us to comply with all CA wage and hour requirements - ensuring employees take at least a 10-minute break and a 30- minute lunch, and pay the meal penalty if they take their lunch late or skip it. The system verified that a second meal is taken if work is greater than 10 hours. The added benefit of employees attesting that they received all of their meals and rest breaks each day is a wonderful tool.
  • Self service benefit enrollment
  • EEO-1 reporting
  • ACA reporting
  • Carrier feed integration
  • We would like EES to be able to waive or attest their meals and breaks on the mobile app, not just on the time clock.
  • I think the dashboards are difficult to drill into and modify.
  • Effective dates in the benefit module seem to have occasional glitches.
CA wage and hour laws can all be monitored. Payroll runs smoothly. We have almost 20 pay policies to meet the need of our employee pay groups. Reports are easily run, created, and modified Paid time off accruals work well. Workflows are pretty easy to configure and work well. Overall, I believe this is the most robust and flexible HCM product in the market today.

CA wage and hour compliance is achieved through programming pay policies in the system. The EEO-1 with pay report collects required data and allowed us to upload it easily before the deadline. The ACA module is very easy to navigate and it collects all of the data, so we are just verifying it before transmission. The ability to have multiple pay policies allows us to pay OT according to each state we operate in.
Read Jennifer Monson's full review
Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

An engineer with a passion for HR technology

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is primarily used for payroll, benefits administration and workforce management. It has been useful in getting information from employees working at different sites in less time. We have been able to reduce the use of paper by using Dayforce. It has also helped us conduct audits and synthesize our processes across departments. Employees are happy as they have better connections with HR.
  • Report writing and ability to generate reports.
  • Ability to use additional employee properties to create additional fields.
  • Timekeeping
  • Payroll earning and deduction reports are very useful
  • During position change, the schedules have to be adjusted manually.
  • During system upgrades, the workflows break and need to be tested again.
  • Silverlight issues while using Dayforce with Macbook and Apple products.
Dayforce's report writing tool is very helpful in obtaining organization data. The ability to link different fields and create custom topics is very helpful while analyzing interdepartmental properties. We are able to generate reports on employee roles, forms, location, position, ethnicity etc. This has helped us create HR metrics for headcount, termination, retention to create HR strategy.
Ceridian has helped manage COBRA, PPACA, tax reporting, EEO compliance, I-9 processes. We are able to run reports and use the group, sort buttons to extract data as required. Earlier it was a nightmare to review thousands of paper documents and turn that information into numbers that make sense. With Dayforce inconsistencies can be corrected with the click of a button.
Read Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR®'s full review
April Atkins, CPP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Dayforce Payroll is a '10'

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used throughout our entire organization, including our associates in the United Kingdom.
  • Dayforce offers HR, Recruiting, Benefits, Payroll, and Workforce Management in a single application. Our associates have mobile technology which enables them to see their schedules, review their timecards or check benefit information 24 hours a day.
  • Our associates have access to real time information 24 hours a day. They are able to see how much PTO time is available and request time away from work through mobile technology.
  • The new 'Timecards' needs improvement. It is difficult to access the timecard totals (previously 'View Pay' in My Timecards) without having to drag the side bar down. It is not efficient.
  • The HTML screens are slow and inefficient. We are still using Silverlight when possible.
Dayforce is very intuitive and the training through MyPath made our transition very easy for our associates. The payroll module (sitll using MyPay due to system response in Payroll) is definitely a '10' in my book! I think WFM still needs improvements. Our supervisors and managers have found it not as easy to use or read as Kronos.
As an employer in 35+ states, we have benefited from the embedded compliance in the scheduling module.
Read April Atkins, CPP's full review
Jessica Summy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

Happy with the experience and optimistic about future possibilities!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being developed and used within our business and sister companies to streamline, clarify, and improve the employee experience by consolidating all HR-related content into one platform, including onboarding, time and attendance, organization management, time and attendance, performance management, compensation, reporting payroll, etc. While it is currently used by our HR team, the future goal is to increase self-service across the company and encourage use across the entire organization.
  • Reporting - the reporting module is very user-friendly and allows users to create custom reports to meet specific needs.
  • Navigation - the database is organized in a way that is easy to navigate and user-friendly! I love how the site is clean and aesthetically pleasing.
  • One-stop shop - it's a great to use HRIS that encompasses so much HR-related content. New additions with the system have tremendous power to positively enhance the employee experience!
  • People functionality - certain data fields are delimited when another is changed (manager field delimits when a work assignment is modified). The user has to manually adjust that if a workflow is not being used.
  • Reporting functionality - the system doesn't have the capacity to pull data for a group of people that are unrelated according to filters - you can't run a report for a group of people unless they have a shared characteristic that is stored within Dayforce.
I think Dayforce is a great tool for work environments and cultures that seek to improve the HR and employee experience. After working with several Human Resource Information Systems, Dayforce is the most user-friendly platform I have worked with and continuously increases its functionality and capacity to enhance the work experience. There is a lot of potential to be unlocked with the various modules that are offered.
As we continue to automate processes, automation ensures the proper and necessary parties receive and sign off on proposed changes within the organization while providing a manageable way to track and review approvals. Dayforce is helping our organization ensure that our data is relevant, valid, correct, and reportable. Accountability is built into the system that ensures compliance within our organization.
Read Jessica Summy's full review
Meagan Bare, MBA, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Dayforce: Good for the organization that likes to take control of their data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce Payroll and WFM is being used across our entire US population. We are implementing all talent modules over the next 6-9 months.
  • Configurable
  • Flexible
  • User-Friendly
  • State-Mandated form integration into the Onboarding Module (NY, CA, DC)
  • More robust Recruitment Module
  • Feeds with Background/I-9 Vendors to allow you to selected the vendor of your choice, not just those that are integrated with Ceridian. Currently with EBI, and we have to initiate background screenings by flipping a status and the status of the backgrounds are housed outside the system.
Dayforce is customizable, but relies heavily on configuration. As an administrator, I like that I can change settings without having to get support involved, like other HRIS/HRM solutions I've used in the past. However, if you are a small organization and do not have a Sr. Manager or above HR/Payroll team, this may be a bit daunting. There is not employment law built in as a baseline; for example: we had to specify what meal/rest break policies were, we had to specify what the rounding rules were and we had to specify what the spread of hours/recall/on call pay looked like for all states we were in business in. As a client, it would be super helpful to start at a point of compliance, and allow customers to configure it further from there, if they are more generous than the state requirements. State Forms are also not built into the onboarding module. I have wage forms that need completed for CA, NY and DC; the only way I can automate these is through docusign and even that is cumbersome. It's unfortunate.
It does enable compliance, but you need to build it; the platform does not start at a legally compliant level.
Read Meagan Bare, MBA, SHRM-CP's full review
Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Robust System But Poor Customer Support

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Ceridian’s Dayforce HCM platform for workforce management, payroll, and time and attendance. We’re currently slated to implement the Performance Management, Recruiting, and Onboarding modules in the next two months. This will allow us to move to a paperless system and a single platform to house the majority of our HR data. All employees within 3 legal entities currently utilize the Dayforce system.
  • Dayforce is robust and has a lot of functionality, once you understand all its capabilities. This allows us to make more informed and data-driven decisions.
  • The user interface is relatively user-friendly and intuitive. Our employees find it easy to navigate, requiring less help on tactical HR needs and freeing up that time for more strategic needs.
  • All of the data is housed in a single platform, which makes analyzing the data in new and more informative ways easier.
  • The customer support is lacking. If needs are highly urgent, then the customer support will respond timely. Other needs that are reported aren’t responded to timely and you don’t have much support to get things addressed.
  • The implementation process of their system is so difficult and cumbersome. So much of the burden of implementation falls on the customer, rather than Ceridian as I expected, and the timeline is rushed, so we were forced to go live without feeling like things were truly ready to go. Having additional communication and better implementation support, along with more time to implement, would have saved us months of headaches down the road.
  • We are a mid-sized business, and Ceridian is focused on enterprise-level customers. While we’re thrilled with the functionality the system has, the support for companies our size is pretty minimal. We felt that we weren’t as important of a client.
Ceridian as a company and Dayforce as a system is focused primarily on large and enterprise-sized customers. The customer support and focus seems to be great if you fit that box, but not if you don’t, Ceridian doesn’t appear to care as much about your success on their platform. Those smaller companies might be better served to find another HCM provider.
Our organization requires compliance with EEO and OFCCP, and the included reports in Dayforce help us ensure we are compliant with these regulations. The automated tax withholding and reporting has also reduced possibility of human error and ensured that we are compliant with these as well. Rather than requiring these compliance needs to be done manually, they can be automated through Dayforce.
Read Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Kristin Bockhahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Dayforce from a Multi-state and International Perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce for timekeeping, sick/vacation entitlement tracking, HR records, payroll, labor law compliance, and document management. In our US UK and Canada operations, we use Dayforce exclusively for our payroll processing, and we're working toward adding Australia and possibly Singapore to the list of our countries that process payroll through Dayforce. We currently use timekeeping, entitlement tracking, and HR records for all employees company-wide. We love the single platform approach since it nearly eliminates the need for dual entry we have to do between our HR/Payroll departments.
  • Single platform for HR and Payroll. When one thing changes, it cascades through the whole system, keeping us on track and reducing the likelihood of data entry errors.
  • Time Calculation flexibility. If there is something that can't be configured within the pay configuration, I've yet to discover it. Need your employees to get OT for hours after a certain time? Done. Need shift rates applied? Done. Need meal penalties assessed for shifts above a certain length (for you CA employers)? Done. I could go on and on- but the point is that the system can work for you, no matter your needs.
  • Real-time payroll calculations. Need to check if a garnishment is going to be correctly applied to an employee's pay? Need to see what impact a commission payment will have on employee taxes? Need to check to see what your to-date payroll liability for the pay period is? Any of these and many more are at your fingertips in just a few minutes with the ability to recalculate the pay file at any time during the pay cycle. You no longer have to wonder what your payroll will look like when processing day comes along- you can see it all along.
  • Configurability. Dayforce is still getting up to speed on how to manage the configuration abilities of the product. You can do pretty much anything, but this provides an issue when trying to get support from them - no one is an expert on your system since literally, no two clients have the same configuration. It's best to have an on-site Dayforce expert to handle system updates and maintenance.
  • Reporting. While constantly improving, the reporting feature is complicated to use for someone who needs specific information. You practically have to be a programmer (and some options require SQL knowledge to implement) in order to get the report you want. Also, the auto-formatting makes it tricky to manipulate the data after the report is run, if you are trying to use Excel or CSV to extract data points for complex analytics. Fortunately, you can turn this off - you just have to remember to update the settings before processing the request for the report.
  • Workflows. We've run into issues with certain things, like time off requests, being stuck in limbo when management changes. If the request was originally submitted to one manager, and then that manager makes a move or leaves the company, the new manager cannot view the request, so the SysAdmin has to intervene.
Dayforce is great if you have a varied workforce that requires complicated configuration, like multi-state jurisdictions with different labor laws applicable to each location. Just be prepared to designate an individual at your company to become a configuration expert in case anything needs updating.

Dayforce is less great if you use only one aspect of the program. As a whole, when you buy the whole enchilada and do all your HCM through Dayforce, the integration makes the minor annoyances worth it. If you are only looking to replace HR data, only time tracking, or only payroll processing, this is probably not the system for you. I'd go all or nothing.
The configuration abilities of the program are superb. They have many built-in configurable policies that allow you to tailor your time tracking to state labor laws, union contracts, or whatever else you need. We recently had to add a feature to a subset of employees that pays time and a half for hours worked outside the set office hours for the location. They are constantly reviewing customer needs and adding to this functionality.

The tax engine is also very robust. It automatically calculates state/local taxes based on the address of the worksite and the employee's primary residence, with very little interaction from us.
Read Kristin Bockhahn's full review
Lara White | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Nothing like Ceridian

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have just implemented the system across our three plant locations. Right now it is mainly time and attendance, but in the next couple of months we plan on expanding to use the benefits, recruiting, and self-service modules.
  • Info all on one platform
  • Lots of potential for analytics
  • Always coming up with new and better uses to make HR better
  • Implementation was really rough with the team we had
  • It is a little pricey
  • Support hours aren't necessarily 24/7
Not every business realizes the functionalty and benefit that the whole package can bring.
Ceridian is able to handle our multiple requirements for our different union and other entitlement policies. It also helps keep us updated on various local and state taxes that employees are subject to.
Read Lara White's full review
Chuck Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2019

Dayforce Powerforce

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Dayforce across the full business. We use it to manage schedules within our assisted living communities for better coverage tracking. We’re starting to use it for performance and compensation management. The feeds for our benefit packages are great when they work. Getting them right has been a struggle.
  • Time and attendance
  • Talent acquisition
  • Benefit administration
  • Vendor feeds
  • Organizational structuring
Everything for payroll, taxes, and benefits in one connected module. Automated feeds are very useful and provides vendors with timely and accurate information. One of the drawbacks is that feeds are difficult to change if something in your internal processes needs to be modified. Make sure you get your feeds right to begin with.
PPACA compliance has been a struggle in the past. We paid a TPA to do the monitoring in the past, but once it was setup properly in Dayforce the monitoring was a breeze. With a click of a button (or two) we had the associate listing for those PT associates with FT hours in our review period. We can then start the process to offer benefits as required.
Read Chuck Graham's full review
Jody Bangert | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

User friendly review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used throughout the organization. Our employees use the self service and remote app. We use payroll , benefits, recruiting and onboarding.
  • The mobile app is a great resource and user-friendly. Our employees find it easy to use. I love the new enhancements.
  • The Education Center is a valuable tool. I can find about anything I need.
  • Overall the HRM solution is easy to navigate and learn.
  • In Recruiting when copying a job requisition, it would be helpful if the posting copied as well. At least to have the option.
Overall, the solution is a good choice. It is an easy to learn system for end users and employees. Personally, I like more hands-on during implementation. It was difficult to take over after implementation because I didn't fully understand the behind the scenes process. Would also recommend some short "best practice" videos to users.
Read Jody Bangert's full review
Josh kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Time to start using Ceridian Dayforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at Orvis all of our departments use Ceridian Dayforce to clock in and out of shifts as well as in and out of breaks and lunch. Most of the employees use it for keeping up with their schedules as well as requesting time off. Ceridian Dayforce also allows us to transfer between departments so management can see when each employee was in which department.
  • Ceridian Dayforce does well at allowing us to clock in.
  • Ceridian Dayforce Is great for keeping up with your schedule and requesting time off.
  • Ceridian Dayforce is also great for tracking what employees are working in which department.
  • once you have finished typing in your employee number it automatically enters without confirmation so it's easy to clock someone else in or out if you press a wrong number.
  • On occasion, punches don't seem to register but this is rare but ongoing.
  • Ceridian Dayforce will freeze up occasionally but closing it and reopening it works to fix that.
Ceridian Dayforce is only used for scheduling, clocking in and out, tracking peoples on the clock times and locations. It also keeps track of your previous time worked so you can look back to see when you worked previously. It really has no function beyond the schedule and the time clock functions.
As an employee, I am not in charge of compliance so I do not know what features Ceridian Dayforce has to enable compliance. It tracks all employees time so management can at a glance see that employees are working hours within compliance but I do not know more than that.
Read Josh kimball's full review
Claudette Burrell Richards | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Dayforce Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for time and attendance, payroll, and vacation tracking across the organization. It provides mobile access and visibility into timesheets for our hourly workforce.
  • WFM
  • Mobile - allows remote access for managers and employees
  • Customer support knowledge
  • Access to support
  • Third party remittances are not handled by Ceridian
It is great for capturing time and reducing some manual transactions associated with timekeeping, however there can be difficult with having their IC for system configuration understand needed requirements. Also, the responsiveness of the support organization is slow and solutions are not always sound.
Actually, as Ceridian does not offer third party remittances, we are now facing issues with compliance as a result of having to bring this back in-house.
Read Claudette Burrell Richards's full review
Alexandra Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Overall, A Good Product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce for payroll, timekeeping, and workforce management. With our current set-up, it helps to move us from a lot of manual processes to user-friendly electronic ones. We are constantly implementing new ways to use Dayforce to further automate the way we work.
  • Clocking in and out for our hourly employees is incredibly easy.
  • It is incredibly easy to create workflows to do exactly what you need, even if that means a form has to flow through four levels of approval.
  • The reporting on Dayforce is incredibly robust, even overwhelmingly so at times.
  • I regularly have to follow up days after I've submitted a ticket to get a response at all.
  • TAFW Displays- each screen displays a number that factors in different measures which are super confusing for employees.
  • Silverlight- While Dayforce is moving away from this, the Silverlight functionality is still a problem.
If the administrator is comfortably familiarizing themselves with their system by testing and using log in detailed pdf guides, this works well. There is a lot of documentation out on the knowledge base to help someone through it. However, if your administrator is someone who needs to be taught how to use a system by a person, they may struggle. Support is not robust for this platform.
Currently, Dayforce only helps with compliance as far as taxes are concerned but we anticipate more assistance as we implement new modules in the future.
Read Alexandra Williams's full review
Michael Yerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2019

Longtime User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for time and attendance and payroll across our entire company in the US and Canada. Our retail locations use advanced scheduling.
  • Keeping up with compliance issues (ie. scheduling ordinances).
  • The up-time is really good. We haven't had an outage in quite a while.
  • I see new enhancements every year.
  • We would have like to have seen more parity in the tools when they transitioned from Silverlight to HTML.
  • Helping their clients being prepared for upgrades.
  • Sometimes I don't think they understand how change management works for large organizations.
Overall I would recommend it for retail. Our stores like it much better than our previous scheduling system. They also help us stay up on the latest compliance changes.
As a retailer, we do not like that they expect us to take code updates in December. I understand that we need to take tax updates to support payroll year-end, but we should not be expected to take any bug fixes that we do not need.
Dayforce has done a good job of giving us solutions to keep up with compliance legislation. The big thing now is the new scheduling ordinances. They had a solution right away to when the first ordinance came out in San Francisco.
Read Michael Yerian's full review
Katarina Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce: May the Force be with You

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is currently being used in our 40 corporate owned retail stores across 4 brands. We currently use both the scheduling, analytics and time and attendance modules. We implemented Dayforce to optimize scheduling and payroll costs for our 40 stores. Our goal is to reduce payroll by 5-7% across the department by the end of 2020.
  • User friendly People profile for each employee
  • Scheduling with traffic curve
  • Easy timesheet approval
  • Budget thresholds for easy tracking
  • Task management updates
  • Performance evaluation/Feedback forms as a function within TeamRelate
The actual platform of Dayforce is great however the support and Professional Services team is the real painpoint. The case management process is very time consuming and leads to a great deal of back and forth with client which does not lead to a strong sense of trust as they do not seem to know their product well.
As each of our provincial regulations is incorporated into Dayforce, we can easily meet provincial legislation when creating schedules with regards to meals and breaks. Warnings are automatically created when a schedule is not within policy so corrections can be made in real-time. It allows us to monitor overtime and thus track our payroll budgets more closely.
Read Katarina Patel's full review
Chad Harcus | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Balanced report

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in North American for Payroll and in Canada for Timekeeping.
  • Pays employees accurately, which is key given we operate in a union environment.
  • Pays employees timely since our leadership team reviews this as an SLA.
  • Customer support is responsive, especially when we are a legacy customer.
  • Ceridian team did an excellent job with us creating an ROI analysis to add greater functionality to the tool.
  • Interface seems stiff and not too dynamic and is quite non-intuitive to allow users to navigate.
  • Recruitment modules are weak and I decided to go elsewhere for this capability.
  • Ceridian tends to throw out new approaches like Paying employees daily, but I'm not sure how practical this is within mid-market organizations.
It is well suited for mid-sized companies as compared to systems like SuccessFactors. They don't have too many bells and whistles that can over-complicate organizations with limited resources. Also, because their system isn't integrated into a finance system, it is likewise easier to manage. I personally think that if they are going to market themselves as a Talent suite, that they invest in talent modules like succession planning and recruiting to enable organizations to be more successful.
Enables compliance with Tax withholdings, garnishments, and SOC-1 reports.
Read Chad Harcus's full review
Nicole Nyberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Great product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce across our entire continuum. We have multiple divisions and locations. We use payroll, performance, time/attendance, time away from work and benefits.
  • It is really great to have the information go from an application or form to all applicable locations. No duplicate entries which allows for one source of truth.
  • The file feeds are very helpful and a real time saver.
  • It is really nice to have reporting that can cross over all information in the system.
  • I'd like to see fewer issues go to Professional Services. It feels like we are nickeled and dimed all the time. This is my biggest frustration.
  • The performance module is a little tricky to use and it's hard to track where things are at.
  • The scheduling module could be more user friendly. We would like location of assignment to be included in a rotations.
Dayforce is for larger companies that want a sophisticated system.
This is great for state and federal reporting compliance and easy to pull reports.
Read Nicole Nyberg's full review
Jerlyn Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Program gives employees the ability to take charge of their personal information.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HR uses Dayforce for payroll processing. Employees use the mobile app to clock in. Managers use it to interact with employee info, approve payroll, performance and track time away from work.
  • Support team assigned to us are very knowledgeable of the program and offer great assistance.
  • Dayforce Education is another great tool even to take refresher courses of modules currently using.
  • WFM for clocking in on mobile app or computer and keeping track of our time away from work is a breeze.
  • Year-end suggestions in advance are great reminders. The hotfix notes are ideal if you read them.
  • Handling our PTO grant and accruals has been good.
  • Mobile app should allow managers to approve payroll.
  • Recruiting should put candidate offer letter in the employee file.
  • In the recruiting module, we would like to add a logo that is on the job description to the Indeed feed.
  • Pay Grades need to be made available to the employee profile.

Implementation is the first impression a business has of Ceridian and because that is not a smooth transaction, Ceridian loses some creditability. Ceridian needs to be aware of the time zone and tax differentials. Once it goes to the assigned support pod it goes much smoother.

When something is promised the follow through is important, such as eliminating the Silver script deadline changing numerous times.

The tax updates ease the work of Payroll to not input the updated tax information. But, Wyoming is a problem with Worker's Comp and requires extra steps because the program does not recognize the rate change from year to year.

Annual limits are set by Ceridian not by our HR staff.

Read Jerlyn Martin's full review
Gina Tufano | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

No nonsense numbers and analytics.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is currently used by the HR and Payroll functions. It addressed time and attendance, payroll, benefits, workforce management and eliminates some manual processes. It is utilized in both the US and Canada. Our current configuration still has the need to process items manually, however, this will be addressed in 2020.
  • Time and attendance - set-up and flexability
  • Entitlements - flexibility
  • Payroll - uploads and general process
  • Benefits Management - OE, new hire and life events
  • Payroll - Retro Increases
  • Benefits Management - configuration and set-up
  • PPACA - complicated set-up
Well suited for retail establishments and the hourly workforce. The ability to schedule and plan based on traffic etc. is a powerful tool. The app is also very useful. I am looking forward to a possible implementation of the compensation module and onboarding.

The only scenario that has been less appropriate is processing retro increases and having to utilize support in order to complete.
  • Entitlement policies - adhering to the multiple state and local jurisdictions
  • Over-time and regular rate of pay calculations
  • W-2 recordkeeping and reporting
  • PPACA recordkeeping and compliance
  • State withholding
Read Gina Tufano's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (371)
8.1
Employment history (402)
7.9
Job profiles and administration (393)
7.8
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (399)
7.7
Organizational charting (360)
7.0
Organization and location management (399)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (254)
7.4
Pay calculation (429)
8.6
Support for external payroll vendors (216)
7.7
Benefit plan administration (339)
7.9
Direct deposit files (413)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (325)
7.9
Reimbursement management (210)
7.8
Approval workflow (365)
8.1
Balance details (377)
7.5
Annual carry-forward and encashment (304)
7.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (422)
8.6
Update personal information (431)
8.6
View company policy documentation (289)
7.8
Employee recognition (149)
7.3
View job history (355)
8.1
Tracking of all physical assets (67)
7.8
Report builder (433)
6.9
Pre-built reports (434)
7.2
Ability to combine HR data with external data (308)
6.3
New hire portal (255)
7.9
Manager tracking tools (231)
7.7
Corporate goal setting (136)
7.7
Individual goal setting (149)
7.9
Line-of sight-visibility (128)
7.8
Performance tracking (155)
7.9
Performance plans (164)
7.8
Performance improvement plans (141)
7.5
Review status tracking (167)
7.8
Review reminders (165)
7.8
Multiple review frequency (147)
7.7
Create succession plans/pools (58)
7.5
Candidate ranking (60)
7.4
Candidate search (63)
7.7
Candidate development (60)
7.2
Job Requisition Management (198)
7.8
Company Website Posting (193)
8.1
Publish to Social Media (160)
7.8
Job Search Site Posting (187)
7.8
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (156)
7.2
Applicant Tracking (194)
7.8
Notifications and Alerts (190)
7.6

About Ceridian Dayforce HCM

Dayforce is a global HCM software platform that transforms the employee experience. It unifies data from across the entire employee lifecycle to enable better decision-making at every level. Dayforce is a comprehensive cloud platform that combines HR, payroll, benefits, workforce management, and talent management in a single application. Our scalable HCM software is built with a single, flexible rules engine combined with real-time updates and calculations that help address complex regulatory requirements.

Dayforce offers:

  • Continuous pay calculation: This means that pay is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving administrators the time they need to produce high-quality pay.
  • One application: With data stored in a single, central location, get data-driven insights across all HR functions so users can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Actionable insights: Dayforce provides critical data-driven insights to help users make fast, informed decision.
  • Anytime, anywhere access: Access Dayforce using the device of choice on web or mobile.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Screenshots

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Videos (8)

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Downloadables

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Integrations

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Competitors

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English (US), English (GB), French, French Canadian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Italian, German, Polish, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, Hindi, Portuguese (Brazil), Croatian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian, Slovak, Japanese, Korean, Hungarian, Thai