Ceridian Dayforce HCM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
937 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 500)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 04, 2021
Michael McGee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used across the whole company for Payroll, Scheduling and HR management. all departments use it for one reason or an other. for us it solved the issue of tracking everything on paper and spreadsheets. we have a mixture of salary and hourly employees for which we do and do not track time using the time clock aspects of dayforce. prior to the pandemic we were using the time clock applications in our office and now have changed to using the mobile clocking in and out.
  • attendance Tracking
  • Staff scheduling
  • Payroll processing
  • staffing reports
  • Customizable STAT Holiday calendar
  • Customized reports
  • Timesheet error checking
  • Missed clock in notifications
any industry where you have more then 15 to 20 employees from multiple locations or departments Dayforce is a wonderful solution. if you have high turn over in your organization the HR modules let you track those trends to see when you often gain and lose staff. if you have hourly staff across multiple states, countries or provinces it make it easier to just pay them and no have to worry about all the regulations in their area
one of the features we adopted was the time rounding when clocking in and out. we round time on the 7 and 8min mark 0-7 rounds to 0 and 8-14 rounds to 15min this has helped in our call center as we often finish calls a couple min past shift so rather then having to manually adjust those times based on policy the system does it automatically.

with out Salary staff that have OT policies they are able to simply enter the OT hours they worked on any given day and their managers can approve it or deny it and leave notes which the agents can see
Read Michael McGee's full review
November 18, 2020
Elise Rommes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All employees at KI in the US & Canada have access to Dayforce to view their personal information, pay statements, benefits, performance appraisals and open internal job opportunities.
  • The Compensation module has saved hours of time during our merit process. We no longer need to create hundreds of individual spreadsheets to support the process. Our merit process is now completed & approved seamlessly in Dayforce.
  • The Performance module is very nice for visibility. We now complete all of our performance appraisals in Dayforce. Prior to Dayforce, completed performance appraisal paper forms were stored in employee personnel files. Managers needed to reach out to HR to view performance appraisals for their team. Now, managers and managers above them can view performance appraisals for their employees in Dayforce. The information is at their fingertips.
  • The Onboarding module is very helpful for eliminating paper within our new hire process. Employees can now complete almost all of their new hire paperwork electronically within the system. This also saves time as we no longer have to take information from a paper form and enter it into the system.
  • We would love to see enhancements made to the Recruiting module to make it easier to search for candidates who have applied for our positions. The search functionality works okay, but it could be better. It would also be really beneficial to email candidates directly from Dayforce using templates created in the system, but that is not a capability currently.
  • The Reporting feature requires someone to be fairly tech savvy to pull the needed data. It would be nice to see this module made more user friendly. I believe Ceridian is working on this for future releases!
  • The Document Management module where you can store electronic personnel files needs some attention. It is easy to find an employee file, but if you need to print an entire file for any purposes, you have to print it document by document. Also, if you upload a document incorrectly, there is no way to edit and you have to delete it and re-upload the document.
Ceridian Dayforce works very well for our office staff who are more computer savvy. It is much less used and accepted by our hourly manufacturing employees.
I don't use Dayforce for payroll compliance-related items, so I don't have a lot to comment in this area.

As a federal contractor, I do struggle quite a bit to pull the information we need for Affirmative Action reports. I was surprised there weren't more canned reports out of the box for this type of thing, such as a report of positions changes that show whether a pay change was also associated in order to populate our promotions log.
Read Elise Rommes's full review
November 17, 2020
Stacy Lowery | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce HCM for all of our HR and payroll needs. It has helped our company be more up to date with technology, become paperless and make it easier for our managers to manage their employees.
  • Dayforce is great at connecting the managers, Payroll and HR to the employees. The messaging function has saved all of us time and lets us talk to employees not on site so much easier.
  • The workflows and forms are a huge strength for Dayforce. Without them we would still have a ton of paper forms and have to sort through boxes of files to look back at old forms.
  • Having performance management, document management, payroll, timesheets, schedules, on-boarding and recruitment all in one system is awesome. It reduced all of our data entry and errors.
  • Implementation was rough. We felt like the team from Ceridian did not know the system that well and they didn't set up stuff correctly which caused issues later.
  • I feel like the last few years the company is changing and making money and growing is more important than customer satisfaction
Having all of the schedules roll over to timesheets and the audit trail in timesheets has really helped us. We are now able to look back and see if managers are changing punches and if it was the employee who really did clock in late. Having the system really only one system is beneficial because there is no integration.
The fact that we can check workflows, audit trails and have everything in one system helps keep us in compliance. It makes it so much easier when the auditors are here and it helps HR and Payroll audit what the managers are doing. Having Union employees, Dayforce has let us set up multiple policies for different versions of the CBO.
I love the fact that we have a set of support staff that we are assigned to and we get to know them.
Read Stacy Lowery's full review
November 16, 2020
Nitin Sondhi, CHRL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce HMC and WFM are being used to create a North American solution. This has created standardized and streamlined reporting and analysis across the two countries. We are using Dayforce across most of the organization; completely in Canada and the U.S., and we're looking to branch out into Europe. Dayforce has enabled us to provide additional support as we move to a shared service model globally.
  • Time and Attendance is a flat system and has eliminated the majority of errors that normally come out of these kinds of systems.
  • Payrolls which can be run from anywhere have allowed us to have backup personnel support who work in other areas or even other countries.
  • Absence and Vacation tracking is a very nice feature combined with the workflows. Now the managers have a better method to track vacation and ensure their people take the time off. This also allows for easier reporting should there be a concern over an attendance issue.
  • The support on the time clocks and devices could be more hands on.
  • The implementation team can get carried away with thinking they know what you want and sometimes it doesn't align. It's best to stay on top of the project at all times, so the visions don't stray too much.
  • A little more post implementation structure while transferring to support would have been nice.
When making the decision to go with Dayforce or another HRIS/Payroll/WFM solution, make sure the system can handle your business needs. If the business if growing, plan for future needs. Implementing these systems is very detailed and something you should want to stick with for some time. Dayforce offers the complete solution with a fully completely configurable product. This way, when you call for support or speak to other clients, you know they are looking at the same type of screen and similar layout.
Absolutely! Dayforce has given us piece of mind that tax withholdings and company policies will be followed. This has allowed us to focus on more important value added agenda items rather than double checking, second guessing or continuously spending time reviewing our set ups. Once the policies and parameters have been set, there is no doubt that it hasn't taken effect.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
They are available over the phone often without delay, online you can put in a ticket at any time and they usually get back to you with a more difficult issue inlcuding policy revision, within a day or two.
100 % of our population uses dayforce in one way or another. All employees use Time away from work and all managers use scheduling.
Read Nitin Sondhi, CHRL's full review
November 20, 2020
Cindy Lynskey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Ceridian Dayforce system is used across our organization. We use it for payroll, benefits, recruiting, and onboarding. We have been a customer for just over three years, and I have learned so much, which has greatly reduced the time taken to process and record payroll as our payroll administrator in accounting.
  • The support system of Ceridian Dayforce is very accessible and helpful.
  • The education center offers all types of classes (virtual or with a teacher), resources, etc.
  • Dayforce Wallet is an example of Ceridian Dayforce being on the cutting edge of the business world.
  • The tax area of Ceridian Dayforce has been a struggle for me. Even with the new website, access is not what I expected. I will be taking the new class offered in the Education Center in early December regarding the tax website. Through the support network when you support a tax issue, you may never hear back from someone. Fortunately I resolved all tax issues we had with the help of a regular support team person and do not have any issues currently yet I feel this is definitely an area of improvement.
  • I feel that the reporting section is too difficult for many users. I have taken the classes multiple times yet still struggle to get the right area and the correct keyword.
Ceridian Dayforce is very suited for our organization as we have both salaried and hourly employees and only one pay group. It is a great tool that we use to insure our payroll and taxes are paid correctly and in a timely way. HR uses the benefit, recruiting, and onboarding modules for the services they provide to our employees.
It allows for the individual state withholding tax and supports our overtime policy and calculation. It always helps with benefit eligibility based on birth date and hire date. Also our time off was set up to match our benefit policy for full-time employees. We do not have any labor union rules.
Read Cindy Lynskey's full review
November 19, 2020
Glenda Gordon Torres, CPP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Ceridian Dayforce across our whole organization. Our previous system was sunsetting and we were looking for an integrated product that could handle a lot of our functions and be a single system of record, instead of tacking on multiple add on systems which inevitably get out of sync.
  • It calculates individuals in real time and pay runs in minutes, so that you don't have to save up all of your entries to check at the end of payroll processing.
  • Dayforce has fantastic search functionality, allowing you to look for people, reports, funtions, etc. all from the same box.
  • Information is entered in one source only and is integrated with Onboarding, Timesheets, HR, Payroll, Performance Management, etc. so it is always the same.
  • Managers can auto assign based on location.
  • Entering retroactive transactions and paying is very simple.
  • Pay group changes with different pay period dates require a lot of manual intervention
  • Timesheets do not include PTO in summary totals, making it difficult for managers to review.
  • We find out about system bugs once they are fixed, meaning we waste time troubleshooting issues that have already been identified.
  • There is not a robust, up to date knowledge base like the one that was available in Ceridian HPW/Latitude.
Ceridian Dayforce is well suited to an organization that wants the most up to date functionality that is constantly updated. It helps if the organization has smart IT professionals who can assist with configuration and release testing.
Dayforce has helped significantly with tax compliance by automatically updating based on Work and Lived locations. It has also excellent capabilities around meal break compliance, predictive scheduling, and other scheduling regulations and penalties.
Read Glenda Gordon Torres, CPP's full review
November 18, 2020
Lisa Chavez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Dayforce for HR and payroll. We will soon be using it for recruiting, onboarding, performance evaluations, and team relate. It will be used by every person in the company. Because it is one system all information will flow through for the other departments.
  • Dayforce has an amazing onboarding program that will help us keep employees engaged from the beginning.
  • The system flows from the applicant through to HR and on to Payroll.
  • The payroll system is constantly updated with HR information.
  • We were able to build our policies and procedures right into the system.
  • I would like to see an easier-to-use timesheet system that could display weekly or bi-weekly and totals including all hours being paid that is easy to understand for managers and employees.
  • As far as reporting, I would like data to be more accessible for more complicated reporting.
Dayforce is an amazingly customizable program. We were able to take our policies and procedures and turn them into workflows and forms that can be easily accessed by our employees. The hard part is going to be building future forms and changing as our policies and procedures change. We were able to take a manual system and to build it into Dayforce as an automated HR and payroll system.
Dayforce was able to take our internal procedures and our policies and any external rules, including state and federal, and implement them into our system to ensure compliance.
Read Lisa Chavez's full review
November 17, 2020
Tonya Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Dayforce company wide for timeclock, payroll, recruitment and benefits. In the past, we did not have an "all-in-one" system.
  • The ease for managers to run reports from Dayforce without having to wait on Payroll's availability.
  • Because we are healthcare, we have a complicated system of shift/differential pay. Dayforce has been able to accommodate most of the varying pay types.
  • Dayforce as a third party vendor for garnishments has been extremely helpful and allowed administration to be more streamlined.
  • Implementation was not ideal. We changed reps several times for varying aspects of Dayforce. This made the implementation last longer than expected.
  • The problem with processes not always working, i.e. pay codes working correctly one pay period, but not the next.
  • Adhoc reporting more user friendly.
Dayforce is not ideal for a healthcare facility because it can not always accommodate the varying pay types, i.e. shift differential and multiple work site pay.
Although it is handled by our Human Resources department, ACA compliance has simplified. Also, with the new w-4 forms, compliance with the federal tax form.
Read Tonya Mills's full review
November 17, 2020
Evan Stroum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dayforce for our system of record for payroll and HR across our us offices. It is used by our entire HR department and sparingly for self-service. Dayforce has helped us streamline some of our processes and eliminates some of the manual entry. On our previous legacy system, we were working in at least 11 different systems with multiple points of entry. After implementing we were able to eliminate some of those systems. Open enrollment for our company used to mean having employees fill out forms for six different carriers. We were able to utilize Dayforce for open enrollment this year. [It] truly eliminates any data entry involved with benefits.
  • Workflows provide limitless opportunities for every type of business need.
  • Payroll, benefits, and time are all located in the same system with seamless transitions between the three.
  • Tax calculations are extremely accurate and calculate for every type of employee situation.
  • Reporting is not as user-friendly as it could be. The topic building tool is not for the average user.
  • Benefits administration could be simplified a little more.
Dayforce is well suited for payroll and tax calculation. They've also done a great job with the workflow administration invisibility to it. I think they could do a better job with clarity around some of the tax correspondence.
In our legacy system a lot of the payroll tax was dependent on our knowledge of each state and locale. When we implemented Dayforce all the tax entities calculated the wages in each state as well as the limited wages correctly based on what we entered as the employee's address. On top of that the system validated addresses as well.
For the most part support has been great at addressing our issues in a timely manner and developing Solutions.
Four basic functions it is user-friendly however as you get into more complex areas with your data it can be complex
Read Evan Stroum's full review
November 17, 2020
Mary Clinton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Ceridian Dayforce for all payroll and human resources functions. Our old system was very manual and used paper timesheets. Dayforce has eliminated paper and streamlined the process. We have a few kinks, but the system has helped and I am looking forward to becoming an expert user. I recommend Dayforce!
Follow-up review: Now been using Dayforce for over two years. I am much more proficient. I can mostly figure out issues on my own, but their support is GREAT!!
  • Time reporting
  • Vacation, sick and personal time tracking
  • Benefit Open enrollment
  • Reporting is still a bit challenging for me. I had trouble finding report training for gross pay and pulling just on deduction with per pay detail.
  • Employing experts in public institution-specific needs
  • Doing more parallel runs before going live
Dayforce is great for time tracking. The workflows get really involved and are sometimes hard to follow. Dayforce is very good at handling garnishments and child support. I really like that Dayforce pays the taxes for customers and handles all quarterly and annual tax reporting.
Dayforce is excellent for employees to enter time away requests. We used to have to manually enter requests from paper.
Absolutely helps with all tax issues, Dayforce knows what local taxes an employee must pay and adds them to their record. Automatically calculates overtime. If an employee earns compensatory time, it is calculated automatically and added to the employee's available balance. An employee's benefits eligibility is presented to them during onboarding, so they know all the options.
I have had good experiences with support. One time I needed help on commit day. I submitted an urgent ticket and barely had time to get coffee before they were on the phone. They understood my problem, knew the answer and helped me fix it and commit payroll on time.
Read Mary Clinton's full review
November 17, 2020
Kara Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use most of the modules to help streamline hiring, onboarding, and the employee experience. We did not have an onboarding or LMS platform previously. It has helped to have the LMS especially during COVID and all of us working from home. At the beginning of the year many employees did a lot of professional development and it was a fantastic resource to offer.
  • Unified system.
  • Onboarding.
  • Support responses/times.
  • Recruitment module.
  • Integrated learning module - currently doesn't feed to other areas.
Well suited for an organization with hourly employees and simple processes. We have 360 reviews, a complicated compensation structure, mainly FT employees, and unique org structure so it just doesn't work optimally. Support has been terrible lately as well.
For compliance, I am in charge of GDPR/CCPA and had asked for data management to be under the recruitment admin role and never got access to that when we implemented it.
Read Kara Taylor's full review
November 17, 2020
Emily Ozmon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian as our only HR/Payroll Software. All employees and supervisors use Dayforce for Scheduling, Time and Attendance and Recruiting and Onboarding. We are using Performance Management as well. The software has made all of the changes that had to happen in 2020 very manageable. We love the single software platform and are looking forward to expanding our features.
  • Excellent Support Team
  • User-Friendly Platforms
  • Fabulous Implementation Teams
  • Great Customer Engagement
  • Reporting could be expanded
  • Need all features/fields to be able to be customized for company needs
Ceridian is fabulous at the Payroll/WFM and HR level. Recruiting and Onboarding being a newer feature of theirs is still working out the kinks. But their support is great and I never have issues getting any help needed. The ease of use in payroll took processing for 2800 employees from a whole week to just 2.5 days.
All enrollments are electronic from Benefit to tax filings. It allows up to stay in compliance without keeping track of paper. The electronic scheduling allows for better tracking of schedules to budgets and where the Overtime is happening in live time. The auditing feature in Timesheets allows us to follow where changes are being made and managers can see payroll information in up to the minute calculations.
The support team is very quick to respond and to acknowledge case submissions. for a medium level case the response time is usually under 2 days. For an urgent case it is less than 1 hour in most case. They will work with you to get any issue resolved no matter what it takes or how complicated the request is.
Very easy to navigate and use. The software is user friendly and Ceridian provides all of the tools you need to learn how to use the software successfully. If you can't find the tool in their extensive Knowledge Base then support is happy to assist you.
Read Emily Ozmon's full review
November 17, 2020
Sarah Isaac | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as our system of record for employee data, WFM and payroll company wide.
  • I think they listen to ideas submitted in the Aha portal as I have seen many come to fruition.
  • They respond timely to support requests with actual solutions.
  • My CRM is very thoughtful and diligent in keeping a close relationship and solving for our needs.
  • Employee changes report every payroll. I have never been able get a report that showed just true changes to the record per pay period.
  • Stop trying to sell me a block of hours.
  • I actually still prefer the old MY HR layout where more employee data was displayed on a single page. Now I have to click in multiple areas to get a combo of data.
I think it has a strong support model. I have frequently needed help with entitlements as they are somewhat of a beast and there are a million places something needs to be set up/created in order for them to work properly (downside there isn't a wizard to walk me through) but support is very knowledgeable. I just wish there was a wizard that took you from step 1 to completion of building out an entitlement.
Federal and State tax withholding. Flexible fields to set up for final hour compliance orders for payroll and WFM, most recently from Covid-19. CA Meal break penalty. Entitlement balance enforcement. Workflows. I won't lie, there are some compliance issues like CA Reg Rate that have not been easy to implement and doesn't seem to be a standard for DF.
Read Sarah Isaac's full review
November 17, 2020
Maria Alfano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for payroll, HR, benefits, WFM, and document storage. It helped automate the vacation pay process that was previously managed via Excel. Onboarding and benefit elections are streamlined and can be sent to the employee in advance of the start date to minimize the wait times for benefit enrollment.
  • WFM--great time and attendance
  • Ability to create reports
  • Payroll system
  • Ability to do more customization
  • A little slow with customer suggestions
  • Have better system response times--can be really sluggish
Great for North America but not great for global countries outside of the UK and Australia. Partnering with other companies is not always the best solution. Our experience has been to make our company the guinea pigs for testing a new global partnership. It would have been nice to know this during the sales process instead of finding out during implementation.
Ceridian Dayforce assists us with the maintenance of compliance regulations. It was not able to configure all the rules for our union agreements and some aspects were managed outside of Ceridian Dayforce.
  • Online training
It is hit and miss. Sometimes we get excellent service from people who know their stuff and sometimes we get a call center type person who is just concerned about meeting their matrix requirements.
It can be very slow to load and will log you out in the middle of working on something.
It has good add-on features.
Read Maria Alfano's full review
November 16, 2020
Amy Neill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce across the company for HR, payroll, and time/labor. Ceridian Dayforce gave a single database to support all 80+ locations of our business, creating a very transparent environment for managing employee issues. We have control over our labor data in a way we never did before, which gives us greater flexibility in managing our employees.
  • User friendly for all users in the organization
  • Single system of record for hr, payroll, and labor data
  • Payroll made easy
  • Reporting is slow and clunky
  • New user interfaces created a lot more clicks to view employee data
  • Upgrades can be challenging
Ceridian Dayforce is a good solution for any company willing to put in the effort to learn how to manage the system. I have found that it does take some time and knowledge to maintain the system, but it is flexible enough to make changes quickly. Reporting is a challenge. It can take a bit of time to create the reports necessary.
We have been able to automate our employee onboarding, ensuring that we have all of the required information from an employee. This helps us to ensure that we have all of the required data to calculate employee paychecks (like taxes and overtime). We are also able to track employee licensure information, ensuring that our employees have up-to-date credentials.
Read Amy Neill's full review
November 16, 2020
Amanda Ford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use Ceridian Dayforce to process our North America payroll. It is being used cross functionally within many departments: HR, payroll, HR operations, finance, and compensation. It does everything from remittances to paying employees, keeping track of time and attendance, GLs, and more. It's a great system that I highly recommend.
  • Variety of report pulling
  • Off-cycle payroll processing
  • Showing pay statements before payroll is processing
  • System freezing or lagging
Ceridian Dayforce is extremely user friendly. The layout can be customized for each customer. You can set up easy tabs at the front of things you use most frequently to reduce how many screens you need to click into. Customer service answers timely and helps us a lot. I think Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for medium to large organizations (500+ employees).
Ceridian sends us insights into any employment standards updates or CRA updates on a provincial and federal level that may impact payroll. They offer support when needing to implement changes or they offer solutions on their end so we do not have to worry about these changes. Essentially they notify us of upcoming changes and provide solutions.
Read Amanda Ford's full review
November 16, 2020
Amanda Wunrow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, we use Ceridian Dayforce for our payroll, benefits, time reporting, and vacation requests.
  • Tracking time and attendance.
  • Ensuring payroll is done correctly.
  • The ability to see my employee's profile easily.
  • Our rep never reaches out to us about new releases or asking us if we would like to bring more into Dayforce.
  • That customer service closes your tickets before you have completed the problem.
  • For the free products, our company was never taught how to turn them on and when asked to customer service it was pulling teeth to get an answer.
Ceridian does well with making sure payroll is processed and is compliant with all regulations. I think Ceridian could do better in ensuring PTO accruals are correct so that employees could trust the system with their time away from work and adapting a system or creating a system that will track FMLA correctly.
Right now, it is very manual and we do it outside of the system. We cannot really trust the system so we do not use it to its full ability. We are now looking into adding more to Dayforce but are unsure what to add to ensure we can still be compliant and maximize productivity.
I give a six as my overall rating on Dayforce support because I have had some rough experience with trying to get help. It is sometimes frustrating when you are trying to explain something but then get an answer of that we cannot do that in Dayforce. What I mean by this is that it was a feature that was setup before but is not working anymore due to an upgrade. I understand and like that Dayforce is upgrading and changing but do not like when something on the back end of system gets changed and then we have no solution to change it back to what it was or have a solution to adapt it to what is new in the system to allow our system to perform correctly.
I give it this rating because it is easy for our employees to use, which is the most important thing. It is a little much to understand on the admin side. I say that because when trying to setup different modules or change thing it is difficult to understand where to go to ensure it is setup correctly. We love how complex it is but it sometimes hinder us.
Read Amanda Wunrow's full review
November 16, 2020
Emily O'Donnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce as an entire organization. Dayforce is mostly used to calculate payroll for our employees. It does address other issues within our company, however. One business problem it addresses is cutting down the amount of paper forms for each employee. We are able to submit them through the system and keep history of their employment.
  • Dayforce has a great support system. If we run across issues or something that we do not know how to do, we can either submit a ticket or call the support center to get it resolved.
  • Dayforce cares about their customers. We have a revolving monthly meeting with our customer success manager to be in loop about Ceredian updates and changes.
  • Dayforce is ever changing. They are constantly listening to their customers to provide the most successful product for their customers. The changes are generally good. Although, change can be hard at first.
  • The reporting system in Dayforce, could use some improvement. Most of the things we would need to run reports for do not exist currently in Dayforce.
  • The benefits feature does not currently work for us. We have to input each deduction manually.
  • Dayforce can run slow at times especially with the new features. We are hoping that since the features are so new that it having it run more smoothly is in the works.
Ceridian Dayforce is great for calculating payroll, keeping track of forms and employment records, and providing support for their customers when needed.
Ceridian Dayforce helps enable compliance with state and federal tax withholding and overtime policies.
Support is easy to access and I get a quick response most of the time. Sometimes, however, I haven't had the best experiences with some support specialists. I have had to tell them our issue multiple times and have stayed on a phone call for much longer than needed. Usually, though, support specialists are very friendly and helpful.
Overall, the system is easy to use and there are very descriptive guides which really help! There are some features that I am not super familiar with but I know that there are resources to help.
Read Emily O'Donnell's full review
December 16, 2020
Janet Kaufmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce throughout our whole business, HR, Payroll and all outlets. As long as all the correct information is input into the setup it functions well.
  • Changes are in actual time, very helpful.
  • Committing the Payroll is very easy.
  • Processing the Payroll the system will alert you with warnings of items you might want to look a little further into before committing the payroll
  • I would like to see in depth classes on Pay Policies. There always seems to be problems that pop up with updates.
I believe Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for businesses that just have Salary and Hourly employees. It needs a lot more attention and updates when working with hospitality and tipped employees and multiple pay scales.
Read Janet Kaufmann's full review
November 18, 2020
Emily Heath | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for our entire association. We have different roles set up in the system for different levels of access. Our employees mainly use it to clock in/out, update personal information, view their earning statements, and W2's. Our managers use it to approve their staff's payroll. And our HR team uses it as well.
  • Cloud-based system that can be accessed remotely
  • One system for many HR functions
  • Support center that is easily accessible in case issues/questions arise
  • I have only had a handful of encounters with support specialists who weren't pleasant/helpful
  • Reporting is not the easiest feature to use
  • PPACA is not super easy to use either
Overall, I really like Ceridian Dayforce and would recommend it to colleagues. I feel like we have only scratched the surface of what we could use the system for and we are constantly learning new things that help increase efficiency within our department and association.
Ceridian Dayforce is really great at making sure we are compliant. Especially during COVID times, we really have relied on Ceridian Dayforce doing the bulk of the work to ensure that we are receiving things like FFCRA credits.
Read Emily Heath's full review
November 14, 2020
Natalia Munteanu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce for our day to day work. This includes payroll, vacation balance, employee files, documentation, certification, reports, attendance, survey, HR policies, onboarding, hiring etc. Now we are working on a new document management feature. It is another feature we are excited to implement and use it. It will allow us to have everything in one system.
  • Customer service
  • Rapidity
  • Updates
  • Adding more features
  • Providing more training to customers
  • Flexibility
Easy to work with Ceridian customer service and easy to work in actual Dayforce. The system is user-friendly and whenever you have any questions you can call customer service or submit tickets on issues you are having. They are so fast in getting back to you.
From my experience, Dayforce is helping us to comply with privacy legislation, by allowing us to categorize, download and secure documents that follow under that legislation. Also, by having the feature to download HR policies and assign them to employee, it is helping us to comply with different pieces of legislation.
Read Natalia Munteanu's full review
November 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being used company-wide for about 300 locations across 12 states. We currently have roughly 1000 employees and we use payroll, benefits, WFM, and HR modules. With our prior software, our processes were not as efficient and streamlined as we wanted them to be. Dayforce allowed us to create a platform that is solving these issues as well as provide much needed transparency for our employees.
  • Provides transparency for employees
  • Allows self-service funcionality
  • Streamlines process across various modules
  • Work assignment screen are sometimes difficult to work with
  • Benefit module could be improved
Ceridian is well suited for organizations with multiple work locations because it allows for customization based on organization's need.
Dayforce has allowed organization to automate ACA process and many other year-end tasks. Employees can now retrieve year-end tax forms online and this saves us money since we do not have to process huge mailout. In addition, we have starting tracking safety incidents and are able to run OSHA report as needed.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is used by all of our employees. Frontline workers use it to get their schedules, check their pay, etc. Administrators use Ceridian Dayforce for payroll, scheduling, workforce management, etc.
  • The mobile app is great!
  • Accurate live payroll management
  • We love the function of the touch clocks
  • Ceridian could add additional forms to the mobile app
  • Ceridian could provide some free professional services hours per year
  • Ceridian could spend more time tailoring their services to retail consumers
Ceridian Dayforce is great for a multi-location workforce with decentralized management. It helps us stay close when we cannot be close physically.

It would be less appropriate for small businesses or those who do not have someone competent to manage the system.
Ceridian Dayforce ensures that our payroll is compliant and accurate. They also provide peace of mind when reporting to government agencies. Additionally, if retroactive changes need to be made, Ceridian Dayforce is able to assist and take care of this for us. We plan to use Ceridian Dayforce for benefit eligibility in the future.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used by everybody in our organization - it's being used by Payroll & HR to manage personnel administration on a daily basis, used by management to access employee information and approve requests and used by employees to access their own information and submit requests.
  • The preview function in the payroll module is a wonderful tool to enhance efficiency.
  • The system is well designed and highly customizable to suit different needs.
  • The reporting module offers lots of useful information.
  • The 'help' function (upper right corner) could be improved.
  • It's hard to locate a module from the menu.
  • I'd like to see less system latency incidents.
I'm pretty satisfied with the Dayforce platform and the support service provided by Ceridian. The system is very robust and highly customizable to meet unique customer needs.
Dayforce provide timely support for legislative updates, also it has made benefits eligibility and rates update an automated process that was much more difficult to do in the past.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for employee information management and payroll. It is used across the organization. This product helps each department manager understand and efficiently manage the staff in each department. It also permits HR to best manage benefits, payroll, and vacation time. Ceridian Dayforce addresses our need to compare staff hours with building usage and to determine how best to utilize staff hours.
  • Retro pay and PTO management
  • Insights conference
  • Ceridian XOXO for learning
  • We miss our customer success manager
  • $4,000 in change fees
  • Zero compatibility with our preferred onboarding software
  • Great report generating capabilities
  • Easily grows with our company
  • Very adaptable
  • Retroactive payroll changes, predicting payroll, and comparisons are made easier
  • Terrific for benefits management
  • System permits our managers to track staffing and compare to anticipated customer needs
  • Difficult to interface with other products outside the Ceridian system.
  • Might not be well suited to a system with rapid changes, as it is expensive to make system changes
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (401)
8.1
Employment history (430)
8.0
Job profiles and administration (421)
7.7
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (427)
7.7
Organizational charting (387)
7.0
Organization and location management (426)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (278)
7.7
Pay calculation (461)
8.7
Support for external payroll vendors (230)
7.6
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (28)
8.5
Benefit plan administration (366)
7.9
Direct deposit files (444)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (350)
8.0
Reimbursement management (230)
7.8
Approval workflow (394)
8.2
Balance details (405)
7.5
Annual carry-forward and encashment (329)
7.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (453)
8.7
Update personal information (463)
8.6
View company policy documentation (314)
7.9
Employee recognition (162)
7.3
View job history (381)
8.3
Tracking of all physical assets (74)
7.6
Report builder (463)
7.0
Pre-built reports (464)
7.3
Ability to combine HR data with external data (328)
6.4
New hire portal (279)
7.9
Manager tracking tools (252)
7.7
Corporate goal setting (150)
7.5
Individual goal setting (165)
7.8
Line-of sight-visibility (141)
7.8
Performance tracking (172)
7.8
Performance plans (178)
7.8
Performance improvement plans (154)
7.5
Review status tracking (182)
7.7
Review reminders (179)
7.8
Multiple review frequency (161)
7.7
Create succession plans/pools (65)
7.4
Candidate ranking (68)
7.3
Candidate search (71)
7.6
Candidate development (68)
7.2
Job Requisition Management (213)
7.9
Company Website Posting (208)
8.1
Publish to Social Media (172)
7.7
Job Search Site Posting (201)
7.9
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (169)
7.3
Applicant Tracking (209)
7.7
Notifications and Alerts (205)
7.6

What is Ceridian Dayforce HCM?

Ceridian is a global human capital management (HCM) company headquartered in Toronto, Ontario, and Minneapolis, Minnesota, with operations across North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific Japan. Their brand promise –Makes Work Life Better™ –is the commitment they make to employees, customers, their employees, and to the communities they operate in around the world. Their technologies aim to help customers adapt, evolve, and win as they reimagine the future of work. The Dayforce platform is a single solution for HCM designed to help HR and business leaders make smart decisions that create quantifiable value for their companies. It simplifies complex HR and operational processes faced by companies and applies modern technology to create experiences employees love to use.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features

Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition

Asset Management Features

Has featureTracking of all physical assets

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Screenshots

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Videos (12)

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Downloadables

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Integrations

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Competitors

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English (US), English (GB), French, French Canadian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Italian, German, Polish, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, Hindi, Portuguese (Brazil), Croatian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian, Slovak, Japanese, Korean, Hungarian, Thai

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Ceridian Dayforce HCM?

Ceridian Dayforce HCM is a cloud-based platform encompassing HR, payroll, benefits, and talent and workforce management. It provides companies with a scalable framework and real-time data, such as continual pay calculations, to enable efficient decision-making.

What is Ceridian Dayforce HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Pay calculation and Direct deposit files and View and generate pay and benefit information highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Ceridian Dayforce HCM?

The most common users of Ceridian Dayforce HCM are Mid-size Companies from the Retail industry.