TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/28/zA/GRRFZG7EG952.PNGDayforce in ForceOur entire organization uses Dayforce self-service. We also utilize the manager capabilities in WFM. As an HR specialist, the majority of my day is spent in Dayforce, and it is heavily used by the rest of the HR department. Using Dayforce has allowed us to roll out many paperless processes including onboarding for new hires and manager functions that were previously completed via a paper workflow.,Dayforce has allowed our time management, payroll, and HR to be in one system. This is a great time saver and prevents us from having to configure other systems to 'talk to each other'. The workflows in Dayforce have allowed us to set up many paperless processes, saving time and reducing the risk of misplacing a paper transaction. Changes made in Dayforce are easily accessible, transactions can be found in just a few quick clicks. The setup of Benefits allows us to easily see who is eligible based on the qualifiers within the plans.,Dayforce has limited capabilities when it comes to customization. Our previous system, also a Ceridian product (HR/Payroll Web) was heavily customized to our organizations needs. Being able to customize based on our needs, such as repurposing a field, or removing a field from view, would be a great addition. Adding or removing columns in a report can be a very lengthy process. Once you click to remove a column, Dayforce has to process the request. If you are removing or adding many columns, this process can be somewhat time consuming.,8,Workflows have reduced our reliance on paper forms in benefits enrollments and position and compensation changes.,Having job, pay, and time management in one application reduces and helps to eliminate lengthy paper processes, gives HR, Payroll and Management access to all info at their fingertips which allows for quicker decision making, ensures accurate tracking through workflows and allows employee records to be updated in the blink of any eye.,From Life Support to Wellness: A transformation of our HCM heatlhDayforce is being used primarily as an HR and Payroll system across our organization. All employees use Dayforce to some extent. All new hires use Dayforce to enter information for Payroll purposes. The majority of employees also use it for Benefits selection, Timekeeping, and reporting life events. Managers use Dayforce to track time, leave, and performance. Department Administrators use Dayforce for reporting, budgeting, hiring/terminations, pay changes, and other employee related tasks. Administration uses Dayforce for some HR functions, all timekeeping, payroll, and benefits. Dayforce addresses the timekeeping problems we had as well as helps us to comply with appropriate Payroll directives and accurately pay our people. We are expanding into the HR realm with Benefits, Recruiting, and Performance Management. It is helping us address processes that have been very different across our departments in regards to the employee life span - from hiring to terminations. It is helping us streamline and pull our processes together in a comprehensive way.,One single platform was a game changer for us. The continuous calculation of pay changed the way our payroll and benefits office does business. The time it has saved in calculating and auditing changes is great. Dayforce looks at the entire employee experience from both an employee and employer's perspective and meets both expectations. Employees are getting what they need and stayed engaged through Dayforce. Managers, administrators, and executives can get the level of detail they want/need to help them make informed decisions Scalability. As our organization has grown from 800 employees when we first implemented Dayforce to over 1350 employees now, Dayforce has grown with us. And not only in the number of employees, but growth of our organizational structure. We've added locations, cost centers, and processes. Dayforce has kept up and allowed to to make these changes with relative ease.,The HTML roll out to replace Silverlight has been somewhat difficult for us. In a few areas, namely MyPay/Payroll and MyHR/People, we have had a more difficult time adapting and finding the same functionality we had before. More of a learning curve, but still "uncomfortable" nonetheless.,9,We have definitely reduced the amount of paper generated, especially with the implementation of Benefits module within Dayforce. Timekeeping is more manageable and accurate. Our homegrown, internal system couldn't keep up with our growth and technology. Having a web-based solution has been key. No, we have not been able to quantify the impact, but our staff is more engaged, able to process more. We have relieved some of the stress of an ever-growing workforce and empower our managers and department administrators to do their jobs better with more access to information.,Dayforce has helped us comply with locality taxation in a very compliant way. We know that calculations are going to be accurate and timely. It also allows us to configure our organization's policies and processes into HR functions and manage them with equity across all departments.,Using the single application of the Dayforce platform has allowed us to make budgeting decisions on every level. From the overarching organizational viewpoint to the department and cost center level, data is there to use within Dayforce,,MacolaDayforce HCM has helped streamline our HR and Payroll processWe use Dayforce HCM for all of our HR and payroll needs. It has helped our company be more up to date with technology, become paperless and make it easier for our managers to manage their employees.,Dayforce is great at connecting the managers, Payroll and HR to the employees. The messaging function has saved all of us time and lets us talk to employees not on site so much easier. The workflows and forms are a huge strength for Dayforce. Without them we would still have a ton of paper forms and have to sort through boxes of files to look back at old forms. Having performance management, document management, payroll, timesheets, schedules, on-boarding and recruitment all in one system is awesome. It reduced all of our data entry and errors.,Implementation was rough. We felt like the team from Ceridian did not know the system that well and they didn't set up stuff correctly which caused issues later. The new Payroll module in HTML is too slow and added hours of work onto payroll. Until that is fixed we will continue to use My Pay.,10,We save on the fact that everything is in one system, but because we have to manage the configuration of the system the payroll and HR staff spends more time on that which can impact cost.,The fact that we can check workflows, audit trails and have everything in one system helps keep us in compliance. It makes it so much easier when the auditors are here and it helps HR and Payroll audit what the managers are doing.,It has helped streamline the process and helped HR focus on finding good candidates for the position.,ADP Workforce NowPowerful program with a lot of potential still waiting to be tapped.It is used by the entire organization, from the field to corporate. We use it for timekeeping, payroll, benefits, human resources, general ledger, and taxes.,It offers a lot of solutions "out of the box". If your company has no specialized/customized needs this would be excellent. For the most part, customer service is responsive, aside from the busiest times of the year. Documentation is extensive on all parts of the system. The DIG (Dayforce Implementation Guide) in particular, is very helpful.,Training and sales seem to be out of sync with the actual system. Sales promises our leaders things that in real life are not possible, or require additional fees/services to implement. Training has featured things that are no longer available live in the system. Support sometimes is out of sync with updates as well. Support is overwhelmed the entire year. This means slow response times, unless you mark everything as urgent. If a ticket is marked as high priority, unless it is escalated we may not get a response beyond "your ticket has been received" for two weeks or more. Ceridian needs to hire more support people. Communication on changes that will be made by hot fixes is often done after the fact.,8,When our managers are willing to look for and use them, the reporting tools available to them are very useful. Unfortunately, the reporting still will not include a manager's indirect reports unless they are granted access to the entire location. This has been a huge bone of contention for our managers. The ability to create our own topics and reports has saved us some money over our two years. Other times it has highlighted the limits imposed on us. We had more control/access from ADP with the ability to use alias in custom joins. We have struggled with these limits, and are eagerly awaiting the improvements that will give us that access back. We have had to pay for billable projects as a result of these limits, however, when we could have done the same report ourselves out of our old system. We had to pay $2500 plus for a SOX required salary rate change report we could have built ourselves in our old system, for example.,We are able to assign rules for schedules and unions, which helps keep the field compliant.,This is back to our reporting limits. Our users have not been satisfied with canned reports available, so we keep getting asked to build custom reports. Because we have so many customizations, including employee properties, and location properties, quick access to real time information is not the first thing our users think of when they use the system. The canned reports do provide good information, but because they don't include the custom fields we need, it still causes extra work either with a vlookup in Excel, or from a custom report needing to be created.,TWO THUMBS UP for Ceridian DayforceWe are using Ceridian Dayforce HCM company-wide. The system allows employees to be more self-sufficient and get their information at a moment's notice. They can get their earning statements, W-2, paid time off balances and much, much more. They can submit address changes, W-4 changes, direct deposit changes, request a leave of absence, marital status change...I can go on and on. Ceridian Dayforce HCM has especially helped HR and payroll better manage the data that hits their desk on a daily basis more efficiently and with less margin of error. The system is amazing.,Allows employees to submit personal changes either to address, direct deposit and/or a life event changes such marriage, the birth of a child. The system also allows our employees to clock their time more efficiently using their mobile phone, computer or even a time clock that we have set up for them. This especially makes it easier for the manager to approve time as well. Reviewing employee changes and payroll has been better as well with the reporting tool the system has in place. The standard reports and report templates make it easier to run custom reports as well. Fantastic tool.,I work in benefits and I can see how Ceridian can put a bit more focus on the benefit module. We don't have a typical plan year of January through December so the system takes a bit more specialized focus to set up the benefit plans. The system could also work on how it calculates benefits with multiple payrolls. For example we have semi-monthly employees and bi-weekly employees and the system doesn't calculate the employee/employer costs of benefits properly between the two payrolls. It can only handle one type of payroll at a time so we have to manipulate the system to calculate the correct costs.,9,We have definitely increased our efficiency and improved errors due to adding Ceridian Dayforce HCM. We are able to be more proactive rather than reactive with errors or miscalculations. We are able to review data quicker and easier.,We are more efficient with the multi-state requirements that we have with several employees who travel to several states throughout the year. We are better equipped with all state requirements. We are also able to track hourly employees' time and get them paid in a more timely manner.,We are better able to review candidates with open positions quicker and easier at the hiring manager level as well as for recruiters. We have saved time printing and emailing resumes back and forth between hiring manager and recruiter. We also have saved time in the performance management module as well with creating goals and having the manager review and edit immediately after a goal has been created or changed.
Unspecified
Ceridian Dayforce
514 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Ceridian Dayforce HCM
514 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 514 vetted Ceridian Dayforce HCM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 210)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jessica Von Vleck profile photo
October 29, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce in Force"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Dayforce self-service. We also utilize the manager capabilities in WFM. As an HR specialist, the majority of my day is spent in Dayforce, and it is heavily used by the rest of the HR department.

Using Dayforce has allowed us to roll out many paperless processes including onboarding for new hires and manager functions that were previously completed via a paper workflow.
  • Dayforce has allowed our time management, payroll, and HR to be in one system. This is a great time saver and prevents us from having to configure other systems to 'talk to each other'.
  • The workflows in Dayforce have allowed us to set up many paperless processes, saving time and reducing the risk of misplacing a paper transaction. Changes made in Dayforce are easily accessible, transactions can be found in just a few quick clicks.
  • The setup of Benefits allows us to easily see who is eligible based on the qualifiers within the plans.
  • Dayforce has limited capabilities when it comes to customization. Our previous system, also a Ceridian product (HR/Payroll Web) was heavily customized to our organizations needs. Being able to customize based on our needs, such as repurposing a field, or removing a field from view, would be a great addition.
  • Adding or removing columns in a report can be a very lengthy process. Once you click to remove a column, Dayforce has to process the request. If you are removing or adding many columns, this process can be somewhat time consuming.
Dayforce appears to be a product that was designed for retail, however, we have made it work for our environment in a law firm setting. It works well for time management to my knowledge, but our recruiting, performance management, and billing through accounting is still outside of Dayforce in other systems.
Read Jessica Von Vleck's full review
Priscilla Midkiff profile photo
October 25, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "From Life Support to Wellness: A transformation of our HCM heatlh"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used primarily as an HR and Payroll system across our organization. All employees use Dayforce to some extent. All new hires use Dayforce to enter information for Payroll purposes. The majority of employees also use it for Benefits selection, Timekeeping, and reporting life events. Managers use Dayforce to track time, leave, and performance. Department Administrators use Dayforce for reporting, budgeting, hiring/terminations, pay changes, and other employee related tasks. Administration uses Dayforce for some HR functions, all timekeeping, payroll, and benefits.

Dayforce addresses the timekeeping problems we had as well as helps us to comply with appropriate Payroll directives and accurately pay our people. We are expanding into the HR realm with Benefits, Recruiting, and Performance Management. It is helping us address processes that have been very different across our departments in regards to the employee life span - from hiring to terminations. It is helping us streamline and pull our processes together in a comprehensive way.
  • One single platform was a game changer for us. The continuous calculation of pay changed the way our payroll and benefits office does business. The time it has saved in calculating and auditing changes is great.
  • Dayforce looks at the entire employee experience from both an employee and employer's perspective and meets both expectations. Employees are getting what they need and stayed engaged through Dayforce. Managers, administrators, and executives can get the level of detail they want/need to help them make informed decisions
  • Scalability. As our organization has grown from 800 employees when we first implemented Dayforce to over 1350 employees now, Dayforce has grown with us. And not only in the number of employees, but growth of our organizational structure. We've added locations, cost centers, and processes. Dayforce has kept up and allowed to to make these changes with relative ease.
  • The HTML roll out to replace Silverlight has been somewhat difficult for us. In a few areas, namely MyPay/Payroll and MyHR/People, we have had a more difficult time adapting and finding the same functionality we had before. More of a learning curve, but still "uncomfortable" nonetheless.
Dayforce is well suited to an employee-centric organization. One where the workforce is mobile, spread out, or at least on the go. Coming from a service organization perspective, 90% of your expenses are labor costs. Dayforce is a great service in these scenarios. On the other hand, if an company is small with a minimum number of employees, Ceridian may not be the best option.
Dayforce has helped us comply with locality taxation in a very compliant way. We know that calculations are going to be accurate and timely. It also allows us to configure our organization's policies and processes into HR functions and manage them with equity across all departments.
Read Priscilla Midkiff's full review
Stacy Lowery profile photo
October 25, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce HCM has helped streamline our HR and Payroll process"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce HCM for all of our HR and payroll needs. It has helped our company be more up to date with technology, become paperless and make it easier for our managers to manage their employees.
  • Dayforce is great at connecting the managers, Payroll and HR to the employees. The messaging function has saved all of us time and lets us talk to employees not on site so much easier.
  • The workflows and forms are a huge strength for Dayforce. Without them we would still have a ton of paper forms and have to sort through boxes of files to look back at old forms.
  • Having performance management, document management, payroll, timesheets, schedules, on-boarding and recruitment all in one system is awesome. It reduced all of our data entry and errors.
  • Implementation was rough. We felt like the team from Ceridian did not know the system that well and they didn't set up stuff correctly which caused issues later.
  • The new Payroll module in HTML is too slow and added hours of work onto payroll. Until that is fixed we will continue to use My Pay.
Having all of the schedules roll over to timesheets and the audit trail in timesheets has really helped us. We are now able to look back and see if managers are changing punches and if it was the employee who really did clock in late.
The fact that we can check workflows, audit trails and have everything in one system helps keep us in compliance. It makes it so much easier when the auditors are here and it helps HR and Payroll audit what the managers are doing.
Read Stacy Lowery's full review
Sherri Carras profile photo
October 25, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Powerful program with a lot of potential still waiting to be tapped."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the entire organization, from the field to corporate. We use it for timekeeping, payroll, benefits, human resources, general ledger, and taxes.
  • It offers a lot of solutions "out of the box". If your company has no specialized/customized needs this would be excellent.
  • For the most part, customer service is responsive, aside from the busiest times of the year.
  • Documentation is extensive on all parts of the system. The DIG (Dayforce Implementation Guide) in particular, is very helpful.
  • Training and sales seem to be out of sync with the actual system. Sales promises our leaders things that in real life are not possible, or require additional fees/services to implement. Training has featured things that are no longer available live in the system. Support sometimes is out of sync with updates as well.
  • Support is overwhelmed the entire year. This means slow response times, unless you mark everything as urgent. If a ticket is marked as high priority, unless it is escalated we may not get a response beyond "your ticket has been received" for two weeks or more. Ceridian needs to hire more support people.
  • Communication on changes that will be made by hot fixes is often done after the fact.
When you don't need to customize, I can see where Dayforce would be great for most businesses. Unfortunately, our company is very large, has several combined legacy systems, and therefore we require a lot of customization to make things match/work as needed. We also are simply not able to report on everything we see in the system, which we need to be able to do to ensure things like taxes and earning codes are set up as needed, and to satisfy our users and auditors. Dayforce is a powerful database, but because it is also large it can be hard to use. Some of our less computer-savvy field users simply get overwhelmed by the user interface.
We are able to assign rules for schedules and unions, which helps keep the field compliant.
Read Sherri Carras's full review
Julie Strauss, PHR, SHRM-CP profile photo
October 24, 2018

User Review: "TWO THUMBS UP for Ceridian Dayforce"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Ceridian Dayforce HCM company-wide. The system allows employees to be more self-sufficient and get their information at a moment's notice. They can get their earning statements, W-2, paid time off balances and much, much more. They can submit address changes, W-4 changes, direct deposit changes, request a leave of absence, marital status change...I can go on and on. Ceridian Dayforce HCM has especially helped HR and payroll better manage the data that hits their desk on a daily basis more efficiently and with less margin of error. The system is amazing.
  • Allows employees to submit personal changes either to address, direct deposit and/or a life event changes such marriage, the birth of a child.
  • The system also allows our employees to clock their time more efficiently using their mobile phone, computer or even a time clock that we have set up for them. This especially makes it easier for the manager to approve time as well.
  • Reviewing employee changes and payroll has been better as well with the reporting tool the system has in place. The standard reports and report templates make it easier to run custom reports as well. Fantastic tool.
  • I work in benefits and I can see how Ceridian can put a bit more focus on the benefit module. We don't have a typical plan year of January through December so the system takes a bit more specialized focus to set up the benefit plans.
  • The system could also work on how it calculates benefits with multiple payrolls. For example we have semi-monthly employees and bi-weekly employees and the system doesn't calculate the employee/employer costs of benefits properly between the two payrolls. It can only handle one type of payroll at a time so we have to manipulate the system to calculate the correct costs.
Ceridian Dayforce HCM is great for any size employer as long as the employer takes the time to truly test the system during implementation. We eliminated so much frustration by taking the time to test and retest the system to how we need it to work with our organization. We jumped in and implemented all the modules that were available to us at the time and we dedicated a team of 6 to 7 people throughout implementation to the project. This was time well spent for sure. I highly suggest doing that.

We are more efficient with the multi-state requirements that we have with several employees who travel to several states throughout the year. We are better equipped with all state requirements. We are also able to track hourly employees' time and get them paid in a more timely manner.
Read Julie Strauss, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Darin Kuhnke profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "So many applications in just one system!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used as our timekeeping, scheduling, and payroll application. Currently it is being used across all departments at the Hotel and Golf resort I work for. It truly helps by consolidating everything all into one program and gives us the tools, such as report writer, to be able to get accurate, and detailed information on our labor.
  • Continuous calculation for payroll, ensuring you, and the employee knows were they are at in the pay period, and can quickly identify discrepancies to be able to resolve them prior to payroll submission. This helps our admins not stress prior to payroll submission, and be able to deliver the most accurate paychecks for our employees keeping them happy.
  • Report writer! Get readouts of the information you need. Build your own report with the information you need. We use a variety of different reports to help us get the most accurate information from an HR, payroll, timekeeping perspective. We've found endless benefits to this function and use the information to push our company forward in the industry.
  • Excel to Dayforce. There are different ways to upload information straight into Dayforce, making it easy to get a new employee's information uploaded directly into Dayforce. This drastically cuts down on the labor time it took to get a new employee into the system helping our HR department get back to assisting our employees instead of being bogged down on data entry.
  • I think the scheduling component could use some work. Currently if someone has a different type of availability for work, you cannot simply look at the days they are available and visually see what they can work. You have to hover over the box to see what they can work. It would be benificial if there was a way for their availability to be visible A for AM, P for PM or O for open in each day.
  • Some of the upload functions could use some additional functions. We are currently trying to figure out how to upload our J1 visa employees, but have their social security tax blocked so we don't have to manually for all of their work assignments. It's very time consuming.
It is well suited for companies looking for a system that can do it all and work efficiently. Dayforce is continually going above and beyond provided new functions and the right support to make the most out of your day which makes all of us more effective. I think it may be a little overkill for a small company of 20 or less, but for our company of 1500-3000 (seasonally) it is fantastic.
Read Darin Kuhnke's full review
Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Robust System But Poor Customer Support"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Ceridian’s Dayforce HCM platform for workforce management, payroll, and time and attendance. We’re currently slated to implement the Performance Management, Recruiting, and Onboarding modules in the next two months. This will allow us to move to a paperless system and a single platform to house the majority of our HR data. All employees within 3 legal entities currently utilize the Dayforce system.
  • Dayforce is robust and has a lot of functionality, once you understand all its capabilities. This allows us to make more informed and data-driven decisions.
  • The user interface is relatively user-friendly and intuitive. Our employees find it easy to navigate, requiring less help on tactical HR needs and freeing up that time for more strategic needs.
  • All of the data is housed in a single platform, which makes analyzing the data in new and more informative ways easier.
  • The customer support is lacking. If needs are highly urgent, then the customer support will respond timely. Other needs that are reported aren’t responded to timely and you don’t have much support to get things addressed.
  • The implementation process of their system is so difficult and cumbersome. So much of the burden of implementation falls on the customer, rather than Ceridian as I expected, and the timeline is rushed, so we were forced to go live without feeling like things were truly ready to go. Having additional communication and better implementation support, along with more time to implement, would have saved us months of headaches down the road.
  • We are a mid-sized business, and Ceridian is focused on enterprise-level customers. While we’re thrilled with the functionality the system has, the support for companies our size is pretty minimal. We felt that we weren’t as important of a client.
Ceridian as a company and Dayforce as a system is focused primarily on large and enterprise-sized customers. The customer support and focus seems to be great if you fit that box, but not if you don’t, Ceridian doesn’t appear to care as much about your success on their platform. Those smaller companies might be better served to find another HCM provider.
Our organization requires compliance with EEO and OFCCP, and the included reports in Dayforce help us ensure we are compliant with these regulations. The automated tax withholding and reporting has also reduced possibility of human error and ensured that we are compliant with these as well. Rather than requiring these compliance needs to be done manually, they can be automated through Dayforce.
Read Amy Hudson, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Amedeo Vidaic profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce and Cross-Functional Integration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used across all of our North American operations (and possibly internationally). We primarily use it for payroll, audit trails and electronically storing HR information. In Canada we also use it for time keeping and will begin shortly to use it for attendance.
  • As stated in the previous answer we utilize both the time and payroll features of Dayforce. This cross-function integration prevents us from having to import time data from another platform.
  • It also keeps all data on one platform so that it all flows between the different features and functionalities. For example, changing someone's time-sheet and then recalculating in payroll is intuitive and avoids going into another system to make the change and re-importing whole loads of time data.
  • The integration also maximizes attendance usage, as time data is tracked continuously under attendance and is adjusted with any time adjustments in real-time. This makes attendance and time flow between one another seamlessly and efficiently.
  • Dayforce's continuous calculation in general is a great capability of the system to make adjustments when they are necessary and see their effects immediately.
  • Payroll-complementing features such as report building, third-party remittance, organizational/job mapping for workers comp and year-end filing also work smoothly.
  • While I have been helped tremendously by Dayforce's customer support line, I think I would prefer if resolutions were made during that same call if business time allows for it for both sides of the transaction. While deferring resolutions through ticket logging is generally ideal, a call in might--generally speaking--call for resolution during that call, even if its not immediate. This would only apply to urgent issues of course and ticket logging through the support portal for less immediately urgent issues generally works just fine.
Great for cross functional integration and excels at payroll and features related directly to that aspect.
The ability to configure rules for just about any sort of automated or manual activity is a great tool to ensure collective bargaining agreements; provincial regulations and federal legislation (new or old) are complied to without the need for continuous manual modification. Rules are also intuitive to change and adjust for any changes or adjustments in any of these policies.
Read Amedeo Vidaic's full review
Jim Carr profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Business Analyst Review of Ceridian"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this as our primary payroll system. It is used in a large part of our organization and it is currently being implemented throughout all of our locations. This includes North America, Europe, Asia and the Middle East.
  • The reporting is flexible and easy to create with preformed topics to get the information you need
  • There is online help to follow which is informative when trying to learn how to use the application.
  • Problems can be added to online ticket system and tracked with the support staff responding quickly via a phone call for or email depending on the severity.
  • New reports at the end of the year are a normal occurrence when doing new implementations. There needs to be more flexibility to get these done in the time required. Development should be available all year.
  • The removal of Silverlight needs to be replaced quicker for a better browser experience.
If your business is in North America, Ceridian works well. Functionality works well when implemented in this location. When doing a global implementation, currency is very important piece of information and that is missing when reporting data.
Read Jim Carr's full review
Gail Nichols profile photo
October 24, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "It’s a new day with Dayforce!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce HCM was implemented company-wide in July 2018 to manage our core HR, payroll, time reporting, benefits, recruiting, onboarding, and performance/compensation/document management needs.
  • Single application
  • Comprehensive HR, benefits and payroll functionality
  • Strong mobile presence
  • Customer Support can be challenging at times. Ceridian is growing rapidly so we don’t always get the level of experience needed to resolve our issues as quickly as we would like.
  • They are migrating all functionality from Silverlight to HTML. Not everything has been migrated yet so it gets confusing when reporting. Thankfully, it’s a temporary situation.
  • Reporting has a steep learning curve when implementing as many modules as we did. That said, there are tons of canned reports available.
We eliminated nine systems and 22 interfaces by moving to Dayforce HCM. For us, having a single application to house all of our people data is invaluable. Plus, Dayforce HCM has a strong product roadmap so we are confident that we will always be at the forefront of technology. At this time we’re still learning Dayforce and suspect that will be the case for the coming year!
Read Gail Nichols's full review
April Atkins, CPP profile photo
October 23, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce Payroll is a '10'"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used throughout our entire organization, including our associates in the United Kingdom.
  • Dayforce offers HR, Recruiting, Benefits, Payroll, and Workforce Management in a single application. Our associates have mobile technology which enables them to see their schedules, review their timecards or check benefit information 24 hours a day.
  • Our associates have access to real time information 24 hours a day. They are able to see how much PTO time is available and request time away from work through mobile technology.
  • The new 'Timecards' needs improvement. It is difficult to access the timecard totals (previously 'View Pay' in My Timecards) without having to drag the side bar down. It is not efficient.
Dayforce is very intuitive and the training through MyPath made our transition very easy for our associates. The payroll module (sitll using MyPay due to system response in Payroll) is definitely a '10' in my book! I think WFM still needs improvements. Our supervisors and managers have found it not as easy to use or read as Kronos.
As an employer in 35+ states, we have benefited from the embedded compliance in the scheduling module.
Read April Atkins, CPP's full review
Jerry Atkins profile photo
October 23, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce is the best solution for our company!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Orvis utilizes Dayforce for HR, Benefits, Payroll, Time & Attendance, Scheduling and Recruiting. We employee 1750 employees in the United States and 215 employees in the United Kingdom. Dayforce is a cloud-based single application which eliminated the need for the multiple interfaces we used with our old systems. It has greatly approved our employee and manager self-service experience with the use of mobile technology and data readily available through its robust reporting capabilities.
  • Dayforce is easy to learn and easy to operate. It gives employees control of their data with anytime access, and helps us make sure our employee information is accurate and up to date.
  • With data stored in a single, central location, we get data-driven insights across all HR and Payroll functions so we can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Payroll is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving my payroll team the time they need to produce accurate and timely pay.
  • One specific area of improvement would be with WFM (Time and Attendance) where we could get a snapshot of weekly/biweekly timecard totals without having to scroll through the detailed "Pay" totals.
  • Because our company pays different hourly amounts to employees for holiday pay based on their FT/PT status, we would like to see the hours appear in the time card totals without having to go to the "Pay" tab to confirm.
  • System Security settings should include the ability to grant access to hourly and/or salaried employees. This would eliminate the need for unneeded configuration to prohibit some manager level employees from seeing salaried associates.
Dayforce is a single application with robust capabilities that empowers our workforce with access to their personal information including schedules, timesheets, pay statements, benefit elections, etc with most available through mobile technology.
Dayforce has enabled compliance for state tax withholding, reciprocity rules, state wage and hour rules, overtime policies, company PTO tracking, benefit enrollments, etc.
Read Jerry Atkins's full review
Lyndsay Degeyter, MBA profile photo
October 22, 2018

Review: "Ceridian Dayforce - Helping us to focus on what really matters!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is currently being used across our entire organization. It helps address efficacy and accuracy with regard to payroll and employee timesheet management. It also helps to keep us paperless, especially in the realm of HR.
  • Ceridian Dayforce has helped us tremendously in document and administrative task management. From new onboarding forms to recruiting to even payroll, Dayforce has enabled us to refocus our efforts, not on making sure paperwork is properly completed, compliant and filed, but to focus on empowering our work force to grow and develop.
  • Payroll, Ceridian Dayforce has helped us take payroll processing time from 3-4 days to 8 hours total, and with little to zero errors.
  • Workflows! We seem to be a company that operates on a one off basis. This causes us issues with the Dayforce workflows. We would like to see the ablility to change workflow parameters while the workflow is populated or an easier way to cover the approval areas we needs. This may just be a training issue on our end.
  • Again, the little one off issues we have in Payroll. For example, any time we go out side of the system to complete a task, like adding a new hire through the new hire workflow instead of the recruiting workflow, we see issues.
Ceridian Dayforce is great as a full HCM and payroll system and especially for large organizations. We are on the smaller side, around 100 employees. That means that we have a lot of one-off items and this sometimes causes us issues. The good news is that we are preparing ourselves for growth and with Ceridian Dayforce we are already one step ahead of the game.
Ceridian Dayforce has taken the pain of time away and time management in general and made it an easy behind the scene process. It accurately calculated overtime for our organization, even for our shift works who work nights and weekends. This has allowed us to take the time used to check and recheck this data and focus our efforts on developing our workforce.
Read Lyndsay Degeyter, MBA's full review
Nivea Fernandez profile photo
October 19, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce has given me work life balance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce through out the company. We use it for all of our HR, Benefits, Payroll, and Talent. We purchased all modules.
  • It's all one platform.
  • It's configurable to your company needs.
  • The system follows the employee from hire to termination. All HR functions are done in Dayforce. No need to use another system it's all in one.
  • The implementation is very time-consuming. The way the data needs to be given to Ceridian needs to be more user-friendly.
The payroll through Dayforce is going to save my company at least one day of processing. Where we came from we had to process 9 payrolls because we have 9 legal entities. Now with Dayforce, I run one payroll.
Dayforce keeps us compliant with our overtime rules because being in California overtime is very specific and complicated to calculate. The FLSA OT rule has many facets and Dayforce does a great job in these calculations.
Read Nivea Fernandez's full review
Mary Sheeley profile photo
October 19, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce Customer - 3 Years"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is our HCM system. We use it for HR, benefits, and payroll. Dayforce has allowed us to deploy self-service to our employees and managers. The employees love the self-service features. They can view their current and past pay statements, view their schedules using the mobile app, make changes to their deposit accounts, change tax withholding, and view company sent messages. Managers love the ease of scheduling and submitting position and pay changes through self service forms. We recently rolled out Performance and Compensation.
  • I especially like the Payroll module in Dayforce. For the first time in my 20+ year career I am able to combine multiple FEINs in a single pay group. This is a huge step forward, allowing us to consolidate our pay groups for more efficient processing. Overall, the payroll module is great. I love being able to add my own pay definitions, create my own deduction codes, and run off cycle payrolls without having to call support.
  • I have been a Ceridian Tax Service customer longer than I have been a Dayforce customer. CTS is the best in the business. The year end reports in Dayforce make it easy to identify exceptions that need to be corrected now, making year end easier. Also, the tax functionality in Dayforce makes local tax compliance relatively easy.
  • I really appreciate having the test environment. This is a huge help! We use the test environment to build out new functionality, test the new releases, and for training and troubleshooting.
  • There is no way to confirm that New Hire Reporting was done properly. In other systems I have used I could refer to reports to verify the NHR was compete and accurate. Dayforce has no such reports. Also, I've been contacted a couple of times from states where the NHR was not complete. The state compared the SUI quarterly filing to NHR and fined me for omissions that they claimed had not been reported by Dayforce/Ceridian.
  • As much as I like the payroll module, it needs to move faster. We have a LOT of extra incentive payments that are calculated outside DF. This means we have to import into Quick Entry in Payroll. It can take up to 17 minutes sometimes to recalc payroll. That really slows us down at the end of our processing because we are reconciling and balancing every hour and dollar. If Dayforce would just MOVE and load faster and calculate faster we could reduce the time spent on payroll processing. Also, a common complaint overall is getting kicked out of the system, often multiple times a day, or even within the hour.
  • The salary proration for mid pay period new hires and terms and rate changes is based on a Monday through Friday workweek. That is not accurate in our case. I'd like to be able to have it prorate over 7 days in a work week or choose a different work week.
Dayforce is great for companies who want to build employee engagement and change the way they move employee data. If you don't like change, and want things to stay the way they are, Dayforce may not be for you. Be prepared to invest in training for the system admins and the end users.
We have pay policies built to help us with CA overtime and meal break compliance. This is a big plus for us! Also we love the embedded payroll tax calculations. As a Pennsylvania employer, this was a huge time saver!
Read Mary Sheeley's full review
Julie Belley profile photo
October 18, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "The Cadillac of all HRIS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used by everyone within the organization. However, the principal client administrators are in HR and Payroll. The university has an HR team of two, so it is essential that they be able to complete their tasks quickly and efficiently to support 500 employees. However, the paper-based manual system they were using wasn’t conducive to meeting this goal.

Despite its relatively small workforce, the university deals with three bargaining units, as well as non-union employees. The inherent complexities of this environment, combined with legacy systems and procedures in a growing institution, continued to challenge the payroll function and staff. In addition, USB was struggling to secure an HCM system that provided excellent customer service, ideally in French.
  • The university is using a number of modules, including Payroll, Time and Attendance, Workforce Management, and Recruiting, Onboarding and employees are actively engaging with the mobile application. All of these modules are user friendly and very effective.
  • One of the strengths of Ceridian Dayforce for us is that it is the only HRIS that is bilingual.
  • On top of that, customer service is their biggest strength. The testing environment helps clients to get familiar with all the changes within the system (technology evolves rapidly therefore it is key to stay up to date and they do this very well). If you need help, at any time, someone will genuinely help you.
  • Our biggest headache is employees that have more than one assignment. We have many within our workforce (i.e. a salaried employee who also has an hourly job within USB).
  • Customized reporting is difficult to use. However, there are hundreds of reports already set up for clients and as mentioned previously, support is always there.
If you are looking to empower your employees to track their vacation and sick days, Dayforce is the best system for that! It has significantly reduced the number of inquiries to the HR and payroll teams, and managers appreciate being able to field requests remotely, via the mobile app. Dispensing with paper-based time sheets has saved money, reduced the impact on the environment and freed up a significant amount of time for all concerned. The biweekly alert reminding employees to input or approve hours has eliminated the need for labour-intensive follow-ups.
Read Julie Belley's full review
jennifer soccio profile photo
October 16, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce HCM Advocate"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses the Dayforce system for the day-to-day payroll and HRIS duties. It aides us in management of our greatest expense, employee compensation and benefits. With this program we can have a singular view or an enterprise view of any aspect within the system. From onboarding to offboarding, we have connected the system as our system of record, time management and compensation for the employees. It is the operations resource for daily management of the employees.
  • Many of our employees are shared between locations, and several with multiple jobs as well. The one system record prevents us from having confusion on employee data, benefits or compensation. The one system record aides in compliance with labor law.
  • The self-service function for the individual employees provides an opportunity for change, viewing or printing of their data without having to make an appointment with Human Resources. The self-service function cuts down on the HR department having to reprint check stubs or write income validations for employees. The employee can print it for themselves or view it on their data phone at their leisure.
  • Our regional managers can report findings that are company specific, based on the information we built during implementation. Our ability to customize fields and flow of employee data allows us to manage it the way we work/run the company.
  • The customer support portal is the most problematic area. There have been great improvements from the beginning to now, but with customer support - there is always room for improvement.
  • The system is costly, but it is a very robust system that is worth the cost if you work the entire system correctly.
It seems to me that Dayforce HCM is geared more to a larger company or a company with multiple sites. For a small company, this system may be too robust for their use.
Being in healthcare, compliance sets many rules and expectations for us. Adding in Payroll Based Journal (PBJ) reporting this year added another layer of compliance requirement. ACA, PBJ, DOL, Wage and Hour...there are so many agencies that rely on our accurate reporting capabilities, and our liability relies on it as well. The employees don't question the reliability of the software as it pertains to their payroll check. We have undergone several DOL routine audits and because of the good record-keeping and ability to export the data from the system - we have had minimal problems. We are required to report up several buildings payroll specific numbers for the DOL random auditing program. The system has been easy to configure data that aides in submitting these reports timely.
Read jennifer soccio's full review
Deann Sowels, SPHR, SHRM-SCP profile photo
October 16, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Dayforce is the one truly integrated, real-time system for all your needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is used as our main HRIS throughout the whole organization. We use payroll, recruiting, timesheets, benefits, performance management and are in the process of setting up onboarding. The total integrations of Dayforce has created efficiencies for the Human Resources department as well as the bank as a whole.
  • Dayforce is in real time, which is a huge benefit with payroll and benefits processing.
  • The integration of all modules allows you to avoid repetitive data entry and and cuts down on the chances of errors.
  • Ceridian stays on top of all the latest needs and is continually upgrading the system. It is very user friendly and is geared towards the generations that are entering today's workforce.
  • Recruiting should be set up to allow edits when job descriptions, qualifications, etc. change. You currently have to build a new template and keep the outdated ones as well.
  • I would like to see the ability to upload our current forms in the system. You have to be an XML expert to accomplish this now. There should be an easier option. This would add a huge efficiency to our organization.
  • I would like to see a feature where our managers could make approvals through an email without logging into Dayforce. Many top level managers do not like taking this extra step and therefore are not a fan of the system. Making their life easier would increase top level buy-in.
Dayforce is well suited for those that are looking for a totally integrated system that works in real time. It would be fantastic for those in retail or manufacturing as well. It has many features that we do not utilize that those in different environments could utilize well.
Ceridian Dayforce has allowed us to better monitor overtime across the company and report those that are not in compliance. We are also going to be able to add all our compliance-related annual forms in the near future, creating a better flow and tracking than the current process.
Read Deann Sowels, SPHR, SHRM-SCP's full review
Bethann DuBois profile photo
October 14, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "How Dayforce WFM v6.44 has brought us into the 21st century!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce WFM (one of the HCM modules) is being used across the whole organization. It is our primary workforce management (WFM) tool, encompassing time and attendance in all its aspects: hourly employees punch in using biometric clocks; salary non-exempt employees use the web-clock feature for recording their work time; all employees use the Time Away From Work (TAFW) feature to submit time off requests. It is also used by the HR/Payroll department for the processing of hours worked and paid time off. The Attendance Module has been especially helpful, as we have four different bargaining agreements, each with different rules and policies regarding attendance, absenteeism, and the various types of available premium pay. Not only have we been able to configure individual pay policies to reflect these requirements, but it has also enabled us to eliminate the use of old-fashioned paper calendars and spreadsheets for calculating available time off and the no-fault points system. It has increased the accuracy of our records as well as productivity of our HR representatives, leaving them with more time to better support their plant.
  • The Time Off Request system is fantastic! It has done away with all the old paper submission forms and employee calendars. It also streamlines the process. It is submitted, reviewed, approved all in the system and then automatically updates the employees' timesheets and attendance calendars.
  • The Attendance Module has reduced the amount of additional manual record keeping such as spreadsheets, and also given the supervisors a tool to see the accumulation of points in real-time, versus waiting for a weekly or monthly report to be completed and distributed.
  • We have six different payrolls, each with varying pay period end dates and pay frequencies. Dayforce is able to handle the variety without any issues.
  • I attended the new Dayforce FIT session for WFM at this year's Insights conference. It has greatly increased my ability to make configuration changes to my product without having to open as many support tickets as in the past, which also translates into big savings.
  • I would love it if Dayforce included an FMLA module. So much of the information needed for accurate tracking already exists right in the system. We are left with the decision to either continue our in-house manual process or to find a stand-alone software to assist us with the cumbersome administration.
  • The TAFW module does not yet provide the ability to limit security access of non-exempt employees to be able to run reports for their own information.
  • We are a union work environment, and as such have employees with multiple rates of pay for different jobs. Currently, premium pay such as "Team Lead" can only be calculated by the system when they work their primary job assignment. It does not automatically get picked up and included on the timesheet when the employee works an alternate job.
I would not recommend Ceridian Dayforce to small business or to anyone that does not have a real payroll professional on their HR team. While not the most user-friendly application available, it is definitely the most powerful and the most well equipped to handle more complicated payroll situations such as unions, rotating shifts, etc. Prospective customers should know exactly what they need to get out of their payroll system (such as history and reporting), as well as knowing all the payroll policies and practices that are unique to their industry and/or company. For example, one of our unions has a requirement that if an employee comes in early and works before their scheduled shift they should be paid overtime. We have a separate policy that says anything over 8 hours in a work day should be overtime. In this example, the hours worked before the scheduled shift (and any accompanying premium pay or shift differential) is paid at overtime - and the scheduled shift (which is being worked after already working 8 hours) is paid at straight time. This happens a lot. If the system could not handle this calculation, we would not have gone with the Ceridian Dayforce product.

Ceridian Dayforce has provided us the reporting tools necessary to audit
and clean-up our database. In conjunction with
Having the ability to further
configure our pay policies in Dayforce, manual payroll entries have
been reduced by 67% and off-cycle paychecks to correct payroll errors has been reduced by 50%. Additionally, it provided us the ability to
fully automate payment of our separate vacation and
alternate job rates, reducing the
administration time by 100%. In return, this has greatly reduced the overall rate of grievances filed by union employees.



Read Bethann DuBois's full review
Jennifer Duarte profile photo
December 10, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Dayforce - be careful what you wish for!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dayforce across the entire organization: payroll, benefits, timekeeping, onboarding, performance management, employee/manager self-service, regulatory reporting, taxes, reports, scheduling, and HRIS. Inefficiency and indirect cost savings with improved productivity.
  • Module design and functional capacity.
  • User interface.
  • Product/service education and training.
  • Ceridian Dayforce support is horrible! Support is NOT offered in a "pod" environment with personnel being cross-trained on any/all modules. Support lacks in-depth product/service knowledge and technical expertise. Any single change/update ALWAYS has an unforeseen impact elsewhere in the system. The system may be integrated; however, support provided does not adequately or satisfactorily address system administration issues.
  • Double or triple the amount of time and resources recommended for implementation.
  • 12 months after implementation, we cannot depend on the system to function consistently as expected, which negatively impacts our confidence as to the accuracy of information, along with our inability to further explore/implement customized functionality suitable to our advantage.
  • Time differences and language barriers exacerbate support issues.
  • Do not anticipate or expect timely resolution to open support cases and be prepared to provide system training to support personnel in order to make progress.
Dayforce is not well-suited for companies without adequate, dedicated administrative resources, although conceptually, one would think otherwise.
Dayforce contributes to improved DOL and other regulatory compliance requirements.
Read Jennifer Duarte's full review
John Pavarini profile photo
August 10, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "A Very Stable HCM Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used by our third-party billing entity that provides staff within our organization. Hospital employed leadership is, therefore, able to manage the payroll and recruitment needs for their positions. Dayforce has been a very simple tool that allows a complex medical center to share manage their resources effectively. Without the generation of shared access across multiple entities, there would be a severe disruption in our ability to process payroll for all team members and collect accurate salary cost data.
  • A very intuitive system that can be done with minimal training or timesheet understanding.
  • Customization so language and pay codes can be crafted to meet organization policy.
  • Allows for notification outside of the system to better stay on top of requests.
  • There are pop-up features when looking back or triggering any retroactive features that "increases clicks" and causes frustration
  • Some security features also make work redundant to change/update a timecard
  • More consolidated options for recruitment - these features are fairly elementary
Seems to be a very high functioning system. There have been regular updates in the 1 year I've been using it, and the updates provided by the system administrator have been timely and clear. Very simple to add users and hierarchy to better serve all end users. Great tool for any small to a large organization for their workforce management needs!
Used primarily as a payroll portal for my personal needs. It allows accurate and effective timekeeping for my staff. Great opportunity to correctly code and document hours worked that ensure compliance with both company policies as well as federal labor laws. The staff ability to manage their own time card and pay is also a plus and provides a level of empowerment to the employees.
Read John Pavarini's full review
Julia Oca profile photo
November 01, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Review: "Experience at a glance"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being used across our organization from our sales associates to our CEO. It has been most beneficial in interweaving our company cultures from corporate to the field. It has also made business decisions much quicker to make by having so much data at our fingertips.
  • Data Privacy
  • Candor
  • Customer Support
  • Customer Support Analysts for more advanced users that have already tried the basic tasks to try and resolve a problem so we don't have to go back and forth several times before we actually discuss the issues.
  • Would love a 'can i help you' feature within the program or support portal for questions on the fly.
I think this is a great product for a retail company.
Ceridian always keeps us posted about compliance within our system and any actions we need to take as an organization as far as inadvanced as possible. It's a life saver.
Read Julia Oca's full review
lindsay lauzon profile photo
October 31, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Dayforce Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce for our HR, Payroll and Time and Attendance. It is being used across the whole organization.
  • People is easy to navigate. When trying to find information on an employee including their position information, personal information, accruals, benefits, earnings statements, it is easy to navigate and to view in one page
  • Provides good reports. Most reports have all the necessary information. We use benefit census, employee changes and detail report for many of our managers and finance department.
  • Learning resources are available on almost all topics. Specifically I was able to find information on payroll and year end.
  • Payroll Process- calculating and validating is slow.
  • Can't enter future pay changes until payroll is processed even though there is an effective date.
  • Support representatives aren't always very knowledgeable. I feel like I have to guide them through more than they guide me.
  • Submitting and deleting forms. If someone submits a form to change an employees position and it has overlapping dates the system does not allow you to delete that form and therefore it creates duplicate timecards if it entails a department change
Dayforce is not well suited to all organizations. There are a lot of hoops to jump through when assistance is needed. Specifically between tax and support.

Dayforce is well suited for smaller companies who don't have a lot of pay groups, PTO policies. Basics.
Tax support sends notifications regarding state taxes. However there is a lot of work on our end to get the information to support.

Manages OT well.

Compared to other payroll providers it seems that the process for auditing 1095-C is more automated. You are also able to review months ahead of time for discrepancies.
Read lindsay lauzon's full review
Karissa Hays profile photo
October 29, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Simple review from a new user"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian is our time clock, benefits and recruiting mechanism. We will look forward to adding more pieces in the coming years (onboarding for 2019!). All departments in our hospital are using Dayforce. It address the issue where we were using multiple systems for HR functions. It is allowing users to become experts in one system instead of multiple.
  • The Dayforce application is well liked by employees. Clocking in/out reduces the need for multiple time clocks in house
  • Benefit enrollment system is nice for employees to choose their benefits at their own pace and efficiently. HR loves the reduced time on data entry!
  • There are many different reports available for use and can be "tweaked" to fit our needs.
  • Learning the reporting system is not as easy as figuring it out as you go. Training is needed to create an efficient report.
  • Starting new with my organization was very overwhelming when I was shown Ceridian; there is a lot to the programs and it appeared that our payroll coordinator was completing the system creation/setup for several modules. She is excellent, but it looked time-consuming and burdensome.

Ceridian is excellent for time card management. It works nicely as it is available to employees via the app.

I would say that Ceridian is complicated to learn and it would be awesome if trainings were held throughout the year for new users to go to and learn how to function in the system. When starting a new job it was hard to put time towards the training modules because many other things were being thrown at me while working in the office. I appreciate learning by doing, but with Ceridian you can't muck your way through it and watching videos is painful for me.

All withholdings and reporting is housed within Ceridian taking less time and use of multiple agencies to complete tasks.
Read Karissa Hays's full review
Leslie Neihengen profile photo
October 29, 2018

Ceridian Dayforce HCM: "Great integrated product!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Dayforce for Payroll, Human Resources and Benefits. Globally, we have begun to implement as well.
  • Benefits enrollments are quite easy. The ability to build plans on my own, update rates, run rate jobs and modify plans is a plus. Mostly a point and click.
  • Reporting has been upgraded with the REL55 allowing the ability to easily add fields to reports without building new topics. Great time saver!
  • Workflow management is a great function, creating forms and directing the forms for appropriate approvals. Takes the paperwork off the desk and the leg work away from the managers.
  • More clarity on payroll mapping. Seems my difficulties lie in when I am creating new payroll codes, pay codes and I might forget to map. I know this might sound crazy but what about a pop up when creating codes that need to be mapped to remind you "hey, don't forget to go to pay policy and . . ." I get that testing should take care of this but with newer employees are using Dayforce, might be a good idea. I think this would eliminate calls to the help desk at Ceridian also.
  • FILE FEEDS FILE FEEDS FILE FEEDS!!!! I've have been working with the Ceridian team and our benefits vendors to create 8 file feeds right now. Not one is on track, not one of these projects has kept me informed without me asking, not one has had a project manager managing the tasks / timeline. Right now, 2 feeds are over a month past due and 4 are a couple weeks past due. I am wasting valuable hours creating reports to provide changes to vendors directly.
  • Not being able to delete some items such as jobs/positions created in error. If no one has been in the job and no one is using it, we should be able to delete it. It is not Ceridian's job to babysit HRIS professionals by restricted what they can and cannot do.
I have had mostly good experience with Ceridian Dayforce. It's a good product. I think the support team needs a bigger staff as I think the growth to Ceridian employee is uneven.
Read Leslie Neihengen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (160)
8.3
Employment history (172)
7.9
Job profiles and administration (168)
7.9
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (178)
7.7
Organizational charting (162)
6.8
Organization and location management (173)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (114)
7.3
Pay calculation (191)
8.7
Support for external payroll vendors (99)
7.7
Benefit plan administration (155)
7.9
Direct deposit files (180)
8.8
Salary revision and increment management (137)
8.0
Reimbursement management (94)
8.1
Approval workflow (164)
8.4
Balance details (173)
7.9
Annual carry-forward and encashment (137)
8.0
View and generate pay and benefit information (190)
8.7
Update personal information (187)
8.6
View company policy documentation (117)
8.1
Employee recognition (74)
7.5
View job history (153)
7.9
Tracking of all physical assets (25)
7.7
Report builder (197)
6.9
Pre-built reports (197)
7.1
Ability to combine HR data with external data (138)
6.6
New hire portal (115)
8.1
Manager tracking tools (106)
7.9
Corporate goal setting (59)
7.6
Individual goal setting (64)
7.7
Line-of sight-visibility (56)
7.4
Performance tracking (64)
7.6
Performance plans (66)
7.5
Performance improvement plans (54)
7.4
Review status tracking (66)
7.4
Review reminders (65)
7.3
Multiple review frequency (57)
7.1
Create succession plans/pools (15)
8.0
Candidate ranking (15)
8.1
Candidate search (14)
8.3
Candidate development (15)
7.0
Job Requisition Management (85)
8.0
Company Website Posting (84)
7.8
Publish to Social Media (72)
7.8
Job Search Site Posting (81)
7.6
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (70)
7.3
Applicant Tracking (85)
7.8
Notifications and Alerts (85)
7.5

About Ceridian Dayforce HCM

Dayforce is a global human capital management (HCM) platform that transforms the employee experience. It unifies data from across the entire employee lifecycle to enable better decision-making at every level. Dayforce is a comprehensive cloud platform that combines HR, payroll, benefits, workforce management, and talent management in a single application. Our scalable platform is built with a single, flexible rules engine combined with real-time updates and calculations that help address complex regulatory requirements.

Dayforce offers:

  • Continuous pay calculation: This means that pay is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving administrators the time they need to produce high-quality pay.
  • One application: With data stored in a single, central location, get data-driven insights across all HR functions so you can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Actionable insights: Dayforce provides critical data-driven insights to help you make fast, informed decision.
  • Anytime, anywhere access: Access Dayforce using the device of your choice on web or mobile.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Screenshots

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Videos (3)

Watch Streamlined workflows improve the employee change request process, and help the company stay compliant.

Watch With Ceridian’s Dayforce, Chicago’s number one contractor gains more than a new HCM solution. It finds a partner that shares its values and keeps it on the cutting edge of technology.

Watch The growing fast-casual national restaurant chain streamlines the employee onboarding experience and says farewell to manual paper-based processes.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Downloadables

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Integrations

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Competitors

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English (US), English (GB), French, French Canadian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Italian, German, Polish, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, Hindi, Portuguese (Brazil), Croatian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian, Slovak, Japanese, Korean, Hungarian, Thai